Winky’s World

Posted on June 22, 2024 by

Having solved cat hunger in Greece, the tireless Holiday Boy has now turned his hand to addressing Scotland’s crippling golfing shortage, so we’ve got a different sort of cartoon again for you this weekend.

The clip below is from a 1981 arcade videogame called Venture, by Exidy, in which you play a cheerful character called Winky on a mission to loot treasure from a series of monster-infested dungeons.

For the purposes of this article the treasure in the room above, which takes the form of a castle tower, represents Scottish politics. The room itself is the Union.

Winky, of course, represents the independence movement, whose goal is to escape the room with the prize. And the jealous two-headed crablike creatures who appear when he grabs the treasure and tries to make off with it are, naturally, the SNP.

Because the independence movement thought it had captured Scottish politics when it won control of the Scottish Parliament and sent first 56, then 35, and then 47 MPs to Westminster. But its job was only half done, and it also found itself in a deadly trap.

Because the crabs knew that if Winky ever actually succeeded in escaping with the treasure, they had no purpose any more. At the very BEST, half of them would cease to exist immediately, and perhaps the rest too.

(They had, after all, been entirely invisible until Winky grabbed the treasure, much like the large majority of the SNP’s parliamentarians.)

Winky is armed with a lethal bow and arrow. But alert readers will have noticed that the monsters take time to wither away and die, and in Venture their corpses remain lethal to the touch until the last pixel has completely disappeared.

He can shoot them again, but as you can see, rather than hasten their disintegration, doing so revives them to their newly-shot state and resets the process, and they continue to block his escape until the level timer expires and the indestructible blue “Hall Monster” materialises and ends our hero’s quest.

Readers, every time you elect an SNP MP, MSP or government from here on in, all you’re doing is wasting your time and energy on regenerating an impassable rotting carcass in your path. However unintuitive the fact may feel, that corpse is your true enemy, and the only way to win is to let it die.

0 to “Winky’s World”

1. Mac

Problem is, not voting is not enough. You have to actively vote for someone else likely to defeat them.

But Keir Starmer means war. So I can’t vote for Labour no matter what.

Which is why I am voting for Farage. He is the only person out there running who is speaking a vestige of truth. I suspect he is also anti-war which is not true of any of the rest.

I am sure he will have that beaten out of him very soon though.

We need an anvil upon which to smash the SNP. Reform are that anvil, at least for me.

Unless ALBA suddenly start polling but I am not holding my breath on that one.

2. Ian

The words ‘Farage’, ‘speaking’ and ‘truth’ have no place in the same sentence, unless the word ‘not’ is involved.

3. Ian McCubbin

Reform UK are not the answer. If no Alba, ISP, or independent for Independence then spoiled ballot is the only answer. Unfortunately with only 20 plus true independence candidates it will take till 2026 to finish SNP.

4. Mac

Nope, Farage is the Fuck You vote and I am pushing the Fuck You button.

5. willie

Folks are caught in a quandary of what to do.

They know fine well, or most of them do, that the SNP as this allegorical article points out, that the SNP are blockers and opposers of independence. And they know fine well too that voting for the SNP will only serve to continue to obstruct independence. There can be no doubt about that.

A lingering death for the SNP would be a lingering start to a renewed independence movement.

But folks also see Labour as being something worse than the SNP. Or at least they think so. They remember the rotten stinking corrupt so called Scottish Labour party. They remember the war mongering Tony Blair and his very real attachment to big corporate interests.

So is it bite the bullet time and kill the SNP to clear the ground for new, or a lingering continuation of the sick troughers and sell out merchants.

Wel here’s a thought to help you decide. Look at the last Wings article about trash like the serial candidate for Falkirk one Toni Guilliano. He, like the other denizens of influence in the nonce party are still there with their wacky policies looking for a feed at the trough. Does anyone really think that anything will change with them at the helm?

Well I don’t!

Time to get Scotland on the right path.

Difficult as it might seem for some, there is no other way. We know what must be done.

6. Karen

SNP were not interested in Democracy For Scotland (The Vigil), a genuine grassroots, scunnered movement. Nor were they interested in The Constitutional Convention (a broad church). Some used to be republican (Roseanna Cunningham). SNP have morphed to suit the times, so must the indy movement.

7. silverfox

A powerful message from a wee cartoon. And for once (so far) every BTL comment is sensible.

8. Breeks

Ian McCubbin
    Ignored says:
    22 June, 2024 at 7:49 am
    Reform UK are not the answer. If no Alba, ISP, or independent for Independence then spoiled ballot is the only answer…

It isn’t Ian.

Scotland can reject all UK “democracy” in all its deceitful guises, and instead assemble a Constitutional Convention loosely styled on a Convention of the Estates, and thereby declare the Treaty of Union breached and irremediably incompatible with Scotland’s popular sovereignty, and then seek International recognition that the 1707 Treaty of Union no longer exists and the United Kingdom has reverted back to the sovereign entities of Scotland and England.

For a degree of due satisfaction, we can impeach Holyrood on the way, and see the current crop of troughing charlatans thrown out their Vichy Assembly.

Finally, the Convention of The Estates could instigate a ratification plebiscite which presented Scotland’s electorate with alternative options on Government, where all options on the ballot are sound in Constitutional integrity.

Scotland requires NOTHING from Westminster to declare the Union breached under international law, and at that point, the Union is ended.

However, faced with imminent extinction, not unlike the coldest, hardest, Brexit possible, Westminster will have to address Scotland’s departure, and a more expedient period of transitional arrangements will need to be agreed, just like Brexit, to give both Scotland and England the softest possible landings for their respective economies, and allow time for the required disentanglement of institutions and resources.

We can adopt Brexit as our model; the Union is legally dead, but it’s actual conclusion and terms of dissolution is temporarily suspended until transitional arrangements are in place, but unlike Brexit, allow Scotland’s people the choice to ratify the decision.

We “could” bring down the curtain on the UK whenever we’re ready, and be a fully independent Scotland by Hogmanay 2025-26.

Just don’t let politicians run the exercise, and do not put anybody from the SNP in any position of authority.

The door to our dungeon is unlocked and open. We need only step forward into the light.

9. Breeks

Don’t stop at spoiling your ballot. Discredit the whole fkg Election and the very foundation of UK government.

10. Andy Ellis

@Breeks 8.37 am

How does this Convention prove that it speaks for the majority of Scots Breeks?
    Who calls it in to existence?
    Who decides who gets to sit on on it and who doesn’t?
    Who is paying for it?
    How does it gain recognition from the international community for anything it decides?
    Can you point me to the legal opinion supporting the assertion Holyrood can be impeached?
    Why would this convoluted and contested process, which appears to be based on vanishingly little real-life legal or constitutional research or support either home based or from foreign experts, be a quicker or more certain route than just winning a plebiscitary election and declaring independence?

11. Astonished

That it has come to this. I cannot fault your analysis. The nuSNP have only themselves to blame.

Regarding Alba, someone previously said polling is designed to influence your vote. It obviously has controlled Mac’s vote. He will vote they way our imperial masters want.

I will never vote for an English party. I will be voting for Alba as I have a candidate standing. It is very obvious who our imperial masters fear, they are the parties they are starving of publicity.

So vote Alba, ISP, independent for indy or spoil your ballot paper.

And to those still pushing the lie that “only the nuSNP can deliver independence” I do hope Karma comes knocking on your door soon.

12. Andy Ellis

@silverfox 8.37am

A powerful message from a wee cartoon. And for once (so far) every BTL comment is sensible.

@Mac 7.42 am

Which is why I am voting for Farage. He is the only person out there running who is speaking a vestige of truth.

Honestly, what colour is the sky where you neds live?

Isn’t it a tad early to be on the Buckie?

13. duncanio

Astonished
    22 June, 2024 at 8:47 am

“So vote Alba, ISP, independent for indy or spoil your ballot paper.”

“Spoil” has negative implications.

“Repurpose” ballots suggests a thoughtful process, rather than ignorant larking about, has led to the action.

So not “spoil” but “repurpose”.

14. Mac

Fucks sake Shlomo Kidkiller is is absolutely foaming at the mouth here. That is several paragraphs of personal abuse and counting on two different threads.

He even forgot to suck Stu off first before launching into the personal abuse. He is really annoyed. lol.

15. Ian McCubbin

@Breeks 8.37

While all you say is commendable, but how do we get a convention to take such action?
    Yet you don’t say what alternative to spoiling ballot paper is available other than don’t vote.
    I considered this but wanted to make a point on a totally unionist set of candidates by writing #endtheunion across them all.

16. Ian McCubbin

@duncanio

OK good point.
    I have therefore repurposed my blood paper to make the point, #endtheunion.

17. Ian McCubbin

@duncanio

OK good point.
    I have therefore repurposed my ballot paper to make the point, #endtheunion.

18. Ian McCubbin

@duncanio

Good point.

So I have repurposed my ballot paper with
    ##endtheunion.

19. Astonished

Duncanio – Good point . Repurpose, it is from now on.

20. Andy Anderson

Andy Ellis, 8.46
    It’s in law Andy.
    Salvo Liberation has been looking in depth at Scots Law that is still extant. Not the English bill of rights followed by the colonial administration at Holyrood.
    Elections are about to make Salvo Liberation democratic. Simply put it will use law to show that we are indeed a colony and then use the UN to get us our freedom. Recently research has shown that the Union is legally a myth and is a fraudulent state. Based on the attacks on the Salvo Liberation website it shows our colonisers are worried. Maybe also the blind people in the SNP and Alba whose modus operandi is shown as a smoke and mirrors to stay in power with no plan at all to get us freedom.
    It should be a legal requirement for any MP or MSP of any party standing for Scotland to pass a test to show that they understand the Claim of Right, what our peoples sovereignty means and what is our legal strengths. Had they known this they could have gotten us our freedom in 2015.

21. Hatuey

If voting Farage is going to help defeat an SNP candidate in your constituency, you should vote Farage.

It’s unlikely that voting Alba will give you that opportunity because Alba have done nothing to win popular support on issues such as the war in the east, Gaza, excess deaths, etc.

The situation is such that telling the truth on a range of subjects is considered controversial. But controversy is free publicity for politicians who are willing tell the truth.

22. Mac

Our ‘imperial masters’ very obviously want Keir Starmer as PM.

They even instructed Sunak to end his time as PM early by calling a snap GE to make it happen ASAP.

Starmer is 1-33 on to be PM. Starmer means war.

Who our imperial masters very clearly don’t want (especially judging by the unhinged comments on here) is you know who… Nige.

Right now there is only one candidate who could mount a serious challenge to Starmer. This is the truth.

Farage is the joint second favourite to be PM now but at 33-1 against. But Farage has got a chance, whereas the others are all complete non-starters.

This is a FPTP election so voting for non-starters is effectively not voting at all. You are just acquiescing to Starmer winning a landslide…

My view is fuck that and fuck them. I am going to vote for the candidate ‘they’ clearly hate and who is the only one left with a chance to poke a stick through Starmer’s spokes.

Starmer is bad news… no one seems to be focusing on that at all. Starmer is not working for ‘us’.

Democracy – how it is supposed to work – you vote for the person with whom you most agree – reality – you vote for the person you least fear / dislike.

As the saying goes if we want to make a Keir-Starmer-free omelet we have to break some Farage shaped eggs.

Another compelling reason to vote Farage – for the lolz. Do it.

23. James

Mac; “Farage is the fuck you vote”

Yeah, trouble is he won’t only fuck you, he’ll fuck all of us.

Ultra right wing Tory arsehole, let’s hope he gets chased not just out of Edinburgh but out of Scotland, eh?

Mind you when south of the border vote him in as their (i.e. our) prime minister in 5 years time we truly will be fucked.

24. duncanio

Astonished says:
    22 June, 2024 at 9:29 am

“Duncanio – Good point . Repurpose, it is from now on.”

Ian McCubbin says:
    22 June, 2024 at 9:20 am

“@duncanio

OK good point.

So I have repurposed my ballot paper to make the point
    #endtheunion.”

Nice one guys.

25. Hatuey

Mac is on a roll and Ellis is starting to resemble one of those guys they stick in the ring with top boxers to practice on…

The truth in politics today gives you special powers, much like spinach gave ‘popeye the sailor man’ great power in the old cartoons…

26. Doug

Abstain. With the help of the new ID rules for Westminster elections the turnout should be lower than normal anyway so let’s get turnout in Scotland below 50%. Show contempt for britnats and SNP.

27. Republicofscotland

Yes the IPP aka the Vichy SNP isn’t the answer, don’t vote in the English elections on the 4th of July all you’ll be doing if you do is to send Scottish politicians to a alien parliament to live the good life THEY CANNOT change anything but they can make a good living at our expense, and their parties get Short monies.

There’s NO route out of this illegal union via Westminster, there never will be, so don’t give this foreign parliament any credibility in Scotland by sending Scottish politicians to it to live high on the hog whilst they stick tow-finger up at us back home.

A stirring article worth a look.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/06/22/our-rightful-place-among-the-nations-of-the-world/

28. Republicofscotland

Meanwhile Scotland is being used as training ground for foreign warships including that of the Knee–o-Knatt–zz-i U regime their warships are now docked at my home town of Glasgow, no Scots gave permission to allow this to happen, its a sad day that Scotland is being used as a Kne-eo- Kna=tt-zz-i port.

I don’t want N-at-o warmongers and their Kn-e-eo Kna=ttz-zi friends in Glasgow let alone Scotland.

29. Mac

The choice between Farage and Starmer (as discussed previously) is very analogous to the choice between Trump and Clinton in 2016 in the US.

Trump was a potential loose canon but Clinton was (and is) downright evil. If she had won we would have had the war we now have with Ru$$ia in 2017. Trump’s surprise win thwarted that for four years…

Farage is a ‘roll of the dice’ versus someone we know is very bad news indeed, another Clinton.

Unfortunately I think Starmer is going to win. But there is nothing to be lost by at least trying to stop him using the only candidate with any chance of stopping him, Farage.

There is literally no one else at this point. The projections for Labour seats are off the charts. Everyone is getting wiped out. It is only comparable to the SNP’s 56 out 59 seats but this time it is the whole parliament. It is like the opposition have packed up and fucked off.

We’ve got a lot more to worry about here than picking a party that isn’t the SNP and that doesn’t sully our Lilly white hands. Starmer is a the real threat to all of us.

What scares me in particular was the way Sunak just laid down for him. There is a reason for this.

30. Mia

“You have to actively vote for someone else likely to defeat them”

Actually no. If there is nobody else standing for what you want, the only thing you will achieve by “voting for somebody else” is to preserve the status quo you are wanting to get rid of.

From the perspective of Scotland, the dichotomy is anti-union vs union. The only way to stop this union is by either no longer sending MPs down to Westminster, or by electing MPs who will not take the seats and instead will reconvene Scotland’s old parliament.

There is only one political party standing on an abstentionst ticket, which is ISP. Unfortunately, ISP is only standing 4 candidates which will achieve nothing. We need at least sufficient number of candidates to ensure the number of Scotland’s MPs taking a seat falls below 45. Less than that will make not an iota of a difference.

This is why this election is a complete farce for Scotland. There is no real option to vote for Scotland’s independence. We are being denied that opportunity and all parties, one way or another, appear to be participating in this farce.

Voting for SNP, Labour, Libdems, Tories, Greens, Reform and I dare say Alba, will make not an iota of difference. They are all willing to swear allegiance to the English king and take the seats to continue giving legitimacy to Westminster as UK parliament so it can continue abusing Scotland and ransacking its resources.

If what you want is Scotland’s independence, then there is absolutely no point in voting for any of them.

From the perspective of Scotland, Farage is just as status quo as Starmer is. He is for preserving the union, so voting for Reform only serves to endorse the status quo of the union and therefore will be a complete waste of your vote if what you want is to end the union.

I am sure I am not the only one who has been wondering what the hell is Farage trying to achieve this time.

Brexit has been a disaster for the average household. Our food bills have skyrocketed. The quality of our food, no longer having to follow European standards, has become shite. Supermarkets in Scotland are innundated with English produce, so Scotland’s farms and agriculture have not been able to profit from the gap left by European produce. To hide this, we are presented with oversized UJs plastered on the products and making it even more difficult to find out where the product actually comes from. If you try to buy from Amazon, any product that comes from Europe and that used to be cheap before, is ridiculously expensive now. This is what we need to thank Farage for.

Farage is given a considerable amount of tv airtime considering it is a brand new party that has no MPs in Westminster. We all know the BBC and other TV channels are nothing but propaganda mouthpieces of the establishment. So, if Farage is on TV that much, it is because the establishment wants him to be.

Let’s compare that to the situation of Galloway’s party. How much do you hear about them? How much British TV airtime is Galloway being given? At least Galloway’s party has one MP. Yet, who gets more airtime, Farage or Galloway?

