Infrequently Asked Questions

Posted on July 24, 2014 by

The Wee Blue Book is extremely close to finished now, readers. We’re just buffing the corners. But we thought you might like to get a head start on one bit of it.

qs

As well as trying to answer all the reasonable and sensible questions that undecided or No voters might have of the Yes side, the book will encourage them to ask a few tricky ones of their No representatives too, because we’ve been waiting two-and-a-half years for the media to do it with no luck.

But as you’ve been so awesome at writing to your MPs and MSPs before, enabling us to (for example) shed some cruelly harsh light on the full shambolic incoherence of Labour’s devolution plans, it seemed only fair that you got to have a go first.

So if you’re in the mood, why not fire a polite email or letter to your local Labour, Conservative or Lib Dem MP and/or MSP today with the following questions in it, and see what you get back? You can easily find and contact your local Westminster and Holyrood representatives via WriteToThem.com.

1. Does Scotland – including its oil revenues, of course – contribute a larger share of the UK’s income than the share of UK spending it gets? (And I mean the SHARE, not the AMOUNT – debt which has to be paid back doesn’t count as “spending”.)

2. Regardless of whether YOU think it would be a good idea or not, is it true to say that an independent Scotland could continue to use Sterling as its currency if it chose, no matter what happened?

3. Your campaign keeps saying that independence would make our family and friends in the rest of the UK “foreigners”. Even if we accept that’s true, what’s wrong with foreigners? Would you love your granny or your nephew or your sister any less if they became “foreign”? If not, why does it matter?

4. In your view, would the rUK really build and patrol a 100-mile long physical barrier of some sort across the border if an independent Scotland had a different immigration policy? (Because obviously road checkpoints alone couldn’t stop illegal immigrants, who’d simply cross on foot.) And if so, what would you estimate as the construction, manning and maintenance costs of such a barrier?

5. The McCrone Report was kept from the Scottish public by successive Labour and Conservative governments for 30 years to prevent them knowing how rich Scotland would be if it were independent. Are you aware of any similar documents relevant to the independence debate which are currently designated secret?

6. If I vote No in September, can you guarantee that in five years’ time Scotland will still be in the EU?

7. If I vote No, can you guarantee that in 10 years’ time Scotland will still have a fully publicly-funded NHS?

8. If I vote No, can you guarantee that the “Barnett Formula” used to calculate the Scottish Government block grant will still be in force by 2020 and set at the same proportions?

9. What will be the approximate set-up/annual costs of the tax-collecting bureaucracy your party plans to implement in the event of a No vote?

10. In the event of a Yes vote, will the UK government have an obligation to pay the pensions of everyone in Scotland who has ALREADY qualified for the UK state pension, as would be the case if current pensioners emigrated to (say) Spain or France or Australia? I’m not interested in the Scottish Government’s position on the matter, I want to know what the UK government’s responsibilities are.

11. Is Scotland a country or a region?

If you’ve got any good suggestions for other ones, let us know in the comments and we’ll add them to the book.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 27 07 14 01:16

Ten Questions | A Wilderness of Peace

578 to “Infrequently Asked Questions”

1. bookie from hell

London Olympics I was happy for London,England ,but coverage for glasgow,Scotland seems to be hijacked by London media,not the same feel

2. crisiscult

Question for my MP:

a girl at work told me that the quality of politicians in Scotland was crap and, paraphrasing her words, that we coudnae run a parliament nor an independent country, and all the Scots with any talent leave Scotland. If we vote no, will you promise to introduce some policies that make our people less crap, or would you say that we are genetically programmed to be crap (in this latter case, can we have more immigrants to improve our gene pool)?

3. Paula Rose

Oh Lesley-Anne, you are a gem xxx

4. Nana Smith

https://twitter.com/NewsnetScotland/status/492404394487734272

Newsnet commentators not happy with the bbc commentators

5. Lesley-Anne

I aim to please Paula. 😉 XXX

6. goldenayr

Too explain my last post.

