1. Stoker

Are we nearly there yet?

2. Stoker

Ronnie Anderson wrote:
    ” Why not Box Trailers with Magnetic signage , they would be ideal for transporting merchandise.”

Brilliant idea Ronnie, especially combined with liz g’ sticker ideas. Some good food for thought!

3. Stoker

Box trailers and WOS decals (btw liz, your informant is correct).
    Sounds like a plan at a fraction of the costs. What say folk?

4. Stoker

YEEEEEAAH! I’ve done it, it’s only took me 2 years but i’ve got top billing on a new O/T page. Hmmm, talk about feeling deflated!

5. Stoker

Liz g wrote:
    “OMG just thought of Lollysmums new neighbours reaction to a Wing’s Over Scotland car on her driveway!!!!”

Now, there’s a Winger (can’t remember the persons ID but someone will know) who has a car absolutely plastered in WOS, Newsnet etc etc logo’s.

It would be rather rude of us not to send that Winger on a formal ‘Welcome to Scotland’ visit to oor Lollysmum’s, wouldn’t it?

A sort of caring welcome on behalf of her extended family, eh?
    Nudge, nudge, wink, wink! 🙂

btw, That wee smiley thing doesn’t do justice to the huge grin i’ve got on my face right now at the thought of that car sitting proudly outside oor Lollysmum’s. MWHAHAHAHAhahahahaha

6. Paula Rose

Calm down Stoker Dear – you’ll do yourself a mischief.

7. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker.

You typed,
    “Now, there’s a Winger (can’t remember the persons ID but someone will know) who has a car absolutely plastered in WOS, Newsnet etc etc logo’s. “

That’ll be Wee Jonny. He runs a glass wall hygiene business. Perchance Lollysmum could book his services?

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/WeeJonnysLatest.JPG

8. Stoker

Hi Brian, that’s the very one, thank you!

Jonny, fancy a wee joab?

9. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Results:

Group 4 %Twitter (WOS)

1 Gordon Brown 60% (9)
    2 David Coburn 19% (0)
    3 Ian Smart 18% (0)
    4 Marie Rimmer 3% (0)

Group 5

1 JK Rowling 44% (1)
    2 Alistair Carmichael 28% (7)
    3 Jackie Bird 27% (1)
    4 Bill Matthews 1% (0)

Group 6

1 Queen Elizabeth 47% (4)
    2 Alex Massie 32% (5)
    3 Tavish Scott 18% (0)
    4 Bamber Gascoigne 3% (0)

Brown storms through to Round Two with strongest performance yet.

10. Stoker

YIR2 wrote:
    “Box trailer’s a great idea, no need to register, insure or have a named driver, just a tow bar (which I don’t have), and a spare number plate for the tower. Pretty cheap online.”

“Not sure how it’d work on ferries for the islands, might be able to drive it on one end and unhitch, get someone to pick it up the other – seen that done a lot, no idea how it gets booked (by phone probably!).”

Anything to do with the ferries has to be arranged via contacting the office at the intended port of departure, EG; if you intend on going over to Bute you have to make the arrangements via the Colintraive office or Wemyss Bay office, whatever route you plan on taking.

I’m assuming you are talking, for now, about Cal Mac routes. If that is the case then as far as i know they charge by the length (or combined length) of car & trailer.

Anything commercial also has to be pre booked in advance and you must turn up a certain amount of time prior to your intended boarding time. At least that’s how i remember it, things may have changed.

You also wrote:
    “a box trailer van (jockey wheel I think it’s called). Mmm, maybe even get one with a window / hatch, then it’s an event van as well.”

What exactly do you mean? Catering van? Burgers etc?

11. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Group 10

1 Jack Straw
    2 Muriel Gray
    3 Frances Barber
    4 Jim Hood

Group 11

1 Tim Farron
    2 Neil Findlay
    3 John Reid
    4 Margaret Curran

Group 12

1 Johanna Baxter
    2 George Robertson
    3 James Naughtie
    4 Eddie Izzard

12. carjamtic

G10 – MG
    G11 – NF
    G12 – GR

13. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for all the BritNat haters of Scotland.

…symbolic power is that invisible power which can be exercised only with the complicity of those who do not want to know that they are subject to it or even that they themselves exercise it.” – Pierre Bourdieu

Brain Damage – Hurtful Dub (Show Me a Purpose Versions)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wYk1ljHvIM

14. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for all the BritNat haters of Scotland.

“…symbolic power is that invisible power which can be exercised only with the complicity of those who do not want to know that they are subject to it or even that they themselves exercise it.” – Pierre Bourdieu

Brain Damage – Hurtful Dub (Show Me a Purpose Versions)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wYk1ljHvIM

15. Clapper57

@ Ian Brothergood – TGSFO

Group 10 – Frances Barber
    Group 11 – John Reid
    Group 12 – George Robertson

16. Clapper57

@ Ian Brotherhood

Freudian typo slip in my previous post I typed your surname as ‘BrotherGood’….sounds good to me.

Have fabby day

17. Fairliered

10. Straw
    11. Curran
    12. Robertson

18. X_Sticks

10. Jack Straw
    11. Margaret Curran
    12. George Robertson

19. Michael McCabe

Group 10 Jim Hood Group 11 Margaret Curran Group 12 George Robertson

20. Michael McCabe

I could have sworn a guy sung this. Mind You. Evertbody’s Changing

21. Michael McCabe

Sorry here is the Link. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3uOfpW5kds

22. Ian Brotherhood

Latest Group results:

% Twitter, (WOS votes)

Group 7

1 Jim Murphy 45% (4)
    2 Dan Snow 39% (1)
    3 John Barrowman 11% (2)
    4 Jack McConnell 5% (1)

Group 8

1 Murdo Fraser 55% (2)
    2 Oliver Mundell 18% (2)
    3 Sarah Smith 16% (1)
    4 Paul Dacre 11% (3)

Group 9

1 Chris Deerin 34% (0)
    2 Michael Forsyth 28% (3)
    3 Tom Harris 26% (2)
    4 Alex Johnstone 12% (3)

23. Stoker

This TGSFO round of voting is the hardest yet, so many worthies!

10 = Hood
    11 = Curran
    12 = Robertson

Sick ah canny vote furr Gray & Findlay annawe!

24. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Final batch of groups to wrap up the weekend and get us almost halfway through the First Round.

Some proper corkers in here – ain’t gettin’ any easier!

Group 13

1 Ian Davidson
    2 Anne Begg
    3 Laura Kuennsberg
    4 Michael White

Group 14

1 Severin Carrell
    2 David Mundell
    3 Andrew Marr
    4 Kaye Adams

Group 15

1 Euan McColm
    2 Willie Rennie
    3 Sir Nicholas McPherson
    4 Eleanor Bradford

25. X_Sticks

13. Ian Davidson
    14. David Mundell
    15. Sir Nicholas McPherson

26. carjamtic

G13 – LK
    G14 – KA
    G15 – SNM

27. Stoker

“ain’t gettin’ any easier!” – No shit, Sherlock!

I’ve just realised i’ve made a boo boo with group 8, oh well!

13 = Kuennsberg
    14 = Marr
    15 = Bradford

You’ve a lot to answer for Mr.B

28. Paula Rose

PUT YOUR VOTING SLIPS IN THE BIN! Stop leaving them lying about please.

29. K1

Gray
    Curran
    Robertson

30. K1

Davidson
    Adams
    McColm

31. Tinto Chiel

Gray

Reid

Robertson

Kuenssssssssssberg

Carrell

Bradford

FFS: you’re posting too quick!

32. Tinto Chiel

It might help if you put a LINER in the bin.

Fanx.

And oblige Tinto Chiel.

33. Nana

Gray

Curran

Naughtie

Kuennsberg

Adams

Bradford

Blimey its the cast of a horror movie

34. Paula Rose

A liner for paper – don’t be silly.

35. Tinto Chiel

Paula R: I know you’re a lady and all that but take a closer look.

On second thoughts, don’t.

No wonder Nana walked out.

36. Tinto Chiel

Do I have to be specific?

Snot rags spread diseases!

Jeez!

37. Nana

@Paula Rose & Tinto Chiel

I’ve spent the last while looking for a sketch by a comedian my mum took me to see when I was but a lass. He used to portray an old wifey who kept house for the local minister, a right messy cratur. Reading your exchanges on here for some reason made me think of this sketch.

I believe there are recordings but sadly no film footage.

You can read about him here http://www.hebrideanconnections.com/subjects/11029

The caileach was indeed a legend.

38. Paula Rose

FLUSH

39. Michael McCabe

Group 13 Ian Davidson Group 14 David Mundell Group 15 Sir Nicholas Mcpherson (AKA the Weasels) Doing a grand job Ian B

40. Tinto Chiel

Jeezo, Nana, that’s my cover blown.

See you wise women, you’re a bloody menace.

I coulda been a contender!

And wipe your feet on the way out.

41. Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel-8:44pm The Contender. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u8uQWCz0_mk

42. Tinto Chiel

Michael: that was much too beautiful for my silly throwaway remark. Great stuff. Thanks.

This is my song for Paula Rose. Get those Marigolds on, milady.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=yBZfyA5AFT4

43. Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose. Sorry if we have left a mess. But dinnae Kick me out. I have Nowhere else to go tonight. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TBUVCcL6wgw

44. Fairliered

13. Davidson
    14. Carrell.
    15 Bradford (plus a wild card for McColm.)

45. Michael McCabe

Oh and while Nana is in the Vicinity(I think she likes Guitarists) Have you heard of these Two. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yERTIErjTE4

46. K1

I see Brian Wilson hasn’t appeared in any group yet…good…whatever group he is in my vote for him is hereby prebooked!

47. Nana

@Michael McCabe

That was good Michael, you always choose great tunes.

Here’s two of my favourite guitarists, difficult choosing from a very long list.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AMNnkFVhA0k

48. Nana

Forgot to answer your question Michael. Yes I have certainly heard of Ford, thin he’s on one of the Crossroads videos.

If you like guitar tunes you should get the boxsets, you will not be disappointed.

49. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Wilson’s in there, nae danger…

He’s in one of the final groups, should make an appearance Wed/Thu.

Can’t say too much, but he’s in one of the toughest groups, if not THE toughest – serious chance he may not make it through to Round 2…

;(

50. Paula Rose

Do I have to spell it out – it is so lovely to have you all visit *makes more sandwiches*

51. Brian Doonthetoon

This is for Smallaxe, who mentioned the lyrics of one of the tracks involved at 6.58am on Sunday morning. As usual, (nowadays) it’s taking me hours to keep up with all the btl comments.

Onnyhoo, this was one of the first mashups I did, around 1974, when I awarded myself an Akai 4 track stereo tape deck.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reemeYrAjus

52. Paula Rose

IAN Honey you are totally fprgiven – I will always clear up when you make one of your wee messes.

53. Smallaxe

Nana & Michael: Guitar players,

I can’t link but have a listen to Jack Bruce & Rory Gallagher
    playing”Politician” on YouTube.

Peace Always

54. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon.

A Cracker Brian, I see,like myself that you appreciate the
    subtle nuances of this beautiful song.Did you happen to catch
    my duet earlier this morning with the lovely Siobhan McFadyen?

55. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Knowing of your interest in the Scottish music scene, I thought this may interest you – one of the more obscure stories from the scene but backed up by links.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/text-documents-01

—————————————————–

BTW: Anyone else noticed that the Rev’s Twitter account has been suspended? Here’s what I got when I refreshed the tab just now:-

“Account suspended

This account has been suspended. Learn more about why Twitter suspends accounts, or return to your timeline.”

56. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon,thanks for the link Brian,I’m going to sit
    and have a good read at it now. I will get back to you in the
    morning and let you know what I think.

Re,Twitter saw someone on the main thread complaining about
    the same thing.Thanks again.

Peace Always

57. David

Copying this from the main thread:
    I’m also seeing on Twitter that the @WingsScotland account is suspended.

Stuart also has another, more personal, Twitter account, @RevStu . Worth checking that out for now.

He may need to use it more frequently from now on for regular Wings business, at least until the main account is back up and running.

Nasty business from the MSM, WM, unionist, dirty tricks brigade. But they cannot silence us all. This will backfire on them.

58. K1

Ahem…is there any possibility that we can skip through all the GSFO group rounds and just establish that the Express’s McFadyen has actually come up from behind and won the fucking thing?

59. Paula Rose

K1 exactamundo fundilymundily.

60. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, I know most of our attention is on the Twitter situation, but mts that if you get out to Strathaven and the Wilson monument, take a look at the war memorial on the hill above and behind.

It has a great view of Tinto to the SE and Loudoun Hill to the SW. The memorial is, I think, the only one in Scotland to include the serviceman’s address (happy to be corrected about that).

Hope you are keeping well.

K1: gets my vote too. As old Bugs used to say, “What a maroon!”

I’m hoping she gets charged for a Public Order offence, myself.

Oh, the irony of that.

61. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel,

My daughter and grandson went to the top of Tinto in July this
    year and they tell me it was beautiful.I will try to get there
    this year,if the weather holds,and have a look for myself.

Re,you know who, I agree with yourself and K1.Its a pity she
    could not be charged with having an offensive Face. 🙂

Peace Always

62. carjamtic

K1 haud yer horses….Martha Lane Fox…Director Twitter….on Guardian’s 200 signature list…..against Scottish Indy.

TGTF….a nation waits….;-)

#followthemoney

63. chasanderson200

Paula Rose
    Paula, looks like I can make it to Brechin tomorrow, can you confirm the venue and time please.
    Anybody else from Glenrothes or Dundee need a lift. I won’t be able to hang around afterwards as I need to be back in Fife 11:00 ish.

64. Paula Rose

chasanderson200 the venue is the Caledonian Hotel, Southesk Street, Brechin DD9 6DZ – doors open from 7, Paul will be speaking shortly after 8. He is also speaking in North Fife in Tayport the following evening.

65. chasanderson200

Thanks Paula
    I’ve made the arrangements for Brechin now so I shall just stick to them.

66. Paula Rose

It’ll be much better in the city of Brechin rather than a little town like Tayport.

67. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose, sorry to interrupt but there’s no piccalilli for the sandwiches and that Ian Brotherhood may pop in later.

I’m a lime pickle and popadoms myself.

We need Nana back for a wee bit strupag. Her rock cakes are magnificent.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-7ktZyll7Lg

68. Paula Rose

There’s some of my special plum pickle in the fridge.

69. Tinto Chiel

Paula Rose: that’s a goer. Take it all back.

Sorry I snapped.

70. Lollysmum

Stoker & Liz g
    Now I see why my ears were burning. Give me a few weeks & my own car will have its own indy & wings stickers/decals etc. Need to do the basics like getting curtain rails & curtains up in the house first then I can concentrate on the psychological meltdown of my neighbours 🙂
    Lots of time to plan *laughs maniacally*

In the meantime I hope I’ll see some of you at Glasgow Green on Sunday

71. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Did you get round to reading about Dundee’s ‘musical’ legend?

72. yesindyref2

Am I too late to vote?

13. Ian Davidson
    14. David Mundell
    15. Sir Nicholas McPherson

@Stoker
    You see quite a lot on Calmac ferries people driving on with a trailer and driving off leaving trailer behind, so presumably there’s just a charge then for the trailer. No idea if all routes do it, or even if it’s official. But particularly big lorries do it all the time, Mundell for instance, and you see farmers with sheep trailers dumping them.

Yes, like a burger trailer, but the hatch / counter could be used for leaflets etc.

73. Cactus

The Wings Tour Bus.. something like this Stoker:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPpBGsFddao

Might need a paint job though!

74. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon,

Hi Brian,Sorry for the late response, I had to have the doctor
    in this morning (chest infection) my wife has it as well.

Anyhoo,enjoying it immensely just a few links to go!

I have been sleeping most of the day, I think the doc.slipped
    us a Mickey.We must get rid of this before the 18th as we’re both determined to attend.I will definitely be looking out for
    you my friend,for a good old natter

75. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon,

Sorry must be the medication, I forgot to say.

Peace and Love Brian, and to those you Love

76. yesindyref2

@Paula
    I can do a one way on Sunday (either way), got an order to get out Monday.

Just found my dedicated email web server domain name expired 3 days ago hence no emails from me. Luckily only affects sending, not receiving, hence why I didn’t notice (too busy). Ah well, soon mended. Later though!

77. Jockanese Wind Talker

Stoker:

Advertisers are:

Nationwide Insurance
    British Airways
    Sainsburys (Full Page Advert)
    RAC
    Hugh James Solicitors
    Thomson Cruises (Full Page Advert)
    Renault
    Irwin Mitchell Solicitors
    HSBC
    DFS
    Vauxhall
    Liverpool Victoria
    Vitabiotics
    Monarch
    SSE
    Acorn Stairlifts
    Payingtoomuch(dot)com
    Slater Gordon Solutions Legal Ltd
    ROL Cruises (readeroffers ltd) (Full Page Advert)
    GN Voyages
    Newmarket Air Holidays Ltd
    Sunlife (AXA Wealth Services Ltd)
    Amlion.com
    Specsavers (2 x Half Page Adverts)
    Riviera Travel
    Aquability
    Autochair(dot)co(dot)uk
    Ultroid Clinics
    Imagine Cruising(dot)co(dot)uk (Full Page Advert)
    Fred Olsen Cruise Lines
    Invisible Health Care(Full Page Advert)
    Serious Injury Helpline (BBL Legal)
    Subway
    facebook(dot)com(back slash)mouthy money
    PPI Claimback(dot)co(dot)uk
    Moveanyproperties(dot)com
    HSL Chairs (Full Page Advert)
    BT Sport (2 x Half Page Adverts)

Biggest advertiser by far is the Health Lottery (4 x adverts a Full Page one, and a couple of half page ones).

I’m pretty owner is the same as the Rag in question.

78. Paula Rose

yesindyref2 have it sorted now – thanks.

79. Stoker

Jockanese Wind Talker

Quite a comprehensive list there, i’ll get back to you on it as i’m just about to grab a bite to eat. Well done btw and thanks!

Thanks also must go to Ms Sobbin McFudyin
    http://archive.is/L5gtC
    Your rep goes further down the stank as our popularity grows.
    Oh my!

80. Chic McGregor

I am by no stretch a legal expert, however my belief is that for a newspaper or anyone else to bring a successful action for damages to reputation it has to be established that malicious intent and actual monetary damage was committed and that the claims were untrue.

Again, emphasising my lack of knowledge, I’d say you could be on a sticky wicket with the first two criteria in this scenario and that therefore it would be advisable that any claims made to said advertisers would have to be true and demonstrably so.

I may be entirely wrong on this, but felt if I said nothing and fellow Wingers did get done then I would feel guilty for not having spoken up.

Hopefully someone with more knowledge can either confirm or allay such fears.

81. Math Campbell-Sturgess

Does anyone know the deal with the rally on 18th?
    We at English Scots have been offered a speaking slot and we want a stall. But we don’t know where to put it. Anyone know the organizers phone no? I’ve only got a email address and they don’t respond quickly!

Also anyone got a wee gazebo we could borrow?

82. Paula Rose

Math – DM me on twitter or by email.