The real purpose behind Farage’s party is everybody’s guess. Personally, what I see is the following:

The powers that be, at whatever side of the Atlantic they sit, have already decided long time ago that pro-war, pro-Ish-rael and pro-genocide Labour would be in n10 this time.

To achieve this they had to pull Labour a mile and a half towards the right, so in practice, it is as close as Cameron’s Tory party as it could possibly be. It is, at all practical effects, the tory party under a labour flag.

There are two problems with this. First, labour and tories are undistinguishable. SEcond, moving to the right leaves a gap on the left, and this gives an opportunity for somebody traditionally left-orientated and very much anti-status quo (from England’s perspective) like Galloway to exploit. Galloway has demonstrated with his own recent election as MP that the ground is ripe for this because the pro-Gaza sentiment is on the rise.

To solve this, they have to do two things:

1. to create the illusion that labour is still the left
    2. to remove from Galloway’s party the credentials of “only anti-status quo option”.

Here enters Farage’s reform, which does both things.

Farage’s reform sits to the right of the old tory party, so labour still looks like “the left”. And Reform presents itself, deliberately, as anti-status quo.

But Reform is not anti-status quo in the matter of Ish-rael-Gaza at all, is it? So how can it present itself as anti-status quo? by directing the attention of voters to a different conflict: UKRN. This is to me a huge red flag that suggests REform is a fabrication of the status quo and not a weapon against it and also gives a hint as to who really is controlling UK politics.

I think Farage’s party is the establishment’s response to Galloway’s party. The only threat to a labour win in England is Galloway’s party and independent candidates.

It is very revealing that during the “announcement” of Farage that he would enter the race, he claimed that his party would take votes from both conservative and labour party. But he never mentioned Galloway’s party despite Galloway winning by a landslide weeks before.

In my opinion, Farage is not anti-status quo at all. He is only pretending he is to hoover up disenfranchised votes that otherwise would go to Galloway’s party or independent candidates.

The whole election is, in my opinion, a massive con. A mockery of democracy. Here in Scotland we are being deliberately denied of the opportunity of a meaningful vote for Scotland’s independence. In England, they are being denied of the opportunity of a meaningful vote against the status quo.

The political system in the entire core is rotten to its core. The only way to change anything is to vote against that system to end it, not within it to indirectly preserve it.

31. Alf Baird

The wee crabs are Cesaire’s ‘colonial watchdogs’ and the indestructible blue “Hall Monster” is the Imperial power. Which explains why the independence movement is going nowhere with the SNP (I mean the ‘crabs’).

Excellent analogy Rev and good to see you are following postcolonial theory closely.

In this UK election the vote seems to be rapidly shifting toward Farage, courtesy of a highly differentiated manifesto that speaks to a great many disenfranchised people. A Farage influenced UK administration would likely cause havoc in the UK ‘core nation’ with a possibility the Establishment may crumble, taking its dubious values with it.

As Mac implies, that could lead to an unprecedented opportunity for the internal colonies. Either way, Scots first need to get rid of the ‘crabs’ or ‘watchdogs’ who have been blocking our escape from the colonial ‘room’.

32. Mia

“You have to actively vote for someone else likely to defeat them”

Actually no. If there is nobody else standing for what you want, the only thing you will achieve by “voting for somebody else” is to preserve the status quo you are wanting to get rid of.

From the perspective of Scotland, the dichotomy is anti-union vs union. The only way to stop this union is by either no longer sending MPs down to Westminster, or by electing MPs who will not take the seats and instead will reconvene Scotland’s old parliament.

There is only one political party standing on an abstentionst ticket, which is ISP. Unfortunately, ISP is only standing 4 candidates which will achieve nothing. We need at least sufficient number of candidates to ensure the number of Scotland’s MPs taking a seat falls below 45. Less than that will make not an iota of a difference.

This is why this election is a complete farce for Scotland. There is no real option to vote for Scotland’s independence. We are being denied that opportunity and all parties, one way or another, appear to be participating in this farce.

Voting for SNP, Labour, Libdems, Tories, Greens, Reform and I dare say Alba, will make not an iota of difference. They are all willing to swear allegiance to the English king and take the seats to continue giving legitimacy to Westminster as UK parliament so it can continue abusing Scotland and ransacking its resources.

If what you want is Scotland’s independence, then there is absolutely no point in voting for any of them.

From the perspective of Scotland, Farage is just as status quo as Starmer is. He is for preserving the union, so voting for Reform only serves to endorse the status quo of the union and therefore will be a complete waste of your vote if what you want is to end the union.

I am sure I am not the only one who has been wondering what the hell is Farage trying to achieve this time.

Brexit has been a disaster for the average household. Our food bills have skyrocketed. The quality of our food, no longer having to follow European standards, has become shite. Supermarkets in Scotland are innundated with English produce, so Scotland’s farms and agriculture have not been able to profit from the gap left by European produce. To hide this, we are presented with oversized UJs plastered on the products and making it even more difficult to find out where the product actually comes from. If you try to buy from Amazon, any product that comes from Europe and that used to be cheap before, is ridiculously expensive now. This is what we need to thank Farage for.

Farage is given a considerable amount of tv airtime considering it is a brand new party that has no MPs in Westminster. We all know the BBC and other TV channels are nothing but propaganda mouthpieces of the establishment. So, if Farage is on TV that much, it is because the establishment wants him to be.

Let’s compare that to the situation of Galloway’s party. How much do you hear about them? How much British TV airtime is Galloway being given? At least Galloway’s party has one MP. Yet, who gets more airtime, Farage or Galloway?

The real purpose behind Farage’s party is everybody’s guess. Personally, what I see is the following:

The powers that be, at whatever side of the Atlantic they sit, have already decided long time ago that pro-war against RS, pro-Ihs-rl and pro-genocide Labour would be in n10 this time.

To achieve this they had to pull Labour a mile and a half towards the right, so in practice, it is as close as Cameron’s Tory party as it could possibly be. It is, at all practical effects, the tory party under a labour flag.

There are two problems with this. First, labour and tories are undistinguishable. SEcond, moving to the right leaves a gap on the left, and this gives an opportunity for somebody traditionally left-orientated and very much anti-status quo (from England’s perspective) like Galloway to exploit. Galloway has demonstrated with his own recent election as MP that the ground is ripe for this because the pro-GZ sentiment is on the rise.

To solve this, they have to do two things:

1. to create the illusion that labour is still the left
    2. to remove from Galloway’s party the credentials of “only anti-status quo option”.

Here enters Farage’s reform, which does both things.

Farage’s reform sits to the right of the old tory party, so labour still looks like “the left”. And Reform presents itself, deliberately, as anti-status quo.

But Reform is not anti-status quo in the matter of Ish-rl vs GZ at all, is it? So how can it present itself as anti-status quo? by directing the attention of voters to a different conflict: UKRN.

I think Farage’s party is the establishment’s response to Galloway’s party. The only threat to a labour win in England is Galloway’s party and independent candidates.

Farage is not anti-status quo at all. He is only pretending he is to hoover up disenfranchised votes that otherwise would go to Galloway’s party or independent candidates.

The whole election is, in my opinion, a massive con. A mockery of democracy. Here in Scotland we are being deliberately denied of the opportunity of a meaningful vote for Scotland’s independence. In England, they are being denied of the opportunity of a meaningful vote against the status quo.

This political system is rotten to its core. The only way to change anything is to vote against it to end it, not within it to indirectly preserve it.

33. Antoine Roquentin

Farage the populist will get the populist vote, it’s as simple as that. He’s a “cosy”, populist fascist, in the right place at the right time. We’ll have two choices on July 5th: it’ll be a case fight him or endorse his strain of English fascism by rolling over schtum. #End the Union

34. Shug

I see Mr Farage has picked up on the obvious, moving NATO troops to with 60 miles of Moscow was not a good idea unless you want to provoke a reaction.

Usual BBC reaction parroting their Westminster masters.

Wonder how this will play out with the masses

35. Towbar Sullivan

A little suggestion – some are talking about spoiling their ballots.
    Now whether that’s right or wrong is one debate, but I would argue that if people are doing that, it needs to be clear WHY they are doing it. To make sure people know it’s not just the voter being too stupid to know how to vote, anybody spoiling their ballots as a pro-Palestinian indy and anti-SNP vote should all spoil them in the same way – say by writing INDY NOW on them.
    Then there’s no avoiding admitting what the spoiled ballots mean.t

36. James Che

Xaracen.

Thank you for your comment yesterday. I apologise for my late response as I had to take my my spouse to hospital,

Quick note, I posted on Stu’s previous thread so as not to interupt this one to much.

37. Towbar Sullivan

Fk sake!
    The post above should read “pro-indy and ANTI-SNP, not “pro-Palestinian indy and anti-SNP ”
    Don’t know why it auto filled that way…

38. SusanAHF

I will probably spoil my ballot. I do not know if there are any biological realist indy candidates standing in this constituency. I can’t vote for Drew Hendry for obvious reasons – faux indy and genderwoo. Unfortunately the 2nd fav is a libdem so more genderwoo

39. Blackhack

Reform UK,
    formerly known as the Brexit Party,
    formerly known as the Referendum Party,
    formerly known as the United Kingdom Independence Party,
    formerly known as the Anti-Federalist League,
    formerly known as British National Party,
    formerly known as National Front,
    formerly known as League of Empire Loyalists,
    formerly known as British Union,
    formerly known as British Union of Fascists and National Socialists,
    formerly known as British Union of Fascists,
    formerly known as The New Party.
    Know who you’re voting for…………

40. Stuart MacKay

Starmer is being put in place to privatise the NHS – notice how Labour talks about appointments rather than employees. The social democratic pact and the welfare state in general is being dismantled across Europe because it’s too expensive for declining economies to support. Instead the future is going to be about American-style survival of the fittest. Thatcher tried to start it and failed. Truss and Cummings tried to revive it but it was too far, too fast. Now Starmer is going to get it started, but more gradually.

Farage is at best just the front-man for the Truss faction of the Conservatives. Once the dust has settled from the election and the reforms are starting the Conservatives will regroup. The Chingford Skinhead must be rubbing his hands with glee.

41. Confused

– you are playing a game, for which someone else sets the rules.

We have all seen the punch and judy show – mr punch, the croc, the baby, the wife – a shrieking drama, for the kids; except we know there is a man under the stage, behind a curtain, with his hand up each puppet. The same guy, all the puppets. A show. You get it?

Elites have factions and personal rivalries, but they present a more or less united front against the people. In the UK, let’s look at the range of debate : consider BBC, Guardian, FT – this is the MI6 faction, and the Mail, Telegraph – this is the MI5 faction; this gives you a wide choice “across the political spectrum”. The candidates reflect this. So the public get a choice between the nuances of style over an already agreed upon “consensus” – neoliberalism (economic looting), neoconservatism (aggressive warmongering), diversity (multiculturalism and perversion) – and domestically everything in this country is designed to stuff the gaping maw of the city of london (a state within a state), while turning a blind eye to its broadband financial corruption and money laundering (and the theft of our resources).

Spooks have their mitts everywhere; they often create entities at the extremes for psychological purposes, to move the overton window or discredit the left, in the past they have created and ran – the national front, national action, combat 18, the revolutionary communist party, umpteen “leftwng” organisations, the BNP, and finally, their greatest creation – an electable fascism – the reform party, from UKIP, going back all the way to the referendum party of james goldsmith, which was created because they threw their rattle out of the pram when they couldn’t control the EU.

“controlled opposition” is a term you might hear at times; this is what Farage is, a creation, to lead the public astray – it’s the hope that kills you … our nige he’ll deport all the p4kis and bring back the factories to the NORF … doubt it.

– and this should all be obvious, for there is a tell; this guy is a fucking midwit at best, the golf club bore, the twat with a pint – “your dad’s best friend” – but he just came out of nowhere onto Question Time, repeatedly, a man with no credentials to be there – and what was worse, the journos have typically taken him seriously, creating a fake gravitas about him, manufacturing a credibility for the public. He is an actor reading a script – and I KNOW WHOS HAND IS UP HIS BACK.

But there is a lot of it about – how many of these “populist” leaders are actually total fucking sellouts? Been watching Europe? – the only one who looks genuine seems to be Orban, who has this amazing macchiavellianism and 12 dimensional chess brain, punting an innovative strategy – he : says he will do something the people want, wins on the basis of that, and does it, then repeats the process. The only reliable barometer of genuine public representation is : how much hatred there is from the establishment. Hate again. For they seem unable to hide it. Even Trump, while properly hated, he’s been to Epstein Island with all the rest of them, so …

MR PUNCH SMASH THE BABY

– you are being played. “In UK, game plays YOU”.

42. Charles (Not the R one)

Shug says:
    22 June, 2024 at 10:56 am

I see Mr Farage has picked up on the obvious, moving NATO troops to with 60 miles of Moscow was not a good idea unless you want to provoke a reaction.
    ……………………………..

Shug, if there are NATO troops within 60 miles of Moscow, they are either in Ayrshire somewhere, or dead in Russia.

Moscow in Russia is about 500 miles (800km) from the nearest NATO member countries, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

43. James Che

Stu,

I also like and understood your analogy, clever and well thought out,

I will simplify it for those that still have not got it.

If We keep voting to put monsters into union room , the union room continues to exist,

And Scotland will get what it deserves further down the line, joined to a one party dictatorship State,That is as woke and restrictive to freedoms as could be for people in Scotland, Scotland has a Choice to make in this election,

Keep voting for the monsters in the Union room and the you will never attain the treasure, you will be consumed by what you voted for,
    Scotland can become independent from the Union, this is just one method,
    And it is not just Scotland you save from this extremism policies , it is England, Wales and Ireland too and no matter what nationality you are living in Scotland, by refraining to vote you do not send monsters from Scotland to settling in with Westminster monsters,
    Do not consent by putting you’re signature in the box is only my personal view as I analyse and understand politics today,

44. Robert Hughes

If I wanted 80% ( pish ) water , GM’d , ” flavour-enhanced ” , chemical-pumped gammon I’d vote for Farage/Reform . I don’t

I totally understand why people like Mac – appalled ,as many of us are, by the grotesqueries of U.K/West Politics – believe voting for F/R is the best option available .

I stated my disagreement with this perception on a previous post – as have – brilliantly , Mia , above : and others .

This has zero to do with ” lily white hands ” and everything to do with having an innate antipathy to snake-oil .

As Mia says ….there are reasons why Farage is being ” enabled ” . None of those reasons have concern for * ordinary * people at their core .

Note… Farage has nothing to say about what’s happening in G..a and whilst his comments re U are correct/welcome I seriously doubt they would manifest in the UK’s disengagement from that U.S created disaster in the event of him and his Party becoming the Government : unlikely as that scenario is ATM , on current trends it’s not at all an improbable future possibility .

How often have we witnessed supposed ” Anti-Establishment ” figures rapidly shed their values once they’ve secured power ( eg Baloney Meloni ) and then finding out it was the Establishment that was behind their success all along ?

Voting for Reform is akin to being given a choice between having your right leg or left leg amputated . Whichever option you choose , you’ll still be left severely handicapped .

45. Frank Waring

Ian McCubbin:
    There are two hurdles that have to be jumped over before the UN will recognise a new independent country. The first is the Referendum that everybody and his dog have been talking about since the dawn of time.
    (Perfectly easy to get over that if indy support gets just a little stronger)
    But there also has to be an effective government in place, which raises its own taxes to pay for everything it does. Every penny the Scottish Government spends is signed over to it by Treasury officials in London, having been collected as taxes by His Majesty’s Revenue and Customs. No money, no entry to the UN!

46. Hatuey

The SNP and Nicola must love to hear of people spoiling their ballots, and it doesn’t matter what they write on them.

Voting very rarely gives you an opportunity to vote for what you want. The forthcoming election is no different from any other — we are really voting to stop the people and policies that we dislike the most, as is nearly always the case.

Voting for a unionist party might seem like an unpleasant idea, but the unionists didn’t betray you by pretending they were pro-independence.

I can respect those who believe in remaining in the union — I might find the idea repulsive and strongly disagree but people are entitled to that standpoint.

I can’t respect a party that betrayed me, a party that lied to me, stabbed me in the back, tricked and deceived me.

Voting for a unionist party to teach the betrayers a lesson isn’t just some act of thoughtless revenge — it is a necessary message that must be sent to all politicians going into the future.

If you genuinely care about independence and want your kids to have a chance of achieving it, you have no choice but to do everything possible to destroy the SNP. Actually, that’s the very least you can and must do, having let Sturgeon and her gang screw everything up so badly.

