Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Cactus

If you got a couple of hours to spare, chill back and enjoy this one. This guy’s gigging Edinburgh next month and I’m going 🙂

Ludovico Einaudi
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qzGk9C8KI0w

2. Cactus

New page.

3. Paula Rose

No Cactus Dear – the Rev seems to have got fed up with our little game so now it’s random.

4. jdman

Cactus
    “Wait a minute, was there not supposed to be something else happening then. ”

Yes I think your right, hmmm now what was it? oh yes my 60th birthday, celebrated in Tenerife. 🙂

5. Tinto Chiel

@Almannysbunnet: well done re. your complaint. In the meantime you could do what I do by typing the revolver or the bomb after the Union Jack.

Not only is it most satisfying but it gives the nice folk at GCHQ something to do.

6. Almannysbunnet

@ Tinto Chiel says

Combinations! What a good idea. I like the union jack then the End sign with the arrow pointing left at the flag, or the Union Jack and the little piggy. Childish I know but could have fun with this. 🙂

7. Tinto Chiel

The Union Jack and the piggy? Surely one of your rasher combinations.

Bet Cams would find that very arousing…..

8. Cactus

Hey Paula babe, that’s a pity. Hmm maybe we should invent a new game then.. any thoughts?

A very merry 60th birthday to you jdman when it arrives, exactly one month from today!

I wonder what the rest of Scotland will be doing that day..

9. cearc

‘I wonder what the rest of Scotland will be doing that day..’

celebrating jdman’s 60th. of course!

Have a good 60th. John, you’ll only have one!

10. Brian Doonthetoon

An opportunity for a Sunday afternoon Wings chinwag?

Ignore the aberrant apostrophe…

http://imgur.com/5uOUY8S

11. Thepnr

See you there Brian 🙂

12. Stoker

Ian Brotherhood wrote:
    “Have been trying to catch up – what’s the story with Stoker?”

Nothing, Ian, i’ve just got that much on my plate at the moment with jobs, promoting the cause and on the domestic front. I’ll be disappearing off site for lengthy periods and was just making it known in advance, without giving too much away. Will still be popping in every now and again for a tune and a post, as well as reading and studying the articles, just not posting as much.

If it’s the 2 or 3 music links i posted further up the tree which may have you scratching yer napper, don’t bother about them. They’re just “bait-bombs” and something i’m working on for a few well planned fishing expeditions. I knew the majority on here had the grey matter not to bite but i was disappointed my LURKING feelings were proved wrong. Need to try harder!

I’ve found some new fishing grounds and i need to put my new reel, or should that be spiel, to the test. I hope to land a few biggies and show them off to the world for what they truly are – ugly, nasty and horrible creatures who frequent the dark depths.

Take care you lot and keep that chair warm Paula.
    Status Quo – Roadhouse Blues – Glasgow 1976
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ObHezZoZ1I

13. Thepnr

@Stoker

If I don’t see you through the week I’ll see you through the windae.

14. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Aha!

The plot thickens…

Glad to hear you’re still ‘active’ – good luck with the mission.

15. cearc

…and it’s in Glasgow!

16. Dave McEwan Hill

Ah. Status Quo, a hugely under-rated band. Joe Brown worked a lot with the in their later recordings. What better way to enjoy a Friday evening than “The Wanderer”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BRCzXk3LAQk

17. Paula Rose

No Dad dancing Dears behave yourselves – I’m away for some folk/punk music in Brechin.

18. Ian Brotherhood

When the cat’s away…

19. Ian Brotherhood

Time to get properly cross-cultural an aw that…

Have we ever had any Morris dancing?

Get yer chops around this then:

‘Abingdon Traditional Morris Dancing Princess Royal’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sArAC2_ow2k

20. Ian Brotherhood

Have it in my heid that this singer was Scottish…canny be bothered checking…some chanter in any event.

Liquid Gold, ‘Dance Yourself Dizzy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2KsK1ybDZ44

21. Dave McEwan Hill

Get blownway by this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWBRcWDsHkk

22. Dave McEwan Hill

Get blown away by this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWBRcWDsHkk

23. Thepnr

I look a lot for “new” songs. I love the 70’s. In fact I love the 80’s and 90’s too.

I can’t always find what I want as usually I want to say something. Maybe this sums up what I’m looking for but never find.

Mad World.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xcjb1f1qbBA

24. Thepnr

That’s elected politicians for you, not the servicemen or women.

To kill in the name of any regime is well just plain wrong, yet it is happening now. We call ourselves civilised too. Haha the caveman was more civalised. He ate what he killed.

25. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I think you may have been hinting towards Bonnie and Clyde there Michael. Instead is this alright?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RdrdN1PFa-U

26. Ian Brotherhood

Have been wrestling with my lad over chess, and he sneaked it 3-2…

Have just caught up with all the ‘Daddy Dancing’.

Soo-perb!

Paula Rose will have a hairy canary when she gets back…

27. Grouse Beater

Oscars and Movie Cliches: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-4SK

28. Michael McCabe

Ah Georgie Fame. Here he is Singing with Van Morrison. Still looking and sounding good all these years later. Is Everybody away home ? Is it just you and me Alex ?

29. Michael McCabe

Sorry here is the link to Van Morrison & Georgie Fame. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=gCE0MapWKJ8

30. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I know, when you lad beats you at chess your past it lol. Mine was 12 when he hammered me, he’s 30 now and I’ve got over it 🙂

@Michael McCabe

Thanks for the ELO record, love ELO but here’s me thick as shit not knowing they had a song called Point Of No Return. Thanks Michael.

31. Ian Brotherhood

Boney M, ‘Daddy Cool’ (live, and includes suggestive gasping sounds) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtxlCsVKkvY

32. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

It was a freak result. It only happened because I got a bit pished and forgot what colour I was…twice.

It’ll never happen again.

33. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Simply class, good find Michael. Sending love to you and yours xx

34. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Sorry Ian but your gonna have to face up to it one day, you lost right so get over it. Back in that box you sniveling cringer LOL

Peace Ian, just my wee joke, here’s summit to cheer you up 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZuNiQ4Sq3U

35. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

You’re probably right.

But it’s too late now – I clipped his ears, packed a bag for him, then kicked him out!

‘Checkmate me via en passant eh? Ya bass!’

Beck, ‘Loser’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YgSPaXgAdzE

36. Thepnr

Good for you man. Kids nowadays need their ears clipped, that’s a fact. Look forward to maybe playing a game with himself one day.

Mind tell him he’s gubbed before he starts playing.

Isn’t that how the Referendum was lost? Never mind, I Just watched that song you played and it reminded me of this because of dragging the coffin.

Before I put the link again as I have done it before. Bloody hell there are 500 million views, I usually like to put up stuff with 15,000 views.

I’ll make an exception because it’s good, difference between us and the Yoons is we can be open, wide open. Know what I mean?

I like good crap, 15 million or 15 thousand is no matter, if it’s good then it’s good. Know what I mean?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZuNiQ4Sq3U

37. Thepnr

No I didn’t do that on purpose. Try this for what I meant.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SR6iYWJxHqs

38. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Sending the love right back at you. to you and yours. Number 1 in the Prisoners Charts. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFkmRp_G2uo&feature=player_detailpage Good song in my Humble Opinion.

39. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Watched it, didn’t want to comment. But I have too, none of us are free. You got that right. Hope you can make it to Glasgow.

Email me thepnr03@gmail.com

40. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood
    Been a long time since I played chess, so I doubt I’d fare much better against him.

I do still have a chess computer somewhere though, back from my younger days when I thought of learning to be a chess grandmaster… *facepalms*

Yep, I wanted to try everything when I was younger, from astronautics to marine biology (conveniently forgetting I didn’t like heights and couldn’t swim!)
    Living in “North Britain” though, what chances did any of my dreams have of being fulfilled? *sigh*

Anyways, onto today’s music link.

It’s not quite paradise. But it sure feels like home…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZo2LWm4HEE

41. Thepnr

You will all be saved. Just gimme your money!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35K6vQRt67g

42. Thepnr

I expect to be saved but have nothing to lose in the first place.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xwtdhWltSIg

43. Thepnr

“I’m desperate Dan” nuff said.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gNgIY1EAW6w

44. Croompenstein

Where I was before the indyref…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fU4bmVche_4

45. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Hoots mister!

Good to see you’re popping in more frequently. Long may it last.

I find it hard to get a handle on what your musical tastes are all about, but I’m having a wild stab in the dark here, hoping you may remember and enjoy this:

Evanescence, ‘Bring Me To Life’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3YxaaGgTQYM

46. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

‘Desperate Dan’ !

I loved BFTBS, but can’t even remember that scene. Fantastic.

Have just replied to Tam Jardine over on main thread before last, suggesting that the next Glasgow WOS gig might be a wee bit different.

How would people feel about having a longer day, start early afternoon-ish, but get a space where we can have an open mike and let people do their own thing, then have a band and/or jam session in the evening?

The WOS meetings are great, but they flit by too quickly for too many folk.

If we can find a place which would accommodate, say, 50-80 of us for a whole day, and provide a PA, would folk be up for that?

Would enough of us bring instruments, be prepared to stand up and do a reading of their own work, or favourite stuff? Would we be able to get it Livestreamed?

All these questions…

But, in general terms, would anyone be up for that?

47. Paula Rose

I could play my organ.

48. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Yes, you could, but you’re already pencilled-in for fan-dances at 2.30, 5.30, and a ‘floor-show’ (whatever that is) at 11.15.

49. Paula Rose

*has gentle word with snake about a busy schedule*

50. Thepnr

@Ian

Count me in, could be good. Jock Scot bring yer guiter. You too Cactus.

51. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe –

Man, that is some biblical stuff going on there…

Ssssss-ooooo-perb.

52. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Waiting on an email from you yet Michael, just have a suggestion, can’t do any harm. You know I don’t bite thepnr03@gmail.com

53. Paula Rose

He does nibble though.

54. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yep – Cactus and Jock Scot were uppermost in my bonce. And if IndyLive got onboard it could be a bit special.

So, anyway, would you be up for a wee turn, and if so, what would it be?

That goes for a’body else – it’s like the karaoke…everyone says naw, naw, I couldny…by the end of the night it’s hair and snotters everywhere, they’re all fighting for the microphone.

Who would do what?

55. Thepnr

I also numb. num num num.

56. Brian Doonthetoon

Have I linked to this before? A simultaneous pair from the early 70s…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=reemeYrAjus

57. Paula Rose

Ayesh dush a fansh dansh?

58. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry, I didn’t get that.

Could you please put your teeth in and try again?

59. Thepnr

Paula left her teeth on my bedside cabinet, I slept on the couch that night. Teeth are still there in the glass next to the Sterodent tin 🙂

60. Paula Rose

Wash toothsh cosh ayesh schmasshed.

61. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose/Thepnr –

Love ye’s.

I’m off to my scratcher.

Please consider what youse will do when presented with an open microphone in a few weeks. I’ll set about securing a suitable venue tomorrow…

Hoots, hoots, and thrice do I declare, HOOTS to all Wingers, be they O/T, main-threaders, lurkers or what-not.

May The Wings be with you!

62. cearc

An awfie lot of bodily bits get left at Thepnr’s. Jumping Jo has never gotten over it!

Ian,

I’d offer to do a can-can but unfortunately I can’t-can’t.

63. Michael McCabe

@Thepnr Hi Alex I am not used to sending E mails. But I have sent you one. Hope I have done it right ? Hope to hear from you soon.

64. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

We’ll let you off, but just this once!

So far as abandonment of body-parts goes, a wee birdie told me that Thepnr left his heart in Fat Sam’s Disco!

65. X_Sticks

@Ian

You bring the drumkit…

More important right now is a DATE. Those of us frae the fower winds need to start to plan if we’re doing Glasgow.

I’d suggest the end of March as many folk might be a bit busy in April on the run up to the election. Any thoughts?

66. Ian Brotherhood

@X-sticks –

Yes indeed, that’s what we need. We haven’t even agreed on the month!

Come on abody, what do youse think?

67. Quinie frae Angus

Ian Brotherhood, I like your idea of an all-day sesh with mics for people’s “turns”.

And X-Sticks, I think you’re right about the end of March. End of April or end of May sounds a bitty far away from here, and we can always arrange subsequent get-togethers for then, anyway.

68. Ian Brotherhood

End of March looks like it’s getting a thumbs-up – anyone else have any thoughts?

Would like to get this nailed by end of today if poss, then find a venue before this time next week. CH won’t allow music…Clutha does its own thing, no way they’ll be able to accommodate us…

There must be somewhere. Any WOS-friendly pub managers reading this?!

I do have a couple of places in mind but we’d really need to give them a rough idea of numbers. Please, if you can, indicate interest. For argument’s sake, can we consider Sat, March 26th?

69. Quinie frae Angus

Ian,

I have put out a few feelers for suitable Wings-friendly pubs.

In the meantime, it does look as if March 26th would be a good date to do this, because I found this on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/events/1534754610155941/

70. Quinie frae Angus

It’s a “Free Scotland March” being organised by “All Under One Banner”.

Don’t know much about them but it would make sense for a goodly showing at that. Remember, in order for BBC to report “1,000 marchers” we need at least 10,000 there.

71. X_Sticks

Good spot Quinie.

Not sure you’ll get a definitive yes for the date by the end of today Ian. Cat herding is never an exact science.

We’ll aim for the 26th unless anyone comes up with a good reason not to.

72. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie & X-sticks –

Good stuff.

