When one plus one is one

Posted on March 10, 2017 by

We don’t want to fall into the trap of portraying the Liberal Democrats as a party of any political relevance or consequence in Scotland, but for the sheer comedy value alone Willie Rennie’s interview with Gary Robertson on today’s Good Morning Scotland is worth a couple of minutes of your time.

(Good Morning Scotland, BBC Radio Scotland, 10 March 2017)

So, are we all clear?

1. Having another referendum on EU membership, in which the options would be to leave or remain in the EU, would NOT in fact be a second EU referendum.

2. When people vote on an EU referendum and then see that the consequences might be quite damaging, they should be given the right to change their mind in another referendum.

3. This does NOT apply in the case of a Scottish independence referendum in which people were told (for example) that a No vote would keep them in the EU, and then the consequences turned out to be the opposite.

4. Willie Rennie, we just learned, considers that leaving the EU is a prospect so serious and so damaging that it constitutes grounds to revisit the EU referendum vote. But it’s not serious enough that Scottish people should be given the choice of whether to revisit THEIR choice in the light of accurate information about what a No vote meant in the EU context.

5. In other words, it’s a serious enough matter to overturn a UK-wide vote for, but not serious enough to overturn a Scottish vote for. Even though we’re not aware of a single poll showing that the result of a second EU referendum would be any different now, whereas several polls since the EU referendum, including the most recent one, have shown a majority for Scottish independence.

6. Voters do NOT have the right to change their minds about Scotland staying in the UK within four years of their original vote, even in the light of dramatically changed circumstances, because the indyref was “once in a generation”.

But they DO have the right to change their minds about EU membership within three years of the original vote, even though all that’s happening as a result of the Leave vote is that the UK is leaving the EU, which is what people voted for even though they knew there was no detailed plan.

Willie Rennie, everyone!

1. 10 03 17 11:56

When one plus one is one | speymouth

185 to “When one plus one is one”

1. Macart

Oh dear God! 😀 LOL

Hahahahahahah! and Hahahahahahaha!

The conference should be a hoot.

2. Martin

I gotto 52 seconds then couldn’t stop laughing. I’ll try again later, honest

3. ballevullin

Willie Rennie says that his party can “turn back the tide of division”.

What the hell is the tide of division?

A tide is a unified thing. How can it represent division?

What an idiot.

4. fillofficer

is this happy hour ? seriously !!

5. Iain

You don’t have to be an idiot to be a Yoon, but it certainly helps.

6. Mike

The only significant thing that bothers me about the Lib Dems in Scotland is if whats left of their vote goes over to the Conservatives in their despair at their own parties antics.
    Wouldn’t want to see whats left of the Lib Dems and Labour going over to the Conservatives.

7. CageyBee

I feel a bit dirty and conflicted finding myself siding with Gary robertson

8. Itchybiscuit

To give Willie his due, he does try to sound like a real politician.

One day Geppetto will have to tell him he’s not.

9. Calum McGaw

He’s certainly in a fuddle.

10. ClanDonald

“I’m gonnae stand up for strong liberal values.” Aye, by making sure that Scotland doesn’t get the future it votes for.

11. Craig P

Willie Rennie achieves unity by getting everyone united in laughing at him.

12. Effijy

Willie Rennie is Scotland’s answer to
    Norris on Coronation St, a befuddled
    Sweetie Wife who has something to
    Say about everything and knows nothing.

He is the man who claimed falling number
    of Lib Dem voted is a great step forward?

Laughted at a BBC clip of Willie at a Lib
    Dem conference. The cameraman must
    Be wee Jimmy Krankie as you could see
    A seated Willie’s nasal hair better than how
    Many people were in the room .

Next shot was from row 4 to show 3 partial
    Rows of pensioners “filling” the place. lol

There is obviously a directive from the BBC
    to cameramen never to reveal how few people
    In Scotland attend Westminstet parties big sleep ins.

13. Rob

“Once in a generation,” I think I heard Willie say “Lifetime” and go uncorrected during the interview. He’s a cheeky wee rascal.

14. Dr Jim

But, but people all over the country are turning to the Liberal democrats and Willie Rennie is winning, he said so yesterday, I heard him, he’s aready won the argument in Scotland he said, surely he’s not making that up I mean he’s serious politcian for goodness sake, why wont anyone listen
    stop it and listen, will you please not keep laughing it’s not a laughing matter, you must take this seriously because it is serious

Listen to me, would you just, Oh I give up, No I don’t I’m still here winning

15. Breastplate

Poor wee Wullie, he’s no Albert Einstein.
    Maybe his brother Frank, though.

16. Greannach

I’m so looking forward to the Liberals’ conference. It could be as entertaining as Mrs Harrison’s one and the empty-hall event the Branch held a couple of weeks ago.

17. blackhack

Willie Who ??

18. call me dave

Aye heard him squawk live this morning..a figure of fun, but he’s going to go on and on and on, best job in the world

@Itchybiscuit:

Took me a second or two but 🙂

19. Ruglonian

@Itchybiscuit – excellent 😀

20. Bob Mack

Reminds me of some of the old Abbott and Costello classics

“WHO’S on first base” etc

21. Proud Cybernat

Close up, far away…

http://imgur.com/a/Skjak

22. Glamaig

BBC accidentally showed us a shot of the hall at LibDems conference. Looks like about 60-70 people. I’ve seen more at an SNP branch meeting.

23. Dr Jim

Willie Rennie will end up being the longest serving MSP and politician ever and get an award for it and then nobody will remember what the award was for or who Willie Rennie was by

The next day

24. Glamaig

ooh more shots, ok I’ll be generous and call it 100.

25. Proud Cybernat

Those clever BBC cameramen…

http://imgur.com/mY4Nsge

26. Brian McGrath

Wonder if he had Buckfast for breakfast?
    He can’t even see the hypocrisy in what he says.

27. ballevullin

So Willie Rennie thinks Brexit is isolationism but he also thinks the SNP and indy supporters wanting Scotland to be independent in the EU is also isolationism.

28. Zen Broon

He was doing reasonably well as far as “Good Morning”, then it all went a bit downhill for him.

29. Betty Boop

Well, now we know what’s what… Libdems in Scotland; not a political party, just the warm up act for the other clowns.

30. Luigi

Pure comedy gold.

Willie’s delivery and sense of timing is perfect.

