Total Perspective Vortex

Posted on June 18, 2016 by

Returning astronaut Tim Peake reveals the BBC’s new weather map.

peakeuk

(Chris Cairns will be back tomorrow.)

1. 18 06 16 12:56

Total Perspective Vortex | speymouth

114 to “Total Perspective Vortex”

1. bobajock

Have to say, a stunning picture.

2. Kennedy

Good indicator/comparison of population densities.

3. David MacGille-Mhuire

So space is Anglo-centric, too?

The Little Englanders will be ecstatic.

Will he reveal a memo from the mouth of the Almighty confirming God is an English BREXITEER and BoJo and Farage are the other two component parts of the Holy Trinity?

4. carjamtic

WTF….then it dawned on me.

;-/

5. ronnie anderson

And the Lord said Let there be Light and some people grabbed as much as they could. nae dark sky’s in Londinioum then.

Nice Photo.

6. Bob Mack

Yet they say that Scotland would be more expensive for energy? There ,in that picture we can see where energy production actually is utilised in the UK and who relies on it more.

A picture tells a thousand words.

7. Hugh Kirk

I can see my house down there ,burning bright with electricity.

8. ronnie anderson

Soon to be Sir Tim of the Bended Knee.

9. Brian McHugh

Powerful image.

10. Grouse Beater

As usual, Scotland’s kept in the dark. 😕

11. heedtracker

Really hope astronaut Tim’s a Leave vote:D

12. schrodingers cat

just for fun, all those meeting him when he lands should dress up as apes.. 🙂

13. Petra

Returning astronaut Tim Peake reveals the United Kingdom following Brexit and Indyref2. Without the ‘United’ part what will it be called then? Disunited Kingdom? Ununited Kingdom? Formerly United Kingdom? Just Kingdom or Queendom? England and Co? Anyone got any suggestions? Robert?

14. Richardinho

London there looks a lot like the center of our own galaxy the Milky Way which of course contains a massive black hole in it gradually sucking everything in.

15. Dr Jim

Scotland has light saving technology (SWITCH)

We switch them Aff!

16. Dr Jim

@Petra

The Kingdom formerly known as Yoonited

Or for short “Alone”

17. Fairliered

No doubt that image will be all over the BBC.

18. brewsed

I have tended to prefer that post Brexit and Scotland’s subsequent continued membership of EU, that the peninsular dahn sarth be referred to by the initials formed from Former United Kingdom.

19. Bob Mack

@Petra,

Looking at that photo Scotland could be called The Dark Kingdom. Sure that would go down well with Britney media.

20. Fran

@ Petra

The political state formally known as. Don’t think it would be catchy at the Olympics, Team TPSFKA.

21. heedtracker

Future UK, one day soon

https://www.flickr.com/photos/timpeake/26506270552/

Tim’s got an incredible flickr collection, although its probably cost a hundred million zillion dollars. Tim’s UK shots certainly show how BBC creeps put a lot of UKOK thought into just their weather forecast maps.

22. Macandroid

Looks they’re burning uranium up in Iceland ?

23. maxxmacc

Most ‘images’ from space which have originated from Nasa are CGI. Nasa stands for ‘No Astronauts Should Apply’.

24. Tinto Chiel

Inverness looks nice.

Time for David Starkey/Max Hastings/Katie Hopkins to comment, “Of course, they all live in the Dark Ages up there”?

Funny how France 24 can get the map projection right.

Isn’t Scotland big, mes braves?

25. heedtracker

Now youre talking. This is major Tim to ground control. Space is now English. Mission accomplished.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/timpeake/25993956534/in/photostream/

Wonder if astronauts from countries what aren’t British take so many bloody flags into space? Good old British nationalism.

Maybe astronaut Tim’s just really really into flags but NASA’s luggage allowance is a clearly a feck of a lot better than Ryan Air.

26. manandboy

Something similar could be seen at Ascot this week.

27. Anagach

Our lizards overlords get their weather map from their orbital spacestation – now all is clear…:-)

28. Luigi

Another great achievement for Grande Britannia.

Hang on: I thought the Russians were bad. Have nothing to do with them. So, how come we are using their space equipment?