It’s all falling into place…

73. Thistle

Yes! We will be livestreaming the march and lookig forward to WoS after 🙂

74. jimnarlene

Ian Brotherhood says:
    28 February, 2016 at 3:13 pm
    If you’re interested in the next WOS Glasgow shindig, it’s looking like March 26th (Saturday).

I’m definitely interested.

75. Thepnr

Hey Thistle

Mind bring your wallet, your still owe me a beer 🙂

76. Odet Beauvoisin

Ian Brotherhood says:
    28 February, 2016 at 3:13 pm
    If you’re interested in the next WOS Glasgow shindig, it’s looking like March 26th (Saturday).

I’m interested too.

77. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Don’t seem to have received your email Michael, did you replace the (at) with @ and (dot) with .

Had to ask as you said that you don’t use email much. Worth another try.

78. Macart

March 26th sounds good to me guys.

79. cearc

Isn’t that easter weekend?

Could make it tricky with people you want to stay with having visitors, family stuff, hotels more expensive etc.

80. Thepnr

@cearc

Look on the bright side you get to roll your eggs 🙂

81. Thistle

Nae problem Thepnr will be great to see you and the others 🙂

82. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr. This is my Email Address. mcccat88@yahoo.co.uk Hope to hear from you soon.

83. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Or you could roll your eyes…and if you get enough bevvy in yer boady ye could roll about on your rrrrrrrs….

84. Ian Brotherhood

…but whatever you do, don’t just turn up in your yyyyyyy….

85. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Got it, dropped you a line.

86. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

cearc has lots of eggs, she gave me some from her own hens, delicious too. Hey we could paint them on Saturday night. Mibbe Chris Cairns would gie us a hand and then we could raffle them LOL.

87. Paula Rose

I’ll bring my crayons.

88. cearc

Hmm, bevvy and egg painting.

I guess they’ll better have to be boiled eggs.

89. Thepnr

@cearc

Funny you should say that, I just looked it up a bit earlier. Isn’t the Internet a wonderful thing?

Anyway the way to preserve them is not to boil them, apparently the water content will evaporate and what you are left with might even be edible after many years, no smell or nothing.

Going to bed now, just started blethering.

90. Michael McCabe

@Ian Brotherhood. hi Ian could you add myself and my friend Lynn to the List. Cheers. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-mi0r0LpXo&feature=player_detailpage

91. Ian Brotherhood

@M McC –

Done, with a big smile. 🙂

List now at 21. Not bad…

92. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Sorry, wasn’t ignoring you earlier. I hear what you’re saying, and it’s true – that weekend won’t be ideal for everyone but it does seem to be getting a pretty positive response generally.

It’s tricky…always is.

In any event, I do hope it doesn’t dissuade you. 😉

93. Paula Rose

*peruses shoe catalogues – need a new pair*

94. Ian Brotherhood

This is worth watching, if only to hear the immortal line ‘I’m a heavy hunk of steaming junk’.

Elvis, ‘Steamroller Blues’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzdjXeUSlVs

95. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, now we’ve ‘given you the night’, can we please see some more names, eh? (I need to know how many sausage rolls and vegetarian bridies to try and pony out of whatever pub is doomed to host us…)

George Benson (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbrZykDCkj0

96. Tam Jardine

Ian Brotherhood

Well done for pushing the next Wings night in Glasgow. I think I should be able to make it. As for musical instruments, I care too much about independence to jeopardise it in that way.

By the way- I only nip into OT now and again but you have indy fm ready to go from what I can see. Cheaper than a TV station… that might be just what you are looking for Ian

Good night friends

97. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one to ponder –

If you could do anything – and I mean anything – at an open-mike session, what would it be?

This would be one of mine. What a voice.

Billy Ocean, ‘Suddenly’ (live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GAjInKiOkqo

98. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

That’s you on the list mister.

You bringing anyone along?

In any event, look forward to meeting you – hoots aplenty!

99. Paula Rose

Um – how big is the stage?

100. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

How big is the snake?

101. Paula Rose

Huge.

102. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Noted.

103. jdman

Unfortunately I’ll be sitting on the beach in Tenerife on my last day of my holiday on the 26th of March Ian. 😉

104. jdman

Paula-Rose
    “I could play my organ.”

What?
    like this you mean?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLE60Aspsu4

105. Bob Mack

@Cearc,

Subscription to wings £10 per month,plus £20 donation to whoever is chosen for gold wings. Will notify when further donations made.

106. YESGUY

donated 10 pound = no perks . please put towards Pete and Nana. More donations to come .

been watching from the side for a while now. Health not so good. But always a smile regardless of the news when i come to Wings.

Once a Winger always a Winger

107. cearc

Bob Mack, YESGUY,

noted with thanks.

108. Oneironaut

This message is for anyone is looking for inspiration for a musical act for the Glasgow night out…

Amazing what you can do with a few bits of PVC pipe. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Elcq2bqENMM

109. Caroline Corfield

consider my £10 towards Peter the Camera’s gold badge thanks.

110. Macart

@John King

Tenerife in March is it?

Just cause your turning twentyone? You’ll be lookin’ for a cake next. 😀

111. cearc

Caroline, Thanks.

112. Nana

@cearc

£10 added for Pete’s badge. Look for it under my alter ego Cailleach at approx 14.04pm

113. ronnie anderson

£25 donation to PeteTC Gold Badge & a further £25 promised for Nana,s Gold Badge.

There are a lot of Worthy Wingers ,pity we could,nt give everyone a Badge.

114. X_Sticks

@Ronnie A

“pity we could,nt give everyone a Badge.”

Aye, indeed Ronnie, there are quite a few very worthy contenders any one of which would be very deserving.

I don’t envy the job of trying to keep track of TWO gold badge accounts. One was bad enough!

115. Odet Beauvoisin

@ cearc
    £500 donation to Pete the Camera’s Gold Badge
    (sans perks, as requested)

116. carjamtic

£50,no perk selected,towards the gold badge(s),wingers are the best, 🙂

117. Skip_NC

Greetings from Raleigh, North Carolina, where we’re gearing up for an election in a couple of weeks, in which my wife is taking the Republican ballot, so she can vote against a billionaire who is opposed to wind power (presumably because he doesn’t want the competition).

Anyway, please mark my 30 pound contribution down for this year’s Gold Badge recipient. Being so far from home, I have no idea who Pete the Camera is, but I trust, Wings and Wingers, that he is a worthy recipient.

118. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

I’ve just added £15 to the fundraiser. Please credit it towards Pete’s Gold Badge.

Ta.

119. cearc

X-sticks,

The voice of experience!

Anyway, I’m not. First they are for Pete’s.

When that’s done we can start on Nana (in the nicest possible way), and people can then post for that! If they have already nominated nana they will have to repost then.

120. ronnie anderson

@ cearc £25 donated for Nana,s Gold Badge . Ma back,s broked humpin aw they Rammies tae the shoppe,but for another wonderful Lady Winger she,s well worth it XX.

121. ronnie anderson

@ Skip_NC Thank you for your contrabution from afar, both our Gold Badge nominees are Worthy Wingers for differant reasons.

122. ronnie anderson

@ X Sticks Nae problemo tae oor cearc, she,s uased tae herding an coontin chickens lol.

123. Thepnr

@Odet Beauvoisin

Fantastic contribution! very generous of you, nicely done cheers.

@YESGUY

Sorry to hear your not keeping so well, glad to see that your still keeping an eye on things 🙂

124. ronnie anderson

@ Yesguy Sos to hear your feeling ill, take care of yourself, aw the bestest.

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Just had an idea…

Anyone from the Dundee/South Angus area fancy getting a minibus together for 26th March?

I’m sure Bob Costello (Team YES Bus, Business For Scotland Battlebus) could do us a good deal.

What think ye?

126. cearc

Odet,

Wow! How generous.

Well that’s Pete’s in the bag and we’re heading towards nana’s.

127. call me dave

@cearc

£25 for Pete (no perks).

Nana next time please.

But I also got the braw badges for myself separately earlier on.

Oh! am I allowed to say ‘separately’ here.

128. call me dave

cearc says:

Odet,
    Wow! How generous.
    ———————————————————

Yes it is. Thanks Odet. 🙂

In that case if there is enough to do it push my donation into the Nana pot. I’ve already mentioned her.

129. Thepnr

@call me dave

Done exactly as you did, can’t resist badges LOL. If it’s not too late can my additional £25 count towards a badge for Nana please.

130. X_Sticks

@cearc

£30 just donated for Nana’s badge.

Huge thanks to Odet for such a selfless act of generosity. It has ensured that two of the most worthy of Wingers will both get a gold award 😀

131. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

I totally agree with you, Pete the Camera and his sidekick Brian are two of the hardest working Wingers I’ve had the pleasure to meet.

Both were instrumental in delivering the Wee Blue Book in Dundee and surrounding areas. I remember just days before the referendum there was one box of WBB’s left in the NE of Fife.

I was asked if we could use them but couldn’t make it, I phoned Pete and he went and got them straight away and got then into the hands of people desperate for knowledge and information.

I’m pretty sure that Pete and Brian contributed a lot into Dundee getting a 58% Yes vote.

Same for Nana, she’s a star with her research offering up everyday articles in many places that are relevant to the cause of Independence that no one else would ever find if not for her links.

It’s people like Nana and Pete that are the reason for not getting back in the box. Despite their own difficulties with health and such like they are inspiring.

There is no “back in the box” with them fighting your corner.

132. Quentin Quale

@Thepnr fine words, my friend.

@Paula Rose great call nominating Pete. Big hugs.

@PetetheCamera grand to bump into you the other week. Hope it was a profitable roup…
    Me and Chipmonkey hoping to hit the Glasgow meet-up.

133. chipmonkey

@ cearc Hiya. Popped back in to the funder and put £20 in no perks to add to Pete’s from me and QQ

134. Thepnr

Hey QQ and chipmonkey, good to hear from you 🙂

I played this song on the 19th Sept 2014, you commented QQ. Do you remember?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjBwAYIxUso

135. Hoss Mackintosh

@cearc,

Please put another £50 into the Nana Fund.

My brother and myself met Nana in Freedom Square this year and she is a star – a great lady well deserving of a Gold badge.

Congrats too to Pete the Camera another well deserving Gold badge holder. Quiet, hardworking and unassuming – a true Gent.

136. cearc

Hi. chipmonkey, long time no hear from you.

So pledged perks so far..

Pete the Camera…..COMPLETE.

nana …. 282 of £513

That’s all up to chipmonkey’s post.

137. Quentin Quale

@Thepnr – an absolute cracker! So is this from Andrew Mitchell (Hazey Janes)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pguzeWbo5jY

138. Paula Rose

Gosh it’s crowded in here tonight *heaves crate of champagne onto table* help yourselves.

139. Thepnr

@Quentin Quale

Pretty ugly fellow!

Had never heard that song before and stuck it until the end. It was an enigma (and pretty boring I thought) until 3/4 way through that is then I started to get it.

Forgive my ignorance, I knew though eventually he would rip the mask off but disappointed in not seeing Alex Salmonds face behind it. LOL

Lat’s quietly keep on doing what we’re doing, seems to be causing some issues with the Yoon circuitry so can’t be all bad 🙂

140. Hood

£50 just donated for the linktastic Nana.

141. cearc

Hoss,

Done! £332 so far.

142. cearc

Hood,
    Done, thanks.

143. Thepnr

@Hood

Well done you my friend, will need to drop in and see you again sometime.

Hood is the guy that made all the magnificent Wings logos out of stainless steel and just one of brass.

Another unsung hero, who prefers a low profile, in my eyes at least. Cheers Hood, your every much a bit of a contributor than any of us. Thank You.

144. Bob Mack

@Cearc,

See Chic Mcgregor last post on main thread.

145. Paula Rose

Champagne in the Hood!

146. Macandroid

Please chuck my £50 towards Nana’s gold badge. It will be from Andrew.t.pearson@gmail.com. Ta.

Keep fighting the good fight

147. cearc

So with Hood and Chic McGregor (on main thread) we have now COMPLETED nana’s gold as well.

148. cearc

Paula Rose,

‘Champagne in the Hood!’…. so, you’ll be able to keep your shoes on!

149. Paula Rose

Um – what do we do now? Get Pete the Camera to nominate the next one?

150. cearc

Shame we won’t get the ‘Frenzied Wings Mob’ badges in time for the Glasgae meet up.

151. Thepnr

@cearc

Yahoo! Both very much deserve this wee bit recognition. Just for being who they are and doing what their doing. I’m sure they will be pleased at their Wings friends thanking them for their contribution towards Independence.

Nana and Pete so proud of you two and you deserve more than a wee Wings badge. Not to worry, your efforts WILL be rewarded this May just as they were last May.

Cheers and a wee smile to both of you 🙂

152. Arthur's Seat

@cearc

I know Pete and Nana’s Gold Badge totals have been reached however please count £34 from me to go towards a reward for the next nominee.

Cheers everyone, well done.

153. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr 10:16 – big kisses Babe.

154. Paula Rose

For my lovely pals in this crowded place – please put a fiver or more here –

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/the-north-british-news#/

Cos if you do you might see me.

155. Thepnr

Hmmm, seems like all the usual suspects have already gone to bed?

Hmmm, just when I had a song for Pete and Nana. You know what? I’m gonna play it anyway.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2C-sZ111X8

I’m so pleased you are recognised. We recognise Fools Gold.

