1. 13 08 16 10:56

Well-orchestrated competence of the year | speymouth

255 to “Well-orchestrated competence of the year”

1. Stoker

You took yer time wae this yin this mornin Rev.

Thanks, Chris!

2. Stoker

I’m seeing (left to right) Baillie, Corbyn and Dugdale but open to suggestions as to who the other 2 are – Yon Dim Ruth and Beard Muncher Mundell perhaps undercover?

3. Grouse Beater

Shakers but not movers?

A cartoon to remind us of the embarrassing omnishambles that is Labour north and south of the border. What is difficult to swallow is their determination, a dying resolve, never to work with the SNP for the benefit of the people of Scotland. As they keep telling us, they’d rather we’re subjected to Tory rule from London than elected SNP.

Anyhow, many thanks for the sterling support, Chris.

Your weekend reading:
    A broth of a boy: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-8qW
    Movie shark night: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-8yh

4. Calum McKay

Clown suits rather than Amish suits would be more appropriate.

Nothing from labour in Scotland, nor their sister party the tories. Blue or red, does it matter?

Has anyone ever seen a bigger shambles in politics than the current Labour Party?

That labour continue to support unionism to the complete detriment of Scotland says it all about labour in Scotland and London based masters view that Scotland can be left to the mercy of the tory party. This is shameful of labour, they could not give a monkey’s about people’s lives in Scotland.

Labour north or south of the border absolutely disgust me, time for the SNP to finish them off.

5. Hamish McTavish

I don’t see puritanical, I see tyrannical.

6. Another Union Dividend

Latest opinion polls project Theresa May will have 150 more seats than Labour in 2020 General Election.

Where is the £4 billion guaranteed funding for farmers and academic research until 2020 coming from? Its another Tory con as EU funding will continue until 2019.

This money won’t come from defence but more likely from Welfare, NHS and Education thus cutting the amount Scotland receives via Barnett.

O / T on Citizens Advice pay offs scandal in Herald it reports that Lucy McTernan (wife of you know who) got a £50,000 (tax free) pay off after being sacked.

7. jimnarlene

There’s too many, well beyond the organizational skills of BLis.

8. Bob Mack

Yes just perfect. A community living apart from the society in which they live , determined to ensure they never change or adapt to others.

Labour however also have a sense of grievance. Hatred for those who walked out on them and left them floundering. That hatred is now directed at half the Scottish population. They forget that we can hate right back, and for a politician with ambition that is not good.

9. dakk

Nice Chris.

Yeah,there is something of the inbred,insane about Slab,Yoons and the Brits in general.

It’s their weird belief that all other countries are a threat to them and may want to attack them.

Hence,they overcompensate and attack/other everyone else.

Projecting power rather than the welfare of their people reflects true British values.

No disrespect to Mennonites intended,though probably given.

10. galamcennalath

Another great cartoon. Labour must have been infiltrated. Their suicidal behaviour makes no sense otherwise!

Another Union Dividend says:

“Where is the £4 billion guaranteed funding for farmers and academic research until 2020 coming from?”

… perhaps from the money they won’t be contributing to the EU, they assume? A quick look at Norway’s arrangement and we see that they pay almost as much per head as the UK does! The Tories are making an assumption, I think, that the UK will no longer be paying the EU for the privileges of free and open access.

11. Tinto Chiel

Is that a cross-dressing Lord Foulkes I see second right?

Or is it Mr Magoo?

Gruesome but great drawing, Chris.

12. Socrates MacSporran

Verily – Thou art awful Rev an Chris,

But, I liketh thee.

13. galamcennalath

Bob Mack says:

” A community living apart from the society in which they live , determined to ensure they never change or adapt to others”

That, in so many ways, applies to much of the UKOK political class. They live inside a bubble which is mirrored on the inside so when they look out all they see is reflections of themselves!

Take this MP in the media who has got a student into trouble for saying to her, “get in the sea”.

Now, I post on here but on most of the internet I am a lurker. View Twitter, but never tweet. However, I am well aware of what “get in the sea” means. It is a mild insult suggesting that a person is not very far up the evolutionary ladder and is still at the amphibian stage, in the sea. It would be used when someone says something blatantly stupid.

The MP, who indeed seems as thick as mince, didn’t get this and thought it was a threat of drowning!

14. cearc

Perfect Chris, just perfect.

15. jdman

Clip clop clip clop bang clip clop clip clop
    Amish drive by shooting.?

16. jdman

Clip clop clip clop bang clip clop clip clop
    Amish drive by shooting.?

17. heraldnomore

Love it.

And also loving the latest AyeMail package the postie jusy dropped off. New saltire to fly. Yee Hah!

18. jdman

Double Amish drive by shooting, ?

19. Socrates MacSporran

This if off-topic

The journalism rumour mill has it that the bulk of the Herald’s sub-editing is done at Newsquest’s central subbing centre, in Newport South Wales.

The RM further has it, the subs doing this work are mainly students on the Cardiff University Journalism Course – one of whose graduates is outgoing Herald Editor Magnus Llewellin.

In recent weeks these “work experience” kids have produced some belters. Poor grammar is common, stuff which any half-way competent Herald journalist of old would have caught, even after a long liquid lunch in “Tom’s Bar” gets into the paper. However, this morning, they surpassed themselves, with a headline, now changed, about Scottish cyclist Callum Skinner having “peddled” his way to Olympic gold.

Given the way the auto-correct function on my lap-top corrected his when I first typed it in, it takes a particularly poor lack of basic English language knowledge to use the wrong form of the word.

Another example of us being Better Together perhaps.

20. Bob Mack

@galamcennalath,

I totally agree. Politicians today exist for the wrong reasons. What we have seen over the past few months in Labour and the Tories is the self interest coming to the fore. They exist to serve whatever suits themselves rather than the people.

One of the arguments they throw about is that the SNP is too preoccupied with independence to govern properly, whilst All the time they( the SNP) are improving our facilities, and trade and infrastructure.

Down South the very people throwing these accusations are too busy trying to claw out each others throats to even provide an effective opposition, which ends with them either abstaining because they can’t agree or actually voting with the Government.

Who I ask is neglecting the electorate? Sure ain’t the SNP.

21. Desimond

Would this be an SNP brewery…No thanks muttered Kezia dying of thirst

Bravo Chris..the sullen solemn faces..perfect

22. heedtracker

Cant organise a piss up in a brewery, in any costumes. Never in the field of human catastrophuck ups, has such a mess been created and all to stop the Trots under red tory BBC beds.

23. Marcia

Annual? Daily I would say.

24. davidb

@ galamcennalath

The money is coming from the coin clipping the B of E is presently engaged in. We are about to see a huge burst of inflation which will wipe out the value of cash savings.

They will just print the “money” to cover EU distributions. But if they are going to continue in the single market they will have to pay that membership fee anyway. Genius it was, voting out….

The pound is weak, the Bank is printing money, stock prices are rocketing as people move their money into assets with any kind of “interest” return.

Brexit was a mistake. I have difficulty imagining any scenario where there is a sudden boom in the UK exporting/ manufacturing base. Whatever the price of the pound falls to.

We need to escape from this basket case next door.

25. Andrew McLean

What do you call the conservative, Labour and the liberal party,? Band of Brothers
    How many political parties are in Scotland? Two, unionists and us.
    What do Dugdale, Davidson and Reneie all have in common? All would sell Scotland cheap to the first scum bag that came along for a knighthood.
    What do you get if you trust Westminster for your safety? That country’s nuclear arsenal parked in the centre of the most populated part of your country.
    What do you get if you trust Westminster with your economy? You become poor! And are told so by a internet dog food salesman.
    What do you get if you trust Westminster with your free press? Propaganda that would put the Soviet empire to shame.
    What do you get if you trust Westminster with fair Parliamentary representation? the lying scummy Carmichael.
    What do you get if you vote labour? Put in your place by a Tory.

It’s long past time we all start looking after all of Scotland, no one else will. No one else has.

26. Robert Kerr

@Bob Mack

If SNP preoccupation with independence is an impediment to good governance and if the governance that they do achieve is good then after independence with no impediment then the governance shall be superb.

Think on it.

27. Macart

Love it Chris. 🙂

Ayup, that appeal ruling, coupled with some fairly public spats in the past couple of days, does take self harm to new and interesting levels for Labour.

They are dancing dangerously close to a split right now and its looking harder to see how it could be avoided by the day.

https://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/politics-as-it-is-practiced/

28. galamcennalath

Socrates MacSporran says:

“Sub editors”

Definition … Press sub-editors, or subs, check the written text of newspapers, magazines or websites before it is published. They are responsible for ensuring the correct grammar, spelling, house style and tone of the published work. Subs make sure that the copy is factually correct and that it suits the target market.

Not much of that being done in the dead tree scrolls these days!

29. heedtracker

If they split, which side will SLab choose, JC Trots or red tory? or will SLab also split with JC trots and red tory and then who will lead JC’s New SLab etc?

Meanwhile, ongoing UKOK tory BBC led Thatcher 2 canonisation farts along, draped in giant union jacks.

30. Croompenstein

Ha Ha Chris don’t get them to do the catering at a Jewish wedding.. 🙂

Can’t help thinking Harrison Ford is someway off to the left corrupting an Amish single mother and her son..

Meester Book, Meester Book dinnae touch my daughter.. 🙂

31. Lochside

Just gave up listening to ‘Shareen’s’prog on Radio Shortbreid. They were discussing the joke Laura Kussenburg ‘documentary’ about Brexit. You may recall Scotland got a brief mention in it consisting of about a sentence bracketing it with London. Anyway, some female panelist on Shereen’s prog said she found the documentary disappointing because it did not contrast or analyse Scotland’s vote with RUK.

Shereen, who I believe has a degree in philosophy, interjected immediately that Anne Soubry Tory MP, had flagged up that no-one was taking an interest in ‘Labour voters in the North’. Talk about a non sequitar!….Labour ?…North? in regard to Scotland??
    To me it sounded like someone, a producer perhaps, was shouting in her ear..’Get the subject off Scotland quick!’…Like a speak-your-weight she blurted out the first thing that came to her head or earphone. David ‘No Surrender’ Clegg of the Daily Retard, a ‘Norn’ Irishman followed up quickly with some spurious stuff about the Labour party and JC, pointedly ignoring that his home Province had voted to stay also, raising some pretty uncomfortable constitutional issues around its border and even its constitutional status.

If anyone required confirmation of the BBC ‘Scotland’s’ continuing suppression of Scotland and its very identity, this was it. Before I turned it off there was more vacuous team GB fawning pish…these people really do exist in a vacuum of their own arrogant stupidity.

32. mogabee

I’m just waitin’ on the barn raising. 🙂

33. Dan Huil

britnats are always off-target. That’s kinda Amish.

34. Proud Cybernat

When the yoons were in power in Scotland, they were pre-occupied with maintaining the Union (and their future ermined place within it) – and our governance was shite.

35. Robert Peffers

The real problem with Labour is the same one affecting the whole of England.

Englanders have long had an identity crisis. While the Scots, Irish and Welsh have a recognisable cultural identity the English have little or none. To begin with the are never quite sure if they are the country, or the kingdom, of England.

Then there is their mistaken belief that the word, “Great”, in the term, “Great Britain”, has any other connotations than the geographic one of referring to the largest island in the British archipelago.

All this is further complicated by the strong, but erroneous, belief that they alone are, “The British”, or even that, “The UK of GB & NI”, is actually all of Britain.

We can find many, many current examples of this typically English confusion almost every hour of every day of every year. We have, just for starters, the so called, “British Broadcasting Corporation”, who in fact are NOT the Broadcaster of all of the British Isles. Just of the UK of GB & NI.

They are, in truth, only the United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland’s official Broadcaster. Yet the BBC are the main propagators of the many myths that confuse the people of England, or even the people of the Kingdom of England.

Witness the many current, (deliberate or otherwise, gaffs of the many BBC commentators and BBC pundits throughout the present Olympic Games. The very name of the United Kingdom team is itself a mythical gaff. “Team GB”, refers to only the countries of Wales, Scotland and England but does not include Northern Ireland, Yet the team actually represents The whole, “United Kingdom”, and that itself highlights yet another myth.