Did anyone hear Lineker exclaim at just after ten o’clock…(22:09 to be precise)

“Englands Colin Oates fights for the Edinburgh Ratho Club,so he is guaranteed home support.”

Nothing like a glaikit naebody,tae git aw wrang.

7. Robert Peffers

@Blair paterson says: 24 July, 2014 at 8:53 pm:

“This article started of about the blue book and questions to mps then the whole thing is hijacked by Edinburgh Dave to divert you away from nearly all your questions , and you fell for it”

If you fondly imagine we were fooled by Edinburgh Dave as anything other than a bag of wind you’re a lot more gullible than we are. Edinburgh Dave had lost the actual debate he attempted to hijack with his first post.

Like the whole empty BT campaign they have based their beliefs on nothing more than wishful thinking and falsehoods. Facts are provable but they are playing with words that have precise legal meanings. Meanings that are not what they say they are.

A kingdom is not a country – it is a royal realm.
    The United Kingdom is exactly what is says it is.
    A royal realm that is a union of only two former independent kingdoms. The kingdoms of Scotland and England.
    Westminster is not the union – it is the parliament of the union. There is no evidence anywhere that either kingdom was other than equally sovereign. Thus the action of either kingdom withdrawing from the joint parliament is NOT to leave the parliament as that of the other kingdom. It is to disunite and end it.

Edinburgh Dave is attempting to avoid those facts and claim the Union parliament for England and to claim that the Kingdom of England is the continued united kingdom while that is not possible as when England entered into the treaty it already encompassed both Ireland and Wales.

He knows it and we know it but he’s never going to own up to it. Neither is he going to produce evidence to disprove it. Why did you think he ignored the challenge to fetch proff?

8. Grouse Beater

goldenayr says: Mair pish fae McTernan

Awful stuff, isn’t it? Even on the level of PR apologist fare it ranks no higher than mouse droppings.

9. Lesley-Anne

Paula Rose says:

Oh Lesley-Anne, you are a gem xxx

I aim to please Paula. 😉 I think it’s something called logic or something like that. 😛

10. Muscleguy

@Edinburgh Dave

So, I returned your server over your allegory of a tennis club. Since you have not responded to my return can I assume through the fog of the comments (hard to see) that you have been unable to return my shot and so your allegory and the point with it about Scotland’s membership of the EU fails.

Game to me then.

Feel free to come play with me allegorically any time you want. Handing you your ass (as our American cousins say) is fun.

11. goldenayr

Thank F’ for STV and Scotland Tonight.

12. Grouse Beater

Crisiscult: a girl at work told me that the quality of politicians in Scotland is crap

I think that notion is generally held – the result of over 300 years of non-parliamentary opportunity, subservience to another nation’s standards, and the Labour party’s skill at promoting second-raters.

13. Graeme Doig

‘Respect’ Lesley Ann. We can’t wait for them to give us that, it’ll never happen.
    We need to take it resoundingly when we have the chance or hang our heads in shame and forget about being a nation.
    Aaaaaaaagh

14. mr thms

The Scotland Team singing Flower of Scotland at the Opening Ceremony

https://m.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=8BiGV1QuBvc

15. Chic McGregor

@Sinky
    “Like Ed Miliband, can no commentator pronounce MURDOCH?”

No, its Scottish. But they can pronounce Bach, or Mach 3 etc. cause it aint.

16. goldenayr

Thank F for STV and Scotland Tonight.

Never thought I’d say that.

17. Minty

STV actually covering the CWG properly.

18. heedtracker

Feel free to come play with me allegorically any time you want. Handing you your ass (as our American cousins say) is fun.

