Sorry Ian, that wasn’t a suggestion. I hadn’t refreshed. πŸ˜‰

2. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

πŸ™‚

No worries.

I always read your posts, even though I don’t know what they’re about most of the time. I’d love to see your library sometime or, even better, the inside of your heid. I don’t know how you cram it all in.

Heaviest book I ever read was one about Wittgenstein. It was jolly good, but at the end I was none the wiser about what he’d actually achieved. It had a picture of him on his deathbed, just after he gave up the ghost. I wonder what happened to all his ideas right then?

Sorry if this sounds a bit maudlin, but earlier today my son showed me a video he took of me dancing at a 50th party at a Masonic Club in Saltcoats and I’m still recovering from the shock. In my heid I’m still in my mid-twenties, but the camera doesn’t lie. I’m 53, and I still can’t dance to save myself.

So it goes…

πŸ™

3. yesindyref2

Well that’s it, trap sprung on mr average (main thread). Sadly amongst all the background noise, probably nobody will notice. But it was time the distorted blog was tackled head on.

What I’ve noticed in the past is that people who are smug, patronising and condescending really know very little and are easy targets – just take your time, prepare, make sure you know the destination before you start the journey.

4. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Just noticed there…your 9.02 comment was the 18,000th on O/T!

πŸ™‚

Congrats – you win a small coconut, a large bottle of Lambrini, and a second-hand book about Wittgenstein!

5. Paula Rose

Ian Honey I’ve warned you before about trying to make out you are one of us older ones *pats young man on head*

6. CameronB Brodie

Ian
    Tbh, I’m probably guilty of confirmation bias Ian, as I’m not much of a reader. I’ve simply gone looking for material that I could relate to the life-world of Scotland within Britain and which supports a phenomenological outlook (the essence of contemporary academic investigation).

My uni. course just happened to introduce me to the time-space-Being nature of existence and reality. Just lucky I guess? See, it earned me a coconut. πŸ˜‰

7. yesindyref2

Hey Cameron, that reminds me of a short I saw at a sifi convention in the central station hotel many years back.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GoLhLn9hVkE

8. CameronB Brodie

Funny you should mention sifi dad’s, er, yesindyref2, I was trying to contextualise Scottish Yoon politicians within the contemporary sociopolitical sphere of a Brexit Britain and came up with this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBhu-sW_DUQ

I blame it on the lack of balance in their Project Fear diet of cereal.

9. Michael McCabe

Elsiane – Vaporous http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kFeLeIGO65Q

10. Michael McCabe

Elsiane – Mend (to Fix to Repair) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j48QKaa9nGk

11. Michael McCabe

Meanwhile Down in Hollywood. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tazIjeGxRMU

12. Paula Rose

Oi I told you not to show anyone that.

13. Michael McCabe

Bob Seger Live 1978 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_D4eUWBAE_A

14. Ian Brotherhood

Anyone catch the full name of the pro-Trident tory arse on CallK? Morris or Maurice something-or-other…

Depressing amount of utter stupidity on show.

All the Brexit bollocks aside, the democratic outrage this vote represents would surely count as ‘a material change’ worthy of triggering Indyref2.

Mundell, The Bushbaby From Hell, yet again receiving attention and racking-up more brownie points with his WM handlers for no other reason than being the odd man out…

Sickening.

15. Tinto Chiel

@People Carrier: yes, Dr C’s monograph is interesting. I emailed him a wee while ago and he said he still holds these views.

As regards the arrival on Inglis in the Lowlands, Pro. Barrow in his various works on Scottish History, particularly “Anglo-Norman Era…” argues that it was a result of the introduction of the feudal system and Royal burghs by King David. In the former, those holding lands in both Scotland and England would send second sons north to run the estates and they brought lots of English speakers with them in the form of estate workers and administrators. David himself had extensive lands in Yorkshire and Lincs.

Royal burghs were used to monetise the Scottish economy and once again expertise lay in England. Any spread of Anglian Inglis from SE Scotland is likely to have been minimal. Having said all this, we do not know when Gaelic and Welsh waned and finally disappeared, and Wallace himself, as his name suggests, may even have spoken it. Remember that Margaret McMurray, supposedly the last speaker of Carrick Gaelic died when Burns himself was a baby, and Arran Gaelic succumbed about 1930-50.

Anyhow, ended up in Como cathedral today. Wee guy at doors with pamphlets asks us,”Inglesi?”

“No,” says we, “siamo scozzesi.”

“Scozzesi?” Big grin……

“NO BREXIT!” says he.

“NO BREXIT!” says we.