Sturgeon’s SNP happened on our watch. We should be ashamed of that and we should be ashamed about talking about spoiling ballots too when they could be used towards making amends.

A spoiled vote is as good as a vote for Nicola; and she’s still there, controlling everything, preventing the party from even discussing her and her husband’s most sinister and dubious antics.

Don’t spoil your ballot. Pin it to the SNP’s liver.

47. Mrs Grimble

The problem with voting Reform as a way of saying “fuck you” to every other party is that absolutely nobody will know that you’re saying “fuck you”. It will instead be seen as you actively supporting Reform; if lots of you do that, the increased number of Reform votes will be seen as increased popular support convince the media that Reform is a serious party (instead of just another Farage grift), so giving them more publicity. Is that what you really want?
    You’ll basically be saying “fuck you” to yourself!

48. Mrs Grimble

The problem with voting Reform as a way of saying “fuck you” to every other party is that absolutely nobody will know that you’re saying “fuck you”. It will instead be seen as you actively supporting Reform; if lots of you do that, the increased number of Reform votes will be seen as increased popular support, convincing the media that Reform is a serious party (instead of just another Farage grift), so giving them more publicity. Is that what you really want?
    You’ll basically be saying “fuck you” to yourself!

49. Mac

When Sunak resigned I was watching Alastair Crooke on Judge Nap and he was asked why Sunak had called a snap election, when he was a racing certainty to not just lose the election but get annihilated.

Crooke gave a very explicit reply, he said that in the UK the orders for war do not originate with the PM but instead Sunak was told by the top brass that war with Ru$$ia was coming and that they needed the GE out of the way before hand. (Crooke never said it but hey had been presumably told this by their masters in the Pentagon…)

That is why Sunak called the election. He was told to.

This is why I say Starmer = War.

Keir Starmer is ‘their’ man and his election means the green light for war.

People think Farage is a bad option. Well duh.

That is not important right now. Stopping Starmer winning is.

50. Andy Ellis

@Andy Anderson 9.43am

Receipts required I’m afraid. The only time I’ve seen anyone try to justify their case they’ve had their arses handed to them by people who knew what they were talking about like Roddy Dunlop KC putting Sara Salyers back in her box a few months ago.

If the Salvo Liberation case were so strong, we’d have neutral international legal and constitutional experts supporting their case…..so where’s the evidence?

It’s not the plans of traditional parties that are lacking Andy, it’s the snake oil being touted by Alf Baird, Salvo and Liberation Scotland which has no serious support, and would take longer and be more contested than just actually doing the work and constructing a pro-independence majority to win via plebiscitary elections.

No confirmatory referendum is necessary, no Constitutional Convention of doubtful legitimacy and provenance required, no fruitless navel gazing about 300 year old treaties nobody cares about and which are about as relevant as the Schleswig-Holstein question.

51. James Che

People here may think it strange that I want to save England, Wales and Ireland, when I strongly want Scotland to be independent,

Regardless my logic is this, when Scotland gets its independence and is Sovereign and will have its own borders in land and sea,
    IT is now, and will always be geographically attached to England as neighbours to those peoples in England,
    However this works equally so the other way round, Scotland will always be geographically next door to England which will become a independent Country as soon as Scotland does,
    For the union is only between the two Countries, Scotland and England,

For those that wanted Brexit, they would get it by an entirely different route,
    For those wanting a independent Scotland it would be achieved,

I do not perceive a massive problem with a borders between Scotland and England as is often Hyped up by MSM and MSM politicians. Making mountains out of mole hills.

Many of us already travel across borders and using different currencies and learning languages for Holidays and businesses without problems,
    The only difference is that it is not necessary to either side of our border to have to fly to visit.
    But England would also regain its border control to sea and land just like Scotland,

There is huge benefits to the people of all four nations of these Isles for Scotland and England to end the old treaty of union.
    The great re-set and ” build back better” of our Countries may not be what the Elites intended…..but hey-ho it benefits everyone of the people.

52. Geri

Ellis

It has you shitting yourself.

& Stop name dropping Dunlop. He’s not a constitutional lawyer & didn’t put anyone in their box. He openly admitted

A. He wasn’t a constitutional lawyer.
    B. He only had time for a glance cause he wasn’t being paid, obviously.

So stop trying to claim he said something he didn’t.

53. David Hannah

Let’s tax the migrants. Supply and demand.

A simple minimum tax code on migrants set at average wage fixes the problem.

It won’t be economical for most economic migrants to be in the UK if they have to pay more tax than the get back in state services. So they will leave of their own accord.

That’s the simple fix for the housing crisis. Can be done in a week end. Taxed at source, the money flows at the end of the month. Then they leave, state spending goes down drastically. Housing is freed up

One policy, fixes the mess

54. Breeks

Andy Ellis
    Ignored says:
    22 June, 2024 at 8:46 am
    @Breeks 8.37 am

How does this Convention prove that it speaks for the majority of Scots Breeks?
    Who calls it in to existence?

For the umpteenth time of saying so, it doesn’t have to. It doesn’t require a democratic mandate to declare a contract or treaty breached, just the act of breaching it will suffice. The Treaty of Union has been breached repeatedly, but nowhere more graphically than Scotlands undemocratic and unconstitutional subjugation over Brexit..

As for who calls it into existence… the far more appropriate question is what calls it into existence, and the mandate for defending Scotland’s sovereign integrity comes Westminster’s assault on that sovereign integrity.

But to be specific about who; does it matter who instigated the 1689 Convention of the Estates which judged the conduct of James VII unworthy of a monarch and deposed him? The mandate does not come from “who” actually got to their feet, but “whether” the Constitutional impropriety warrants the calling of a Convention to address the issue.

I submit that Scotland’s unconstitutional subjugation very much does warrant a modern day equivalent of a Convention of the Estates.

55. Geri

Also Ellis

What absolute bollocks you speak.

The UK is indeed very interested in 300 ye old bollocks.
    It’s why the UK & that fcking parliament even exists.

& Why, I may add, Dunlop has a title.

Alba have had how many years to organise itself for elections & a clear case of what happens in the event of a landslide victory by a Plebiscite they still FUCKING SAY NO!

Have you arrived at an answer yet? What have you Muppets agreed between yourselves? Have you put that plan & prospectus to sovereign Scots yet?

*Waiting*

56. Mac

Think about it…. You are handing ‘Sir Keir’ a unprecedented giant landslide mandate with hardly any opposition MPs left in the house of commons and crucially four clear years without any opportunity to vote him out or stop him.

It is not the NHS I’d be worrying about (although that is no doubt fucked as well).

Are todays generation ready for conscription. That is going to be one rude awakening.

57. Andy Ellis

@Geri 12.19 pm

I know Dunlop isn’t a constitutional lawyer. Neither is Salyers. So what…? Given a choice between the output of the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates and a former Media Studies lecturer, who are most people going to trust I wonder….?

I’m not in the least concerned about Salvo, still less shitting myself. I find them rather endearing in a way, a bit like people who are obsessed with the minutiae of any issue, but can’t see the wood for the trees, but in the end they’re only useful for amusement.

I’m not claiming Roddy said things he didn’t: you’re trying to belittle his contribution – which is easily available to anyone with Google access – which in a few pages rubbished the confections which passed for Salyers argument.

The point still stands: if there was any intellectual, political, constitutional or legal reality behind Salvo’s claims they’d have authorities falling over themselves to make the case, take the UK to court and prove this slam dunk case all the true believers in non-parliamentary routes to independence keep assuring us is a sure thing.

Meanwhile, people with a grasp on reality will just continue working towards independence that actually has a chance of working and let the fantasists carry on tilt at windmills.

58. James Che

Mac,

Scotlands children would not be made to loose their lives at war or have their arms and legs blown off under Westminster as cannon fodder conscription if Scotland was a independent Country,

59. Geri

Still no answer.

Stop rubbishing other ppl & concentrate on yer own answer to what happens when the UK refuses to accept a landslide Plebiscite victory from a fckn branch office.

Get back to us when you have an answer.

In the meantime, Sarah & Co are working on that answer by legal means. Not loading Westminster with 56 fcking grifters again that wastes everyone’s time. It’s like Hot Shots part deux “We’re sending in the men to rescue the men” Westminster & it’s branch office at Holyrood is the butt of their joke. Nothing will be achieved in either until the treaty is put to bed.

60. James Che

Andy Ellis,

Scotland does not require a Civic Nationalism one State government control you keep enspousing,
    We are not asking for it, and you will not persuade us of it, and calling out and othering Scottish people whom object to global policies ain’t gonna convince us either of it after Scotland has lived experienced it for the past three hundred years.

61. Campbell Clansman

Andy, you’re trying to convince the Salvo moonhowlers with logic.
    And facts.
    It’s futile. They’re moonhowlers.
    There’s only a dozen of them, but they post incessant, overlong, repetitive comments here–because nobody visits their own websites and blogs. And then they praise each other’s comments.

There’s a good reason the Moonhowler candidates have garnered about as much public support as has the Monster Raving Loony Party.

62. David Hannah

The Scottish Greens have called on the next UK government to lift “the undemocratic and discriminatory Westminster veto against the Gender Recognition Reform.”

However, the demand from the party’s equalities spokesperson, Maggie Chapman, is unlikely to be successful, with Sir Keir Starmer yesterday telling Scottish journalists there would “be no change of position on that” if his party formed the next UK Government.

63. David Hannah

Nicola Sturgeon will address SNP activists before a ‘Super Saturday’ mass canvass session takes place in Glasgow’s North constituency.

The former First Minister will be the special guest speaker at a members’ event at Firhill Business Centre on Saturday, the second last before the General Election on July 4.

——————–

Anyone that votes for this shower deserves all they get. I hope the good people of Maryhill bring the eggs. Get to fuck Sturgeon.

64. David Hannah

Going to the Firhill business centre is not campaigning and chapping the doors of Maryhill Nicola.

It’s a stage managed press conference. She’ll be with her partner in crime – Val McDermid – that chubby orc – The lesbian comedian that isn’t funny and that other one.

65. James Che

Geri,

Mia, made an excellent commentary the other day in relation to Negotiations when Scotland is a independent Country,
    The UK Westminster parliament is not the parliament of England, if it was there would be no treaty of Union.

Scotland does not have or hold a treaty of union with the parliament of Great- Britain, the parliament of Great Britain and Northern Ireland or with the UK parliament as it did not exist prior or during the treaty of union,
    Scotlands treaty is with the parliament of England,
    Westminster parliament As it is today is not able to negotiate with Scotland over territory, land or sea, as a parliament of England as it did not enter into a treaty of union with Scotland it is only exists as a result of a treaty between the parliament of Scotland and the old parliament of England.
    Scotland could re-convened its old parliament, because “in Scotland” for the same event it used Sine Die.

66. Sven

David Hannah @ 13.12.

Gosh, David, you surely don’t place any credence in a politician, far less Sir Keir, who promises, “no change in that position”.
    This from a man who can’t say what a woman is when one of his own honest women MPs is being threatened and attacked for stating that there are two sexes. But can ‘agree with Tony’ when the warmonger Blair decides that women don’t have penises.
    Sir Keir, the man who makes a flip flop appear stable and a weather vane seem positively static !

67. Republicofscotland

Look for the love of Christ just don’t vote in the English GE, it doesn’t matter how many indy minded MPs we send there THEY CANNOT change a f*ckin thing, all you will be doing if you vote in this foreign election is to give Scottish politicians a good living and their parties a cash boost via Short Monies.

“KEIR Starmer has bluntly refused to participate in negotiations for another Scottish independence referendum.

During a visit to West Lothian, the Labour leader said he would not participate in any talks if the SNP wins a majority of Scottish seats – something the SNP have agreed would give them a mandate to give “democratic effect” to independence.

Earlier this week the First Minister urged Scots to vote for his party to put pressure on the next UK Government to allow another independence referendum.

Speaking to Bauer Media during his visit, Starmer was asked if he would deal with the Scottish Government if the threshold was met.

“No,” he said.”

68. James Che

Breeks,

When Scotland disposed of its monarch king James V11 in Scotland We agreed that the future line of Succession of the Stuarts and heirs of her body would be to the throne of England,
    That officially made them the “monarchs” the Monarch of England.
    Not a “shared Monarch ” until the monarchy of England and the parliament of England extended its Monarchy kingdom and laws to Scotland later on in 1707 ……after the treaty of union.

Not a Shared Monarch with Scotland, when the treaty of union was formed. Not able to give royal assent for Scotlands side of the treaty.

69. James Che

Northcode

Good reminder, Appreciate the link,

70. David Hannah

A missing 600K. 10,000 dead people. Stamps.

Question Sturgeon. On all of the corruption today at the Firhill business centre.

71. Republicofscotland

“I’m not in the least concerned about Salvo, still less shitting myself. I find them rather endearing in a way”

Ellis.

Why would a Wingate W*nker like you be concerned, its for your handlers to be worried about Salvo and Liberation, that’s why they’ve have created fake Salvo and Liberation websites to distract folk because THEY ARE shitting themselves.

72. Robert Hughes

@ Andy Ellis

From Peter Young @ IndyScot News – published in Yours For Scotland…….

” The task of educating our population about our historic annexation by England and the realities of Scottish sovereignty has been shamefully neglected by three majorities of nationalist MPs, not to mention MSPs. Does anyone know what Sturgeon does every day to merit her massive salary? Imagine having a fabulously paid job where turning up seems to be optional? ”

THIS is what Salvo/Liberation are all about . The totally ( should be ) unremarkable/self-evident point that the pursuit of Scottish Liberation from the shackles of a sclerotic * Union * must be grounded in the fundamental belief that we have the absolute right & authority to end this * Union * ANY TIME WE LIKE . And no fckn here today gone tomorrow Politician/s has/have the power to deny us this right and that any – supposedly- pro-Independence politician who defers to WM as the the supreme arbiter of this epochal question is nothing more than a lickspittle collaborator .

You can belittle and refer to ” tilting at windmills ” all you like , but it’s becoming clearer by the day Alex Salmond is as much the delusional ” Knight of Sorrowful Countenance ” as Swinney , the SNP/ALBA are a lame , blind n knackered Rocinante & Salvo/Liberation are the wise , patient Sancho Panza

Craig Murray’s word can never be repeated often enough …..

THERE IS NO WAY TO ARRIVE AT SCOTTISH INDEPENDENCE VIA W.M .

To repeat …..ALBA’s best – possibly only – chance of achieving anything of significance lies in that Party forming a united front with Salvo/Liberation – as ISP have already done – and making the case for Independence from as broad & deep a position as possible , based on historical fact AND present circumstances

FFS it’s not an either/or situation : we NEED both .

If they don’t , they’ll soon join the ranks of those who lacked the conviction to act on Scotland’s legal and constitutional Sovereign status and prove themselves to have been yet one more feeble chimera .

73. sarah

@ SusanAHF at 11.14: no candidate who isn’t genderwoo [in Inverness, Skye and W Ross].

Socialist Equality Party are standing – I googled them but they only talk about being anti-war in Palestine and Ukraine, anti-capitalism and anti-Labour Party.

74. Anton Decadent

Neither Alba nor ISP are standing in my constituency and there are no independent candidates standing either. A very narrow choice of options in Scotlands most d neighbourhood.

75. Northcode

Good afternoon, Mrs Che. Hope you’re having a good day.

76. Angela Fitzgibbon

I’ll be repurposing my vote. It will be #EndTheUnion. There is no ALBA, ISP, I4I in my constituency and there is no way I vote for Alyn Smith. Sad, but the SNP have let us down.

77. Republicofscotland

Geezo Oh, Roooshhi-a-n co-ordinated strikes in U last night did a terrible amount of damage to not just military hardware and personnel but to energy infrastructure.

It was such a huge co-ordinated strike that the Polish launched fighters over their own skies fearing the worst, unlike Ellis they were shitting themselves.

78. Hatuey

I feel a bit left out in all these conversations about Salvo, Alba, voting, united fronts, etc.

The reason I feel left out is down to the fact that I am not so stupid as to believe any permutation of bullshit is going to make any difference in this election as far independence goes.

This election provides one clear opportunity to do one thing and one thing alone — punish and destroy the SNP. That’s it. There’s no other possibility and nothing else matters; either the SNP gets pummelled or we tell them they were right to treat us like mugs and betray us.

Find out who is most likely to beat the SNP candidate in your constituency and vote for him. Nobody gives a fuck about your feelings or your clever way of looking at things…

79. A2

Nobody gives a fuck about spoilt ballot papers. They go in a pile and are forgotton about.

They achieve nothing.

Less in fact than staying home as it wastes your time.

The only person that ever reads whatever you scrawl on them is you.

