Ian Murray is a liar

Posted on July 21, 2015 by

In fact he abstained, along with roughly 80% of his Labour colleagues.

(NB The glitch in the middle of the clip is on the original broadcast.)

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 21 07 15 16:19

Ian Murray is a liar | Speymouth

2. 04 11 16 11:34

A True Test of Mettle | A Wilderness of Peace

108 to “Ian Murray is a liar”

1. blackhack

Newspeak strikes again…

2. Donald MacKenzie

Did I just hear that correctly?

3. Robert Bryce

Arsehole!

4. Graeme Purves

A remarkably early resort to the Curran gambit!

5. mushypea

No fucking way!

6. heedtracker

Looks like their all running with that MacTernan “we’ll fight them in the committee stage ” fraud too. Strange creepy old fraudsters the lot.

7. S Tilbury

Mike Sivier of Vox Political is now blocking any comments from me. I have tried to post this link to highlight the most recent example of the lies that caused Labour to lose Scotland. Anyone else want to try?

8. Fireproofjim

Yes, I heard the original broadcast, and thought I must be mistaken and he might have been one of those who voted against.
    What a blatent lie. So easily refuted. No shame whatsoever.

9. Catherine

Fundiliy-mundily…

10. Snode1965

Aww, cut the guy a break. He obviously got his details mixed up, as he was concentrating on getting fundilymundily correct. :-0

11. handclapping

Nah you’ve got to remember that they need to prove to the English voter that they are not in the SNP’s pocket.

By the way what “we” was he mouthing off about?

12. pa_broon74

He’s a such horrible wee vacillator.

I bet he’d argue the toss, some how trying to dress an abstention up as both a yes and a no vote to the bill.

13. Heather McLean

Why do they think they can get away with telling the lies? Has it not sunk in yet that we in Scotland are the most politically literate population in the UK and there is no hiding place when we can access the facts on the Internet?

Looks to me like they still believe the “too stupid” part of “too wee, too poor, too stupid”.

Absolutely sick disgusted by the so called opposition in the House of Commons, they ought to hang their heads in shame.

14. Richard Smith

Murray knocks Carmichael into 2nd place in “Lying Devious Shit of the Year” stakes.

15. Toobs

Is the new song going to be keep the white flag flying?

16. Luigi

Aye, and when the time comes, he is going to tell us he voted against Trident as well, right?

17. Andy Nimmo

I think I’ve said it before on this site but worth repeating

Thomas Jefforson is quoted as saying
    “When the People fear the Government you have Tyranny
    When the Government fear the People you have Liberty

Today in UK
    ” When the People fear the Westminster Tory/Labour Politicians you have Tyranny-
    When the Westminster.Tory/Labour Politicians fear the. People you have Comedy

18. David

Ian Murray, both a “royal wee”, and a wee royalist.
    You’re not paid 70 grand a year to sit on your hands and abstain, you fud.

19. Karmanaut

Scottish Labour at their old tricks again.
    Side with Tories.
    Lie and say you didn’t.
    It works for the remaining Labour voters who don’t use the internet, or aren’t bothered to check up the facts. Presumably that’s from Reporting Scotland? (I think I saw Jackie Bird at the end.) So the lie wouldn’t have been challenged.

20. dakk

I don’t know what’s more shameful,Ian Murray lying through his teeth,or the ‘journalist’ who interviewed him not exposing his deceit.

21. muttley79

Ian Murray is clearly just another SLAB careerist who talks absolute shit. They get a free pass from the BBC.

22. wee sandy

Will his lie be picked up by Reporting Scotland in the evening news? Or will it be repeated?

Anybody willing to give betting odds?

My bet will be the lie will be repeated without correction.

23. Les Wilson

He is a low life, self serving shit. Yes, he will lie because can, after all the BBC are unlikely to question what he says.
    Count the BBC in my opening line.(s)

24. Luigi

Graeme Purves says:

21 July, 2015 at 3:01 pm

A remarkably early resort to the Curran gambit!

Indeed, not to forget Iain Davidson’s George Square encounter. What is it about Labour politicians and the truth? Are they allergic?