Oh I forgot. 🙁

29. frogesque

We at least have a chance of seeing the aura without a zillon dollar space trip. Londoners on the other hand – nae chance.

30. ScottieDog

Ffs
    I see they still have park head and Ibrox at the very top.
    Typical.

31. Socrates MacSporran

Scotland may be largely in the dark in the picture, but, we are not nearly as dark as Ireland, methinks.

32. schrodingers cat

Petra
    how about, newco or sevco?

33. One_Scot

I can now see why England is reluctant to let go of Scotland’s oil.

34. Artyhetty

Ah, very good. It is obviously how the yoons see their yookay in their minds. It is a very good image, it shows the way in which most people, south of the border, perceive their beloved UKOK.

It’s a psychological representation, and also afflicts those in seats of power in london.

Shame the Lapetus ocean all those millions of years ago closed the gap. We were once physically independent, at about where Hadrian’s wall is. We just need a majority of people in Scotland, to see the light (:-)) and get it into their heads that Scotland is more than capable of independence from her abusive neighbour.

This picture also shows who is most dependent, by a long chalk, on our oil and gas, we need out before they bleed us dry.

Anyone remember the power cuts before the indy ref? National grid anyone.

35. Macart

Now that’s a country with a lot of energy demands. 😉

36. heedtracker

Experiment on effects of space on royals butt kissing

https://www.flickr.com/photos/timpeake/24902442679/in/photostream/

Very important for future UKOK Mars colony.

37. heedtracker

Experiment on effects in space and astronaut crews, when English dude starts on about England World Cup winning 1966

https://www.flickr.com/photos/timpeake/24832245619/in/photostream/

38. Leslie Wilson

Shows just who is most important, we live in a wee backwater!

I ask, if others have noticed this, I use (mostly) Google chrome.
    Using this, it puts up it’s front page with the search bar, below that it puts up your most sites, eight of them.

I probably visit Wings several times a day, much more than other sites, but hey, the less visited sites are there, Wings, my most visited is not.
    Google in cahoots with Westminster? no other explanation.

39. Calum McKay

Mushroom syndrome – Scotland is keep in the dark and fed on bullshit!

40. Hamish100

Met office maps, BBC are all the same. The have the Isle of Wight (England) larger than the Isle of Arran (Scotland)yet the opposite is true. Does mean that a raindrop in Arran is proportional bigger in Scotland than England. Some boff will work the respective sizes. Mind you rain in London must mean blizzards in Dumfries and wipeout in Caithness. The western Isles and Orkney and Shetland are in wee boxes on the top right of a map or in the North Sea.

41. heedtracker

Met office maps, BBC are all the same

They also leave Glasgow out of all weather forecasts too, now. All summaries for their country, no Glasgow. Wonder why dear BBC creep show? Its not just that they’re such an endlessly petty, vindictive bunch of incredibly expensive UKOK propagandists but it’s certainly some of it.

42. crazycat

@ Artyhetty

It’s not Lapetus but Iapetus with a capital i which looks like a lower case l – in the preview box I can see this because it uses a serif typeface, but as soon as I post, it will appear in sans-serif and the confusion will recur.

43. ronnie anderson

O/T.
    Just read on Scot2.scot about Dundee City Council, so here it is.

http://www.dundeecity.gov.uk/search/television%20licences

What the fuck has it to do with them ,assisting Capita against the People of Dundee.

44. yesindyref2

It is funny. It does go to prove that the BBC Weather, where “it’s raining in Scotland”, is produced by space cadets.

45. Smallaxe

My wife has just drew my attention to something on Facebook
    Farage saying violence will be the next thing to happen if they don’t have control of their borders!I think this came off the Indy girls page.

46. Dr Jim

According to the French Finance Minister the UK can’t afford to leave the EU as it’s only about as important as the Isle of Guernsey in the world

That’ll make the case even more for the Leavers
    It makes you wonder who’s side anybody is actually on

I had to laugh at that one though

47. jamie

Where did scotland go? I know the unionists think scotland is a myth what with the unicorn symbolism n all but this is taking the biscuit. European space agency and nasa conspiracy.

48. galamcennalath

England is 130k sqrkm, Scotland 79k. You would never know that from the weather maps!