The United Kingdom is legally a union of only the two, equally sovereign, kingdoms that signed the 1707, “Treaty of Union”. It is not thus legally a union of four unequal United Kingdom countries. Yet we have various BBC persons on air talking of wins for, “England”, even when the medal winner is Scottish, N.Irish or Welsh. They are never quite sure whether the Olympic Team represents England alone, The United Kingdom, Great Britain or Britain.

In fact for many Englanders these terms are all mutually synonymous and basically all just means England. It begins right from the Monarch herself as she is often referred to as, “The Queen of England”, (but is that supposed to be the country or the kingdom of England)? In any case she is NOT the Queen of either Great Britain or of Britain for her legal title in Scotland is Queen of Scots and there is a republic also within the British Isles.

So there you have the real problem – an English identity problem that exhibits itself, not as one would expect, in an English pride in all things that are actually specific to the genuinely good people of the country of England but in a racist style hatred of all things, and everything, not perceived to be, “British”, by the English and in particular by the Westminster Establishment.

I’m old enough to remember when the cross of St George was hardly ever seen and it was taken as fact that the so called National Anthem was the national anthem of England and the Union Flag was the national flag of England. I remember taking a rise out of a whole busload of England football supporters close to Hampden Park as they poured out from their Union Flag decked coach.

They carried Union flags, sang, “God save the Queen”, and there was not a red & white rosette nor a St Gorge’s Cross in sight.

I asked them, “are we going to win today lads?”, (as I wore Scotland’s blue and white colours). After they answered, “Yes”, I asked, “And by how many goals will Scotland win by”?

There was confusion and strange looks as they said, “can’t you see we’re England supporters? I replied, “No I can’t . see that you support England as you are singing the United Kingdom National Anthem and wearing the United Kingdom’s colours. Don’t you know the Union Flag is also the flag of Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland and The Queen is the monarch in all four UK countries”?

You can imagine the (I must admit good natured), abuse I got from that coach load of Englanders.

36. Yesitis

Captured the essence of a dying branch office party perfectly, Chris.
    Party at Kezia`s! No thanks 🙂

37. dakk

‘Is that a cross-dressing Lord Foulkes I see second right?’

Lol

No pish stains and nose not red enough,but otherwise a dead ringer!

38. ScottishPsyche

This one will be lost on the concrete thinking yoons for whom a figure of speech is a constant puzzle and source of offence.

39. Stoker

A few jokes for the gouffers oot there:

You know your partner is obsessed when they think The Green Party is something to do with the improvement of golf courses.

The dupe was caught off guard and drawn into some serious money betting. The golf hustler slipped into top gear and started playing like a master. Suddenly aware of the dupe’s suspicion the hustler feigned surprise at his own miraculously improved form, shrugged his shoulders and muttered, “Somebody up there must like me..” “GOOD” snapped the burly dupe, caressing his driver in a menacing manner, “because if i lose you’re likely to meet Him.”

The elderly Bishop was still a very formidable golfer, he regularly trounced the Rural Dean. “Never mind,” the Bishop consoled him, “you have many years in which to improve and my future is very limited, you’ll bury me one day.” “Yes, Bishop, but it’ll still be your hole.”

Jock was showing his usual diabolical form and was having a game to match. The caddie was near breaking point… It came after 40-strokes, at the 5th. “What should i take for this one?” Jock asked innocently. “Beats me,” growled the caddie. “Looks like a choice between a cyanide capsule or the next train out of here!”

40. Stoker

LMAO @ Tinto Chiel (10:04am) and jdman (10:24am)

41. heedtracker

This one will be lost on the concrete thinking yoons for whom a figure of speech is a constant puzzle and source of offence

It is pretty confusing. This is honest debate apparently. Pays pretty good no doubt.

http://archive.is/WMsPm

42. call me dave

Who’s on the right!… Well they’re all on the right nowadays but?

PS:
    The Hammond promises made yesterday leave Scotland worse off.

Brexit: Derek Mackay says funding pledge ‘falls short’

https://archive.is/YxX22

43. Proud Cybernat

“This one will be lost on the concrete thinking yoons for whom a figure of speech is a constant puzzle and source of offence.”

And if that wasn’t snpbad enough, he’s doing it deliberately.

44. galamcennalath

Robert Peffers says:

… belief that the word, “Great”, in the term, “Great Britain”, has any other connotations than the geographic one ….

I suspect very few even realise its meaning is the geographical one!

They do love the phrase ‘Put the Great back in Britain’. They think along the lines of the alternative meaning for which the Oxford Dictionery includes …. exceptional, inordinate, extraordinary, special.

The penny will drop with them sooner or later as the current constitution chaos unfolds – it’s the big island, not recognition by the world of their exceptionalism!

45. Marie Clark

Great cartoon as usual Chris, but I think I maybe need to change my specs. I thought second on the right was wee torn faced Lamont.Oops. Ithers tell me it’s lord pishmonkey, same auld crabbit face oan baith o’ them.

O/t just got my Aye Mail delivery, whoopee. Auld man was just complaining this morning that his Saltire is looking gie ravelled oan the flagpole. I forgot to tell him that I had a new one comin. He’s a way oot there like a wean oan Christmas mornin tae pit his new yin wae the EU stars on it up.
    Thanks Lindsay.

46. DerekM

lol dont know what to say about that Chris except its damn funny lmao

47. maureen

the great abstainers springs to mind.

48. Stoker

Another Union Dividend wrote:
    ” Citizens Advice pay offs scandal in Herald it reports that Lucy McTernan (wife of you know who) got a £50,000 (tax free) pay off after being sacked.”

Are you sure she’s his wife? Do you have a source please?

49. Iain More

Not very fair to the Amish.

50. Hamish100

Lochside says:

13 August, 2016 at 11:14 am

Just gave up listening to ‘Shareen’s’prog on Radio Shortbreid. They were discussing the joke Laura Kussenburg ‘documentary’ about Brexit.

Agreed such a load of patronising britnat tosh. I thought I was on Radio 4 for a moment. I should also say that the ordinary punter in Aberdeen, Inverness, Stornoway, Dumfries, Glasgow etc are totally excluded by this programme. It is the you scratch my back brigade inviting each other on to comment on what they think we should hear.

Hence Labour and tories will loose the local elections next year. BBC state broadcaster is not for changing.

51. Hamish100

lose

52. call me dave

Stumbled across this while waiting on the Aberdeen V Hearts game… 🙁

James MacMillan in the Spectator salting the porridge.

Scotland’s cultural scene is becoming vile, venal and parochial

https://archive.is/PvrQv

53. heedtracker

Agreed such a load of patronising britnat tosh. I thought I was on Radio 4 for a moment.

R4 lunchtime news today blasting out great news, tory gov will pay out same EU Brexit money to farmers etc so don’t worry, rejoice, reduce worries, then this nice lady was on r4 Any Questions trumpeting the amazing SLab! comeback for the UK, in there Scotland region, not an “opposition” SNP voice for miles of r4 radio attack propaganda gaga. “Opposition” SNP in BBC tory land, elected government actually out here in the UKOK democracy of tory media control.

Rhea Wolfson ?@rheawolfson Aug 11
    Rhea Wolfson Retweeted North Ayrshire
    Congratulations @loucoll for an amazing win in Irvine West Council by-election tonight.I’m absolutely over the moon!

54. schrodingers cat

ot
    not wishing to disrupt this thread, a review of 2017 elections being discussed at bottom of the thread

55. Grouse Beater

Iain More: “Not fair to the Amish.”

Indeed. And not the same without Harrison Ford! 🙂

56. Iain More

@Another Union Dividend

“O / T on Citizens Advice pay offs scandal in Herald it reports that Lucy McTernan (wife of you know who) got a £50,000 (tax free) pay off after being sacked.”

Do you have a source for that? Are you 100% certain that is his wife?

Oh and it is a Brit Nat Herald article and they the Brit Nats have a history of mud slinging at the “Charity” Sector and they particularly hate the CAB.

57. Jack Murphy

OT. Labour Election Fraud in Tower Hamlets London.
    First item on local London BBC TV News.
    Available until 6:25pm today.
    BBC iPlayer;
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b07myq83/london-news-late-news-12082016

58. defo

Since when did Thepnr and Taranaich go all Nu-Amish ?

Another cracker, from a very sick mind 🙂

59. Proud Cybernat

A question. Imagine the SG called a snap indy referendum on 22nd Sept (next month).

Who would be called upon to lead the respective YES/NO campaigns (CEO, campaign leader, political leader, chairperson etc)?

It seems to me a measure of the complete disarray of the Yoons at present that I struggle to point to anyone of any gravitas they could appoint. Or am I missing the obvious?

60. Chic McGregor

So, at last we discover what Kezia’s research trip to the USA was all about. Let’s out-retro Corbyn?

Good luck with that, as the Yanks would say.

61. Chic McGregor

“Or am I missing the obvious?”

“Gordon not happy!” (c) Greg Moodie.

62. schrodingers cat

ot
    not wishing to disrupt this thread, a review of 2017 elections being discussed at bottom of the thread

soz, should say at the bottom of previous thread

63. A. Graham

Very good! 🙂

64. Cuilean

It’s Grand Bretagne (Great Britain), not to be confused with Bretagne (Brittany) in Northern France.

The term of distinction was introduced by the French speaking Normans after 1066.

French was the official language of the English (and Scottish) royal courts, until William & Mary, & French was the international language of European diplomacy until the late 19th century. Hence Grand Bretagne continued to be used for hundreds of years after it was no longer required to distinquish Britain from Brittany.

65. Robert Louis

Call Me Dave at 258pm,

Regarding the Spectator article, that was picked up by Rev Stu earlier this week – see paragraph 1

http://wingsoverscotland.com/its-that-story-again/

As pointed out, an unfounded and outdated whinge about parts of Scottish culture Kowtowing to the establishment, – without a hint of irony, by Sir James Macmillan, Knight Commander of the Most excellent Order of the British Empire.

You cannot get more craven, subservient, London establishment than that.

66. Cuilean

Interesting chat just published today on Newsnet.scot with former Labour MP Eric Joyce.

67. call me dave

@Robert Louis

Yes he did indeed thanks for reminding me!
    I didn’t click the link on that one.
    My good luck!

BTW Aberdeen V Hearts …. Yawnnnn! 🙂 0-0

68. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says:
    13 August, 2016 at 1:55 pm:

” … I suspect, galamcennalath, that the particular penny in question will fail to drop until they start to assume, that when the two kingdoms divorce, Scotland will be leaving behind the remainder of a United Kingdom they believe to be mutually, Great Britain, Britain, The UK and England.

Only then will there be a multitude of wee clinking sounds. This will be as the millions of Englanders who have had their fondest beliefs destroyed discover that there were really only two kingdoms in the Union and thus there is no more United Kingdom.

However, the island of Great Britain will still be Great Britain and the British Isles will still be Britain. The Kingdom of England will still be the Kingdom of England and the truth will dawn that England has always just been a country and it will remain so.

69. heedtracker

More comedy, why would world famous unionist zealot tory Kevrage, who says he’s not a hardcore unionist tory, now be boosterising a hard core separatist SNP vote, that gets hard cash, for laying into the SNP, shock?

Kevin Hague ?@kevverage 3h3 hours ago
    Kevin Hague Retweeted Loki
    I have – you might want to tooKevin Hague added,

Loki @lokiscottishrap
    I’m asking people who see the value in my work to help me make it better with a one-off contribution

70. heedtracker

When’s the last time England’s Andy Murray actually lost a match anyway:D

71. Jacksg

Andy Murray in another Olympic final tommorow..well done that boy!

72. call me dave

‘Hailed’ Aye right. She said it was interesting in a tweet!

Sturgeon examines ‘reverse Greenland’ plan to keep Scotland in the European Union

https://archive.is/nWQTA

73. call me dave

@heedtracker

Murray: I think I heard on radio shortbread yesterday he equalled his record of 16 so that will be 17 today if Auntie is correct.

74. heedtracker

call me dave says:
    13 August, 2016 at 5:55 pm
    @heedtracker

Surprised they even mention Andy, great English athlete, that he is. Andy must drive the Pacific Quay crew mad, trying to hit the right proud Scotbut cringer spot.

