Any second now

Posted on June 08, 2022 by

This was overdue an update. Two extra rows now added.

(Click for full size image with legible dates. Landscape version here.)

For context, then, keep in mind that THAT is the (sort-of) newspaper that was asking the First Minister questions in this video, ie not exactly a hostile inquisitor.

Sturgeon is clearly struggling to contain her irritation and impatience at being asked incredibly gently about independence. She rolls her eyes, grimaces, looks away and tries to leave more than once, dodging the softball questions.

Does she strike you, readers, as someone enthusiastic and excited and preparing to bring Scotland its independence in less than 18 months’ time?

(Readers may have noted how contrastingly happy and at ease she’d looked just days before, among the great and good of the British establishment at the Jubilee bash.)

There are now just over three weeks until Holyrood closes for summer recess, which means any action on a new indyref couldn’t even START until September. Next September is the last credible date for a 2023 referendum. If there’s anyone left in Scotland who honestly believes the process of securing one – complete with passing all of the requisite laws, having the Electoral Commission test the question, getting through a legal challenge and conducting several months of actual campaign – could be completed in under 12 months, please get in touch as we’d like to sell you this:

(PS In case anyone doesn’t know, we currently have a Twitter account again. We don’t expect it to last long, but in the meantime you can follow it here.)

88 to “Any second now”

1. Fraser Reid

Spot on – as ever Stu.

2. Awkward Westie

I’m interested in your offer … Is there a discount if I bought the two adjoining bridges too ?

3. Andy Ellis

How long did it take for the Irish Parliamentary Party to collapse a century ago?

Asking for a few million Scottish friends.

4. aulbea1

Yeah – the gullible are more than just gullible.

5. fillofficer

surely her imminent resignation is inevitable
    mibbe due to a queens honour

6. Stuart MacKay

So third row seat behind some kid – not bad for a First Minister in this Union of Equals.

Inflation of 20% in Estonia just triggered the collapse of the government. Johnson will likely be gone in a few weeks. After the leadership contest and the wave of economic bad news that’s heading the UK’s way the likelihood of a referendum, even if the timing and everything associated with getting a vote was right, is diminishing by the hour.

Conversely, the opportunity to tip the UK into breaking up increases by the hour. If only there was somebody with the guile and acumen to make it happen.

7. James Che.

Stuart MacKay.

We are the guile and acumen.

It is not someone over you’re shoulder.

8. Vestas

From a solicitor about to be struck off for gross negligence to sitting three seats behind big-ears, the imminent monarch.

In around 20 years.

My hasn’t she climbed the greasy pole like a pro?

9. panda paws

The pictured blonde in the row in front isn’t Michelle Mone, it’s Peter Phillips’ new girlfriend but other than that, spot on. I think La Sturgeon now believes she is above answering questions from the hoi polloi, her tetchiness is never far from the surface these days.

10. gordoz

My faith in fellow Scots diminishes by the day …
    Can people not see she has been ‘at it’ since 2014 ???
    She’s not hiding anything … its in full view … right there in front of us.
    The current FM is a pretender.

11. Kenny

Opportune time for some-or-other, thoroughly pissed-off SNP MP/MSP champion to break-through with the most damning, government-collapsing revelations about the goings-on in HR.

Any takers? – or is every last one of you spineless, craven, crooked – and affluent – like your effluent boss?
    Btw, you’re not included, Wishart – everyone knows what *you* stand for.

12. Peter

I’m seeing the same as yersel.

13. Kenny

Curious how Twitter manages to get it wrong – every single time – when we attempt to Tweet or RT a Wings contribution:

‘Something went wrong, but don’t fret — let’s give it another shot.’

Top tip: just close that ‘give it another shot’ window, the Tweet posts anyway.

14. desimond

Oh for the heady days when I used to joke with a Belfast based mate about the bright future of a free Scotland and a United Ireland.

It now looks like only one of those dreams will come true in our lifetime.

Unless of course, Sinn Féin somehow get swept up in the faux-grandeur of running the Parish Council just like our blinded SNP reps.

Luckily for my mate, I very much doubt that they will be so easily won over.

15. Breeks

“….Look, people in Scotland will have the ability to make their views known on Independence…”

… Just not at an SNP Conference, eh Nic? 😉

In fairness, she looks like she just nipped out for fag and got caught by those damned paparazzi. Superstars with a rock ‘n roll lifestyle shouldn’t have to answer dull and boring questions from the little people. There are channels for that sort of thing you know. Tut!