Hehehehehehe!

Love that wee fella.

16. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood Honey you asked a wee while back about Preston Reed who was at the last Glasgow Wings thingie – here’s his latest filmed by Phantom Power…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l09lN1L6sDM …

17. Brian Doonthetoon

FYI…

If you or anyone you know is outside the UK and, therefore, can’t watch BBC iPlayer, or STV Player or 4OD and so on, point them in the direction of this web site:-

http://www.bestukvpn.com/

There’s no software (app) download required – you just set up a new network configuration on your own computer/device. As there’s no download, you don’t have to worry about malware and the like.
    Full instructions are provided under “FAQ” at the link above for Windows, Macs, iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch, and Android tablets/phones.

18. Brian Doonthetoon

If you are abroad and connect to the UK through VPN (Virtual Private Network) you can watch live UK TV at these two sites:-

http://www.filmon.tv

http://www.tvcatchup.com

BTW: ‘filmon’ has BBC Scotland, BBC Wales, and so on.

19. Paula Rose

Also – anyone abroad with positive stories in the press about Scotland where they are let us know, we can get those out there.

20. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Here’s a couple from Canada that you may find interesting. The way the stories are treated is ‘different’ to the way things are treated in the BUM.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/world/scotland-considers-second-referendum-vote-1.3650596

http://www.intelligencer.ca/2016/06/24/highly-likely-scotland-will-hold-another-independence-referendum-leader

21. yesindyref2

Well, “limited objectives” doesn’t mean you can’t go back for another one, taking time and preparation, and that really had the fur flying. I would diagnose it as over-grooming. Vanity is its own punishment, and it has to be said, arrogance and condescension make an easy target. All you need is to stand back, pick up a pin, and it implodes. And the biggest laugh of all is it doesn’t even realise it’s happened. I feel so … cruel.

22. Jim Thomson

Just a quick pop in and then away again.

I know there are a few history buffs in here and thought that this wee project related to the Spanish Civil War might interest a few of the more curious minds.

Hi there,

We have fresh new pages for you in AnnoTate! Discover the archive of Felicia Browne, a London-born artist who was the first British female combatant to lose her life in the Spanish Civil War. As we mark the 80th anniversary of the conflict’s outbreak, delve into Browne’s letters in which she articulates her political views, her stance against fascism, her journey from London to Barcelona and her experiences in Franco’s Spain.

About Felicia Browne
    Born in 1904, Browne was a painter, sculptor and teacher. She attended courses at the Slade School of Fine Art, 1920–8, where she was awarded the Certificate in Drawing. In 1928 Browne went to Berlin intending to study sculpture. Whilst there she also spent time learning metal-working and stone masonry and witnessed the rise of Nazism. On her return to London in the early 1930s Browne became involved in the Artists International Association (AIA) and the Communist Party. She continued to study at Goldsmiths College and the Central School of Arts and Crafts. During this time Browne also travelled in Eastern Europe, visiting Russia, Hungary and Czechoslovakia and sketching the townscapes and peasants there. In early 1936 Browne started working as a scullion in a tea shop where she attempted to persuade other members of staff to join a trade union. In July of that year she went on a driving trip to France and Spain with her friend Edith Bone, a left-wing photographer. On arriving in Spain they were caught up in the Spanish Civil War and on 3 August Browne joined a Communist militia. She was killed in action on 25 August 1936 in a failed attempt to dynamite a Fascist munitions train becoming the first British volunteer to die in that conflict.

Dig into Felicia’s sketchbooks right now at http://anno.tate.org.uk.

Cheers,

Grant and the Zooniverse Team

If you do give it a try, be warned this sort of “zooniverse” project can be addictive.

Have a great evening, all.

23. Paula Rose

Gosh – Off-topic has gone all exciting again, long may it last.

24. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (8.18) –

πŸ™‚

Fantastic.

Hoots aplenty.

25. Nana

Does anyone know when the perks from the great leap forward will arrive?

26. Paula Rose

Wingers please get ready to help on the 30th of July if you live in Glasgow.

27. yesindyref2

Indeed. We’ve seen the Empire strike back, now it’s time for the return of the Jedi πŸ™‚

28. Brian Doonthetoon

Re: the Spanish Civil war.

When I was a jobbing DJ around 1980, we used to do parties at a local Labour activist’s house. The guests were all ‘high heid yins’ in the local Labour party. They could all sing along with this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0j3ZqdlCvdM

Haven’t times/the labour party changed?