There’s more to it, though. Islands and sea come into it. From Shetland to Galloway, Hebrides to Eyemouth. Scotland has a similar periphery to England and Wales.

Then there is complexity. Mountains, sea, exposure to the open ocean, and latitude. Basically, there is more to Scotland’s weather. More variation, greater extremes.

A fair and accurate (perhaps the most important thing) UK wide forecast would spend at least half the bulletin on Scotland!

I can only assume they focus on where the people are. As the pic shows, that’s in the south.

49. The Man in the Jar

The best Tim Peake photo I have seen was on twitter. It was one taken of him during take-off. In it he has a huge grin and is giving a double thumbs up sign.

The caption read “That feeling you get when you leave the planet that donald Trump lives on!”

It was one of those extremely rare, almost non existent occasions when the internet actually made me laugh out loud. “Lol” 😉

50. Glamaig

@Dr Jim

I heard that on R4 news. The campaign may be suspended, but Project Fear goes on. Thing is, it might backfire, I can imagine the proud English bristling at the cheek of a Frenchman saying that, and being swung towards vote Leave.

51. heedtracker

Boris, even the UK lotto is owned by a Canadian teacher’s pension fund. Most of not Scots oil’s been invested in Engand and with all the major profit going straight into the giant UK pension fund industry in the City. It’s for our own good you see as Gordon Brown raged there would be NO Scottish pensions if we voted YES 2014.

On a less mental crash Gordon rage note… While future Lord Tim Peakes tells us for the rest of our UKOK lives what a great time he’s had for teamGB in space, it’s worth remembering that the first hunan to walk on the Moon, Neil Armstrong, was Scottish.

52. donald anderson

Typical EBC map.

53. yesindyref2

Of course, technically the space station orbits within a few latitudes of the equator, and the picture actually shows what the UK would look like from somewhere south of the UK skies. Which is why you always look from south-west to south-east to see the space station for a few minutes.

But I wonder what they would show if the space station actually orbited in a shallow latitudinally variable orbit around the north pole. Now that would be funny.

54. Paisley bud

I seen in the BBC news channel on the hourly news countdown thing where they show all their global reporters transmitting the news to London and out to the masses. for important propaganda they use an email subject line “For Immediate Broadcast”. I wonder how that could be abbreviated?

55. bugsbunny

It does look like a star system with London as the Andromeda Galaxy. Some “Abductees” say the Grays that abduct them come from a star system that is aligned sight wise with Andromeda.

I wonder if the Grays have anything in common with Westminster Government MP’s? Both are Alien to us, both are unfeeling, both are manipulative and exploitative.

And both can and do kidnap people in the middle of the night, especially the young, and probe them anally.

Stephen.

56. call me dave

@Leslie Wilson
    Yeah noticed that too, same as you.

Just catching up, been in Oban for a few days, visiting partners parents but rented a house,… well can’t take the hassle anymore about their politics or constant BBC tv. No internet etc

Both voted NO indy
    Lib Dem’s loved Charlie K.
    Queenie on the mantlepiece
    Out the EU cause the papers say so and SNP bad. 🙁

Noticed two flags up at the harbour too
    Rainbow flag right next to another one ‘Save our British fish’

Happy to report many new flagpoles and Saltires flying in folks gardens though… Par for the course.

Hope your DIY is getting on well Mr Peffers. 🙂

57. Dr Jim

Tom Harris says: People distrust politicians because of Cyril Smith and Greville Janner

So there we are then, couldn’t be anything else maybe, so just those two Hmm
    I’ve got the feeling he might have missed something there

Let me think? Hmmmnn It’ll come to me

58. Alan Mackintosh

O/T but noticed this on FB. Seems that Tom Mair is indeed a member of Britain First. Photo on BF’ website shows someone who looks remarkably like him (wearing same hat as Thurs) at northern brigade demo.

https://3.bp.blogspot.com/-_RT8sCqtB9M/V2Uda32UmkI/AAAAAAAABo8/hbqx-f1jTZgiypj4na5GgVHntITHlvsdgCLcB/s640/Britain%2BFirst%2BThomas%2BMair.png

59. yesindyref2

@Alan Mackintosh
    Different colour baseball hat, different style of dressing, looks a bit taller, and even the facebook page says it’s not confirmed it’s him. Might be him, but can’tbe identified from that picture, unless by an expert.