80. Republicofscotland

Wow! Ch-i-na has created a working superconducting tokamak, often referred to as an Artificial Sun. It can reportedly be manufactured on a large scale, reducing the cost of Energy Singularity’s tokamaks. Moreover, the HH70 device, according to the company, is only 2% the size of conventional tokamaks – providing a major advantage in the race to produce a commercially viable device.

Ch-in-a might just have found a way to solve its huge energy consumption problems.

81. David Hannah

Sven on Sir Kier:

“This from a man who can’t say what a woman is when one of his own honest women MPs is being threatened and attacked for stating that there are two sexes. But can ‘agree with Tony’ when the warmonger Blair decides that women don’t have penises.”

Outstanding contribution Sven – I totally agree.

Can someone help me? I’m looking to find up to date opinion polling on Scotland’s views towards Gender Self ID?

I’ve found this interestingly Sir John Curtice has compared Gender Critical feminists to an “aids moment.”

“The critical feminists have the had the better of the argument. The question we have to ask is whether Isla Bryson is an Aids moment. The Aids scare moved public opinion for a while against same-sex relationships in the late 80s. The point is will it necessarily indicate the long-term trend, as Aids did not, or is it the case that eventually we will get more liberal?”

82. Ian McCubbin

@Frank Warring

What nonsense a referendum is a colonial route to no where.
    Out of the 100s of countries which have seceded from a bigger state less than a handful have done it by referenda.
    Our case and situation mirrors the state of Ireland 1918 to 1922 when the Irish Republican party docked the cap to greater E gland like nuSNP is doing.
    We take it when we have a majority of MSPs from parties with backbone.
    No unbiased country in Europe will oppose us.
    The opposers will be England, USA, Israel and other far right countries bent on subjection.
    We don’t need world approval.
    So go read some international law books like Buchannan, Justice, Legitimacy and Self Determination.

83. Mia

“They achieve nothing”

They will achieve far more than what casting votes to send MPs to Westminster has achieved for the last 300 years.

The only thing Scotland has achieved by sending MPs to Westminster is to legitimate that parliament as the UK parliament and to empower it to continue abusing Scotland and bleeding it dry.

If you want independence for Scotland then the way to start that process is by disempowering Westminster so it can no longer claim it is acting on Scotland’s behalf. You do that by removing Scotland’s MPs from that parliament, just like Ireland did.

You have two routes in front of you to remove MPs from Westminster:

Route 1 – by casting a vote for party/candidate standing on an abstentionist ticket that will not swear allegiance to the crown and will not take the seat.

Route 2 – by denying MPs a vote altogether. You can do that by abstaining completely and not casting a vote, or by spoiling your ballot or by repurposing your ballot.

Until 8 May 20

Until now nobody paid attention to spoiled ballots because the number was low. If the number starts to climb, they will have to be paid attention to because they represent a valid route to cast a vote against the whole system.

Until now, mass disenfranchisement has been successfully hidden behind “low turnout”. Spoiled ballots cannot be hidden behind the excuse of “low turnout”

84. Mia

“They achieve nothing”

They will achieve far more than what casting votes to send MPs to Westminster has achieved for the last 300 years.

The only thing Scotland has achieved by sending MPs to Westminster is to legitimate that parliament as the UK parliament, and to empower it to continue abusing Scotland and bleeding it dry.

If you want independence for Scotland then the way to start that process is by disempowering Westminster so it can no longer claim it is acting on Scotland’s behalf. You do that by removing Scotland’s MPs from that parliament, just like Ireland did.

We have two routes in front of us to remove Scotland’s MPs from Westminster:

Route 1 – by casting a vote for party/candidate standing on an abstentionist ticket that will not swear allegiance to the crown and will not take the seat.

Route 2 – by denying MPs a vote altogether. You can do that by abstaining completely and not casting a vote, or by spoiling your ballot or by repurposing your ballot.

Until 8 May 2015 we had a third route: by our MPs voluntarily leaving Westminster and reconvening Scotland’s old parliament. Sturgeon and her brigade of devolutionist gravy slurpers, otherwise known as the SNP, made it crystal clear to us that once MPs take the seats, they cease to work for Scotland, so we can no longer trust them.

Until now nobody paid attention to spoiled ballots because the number was low. If the number starts to climb, they will have to be paid attention to because they represent a valid route to cast a vote against the whole system.

Mass disenfranchisement has been successfully hidden behind “low turnout” for decades. Spoiled ballots cannot be hidden behind the excuse of “low turnout” so easily.

85. AnneDon

Folk voting for Reform to “make a point” – remember all those democrats who voted for Trump because Clinton was chosen over Sanders?
    Remember what happened after that?
    You’ll be the Trumpers of Scotland if you do that.

86. Mia

“They achieve nothing”

The only thing Scotland has achieved by sending MPs to Westminster is to legitimate that parliament as the UK parliament, and to empower it to continue abusing Scotland and bleeding it dry.

We have two routes in front of us to remove Scotland’s MPs from Westminster:

Until 8 May 2015 we had a third route: by our MPs voluntarily leaving Westminster and reconvening Scotland’s old parliament. Sturgeon and her brigade of devolutionist gravy slurpers, otherwise known as the SNP, made it crystal clear to us that once MPs take the seats, they cease to work for Scotland, so we can no longer trust them.

Until now nobody paid attention to spoiled ballots because the number was low. If their number starts to climb, they will have to be paid attention to because they represent a valid route to cast a vote against the system. A spoiled ballot represents a vote for “none of the above”.

If at any point the proportion of “none of the above” becomes bigger than the number of votes the party with the largest share has achieved, from a democratic perspective, they will render the system invalid.

Mass disenfranchisement has been successfully hidden behind “low turnout” for decades. Spoiled ballots are a reflection of mass disenfranchisement that leave a trace and therefore they cannot be hidden behind the excuse of “low turnout” so easily.

87. Robert Hughes

” Nobody gives a fuck about your feelings or your clever way of looking at things… ”

But everybody is awestruck at your ” clever way of looking at things ” , eh , H ?

What I don’t give a fuck about is this utterly meaningless G.E .

” Smash the SNP ” , aye , great , what then ?

Where is the entity that could – meaningfully – replace them ?

Even if the SNP return zero MPs it makes not one iota of difference : much as that scenario is exactly what they deserve

The only thing that could possibly make a difference is a battering for the SNP leading to an internal revolution in that Party , one that leads to the clearing-out of the dross and a return to their core mission ; and I see no prospect of that happening , whatever the outcome of the G.E

Needless to say ….this is not , emphatically NOT to suggest ANYONE should vote for that ridiculous bunch of con-merchants : by all means , send OUT the clowns , just don’t expect that doing so will end the circus .

My remarks re Salvo/ALBA are about the future , eg the next S.E and beyond

What happens in WM is of complete irrelevance to me ; as it is completely irrelevant to Scotland .

88. Ruby Saturday

Testing

https://tinyurl.com/mstafn9y

Joe Rogan, Elon Musk and JK Rowling: How Scotland’s culture war infected the West
    The seeds were sown in the divisive independence campaign of 2014.

If the world has gone mad, critics will say that Scotland led the way.

Article from March 2024

89. Ruby Tuesday

Testing

https://tinyurl.com/mstafn9y

Joe Rogan, Elon Musk and JK Rowling: How Scotland’s culture war infected the West
    The seeds were sown in the divisive independence campaign of 2014.

If the world has gone mad, critics will say that Scotland led the way.

Article from March 2024

90. Michael Laing

@ A2 at 2.58pm:

Obviously it can’t be true that nobody reads what’s written on spoiled ballot papers. How would anyone know they were spoiled otherwise? They have to be checked and counted exactly as all other ballot papers are checked and counted.

91. Anton Decadent

Anyone wanting to know who is behind Keir Starmer look up LFOI. Anyone wanting to know who is behind Yvette Cooper, she has a pro Windrush piece in todays Guardian, look up LFOI. Anyone who wants to know who was behind Windrush…

92. Michael Laing

@ Mia at 3.33/3.28/3.37pm: I do wonder if spoiled ballot papers might meet the same fate as many ‘Yes’ votes apparently did in the 2014 referendum, if it should suit the purposes of the powers-that-be: ending up in the bin, as was shown in at least two videos at the time. Admittedly, we’re not really losing anything by refusing to give our endorsement to Westminster. I have an Alba candidate in my constituency, but I’m persuaded by the argument that it makes not one iota of difference who we vote for: we always get the government England votes for.

93. Ruby Saturday

Labour = War
    Last Labour Government equalled war.

I think everyone has forgotten all about that.

Remember the Chilcot Inquiry. Nothing happened.

Labour about to be in power again. War criminal Blair advising Starmer & Sarwar that men have penises and woman have a vagina

https://tinyurl.com/4yrbry9b

Douglas Alexander accused of war crimes by nationalist rival

94. Ruby Saturday

https://tinyurl.com/5n7yphrx

The Imperial Master says No referendum for Scotland and some absolute shite about gender recognition.

“I think there’s a lot to learn about gender self-ID from the way in which it’s been dealt with here in Scotland, which is why we’ve got a different proposition in our manifesto.”

Labour in Scotland voted for self-id.

Different proposition?

95. Alisdair Mclean

ISP and Alaba are not fielding candidates in my constency. The UK elections are first past the post. Therefore, I am going to use my vote by not voting FOR any part but rather voting AGAINST. This entails me putting my ‘X’ with the SNP because the characteristics of this newly gerrymandered consituetcy, the Tory boy has a real chance of winning. I don’t want to be represented by a Tory.

96. Liz

Our diverse fab FM is at Edinburgh pride today pledging he’ll ask, respectively on one knee, Starmer to drop the S35.

Standing behind him on the Woke float, is Kaukab Stewart, our super wonderful EO, where she doesn’t believe in equality for women.

These charlatans need booted so far into touch, they never show their faces again.

As for war against Russia, no doubt it’ll be over by Christmas but you can forget that any of those shouting for it will have offspring anywhere near the front line.

Like Zelensky’s boy, they’ll be sunning themselves somewhere in the US.

I agree with @RepublicofScotland Scotland being used for war games by the West is a fucking disgrace.
    Out poor country is battered and bruised by these criminals.
    It has to end

97. Ruby Saturday

The ideal situation vis a vis voting would be if nobody turned out to vote.

That will never happen.

The next best thing would be low turn out + high % spoiled ballots.

Either way I don’t think anyone in power will pay a blind bit of attention.

Does anyone thing politicians care what the electorate think?

They just be pleased to have gotten a seat on the gravy train.

Do you think being I’m cynical or just not a very good liar.

Did we ever find out how many ‘Believers in Biology’ there are in Scotland?

98. Ruby Saturday

https://tinyurl.com/3vh4stta

JK Rowling: Labour has turned its back on women

On Thursday Starmer said he now agreed with Sir Tony Blair, the former Labour leader, that “biologically, a woman is with a vagina and a man is with a penis”.`

Both Starmer & Sarwar need Tony Blair to come along and tell them this biological fact.

Every party except the Woman’s Party have turned their back on women.

99. Andy Ellis

@James Che 1.07pm

Scotland does not require a Civic Nationalism one State government control you keep enspousing,
    We are not asking for it, and you will not persuade us of it, and calling out and othering Scottish people whom object to global policies ain’t gonna convince us either of it after Scotland has lived experienced it for the past three hundred years.

You and yer handful of xenophobic, bigoted muckers BTL here don’t speak for Scotland either thankfully James! You can’t persuade sentient spam. Your distaste for globalism and western values won’t convince the overwhelming majority of Scots who don’t share your fringe nutter views, however loudly and often you howl to the moon.

Nobody sane cares about what happened 300 years ago. Most folk live in the here and now and care about day to day issues.

They know how independence can be achieved, and it isn’t via wishing really hard and expecting the courts or people abroad to drop it in our laps because we can’t persuade a majority of all Scots to grow a pair and put an X on a ballot paper.

Nothing else will do.

100. Anton Decadent

@Ruby 4.48pm and children.

101. Andy Ellis

@Geri 1.04pm

Still no answer.

Stop rubbishing other ppl & concentrate on yer own answer to what happens when the UK refuses to accept a landslide Plebiscite victory from a fckn branch office.

Get back to us when you have an answer.

I have answered. The fact you weren’t listening or lack the wit to understand simple propositions is your own problem.

There’s no reason the British nationalists would refuse to accept a pro-independence majority in plebiscitary election, but would accept it from a plebiscite. There’s nothing in international law, history or legal precedent which makes the latter definitive while the former isn’t. In fact many countries with much less going for them than Scotland have achieved independence without recourse to referendums.

We’re no worse off if Westminster were to refuse to recognise plebiscitary elections than if they refused to recognise the outcome of a referendum, whether S30 sanctioned or not.

If they WERE ever to simply refuse to recognise a clear majority of Scots voting in favour of independence, in response to a clear question, then it’s up to Scots to make it abundantly clear that they aren’t asking, they’re taking.

If we lack the collective courage to do so, then we don’t deserve to be independent and are a disgrace to those who wrote the Declaration of Arbroath 700 years ago, who would rightly scorn such lilly livered descendants.

Is that clear enough for you, or do I have to draw you a picture for you to get it? Or perhaps wipe the spittle, if that’s what it is, from your screen….that ought to work.

In the meantime, Sarah & Co are working on that answer by legal means. Not loading Westminster with 56 fcking grifters again that wastes everyone’s time. It’s like Hot Shots part deux “We’re sending in the men to rescue the men” Westminster & it’s branch office at Holyrood is the butt of their joke. Nothing will be achieved in either until the treaty is put to bed.

And yet still no answer from you (or indeed any other moonhowler) about which legal, political and constitutional experts are backing up the Salvo snake oil.

It’s not that hard, surely?

All this feverish circle jerking by the handful of sad inadequates taken in by the unicorns and rainbows arguments, yet nary an article by anyone of note to support their hare brained ideas. If it’s so easy to end the Treaties of Union, to impeach Holyrood, to invoke Salvo, to convene and Convention, recall the Estates…..how come nobody has done anything about it for 300 years?

More to the point, why hasn’t anyone done it now? If it’s so self evidently true, and such an obvious route to shortcutting British nationalist machinations…..why haven’t Sara Salyers and her mates already done it?

Shouldn’t they be in court now, filing papers, getting all the great legal minds they’ve convinced to work pro bono for the inevitable victory of their slam dunk case.

Get back to us when they do won’t you?

102. Ruby Saturday

https://tinyurl.com/2nend2jf

Blair defends opening the door to mass migration and says it had a very positive impact on Britain

Former PM said it was ‘right’ that the country was made up of different cultures and faiths mixing together

Two years ago, Andrew Neather, a former adviser to Tony Blair, said that Labour’ s relaxation of controls was a deliberate plan to ‘open the UK to mass migration’.

He added that Labour wanted to rub the ‘Right’s nose in diversity and render their arguments out of date’.

103. Ruby Saturday

Yes Anton & children.

Actually it would be fair to say political parties have turned their back on men women & children.

Too many wicked people in politics.

104. Ruby Saturday

Labour brought in the Gender Recognition Act 2004.

Labour gave us multi-culturalism & uncontrolled immigration

Labour took us into an illegal war with Iraq.

Labour burdened us with PFI contracts.

105. ScottieDog

It’s horrendous though, the thought of the likes of wee duggie Alexander and the calorific Macdougall on the gravy train. Scotland being jobbied on from altitude.

106. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi A2.

You typed,
    “The only person that ever reads whatever you scrawl on them is you.”

Not true. When the count is completed, the spoilt papers are presented to the candidates by the Returning Officer for their agreement that they should not be counted.

107. willie

And meanwhile the new Westminster government under Labour will next year force all of our 18 year old children to undertake mandatory military national service.

And if they don’t they will be denied bank accounts and have their driving licences rescinded to prevent them driving.

Fascism, forced military draft, removal of the rights to have the means to earns and spend or drive, folks need to fight this. But they will get no succour from Starmer and his equally neo fascist Labour Party. Starmer has not uttered a cheep about the proposal which is well advanced because like Sunak and the Tories he is for it. He is part of the neo liberal neo fascist corporate regime that has not just Scotland but England in its grip.

Be interesting to see how drafting and trying to force youngsters into British military service will go down in Northern Ireland.

Methinks the place will rock with that. Indeed I suspect the policy will turn the whole UK into one big shit bowl.

108. Big Jock

Glasgow Warriors win URC final in S Africa. What a performance!

109. Hatuey

Mia again demonstrating how child-like and out-of-touch her grasp of politics is, along with a few others that in the past I would have expected more from.

As if anyone gives a toss what some pleb from Fuckwitsville North writes on his spoiled ballot. I can’t believe I even have to say that.

For the first time ever I’m embarrassed at what visitors might think of us in here.

From an SNP perspective, spoiled ballots are a win — their real fear is that we will use our votes to oust them. They’re laughing at those who those think spoiling ballots is a good idea, just as they’re laughing at those who are going to vote SNP because they want independence.