(ask the pigs). 🙂

31. Greannach

Glamaig @ 11:29

I’ve seen more people at the Delnashaugh WRI decorated doily competition.

32. call me dave

WoS twitter shows that there is about 80 folk in the hall at the conference so no problem in everybody having a chance to get a shotty of the podium.

All the stock market FTSEs are going up on hearing about Rennie’s interview this morning, but shurley schome mishtake on my part I think.

33. Bob Mack

Poor Willie. I always hope they bring the musical “The best little whorehouse in Texas” to Scotland . Willie could play the part of the Texas Governor and sing the famous “Ooh I like to take a little wide step ” song. He would be a natural

Probably need to get him a smaller stetson of course. Kezia could be Ms Mona, (or is that Ms Moaner) and Ian Gray could be Burt Reynolds. Lol

34. galamcennalath

Willie Rennie and the LibDems (like SLab) can gain some credibility and perhaps even a future – stop being divisive by opposing IndyRef2.

At the moment Rennie’s complete lack of consistency just sounds incompetent and out of touch.

In the first instance take a neutral position saying justice and democracy dictate another IndyRef is now a necessity.

And then, think long and hard about their stance on whether to support Indy. Even without fully endorsing Indy, they would get considerably more respect if they simply agreed to go with the will of the Scottish people.

35. Clootie

….he makes Kezia appear bright!

I suppose the could always go to Mike Rumbles as an alternative leader 🙂

36. Donald MacKenzie

Well….., that was quite clear!

Willie believes in something …. I think. Not sure what though.

Maybe he just never got a chance to answer the question.

37. Capella

Will he be taking his bouncy castle to the conference?

38. The Rough Bounds.

They ought to have played ‘The Cuckoo Waltz’ at the end of that interview.

39. Bob Mack

O/t,

Hearing many schools down South are actively cutting GSCE subjects due to lack of funding,

They criticise our education system? In addition to their NHS this is not a pretty picture is it ? Do we want to be like that ?

40. CapnAndy.

Well it’s just before midday and I’m already sitting here with my head in my hands. I’m sure he’s a nice guy. I suspect that’s the reason his constituents vote for him, but oh boy, is he deluded.

41. clan rossy

bollocks

42. HeehawBaws

If only he hadn’t started spouting that stuff about people changing their minds due to rising prices we could at least have believed HE believes what he’s saying.

43. Mike McCreadie

You’re all completely missing the nuance of this type of argument, which has been successfully employed (on occasions too numerous to mention) to secure incredibly important concessions on such things as extra sweeties and an extension to telly-time for many many children up and down the country over decades and decades and decades, so it has.

44. Ken MacColl

Brings to mind that old cartoon of a parade of sojers marching past with a grinning tumshy in the first row and an adoring mum saying to her neighbour,
    “They’re a’ oot o’ step but oor Wullie!”

45. JaceF

This is clearly Quantum Yoonatics and way above my head. It’s a bit like Quantum Physics where things can simultaneously be in one state at the same time as being in the opposite state and the only way to know for sure is to observe the spin by destroying the object.

In this case it’s Willie that’s in a state trying to spin this p*sh.

46. heedtracker

What a laugh they are.

47. Artyhetty

I lasted 2mins! Christ.

Always thought the liberals were fence sitters, but Willie Rennie is hopping back and forth over his. Jumping over it and counting sheep, (or was it a pig) like red tories, living in la la land the lot of them. Especially on that nice big wage they are so keen on holding into while shafting our poor and vulnerable, happy to see our young both jobless and homeless.

These inadequate politicians make a joke out of Scotland’s parliament, I think their aim to actually to ensure that votes (they don’t care about they still collect their wages), go to their good pals, the tories.

This guy has a right nerve, should he not win this weeks brass neck award? Their tiny meeting is irrelevant, and a waste of money, but will the ebc give it high profile status.

48. manandboy

Willie Rennie – I hold the voters in his constituency responsible for sending a Unionist/Tory glove-puppet to Holyrood. But strangely, at a time when the LibDems lost its deposit in 48 constituencies, WR took the seat from the SNP’s Roderick Campbell in a story that has never been told. Campbell lost a majority of around 3500 over Willie Rennie. What went wrong – apart from Roderick Campbell?

49. Pentland Firth

The Scottish Liberal Democrats now only exist to provide a home for conservatively minded Unionists who find the modern Tory party too nasty and Eurosceptic for their tastes. It’s a limited market and means they must limit their ambitions to being on the fringe of parliamentary politics, but, while they continue to shriek their die hard Unionism, they will continue to attract tactical Tory voters in constituencies, like North East Fife. It is a sad betrayal of the old Crofters Party traditions and has little appeal in the Highlands.

50. ballevullin

First they ignore you

Then they laugh at you

Then they fight you

Then you win.

M

51. The Rough Bounds

Artyhetty @12.13

Willie Rennie ‘brass neck?’ He has more brass in his neck than the Giraffe Necked women of Africa.

52. ballevullin

Should have been:

First they ignore you

Then they laugh at you

Then they fight you

Then you win.

Mohandas Ghandi

But judging by the unionist party conferences he should have had, between the ‘fight you’ and ‘you win’ bits;

Then they go bonkers.

53. Truth

He is a twisted little man, with twisted logic.

54. bjsalba

Mr Rennie assumes that Article 50 once triggered is reversible. The Treaty is not clear on that point. It will be a decision for the EU27.

Considering how the UK has behaved since the Referendum can anyone explain to me why the EU27 should allow the UK back in?

55. manandboy

Willie Rennie is like a window cleaner who insists he has cleaned the windows, even though the windows haven’t even been installed yet.

Willie’s priority as an MSP is mental health. He said so in his acceptance speech after he was elected in 2016.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/election-2016-scotland-36219201

56. Effijy

Can I remind everyone that the Liberals have never had an election majority in over 100 years!

Willie should make sure that they will have a Bi-Centennial Celebration of being the wee cringing party waiting for the odd hung parliament for a day in the sun and a seat in the house of Lords for any good lap dog leader they have at the time.

Arise Sir Silly Willie Nilly!

57. Bob Mack

O/t,

Mars foods (America) who make a wide product range has warned of significant price rises and job cots after Brexit.
    Just gets better and better.