In contrast however, when asked to reiterate the Government’s position on a Section 30 agreement with Johnston, the brick wall standing behind Sturgeon expressed Boris Johnsson’s position with unambiguous clarity.

16. Kevin Kennedy

Great to see you back.

17. twathater

@ Stuart MacKay 2.01pm THAT!!!! will be the next EXCUSE (as IF any excuse would be needed) by the BETRAYER to defer , delay , put back , NOW is not the time ,excuse after excuse

TBQH THAT face during that interview tells anyone who has a brain THE ABSOLUTE CONTEMPT THAT B+++*&$% HAS FOR THE PEOPLE OF SCOTLAND

THAT face like a well SKELPED arse says it all she cannot even hide her impatience or anger , the different coupon on show at the weekend when she was gladhanding with her EQUALS HAHAHAHA exposes her CRINGE

18. Patsy Millar

My hear leaps up when I behold a post from you even though it makes depressing reading. Thought that Twitter a/c was yours so now following for as long as it lasts.

19. Patsy Millar

pandapaws, I should have realised that the person in front didn’t have enough make-up on to be the erstwhile baroness. Well spotted.

20. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Taken out the Mone ref pending checks.

21. Jan Cowan

“BETRAYER” doesn’t cover it, twathater.
    Even “well skelped” that face is difficult to behold.

22. 100%Yes

I believe an Independence Referendum is imminent, because it states it in The National, Aye right. There’re more Independence supporters in the Labour party than there is in the New SNP.

There isn’t one person in Britain who wants Sturgeon at any British event but she keeps turning up, it’s a shame really because she more British than the English Queen.

23. Linda Hamilton

Watched it last night and said the exact same to my husband. That video was very telling, her mask is slipping. I know of at least 5 women who have left their SNP branch. I was also one of those 500 women who demonstrated outside Scottish Parliament last year and it was a complete embarrassment for her to have a sizeable portion of those women to chant very loudly ‘Sturgeon out’

24. X_Sticks

In that interview she looks like she’s recently had word that the police investigation into Peter’s missing £600k is closing in. Or that the Balmoral incident is real and about to break (again..). Or that her conscience can’t deal with misleading us about a (another) referendum in 2023. I could almost feel sorry for her but I don’t. Not even a teeny-weeny (nothing to do with gender) bit.

Had a feelz the ghost was yours 😉

25. Vivian O’Blivion

Haggard disnae begin tae describe her. That’s whit all those lies dae tae a person. Mibee the walls are closing in. Has the new Advocate General finally let Polis Scotland aff the leash?

26. Allium

She looks dreadful in that video, I don’t know it’s just post-covid fatigue, but my goodness.

27. Ruby

Great news about your Twitter account.

I’m looking forward to seeing how the squirrels, foxes, rats, swans, bears & emergency kitten are doing.

Also photo-essays about events happening in Bath.

Fuck Sturgeon I don’t want to see photos of her.

28. Ottomanboi

The photos are revealing of requiescence and accommodation with the status quo.
    Scots, as in the case of colonials, are rather prone to the flattery of acknowledgement in the activities of the durbar.
    An article on the VIRTUES of ENGLAND’S IMPERIALISM dated 1899.
    https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/1899/07/english-imperialism/636212/
    The author is (no surprise) a Scot. A proud one?
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_Cunningham_(economist)
    Plus ça change….
    Niall Ferguson is a contemporary apologist.

29. 100%Yes

From the video, it was clear how uneasy she looked for some who’s on 50% for Independence in the opinion polls before campaigning has started, you’d think she had lost all her savings on a horse who didn’t even leave the starting gate.

What an ungrateful woman, who for the last 8yrs has been FM of Scotland and has been elected on mandate after mandate for a Ref and the only thing I get from the Video is she telling the woman who’s asking the questions, I’m bored move on or let me move on. She now stating that a Referendum will happen within the parliament, she has already given up on a referendum during first half of this parliament and fails to even mention 2023, we have our answer.

30. 100%Yes

From the video, it was clear how uneasy she looked for someone who’s on 50% for Independence in the opinion polls before campaigning has started, you’d think she had lost all her savings on a horse who didn’t even leave the starting gate.

What an ungrateful woman, who for the last 8yrs has been FM of Scotland and has been elected on mandate after mandate for a Ref and the only thing I get from the Video is she telling the woman who’s asking the questions, I’m bored move on or let me move on. She now stating that a Referendum will happen within the parliament, she has already given up on a referendum during first half of this parliament and fails to even mention 2023, we have our answer.