29. Tinto Chiel

@BDDT 2106: thanks for that. Watching BBC and SKY on the hotel TV after two years abstinence is unpleasant. A non-SNP zone as far as MPs/spokespersons is concerned. Corbyn treated similarly but pile in Whiny Eagles and Slimy Smith: a throwback to Clive Jenkins, could be his son.

Just noticed the Euro stars you’ve added to your avatar.

Smooth.

30. Tinto Chiel

Forgot to say, Jim Thomson, thanks for the link.

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

You’re the first to mention them (stars). Added them the weekend after the referendum.

32. Tinto Chiel

Brian, is that The Laggan’s version of La Bandiera Rossa? I’ve got the CD at home. Great video clip too.

Mebbe see you in Freedom Square on 30/7.

33. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Chiel.

It is The Laggan’s version. I still have the vinyl LP but managed to get it on CD some years ago.

Incidentally, the ‘Jarama/Bandiera’ video that was on YouTube for a number of years, showing only the cover of the album, seems to have been removed. I had to play about with search terms to uncover the one I linked to above.

34. Tinto Chiel

@BDTT

πŸ™‚

Will stick it in my faves. Ta.

35. Cadogan Enright

CAN ANYONE SEND ME

A LINK TO ANY OF THE ‘BETTER TOGETHER’ POSTS ON ‘THE ONLY WAY TO STAY IN EUROPE IS TO VOTE NO’

I WANT TO MAKE A POSTER OUT OF IT

cadogan@enright.ie

36. Paula Rose

Hi Cadogan Enwright is this of any help?

https://twitter.com/UK_Together/status/472485770436284416

37. People Carrier

Tinto Chiel
    “@People Carrier: yes, Dr C’s monograph is interesting. I emailed him a wee while ago and he said he still holds these views.”

Many thanks, greatly appreciated. I definitely need to read some more I depth studies.

Ta

38. Tinto Chiel

@PC: Nae probs.

By the way, GWS Barrow was English, his mum a Scottish Stuart, hence his initial. He supported Indy and scorned the whinging Scottish bourgeoisie who opposed it because of fears of losing pensions or too wee/ poor/ stupid. When he wrote Robert the Bruce he was subjected to withering attacks by Establishment academics who denied there was such a thing as Scottish historiography.

Of course, the book went through at least three editions, so tehehee.

39. Cadogan Enright

its more of this one that i need

https://wildernessofpeace.files.wordpress.com/2016/05/bettertogethereu-1.jpg?w=474&h=194

better versions of that PLEASE

40. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cadogan.

This is the best I could do, using’PhotoZoom Express 4″.

http://imgur.com/a/CGZsZ

41. CameronB Brodie

Hi Cadogan
    Don’t bother with any of the suggested pics. Too small.

You need a file size in MB not KB. I’m not clued up on what available sources there are but I think your best bet would be the originator. Good luck there. πŸ˜‰

Sorry guys.

42. CameronB Brodie

P.S. It would be a doddle to re-draw the pic and create a vector-diagram which you could then print as large as a house but would that be ethical? Well, it’s not exactly falsifying evidence, is it?

43. CameronB Brodie

vector diagram = Encapsulated PostScript (EPS), duh.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Encapsulated_PostScript

Mind, I wasn’t in production. πŸ™‚

44. CameronB Brodie

Of course, it needs to be a Scalable EPS. πŸ˜‰

http://everydaydesigner.net/design/get-started-with-scalable-vector-graphics

45. CameronB Brodie

More appropriate to the task at hand.

http://desktoppub.about.com/od/eps/

46. CameronB Brodie

Sorry if this is getting obsessive but there is just so much to consider.

Re: the sharing of graphic files. I would tend to recommend EPS, if possible, as not all PDF generators are equal and other reasons.

Mind though, I wasn’t in production. I’m also getting really, really pick. Usually PDF is fine. πŸ™‚

47. CameronB Brodie

Sorry if this is getting obsessive but there is just so much to consider.

Re: the sharing of graphic files. I would tend to recommend EPS, if possible, as not all PDF generators are equal and other reasons.

Mind though, I wasn’t in production. I’m also getting really, really picky. Usually PDF is fine. πŸ™‚

48. CameronB Brodie

Off the meds again, sorry. :0

The original twitter file would not have been large enough to print legibly, at any meaningful size. With regards to re-drawing either pic., I’m no lawyer but I would reckon that would get you in to a bit of bother, given the nature of Better Together and the matter at hand. We did that sort of thing on an almost daily business though, when dealing with inadequate files supplied by clients.

49. CameronB Brodie

Re. getting in to a bit of bother.