58. Dr Jim

Says a lot about the character of Lib Dem voters to keep voting for a guy who couldnae lead a donkey

But I’ll put money on him still being there when TweedleKez and TweedleRuth are long gone

We’ll have Willie Rennie and Jackie Baillie forever…and ever….and ever..and…

Oooh! Shudders!

59. Dr Jim

Arise Lord Rennie of Bouncecastle

60. Ian

What exactly qualifies this guy not only to be in politics but to be the leader of his gang?

‘Rennie spent most of his early career as a Liberal Democrat election campaigner and official before working as a public relations consultant in the private sector.’

PR. Says it all.

It’s good to have such opponents for the next one.

61. Blair Paterson

Ot on question time last night Dugdale and Nelson both stated that 2 out of 3 Scots did not want a second ref ., this on the same day a poll showed over 50 per cent of Scots want independence their remarks went unchallenged as usual by the way I hate Nelson’s phoney Glasgow accent

62. orri

The treaty is pretty fucking clear on it. If the negotiations are not complete then unless all parties are willing the UK is out on its ear. The only way the UK will stay in the EU is if the EU agree to extend the negotiations. If they do then the UK will need to renegotiate it’s membership and depending on how the rest of the EU is feeling at that point and whether it’s moved to QMV or not we/they might be in for a nasty surprise when their continuing membership is vetoed.

The we/they is dependent on whether Scotland has decided enough is enough and “di di mau”‘ed out.

63. Karmanaut

http://imgur.com/a/s4PV6

I count 105 people at the Scottish libdem Spring conference, which includes all the journalists in the back row tapping away at their laptops, and the 16 people in the reserved section in the front – presumably party officials and speakers not on the stage.

But fair play to them. The party can still draw 60-80 actual members of the public to their event, which is more that I expected, even given the remarkable political circumstances of Brexit.

That’s enough people to start a good-sized camera club, knitting circle, or similar local hobby group.

64. galamcennalath

I hope the polls go up a wee bit more and stay there.

We’re a long way from IndyRef2 and polls aren’t a prediction.

What it would do in the short term is shut up the loonie fringe of Yoonery with all this talk of ‘the Scots don’t want it’, ‘there doesn’t need to be one’, ‘it’s all decided already’ etc etc..

Whether they agree with Indy or not, they have to accept and get used to the reality that there is demand for, and a political mandate for, IndyRef2.

65. Andy-B

Ah yes, to Wee Willie Rennie, it’s fine to run a second EU referendum, but not a second Scottish independence referendum.

66. Robert J. Sutherland

Thanks ballevullin @ 10:58 for your quote from the wee man. It has given me this mental picture that I just can’t get rid of: Willie sitting blithely in a rickety chair on a beach, commanding the incoming tide.

With obvious results. Glug, glug.

galamcennalath @ 11:39 is quite right, if instead of spouting idiot metaphors and self-contradictory nonsense, the FibDems actually stood up just this once for some consistent principles, they might salvage some reputation. But they seem hell-bent on drowning instead.

The biggest “division” of all is in their own absurd cognitive dissonance between Remain and Indy.

67. John Edgar

Who is Willie Rennie?

68. Les Wilson

I think Willie is delusional,thinks he soo clever, he thinks he can say and do anything.
    On that note,I want to put Our Wee Willie and Jackie Bailey in for Come Dancing.
    He could show his true potential there, and we could have a guaranteed great laugh.

If he feels he would be too good for them, maybe they could be filmed strutting their stuff at the Unionist Ball, Jackie Bailey with her eye(watering)tutu on and Willy with his Billy Dainty leggings. They would hopefully, bring the house down, literally

69. Smallaxe

Les Wilson says:
    “On that note,I want to put Our Wee Willie and Jackie Bailey in for Come Dancing.”

On that note, I want to put Our Wee Willie and Jackie Bailey into Carstairs.

Peace Always

70. Proud Cybernat

Hauners…

http://imgur.com/a/KFX7J

71. manandboy

In my dreams, when tenders are put out for the demolition of Pacific Quay, I’m sure I have a chance of winning the contract – because I’d do it for nothing. (Somebody is bound to let me have the use of a large bulldozer for free).
    Actually, on second thoughts, it would be better to just leave it standing, as a reminder of life under British Colonial rule.
    Or, maybe convert it onto a jail-museum for former BBC Scotland employees. I’m sure visitors would be willing to pay to see Ken McQuarrie and Jackie Bird behind bars.
    Like I say, in my dreams.

72. Dr Ew

There’s no doubting the lack of detail and debased quality of debate last year, especially when stood in comparison to the Scottish referendum of 2014.

But Willie, oh Willie… Help ma boab!

73. Stoker

Just a quick hello to all the troops.
    (Waves from the bunker)

I think Wee Willie Stinky has been watching too much pigography.

Dirty little man!

74. HandandShrimp

Willie is first and foremost a British Unionist. Any resemblance to pro-EU Liberals in England is coincidental. Willie would not hesitate, indeed has not hesitated, to vote with the Tories against attempts to remain in the single market in case it is a trap set by the SNP

75. scotsbob

“Their leader will claim his party stands up for the majority of people in Scotland.” Who writes the script? Can Rennie even manage to say that with a straight face?

76. Smallaxe

Stoker says:

I think Wee Willie Stinky has been watching too much pigography.

Dirty little Swine!

Fixed that for you
    BOSS 🙂

Peace Always

77. manandboy

The LibDems in Conference. Big hall for a wee crowd, just like the Tories. Both projecting delusions of grandeur. Is it any wonder Willie’s always excited to be on the telly addressing big audiences.
    No a bad crowd crowd for a funeral mind you.

78. HandandShrimp

I see Alistair Carmichael is “angry” about rise in nationalism. We are apparently nasty racists like Trump and the Brexiteers because we are fighting to stay in the EU….or something.

I think that is me done with the Liberal train spotting jamboree for this year. One can only take so much nonsense.

79. Bob Mack

I am just catching up with some twitter feeds and I can tell you that I am pretty shocked at what I see concerning Michael Gove.

He apparently did an article in the Times the other day in which he stated that Theresa May is a danger to post Brexit Britain.

The reason for this ? Bad decision making?, split cabinet? No.She is a Catholic.

Talk about Ulsterisation of Scotland. I think he is trying the same in England as well.

This guy was Justice and Education Secretary in Tory governments.