31. 100%Yes

We are being told straight that Sturgeon and Peter Murrell aren’t going to want to give up the lifestyle or the money so Scotland can be Independent, but we’ve to keep voting for them, this is the reason why Scotland as from today has never been given a Referendum and is the reason come 2026 we still won’t have a referendum.

32. Socrates MacSporran

Apparently, the blonde in front of the Murrells at the pageant is Lyndsay Wallace, Peter Phillips’ new squeeze.

33. David Hannah

Nicola is full of shit as always.

Census. Undelivered.

Transport. Railways. Failed. A 4 per cent ticket hike. The last train leaves before Scotland finishes playing tonight at Hampden.

She can’t restore the glory to the clyde. She can’t build ferries. She didn’t listen to the legal advice so I don’t trust her Indy Ref 2 legal advice. I smell rotting carrots.

Healthcare. Failed. Record nursing
    vacancies over 6,000 and 238 million spend on agency Nursing staff in 2021. Record waiting times. Life expectancy dropping.

Education. The attainment gap widening.

I don’t trust her as far as her blinking shiftey rolling eyes can see. Her record in government would bring a tear to a glass eye.

Nasty Nicola Sturgeon. Holding Scotland to randsom while she gives away our renewables energy future for 25 years to the Swedish State and big oil.

A Tartan Tory. A tin pot journalist jailing dictator in a woke pariah state.

20 million she’s set aside has she? That’ll all go on special advisors. She’ll make a millionaire out of everyone. Spend the dough and fail to deliver the state owned not for profit national renewables energy company.

A monarchist to the core. The Selfie Queen. Giving away Scotland’s renewable energy future to help Prince Andrew fund his legal fees in order to be the waitress at Cop 26.

She is a mouse. Boris won’t feed her the section 30 cheese on the trap.

Nicola can stick her Devo Max up her Diva arse. I hope 2023 is the most painful poltitical year yet Sturgeon the Betrayer.

Hail Alba.

34. Ruby

X_Sticks says:
    8 June, 2022 at 3:35 pm

In that interview she looks like she’s recently had word that the police investigation into Peter’s missing £600k is closing in. Or that the Balmoral incident is real and about to break (again..)

Or anyone of the following

https://gordondangerfield.com/
    MARK HIRST V CHIEF CONSTABLE AND LORD ADVOCATE

https://archive.ph/hVXEu

‘Cops probe claims of Scottish Government information leak during Alex Salmond inquiry’

https://archive.ph/sT4QG

Police investigate SNP over independence campaign cash claims

https://archive.ph/z6pIg

Alex Salmond sex assault trial perjury claims being investigated

https://archive.ph/0ozrz

Jim Sillars lodges police complaint over ministers’ ferry fiasco ‘missing documents’

35. Ruby

X_Sticks says:
    8 June, 2022 at 3:35 pm

In that interview she looks like she’s recently had word that the police investigation into Peter’s missing £600k is closing in. Or that the Balmoral incident is real and about to break (again..)

Or anyone of the following

MARK HIRST V CHIEF CONSTABLE AND LORD ADVOCATE

‘Cops probe claims of Scottish Government information leak during Alex Salmond inquiry’

Police investigate SNP over independence campaign cash claims

Alex Salmond sex assault trial perjury claims being investigated

Jim Sillars lodges police complaint over ministers’ ferry fiasco ‘missing documents’

Post went into moderation. I’m guessing because there were too many links.
    I’ve removed the links.

36. Willie

Good Stuff Rev Stu for this timely reminder of exactly what Sturgeon is delivering as an agent of the establishment.

Otherwise, can I ask why a couple of recent BTL comments made by me have beempn held ‘ awaiting moderation “

I don’t make all that many comments and the recent few that I did typically referenced events in the Ukraine expressing comment that I didn5 think the war was going very well for the West. But for whatever reason the BTL comments got stuck in moderation.

Is that you Rev Stu or is it something else.

37. Confused

The blonde is a very good approximation of what La Mone has TRIED to turn herself into, but failed, having many more miles on the clock and no mechanic with an electrical drill, or plastic surgeon, can turn that back. The blonde could be a construction from the bits Michelle has chopped off herself.

All you haters should just – believe – once our friend of dorothy clicks her ruby slippers we will all sail “home” to indy, but over the rainbow, mind.

or will Alexbo Salmins of Shag End throw the wicked witch of wokes ruby slippers into the crack of doom. And which letter of the alphabet is this crack?