60. Proud Cybernat

Lights on, no one in. At least I hope we’re all still IN on Thursday.

61. bugsbunny

Brewsed@11.46,

What about Former United Continuous Kingdom Of Fraternal Fallacious Upstarts & Northern Incorporation Of Nitwits?

Fraternal Fallacious Upstarts = Brotherhood of Mistaken Beliefs & Arrogant Bastards. Yup that sums up Westminster Politics for you.

Stephen.

62. Conan the Librarian™

But you should see the size of France!

63. Robert Peffers

@Hugh Kirk says: 18 June, 2016 at 11:22 am:

“I can see my house down there ,burning bright with electricity.”

Well ye’ll no see mine, Hugh. I’m doing some renovations that include an almost total rewire of the electrics. I do have some lights and a couple of power points for work-lights and power tools but these are only on as necessary.

I wouldn’t want to electroplate myself.

64. Gary45%

Can’t be the Empire Broadcasting Corporation, because Scotland wouldn’t be that big.
    Sir Rodney of the trough playing in the Highlands, its amazing how many blondes there are up here, and that’s just the guys.

65. yesindyref2

@Robert Peffers
    OT
    Saw your posting on the other thread, and replied extolling the virtues of Thistle 1 coat plaster – I even keep some in an old Roses jar and use it instead of polyfilla or 151, better and much cheaper. As well as having used it for arches and redoing a bit of wall.

Anyways, got me thinking about a problem I’ve had for (cough) years. 19th century cottage, old lath and plaster, can’t use lights in hall or bathroom anymore as fittings dodgy. So your posting made me look up LED lights for some reason, and they’ve got pretty cheap. 1/10th power consumption, a lot less heat, even a quick look found a 100 watt equivalent (10 watt) for £40, and I expect they can be bought even cheaper.

Just an idea, it’s going to solve my problem, errrrr, some time.

66. yesindyref2

OT
    Sheeesh, just had the TV on for the tennis and it’s now supposed to be the Iceland Hungary match but guess what – they’re talking about England. Good grief, and how it is the NO voters don’t notice this?

67. dramfineday

Now then ofgem, remind me again, the poluter pays? Yes?

68. Robert Peffers

@Petra says: 18 June, 2016 at 11:37 am:

Returning astronaut Tim Peake reveals the United Kingdom following Brexit and Indyref2. Without the ‘United’ part what will it be called then? Disunited Kingdom? Ununited Kingdom? Formerly United Kingdom? Just Kingdom or Queendom? England and Co? Anyone got any suggestions? Robert?

Och! No! Petra. The disuniting legally returns to, “The Status Quo Ante”. This is defined as :-

noun from the Latin

The situation as it existed before. As things were before whatever happened or is being discussed took place. For example, status quo ante bellum is the situation as it existed before the war.

In this instance the Status Quo Ante sees Scotland, an existing country, return to being the Kingdom of Scotland.

The individual countries of Wales, Northern Ireland and England collectively return to being, “The Kingdom of England”.

As for, “The United King of Great Britain & Northern Ireland”, it no longer can exist as the member state of such The European Union, NATO, UN and the Geneva Convention.

Which means that both former partners have equal claims on membership but membership will depend upon whether the organisations in question want both or either as members.

That means they either accept both as members but with renegotiated terms or require both former partners to re-apply as members.

No doubt the Establishment will claim otherwise – a lot of good that will do them in respect of EU membership, or even for NATO or the UN. It is Scotland that sits bang in the area of the North Atlantic Gap. This from Wiki :-

The Battle of the Atlantic was the longest continuous military campaign in World War II, running from 1939 to the defeat of Germany in 1945.

At its core was the Allied naval blockade of Germany, announced the day after the declaration of war, and Germany’s subsequent counter-blockade. It was at its height from mid-1940 through to the end of 1943.

The Battle of the Atlantic pitted U-boats and other warships of the Kriegsmarine (German navy) and aircraft of the Luftwaffe (German Air Force) against the Royal Canadian Navy, Royal Navy, the United States Navy, and Allied merchant shipping.