80. Famous15

Lib Dems like Carmichael and Clegg at their conference in Perth
    desperately shoehorning our beautiful civic nationalism
    into the box labelled Farage and Trump. Disgusting liars with previous convictions.

Just received LibDem leaflet from the stable of Alex Cole-Hamilton. It is hilarious how much they boast of their deeds mostly done by others. Bare faced liars.If I get my photograph taken in front of the pyramids do you think most folk would believe I built them? Eh Cll Aldridge?

81. Flower of Scotland

@manandboy at 12.16

I can assure you that the SNP worked very hard to keep Willie Rennie out.

The Unionists got together and voted for him.

This could also happen in the council elections. However, we have already started campaigning, so wish us luck!

82. Calum MacKay

What’s good for the goose, obviously in Willie’s mind, is not good for the gander!

Some would call him a hypocrite,………

Seeing the liberals congregate in a phone box, casts my mind back and makes me wonder what Charlie Kennedy would have made of brexit, would this have been the straw that broke the …………..

83. Krackerman

” If they do then the UK will need to renegotiate it’s membership and depending on how the rest of the EU is feeling at that point and whether it’s moved to QMV or not we/they might be in for a nasty surprise when their continuing membership is vetoed.”

Indeed Orri and it’s at this point Spain will sidle up and whisper into Maggie May’s earhole… “About Gibraltar..”

84. Flower of Scotland

BTW @manandboy, Roderick Campbell’s personal vote increased.

85. Vestas

I’ve just played that to two mates here in England and I can’t convince them its not a piss-take 🙂

86. seanair

On bus, glanced at letters in the Metro.
    Don, who might be Willie thinks that,
    “The UK government has just given Scotland an extra £350million, which is almost £6million each for every person living here. If the SNP are serious about ending austerity, they should ensure we all benefit from this handout.”
    Eh?

87. manandboy

Flower of Scotland says:

“I can assure you that the SNP worked very hard to keep Willie Rennie out.
    The Unionists got together and voted for him.”

Please accept my apologies. I should have known.

88. galamcennalath

Nick Clegg speaking at LibDem conference on the threat of populism & nationalism – that will be him having a go at the Tories and Brexit then?

89. Robert Duff

Rennie and the liar Carmicheal are a blot on the Scottish landscape as well as their non existent ineffectual party.

90. Desimond

The ‘Liberal’ Party are one of those things that seem ideal in principle but actually doesn’t exist in real life.

At which point will Wullie and crew ever realise that sitting on a fence and saying “I hear what your saying and not only that BUT I respect it” is no position at all.

In the Titanic of the UK, the Lib Dems and Labour are the deckchair handlers

91. Vestas

@Bob Mack 1:51 pm :

“The reason for this ? Bad decision making?, split cabinet? No.She is a Catholic.”

I’m surprised this is news to you.

Tony Blair deferred his conversion until he wasn’t PM IIRC. He did that for DECADES.

In fact I’m pretty certain it wasn’t possible to be Catholic and PM until relatively recently.

Its not just Scotland/NI which is “sectarian” – the entire English establishment is sectarian 😉 White/English/C of E/protestant at the top & work your way down from there.

/me is an atheist but I think religious people who want to throw stones ought to look long and hard at their own religion/church. You probably won’t like what you find – I’m thinking sceptic tanks & babies thrown in them rather than buried today…..

92. Richardinho

The Lib Dems would be funny if they weren’t so boring.

93. FatCandy

I actually LOL’ed.

94. robin

Look we know he’s a fool and a hypocrite so if he gets some airtime/rope to help hang himself with this sort of total nonsense it will help convert a few of his remaining supporters to see the light.
    I’m delighted as it must be very embarrassing for the LibDems

95. joannie

Vestas – babies thrown in a septic tank, really? I think people who are regulars on this blog should know better than to believe every lurid headline they read.

96. schrodingers cat

2015 result
    SNP Stephen Gethins 18,523
    Lib Tim Brett 14,179
    tory Huw Matthew Bell 7,373
    Lab Brian Thomson 3,476

2016 result
    Lib Willie Rennie 14,928
    SNP Rod Campbell 11,463
    tory Huw Bell 5,646
    Lab Rosa Garton 2,026

7k snp supporters failed to show up and vote, the threat of indyref2 motivated the libdems to GOTV

this is the reason why the snp are campaigning on local issues and why treeza may is noising up the unionists to gotv in may

if the libdems get out the 14k again in the council elections, the snp will get wiped out in all 5 wards of NEF

snp hq planning for the council elections has been dreadful, we still dont know the names of all of the snp candidates standing in the wards. #clusterfukc

97. Bob Mack

@Vestas,

It would appear Gove wants to go back to when Britain seemed a romantic concept.
    Protestant supremacy, days of Empire, Mrs Wiggins mutton pie shops, happy workers doing 18 hours a day for tuppence. Rich bosses and a sense of order and privelege.

The Tories are regressing this country back to the 19th century at a fast rate of knots. Democracy is a pain in the butt to them and rights and hard won freedoms of the common man are just but an irritation to be scratched from existence on a whim.
    I detest them.

98. yesindyref2

Yay Willie Rennie!

Let’s be honest though, most people don’t believe in fairies I guess which is a bit sad, but then we happily stare at pixels day after day.

99. Skybolt

The man is a feking idiot,
    Dear god – so many completely dumb career politicians. What a great system westminster has created for us 🙁

100. Vestas

@joannie says 2:37 pm :

“Vestas – babies thrown in a septic tank, really? I think people who are regulars on this blog should know better than to believe every lurid headline they read.”

Tuam ring any bells for you? Its not “fake news”. Its real.

Oh & its probably a cesspit rather than a septic tank. As I said I’m an atheist but nuns did that.

I don’t believe “lurid headlines” – I believe the evidence & oh my does it stack up in Ireland, USA, Australia etc.

Don’t feel put upon though – there’s been similar protestant clergy criminality in Germany, Netherlands Denmark etc.

Seems evil people don’t much care about the religion they adhere to mmmm? IMHO most of the evil in the world is done by “religious” people….

101. Free Scotland

Did this clown used to be a bus-driver? Oh well, I suppose he spent PART of his life doing something useful – I mean the bus-driver bit, obviously.

102. Bob Mack

@Joannie,

The Rev has taught us, or should have taught us to look beyond headlines. The associated press issued a clarification on the septic tank babies.
    To be clear. There was no evidence at Tuam of any baby being found in a septic tank. There are according to the establishments own records several hundred babies interred on the site of the home with figures you would expect from an environment such as this.