In his recent book, Promises to Keep, author William Fisher argues that β€œ[r]eversing the concentration of semiotic power would benefit us all. People would be more engaged, less alienated, if they had more voice in the construction of their cultural environment. And the environment itself . . . would be more variegated and stimulating.” 394 Just as the passage of the Civil Rights Act led to profound inclusion within the spheres of democracy, the state has a profound interest in building greater access to the marketplace of speech.

As I have suggested throughout this Article, the conflict between intellectual property, property, and speech protections masks an underlying conflict between differen types of marketsβ€”one a marketplace of protected expression, and the other a marketplace of prohibited response. And, as I have shown, this tension also roughly translates into a series of conflicts between democracy and disobedience…..

http://openscholarship.wustl.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1180&context=law_lawreview

50. Thepnr

Fed up of people posting about violence or UDI may be the route to Independence. I believe they are wrong, please tell me I’m right.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgcTvoWjZJU

51. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Yes, the natives are getting restless. It is frustrating having to wait and wait and wait,

UDI is the last resort if the UK Government refuses to accept a YES vote, and it’s a possible route if the UKG refuse even Indy Ref 2 via a S30 order. It’s undemocratic unless after a Referendum, or the only means of holding one.

52. Still Positive.

Re Sat 30th July.

I plan to be in (George) Freedom Square between 11.30 and noon. Will lookout for the Wings banner.

Looking forward to it.

53. Paula Rose

Still Positive see you there Dear.

54. Gerry

Will be there on the 30th and will look out for the banner too.

55. Brian Doonthetoon

Right. just off the phone with Ronnie.

We’ll be underneath Sir Walter Scott’s feet, facing the Counting House. We’ll have the Wings banners with us, for anyone who wants to take control of them on the march. Ronnie’s willing to drive them up to the Botanic Gardens for the march. Who’s gonna look after them?

Seems that there’s nothing arranged by way of entertainment in George Square post-march so it’s ‘play it by ear’. Wingers will probably congregate in the Counting House or The Clutha afterwards – decision made on the day.

56. Ian Brotherhood

Hoots to Still Positive and Gerry!

It’s a bit late perhaps, but are we likely to have enough Wingers to merit booking the same Waxy’s room as last time?

It wasn’t ideal for everyone, but Cearc has already indicated she can’t make it due to prior commitments.

If enough folk are up for it, I don’t mind asking about availability.

57. Paula Rose

So it’s up to us to do the entertainment then? I’ll bring my fans and the snake.

58. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood as you said on main thread we need a pow wow in combating Bbc.

Wings Banner’s at Walter Scott statue in the centre of George Square 30th July .

BrianDtt is bringing the older Wings Banner for any Wingers who are walking from Botanic Gardens ,might be 2 if the PNR comes.

Re Yes2 flags We might not have them in time for 30th, but have limited Scottish (smaller) flags.

Thepnr Wooshaa Wooshaa I know its frustrating to keep hearing the same nonsence, but we,ve dealt with that before & still came through it, all together.

59. Still Positive.

Does anyone know the route (approx) from the Botanic gardens and ETA in (George)Freedom Square?

60. Still Positive.

Thanks Paula Rose. Got that.

61. carjamtic

The loneliness of the Long Distance Yesser’s

Had this image of YES signage being held up,at all the Bridges in Scotland by volunteer yessers,set to music,nice video idea ?

πŸ˜‰

62. Michael McCabe

A Wee Song for all my Friends. Wherever you are. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=efDKW29zMsA&list=PLlX6w6TFAXrzP1vd6660gDPrfD6wNQWc1&index=2 Hoping to see some of you on the 30th

63. Tinto Chiel

Will probs walk in from the BGs but will have to be on best behaviour: Mrs TC and elder Tinto Quine will be on parade too.

64. Ian Brotherhood

@Tinto Chiel –

Delighted to hear that.

Hope to meet you in person.

Not sure if I’ll get to the Botanicals, but will defo be at the Square, and, thereafter, in whatever pub is deemed worthy of Friends Of Wos custom!

πŸ™‚

65. Ian Brotherhood

Wee bit of nostalgia for Wingers of a certain age…

I used to fall asleep on Friday nights looking forward to this:

Banana Splits Theme –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=juJpyUkHPCA

66. Michael McCabe

Live 1975 Playing for Dummies ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nzzOBv7RPbw

67. Michael McCabe

This is what I think when Unionists Speak. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6EumZg0Gy0s

68. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McCabe (10.59) –

πŸ™‚

Brilliant.

69. Ruglonian

Hi folks,

Looking forward to the 30th and a catch-up, it’s been quite crazy these last few months!!