38. Willie

Good to see that readership is still very high.

39. Merkin Scot

The odious Boris PM reminded us today, at PM’s Questions, just how much Ian Blackford – of ‘screaming and kicking’ fame-has done to strengthen the Union. Says it all.

40. Ruby

Willie says:
    8 June, 2022 at 4:12 pm

Otherwise, can I ask why a couple of recent BTL comments made by me have beempn held ‘ awaiting moderation “

I don’t make all that many comments and the recent few that I did typically referenced events in the Ukraine

Ukraine would have been the word that triggered moderation but it looks as if it’s OK now

41. Papko

Watching that interview is painful.
    Try and do it with thd sound off.

” when are you going to give me that money that I lent you? ”

” will be doing it shortly”
    ” you said that the last time and every other time , its been 8 years now, when am I going to get my money ?)

” you’ll be getting it soon, it’s only fair and it’s only right and you will be getting it, just not now”.

I could do with a loan myself, with no interest.

42. Wullie B

It’s been a breath of fresh air seeing you back in twitter again, just need you to get more articles on here again

43. L

Can someone elaborate on the balmoral hotel incident? Has it ever been reported on? Is it coming out in the news?

44. Lad

What is the endgame here? What is her goal?

45. Frank Gillougley

My God, Socrates. You’re still alive! Good to hear from you!

46. Republicofscotland

Listening today to that treacherous shit Ian (Scotland won’t stand for it) Blackford rabbit on about 41% of Tory MPs voted for Johnson to resign. I casts my mind to Holyrood and the state Scotland is in under his bosses tenure as FM (Sturgeon the betrayer) and I thought that not even 1% of SNP MSPs has called for the resignation of Sturgeon.

What does that say about SNP MSPs, it tells me as long as those troughing b*stards are alright and doing okay Scotland and the rest of us can f*ck right off.

SNP MSPs are so gutless and spineless that even those that stood down at the last Holyrood elections haven’t came forward and spilt the beans on what’s going on within this once independence minded party.

47. solarflare

Still, it would be funny to see how The National turned that cranky non-response into “STURGEON ISSUES INDYREF2 RALLYING CRY” type copy.

48. Ian McCubbin

So true,
    When oh when will the majority left in SNP see this career unionist for what she is?
    You were 1st to spot her career agenda of self promotion, now most outside SNP including those of us who have left know.
    A credible alternative need to rise soon or independence is not happening any time soon.

49. Geoff Anderson

If she has to have a Referendum she is going to make sure she loses it!

50. Dan

Ach, she / her / burner of mandate’s agitation and impatience in the vid was jist her trying tae get awa tae a fuel station tae fill up the car before the price per litre went up another 5p a litre since this morning.
    Tescos diesel now 190.9p per litre near me…

51. Breeks

I wonder whether she actually knew she was speaking to a National reporter.

If they weren’t BBC or BritNat mainstream media, she probably wouldn’t recognise them, and we know her attitude towards Scotland’s online media…

52. Andy Ellis

@Ian McCubbin 6.55 pm

I suspect SNP loyalists aren’t going to start turning until next year when it becomes obvious that the promised indyref2023 is utter bullshit.

The only plausible ways forward is either for the SNP to be defeated and replaced with a “real” independence party (which isn’t necessarily going to be an easy or quick process), or for ordinary SNP members to eject Sturgeon and her cabal and all for all pro independence parties to make Holyrood 2026 elections plebiscitary.

I don’t think we can place any trust in folks assuring us that there is a cunning plan or novel constitutional path to early independence. Alba may not have the escape velocity to replace the SNP in the short term, but if we can’t stand the new party up by 2026 to at least hold the balance of power I fear we could be in for it not happening any time soon as you said.

53. Robert Hughes

Twitchy Gub @ DAVOS2024 Says

Look , will ye jist fuck off wae aw that Referendum shite , ah telt ye a hunner times , I’ll dae it when ah know ah kin lose it .. ah mean win it : win it , lose it , who gives a fuck ? Tell ye wit , if yv no heard fae me by the end of next year , text me or gies a shout at WGD’S gaff “

54. Breeks

Watching it again, I wonder if she’s miffed that the ring of steel security cordon failed and somehow a live reporter got close enough to fire off a whole salvo of spontaneous unscripted questions at her Queenliness.

She keeps looking to her left as if she’s looking for the Praetorian Guard to step in and remove this Proletarian upstart from her gaze.

I wonder. Crucifixion or a new life as a Galley Slave for some “ex” Security man?