Isn’t it! I think chumps like that are good for debate, gets stuff out in the open and dumbed down to my level of understanding:D

19. arthurfaeleith

Hi Edinburgh Dave,

A central bank manages a state’s currency, money supply, and interest rates. Is that a fair description? If so:

iScotland uses Sterling – who controls the states currency? The Bank of England. Does the Bank of England meet the requirements of Article 131 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union? Yes, because the RUK is part of the EU.

iScotland uses Sterling – who controls the money supply? The Bank of England. Does the Bank of England meet the requirements of Article 131 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union? Yes, because the RUK is part of the EU.

iScotland uses Sterling – who controls the states currency? The Bank of England. Does the Bank of England meet the requirements of Article 131 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union? Yes, because the RUK is part of the EU.

Does a states central bank have to be in that state? The ECB is only in one state, but acts as the central bank for all of the Eurozone members, so obviously it doesn’t.

Lender of last resort? Well I think the UK government did that, didn’t it? Not the Bank of England. Ah, but they only supplied the money – the BofE actually handed it out. Ok -the Scottish government could just hand the required money to the BofE if it saw fit to. Or it could let the banks go bust, if it wanted to.

Am I twisting the rules? Or is it a convenient loophole that would allow the EU to let Scotland seamlessly continue it’s EU memership? I’m afraid your pedantic application of the rules ignores the pragmatic behaviour of the EU. What the EU wants to do, it does. How did Greece get into the Euro? It certainly wasn’t by diligently following the rules, was it?

20. goldenayr

Grouse Beater

He beats me into a cocked hat for printed shite.

Cactus,Square Haggis,if you’re reading,apologies for the other night..unreserved ones at that.

I have no defence other than I am a complete *. (insert abuse)

21. Lesley-Anne

I think the total LACK of respect to Glasgow and Scotland just adds to the fuel that is feeding the fire that is called independence Graeme. For decades or even centuries, they, WESTMINSTER, have expected nay DEMANDED we show them respect. Well Cameron, here is where OUR respect for you and your shower of hopeless Muppets ends. You can NOT be earsed to show US respect then do NOT be surprised when we do NOT show you and your Muppets respect!

22. Tam Jardine

Reckon we all need 11 days of fiercely biased England centric BBC coverage like a hole in the head after the last 2 years.

That said, with the public more focused and sensitive than ever on outside attitudes, in particular the BBC reporting suddenly the usual biased pish we’ve had rammed down our throats forever has consequences. And if a minority watch political programmes, the vast majority is watching the games.

I am sure this will prove to be a massive mistake for the establishment. If ever there was an event crying out for a balanced and positive coverage for Scotland it is this Commonwealth Games.

So proud of our team tonight – was welling up with pride with Ross Murdoch when our national anthem was played.

23. Lesley-Anne

You and us all Tam. 4 years ago in Dehli the Scottish team managed to amass 26 medals in total. After day 1 of the 2014 games in Glasgow the Scottish team have amassed 10 medals already. If they can keep this momentum up then I’m certain they will surpass the total from Dehli. 😛

24. heedtracker

Also it was a nice touch playing AC/DC for the Australian commonwealth team last night.

AC/DC, the greatest rock band in the world and all but one of the original band Scots, with Bon Scott born Kirriemuir, Forfar. July 1946, Feb 1980. Still sorely missed but never forgotten even at the 2014 Glasgow Common Wealth Games.

25. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“If Scotland were presently an independent country, considering a referendum on whether or not to join England in September, all things considered in a reasonably educated and pragmatic frame of mind, would YOU vote yes or no? There’s a question worth asking.”

We asked it in a Panelbase poll last year. The outcome was a 3:1 majority for No.

26. Graeme Doig

Sorry for missing ‘e’ Lesley Anne.
    Rant over for now. Just glad to be on the right side with all you good people and hats off, especially, for the entertainment today in the toying with ED.
    Rev – happy with your list and thanks for all your work.