25. MolliBlum

Och, I’m sure he just “misstated his awareness” of what actually happened…

26. Aos

Saw this during the news and thought ‘good for you, least our only Labour MP has a spine’. And yet on finding out he abstained, I’m not terribly surprised he tried to mislead everyone. As for fighting this at committee stage, clearly Baldrick has been hired as the latest campaign strategist.

27. Luigi

Toobs says:

21 July, 2015 at 3:22 pm

Is the new song going to be keep the white flag flying?

Good one. 🙂

28. caz-m

Rev

The biggest fraud of the lot regarding this clip is that it was edited into the BBC Scotland news bulletin by their bias editors and producers.

Even their reporter, the Burd wummin, never thought to mention that Murray actually abstained.

29. One_Scot

I am not sure if I have said this before, but Scotland needs to vote for Independence ASAP before they melt our brains with this total bollocks and we are no longer capable of rational thinking.

30. Fred

Murray will say anything for money, anything! the lies are a smokescreen.

31. John H.

The Labour Party doesn’t understand or care what truth is any more. As long the big salary and expenses keep rolling in. They know that they’ll be protected by the BBC. How much does Murray get as a shadow minister?

32. BigMac

Have I got the story right? Ian Murray said on TV that he voted against this bill and actually, he abstained!

33. Fiona

Is there any possible way to make that claim true through the usual very literal interpretation of what happened or in any other way?

I cant think of one

Outright lies have now become so normalised they are not even challenged? Is that where we are now?

34. Lesley-Anne

What a bloody Murraymint!

Is that the new issue Abstention Party tie that he is wearing by the way? 😀

I posted this on the previous thread but it may be more appropriate on here. 😉

http://www.itv.com/news/update/2015-07-20/snps-pete-wishart-makes-cheeky-request-over-opposition-seats/

35. caz-m

Kezia has been very quite recently. You usually canny get her to shut up.

36. Sinky

Why did BBC fail to mention that Labour’s sole MP in Scotland Ian Murray merely abstained rather vote against the Tory attack on the poorest on July 20 2015.

Ian Murray’s “green” credentials are in tatters as he failed to vote on 14th July against the Climate Change Levy which is taking money from the Renewables sector.

Another big campaign message was his alleged “anti-Trident” stance – but it turns out he’s never voted on that either.

37. June Maxwell

Straight out of the Carmichael school of politics.

38. Macart

So in Mr Murray’s world, abstaining is voting against… I see.

And those who actually showed some moral courage and voted against? Just what exactly does their vote represent?

There’s a more basic description for Mr Murray’s dissembling and evasion, but seein’ as how Mrs M reads these threads, I’ll mind my manners.

39. asklair

Trying to put words on this post to try and explain my opinion on this situation. I have tried, but I find no words, as said on the tin “Ian Murray is a liar”, there is no more I can add.

40. Juteman

Pravda.

41. Albaman

I wonder, did the interviewer ask him which way he voted ?, and the resultant replie was cut out.
    OR, did the interviewer not think, or wish to ask the question?, either way, B.B.C. being shabby, as usual.

42. Marko

I’ve had loads of arguments about Labour’s voting record with Noers with them refusing to budge position even when you are providing Hansard links. This included refuting posts on my Labour MPs facebook page prior to the GE.

43. Jonbgood

According to Wikipedia: “Pathological lying may also present as false memory syndrome, where the sufferer genuinely believes that fictitious (imagined) events have taken place. The sufferer may believe that he or she has accomplished superhuman feats or awe-inspiring acts of altruism and love”.
    Well, there you have it – the perfect excuse.

44. caz-m

Rev Stu,

That clip of Murray would carry a lot more weight if it could be edited down to the first three seconds. Then played back on repeat. So all you would hear is,

“We voted against this bill last night”.

I had a wee go at playing the first three seconds back, it hits home just how much of a lying little toad Murray is.