Your pure gold 🙂

156. jdman

YESGUY
    Where the hell have you been?
    we’ve been worried about you,
    sorry to hear about your health, if there’s anything I can do,
    just call my name and I be there, yes I will, you’ve got a friend! 🙂

157. jdman

I’ll be expecting a rousing chorus of Happy birthday on the 24th
    don’t think for a minute because I’ll be away I won’t know
    I’ll be watching. no matter what Irene says,
    just don’t tell her I’m taking the Ipad for Gods sake. 🙁
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s6jYoagXmZE

158. Nana

Goodness me, what a start to the day! I’m so happy for Pete the camera, a very deserving gent, and I can’t begin to tell you how thrilled I am that you folks thought of me. Thank you so much XXX

There are so many wingers I would like to nominate for a gold badge but I would put Robert Peffers at the top of the list.

159. Lollysmum

Cearc -Just donated £50 towards Robert Peffers gold badge-an excellent suggestion for the next recipient from Nana.

March 26th-Glasgow- sorry can’t join you wonderful folks this time. Blame it on SNP 🙂 I shall be travelling up to God’s country for weekend of 12th-13th March for SNP Conference as delegate for London branch so if any of you good folks are going, I’ll be with Morag probably so say hello. Think I might also wear my Lollysmum badge from last year’s Glasgow meet just in case I come across any wingers 🙂

Anyhow, can’t afford two trips to Scotland in one month so sorry folks-next time in Glasgow maybe?

160. Nana

@cearc

I have put £20 in the kitty for Robert under Cailleach at 10.26am.

Thank you for being the counter xx

@Thepnr xx for the tune.

@Yesguy Sorry to hear you have been unwell.

161. John H.

£10 towards Robert Peffers gold badge. Well deserved.

162. Chic McGregor

Robert and I go back a long way on the internet, way back into s.c.s days in newsgroups about 20 years ago so I’ll scrape another £20 oot o’ the purse for his badge.

163. Chic McGregor

cearc
    That’s £20 for Bob’s Badge fund at 12:52

164. Chic McGregor

Sorry, just noticed on mainstreet that you need say the name donated under.

It was mcgregor.c1

Also noticed you need to have not claimed a perk, makes sense, so if you can remove the perk, a bronze coin, from the first donation which I asked to go towards Nana’s as well please Cearc.

165. Chic McGregor

Thought I’d posted that Robert and I have ‘known’ each other on the internet for about 20 years, back to newsgroup days, hence the amount.

166. John H.

Sorry. Donated under the name John Higgins.

167. Bob Mack

Donated yesterday by subscription to wings £10 pm and £10 donation .It was under my alter ego( emgeeeff). Sorry for any confusion. (Will remember next time).

168. Almannysbunnet

@cearc
    Donated £100 under rickymearns. Didn’t claim any perks so have at it 🙂

169. Betty Boop

@ cearc

I see Pete and Nana’s badges are secure, so I’ve put in £25 towards the fabulous Robert Peffer’s badge. Listed under e in the contributors’ list.

170. Betty Boop

@ cearc

Forgot to mention, that was with No Perks from Jim T and moi.:-)

171. Petra

@ Lollysmum says at 12:27 pm …. Petra …. Re your donation -if you didn’t claim a perk for it then it can be added towards Robert’s gold badge. You will need to put a note in Off Topic for cearc who is collating the donations for gold badges. She will need to know the amount & the name donated under if not Petra.”

@ Nana says at 12:33 pm …. ”Petra …. Robert’s fund is climbing, see off topic.”

Thanks for the info Lollysmum and Nana.

Cearc I donated £25 about four hours ago under ‘Anonymous’ and didn’t claim a perk. Could my donation go towards a gold badge for Robert?

172. Betty Boop

@ chipmonkey, @ Quentin Quayle

Emailed chipmonkey this pm.

@ Lollysmum. With a bit of luck, might manage to find you and Morag amidst the throng at the conference. It’a kinda dark in that hall!

173. Lollysmum

@jdman
    I said it to your face at CH last May but I’ll say it again-your Irene deserves a gold medal for putting up with you and of course being the ace raffle organiser at Wings meets. Fancy taking the iPad & her being kept in the dark about it-tut, tut 🙂

Have a good holiday & birthday (just in case I forget)

174. Lollysmum

@Betty Boop
    That’s good news-I’ll keep my eyes open for you then.

175. Betty Boop

@ Lollysmum

I’ll stand on a chair 🙂

176. pete the camera

Can I thank Paula Rose for suggesting and everyone else for putting my name forward for a gold badge it has me speechless, I do the badges purely to give me something useful to do in my spare time, not for reward in anyway along with BrianDTT we found a good way to raise money for good causes, thanks again for thinking about me have to stop now or it will be like a Oscar acceptance speel ———– and Jock Tamson an a.

177. Thepnr

Nothing to watch on the telly tonight? This might suit. Just arrived on Amazon Prime, their description. If you haven’t given up the telly tax yet and replaced with the likes of prime or Netflix then you can always watch on Youtube.

Link at the end of this post.

John Carpenter’s They Live 1989

Professional WWF wrestler “Rowdy” Roddy Piper plays John Nada, a homeless, unemployed construction worker who discovers a pair of sunglasses that when worn suddenly reveal a world run by upwardly mobile, capitalist, yuppie aliens intent on keeping the human race sedate and brainwashed with subliminal messages fed through advertising and the media.

John Carpenter must have saw this coming nearly 30 years ago. A visionary? He also wrote Escape from New York, he would have voted YES.

You can also watch on youtube here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MNNOIoJB150

178. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr ( Hood is the guy that made all the magnificent Wings logos out of stainless steel and just one of brass.). Care to make the correction Mr Thepnr & Im the recipient of that treasured possession.

Many thanks Hood Gold & Bronze in one year . Thanks Wingers tae.

179. Thepnr

Directed of course not wrote. Duh!

Did write a couple of episodes of The Simpsons though.

180. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

Hi ronnie, stop yer moaning, I’ll well aware of who had the brass plaque. I know you have a brass neck as all I said was Hood made it LOL 🙂

181. Alistair Grapevine

@ cearc

i have donated 20.00 toward Roberts Badge,
    it is recorded as Alistair Walker around 21.15

182. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

Have you accounted for my post at 6.01pm last night?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-32/#comment-2117803

183. Ruglonian

Hi guys, long time no see (I’ve been hanging about twitter, when I’ve had the time to come online and play)

I see another Glasgow do is in the works, well you can obviously count me in!
    I’ll put my thinking cap on regarding a venue, and I’ll rustle up some more Wings beer mats – the idea came up on the main thread earlier – and any other kind of branded, printed stuff I can think of (suggestions welcome, of course!)

See you all soon x

Oh, I’m sure most folk will have already seen this, but if not, then be sure to watch right til the end 😀
    (did the threat-to-sue bit remind anyone of anyone)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TGc2nN9OguQ

184. jdman

My Wings plaque adorns my summerhouse looking resplendent in the sunshine(when er we get it)thanks Ronnie, and Mr Hood for making it. 🙂

185. PotterThePiper

Donated £10.

186. Ian Brotherhood

@Ruglonian –

Noted.

187. Chic McGregor

@Ruglonian

Wow. If Trump survives that he could survive anything.

That guy used to be on Mock the Week didn’t he?

Worry that his Quality Inn quip may get him in trouble.

188. sydthesnake

Hi Rev
    can you add any perk accrued by my donation to Roberts Gold badge,

donation pledge no 15410729 (around lunchtime day 1)

thanks

Syd

189. sydthesnake

sorry Cearc
    donated under my other name Stevie Strang for Roberts Gold Badge

Syd

190. cearc

Wow, I went to bed thinking this was all done anddusted. Went out for the day and straight to bed, peeped in during the early hours to find all hell has broken out. I went back to sleep!

So it seems that people are going for a third.

Only donations for which NO Perks have been claimed can be counted. So Chic’s first will have to be removed.

You do NOT have to publish the name thatyou use for Indiegogo. (I saw that comment that someone put on the main thread but as I thought we had reached target didn’t respond).

You DO have to say how much the donation was.

I’ll tot it all up later and say where we are.

191. bob sinclair

Wings Night in Glasgow. Hell yeah, count me in.

192. Lollysmum

@cearc

Oops-that was me 🙁 Mea culpa & all that 🙂

Was just my CEO indoctrination kicking in at the most inopportune moment & thinking you must need a way of verifying contributions. I promise I won’t do any more thinking OK?

You can calm down now!!

193. Ian Brotherhood

@Bob Sinclair –

Cheers mister.

List now at 25

PS Can anyone commit to bringing instruments and/or doing a turn?

194. Ian Brotherhood

Obviously, we do hope that some of the many talents we possess will be on show – so far we have Paula Rose with her snake, but we can’t reasonably expect her to stretch that out for five hours.

195. Paula Rose

FYI It’s a boy snake and he tires rather quickly – me, I can go on all night!

196. Ian Brotherhood

Right, come on –

Thepnr, BDTT and Michael McCabe – join me! We can do this!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7_TMUJIWwyI

197. Ian Brotherhood

Right, who’s up for having a stab at this?

Quine frae Angus? CamB? Oneironaut? RonnieA?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3r8qr-p9z5g

198. Quentin Quale

Ian, could you add me and Chipmonkey to the Glasgow night out please?

199. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

I’ll manage the Happy Hour alright, don’t know about the Houdini having spent my whole life avoiding a strait jacket 🙂

200. yesindyref2

A little acorn for Robert Peffers gold badge, £5 I found lurking on my card – Pledge ID: 15445158.

Bad time of year for any more I’m afraid, every penny goes into getting ready for the season!

201. cearc

Ok folks. We now have £234 of perks towards Robert’s gold

That is everything shown here (including Petra) except Sydthesnake’s who didn’t say how much. I might look for it later but you’re here Syd please tell me.

Thanks everyone.

Lollysmum, I didn’t mean to sound stroppy. I basically do it on trust because I don’t want people to have to publish another identity which they may not want to show here.

202. Ian Brotherhood

@QQ –

It has been done.

203. kendomacaroobar

Chaps,

Due to the generosity of T Jenny and X Sticks i have a gold wings badge & bonus package to sell to support one of our wingers who is going through a bad patch and is now in a hostel in Fraserburgh area with 2 ailing dogs.

e mail ken@iscot.scot or speak to my *dad* Ronnie Anderson to validate my credentials/

yours aye

Kendo

204. Ian Brotherhood

Just found this video of John McTernan, on the hunt for a new job – perhaps he would come along and do a wee guest turn for the night? (No payment naturally, but the exposure would be invaluable…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SFLw8aH-M2w

205. yesindyref2

Something for any Unionist lurking, savage the FRC is coming in £1 billion under budget.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZedhoqYdfTM

206. jdman

I didn’t want to have a meltdown in public, so I’ll have it here,
    1 million copies of a new Wee Blue Book?
    OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jgonBt1oa9Y

Seriously, where’s the distribution network how will we do it, stand in the friggin streets and hand them out to passersby?
    somebody pass me a brown paper bag QUICK!

207. jdman

Kendomacaroonbar
    “e mail ken [at] iscot [dot] scot or speak to my *dad* Ronnie Anderson to validate my credentials/”

I KNEW IT!

208. Fiona

@ Cearc. Donated first day £25, no perks. If this can go towards badge for Robert, please do that. If already secure then to another prominent winger. Don’t care who, you are all deserving.

Ta

209. cearc

Fiona,

That’s fine, thanks.

210. Andrew Mclean

I will add £10 to the fund,

Those who expect to reap the blessings of freedom must, like men, undergo the fatigue of supporting it.

I will do without my wine this weekend, now that’s fatigue! 😉

211. John Sm.

Just donated £35, no perks, to go towards a wee gold badge to whoever you guys feel deserving.

🙂 Cheers.

212. John H.

Donated £10 for whoever is next in line for a badge.

John Higgins.

213. Thepnr

Hi Ken

Wish I could do more immediately but being self employed right now has meant not much happening. I suspect we could always offer the treasures up for auction at the coming WOS night in Glasgow and I’d like to believe though priceless they will get what they are worth.

As you know we usually have a wee raffle, I would suggest the proceeds went to your cause, I’m sure that would find sympathy and maybe approval.

Sorry Ken that I can’t do more to help personally at this time.

214. ronnie anderson

@ Kendomacaroonbar You dont need me or anybody else tae validate You , there,s only wan noted Winger cawed Kendomacaroonbar.

215. Kendomacaroonbar

@Ronnie thanks Da!

216. kendomacaroonbar

@Thepnr thank you my friend

217. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Aye there wiz a time in the not to distant past where I wud hi suited a Stait jaikit resplendent in a rubber room , but you lot pulled me back from the brink,um aww rite noohoohoohoo.

218. Thepnr

This is for one of my bestest pals over on the main thread and also for all his little helpers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8OzKaldPgo

Many hugs if your watching 🙂 xx

219. Paula Rose

I do hope that is appreciated Thepnr.

220. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Well you can but hope, somehow though I doubt it can be appreciated by someone without emotion or empathy.

Embrace them for they know no better! Pity them for they deserve our pity!

221. cearc

Thepnr, Hahaha.

Ok folks the Robert Gold is now standing at £319.

222. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Nice one 🙂 Beat this ya begger. Got you stumped LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pW1hazYKd5o

223. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

That was soo-perb. I’ve never seen that movie. Seriously.

On Simon and Garfunkel, I saw Art Garfunkel on the telly in Japan, must’ve been 91/92, he was on a solo tour, being interviewed, and came across as a bit of a prick, but then he had to do ‘Bridge Over Troubled Water’ live and obviously hadn’t bothered consulting with the lone pianist on what key they were going to use – he ended up with squashed balls and torn vocal cords by the end of it, tears streaming down his face. Dick.

224. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Knowing something of your predilections, I’ve a suspicion you may enjoy this:

Joss Stone & Rod Stewart, ‘Hot Legs’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bPCz_rYRSM

225. Michael McCabe

@Thepnr I found this while I was Roman about but I don’t like to Shout about it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MG7KCOO76Wc&feature=player_detailpage Spot Belushi Dancing.

226. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Art Garfunkel should have given up when he split with Paul Simon.

Paul Simon had one brilliant album after the split up, you’ll remember Graceland. After the split up his life fell apart, one crap record after another and then he wen’t to South Africa which was the inspiration for Graceland.

That was the mid eighties, he should have given up after that as well as it was his tour de force.

He never, and only got worse. Especially singing, last time I saw him was on the telly ptobably around 2000, it was awful. Might try and find that clip, meanwhile he he is at his peak in my humble opinion.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzZu25QukYs&index=12&list=PL1Rse_MfhxenM93JSmAoQNbvvAZhBhD1w

I chose this because it might remind you of a sadly departed Dundee singer and songwriter. A particular favourite of Paula Rose.

227. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Joss Stone has a great Voice. Here she is Singing with Al Green. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=SNJUN9Xzptk

228. Ian Brotherhood

This is just phenomenal – my son recommended it.

If you think it’s not your cuppa, please persist, at least until Eminem’s done his bit. Astonishing.

Tech N9 ne – Speedom (WWC2) feat. Eminem & Krizz Kaliko –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FBwVRNOL70

229. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Loved the legs, you have predilections nailed but…

@Michael McCabe

I raised you a tenner, you want all in with that. I fold, happy to see you collect the pot 🙂

Times running out, well the beer is so last one from me 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t0h5E0pxLBw

230. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr here is two minutes 29 seconds of T-rex on the theme of rocks. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E5Via-KpHg&feature=player_detailpage

231. Thepnr

I’m going far tooooo sloooow.

Never mind, Ian I think Eminem is great though obviously he’s not of my era, he’s a newer dude but pretty good 🙂

That last song there reminded of Peter Piper picked a peck ah fuck that lol.

You all know the one I really like by Eminem, I like it because it has a message for supporters of Independence, I’m Not Afraid.

Your NOT getting that song AGAIN I’ve decided to play another but of course no one needs to watch. Independence supporters I’ve found tend to be well Independent of thought too.

That’s a good thing, love you all 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Yhyp-_hX2s

232. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Yep, that’s aboot the size of it!

233. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Thanks for posting ‘Lose Yourself’, haven’t seen it for years.

Reminds me of when my own lad was just a tot, he loved it, still does, and he’s living all the messages he picked up from it. Great video, great song.

Hoots brother – can’t wait to see you and abody else on the 26th – we get a chance to write another wee footnote for this great story we’ve found ourselves caught up in.

234. Paula Rose

wash-up boys please – hate to leave the place untidy.

235. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I can’t help, sorry, one of me Marigolds has a split…

🙁

236. Thepnr

…the one Ian gave me is also split, two splitters it seems. Your turn again Paula for the dishes.

237. Paula Rose

The next wings get together will feature Ian Brotherhood getting his erse skelped.

238. Paula Rose

I despair I really do.

239. Paula Rose

Go to bed both of you.

240. Stoker

((( BREAKING EXCLUSIVE )))

Mundell Assumes The Position For His Masters
    http://archive.is/Ky2Cv

SNP x 2

241. Andrew Mclean

Stoker, you mean this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qdFLPn30dvQ

“Assume the position Mundell” says Cameron!

242. Oneironaut

Another suggestion for a party act…
    (Even if just for the outfits!) 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=69OSmdm9G3w

243. alexicon

@Cearc

£50 from me for Robert Peffer’s perk.

5 minutes ago Buchananalexan… on the backers board.

Enjoy Robert.

244. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I don’t remember giving you one. When was that?

245. YESGUY

Thks for the regards Alex, Ronnie , John and all.

Tough time over winter and had hoped new meds would get me out and about but no joy at present. But i will get there eventually thanks to our wonderful Doctors and Nurses.

I read all the comments every day like the good Winger i am and take heart that you guys will keep up the fight for us who canny .

Your the one place that always leaves me with a smile on my face and hope soon to get out and meet more of you all again. The best part, is of putting faces to names and giving me the chance to thank you all for everything you do here.

Summer weather will help loads and hope to get out then and catch up a bit.

For the time being though , its keep warm, take it easy blah blah , you know the drill but remember i am here watching and laughing along with you .. most of the time.

P.S. Your generosity knows no bounds . But I already knew that. Nice to see Pete and Nana get a wee thank you and i am so happy to contribute.

You all deserve a gold badge in my mind.

Take good care of yourselves and i’ll pop in every now and again.. to let you know i am here.

Big thank you to ALL at Wings

246. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus & Ruglonian,

If youse see this, can you please let me know asap if you’ve had any joy re Glasgow gig venues. If need be I’ll go to Glasgow on Monday unless anyone closer fancies the task…

247. Robert Kerr

@Cearc

£20 from me for Robert Peffer’s perk

248. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song from 51 years ago http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jECRNZqaBdA&feature=player_detailpage

249. Paula Rose

I’ve spent all afternoon hoovering and dusting and washing up – now BDTT can you put some decent tunes on the dansette cos the silly boys have been putting some real rubbish on recently.

250. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

YesGuy, up above, mentioned looking forward to meeting Wingers when summer comes along. So a couple of tunes…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9V2-G0CMtUo

Unfortunately, that TOTP performance omits the wonderful intro. So you can relive the intro here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4dBjjGeAWA

And one more…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8c14buJtYSs

251. Glesca Keelie

@Cearc

Just put £20 in for Robert.

Also, on looking at other posts, I put in £50 a couple of days ago, with my usual No perks. That dirty great heavy wan I have is enough, and after being asked if I was ex-para’s with the Wings badge on, I don’t use that either.

252. galamcennalath

My donation of a couple of days ago. No perk.

So Robert Peffers should benefit.

253. X_Sticks

Summertime, eh?

This one always did it for me. (sorry couldn’t find a youtube of it)

http://m.nhacso.net/nghe-nhac/summertime.W1FYW0Zb.html

254. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

How dare you!

Beat this!

Max Bygraves, ‘Fings Ain’t Wot They Used To Be’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYTHucboV-o

255. Ian Brotherhood

The Two Ronnies, ‘Rhyming Slang Sermon’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ij5mw_eqKuc

256. Paula Rose

The Barracudas – lovely boys, such big fans of Moi!

257. Jock Scot

Thanks Lollysmum

258. cearc

Robert for Gold now standing at – £459 of £513. Nearly there.

Thanks everyone.

gallamcennalath, how much was it for?

259. Thepnr

Hey Jock Scot how you doing ya bam LOL Another great wee tune by the way.

Any chance of you making it to Glasgow? Looks like the 26th.

260. Cadogan Enright

@ ian brotherhood

My email address is cadogan@enright.ie

Give me the low down on the 26th please

261. Macart

26th a firm date then? Howzabout the venue?

262. Brian Doonthetoon

Mentions of ‘Summertime’…

This is, possibly, the first use of a well known riff:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NSngzjqMF38

And here’s another for Paula Rose…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9CRGKYXjCA

263. Paula Rose

BDTT honey – you make life worth living, you really do.

264. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

Venue? TBC.

Fret not – we’ll have it sorted for early next week, and it’ll definitely be Glasgow city centre.

265. Paula Rose

We is the wings w is.

266. old dearie

@cearc

I’d like my £50 donated a few days ago to go to Robert Peffers gold badge. Great
    historical posts.

Pat

267. Macart

Cheers Ian.

268. Paula Rose

I is going to bed cos my pussy needs a stroke – she’s very demanding.

269. Cactus

Here’s a suggestion for a different venue pretty close to Central Station.

The Crystal Palace at 36 Jamaica Street (a large bar/food with an upstairs) Here’s some links for interest/info:

http://www.jdwetherspoon.com/pubs/all-pubs/scotland/glasgow/the-crystal-palace-glasgow
    http://www.discoverglasgow.org/victorian-gardners-warehouse/4578201111

I’ll probably go to or from wherever, to The Clutha at some point.. which be one of the most hat-friendly bars in Glasgow.

ps digging the latest music video Jock Scot dude, cheers!
    C, F & G 🙂

270. Stoker

Andrew Mclean (11.27am)
    I think that’s the watchable version Andrew.

Lollysmum wrote: “From Yew Choob-Bampots
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FeckZtGcapA&feature=youtu.be&a

A big thanks to the the Yew Choob team, brilliant!
    And to Lollysmum for posting it.

Ian Brotherhood and all interested. Another suggestion for the wee shindig you’re putting together, both just around the corner from Glasgow Central station – Time Square or Hootenanny’s.
    Both good gastro-type-bars with plenty of space BUT i have no idea of their politics or how receptive they’d be to our lot. Might be worth you checking them out.

SNP x 2

271. Stoker

Ian

Also should have added The Grant Arms, it’s on Argyle Street just along from the low-level exit/entrance to Central Station. It’s in a similar vein to the other 2 i mentioned, size wise etc, but once again i have no idea how receptive they would be to a WOS shindig.

I’m a big supporter and believer in supporting our own, ie; The Clutha, but the Clutha is a wee bit out of the way for a lot of folk, especially when they’ve had a sherbet or two and i feel it’s a bit cramped size wise.

Oanyhoo, it’s the people who make a party, not the venue.

SNP x 2

272. Ian Brotherhood

A wee bit of serious business…

We’ve had a suggestion from Cadogan that the Glasgow get-together could provide an opportunity to do a workshop-type session about ‘Inform Scotland’, all about billboard/poster campaigns – it sounds pretty major and worthy of serious attention/publicity.

Nothing has been confirmed yet, but we need to know who’d be interested in hearing more/contributing to the development of this, and also alert those veteran Wingers who were involved in producing the ‘Aye Right’ leaflet. Please get the word out and let’s try to generate a bit of a buzz about this – previous WOS gigs have always been successful social occasions, but this one may also produce something solid and workable.

@Cactus – do you know if that pub you mentioned is bookable/available on the 26th?

@Quinie and/or Ruglonian – any news on other poss venues?

Time ticking down…

FWATOOOOOOOSH!
    *whip being cracked*

273. Quinie frae Angus

Hi Ian B

So sorry – I have had no luck so far with venues. Tried two small Partick pubs but they both have functions on on the 26th.

Have been unexpectedly in London all week for work and so haven’t had any time to traipse around the Glasgow pubs, and now am in Dundee for a family weekend and funeral….

Certainly up for the “Inform” idea. My work schedule will be erratic for next few weeks, and involve a lot of travel, so don’t know how much practical help I’ll be able to commit to – but I’ll do what I’m able to!

274. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

No worries, thanks for letting me know.

Whatever happens, I do hope you can make it. It’s nice to be busy, aye, but we all need a wee break and recharge of the batteries, and the WOS nights always seem to be effective on both fronts.

275. Cactus

I’m in the big yes city tonight so will try to pop by the Crystal Palace to make enquiries Ian B. I reckon wherever we choose, we should reserve it for 50+ Wingers yeah.

Another venue in the west end that was suggested before, was the Òran Mór at the top of Byres Road (beside the bonnie Botanic Gardens.)

http://oran-mor.co.uk/

276. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Good stuff big yin, cheers aplenty.

If a decent space is available and you get on the crack with any managers etc, could you please ask about availability of a basic PA, and also whether we can book the place from approx. 2.30 p.m. until closing time?

Hoots mon!

277. Paula Rose

And make sure they do decent cocktails.

278. Quinie frae Angus

TJenny, if you are reading this and you still have my email address, can you get in touch with me?

My old computer died some time ago so unfortunately I no longer have your email address!

279. Cactus

@Ian B ~

Like the 2.30 p.m. start for the ‘Inform Scotland’ idea from Cadogan n yerself. Will ask about the other stuff too and report back over the weekend or by Monday latest.

Meantime, if anyone’s got a preference for venue or other.. shout out!

@Paula ~

Aye, will get the heads-up for you on the cocktail front missy x

280. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

🙂 🙂 😉

We salute you…

Here’s one, should be right up your street.

Shakin’ Pyramids, ‘Take A Trip’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EokcMXC-of0

281. Cactus

Also in the west end on Woodlands Road we have The Dram (formerly the Uisge Beatha.)

http://dramglasgow.ltpubs.co.uk/

282. Ian Brotherhood

Just to point out – we did promise it would be central, i.e. within walking distance of the central bus and train hubs, and some have signed-up on that basis.

The old Uisge Beatha is a fine venue, but a fair hike from, say, Glasgow Central. Good shout though, and we should keep it in mind.

283. Paula Rose

Could have an afternoon venue and an evening one.

284. Stoker

Well, i’ve already given you 3 suggestions and you’ll not get much closer to Central Station than those 3. Mind you, there are 3 establishments within Central Station (upper level) but their prices might be a tad OTT. Good luck with the search!

285. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Sorry Stoker, forgot to respond to you earlier, got sidetracked.

Looking for venue for first Glasgow WOS night (well, if you don’t count the Horseshoe one) I spent a whole Saturday plodding around the environs of Central, checked every pub and found nothing suitable because they’re jammed on Saturdays and it’s impossible to ‘book’, say, a whole lounge. That’s why we ended-up in the Counting House, but they won’t allow PA/music. The Clutha’s a fine venue too, but they’ve always got their own music and they’re jammed at weekends, we’d be lucky to get space enough even to stand near each other.

