Bullying epidemic escalates | Scottish Independence News

71 to “Bullying epidemic escalates”

1. Defo

Wow, they really are ttp now.

“Scottish independence: Scotland ‘must choose head of state'”

They’ve been taking lessons from the hootsmon on headline writing.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-28265729

2. Patrician

Another excellent cartoon Chris. Looking forward to purchasing them in book form after independence.

3. The Man in the Jar

Aye those balloons are so threatening. And don’t even mention those badges.

A spokesperson for Better Together stated “It is time for Alex Salmond to make a stand against these balloons”

4. dennis mclaughlin

Big Tory benefactors to Bitter Together are starting get to get the jitters noo, we’re waiting to see which national newspaper will be next up in showing it’s colours for YES :).

5. Roll_On_2014

Chris you are a master with the pen/brush, as ever, and as the saying goes ‘a picture toon is worth a thousand words’… keep up the good work.

Patrician: at 2:40 am

Another excellent cartoon Chris. Looking forward to purchasing them in book form after independence.

I agree, but with one reservation… why should Chris stop there? Post YES… we will have a new Scotland to build and it will require a positive insight from wherever it may come from.

OT

By the way for those that are wondering about very slight change regards indyref in The Daily Record here is a wee snippet from NewsNetScotland. It’s at the bottom of the article.

Oh, and I almost forgot. A reliable source told us that the Daily Record had been requesting more indyref copy from its journalists. They [the journalists that is] are up for it apparently, but have told management that they want to cover more than the usual pro-Union, pro-Labour press releases.

A change in the wind at the Record?

Now if that is true it would certainly put a cat among the pigeons in the BT=NT roost.

6. macart763m

Nailed it Chris. 😀

7. Robert Peffers

Aaarrrrgh!
    I’ve typed three uncompleted attempts to post a thanks to Chris for the laugh just vanish into the ether.

I’ll just haud ma wheesht an bide a wee bittie time noo.

8. Andy smith

Must admit though, the girl holding the balloon does look like a character out of the old ‘mad’ magazine.

9. JimnArlene

Those pesky separatists dirigibles.

10. Alastair Wright

A spokesperson for Better Together stated “It is time for Alex Salmond to make a stand against these balloons.
    He is, its called a referendum.:-)

11. Calgacus MacAndrews

Bullying Together

12. ronnie anderson

There’s Something In the Air,baith by day & by nite,

o aye its the smell of BTs Shite.

Another excellent cartoon Chris.

13. heedtracker

You forgot vote no thanks bettertogether billionaire JK Rowling, weeping with fright under her bed, poor wee soul.

14. ronnie anderson

Im going to Dundee via Invergowrie this Morning

Thepnr gies a bell to meet up, I will be online when I

get to my Daughters house.

15. heedtracker

https://archive.today/9A2KF Graun takes its daily wee wee on Scottish democracy for laughs also with Prof Jezereena Tomkins straight in at no.2 and his iScotland is a DICTATORSHIP routine.

16. Awayanbileyerheed

Slightly OT.- Tommy Sheridan shows dinosaur political commentator Michael Portillo that Scotland is not subsidised as Portillo STILL believes. Does it in style. From ‘This Week’:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aw9onROF8gk

17. galamcennalath

Another great cartoon. As always, the message is soooo true.

18. Bunter

My fave so far.

19. John Young

The News where we are is from Border TV, will they broadcast the AS v AD debate?
    The lack of STV, in my opinion is one of the contributing factors to D&G returning the only Tory mp in Scotland.

20. Flower of Scotland

Great cartoon Chris! Simply says it all!

21. Flower of Scotland

O/t thanks for that link to This week , awayandbileyerheed! I really enjoyed it. Tommy was on good form and the audience thought so too!

22. Bugger (the Panda)

awayandbileyerheed

Where did it take place?

Thanks

23. Bugger (the Panda)

VH

I see it was Edinburgh somewhere but, as I am out of the UK I am blocked on iPlayer.

I thought that it was all a bit theatrical, the youtube clip I saw, with Portillo in golfing trousers and Dianne Abbott with a stuffed Scottie dog which she was caressing and Portillio was touching up too.

Charles Kennedy looked a bit rough.

Wee Tommy does not take any prisoners. Just a pity he has been distance by the official Yes campaign, just as W o S has been.

24. Bugger (the Panda)

above was for CH

thanks

As usual excellent cartoon.

A picture paints a thousand words and what a picture Chris regularly draws.

25. Bugger (the Panda)

In fact having rewatched it, Charles Kennedy looked as rough as a Darling’s erse.

26. handclapping

Its not that I’m scared at all, its just she’s probably got fangs behind that smile.

Thanks Chris, and for last week too

27. HandandShrimp

The thing is Ian Murray phoned him to warn that there is a sticker on the other side of that balloon.