45. McDuff

Watched this and had steam coming out of my ears.
    The fact that the BBC allowed this man a window to deliberately lie is a clear signal Pacific Quay need another more serious demonstration, bigger, louder, as this kind of sinister state manipulation has to stop.

46. Jack Murphy

OT. TODAY. The Government Cuts.
    BBC UK Politics:-
    “Draw up 40% cuts,George Osborne tells Whitehall departments.
    COMMENTS OPEN.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-33610801

47. Socrates MacSporran

I couldn’t believe this lie when he uttered it.

I couldn’t believe the interviewer (David Porter?) didn’t pull him up on it.

But – I could believe the BBC editors leaving it in.

I do believe BBC Scotland will never challenge the lie – by pointing-out abstaining is not opposing.

I do not believe the msm will ever challenge this lie, or flag it up for the blatant untruth it is.

However, this is surely the best example yet of Malcolm Bruce Syndrome – all politicians lie.

48. Lesley-Anne

Here’s a list of M.P.’s who might just still be members of the Labour party as opposed to being members of the Abstention party.

https://www.politicshome.com/party-politics/articles/news/labour-rebels-welfare-bill-leadership-endorsement

49. Jimbo

This is called taking the public for f***ing idiots.

No doubt they’ve all received their W’e’ll fight them in the committee stage’ memo by now which will be propagated far and wide on Labour’s behalf by their apologists in the MSM.

50. Muscleguy

He is relying on ignorant people who don’t do politics, except here in Scotland people use social media for this stuff increasingly and he cannae fool the internet.

51. Muscleguy

BTW can’t his constituents start a recall petition on this basis?

52. Cloggins

Maybe it was not a lie…. he may have been so confused that he actually thought he was telling the truth?

Such things happen.

53. Swami Backverandah

Murray thinks that he can call abstention an automatic No.
    Wouldn’t surprise me if they were whipped to abstain rather than reveal how many Labour Mp’s actually support the bill.

54. Sinky

BBC Radio Scotland at 4.30 pm still playing the Ian Murray Lie without any comment.

How do we show them the Hansard record?

55. Rob James

I couldn’t find his name on the abstention list so I presume he didn’t turn up. Maybe he had a sick note for his IM syndrome (involuntary mendacity). The lies slip off the tongue with such ease that the perpetrator is totally unaware and shows no signs of embarrassment whatsoever and therefore the recipients believe him hook line and sinker.

Perhaps a few posters round red Morningside might enlighten his constituents regarding his ailment.

56. Frazerio

Isn’t politics fun these days. Who’d have thunk.

Labour wiped out in Scotland. The Libdems a fatally sunken ship, but with Clegg condemned to stay til the last gargle. Shenaniganites (abbreviate if you wish) like Carmichael & Murray scraping in with smears and untruths. Murphy, c’mon, he was top level hilarious (as is Kez). 56 SNP MP’s. Repeat, FIFTY SIX. Carmichaels predicament; if he knew, Mundell knew, if Mundell knew, Cameron knew etc.

Then we have pople like Salmond & Black towering over anything Labour have left or the rest can produce in a crumbling building that so epitomises the anachronistic organisation it houses, you just couldnt make it all up.

When their solutions include words like ‘abstained’, ‘Dugdale’ or ‘EVEL’, my only real fear is we’ll soon see a great popcorn shortage.

Incidentally, the following thought occured to me after catching up on the last week or so’s posts (was away for my b’day), quite simply:

EVEL = English independence

The penny hasn’t dropped with them though. If they want EVEL, then devolve all English matters to an English parliament (all Scottish matters to Scotland etc).

The union becomes defunct. Abolish the Lords, sell off Westminster and split the proceeds.

We can then all get on running our own affairs how we wish. They want what we want, self determination/more representative democracy, they just don’t realise it yet.

Will be funny when they do.

57. Zetlandbairn

“We voted against this bill to take it to it’s next stage…”

Is it just me or or is he talking guff 1. cause 80% of lab MPs abstained including him, so by omission allowed it to proceed and 2. he’s a tad confused, perhaps conveniently, on how this all works?