27. Lesley-Anne

No problems Graeme you can always use L-A if you prefer, it is easier to use… so I’ve been told. 😛

As for your rant don’t worry about it we go through the rant phase from time to time some more than others. 😉

28. Rev. Stuart Campbell

‘“The Treaty provisions on central bank independence apply to all EU Member States, irrespective of euro area membership. Countries are thus expected to have completed the process of granting their central bank full institutional independence by the time of accession to the EU”

http://www.ecb.europa.eu/press/key/date/2007/html/sp070419.en.html

“All EU Member States are part of Economic and Monetary Union, which means they coordinate their economic policies for the benefit of the EU as a whole”

http://ec.europa.eu/economy_finance/euro/adoption/who_can_join/index_en.htm

“EU rules require every member state to have a central bank, so as to be able to participate in arrangements such as cross-border supervision or the rescuing of failing banks, as well as providing last-resort lending and as well as a stepping stone to joining the euro”

http://blogs.telegraph.co.uk/finance/andrewlilico/100026646/an-independent-scotland-would-have-to-join-the-euro-heres-why-and-what-it-means/

“a functioning central bank is a precondition of EU membership”

http://www.newstatesman.com/politics/2014/02/salmonds-plan-use-pound-without-permission-would-be-dangerous-scotland

I gave you every chance.

I asked for a line of EU law stating that a central bank was a requirement of membership. You’ve given me the same irrelevant pish as before, and two Unionist journalists making the same empty assertion as you with no evidence to back it up.

Fail.

29. Robert Peffers

@kininvie says: 24 July, 2014 at 4:34 pm:

“As an interesting variation on the central bank question, it’s worth taking a quick look at Monaco and San Marino.”

Points well made, well argued and backed with cites and logic.
    Thank you, kininvie.

A point I made on another forum some time ago is that all these international organisations are in the business of gathering together as large a membership of like minded nations for mutual benefit. They are not about to make an enemy of a state unless that state is actively against their aims.

Why would the EU want to expel Scotland when the Scottish parliament and people are pro-EU? Why, when any fool knows that the United Kingdom is a union of Kingdoms that is composed of four individual countries, would they accept one member of a bipartite union as a member and thus reject the other? All they need do is tell both they are continued member s who must both renegotiate their terms? There won’t even be a vote. The idiocy that Spain would vote to eject Scotland is laughable. Spain has the EU’s biggest fishing fleet and Scotland has the richest fishing fleet in Europe.

Same goes for the UN, and NATO is not going to throw out Scotland that has a very strategic location and has the only fog free airport in Europe. Radar both defence and navigation. These organs are expansionist and seeking members.

30. Andy

Why does the Scottish government prefer Sterling to a new Scottish currency that can rise and fall with oil prices given that oil would make up such a large portion of GDP?

Also, why do they prefer Sterling to a new Scottish currency that can adjust for Scotland’s balance of trade?

These are the two things I really don’t get with SG’s position on this. Thoughts?

31. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Questions 6-8 are very weak. They can all answered “Of course, no individual can make those guarantees” “

Sigh. Yes. That’s the point.

32. Lesley-Anne

I can’t give you a specific answer to your questions there Andy. However I think that the SG is looking at the currency union thingy in a short to medium term. I think they are looking at our own currency long term. In my view this sort of makes sense because by sticking with sterling it allows an independent Scotland to get on with the real challenges ahead whilst building up “stock” with international banks, credit agencies etc. After 5 – 10 years we will have built up the necessary long term credit worthiness, in my naive view, that will allow us to look seriously at having our own independent currency.

There again I could just be talking a load of p**h! 😛

33. Paula Rose

Hey Lesley-Anne love, shall we go head to head over Wings village idiot xxx

34. Lesley-Anne

You can try Paula but you DO KNOW that it is ME who holds that title! 😛

35. Quentin Quale

And the Gold medal in the Freestyle ‘See Us We’re Rubbish So We Are’ goes to Reporting Scotland’s Lisa Summers for her scintillating “The story of the day is all about one man’s disappointment…”
    Yeah, that would be the Scottish swimmer who ‘only’ managed a Silver after being pipped for the Gold by a Scot.
    I hope all you young media students are paying attention – there are loads of vacancies in the Scottish media coming your way very, very soon.