Ps check it out Vestas

103. Dr Jim

If the Tories declared a 9pm curfew on Scotland and no breathing after 10pm

Unionists would stll vote for it “reluctantly”

In the best interests of Scotland of course to curb the rise in existing

Eh the curfew part’s not so far fetched

104. joannie

@Vestas – I know all about Tuam, its been all over the news here all week and the subject of several documentaries, sundry news articles, etc. And yet, sad and grim as the story is, there is nothing to justify your assertion that babies were thrown into a septic tank. That’s just sensationalist, tabloid nonsense of the type that this blog regularly debunks.

105. crazycat

@ Bob Mack

Is Theresa May a Catholic?

Her father was a Church of England vicar, and her Wikipedia entry (not 100% reliable, I know) describes her religion as C of E.

106. Arbroath1320

The second I read “Willie Rennie’s interview with Gary Robertson” I knew the comedy-o-meter was going to hit the end stop and bend the needle! 😀

107. Marcia

Re North East Fife. WR was never off the TV or radio in the run up to polling last May and benefitted from the free publicity, plus LD chucked a lot of time and money into the seat.

108. Clydebuilt

AND ……(that was a big and) ……..Gary Robertson ….let all that go …..not picking him up on any of it…..what does that make him…… A Yoon …..Stupid…… Or both ?

109. joannie

@crazycat – Teresa May is anglican, but Gove’s contention is that she is Catholic in her attitudes as opposed to the Protestant attitude that he describes as buccaneering, seafaring and generally all things that made England great.

Its bizarre to realise that such 17th century ideas still persist among educated English people, I thought they were long extinct outside the Orange Order.

110. Bob Mack

@Crazycat,

She was educated at a Catholic School, but is actually an Anglican/catholic hybrid.
    The point is though that Gove utilises it ( the Catholic portion) as a form of slur.

Shows what they actually think.

111. Dr Jim

The Queen is an Anglican which is technically closer to Catholicism but the royals bent things a little out of shape to make them linked to Episcopalian so they could include themselves as defenders of Presbyterianism but because she’s really an Anglican she only qualifies as a member of the Church of Scotland which then makes her acceptable to the OO who defend her right to defend their rights to believe she is really one of them (which she’s not)

I’m an Atheist and defend my right to say at least I stand for nothing which is actually more honest than that pile of makey uppy crap to fit the agenda of the deluded

112. Clapper57

Staggering hypocrisy from Rennie re his flawed and warped justification for another Referendum on EU but his staunch refusal to see a parallel for another Indy Ref based on broken promises made via BT post Indy 1….perhaps there is a parallel universe where Willie & his ‘yellow’ colleagues skip blindly down their own ‘yellow’ prick road oblivious to reality and wrapped in their cloaks (of deceit) of many colours, yellow and on occasion blue.

We are once again in the ‘Do as I say not as I do’ territory.

Heard Carbuncle made crass comparison on Salmond being like Farage and Trump…finger on pulse….NOT….pretty much sums up how sleazy Lib Dumbs actually are when they stoop to such pathetic slurs….rich coming from Pinocchio Carbuncle !

Lies and slurs do not attract my vote, if anything I am repelled by the underhand tactics deployed by desperate unionist parties who fail to win over votes through honesty but instead insist on sinking further down into gutter politics…..never learn…which will be their undoing….Project Fear …Project Smear….Project Sneer….however we, Indy supporters, are still Project HERE yuk yuk yuk yuk…so game on Indy the sequel.

113. Chick McGregor

Is Wullie back on the buses?

Roll up, roll up for the mystery tour.
    Roll up and that’s an invitation, roll up for the mystery tour.
    Roll up to make a reservation, roll up for the mystery tour.
    The magical mystery tour is waiting to take you away,
    Waiting to take you away.

Roll up we’ve got everything you need, roll up for the mystery tour.
    Roll up satisfaction guaranteed, roll up for the mystery tour.
    The magical mystery tour is hoping to take you away,
    Hoping to take you away.

Roll up…

114. Arbroath1320

Just for you Bob Mack. 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTcRRaXV-fg

I usually refer to wee Willie as the bus driver Free Scotland cause there is a bus firm, or at least there used to be one, called Rennie’s. 😀

115. Bob Mack

@vestas,

I think you must realise that Tuam was a home primarily for unmarried mother’s, which was a major thing in Ireland. The home accepted girls from their families since around 1921 till the late 1970’s. The girls were in various stages of pregnancy.

Many aborted or miscarried due to the emotional stress and family separation created by their pregnancy. Many babies died of illness and other causes.

At the time the Canon law was very strict and these babies could not be buried in officially consecrated ground as they were conceived out of wedlock. Therefore they were interred in the grounds approximate to the home. Many had been baptised though.

This was over 50 odd years. I do not claim it was right. It was how it was.

116. schrodingers cat

Marcia says:
    Re North East Fife

thats true Marcia, but there are many reasons why rennie won, however, looking at the figures, we can see that the libdems GOTV, the snp didnt.

after saying that, rennies victory caused a lot of recriminations amongst snpnef, everyone looking to blame someone for our defeat. so much so that snpnef branch dissolved officially 2 weeks ago.
    personally, the bbc telling everyone that an snp landslide was a forgone conclusion was responsable for the low turnout of snp voters across scotland, but it was more profound here in nef.

nef is a tough nut to crack, we have the largest % of over 85s in any constituency in scotland

117. Proud Cybernat

Where size matters…

http://imgur.com/a/6qvRE

118. schrodingers cat

Im also hoping that the snp voters realise that they were conned and that come may, we will see a rebound effect and will turn out in large numbers. we can hope

119. joannie

@Bob Mack – it has never been the rule to ban babies born out of wedlock from being buried in consecrated ground, and in fact two of the Tuam babies were traced back to their family plots in local cemeteries in other parts of the country. The reason for babies being buried in the grounds of the home remains a mystery, but it might well be that the families didn’t want them buried in their plot due to the shame of illegitimacy, etc.

120. crazycat

@ Bob Mack and joannie

Thanks for the information about TM.

121. Arbroath1320

Just for our “younger” readers who do not recognise the “few” words put up by Chick. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mlCBiFbtqAI

122. Arbroath1320

I’m surprised that Gary Robertson didn’t ask the bus driver the question WE all want answered.