Plus the fact, we need a ‘private’ space so we can set up a PA, have the workshop sessions/discussion, and do our own thing music-wise in the evening.

Best I found was the upstairs of the Quarter-Gill, but it’s very small, not an awful lot of seating. I might have another look at it, depending on how Cactus gets on tonight.

PS Cadogan – The Quarter-Gill would be perfect for what you have in mind.

286. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Sorry Stoker, wasn’t rubbering you, just got sidetracked.

Wrote you a quite lengthy reply approx 10/15 mins ago but it’s not showing(yet)…

I tried all the pubs close to Central while searching for somewhere for the first WOS gig, but they’re all jammed on Saturdays, impossible to book, say, a whole lounge.

Let’s see how Cactus gets on tonight.

287. Ian Brotherhood

This is to send good vibes to the bold Cactus…

We’ll get a place for the 26th yet…

U2, ‘I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For’ (Harlem Gospel Choir version, live –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8Wt3dhF4fU

288. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

You seem to know your city-centre pubs!

Familiar with The Quarter-Gill, just off junction of Argyle St and the one that becomes Hope St?

I’m thinking that the upstairs lounge there could be a go-oer, but I keep remembering it as very very small. Not sure now that it is, memory could be playing tricks – could be ideal if there are only 30-35 of us, but I’ve a feeling we’ll surpass 50 in which case it would definitely be standing-room only for a lot.

Anyone else know the place I’m on about?

289. Paula Rose

Thought I’d made it clear that U2 is verböten here.

290. Stoker

No probs Ian, didn’t think you were. I’ll not be going to this one anyway for a variety of reasons but was just trying to help yous out with my knowledge of the area.

Hopefully Cactus will get something sorted but failing that just keep in mind how long ago that first gig took place, things have changed now and there’s a lot of establishments needing the business.

I’m sure you’ll all sort something.

291. Stoker

Ian,

Just posted my previous post before seeing your reply at 8.01pm.

That’s more than a bit on the spooky side. I know the Quarter Gill very well and i know the fella who runs it and i’ve been contemplating that suggestion all day but can’t for the life of me remember what the upstairs is like. I’ve only ever been upstairs once and that was a right few years ago and i was a little pickled.

That’s not the first i’ve been thinking something quite heavily on my mind only to find out when i come on to WOS that someone is asking about the very same thing. The last time was several weeks ago when i hadn’t seen ‘YESGUY’ posting for a while, came on to WOS later that day only to find John King asking the same questions.

Sh!t, time for my meds, i’m hearing the Twilight Zone!

292. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

😉 🙂 🙂 😉 🙂

Okay, well, that, to me, is some kind of kismet-related thing which indicates a very big thumbs-up!

293. David

If looking for a Glasgow venue, you could try the Laurieston Bar, see if they will let you use their lounge.
    It is just south of the river Clyde, ten minutes walk from Central station.

It is also only 200 metres from Bridge St. subway, giving good quick link to Buchanan St. for those using the train at Queen Street.

The Laurieston, 58 Bridge Street, Glasgow, G5 9HU
    Tel. (0141) 429 4528

http://www.facebook.com/TheLaurieston/

Pub review:
    http://www.insidebeer.com/articles/20151230

Don’t know if they have a PA system, but they do have a jukebox!

Disclaimer: No, I don’t have shares in it, I just used to enjoy drinking & eating pies there. A great traditional pub with excellent, & original, old-time decor. Nine years ago, how time flies. 🙁

294. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone else having comments not appear?

That’s two I’ve ‘lost’ today, and no indication that I’d made a mistake with name/mail details.

Comments don’t seem to be delayed though – is the site under some kind of attack? Seems Bateman’s blog has been getting a hard time today…

295. Stoker

David (8.34pm).
    Something is ringing a bell about The Lauriston but i just can’t place it. A couple of years ago the boss and i were on a wee tour of the outlying establishments and we happened across what i think was The Lauriston but i don’t recognise it from the link you provide. The place i’m talking about was quite good, in fact the welcome was warm and she even got me up onto the floor for a bit of daddy dancing to the DJ/Karaoke(?), that’s how good it was.
    On second thoughts, unless you can get someone to do a recce and fact-finding mission, i’d give the QG a miss. It’s a perfect location but if the downstairs is anything to go by, shabby with poor toilets – a bit spit-and-sawdust and not a place i’d be comfortable sending Wingers to.

On the other hand though, i’ve just remembered a cracking wee place, you can get 20 people in it and you’re literally rubbing shoulders. BUT, they have a cracking downstairs which they don’t always use, i’ve been in that place when it’s been packed with c100 and a Karaoke. It’s called The Alpine Lodge and it’s 2-mins away from the Central Station opening across from The Toby Jug.
    It’s right across from Reardons Snooker & Pool club on Hope St.

296. Stoker

SORRY – Alpen Lodge (not Alpine Lodge).

btw, folks, completely different topic here but be warned, if you ever get the chance to watch a film trilogy called The Human Centipede give it a wide birth. It’s five-and-a-half hours of your life you will not get back.

Right, i’m away to watch Noah on Netflix, take care you lot.

297. Ian Brotherhood

@David –

Cheers. Noted. Could be worth considering.

@Stoker – The Alpen Lodge is a no-go on Saturdays, packed solid all-day with karaoke and what-not.

298. Thepnr

Just thought I’d have a look online to see what might be possible.

One that came to my attention was Dows Bar just outside Queen Street station, according to their website they have a private function suite for up to 120 separate from the main bar.

I’ve been in the main bar and it was fine, in fact if waiting on a train with time to spare would go there, no idea what their function room is like.

The cost is FREE, might be worth finding out more?

http://www.dowsbar.com/page2.html

299. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Nice one.

300. Thepnr

In fact last time I was in Dows Bar was the Hope of Fear Rally in George Square with my young lad, both of us had Wings/Yes badges on and nobody seemed to care one way or the other.

301. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

http://www.dowsbar.com/page2.html

That sounds ideal – could be worth checking out. Although, at three weeks, the time frame could be a tad short.

302. Ian Brotherhood

Just discovered tonight that my old music teacher passed away in June 2014.

He didn’t get to see the referendum result, and that’s maybe a blessing because he was a big SNP man (I think he stood for election, way back, maybe late 80’s) a very popular teacher and a lovely bloke by all accounts.

I’ve definitely posted links to him in here before, but there wasn’t a lot online even a couple of years ago. Someone has uploaded a stack of his work, and it looks like it’s pretty recent. He’d been ill for a long time, but it’s still sad to find that he’s gone.

Peter Mallan, ‘Ye Banks & Braes’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oAyY_PcCDNI

303. Macart

Feelin’ a bit like this tonight.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nvUOgIgLqOQ

Mixed with a bit of this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jhdFe3evXpk

A couple of medicinal wossinames and a few memories of a long summer.

304. Oneironaut

Did a certain someone say my last music link was rubbish? 🙁
    There’s just no pleasing some people!

Ok then, mellowing it up a bit…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9N-33T9Fvs

305. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT & Thepnr –

Aye, it does look good.

I’ll phone tomorrow, see if the date’s free.

And we’ll also hear from Cactus soon – no harm in spinning a few plates…we have to get this right.

306. Thepnr

It’s always sad Ian at the passing of family or friend. Your old teacher looked contented in that clip, I guess he was a kindly man. He looked that way to me.

307. cearc

Quinie,

Glad to hear you’re busy. Enjoy yourself.

308. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Hoots mon.

Beautiful stuff.

Hope you’re well there.

309. Macart

Bonny tunes by Mr Mallan Ian. I think Thepnr’s words summed it up well.

310. Croompenstein

from head to toe….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MJ0IvzY29Ew

311. Croompenstein

ride me to the junkyard in my cadillac..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc-xXOE1Jws

312. Paula Rose

I’ll put my order in now…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7o-9_J_Cc2w

313. Ian Brotherhood

@Macart –

The glory days are yet to come brother!

314. Thepnr

@Croompenstein

You do the Rockabillies are voting for Trump LOL

I’ve a very good friend lives in Lousiana, went to his daughters wedding not so long ago. Wore the full regalia, couldn’t keep the old wives off me 🙂

I don’t discuss politics with my friend. I want him to remain my friend.

315. Ian Brotherhood

We won’t see much of this man on ‘British’ MSM as the U.S. election nears, or hear any of our ‘experts’ quoting him during the 24/7 coverage, but he’s important to a lot of American voters.

Louis Farrakhan, in a recent interview, talking about Trump:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MPshSBNzb6U

316. yesindyref2

Mellow and high as a kite

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qEYyQIIGQcc

317. Ian Brotherhood

Just called Dows – they’ve already got a function booked for the 26th, but the room is free on the 25th.

318. Oneironaut

Speaking of Trump, it seems that many Americans are already preparing to abandon ship…

zeitgeist-1984.deviantart.com/journal/How-Can-I-Move-to-Canada-594488775

319. Ian Brotherhood

Have booked Waxy O’Connors – it has one bar free on the 26th, so we’ve got our name on it. From 3-closing time.

Am going up tomorrow to check out the space etc.

It is done. The uncertainty was intolerable, so I hope youse don’t mind…
    http://www.view.co.uk/glasgow/v/waxy-o-connors-2

320. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Well done you. Looks good to me, had a look at their website, I’m guessing that the room is McTurks Bar?

321. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

That’s the one.

322. Stoker

Michael McCabe wrote “Number 1 in the Prisoners Charts.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eFkmRp_G2uo&feature=player_detailpage

OH, i don’t know about that, here’s a good contender:

Ain’t No Honky Tonks In Jail
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QVI-SRgGz9w&index=17&list=RDwJyVPhVwMv4
    LOL

323. TD

Apologies if this has already been mentioned, but does anyone know what has happened to Derek Bateman’s site? The link from WoS takes me to a 403 Forbidden page.

324. Cactus

@Ian B ~ Hi, was a no go at the CP. so good timing and excellent choice of the WoC.. that can well hold the 50+, cheers to ye!

325. JLT

Hello folks!

Long time since I’ve been here (keep forgetting about the Off Topic Page). Started wondering what you guys have all been up to (apart from music choices).

I’m guessing you boys (and gals) are organising a wee soiree. You say the 25th / 26th …I’m assuming you are talking this month (as in March) and that it will be in Glasgow?

326. Paula Rose

Yes JLT honey – the 26th and we’re going to do serious stuff in the afternoon! then we’ll be our usual silly selves.

327. Macart

@Ian B.

Mrs M and I will do our best, but we may not get to venue before either late in the afternoon or early evening.

328. Ian Brotherhood

@Cactus –

Thanks for trying the place anyway mister, it was worth a shout.

I hope no-one’s pissed-off at me just going ahead with that booking – tbh, I was getting a bit freaked with the apparent dearth of suitable places and I jumped at the chance of getting in Waxy’s – astonished that they had any free room what with it being Easter weekend.

Let’s make this a good one – it won’t be as rushed as previous meetings, and means that some folk who can’t do the evening can get together in the afternoon, and vice-versa.

Right, now we’ve got a place – who’s organising the music?

329. JLT

@Paula Rose

LOL …And just like that …Mr Brotherhood fires up the info on today’s main topic!

Timing as they say …is everything!

330. Paula Rose

It’s all planned you know cos we is cybernats.

331. JLT

Hi Ian (Brotherhood)

I should be there. I don’t believe I have anything else on.

(Jeez …those cheesy muffins that I ate not so long ago must have sparked up the ‘Force’ in me! Don’t know why I had the thought of ‘I wonder when the next Wings do is? …bizarre!)

332. Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

That’s your good self added – you bring the total to 30.

BTW, upper-limit won’t be a prob with this place, so the more the merrier…let’s get the word out. We can submit a wee notice to The National as well, they don’t charge.

333. Paula Rose

I’ve been on so many lists now – usually to starboard.

334. Thepnr

@Macart

Great that you and your wife will make it, I’m hoping my missus will too, right now 60/40 chance but I’ll keep working on her 🙂

I think as regards when people come along is unimportant, thought for a while it might just have been myself and Ian Brotherhood sitting a corner with a flat beer being filmed by Indy Live LOL.

All welcome at what ever time suits you best.

335. Lenny Hartley

Will try and get up for glasgow get togetherr

336. Macart

@Thepnr

I’m never allowed oot the hoose on me own. 😮

337. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Yeah, a live broadcast of you and me sitting there. It’d be like an endless version of Derek & Clive, but with no jokes.

338. Thepnr

haha You were basically just asking me to play this eh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvQq_tqB0jA

339. Quentin Quale

Have we ever had a ukulele player covering a Hendrix classic?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0wzsE67O5tE
    Some playing!

340. Thepnr

@Quentin Quale

Right your booked!

Just bring your ukulele along to Waxy’s 🙂

341. Taranaich

I’m sorry I haven’t come by in ages, but I thought I’d share this post about the greatest influence on my political life:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2016/03/06/my-mammy-the-nationalist/

342. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

What a brilliant Mothers Day present that is.

Soo-perb!

343. Ian Brotherhood

@Lenny Hartley –

Noted, with great pleasure.

344. Brian Doonthetoon

Now that we have a venue…

Once again, Pete the Camera and Brian Doonthetoon will be producing personalised souvenir badges for Wings over Glasgow on the 26th March.

If you are intending to be there on 26th March and want a personalised badge, please post a comment in “Quarantine”, with your username for the badge.

Like ‘Wings over Aberdeen’, the badges will be subtly different to those produced in the past.

‘Quarantine’ can be found here:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine

345. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, and on the subject of badges…

Make sure you are wearing all your ‘Wings over…’ badges when you turn up at Waxy’s so peeps can see where you’ve been!