58. Sinky

Perhaps Murray was paired with one of his Tory friends but as we all know you don’t enter into pairing arrangements on important business. Fact is he didn’t vote against the Tory cuts.

59. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I couldn’t find his name on the abstention list so I presume he didn’t turn up.”

He was there. He voted for the Labour amendment.

60. Vestas

Labour have no reason to exist & I think this is starting to occur to people in England/Wales.

What’s the point in voting for a load of (mainly) public school educated PPE grads who have had everything handed to them on a plate? You can just vote Tory & get that anyway.

Tories are bastards but at least they’re up-front about it; Labour are just a bunch of hypocrites is what I hear from non-tory friends.

The problem is that in England/Wales there isn’t any sort of coherent (never mind proven) alternative for people of a left-wing viewpoint.

The Greens don’t count as they’re not coherent & they certainly aren’t “proven” (my brother-in-law lives in Brighton & he’s stopped voting Green for the first time in decades).

The SNP are exceptionally fortunate & I can only hope they don’t squander the situation as Labour decline into irrelevance due to politics in E&W heading towards ultra-right wing being acceptable.

I have the horrible feeling that is exactly what the SNP will do. Well before 2020 there will be a significant majority for independence but if its left another 5 years then the SNP will BE the establishment.

We’ll see.

61. Proud Cybernat

Mr Murray, there’s a Sting in the tail:

Every breath you take
    every move you make
    every bond you break
    every step you take
    we’ll be watching you…

…you fecking lying Labour git.

62. David McCann

Does this mean that all those NO votes are actually YES votes, and that Scotland is independent?
    I think the Burd woman should ask!

63. The Moidart

Lmao. He couldn’t take a red face at a bonfire could he?? I can’t wait for the follow up interview on reporting Scotland this evening when he says when he puts his big boy pants over his trousers he can fly. And Jackie agrees saying she seen him. By tomorrow he will be claiming he owns Edinburgh Castle. By Thursday he will be cleopatra. Sunshine on Leith?? I think he’s been at the moonshine on Leith. Maniac!!!

64. Clootie

“Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality.”
    ? Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

65. heedtracker

Boris Johnson
    Boris Johnson’s policing deputy refuses to apologise for buying water cannon

Graun’s stuff on new water canon for Londoners is tragic really. Maybe it’s to keep everyone cooled down when Major BOJO goes walk about among the adoring plebs.

66. heedtracker

Well maybe Major Bojo’s canon’s are not so much for cooling everyone off

“May told MPs last week her decision followed exhaustive medical and scientific tests leading her to conclude the German cannon had potential to cause serious injuries including spinal fractures, that there were doubts over their usefulness in fast-moving riots and that they were likely to damage the British tradition of policing by consent.”

67. Petra

I thought that Kezia Dugdale et al said that the UK Labour Party SBO would be autonomous? Seems as though that myth has been knocked on the head already with Ian Murray doing Harriet Harmans bidding.

He’s the guy that stood up and reported SNP MPs for tweeting lies (report dispelled). He made an absolute fool of himself by behaving like a nasty wee school kid shopping to his teacher. Now he has the brass neck to stand and brazenly lie in front of a camera. I wonder how many of his Edinburgh South constituents will be aware of that?

As a bye I’ve just had a look at ‘Live House of Commons’ and you could count the number of Labour politicians in attendance on one hand. As per usual it’s the SNP MPs that are opposing the Tories on their own. The place would be dead without them.

68. Proud Cybernat

@ Frazeri

“They want what we want, self determination/more representative democracy, they just don’t realise it yet.”

I don’t think they do want that. I think they want what they want which is sole control over English matters with no Scottish interefrence and also full control over Scotland where it actually matters i.e. our exports and balance of payments as well as their their weekend retreats to shoot the bjeezus out of cuddly sentient wee critters. UKOK democracy is extended only to those in power.

69. Isobel Wilson

Just watching BBC news 24 and Andy Burnham saying we will fight this bill?! Then Frank Field on, interviewer says one of the MPs who did vote against did so because her constituents telling her they were very scared of these welfare “reforms” happening.