75. Tinto Chiel

O/T but maybe not because there is no such thing as coincidence, right?

Attended a Scottish Premiership match this afternoon and saw a posse of what I later discovered were “Scottish Labour” activists handing out leaflets opposing the Offensive Behaviour at Football Act, replete with quotations from the Usual Suspects, including James Kelly, aka The Seer of Rutherglen.

I don’t think I have seen so many British Labour in S______d types in one place, even during the referendum, so they obviously think this is a worthwhile activity, despite the Rev. showing the Act is very popular among football supporters.

Best part was one Britnat dispensing leaflets from a Wilko plastic bag with a large Butcher’s Apron on it.

The bin where I lodged my deposit was pretty full.

What a bunch of sad losers. They looked so excited, too.

76. Sinky

Iain More says @ 3:20 pm @Another Union Dividend

“O / T on Citizens Advice pay offs scandal in Herald it reports that Lucy McTernan (wife of you know who) got a £50,000 (tax free) pay off after being sacked.”

“Do you have a source for that? Are you 100% certain that is his wife?”

Don’t know about that one way or the other but she was a Labour Lothians List candidate in 1999.

Can’t imagine anyone being married to John McTernan.

77. Cactus

Looks like something from the Big Lebowski.. Yeah they’re good at milking the bull!

Eddie & co playing the bandstand le soir..

78. Lenny Hartley

Test

79. Robert J. Sutherland

heedtracker @ 14:59:

[…] such a load of patronising britnat tosh.
    […] then this nice lady [Rhea Wolfson] was on r4 Any Questions trumpeting the amazing SLab! comeback for the UK, in their Scotland region, not an “opposition” SNP voice for miles of r4 radio attack propaganda gaga.

Yeah, I caught some of that Any Questions today, and it’s just as if they have already factored-in Scottish independence.

Wolfson was of course the radical lefty that Murphy initially blocked but who managed to get into Labour’s NEC afterwards despite him. She may be a leftie GMB official, but in this hermetic BritNat little world, is also an Oxford graduate & thus fully signed-up member of the Establishment, and evidently felt quite at home on the panel.

It’s funny really how both sides of Labour are locked into their own version of denial. The Corbynistas such as Wolfson really need Scotland to give them even a sliver of a vestige of a glimmer of a hope of winning another UKGE, so they want to be pals with the SNP, but of course then also need to keep us locked into their hopeless Union. The Blairites (or should I revive that long-disused term, Owenites?), on the other hand, are tribalists, hate the SNP with a vengeance, but just out of spite want to keep us locked into their dead-end loser Union anyway. It’s hard to know which camp is the more deluded!

In the meantime, the weathervane on top of Labour’s North British branch office just swings idly in the wind. Eerie. Still no-one at home…

80. ElaineS

A diehard sheeple told me I should stand by Labour no matter what and called my leaving party after 40 years, a “desertion”. Wasn’t aware I’d signed up to the army and went AWOL 😉 I truly believe that many of these Blairites would stand by Labour even if the party committed the most heinous crimes

81. heedtracker

Robert J. Sutherland says:
    13 August, 2016 at 9:03 pm
    heedtracker @ 14:59:

It is an extraordinary BBC thing, that as far as they are concerned the SNP simply do not exist. BBC UK is now a two party state, red and blue tory, with no representation of any elected SNP MSP or MP whatsoever on BBC stuff n bollox.

Its hard to know how ongoing BBC black outs will pan out over all and for the whole of the tory BBC led media assault on Scottish democracy. Realistically it has to have a major influence on how Scotland votes. There is nothing we can do about and as we know, complaining to the BBC is not worth the effort.

Its not a UKOK stalemate. Its a war of attrition and time is on the BBC’s side too.

82. Still Positive.

Just listened to Newsnet.scot. podcast with Robin Mc Alpine and Eric Joyce. Well worth a listen.

83. Robert J. Sutherland

heed:

[…] time is on the BBC’s side too.

No, I think you’re wrong on that now. The BBC are definitely in “keep calm, carry on, and whatever you do, don’t mention Scotland” mode, but Brexit is the iceberg lurking out there for a “steady as she goes” SS Brittania.

This may be the “phoney war” right now, but the ongoing consequences of Brexit are going to be way too dire for HMG or the BBC to be able to smooth away and hide for ever.

We just have to make sure that they don’t cynically deploy the downside of Brexit as a further stick with which to beat us into staying in their sinking Union.

And remember also, the EU is one entity that is outwith the control of HMG, so can’t be co-opted into a Vow2 shyste.

84. Still Positive.

Testing.

85. heedtracker

Robert J. Sutherland says:
    13 August, 2016 at 10:36 pm
    heed:
    […] time is on the BBC’s side too.
    No, I think you’re wrong on that now.

Ok look at how this kind of Great British rewrite of politics and liars, totally leaves out probably the greatest lie England’s ever told any country, The Vow. Like it never happened, which as far as our chums in the south are concerned and yoonsters in Scotland, it didn’t.

http://archive.is/7tKRc

The Observer
    How we let the phoneys take control and debase the language of politics
    From Donald Trump to the Brexit campaign, outrageous untruths are almost a matter of course. How did we reach the point where ‘falsehood flies’?

86. Cactus

Go Eddie R, Go Glasgow, Go Scotland!

That means you.. Someday it’ll all make sense.

Are we there yet..?

87. Cactus

What do we want.. independence.

When do we want it.. NOW!

It is what it is.

88. Cactus

@Nicola

Have ye drafted up that Yes win speech yet?

@Scotland

we got lots to do.

89. Cactus

So did anybuddy watch Glasgow’s live World Pipe Championship live on tv earlier..

Exactly.. wasn’t showing, but soon we shall..

Scotland.

90. ronnie anderson

@ cactus like the Edinburgh Tattoo the World gets to view them 1st and we,re not of this World as yet,but soon will be.

91. majestic12

Robert Peffers @11.43

The “great” in Great Britain is indeed a geographical term, but has nothing to do with being the largest island in the British archipelago. It is a direct translation of “grand” Bretagne, differentiating it from the original (petit) Bretagne, which in English is called Brittany, in France. It’s a Norman thing.

92. cearc

Ronnie,

Glad to see you’ve got the t-shirt!

93. frogesque

O/t: Auntie reporting RBS would still move the brass plate to London if (when!) Scotland votes for Indy despite Brexit. Too wee, too poor, too stupid blah blah. No risk to jobs though, we still want Scotland’s money.

I say best thing that could happen, let’s have a real Scottish bank fully committed to Scotland not some pretendy NatWest outpost.

94. Robert Peffers

@majestic12 says: 14 August, 2016 at 6:39 am:

“The “great” in Great Britain is indeed a geographical term, but has nothing to do with being the largest island in the British archipelago.”

Believe it if you like, Majestic12, but it is a total myth. You might try also to explain away, “Great Cumbrae”, or in the Gaelic, “Cumaradh Mòr”. This is the larger of the two islands known as The Cumbraes in the lower Firth of Clyde in western Scotland.

There is also, “Little Cumbrae”, or in Lowland Scots, “Wee Cumbrae”, or even in Scottish Gaelic, “Cumaradh Beag”. which also is an island in the Firth of Clyde. The island is known locally as, “Wee Cumbrae”.

You will find hundreds more examples of the term, “Great”, at this cite :-

#https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_United_Kingdom_locations:_Gr-Gred#Great

and that is only for England.

Geographic terms, “Great”, “Greater”, “Little”, “Lesser”, and such like are very common in British place-names and really have nothing whatsoever to do with French language use.

95. Hamish100

BBC Radio Scotland – now.

David Clegg (again) and Margaret Curran on the radio reviewing the papers.

No bias there.

They are there puting the case for labour and promoting the Sunday Mail. Poor Johanna Baxter the victim of entryism! Then th front page of the Sunday Mail again.

Awaiting snp bad in due course

Radio Scotland do not care about impartiality

96. Hamish100

Clegg quotes labour MSP. Curan then quotes the editorial in the Sunday Mail sympathetically assisted by the BBC interview. Clegg quotes the Mail again – lost count now.

Now 920 Clegg moves onto Sunday Torygraph can’t be other papers in Scotland.

97. Majestic12

Exactly, Robert. Great is used to distinguish between two places with the same main name, as in Great Cumbrae and Little Cumbrae. In the case in point, Britain, there is no Little Britain, never has been, except as a TV programme. The great is French and distinguishes it from Brittant

98. Famous15

What the Papers Say on Radio Scotland emphasises the BBC escape for them being accused of bias. None but Unionism so we are just reflecting the media. But they are only discussing Unionist views but hey,we are not biased.

Nice comment noticed when Magret Curran was reminded that Corbyn was not a Trotskiyist. “Well he has been pretty close!”

99. thomas

@ cuilean 13/8 4.52pm

I am totally with you pal. The whole myth of the name “great Britain” and how it is interpreted by the brit nats really is laughable.

Great Britain originates in the post roman years , when the invading anglo saxons pushed the celtic Britons ,( Britain itself is a roman bastardisation of p celtic “prydein) westward into wales and southward into armorica in what was then Gaul.

Armorica then became “little britain” , this island was big or greater britian , a name all but forgotten until the normans , 500 years later , who also numbered many of the celtic “bretons ” in their army , re introduced the name as you say.

Many of the norman french also re introduced the stories of king arthur , celtic legends of a romano british war chief who fought the saxons , into England so that today many think of king arthur as some long lost king of england.

When you investigate it it really is amazing the propaganda the anglo brit elite have spouted out over the years .

100. Hamish100

Oops my apologies 922 onto the SoS and sexism in the Olympics. Is this a new tactic. Indyref2 and SoS Curran and it’s not as straight for the snp .

Curran not so straight to reapply to EU and borders. Lady Interviewer supports her view and fairly acknowledge by Curran

Clegg follows up the same line. Nearly 930. Who speaks for Scotland or for that matter snp.

Garbage BBC.

101. Majestic12

Sorry. Text got mangled under the submit button. The Great is the French method of differentiating it from Bretagne. It’s not a matter of what I believe, it’s a matter of fact. However, it seems on this site if a fact is not a Robert Peffers fact then it is not a fact at all. It’s getting boring

102. Dorothy Devine

I have just visited the Sunday Herald website and I will never bother again.

Ordure ,ordure and yet more ordure – I beg again and again that no-one will bother to have their say below the line , leave it to the frothings of the usual subjects as it is quite unnecessary to counteract the ridiculous.

Ronnie , Mitch – looking good boys!

103. Proud Cybernat

Don’t talk about them (SNP), keep them out of the news and they might go away is the BBC’s strategy. Carry on as though nothing in Scotland has changed.

Aye right (sniggers).

104. Robert Graham

The RBS non story appeared on the BBC website just after midnight along with Labour’s call for exam resit fees to be abolished and Nicola Sturgeons proposed talks with EU nationals , so it’s two non stories verses one important one for EU residents , who at the BBC gets to pick what is most damaging to the SNP Government do they take it in turns ? .
    Let me see if i am getting this right a failed bank that has been burning our money since 2008 reaffirms its intention to leave Scotland if we vote for Independence I do wonder what right they will then have to call themselves The Royal Bank of Scotland seems this might be subject to challenge by some smart corporate Lawyer

105. Wullie

As far as I understand RBS is an English bank. The bank was set up not long after 1707 the idea being to break the back of the BAnk of Scotland and remove it from the banking sector. The BAnk of Scotland survived until Gordy broon appeared who let it be trashed by the Halifax.

106. Dr Jim

Do you get the feeling the Tories are going to fudge off this Brexit thing for years and years and…….

107. carjamtic

Slab registration

…..Surname : Kelly

House no. 42

Street name : my mates call me tadger…….

108. Valerie

@Dr Jim

Yes, the more academic stuff I read about Brexit, the more of a nightmare it is. I said right at the beginning it would be cheaper to.have a civil.war and clean it up, than Leave.

They announced yesterday that grants would continue covered by UK govt, but I’m sure that’s a lie, as I read our CAP payments were EU payable up to 2019.

The only issue right now is what the EU will do to ramp up pressure, as I’m pretty sure no one wants the UK in the EU now.

I don’t know what it will take folk in this country to see how bright our future could be if we take independence. Things are in limbo right now.