36. Paula Rose

@ Lesley-Anne -I beg to differ dear, Im far sillier than thou.

37. ElaineS

Sent letter to Gordon Brown,he does answer my usual 38 Degrees or other issues like the DRIP one which I got a long reply but then he was absent from passing bill and amendments.

38. Lesley-Anne

I think the correct phrase Paula is GAME ON! 😛

39. Big Jock

Sarah Smith couldn’t contain her excitement about the Queens photo bomb.The added…Yes and the SNP are frightened to mention the queen!Where the fuck did that come from she really is a disgraceful waste of my licence fee!

40. Lesley-Anne

SHE is a disgrace. There again what else did we think coming from BBC?

41. Paula Rose

Nope Lesley-Anne (ahem cough cough) My high heels are higher than yours!

42. Lesley-Anne

You may have the higher heels but I’ve got stupidity off to a tee. Mind that’s one tea no sugar and a dash of milk! 😛

43. Paula Rose

btw LA – how’s the wee cairn?

44. Paula Rose

touch ee doll.

45. Truth

Here’s one:

If there is a no vote don’t you think we should just scrap the Scotland football team and rugby team and all the other ones and just join them all into UK teams? After all that’s what we effectively will have voted for when we say Scotland shouldn’t be an independent country is it not? If not, why not?

46. Paula Rose

Truth – dear, that is so not going to happen.

47. Paula Rose

Yes, Yes all the way.

48. Big Jock

Here’s the thing.She has lived most of her life in the London media bubble.She probably thought little of Scottish politics down there.She was and is out of touch and therefore probably wasn’t that hostile.But along comes BBC London and gives her a contract which involves being on message for Westminster in Scotland.So up she pops agenda written into contract.So it becomes a job like stopping criminals.Eventually she forgets its a job and ends up actually hating Scottish people or Yes Scotland members.She begins to see Salmond as Mr Big in the underworld she knows she can’t stop him so tries to defame him and his supporters whenever she can.This is how reasonable people end up becoming irrational.You only have to look at Darling.Their job takes over their rationality and its entirely about fulfilling the mission even if you don’t believe what you are saying.Sarah is a victim of greed and that gives you an insight into the person she is.

49. Lesley-Anne

Well let’s just say the *ahem* cairn is the funniest looking cairn I’ve ever seen, but hey ho what the hell do I know about building cairns. 😛

Here’s a wee update from one of our YES South Annandale members. 😉

http://tinyurl.com/k29v4kk

Oh just to make sure they stick to the *ahem* rules I’ve heard someone has raised the question of *ahem* planning permission for this structure. Not only that I’ve *cough* apparently sent an e-mail to the council highlighting some *ahem* concerns I have about site safety. :P:

50. Paula Rose

Big Jock – does that rhyme with… gosh dear that’s box office gold.

51. Paula Rose

LA dear – do you think a chambered vault is the best thing our wee Rory Tory could have thrown up?

52. Lesley-Anne

Aye I wish he would have Paula… preferably with him locked inside! 😛

53. Big Jock

Are you referring to the Burns classic Paula?

54. Paula Rose

Time to take some time out and fondle my OH, love to you all xxx.

55. Lesley-Anne

Have a fondle frae me Paula. 😉 XXX

56. Chic McGregor

Erm whit happened tae wir suggestyins?

57. Big Jock

If we declare independence who gets custody of John Barrowman?Well like Trident he’s half yank.The Yanks might not want him back as he is a hazard to fashion and committed several murders at Park head!

58. Truth

@Paula Rose 11:34pm

Of course it’s not, but that is the logical conclusion of what the BT-U-KOK-NOTHANKS are standing for. (oops, may have got my hyphens a bit askew)

So let’s hear them justify why it shouldn’t happen whilst saying Scotland isn’t a country.

59. Chic McGregor

Oops, jist spotted the older comments link, soss boss.

60. Truth

Another one:

If we vote no, when will we get our high speed link to the Eurotunnel that was promised way back in the last century?