Saw Ian B’s suggestion of Waxy’s again, so I thought I’d run a wee idea passed you all.
    It was my intention to look for feedback on Yes Rutherglen’s social media about a casual meeting on Saturday afternoon to discuss the formation of some sort of Greater Glasgow Yes committee.

The idea came from a recent chat between Yes Rutherglen and Yes East Kilbride about hosting a joint social event around the 18/9, and the realisation that we could organise something much bigger, in the town, with the co-operation of a few other groups.
    We are both involved with the National Yes Registry, so have links with many groups, but felt that having everyone physically in the one place was too good an opportunity to pass up.

The concept is loose: getting a wee group formed of one or two folk from groups in the surrounding areas (or any individuals who are interested) so that we can organise socials, co-ordinate speakers events and whatever else we fancy.
    This will obviously feed into the Yes Registry in time, it’s just that things are moving so fast that I think we need to grab all chances for some non-party organisation.

Thoughts?

70. Tinto Chiel

@IB.

Looking forward to meeting you too. Think it will be mobbed. So glad you agreed to cast your practised eye over my new 400,000 word stream of consciousness GSN, that will be cool πŸ˜€ . I’ll be the one in the beret and Archie Gemmill Scotland top.

Hoots! as you would say.

A reminder to Glaswegians/Lanarkists that WGD is speaking at the Robt. Owen Centre, The Murray, EK nxt Thursday, from memory. Hope to be there if I’ve finished my holiday washing.

71. Lollysmum

Hi All
    Sorry can’t manage 30th now- it’s moving house day πŸ™‚
    Catch you all next time & have a good day.
    No broadband installed yet so will be keeping low profile online as Twitter & online use via phone eats up my battery.

72. Paula Rose

Lollysmum just as well there’s a march on otherwise we’d all be there “helping” you move in.

73. Ian Brotherhood

@Lollysmum & Paula Rose –

We could combine the two – everyone carries one thing…

‘Flit For Freedom!’

74. Smallaxe

Dear Wingers,I could never thank you all enough for your kind
    messages of support during my stay in hospital.I got home
    yesterday afternoon after pleading with the doctor not to keep
    me in over the weekend.

May I also thank you all for the kindness shown to my lady Wife when giving updates on my progress,this wonderful person
    is and always has been my rock and my best friend,she suffers
    from Severe Ischemic Heart Disease,but when some time ago my
    GP suggested that we should apply for a carers allowance to
    help her and I with housework etc she all but punched him.

When I was admitted to hospital I took with me 12 copies of the WBB but when I awoke from the anaesthetic I had only two
    copies left,my feisty Lady had went from waiting room to waiting room leaving a copy on top of every pile of magazines
    she could find! Once again we both thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for the Love,Light,Vibes and Prayers sent
    so kindly to us.Peace,Love,Happiness and Independence to all.

PS. I had an Indian surgeon,an African anaesthetist and a Portuguese and an Irish theatre nurses among the staff,our
    SNHS is a treasure we can’t afford to lose.

75. Gary45%

Regarding the 30th, the wife and I will be getting the early train from the North, we will miss the start because of the arrival time, but will catch up as quick as possible.
    will also take a wee visit to the GPHRC stall in Buchannan Street.(worth a visit)

76. Macart

@smallaxe

πŸ™‚

77. Nana

@smallaxe

Sending good thoughts your way. Take care xx

78. Gary45%

Mr& Mrs Smallaxe,
    Keep Rockin.

79. K1

Good stuff Smallaxe… πŸ™‚

80. Grouse Beater

Going to the movies tonight?

Here’s a review of The BFG: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-7XM

81. Valerie

@smallaxe

Great to get the update. Glad you are out, and hope you recuperate speedily.

@Lollysmaw
    Good luck with the move.

82. liz g

Mr & Mrs Smallaxe.
    Sending my continued best wishes to you both
    Take care of each other. X

83. Smallaxe

Peace & Love to all of you,my heart is in my words.

Goodnight my friends.

84. Quinie frae Angus

So sorry, fellow Wingers. Much as I’d love to join you all it’s my parents’ Golden Wedding party so jist cannae dae. Hope you all have a wonderful, funny, inspiring day x

85. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

πŸ™

X

86. Paula Rose

No Quinie? Just one girlie then, it’s up to Moi.

87. cearc

Quinie,

Have a great party. Families eh? Should have had more foresight when they got married! Mine had booked flights before I knew about the rally.

Paula Rose will have to be extra girlie to compensate for us but we’ll be with you in spirit (well we’ll be with the spirit anyway, wee dram anyone?)

smallaxe,

Keep on in there.