I fear we will lose those potential investors and political energy.

109. ronnie anderson

@ Robert Graham RBS Roamin Bank of SHYSTER’S,noo is that no more apt.

110. ronnie anderson

@ cearc
    Dorothy D

Am no worthy of the T Shirt but Mitch certainy is Greeting Faced Auld Bestard, wan look fae him an Milk turns soor lol.

(he’ll no see this post Scot2.scot keeps him busy lol)

111. HandandShrimp

Loved Curran and Clegg’s orgasmic utterances over McCall’s Hootsman thing about why there shouldn’t be an Indyref2. Margaret still in full blown denial mode too I see.

I turned the radio off. I think that is me by with radio shortbread for good. They are so terrified of the SNP that they are in full blown propaganda mode and we aren’t even in a referendum yet. God knows what they will be like when a referendum is called. I certainly won’t be listening.

As for Natwest/RBS would we be losing or gaining if they moved HQ? I’m inclined to think the latter. They could disappear into Little Britain and leave us to start afresh.

112. heedtracker

Dorothy Devine says:
    14 August, 2016 at 9:36 am
    I have just visited the Sunday Herald website and I will never bother again.

Ordure ,ordure and yet more ordure

Try some rancid the Graun ordure, with your herald? The Police are out of control snivels Graun, Glasgow’s a ruin compared to Edinburgh, nice scenery up there though…

“Glesga is grossly undervalued and underappreciated by the rest of the country. Every year since the SNP came to power in Scotland in 2007, Glasgow’s block grant from Holyrood has been cut. And though Glasgow was one of only four out of 32 local authority areas to vote for Scottish independence in 2014, it remains curiously and grossly underrepresented in Nicola Sturgeon’s Holyrood cabinet.

The tiny, self-serving and utterly unrepresentative political and media elite that has mushroomed in the environs of Holyrood continues to revile and criminalise Glasgow with its discriminatory Offensive Behaviour at Football Act and the eye-watering numbers of stop and searches carried out on its young citizens by an out-of-control police authority.”

Another cheque in the post to, Tractor eds.com

113. galamcennalath

Valerie says:

“I’m pretty sure no one wants the UK in the EU now.”

Indeed. Brexit is now being seen across Europe as an opportunity! Firstly, a chance to get rid of those troublesome Brits who act like a 5th column for the USA. Secondly, to grab a lot of investment as organisations flee an isolationist UK and to benefit from the financial neutering of the City of London.

And the crazy thing is hardcore Brexiteers still believe they are in a position of strength in negotiations! They still dream of free trade but barriers on free movement.

Then all the saner politicians just wish it had never happened and don’t know what to do next!

I saw one interesting suggesting around ‘reverse Greenland’. ( I’m not really sure what is ‘reverse’ about it. Surely Scotland is Denmark, England is Greenland? What gets reversed? ) Anyway, the suggestion was that Article 50 isn’t required if England &Wales leave. Since Scotland and NI stay behind (as Denmark did) then part of the UK continues as before.

Personally, I didn’t think this will be acceptable to England – handing over its EU status to Scotland, as it were. Not short of Indy, anyway.

There could be a rock and a hard place for Scotland regarding Indy,

At one end of the spectrum England leaves with hard Brexit. In this case an Indy Scotland would have a hard border and tariffs with its main trading partner, England. This would damage a newly independent Scotland.

At the other end, the UK negotiate soft Brexit and end up with a Norway type solution. With this, most EU benefits will have been saved and it may be hard to sell Indy in another referendum.

Basically it’s all just one huge shit storm!

114. Robert Kerr

O/T but maybe not.

A piece in the Irish Times re negotiating as a small country or as part of the EU.

Bad memories surfacing again over in the Republic.

http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/john-fitzgerald-negotiating-table-with-uk-reversed-by-brexit-1.2752831

115. sinky

Sunday Herald reports Kezia Dugdale plans to use parliamentary funds to set up a Labour political office

http://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/14681410.Labour_plan_to_create_a_leader___s_office_may_be_in_breach_of_parliamentary_rules/

This should be reported to the parliamentary standards commissioner to investigate.

116. heedtracker

galamcennalath says:
    14 August, 2016 at 11:21 am
    Valerie says:

The EU may fudge it too though. Anyway all Brexit really did was show how powerful tory BBC led UKOK media really is. Look at how Farage and Bojo were presented and sold to us as all round great guys for years, not just two more tory hucksters and chancers. Farage was never off BBC Question Time, although that crew probably had their own sleaze agenda. BBC Scotland routinely sold Scotland Farage the great via Jim Naughty style anti independence propaganda, that never once allowed any opposing non UKIP stuff ever.

117. naina tal

Anyone intending to apply to Ofcom for a 5 year medium wave only broadcast licence has until 25th October to apply. Just mentioning it ye ken!

118. bjsalba

@Dr Jim
    While Westminster may try to fudge Brexit for years, they are not in control. The 27 are. I do not think their patience is limitless.

119. gus1940

Reading today’s Sunday Herald anybody would be surprised to be told that it supports Indpendence.

120. frogesque

@ mania tal:

Domain names radioshortbread(dot)com (dot)co(dot)UK and (dot)scot are all available too.

Just for giggles like!

121. frogesque

Sorry, that was for nania tal. Damned auto correct!

122. naina tal

frogesque: Think I like yours better! Mania has a certain ring of aptness to it!

123. Robert Kerr

@gus1940

Agreed.

What’s McWhirter on? Federalism? Magic mushrooms?

124. mr thms

#frogesque @ 8:56 am

“O/t: Auntie reporting RBS would still move the brass plate to London if (when!) Scotland votes for Indy despite Brexit. Too wee, too poor, too stupid blah blah. No risk to jobs though, we still want Scotland’s money.”

#Robert Graham @ 9:43 am

“I do wonder what right they will then have to call themselves The Royal Bank of Scotland seems this might be subject to challenge by some smart corporate Lawyer”

…………………………………………………..

Just thinking out loud, but the BBC article might be an attempt to dampen speculation arising from an earlier BBC article about the bank’s motivation for abandoning RBS as a UK brand, and replacing the brand throughout the rest of the UK with the relevant brand for the constituent country.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-business-37062980

It does leave the impression that the UK is heading the same way.

125. heedtracker

While Westminster may try to fudge Brexit for years, they are not in control. The 27 are. I do not think their patience is limitless.

Underlying this is UKOK toryboy austerity economic fails. Just because they own the UK media, doesn’t mean they’re not economic shitheads. FT says

The Chinese ?economy? is expected to grow 6.6 percent this year, with the inflation rate rising to 2 percent, the IMF said in a report after concluding its annual economic health check on the Chinese economy.

126. heedtracker

BBC r4 lunchtime news teeing up a big SNP bad thing right the noo, they’re in Murray/Morray and its looking like a very big BBC boot up the erse.

127. Valerie

@bjsalba

I agree. The 27 are increasingly peed off. Enduring decades of the EU project being derided, 17 years of Farage & co., UK govt acting.superior and special. Brexit vote destabilising EU and potentially world markets, appointment of the 3 stooges, lack of plans, BUT still throwing their weight about.

UK is a tiny island, with 27 other countries to consider. Each of those countries are already making decisions about what they don’t want from UK.

What does the UK have that those 27 can’t get elsewhere within the EU?

I read a poll yesterday that was done about 6 months ago, showing that the UK thought the British Empire was a good thing. This is why England voted Leave. That pernicious crap has been repeated for centuries.

Sky did a recent feature called Out and Proud, and I like Faisal Islam, he mostly just lets folk speak, with an occasional astonished – What???

It was so cringe making. Fishermen in the North East just spouting rubbish. Faisal found a youngish fishmonger who voted Remain, the only guy who spoke sense, and told Faisal the lovely modern fish market was all EU money, and he pointed to other dock improvements. He said he felt there was nothing good about the Leave vote.

128. Valerie

BTW, the programme – Out and Proud, on Sky, is being repeated at 8pm tonight.

Interesting, if you can stomach. I dislike calling anyone uneducated, but it’s very clear in the programme, ordinary voters don’t know the basics, or don’t care to know.

I find it sad, and a bit scary.

129. clipper

Heedtracker,

I really don’t know how you can stick your head into that bucket full of Guardian/bbc muck day after day and stay off anti-depressives and keep your sanity. I know I for one couldn’t.

I think by now they’d be coming to take me away ha ha coming to take me away…..

130. clipper

Sorry o/t again last one.

Things are cooking in Germany when politician says people are the problem not the elites. Check out the vid approx 2.30 mins long.

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-08-13/german-president-booed-attacked-after-claiming-people-are-problem-not-elites

131. heedtracker

It was so cringe making. Fishermen in the North East just spouting rubbish. Faisal found a youngish fishmonger who voted Remain, the only guy who spoke sense, and told Faisal the lovely modern fish market was all EU money, and he pointed to other dock improvements. He said he felt there was nothing good about the Leave vote.”

Whereas BBC r4 gimps just there found angry old yoon o the UK sea in Lossie, usual smears on everything YES, some local SNP dope explaining how, yes indeed sah, SNP are really just sneaky chancers who dont care about Brexit but are exploiting it for their own evil agenda and then the same BBC gimp says it’s all anti English anyway. Another day at the BBC r4 attack propaganda office.

“I’m Shaun Ley, that’s our planet toryboy propaganda of the day, SNP bad”

132. Tinto Chiel

Robert Kerr: “What’s McWhirter on? Federalism? Magic mushrooms?”

Yes, Robert, Mrs TC told me he was on about this old chestnut again, and that The Sunday Herald was in full #SNPBad mode.

Federalism is the fruitiest of fruit loop ideas, considering a) the huge disparity in population between Scotland and England (another wonderful Union Dividend), b) the fact that we are a kingdom and not a region of England and c) control of foreign affairs and defence/ability to wage war would IMO be essential for us Scots.

Yoons will dangle this one again like a shiny wee bauble when Indyref2 starts but it’s really there to boot independence into the long grass indefinitely. How long has it been tossed around by the Liberals and successors? Since Lloyd George was in Pampers.

133. Dan Huil

Federalism is for fools. The same way the Vow was for feart eejits.

134. Breeks

OT Kettle calling pot black….

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-37036900

If Sputnik can do this, then so can others.

135. Robert J. Sutherland

heed @ 13:33,

It seems the BBC policy of “don’t mention Scotland” has changed. I heard that r4 “news item, and it was the vilest piece of pure anti-indy propaganda in a long history of BBC anti-indy propaganda. The “reporter” who interviewed Steven Gethins MP even tried to suggest that the Brexit issue was just the SNP being anti-English, and resurrected the ghost of J.M. Barroso as if that busted flush had any relevance whatever today.

As for that “SNP” gimp who let himself be the BBC’s useful idiot, words just fail me.

The item was probably reassuring to all the home counties know-nothings, but I can’t think it will have done much for the BBC’s reputation here in Scotland.

Come the indyref2, I think we should demand that either the BBC not be allowed to cover the thing at all, or that it’s expenditure should be accounted for on the Union side.

After hearing that, I’m not quite incandescent now, merely glowing quite nicely. =fizz=

136. Valerie

Surprisingly fair piece in Hootmon, about SNP groups first year in WM.

http://archive.is/nYbBm

137. McBoxheid

Majestic12 says:
    14 August, 2016 at 9:22 am

Exactly, Robert. Great is used to distinguish between two places with the same main name, as in Great Cumbrae and Little Cumbrae. In the case in point, Britain, there is no Little Britain, never has been, except as a TV programme. The great is French and distinguishes it from Brittany

Yer both wrong! the modren version is short for

Great, bloody Britain again! fit did they do noo? 😉

138. heedtracker

After hearing that, I’m not quite incandescent now, merely glowing quite nicely. =fizz=

It was wildly toryboy, an almost perfect example of tory BBC political take down/smear on opposition to their UKOK power and glory.

Its just so unfair that we are all legally bound to pay for this appalling level of public broadcasting corruption but life isn’t fair, in teamGB, unless you are an actual toryboy. Actually just listening to those reprobates on tory tour of vote No Moray, I kind of wish I could just wake up one morn and be another UKOK toryboy.