69. Jimbo

Just saw this on the Internet – Hard to believe the gall of Gordon Brown:

Remain camp need their own version of The Vow

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/remain-camp-need-version-vow-8052662#GyGFWE4LOTpVWYgz.97

70. Robert Peffers

@heedtracker says: 18 June, 2016 at 12:06 pm:

“Space groveling

https://www.flickr.com/photos/timpeake/26287471520/in/photostream/

It might be a trifle humbling for Mr Peake to read the following from NASA, (Which, incidentally is a fudge).

The Soviet Union stunned the world on Nov. 3, 1957, with the launch of Sputnik 2. On board the small satellite was a little dog, Laika, the first animal to orbit Earth.

However, Laika was not the first animal in space. The United States and the U.S.S.R. had been putting animals atop rockets since 1947.In the early days of rocket science, no one knew what the effects of weightlessness would be. Animals — mainly dogs, monkeys and chimps — were used to test the safety and feasibility of launching a living being into space and bringing it back unharmed.

Since then, animals have continued to play an important role in understanding the impact of microgravity on many biological functions. Astronauts have studied all kinds of animals — wasps, beetles, tortoises, flies, worms, fish, spiders, rabbits, bees, ants, frogs, mice, crickets, rats, newts, snails, urchins, moths, brine shrimp, jellyfish, guinea pigs, butterflies, scorpions and cockroaches.

The fudge is, of course, that before little Laika the assorted creatures were only sent into sub-space.

The wee dog was the first to actually go into orbit round the Earth in true space and come back alive.

NASA has always attempted to play down the USSR Laika mission. Peake was preceded by almost 60 years by a wee dog. Mind you the wee dog didn’t send anyone birthday greetings, much less to the Queen of England.

71. bugsbunny

Actually Robert, with Laika the Space dog, it was a one way mission.

time.com/3546215/laika-1957/

Stephen.

72. Robert Peffers

@call me dave says: 18 June, 2016 at 3:37 pm:

” … Hope your DIY is getting on well Mr Peffers”

It goes well – but very slowly.

My disabilities make such work very slow.

As my wise old Granny told be when I was wee :-

The butterfly has wings of gold
    The Firefly wings of flame.(said in best Queen’s English).
    Bit the puir wee flech haes nane ava,
    bit it gets their jist the same. (Said in braid Lallans Scots).

So, there you go – I’m getting there slowly but surely.

73. Richardinho

It’s also never mentioned either that Laika had the honour of doing the first jobby in space..

74. David Webb

Total Perspective Vortex. “In one instant you can comprehend the whole infinity of creation and yourself in relation to it”.
    Question is, did you extrapolate this from a piece of Fairy Cake? lol

75. Vambomarbeleye

This must be a continuation of the sun never setting on the British empire. Because God wanted to see what the English were up to. Obviously he or she now needs to keep even a closer eye on them. Hence all the lights burning

76. Capella

Craig Murray has a post about Thomas Mair and terrorism with the photo mentioned above:
    https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2016/06/muslims-terrorists-now-official/comment-page-1/#comments

Some interesting comments too. Several are by “Alan” about The White Helmets in Syria.
    https://www.craigmurray.org.uk/archives/2016/06/muslims-terrorists-now-official/comment-page-1/#comment-604109

Curiouser and curiouser.

77. ahundredthidiot

Very funny Rev

And clever

Good to know I am not alone in the universe

78. Iain More

Doesn’t look like there are a lot of places in England to have a dark room. It might explain a lot!

79. Scott

I just switched the TV on and heard Alan Shearer say I would pull his shirt stand on his toes whisper in his ear just to wind him up.I don’t know who he was talking about but as Portugal who is playing it must be Renaldo.
    Shearer you are a fool is that what you tell the young kids to do you should be ashamed of yourself this on live TV as well.

80. SOG

If you’d like a different view. It says ‘England’ in the title because it’s on the CPRE website, but covers Scotland too. Scroll up a bit, to zoom click on the little + top left.

http://nightblight.cpre.org.uk/maps/

81. Legerwood

Interesting to note that the near continuous band of light across the Central Belt of Scotland, which gives an indication of how densely populated it is, also happens to be the main target area for fracking in Scotland. Nice!!!