Ian, The other problem with Waxy’s was the onslaught of the muzak which drowned conversation, not to mention their serious breaches of the the fire-regs (though possibly they may tightened up on them now). Awwh, the stairs, the stairs! My hips haven’t forgotten going out the back with x-sticks!

88. gus1940

Has any consideration been given to the use of Beer Mats as a means of spreading the good news re Wings and YES?

They are:-

Cheap to produce
    Light so cheap to distribute
    Pretty durable so do not require special packaging.
    Using both sides can contain a fair amount of information

Produce versions with varying content.

When going out to the pub or elsewhere just stick a handful of mats in your pocket or for the fair sex handbag.

Apart from just directing people to Wings or YES they could direct people to Wee Books both Blue and Black and sites such as WGD plus special editions on particular current topics whereby specific media lies could be exposed.

I see their use as being a moving campaign directing people to the truth.

Anybody picking one up and seeing something interesting only needs to pocket it without having to write down a URL and then accessing the full story once at home.

Can I suggest that the production and distribution of said beer mats would be an ideal subject for crowd funding.

89. Macandroid

All being well on 30th I will come and find the Wingers in Freedom Sq as I can’t manage the march.

PS Anyone going through by train from Edinburgh?

90. Thepnr

@gus1940

Beermats are a great idea, one of the best things in the last campaign was the little business cards with all the indy links on them.

I think though that first off you need pubs to be willing to take them which is best dealt with locally.

Why don’t you start a fundraiser? Think of the type of card and what it should say. I’d do my best to help distribute them for you in my area. Anyway definitely a good idea and we could do with more.

91. cearc

gus1940,

The yes Rutherglen mob have produced wings beer mats. We had them at the do in Waxy’s. I don’t know what sort of quantities than can do but I expect one of them will be along soon to tell you.

92. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood

πŸ™

X

93. Quinie frae Angus

Wingers

I am currently in Kent, sunning myself and gorging myself at a seriously rocky rock fest. It’s called “Ramblin’ Man Fair” and there are so many fantastic bands here – Whitesnake and Black Stone Cherry, as well as a feast of country rock, heavy rock, dirty blues, southern rock and Thin Lizzy!

Anyway, point of my post is that I am having a lovely time camping, glamping and champing with a lot of lovely English peeps who are of similar “independent”, anti-Establishment mind tae mysel’. However, I am shocked and disappointed at the level of ignorance, stereotypes, myths and propaganda they hold about us Scottish pro-indy types. I have done my best to disabuse them of this pish – in the kindest, sweetest, Olde English Cidertype way I can- but frankly, it’s tedious and I’ve given up for now. Partly because I’m thinking “Och well, it’s comin’ yet for a’ that” and they”ll find out the truth in due course. But partly because I came down here for a long-needed bit of R&R, and it cost a fortune, and frankly, I can no longer be arsed wasting my breath trying to counter the Neptune-scaled tidal deluge of MSM filth these folks have been saturated in for so long. It’s sad but true.

Anyway, the point is I do think there is now a wee niche in the “Wings”, Aye Right” or otherwise “IndyRef2” armoury for a Wee Book “colour yet to be decided” aimed specifically at our English friends – and long-emigrated Scots who are less enlightened as to modern day realities, and sadly poisoned by cringeworthy Scottish cringeyness.

I think “English Scots for Yes”, Paula Rose, Billy Bragg and Artist Taxi Driver could be our catalysts for this.

This is not aimed at the hard-core Yoon mindset about which we can do so little…..ever. Maggie Vaughn types, Arty Bagger etc. Forget them.

We have another audience there waiting to be educated! The intelligent, reasonable, kindly-minded, outward-looking English person. There is no time to lose! The sooner the better.

We really really need England to wake up to this so we can have a happy velvet divorce then give them a hand up.

Anyway, back to the beer. Thunder are on next, heh heh.

Sorry can’t come to the March next weekend, peeps. Love to all my usual as well as newbie Wingers.

X

94. Ian Brotherhood

Caught a snippet of this group earlier on Radio North Britain.

Perhaps not the same tune, but definitely same group.

Le Pottier Quartet, ‘Jarawa’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPYIgUHJEG4

95. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

I’m still annoyed with meself for not checking the place out properly, shouldn’t have taken their word for it…

@Quinie frae Angus –

Sounds like you’re banging your heid against a brick proverbial there. Not exactly ‘restful’! Enjoy what’s left of the festival – am raising a glass of Weston’s cloudy Scrumpy to you!