It does happen too. It happened to my Slovene girlfriend for example

https://twitter.com/ProfTomkins

Ta Da! Its a toryboy world, we just live in it.

139. Macart

@Valerie

Pretty fair assessment, but the usual quality of zoomerism below the line. It is the Hootsman after all. 🙂

140. heedtracker

Valerie says:
    14 August, 2016 at 2:20 pm
    Surprisingly fair piece in Hootmon, about SNP groups first year in WM.

Usual UKOK comment section stuff but this one’s more or less the BBC led media’s hit list for the next 4 years and then some. Up at 7.00 am too, must be clocking off from toryboy central.

Overview Scotland
    7:00 AM on 13/08/2016
    The NATS will lose alot of seats at the next election ..The losers – Mhairi Black ,John Nicolson, Pete Wishart ,Tasmina Ahmed Sheikh, Paul Monaghan , Angus Robertson,Michelle Thomson, Alex Salmond, Brendan O’hara , Ian Blackford ,George Kerevan,Callum Mcccaig,Callum Kerr,Roger Mullin,Stephen Geffins,Richard Arkless,Angus Mcneil,Joanna Cherry,Stuart Donaldson,Margaret Ferrier,Drew Hendry .Kirsten Oswald ..off course the way things are going there will likely be others .

141. Brian Doonthetoon

FTIOY* –

The “Out And Proud” documentary is on YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KG5jvQyF5bA

*For The Info Of Yooz.

142. gus1940

McBoxheid

After REF2 there will be a Little Britain starting round about Berwick.

143. Proud Cybernat

And yet another Sky blooper just there as their sports anchor says: “At the Olympics England – er, Team GB…”

What is wrong with those people?

144. Robert J. Sutherland

heed @ 15:05:

Overview Scotland
    7:00 AM on 13/08/2016
    The NATS will lose a lot of seats at the next election

They wish. Hopefully though we won’t even be in their damned elections by then…

145. yesindyref2

@frogesque
    The Herald headline should be “RBS to move brass plaque if Scotland goes Indy”. What Ross McEwan, the chief executive said was:

That’s around the plaque, it’s not about where our people are because we have a very big business up here in Scotland.

“I’ve got 12,000 people who serve both the Scottish people and we also run our retail business from up here along with a lot of our technology.

“Two years ago when we had the Scottish referendum, I made it very clear we’d have the people in the right place, that moving the plaque didn’t make any difference to them.

So it’s the best of both worlds for us. We get the jobs, but not the risk. Which is exactly what S&P and Moody’s suggested would be best for our credit ratings. So it’s GOOD NEWS.

146. yesindyref2

@gus1940
    Yes, the SH becomes more anti-Indy every week.

@Dorothy Devine
    Competely wrong approach, some of us need to refute every article that is published in the Herald, same as other papers.

147. yesindyref2

@Wullie
    No, that was the Bank of England.

148. Grouse Beater

The Herald headline should be “RBS to move brass plaque if Scotland goes Indy”

On the subject of banks: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-8qW

149. Fred

Blast from the past, my old MP Magrit Curran on Shortbread n still talkin mince. Jackie Burd will have to look to her laurels, Magrit might just make her move on the top spot, she’s certainly got the looks!

150. Grouse Beater

Proud Cybernat: “Another Sky blooper as their sports anchor says: “At the Olympics England – er, Team GB…”

The colonial mind never takes a day off!

See last entries in infamous ledger: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-iY

151. frogesque

@ yesindyref2: 3.50

I see your point, but what happens if the name RBS carries the debts and NatWest walk with pockets bulging?

I also saw the disgusting Herald headlines and frot pagewhen I popped out for some milk. Beyond belief!

152. heedtracker

Wings Over Scotland Retweeted
    Owen Jones ?@OwenJones84 4m4 minutes ago
    Comparing democratic socialist Labour party members to Nazi stormtroopers is a disgusting smear and evidence of a twisted view of reality.

Welcome to Scotland, non red and blue planet toryboy.

153. Robert Peffers

@Majestic12 says: 14 August, 2016 at 9:30 am:

” … However, it seems on this site if a fact is not a Robert Peffers fact then it is not a fact at all. It’s getting boring”

And we can all do without your Majestic exhibitions of childish tantrums. I simply stated the very obvious and even said to believe what you wished.

May I suggest you just do that and stop picking fights. If it makes you feel any better then I’ll defer to your superior knowledge but I did request that you might attempt to explain how the French language influenced, for example, the names in this little sample of Scottish places :-

•Great Glen (Highland)
    •Great Glen Way (Highland)
    •Dirrington Great Law (Scottish Borders)
    •Great Bernera (Western Isles)
    •Great Brow (Dumfries and Galloway)
    •Great Car (East Lothian)
    •Great Cumbrae (North Ayrshire)
    •The Great Face (Argyll and Bute)
    •Great Hill (Dumfries and Galloway)
    •Great Hill (Scottish Borders)
    •Great Hill (South Lanarkshire)
    •Great Knock (Scottish Borders)
    •Great Law (Scottish Borders)
    •The Great Trossachs Forest (Stirling)
    •Greatmoor Hill (Scottish Borders)
    •Great Cross (Dumfries and Galloway)
    •Greathill (South Lanarkshire)
    •Greathill (Stirling)
    •Greatridgehall (Scottish Borders).

The statement that the term, “great”, in geographic terms seems to be rather more likely than that the French were running round Scotland giving French names to Scottish places. Perhaps too it is rather unlikely the native Scots would adopt the French names for places they already knew under different names. However, if you choose to think otherwise then that’s all right by me.

154. yesindyref2

@Grouse
    Good article.

@frogesque
    The RBS would be moving its nameplate, but also the underwriting of its debts to the Bank of England. By the looks of it the IT would stay, and a lot of the admin. I’d say some “fund” management would move, but then some of the “funds” only really ever existed in electrons.

RBS would still have to have one or more registered companies in Scotland – e.g. something like RBS call centre, RBS retail banking, RBS computer facilites, that sort of thing, and they’d pay corporation tax in Scotland, and of course all NI and Tax would be collected here.

So basically it’s a few dozen staff and the risk that goes. As they say, what’s not to like?

155. Robert J. Sutherland

Keep in mind that the EU isn’t part of rUkexit’s toolkit. You can tell the BritNats are on a sticky wicket over that situation when the BBC today is desperate to find and exploit a Scots Brexiteer, and has to refer limply back to Barroso’s solo effort for his pal Cameron. They are really worried about this one.

I get the feeling that there’s actually a strong swell of opinion within the EU (and EFTA as well, for that matter) that they will be well rid of the UK. So no cosy deals there, chums!

The Irish understand the great value of having the EU behind them, and we need to learn it too.

There is no way the BritNats can use the EU as part of a Vow2. On the contrary!

As for the Labourites’ Johnny-come-lately affair with UK federalism, sorry, but that one is long past its sell-by date. They are fooling no-one but themselves. You would think that they would have learned a hard lesson by now, but they are setting themselves up to be the Tories’ useful fools all over again. There’s just no telling some people.

156. Robert J. Sutherland

yesindyref2,

It’s even better than that. If Scotland manages to keep within the EU upon an rUKexit, RBS will be very sure to keep a foothold here in order to benefit from continued “passporting” of financial services.

These people are serious, they are not distracted by empty flummery, they can see where the reality resides.

157. Kevin Evans

O/T but this really grates me.

Just viewed an advertisement for tracing your family tree.

It had a section where you can trace your genetic ethnicity. It showed an example and it was a pie chart. It’s sections were 16% Scandinavian, 27% Irish and 51% British. Wtf is British as a ethnicity?

I know it’s pedantic but it’s really got to me. They have accepted Irish as an individual ethnicity but they have totally ignored celts, Picts, Normans, Saxons and lumbered it all in as British.

It’s stuff like this we need to keep a check on before they phase the Scottish race out.

158. frogesque

yesindyref2 and Robert J Sutherland.

Thanks for the additional info, looks like it could be a good deal after all. Hope you understand my initial scepticism though.

159. frogesque

@ Kevin Evans.

That sort of thing ticks me off too. My known heritage is Surrey/Sussex and I’m pretty sure way back, one side of the family was on ‘Arrold’s side and Saxon and the other half were supporters of ‘The Bastard’ and Norman at the Battle Of Hastings.

It’s just commercial hype and no way of checking the results, I certainly wouldn’t pay for it.

160. yesindyref2

@Robert J. Sutherland
    Indeed, and with RBS a major player making its likely intentions known, it makes it safer for other financials to do the same.

I’m looking forward to the first Directors Reports in the annual accounts to hit the headlines:

“There is a risk in keeping all our operations in the UK with Brexit, and if Scotland can manage to stay in the EU, either as part of the UK or as an Independent country, consideration will be given to moving parts of our operations to Scotland.

We are starting the process of registering companies in Scotland as part of our Due Diligence and Risk Assessment”.

Except they’ll never hit the Unionist headlines of course, so perhaps we should keep an eye on annual accounts.

161. mike cassidy

For those sensitive to teamgb nomenclature!

http://archive.is/L43VX

162. Ealasaid

I was just on the UK petitions page not long ago to check on the ‘Ban Driven Grouse Shooting’ petition which has passed the 100,000 target. Many thanks to all who signed it.

While there I took a look at what was trending as the above petition had been running at over 800 signatures per hour in the big push. I was amazed to see that another petition was trending at over 8700 signatures per hour at the time. That petition was ‘Invoke Article 50 of The Lisbon Treaty immediately.’ It is well over target and taking a look at the map tells its own story. Talk of turkeys voting for Christmas!

https://petition.parliament.uk/petitions/133618

163. Effijy

The Petition against the Blatant Biased BBC continues to grow steadily!

The 90,800 signature is just about to be applied.

Hope to hear this being referred to more often as Brewer and Bird, and Shareen all go flat out to misreport
    Scotland.

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/independent-enquiry-into-bbc-bias-regards-scottish-independence-referendum

164. Robert Louis

I laughed long and hard at the piece on BBC distorting Scotlanbd about how the russian news agency, Sputnik, was a propaganda outfit, funded by the Russian Government.

Not sure if anybody at the BBC is aware, but the BBC is also a propaganda outfit, funded by the Westminster Government. The head of the BBC trust, who appoints the director general is appointed by the Queen and the Prime Minister. Not even Putin does that.

It is remarkable, that the BBC employees fail to grasp just how propagandist their allegedly ‘fair and balanced’ reporting actually is.

The BBC, Bringing English propaganda to Scotland. No better than Sputnik, or the cold war Pravda either.

165. heedtracker

Robert Louis, it was good to see that the RT guy was just as full of it as any BBC gimp can ever be, when he was asked if Putin.gov is funding Sputnik, he kept saying no its not, his funding’s coming from the RT budget.

If it gets up the assorted hooters of our imperial masters, daily lying for teamGB, in their Pacific Quay bunker, that’s alright by me:D

166. Dorothy Devine

Yesindyref2,
    “Competely wrong approach, some of us need to refute every article that is published in the Herald, same as other papers.”

Allow me to disagree , left to its own devices and those of Charles and co. it would wither on the vine.

With no-one responding the whole exercise becomes pointless and the advertisers don’t benefit from the free for all, besides it is patently obvious that the Herald doesn’t give a monkeys what it prints , clickbait is its only life belt.

167. call me dave

Labour plan to create a leader’s office may be in breach of parliamentary rules

https://archive.is/9YDeL

168. heedtracker

Whatever we say about hammer of the Scots JK Rowling, she really is the UKOK golden goose of our times.

http://archive.is/jL1JT

169. Lochside

Brittany, or Armorica as it was known in Roman times was where many ancient Britons emigrated to during Roman and particularly Anglo Saxon invasions of Greater Britain.

Brythonic( old Welsh) speaking Celts were driven into what is modern Wales and Cornwall. It was from the latter area that these people left to go to North West France. Brittany was known as ‘Little Britain’ by its inhabitants to distinguish it from the larger’ Greater Britain’ Island that they had been driven out of.

170. heedtracker

Dr NO absolutely UKOK effulgent over teamGB Olympic successes but this is interesting, in that its very true, you never ever hear SLab, Kez etc moaning about tory BBC Scotland led media bias against them, ever. All the self awareness of a door knob, sorry, a British door knob!