55. Chas

It is far easier to con people rather than get people to admit that they have been conned!

56. Saffron Robe

From her recent pronouncements and behaviour (see pictures above!), it is clear that Nicola Sturgeon is the antithesis of Scottish independence, all those things we hoped independence would bring. Even if there were another independence referendum (and Westminster could easily call her bluff), I have a terrible feeling that we would find ourselves in the position of having to choose between staying in this wretched Union or Nicola Sturgeon’s twisted concept of independence. And that could well just be part of the plan to further divide, disillusion and disenfranchise the grassroots independence movement. As others have observed, if she loses the referendum then she can say oh well I tried and continue to ruin the country as a lackey of Westminster, or in the unlikely event that she won, she can continue to ruin the country as a lackey of the neo-liberal, globalist agenda. We are likely to be faced with Hobson’s choice and I for one could vote for neither. It makes the constitutional route to independence all that more imperative, especially as no-one in the SNP seems prepared to take up the cudgel.

57. Dan

@ Breeks

Shifty McBlinkblink needs to get herself wan or twa o’ these very bad-tempered and unamed PR goons for when she gets Ponsonbyed…

https://wingsoverscotland.com/sailing-away-from-the-truth/

58. shiregirl

She’s a stooge.
    Makes me cringe to think I actually believed her and what the SNP stood for. Not now, That changed way back.

Good to hear you are back on twitter – hope life is treating you well.

59. Lothianlad

Brilliant stuart. There is no doubt in my mind at least, that sturgeon if working For the british state!

60. Lothianlad

She is playing to loose any referendum.
    What a spineless bunch those on the payroll are.
    Every MSP Mp and Councillor, as well as party worker who stays silent while this leadership is in charge is nothing short of treacherous.

Shame on them!

61. craig murray

Ian McCubbin,

The Rev is a great man, but I am not sure that he was the first to see it.

In 2015 Robin McAlpine came to see me and told me that Nicola was a psycopathic narcissist, whose skill was in mimicking emotions such as empathy which in fact she did not feel at all. He said she had no interest in Independence.

I have huge respect for Robin and had known him already quite a while, but I thought he was losing the plot. But after that I started to notice things. A newspaper cameraman who follows her regularly told me he had observed her when she thought she was alone and then seen the mask come on when she moved into public, and it was truly like something out of science fiction. That squared with Robin’s account.

By early 2016 I realised Robin was right. I have been trying to explain it to others ever since.

But I cannot get my head round why Alex did not know.

62. Gordon Gekko

Everybody should read this

https://thegrayzone.com/2022/06/07/paul-masons-covert-intelligence-grayzone/

Remember every time Mason gets invited up to Scotland to speak.

63. Southernbystander

@Craig Murray.
    As an outsider to all of this I have disliked Sturgeon from the off. I could not place it tbh but she made my skin crawl, yet most of my leftists mates (I am one myself) thought she was great and wished we had someone like her in England. She is a consummate talker but the way you explain it makes perfect sense now and watching her lie through the recent enquiries, then get away with it, almost completely, is further confirmation.

I hesitate to say she is in the same league as Johnson for being a charlatan but she isn’t far off, but whereas he is brazen with it, doesn’t give a shit, she is sly, very sly and places huge importance in being seen as a person of integrity.

Those unguarded photos of her at all the royal do’s are quite telling. But what I am not getting is why she feels so obviously comfortable in that setting or why she is holding the monarchist line for the SNP.

Maybe like everyone says, she simply doesn’t want independence. Can that really be true? It would be one of biggest frauds in modern British politics if so and makes for the worst sort of leader – not interested in the cause but still apparently hostile to the Union. That is a recipe for endless limbo, zero progress on anything much and a chance to blame everything on Westminster whilst taking responsibility for nothing.

64. Mark Boyle

craig murray says: 8 June, 2022 at 9:39 pm

The Rev is a great man, but I am not sure that he was the first to see it.

In 2015 Robin McAlpine came to see me and told me that Nicola was a psycopathic narcissist, whose skill was in mimicking emotions such as empathy which in fact she did not feel at all. He said she had no interest in Independence.

You don’t say!

You could have asked any of those who were at the University of Glasgow at the time she and Alistair Allan were ruining running GUSNA and then the Student Rep Council, the latter so badly that for the first time in Glasgow Uni history the Senate started talking directly to the two University Unions instead

65. Scott

Nictating Sturgeon clearly has association problems when directly questioned or hearing new speech, or stressed.