Slainte, one and all!

πŸ˜‰

P.S. Ruglonian is the go-to Winger for beermat-related info.

96. Ian Brotherhood

This is the tune that was played on radio earlier this evening.

La Pottier Quartet, ‘Awa’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLV3G4ICfMw

97. cearc

Ian,

It was the uncontrollable muzak volume that was the main problem for me and that was with the speakers in ‘our’ bar off.

They had some ‘surprise’ visits from the fire department shortly after our little do. So it should at least be safer now. Like no keg trolleys and piles of stuff half blocking the main fire exit corridors!

98. Ian Brotherhood

@Quinie frae Angus –

If you need a wee relaxing piece to come-down after all the noise and excitement, try this:

21 Gramas, ‘Mazurka Klandestina’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czE02AK0uTI

99. Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Ach well, I’ll know better next time. (As will Waxy’s?!)

‘Vivendo discimus’ an aw that, eh?

http://www.scotland.org/features/vivendo-discimus-anniversary-celebrations-of-a-great-scot

100. Ian Brotherhood

Wee note re next Saturday…

Last ‘big’ WOS presence at a rally (so far as I remember anyway) was the Hope Over Fear last year, also in Glasgow.

I was there for most of the afternoon, hinging aboot the place, and I met so many Wingers for the first time…it was braw.

(A good few of us ended-up in the Clutha.)

Anyway, point is – we worked-out, next day, that approx 50 Wingers had been in the Square, but not all at the same time. A lot of us were clapping eyes on other Wingers for the first time, and didn’t even know one another’s ‘real’ names.

Very few images of ‘us’ together have ever been taken.

It would be nice if we could agree a ‘target’ time when as many of us as possible are present, and get some snaps done before we go our separate ways…

What think ye’s?

101. Paula Rose

I’ll take snaps cos you is all going to look a bit overshadowed if I’m in the pix.

102. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

True dat…

103. Tinto Chiel

@IB.

Sounds like a plan. What time would be a reasonable one? Think there will be a big turnout.

“Ready for my close up, Mr De Mille.”

Or we could just ask GCHQ to send us our photographs.

πŸ˜€

104. crazycat

@ Ian

Good idea – I was disappointed that I missed so many people whom I would have liked to meet last time.

At the moment I’m thinking of just going to the square; the last march I did from the West End was a bit much (it went to Glasgow Green from Kelvingrove, though, so a fair bit longer); I got further and further behind, having started near the front.

It will partly depend on whether I travel up with people, or just meet them at some point later.

See you then, anyway.

105. Robert J. Sutherland

I’ll try to keep a lookout for y’all then in the Square next Sat.

(Don’t have a WoS badge to show though since my little perk from the last crowdfunding never arrived, alas.)

106. Ian Brotherhood

Well, just for argument’s sake, what about 1.30?

Big huddle…

πŸ™‚

107. crazycat

@ Robert J. Sutherland

I don’t think anyone’s badge has arrived yet, although I did mysteriously receive a National Yes Registry one, unsolicited, this week, from the place whence the Wings perks will eventually be sent.

108. Paula Rose

My darling honey-bunches – we will be there come and find us XXX

109. Alan Mackintosh

Crazycat & Robert Sutherland. Had email convo with Lindsay last week re perks. The wee black book took precedence and perks were delayed by that. I was assured that they will be on their way though.

110. Robert J. Sutherland

Alan,

Thanks for that update. A pleasant surprise. I just supposed the supply had ran out by the time they got to the “S” people. Not that it was any problem for me, I was just happy to add my small part to this great (ad)venture.

111. crazycat

@ Robert

Just seen a tweet saying that 5000 of them were die-cut today. So just possible you’ll get yours (and I mine) before Saturday.

112. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood

What a beautiful, touching piece of music. Thanks so much for posting – I am back home now and this tune has indeed chilled me oot!

In a similar, soothing vein I must post the following three ballads which were belted out this weekend and melted my nostalgic heart – again – despite the plastic surgery and overly-bright gnashers of a certain Mr C.

They may not be the “coolest” or most “eclectic”, but they certainly satisfied the candle-waving crowd!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MA3DNlBMNL0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z69sxDq3Ybc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K6qNNtVNeYs

113. yesindyref2

With you in spirit on Saturday, not in body. Unbelievably I managed earlier to put my long delayed trip together (one problem after another), including hostels and the only slight problem is I’m booked on the 18.10 Leverburgh to Berneray ferry on Friday rather than the 14.45 one I want, but I’m first on the waitlist for it. Yay!