Scott Arthur ?@DrScottThinks 6h6 hours ago Edinburgh, Scotland
    Scott Arthur Retweeted Donald J. Trump

Trump: Blame the media & focus on the size of the crowd, not the argument.

Corbyn does the same.

The SNP does too.

171. yesindyref2

@Dorothy Devine
    Well, it’s an opinion. Problem is that leaves the London media, the BBC, ITV, the Mail, the Express, all to do the anti-SNP thing.

I’d prefer the Herald and Sunday Herald to go neutral, or at least balanced. There’s going to be a market for that.

Anyway, to each their own, if some want to refrain from posting in the Herald, that’s their free choice, Mine is to continue posting in the Herald.

172. dakk

‘The BBC, Bringing English propaganda to Scotland. No better than Sputnik, or the cold war Pravda either.’

Was in St.Petersburg couple years ago and impression I had was there was nothing like the range of media propaganda that UK has.

It felt more like no information rather than disinformation to me.

The vast and ubiquitous and blaring red and blue Tory BritNat presence in the broadcast and print media here puts the rest of the world to shame in the propaganda stakes.

173. Croompenstein

ship shape and Bristol fashion.. 🙂

https://twitter.com/GavinHindley/status/764476970805653504

174. Glesca Keelie

Ealasaid says:
    14 August, 2016 at 6:13 pm

I was just on the UK petitions page not long ago to check on the ‘Ban Driven Grouse Shooting’ petition which has passed the 100,000 target. Many thanks to all who signed it.

Ealasaid, Don’t know if you read the Gov. response, but the petition must be for some other country. No us.

The Government is committed to helping create a more sustainable future for the English uplands, including by protecting peatlands through measures such as the Peatland Code.

And Monitoring of populations in England and UK.

175. Ian Brotherhood

Hope Over Fear rally in Glasgow George Square on Sat 17th Sept.

At Glasgow Green on Sunday 18th, this:
    https://www.evensi.uk/thousands-expected-at-yes-movement-rally-glasgow-green/183361612

If you have strong feelings on whether WOS Friends should be attending both, or concentrating on one, please come to O/T and sound-off about it. We need to be well prepared.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-37/#comment-2174242

176. Robert J. Sutherland

yesindyref2 @ 19:46:

I’d prefer the Herald and Sunday Herald to go neutral, or at least balanced. There’s going to be a market for that.

You would think so, wouldn’t you? It would be a public service and to their lasting credit, even post-indy. It should be no great bust, they would just have to be fair. Which is what makes it all the more puzzling that they seem prepared to stay partisan for the Union to the bitter end, flying in the face of their own assurances, with the pro-indy stuff conveniently parked in The National.

One reason may be that, like virtually all the rest of the Labourite camp it would seem, their self-doubt is so debilitating and deep-rooted that they genuinely fear that independence will bring them ruin, so they feel that have nothing to lose by digging in. I think they subconsciously realise that they are likely to lose indyref2, and it has made them increasingly desperate and defensive, not more open to change.

Also, maybe the dark forces of Loyalism still have more behind-the-scenes influence than we realise.

I continue to believe, though, that a developing rUKexit will begin to take its toll…

As for posting, I return to it occasionally on the Graun website just to counter and annoy all the right-wing BritNats who seem to prowl there. It can be very satisfying when you occasionally hit the mark, but mostly it’s hard toil and rather inconsequential, I fear. Better to get a letter published, if you can; it reaches the genuine readership.

Keeping the message out there is important, it’s just we are currently very constrained in the availability of decent channels to do it with.

177. Dr Jim

Mouthpiece for BBC propaganda outlet in Scotland Jackie Bird reports that a media outlet funded by someone else is a propaganda outlet leaving the public aghast in surprise and alarm that the BBC, recognised the world over as a pillar of truth and impartiality would even report propaganda reporting unless it was absolutely true

Are all other media sources and outlets funded by someone other than the BBC suspect and propagandising in their reporting, STV, Radio Clyde etc..

Does this mean our newspapers must be printing propaganda as they’re funded by someone else other than the BBC
    Who are the public to trust now, is it only the BBC bastions of truth who claim everybody else is lying or do they trust everybody else who never mentioned it until the BBC opened their very own big mouths and grassed on the others…or… is the new media outlet not British because if not then they’re definitely liars, we know all about furriners that’s why we all want a Brexit eh to counter all the other people in the world who don’t like us

Except Scotland doesn’t want a Brexit so shouldn’t the BBC just go away and leave everybody else to get on with it

Is this now a case of everybody’s lying but me Mammy, I think so

Will the BBC vanish up it’s ain Arse, these stories and more in the news wherever you are

178. Robert Louis

I used to have a modicum of respect for Faisal Islam, when he was on Channel 4 news. Not now. I just caught a snall segment by him, in the documentary ‘Brexit:out and proud’ on SKY ‘news’, where he was sitting at Sunderland quayside, almost directly implicating that the decline of the shipbuilding industry there was due to the EU – a problem that could be solved by Brexit.

Jeez, how ill informed is Faisal? He may be young, but he should know the decline of the shipbuilding industry both in the N.East of England AND Scotland was down to Westminster Government intransigence and inaction. Nothing to do with the EU.

If the EU is the problem for shipbuilding, how come Germany still has massive order books, how come France (who built the Queen Mary 2) and Finland are among the largest cruise ship builders in the world.

The propaganda coming out from especially SKY about the fake benefits from Brexit have been shocking. Roll up, Roll, up! Vote Brexit and we’ll re-open all the shipyards. Aye, right.

Faisal Islam, seems to have sold out.

179. majestic12

@Robert Peffers

I do not pick fights, nor do I have tantrums. I do not issue gratuitous insults, nor am I patronising, condescending or omniscient. I leave that to others. If I have something to say that comes within my knowledge purview, and I think it worth saying, then I will say it. It is, however, tiresome when confronted by peevishness and it spoils my reading pleasure. I suppose I’ll just have to learn to skip some comments lest my equilibrium be disturbed 🙂 God knows there are plenty of really serious things to get narky about.

I am not alone on this forum in thinking that your aggressive responses to those who might disagree with you, or dare to challenge your interpretation of history and geography, are unwarranted and unhelpful. Might I remind you, for the last time, as I will not correspond with you again, that we Wingers are all on the same side. Mutual respect, rather than bristly nit-picking, should be the order of the day. Rein in your ego, Robert, and give it a well-deserved rest. You have nothing to prove to any of us- you’re a committed and passionate independista and, ultimately, that is all that is really important. I wish you well.

180. Robert J. Sutherland

Robert Louis,

Everything is going to be the EU’s fault from now on, dontcha know, softening everyone up for when the plug is finally pulled. That essential prep is gonna take some time, you know.

In the meantime, HMG response to the “Invoke Art.50 now” petition is (in part):

We want to ensure the best possible outcome for Britain and the future UK-EU relationship. As part of this, the government will of course work closely with the devolved administrations to ensure we get the best deal for the UK as a whole. We should not trigger Article 50 until we have a UK approach and objectives […]

So they’ll have a nice 5-minute chat with the SG etc. (or with Fluffy on our behalf), totally ignore whatever we say, then all the subsequent delay and anything that’s not the EU’s fault is gonna be the SNP’s fault.

This after all is Better Together, the best of all possible worlds…

181. Glamaig

@Robert Louis
    I think we’ll be hearing a lot more propaganda about the supposed benefits of Brexit in the coming months in an attempt to undermine support in Scotland for independence. I’m expecting to see a lot of coverage of bad stuff happening in the EU too. The sooner Article 50 is triggered the better. I’m thinking of signing the petition Valerie linked to above 🙂

182. Croompenstein

Dear STV can Parsley the cat please take over from Daisley…

http://tinyurl.com/zy9hjnk

183. mike cassidy

Its a Sunday night –

so how about a scientific diatribe at the BBC’s bullshit.

http://archive.is/E9MYR

184. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Croompenstein.

Kinda reinforces the inclination to pay Oban a visit…

185. yesindyref2

@Robert J. Sutherland
    One of the points of posting during the Ref was for the writers to read it, and maybe influence them, or correct them – if they had open minds. The old format on the Herald allowed people to “follow” you, and I’m sure dome of the followers were journalists, not even just from the Herald. But also some politicians, Labour were definitely active. Something I was aware of when posting.

But these days it’s the likes of Charles is first up, or a couple of other time-wasters, whose purpose is probably to lose the wheat amongst their chaff, and destroy the forum. They get replied to, and there’s no “collapse” thread” so people can just get rid of that, they have to page through.

So it’s probably a waste of time, but still, better done that not done.

186. Tam Jardine

Commentating is hard to listen to in the Murray game- two inane idiots fulminating over Del Potro at every opportunity.

Well- even if the commentators sound like they completely underestimated the challenge Murray faces in this match and are now pleasuring themselves endlessly bumming the Argentinian up… I don’t think Andy or the watching public were labouring under that delusion.

They’re like concern trolls: “well – Murray is number 2 seed but he looks like he is really struggling here… he seems to go into these lulls where he loses focus, Del Potro’s forehand” bla bla bla

This is going to be a long and sweary night.

187. Jacksg

Tam,

Regarding the tennis just do what I do and turn the volume down..can’t stand the commentary either!

188. ScottishPsyche

Every time I watch Andy Murray I get stomach knotting anxiety so as respite I go to the internet and then my blood pressure rises.

It will be interesting to see Sputnik’s attempts to disguise their propaganda. I’m sure Jack and Carolyn will do their best but really they are fighting a battle they cannot win. I saw Hutcheon’s latest – if he is a prize winning investigative journo then we are in trouble.

I watched ‘All the President’s Men’ recently – when you see what real investigative journalism is it makes you weep for the pish that passes as such now in even our supposed sympathetic media.

Leask was at it again, journosplaining in his painful whiny manner why we just don’t understand that journalists (or ‘reporters’ as he always points out he is in mock humility) know better.

He worked in the old USSR you know, almost as much of an authority as Effie…

189. Cal

Being told that the Sunday Times “news”paper had a headline saying that Brexit will be delayed until end of 2019. Well, well, well, I hate to say I told you so but I told you so! They’ve been seeding the ground since 24th June in the media – Brexit isn’t going to happen. They’ve made the decision that it’s better to ignore the referendum result and stay in the EU. The disruption to the economy is considered a greater threat than the backlash from a pissed off English electorate. Only the most gullible of Leave voters will buy the “it’s so complicated that we have to delay the exit till Dec 2019” line. They will push the date further and further into the future. Too cowardly to tell voters the truth, they will do what they do best making pathetic attempts to deceive them with excuses.

Now we will see if their gamble is correct. The Tory party must surely splinter. No amount of distractions from the joke Labour party can prevent that.

Meanwhile, we wait here in limboland. Farcical!

190. louis.b.argyll

Tam, re tennis commentators,, even my daughter noticed the negativity..
    ..’that forehand/shot will compound his (Murray’s) misery’.. they said.

He was still a break up after a fantastic start.

191. yesindyref2

Murray game – I really vomit as these moronic ignorant commentators say like “asking questions of Murray”.

It’s fusking tennis, not a quiz.

192. louis.b.argyll

Limboland? Aye, half the world IS ASLEEP!

Insular anti-progressive politics PROVEN.
    Endless war PROVEN.
    Profit from misery PROVEN.
    Blissful ignorance (apathy) PROVEN.

If it wasn’t for technological distractions, tying up our fingers and thumbs, we’d be up in arms.

193. Meg merrilees

Love the Saltire and the two/three laddies sitting directly behind Andy’s chair during the match tonight. Been a few really good shots on screen – def. not EBC in charge of camera angles in Brazil – hee hee hee. C’mon Andy!

194. Still Positive.

Meg merrilees @11.54

Aye, loving the ‘See you Jimmy’ hats.

Del Potro seems to be tiring.

Andy now 3-2 up and 2 sets to 1 up.

Ironic that the Argentinian flag is also blue and white.

Go Andy!

195. heedtracker

National front page headline, BBC Scotland Misreporting RBS, shock! Start the UKOK week in Scotland, being lied to by the BBC, as usual.

196. Grouse Beater

How long ago was it when our MSM was decrying Argentina as a hateful aggressive state?