82. Dr Jim

How come there’s so much crime in England when it’s lit up like Disneyland

83. Meindevon

O/t Don’t do Twitter but saw the Rev looking for us to crowd fund his new car. Good choice Stu and they’re doing interest free credit! Happy to donate a fiver! ? Got the 1.5 so you have to drive it like you stole it. I want to know why mine hasn’t got that stupid little air dam…I want one!

84. Grouse Beater

Dr Jim: “How come there’s so much crime in England when it’s lit up like Disneyland”

This might help: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-7dL

(I also wwrote about HSBC some weeks ago)

85. The Rough Bounds.

Robert Peffers. 5.50.

”…bit it gets THERE jist the same.”

Sorry Robert.

86. Glamaig

Some good articles in the National today as an island of sanity in the ocean of utter bollocks that is the UK MSM.

87. Valerie

Anagach says:
    18 June, 2016 at 12:10 pm
    Our lizards overlords get their weather map from their orbital spacestation

My favourite comment!

@Capella

This White Helmets thing has really got me looking for some tinfoil headgear!

I frequent and read the larger global politics websites, and I have taken a keen interest in Syria, even being pretty familiar with the names of the various factions.

I’ve been reading for months about the White Helmets, on all those sites quoted by posters on the Craig Murray thread.

I’m completely stunned to find that the fundraising page for Jo Cox, has 3 causes that the money will be shared with, the White Helmets being one.

I wouldn’t contemplate donating money to that organisation.

In watching some of the tribute footage to Jo Cox, it quickly became clear to me that I wouldn’t support her view on Syria, because she was very vocal about regime change.

Cox abstained on the Syria vote, but her views on regime change chime directly with USA policy, which I utterly condemn.

88. Glamaig

looks like Remain may be in the lead again
    http://uk.reuters.com/article/uk-britain-eu-polls-idUKKCN0Z40SA

The bookies picked this up on Friday. How does that work?

89. HandandShrimp

It seemed likely that the murder of Jo Cox would have a negative effect on the Leave campaign.

Bizarre behaviour by the murderer considering Leave were in front.

90. yesindyref2

Talking about animals in space reminds me of the old story when a chimp trained to communicate with gestures was sent on a launch. The rocket went up from the launch pad, the engine flamed out, the rocket settled back, the chimp got out of the hatch, and the reporters asked the chimp what he thought about it all.

“2 feet up, big fecking deal”.

It looks better than it sounds.

91. yesindyref2

Motor not engine!

92. Rock

Glamaig,

“looks like Remain may be in the lead again”

A rigged Remain result is being worked on.

Will teach Farage, Johnson and Galloway a lesson they will not forget.

93. galamcennalath

This one might suggest a swing To Remain had already begun ….

YouGov, online / 15 – 16 Jun

Remain: 42% (+3)
    Leave: 44% (-2)

Both the 2011 voting system referendum and our own IndyRef appear to have had a 4-5% swing to ‘no change’ in the last week or so. Perhaps same here. Or, the dreadful attack could of course be an influence.

94. yesindyref2

@Rock
    There’ll be friggin’ in the riggin’. The UK is the good ship Venus after all.

95. galamcennalath

Wow, they keep coming … post attack …

YouGov, online / 16 – 17 Jun

Remain: 44% (+2)
    Leave: 43% (-1)

96. Capella

@ Valerie
    It was the Jo Cox connection which surprised me. The mendacious nature of the Westminster government funding such organisations in our name is truly appalling. No doubt Jo Cox believed them to be a humanitarian organisation.

Polly Toynbee and now Simon Kettle have written articles demanding that we not hate MPs. I quite agree. But there is also an obligation on MPs to act for the best interests of the people they represent.

Stirring up hatred in the Middle East and fear of immigrants in the UK, such as the refugees fleeing from the mess our government has created, is dangerous. There are some MPs and former MPs who are responsible. The fact that they routinely get away with it makes a mockery of democracy. Then the innocent suffer.

Once this ghastly referendum is over I do hope people reflect on the mess that Westminster has created.