I’m not laughing at you. I’m calling you mugs.

110. Anthem

A big shout for Glasgow Warriors. A brilliant win in South Africa!
    No one expected that one. Well done!

111. James Che

Northcode.

Good evening young man,

I am fine today and spouse was outside lying in the sunshine on cushions I made for him to make him comfy, all after noon as he has been extremely unwell for past five days, taking him plenty of liquids as he became dehydrated through this week,
    The rest of my afternoon I spent washing a Carpet outside by hand, and then went crazy and decided to do all the rest of the household rugs in the bath, I am just in and finished chicken curry I cooked yesterday,
    But happy all in all because spouse is bit better today,

112. James Che

Mia,

I am not voting for anyone myself as you know because I am not sure some of them could be plants,

We once trusted the Snp an I keep that in mind, they turned out to be for the other side, who’d have thought it,

However I am with you on spoiling your ballot paper just give do not give the morons a X of consent in the ballot box or like Stu says the monster will continue to inhabit the union room and wander down to gorge themselves an sit fat areses on the leather seats in Westminster parliament

Keep posting Mia, I like your logic and common sense.

113. Republicofscotland

“And yet still no answer from you (or indeed any other moonhowler) about which legal, political and constitutional experts are backing up the Salvo snake oil.”

Ellis

Even if I did know I wouldn’t tell a Wingate W*nker like you, Salvo/Liberation are rightly playing their cards close to their chests.

Chinthe t*ssers want to know every detail of any proposed plan, and claim its all for the benefit of the public.

114. Mia

“Mia again demonstrating how child-like and out-of-touch her grasp of politics is”

It seems to me that the one here who is completely out of touch with reality is you. Even a child realises that you will not get independence if all what you are doing is changing a unionist MP with another, or if you are voting for someone who is ready to drop allegiance to the country as soon as they get a sniff at the green leather of the seats and instead swears allegiance to a foreign crown in exchange for a salary and access to subsidised bars.

In the absence of sufficient candidates standing on an abstentionist mandate of not taking the seats so the number of representatives of Scotland falls below 45, it is evident that there is no political route in this election to vote for independence. I am of the opinion this is deliberate.

If there is no political route and you are still determined to vote for independence as I am, then you have to use the routes that are at your disposal: to either not vote at all or to spoil/repurpose your ballot. I choose the latter option.

If that is being out of touch with politics, then so be it. I will wear being out of your politics as a badge of honour. I don’t want to be “in touch” with your kind of “politics”. In fact, I want to bypass your kind of “politics” in its entirety because I want to see the end a failed and undemocratic political system which has only served to prolong this deception of the union and the subjugation of Scotland for 3 centuries.

“As if anyone gives a toss what some pleb from Fuckwitsville North writes on his spoiled ballot”

Fuckwitsville North. Ahh! The colony of the north. Was that a slip of the tongue?

Well, I am sure somebody does care what the plebs from the colony of the north write on their ballots, otherwise we would not have so many drones like you here huffing, puffing and throwing child-like tantrums trying to stop people messing up with their beloved failed political system.

“From an SNP perspective, spoiled ballots are a win — their real fear is that we will use our votes to oust them”

I don’t want to just oust the SNP though. I want to oust the whole lot of them. I want to vote against the entire system. That is why, in the absence of enough abstentionist candidates, the only option available to me is to repurpose my ballot. if that is my only option, that is what I will do.

Why are you so utterly desperate to preserve this toxic status quo that is strangling Scotland economically, socially, culturally, demographically and diplomatically? Because simply “ousting” SNP candidates by voting other unionists in serves only the purpose of preserving the status quo. Isn’t preserving the status quo precisely what the SNP has been busting its guts doing for the last 10 years?

“I can’t believe I even have to say that”
    You didn’t HAVE to say anything, actually. You just chose to.

115. Shug

Interesting Farage now has the front page running up to the election. Shows the benefit of picking a fight. You get noticed and the answer you.

Unlike swinney who they gave dismissed.

What a lesson

116. James

Farage would have the front page anyway – he’s the BBC/Establishment plant.

117. James Che

Farage chararistcs, usual gets to the point of winning and then ups and leaves for fresh fields, before the job is complete, the only way he will stay the course is if he actual gets to be leader of Westminster,
    He has had that as a ambition for a long time, to be leader of Englands Britain.

118. James Barr Gardner

A few years ago in Freedom Square Wee Doggie Alexander ran awa’ behint the stage because a guy wearin’ a Scottish Resistance t-shirt an’ carryin’ a big pole wi’ a Saltire jist wanted tae talk to him, the coward never reappeared !

So this could be LieBore’s offerin’ fer Foreign Secretary, whit a laugh nearly as big as watchin’ him run, defo out the same feart mould as Iain Gray. BTW it wisnae Sean Clerkin.

119. Iain More

Reform UK are anti Scottish Yoon Bigots. I think some folk need to smell the coffee. They will split the Anti Scottish Yoon Bigot vote so that is fine with me.

120. David Hannah

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/c0ddel1x9l2o

Apparently there was a pride march in Edinburgh today – John Swinney attended wearing a Saltire that’s been changed to include the transgender flag.

Seeing this annoys me. As the headline is that the next UK Government should allow gender bill.

121. David Hannah

https://www.scotsman.com/news/people/11-of-the-best-pictures-from-edinburgh-pride-march-2024-4675997?page=3

End conversion practices – is the banner John Swinney chooses to march behind.

He obviously hates doctors and hates women.

122. David Hannah

I can’t believe I used to go to these pride events – it used to be a day. Now its a whole month.

I would never attend them now. It’s tragic.

123. David Hannah

Worse yet. I think its the ultimate insult to our national identity.

That thousands of people and our leaders come out to march on these days.

They want to destroy the west and implement the Georgia Guidestones.

with this new Nazi fascist flag.

124. Scotsrenewables

Well oh fucking dear

Argyll and Bute has no Alba or IFI candidate, and it is a straight contest between Tory and SNP

Much as I despise the SNP, I still hate the Tories more.

I will be holding my nose so hard I may break it, but I will be voting SNP.

125. Cynicus

Blackhack, 22 June, 2024 at 11:25 am

“Reform UK,
    formerly known as the Brexit Party,
    formerly known as the Referendum Party,
    formerly known as the United Kingdom Independence Party,
    formerly known as the Anti-Federalist League,
    formerly known as British………”
    ======
    Your potted political history of Reform is rubbish.

First, the UKIP has a continuing, separate existence, albeit skeletal.

The Referendum Party, a creature of Sir James Goldsmith, was a temporary, single issue construct as it’s name implies. It had nothing to with the evolutionary political chain you present. It died along with its founder in 1997. It was NEVER connected with UKIP.

Your claim about the precedence of the Anti-Federalist league is accurate – about the only statement that is. But to claim the BNP as its predecessor is utterly absurd. The AFL started life as a Euroskeptic pressure group inside the Tory party, founded by a Scotsman named Alan Sked who opposed the Maastricht Treaty. He previously had been a Liberal and indeed stood for that party in the 1970 general election. He became disillusioned with the Tories and founded the AFL as a separate party, later renaming it the United Kingdom Independence Party

The fascist genealogy you construct for Sked’s AFL/UKIP is the apotheosis of historical ignorance and failure to fo basic research.

126. Cynicus

Anthem

22 June, 2024 at 8:04 pm
    A big shout for Glasgow Warriors. A brilliant win in South Africa!
    No one expected that one. Well done!
    =======
    Indeed, but for the Euros, this URC final would have been the leading sport story for the past week, following Warriors ‘defeat of Munster. To top that by going to Pretoria and beating the Bulls Is a stupendous achievement.

Well done, Warriors!

127. Breeks

Shug
    Ignored says:
    22 June, 2024 at 8:36 pm
    Interesting Farage now has the front page running up to the election. Shows the benefit of picking a fight. You get noticed and the answer you.

Unlike swinney who they gave dismissed…

With Swinney poncing about at a Pride March, I’m actually glad he’s punted into obscurity so I don’t have to watch the Independence Movement and Scottish electorate being trolled by such a characterless non entity as Swinney.

Not long now until he’s confirmed as an irrelevant footnote in the story of Scotland.

Whoever bought this Trangender influence over Sturgeon and her clique which has destroyed the SNP, must be dreadfully disappointed if they wanted Transgender issues promoted and wider acceptance of weirdos secured, but absolutely over the moon if they wanted Scottish Independence derailed.

Option three? Perhaps they were killing two birds with one stone. Gotta hand it to Mi5. They’re pros.

128. Robert Louis

Astonished at 0847am,

I think you are correct in voting for pro indy Scottish parties, like ALBA, but NOT SNP. Like yourself, I will NEVER vote for an English party, and certainly not one run by an over-entitled, privately schooled, elitist English MERCHANT BANKER (no pun!) tosser who caused brexit, yet has an EU passport himself.

Like many in the independence movement I am sickened at those in the SNP who just decided THEY had gotten themselves a really cushy lifestyle, living down in London, with all the flummeries and nonsense in the HoC. Elected to get us free from English colonial control, only to then go down to London, get very cosy, and do NOTHING about independence.

Now I see the SNP wittering on about ‘independence’ in the vaguest of terminology, hoping mugs will vote them into their cosy London over-paid jobs yet again.

No, the SNP needs to get be left to die. They talk of independence, and that is all. No fight, NO action. For the last ten years they have progressed independence not one inch.

The SNP have no fight, they have no ‘fire in their belly’ for independence. They (especially their London troughers) see it as just a thing they use to get elected. Careerists, every single one.

I shall be voting ALBA, as they have a candidate in my constituency, and genuinely want to fight for independence.

Other ALBA candidates can be found here;

https://www.albaparty.org/alba_candidates_2024

129. Cynicus

Breeks

23 June, 2024 at 6:55 am

“I don’t have to watch the Independence Movement and Scottish electorate being trolled by such a characterless non entity as Swinney.”
    ===========
    Swinney actually manages to make even Starmer appear solid and dynamic by comparison!

130. Effijy

The scary thing in the polls suggest that around 20% of English voters will still vote for the totally corrupt Tory Party and Farage is close to them with 18%.
    Right wing policies have broken and destroyed the country and covered politics in sleeze and England want more of the same or a further move to the right.

I feel that I can generally see some points of view in theories opposed to my own thoughts
    But what the English are using for brains just never crossed the Scottish border.

On spoiled papers- there is no one detailing any message put on these papers and has the paper spoiled by people unable to make up their mind who put 2 x’s in place.
    Vote for the raving loony party is more of a protest.

131. Robert Hughes

Seeing images of that gorm-free jelly baby Swinney & his band of dolly mixtures taking selfies @ – what is it now …Pride Decade, why don’t they just declare Pride Eternity ? – all looking so pleased with themselves , so keen to show us how * on message * they are with the D.I.E Right-Think doctrine ; then reading of The Undertaker joining-in the Twin Cunts – Starnak & Sumer’s ” condemnation ” of Farage re the latter’s remarks re Upaine has shaken my intention – in the absence of any real pro-Independence candidate in my constituency – to repurpose my vote with #ENDTHEUNION .

My loathing for these prancing ponces is so acute I’m seriously considering voting for the candidate with the best chance of beating the SNP – the anonymous-until-election-time Drew Hendry , last photo I seen of him he was posing in Inverness with The Stooge , the photo captioned with him saying how proud and pleased he was by the Queen of Shite taking time out of her busy schedule of telling the World how fckn great she is to visit The New Scot Highlands .

Not sure if I’ll be able to actually put an X beside the name of any Unionist candidate – it goes against my every political/emotional instinct – but these fuckers don’t just deserve a good electoral slap : they deserve to be erased from the political landscape . Permanently .

Nu SNP have went from an awful slapstick comedy-of-errors farce to a bizarre , sex-obsessed ” psychological thriller ” – minus the thrills but with the farce retained .

In fact they’ve invented a whole new genre – Tartan Farce Noir

132. Ian McCubbin

@Mia

Glad she sees the present unionist voting system for Westminster as I do, that is outdated and not doing anything for us voters in Scotland.
    Again glad she is behind repurposing her vote as I am.
    There are no fit for purpose candidates in Angus and Perthshire Glen’s. All are self serving carrerists, one even has her adfess as somewhere in South East England.
    So repurposing my vote will make a point. Why because there maybe a large number of us.

133. Andy Ellis

@Effijiy 8.47am

Average polling for the Tories in Scotland between December 2019 and June 2024 is 18.5%, so it’s not as if Scotland is that much better to be honest! However much we might detest the Tories and all they stand for, even in an independent Scotland, there will always be a significant number of centre-right voters, just as there are everywhere else.

Hopefully the only positive here is that fewer Scots are inclined to support far right zoomers like Reform, just as they’re unlikley to support far left cranks.

https://www.electoralcalculus.co.uk/polls_scot.html

134. Bortwiskels

When the SNP announced their vague and wobbly independence “policy” forward, I was genuinely surprised. Everything preceding it strongly suggested that they just weren’t going to bother. It wasn’t a great effort, akin to a weakish poke at goal. The keeper had it all the way, and though it was technically on target, it wouldn’t realistically ever lead to a goal.

Just as I was busy wondering what had changed the SNP leaderships position – was it pressure from the other pro-indy parties, like how UKIP influenced Tory policy? Feedback from campaigners or members? Could it even be a rare moment of SNP self-awareness, realising at last that they’re polling at the equivalent of just 70% of independence support? (I didn’t even consider that it might be a genuine appetite for self determination!) – Sir Kier Shaarmer charged in and hoofed the inoffensive SNP poke at goal into the roof of his own net!

I worry about the incoming government a lot, the inevitable wars, austerity, privatisation and so on, but that they imagined that the SNP policy demanded a comment, let alone the response he gave, tells me they can’t read text, data or the room.

The polls tell us that labour are pulling significant pro-indy votes from the SNP, why tell them “we won’t ever entertain the notion of Scottish self determination even if you vote for it?” Why announce that aloud? It tells 50% of the Scottish electorate that he’s categorically opposed to Scottish democracy, and that, because he is forming the next government no matter what, there’s cock all point in voting, for the SNP or otherwise. The more people who learn this lesson, frankly, the better.

What gives me hope is that analogy of the pro-indy vote in Ireland shifting wholesale when they realised the incumbents weren’t going to change anything, and the current fairly sudden emergence of a new party in England. Yes they’re an awful new (old) flavour of Tory, but reform coming from the back to punt the Tories into 3rd shows it can still be done.

135. Cuilean

100% on this article. 100%

I am holding my nose and voting for the party best able to boot out the SNP corpse in my area.

Alba are playing too nice.

Whatever you say about our ‘Holiday Boy’, I’m on the right side of history. The side which can’t walk past starving cats. Sunak or Starmer would drop kick one into the middle of next week, if it dared interrupt their holiday! Not that you see many starving cats in 6 star resorts. Feed stray cats!? Not unless the press had been summoned in advance.

136. Republicofscotland

Its depressing to read that Jimmy Reid’s grand-daughter is standing for BLiS. See’s seeking a spot at the HoC’s trough.

“The grand-daughter of legendary trade unionist Jimmy Reid has warned his famous “rat race” speech has never been more relevant as she battles to become an MP.

Joani Reid is standing for Labour in East Kilbride and Strathaven where she is fighting to overturn a huge SNP majority in a constituency hammered by the cost-of-living crisis.

For 18 months, the married mum of two has been knocking doors on a relentless campaign drive and is now favourite to be elected after the SNP’s Lisa Cameron caused outrage by defecting to the Tories.”

137. Alf Baird

Robert Hughes @ 8:55 am

“Tartan Farce Noir”

Aye, Swinney and the SNP gang of hypocrites have some brass neck accusing Farage of being a tractor. Farage probably has more chance of delivering Scottish independence than culturally assimilated Scots elites ever have; Cleese’s ‘obedient retainers seeking social status’ in a colonial society that aye renders them subordinate. Colonialism can also speak wi a douce Scots accent and patter, as Fanon implied.

Sae better the devil ye ken, an whit ye can see, especially as we enter the third (and final) phase of decolonization:

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/05/25/the-three-phases-of-decolonization-lessons-for-scotland/

138. fruitella the hun

Well well, not a peep from the Purple Pumpers on here about the Supreme Court sinking their dreamboat of extracting oil whilst maintaining a commitment to reduce CO2 emissions. Seems the court is on the right side of physics (and logic).

139. Dorothy Devine

I have repurposed my vote and will post it next week.
    There was no other option for me.

140. Hatuey

Cuilean: “Alba are playing too nice.”

They had opportunities. I spelled them out on here about 6 months ago: on the war in the east; the ongoing genocide; and on the handling of the pandemic and issues related to the poison they injected into our arms.