346. Thepnr

@Taranaich

Thanks, loved that wee tribute to your Ma, I met her and you briefly in the Yes bar, wish I had spoken to her by more than just hello.

She’s a Ma to be proud of right enough. You should try and get along on the 26th. Plenty of friends and should be good.

347. Cherry

Hi Ian,
    I’m one of the five of team Inform-Scotland. Cadogan has emailed to keep us up to date. I’m unable to come as I have a problem with my balance (vertigo) which leaves me unable to move around in outside spaces or places where there are lots of people. It’s the biggest pain of my life as I can’t be part of the “crowd”. So can I ask would there be any way that a laptop link could be setup? I know it’s a huge ask but if you don’t ask you’ll never get anywhere lol!

348. Ian Brotherhood

@Cherry –

I can’t promise that the whole event will be Livestreamed, but I’m pretty sure that ‘Thistle’ (of this parish!) will be around – we’ll try to make sure that the Inform Scotland session is covered.

‘Thistle’ is a busy chap, but I’m sure he’ll let us know as and when he sees that we’ve confirmed a venue – provided he can get a decent signal from Waxy’s (which is, if you haven’t been in it, a bit of a labyrinth) then I hope we can make it happen.

If we do, you’ll be first to know if you keep watching this space!

Hoots tae you – please tell all your pals to attend if they can, if only for the workshop. Once they’ve met a few of the diehards I’m sure they’ll be tempted to linger awhile!

🙂 🙂 😉

349. Cherry

Thanks Ian and “hoots” right back at you 😉

Would love to go on a Wings extravaganza (piss up)
    maybe I’ll get there one day!
    Keep the fight in their faces!

350. Ian Brotherhood

@Cherry –

Please be assured – ‘Friends of Wings’ is just a name for the purposes of booking a room. That’s it.

The friendships and connections (some are very business-like BTW) established in the past two or three years, largely because of this site, will persist regardless of what happens, and continue for many years to come, even if the names change.

So, when your own tribulations have passed, (as they will!) you will surely have many opportunities to witness these gatherings first-hand – they are going to be happening on a regular basis ‘forever’.

351. Oneironaut

Keeping with a relatively chilled-out musical choice.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwNdaL3poJ0

352. Thepnr

Here’s something you might not have seen in a while 🙂

Bay City Rollers – Money Honey

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7fJv5kUjddc

353. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

Lovely voice and the pictures were pretty. How come no words? 🙂

I listened to the next of their songs just to hear if she could sing and she can! Nice one O.

354. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Good stuff, but when we look upon the starry sky here in Stevenston, what do we see?

As usual, nowt!

I keep popping out to see if the Northern Lights are there…more in hope than expectation, has to be said.

I did see them once, about ten years ago, from the back garden…nothing like the pictures you see on telly, it was very faint, but definitely there, so we know it CAN happen. It’s just such a bummer to know that it does happen, but we’re all normally sound asleep at the time.

🙁

355. Oneironaut

@Thepnr
    @Ian Brotherhood

Yeah, I kind of stumbled across that one when looking over stuff by Origa.
    She does sing in it, although she usually sings in Russian (since that’s where she’s from), so might not be easily understandable. She does have an amazing voice though.

Looking up Origa on Youtube will dig up plenty of her work. She was more well known in Japan where she sang on anime movie soundtracks.
    She died in January of last year though. Sad 🙁

The video comes from a film that was shown at planetariums (hence the weird spherical projection) called “A Starry Tale”.

Inspiring in that it draws on the myths and stories that the ancients once assigned to meanings in constellations of stars, imagining them as the shapes of gods and goddesses watching over humanity and guiding them to seek truth, justice and a brighter future (supposedly, not that that worked out too well judging by today’s world!)

And it takes from those myths of the past how we can make our own connections to the stars to inspire us to build a brighter future (which given the state of things nowadays is something that needs to be done pretty damn sharpish!)

Flat screen version of the video is here if anyone is curious:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHi7AbYmV78

As for me, I mostly think stars look nice when they’re actually visible here 🙂

356. Stoker

Waxy O’Connors? Although not quite ‘Central’ it’s a good choice.
    Dow’s was another good suggestion. I didn’t mention them because i was specifically focused around Glasgow Central, as requested.

However, now that yous have settled on Waxy’s i’ve started promoting it so i hope this decision isn’t for changing. Here is a suggestion for yous to contemplate.

Given that there is supposed to be a big rally taking place in Glasgow on that same day, why don’t you get some flyers promoting the event at Waxy’s printed up and get a couple of volunteers to hand them out at the march/rally?

It shouldn’t cost that much to knock up a couple of hundred or so. Whatever yous decide i’m sure the day will be a big success. As i’ve said, it’s the people who make a party not the venue.

Orrabest one and all!

Scooter – How Much Is The Fish?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cbB3iGRHtqA

357. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Just called WOCs to confirm, and that’s it definite, no need for me to traipse up to Glasgow to look at the space and abody seems happy enough.

They’ve sent me details of buffet packages etc which I’ll post links to later, but the lass said we can just order solo at the bar if need be. It’ll be a long day for some so grub is something we should have a think about.

358. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

I’d suggest letting Wingers organise their own food. Keeps costs down…
    (The chipper next door does a splendid steak pie supper!)

359. Michael McCabe

Something from the Songwriters Circle. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vp7COiUzy30&feature=player_detailpage

360. Michael McCabe

This Song is the Talk of the Town http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7Qb3_WX5TQ&feature=player_detailpage

361. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

I hear ye brother, and concur, but it was just to let folk know that the options are there if they want them.

Why is it so quiet, both here and the main threads? Feels as if something’s happened…

362. Ian Brotherhood

Have an idea about what to do with the ‘open mike’ session at the Glasgow gig, and want to run it over ye’s all, but it’s important to know roughly when the maximum number of regular commenters are going to be around.

If we can pinpoint a ‘window’ when as many as possible will be present, but before it gets too noisy/musical/incoherent, we could do a session where WOS commenters go up in turn, introduce themselves by their WOS handle (if they have one), give their real names (if they want to) and explain why they contribute to the site, what brought them there, that type of thing.

We could plug this in advance as a ‘An Audience With The Vile Cybernats’ or something along those lines…

Any thoughts?

More importantly, who’s up for doing such a thing, bearing in mind that it may be Livestreamed?

363. Ian Brotherhood

The Who, ‘Who Are You?’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PdLIerfXuZ4

364. Hoss Mackintosh

@cearc,
    How is the collection for RPs gold wings going?

Is it close?
    As I may chuck in a few quid to get it over the line.

365. Oneironaut

It’s early morning. It’s raining. And I have to go outside.
    Need something amusing to cheer me up…

*bump-starts the jukebox Fonzie-style!*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CVt-j0FX3L0

366. Ruglonian

Hiya Oneironaut, good to see you’re back and I hope you can make it into Glasgow on the 26th.
    That video was quality – I love old footage repurposed like that, and who can argue with a bit of The Simpsons 😀

Ian Brotherhood – hi, was your thoughts on the open-mic thing to tie into Stokers comment about flyers? My first thoughts were that we wouldn’t want any ‘spanner in the works’ showing up but this may be an unnecessary consideration if it was only marchers being invited on the day.
    If, on the other hand the idea was to promote, in advance, a kind of ‘evening with the cybernats’ we may encounter saboteurs 🙁
    Anyway, the reason I was asking is not cos I want to do a turn or anything – I definitely don’t! – but because I can arrange printing at minimal cost, no hassle.

367. Stoker

@ Ruglonian
    My fault, should have been clearer in my suggestion, hand them out to those participating in the march. Good printing offer, well done!

BBC Scotland Fails 21st Century Journalism Test
    http://thoughtcontrolscotland.com/

Haddaway – What Is Love
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhrBDcQq2DM

368. Paula Rose

@Ian Brotherhood aye Dear like shy me is really going to do that!

369. cearc

Hoss,

Well, actually, it is just a FEW quid off. Standing a £509 of £513!

I was waiting as a couple of people had pledged without saying how much but I haven’t heard from them again.

370. Hoss Mackintosh

@cearc,

That is great – I will chuck in the difference – 4 quid.
    A bargain!

More money for Rev Stu,
    Gold wings medal for Mr Peffers,
    And most likely will piss off Rock too.

An all around win!

371. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Hoss.

I like your style!

8=)

372. Brian Doonthetoon

Peeps, remember,

Pete the Camera and Brian Doonthetoon will be producing personalised souvenir badges for Wings over Glasgow on the 26th March.

If you are intending to be there on 26th March and want a personalised badge, please post a comment in “Quarantine”, with your username for the badge.

Like ‘Wings over Aberdeen’, the badges will be subtly different to those produced in the past.

373. Quentin Quale

I guess I’ll not be the only one hoping the Navajo Nation sue JK for her cultural appropriation in her latest pile of rubbish? Now she is really showing her ignorance. So, here’s some Navajo music,
    and it rocks
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9K8XzuLUN4E

374. Dave McEwan Hill

A rock’n’roll classic recorded by the underrated Shakin Stevens. Who gave him the silly name

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DMl8E-i384s

375. Brian Doonthetoon

I have an LP by “Shakin’ Stevens and The Sunsets”.

Precedes his hit run by a few years.

376. Wee Jonny

Hi Wingers.

Does anybody ken the best place to buy the really wee Yes badges? Not the 3cm ones, the smaller lapel badges with blue background and white writing?

I bought a few 3cm Yes badges yesterday from Zazzle after giving all but one of my Yes badges away and the one I have left is lookin a wee bit tatty.

Any help would be ace ta.

377. Oneironaut

@Ruglonian
    Thanks. I’m not really “back” as such. I just come on here to join the occasional music link posting.
    Won’t be at the Glasgow event either. Haven’t really been in the party mood for some time.

Also can’t find the song I was going to post now and I have to leave in a hurry.
    I’ll maybe post another one tonight.

Peace, Love and Oreos!

378. Dave McEwan Hill

Wee Jonny

The Wee Badgers in Glasgow do a nice line in badges of any design and many sizes. Online

379. Wee Jonny

Ta Dave.

380. CameronB Brodie

Re. GERS and it’s value as indication of Scotland’s economic position. Are Unionists really able to overlook the £bn fraud committed against Scotland, when the McCrone report was buried by Whitehall, for example? Now that’s cult devotion.

Jack Jolly – Amnesia
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0ivh5nJS-rY

381. Davie Mc

Folks!!!

Bruce Crawford’s crowdfunding campaign ends this Sunday 13th March. Please donate what you can afford to make sure this parliamentary giant of the independence movement gets re-elected. All proceeds will go straight to his campaign fund. Please share!

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/re-elect-bruce-crawford-for-stirling

Davie Mc

382. Chic McGregor

The wife recently introduced me to sudoku a couple of weeks back. So have been trying the National’s on and off and this morning I was dead chuffed since the evil one only took 90mins. So far either I have not completed it or it has taken hours.

Q

Do these things eventually get down to an acceptable time usage i.e. 20mins or thereabouts?

383. kendomacaroonbar

@Chic iScot Magazine has their very own SODUKO and the name has absolutely nothing to do with SOD UK … You should give that yin a bash 5 minutes to 40 minutes seems to be the iScot will also be having a little stall at the Conference this weekend Stall no 24 – all welcome

384. Stoker

From the Rev’s twitter feed:

Why Do You Hate Us, Scotland?
    http://archive.is/rvq07

OH, how blissfully ignorant, but he gets it on the very last line.
    Can i get your coats for yous? BYE BYE!

“..the neighbours who just want to get along..” says Adam Benjamin.
    lol x 100 The demented ignorance of a UKOKer, eh!

Vengaboys – Shalala Lala
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4QaRWjnYTI

385. Chic McGregor

Right Ken, I’ll give that a go.

386. jdman

For those about to go to Tenerife we salute you,
    no allowed to post while on holiday, Irene says,…….AYE RIGHT!

387. Stoker

Read Dr.John Robertson’s coverage of the run-up to the Scottish Parliamentary Elections 2016 and of his complaint to the toothless croc (aka IPSO).

The IPSO response has been added to the comments thread.
    http://newsnet.scot/?p=116546#comments

388. cearc

jdman,

Hope you both have a great holiday and you enjoy your birthday.

389. Betty Boop

@jdman

Hope you and Irene have a great holiday and happy birthday when it comes.

390. CameronB Brodie

Here’s some popcorn R&B for all the Yoons out there, especially BBC Labour in Scotland and the QT team.

Z. Z. Hill – One Way Love Affair
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dmv-gN40Ay4

391. Stoker

((( BREAKING )))

Exposed – David Mundell And His Plush London Pad
    http://archive.is/Cuce9

Sincerest apologies to rodents everywhere!
    🙁

392. Stoker

Dr.John Robertson’s continued analysis of the Scottish election campaign TV news coverage (No9).
    http://newsnet.scot/?p=116585

393. Kishorn Commando

RIP Keith Emerson
    My first taste of prog http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnLdgEJ6cE8

394. Stoker

For those of you who haven’t read it yet.

Wee Ginger Dug – The lost city of Yes Dundee
    https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/

395. Thepnr

Oops, long way from home and my wife sent me this, I’d forgotten it was our aniversary.

Some of you will get it. My mistake was not reading it until now.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3M7qJ7Q6w9o#t=108

Funny how somethings can lift your spirits yet make you want to weep. Now I need to be forgiven.

396. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kishorn Commando.

Gutted to read your post re Keith Emerson.