Her blink-rate was always her ‘tell’, now she seems to have developed palsy around the mouth, with a greater propensity to focus her eyes away from the camera, with resigned stunted speech.

She had no issue relaxing for her own camera in London. None at all.

Something has caused that amount of stress to manifest itself this way in 3 days.

66. Kathmcscot

A welcome sight to see your posts again Stu!
    It is a tragic irony that she survives though the adulation of so many people, desperately looking for a hero to save Scotland from this toxic Union.
    I agree with Craig , why did Alex not see through her before it was too late ?

What will it take for her to fall from Grace ? Will she crack under the weight of her own lies or will her faithful followers finally admit what is staring them in the face and reject her ?

While we wait, Scotland suffers and Independence seems more distant than ever.

67. Ruby

craig murray says:
    8 June, 2022 at 9:39 pm

Maybe he did and thats why he found himself on trial charged with 13 counts of sexual assault.

Any further news about the latest charges being brought by one of the Alphabetties.

68. Ruby

My first indication that there was something suspect about Sturgeon was when she fired Mark MacDonald for sending a text.

69. Ruby

Has anyone seen her being asked

“What is a woman?”

“Do women have a penis?”

70. PacMan

Stuart MacKay says: 8 June, 2022 at 2:01 pm

Inflation of 20% in Estonia just triggered the collapse of the government. Johnson will likely be gone in a few weeks. After the leadership contest and the wave of economic bad news that’s heading the UK’s way the likelihood of a referendum, even if the timing and everything associated with getting a vote was right, is diminishing by the hour.

You could well be right but I just don’t share your optimism.

You simply can’t underestimate the establishments desire to keep Johnson in charge, simply to stop the possibility of the Tories being kicked out.

Therefore, you will see the media, including the BBC going into overdrive to deflect everything away from him whether it is painting it as a global problem or on petty things like trans womans on bicycles. Distraction, divide & conquer tactics and rampant British nationalism will go on overdrive in the months to come.

On an unrelated note, I wonder if the rating of Love Island will nosedive due to the young team not being able to get abroad this year due to staff shortages in the airline industry which is of course a global problem and nothing to do with the consequences of Brexit?

71. PacMan

craig murray says: 8 June, 2022 at 9:39 pm

I’ve got a feeling he know full well what she was like and after 2014 he was bidding his time to make a political comeback.

Unfortunately that was scuppered when the MeToo movement came along and the whole political environment changed as a result. In that changed environment, it was a perfect opportunity to destroy Alex Salmond and it happened as seen with events.

72. Breeks

craig murray says:
    8 June, 2022 at 9:39 pm

By early 2016 I realised Robin was right. I have been trying to explain it to others ever since.

Perhaps the craziest thing, or perhaps it’s the most telling, is just how little Sturgeon needed to do to secure immortal popularity and adulation from a grateful Scotland.

Alex Salmond had done all the heavy lifting, and despite “losing” in 2014 in a rigged game, YES had rising momentum, Better Together was in turmoil squirming to get out of the Vow, and Brexit came along to lend authority and opportunity for a second Referendum, or better still, created a binary Constitutional stand off which the Union could not survive. We were stood at the threshold of victory, and truth be known, I believed we stood across the threshold. We were actually over the line and by some distance.

Sturgeon could have tripped and fallen over in 2016, and Scotland would have stood up an Independent Nation. There was desperately little ever asked of Sturgeon, and so very little she ever had to do. She just didn’t do it.

When you think about it critically, Sturgeon had to introduce the disruptions which have stymied us and sown so much division; the stitch up of Alex Salmond, the doomed insanity of abandoning Scotland’s Brexit to focus on reversing England’s Brexit, the rise of Wokeratti and GRA reform, the attempted rebranding of YES, the slagging off of the YES blogosphere, the snide attitude to the AUOB marches, the sacking of good people to be replaced with utter dross, the destruction of the NEC and SNP modus operandi… All of it disruptive, none of it remotely called for. You could readily make the case for deliberate and active sabotage.

I’m not proud of saying it, if I’d been First Minister of Scotland in 2016, there could have been a murder in Bute House to rival that of Red Comyn, and all people might have known about it was a curious bulge under the carpet until the deal had been closed on Independence. That’s how important Independence is to me. Everything could have waited. Everything.

There was practically nothing Sturgeon had to do, stand firm on sovereign will and gravity alone was bringing the Union down, but stood in front of a gaping open goal, she did so very much worse than nothing.