You might say they are controversial subjects but controversy is free publicity. And they are only controversial because we live in a world of lies. The truth of all those things is coming to light. Today, for example, it isn’t controversial to oppose the ongoing genocide (something I was slated for doing on here by people like Mia and Ellis).

Had Alba championed those causes and issues, as I suggested they should, they’d possibly be looking to save a few deposits in the forthcoming election, or even win a few seats. As a de-platformed upstart, what did they have to lose?

(It’s worth remembering that the anti-war position the SNP took on Iraq played a huge part in its earlier growth and success.)

Nobody can predict what planets and stars will form in the cloud of dust left behind by the implosion of the SNP, but we need something new.

A real national liberation movement would oppose British meddling in other countries, just as it opposes its meddling here. The formula for the sort of mass movement it would take to achieve Scottish independence is well defined and understood by anyone with more than a career-interest in history and politics.

141. Rab Clark

This is our latest collection of comments from here.

If you haven’t checked it out before (we’ve been doing this since the start of the year) please have a swatch, imagine what it might be like to see Wings btl for the first time, then consider how different it is when the usual trolls and gobshites are taken out of the picture.

https://www.offtopicscotland.com/post/nhtw-32

142. James Che

Why the Scottish peoples vote for selecting Scottish MPs is worthless.

Article 111,

That the United kingdom of Great Britain be represented by one and the same parliament to be stiled the parliament of Great Britain.

In case you miss the point,
    1: the Devolved Scottish parliament is not styled “The parliament of Great Britain.”

2: it is not one and the same parliament “One and the same” parliament of Great Britain

3: the Scottish devolved parliament Breaches the Treaty of Union article 111.

4: anyone you vote for to be a Scottish MP in Scotland has no representation in the Parliament of Great Britain,
    The (farce of a parliamentary union) between the two kingdoms, the kingdom of England and the kingdom of Scotland just distances and broadens all the time,

IF we are electing Scottish MP to represent us to the pretendy parliament in Scotland, it is a wasted vote because we are not electing them to the to be same parliament to be stiled “The parliament of Great Britain”

We are electing ghost MPs from a false start pretend parliament that has No official Status or place in “The parliament of Great Britain”,

143. Towbar Sullivan

@Hatuey
    Generally good points and I’d agree with all of it – except the vaccine scepticism because I don’t know the full science on it. There was profiteering certainly, but I don’t know that there was any malice beyond that.

Opposing the war and genocide is spot on though

144. James Che

We elect ghost MPs in Scotland

1 : because we elect them for a Scottish parliament that was dissolved in 1707, and that parliaments dissolution has never been reinstated or repealed.

2: because the devolved Scottish parliament is not one and the same styled ” The parliament of Great Britain” as referred to in article 111 of the treaty of Union.

3: because the devolved Scottish parliament and, whom we elect to it Breaches Article 111.

The parliamentary Union along with the elections become more and more a farce between the two kingdoms.

145. Republicofscotland

An English Labour government at an alien parliament will step up the process of clawing back powers from Holyrood. Union Jack suit man Ian Murray will have his hands on the purse strings for Scotland.

Its akin to US POTUS Biden controlling the purse strings for the Rooshhi-an D-um-a.

Wake the f*ck up Scots and end this illegal union.

“The Labour manifesto contains a pledge to “restore decision-making over the allocation of structural funds to the representatives of Scotland” – but rather than give control over the funding back to the devolved government in Edinburgh, it will simply be shifted between UK government departments.

“Labour’s shadow Scottish secretary Ian Murray said that a Scotland Office under his control will be “turned into a spending department”.

Murray is expected to be handed control over Scottish allocations from pots such as the Shared Prosperity Fund, which was brought in to replace EU structural funds lost to Brexit.”

Before the UK left the European Union, these funds were given to the Scottish Government to spend as they chose, but under the Tories, they were controlled by the Department for Levelling Up, the Department for Transport, and the Treasury.”

The Labour manifesto contains a pledge to “restore decision-making over the allocation of structural funds to the representatives of Scotland” – but rather than give control over the funding back to the devolved government in Edinburgh, it will simply be shifted between UK government departments.”

146. James Che

Which brings me to a second issue,

If the Scottish parliament is illegal within the context of treaty of union Article 111, and is not a reinstated or reconvened or repealed Scottish parliament as its original Status, then what the hell is it?

Because the SNP and all party members who enter it, cannot pass Scottish legislation or Scots Laws in that set up of neither being a Scottish parliament nor being “The one and same stiled parliament of Great Britain,

Ever get the feeling We’ve been taken for fools,

147. Hatuey

Good afternoon, Towbar.

On the poison, note that the State of Kansas is currently undertaking legal action against Pfizer on the basis that they (Pfizer) knew it was dangerous and concealed the evidence. Very easy for you to validate that, of course.

There’s much more than that though and if you want to find out more I’d recommend following John Campbell on Youtube.

Alternatively, just sit and wait a few months because we are talking about the biggest medical scandal in human history and everyone will know about it soon enough.

Here’s an interestingly prophetic tune for you all on this Sunday afternoon, from 1992…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B2U1SJorwK4

“Injected with a poison, injected with a poison…”
    “there’s a rainbow inside your mind…”

148. Republicofscotland

How the landed gentry in Scotland who have off-shore accounts fund “Scottish Tories”.

https://archive.is/fRzq5

149. Grouser

After a lifetime (76 and counting) of supporting the SNP I will be voting Alba in the GE. I warned my MP and MSP in writing at least twice that SNP policies were anti-democratic, anti-independence and a mish-mash of immature wish-list ramblings. I held them and all elected SNP representatives personally responsible for allowing the clique to dictate these policies. Therefore, they are responsible for their own demise because they disregarded the warnings of many supporters.
    There is an article in the National today on my MP and the conclusion is maybe he will hold his seat and maybe he won’t. I still won’t vote for him.
    As an aside to that, when the old supporters left in droves they took a lot of experience of elections with them. This left people running elections who had no experience of working to strict rules. Hence it was a joke to use postage stamps meant for parliamentary work. Who was going to find out? Weren’t they clever? That is what you get running campaigns when the only experience these people have is wishful thinking eg sex = gender and hey presto, it does!
    Hell skelp it into them.

150. James Che

Republicofscotland.

Donyou not need to return your attention of the details of Scotland and Scots,

This is why I suggest this to you, everything that is happening around the globe is based on treaties. For good or bad, wether still valid or not,

In the earlier stages of history many Countries signed treaties with Great Britain when is Supposedly became one united kingdom of Great Britain,
    Wether it was Countries like America, Germany etc or the UN, or the EU, Nato or the Who.

It is all hinged on (ONE TREATY, The Treaty of Union) ,. That supposedly created Great Britain, if that one treaty fails then all other global agendas and ideology crumbles along with it releasing all nations.

I am not sure that you comprehend how important Scotland is in that treaty of Union and why there is so much effort made by nearly every nation and Globalist ideology to keep Scotland believing they are in the treaty of union and there is no way out for Scotland , to keep Scotland under the thumb and under tight control.

Every reference you make to Military or wars rests on One treaty, the fallacious one between Scotland and England.

If you do not agree with the wars, the state of the economy, the failing infrastuctures or dodgy election processes it all falls on one treaty made in 1707 that would pull the rug under from under all those other treaties made since the one that made Great-Britain,

Why do you think we have so much opposition from all sources and big elites trying to put us back in our box,
    We are fighting a England that is cornered by a dodgy treaty and a America that does not want their war practice base taken from them.
    Hence every one from Obama,Cameron, Spain, to the late Queen make arrangement and speeches and telephone calls to stymie Scottish independence,

We are told we are too Wee Too poor, Too Stupid, and We beleived it,
    But Scotland is one of the most important Countries in the World to others.

151. James Che

Which catagory does the Scottish devolved parliament fit into,?

Not a Scottish parliament but passing hate crime laws for Scotland ?

Not the “one and same parliament of Great Britain” but accepting british laws?

The Scottish devolved parliament is a illegal Colonial Hybrid Parliament that is not agreed to by the Scots or their old Scottish parliament in any of the Articles of the treaty of union.

152. Hatuey

Anne McLaughlin (SNP) has a 14% chance of keeping her seat, according to Electoral Calculus…

lol

153. James Che

Westminster parliament over hundreds of years has gone over the top in effort in its debased treatment of Scotland and Scots to ensure and takes on the mind set that Scotland feels that it is to Wee, Too poor and To stupid.

Scotland is one of the most important Countries in the world today, strategically, politically, geographically. And the most important regards all other treaties made within context and concept of being a one United kingdom,

Westminster parliament politically should have been much more aware of their actions and bias in keeping Scottish people more content and happy regarding fairness within the fallacious union,
    For it can only be blamed on Westminster parliament itself that Scots and Scotland want to leave it behind when it treated “us like a Colony” of England rather than a equal in a treaty of union.

154. Billie

Here’s a good one from one of today’s papers about a national park being a national toilet.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/travel/12988996/landfill-smell-loch-lomond/

Why on earth would you dispose of millions and millions of tonnes of every conceivable waste from plastic to sludge to food waste to old batterie to old paint, unused pesticides to asbestos is a tip only hundreds of metres away from homes and the bonnie banks of Loch Lomond – and the National parks ultra expensive headquarters.

And now it leaks landfill gas and chemical laden leachate in what can only be described as a toxic timebomb hidden from sight.

And we think its only poor developing third world countries that treat their people and environments like a toilet.

And they talks about nett zero, green living – ha ha ha!

155. James Che

Grouser,

The SNP cannot pass Scots laws, they are not a Scottish parliament, they are not the ONE and SAME parliament of Great Britain either.

They are under a illegal Status in Scotland. They are an invented entity being neither one or the other, they are a ” amalgamated corporation conceptual entity ” that cannot pass Scottish laws or policies of or in Scotland over the Sovereign people of Scotland,

We just think they are real because the parliament down south put them here.
    But the Westminster parliament down south breaches the treaty of union article 111 in doing so.

156. grouser

James Che: I don’t think you are replying to my comment.

157. Republicofscotland

“I am not sure that you comprehend how important Scotland is in that treaty of Union and why there is so much effort made by nearly every nation and Globalist ideology to keep Scotland believing they are in the treaty of union and there is no way out for Scotland , to keep Scotland under the thumb and under tight control.”

Oh I’m well aware of it James.

The USA needs Scotland in the union we are at the bottom of the the North Atlantic’s Defensive Arc that gives an early warning to the Yanks of any warships military planes heading to North America, Iceland is at the top of the Arc.

England cannot afford to let Scotland go not just for economic reasons but for military reasons such as having their nuclear subs at Faslane, and Christ knows what else deep in the mountain at Coulport.

It all hinged on a Treaty that could never be, simply because our politicians and lords and nobles of the day (bought and paid for as they were) could not giveaway what they did not possess in the first place, and that is sovereignty in Scotland, that belongs to the people and they did not give their consent to any union.

Infact as the illegal rushed through treaty was signed in the basement of a corner shop in Edinburgh (the official lie is that it was signed in some Summer House without any untoward) the English spy Daniel Defoe, (he added the De to his name to make himself appear more interesting) reported that there was mass rioting in the streets above.

England cannot stop us from dissolving this illegal union, our biggest roadblocks to kicking this rancid illegal union into touch are the House Jock, and the foreign lying media that keeps the myth of the union going.

158. Republicofscotland

The Zi–on-ists ARE committing g-en-oc-ide and they should be arrested and dealt with in the appropriate fashion, as should those who aided them in g-en-oci-de.

This report has been smothered by the media.

Western powers, well most of them will be looking at the g-e–noci–de through this lens.

“In 1925, German writer and satirist Kurt Tucholsky reportedly remarked, “The death of one man is a catastrophe; a hundred thousand deaths is a statistic.”

“The University Network for Human Rights (UNHR), a U.S.-based advocacy group training undergraduates in human rights law at colleges and universities worldwide to counter abusive state, corporate, or private conduct, published a 105-page analysis of international law and its application to Is–ra–el’s military actions since O-ct-ober 7, 2023. Drawing on extensive evidence and historical legal precedents, the findings leave no doubt that Is-r-ae–l has committed horrific breaches of the 1948 G-en-oci-de Convention in G–a–za.

A collaborative effort by some of the West’s most prestigious law schools, the report has now been submitted to the United Nations. The institution has yet to comment on the UNHR investigation’s irrefutable, bombshell contents. The mainstream media has also remained silent. Given the complicity of Western journalists in whitewashing and justifying unconscionable crimes in G–a-z-a, this is not surprising. However, the silence has been so pervasive that the report may have even gone unnoticed by committed Pal–est–ine solidarity activists.”

I can’t add link due to banned words so go to Mintpressnews dot com for story and the full report.

159. James Che

Grouser,

I hope you accept my My apologies, as usual iI am doing a hundred things at one time in one day,
    I will go back an reread your post as soon as,

160. Grouser

James Che
    – No problem. You got me in a rare moment of clarity in my usual befuddled state.

161. James Che

Repulicofscotland,

I see you do understand that the problem does not lie with any other Country other than Scotland and England and dissecting what is the reality of the treaty of union,
    Because it appears that what we have told is not true,

For instance Queen Anne was officially the Queen of England and in line and succession to the throne of England when she gave Royal assent to the Scottish side of the treaty of Union and used a “reproduction Great Seal of Scotland” that was made in England during the time of William and Mary.

So Englands monarch was not Officially the Monarch of Scotland when the treaty was confirmed by Royal assent,
    But was Extended to Scotland a few months after the fallacious treaty was signed / ratified,

I know its seems to be taken time for the jigsaw pieces to fit together, but that is because they don’t,
    However it is helpful for all Scots to study the topic, that is what Salvo is doing and coming up with some amazing information for the rest of us we were unaware of , We cannot sit aside and just complain, we must intend to be active and highly informed ourselves in gaining knowledge.
    For independence won’t just walk up to meet us at our door,
    Sorry if it sounds like lecture, but the only thing that binds us is that agreement, is the monarchy issue and the reality of wether the treaty of union is valid,
    Hanging on to politicians tails and hoping The politicians are going to do this is not an avenue that has had success, they are not going to do it for us, The Sovereign people in Scotland will.

Do we have to follow laws and policies that have No legal standing as “Scots laws” from a parliament that is not official a Scottish parliament is a new question I have been asking myself recently? Like the hate crime bill, as private rights in Scotland are wrote into the treaty of union
    So if the treaty of union is valid, then that article would also be valid and not to be messed with,
    Question every thing.
    I will give you a good example of my questioning the legalities of something the Scottish government passed but did not pay attention to the details in next post, that they have had to back track on when I challenge the local Council,

162. TURABDIN

Don’t go down to LIDL or TESCO….they support this.
    https://unherd.com/newsroom/why-does-sadiq-khan-support-this-trans-mastectomy-poster/
    Khan, the bosom buddy of Sturgeon.
    Be Proud!

163. James Che

Grouser.

In that moment of clarity, you are quite right, I had read a number of posts, including yours and whilst trying to maintain a thread of thought in relation to some comments I indeed posted to the wrong person.
    I am not too big or to old to say I got something wrong when it happens whilst distracted,
    My hope you accept my sincere apologies Grouser, in my moment of non-clarity.

164. TURABDIN

Opportunity presents.
    The political stables stink, what river might be diverted to cleanse them?
    Let politicians, their minders and backers swim in the shit of their own making.

165. twathater

@ Geri, James Che and Robert Hughes, the plebiscite franchise fanny girns incessantly about auld treaties and historical parchments deriding and denigrating ANYONE who refers to them as moon howlers,cranks, and other endearing terms, in his response to a James Che comment he posted

“Nobody sane cares about what happened 300 years ago. Most folk live in the here and now and care about day to day issues.”

And the absolute fuckwit in response to a Geri destruction of his repetative mince replies

“If we lack the collective courage to do so, then we don’t deserve to be independent and are a disgrace to those who wrote the Declaration of Arbroath 700 years ago, who would rightly scorn such lilly livered descendants.”

This baloon claims to be intelligent and loves insisting he KNOWS what others are thinking, YET when it suits his pish he immediately refers to some auld ancient parchment

WHAT A FUD

166. James Che

Republicofscotland,

The Scottish government passedva law that all Scottish homes had to have fire alarms fitted in houses,
    The local Councils contracted the job out as usual and a Company did the fitting.a year or so ago,
    In January this year the council set us a letter saying they were coming to check the smoke alarms
    And they would impose a fine if they did not gain access,
    I telephoned the Council and said at this moment in time it was inconvenient as my husband was really ill with Cancer and he was just out of hospital having had a toe and partial foot amputation.