Ah, but sport rises above politics.

And once the ‘Lympics are over it’ll be back to hating Argentina.

197. K1

Just Brilliant! Well done Andy! Go Scotland!

198. AndyH

Did they just say Murray walked over to a small band of ‘English’ supporters??

199. Brian Doonthetoon

I like Pat Lee.

He recognises me when we bump into each other in George Square. To me, that makes him a “good guy”, rather than a “W***”.

But that’s just me, like, ken?

8=)

PS: Congrats to that Yesser who had a game of tennis tonight.

200. Meg merrilees

‘Andy Murray first man in history to win two olympic gold medals – not heard them say that on the BBC yet. Waxing lyrical about how we have to feel sorry for Del Potro … oh! now,
    ‘Andy Murray is just going over to talk to a group of English supporters” Unbelievable bias!

Match been finished for 5 minutes and still not crediting Andy with the magnificence of his achievement.

Well done laddie.

201. ScottishPsyche

Well done Andy Murray and well done Del Potro! An absolutely fantastic match. I really like the way both play – my ideal god medal final.

Just wait for the hate now for Andy but boy he deserved that win.

202. ScottishPsyche

Gold Medal – too tired!

203. Socrates MacSporran

A wonderful tennis match. Two men giving their all over four hours.

Then, within 30 seconds of Andy Murray winning for Team GB, one of the two quarter-witted BBC commentators announces: “And now Andy is going over to a little knot of English fans”.

How much longer must we be tied to such self-centred, myopic, arrogant neighbours?

204. Still Positive.

Well done Andy!

The first man to win a second Olympic gold in tennis.

So proud of him and that he would have voted ‘Yes’ if he had lived here.

205. David Mooney

Well done Andy Murray.

I know its late and O/T but did anyone pick up on the BBC commentator say Andy was going over to some “English fans”, when clearly the were Scottish fans wearing Kilts, Jimmy wigs and blue tops. Ignorant stunt by a BBC crank.

206. Meg merrilees

Definitely agree – a magnificent match and both players were amazing. Should have typed ‘First man in history to win two gold medals in tennis’ think you know that’s what I meant!

Carried away with the thrill of it all. Dunblane must be jumping! Will he get another gold post box?

207. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi ScottishPsyche.

You typed,
    “Just wait for the hate now for Andy but boy he deserved that win”

You mean you haven’t seen this $h!† over the past wee while?

https://twitter.com/wingsscotland/

208. AndyH

Unbelievable! They rubbished him all the way through the match!

209. Sandy

Did I hear correctly? Andy Murray going over to the ENGLISH supporters.
    How long must we put up with this S**t from our “cousins”.
    Broadcasted apologies HAVE TO BE made.
    Our faces are being rubbed in the above.
    Isn’t it little wonder England has very, very few friends around the world.
    Arrogance indeed.

210. Iain More

@Meg merrilees

I noticed that. The BBC tit spoiled what was an epic match right at the end.

There you have it folks as far as the BBC is concerned Britain and British equals England and English.

I didn’t stick around for God Crush those Rebellious Scots. I hope the see you jimmies in the crowd didn’t either. BBC bloody insulting again.

The only thing I have watched at this Olympics at the EBC effin spoiled it just like they spoiled the Commonwealth Games. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

211. Tam Jardine

Great final- what a hero and role model Andy is. A true champion.

Del Potro played some great tennis- I would be behind him if he was playing anyone else. The Argentinians can be proud- their man gave it everything and just seemed knackered in the end. Playing so soon after the semi is pretty odd.

As for the commentator- what a knob-end. Completely unprofessional right to the end.

212. Iain More

That is it for me I am now officially not just Anybody But England but Anybody but Britain!

213. Effijy

I had a quick look here earlier, as I couldn’t believe the two BBC Prats that were commentating on Andy Murray’s Gold Medal Tennis Final.

Thankfully, I could see a few people had already been complaining.

I believe in Sportsmanship, and giving praise to the opposition, but these clowns spent the match tearing Andy’s game apart?

Andy was so bad, he just won his second Gold Olympic Medal, beating All of the World’s best who came to win that same Gold.

At the end of the match, the same 2 idiots were focused on why the Argentinian was so wonderful and gave excuses as to why he didn’t win?

It seems it was he who made such a great match!
    He gave so much and the commentators don’t know he could perform at such a high level for so long?
    (Excuse me, somebody just beat him by doing more, better!)

Del Potro had such a great and tough match, beating Nadal in the Semi, he just couldn’t have been expected to win?

He has had 2 surgical procedures recently so again, you couldn’t expect him to win?

Even Argentina’s rival nation, Brazil, were cheering for him? ( No they weren’t)

Anyway Andy, well done, for your magnificent Scottish Gold Medal and spoiling the night of two Tax payer funded Trolls
    posing as Tennis Commentators!

FFS I’m now waiting to see the BBC’s Dr Who joining up with the Daleks to wipe Scotland off the face of the universe!

https://you.38degrees.org.uk/petitions/independent-enquiry-into-bbc-bias-regards-scottish-independence-referendum

214. Sandy

Re. RBS brass plating to Ingerland. Are they frightened that a democratic Scotland will do an Iceland/Ireland & have the “bosses” up in court for fraud & deception. Believe minimum 5 year jail term for each guilty charge.

215. AndyH

Well for all the good it’ll do I’ve lodged a complaint with the gits.

216. Meg merrilees

taken from the BBC website news tonight:

“After inspiring Britain to a first Davis Cup win in 79 years in November, Murray was voted the BBC’s Sports Personality of the Year, before going on to reach the Australian and French Open finals and winning Wimbledon for the second time.

He also became a father earlier this year and led GB out at the opening ceremony of Rio 2016 as his country’s flag bearer.

On the court, he has lost just one of his past 30 matches, a run stretching back six months, and has been world number two since November, barring a one-week drop to third in May.”

Now he’s just become the first man in history to win two gold medals at the Olympics – why do people call him a c**t? Can’t be just purely because he’s Scottish – if so all these twitter twits should be arrested for blatant racism and inciting hatred.

I’ll not hold my breath…

Maybe in 2020 he’ll be the first man to win a gold medal for Scotland in tennis!

217. Meg merrilees

sorry -done it again:

two Olympic gold medals at Tennis! .. need to go to sleep zzz!

218. marydoll

I watched the match . Well done Andy! Though it was hard watching!
    I’m no fan of GSTQ but apparently it was more important to see the medal ceremony for women runners from Jamaica than wait to show Andy’s ceremony. Also not a mention from the commentary box whereas they usually gush over a medal and talk to the winner (s)
    I waited for ages but nothing….not even a ticker tape on news 24.

219. Cuilean

Watching Murray V Potro I had to turn the volume off, as the two BBC nincompoops were so dismal & negative.

220. mealer

The BBC commentators remarks are helpful to our cause.

221. Breeks

Well done Andy Murray. Inspirational stuff. Hope the next Gold is for Scotland.

Cal @ 11:11pm

I wouldn’t be so sure about Brexit never happening. I think the delay is less about a change of heart and more about the dawning awareness of just how protracted and difficult the process is going to be.
    However much Westminster might like to delay Article 50, to buy time and arrange a softer cushion for the UK economy to land on, the plain truth is Brexit has thrown many important issues into limbo. The UK for example cannot by law enter into any unilateral Trade Deals while still an EU member, and could even be in hot water trying to negotiate them.

The dynamic to watch is the support for Brexit. As house prices falter and savings shrink, it is going to have an impact on the Exit majority, and the wish to stay in the EU might become the more dominant, but the UK is at the brink. If it triggers Article 50, it steps off solid ground into the unknown, but not triggering Article 50 leaves the UK still teetering on the brink. It does not allow the UK to step back from the edge.

Unfortunately, Scottish Independence is one of those issues left in limbo. If EU membership is now a pillar of Scottish Independence, then by and large we are tying our fate to the outcome of protracted UK negotiations with very little influence to speed things along.

I’m not convinced it’s the best stewardship which brought us here. It’s been ok and good in places, but I think the immediate aftermath of Brexit had us much further up the beach and we didn’t exploit the advantage. But, we are where we are.

What I would now like to see is a stiffening of Scottish resolve. Nicola is making it clear she is considering all the options, but I think she needs a more definite line in the sand.

I also think it is an error to use a referendum as our weapon of choice. If we’re no happy, we’ll have a referendum. Hmmm.

I think it would give us a much stronger bargaining position if me made sovereignty the lynch pin rather than democracy. If we’re no happy, we will terminate the Union and pursue our National interests.

I ask the question again. When Scotland get’s its independence, from where will it draw its sovereign authority? That’s a big loaded question. If it is the popular “republican” sovereignty bestowed upon the Scottish people in 14th Century, then we are sovereign right now and Westminster has no right to usurp our sovereign intent and never has. Or, if the seat of our sovereignty it is not to be our popular sovereignty, then what authority will replace it, and on who’s say so?

We should not be bargaining for a referendum, we should be bargaining for our sovereign freedom.

222. Luigi

Another great day for Team England GB.

The establishment will be pressuring him to accept a knighthood – it’s getting embarrassing for them if their greatest star is the only one without one. Preety bloody obvious, I would say. I hope he refuses (again?).

Also wonderful to see the Lightning Bolt strike again in the 100m. A slow start, but once those afterburners get switched on, there’s only going to be one winner. 🙂

223. Luigi

The British honours system only works if most of the big “stars” accept an honour. When one or two giants refuse it, then people start to ask “Why did he not get one?” “Why doesn’t she have one?”. It only takes one or two to make the entire system look as silly as it actually is. Bad un’s getting them also makes it look bad.

I expect that Andy Murray will be under intense pressure to accept a knighthood. Alex Salmond’s call for him to be honoured is just be mischevious IMO. What better way to embarrass the establishment. 🙂

224. Grouse Beater

The Del Potro fella is one hellova huge bloke.

Congratulations Murray!

225. Liz Rannoch

EBC Breakfast (I know, but I love tennis) this am.
    Have only said Andy ‘succesfully’ defended his Gold Medal.

Annabelle Croft being interviewed. She did give Andy a really good report, then spoiled it all by saying “there was a lot of Argentine fans there for Juan Martin Del Potro and a lot of Scottish and British fans as well for Andy Murray… !!

No mention of him being the first man in history to lift 2 in a row… grrrr.

Email that I sent to complaints in the wee small hours ‘failed to send’. Surprised? Maybe it was just too long.

226. Robert Louis

Well done to Andy Murray, winning another gold for Scotland.

As regards the utterly pathetic BBC commentary team, they should be sacked. BBC, lying to, and betraying Scotland as usual.

As regards so-called ‘honours’, I have to say, if offered, it is entirely up to Andy Murray, but I lose pretty much all respect for ANYBODY who accepts such titles. The fact is, people in England want give him a so-called ‘honour’, so he becomes ‘theirs’. It is about a sense of ownership. Being ‘one of them’. In many ways that is correct, when you accept such a so-called ‘honour’, you effectively agree with the entire premise of such a corrupt rotten system.

An olympic Gold medal for Scotland’s Andy Murray, is worth a million so-called ‘honours’ from the English queen. Two gold medals is even better.

If Andy Murray has previously turned down such a so-called ‘honour’, it will have had little to do with Scottish independence, and more to do with the fact he is an extremely intelligent guy, and can, like most, see the English ‘honours’ system, for the pile of poo, it really is.

227. Robert Louis

Just a point, regarding the Olympic medal tables. The media today is full of ‘Team England GB, is now second in the medal table ahead of China. No they are not.

If you only include Glad and silver, then it is true, but if you include all the medals (gold, silver, bronze), then China is in 2nd spot.

Team England GB Medal total 38

Team China Medal total 45.

Just another example of the rubbish coming from the lying, propagandist BBC.

228. Sinky

Scotsman etc all going big on RBS having to register in London after Indy Ref 2.

However the National has some balance.

http://www.thenational.scot/news/salmond-attacks-bbc-misreporting-over-rbs-interview.21175

229. Meindevon

So, so pleased to have Andy Murray make history yet again. He is an amazing athlete, ambassador, inspiration, etc., etc.. His family must be so, so proud of him.