“When are the LibDem’s going to pay the outstanding £800,000 policing bill from a few years ago. Do the Lib Dem’s like going around the country known as the Bad Debtor Society?” 😉

p.s I believe the Tories are also members of the B.D.S. as well. 🙂

123. Flower of Scotland

@shrodingers cat 2.37
    Stephen Gethins is an MP

Roderick Campbell was an MSP

Why do your figures mean anything? I can assure you that I do know the SNP candidates standing in the Council Elections. We even have literature now for delivering.

You sound a bit bitter!

124. Macart

On stage now.

Clegg, no better than Carmichael, no better than thingy.

Who knew?

The same holy Wullies who preach about farness and truth and civil debate in politics.

Three proven fibbers and oathbreakers thigither. Still banging on about how evil the other team are. Mr Carmichael smearing Mr Salmond and comparing him with the likes of Trump and Farage. Wee Thingy and his utterly hypocritical and anti democratic stance on referendums and Now Clegg on the Tartan Tory myth roundabout. But, y’know, politics as it is practised and all that.

Seriously Libdems, just go now. You’re a disgrace.

125. Bob Mack

@Joannie,

I believe you may be right. I dealt with one such inmate of the establishment and it is quite harrowing to listen to the experience, They were helpless in many ways, often with little family support because of the stigma attached at that time.

My own sister left the family home to avoid my mother and father finding out she was expecting. She wtrote once or twice to my mum and dad telling them she was working around the country. She was in fact living less than 10 miles away.I kept contact with her and after three years persuaded her to let me be a negotiator in introducing herself and my nephew back into the family. It worked out well eventually.

I suppose ultimately we learn never to put people in these situations ever again

126. DebzoHighland

Vestas…I think it is more accurate to say “Most of the evil in this world is done in the name of religion.”
    Laughed out loud at your English mates’ reaction to the clip.

Proud Cybernat….loving your pics!

127. joannie

@Bob Mack – its a sad part of history the way unmarried mothers and their children were treated in the past. I’m glad things eventually worked out for your sister.

Its also worth remembering that poverty was a factor too. Ireland was quite a poor country at the time this home in Tuam was running, and a family struggling to feed the ones they had would have seen a pregnant daughter as a financial disaster on top the stigma. Same in Britain in the past, which is why we’re now hearing about children shipped off to Australia to reduce the burden on British social services.

128. Ronnie

I lasted as far as him saying “Eh no, no!” after the first question. What a total bellend.

129. Liam

seanair says:
    10 March, 2017 at 2:01 pm

On bus, glanced at letters in the Metro.
    Don, who might be Willie thinks that,
    “The UK government has just given Scotland an extra £350million, which is almost £6million each for every person living here. If the SNP are serious about ending austerity, they should ensure we all benefit from this handout.”

Woohoo! Can I have mine in cash please!

130. Iain

o/t If the tory party could only muster two hundred elderly people to it’s conference and the libdems only eighty.
    How many attended Labour’s conference?
    Why do we pay so much attention to such tiny extremist parties.
    Let them die, and we should move on to a free state.

131. Robert Graham

Oh dear anyone know what he’s on about, A miracle cure for Insomnia has been discovered and is available at a getogether in Perth , oh sorry it’s a Conference mmm aye ok . God why do these people bother ? Well I suppose it keeps them out of mischief like sooking another mint ,
    We have a baldy clown praising the involvement of the liberal party at the beginning of the Scottish parliament , anyone know about anything they have actually done , Anything, oh come on there must be something that’s memorable, One will do.

132. Bob Mack

By the way. I think one of the Rev’s sharp eyed accolytes has spotted a woman at the conference who appeared as one of the speakers who was apparently randomly approached in the street in the Scotland in Union video ,where she declades herself to be a political “neutral” with no axe to grind and defended staying in the Union.

Never trust Yoons folks.

133. schrodingers cat

Flower of Scotland says:
    Stephen Gethins is an MP
    Roderick Campbell was an MSP

Why do your figures mean anything?
    —————————-
    because the westminster and holyrood constituency for nef are almost exactly the same, the only difference is 3000 voters in Leven
    —————————-

I can assure you that I do know the SNP candidates standing in the Council Elections. We even have literature now for delivering.

————————-
    there are 5 wards in nef, some have announced the candidates, but not all. eg, you dont live in the taybridgehead ward
    ————————–

You sound a bit bitter!

No, Im not bitter, just pointing out some of the reasons why we lost in 2016, it is now only a historical fact

however, stating that the organisation by snp hq for these council elections has been less than ideal, is also a historical fact

ps, fife SNP councillors have still to publish their manifesto or this coming election.so our 1st run of leaflets, like yours, makes no mention of it. I think our over all campaigns are about 15 weeks behind

134. Arbroath1320

Here is the proof folks that “Don” has been using a broken BBC calculator. 😀

https://twitter.com/gavmacn/status/840218437259538434

135. Les Wilson

Smallaxe says:

Just read your comment in regards to my cynical posting about Wee Willies capabilities.

Gotta agree with your reply, seems suitable for Bailey, perhaps wee Willie too, or am I just being bad LOL.

136. crazycat

@ Iain at 3.59

I’ve heard that there were 3 coaches in the SECC car park at the time of the Tory conference, seemingly from the north of England.

So either no bus company in the Borders was available to ferry supporters from there, or those 200 people were not even all “Scottish” Conservatives (and Unionists).

137. Meg merrilees

Re Lib-Dem conference attendance:

Froze the frame and had a rough count on the Carmichael clip (BBC website) – reckon there’s about 175 people in the hall.

1MP , 6MSP’s and no MEP’s… Lib-Dems definitely do not speak for the majority of the Scottish People.

Why does Carmichael even mention Alex Salmon – Nicola is the leader.
    Scandalous that he basically sides with Sadiq Khan and says that Nationalism is divisive and that Alex is no different from Farage and Trump.

Is Alex, xenophobic?
    Is Alex anti-immigration?
    Does he think EU nationals and non-Scots should go back to where they came from?

No, apparently, it’s because he believes that decisions about Scotland should be made in Scotland. How many other countries in the world have decisions made for them by another country?

Not an unusual request.

Carmichael is a barsteward as well as untruthful.