Global Research article on the White Helmets here:
    http://tinyurl.com/qbcxwvy

97. HandandShrimp

Wow, they keep coming … post attack …

YouGov, online / 16 – 17 Jun

Remain: 44% (+2)
    Leave: 43% (-1)

If it is that close on the day then the vote in Scotland could be the difference that swings an in vote

I look forward to the phone calls showing the love 😉

98. galamcennalath

HandandShrimp says:

“If it is that close on the day then the vote in Scotland could be the difference that swings an in vote”

… which may be the idea outcome. They wanted us in their Union, so they got us, and our votes.

99. Orri

It’s human nature to loath and despise people. MPs are amongst the most obvious targets. Asking people not to do so is unrealistic. That does not mean we should allow that hate to dictate our actions. Just as I’ll not apologize for lusting after women but would if my actions prompted by that were a cause for offence.

If MPs don’t want hate then they should avoid acting in a way that justifies it.

100. Ian Brotherhood

@shiregirl –

How did it go last night then?

101. Orri

The problem with these polls having so close a result is that they can’t account for postal votes. There may be a large contingent of UK nationals able to vote who are at present resident in the EU. The polling companies haven’t asked them for an opinion.

On the other hand there will be a lot of postal votes sent before Thursday. My wife and I had already sent ours.

102. Dr Jim

It’s dribbling out now:

Certain prominant figures within the Scottish Labour party are now saying they’re sorry they lied to pensioners and others during the Scottish Referendum in order to win
    Blair McDougall for one feels bad, others are considering their position

People keep saying you couldnae make it up, but ye could, and you’d be right

Well aw diddums, Let’s hear it for the repentents and shed a collective tear and all together say there there it’s alright we forgive you…. Ya shower of Bastirts….NOT!!

This looks like the prelude to what eh?
    I’ll bet we can all hazard a right good guess

And we’re all good guessers on Wings

103. crazycat

@ Orri

Postal votes are included. They can’t be reported separately, because that would constitute a premature exit poll, but they are polled.

James Kelly has a few comments about this under his latest piece on Scot goes Pop! – I haven’t seen any discussion of voters living abroad as a separate category, though.

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/no-clear-trend-in-weekend-polls.html

104. Ian Brotherhood

Total Perspective Vortex…

Hmmm.

Just over a fortnight to go before the Chilcott Report is finally released.

We’ll get a different slant then, on how much ‘respect’ politicians deserve from us, and how much solidarity they have with one another.

Wouldn’t it would be great to have an ‘app’ which shows the actual movement of politicians as and when they’re moving about, just like we can track planes and ships?

Cause one thing’s for sure – as we get closer to July 6th (forget all the Eurobollocks), Blair, Straw, Hoon, Ingram, and everyone else who assisted Bush’s PNAC-friendly administration will be getting very agitated indeed.

And here’s why, in a viciously satirical form.

Please be warned -if you didn’t like ‘Team America’, you won’t like this:

‘Action Man: Battlefield Casualties’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8KtyMcb86go

105. Still Positive.

Dr Jim @ 11.48

Where did you hear/read that?

The EU vote will likely be rigged for Remain but what will happen after?

106. Valerie

Just doing a bit of snooping.

Mr Brendon Cox is an interesting individual involved in global development, and a former advisor to Gordon Brown.

I feel grubby reading these global development sites, supported by huge corporations, Coca Cola, Bloomberg.

It’s all very interesting however reading their corporate speak about ‘doing good’. Sounds very virtuous.

107. Dr Jim

@Still Positive

David Halliday on Twitter

108. Ghillie

Tim mibee doesn’t need to see the Earth ruled by apes to be truly appalled by what he has come home to.

Maybe a planet ruled by apes would be preferable.

109. K1

Could someone (with a herald moniker) point out to the numpties btl on this headline article on the Herald site that ‘Salmond’ isn’t ‘exploiting’ anything. It’s pretty clear if you actually read the bloody article that MP’s have been asked ‘by’ the Herald for comments regarding the tone of this referendum and the effects it may have in political discourse going forward. The headline of the article states that Mrs Cox’s killing ‘could have’ ‘significant effect’.