I still remember the Euro lounge at Glasgow Central built in anticipation.

61. Big Jock

If we vote no.I will be on Super fast ferry to Dublin before the Brits come up here and dismantle our parliament.

62. Andy

@Truth – to disband the national football team you would have to disband the Scottish Football Association which it represents, the second oldest football association in the world.

63. Andy

^^^^which incidentally has got hee-haw to do with governments of any flavour.

64. Angry Tony

My question is ‘if was okay for millions of East Germans to become EU members in a matter of a few months, why do you think it would be such a lengthy process for Scotland to become fully fledged members in its own right.’

65. Truth

@Andy

I’m not advocating such a move, simply pointing out it is the logical conclusion of what BTNOTHANKS are wanting us to vote for.

As for being the second oldest FA in the world, what does that matter? Scotland is one of the world’s oldest countries and we are effectively giving up on that if we vote no.

66. john king

Gordon E says
    “Can anyone remember what was sung at the Edinburgh games in 1970?”

It was definitely GSTQ I know cos I was there as a boy scout running about fetching and carrying for everyone, and I can remember hopping from one foot to another as everyone stood for the Queen cos I needed a pee.

Alexicon says

“Anyone drink in a whetherspoon’s pub?
    I drink in one quite regularly and have noticed over the years that they will festoon the place with flags for any occasion, London Olympics, queens jubilee, World Cup and even beer festivals, but guess what? No flags up for Scotland’s commonwealth games.”

I sent Morrisons an email asking them that very question,
    asking them why they festooned Scottish supermarkets with Union flags (excuse) in support of Britains got talent, (no really) and not a single Saltire for the start of the commonwealth games,

tick tock tick tock.

Dan Huill says
    “Glaikit” as in Alistair Carmichael.”

“Foustie”
    As in Alistair Darlings arguments are a bit foustie

Heedtracker sats
    “Dont listen to them Edinburgh Dave, you’re like a cute little pet, roll over and lets tickle your tum again, who’s a good boy.”

Jist whitivver ye dae dinnie feed him after midnight or you’ll be cleanin up the mess, and your taking him for walkies!

O/t

I was out in the car with the wife yesterday and coming home decided to drive along the Culross road (quieter and I dont get RR)and what do we see? a man cutting his hedge and on the roof of an extension on his house is a big Union Flag and the no thanks thing in his front window, and before I could stop her the wife rolled down her window and let loose with a stream of invective that would have brought blushes to a welsh troopers face, and as we were driving slowly through the village (he could have caught up with us running) I decided to man up and go back and apologise for my wifes outburst,
    I pointed out she gets rather emotional about seeing the butchers apron and he has the absolute right to be a total w%3N&O£r AND A fu£!ing to$$$&r if he wants to be ,
    I think we parted on good terms 🙂
    But Im not so sure about his neighbour who (unaccountably) fell over in his petunias pissing himself laughing!

but after getting onto the Rosyth road, we get to the roundabout at Rosyth and what do we see, a set of allotments with no less than 7 YES SEVEN saltires and one of them was a yes saltire,

I got extra salt on my fish and chips,
    and a pickled ingin. 🙂

67. Socrates MacSporran

About yon Sarah Smith. The truth is, if she was the same age, looked the same, had the same qualifications, but, was Sarah Smith, daughter of a lorry driver from Dunoon – rather than the daughter of an advocate, politician and leader of the Labour Party, originally from Dunoon – she might still have got to where she is, but, certainly not as quickly.

I get the impression somebody inside the LOndon bubble decided to send Sarah north, she’s Scottish Labour royalty, she’ll help turn Scotland round.

After we vote Yes, she’s toast.

By the way, well done the BBC team covering the Games; their constant backing of Engerlund, Engerlund, Engerlund is turning quite a few Don’t Knows into Yes supporters.

68. montfleury

One of the key questions for the United Kingdom is this;

‘We have been at war in one place or another every year since at least 1939. If we vote No, who will we attack in 2015?’