28. hetty

Great image but he could also have a union flag on the desk and a few telephones with names of the msm on them. The bt lot are so desperate they are going round in circles. We need to continue to run rings round them, if we are to win this. The bt and media tactic of stinging and injecting poison, then going back to their nests until the next lie just shows that they are losing. Sad that they still operate in such an undemocratic and sinister way, the people can see through it and it is destroying any notion of democracy, a backward step indeed by westminster.

29. The Man in the Jar

How many floors up is that “captain of industry`s office?

Those Yes balloons fair give you a lift or has our wee activist been on the Red Bull?

30. RogueCoder

Sorry OT folks, but IndyCyclist Mark Coburn is just a few quid short of his target, and thereafter every penny goes to Maryhill food bank. Let’s help him smash that target and help some of the poorest and most vulnerable in Glasgow. Hope over fear!

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/500-miles-in-5-days

31. heedtracker

Its also the view from inside BBC in Scotland HQ of the last Pacific Quay demo, from the desks of whoever it is currently working so hard to save the yewkay.

That latest Channel 4 Dispatches monstering of Scotland and Holyrood all about poor wee bullied rich ukok Tories, somehow left out the Labour candidate for Angus was it, that likened kids at the PQ demo to Hitler youth. Funny that.

32. wingman 2020

@Heedtracker

I understood Jezereena is a girl.

Is she really http://www.gla.ac.uk/schools/law/staff/adamtomkins/? Or someone else?

33. Robert Peffers

I do a bit of video making and editing and was working on a short clip along the lines of that Chris Cairns cartoon. Trouble is I’m to drawing what Johann Lamont is to script reading – nae bliddy eese. I’ve thus got to find stock art clips.

My attempt had a large corporate manufacturing Establishment, “Acme Weapons Systems”, Standing before the tall multi-story building is a wee lassie with a small YES Saltire on a stick.

She is looking up at the penthouse suite window where the boss man is on the phone complaining to Alistair Darling about being threatened by, “All those evil Cybernats”.

34. mogabee

I do believe that little girl with the “threatening balloon” is really standing on the ground as the no thanks/better together supporters are sinking under the piles of rubbish that they constantly produce!

One of these days we won’t be able to see them at all…roll on that day…

I agree this is the best cartoon yet. Thanks Chris

35. Grouse Beater

Heedtracker: You forgot vote no thanks bettertogether billionaire JK Rowling

I wonder how much tax she pays?

Once you start earning seriously large sums of money the temptation to resort to legal loopholes, Swiss banks, investment in forestation, Wonga, offshore accounts, gets very tempting.

With so much of her earnings eminating from the US, and the US fixing draconian sanctions on anyone transferring over £10,000 out of the country, one has to suppose some of her largesse lays there in one of their many banks and therefore subject to USA tax laws.

Perhaps the money is spread among many, Wells Fargo, Bank of America, JP Morgan Chase, Goldman Sachs, Best Western, (the last is a hotel chain, ha, ha) sitting in those nice companies all of whom were complicit in the Greatest Money Heist in mankind’s history, billions stolen from the masses and given to the rich, none sent to jail.

If an honest person, and Rowling-Innit portrays herself as an honest person, you abide by the rules; you listen to your wise and expensive advisers when it comes to paying tax and protecting earnings.

Where do you keep hundreds of millions that wont disappear overnight in an economic crash? No matress is large enough.

36. Molly

According to Kevin McGuire in the New Statesman, the talk is Rupert Murdoch would love the Scottish edition of the Sun to come out and back Independence but the London line is against it.

It’ll be interesting to see if the Scottish team stand up to London , in the interests of journalism

37. caz-m

The Man in the Jar
    “How many floors up is that “captain of industry`s office?”

“Those Yes balloons fair give you a lift or has our wee activist been on the Red Bull?”

Maybe she has very long legs.

38. RogueCoder

Er… sorry to be the crowd funding tart today (no more, I promise!), but Jim Sillars has just tweeted a link to the “MargoMobile” project. http://www.margomobile.com

He’s building a special campaign bus to take Margo’s message across the central belt every day from August until polling day. I can’t think of a more fitting tribute to Margo than this, and it will make Anas Sarwar’s NoBus look ridiculous in comparison.

Share, tweet and Facebook as much as you can, please:
    https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/margo-mobile

39. galamcennalath

Just watched This Week on Iplayer.

Interesting that neither Portillo nor Abbott have looked outside the London bubble. They hadn’t a clue what’s happening. Abbott openly admitted Westminster had no Plan B after Yes. Portillo was pathetic, spouting out the the subsidy junkie line. Everyone else gave up on that one years ago. Kennedy looking like someone on the eve of retirement. Perhaps that’s exactly it.