The fact is the journalist (spit) who was ‘asking’ the questions specifically ‘asked’ Mr Salmond:

‘Salmond, when asked whether the death of Cox could swing the outcome of the EU referendum towards Remain, said: “It might.” He added: “It might have a significant effect. But it should also have a long-term effect on cleaning our act up and getting out of the gutter.’

He actually said ‘it might have…’, not ‘could have’ he goes on to qualify his comments, it’s clearly ‘conversational’, it is not a statement that he has released stating this off the cuff. It really begs the question if it had not been ‘put to him’ whether he would have even commented on this aspect at all.

Do these people not read the articles they spew their blatant prejudices over btl?

These very people would do well to reign in their own ‘hatred’ and disturbing fascination with their own projections on to Mr Salmond/SNP. They just come across as completely unhinged and without a shred of intelligence with their snide and smearing rhetoric a constant refrain of SNP/Salmonbaaaad. Sick o’ it!

http://archive.is/kZADo

110. Petra

@Jimbo says at 4:58 pm …. ”Just saw this on the Internet – Hard to believe the gall of Gordon Brown. Remain camp need their own version of The Vow.”

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/remain-camp-need-version-vow-8052662#GyGFWE4LOTpVWYgz.97

Hiv a gon aff ma heid or whit? Hav you gon aff yir heid or is it only me? If naw I’ll say help ma bob, jings tae hang the Daily Liar is usin oor biggest National liar tae back up their Vow claim / lies. In sayin that they wir aways init together. Liar + Liar = A parcel of rogues in a Nation. Ma bl**dy Nation. An am no wun bit happy aboot it.

………………………………………….

@ Legerwood says at 8:35 pm …. ”Interesting to note that the near continuous band of light across the Central Belt of Scotland, which gives an indication of how densely populated it is, also happens to be the main target area for fracking in Scotland. Nice!!!”

Targeted by companies like Ineos. The Ineos that HAS been laying pipelines from Scotland to Liverpool to do what? Pump our fracked gas down south. Nice? Scotland the numpty once again. Let’s all ‘feed’ England why don’t we?

………………………………………….

@ Capella says at 10:30 pm ….

Capella spot on. Our hearts break for Jo Cox, more so for her very young children, but our heads tell us to keep on searching. Searching for the Truth.

Global Research article on the White Helmets here:

http://tinyurl.com/qbcxwvy

…………………………………………………

@ Dr Jim says at 11:58 pm …. ”It’s dribbling out now: Certain prominant figures within the Scottish Labour party are now saying they’re sorry they lied to pensioners and others during the Scottish Referendum in order to win. Blair McDougall for one feels bad, others are considering their position. People keep saying you couldnae make it up, but ye could, and you’d be right. Well aw diddums …”

WOW, WOW …. Dr Jim do you have the names of any sites that we can connect this info to?

……………………………………………..

Anyway back to the naming of the United Kingdom less, eh, Scotland.

A number of individuals made fantastic suggestions, ALL really valid and extremely worthwhile, but the winner iiiiissssss ….. drum roll please ….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itAOGRiYRLI

Brewsed….

Said at 11:46 am …. ”I have tended to prefer that post Brexit and Scotland’s subsequent continued membership of EU, that the peninsular dahn sarth be referred to by the initials formed from Former United Kingdom.”

Brewsed’s proposition co-incided with a giant painfilled roar. A roar so great, so loud and thunderous, it was heard from Cornwall to Carlyle. Over 600 hundred politicians in the House of Commons plus over 800 hundred ermine clad parasites (ermine seemingly covered in parasites … flees and so on – fact) in the House of Lords blasted out in unison … OOOH ….FUK.

Their expletive was seemingly due to realising, rather belatedly, that the UK, U-less and outside of the EU, could no longer dip into the EU single market, ‘their’ oil was gone, they were left with a number of nuclear submarines that they CAN’T house and will have to continue to deal with massive immigration, numbers on a par with EU migrants, from FIFTY THREE Commonwealth countries on their ownio.

IScotland will not be liable for England’s exploitation of millions of abjectly poor people from around the planet such as: Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, The Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Cyprus, Malta, Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand,Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

Work that one out Brexit leaders. Explain that one to your ‘Brexit supporters’. Deary me – ‘eyes rolling’. Too late.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.