83. Stoker

Chic McGregor (11:30am)

Nor am i any sort of legal expert but the way i operate is covered by the ECHR and as long as we stick within the boundaries we are perfectly safe, it’s cover by several ECHR articles but the main one being Freedom of Expression.
    _____

Jockanese Wind Talker (10:31am)

Once again, that’s a very good list you’ve supplied us with. Just glancing through it i can see several easy targets where one can cancel their contracts.

State clearly why you are doing it, ie; That you don’t agree with your custom being used to finance and promote cheap shoddy hate filled lying articles nor to help employ those who write the articles, either in the printed or online publications.

Then give them one or two linked articles from WOS as a reference. Thank you very much but i’ll take my custom elsewhere. Yours Etc!

JWT, i’m away to do some outside chores and enjoy that wee bit of sunshine, i’ll check back in later. Going for the advertisers is a power we have at our disposal, let’s use it to the max folks!

A wee thought, would it have more clout if we actually targeted those advertisers who appear alongside McFudyin’s scribbles?

84. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Latest results

% is Twitter votes, then (WOS votes)

Group 10

1 Muriel Gray 44% (4)
    2 Frances Barber 39% (1)
    3 Jack Straw 13% (2)
    4 Jim Hood 4% (2)

Group 11

1 Margaret Curran 45% (6)
    2 Neil Findlay 22% (1)
    3 John Reid 19% (2)
    4 Tim Farron 14% (0)

Group 12

1 Eddie Izzard 46% (0)
    2 George Robertson 36% (8)
    3 James Naughtie 11% (1)
    4 Johanna Baxter 7% (0)

Group 13

1 Laura Kuennsberg 55% (4)
    2 Ian Davidson 26% (5)
    3 Michael White 11% (0)
    4 Anne Begg 8% (0)

Group 14

1 Kaye Adams 45% (3)
    2 David Mundell 38% (3)
    3 Andrew Marr 11% (1)
    4 Severin Carrell 6% (2)

Group 15

1 Euan McColm 44% (1)
    2 Willie Rennie 31% (0)
    3 Eleanor Bradford 18% (4)
    4 Sir Nicholas McPherson 7% (4)

85. X_Sticks

16. George Foulkes (don’t forget he coined the phrase Cybernat)
    17. Danny Alexander
    18. Ruth Davidson

86. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay, I’ll bite…

Whose plums did you use?

*keep hearing Patrick McGoohan as Longshanks ‘…next time it could be MY plums in Paula’s pickles…’*

87. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

Sorry pal, is it no possible to stick them all into one big group and tell them all to FUCK OFF?

Just asking, like.

88. Ian Brotherhood

This weekend I’ll post the whole list here and re-open nominations so that we can cover some very VERY obvious omissions.

It’ll be a good chance to tell them whole lot of them where to go, if you feel so inclined!

89. Alex Clark

Hehehe get it on twitter Ian, that’s smart. Can’t wait to find out the “winner” hahaha.

90. Cactus

Here a thought..

Imagine throughout Scotland in every island, village, town and city.. ever area had their very own “Yes-100” group’s..

Imagine each of all of these one hundred Scots clubbing and coming together with their own local ideas, to make a collective difference. Anything’s possible. Crowdfunding sounds popular.. you could do a lottery.

Hi..

We’re the Glasgow City 100
    We’re the Isle of Arran 100
    We’re the Millport 100
    We’re the Brechin 100
    We’re the Dundee East 100
    We’re the Morningside 100
    We’re the Larkhall West 100
    We’re the Shetland 100
    We’re the Oban 100
    We’re the Wick 100

Hey, pleased to meet you.

You know the history and the rest of the story..

91. Cactus

We own the number one hundred.

Please form orderly queues, ten by ten will do.

92. Cactus

Hi..

We’re the Arbroath 100.

Aye aye, pleased to meet you.

93. Cactus

X x X = C

C x ? = lots of Scots

94. Politicaiicious

A wee shy hello to you all… *waves*

95. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    Something I’m thinking about the box trailer if crowdfunded, is that anyone who needs a tow bar fitted should also be done out of the fund. That’s not me angling for one – my van’s too old and it’d be a waste.

Also fuel used should be paid, we’re not all independently wealthy!

96. Andrew McLean

Cactus 12:00 am

Yes then we will decimate the opposition.

I’ll get my coat!

97. Cactus

Well said Andrew McLean an yer coat’s mighty fine where it be, cheers 🙂

A confident welcome to you too Politicaiicious @ 1:38am above.

98. Paula Rose

Politicaiicious hi Honey – you need to get yourself one of those pretty gravatar thingies – I can’t remember how to do it, can any of you lot help out?

99. Politicaiicious

@ Cattus… Thank you!

@ Paula… Hi cutie pie! I do indeed, but I don’t have an ‘account’. I keep having to post individual comments using my email.

Is their a place somewhere on this site to register an account, then create an avatar? Or am I being stupid (more likely)?

What are line breaks – Stu talks about them in the rules?

100. Politicaiicious

Opps there* (dies of shame at typo)

101. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Politicaiicious.

http://www.gravatar.com

102. Politicaiicious

Thank you Brian, off to look now… :))))

103. carjamtic

Though,only a rocking horse-dealers,daughter
    She ‘Expressed’ her delight,
    As she plotted the fight,
    and the culling of the European otter.

She ‘reporterdly’ typed,
    Her daily shite,
    ‘Not….in my Ring of Whitewater’
    The Rotter.

104. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Wingers have stopped voting, or are doing so via Twitter, so just the Twitting %s here in latest results:

Group 16

1 George Foulkes 46%
    2 Kevin Hague 24%
    3 Liam Fox 23%
    4 Jeremy Corbyn 7%

G17

1 Piers Morgan 37%
    2 Steven Daisley 33%
    3 Danny Alexander 23%
    4 Brian Taylor 4%

G18

1 Ruth Davidson 67%
    2 Brian Spanner 28%
    3 Clare Lally 5%
    4 Hugh Pennington 0%

G19

1 Andrew Neil 44%
    2 Duncan Hothersall 40%
    3 Kezia Dugdale 11%
    4 David Leask 5%

G20

1 Michelle Mone 85%
    2 Rory Stewart 8%
    3 Gordon Brewer 6%
    4 David Hamilton 1%

G21

1 Jackie Baillie 60%
    2 Kelvin Mackenzie 29%
    3 Tom Gallagher 8%
    4 Ming Campbell 3%

If people are getting fed-up with this, tough.

I’ve started, so I’ll finish, and everyone who made a nomination deserves to see how they’ll fare in an open vote. The Hothersall himself turned up last night on my Twitter, kidding-on he wasn’t sure what it was all about.

Well, what it’s about is proving a very very mild antidote to the hysterical pish many of our compatriots are mesmerised by 24/7. I’m not daft enough to think that a cheap stunt like this is going to make one iota of difference to anything, but if it makes anyone think twice about the role of ‘celebrities’ and career politicos in crucial discourse determining the future of our weans then it’ll be worthwhile.

Unfortunately, this can’t go on indefinitely, but it’s a long way from over – still another four, maybe half dozen 1st-round groups, then a draw for the 2nd round, consolation draw, and the finals week-end after next.

Full list of winners, and a brief window for more nominations coming up – probs this Friday eve.

Hoots all!

105. X_Sticks

@Ian

It’s obvious you are on a mission, a labour of love, even. Bet you’re wishing you hadn’t started it 😉

BTW I voted on twitter ’cause it wasn’t on here!

106. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi IanB.

Your mention of “Piers Morgan” reminded me of this…

Rev Stu produced a poster, late Summer 2014. I altered it slightly, by adding in a Piers Morgan quote – in red, at the foot of the quotes on the right hand side.

We had it on display at various Team YES Bus events at City Square, just prior to the Referendum vote.

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-7/bottleflyerModified-A3.jpg

PS: I also changed the whisky names (just for fun) but I think that was a tad subtle…

8=)

107. Ian Brotherhood

@X-Sticks –

You’re right man, I’m ploughing on. Just wish I’d timed it better so’s it would coincide with the actual climax of that shite on the box, but that runs on for yonks.

Ach, it’s futile, but at least it does force us to remember some of the characters we’ve been up against these past few years. I just hadn’t realised how many of them there are.

Having said that, it’s not long since I got into the whole Twitter thing, and that’s just astonishing – there are so many of us, but you don’t realise it until you have to look at each and every name, consider whether or not you want to ‘follow’. I just check what followers they already have, and if there are familiar names, fair do’s, click and that’s that, but ALL of these folk are probably every bit as committed as us right here, and many even more so, for a whole raft of reasons.

Here’s hoping next Sunday’s nice weather-wise, and that as many as possible of ‘us’ make it to The Green. Fingers crossed!!

108. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Brian, you’ve known me long enough via here, and we’ve met a good few times now. You know I’m quite a laid-back, non-confrontational type…

But when it comes to that guy?

Short of devilishly complex allegories, there is nothing I could write about Piers Morgan that would not be actionable.

109. Bob Sinclair

@Ian Brotherhood

Gemmes a Bogey – Rigged from the start. The final will be a penalty shootout.
    Siobhan McBadyin Vs the ‘Great British Whatever’

110. Paula Rose

I’m still a bit full of wonder – not only did I have the wondrous Wee Ginger Dug speaking as arranged in Brechin, the wonderful X_Sticks was there as well – I was touched by your presence Dear…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JziVnT0d6tY

111. bilptoe

Watched a report on Channel4 news earlier on the Sleaford Mods.
    They did a song about New Labour that didn’t go down at all well and have been blacklisted from voting in the leadership contest.
    Anyway, never heard of them and decided to check them out on utube.
    They’re a strange duo but I found this interesting clip by way of a Christmas message to them from 2014. There’s a few juicy bits on Clegg and UKIP I didn’t know about either. Worth a nosey.

http://tinyurl.com/hmppupr

112. Brian Doonthetoon

“Wings Over Scotland ?@WingsScotland 27m27 minutes ago

Nobody knows what the last thing to still be rationed after WW2 was. Readers?”

I’m pretty sure it was sugar…

113. Brian Doonthetoon

Ignore my last comment.
    Sugar (and sweets) was Selwyn-Lloyd…

Bed for me.

114. yesindyref2

Egss I think.

115. K1

Jeez…it was meat, it’s on his twitter guys! 😉

(Can’t actually believe I’m following his Bullseye show on twitter…bloody brilliant…one hunnndrrred and Eighteee!)

116. Smallaxe

K1:
    I found out where you are on the list,see Sorry,Boys!

117. Smallaxe

K1:
    Meant”Sorry Guys”

Peace Always ALLWAYS

118. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I posted this on the “Heads they win…” thread this morning just before 11 but it seems to have been skipped over by all.

The post was in answer to all the comments last night about lack of publicity for Sunday’s Glasgow Green event.

The first link in it should be bookmarked by all and checked daily for updates.

————————————————————

The problem with publicity for organised events is when the organisers ONLY advertise on Facebook or Twitter.

Not everyone uses these platforms so organisers are depending on word-of-mouth getting the message out.

Most people, nowadays, have internet access so it would make sense to have a web site that anyone can access. The strange thing is, such a web site has existed since before the 2014 referendum.

It’s a wee bit clunky to use but the info is there.

http://www.indyscot.info/

Use the arrows at left and right (in front of the Forth Bridge) to scroll through the events posted. Both HOF on Saturday and Yes Movement (Glasgow Green) on Sunday are featured. The info re Sunday is found by clicking on the ‘read more…’ link. Still showing a 12 noon start so hasn’t been updated to show 2pm.

http://www.indyscot.info/details.php?ref=498

This is the site that needs used and advertised, for people who will not use Facebook or Twitter.

————————————————————-

BTW: the info about Sunday has been there since just after the “All Under One Banner” march at the end of July. Seems obvious that the word needs spread about the existence of the web site.

119. Ian Brotherhood

Seems I missed out a batch of TGSFO Groups here.

Sorry.

These are the groups still open for voting:

G22
    Blair McDougall
    Jill Stephenson
    Barack Obama
    Manuel Barroso

G23
    Alistair Darling
    George Galloway
    Ken McQuarrie
    James Cook

G24
    Katie Hopkins
    Alberto Costa
    Johann Lamont
    Alex Gallagher

G25
    Brian Wilson
    Neil Lovatt
    Terry Kelly
    Niall Ferguson

G26
    Glen Campbell
    Loki
    Ian Murray
    James Kelly

G27
    Alex Rowley
    Ian Duncan Smith
    Adam Tomkins
    Siobhan McFadyen

120. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:
    Caught your post this morning Brian and your right in all you
    say, I don’t do Twitter or Facebook but my wife does,she is
    posting your link on Facebook as I write.Everyone,who knows
    someone who uses f/b or Twitter should ask them to do the same.

Will be back in touch later Brian re’ Johnny Duckworth!

121. Lollysmum

Jill Stephenson
    Alastair Darling
    Katie Hopkins
    Ian Murray
    Siobhan McFadyen

122. Smallaxe

Brian:
    My apologies for leaving out.

Peace Always

123. carjamtic

G22- BMcD
    G23- AD
    G24- AC
    G25- BW
    G26- IM
    G27- SF

124. Michael McCabe

Group 22 B McDougall 23 A Darling 24 A Costa 25 B Wilson 26 I Murray 27 I D Smith (what a Shower)

125. K1

Mc Dougall
    Galloway
    Costa
    Wilson
    Campbell
    Mc Fadyen

126. Smallaxe

K1:
    Look back at “Sorry Guys” if you get time.

Peace Always

127. Tinto Chiel

Ian:

Stephenson

Darling

Hopkins

Wilson

Campbell

McFadyen

Feeling kinda queasy……

128. Smallaxe

K1:
    As the saying goes,we’re a’ Jock Tamson’s Bairns 🙂

Peace Always,ALLWAYS

129. Paula Rose

How long is this going to go on ian sweetie?

Drums fingers on table-top

130. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry. I know you’re getting hacked off but this has to be seen through to the end.

It’ll finish on Sat Sep 24th, mid-late evening.

I wanted to ask you to help me do the draw for the 2nd round on Twitter. It would only take about 10/15 minutes and just involves you taking balls out of a virtual ‘bag’. If you don’t want to do it, no probs, I’ll ask someone else or just do it myself…

*sniff*

131. Ian Brotherhood

@x-sticks,

If you see this…

I saw your note on Twitter but not sure what you mean so I didn’t reply there.

Who do you mean? Checked the site of that first name but couldn’t see anything obvious…

132. K1

Indeed Smallaxe, indeed 🙂

133. Paula Rose

Clears table and floor so that Ian can have more room

134. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Okay, if you’re going to be like that, I assume you don’t want to take the balls out?

135. Paula Rose

Ian Ian Ian I’m making space for your balls.

136. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Aach, FFS, it’s like trying to stick a Post-It on a jellyfish…

I will have the balls numbered and prepared. (None of them will be artificially warmed-up, none of that palaver…) All I need is someone to take them out, one at a time, on Saturday evening, at some point between 8.30 and 9.30.

You up for it?

137. Paula Rose

On the 24th?

pretends to look in diary

Yes Dear I will be available.

138. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Good stuff.

I’m dusting off my tuxedo in between tweeting updates…

139. Paula Rose

puts on party dress

140. K1

TGSFO…can we ‘ave Quentin Letts oan the list perchance?

141. K1

Damn you Rev and your Bullseye twitter show…it’s becoming must see viewing!

*sticks kettle on whilst whistling the intro…*

142. K1

John Freedland likes the Rev’s Bullseye show too…telt ye it’s crackin’ 🙂

143. K1

Aye Jonathan even…eek

144. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:
    didn’t see you on tonight,talk tomorrow.

Night all

Peace Always

145. X_Sticks

@Ian

You’ll need to remind me what that was about – I can’t find the tweet and the addled brain can’t remember what it was about! Doh!

146. Ian Brotherhood

@x-sticks,

It’s no big deal. Will remind you about it if/when we meet on Sunday.

Hoots brother!

147. Chic McGregor

Wishing winger Dick Gaughan a speedy recovery.

One of his best interpretations and seasonally appropriate.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZ7oYCx6tBw

148. Ian Brotherhood

Penultimate batch of TGSFO Round One results:

G22

1 Blair McDougall 54%
    2 Jill Stephenson 40%
    3/4 Barack Obama/ Manuel Barroso 3%

G23

1 Alistair Darling 54%
    2 George Galloway 35%
    3 James Cook 6%
    4 Ken McQuarrie 5%

G24

1 Katie Hopkins 65%
    2 Alberto Costa 13%
    3 Alex Gallagher 15%
    4 Johann Lamont 7%

G25

1 Neil Lovatt 47%
    2 Brian Wilson 41%
    3 Niall Ferguson 9%
    4 Terry Kelly 3%

G26

1 Ian Murray 50%
    2 Loki 24%
    3/4 Glen Campbell/ James Kelly 13%

G27

1 Adam Tomkins 46%
    2 Siobhan McFadyen 37%
    3 Ian Duncan Smith 17%
    4 Alex Rowley 0%

Still time for last minute nominations if you can get them in before 7pm this evening.

The draw will be made on Twitter tomorrow evening 8-ish-9-ish, and full list will be published here before midnight.

149. Ian Brotherhood

These groups taking votes right now:

Group 28

1 Theresa May
    2 Brian Donohoe
    3 John McTernan
    4 Michael Kelly

Group 29

1 Oliver Letwin
    2 Malcolm Rifkind
    3 Quentin Lotts
    4 ‘TRIDENT’

150. carjamtic

G28- TM
    G29- Trident

Wingers,hiva braw weekend,remember those,who are there in spirit….but are stuck on a rusting piece of metal,in the North Sea Haar (50/60 miles,east of Dundee…I think).

151. Tinto Chiel

Ian: McTernan, delusional as ever. And Rifkind, another seller of favours caught up with George Robertson in the Thomas Hamilton 100-year D Notice.

Tell us all about it, guys.

Or perhaps not.

152. Michael McCabe

Group 28 McTernan 29 Trident

153. X_Sticks

28. John McTernan
    29. ‘TRIDENT’

154. Paula Rose

No no we need JmcT and others becos they are re-cruiting sergeants.

155. Ian Brotherhood

@Tinto Chiel –

Just read your comments over on’t main thread about the ‘loss’ of Scotland’s historical records etc.

Fascinating. First time I’ve heard about that. Intrigued, and must pick your brains about it sometime…

156. K1

McTernan

Letts

157. K1

Och! *slows down as I’m reading too fast…*

Trident of course…but Letts too!

158. Ian Brotherhood

‘Look over there! A dry-ice factory! A good place to get some thinking done…’

Talking Heads, ‘Cities’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51IZG6Ryeis

159. Betty Boop

@ IanB

Tryin’ awfy hard to catch up on stuff, but, everytime I open up Off Topic these days it reminds me of a football coupon for all the sense it makes to me 🙁

26 groups???!!! Will there be onybody left in Scotland after TGSFO?

Anyway, can’remember who I nominated before (there are so many candidates), but, I noted a name in a recent list which I’d have no hesitation giving a big vote and that would be the humongous ego, a legend in his own head, that is… (drum roll) –
    Loki.

Where will it all end…?

160. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

It will end with one of them being told to fuck off even more than the rest.