Re the commentators, did anyone else hear one of them say at the end when Murray ran across the court something along the lines of ‘Murray runs over to see some English supporters in the crowd’ I rewound and listened again and pretty sure he said English. Weird!

230. bjsalba

@breeks
    “less about a change of heart and more about the dawning awareness of just how protracted and difficult the process is going to be” ?

No, I don’t think so. You just have to listen to the latest idiocy from UKIP – towards the end of The Westminster Hour, Sunday evening on Radio 4. I’ve heard of Eurosceptic Tory MPs saying the same thing.

And anyway, what makes you think that the 27 are going to sit around and wait on the convenience of Westminster?

To be truthful, I don’t think Westminster has many friends left in Europe. The negotiations Czar is a Frenchman, known as a tough negotiator and the Irish are not happy with Brexit – they will be sitting in the 27 camp.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/business/economy/john-fitzgerald-negotiating-table-with-uk-reversed-by-brexit-1.2752831

231. Breeks

Wee twist in the perspective?

If I was say to Usain Bolt, “Hey Usain. Not a bad wee run there lad. Do you want to be an honourary Scot? I would mean it as a chuckle and a compliment, and certainly nothing approaching disrespect towards his native Jamaica.

But then, we can always trust the BBC to put twist in the perspective and poison into Andy Murray’s Barley water.

Rather than Wimbledon keeping saltires out of Centre Court, bring on the day when we see Andy Murray keeping away the Union Jacks.

232. Dorothy Devine

The coverage has been dire and xenophobic.

I look forward to some other countries having a bigger mention – I loved the delight of the 2 Brazilians in the gymnastic competition .Mr Whitlock looked superfluous during the photos shoots.

Well done oor Andy , a great match from what I have heard and I look forward to the FULL replay plus interviews and medal ceremony in the ‘Catchup ‘ programme ( my breath ?I ain’t holding!)

233. Fred

Never mind folks, at the next Olympics the English, hopefully, can be as English as they like. Wales will be ignored of course, just as Northern Ireland are ignored at present.

234. Dorothy Devine

I have had “duplicate message” several times – now I find when I refresh the page the comment is here.

235. Tam The Bam

This TeamGB nonsense is getting on my nerves – reminds me of the old Eastern Europe communist countries propoganda e.g. East Germany.

236. Grouse Beater

Breeks: “I ask the question again. When Scotland get’s its independence, from where will it draw its sovereign authority?”

Groan!

“Rather than Wimbledon keeping saltires out of Centre Court, bring on the day when we see Andy Murray keeping away the Union Jacks.”

Double groan!

237. donnywho

I remember when the iron curtain was still in place and all the eastern block satellite states ran off with bucket loads of medals. The press and the BBC would tell us that they were manipulating the system for naked propaganda, that none of the athletes were real amateurs and the state invested fortunes in facilities to hothouse the sporting elites.

This was done we were told to keep their huddled and impoverished masses in place and to foster false nationalistic pride. The cunning idolization of sportsmen and women was to hide the increasing disparity in wealth and power between the prolatariat and their masters.

We would of course find no western country doing anything so underhand would we, no parallels could be found in this day and age. You wouldn’t find our commentators bathing in jingoistic cool aid, like their compatriots of yor that hailed from the DDR. Nor will we find blanket coverage and endless repeats of our Glorious Triumphs from the past. We wouldn’t be as crass to run grainy film of sporting achivements and weave them into hours long mock operettas of state sponsered propaganda… Say from the sixties.

No we live in a free and just Democratic state here in the Daeutch Democratic Republic

238. gordoz

Has the campaign to pressure the RBS to move their head offices anywhere but Scotland yet ??

Surely that would be a good thing ?

239. Socrates MacSporran

And the Monday, 15 August gold medal for SNP Bad stories – goes to the Herald and Scottish Labour for the story about Labour’s calls for the scrapping of the Scottish Baccalaureate.

240. Effijy

Sinky says:

15 August, 2016 at 8:40 am

Scotsman etc all going big on RBS having to register in London after Indy Ref 2.

However the National has some balance.

http://www.thenational.scot/news/salmond-attacks-bbc-misreporting-over-rbs-interview.21175

Yet again the BBC insist that Scots just don’t understand “their” English.
    They say it is fine to use the word HQ, when they know, and the English, that this means their Brass Plaque??

Alex Salmond is again spot on in nailing the BBC, but again the BBC’s expertise on propaganda prevails, and nothing will be done about their Blatant Anti-Scottish Bias

We are now approaching 91,000 signatures on the petition against this corrupt Westminster Institution,
    Please add your name!

241. packhorse pete

Meindevon @ 8.43

“Murray runs over to see some English supporters in the crowd’ I rewound and listened again and pretty sure he said English. Weird!”

He did. And the supporters had see you Jimmy hats on!

What else can you expect from the BBC?

242. ronnie anderson

For a Yes manny Andy Murray Labours ower long on the task of winning.One of his best matches Del Porto is some opponent & deserves as much credit Good Game, good game as Brucey would say.

I just hope that when Scotland is Independent the SG dont rush in to hosting any major sporting events here. The Olimpics as with the World Cup brings Corruption in the vanguard, with those Multi National Corperations.

243. ailsa craig

Yes, Meindevon, you heard correctly. Quite clealy, he said, ‘English supporters’. All the stranger as the next photo was of the 3 guys in the ‘see you, Jimmy’ hats. But we Scots must remember our place. Accessories.

244. louis.b.argyll

Britain grates.

245. K1

Even Judy Murray turned the volume down whilst watching Andy play, the DR is the only rag that mentions the commentator Simon Reed stating Andy going over to see ‘English supporters’…and how that pissed off a lot of fans…

http://archive.is/YnGmv

246. One_Scot

‘Murray runs over to see some English supporters in the crowd’

Yeah, I could not believe it when I heard it too. You would be forgiven for thinking it was just pure out and out trolling by English commentators, but I think the reality is that their heads are so far up their own pompous arses that they don’t know what they are saying.

On a different note, very happy for Andy, but would have just been as happy for Del Potro. What a man. The match did not deserve a loser.

247. ronnie anderson

@ Socrates MacSporran (The Interdisciplinary Project will help you to develop and show evidence of initiative, responsibility, and independent working — skills of real value in the world of higher education and work.)

None of the above attributes allicable to Slab Msps.

248. Robert Peffers

majestic12 says: 14 August, 2016 at 9:19 pm:

“I do not pick fights,”

Oh! Yes you do.
    … nor do I have tantrums.”
    Oh! Yes you do.

” … I do not issue gratuitous insults, nor am I patronising, condescending or omniscient.”

Oh! Yes you are.

” … I leave that to others.”

Oh! No you don’t!

” … If I have something to say that comes within my knowledge purview, and I think it worth saying, then I will say it.”

I’m sure that almost everyone else on WoS will agree with me in telling you that you are not only welcome to do so but encouraged to do so. Just stick to that and probably no one will object. Least of all me.

” … It is, however, tiresome when confronted by peevishness and it spoils my reading pleasure.”

Very, very true, Majestic12, but bear in mind that this sentiment cuts both ways and your own peevishness may well be spoiling other people’s reading pleasure.

” … I suppose I’ll just have to learn to skip some comments lest my equilibrium be disturbed”

Now as our, “English”, speaking USAsian, “special”, friends would say, “Ain’t that the truth”,.

” … God knows there are plenty of really serious things to get narky about.”

They why not stick to them and stop picking fights with others?

” … I am not alone on this forum in thinking that your aggressive responses to those who might disagree with you, or dare to challenge your interpretation of history and geography, are unwarranted and unhelpful.”

Oops! Sorry! I was not aware that others had appointed you as their spokesperson.

” … Might I remind you, for the last time, as I will not correspond with you again”.

Now there’s a sensible thing at last.

” … that we Wingers are all on the same side. Mutual respect, rather than bristly nit-picking, should be the order of the day.”

There you go again, Majestic12, speaking on behalf of others.

” … Rein in your ego, Robert, and give it a well-deserved rest.”

Now here’s the truth of the matter, Majestic12.

In the first place neither your, or indeed my own, interpretation of the origins of the geographic term, “Great”, in the name, “Great Britain”, are anything more than our own interpretations of how the title came about.

In my case I stated that it is the far more likely and logical that a commonly used geographic term used throughout the entire World is the most reasonable and logical explanation. While you stick rigidly to a more fanciful theory.

It is rather unlikely that the French, for example, were in Australia insisting the Australians should adopt their name for, “The Great Barrier Reef”. Then again I doubt they were present when naming, “The great wildebeest migration in the Maasai Mara, Kenya and Serengeti, Tanzania”.

For Heaven’s sake, Majestic12 the term, “Great”, meaning large, larger or largest, has been in common usage geographically forever. It is thus highly unlikely that in this one instance it is not the most simple and logical explanation of the origins of the Title Great Britain. Even if it is factual that the French used the term in relation to Brittney.

So there it is, and there it should remain, and if my comments irk your reading pleasures and differ from your opinions then please do take your own advice and scroll on past my comments and so preserve your reading pleasures.

Just to add that there are other commenters on Wings who disagree with me, and me with them. Yet we respect each others views and opinions and rub along well together and that, Magestic12 is exactly how these forums work.

They would not exist for otherwise, if we all held exactly the same views, such forums would redundant.

249. Dave McEwan Hill

Except that in this case the term “Great Britain” is undoubtedly descriptive geographic in origin.

250. heedtracker

K1 says:
    15 August, 2016 at 10:30 am
    Even Judy Murray turned the volume down whilst watching Andy play,

BBC commentary for the tennis is very poor but its probably deliberate. They’ll have been told to ease off on boosting Murray, play down tennis success that they’ve never experienced before in the lives.

Andy Murray’s an extraordinary Scottish phenomena that they have no idea how to present to England, in a tone and manner that suits the relentless BBC pejorative schtick on Scots.

Just the fact that a YESer Scot has come out and won victory after victory for Great Britain completely throws rule Britannia nats off their stride. This is not their usual chippy jock of BBC lore. All they can do is pretend Murray’s English, wrap him in union jacks and keep down playing.

Once again, take time to think about Andy Murray and what it means to be Scottish. His achievement is on a global level, way beyond anything rule Britannia can hold down, let alone some sweaty English commentators trying to keep it all about England.

And lets not even begin to contemplate how hard the Scottish media down play one of the world’s greatest ever athletes.

251. K1

Ah ken Heed, it’s fucking sickening.

252. ronnie anderson

We Scots should be greatfull Andy Murray’s no some famous Chef or something or we would be seeing his produce on Tesco & other supermarket shelves, wie ah wee Onion flag oan it.

Small mercies EH

253. Jack Murphy

Re the BBC and sport.
    My Mum remembers when Englishman Tim Henman was playing at Wimbledon,the BBC was all over itself:-

Tim this, and Tim that—-always referred to as “Tim” by the BBC.

Now it’s Andy Murray this and Andy Murray that—very rarely “Andy”. 🙁
    —-and that’s BBC UK!

Up here Jackie Bird does exactly the same—she can’t “Andy” without adding the “Murray”.

SHAME ON BOTH HQ AND NORTH BRITAIN BRANCH OFFICE.

254. Cuilean

By ignoring the existence of Scotland as a country, by the BBC, I am reminded of the American novel, ‘The Man Without A Country’ which plot centres on a treasonous US navy officer, who, at his trial shouted to the judge, ‘Pray God, I never hear about the USA again’. The judge, appalled at this, sentences him to banishment for life from the USA, to spend all his life on USA navy ships where the rest of the crew must never mention his country to him, The United States of America, ever again.

This rather cruel treatment is exactly what the BBC had unilaterally imposed on Scotland as shown at the Andy Murray match, epitomised in the BBC Peel’s ‘English supporters’.

The ("Tractor" - Ed) in the book is tormented in the end and cries out in despair to another young sailor who refuses to talk to him about his country,

“Remember, boy, that behind all these men… behind officers and government, and people even, there is the Country Herself, your Country, and that you belong to her as you belong to your own mother. Stand by her, boy, as you would stand by your mother… !”

I am sure Judy Murray would agree> On her twitter line she also was so annoyed at the BBC commentators that she had to turn the volume off – after just three games into the match!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.