So we arranged a future date,
    However he was still really ill , and when they persisted, I further explained that the amputation was an open wound and we would prefer no one in the house that may bring infection in, we were receiving no other visitors, including family, except the district nurse.

But we were getting harrassed more and more for the Council to gain access and they got quite uppity. Saying there would be a fine.

Well I blew my top, I had enough problems to deal with at home being my spouses only carer,
    I told the Council the Smoke alarms they had fitted were illegal anyway,

They argued they were not, the Scottish government had passed it,

I repeated that they were against the law,

She put the phone down on me.

Maybe half an hour later I received a phone call from someone in Glasgow talking to me like I was an imbecile, slowly explaining that it was law the Scottish government had passed it and I must Comply with the law,

I explained that yes, the Scottish government may well have passed it as law, but they forgot to pass a law that said they could intercept my private electricity supply that I had with my energy supplier, without my consent or the consent of the energy supplier, as that was against the law to intercept and use my private electricity supply,
    Huffy end of telephone conversation,
    After a few days past the Council phoned me back asking when did I think it would be possible for then to come in and check the fire alarms any time between january and April would do.

I received one of those tenants newsletters just three days ago, and there it was in black and white print, that for Smoke alarms to be fitted the tenant has to contact their energy supplier to give consent and your consent before the council can intercept your energy supply to fit Smoke alarms.

The moral of this true story is never accept what they tell you, never let any one impose a fine on you and realise that everything a government does is not legal and above board.
    Do your research,

At the time my husband was really unwell having been ill with a newly amputad

167. Republicofscotland

“For instance Queen Anne was officially the Queen of England and in line and succession to the throne of England when she gave Royal assent to the Scottish side of the treaty of Union and used a “reproduction Great Seal of Scotland” that was made in England during the time of William and Mary.”

James Che.

On Great Seals I’ve read that James VII destroyed the Great Seal of England just before he was usurped by William of Orange, one has to question was even legal to appoint a Dutch prince as King of England.

As for Queen Anne.

“In Scotland, any ruling monarch – or government – is ‘licensed’ by the consent of the people and represents rather than embodies the Crown. This is why the Scottish Coronation Oath, or Oath of Accession requires the would-be monarch to swear an oath of fealty to the Crown. This distinct, collective character of our Crown is the root source of Scottish popular sovereignty and the foundation of the entire Scottish constitution.”

And also with James VIIth in mind.

“Queen Anne could not, in her constitutional role, put the kingdom of Scotland on the negotiating table to form a new kingdom with that of England. She was, in fact, explicitly prohibited from doing so. Her authority, as Queen of Scots, to negotiate the Treaty of Union depended on her legitimacy as monarch and that was conferred by the oath of Accession:

Where as King James the Seventh … did assume the Regall power and acted as King without ever taking the oath required by law wherby the King at his access to the government is obliged to swear (Claim of Right Act 1689)

This oath “required by law” simultaneously invested Anne as Queen of Scots and protected the Scottish Crown, preventing her from altering or undermining it in any way:

the Rights and Rents, with all just privileges of the Crown of Scotland, I shall preserve and keep inviolate, neither shall I transfer nor alienate the same

(from the Scottish Oath of Accession 1689)”

Ultimately.

“It is worth noting that, because it is stipulated in the Claim of Right Act, ratified as a condition of the Union itself, the oath of Accession continues to be “required by law” for any legitimate monarch of Scots. This ensures that no monarch had or has the authority to alter or undermine (alienate) the Scottish Crown in which are vested the sovereign rights of the people, the Community of the Realm of Scotland. This is why we can be certain that Queen Anne had no power, (nor had the Scottish Parliament ever pretended to any power),to change the institution passed down from Kenneth McAlpine, to “transfer” the Scottish Crown by merging it with that of another nation, to alter its character or undermine its rights in any way. And if the Crown of Scotland could not merge with that of England, then the kingdoms of England and Scotland could not merge into a single kingdom. Thus, while a single, political and economic state governed by a single, unified Parliament was entirely feasible, what the Treaty of Union envisaged was simply impossible.

No Treaty, No Acts – No Voluntary Partnership”

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2024/06/02/fictional-kingdom-fraudulent-state-2/

168. James Che

That me for today, am away to do some late evening gardening,

169. Andy Ellis

@Hatuey 12.29 pm

Your brave attempts to re-write history and claim widespread support for things that don’t command such support won’t wash. Had Alba opposed the war in the East, been more vocal in calling out what many still don’t accept as actual genocide in the middle east, and embraced anti-scientific woo-woo and anti vaxxer BS, it would have been driving itself up an electoral cul-de-sac.

The party has already failed to reach escape velocity and while that might change post a hoped for collapse in SNP support after 4th July, there is no future for Alba or any other pro-independence party – particularly one that wants to assume a leading position in the struggle for independence – in adopting wedge issues as central planks of their platforms or manifestos. Such issues are very much minority interests to the voters at large.

Their popularity amongst the strange wee coterie of nativist cranks, vatniks, fans of islamo-fascism and tin foil hat wearing conspiracy theorists shouldn’t blind them to the fact that they represent a negligible proportion of the pro-independence movement in Scotland, and an even smaller proportion of voters as a whole.

Many people rightly opposed the war in Iraq, but that doesn’t mean they share the weltanschauung of the cadre of moon howlers infesting BTL discourse here. Positioning Alba as an anti-NATO, anti-EU party calling for Scotland to follow some non aligned path just won’t fly, or would at best render it about as influential as RISE or the SSP in perpetuity.

The SNP’s earlier success may have been partially attributable to its opposition to the Iraq War, but it was probably more attributable to the SNP positioning itself as pro-NATO, broadly Atlanticist and staunchly pro EU. It would never have achieved the success it did, or been in a position to hold #indyref1, if it had remained a far left ginger group espousing sophomoric idealism that folk just didn’t take seriously.

Doubtless you and others disagree, but as I’ve often pointed out, you just don’t have the numbers or support and never will.

170. TURABDIN

Having followed the btl chat for some months i am beginning to understand why Scotland might well be stuck in the British concrete for ever more.
    No one has the wit or nerve to use a hammer.
    No pain, no gain runs the old saw.
    another, those who live by the rule of the law may well be hung by that same rule.
    Good evening.

171. Mac

The yellow streaks on the strip… who actually though that was a good idea.

The more the TA sing with passion the more that yellow glows pish bright.

I am starting the slagging before it goes bad. Fuck that waiting about to be disappointed.

Oh Ralston still playing I see… FFS, the pish yellow is now becoming fluorescent.

Hungary are thugs. We are going to find out if Scotland have the fight in them.

C’mon Scotland.

172. Dan

@ Turabdin

Ach, jist sit doun and let Ellis deliver independence aw by himself. It seems (at least in his mind) that naebody else has any worth or anything useful to add to the cause of progressing Scotland’s return to self-governance.
    Bow down to yer master for he kens aw and speaketh for the movement don’t ye ken.

And as if the Scottish electorate weren’t already dumbed down and confused enough… Due to a constituency boundary change the post office has delivered the wrong candidate leaflets to my village…

173. Towbar Sullivan

Labour to create more peers
    Jobs for the boys (and girls)
    Starmer’s just a Tory in disguise
    https://www.theguardian.com/politics/article/2024/jun/23/labour-add-dozens-peers-back-policies-improve-gender-balance

174. robertkknight

Just desserts…

Not a single goal the entire tournament scored by a blue jersey.

Shameful to have progressed any further.

Get your arses home and hang your heads…

Haven’t been that embarrassed since…the SNP’s election broadcast.

175. Republicofscotland

Thank F*ck that 90 minutes of mince is over, how the F*ck Scotland qualified for this tourny I’ll never know, for they were utter garbage tonight, they had according to the commentators four shots on goal with NONE on target.

If they gave out points for back passing Scotland would be top of the group. They scored two-goals in their three games both deflections.

Its the brilliant fans I feel sorry for, maybe we should’ve let them play instead.

176. Southernbystander

I watched the game robertknight. I would not be so harsh, they played their hearts out tonight and Scotland should have had a penalty. Not that they deserved much from the game overall as the quality is just not there.

The lumbering, oafish tedium from England on the other hand is totally painful to watch.

177. robertkknight

I wish I hadn’t…

Off to raid the fridge 🙁

178. Shug

Breeks @ 6.55

The security services were jot really challenged, the bar is low in the snp contingent. It would not cross their mind to be careful and would walk into any compromise, which i am quite sure us what happened to Nicola, and once they have one its easy to get another then they insert the wedge.

I would like half an hour with the underlings to wash out the back story.

179. Big Jock

Can anyone explain Adams our (striker) who doesn’t score goals. Getting first pick in every game. That right there is our problem, and ultimately why Clarke never wins tournament games.

We finished rock bottom with no shots on target. Hopefully Clarke walks after this.

180. David Hannah

A timid performance from the Scots.

Del Amiriti – Don’t come home too soon!

181. David Hannah

God bless Steve Clarke. We had a dream. Clarke’s not going anywhere. He’s here to stay. But his football tactics are shite.

Watch Belgium in their next match. They’ve got Lukaku the big striker to hold up the ball. They play excellent football.

You don’t need to be ‘technically gifted’ to play this way.

Belgium only take two touches. Touch -> pass. Touch -> pass. 1 touch -> pass. Their movement and their passing is outstanding.

182. David Hannah

Scotland has a champions league winner a captain. 2 time finalist. Treble winners. Premier League winners.

Everything went horribly wrong for Steve Clarke and Archie Knox. Training at lesser Hampden. Lyndon Dykes being injured on what? A Plastic pitch?

Tierney gone. 4 choice right back. It’s a Scottish tradgedy. Peak Scotland.

The players were bereft of belief. They played defensive. Yet are not technically gifted enough to play defensively. So they end up falling over themselves.

It was a circus act at times. Steve Clarke – It was there for you to cement your place as eternal legendary status. Too timid.

Something’s happened to Clarke. He looks like he’s been depressed recently. Can’t understand it. We’ve not won a match since Norway. It’s a shame. I’m devastated. But I’m proud of my country regardless. Thank you for getting us there.

183. David Hannah

Steve Clarke on the referee:

“He’s an Argentinian referee.”

“Why is he here. He probably doesn’t even speak the language.”

It was a blatant penalty. You’re right Steve. It was. But you never played Shankland and had 4 shots on target in 3 games.

You own this.

184. David Hannah

Steve Clarke. Look at the scenes. The thousands of fans had the time of your live.

You can be proud. He can be proud. Scotland can be proud of the adventure in Germany. I’m glad we’ve got Steve Clarke as manager.

He’s a great guy. And I support him. Thanks for the memories.

185. Effijy

300,000 Scots spending big in Germany will stopped Sunak claiming the economy is growing than Germany’s.

The Grog in the Stien is all mine.
    Mine Herr!

186. Big Jock

Blaming the referee is deflection. Clarke knows he failed massively, and not just in this tournament. The last one, and all the games since Norway.

Something went tragically wrong over the last 10 months. It’s why I think he will walk. Unless the SFA think qualifying is all a manager has to do, then fail miserably when they get there.

187. Frank Gillougley

Irrespective of everything, nevertheless you could argue that the Argentinian referee never gave the penalty, because driving home one night in years to come, he didn’t want to feel that thin strip of piano wire close tightly around his neck with his gaucho hitman saying, “Marco sends his regards, but ye wer telt!”

188. Alf Baird

David Hannah @ 11:18 pm

“It was a blatant penalty. You’re right Steve. It was. But you never played Shankland and had 4 shots on target in 3 games.”

Yes, Shankland, a well-proven goalscorer, should have been first choice up front every game. And too many changes at the back late on left too many gaps.

Fitba isnae that complicated. Same wi colonialism, which isnae that complicated either; Scotland, the only stateless nation in the finals, and a national anthem that laments oor continued oppression rather than celebrating our liberation.

https://salvo.scot/scotlands-colonial-status/

189. Iain More

Scotland were shite tonight. There is no getting away from that. One win in 12 games and that was against Gibraltar. There has been something off about Scotland since they beat Spain 2-0.

Tonight it was the wrong selection, wrong tactics, wrong formation and for me they didn’t look like they wanted to win the game and a game they had to win. We are are stuck with Clarke though. I dont mind going out if we had a go but we didn’t. 77 minutes into game before we even got a fuckin corner FFS. I was disgusted.

I dont know how Hungary managed to pump the English 4-0 quite recently as they are not a good team.

190. Hatuey

Ellis the errand boy: “there is no future for Alba or any other pro-independence party […] in adopting wedge issues as central planks of their platforms or manifestos.”

I remember people in Scottish Labour used to refer to independence as a wedge issue.

Theres a big pile of them, NATO, the EU, immigration, Faslane, etc., etc., etc., the list is endless.

If people refused to wheesht for Nicola and the SNP, I have to wonder what sort of bampot thinks we are going to wheesht for Alba.

I have and no allegiance to any politician or any party; I actually despise them all on a certain level. That means I don’t bow or wheesht for anyone.

If Alba finds itself in a position where the truth is problematic, I think Alba needs to reframe its trauma, amongst other things…

Now off you go, little errand boy… back to work.

191. The Flying Iron of Doom

fruitella the hun says:
    23 June, 2024 at 11:13 am

Well well, not a peep from the Purple Pumpers on here about the Supreme Court sinking their dreamboat of extracting oil whilst maintaining a commitment to reduce CO2 emissions. Seems the court is on the right side of physics (and logic).

How’s that oil heating of yours doing? You know, the one which runs on oil? Oil which will presumably become more expensive as the crude product becomes harder to source? 🙄

192. David Hannah

I’d be happy to stick with Steve Clarke. The guy can go home – relook and renew his tactics.

Mistakes are often forgivable if one has the courage to admit them.

When you’ve done something wrong. ADMIT IT. And be sorry. I could tolerate Clarke quite easily. I’d be happy for him to stay.

If he tears up those tactics. We’ve fucked up big time and he’s to blame but he’s also to be thanked. For getting us there.

193. James Che

Republicofscotland,

You are making me smile as I read because you and I have paid attention as have many others on here,
    And yes it is wrote down that king Jame did dispose of the Great Seal of Scotland and that fact is bared out by William and Mary not having access to the Great Seal of Scotland, but having to fake a poor reproduction Great Seal of Scotland down south.

Queen Anne in her Constitutional role could not put Scotland on the negotiating table, She could not as the Monarch of and queen of England do that, And she could not do that as the Queen of Scotland., if she ever was Queen of Scots,
    I suspect she was coronated with all the ceremonial vistages of being the Queen of England only, in 1702,
    As England could not create her as Queen of Scots, in England as they claimed they had with only the people present were those wanting a union of kingdoms, and then telling Scots, “You have a new queen” by letter,.
    Whilst it was up to the Sovereign Scots to decide if they wanted her as their monarch.

194. Mac

Well I can honestly say hand on heart that I would have preferred Scotland had not qualified for the Euros. That was embarrassing from start to finish.

I barely watched it after the first half against Germany. Started watching all the games but just drifted away. It was so shit. Total loser mentality.

Steve Clarke has that look about him now, like Strachan had at the end. Like Strachan I can’t stand listening to him post match either.

It is going to take a lot to get me watching Scotland again. I have not felt this indifferent since Argentina and I was only a kid then.

Embarrassing then, embarrassing now.

I can live with defeat but it is the manner of these defeats that I can’t accept.

Gutless cowardly shite. Truly shameful.

Still at least they got the strips right with the long streaks of yellow pash down them.

195. James Che

Twathater.

Indeed he does girn, cos hes itching for a fight, incitement to violence is a crime In GB, encouraging folk to go out in the streets, but then he is connected through work to the military industrial complex of supplies I believe he once said.
    Maybe those that do not agree with him he would like to see beaten, battered pepper sprayed and thrown in jail, cos bully boy has imagined power that has gone to his head,

The Scots have had an army threatening them once before when they rebelled refusing to except the treaty of union.

Were nae sa daft this time.

Old girnny can Carry on his “Hate Speeches” and “attempts to incitement” Scots onto the streets to be beaten up, most people ignore him except when wanders away from the truth,
    We’re hopefully will stay the course an take a different path
    But I think it wise that We will do the paper work this time around though. Aye.

196. Breeks

Mac
    Ignored says:
    24 June, 2024 at 6:01 am

Embarrassing then, embarrassing now.

I can live with defeat but it is the manner of these defeats that I can’t accept.

Don’t dwell on it Mac.

In the real world, I think I’d be in all kinds of dire straits before I’d even think of seeking assistance from a footballer. What purpose are they meant to serve? Roll models for youngsters? – Oh please.

I feel cringy enough watching Scotland’s Sectarian Lite “warriors” poncing around like celebrities, and it has always been a complete and total mystery to me why, growing up, Scotland backed Labour, and Scotland loved fitba. The fact these clubs wanted to play in the English leagues kinda tells you all you need to know.