Tommy was energised and inspirational, in complete contrast. It was a big contrast, the three Unionists barely offered any counter to his points.

40. heedtracker

@ Grouse Beater, Rowling and her tax is never ever mentioned, just her charidy work, which all the super rich do do. Did they ever find who insulted Rowling, do they care, does she? Ofcourse not, they got what they needed and its all about how evil and cruel Yes voters are, see Sarah Smith etc

The word is Rowling’s a rather sad lonely soul now, ensconced in her Embro palace, unable to go out like normal people, avoiding mad fans of her work. Be careful what you wish for.

41. Andrew Morton

£50,000 needed for the Margomobile. Let’s get Jim Sillars over the line in a week folks. It’s the Wings effect!

42. Robert Kerr

O/T maybe. How things are over the water.

http://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2014/jul/11/hundreds-loyalists-convicted-rioting-belfast-minister.

The end of the piece contains

“The West Belfast loyalist accused Sinn Féin and other rival republicans of waging a “cultural war against any semblance of Britishness” in Northern Ireland, which he said had galvanised the younger part of his community.

Over the last year 820 policemen and women have been injured in clashes with loyalist demonstrators – almost one quarter of the Police Service of Northern Ireland’s frontline officers.”

Not good for NI or ourselves.

Yet the OO shall march in Edinburgh to support “Britishness”

43. Les Wilson

The Man in the Jar says:

Wait a minute, I thought BT had the biggest collection of balloons!

44. goldenayr

OT

The guys in Dunkeld have done a braw job with the big YES signs.

Brilliant to see them declaring loud and proud.

45. goldenayr

On the subject of “intimidation”.

Brilliant to see the big YES signs in Dunkeld,they look fantastic.

The local landowners will be raging 😀

46. heedtracker

@ wingman 2020, Jezereena is the Prof but its been common knowledge for ages, so just let him get on with it. Consensus is, he’s not be invited to work on Scots.gov constitutional issues and he’s enraged by this. Plus he thinks everyone should give a shit what he thinks. Watch him being used by Chairchoob Davidson’s Scottish Affairs Committee, democracy in action but only if you really hate Holyrood.

47. galamcennalath

@goldenayr

Yes signs? Tell us more.

48. Grouse Beater

My wife has placed a large YES sticker on her studio glass door for all to see. On meeting new folk I always say ‘And I hope you are voting Yes for greater democracy’ while I shake their hand beaming smiles and bonhomie.

49. goldenayr

test

50. Ken500

What black hole in pension plan?

9% of pensioners in Scotland continue working. 6% in the rest of the UK continue working. (higher private pensions?)

UK gov Pensions = £74Billion
    UK gov pensions in Scotland = £6Billion (paid by Scottish tax payers)
    Pro rata Scotland has a lower pension liability.

51. schrodingers cat

o/t
    BtP
    http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/jul/08/giant-panda-tian-tian-conceived-edinburgh-zoo-confirms

if it is a multiple birth, there maybe more giant pandas in scotland than scottish libdem msp’s 🙂

52. goldenayr

Something weird going on there.Posting and nothing appearing,refresh did nothing and I could see my name appearing on the latest comments list.Yet when I clicked on it,I was redirected to a post from someone else half an hour ago.

As I said WEIRD.

galamcennalath

Large white cutout signs with Scotland,in small letters,above a huge YES at all the entrances to Dunkeld and Birnam.

The guys got them up this week.

53. Helena Brown

Excellent cartoon, I wondered if the wee lassie was jumping on a trampoline under the window, then it reminded me of the advert, for the hell of me I cannot remember what it was for but the dog was bouncing up to the window and until you saw it was bouncing up to the second floor window you did not get the joke.

54. Helena Brown

We have so far, two houses with big RED YES out side here in Dunfermline, I have seen a goodly number of Saltires going up in Gardens also.

55. Grouse Beater

Goldenayr: As I said WEIRD.

Happens to us all, GD. Nothing special, heavy traffic together with spooks trying to check who we are slows posts, often vaporises some … rather like phone messages on lines hacked by our corrupt press.

Heedtracker: Rowling and her tax is never ever mentioned

You can have all the money in the world but still no aesthetic ability.

Her new cathedral standard house gates are a potage of styles, none related architecturally to the old Scots property behind, topped by lanterns that would warn ships in the English Channel of impending doom let alone the Forth of rocks!

Dear J K Rowling – grousebeater.wordpress

56. HawGaw

The cartoon is a hoot. Reminds of ‘The Far Side’. Hits the target like a bolt in a strongbow advert.

57. Grouse Beater

With apologies to Gary Larsen – I have a cartoon in my imagination of Salmond returning home looking tired and bedraggled after another day’s effort dodging attacks from the democracy haters.