Field said this was nonsense on stilts no way should MPs vote according to constituents wishes and the public would not want that. They would expect their MPs to make their own decisions!!

Totally unbelievable

70. thedogphilosopher

In the Magical Kingdom of Ukania
    Lies have now become the New Truth
    whether it be the search for WMD in Iraq
    or a little mix-up in translation by The Scottish Office

or the promise of a thousand MORE nurses
    or covert bombing missions over Syria
    or the Closest Thing to Federalism
    Via the Most Holiest of Vows

or an End to pensions in an Indy Scotland
    or the concealment of Great Oil Wealth squandered
    or the BBC pretending to be an impartial organ
    of Her Majesty’s perverted Establishment

71. heedtracker

“Two of Lammy’s rivals for the London mayoralty, Sadiq Khan and Diane Abbott, also voted agains the bill, with Labour whips suggesting as many as 40% of the 2010 intake of Labour MPs had rebelled against an order to abstain.”

Also from rancid old Graun. As many as 40% voted agin, from 2010 intake and excluding that lying failed party planner of Morningside up there.

Why rancid think the vote % of 2010 Lab intake matters is another teamGB mystery but am looking forward to the having BBC in Scotland creep show ask that failed party planner liar up there what he thinks tonight.

72. Toobs

Switzerland abstained from WW2. By Labour logic, that was obviously fighting against the forces of Hitler.

73. Roll_On_2015

Ian Murray: Maiden speech 08.06.2010. (Last paragraph)

I would like to conclude by paying tribute to my mother, who taught me the values that I hold dear. I was born and brought up on the Wester Hailes council estate in Edinburgh.

When my father died suddenly at the age of 39 from a brain haemorrhage, my mother was left with my 13-year-old brother and me, aged just nine. She was written off by the Conservative Government of the day. My mother and many others like her who lived around us were left to fend for themselves, through no fault of their own, when they needed their Government most.

I saw first-hand communities ripped apart to the resonance of cheap political soundbites. The first few weeks of this Conservative Government show that they have not changed, and I will fight tooth and nail to ensure that the communities I represent in Edinburgh South do not suffer the excesses of Tory ideology again. I owe that to them, and I certainly owe it to my mother.

Note: To avoid Stu’s HAMMER I have broken the original into line spaced paragraphs.

So he fought tooth and nail to abstain so that the communities he represented suffered the excesses of Tory ideology. He owed that to them, and he certainly owed it to his mother… Well said Ian… Now go jump of a cliff you shallow degenerate.

74. tinyzeitgeist

The comrades have completely lost it. Cowards and liars that appear to be only interested in their Westminster salaries. They have now been completely outed.

75. Dr Jim

It was indeed on “Union Jackie’s” BBC Reporting Scotland at 6 pm when all the older folks watch the (TRUE)news and he was replying to the question from David Porter (our man at Westminster)

If you’re going to tell a big fat lie then that’s the prime time to do it when you are guaranteed not to be contradicted,
    especially by the ever faithful “Union Jackie” God rest her

When John Whittingdale’s finished with good old Auntie Beeb

76. Valerie

Politics Today had a new Labour MP called Cat Smith, she was clear that much as she regretted going against the Whip, she was not elected to abstain, but to oppose. She also made the point how would she feel standing on the doorstep facing a family in abject poverty due to this Bill.

On the other hand, Neil Kinnocks lad sat like a big tollie trying to justify his position of abstention. They make me sick, truly.

England’s best hope is that some new Labour MPs look toward SNP for a moral compass.

One comical incident last night. Pete Wishart asked Bercow on a Point of Order, if he could rearrange seating in the House for the SNP to sit opposite the government, because there was no Opposition.

77. call me dave

I would have thought that as the only labour party MP in Scotland Murray would have been of interest regarding which way he decided to go. Lost in translation in the Hootsman.

Pity Sturgeon did not specifically comment on the matter.

https://archive.is/O5L5k

78. CameronB Brodie

The BBC originated in a backroom of the Foreign Office, with the purpose of spreading British nationalist propaganda to the world. The organisation has grown somewhat, but it’s original function persists, IMO.