Loki was nominated, and eliminated. I got some grumbles for including him but I’m sure he’ll survive, might even give him an idea for a lyric. 🙂

The draw for Round Two is tomorrow nicht, and Paula Rose will be doing the ball-extraction thing. (No-one else volunteered for some strange reason…)

161. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

May your life be steered safely from the sea to a friendly

Harbour in Love and Peace my friend

162. Betty Boop

@ IanB, 11:08pm

Does this mean you are about to get your life back? 😉

I’m sure Paula will do a lovely job with the balls… Paula, if you are about, remember the cherry red nail polish (the one that matches your fascinator)if your hands are going to be on show. Mwah x

163. Ian Brotherhood

I need ONE more name to complete Round One groups.

Just one.

164. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

🙂 !!

No-one will see Paula’s hands – they’ll be inside a big virtual black velvet bag, rummaging about for the warmed ones… (i.e. just a normal Saturday nicht in Brechin, eh?)

165. yesindyref2

@Ian
    Did anyone nominate Jenny Hjul?

166. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Ian Ave goat twa doon here n’ Dumfries,twa coonslers thit want
    tae hiv a refurendrum o’ Dumfries n’ Galloway tae mak it pairt
    o’ Inglind! Ian Caruthers n’ Peter Diggie,wit aboot it?

167. Dave McEwan Hill

Sorry to hear of Dick Gaughan’s indisposition
    Had him on my radio show tonight twice – first with 5 Hand Reel and the best ever rendition of The Freedom Come A’ Ye and then with the interesting version of Erin Go snooker loopy!

168. Dave McEwan Hill

Go to bed happy. Fabulous 5 Hand Reel with Dick Gaughan

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GI-ShJft9Bc&list=RDGI-ShJft9Bc

PS Don’t know how Erin Go snooker loopy! became “snooker loopy” in last post. I certainly didn’t type anything remotely like that.

169. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 & Smallaxe –

Thanks, but ye’s are just a tad late – I got the last name via Twitter and that’s Group 30 up and running, will expire tomorrow at approx 7pm.

Group 30:

1 David Maddox
    2 Tony Blair
    3 Steve Bell
    4 Sir Craig Reedie

And if that’s not a total belter to finish with, me no know what is…

170. Smallaxe

I bow to your superior knowledge and PRs pointy heels.

Goodnight All

Peace Always ALLWAYS

171. yesindyref2

@Ian
    I don’t mind. It means poor Jenny Hlul wasn’t even considered important enough for anyone to nominate, apart from me. But I did like her article in the Herald: “Jenny Hjul: Scotland has so mush to thank Cameron for”.

That was good for a laugh.

172. Michael McCabe

Group 30 Tony Blair

173. K1

Blair

174. carjamtic

G30- TB

175. Smallaxe

carjamtic, what’s the weather like where you are?

Peace Always

176. Cadogan Enright

Hi

Can someone ask Nana to contact cadogan@enright.ie 07590462329

177. Tinto Chiel

“Fascinating. First time I’ve heard about that. Intrigued, and must pick your brains about it sometime…”

Won’t take you long, Ian 😛 Scot Finlayson’s doc. says it all, sadly.

Hope to see you and other vile seps on Sunday, if we can find each other.

Hoping PR wears her 8″ heels again.

178. X_Sticks

30. Blair

179. CameronB Brodie

Proud Cybernat
    Glad to hear you’ve managed to source the stickies and apologies for possibly being more hindrance than help. I hadn’t appreciated you wanted to move so quickly.

Congrats anyway for your initiative.

180. Jim Thomson

@Ronnie Anderson

Check your fb messenger, old boy.

Ta much.

Toodle pip

181. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Whenever you’re ready…

Batches of four, from 1-32, please.

I’ve already numbered the group winners, lobbed in a couple of highest runners-up. It’s as random as can be without doing any actual seeding, so there’s nae jiggery-pokery or dodginess.

182. yesindyref2

@PR
    Just as well by the way I wasn’t needed for the Irvine flit, running late this week and blackberrying today, so van only just cleaned out and loads to do for Monday. Hope to get along tomorrow though, treat myself for a change 🙂

183. yesindyref2

@IanB
    I hate to say this, but it’s next Saturday you booked Paula for, not tonight!

Paula Rose says:
    15 September, 2016 at 10:10 pm

On the 24th?

pretends to look in diary

Yes Dear I will be available.

184. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

WHIT?!

AAAAAARGH!!!

Here’s me sitting all anxious, gettin meself in a fankle…

No, seriously, well-spotted there…

The draw must happen, and it has to happen tonight.

So, yesindyref2, would you mind doing the ball thing?

Can we do it right now?

185. yesindyref2

@IanB
    I’ve got to go work, but as a fallback in case Paula isn’t available I’ve run “=ROUND(MOD(32*RAND(),32),0)” in Excel (not great but it’ll do), and got this list (excluding dupes):

11, 3, 23, 24
    19, 32, 7, 15
    13, 27, 25, 2
    1, 5, 10, 30
    16, 21, 14, 26
    9, 29, 17, 20
    22, 18, 4, 8
    6, 28, 12, 31

I had a list of 100, and still there was one missing – the last one, 31. But that’s fine!

Just saw your reply – beat you! 🙂

186. Betty Boop

@ yesindyref2 9:17pm

Blackberrying??? You surely mean “brambling”! 😉

187. yesindyref2

@Betty Boop
    Brambling! I knew there was something wrong, but was thinking more of the jam and blackberry and apple pie tomorrow night. With custard of course 🙂

188. Betty Boop

@ Tinto Chiel, 10:10am

“Hoping PR wears her 8? heels again.”

Last time she did that at a rally, we used her shoes in place of tent pegs for the gazebo! They were a bonny blue though and were a rerr match for the canvas!

189. Ian Brotherhood

@yesindyref2 –

That’s just perfect.

Thanks so much – ye’re a star and I owe ye a pint.

Can’t believe how much I’m looking forward to seeing how these groups pan-out…

The first three will be up on Twitter soon, and I’ll copy them in here.

Hoots!

190. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Round Two

Two from each group will go on to the quarter-finals.

G1

Jim Murphy
    Neil Oliver
    Margaret Curran
    Neil Lovatt

G2

Muriel Gray
    Brian Wilson
    Kaye Adams
    Chris Deerin

G3

Murdo Fraser
    Katie Hopkins
    Tony Blair
    Effie Deans

G4

Jackson Carlaw
    George Foulkes
    J K Rowling
    ‘TRIDENT’

191. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for @lewis_rickard

Would it surprise you to discover that love is considered a technology of social transformation? That would be my weapon of choice for bettering society, not a bunch of bloodthirsty Islamofascists, though a lightsaber might be handy in some circumstances. I think you seriously need to take a look at yourself before judging others, as your values appear a bit disordered, tbh.

Uptown Rebel – Lightsaber
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xRW9PPbGwwg

192. carjamtic

G1-JM
    G2-KA
    G3-TB
    G4-Trident

193. Alex Clark

G1 NO
    G2 KA
    G3 TB
    G4 Trident

194. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie says:
    18 September, 2016 at 2:03 am
    Here’s one for @lewis_rickard

Cameron where’s @lewis rickard’s post?

Peace, and Love Always ALLWAYS

195. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    I don’t twitter but spotted him on the Rev’s account. He hoped that ISIS would descend on George square yesterday. Bit of a knuckle-dragger by the looks of things.

@dhothersall
    That’s the type of outlook that gave rise to what little nasty divisiveness there was during indyref14. As you will no doubt have noticed, the troglodyte in question is one of your supporters. Better Together eh?

196. Tinto Chiel

Ian:

Oliver
    Gray
    Blair
    Trident

This is getting too difficult.

Betty Boop: have you seen Paula Rose in her red patent leather Doc Martyn’s?

Stunning!

197. Tam Jardine

TJenny

Aiming for the 12.30 train from waverley if you change your mind about Glasgow green

198. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

Thanks Cameron,saw your post and it piqued my interest and as
    you will know I am not surprised that love is considered a technology of social transformation.rickard and d Bothersall
    can go and have flying coitus with each other as far as I’m
    concerned,as long as they don’t procreate. 🙂

Peace, and Love to You and those you Love

199. X_Sticks

1. Margaret Curran
    2. Kaye Adams
    3. Tony Blair
    4. ‘TRIDENT’

200. K1

Jim Murphy

Brian Wilson

Tony Blair

Trident

201. Ian Brotherhood

Really great to see a’body today.

Too many bods to name, but…

Smallaxe, it was a pleasure to finally meet you and the ladies in your life. You’re all charming and I hope you enjoyed yourselves despite the dodgy weather.

Odette, if you do see this, thanks for a very interesting chat, and the info which I’ve now passed on to my boy. He’ll certainly be looking into that.

Well done to everyone who represented this place so cheerfully and professionally, despite some serious provocation at the very end. Happily that type of thing hasn’t happened before but it had to sometime, and it was great to see everyone keeping the heid. That’s another valuable experience under the belt.

Youse are like family to me and I love ye’s all to bits.

*sniffle*

202. Odet

@ Ian Brotherhood

Thanks for the chat, and for letting me know the outcome.
    *hug*

It’s great starting to be able to put faces to the names on this site 🙂 I had a magical time meeting all the Wingers, especially those who came for the Scribe’s inscriptions.

203. Stoker

Can i just put all 4 of my votes to Trident in this round?

Failing that i’ll go with:

G1 – Murphy
    G2 – Wilson
    G3 – Fraser
    G4 – Trident

204. Ian Brotherhood

@Tinto Chiel –

Just saw a clip of Stott on Marr’s show.

FFS, you’re not wrong.

Reminded me of this:

https://valentinagurarie.files.wordpress.com/2015/09/domenico-di-tommaso-curradi-di-doffo-bigordi.jpg?w=593

205. yesindyref2

Oh votes
    1. Neil Oliver
    2. Brian Wilson
    3. Effie Deans
    4. George Foulkes

206. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood,

Ian, I can assure you that the pleasure was mutually enjoyed.
    Yourself and so many others made it a day to remember and
    cherish.We were made to feel very welcome by everyone,as you
    say,like family.It was so enjoyable to be able to put unfamiliar faces to some very recognisable names:

Names: Brian Doonthetoon,X Sticks,Pete the Camera,the yew choob’ers,Ronnie Anderson,the wee ginger dug and his pet human Schroedinger’s cat,Lollysmum,yesbot and so many others,last but most certainly not least the beautiful Paula Rose (I got a stroke from her) when the wife wisnae lookin,there was even
    some self proclaimed”Lurker’s”. I was given a chair to sit on
    and a hot cup of coffee,badges,magazines even a half dozen
    rolls to take home with us!

I would like to thank you all for your genuine friendliness and a welcome that the Scots are rightly famous for,although
    not everyone was Scottish born,but Scots all the same.

My apologies to anyone not mentioned but as you can see there
    was so many people to meet I had trouble keeping up.

We are so lucky to have so many good and kindhearted Wingers it was a glimpse into the Scotland we all deserve and strive
    for,with people like these I am certain,OUR DAY IS COMING!

Here’s tae us Wa’s like Us!

Peace and Love to All and those you Hold Dear

I can’t link,but I would like some or all to go on YouTube
    and find Eric Claptons “let it grow”

207. David

When faced with provocation, we need to respond with love. Light years of love, as Blue Oyster Cult sang:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sAIQbjwUZjc

Newsflash from Wet Wet Wet, Love Is All Around:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h3gEkwhdXUE

And for Smallaxe, Eric Clapton’s ‘(Plant Your Love And) Let It Grow’:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s2L0XN4I1hw

208. Betty Boop

And another good day was had amongst the Wings… Great to see so many and sorry about those I missed or didn’t get much of a chance to speak with.

Odet – I hope your hand isn’t cramped after all that writing. They just kept coming!

Good to see Pete back in action – take care though 🙂

See y’all next time.

209. Smallaxe

David: Thanks for putting in the link.

Betty Book: Hello I met you yesterday, I was disguised as a
    Hula dancer so maybe you didn’t recognise me.

Peace Always

210. Smallaxe

Betty I meant Boop,sorry.

Peace Always 🙂

211. Tinto Chiel

Ian Brotherhood @11.34.

An amazing likeness. It may be that Ken had stage make-up on and his hooter isn’t that bad.

Or maybe not…..

Great to chat to you again but I seemed to have missed a lot of folks. We should probably go about with our “names” on big badges.

Maybe catch you next time, Smallaxe. Glad you had a great time.

212. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Round Two, final 4 groups, all pure hoaching with big beasts…

Group 5

Andrew Neil
    Alistair Darling
    Euan McColm
    Eddie Izzard

Group 6

Laura Kuennsberg
    Adam Tomkins
    Jackie Baillie
    Blair McDougall

Group 7

John McTernan
    Piers Morgan
    Michelle Mone
    Queen Elizabeth

Group 8

Gordon Brown
    Ian Murray
    Ruth Davidson
    Jill Stephenson

213. K1

Darling
    Tomkins
    McTernan
    Division

214. Nana

@Ian Brotherhood

Darling
    McDougal
    McTernan
    Brown

Gings I feel dirty just typing their names. yuk yuk yuk!

215. X_Sticks

1. Andrew Neil
    2. Blair McDougall
    3. Queen Elizabeth
    4. Gordon Brown

Painfully difficult to choose!

216. Odet

Who was the lovely gentleman who lent his Wee folding table to me yesterday?

Apparently me brain was as cramped as my writing hand by the end of the afternoon
    ( excuses excuses)
    and I forgot to return the table personally or express my thanks.

Grovelling apologies.

217. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hope we meet next time,it would be good to have a blether.

Peace Always my friend

218. Ian Brotherhood

Forget to bring results of R2, first batch:

The winners, top two from each group:

Neil Oliver 57%
    Jim Murphy 25%
    Kaye Adams 45%
    Muriel Gray 32%
    Effie Deans 35%
    Murdo Fraser 43%
    ‘TRIDENT’ 43%
    JK Rowling 37%

But check out the losers! They’ve all gone out:

Mgt Curran 11%
    Neil Lovatt 7%
    Brian Wilson 14%
    Chris Deerin 9%
    Tony Blair 18%
    Katie Hopkins 4%
    George Foulkes 15%
    Jackson Carlaw 5%

219. Betty Boop

@ Smallaxe

Apologies, I met so many yesterday whose outfits had me mesmerised (including a yellow monkey; I think that’s what it was!). For some reason, I thought you were wearing a Stetson! Guess that doesn’t match a hula though :-). It was all go from the moment we set the tables up, so, confusion reigns in my auld heid.

Good that you got to the Green – you wouldn’t have any trouble finding the Wings reprobates!

@ Odet. I recall setting up that wee table, but, I don’t know if it was Ken or Kim Jong Ron that brought it. Hard task master, eh? 🙂 Hope you have recovered after that sterling effort.

@ Tinto Chiel

Didn’t see you at GG. Does that mean you don’t have a passport? 😉

220. Tinto Chiel

Betty Boop: ha! ha! no, I’ve still got three passports from Freedom Square. I was at GG yesterday and spoke to a very busy Ronnie and BDTT but got in tow with yon Ian B and spent a while planning the revolution. Will advise closer to start date. Good to meet JLT, X_Sticks and Tam Jardine, though.

Sorry to have missed you, BB, but for all most wingers were within about 200 square metres of each other, we don’t seem to have been very good at meeting up. We need more badges!

221. Betty Boop

@ Tinto Chiel,

Yup, meeting up and planning escape, that’s what it’s all about. The thing is, just head for the Wings stall or banner and someone will a) recognise you, or, b) you just tell them who you are after you’ve made them guess for a while!

Most Wingy folk end up at the stall or just in front of it at some time. Me, I was all on the stall all afternoon between JimT, Anne, Bdtt, Pete the camera, Caz-M, Odet, Miss Babington, Ken at iScot and Roguecoder at Ayemail. Bob Sinclair and X-Sticks were in and out. Oh, and some fella called Ronnie was hingin’ aboot 😉 Paula was working the crowd…

We had quite a number under canvas from time to time, JLT, IanB, Morag, Lollysmum, Smallaxe, Lanarkist and probably quite a few more that I missed seeing.

That’s thing, build it and they will come! Very apt that; I reckon GG was truly a Field of Dreams on Sunday.

222. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

A busy weekend, what with ‘Hope Over Fear’ on Saturday afternoon, then ‘a small libation’ in the Yes Bar on Saturday evening, where it was fine when Sarah Johnston and her pal, David, joined the vile cybernats for a couple of pints.
    Sarah is the one on the right, in this video…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9wPS78Xh6E

Then we had Glasgow Green on Sunday, where, once again, it was a pleasure to meet up with previously identified Wingers and be able to put faces to names I hadn’t met before, like Rogue Coder, Smallaxe, yesindyref2…

Onnyhoo, as I showed yesindyref2, I did a couple of videos on Sunday. The first features the arrival of the YES Bikers, from the first to the last. It started around 2.15.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=75a4NElxu2c

After that, I did a short ‘panorama’, to show the extent of the crowd, around 2.30. You should be able to pick out Wingstown halfway through.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YedoCTATsIY

I have pics from George Square (July) and Sunday afternoon. I’ll get them uploaded to Imgur in the next couple of days, then stick the link in ‘off-topic’.

223. X_Sticks

Really good to catch up with everyone yesterday. Great to put some more faces to names, especially Smallaxe and his lovely lady, Tino Chiel, and yestoindyref2 names lang kent and now faces too.

The family grows with every meeting, and here’s tae ye a’!

224. Ian Brotherhood

Jaunty tune with braw video. Brings back some very happy memories…

New Order, ‘True Faith’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfI1S0PKJR8

225. Ian Brotherhood

‘In my drunken stupor I’ve got to admire your ingenuity…’

Magazine, ‘Rhythm Of Cruelty’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFzi-Hiik4A

226. ronnie anderson

Tae that wee wummin caw’d Odessa fur her scribing we bless her
    tho her que ‘s were long she stuck tae the task whit mair could we ask
    And like the rest naebody payed her.
    ( wingers will be confuddled as to Odessa is ) lol.

Lugs back I shall this Only wance, £ 725 counted by Paula Rose & myself
    £500 will be forwarded to Roguecoder £225 will be retained for purchase of Tables ect (might need a new Gizebo soon).

Thanks to WINGS TEAM (YOUS KNOW WHO’S YOU UR ) & ALL WINGERS & YESSERS for making our day.
    (Mitch Kilbride / Helen Smith /Bill Glen / Colin) for the Tea & Coffee stall monies included in the total.
    HUGS AW ROON.
    Petethecamera will no doubt put his charity donations for Badges up ( not long out of Hospital & cant keep him from attending this event) well done Pete get back to full health soonest.

Signing off for now still KInacker’d lol.

KEEK ODETE lol.

227. JLT

Hello folks!

Not often I post on the Off-Topic, but yep, just want to say thanks to Ronnie and Brian for letting me help out in their big tent. However …I pray I never see a Wings balloon ever again.

Was a pleasure meeting Smallaxe, Tinto and YestoIndyref2 for the first time. Also great catching up with Tam Jardine, X-Sticks, Betty Boop, Ian Brotherhood (good luck with the last year at Uni mate!), Morag, Lollysmum, Smallaxe, Lanarkist, JimT, Bdtt, Pete the camera, Caz-M, Anne, Wee Ginger Dug, Kendo Macaroonbar, the good folks in the ‘English for Yes’ tent and all the other Wingers who, in my book, are all ‘avid readers’ (and not the ‘Lurkers’ as Ronnie called them …tsk-tsk …shake o’ the heid LOL).