69. Robin

On the off chance anyone’s still interested in the original topic, here’s Tory MSP Alex Jonhstones’ reply (returned within 2 mins of me emailing him..):

1. The last period for which full figures are available is the year ending 31st march 2013. In that year the UK as a whole ran a current budget deficit, including 100 per cent of North Sea revenue, of £91.9 billion (5.8% of GDP).

In the same year, with a full geographical share of North Sea revenue included, Scotland would have run a deficit of £12.1 billion (8.3% of GDP) .

http://scotland.gov.uk/Publications/2014/03/7888

2. If independent, Scotland could choose to use any currency it likes, including Sterling. Scotland is currently in a fiscal union with the rest of the United Kingdom. Separation would result in this fiscal union being terminated and Scotland would loose its right to participate in the decision making process of the Bank of England. Consequently, decisions would be made in the interests of the United Kingdom and not a separate Scotland.

3. I’m British – it matters to me.

4. If immigration rules differ significantly on either side of some future border, then that border will need to be policed. If one party is within the Schengen agreement and the other is not, then the European Union would require certain actions to be taken, such as those which currently happen between the UK and France for example.

5. Reports written by civil servants have no status until they have been adopted by the Government of the day. This report does not have the significance attributed to it by ‘yes’ campaigners.

6. There is likely to be a referendum on EU membership within 5 years. If Scotland remains within the Union, we will have the opportunity to participate in that decision. Five years may be long enough to negotiate a separate Scotland’s entry to the European Union, but there is no guarantee.

7. The NHS in Scotland has been fully devolved since the 1st of July 1999 and differs significantly from the service in the rest of the UK. All funding decisions are made by the Scottish Government and scrutinised by the Scottish Parliament.

8. The Barnett Formula is a function of the current funding arrangements. Separation will end the current arrangements. Scotland is already transitioning to a very different system where we raise the money we spend in Scotland through taxes we set in Scotland. This change will eventually render the Barnett Formula obsolete.

9. We had no plans to alter the current administrative arrangements. However, the Scottish Government have already initiated the process of duplication. The Revenue Scotland and Tax Powers Bill will establish ‘Revenue Scotland’ as the tax authority, responsible for collecting and managing the two devolved taxes – the Land and Buildings Transaction Tax and the Landfill Tax, when they come into operation on April 1, 2015. They have not yet told us what this will cost.

10. If Scotland becomes a separate country, responsibility so setting, and funding the state pension would transfer to the Scottish Government. Accrued pension rights in the armed forces, superannuation and other contributory schemes, both public and private, should be unaffected. However, many schemes are currently undercapitalised and may, at some time in the future, require to be topped up. Where that responsibility lies would have to be subject to negotiation. There are certain EU rules regarding pensions which may be difficult to meet in the event of separation.

11. Scotland is a country within the United Kingdom. It is already often referred to as a region of Europe. Ye pays yer money and ye takes yer choice.

70. Robin

Or to summarise

1 – doesn’t answer the actual question.

2 – Yes we can use sterling regardless.

3 – He’s British. (Foreigners are bad?)

4 – There might be border controls. Or rUK will dig a 22 mile wide sea ditch?

5 – Mcrone report not worth paper its written on, don’t believe those nasty nationalists.. But fails to answer or even address actual question, again.

6 – Basically no, there is no guarantee. Though he can’t quite admit that plainly.

7 – Doesn’t answer question, again.

8 – Seems to a be No then..

9 – The Tories HAD no plans to alter tax arrangements (interesting use of past tense there..)

10 – I think that’s a Yes answer, though he tries to muddy it as much as possible. Nice of him to admit that the UK doesn’t actually have the cash to pay it’s pension obligations though..

11 – ??

71. Jock Scot

Local MP and MSP contacted will keep you up to date with any response..not holding my breath tho’.