I saw The Nice at the Caird Hall in 1968 (69?), then the three ELP concerts at the same venue. At the first of them, he played the intro to “Pictures At An Exhibition” on the Caird Hall organ, which is world famous among organ aficionados.

http://www.leisureandculturedundee.com/culture/caird-hall/organ

Onnyhoo, although The Nice played “Rondo” as their encore at the Caird Hall, this is my all-time favourite “Nice” single.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tajqtwjeIWs

397. cearc

Thepnr,

I’m sure you’ll be forgiven. Good excuse to bring an extra treat when you come back.

I was feeling awful today and fell asleep after lunch only waking up half an hour an ago and so missed phoning my grandson on his fifth birthday! Which is probably a worse family crime.

398. Kishorn Commando

@BDTT
    Thanks Enjoyed America, haven’t heard it for 40years. I always preferred the Nice to ELP, moved on to YES (Still there EH!

Here’s one of Mr Bogle’s best to lift the spirits from the yoonshite of the past few days.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7FdRIT_lcYk

399. Macart

@John King

Don’t know if you’re reading this on hols John, but have a great time and a very happy birthday.

Awrabest. 🙂

400. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kishorn Commando.

I discovered “Yes” via ‘The Yes Album’, which a former school pal had purchased from a vinyl emporium. Saw them at the Caird hall an’ a’…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vd4jeeu90Rk

BTW: If you’re on Facebook, check out my Facebook page pic…

https://www.facebook.com/brian.doonthetoon

401. Kishorn Commando

@bdtt
    Small world, don’t do much facebook, still have some YES vinyls but have all their albums on cassette.
    However I have saved my pristine King Crimson’s “Court” despite binning the turntable 20 years ago. We did keep a portable Dansette that scratches records like a tomcat for the kids.
    Hoping to make it on 26th.

402. Ian Brotherhood

@Kishorn Commando –

Have added you to the list.

Can anyone else hereabouts help try and plug the 26th gig a wee bit?

I’m properly full-on with uni deadlines for the next week. Cadogan and his ‘Inform Scotland’ colleagues have been busy organising for the ‘afternoon’, but we’re still not getting as many names as we’d like for the evening.

I will be popping in here to keep a tally, and respond to any ‘new’ names, but otherwise I’m ‘oot-the-gemm’ for the next ten days or so.

So this is an appeal to all and sundry – even if you can’t make it on the day, please spread the word and encourage folk to come here, O/T, to say if they’re coming, daytime/evening, whatever.

Waxy O’Connor’s, Glasgow, Saturday March 26th, from 3.00-ish to closing time.

We really need to make it a busy one – after what happened in Dundee last night, it’s crucial that we send out a powerful message to all the Nawbags.

Hoots all! 🙂

403. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Kishorn Commando.

The debut ‘King Crimson’ – definitely in my top 5 albums of all time, in the world, ever.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lrsW–Sh7YE

404. Brian Doonthetoon

Greg Lake and Karen Carpenter had the same quality of voice.

It was a big regret to me, when Karen Carpenter died, that we would never hear a Carpenter/Lake duet.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nooeMrCws-A

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFsCuj_dVsY

405. Cadogan Enright

JUST ARRIVED IN MY IN BOX

Hi everyone,

It’s taken a long time but Inform Scotland so far has a bank account and a PayPal account and the start of a website. We had quite a few members pay up for the first year. We now need to refine the processes for how we will translate the aims into action.

Inform Scotland is therefore putting on a workshop to move things forward and you are invited.

This will take place on 26th March 2016, at Waxy O’Connor’s Bar in Glasgow (right next to Queen Street rail station – map attached), starting at 3.30pm. and finishing around 5pm. The venue is McTurk’s, inside Waxys – follow the signs to Glasgow Friends of Wings Over Scotland or similar.

The workshop is part of a Wings Over Scotland social event, so it will be followed by an opportunity to socialise.

The agenda may evolve with further input from interested parties, but an outline of the event is below:

An introduction to Inform Scotland and broadly what it wants to achieve.

A briefing on initial suggestions for how the ‘business model’ might work and the democratic and transparent principles that underpin it.

Some discussion on any gaps and weaknesses in the model.

The “workshop” part of the session will consist of smaller groups working through a different aspect of the business process from finding good ideas for publication, to costing them, to filtering down to a short list of what should be crowd funded and deciding what sort of medium each of the ideas might be presented within. Also how to make sure we don’t publish anything silly that might backfire on us.

The rough framework is that any idea should pass though a series of gates so that administration is easy, governance is transparent and everyone feels happy with how we reach each short-list of ideas for funding two, three or four times a year depending on how well the model we agree works in reality.

The session will close with feed back from the tables and planning of next steps.

Please do come along and see if you can help with common-sense ideas and help us get this over the line.

Inform Scotland is also interested in hearing from people with relevant skills who might like to be involved in helping to manage this project.

*Apologies to people who may not be able to get to Glasgow for this event, but we have to start somewhere! There is a possibility that this event will broadcast live on the Independence Live website.

Regards
    Team Inform-Scotland

406. Bevrijdingsdag

@Ian Brotherhood
    @Thepnr

Me and the Missus are due a day out. Looking forward to meeting
    people we feel we already know.

Thomas & Mary

407. Taranaich

I’m at conference, all: if you see a dark-bearded, ponytailed man in a leather jaikit & a man bag, say hello

408. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one for the OBR and all the Yoons who place their faith in it’s credibility.

Aretha Franklin – It Ain’t Necessarily So
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u1eSiso7VZs

409. Croompenstein

Scotland in the union.. tied down with battleship chains 50 foot long and a 2 ton anchor….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwspPeO1O1g

410. CameronB Brodie

I light of the dearth of credible corporate media reports re. Syria, here’s an interesting article for all the Assad haters.

Most Syrians request that I tell exactly what I have seen and to transmit the message that it is for Syrians to decide their future, that they support their president and army and that the only way to stop the bloodshed is for Western and Gulf nations to stop sending terrorists to Syria, for Turkey to stop warring on Syria, for the West to stop their nonsense talk about “freedom” and “democracy” and leave Syrians to decide their own future.

http://www.globalresearch.ca/most-syrians-support-assad-reject-phony-foreign-revolution/5513680

Surely the corporate media and state propaganda peddlers, can’t be lying to us about the Syrian crisis? After all, they were spot-on re. Saddam and WMD.

411. Ian Brotherhood

@Bevrijdingsdag –

Cool. ‘Thomas and Mary’ duly added to list…now at 32.

How ’bout you Taranaich – any chance you’d make it?

412. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Of that 32, only 13 have, so far, asked for a badge so I’ll repeat what I posted a week ago…

Pete the Camera and Brian Doonthetoon will be producing personalised souvenir badges for Wings over Glasgow on the 26th March.

The badge list will close on Wednesday evening, 23rd March, at 11.59pm.

413. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Big hoots to you and PTC for doing all the badge stuff – must be a finicky and time-consuming business altogether and youse don’t get anywhere near enough recognition for doing it.

Please be assured that your efforts are appreciated, and the objects themselves are treasured more than any of the gongs ‘sold’ by ‘Erself in Buckie House.

Anyway, you like your obscure records, eh?

How ’bout this?

Try listening to it without looking at the title, see if you can pinpoint who and when…nae Buster Keaton!!!

More power to ye, and regards to the bold Pete.

MYSTERY TRACK:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YP2PekttUOY

414. Ian Brotherhood

This would make a good finale for the SNP conference – they’re even wearing the appropriate colours.

Jermaine Stewart, ‘We Don’t Have To Take Our Clothes Off’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FSRbP0wPXdw

415. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian b.

Re: mystery track. Sorry, the guff wiz gied awa’ as soon as the video started! I’d never have got it though.

This is, probably, my favourite SM track, from 1979.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cjeuLrHpeGg

416. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Good one, have never seen that before. That’s the beauty of YT, eh?

The SM guys were just up the road from where I lived, went to the same school, maybe three, four years above us, and they were spoken-of as if minor Gods, even before the Johnny/Self Abusers name was ditched.

If memory serves, they used to play the Doune Castle in Shawlands, and you couldn’t get in for love nor money – a lot of gang-related trouble at that time too in and about Shawlands probably did no harm to their general profile in Glasgow, even if they had nothing to do with it all.

417. Brian Doonthetoon

Just to keep Wingers up to speed…

This is a post I’ve stuck on one or three Facebook pages tonight.
    —————————————————

On Thursday’s BBC ‘Question Time’, David Dimbledum changed his status from “chair” to “participant”, by jumping into the debate and stating a blatant lie, that is that when we voted in Indyref 1, we knew that there was going to be an in/out referendum on EU membership.

This was not corrected by any any of the other panelists on the show. History was also rewritten by yoon audience members and panelists by repeating the lie that a PROMISE was made by the YES side that indyref 1 was a “once in a lifetime” event.

No such promise was ever made. A personal opinion had been offered, not a promise.

Onnyhoo, here’s Ruthie Tank Commander, during the STV Referendum Debate on 2nd August, 2014, stating the lie that with a YES vote, Scotland would be out of the EU – only a NO vote would keep us in. No mention of a GUARANTEED in/out referendum down the line.

Remember, at this time, Labour were around 4% ahead in the polls for the UK general election; it looked like the tories weren’t going to win, as Ruthie TC admits in the video below. Apologies for the poor quality.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tZeJl7ganmo

418. Brian Doonthetoon

2nd SEPTEMBER, not August. Sheet!

419. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

If that was Bernard Ponsonby chairing that exchange then he’d better join a long line of meeja-folk who will, sooner or later, be required to state their position on what ‘Sir David’ and his QT crew did in Dundee.

So far? Their silence has been deafening – let’s see what Stuart Cosgrove and Eamonn O’Neill have to say about it next Thursday. If they choose to ignore it then I, for one, will lend no support whatever to the championing of Cosgrove as an advocate of radical MSM change.

420. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Re ‘trouble in Glasgow’.

In the early 70s, we were involved with organising fundraising dances for our BB. One of the bands we had seen at “The JM” was a band from Glasgow called “Downtown Flyers”. Their vocalist looked uncannily like Rod Stewart, at the time.

In blethers, he related a story to us. It was told that, one evening, he was wandering in a homeward direction, when he was accosted by some of Glasgow’s finest.

He told us that his philosophy was to suss out the ringleader and threaten him along the lines of, “Your mates may get me but, before they do, you’ll be dead.”

He then turned and walked away. He said that his mistake was to turn his back on the ringleader, resulting in a knife in the back.

His advice was, “Walk away backwards…”

421. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

You’ll remember that one of the Simple Minds albums was called ‘Streetfighting Years’.

The crack at the time, far as I recall, was that the ‘Minds’ hailed from a wee bit of Toryglen locally known as ‘The Circus’. I don’t know which members this referred to, but I presume it was Kerr & Burchill.

That ‘bit’ of Toryglen was, by all accounts, a bit wild, but if the gangs wanted a fight they’d use the local ‘rec’ – at that time it was a vast spread of ash football pitches. It now hosts a massive 24/7 Asda.

I crossed that ‘rec’, night and day, many dozens, possibly hundreds of times. Walked through the Gorbals after midnight load of times, after closing-time, skint (because we’d spent the bus-fare on pints)sometimes with mates, sometimes alone. Not once did we ever get any real hassle, perhaps because we had functioning ears and legs. The guys in Glasgow at that time who were involved in any gang-related stuff were there by choice, and, so far as I’m aware, they did their level best to have square-goes well away from anyone who might clipe to their maws.

By the 80’s I reckon a lot of the Southside guys were simply milking urban legends which largely arose in the East End. Big difference is that, in places like Dennistoun and Royston, the real stuff – properly nasty, bigoted sectarian stuff – was still happening. (Depending on who you believe, it still is.)

Dunno, maybe I was just lucky? 🙂

422. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

Seems like you did lead a charmed life – why else would Frankie Vaughan get involved?

8=)

423. Patrician

Someone pointed me to this tonight, hadn’t heard it in years. Not very sophisticated but still made me laugh. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0tLTm0kaHQ

424. Bevrijdingsdag

@ Ian B

Thanks for putting us on the list.

T & M

425. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood. Kevin Gibney wants to do a Livestream interview on the 26th with you & me lol (I dont do interviews), pick a partner Ian.

426. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

Cool!

I understand you not doing interviews seeing as you’re such a shy and retiring sort…

Any chance you could send me K’s e-mail? I don’t have a current one and I don’t ‘do’ Facebook.

Hope you’re well mister. Hoots the noo!

ianbhood@gmail.com

427. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Hoots for K’s address – have just dropped him a line.

Right then, that’s the business done, hoozfurra wee dance?

428. Ian Brotherhood

Blondie, ‘X Offender’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PjvpLiS2gKA

429. Brian Doonthetoon

Typing about Blondie…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1RwciS3Cnc

430. Brian Doonthetoon

How’s this for a novel dining experience?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBJEP4lsRFY

431. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Had no idea what to expect there.

Soo-perb.

432. Ian Brotherhood

Dear All,

Plans for the 26th in Glasgow are shaping up nicely…

Cadogan Enright and his ‘Inform Scotland’ colleagues have already claimed the afternoon shift, as detailed above. (12th March, 12.55 am)

We trust that Cactus, Jock Scot and sundry others will exercise their musical talents in the evening…

IndyLive will be there…

There will be a ‘window’, after the ‘Inform Scotland’ session, and before we all proceed to get blootered, where we could/should take the opportunity to get on-record why we support this site. It doesn’t matter how many people are watching it ‘live’ – the important thing to keep in mind is that the event will be recorded, so it’s there for good.