But a great day, guys! Loved every minute of it (except those balloons). Catch up again soon folks. You all take care!!!

228. JLT

And oh God before I get slapped! It was also a pleasure catching up with the delightful Paula Rose! Always makes me laugh with his wee shenanigans around the Wingers!!

Take care the now Paula. Catch up at the next do!! Cheers

229. ronnie anderson

@ JLT ah dont want Lurkers ah want tae see then dipping there toes intae Wings & becoming Lurchers.

Cmon Lurkers post up, WE dont bite ( much) lol

230. Tam Jardine

ronnie anderson

Great effort from you and the rest of the wingers manning the stands. My daughter and I had a great time. She went hame wearing a great flag courtesy of your good self and a couple of wee saltires painted on her face.

Well, she might as well start learning a bit about this weird and wonderful country and her travails.

Great meeting so many wingers- a good few weel kent names there I missed. Next time.

Hopefully another meet is not too far off.

231. kendomacaroonbar

Thanks to all my fellow wingers who helped set up/strip down the iScot Gazebo it was a great help. And to the gentleman who walked off with my gold foiled Scottish passport holder pre production sample Father Ronnie wishes to have ‘words’.

thanks again, You guys are great x

232. kendomacaroonbar

Thank you to the wings family for helping us out you were superb.

Not nice thoughts to the guy that walked off with my pre production passport sample – re-arrange into well known saying or phrase Jobby / hedgehog /breech position

233. Ian Brotherhood

TGSFO!

Final R2 results:

G5:

Alistair Darling 39%
    Andrew Neil 30%

Euan McColm 16%
    Eddie Izzard 15%

G6:

Blair McDougall 32%
    Adam Tomkins 24%

Jackie Baillie 23%
    Laura Kuennsberg 21%

G7:

John McTernan 38%
    Michelle Mone 24%

Queen Elizabeth 22%
    Piers Morgan 16%

G8:

Ruth Davidson 44%
    Gordon Brown 35%

Jill Stephenson 16%
    Ian Murray 5%

Congratulations to all the winners. Now, only the boldest proceed…after the hair, snotters and bits of ermine have been cleared away.

Only 16 remain.

234. Betty Boop

@ IanB

Scratched my head trying to figure how Brian Wilson dropped out of the running in R2, then I remembered there are an awful lot of candidates for the top spot. That guy gives me the heebie jeebies.

235. Smallaxe

kendomacaroonbar:

May I add-jobby/hedgehog/breech position/haemorrhoids,we used
    tae ca’ thaim piles before decimalisation.The Bas-turd!

Peace and Love to you and all you Love

236. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Typically, he folded against serious opposition.

In this case, it was Kaye Adams (45%) and Muriel Gray (32%) who did for him, and convincingly so. The fact that Chris Deerin polled a miserable 9% will be scant consolation.

Wilson has now slipped over the horizon of public consciousness, slipping into a netherworld of ignominious oblivion, as he was always destined to, still muttering darkly about finding WMDs in Iraq…

Most of Scotland happily waves him off, saying ‘cheerio, ya pure nob’.

237. Nana

@Smallaxe

I am so sorry to hear you are under the weather, you really must take care after all you are not long out of hospital. Perhaps being out in the rain on Sunday did not help.

Let Mrs Smallaxe mollycoddle you, lots of cuddles and plenty fluids. Get better soon xx

238. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thank you for your genuine concern,if you haven’t already,have
    a look at my post on the Unhappy 11% at 5:45pm you will see the situation,as you already know I still have an incurable thingy
    to deal with,it can mess with the head at times, I like every
    Grandpa want to be here for my Grandchildren to hopefully guide them in what can be a very dangerous world.Im so proud of them Nana,there great and bright kids they are what keeps me going.

I know that I must annoy some people at times with my daft posts at times,but if they see my name they can just scroll
    Past,are we Scots not known for our sense of humour,anyway I’m
    sure that the Rev.Stu will put me in my place if he thinks that I’m out of order.

Peace and Love to You and Yours Nana. Billy.

239. Nana

@Billy

Aye you have your troubles Billy and how you manage to keep a cheery outlook astounds me, I guess your faith plays a part.
    I for one look forward to your posts as they provide some welcome respite especially on days when the threads can be a bit ‘heavy’

As for those who might complain ignore them. I’ve had a few broadsides hurtle my way over the last three years & I’m still standing [well sitting actually]
    I believe a cheery face welcomes more people to the cause than a gurny one, blimey there are too many gurners in this world already.

I tell you what Billy, I’m thinking your grandkids are megga proud of grandad. xx

I’m off to nab a couple of no voters I’ve got dangling on my hook, think they are about ready for reeling in. I can be a bit of a ‘battleaxe’ hahahaha

For you
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4a5vaIsaxB8

240. Smallaxe

Nana, your one of those special people who I and others love to communicate with or to have you as a friend, I consider you
    as a Best Friend I have yet to meet in person, I hope the day
    comes soon.My wife and myself send our love and best wishes to
    Your good self and your husband (lucky man) and we both hope to meet you in a Free Scotland soon.

As always Nana Peace and Love.There’s nothing funny about that!

241. Nana

@Smallaxe

Ach I’m not special Billy. Hope to meet you someday too, you have to take care of yourself xx

My wee westie has just come in covered in black seeds. He’s been lying in the shade under a bush in the back garden, help ma boab what a mess. He looks like he’s been pebble dashed haha

242. Ian Brotherhood

Who’s YOUR favourite Traveling Wilbury?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=od2TjbEncXM&feature=youtu.be

243. Ken500

@ Brian

19 September, 2016 at 8.25pm

Thanks for the videos from the millions of folk that could not be there. Thanks Glasgow.

Ace.

244. Ken500

@ Brian

Thanks for the videos

Ace

245. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

It’s definitely him that starred in that classic movie with
    Vivien Leigh “Blowing in the Wind” Bob Gable aye that’s ma man.

Peace Always

246. Smallaxe

Nana,

Peace Love and Pebbledashed Pets 🙂

247. Tinto Chiel

@JLT: interested to hear about your work on the Douglas Family. I couldn’t remember the excellent book on The Black Douglases by Michael Brown, 1998, Tuckwell Press when I was talking to you. You probably have consulted it already but just in case……

Douglas itself is very interesting and the family vault is in St Bride’s Kirk. You can get access by asking for the key. It’s a bit creepy on a winter’s afternoon, as I found out for myself one Hogmanay.

Take a pal if you ever decide to go.

248. Stoker

Nana wrote:

“As for those who might complain ignore them. I’ve had a few broadsides hurtle my way over the last three years & I’m still standing..”

Just for you Nana, your own anthem! Steady oan the jiggin’ noo!

Elton John – I’m Still Standing
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHwVBirqD2s

249. Stoker

Paula,

I’m getting nothing from your link at 9:40 but your 10:05 works.

Brian,

I get the same as Paula’s 9:40 when i click on your 8:25 links.

250. Paula Rose

Stoker Honey I’m just so pleased that my efforts are not in vain.

251. Stoker

Sorry, Brian, just checked your links again and all are working.

Thanks for those, very much appreciated.

252. yesindyref2

Incidentally and quite by chance or something like that, going to the Glasgow Green thing on Sunday and being with fellow total absolute nutjobs seems to have given me a new lease on life and enthusiasm, not just for Indy work, but generally as well. Good for morale!

I recommend it.

253. Nana

@Stoker

Cheers for that. Don’t suppose you now the number of a good chiropractor?
    Only kidding, but the bones don’t half creak, might need some WD40 in the morning! haha

254. Paula Rose

Oi – you lot something is totally amiss, there is nothing here by Thepnr I’m getting seriously worried.

255. Paula Rose

*looks in back of cupboard*

256. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

RE: Georeferenced maps I mentioned at the weekend. Go to this link, then click on ‘Geo-referenced overlays’ at lower left.

http://maps.nls.uk/

When you get the next page, I find that the ‘OS 25inch, 1892-1905’ is a decent overlay to start with. Slide between old and current with the slider at the left – ‘Change transparency of overlay’ – under the overlay drop down menu.

257. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

You asked people who their favourite Travelling Wilbury was
    and I was the only one to reply,was there a prize?did you keep it for yourself? Speedboat? Caravan?own up Ian or I will be on
    the phone to Jeremy Kyle and the lie detector will get you.
    Cheek!

Peace Always 🙂

258. Ian Brotherhood

@smallaxe –

No prizes I’m afraid.

If you haven’t already watched that link you’ll see that it’s not the ‘real’ TWs, just some dude doing his take on them, and he does it very well!

Hoots mon.

259. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

I did watch the link,funny as feck,but did you see my reply,if
    so did you not twig the Humour back at you? 🙂

Peace Love and Laugh’s

260. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

(Had to scroll back there, had missed it!)

261. Ian Brotherhood

Thanks to Paula Rose, the QF draw for ‘TGSFO!’ has been completed live on Twitter. Same as last round, top two go on to the semis, to be announced late tomorrow night.

Group 1:

Ruth Davidson
    Alistair Darling
    Effie Deans
    Adam Tomkins

Group 2:

Neil Oliver
    JK Rowling
    Gordon Brown
    Michelle Mone

Group 3:

Kaye Adams
    John McTernan
    Muriel Gray
    Andrew Neil

Group 4

‘TRIDENT’
    Murdo Fraser
    Blair McDougall
    Jim Murphy

There can be only eight!

262. Cactus

Good to be with youse all at the weekend in Yes Glasgow.
    Same time next year..?

Where’s next.. Edinburgh, Aberdeen..

Am enjoying the ongoing coverage of TGSFO!
    Aye, plenty of hoachers in there 🙂
    In the end, there can be only one.

263. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

‘Hoachers’.

Good word mister. It’s a keeper.

264. Paula Rose

It’ll be in his next crossword *makes note*

265. JLT

@Tinto

Hi Tinto,

Most of my research has been done through University archives. Being the 13th-15th century, the information to be found is pretty limited, and probably most documents have been found and added to what we know. My lecturers had warned me that anything from medieval times is likely to be fairly thin, and that what you are gathering is just the same information from various sources with just snippets here and there.

However, to the group that I have been helping (a battle re-enactment group), they have found the information fascinating. They are more or less interested in James Douglas, 2nd Earl of Douglas and the battle of Otterburn when they defeated Henry Percy (Hotspur).

At the moment, visiting anything is going to be limited as my attention has to be on my Uni studies for the next 8 months. There’ll be no chance before next May, but after that (and depending on what the Group want), then if I get a chance, then I may visit a few of the sites. I know Ian (my friend who participates in the battle re-enactments) does want to visit a couple of key places.

But yep, noted down the site and I’ll mention it to him. However, as said, it all depends on what it is they want to look into and what to visit. Part of the their yearly dates is to be invited to France where they have participated in the enactments there (where the Douglases were involved). At this point, I might try and wangle myself on one of their wee trips to France and enjoy the culture of our two nations there. Could be worse! LOL

But thanks again, Tinto. As said, it was great having a wee blether with you on Sunday. Take care the now!!

266. Smallaxe

POLITICALLY CORRECT

As a Man writing this
    I may kick up a fuss
    But I still think that women
    Should clean up after us

We’ve made a real mess
    But we didn’t mean it
    And I think we need women
    To step in and clean it

As the earth is being squandered
    To make a fast buck
    The only woman consulted
    Has been Lady Luck

I know some women frown
    As only some women can
    When a lady takes a chair
    From a gentleman

But please force yourselves ladies
    Take a seat from a gent
    Take a seat in Old Holyrood
    Our Scots Parliament

The daughters of Eve
    Once again must give birth
    To a plan that will help us
    Clean up Mother Earth
    ———————————————-+
    This poem was written by Billy the Rhymer
    Last of the hippy’s 1969r
    You can read if you please
    If you like it it’s yours
    It costs nothing it’s free
    Just take it in Peace

267. Cactus

@Ian Brotherhood ~

Aye aye,’Hoachers’ must have been picked up by my sub conscious and derived from your previous..

“all pure hoaching with big beasts…”

Not long to go now until the winner is crowned, but will it be (wo)man or weapon..

268. Michael McCabe

Group 1 Ruth Davidson 2 Gordon Brown 3 John Mcternan 4 Trident

269. Nana

@Smallaxe

I’m a wee bit of a rhymer myself, well I do try

There is a wee rhymer on Wings
    Each day with his wit he does bring
    Light relief and some mirth
    To the threads and for me they are worth
    Much more than all shiny things

270. Brian Doonthetoon

On Sunday afternoon, I talked to a couple of peeps (Tam Jardine +1?) about a pilot drama I had seen on YouTube. It was set in Edinburgh’s New Town and I found it half decent.

It’s been uploaded to YouTube but in 7 parts, of approx 9-10 minutes. The link below gives you part 1; the other parts are available from the related list on the right of the part 1 page.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAkGq0qCwsI

271. Smallaxe

@ Nana

I know a fine lady methinks
    Each morning she sends me fine links
    From finish to start
    They are truth every part
    And there sent from her
    Big Golden Heart X

Peace Love and Poetry

272. Tinto Chiel

Nae probs, JLT.

You sound a busy man, so good luck with all that.

I am often amused by some of the more Yoonish academics who gloss over the reason the mediaeval period is so thin in documents: don’t mention regular invasion and confiscation/destruction of records/archives etc from ablow the dyke!

A trip to Aubigny would be nice but then you’d have to drink the wine…..

😛

273. yesindyref2

Group 1: Ruth Davidson
    Group 2: Neil Oliver
    Group 3: Andrew Neil
    Group 4: Murdo Fraser

274. Tinto Chiel

Ian:

Darling

Brown

Adams with an “e”

Trident

275. David

QF draw for ‘TGSFO!’, my picks:

Group 1: Alistair Darling
    Group 2: Gordon Brown
    Group 3: John McTernan
    Group 4: TRIDENT

276. Thepnr

G1 AT
    G2 NO
    G3 KA
    G4 Trident

277. Fairliered

1. Darling
    2. Brown
    3. McTernan
    4. Trident

278. Stoker

Darling
    Brown
    McTernan
    Trident
    _____
    A wee bit of reading for the nighthawks.
    Hidden History:

Dr James Young (1811 – 1833)
    http://archive.is/QTb5q

279. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey – how lovely to see you *cuddle*

280. Cactus

Och aye I’ll join in, but for one group only..

4. TRIDENT

Repeat as appropriate.

Hope it counts.

281. Tinto Chiel

Stoker, liked that but thought you meant this guy:

http://www.scottishrepublicansocialistmovement.org/pages/srsmmemoriamdrjamesdyoung.aspx

He was a carnaptious Scot who refused to accept the Unionist version of our history, like Stuart McHardy.

Cactus: looked for your hat at GG but must have missed you.

Next time, mon vieux.

282. Ian Brotherhood

‘TGSFO!’

Result

QF/G1 Twitter% (WOS)

Ruth Davidson 48% (2)
    Alistair Darling 24%
    (6)
    Effie Deans 12% (0)
    Adam Tomkins 16% (1)

283. Ian Brotherhood

‘TGSFO!’

Result

QF/G2

JK Rowling 31% (0)
    Gordon Brown 25 (7)

Michelle Mone 23% (0)
    Neil Oliver 21% (2)

284. Ian Brotherhood

‘TGSFO!’

Result

QF/G3

Kaye Adams 38% (3)
    John McTernan 34% (5)

Muriel Gray 17% (0)
    Andrew Neil 11% (1)

285. Cactus

Aweright Tinto Chiel ~

Yeah, I was hanging out with my good friend Jock Scot at the music tent, where we were harmonising to the tunes of Scotland. Next time.

Going walkabout on an adventure.. bbs.

286. Ian Brotherhood

‘TGSFO!’

Result

QF/G4

‘TRIDENT’ 55% (9)
    Murdo Fraser 24% (1)
    Blair McDougall 13% (0)
    Jim Murphy 8% (0)

And that concludes the quarter-final results…

*PHEW*

Paula Rose was good enough to do the Q/F draw, and we remain grateful to her for bringing a wee touch of class to the proceedings…

*YET MORE APPLAUSE, HURLING OF UNDERGARMENTS ETC*

…but I must ask now, and I ask it most sincerely – would any other fellow correspondents like to volunteer to do the draw for the semis?

Please note – this will be the last ‘draw’ required, as the semis will result in one four-name group.

There may be eight semi-finalists, aye, but there can be only one ball-plucker…

Please organise an orderly queue, or sort it our yersels and let me know…

If no volunteers are forthcoming I shall have no option but to take the balls out myself and suffer whatever consequences ensue.

287. K1

Darling
    Oliver
    McTernan
    McDougall

288. K1

Och…late tae the party…should huv read further afore posting 🙁

289. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Seeing as how we’re both here, and the results are all in, would you like to do the draw for the semis?

Won’t take more than a few comments back and forth, and that’s it sorted, I can post them on Twitter.

You up for it?

290. Betty Boop

@ Tinto Chiel, 10:01pm

He was a carnaptious Scot …

I haven’t heard anyone use the word “carnaptious” since my late Dad, but, more likely it was my Mum talking about my Dad! Thanks for reminding me 🙂

@ Bdtt

Brian, at GG you mentioned you would post a link to an event happening either end of this month or next (can’t remember). Would be grateful if you could dig out the details. Ta muchly.

291. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Bummer, must’ve just missed you there…

I need these numbers drawn so I’ll head over to Twitter and get it done by someone properly random!

Hoots anyway!

292. yesindyref2

A reflective moment

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFFlCXS6RKs

293. Stoker

TC (@10:01pm)

Thanks, the feelings mutual, i enjoyed the link you provided.

From now on i plan to submit the occasional interesting Scottish history piece for others to read right here in Paula’s hoose, it can be a bit deserted at times and goodness knows she needs to be kept busy.

I’ll not be posting as often on the main threads for a good while because i want to focus the time i have on my own wee projects promoting WOS in my neck of the woods.

Rev, keep those articles and the ammunition coming, i have endless space in my armoury and one can never have enough bullets or weapons of choice.

RogueCoder (Lindsay) – Order on its way to you later.

IanB – For as long as Trident remains in the TGSFO running put a vote against it each time for me please. As for the others, well, who cares, they’re all Massey Fergusons or John Deeres. And don’t be doing a Dippy Dug and forgetting my vote.

A final wee note to those waiting for ‘IndyRef2’ to be kick-started, don’t wait, time is precious, get the truth out now and when the big day gets triggered we’ll be well ahead of the pack.

Quite often it takes some considerable time for a message, or change of habit, to sink in and be activated. Don’t make the mistake of thinking we’ve got this in the bag, we don’t!

Take the time to get out from the WOS bubble and sniff the reality. Fight like your life depended on it because it does.

Look after yourselves troops and stay safe out there. Orrabest!

294. yesbot

@ Brian Doonthetoon 22 September, 2016 at 11:06 am

Thanks Brian, so ‘quirkily’ enjoyable and bang on with the Edinburgh cliches, shame the series didn’t materialise!

295. Brian Doonthetoon

I did a post from another machine, around half an hour ago. It hasn’t shown so I’ll try from this machine.