@Paula and Lesley-Anne…Yew Choob offer their stage to you both. We would be honoured to film the silly challenge as it’s what part of us specialise in. We could learn so much…xxx

72. James Campbell

How about this as a question for No canvassers:
    Do you believe that Scotland should have the constitutional right to re-negotiate the terms of the union if circumstances change? If so, how do you propose that this be achieved?

73. Frann Leach

I’ve sent the questions off to my MP, Alistair Darling, but I won’t hold my breath for the answers. Quite often he answers a question about a totally different subject to the one I asked, because a lot of people have asked him about it, and he just sends the same guff out to everyone.

74. Cactus

IAQ’s.. likey.

Aweright goldenayr, all is good fellow Scot, I didnay see any probs with your post(s)? It even prompted me to have a look at thesaurus 🙂 Yeah, if the peaceful protesters wish to make a visual statement on Sunday as mentioned, they could easily print off a batch of Saltires onto address note labels (for example).

Should the PQ3 event be full to capacity there’s an overflow gathering point round by STV hehe, hmm, maybe take a leisurely stroll up the south promenade..

Dang! This musical social life is getting in the way of me WoS contributions, still, at least I can do my bit by playing songs of freedom live, as we aspire towards a bonnier and brighter, future Scotland.

XX Scotland’s Future XX

75. Jabro

I’ve just discovered this site so sorry if im asking or saying whats been asked or said already. I’m a definite YES vote by the way and from all the info thats out there (which all the No voters seem to say isnt being put forward,… get off yer arses and look!) I just cant see why anyone would vote anything other than ‘Yes’. One thing I would like to ask is if people on here sense a gender divide on the vote,.. more men for ‘yes’ and more women for ‘no’? If you think there is, why is that so? And why do all the No voters keep asking for cast iron guarantees? Nobody on this planet can give you that about an independent Scotland and similarly nobody on this planet can give you that about the future of the UK, even if we stay in it. You have to look long term here which means there will be ups and downs on both sides. I’m not anti English in any way at all, I think we scots should grow up and out of that nonsense,… but I am pro Scottish. And to say if you vote No you are not patriotic,… sorry,.. I just dont buy that. Your decision should be based on your gut feel, as a Scot, for what is right for Scotland as a country, (just like english people rightly do for England!!!) not as another yorkshire and not if your going to be £500 worse or better off in a years time!

I do fear however that a ‘No’ majority would make us look the most pathetic and weak “nation” on this earth. Millions of people all over the world have DIED fighting for independence. All we have to do is tick a box. No, we are not an oppressed society ruled by some brutal dictator, but we still rely and ALLOW another country to make decisions for us,… about our OWN money and how we are allowed to spend it!!!,… and our vote counts for pretty much nothing when it comes to who has a majority in Westminster…. who of course are the very people telling us how to spend it!,.. its crazy!

That article which said a No vote is saying,… “go ahead England, you vote the goverment in and whatever you vote for is fine by me, you know whats best for us poor failing Scots”…, is spot on. Its like the No vote has no faith or confidence in their own people and have to be ‘led’ by someone else for fear of getting lost on their own. How lame would that make us look in the eyes of the rest of the world? We are already seen as the smaller and less seriously taken ‘commodity’ of England. And an actual willingness (proven by a No vote) to stay that way would be just unbearable. If you thought the opening ceremony was embarrassing,…. brace yersel!

76. Adam Rodger

I Have a scary question.
    If Westminster/Whitehall managed to run up a massive debt despite the income from the North Sea, how will they service this debt and meet other fixed liabilities(pensions) after a Yes vote on 18 Sept?

77. Deb

Here’s the response I received form Gregg McClymont MP today.

MCCLYMONT, Gregg
    To Me
    Today at 3:00 PM
    Dear Deborah

Many thanks for your email – I have received several emails listing these “questions”. Sadly they are not impartial questions but partisan pseudo “questions” from the Yes side. I am sure you as an undecided voter were unaware of this fact but thought it best to let you know.

Best wishes
    Gregg

78. Grendel

No reply from Pamela Nash. No surprise there.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.