Re. Mr. Murray’s problematic short-term memory. Is this really the best British Labour has to offer in Scotland? Outright deceit! It looks like the forces that have shaped the British Labour party’s evolution, have finally managed to mutate the concept of social welfare in to one of corporate welfare.

Environmental changes are the most powerful driver behind evolutionary process. Britain’s political environment has changed as a result of the widespread political engagement by the Scottish public during indyref, with the subsequent mass-extinction of British Labour in Scotland. Mr. Murry is simply the most resilient mutation of the British Labour species. Sort of the political equivalent of the melanic form of the Peppered Moth. The representative for Red Morningside may claim to stand for social justice but he is British Labour to the core. A ‘man of the people’ who is actually working for the City and the British Establishment.

http://www.truthinscience.org.uk/tis2/index.php/evidence-for-evolution-mainmenu-65/127-the-peppered-moth.html

79. heedtracker

http://bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk/index.php/city-news/955-reviewed-labour-unveils-its-new-colours.html

Read later but this liar up there really needs his all new Slabour Liar’s flag too, maybe a big hairy belly with a pie on top superimposed with that giant BBC in Scotland logo they planted on top of Pacific Quay, that you have to stare at like the mug you really really are as you come over that flyover on to the M8.

80. heedtracker

OT slice of BBC world propaganda here. Note the terrific BBC propaganda UKOK reference to Scottish democracy? None.

http://www.bbc.com/capital/story/20150707-the-friendliest-town-in-europe

81. Skip_NC

Maybe Ian Murray is not a liar. Maybe he is just so dense that he cannot remember which lobby he didn’t walk through last night.

82. ClanDonald

Ian Murray’s SPADS had probably spent the morning coaching him to say “We didn’t vote for this bill,” which would at least have been technically correct. Then Murray goes and fucks it all up by blurting out “We voted against this bill…”

What an incompetent arse, he can’t even lie honestly.

I know, sorry, I don’t usually use bad language but sick to the back teeth of the corrupt liars who rule over us.

83. McV

What he says actually sounds like gibberish!
    “We voted against this bill, last night, to take it forward to it’s next stage…”
    It sounds like double-speak. Did he vote against the bill, or did he abstain thereby voting against voting against taking the bill forward?

84. Mealer

This kind of thing is probably quite acceptable at the Morningside Conservative Ladies Luncheon Club.

85. Stoker

Lets see how BBC Reporting Scotland run with this on the main news tonight at 6.30pm – I can hear the headline pounding out right now:

“Labour’s Ian Murray abstains then lies to the Scottish electorate”

OR

“Labour’s Ian Murray opts to abstain then deliberately misleads the Scottish electorate”

What do you all think? Option 1 or 2 or 3(none of the above).

Now, remember folks, BBC Reporting Scotland is supposed to be a NATIONAL news programme, reporting on the issues which are of importance to the people of Scotland.

You’re not going to get many more serious issues than an elected representative deliberately attempting to deceive the electorate on the topic of welfare cuts.

Lets just see how they run with it and what their London masters have instructed them to do, what angle they must run with.

86. Ken MacColl

At least Alistair Carmichael lied more subtly and with purpose!

87. Jimbo

Murray’s Law: When all else fails, lie.

88. sinky

Stv news just failed to mention that Ian Murray abstained

89. Petra

STV ‘News at 6’ just made clear (for once) what happened in the Commons. Murray was interviewed and said that he agreed with some of the Tory proposals and then made to look like a right fool when Dugdale and McIntosh said that they would have opposed it. What a shambles.

90. wee sandy

6.30 Reporting Scotland repeated the lie without explanation or question.
    Am I surprised?
    Nope.
    But I do have a great feeling of despair.
    We can vote out Labour, but how do we change BBC Scotland?

91. chris kilby

Craven Useless Neo-Tory.

(Is it just me or does Murray look like Mundell?)

92. HandandShrimp

A strange statement and begs the question why the news headlines are 48 Labour MPs rebel against whip and vote against the bill?