At the same time, these young guys are just young guys, and it’s not really their fault their nation expects them to be superstars on the global stage. I’m sure to the last man, they all wanted to be, but Scotland the nation is compromised by the UK Union, and NOTHING thrives in Scotland as if might in an Independent Scotland.

Instilling that self belief in our young lads and lassies would do more for Scotland than fitba ever will.

My own sporting epiphany came watching Frank Hadden send out the Scotland B team to face the All Blacks. He’d already admitted defeat before the kick-off, and I’ve never had so much contempt for any Scot before or since.

If that’s the influence sport has on our kids, then sport can carry on languishing at the bottom of every league table it’s involved with. We need better roll models who are a credit to Scotland, and neither fitba, rugby, or politics are currently producing any.

Even our squaddies, feared and respected in equal measure, don’t serve Scotland but UK “interests”.

Precisely who is there for Scottish bairns to look up to? And apart from the BritNat media, who is there to promote them?

Scotland will NEVER thrive in this Union. Never has, never will. End it, and be a nation which stands on its own two feet. That will give our kids something to believe in.

197. Mac

This could be it for me watching any professional football. It has been coming…

Lost interest in the SPL long ago but would tune in to attractive matches in other leagues. Being a dons fan I followed Alex Ferguson’s exploits at Man Utd and enjoyed watching that team play…

But this new Man City era with all the middle east money is leaving me cold. I am just not watching any of it. Been like that for a couple of years at least. As for the champions league… that went out the window years ago as well.

So Steve Clarke’s and the national teams’ bawsacks going missing in action during this tournament is an absolute hammer blow to my remaining interest. That was literally embarrassing. It was painful to watch. Not an enjoyable experience at all.

It was a farce as well last Euros with our keeper going so far up the pitch he was lobbed from the half way line. We never recovered from that howler and we never recovered from the shameful performance against Germany. Total amateur hour stuff…

As for the prices… people are nuts. I can watch any game in any league for free near enough with IPTV but even so I am not watching. People are paying big money to go watch 90 minutes of dross. It has got me beat. Even when I did watch football, many games were pretty dull.

The whole thing is so overrated it is mind blowing. Mediocre players buying 700,000 pound Rolls Royces…. it is obscene.

Why does this garbage matter so much to people. It is bizarre. I would not pay more than a tenner to watch a game of football, max.

198. James Che

Republicofscotland.

No treaty, No Acts, No voluntary Union,

And No parliamentary Union either due to the parliament in England Dissolving the Scottish parliament from the Treaty.

199. Mac

Crossed posts there Breeks.

I think we have mentality problem. It cuts across the whole of Scotland and is especially evident in places like the National team.

We bottle it. It happens too many times for it to be just a coincidence.

I do wonder if 300 years of the best and brightest Scots, the ones with fight still in them, leaving on boats for the new world or through economic conscription to England has distilled this mindset in those that remained.

Sort of like reverse survival of the fittest, bravest.

Strachan was wrong, it is not genetic, it is psychological. We are a beaten down people and it is obvious in our perennial lack of confidence.

200. Mac

We are a beaten down people.

I’ll give you another example.

When was the last time people in Scotland rioted? Over anything? Properly rioted?

When Thatcher introduced the poll tax A YEAR EARLY in Scotland we ate it, we did not riot, we took it, and rolled over.

It was only when it was implemented a year later down south that the English went nuts and wrecked the joint leading ultimately to Thatcher’s demise.

But Scotland did fuck all as usual.

We are so meek, so domesticated, so tamed. Psychologically beaten down.

This image of fierce Scots is nothing but a distant memory. I think that is why we cling to it still. Braveheart etc…

Braveheart left.

201. Andy Ellis

@Dan 8.13 pm

Ach, jist sit doun and let Ellis deliver independence aw by himself. It seems (at least in his mind) that naebody else has any worth or anything useful to add to the cause of progressing Scotland’s return to self-governance.
    Bow down to yer master for he kens aw and speaketh for the movement don’t ye ken.

So just more witless abuse then Dan? Not even a suggestion of an attempt to address the issues or support what passes for your tired, discredited arguments? Stun is wi’ another!

What is it with you moon howlers find so hard with arithmetic and looking at actual evidence? Hasn’t reading the kind of analysis Rev Stu regularly serves up to you taught you anything?

Where are your sources, the back up for your arguments, the polling evidence, the papers from learned folks and subject matter experts supporting your views?

You don’t have any of them of course, because there are none.

Your woo-woo opinions represent a small if voluble minority. Any party or movement adopting such policies isn’t going to get within a country mile of achieving power and influence of any sort, still less constructing a clear majority of Scots to deliver independence.

Nobody is stopping the usual suspects spouting their BS, particularly in here more’s the pity, but whilst y’all are entitled to your opinions, you’re not entitled to your own class of facts, or to claim that your fringe nutter views enjoy widespread supprt, because they just don’t.

Het back to us with some evidence when it looks like they might. We’ll wait.

202. Andy Ellis

@Hatuey 1.59 am

Independence didn’t stop being a wedge issue by advancing fringe nutter policies, but by appropriating Labour’s clothes and convincing swathes of former Labour voters that the communitarian, broadly left of centre, social democratic values they held dear were better served by voting SNP than Labour, and that actually they might be more likely to see the kind of society they wanted to live in realised via independence rather than staying in the Union.

That was accentuated by the drift to the centre right of Blair and New Labour, but the idea that moon howlers like you represent anything but the nutter fringe is for the birds.

It wasn’t true in the past, it isn’t true now and it won’t be true in the future.

Persuading a majority of Scots to support independence won’t be done by a movement advocating some Tartan Brigadoon existing in splendid isolation eschewing NATO, the EU and immigration.

Of course it’s hardly a surprise those on the extremes would feel comfortable using the “reframe your trauma” soundbite, because your opinions and your world view are about as attractive as Wadhwa’s.

203. Robert Hughes

It has always been hard to quantify how much a manager of a football team determines the success or failure of that team – would clubs like Celtic , Man U , Liverpool have achieved the levels of success they have – historically – without the contributions of – respectively , Stein , Busby/Ferguson , Paisley/Dalglish ? Possibly ; we’ll never know .

Maybe he’s an animated , ebullient firecracker in his private life , but his dour , unimaginative , monosyllabic public persona seems to have been reflected in Scotland’s woeful performances of late

As is typical with Scotland , we only came alive in the final quarter of the game last night , and started to play with something resembling attacking , committed , do-or-die spirit when it was – as it predictably turned-out , too late to be of any use .

To complete the archetypal Scottish failure trope we even have the ” we wuz robbed ” blame-thrower . Aye , it looked like a penalty , so what , who’s to say we would have scored had it been given ? We were crap in all three games , thems the facts .

Ach well , ” only a game ” , in’t it ? Aye , that’s right .

Only a reflection of the lost , damaged , chronically lacking in confidence Scottish National Psyche .

We can’t expect gold from our sportsmen/women when the culture in which they exist subsists on the worthless coin dispensed by a foreign overlord .

Success = Independence = Success . NOTHING else will do it .

204. Mac

If anyone doubts Scotland’s true status in this ‘union’ just look to the relative populations of Britain at the time of the Union versus now.

Scotland’s population accounted for about one third of Britain’s population back then.

Now it accounts for around 7% and is falling every year.

Soon we will be subsumed, it is already happening.

We were put into perpetual economic shadow and our population was gradually leached off over hundreds of years.

The Highland clearances were the one instance were it became explicit but the ethnic cleansing of Scotland has been implicit since the start of the Union.

33% to 7%. It says it all.

We are being fucked over just like the population of a colony would be. The numbers do not lie.

205. Dan

Lolz @ Ellis, triggered to fire aff his usual load of pish.

His Alba Party is polling at what can only be described as the moonhowling fringe nutter edge of Scottish society so does that not make him…
    I ken of 4 lassies that put serious amounts of their time and effort into trying to help Alba and all have left.
    Maybe if Salmond was such the politically astute person he is claimed to be then he wouldn’t have spent so much time swanning about in London, recognised the fit up and smears had done damage to him, and he would have have had the personal connections in his notebook that any newly formed and launched political party would need to get up and running properly and not be a damp squib.

But what has Ellis actually done for Alba, because all I see from him is a constant display of overly antagonistic behaviour that is deliberately trying to create division and piss folk off. There is zero attempt by him to yield an inch from his hard line position and work towards reaching a compromised consensus. His authoritarian dictator level mentality is next to useless as a campaigning tool.
    One ponders if he rants so hard when speaking to his moonhowling fringe nutter daughter about her use of pronouns and her effective tacit support for the genderwoowoo…

206. Breeks

Mac
    Ignored says:
    24 June, 2024 at 7:40 am

We are so meek, so domesticated, so tamed. Psychologically beaten down.

This image of fierce Scots is nothing but a distant memory. I think that is why we cling to it still. Braveheart etc…

Not disagreeing with you Mac, but I believe it’s all orchestrated to be the way it is.

Even “Braveheart”… Braveheart wasn’t William Wallace, it was Robert the Bruce. That’s why his heart was taken to the Holy Land, it’s the Heart on Clan Douglas coat of arms, after James Douglas “followed” the heart as he threw it into the midsts of the enemy and died retrieving it. Even our modern myths are bogus, and yet we lap it up.

Even a Scottish soldier hasn’t been Scottish for 300 years, because they fight for a foreign government like mercenaries; the irony being that Scotland’s soldiers, the grimmest of the grim, the Gallowglass, were also often mercenaries too. Though, in fairness, I think all allegiances were a little ephemeral back then.

But how many Scots bairns have ever even heard of the Gallowglass? Or the Guardes Ecossaises who served as bodyguards to the French Monarch, including Joan of Arc? The Great Michael ship? Biggest in the world in it’s day.

The truth of Scotland is a far better story than any rendition I’ve seen in any Hollywood movie, but Scotland before it was “British” doesn’t exist in UK memory. It’s a dogs breakfast of bullshit and indoctrination.

They even grudge Caledonia it’s defiance against the Romans, yet it seems archaeological evidence is now emerging the ONLY example of Roman siege warfare against an Iron Age Hillfort isn’t anywhere south of Hadrian’s wall, but at Burnswalk Hill near Lockerbie. Go figure… The only fortress in “Britain” where the ramparts were surrounded on all sides by Roman sling shot ammunition consistent with Roman siege tactics in Europe.

Don’t get me wrong, we shouldn’t be seduced by any Scottish exceptionalism, but that isn’t the same thing as acknowledging Scotland’s exceptional potency and deep, deep history as a Nation.

The Wars of Scottish Independence? Get it right up yez! An independent and sovereign Scottish Nation expelled a foreign invader. Why the fk is that a War of Independence? Should we describe WW2 as France and Poland’s War of Independence? But no, Scotland doesn’t write Scotland’s history does it?

207. Mac

As for sectarianism in Scottish football and Scotland in general.

Instead of an embarrassment to Scotland it stands as a colonial masterpiece of divide and conquer.

Ireland’s population was something like 9 million before the British ‘helped’ them run their affairs. (Funny how those famines keep happening in British colonies.) Even today it has never recovered at about half that.

208. Billie

To move the dial a tad how many have seen pictures and videos of the absolutely huge recycling centre fire in Linwood near Paisley last night.

With smoke of biblical proportions enveloping a huge swathe of Scotland we once again see a failure of our regulatory authority SEPA to ensure safe working. This is not the first recycling centre fire over the last year. There was at least one in Ayrshire not so long ago where batteries were stored in a way that was unsafe.

Grimly this fire with explosions last night was just much much bigger.

Clearly there has to be questions about how waste management and recycling centres are regulated. Indeed, across the water at Loch Lomond and the national park the area is being pervaded with toxic gas egressing a 5 million tonne landfill site less than a mile from the village of Balloch. This is a long term problem that the authorities are struggling to contain.

And what if a landfill fire started in a tip the size of over 100 football pitches. That is a real risk. Landfill tips produce huge quantities of methane gas.

Again the question has to be asked about the regulation of the waste industry. Big big money involved in waste. Cutting corners, unsafe working, environmental discharges are all risks inherent in improperly regulated processes.

We’re all for nett zero, green living, and a safe environment. Or so the bullshit politicians tell us – and then you see this.

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/travel/12988996/landfill-smell-loch-lomond/

https://www.express.co.uk/news/uk/1914493/fire-scotland-Glasgow-industrial-estate-recycling-environment

209. Dan

@ Mac

Aye, good to see you bringing up the point I have regularly made re. Population sizes of the constituent parts of the UK.
    At the time of Union the Kingdom of England’s population was approximately 5 times larger than the Kingdom of Scotland. But over the 300 year supposedly equal Union the population growth disparity has allowed the KoE’s population to grow to 10 times that of the KoS with all the economic benefits that gave the KoE.
    The treaty states no constituent part of the UK should have advantage over another, yet over the course of the 300 year Union under London Rule, no political remedy has been implemented to address this aspect.
    And importantly the population numbers don’t tell the full story because they do not account for the ageing population and the influx of folk from elsewhere.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2023/03/26/healthy-demographics/

210. fruitella the hun

TFIOD

Thanks for the bump. I was expecting one of the leading Defiers on here to point out that the Supreme Court would not have power in an independent Scotland so we could carry on with claiming net zero oil extraction (I think that’s what Salmond has been proposing) would keep us in line with international commitments. What happens to the oil after we sell it – for that is the point – is not our problem. Think of all the old dears we can protect from hypothermia with the money. Or the roads we could dual. But they are the smartest folk regularly posting and perhaps sense the dodgyness of that argument so are keeping schtum.

Regarding my partner’s oil heating, (I did my house with a wood boiler) we are all in the same boat. Some of us are looking ahead though.

211. Dave Llewellyn

Breeks said
    22 June, 2024 at 7:49 am
    “Declare them in breach of the Treaty of Union”.

You might want to hold that thought until after Salvos AGM on Saturday where a massive announcement is likely to change your idea. Check your email for details

212. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“If voting Farage is going to help defeat an SNP candidate in your constituency, you should vote Farage.”

There are no seats in Scotland where Reform will have an earthly chance of being elected.

213. James Che

Stu,
    Your comment is on well on point,
    Advice is not always heeded or perhaps it is not understood, It is better not vote, or to totally spoil you vote is my personal advice.other wise we bring in, in the very near future a one party dictatorship state. In Scotland and across Britain, a dangerous future for all people,

214. Andy Ellis

@Dan 8.57 am

There is zero attempt by him to yield an inch from his hard line position and work towards reaching a compromised consensus.

You don’t appease fringe nutters: xenophobes, bigots and apologists for extremist values must be faced down and people must be shown how regressive their values are and how damaging letting them have influence would be. What is true of the baleful influence of folk like Farage and his anti-immigration know-nothings over decades is just as true of the coterie of nativists in here.

I have zero interest in compromising with such individuals. They have to be not just defeated but humiliated.

The fact Alba doesn’t have a huge amount of support now is neither here nor there. I expect that to change post 4th July when the scale of the SNP’s defeat and humiliation starts to sink in. However, even if Alba totally fails, or only gains a handful of seats in Holyrood at the next Scottish elections….so what?

None of that changes the fact that your values and preferred policies remain those of a fringe of a fringe. The overwhelming majority of ordinary Scots in the independence movement endorse a broadly pro NATO, pro EU, left of centre, social democratic future for an independent Scotland. You’ve no evidence to the contrary and never have had.

There’s plenty of evidence showing I’m right, and – as usual – just lots of inchoate screeching from the usual suspects that I’m wrong. Of actual evidence came there nane. Shockeroonie! 🙂

215. twathater

@ Mac 9.07am TBQH I have never been much of a football supporter although both my brothers were avid attenders at matches,but I agree with every part of your comment re the Scottish team and how USELESS they have been for decades , they are indeed an embarrassment to Scotland , also your comment re sectarianism is absolutely correct but Scots and unfortunately also the Irish fail to grasp that it is encouraged by the establishment to keep up division, because they know that when the Scots and Irish are fighting amongst themselves they fail to notice what the establishment is up to
    I have always said that I could accept a team of amateurs playing their hearts out for Scotland even if they were trounced, instead of a shower of imported prima donnas feart to chip their nail varnish

216. Alf Baird

Andy Ellis @ 4:53 pm

“I have zero interest in compromising with such individuals. They have to be not just defeated but humiliated.”

If its punishment you’re after, why stop at humiliating people? Why not go further? You know you want to. We already see such calls grow louder ‘whenever colonialism is imperiled’.

As Cesaire wrote:

“a nation which colonizes… is already a sick civilization, a civilization which is morally diseased, which irresistibly…. calls for its Hi**er, I mean its punishment.”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.