Hi Betty Boop.

The date is 22nd October, 12 noon till 8pm. Originally, it was to be a march from Holyrood to Leith Links but it has been changed to a march from Waterloo place (East end of Princess Street) to a rally at Holyrood with entertainment, speakers, stalls and so on.

Info at this page:-

http://edinburgh.carpediem.cd/events/632127-unchain-the-unicorn-at-holyrood-parliament/

Also at the Facebook page:-

http://www.facebook.com/events/273480396360930

296. Tinto Chiel

Betty Boop: glad to have pressed the memory lane button for you. It describes me too and you should hear what Mrs TC calls me.

Stoker: glad to hear you’ll be dropping off your historical stuff at Paula’s gaff. Do you think you could tactfully mention the state of the ash trays?

Cactus: keep in touch and don’t eat yellow snow. Bon voyage.

297. Paula Rose

What’s up now? You don’t like the nice sparkly clean ashtrays?

298. Tinto Chiel

Yes, much better thanks.

Might pop back later with the Pledge.

299. Dave McEwan Hill

Zombie Banks and currency options
    Andy Anderson is on http://www.argyllradio.co.uk again tonight from 7pm talking with me about currency options for an independent Scotland and the fraud that is our major banking services.

300. K1

Och Ian woulda been happy tae oblige, but ah headed aff tae ma pit sharpish after ma comment! Hope ye found someone to do the draw. 😉

301. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 – No bother, it’s done, and you’ve reminded me that I didn’t even post the SF groups here!

@Stoker – Noted. Consider it done.

Here are the SF Groups:

Group 1

Kaye Adams
    John McTernan
    ‘TRIDENT’
    Gordon Brown

Group 2

Murdo Fraser
    JK Rowling
    Alistair Darling
    Ruth Davidson

Group 1 closes approx 10, and 2 approx 12 tonight.

Hoots all! 🙂

302. Ian Brotherhood

Oooooh yeah, it’s Friday!

Time to get on the leather jacket and legwarmers!

Shalamar, ‘I Can Make You Feel Good’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wAZnf0IJcS0

303. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t knock it till you’ve tried it…

Daniel O’Donnell, ‘Jambalaya’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=si7lwx77iNs

304. Macart

Friday night and the first chill of autumn in my neck of the woods. Seems like a very long, though damp, summer since the June vote. Anyroads, this dead zone period is depressing as hell and folks are frustrated beyond words. (sigh)

I feel a dram or three and a long (extended) lie down coming on. I think the change of pace should hopefully recharge the old batteries.

Have a good one guys. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6fVDAjs9f0

305. X_Sticks

Group 1
    ‘TRIDENT’

Group 1
    Alistair Darling

306. Tinto Chiel

“Anyroads, this dead zone period is depressing as hell and folks are frustrated beyond words. (sigh)”

Feeling your pain Macart. Not quite getting this clamour for UDI. Need a rest or a large malt.

Or both.

Ian B: Trident
    Ruth Davidson

307. Ian Brotherhood

I love beer but rarely drink it as it makes me fart like a champion.

But I must tell you all about this stuff I’m necking right now. From Lidl, it’s called ‘Perlenbacher Festbier’ and the can bears a cheesy drawing of a busty barmaid holding frothy steins of it aloft. 99p a can.

It is – I jest ye not – the best dark lager/beer I have ever tasted. Reminds me of Furstenberg, but nicer.

Has a real kick too. (5.5%)

*TWITCH*

Slainte all!

308. Tinto Chiel

Ian Brotherhood: you’re better than that. Get on with your novel. Busty barmaids indeed: you’re our intellectual wing!

Having said that, Mrs TC and I have to go to Hamburg for four days in October (long story).

Any orders?

309. Ian Brotherhood

Sometimes words just aren’t enough…

Sydney Devine, ‘Scotland Forever’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5DvH9w0AkVY

310. Fairliered

McTernan
    Darling

311. Tinto Chiel

Ian: I raise you this (steak and kidney, seriously?) That beer must be good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qKggnBh2Mdw

312. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Indeed it is

*BELCH*

Approx a decade ago I woke up late-morning, as if from a nightmare, convinced I could hear The Sydney doing ‘Tiny Bubbles’, but much more worser than the rendition I had encountered in childhood.

Drink had been taken the night-before, so I mentally dismissed the man and his caterwaulings.

Would they disperse?

No. They would not.

*BAAAAARF*

So, maddened, confused, sleep-deprived and fearing for my mental health, I arose from my scratcher, and raggedly hauled up the blinds – painfully adjusting focus to cope with the unbearably sudden brightness, I struggled for many seconds to accept the awful truth.

*HAAARPH*

There he was, The Man Himself, in the bowling green which backs onto our humble abode, doing his warm-up for the Gala Day.

True dat, and I do hope you won’t let a rift come between us.

*RAAARGH*

313. Tinto Chiel

Ian, you are a true poet, able to process your trauma into a tinkling stream of utter poetry.

Was it Ardeer Bowling Club? or ICI?

Your novel needs you, as does mine.

It was so much simpler when Paula Rose when did the stir-fries.

314. K1

Trident
    Davidson

315. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

Ardeer.

It’s right over the back wall.

(You sound familiar with these pairts.)

Aye, Miss Paula Rose is very very quiet tonight – usually an ominous sign. Someone, somewhere, must be getting it.

316. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Thanks for the info 🙂

@ IanB

If the book has closed a wee bit late:

Group 1 Kaye Adams
    Group 2 Ruth Davidson

Ta

317. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

Sorry, you just missed it, but I hope you’ll be pleased to know that your selection has proceeded to the final.

Here’s how Group 1 of the semi-final finished:

1 ‘TRIDENT’ 54%
    2 Kaye Adams 20%
    3 John McTernan 14%
    4 Gordon Brown 12%

318. Michael McCabe

1 Gordon Brown 2 Alistair Darling

319. Michael McCabe

Bluegrass ? Rocket Man. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=forqmom3YuY

320. Tinto Chiel

Ian: not so familiar with Ardeer but an old Communist colleague worked at ICI. Lucky guess.

I’m worried about Paula Rose: they say her satay is quite magnificent but she’s gone all quiet. She’s maybees chapping her ingans still.

Think I need some of that beer you mentioned…..

321. Ian Brotherhood

And here’s the outcome of the other semi:

1 JK Rowling 35%
    2 Ruth Davidson 31%
    3 Murdo Fraser 19%
    4 Alistair Darling 15%

Therefore…

The Final of ‘The Great Scottish Fuck Off!’:

Ruth Davidson
    JK Rowling
    Kaye Adams
    ‘TRIDENT’

The poll will go ‘live’ on Twitter at midnight, and close tomorrow at the same time.

322. K1

Trident

323. Tinto Chiel

Much as I loathe our resident Massey Fergusons and Bamber Gascoignes, the only answer can be Trident.

And so to bed.

324. Michael McCabe

Christy Moore- So do I http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3OZai4uYuR0

325. Michael McCabe

All About that Bass. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aLnZ1NQm2uk

326. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

Nice one.

This is an earlier version of the song he finished that concert with.

Moore’s one of these dudes who doesn’t really seem to age a lot, eh?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4HHsm7gVKw

327. Jockanese Wind Talker

Ian Brotherhood,

Thanks for the effort and the craic.

Has to be TRIDENT sums up Scotland in Union and symbolises Little Britainers attitudes.

We don’t want it, we didn’t vote for it but eat your cereal and suck up the fact you’re getting it, (GSTQ and all that needs it to pretend UK is still OK and a World Power (how very 1947).

Wouldn’t give Ruthfurher Davidson, Jakey Rowling or UKOKaye Adams the publicity that winning this would demand.

328. Ian Brotherhood

@Jockanese Wind Talker –

Yer vote and sentiments all registered, with thanks.

329. Jockanese Wind Talker

Ian B,

Thanks go to you for thinking TGSFO up in the first place and running with it.

Thanks also to Paula Roses’s baw handlin’ abilities to ensure a clean (fnaar, fnaar) vote.

330. yesindyref2

I’ve given up voting in this, it’s obvious TRIDENT is going to win!

331. yesindyref2

When I worked in Germany, around lunchtime everyone greeeted everyone else with just one word: “Mahlzeit” (mealtime).

I got in the habit of saying that every time someone farted (including me).

@IanB
    Mahlzeit!

Oh, and may as well make my vote for TRIDENT as well even though living on the Clyde for so many years not far from Holy Loch and under a 100 foot aerial nuclear burst tidal wave I’m not particularly bothered. A bit wet all the same.

Mmm, Warsteiner, that’s my queen unter biers.

332. Chic McGregor

Bit of a shocker yesterday. After watching the final of the Egghead’s search for new team members, I wondered where CJ was so looked him up.

He had been arrested the day before for suspicion of murder in Amsterdam. Apparently, in his autobiography he confessed to punching a mugger and chucking him in the canal, possibly to his demise, 20 years ago.

Yoiks! I’m scared to look up Daphne now. 🙂

Ob sick joke. Good luck to the Amsterdam police interviewers in getting him to answer questions.

333. yesindyref2

In honour of Corbyn:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tkplPbd2f60

334. Thepnr

Must admit to disappointment in the final four, I really wanted to tell John McTernan the seer to get to fuck as he is obviously a useless ….

So forced to chose, for me it has to be the bint from hell that screeches Britnat propaganda day in and day out.

Seriously as much as I would like Trident to fuck off I’d rather we told BBC propaganda fronted by the likes of her and the rest off them.

We missed a trick here. We should have told the BBCC to FUCK OFF.

Kaye Adams for me.

335. Paula Rose

Hi Honey *waves at Thepnr*

336. Thepnr

Hi Paula.

Yeah I’ve reverted to Thepnr. That’s how I started on Wings and I guess that’s how I’ll finish.

337. Tinto Chiel

I know Paula Rose will be too young to remember this, but as the sun goes down and we all get a trifle melancholy, I’m leaving this here for all you aesthetes/Quality Street gang members. I remember watching this series with my dear old dad and I really loved the downbeat, rather seedy/sad atmosphere it created. Alfred Burke was really good in the part.

Does anyone else remember it?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=imtexEdWf_Y

338. Chic McGregor

Tinto

Sure I do, watched it regularly.

Do you also remember Callan? Starring Ed Wud Wud Wud?

Had the rarity of a Scot as a B character who wasn’t a drunk or wife-beater even if he did, apparently, smell a lot.

339. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:
    Thank you for the memories, nostalgia rules

Chic McGregor:
    You could not possibly have known when you mentioned Callan,
    But the late Russell Hunter was a personal friend of mine for
    many years,back in the sixties we used to spend a lot of time
    together when putting together an experimental show called
    The Barnstormers,Thank you and Tinto for sending me off to bed
    to sleep,perchance to Dream,Dreams of Happy memories.Goodnight.

Peace and Love of Long Ago

340. Chic McGregor

Pleasant dreams Smallaxe. Nostalgia is not what they say it was.

A bit like Scottish history.

341. Ian Brotherhood

Just for the record:

‘TGSFO!’ 2016

The End!!

‘TRIDENT’ 54%
    Ruth Davidson 19%
    JK Rowling 16%
    Kaye Adams 11%

So, its finally done.

Make of it what ye will!

342. yesindyref2

@IanB
    Blunderturds are go!

343. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Well done Ian, I’ll bet there are a few politicians & celebrities who are fair disappointed. Those that did make the final though are probably chuffed.

Truth is, it was an unfair contest. No mere mortal could possibly beat Trident.

344. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

I know what you mean Chic,people keep telling me that I should
    do something for Posterity,but what’s Posterity ever done for
    Me?

Peace Always

PS.I will hear no criticism of Scottish History after having
    seen the Historically Accurate Brig’o’ Doon and watching
    Those most excellent documentary’s by the highly acclaimed Prof.Nell Oliver (he of the lovely Locks) 🙂

345. X_Sticks

@Ian

Well done Ian, 10/10 for sticking with it. I think it does say something when Trident beats all comers by such a large margin. It is and always has been my primary reason for wanting independence. Obviously a lot of other folk are of the same mind. As Alex says “No mere mortal could possibly beat Trident.” Nail, head, hit.

346. Thepnr

However Colin we mere mortals do have the power to make Trident obsolete.

Let’s just do it. Nothing beats knocking a winner from their pedestal. Just ask Jim Murphy 🙂

347. Tinto Chiel

Chic and Smallaxe: sorry, I was out with Taylor Swift later last night and missed your comments. Nice girl but her knowledge of Scottish politics is a bit disappointing.

Memory is strange. The music for Public Eye popped into my head the other day for no apparent reason yet I hadn’t heard it since the original series. I thought it was the Callan music but when I found the episodes on YouTube I realised I was wrong.

I tried to remember more of the music and then the face and name of Alfred Burke came into my head from nowhere. The internet’s great for finding any reference or quotation in a few seconds and I traced him quickly to Public Eye and that moody music.

Strange the ways music (and smell) can take you back half a lifetime to a long-forgotten memory.

I have freed myself from the grip of TV so will take great pleasure in rediscovering Callan and Public Eye.

Thanks for your comments.

X_Sticks: completely agree about Trident being a prime reason for independence. Sadly I know Scottish CND members who voted no, and committed Christians who thought Trident an obscenity who did the same.

Does not compute, I’m afraid but folk are funny.

348. Chic McGregor

Tinto + Smallaxe

Still on the nostalgia kick, given Corbyn’s apparent, recent and long overdue, makeover I am now rather confused as to whether he is still identifiable with Worzel Gummidge or has he moved more towards Mr Crowman? (perhaps more appropriately in a titular sense).

Anyhoo, here is a clip of Kezia/Aunt Sally caught fibbing by the two so you can make your own mind up on this serious political dilemma.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LmQZjKMcPcA

349. Tinto Chiel

Sheesh, Chic, that’s a difficult one. I always think he looks like an ageing Modern Studies teacher who drives a Citroen 2CV.

But given the new main thread today, Kezia is a real Aunt Sally, it seems.

I think she is not going to last much longer now that JC has won. Cue lots of in-fighting.’Twas ever thus but the BBC will be their little helpers.

I know it’s not Hamlet but I thought Una Stubbs “took her part lovely” as Kenneth Williams used to say in Round The Horne.

350. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

You mentioned ‘Neil Oliver’…

I guess you’ll have seen this documentary, from a few years into the future?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afRE3RwLwaE

351. liz g

Briandoonthetoon
    Came over here to nosy about because the link to the Phantom Power Pilot that Nanna just put up is coming up as this video is unavailable.
    Turns out SO is your link!
    It’s enough to make a body paranoid that there are people out there who don’t want us to see certain things!!!!

352. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi liz g.

I’ve just tried the link again and I’m getting the video ok.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=afRE3RwLwaE

353. yesindyref2

I’m not really for or against Trident, the nuclear deterrent, but I do think we’ve had it (and Glen Douglas though supposedly empty now), long enough.

Time it went elsewhere.

354. X_Sticks

Apologies if this is duplicated 1st try disappeared due to user stupidity!

I’ve just watched Phantom Power’s excellent latest film

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3k5H9xJsV9I

I think it is the beginnings of the new media the we so desperately need. We need to get behind this and get it funded. They are at 31% of £18,000 with only two days to go.

I’m going to flog this relentlessly and I hope others here will get behind it to. If Wings can raise 50k in a day then surely we can do this but it’s going to take a concerted effort. I hope you’ll help.

PERSPECTIVE: “A series of documentary films covering Scotland’s journey to independence. Who is involved, what will our country look like, how will our economy work, where is our place in Europe? Exploring the big questions behind Scotland’s democratic revolution.”

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/perspective-scottish-politics-arts/x/101819#/

355. Ian Brotherhood

@x-sticks –

Thanks for link.

Have been watching it in wee chunks.

Top-quality stuff.

Must admit to getting a tad emotional at the footage of Govanhill Baths. 🙁

I learned to swim there along with my wee sisters. Standing in a long queue outside during the summer holidays, we would twist coins into the holes made by uncountable thousands of previous children along the sandstone wall and pillars at the entrance. You could tell which holes had been made by old pennies, sixpences or whatever by the diameter. Don’t know if they’re still there.

Often, if we had enough cash, we’d leave after our session was up and immediately rejoin the queue. It was a fantastic resource in its day, and hopefully will be again.

356. Tinto Chiel

Ian: you’re probably too young but did you call your jeely/cheese piece a “chitterin’ bite”? One of my dear old dad’s wee sayings after the baths in Hamilton.

Not chitterin’ licht, one of our valued posters.

I’m ready for revolution now. As Cactus would say, “I love Scotland.”

357. Ian Brotherhood

@TC –

TBH, I’ve never heard that expression before.

However, it does have 13 letters, which means it’ll appear in a National crossword this side of New Year IF I can locate the same spelling in a dictionary.

Hoots!

PS How was ‘Brookmyre’?

358. Tinto Chiel

PS How was ‘Brookmyre’?

Ian: check your e-mail! Entertaining but too many lawyers about.

Scots: to chitter:-shiver in English.

359. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    25 September, 2016 at 1:08 pm
    Hi Smallaxe.

You mentioned ‘Neil Oliver’…

Brian,if you look back,I mentioned NELL Oliver,this was not a typo.

What you will not find in his Wiki thingy is that he once worked for the “Annandale Observer” a local newspaper in these
    pairts.I once had the great honour of being interviewed by him
    on the subject of some scribblings of mine many moons ago.He is just as impressive in person as dog turd is when shoved
    through your letterbox at midnight.I enjoyed speaking with him
    so much that he is lucky Tony (I found a Roman shit house) Robinson has not unearthed him on one of his Archeological digs.

Peace Love and Lovely Locks

360. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Now that you come to mention it Chic,I used to partake of a
    small refreshment in a hostelry in Cumbernauld named “The Twa’
    Corbie’s”, there was some depictions of said members of the Crow family (corvus brachyrhnchos) and on some evenings if the
    light was just right,well let’s just say,I could at times see
    a resemblance.

Then again this may have been caused by the hallucinatory effect of the strong lemonade I was sipping. 🙂

Peace Love and Lemonade

361. Smallaxe

Brian and Chic:

Apologies for the late replies but I was over on the other thread explaining some of the shit that Kezia had been spouting.

Peace Love and ffs did you hear her?

362. yesindyref2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FGVGFfj7POA

Seems appropriate somehow

363. Michael McCabe

I agree with the last comment. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j7b16bVdLaI

364. Smallaxe

yesindyref2
    Michael McCabe.

Stop Children what’s that sound,some great music going around.

Peace Always

365. Jack Collatin

Why are so many of the Executive Class of our Health Boards so fat and unhealthy looking?
    How much do we pay these people?
    £100k? £150k? £200k?
    And all the crisps and chocolate bars which they can stuff in their mouths?

Which reminds me.

I see the CEO of the Scottish Health Service is complaining that NHS staff are afraid to whistleblow, and that 11 whistleblowers are still on suspension.

The article which I read inferred that the Scottish Government must do more to protect staff and encourage whistleblowing.

It begs the question:- What the feck are we paying the Chief Executive to do?

Julius Caesar’s observation:-

‘Give me men about me who are fat, men who sleep o’ night’,
    comes to mind.
    Some apparently are sleeping during the day as well.
    It’s all that BAD SNP’s fault, doncha know?

366. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Can’t catch me!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGRnw7Y-pVY

367. Andrew McLean

From the Man in Black’s backing band the Oak Ridge Boys who were a regular support group.

“I’m caught up in the push and shove
    The daily grind, burning time, spinning wheels,
    I wonder what I’m doing here
    Day by day, year by year, standing still.
    Somewhere there’s a teacher with a heart that never
    quits,
    Staying after school to help some inner city kids,
    A mother who’s a volunteer, a soldier in the fight,
    I can’t help but ask myself when I lay down at night.
    Did I make a difference in somebody’s life?
    What hurts did I heal? What wrongs did I right?
    Did I raise my voice in defence of the truth?
    Did I lend my hand to the destitute?
    When my race is run, when my song is sung,
    Will I have to wonder, did I make a difference?
    Did I make a difference?
    I’ve been working hard to make a living
    And forgetting what true living is
    Taking more than giving, something’s missing
    Lord how long can I go on like this?
    There’s a lonely old man down the street
    And I should be ashamed.
    I’ve never been to see him, I don’t even know his
    name.
    There’s the kids without their supper, in my own
    neighbourhood,
    Will I look back someday and say that I did all I
    could.
    Did I make a difference in somebody’s life?
    What hurts did I heal? What wrongs did I right?
    Did I raise my voice in defence of the truth?
    Did I lend my hand to the destitute?
    Did I make a difference?
    Did I make a difference?”

That is a good song for Scottish Labour, and Kezia in particular. If you really want to make a difference why are you on the wrong side of history, the wrong side of the debate. If you want a “Labour Scotland” why vote for Westminster labour who are as always away and voting with the Torys!

368. Cadogan Enright

BBC Droning on tonight seriously debating Boris J’s claims of Russia potentially being involved on war crimes.

Switched to RT. . . . .

they were droning on about Boris blocking an independent UN war crimes investigation into UK arms and Saudi Arabia

Did not see that mentioned on the BBC

369. Tinto Chiel

Cadogan: some clues in here perhaps. UK meddling seems to have been going on a long while and it rarely sides with the good guys.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wahhabism

370. Liz g

Last night / early this morning I got the impression that I was being told to leave the main thread and move my conversation over here.
    While that may or may not be the case my position was then and still is that I would only be obliged to acknowledge the Revs instructions to do so.
    I have waited to see if the Rev did indeed take a view,and since he hasn’t so far I am minded to think at the very least, he doesn’t see this as an urgent issue.

After having read all the comments on the subject I think on balance I will indeed try my best to keep those kind of conversations over here.

I did however get the impression a while back the Rev was a wee bit chuffed that his “computer fixer people” were struggling to find a gap in the comments, even though the night.
    Also I took the view that some new readers might be more comfortable bantering with the more irreverent posts to start with, and certainly viewed that kind of stuff as harmless,and it never entered my head it would be harmful.
    So just incase …..I will as I have said try to keep the chit chat over here.

Hopefully those Winger’s who feel the main thread should be kept a bit more focused will keep up the night time posting on the main thread as I think it’s a good thing that Wing’s is active 24/7.
    But I’m still looking for a wee bit of a compromise, as this end of Wing’s is not really my cup of tea, I don’t generally dip in and out of, off topic especially through the night, I am giving fair notice that I will probably engage with another poster initially on the main thread first.
    Now bearing in mind things like age, alcohol,memory ect could be a factor anybody who thinks that I need reminding some nights please speak up.
    So hopefully that’s thing’s sorted,unless and until the Rev says different.

371. ScottishPsyche

I have ventured over here for the first time. I was certainly getting the vibe that being off topic or inadvertently repeating what someone else had said was being frowned upon.

As I am relatively new I still feel I don’t always ‘get it’ so I suppose I rely on the prevailing mood music. Sometimes the discussions get a bit heated on the current threads and it can feel you are intruding in a private argument but that is why it is so compelling. People really care about getting an independent Scotland.

Anyway I came over to say if you haven’t read the Booker Prize nominee, ‘His Bloody Project’, then give it a go. It’s by Graeme Macrae Burnet and published in Scotland. Written almost like a docu drama it tells the story of a young crofter accused of a triple murder from his perspective and from testimonies of those around him. The time period is the 1840’s, the advent of the Victorian asylums.

I spent a lot of my time working as a junior doc in these places before they were closed down. The records were a fascinating look at the supposed enlightenment of the time but also an eloquent account of the awful conditions and misery of those with mental illness. The diagnosis of ‘moral insanity’ still fills me with horror, the ‘personality disorder’ catch all of its day. The book is more than that though – it also gives an insight into the class structure and powerlessness of the crofters. I liked it.

372. K1

Thanks for your comments Liz and Scottish Psyche. I don’t feel it’s anybody’s business to police Wings apart from the Rev.

Sure everyone has an opinion but I don’t see why people have to feel or even be ‘told off’ or ‘frowned upon’ by others just because they are gabbing away in the middle of the night on the main thread and those ‘others’ don’t enjoy those comments?

I have a wee ‘pet irk’ with regard ‘one’ person making a rather critical comment about ‘what’ people are relating about on the main thread then others jumping in on the back of that comment and saying ‘well said’. Sure sometimes we have all posted mair times than we know but then we all get excited at different aspects of the political scene in Scotland and at other times we are arguing with someone (guilty) over specific points related to our varying political outlooks…but everyone is free to scroll past those comments that they find either irrelevant or uninteresting?

There are no bosses on Wings…just one boss and that’s Stu.

How did people become ‘regulars’? By posting and chatting and engaging on the threads…on a ‘regular’ basis? There are more and more lurkers coming forward and more are coming…partly what makes Wings a good forum is the ease with which you are welcome to comment on either the atl topic or engage with others on what they have expressed. That ‘develops’ the community feel of the place, does it not? It allows people to ‘find their voice’ and develop a greater nuanced understanding of the issues involved in our movement.

It also lends itself to a more ‘personal’ interaction and people feel relaxed enough to share some of the more painful and difficult aspects of their human journey too which is, I feel, part of that ‘support’ that Wings uniquely and unexpectedly provides.

There were times in the past that I too have felt a lot of posts were irrelevant or ‘boring’ and then the more I read and got to ‘know’ the style of the poster I could see the value in what they were sharing in their own unique way; they are sharing themselves, leaving their mark…their voice is being heard.

In summation notwithstanding the house rules of no O/T on the main thread comment’s within the first 20 or so comments (as yesindyref2 commented on the main thread earlier today) O/T has always been part of the main thread ‘especially’ when it runs for more than a 24 hour period and I personally have no problem with anyone who is commenting in the middle of the night…sometimes it’s just ‘contact’ that we need…then.

Also especially when it relates to another article about Slab…I mean how much more can we actually talk about the disaster that is Dugdale/Murphy/Lamont? Is there an actual factory in Scotland that we don’t know about that is producing Slabcutouts? If there is I demand Sturgeon shut it down!

End.

(Smallaxe I note you have not commented much today, and hope you are well…peace…as you would say 😉 )

Thanks for the book review Scottish Psyche, will check out 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7h_VKaoITio

373. Liz g

K1
    Thank you for your reply you are very kind.
    I don’t actually comment much at night but am usually around cause I am indeed a bit of an insomniac.
    But I do drop in and out of the main thread to see what’s being said if anyone is around,and have done for years.
    It was only when I read the night’s were particularly long for Smallaxe at the moment I let him know that I was usually around if he needs a distraction,didnt even think to suggest coming over here.
    (Like you haven’t seen much from him today hope that means he is doing ok)
    Like Scottish Psyche above I’m still figuring out the best protocols for this site,and I very rarely come here,but will watch with interest how the night time posting develops on the main theread.
    Anyhoo thanks again for your kind reply and goodnight to you.

374. Paula Rose

Everyone is welcome here – I’ll pop over the main thread and have a look.

375. Tinto Chiel

K1 and Liz: as you say, it’s the Rev.’s site and he decides what is permissible.

Many regular contributors perhaps comment too much if the criterion is “only speak if you have something new to say”. I am guilty of this myself. Do I really want to acknowledge again the stupidity and mendacity of Kezia/Ruth/Baillie? I know thinking about them just makes me fed up. Yet I commented on the main thread on Kezia yesterday.

What is most important on this site is what I simply call “playing keepy-uppy”. I’m sure the Rev doesn’t want the TV equivalent of “dead air” and many regulars are conscious of this and comment in their own idiosyncratic way. You get a real sense of their personality or when they’re cheesed off or perhaps lonely and others respond because it is a strange but welcoming community on here.

In the end the Rev is our host and he is pretty tolerant.

As usual I’ve said too much.

We need Paula Rose and a tray of her Martinis, I think.

376. Paula Rose

Bit early for that Dear but I’ve left a couple of tray-bakes over on the main thread for folk to help themselves.

377. Tinto Chiel

Good point.

I like you fruit slices.

You need more Stork, btw.

378. Nana

@Liz g

I don’t see anything wrong in folks engaging in a bit of banter. I often used to forget the rule re posting off topic links too early in the thread, so I tend to stay away during the day now just in case I slip up besides I have an aversion to hammers!

Right now we are feeling edgy and frustrated. Some wingers may be unwell and looking for company with like minded folks and being a welcoming inclusive site we should make time for all voices.

Yesterday morning did not sound like a voice of unity and that makes me sad.

The other side are disparaging of anything and everything, belittling has become their way of life and just look at how ugly and off putting that is.

379. Andrew McLean

Paula Rose, is it gin’o’clock yet?

380. Paula Rose

Not yet and I’ll be out when it is because Bruce Fummey is appearing at tonight’s Be More Brechin event and I’ve got to get the venue ready.

381. yesindyref2

@Paula Rose
    Probably a good idea to do a little on the main thread, peace and harmony and all that, and people do “listen” to you. I think it’s the heels, brings the fear of whatever God or no God people might or might not have into them.

Yeah, some people forget that Wings does perform a support function, for those out there staying calm “out there” in the face of stupidity and provocation, and want to sound off in like-minded company. It’s not all about info and hard fact, or staying “on topic”.

382. Paul Rose

It is true that when there are no new articles things can go awry on the main thread. I try to keep an eye on the tone of debate but due to being asleep I missed that one.

Give me a call here if it happens – if i’m around I’ll be in earshot.

383. Capella

Hi Liz g and Smallaxe
    Please don’t take those comment critics to heart. Some people just like to gripe. A bit of human kindness raises the tone of the thread, especially in the wee small hours.

I just scroll on past if I don’t want to read a post. Read the advice on commenting Stu has posted. He suggests waiting till about 6 posts in before going off-topic. The link is at the top of the comment box.

BTW when is Smallaxe going to post the rest of the Trench Town adventure?

384. Chic McGregor

Just listening to the prog. on the National theatre.

Wee wifey explaining how there was nothing at all when she came up to Scotland and how she had to personally make office furniture out of oak, English oak of course.

Switch off before they get on to productions like The Black Watch.

Maybe that’s wrong. Maybe they will question why the history of the Black Watch completely omits their mutiny in seventeen forty three.

385. Tinto Chiel

Chic: strangely enough I was in seeing a neighbour earlier tonight and she was watching one of those History channel progs on Wallace/Braveheart.

Only lasted about two minutes before I started shouting at the screen. Apparently Wallace and Moray were “Scottish rebels” and the Scots did not observe the rules of civilised warfare by ambushing Edward’s army at Stirling bridge.

So we get invaded and if we fight back we’re “rebels”?

Yoons just can’t help themselves, can they?

386. Paula Rose

Read up and look at and search Fifth Estate – the theatre company I ran in the nineties.

387. Liz g

Capella @ 5.38 & everyone above who took the time to say what they thought.
    Thank You .
    Sorry to take so long to reply I have only just looked over here.
    Please don’t be concerned that I am upset by the comments the other day,im not.

Firstly,because I find it difficult not to sound negative myself, while I have the word’s the punctuation to get the tone of what I’m saying across…..not so much.
    So I tend to cut others some slack with how I am reading their comments.

But MAINLY because I think that a negative opinion HONESTLY expressed is still worthwhile considering,and while I don’t agree with the views I do think they were as far as I can tell honest one’s.

If it turns out that the main thread does indeed become dead air through the night,I’m sure we can think again,and no one can deny that off topic is indeed intended for the chatty side of things.

Now having said that,while I’m not upset I came over here looking for Smallaxe because I am now worried that he might be.
    I am aware that he is vulnerable right now and therefore might not be as thick skinned as I am.
    So I am asking if anyone reading this can confirm he is ok can they let me know.
    And Smallaxe if you are reading this will you just say hi.

388. Chic McGregor

Tinto
    Yes, it does seem to be rather deeply ingrained.

389. Cactus

Cheers tya Tinto Chiel.

Greetings from Barca, met some really cool people here, we know where it’s at..

Whit’s gaun on wae that Kezia?

Cheers Ian B for TGSFO! Pleased to see that TRIDENT won.

We will always live on a small planet.

I Love Scotland. So do YOU. Line six 3am.

390. Cactus

I Love the stars in the sky, they’re consistent.

391. Cactus

I Love.

392. Liz g

Ok Smallaxe my friend.
    I don’t want to hound anyone, so if you are not wanting to comment..nae bother.
    As always take care of you and your’s.
    If you change your mind Pal you know where we are.

393. Tinto Chiel

Cactus: you’re a lucky man. Was there a few years ago with Mrs TC and loved the architecture, food, people and the language. Then when we got back home my elder daughter deleted all the photos on my memory card……

Good excuse to go back, though.

Check out the restaurants in Placa Real but watch those naughty women on Las Ramblas. Wouldn’t want you led astray.

Full report required when you get back.

394. Smallaxe

liz g,and all others who I class as friends:

I apologise for my thoughtlessness,I did not realise the concern that my absence seems to have caused,especially to you
    liz,it did not occur to me that you and others would be so kind as to think I may have been upset by a few of the comments on the main thread.I am very touched by the posts on
    O/T and on the main thread.I must admit to being very surprised when I logged in today.

There is a very simple explanation for my absence.Our wedding
    anniversary was on the 26th,so I took my wife away to an hotel
    for a couple of days,her birthday was on the 6th and because of us both having chest infections it was not celebrated as it should have been,so I decided that a couple of days pampering
    were in order. I thank all of you,I will kick my own arse for
    not realising how my sudden departure may have seemed.Once we are unpacked and had a coffee I will post again.

On my next post I would like to explain a few things about myself,for anyone who may interested,if not, to coin a phrase
    I see some of you using”Scroll On”.

As Usual,Peace Love and many many Thanks

395. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good to hear from you, I was about to send out a search party and glad to know it was not a health related issue that kept you away. Best wishes to you both on your anniversary xx

396. K1

Aye Smallaxe, ah already hud ma coat oan wi a knapsack full o’ supplies and a torch…

*reports back tae base camp…’Smallaxe found safe and comfy efter his romantic getaway expedition*

397. Nana

Aye K1 Tuesday night I got my SAS gear out [oops there goes my secret life] balaclava on, best hiking boots on and compass in pocket, all ready to face the elements. Hubby shouted “where the hell are you going dressed like that at this time of night”

I replied I’m off to search for smallaxe to which he shouted back, there’s one in the shed.

The man obviously has no clue what is going on in Wingstown.

398. Paula Rose

Oi boots off in here.

399. Nana

Oops boots off, slippers on I promise. Hope you are not packing a hammer Paula rose.

400. Paula Rose

I don’t do hammers Dear I just cut off the supply of tea and cake.

401. Nana

Damn I was so looking forward to one of your delicious crumpets too, best get the boots back on and trudge off to the shops.

402. Paula Rose

Honey come back here at once of course you can have some crumpet, now don’t be silly.

403. Tinto Chiel

Cactus: just had a thought.

Get outta my town….

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QAzESJ62irI

Audience look like Kezia supporters.

404. Nana

Paula rose mon cher ami

Jings the shops were busy. Sadly crumpets all sold out but I have to say I don’t regret missing out. I picked up a box of French fancies instead.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFtGfyruroU

405. Stoker

Hi Nana,

Just having a peek to see what the in-laws are up to and i see the ‘to O/T or not to O/T’ has raised its head again.

For what it’s worth here’s my tuppence worth – I’d prefer you posted them here in PR’ hoose for one reason and one reason only.

You post a staggering amount of links to various sources, as we all know, but if your link is related to the thread article i don’t see what harm you’re doing, you’re adding to the knowledge.

However, due to the amount of other links you supply it can be more than a problem if one needs to find one of your links for whatever reason so putting them in O/T makes it that much easier to refer back and find the one you’re looking for.

That said, the best advice is for you to put them where you want to and if it’s unacceptable his nibs will soon let you know as i’m sure you’re very aware.

Stop bothering yer britches about it because those who like your links will soon find them and those who can’t be bothered pressing a few buttons don’t deserve them.

I’m sure if you can go through all the medical bother with those hands of yours when looking/finding/posting the links then others can press a few buttons to find and read them.

Take care and stop the ageing process,
    stress and worry gives you wrinkles. 🙂

By-the-by, i think the Rev could make O/T easier to find and access by sticking it permanently to the top of the main page, that might help make it easier for some.
    _____

RogueCoder,
    Got my order of 50 WOS stickers – all present and correct, thanks!

406. Paula Rose

You do realise that if more people start coming here I’m going to have to clear out the box room?

407. Nana

@Stoker

I used to post articles relating to the various threads but as you know the threads can move on pretty quickly which means an article relative to that thread can be missed.
    I tried putting them all in off topic which did not go down too well with some. I guess you saw the comments.

Actually I did suggest that a few would go up on the main thread in the morning and the rest would go to off topic. There will still be some who might find it too difficult to push a button!

My main problem is deciding what to post as a lot of what I am sent can be a few days old but still of interest. Also with brexit there is a huge amount of articles being written, again I’m having to decide what is worth posting.

Some days however I doubt it matters how many I put up, on days the Rev is not here links give folks something to do when waiting for a new thread.

I was actually going to stop posting links as some of our fellow wingers are really good at it and being a little slow I’m quite often pipped to the post with a link. I would not mind a nice long break.

Wrinkles what are they? Perhaps Paula knows??

408. Andrew McLean

Nana,
    regardless of how or where, Little old me for one appreciate your efforts and hope you continue.

409. Capella

Nana – please keep on posting links, and I like them on the main thread as I don’t call into OT every day. I laughed at the thought of you kitting up and off to the shed for a smallaxe. You might need military night vision googles for future sorties.
    https://www.nightgear.co.uk/en-UK/Military-Night-Vision-Goggles/ngdsl12022.htm

Glad you’ve been off on a jolly Smallaxe and not sitting, arms folded, pursed lips, boycotting comments!
    A wee break does us all a lot of good.

410. Nana

@Andrew

Not planning on going anywhere anytime soon. Not for the want of trying. I’ve left lots of holiday brochures lying about, hoping hubby takes the hint!

@Capella

Jeez thanks for that link Capella. Trying to save pennies by strapping binoculars to my noggin left me stumbling about in the dark. Dread what the neighbours must be thinking!

411. Liz g

Smallaxe good to see you back.
    On my way out just now.
    So will catch up later.

412. Marie Clark

Nana, that made me laugh you getting kitted up to look for Smallaxe. Please keep posting your links on the main thread. I always look for them, where would we be without you.