I didn’t dislike Sturgeon in 2014, like everybody, I thought she was the safe pair of hands we needed. But her handling of the Vow as it collapsed in lies and ignominy, was gravely lacklustre, and early evidence that Sturgeon’s instincts were to capitulate rather than fight. That was late 2014. October 2014 actually.

Being critical of Sturgeon back then was heresy, wasn’t good for your popularity, got you maligned as closet Yoon, and you made enemies. You needed a thick skin. But as I recall, it was Rev Stu who was ahead of the game with the GRA hijacking the SNP and Independence. He was right.

The last thing I want to do is correct Craig Murray’s recollections, but I know for a fact Sturgeon was already taking heavy flak from Wings for quite some time before 2016. Wings was isolated and under heavy flak for a long time when people would have been better off paying closer attention to what Wings was saying. No wonder Rev Stu was so thoroughly scunnered by it; not just thrown to the wolves, they were our fkg wolves.

73. John Main

@CrapMan says:9 June, 2022 at 5:11 am

“On an unrelated note, I wonder if the rating of Love Island will nosedive due to the young team not being able to get abroad this year due to staff shortages in the airline industry which is of course a global problem and nothing to do with the consequences of Brexit?”

Google “Covid”, CrapMan. You will find reams of stuff, but focus on how Covid closed down the world airline industry for the best part of two years.

In the immortal words of Stewie, “Educate yourself, dude!”

74. X_Sticks

Breeks says:
    9 June, 2022 at 5:57 am

“You could readily make the case for deliberate and active sabotage.”

Aye, and now there’s this as well: the despicable treatment of Tim Rideout:

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2022/06/09/fixing-needing-sorted/

75. Ruby

I need advice from those who know how government works.

To what extent does Nicola Sturgeon make decisions?
    Does she have advisors who tell her what to do and say?

Is she basically just a puppet who is being manipulated by people a lot cleverer than she is?

Is Westminster fully in charge of the Scottish Government?

76. DJ

Ruby @9:36 am

Watch the documentary “The Spider’s Web” on Netflix to see who really is pulling the strings – and it is not Westminster. Well worth the watch even although it is a few years old.

77. Ruby

DJ says:
    9 June, 2022 at 9:56 am

Ruby @9:36 am

Watch the documentary “The Spider’s Web” on Netflix to see who really is pulling the strings – and it is not Westminster. Well worth the watch even although it is a few years old.

Cheers DJ I’ll do that.

78. Ruby

One other thing I have noticed about Sturgeon is she seems to be easily manipulated by criticism from Unionists. Unionist stand up for their members whereas Sturgeon seems to abandon them.

Tory politician accused of making a racism comment he/she says sorry is sent for diversity training end of story.

SNP politician accused of making a racism comment he/she is suspended and given absolutely no support from Sturgeon.

79. Republicofscotland

The people of Scotland have spoken giving multiple mandates to leave this union, there’s no political body in England that supercedes the will of the Scottish people as we are sovereign.

We do not need a referendum to dissolve this God awful onesided union, again the majority of Scots have elected a government whose remit is to remove Scotland from this union.

No document at Westminster has priority over the will of the sovereign people of Scotland, we are being held in this union by an FM who doesn’t want Scottish independence and by smoke and mirrors created at Westminster on the basis that somehow we need their permission and a referendum we don’t.

80. PacMan

@ John Main

Predictable.

Nothing to do with running an economy dependent on migrant labour and wages that require in-work benefits?

Run along to the Daily Mail, that’s your level of intelligence.

81. Mark Boyle

PacMan says: 9 June, 2022 at 5:11 am

You simply can’t underestimate the establishments desire to keep Johnson in charge, simply to stop the possibility of the Tories being kicked out.

Therefore, you will see the media, including the BBC going into overdrive to deflect everything away from him whether it is painting it as a global problem or on petty things like trans womans on bicycles. Distraction, divide & conquer tactics and rampant British nationalism will go on overdrive in the months to come.

Utter rubbish, you silly boy! The media went into “Boris Must Go!” overdrive once the vote of no confidence was announced, we even had the BBC in one interview before the 6pm poll had opened asking “what will be his legacy” and speaking of him continually in the past tense. They and Sky appeared in competition as to who could provide the most blatantly anti-Boris coverage – the only relief being Sophy Ridge “accidentally” referring to “Jeremy C**t” just as she was about to interview Tinfoil Theresa’s old deputy dawg where she gave him short shrift (strangely enough, that was the last we saw of her involvement in proceedings)

The most unholy alliance of hacks this side of Game Of Thrones – full fat Thatcherites, Remoaners, Guardianista Socialists (“everyone but me needs to pay more and consume less!”) SNP Hiveminders (“I must repeat everything The Great Ones say!”) went all out in giving the impression Boris was going to lose, doubtless in the hope of swaying enough of the more lazy and out of touch Tory MPs that he was gone and they’d be best backing the winning side (as politicians are wont to do during any palace coup).