138. Les Wilson

Well, on conferences I guess after the none exciting turn out, at the Unionist ones, they will soon see what a real one will looks like.
    They can eat their heart out with envy, and I hope it really stings. Roll on next week I am really happy to be going.

139. The Dog Philosopher

After all the creative BBC camera angles at the Tory conference, I now expect to see the Libs’ conference packed to the gunnels; but if you look closely you’ll discern that each one is actually an exact copy of Wee Willie Rennie.

140. Meg merrilees

This is unexpectedly funny!

THeresa May’s odd laughter in parliament this week…
    https://twitter.com/wee162

141. The Dog Philosopher

Is there a soft-play area at the Lib-Dem conference, I wonder?

142. frogesque

O/t

Gocha! Finally

Katie Hopkins to pay £24k damages and £100k Court Costs for defamation to Jack Monroe over “tweetgate”

Hope the nasty piece of work is happy.

PS Katie, if you don’t like that, sue me, I don’t have a Jackie Bailey bean to my name!

143. msean

I hate to break it like this to the LibDems,but trying to get the entire UK to stay in Europe isn’t going to happen.England and Wales are leaving. Our only hope is to leave the UK and then do what we need to do to stay/get back in to the EU. First things first though,we have to stand up on our own feet and make our own decisions.

144. Dr Jim

Although you have to hand it to the Lib Dems
    Aint no mountain high enough, aint no valley low enough, aint no level they wont sink , aint no thing that they wont say, to get you to vote for them

Altogether now

145. Thepnr

Just standing on the sidelines now, having a laugh at first Labour, then the Ruth Davidson party and now the Lib Dems and wee Wullie.

Truth is now though that few in Scotland actually care about what any of these parties think. Latest poll Tories 19% labour 17% and Lib Dems 6%, between the three of them they barely get 42% of the vote in Scotland.

I’m determined to make it even less, we all should be, Davidson, Dugdale and Rennie who could vote possibly for these half wits that care not a jot about Scotland’s future. Only the ignorant.

Scotland’s future will be made by the likes of us and young Erin on the last thread. This lot are yesterdays people. The bin it’ll be for them starting this May.

146. Foonurt

Aye, Wee Wullie Rennie, murrth ah meenit. Bit haud oan, ma mithurr yiss tae say “Mair tae bae peetit, thinn lafft ett.

147. frogesque

Liar Carmichael abhores the concept of Indy. Lie, cheat and lie again.

The kicking he got from the Courts and the Orkney Four was a massive dent to his ego but there’s no contrition, no meaningful apology and his side kick Mundel washed his hands of the affair with a not me guv.

Two cheeks chaffing together and farting guff for the gullible.

Nothing but contempt for either of them.

148. Arbroath1320

Just for you Dr. Jim. 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFUrG1-BAt4

149. Gary McIlkenny

Of all the greetin’ faced unionist party leaders, Wullie Rennie gets on my wick the most. Doing Scotland down, banging on about non-existent crises and being proud to do so! Pathetic.

150. Proud Cybernat

“Alex is no different from Farage and Trump.”

Ah, the FibFest. Aliar Carmichael at it again. He must surely know the difference is that, unlike the other two, Alex has never been sent packing from Scotland with a flea in his ear. Oh and neither is Salmond a racist, …

http://imgur.com/JPeTQdt

151. Flower of Scotland

@schrodingers cat

There’s enough problems fighting the other parties without in fighting in the branch.

I’m just leaving this conversation because you obviously know much more about NE Fife SNP.

I’ll just beaver away with my leafleting and leave you to the arguments.

152. Arbroath1320

So I think I’ve found the BIG question of the day folks.

Which event will have the biggest attendance?

This …

https://twitter.com/Always_a_Yes/status/840227924313804800

OR … this …

https://twitter.com/WilliamDuguid1/status/840180211060740103

153. Proud Cybernat

The planets and stars are aligning. Spain now on-board to accept Indy Scotland into EU…

https://twitter.com/nickeardleybbc/status/840245384739971073

154. Arbroath1320

Sorry for O/T here but thought this might intrerest those who have been following the Jack Monroe versus K**** H****** Libel trial.

https://twitter.com/ChrisDarroch2/status/840241283042025473

Bankruptcy anyone?

155. Free Scotland

What’s the difference between Willie Rennie and the hole in the middle of a polo mint?

Nothing: they’re both incapable of reasoned argument.

156. Glamaig

OT, Radio Scotland just accidentally broadcast a clip of ‘Common Fisheries Policy bad, EU very very bad for Scotland, we’re better out of it’ in the middle of the sports news instead of a clip from Stuart Hogg. Easy mistake to make I suppose, it must be right at the top of their list of favourite clips. Dont know who it was, maybe Bertie Armstrong.

157. Proud Cybernat

It’s in the air, people. Can yae feel it?

YES we can!!!!!!

158. Footsoldier

On BBC Scotland website, Alistair Carmichael condemns “rise of nationalism” but conveniently forgets British nationalists and of course the BBC do not open the article for comments.

159. Arbroath1320

If Carbuncle is SERIOUS about anything that he “think” about “nationalism” then I suggest he gets aff his fat earse and gets himself doon tae Alloa tomorrow. The well know non nationalist group otherwise known as the Scottish Defence League, a.k.a. English Defence League, will be protesting … apparently.

Unfortunately for the SDL/EDL/BNP/Britain First protest there will be one or two opposing protests to meet them.

The first protest to meet the SDL conglomerate will be at Alloa railway station to give them a nice wee “happy to see made it to Alloa safe and sound greet and meet organised by alocal student.

The next protest is organised by Unite Against Facism in the town centre of Alloa.

There is also a third protest by Bikers for YES who have been given permission to have a 5 MINUTE “noise fest.”

As if the police don’t have enough on their plate dealing with this lot … Alloa are playing Stenhousemuir at home tomorrow as well.

Looks like Alloa is the place to be on Saturday folks! 😀

160. Muscleguy

If the answer to your question is Willie Rennie you MUST be asking the wrong question.

Isn’t he the leader simply by dint of being the only LibDem to win his constituency in 2011? That’s our Willie, only there as the last man standing. The man whose job will be turn the lights out when the last member resigns.

161. Muscleguy

Erratum: when the last member dies of old age or a broken heart.