Smallaxe, I’m relieved to hear that you and the good lady were away galavanting. I was worried that you were maybe not feeling the May West. I didnae think that a man of your calibre wid tak the huff and storm off,

Take care.

413. Nana

@Marie Clark

Thon Ruth tank commander thinks she’s tough, Hah.

Brought up on the croft driving a Massey Ferguson now that’s tough and dangerous especially with a load of peats and you should see my skills with a pitchfork!

Aye fearless that’s me well almost I don’t like hammers and between you and me Marie Paula rose can be awfy scary.

Always good to laugh, just happy Smallaxe is back.

414. yesindyref2

Massey Ferguson. There’s a name. Used to be Standard. I had a contract there in the 70s, great bunch, good workers too.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-coventry-warwickshire-21427232

Stupid UK.

415. cearc

Nana,

‘Wrinkles what are they? Perhaps Paula knows??’

Phew, you’re one brave lady!

416. Paula Rose

cearc Honey – I haven’t seen you in ages *hugs*

417. carjamtic

Smallaxe 🙂

If you posts are of your usual high standard,I’m all ears,your ‘Jamaica Inn’ posts were brilliant.

#inspirational

418. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor,I have been looking up the thread a bit and in
    reply to your link.

Better Buffalo Springfield than Buffalo Ruth!

K1,carjamtic,capella,marie,andrew,yesindyref.My Thanks to all.
    Excuse me for not using capitals where appropriate.time flies!
    Nana,what can I say?I feel awful looking across at the other
    thread and seeing you say good morning,they were not going to silence you,were they!liz I feel as if I deserted you on a battlefield to fight alone,and to make it worse,your only concern was for my well-being.

Brian Doonthetoon,Ian Brotherhood,Ronnie Anderson,Xsticks,Paula Rose we all met on the 18th,it was a
    pleasure,it was well worth the journey,so many people to meet
    please excuse my memory if anyone has been left out.

I wonder if any who complained on the other thread were there on that Sunday,or were they sitting warm beside their fire,spraying out words at the opposition in comfort.I can tell them that despite the weather, we had the warmth of being
    with others,thats a feeling some will never know,that feeling
    of meeting old friends for the first time.

I am now going to make a coffee but I’ll be writing while I drink it,it takes a while to write on this bloody tablet with my finger hitting two keys,at times I have to delete half of what I have written.Unless your a night owl don’t wait up.I may have quite a bit to get out of my system.

Peace and Love to All

419. Smallaxe

THE EARLY YEARS:

By the time I went to Secondary school,I was living in a housing scheme in the east end of Glasgow,just an ordinary kid
    from an ordinary family,my dad worked,but like most families
    we struggled to get through the week.I did OK at school but university,like 99.5% of kids at that time wasn’t even a dream.

Summer holidays,again like a lot of people consisted of a day
    out,here and there,no Majorca or Benidorm for the working classes in those days.I suppose I was luckier than a lot of others my father came originally from Ayrshire from quite a large family, so we had the option at times to stay with an aunt or uncle for a few days by the seaside.

I came home from school for eight weeks summer holidays,I was 13yrs old,nearly a man my dad told me as he handed me a strangely shaped object wrapped in brown paper and hairy string,puzzled,I unwrapped it as per his instruction.

I knew what it was as soon as I got the wrapping off,I just had never seen one before of this size,it was a scythe,a scythe that was made for someone my size.”I have noticed” he told me”that a lot of the posh houses down in Mount Vernon and
    Garrowhill have grass growing in the back gardens that’s nearly two and a half feet tall they will never get a lawnmower through it”.

I was still looking at the scythe in disbelief,I looked across
    at my mother,she turned away from me and tried to look busy with something else.I realised then that they had been arguing
    about his plans before I came home,so I said nothing and looked back to my father,”well” he said “get yourself down there before someone beats you to it”

Well, that was it,I was now a worker!I took the scythe and more or less crept the couple of miles to Mount Vernon,hoping
    that I wouldn’t run into any of my pals on the way and hoping against hope that someone else might”beat me to it”.
    Fat chance,I approached the first house where I could see that
    the grass was indeed luxurious,thats putting it kindly and mildly,the garden looked to me like the Serengeti that I had
    seen in books.

I approached the front door,my face glowing red with embarrassment and gave a soft knock on the door,hoping maybe that there would be nobody home.The front window flew open and an elderly man looked out at me and bellowed”roon’the back son”.He was at the back door waiting by the time I got there.
    “Whit dae ye want” he said in a loud voice that nearly made me
    take to my heels and run away,it turned out that he was as deaf as a doorpost,he couldn’t possibly have heard me at the door he must have been sitting behind the curtains and saw me coming.

“Dae ye want yer grass cut mister”I managed to choke out.My tongue was sticking to the roof of my mouth in fear and embarrassment.He stood looking at me for what seemed like enough time for his grass to grow another six inches,then he said”aye how much”.

How much,it had never entered my head,how much?so I said”how
    much,well whit dae you think it would be worth”.I would be lying if a told you what we agreed on but when were both happy
    with the agreed fee,he went back inside and I started swinging
    the scythe like a dervish hoping that I wouldn’t meet some
    tribe unknown to the modern world living in the middle of this
    Mount Vernon jungle.

Turned out, that the old guy was a decent sort,every wee while
    he brought me out a glass of barley water,I had never tasted
    barley water before that day, and if I ever drink it nowadays
    it takes me back like a time machine to that first day in the
    old guys garden.

That summer was spent cutting grass,the old guy was good enough to recommend me to some of his neighbours and a got to cut their grass also.At first I got blisters and my hands bled but they soon hardened up and it was good to have some money in my pocket,although the first money had to be given back to
    my dad to pay for the scythe,it was a good feeling to be able
    to give some money to my mother,every few Bob helped out.

Well that was my holiday plans sorted until I left school at 15yrs old.I cut grass,painted sheds and helped out at a pig farm in Bargeddie amongst other things.One other thing apart
    from having some money was it kept me away from the gangs that
    were running riot in the schemes during that time.

I think my friends that this is going to take a lot longer than I first thought so I think I’ll leave it at that for tonight.I have a nutritionist coming again tomorrow to see if
    my weights holding steady.Ive lost four stones in weight since the end of May but I think I’m holding my own again.

This is the first time that I have told people about myself
    I’m normally a pretty private person.But I feel that I’m among
    friends so……

Peace Love and hoping that I don’t regret this in the morning.

420. Liz g

Smallaxe hi
    Had been reading on the other thread that Robert Peffers thinks it is possible that Andrew???? McLean I think,
    might have been in the same hall at union meetings years back,and not known each other,which I thought was pretty cool!
    Then I pop over here to find you and I might have been on Ayr beach wan fair Monday year’s back.
    How Edgey are we Eh?????
    Anyhoo sweet dreams to you and the Mrs.
    Good to see you back..X

421. yesindyref2

Been thinking of getting another scythe. Had a vegetable garden back in more leisurely days, raspberries, strawberries, rhubarb, got manure – onions, shallots, garlic, peas, green beans, tatties of course, nothing like totally fresh for taste, but got neglected with all my working away, and invaded by horsetail and my current tactic having given up on agricultural strength weedkiller is the obvious one – leave it to get overgrown and smother it. Hmmm. Lawnmower on highest setting isn’t good for the machine! Let the brambles take over for a bit, but the fruit was very woody. Raspberries were often grafted on a hardy blackberry root stock so when it goes wild it reverts.

Yes, used one when young, parent’s garden, and old folks gardens as part of the voluntary scheme run through school. Great tool, needed the hone every so often as you’d hit stones and take chunks out.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hlqQD6C4lfg

422. Smallaxe

Morning All:

liz,if you ever did run in to me on Ayr beach,you would remember,I was the one wearing the hand knitted purple trunks
    that looked up so much water,they made it look like the tide
    had went out.

yesindyref2: You certainly know how to wake a guy up in the morning. I think your as daft as me.

Peace Always

423. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Yes, I’m daft alright, daft as a brush – I forgot to mention I use the jungle reclamation hedgetrimmer first near ground level, before using the lawnmower 🙂

424. Smallaxe

Sooked, not looked!

I wish these tablets would learn some Scottish words

It’s that SNP their doing it deliberately!

Peace Always

425. Smallaxe

Just got this,if nobody has put one up on the main thread I’ll
    switch it across later!

Dear Smallaxe,

The Government has responded to the petition you signed – “Switch to the Renewable Plan B for Hinkley C – fit for the 21st Century”.

Government responded:

The Government is committed to providing secure, affordable and clean energy to UK families and businesses, now and for the future through a mix of low-carbon technologies.

The Government is committed to providing secure, affordable and clean energy, now and for the future. We need to replace our ageing infrastructure with low-carbon, reliable energy sources; and aim to do so through a mix of technologies and energy supplies, diversifying supply and reducing reliance on any one energy source. Keeping the lights on is non-negotiable.

The Government is clear that nuclear will be an important part of the future generation mix; a transition to a low carbon economy is key to our long term economic and environmental prosperity and, looking at the full costs to consumers, nuclear is both cost-competitive and low carbon. It is the only proven, large scale, low-carbon technology which provides base load supply. Currently, the UK has eight power stations which generate around 20% of electricity in the UK. Almost all of these existing power stations are due to close by 2030, and it is important we start to take action now to replace these.

Following a review of the Hinkley Point C project, the Government has decided to proceed with the first new nuclear power station for a generation, subject to a number of conditions being accepted. Hinkley Point C will kick start a new era of nuclear power – building on Britain’s strong nuclear legacy – and help ensure the UK benefits from a diverse future energy mix designed to give consumers reliable and affordable low carbon energy. It will provide 7% of Britain’s electricity needs for 60 years. UK-based businesses will benefit from more than 60% of the £18 billion value of the project, and 26,000 jobs and apprenticeships will be created.

The Government is already committed to the renewable energy sector where it has a proven track record – nearly £52 billion has been invested since 2010. The average annual investment has more than doubled in the last 5 years, with an average of £9 billion invested each year in UK-based renewables. Annual support for renewable technologies will more than double, to over £10 billion, in 2020-21.

Since 2010, the UK has more than trebled its renewable electricity capacity. Renewables’ share of generation increased by 6 percentage points on 2014 to a record 25% in 2015. For the first time, renewable sources provided more power over the year than coal. We are on track to comfortably exceed our ambition of delivering 30% of the UK’s electricity from renewables in 2020-21.

In addition:
    • solar PV has had rapid deployment over the past 5 years, with over 99% of the UKs capacity deployed since 2010 and almost 40% of the capacity (3.7GW) was installed in 2015
    • bio energy generation was 30% higher in 2015 compared to 2014
    • overall, wind generation was 26% higher than in 2014 and installed capacity 7.0% higher

Renewables, such as wind farms, are intermittent and this is why the Government supports a balanced energy policy comprising a mix of sources, such as gas, nuclear and renewables. With increased use of renewable energy, intermittency will become more of an issue and it is something we are planning for very carefully. We are seeking to keep energy bills down by not over incentivising technologies under low carbon incentive schemes. Furthermore, we are encouraging industry to drive down development costs, which is why the Contracts for Difference (CfD) strike price reduces over time.

As costs continue to fall, we will scale back support from sectors and redirect support to technologies where it is needed most. Onshore wind and solar costs have already fallen and so we have reduced support in those areas.

The Government is committed to providing investors with certainty and reducing risks for future investors. We are doing this whilst seeking to control costs that fall on consumers and ensuring that the Government’s other energy policy objectives, particularly on security of supply and climate change, are met.

The Government is clear that the transition to a low carbon economy is key to our long term economic and environmental prosperity; nuclear is part of that generation mix. Looking at the full costs to consumers, nuclear is cost-competitive and low carbon. Importantly it can provide continuous power, irrespective of whether the wind is blowing or the sun shining.

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Click this link to view the response online:

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/163725?reveal_response=yes

The Petitions Committee will take a look at this petition and its response. They can press the government for action and gather evidence. If this petition reaches 100,000 signatures, the Committee will consider it for a debate.

The Committee is made up of 11 MPs, from political parties in government and in opposition. It is entirely independent of the Government. Find out more about the Committee: https://petition.parliament.uk/help#petitions-committee

Thanks,
    The Petitions team
    UK Government and Parliament

You’re receiving this email because you signed this petition: “Switch to the Renewable Plan B for Hinkley C – fit for the 21st Century”.

To unsubscribe from this petition: https://petition.parliament.uk/signatures/25611872/unsubscribe?token=SPXlO0yHjtBhXE0xTzYj

426. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I can see where that special forces training comes in!
    Your secrets safe with me. Wink Wink,funny handshake given.

Peace Always

Popping up to shop,back in 5.

427. Nana

@Smallaxe

Here’s your morning call, links on main thread.
    Get the kettle on xx

428. carjamtic

Smallaxe

I remember that pig farm,we used to walk the Monkland Canal to Drumpelier Loch,sure the road next to that farm was one of the ‘shortcuts’.

Some really great (industrial) social/political history,connections here,from pig farm at Bargeddie to Engineer James Watt,to the coal mines of Lanarkshire,to American war of Independance,gripping stuff.

429. Fred

Ahhhhhhh! always wondered what went on here? Thought this might be where Rock cracked jokes n stuff?

The Monkland Canal brings back happy memories, I remember the smell yet! “You been in that canal again? whit huv ah tellt you?”

430. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thank you Nana,I like it over here,there is some really great
    people on this side. I think instead of calling the other side
    the main side I’ll just call it the grumpy side.

I’ve had a look over and some of them are arguing about other
    people’s grammar, and yet they say that they are trying to attract new people to the cause???

Good luck with that,I say!

Hope to see you over here later.xx

431. Smallaxe

carjamtic and Fred:

Good here intit! Music,drinks,cakes and the meaning of life,
    and before anyone else says it 42.good to see here guys!
    Hang around,Paula should be here with the coffee and biscuits
    soon. 🙂

Peace Always

432. Smallaxe

Be back in a while,nurse coming at 10:30.

Isn’t our SNHS wonderful. 🙂

Peace Always

433. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Just as well I’m not of military age or with my specialist jungle training they’d probably send me to Iraq. As it is I’m off to the Arctic on HMS Pugwash. The MOD have just realised it exists so I’m off to scout it out. I may be gone a wee while.

434. Fred

@ Smallaxe, this is the very weather for a wee hauf eh!

435. Chic McGregor

18D today, Claymore had Maori there to indicate a letter reversal I think, if so, never seen that before.

Or was it just another type of fish, a red herring.

436. Smallaxe

carjamtic,

It sure is,yesindyref pisses off to the Arctic without a by your leave,I wanted him to get me one of thae Arctic rolls and to warn him not to eat yellow snow.

Then I get a letter a couple of weeks ago from the hospital and right at the top in big letters saying Examination and telling me that a nurse would be here today at 10:30.

Credit where it’s due,she arrived on the dot,so I gave her a thorough examination and told her that she looked fine to me,
    and then I got the shock of my life when she ran out the door
    shouting,see you,yer sick,yer bloody sick.

I don’t even know if it’s contagious or not,its very strange.
    quite worrying in fact!

Peace Always

437. Chic McGregor

Smallaxe amd indyref2
    Yes I am another dafty. Currently sitting here in my “I’m a physicist, of course I have problems.” hoodie, illustrated with various physics formulae.

Taking a tea break also from mowing a lawn which had been let go.

Deliberately mind, I at last got round to ironing out the bumps and hollows of the past 160 years or so, which entailed a lot of re-seeding. So I thought it best to leave it for the Summer.

I too considered using my hedge trimmer, oiled it up and gave it a go, it worked but felt distinctly undignified, like I had dementia or something. So I ended up resurrecting my bigger strimmer. Messy, but it worked.

Now mowing the shortened version.

Have also rebuilt/repaired and pointed a 12 foot garden wall and laid a concrete drive and a patio area.

438. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Trip cancelled, got as far as Ailsa Craig and Pugwash got diverted to take over Fleet Ready Escort duties around the UK, as the T23 Iron Duke crew fancy a proper curry night having been at sea for only 4 years due to not enough surface escort ships in the RN. She (Pugwash) should be there off Portsmouth in 5 days at top speed. Kuznetzov watch out, no storm sheltering off Moray for you!

We got the chance to check out her main armament though scaring a few seagulls which reminds me, must put on the winning lottery ticket before washing hair. The ack-ack and shotguns worked fine, and thankfully they stopped testing as the privately run Air Sea Rescue chopper winched me off and dropped me back in my garden. I wasn’t left dangling for that long, got a bit wet all the same.

I can now put away the MOD supplied Arctic gear – white T-shirt and tennis shorts to blend in with the scenery, plus a pair of snow sandals. Very smart. They let me put the YES badge on which was a bit surprising to say the least. What do they know we don’t? Sooner rather than later?

439. carjamtic

Smallaxe

On the dot,that must have hurt,I am still offshore,there is an Irish Medic onboard (County Clare)….mainly flat,with a couple of well rounded,small mounds….the county that is,not the medic she looks like she’s related Connor McGregor,but not as smart.

440. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

As far as I’m concerned anyone can say anything they like on the Wings main thread, discourse is good 🙂 especially in the wee small hours when no one else is paying attention.

Wings is spontaneous, you should have no idea of where any thread will go or eventually end up.

That’s what makes it good!

Here’s a wee tune for you and liz g that I’ve played many times here on Off Topic before in the wee quiet hours.

Think you’ll like it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU

441. Thepnr

@carjamtic

Loved yer Georgia story. I’m in Baku right now LOL.

Was working in Turkmenistan 20 years ago and also from the east end. Who’d a thunk it 🙂

442. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:”hoodie, illustrated with various physics formulae.”
    It’s imperative that I know if said formulae are on the inside or outside of the hoodie: Hoodie being a member of the Crow family,I worry that you may be subconsciously projecting Corbyn as being a greater problem than he deserves:

Repaired and pointed a “12ft” garden wall: You seem here to be
    more concerned with the “Male” obsession with size!
    I myself worry more about the direction in which you pointed
    it.

“Laid” a concrete drive and patio area:I would like to have more details about this unhealthy sexual interest,we will ponder this further.

All said though I think I can say that you are moving mentally
    in the correct direction:If the grass looks greener on the other side,dont climb that fence,instead concentrate on getting your own garden right.You seem to have grasped this
    concept.

Analysis Conclusion:Fit to return to duty! 🙂

Peace Always

443. Stoker

re; Chris Law – Ah wee song for the scum behind Chris’ harassment:

The Clash – I Fought The Law
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KsS0cvTxU-8
    _____

Anyone recommend a good book or website for learning how to put together graphics for leaflet production and distribution etc?

444. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    Dunno, but I take pictures, and use Photostudio 2000 which was free, or even Windows Paint. You can get a free download just google “photostudio free” and take your pick – usual provisos about checking websites for downloads are OK, or just go here:

http://arcsoft-photostudio.en.softonic.com/

My version default saves in something stupid called .psf but I just change it to jpg and slide it from 90 to 100%. For leaflets it’s a good idea to have a big size image, as whatever software you use to resize the image should be good – I use an old DesignPro version – which is why I’m stuck with Windows XP (thousands of files).

445. yesindyref2

Oh, latest versions don’t need Windows XP.

446. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

Sorry to hear that your trip to the Arctic was cancelled,I know how much you were looking forward to it,at least my mind
    was put at rest knowing that you had been provided with relevant clothing.Everyone seems to be worried about the ice
    cap melting,not a thought given to the scarf and gloves!Ailsa
    Craig,also known as Paddie’s or Fairy Island (see Darby o’Gill) hope you managed to purloin a curling stone.

It worries me somewhat that you make no reference to Bofors gun,is this vessel properly armed?

Seagulls,wrongly named in my opinion as these birds are never
    seen when a vessel is truly out at sea,they should be renamed
    Beach or town gulls or more appropriately chip thieves.

Kuznetzov,watch this person carefully,you cant trust these damn Ruskies,they go places legally when we all know that the Brits et al being superior to any other untrustworthy foreigners can do what ever they like without bothering about
    needless legalities.

I noticed that you are careful to use code when corresponding,
    as in Fleet Ready Escort Duties (FRED)he will be pleased that
    you didn’t blow his cover.

Yes badge,this would have been allowed for the Arctic,Penguins
    for Yes comprise a larger part of our movement than most people realise.

Winning lottery ticket: Remember who your friends are,but stop
    winching helicopters their not called Whirly birds for nothing,you will only finish up with a broken heart.

Thanks for doing your bit for the Nation,medals are in the post. 🙂

Peace Always

447. Smallaxe

carjamtic:

Your right, Dot did nip a bit,but an application of Germoline took the edge off the pain.McGregor I have no time for the man
    since I heard that he wanted to fight Dana! this lady did all kinds of everything for Europe,she is to be admired not mauled.

Funnily enough (and I kid you not) the nurse who I had trouble
    with today hailed from Tipperary,I said to her”that’s a long way”but she didn’t get my subtle remark.Hope the weather is kind to you out there.Stay strong lad,you will be needed for the battle to come.

Peace Always

448. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Re,song for Chris Law,how about Indy Anna wants me,but I’m sure he’ll be back.

449. Smallaxe

Stoker:

Peace Always

I didn’t forget to put this in my post but I’d put my name in
    before I finished posting and it flew away. I must stop doing that.

450. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor says:
    29 September, 2016 at 3:27 pm
    18D today, Claymore had Maori there to indicate a letter reversal I think, if so, never seen that before.

Or was it just another type of fish, a red herring.

I once had a problem with a crossword puzzle.

“Postman drops his bag”
    It bothered me for days until my wife asked”how many letters are in it”

The answer came to me as soon as she asked.37 letters and two
    Parcels,Sneaky eh!
    Peace Always

451. Smallaxe

Must go I’ve got an inbox full of emails to answer.

Peace,Love and Independence to All

452. Still Positive.

When some of you were talking about seagulls earlier it reminded me of an occasion on a school trip to Millport in probably 2001. This would have been our 2nd trip to Millport with asylum seekers and our local pupils and was designed to integrate them which worked.

However, one of the Glasgow boys managed to kill a seagull with a catapult from Millport beach.

The following year on the same trip, when we got back to Largs for the chips we had already ordered, one of the Glasgow boys threw up a chip in the air for a seagull to catch. As it dived for the chip a car came round the corner and killed it.

453. carjamtic

Smallaxe

I have limited I/T access until get home next week,don’t want to rush posts and get something wrong,will take a wee break for a few days.

On over stepping the mark when younger,my mither was very,very accurate with her wooden scholl sandals,optimum range of around 3.5 metres,bang on the back of my head,on target every time.

454. Smallaxe

carjamtic:
    Hope to hear from you when you get back home,stay safe.

Talking about making mistakes with posts,I spent nearly 2hrs
    last night using one finger on this daft tablet and it disappeared into the ether.Bloody annoying.

Peace Always

455. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good morning, hope you are doing well today. Links on main thread. xx

456. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe and Nana: hope this cheers you up. Whoever cut the clips did a great job.

Nana: cut back on those Capstan Full Strength. Did you see WGD’s article on Gaelic? Much Britnat frothing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRnDS_QF-K0

Anyone seen Cactus?

457. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Hi Tinto,thanks for that Ian Drury link/Kilburn and the high roads.When I first went to Londinium many moons ago I stayed in digs in Priory Park road,it’s directly off Kilburn High road,as Bob Hope used to say”Thanks for the Memories.” 🙂
    Peace Always

458. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

See when I was in here t’other day Paula rose made me take my boots off. There was no heating on and the lino floor was chilly so I’m blaming her for my stonking stinking cold.

Ta much for that video. Whatever was in the concoction I took in the early hours has left me with a ‘blockhead’

I did read WGD, the britnat frothing re gaelic is just harmless banter don’t you know!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WK5lmJ4kPZA

459. Tinto Chiel

Ah, Smallaxe, bet you had some wild times down in that there Lunnon.

Nana: yes, I’ve been meaning to have a wee talk with PR about a draught excluder in the hall but you know what she’s like with “criticism”. Lock still not fixed in the throne room either.

Thanks for the video, helps me brush up my pronunciation. I’m in a Julie Fowlis phase at the moment *stares off dreamily into mid-distance*.

460. Paula Rose

Just sing when you’re in there – the draught excluder is abroad at the moment.

461. Tinto Chiel

“The draft excluder is abroad at the moment.” 😛

Hope he hasn’t fallen asleep on Barcelona Beach. Those beachcomber machines are pretty dangerous…..

462. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

The post that I complained about disappearing at 9:12 was about exactly that,not so much wild times,more aware times such as the demo against the Vietnam war,outside of the American Embassy,Vannesa Redgrave,Tariq Ali and my own social and political awakening.My hand was shaking whilst writing as
    long suppressed memories surfaced.In hindsight maybe it’s better to have disappeared as I may have said more about things better left where they belong.

I may also have lost my hard won reputation as some kind of clown on the main thread:-)

Peace and Love are always worth fighting for my friend

463. Tinto Chiel

Yes, turbulent times, Smallaxe but we live in even more repressive days now, I think, and perpetual Tory rule to look forward to.

“Smallaxe: The London Years” still to come?

Can probs cut you a good publishing deal for 40% commission plus a one-off management handling fee of £25000.

464. yesindyref2

“15 men on a dead man’s chest, yo …”

I mean, seriously, hasn’t anyone thought that perhaps that’s what killed the poor guy?

465. Chic McGregor

So now I have seven large recycle bags full of grass in addition to a stuffed wheelie bin.

Not the kind of post one should put out on the eve of a trip to Amsterdam, but it is not that kind of grass.

Will have to try to persuade Sheena to let me take them to the recycle centre in the car, but that can wait till we get back on Wednesday.

466. Chic McGregor

Some crossword clues were brutal today including the one which actually was.

467. Stoker

Smallaxe (10:45pm & 10:50pm)

🙂 Yer as daft as a brush but don’t ever lose that sense of humour! BTW, that’s another saying i don’t get, where did that originate? Has it got something to do with Basil, Basil Brush?

Also, keep all your stories and greetings etc over here in Paula’s hoose or they’ll all be greetin’ oan the main threads and tellin ye tae peace off! And stoap encouraging Nana tae post all her links elsewhere.

Keep up your fights my friend and don’t stop the stories! 😉
    _____

yesindyref2
    Thanks for the responses up at 9:27pm last night but 99% of that could very well be double-dutch for all i know.

What i’m basically trying to achieve is to be able to create double-sided leaflets from already existing excellent material.

EG: On one side i plan to display a Cairnstoon with linkage to his works etc. On the other side will be factual content taken from WOS but in condensed punchy headline style, with linkage details to WOS.

That’s just one example but it’ll give you a clear idea of what i want to achieve and from time to time i’ll reference other factual works from other favourites of mine such as GAP & The Doc!

I would also like to be able to alter already existing material freely available on the internet, to make it more punchy, clearer and hard-hitting.

I’ll look for one example that i have in mind and i’ll post and show you exactly what i mean, just as soon as i have a couple of rolls and a mug of tea.

468. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Maybe I will tell again sometime about “the London years” at a future date but it might be a “sentence remission” you’d be looking at,not a publishing commission. I will probably start
    writing about the “Celtic Rasta” before then,that little story takes me to lighter and not such heavy places.

It’s difficult on an open forum to tell about things that even
    some of my family and friends(of whom I have few through choice) know little about.Im aware that there are like minded
    good people who I’m sure would be interested in what I have to
    say,but then as you know,there are other big writers,small do’ers also.

As you probably sussed I’m not in a great place mentally or physically at the moment.I drained myself last night,but I’ll soon get back to not normal again.Im lying listening to some old Mississippi Delta Blues,just resting and will probably sleep for a while.My tablet needs charged and me with it.

I leave you with a quote worth remembering.

“If someone thinks that peace and love are just a cliche that must have been left behind in the 60s, that’s a problem. Peace and love are eternal.”
    ? John Lennon

Hope to see you on here later Tinto.

469. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Don’t inhale,but get yourself a couple of space cakes,and then you can fly home.Have a nice time Chic.

Stoker I had a look at the main thread earlier,there is enough
    greetin and moaning over there without me having to be there.

And don’t worry about me,I was born on Boxing Day and been fighting ever since.

470. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe, look after yourself and take a break. You’ve been through a lot recently and pneumonia on top. I’ve had mycoplasma pneumonia and know how bad lung infections can get.

Off to the fitba’ in Motherwell tonight so will probs be in a bad mood by 9.40.

Oh Goad, mentioned fitba’! Paula Rose’ll take a flaky…….

471. Thepnr

Saw a video tonight on MTV in a pub in Baku. Thought WOW really weird, who are this band, no captions given.

It was the Red Hot Chilli Peppers with this song “Go Robot”.

I thought it was good and worthy of Wings, a bit nutty like but will likely be a massive hit. This old punk has told you so.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HI-8CVixZ5o

Yer never too old 🙂

472. Thepnr

That video by the way is a time machine, it will take you back 40 years or so. It’s a hoot.

473. Paula Rose

I met Smallaxe he is a hero in London – totally shaken when I realised who he is – so in awe xx

474. Stoker

yesindyref2

Following on from my previous post @5:34pm – take a look at this archived piece and how i would like to be able to rearrange it to produce a clearer and punchier leaflet.

Note, there is another version doing the rounds but this one will serve perfectly to explain my intentions:
    http://archive.is/SjRIk

(1): I’d remove the NI part.
    (2): I’d remove the following wording:
    “It’s that simple”
    “Vote YES on October 30th”
    (3): I would also whiten the remainder of England and Wales, removing all the unnecessary internal map details.
    (4): I’d move the black bold wording to across the top.
    (5): I’d move the “YOUR COUNTRY YOUR CHOICE” wording right across the bottom of the leaflet.
    (6): I’d move the grey wording closer to that region.

With that in mind and, say, a Cairnstoon or some WOS facts on the other side i think that would get people talking and spike quite a lot of curiosities.

Then i’d purchase a thousand or so and blanket cover my patch and beyond until i ran out of leaflets then repeat the process with new material several weeks later and on and on and on etc!

That is ultimately my intentions. I know it would be a lot simpler just purchasing WOS business cards and posting them but in doing that you don’t reach the internet virgins.

Plus, business cards are easier to throw away and they don’t grab you the way a good cartoon and/or some juicy headlines do.

475. Chic McGregor

Alex,
    Sounds like a funked up version of Hollow Talk, the title theme from ‘The Bridge’.

That is a good thing BTW.

476. Chic McGregor

Smallaxe,
    Never had the balls to try any of that, err, shit.

We are art lovers and the main reason for this short trip is the van Gogh museum, we did the Reich’s on a previous visit.

Van Gogh’s work has to be seen ‘live’ to really appreciate it, not sure why, other artists do not have the same requirement.

477. Thepnr

@Chic

That was an absolutely brilliant video to watch and the music was great too. Thank yuou 🙂

Isn’t nature just amazing?

478. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    I do all my own printing on an HP laser printer so I’m no use to you for recommendations, product labels, POS material and the odd few dozen or hundreds of leaflets. That’s not economical for thousands, specially with a full colour background.

But I did talk to my local printers years ago to check out the score, they can take input in a variety of formats to produce leaflets, but it would have meant me getting some software to do it.

Your best bet since you’re going to get them printed, is to talk first to the printers, give them an idea with your leaflet and ask them for the best way to do it so they can take your result and print it on leaflets.

By the way, rather than get 1,000 and then another, you can get something ridiculous like 10,000 printed for about double or treble the cost of 1,000 – it’s the setting up.

479. Stoker

yesindyref2

Aye, thanks for that, i already know what printers i’ll be using but if i can get a recommendation of a company based in Scotland who support our cause and whose prices are reasonably competitive i would obviously prefer to give them the business.

I’m also aware of the prices against quantities situation but i have a limited budget and i need to stick to it – 1000 would be more than enough work for me, 10,000 would break the bank and my back.

Also, i have a set area in mind i intend on sticking to and the plan is to change the details and theme of each 1000 leaflet run so my target area is getting fresh output each and every time.

One thing you may be able to help me out with is educating me on paper/card quality types. I know about most sizes but how can i learn about quality. I don’t want to just bang out cheap crap but i can’t go overboard either.

I have a size and quality in mind but whether or not it can come in under or on budget is another matter. This is what i’m toying with: It’s definately card (not paper) and i would say glossy and measures 210mm X 148mm.

The best way i can describe the sample i’m currently looking at is it’s similar to your average greetings card. Similar in strength and size but has a light shiny gloss to it.

So, what do you know about paper/card grades etc?

480. Ian Brotherhood

Don’t know anything about this young dude apart from recognising his accent.

Not everyone’s ‘cup of tea’, but ooooh-er, what talent:

Shogun, ‘Vulcan’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ZOAzbH8tdU

481. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    I’m not going to be any help at all, the glossy 160gsm I use for leaflets I had and have stocks but it doesn’t seem to be available any more, Data Copy seem to only do up to 100gsm now. Same with card, I do my own business cards – laminated on 160gsm card. That is really too thin for business cards on their own, the sort of thing you used to see in machines at stations, airports whatever, or free offers.

Again it’s best to see what the printer has, they should be used to leaflets and maybe give you a choice. They’ll buy in big bulk. Yes, I do A5 for leaflets which is the size you want, I buy in A4, guillotine in bulk, and print in A5. Xerox Colotech is good paper, I used the 100gsm and I see they also do 160 gsm and 250 gsm. It’s smooth and a bit shiny, but not glossy.

482. yesindyref2

@Stoker
    It’s likely by the way that printers buy in rolls rather than packs, and part of the printing process cuts up into leaflet size and stacks. I vaguely remember that from the printers.

483. Chic McGregor

Stoker

I have some experience of getting leaflets printed.

First, printing options.

Most printers ‘off the shelf’ therefore cheaper sizes are based on A sizes, e.g. A4, A5, A6.

Note, that most also require a 3mm bleed, which simply means that the image you send has to be 3mm bigger than the A4, A5 or A6 size you want. So you should not have anything important in that bleed area, like text for example. This is to allow for registration errors in the equipment used.

Next thing you need to know, is that the file you send them has to be in CMYK colour format rather than RGB. Most graphics packages can convert your image to this for output. This is because ink colours used to print work on an absorption basis rather than the light emitting basis of RGB used in computerland (won’t bore you with the physics). Note that reciprocally you cannot post CMYK pictures on the web. Basically you need both if you intend to print and post.

Regarding leaflet choice i.e. paper weight and size. Card is around 300 gm per square meter or more.

Size depends on various factors, obviously the amount of information, but also things like how it is to be distributed. If it is envisaged that it would be handed out in the street I would recommend A6, which is big enough to go in a hip pocket. IME anything bigger ends up in the next waste bin. The idea is for them to ‘rediscover’ it in the calm of their home, where it might command more attention, rather than the busyness of a street with inviting bins everywhere.

Gloss finish is fairly standard.

Also, double sided printing is much less than double the cost, because it is done with the same pass through the printer, so extra info on the back should be considered.

Finally printing method used.
    Digital printing is less expensive for small runs because the set up is less time consuming, however ink costs are higher.

So for large runs, you do not want digital printing.

Runs of 1000, will almost certainly be cheaper using digital printers.

In the past, I have used https://www.1clickprint.com/ who, although English based, are very price competitive and have no qualms about printing pro indy material.

484. K1

Fuck Ian, he is brilliant…listen tae this one…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bJNGIvV9Ch0

Also for anyone who can’t understand what his ‘flow’ is click on the closed caption of the video (bottom right on vid screen), some of the subtitles are wrong but we can make it out okay…love this!

485. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Yep.

‘X-factor?’

The dude’s got it.

486. Brian Doonthetoon

Something different for this Friday evening…

“Life In A Scotch Sitting room Vol 2 Ep 2.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_yzXIsWq5Z4

487. Liz g

Vambombarbely @ 3.24 on the Just You’re Imagination thread.

Thank You Sir, for taking my post in the way I had intended it to be understood, I was a wee bit worried that it could have so easily been taken the other way.

I do apologise that I seemed to have opened the door for Some idiot to imagine that they could insult you.
    I hope I was snarky towards him to put a stop to it.

But should he attempted to continue,youre mature reply gives me confidence that you would ignore it as I will.

488. Jockanese Wind Talker

Smallaxe,

Good to see you back and bantering.

Hope the health is improving.

Miss you on the main thread though.

489. Smallaxe

@All who kindly included me in their posts. Starting from top!

Tinto Chiel:I thank you for your concern about my health,I have as you know,terminal cancer(Myelofibrosis)it’s so rare that the oncologists at the hospital told me that I would find out more about it on the internet,preferably American sites as
    because of population size there was more info on it than is known in this country.I take chemo pills every morning along with a cocktail of other poisons to alleviate some of the more unpleasant symptoms.

Being in this condition has its upside,it means that I don’t give a sh%t about what people think or say about me,excepting the friends who I know only have my best interests at heart.I thank you my friend for your concern,I appreciate your kindness.

@ Paula Rose,your a sweetheart as we all here know,but I can still surprise you.My daughter has spoken to you on Twitter quite a while ago re a stage name remember?If you do remember please let me know,I know obviously you will respect her privacy,she told me that she thought you to be a very nice person.I will of course let her know that I have little cocktail hours with yourself and others of an evening.

@ Brian Doonthetoon: Brian,thanks for the advice on computer equipment.I have at the moment,1/an old desktop computer with
    Windows 98SE with an installed TV function.2/another not quite as old desktop running W/Vista.3/an HP pavilion laptop.4/ a Toshiba laptop also running Vista,and last and definitely least this little 8in lenovo tablet which I am currently using.I have these other machines sitting needing attention but as they are full of my private writings,banking details etc.all added to my paranoia about handing them over to a complete stranger to sort out,here they sit.

@Chic McGregor:Chic I didn’t for a moment think that you were going to Amsterdam to smoke a legal joint,just my daft sense of humour coming out at the wrong time again.I hope you enjoy every minute minute of your trip.I know little of art,but I have been moved to tears on more than one occasion by a work of art.

@ Thepnr,loved the video,can see why you picked it,Cool.

Hopefully you are all in bed when I post this,strange feeling for me to talk openly,but we are in strange times.

Peace and Love sincerely to all. 🙂

490. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Soo-perb.

Always makes me ponder where Alisdair Gray got some of his wee verbal ‘idiosyncracies’.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.