Far from deflecting, they flung everything they could at him, and he still won, and three days on are still going on about it.

Maybe they should have taken some advice from Dominic Cummings, who would have warned them what happens to attempted coups when they don’t even have an agreed alternative leader – let alone leaders – to proffer those they want to rally to their black flag.

82. Ruby

https://tinyurl.com/ycyrv977

Watched “The Spider’s Web” on YouTube.

https://tinyurl.com/ycyrv977

I don’t think I was far off the mark saying ‘Westminster’ is fully in charge of the Scottish Government.

Any good documentaries about where the money is coming from to fund the trans movement.

How much does it take to convince a ‘feminist’ that a man is actually a woman with a penis?

83. Republicofscotland

More on why we don’t need the permission of a foreign countries parliament to leave this ghastly union. Scots need to wake up and realise we are in control of our destiny not a foreign countries parliament.

“Lord Cooper in his summary of McCormack vs The Lord Advocate (1953) pointed out there was no equivalent in Scots law of the English law constitutional practice of “The Crown in Parliament” as the people of Scotland are sovereign – given legal status by the Claim of Right 1689 (which remains “in law”) by which the current Queen was made “Queen of Scots” – and that their considered will is paramount. He argued that at some point in the future, unless this critical constitutional black hole and the series of fudges used to hide it, at the centre of the UK Parliamentary system, were not fully and properly addressed it could lead to the end of the UK Parliamentary Union. This warning was from a person who was a staunch Unionist.”

“We are now at the point Lord Cooper was concerned about, the future point where the “considered will of the people of Scotland (which remains paramount)” would trump an English law and constitutional practice used to give the UK Government and Parliament overweening powers that have no equivalence in Scots law or constitutional practice, especially as we watch the impact on the unwritten English constitution of being trodden under by a venal and corrupt UK Government, led by a serial liar and psychopath, for whom the law is for other people and not them.”

“So a plebiscite on Scotland’s future within the UK Parliamentary Union is vouchsafed under the UN Charter of Human Rights or on the basis it is the “considered will of the people of Scotland” which on vote share for parties supporting the plebiscite in Scotland, both in Holyrood and at Westminster, it clearly is and therefore can not be deemed “illegal”or requiring UK Parliamentary or UK Government agreement, as the Union Treaty itself allows for the sovereign parliament of either of the original signatories to repeal their Act of Union by which the Treaty is empowered. We Scots vote Yes to end the Union in a plebiscite then our sovereignty fully resides at Holyrood, which as a successor sovereign parliament in Scotland to the “Thrie Estaites” can repeal the Scottish Act of Union of 1707.”

84. Ruby

‘The Unionist Missionaries’ Boyle, Main, Chas & Ellis are here to point out what ‘silly boys & girls’ we all are.

Isn’t that kind of them? Yes/No?

85. Chas

Is shows the level of your intelligence Ruby when you accuse educated, realistic Scots of being Unionists when they continue to point out the errors and downright stupidity of the dreamers and the romantics. Or is it just the B.S.E kicking in again?

86. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Ukraine would have been the word that triggered moderation but it looks as if it’s OK now”

“Ukraine” does now trigger pre-moderation, because the comments were just an absolute fucking binfire on the subject. If people try to get round it with character replacement they’ll be banned.

87. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“The Rev is a great man, but I am not sure that he was the first to see it.”

Craig’s quite right here, Robin saw it before me. Though in fairness Robin meets these people in real life so he has an advantage there.

88. Frowning

You know, I do wonder, if you’d told Sturgeon at age 16, when she went into politics because she ostensibly hated Thatcher, that she would BECOME Thatcher – and worse – for Scotland, when she was in her early 50s…what she would have thought. I get the feeling she went into politics more out of loneliness as a gay teen, is now revelling in all her homosexual cabinet and teen pals, and the FM thing for her might have been less political and more social. Because she’s quite clearly mad, and it’s impossible that we could ever have gotten worse than a closeted sociopathic vengeful lesbian misandrist to run this country. She will never be forgiven. Never.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.