If you were put on the spot, what would you say about WOS and why you’re a contributor/lurker/financial supporter?

How would you present yourself to an audience which has a preconceived idea of you as a ‘Cybernat’?

If this was your one and only chance to leave some testimony about what’s happening in Scotland right now, what would you say?

Responses to these basic questions may take many forms, but one thing’s for sure – the time will flit away, so we have to try and make some effort to organise it.

Please have a think about it, and post your thoughts here.

Hoots all, as aye.

433. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (Wherever you are…) –

I know you’ll be very busy (whoops – almost wrote ‘busty’ there!) on the 26th, but you could always ask your charming Uncle Norbert to say a few words on your behalf?

Just a thought…

434. Paula Rose

Hi Ian *waves from Venice * oh I don’t know perhaps I could do a little interview if everyone wants me to.

435. cearc

Uncle Norbert, eh? Well that would be erm, ‘interesting’!

Keep dangling your tootsies in the canals, sweetie. Ian wants this meet up to be a bit different.

Although, Uncle Norbert may be stretching the definition of a ‘bit’ different.

436. Betty Boop

Good to meet a fair number of Wingers at the weekend. Pleased to see you all again. You know who you are 🙂

Special thanks to Chipmonkey and QQ; pleasure as always.

437. Tinto Chiel

Rediscovered this recently and thought some of the discerning sophisticates here might enjoy it. Dig the saturated colour and meandering routine for the camera.

They were an ugly bunch and you wouldn’t want to jog their pint but Wee Pricey’s solo is still pretty good.

Love Chas Chandler’s Honey Monster impersonation.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0sB3Fjw3Uvc

438. Cadogan Enright

I’m looking for somene to let me crash on the couch or in the spare room Friday 25 and Sat 26th for social in Glasgow

Willing to buy dinner and drinks for a few pointers to a tour of Glasgow sat morning. Have canvassed long hours there in the past a few times but never ‘seen’ the place

Am quite sane and well behaved – as you can see from Facebook page https://business.facebook.com/councillorcadogan.enright?business_id=372028969646293

439. Oneironaut

Just thought I’d wander back in after experiencing a few days not really worth talking about and probably best forgotten.

For now I bring a gift of another music link.
    Not sure how many people are familiar with the Gorillaz track “On Melancholy Hill”…

This is a cover version by a favourite singer of mine who does it quite well I think 🙂

(Sorry about the “Sun” logo on the video. Then again, like much in life, if the video was completely perfect, it would probably be boring!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bNsznfRpxL8

Peace, Love and Neos (Can’t afford Oreos this week, so got the cheap Lidl version instead!)

440. Thistle

Hi folks

go an idea… Im thinking Indy Live does a livestream Blab with a couple of WoS members to discuss the WoS event on 26th. A Blab is similar to Skype but allows you to invite viewers onto panel. It’s a really cool way of getting people involved in the chat.

Also, I need to know more about what you are wanting to do on 26th. We are going to be livestreaming the march that day but maybe you want some livestreaming done after? Email me liveindependenceATgmail.com

Kevin

441. Jdman

Thanks for the birthday wishes Sam, A question, how many people knew the national flag of Tenerife was a saltire?

I didn’t, until I asked an official coming out of Oratavo town hall why they flew the saltire everywhere, only to discover it wasn’t because they loved Scotland but because is their flag too, well bugger me!

442. Jdman

Just about to set off on a trip up mount tiede it’s covered in snow so we’ll taking warm jackets, the hairpin bends and sheer drop cause much screaming, and that’s just me!

443. Lollysmum

@ Betty Boop
    Good to see you too. I was with Morag for much of the time but didn’t recognise anyone else apart from Kendomacaroonbar.Mind you in a crowd of 3,000 people it is pretty difficult to identify individuals 🙂

@Jdman -happy birthday for when it happens

444. Ian Brotherhood

Long-time WOS reader Charles Anderson has just e-mailed me to say that he’ll be there on the 26th. He hasn’t commented before, so give him a wave!

445. CameronB Broddie

A perfect set-up for a cheesy segue to welcoming Charles but I’m getting a bit para that I may have insulted Jim Thomson with the track I dedicated to him a while back.

Hope you’re keeping well Jim an apologies, if necessary (large men wearing spndex can be intimidating to some). I was only kiddin’ about. 😉

446. Thistle

Just saw Cadogan Enright do a post above me. He is a really good guy so please help him out if you can.

447. Brian Doonthetoon

Nobody seems to have mentioned it…

Is there going to be an ‘official’ Wings presence on the ‘All Under One Banner’ march on the 26th? Like the banners and so on?

Jiss askin’…

448. X_Sticks

Very sad to see the Maryhill Foodbank has been forced to close.

https://twitter.com/MaryhillBank/status/709802597847310338

Looks like they’ve been targeted but I have no idea why.

449. X_Sticks

Should also mention that Thistle and Independence Live are needing some exposure for their crowdfunder. They’re looking for 6.5k and are only at 5% with 15 days to go. They are also looking for any obsolete equipment that folk could donate:

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scottish-election-uk-referendum#/

I’m sure they’d appreciate any help tweeting this and posting in other places to get the massage out there. Oh, and maybe a wee donation too 😀

450. X_Sticks

“Massage out there” lol. Why did Paula suddenly come to mind there? 😉

451. Thistle

EVERYBODY DOING A BLAB TEST WITH ROMMINE. PLEASE JOIN!

You need to use Firefox or Chrome.

https://blab.im/independence-live-test-wos

452. Thistle

That should say Ronnie above 🙂

Never anybody about when you need them. OK will be on this test Blab for another wee while so please join…
    https://blab.im/independence-live-test-wos

453. Macart

@John King

Mountain climbing is it? Mountain climbing?

Exercise! My arch Nemesis. 😉

Have a good one John.

454. CameronB Brodie

I’ll just leave this here. Not my fault if it ends up on Yoon sites. 🙂

Here II Here – I Don’t Know Shit
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-jzrZs27Jk

455. Jdman

Mountain climbing?
    Who said anything about mountain climbing?
    We took a hire car up to the base the a cable car to the summit,
    Even so the altitude made for a little difficulty in breathing, so we didn’t spend too much time at the top,

Heres a little quiz for everyone,
    What country has a saltire for a flag, and an independence movement?
    Hands up who said Scotland?
    Correct,
    But if you had said Tenerife, you would also have been correct, look it up if you don’t beleive me,
    Well who knew?

456. Jdman

Now youve left me with an image of me and Irene roped together using ice axes and crampons Sam!

457. X_Sticks

@jdman

“ice axes and crampons”

That’ll be your birthday pressie sorted then 😉

Have a good one John, we’ll miss you at Glasgow, but looks like Kev will be around to livestream some of it for you.

458. Betty Boop

@jdman

Hope you bought Irene a hot chocolate and rum at the café when you descended from the summit. That’s what I did 35 years ago and haven’t given up the habit even though I only attempt the ascent of the staircase now 🙂

Happy days, John.

459. Kennedy

Just chucked some cash into the war chest under my alias bdk71.

Please put it towards Robert Peffers Wings badge.

PS
    i am way behind with articles but catching up. If Mr Peffers has already won a badge then put it towards the next deserving candidate please.

460. fionan

Hi folks, looking for IT advice again! I need to obtain some screenshots for legal matters, but the shift-ctrl-3 doesn’t work on my laptop.

it is a cheap Packard bell, running windows 8.1. Can anyone advise me if there is an alternative way to get screenshots please?

Many thanks as ever, you brilliant lot! Doubt if I will make it to the 26th Wings night but hopefully the next one after that.

461. X_Sticks

@fionan

Alt-PrintScreen will grab a screen, but it usually needs editing.

In Win 8.1 you also have the snipping tool which allows you to grab any bit displayed on you screen. You should find it here: C:\Windows\System32\SnippingTool.exe. It allows you to save the picture in various formats.

462. Stoker

For those of you looking for something to watch and if you have access to Netflix, i can thoroughly recommend these 2 documentaries, i gave both a 5-Star rating:

Bottled Life – Is all about the Swiss-based corporation Nestle and how they’ve made billions out of plundering the world’s water resources and selling it back to the consumer.

Hot Coffee – Is all about frivolous law suits and tort reform with the main story being about a woman who sued McDonald’s after spilling her coffee and burning herself. Other interesting cases are featured in this documentary but more importantly, watch and see how the corrupt media play their part, they’re not known as the corporate media for nothing you know.

Both documentaries make for very interesting viewing.

463. Tinto Chiel

John King: hope you’re wearing that W helmet you were wearing in Freedom Square last September when we met, ‘cos the OBR have just warned of volcanic activity in Mount Tiede area.

On reflection, your Panama hat should be ok. Have a great time.

Anyone feel like some unforgettable sax?

Yes, that’s what I said, particularly from about 2.50 in.

464. Tinto Chiel

Wow! Don’t know how the link went like that.

The Rev. will be getting the hammers out.

Two big boys did it and ran away, honest!

465. CameronB Brodie

I’d be concerned if you were harming yourself Macart, but I’d hope you would have the curtsy of abusing yourself in private. Get yourself a tent mate. 😉

Saint Andrew – This World is Phuhl o’ a Number o’ Things
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Jz6LJXUqhI

466. Tinto Chiel

Braw, CBB, but don’t know if it can compete with the perfection of:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0c4l_T3KRNo

And thanks to BDTT for linking this a while ago.

467. fionan

Conon and Xsticks, many thanks for that. alt-printscreen doesn’t seem to work either so will check the painful-sounding snipping tool 🙂

468. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    I used to have twapehs as an e-mail but it lapsed. Pity ’cause my brother, who was ignorant of my address, was using Ananinginaneana. No shit. 🙂

Can I compete? Nuh. 😉

469. Still Positive.

I have just contributed £25 and took no perks so you can add my contribution to a badge for Robert Peffers.

470. Tinto Chiel

You’ve obviously been brought up right, CBB. Thank God for the Yes city of Dundee ?.

I’ll raise you this. To my shame, I can’t mind which Winger linked me this, but it’s a hoot too, and I’m fae Lanarkshire.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=jP9BtScBQaI

471. Tinto Chiel

CBB:

? Should have been a Barcelona fist. Damn these emojis!

472. Thepnr

@fionan

If you use Google Chrome their is an easy to install extension called Full Page Screen Capture.

Very simple to use and captures the screen perfectly, no doubt this or similar will be available for other browsers. Hope this helps.

473. Taranaich

Ahoy all,

I’ve set up a wee Facebook page for A Wilderness of Peace for those who can’t get wordpress working, would appreciate & welcome likes/shares/etc:

https://www.facebook.com/wildernessofpeace/

I’m going to be doing a lot of stuff with the site in the next few weeks, so watch this space!

474. CameronB Brodie

I’m sure Macart will lend you his tent once he is finished, Clootie. 🙂

475. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Good luck with it mister.

Will you make it on the 26th? I keep pestering you, I know, but I’m getting a bitty anxious to get a handle on who’s likely to make it or not.

And also – this goes for everyone – I would be very very grateful if anyone could offer to help plug the next Glasgow night, especially over this week-end so that folk can take note and have time to make plans, get baby-sitters, pet-sitters, whatever.

Main thing is to get some FB and Twitter exposure – I don’t do Facebook at all, and my Twitter skills are zero. Right now we have 36-40 names confirmed, and we know from experience that many more will turn up on the evening. But this one’s different because of the daytime workshop with Cadogan and ‘Inform Scotland’, so it’s a much longer session than usual and we really need to make an effort to ‘fill’ the late afternoon/early evening with something instructive and/or entertaining before settling down to the normal quaffing.

Please, let’s get a buzz going about this. ‘Thistle’ (you all know who he is) will be around, and it would be good if he had something solid to broadcast, even if it’s nothing more than Wingers presenting themselves to do a reading/song/poem, whatever.

Bring the ideas here over the next few days – let’s make this one special. Nothing ventured, nothing gained an aw that jazz, eh?

476. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Has Cadogan’s crash been sorted?

I plan on getting through for the workshop, btw. That’s enough info to be giving out in public though, other than I’ll be wearing a brown Fedora. 😉

477. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

🙂 !!!

You kept that one quiet!

So, can I add you to the list for the evening as well? Come on man, surely you’ll linger for a glass of Pimms and some strawberries, eh?

478. Taranaich

Been too long since I picked everyone’s brains (and trust me, BRAINS WILL BE PICKED). Amma comin’, & I suspect my Mammy will too once she catches wind of this!

479. CameronB Brodie

I’m a definite. Almost certain. I’ll probably show up. I’ll do my best to get there Ian. 🙂

I see you’re not one for telling as I telt you a while back that I’d bee coming. Checking your watch? 🙂

480. Ruglonian

Hi folks,

There’s a fair wee group interested in coming along to Waxys from Yes Rutherglen, and we were talking about the National Yes Registry at tonight’s meeting so I sent Jason (the kinda organiser) a message to tell him about the opportunity to speak to like minded folk on the 26th – hope that’s ok.

Yes Rutherglen has some merchandise and some contacts that we’re going to bring along – which reminds me, is there going to be a raffle that we can contribute to?

How do people feel about me making a wee promotional poster that we can share on social media, and I can get them printed (business card size?) to hand out to the marchers?
    I was just thinking about something simple – blue background, Wings logo, ‘Friends of Wings get-together’ or similar and the address (see Ronnie Anderson and the Wings banner for my previous work!)

Last word for now, to all those lurkers out there – there’s a few Wings gems unable to attend on the 26th, so you’ll have to make up the numbers! We were all lurkers once so don’t be shy (plus there will be badges 😀 )

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.