93. Joemcg

It’s pretty hard to believe this is morningside man’s SECOND term. Defies logic. Mind blowing.

94. HandandShrimp

Chis

Murray looks like Terry Scott to me.

95. crazycat

In (S)Lab-speak, the procedure for voting against something is as follows:

1. Table an amendment which includes, but is not necessarily confined to, the statement that the Bill concerned should not proceed to a second reading

2. Vote for this amendment

3. When it inevitably fails, the only remaining way of preventing a second reading is to vote against the unamended bill, so the obvious response is to abstain

4. Subsequently claim that you voted against, even though the only vote you actually participated in was in favour of something. A further claim that you can now oppose the Bill in committee is optional, as is the statement that your “vote against” was intended to “ensure its progress” – the very thing your amendment explicitly sought to prevent.

96. boris

“Boo Boo” believes he is smarter than the average “political) bear but “Yogi” ( the boters) always prevail

97. Lillias Fabbroni

I have just e-mailed Mr. Murray requesting that he clarify, for this interested constituent, his remarks as reported on Reporting Scotland. Am awaiting his reply with bated breath.

98. Steven Marshall

What does it really matter though? Labour were obliterated in Scotland! I’m an SNP voter but surely with such a huge majority in Scotland now we should be concentrating on what our own party do, not constantly worrying about labour!! Just a wee but concerned that all we do is slag Labour about how bad they are…..instead should we not actually be trying to do something with our power! Controversial I know (and this post probably won’t make the board) but I’m a bit worried we are a all great speeches with no real action (or power)

99. Marga

Stevie – the Catalans are not a way to follow. If you fancy predictions like a motion of censure in the Scottish parliament against Sturgeon, recalling of devolved powers to Westminster, imprisonment/debarring of Sturgeon from office, takeover of Scotland’s security forces by London, etc. then you’ve got the idea. And that’s just for starters.

There’s got to be an easier way.

On the other hand, they’ve just tonight published a poll which shows the right-left Independence Coalition List plus the CUP radical left-wing pro-Catalan independence party with (only just) an absolute majority.

100. Col

We have to keep pointing things like this out to those who still think that the BBC doesn’t have a clear agenda of covering for the unionist parties whilst constantly spinning negative stories about the Scottish government.

The book London Calling is a must read for anyone who still has doubts about the BBC in Scotland. Hopefully the labstain party will be mostly wiped out in Scotland next year but the BBC has to go and the sooner the better!

101. Davy

Labour a political party that stands for ??? I have not a fucking clue. Did their soul MP for whole of Scotland actually think no one would notice in his own country he has just lied his earse off.

What a penis head.

102. mike cassidy

My name Is LiarMurray and I claim my second chance!

103. Roll_On_2015

Davy @ 21 July, 2015 at 11:53 pm

What a penis head.

My Dad used to refer to that as a ‘Bobbies Helmet’.

104. JLT

If he definitely abstained, then his opening line of ‘we voted against this bill…’ is pure deceivement.

Worst of all, he’s not only kidding the electorate; he’s kidding himself.

105. Roger Hyam

It dodges the real question of what parts of the bill he actually supports. A two child policy for the poor I suspect.

106. Muscleguy

@StevieMcB

The Catalans have little choice as other avenues have been systematically denied to them. Their struggle is not ours and, after a reflex no, sanity prevailed in Whitehall and we were allowed our referendum and there are no moves or threats to abolish our parliament.

UDI needs international support and you will not get it unless other countries see that you tried other methods and were in some peril (removal of local democracy counts) then you will not get international recognition, nobody will recognise your statehood or deal with you.

I agree that UDI should never be off the table as the ‘nuclear option’ to keep Westminster and Whitehall honest. But that doesn’t mean we should reach for it unless we are in extremis. For eg moves to abolish Holyrood (though I can’t see Westminster being so stupid).

We have to fight and win a properly sanctioned referendum. There can be no shortcuts.

107. James

The liars get away with it because the media are servile and weak. They never serve the purpose they were meant to.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.