162. Glamaig

Proud Cybernat says:
    10 March, 2017 at 5:30 pm
    The planets and stars are aligning. Spain now on-board to accept Indy Scotland into EU…

https://twitter.com/nickeardleybbc/status/840245384739971073

I’m not going to get too excited about it being on Reporting Scotland. My prediction is they’ll lead with this:

https://twitter.com/nickeardleybbc/status/840262226632179713

163. yesindyref2

@Proud Cybernat
    Unionists: “One one one wheel on on on my wag wag wag on but I I I oh feck it, I’m off”.

164. Vambomarbeleye

Should he no have a hat with bells on it and a bladder on a stick. Sorry the bladders Carmichael.

165. yesindyref2

Thanx for the heads-up, watched reporting Scotland.

It’s happening.

166. Vestas

O/T religious shit :

I’m aware of ALL of the Tuan stuff thanks.

You’re going to find that its an old cesspit when they dig it up. I look forward to apologies then.

Unless of course it was “miracle burials” which didn’t disturb the ground.

It’ll be the same old shit from the church, covering their arses until the responsible ones die/are senile.

Anyone want to bet against it?

We return you to your usual channel….

167. Patience is a Virtue

The Liberals have one MP in Scotland, Alistair Carmichael..(compare and contrast with the 56 SNP MPs out of a possible 59 in Scotland. He has been under a bit of cloud since around Dec 2015 when he felt obliged to admit to the Court that he was ‘initially less than fully truthful with the enquiry.’

Just heard the very same on the radio laughably attempting to draw a comparison bewteen the former FM of Scotland and Nigel Farage. If this is the best the Liberals have to offer then pleas, please, can we have much, much more from the MP for Orkney.

It is not often a Liberal MP moves me to comment…

but his words prompted me to recall others who have been economical with the truth…example: from the laconic Indian Chief (Lone Watte) in the Film, ‘The Outlaw Josie Wales’… who recalls (to Clint Eastwood) the countless times the Civilised Tribes had been lied to, and the countless Land Treaties broken by The Union….and he explains how the President (who gave him his top hat at a previous meeting to, and promised his Nation/Reservation Lands were secure for all time – hence the hat making them ‘civilised’)… listened to their counsel.

and the President advised the Indian delegation to ..’return to their Lands’ and

‘Endeavour to Persevere’

well?… enquires Clint…

and Lone Watte after after dramitic pause, says:

“We thought about it for a long time, “Endeavour to persevere.” and when we had thought about it long enough,…’Endeavour to Persevere’…

we declared war on The Union.”

I look forward to Mr. Carmichael’s next pronouncement from the umbra of his cloud.

168. call me dave

Katie Hopkins to pay damages in’rent a gob’ case in the Hootsman.

https://archive.is/OwH7x

169. Peter Barjonas

Willie Rennie: a Canute with a distaste for arithmetic. I looked it up in my thesaurus.

170. Smallaxe

Les Wilson says: @ 4;13 “am I just being bad LOL”

Sometimes, it’s good to be bad Les!

Peace Always

Sorry for late reply Les.

171. Glamaig

…well that was a real shock. Reporting Scotland went with the Spanish MEP stating Spain would not block Scotland, before the ‘you have to leave then reapply’. They also broadcast the Labour MEP swithering about voting Yes, plus a Scotrail good news story.

Mixed bag though with plenty of Libdem guff including Carmichael comparing Salmond with Trump and Farage, and some Tory MEP saying EU very bad (the same clip broadcast in the middle of Radio Scotland sport report). WTF is his opinion on Reporting Scotland for, we dont have any Tory MEPs.

The way they order their items is very weird though.

172. yesindyref2

@Glamaig
    Yes but did you see the look on Eardley’s face talking to the Tory guy?

173. Brian Powell

So if NI were to reunite with Ireland would it need to reapply to join the EU?

174. stewartb

English school headteachers conference today. Channel 4 News tonight reports that it was refused permission to film the Education Minister’s (Justine Greening) speech but reports heckling as she sought to defend new funding for new, selective grammar schools and new ‘free schools’.

In essence, in my view, Tory policy to give ‘choice’ is leading to sink schools, more limits on social mobility, and an even more divided society.

My point? People in Scotland and our Labour, LibDem and Green MSPs should: (a) value much more what we have in Scotland; and (b) beware of what a Tory government in Holyrood might lead to.

175. Peter Barjonas

The Right Honourable Alistair Carmichael, MP and legally recognised “lier”, condemns the “rise of nationalism”. Does that mean that he is really happy to see it?

176. ronnie anderson

Who thought up that libdem slogan Winning Again

Coconuts , 3 baws fur a pound, pity the coconut shy’s ur closed fur winter

177. crazycat

@ Glamaig

we dont have any Tory MEPs

Unfortunately we do – Ian Duncan – and judging by Nick Eardley’s tweets, he was the one interviewed. (I didn’t see it myself.)

(Scotland’s MEPs are 2 SNP, 2 Labour, 1 Tory, and 1 …er…other.)

178. Valerie Rettie

‘What we didn’t know was the destination’. All aboard the Skylark!!

179. Glamaig

@crazycat

godammit… shocking lack of alertness on my part. And yes of course I’d forgotten about that really embarrassing one too.

180. Liam

ballevullin said
    10 March, 2017 at 10:58 am

“What the hell is the tide of division? ”

Isn’t that what Moses did to the Red Sea?

181. Simon curran

O/T I can’t get this quote thing to work but Stewartb you’re absolutely right education in England has been wrecked by the Tories. I know there have been complaints about the situation in Scotland, particularly with the Curriculum for Excellence but the Tories have destroyed comprehensive education in England and most schools where I teach are cutting classes and are going to be setting negative budgets. Head teachers now writing to parents asking them to pressurise MPS into opposing Government policy -I’ve been teaching for ‘quite a while’ and that’s unprecedented. Education in Scotland may not be perfect but please don’t look to England for any solutions.

182. The Dog Philosopher

@ ronnie anderson

Obviously it should read ‘whining again’.

183. Jack Mack

Wee Wullie keeps going on and on about mental health.
    This just shows that he will be up for a check up immediately…

184. Peter McCulloch

I find it hilarious when unionists like Alistair Carmichael, MP condemns the “rise of nationalism”.

When they call themselves ‘British’ don’t they realise that’s Nationalism as well!

185. fletch49er

Oh man my sides are sore!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.