On his back is painted a large bullseye target, a homing device is tied to one leg, a ball and chain on the other. There are a few tranquiliser darts stuck in his arse.

His furious looking wife is saying:

“Late again! It’d better be a bloody good excuse!”

58. heedtracker

@ Grouse Beater, great blog! Rowling’s palace/eye sore is a bit of tourist attraction now, if you know kids that love her work.

Poor bullied and insulted JK Rowling thinks she that can tell Scotland, England will love you even more, if you vote no and stop Scotland running Scotland and then she leaves that creepy underlying threatening malice, she hopes. Check out the giant puff she got from Severin Carrell and co.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/jun/11/jk-rowling-donates-scotland-anti-independence-campaign

“If we leave, there will be no going back. This separation will not be quick and clean: it will take microsurgery to disentangle three centuries of close interdependence, after which we will have to deal with three bitter neighbours.”

She said rejecting independence would improve Scotland’s standing with the rest of the UK, improving its chances of getting further powers, and would allow her adopted home country to flourish.

59. Grouse Beater

Heedtracker: after which we will have to deal with three bitter neighbours.

I presume by that statement she means Scotland, England, and her good self.

60. gerry parker

@ Rogue Coder/Andrew Morton.

Margomobile

With you on that guys, shared it far and wide as I could.

61. heedtracker

@ Grouse Beater, she’s certainly has a mumsywumsy attitude to Scotland but look at her writing. Like you said, she got a lot of kids reading so there’s upsides to everything.

Can grown up Scotland really be frightened and coerced by no thanks Rowling, could the relentless sneery ukok malice pouring out of the London media via twerps like Libby Carrell, Crichton Torcuil etc suddenly flip to being al nice in our all new and exciting UKOK standing. Soon find out.

Rowling says vote no “improves Scotland’s chances of getting further powers, and would allow her adopted home country to flourish” which sums up just how excruciatingly patronising unionists are without any hint of self awareness. Oh please please give us “further powers” Westminster from 19th Sept 2014, but JK Rowling said you would so we can flourish.

62. Dorothy Bruce

“The News where we are is from Border TV, will they broadcast the AS v AD debate?
    The lack of STV, in my opinion is one of the contributing factors to D&G returning the only Tory mp in Scotland.”

John Young – couldn’t agree more. The Border TV fiasco which see us receiving news and weather from Manchester needs to be tackled smartly after independence. It beggars belief that people in the south-east of Scotland are fed the news of the Manchester area.

63. Robert Peffers

@The Man in the Jar says: 12 July, 2014 at 10:33 am

“How many floors up is that “captain of industry`s office? Those Yes balloons fair give you a lift or has our wee activist been on the Red Bull?”

No! No! You don’t understand – the boss man knows that ALL those YES children are really, “Hitler Youth”, members and the baloons are filled with the gas used in the death camps.

64. Bugger (the Panda)

Shroedinger’s Cat

Are there any Tory MSPs, on a first past the post count?

Come to think of it, how many Labour ones are there?

65. Grouse Beater

The Border TV fiasco

Knew a Borders TV executive for years – Sutherland – nasty piece of work. I learned never to turn my back on him. One of those people who shakes your hand and invites you to lunch to find out what your plans are – and then ensures you don’t get work by him being on the company executive – a fly word in an ear and that’s it – dead in the water.

He got in trouble years before I knew him when he poached a major US drama series from the BBC to his ITV company.

Got satisfaction recently when his wife contacted me to renew friendships… you can guess my reply.

I thought Grampion a useless TV company, executives waiting in the hope they’d be bought out for a fat sum. I tried to gain its franchise with a much increased output including major drama but was beaten by STV’s infamous £2,000 offer, and skulduggery behind the corrupt scenes.

Not long afterwards STV bought Grampian.

Lots of grubby executive hands rubbed in glee.

So much for media competition!

66. Grouse Beater

Heedtracker Oh please please give us “further powers”

And if we say no in the hope of getting a piece of cheese we will get flayed and hung out to dry, salt rubbed into our wounds.

Anybody who trusts Westminster believing it has Scotland’s best interests at heart is a fool.

67. Robert Peffers

@Grouse Beater says: 12 July, 2014 at 1:49 pm
    “Anybody who trusts Westminster … ” , is a fool.

No need for the redundency bit, Grouse Beater.

68. Les Wilson

Looking again at the cartoon, it could be taken for Ian Davidson, then I thought no, as he is only a taker not a giver!

69. Taranaich

@The Man in the Jar:

Aye those balloons are so threatening. And don’t even mention those badges.

A spokesperson for Better Together stated “It is time for Alex Salmond to make a stand against these balloons”

Balloons are highly intimidating! Just ask Stephen King:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BhDYs2cSTkk

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.