Not sure what Calmac are up to cancelling the always full summer crossing from Lochboisdale to Oban and making it just the one to Mallaig at 7.00 in the morning instead, not good for Lochboisdale or South Uist I’d think. Must have missed that in the Herald when it was reported, if it was.

Needs more money for investment in ferries, more money spent in and on Scotland, and the only way to achieve that is, oh, I forget, what was it now, leaving the EU?

114. Ruglonian

Hi folks,

I saw that the beermat idea was floating around again, so I’m investigating suppliers to see how feasible a large order would be.
    The ones I’ve produced for the Wings dos aren’t really beermats ie not double-sided paper, I just made them appear to be πŸ˜‰
    I’ll keep you posted.

115. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Just saw your comment last night on main thread about having blether with Jamie Ross.

Didn’t know about that, first I’ve heard.

Who knows who’ll turn up on Saturday?

See you then!

πŸ™‚

116. Stoker

Pistol Annies Live Debut – Hell On Heels
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m8kRnYXP4sU

The Band Perry – Fat Bottomed Girls
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tje63_DA0Tc

Kid Rock ft Sheryl Crow – Picture [Official Video]
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rKFx0MMqb48&index=17&list=RD6KilEc_2Ksg

117. Stoker

Red Hot Chili Peppers – The Zephyr Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0fcRa5Z6LmU

Nirvana – Come As You Are
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vabnZ9-ex7o

System Of A Down – Chop Suey
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSvFpBOe8eY

118. Gerry

Fast losing count of how many comments are getting lost in the ether here.
    We should really have a forum to exchange views etc real time. Set up a similar thing on “paltalk” for engineering research and it worked a treat. Not the best program ever but not the worst.
    If this was something that was worth doing it would take 5 minutes to set up a room with 150 capacity and controlled entry via password to keep the yoons out.
    Worth doing ?

119. CameronB Brodie

Quinie frae Angus
    I wouldn’t suspect you of having a dig at me there but just in case you are, I’m not trying to be a smart-Erse as I’m already a full-fat weirdo*. πŸ™‚

* Being a weirdo takes a lifetime of practice and a commitment which dwarfs that required for Being a smart-Erse. πŸ˜‰

120. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie, @PaulaR, @ Bdtt, and all,

Having a struggle catching up just now with everything that’s going on!

Unfortunately, we have to be in the east on Saturday and there is little chance of getting back to Glasgow before 5.00pm, but, will get away as soon as poss. Now, we all know that Wingers have trouble dragging themselves away from great company, so, where will y’all be after the Square?

If it’s Waxy’s, it’s like a labyrinth and might spend all night missing each other.

Visibility is everything, so, PaulaR, mind the shocking pink boa and matching fascinator, please, so we can find you!

@ Ruglonian

Great idea for a Greater Glasgow Yes – Registry should help to pull this sort of stuff together eventually.

@ smallaxe

Hope you are much better and your wonderful wife is keeping well too. Kudos to her for her mission with WBB!

@ Quinie

Chill, some conversations just aren’t worthwhile and will just send your BP up! Enjoy your break and the music πŸ™‚

@ A’body else, Missing the lot of you, seems a long time since Waxy’s.

Whew! xx

121. Quinie frae Angus

@ Betty Boop

Thanks Betty, I did and I enjoyed it, thank you. Left a Wee Black Book with a bewildered Corbynite, for good measure! πŸ˜‰

@Cameron B Brodie

Hi Cameron, no dig at you whatsoever! If anything, it was a dig at a certain rock god, lol. David Coverdale: “Mr C”. πŸ™‚

122. CameronB Brodie

Quinie frae Angus
    Just as well. πŸ˜‰

123. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

You typed,
    “Last β€˜big’ WOS presence at a rally (so far as I remember anyway) was the Hope Over Fear last year, also in Glasgow.”

See, the problem is that with you being so far from civilisation, you don’t realise that there is a whole world beyond that Glasgow, up the A80. Glasgow was September.

The last ‘big’ WOS presence at a rally was 4th October, 2015, in City Square, Dundee. Here are two pics to prove it.

https://i.imgur.com/TuJgJCQ.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/L2ylfxU.jpg

8=)

———————————————–

Hi Quinie.

Did you get your bus booked?

124. CameronB Brodie

Just posted this on a main thread but think it could do with being left here, as well.

HUMAN DEVELOPMENT AND SHELTER: A HUMAN RIGHTS PERSPECTIVE
    https://core.ac.uk/download/files/153/6248903.pdf

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cameron B.

Just replied to you at:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-king-of-facts/comment-page-1/#comment-2169605

126. CamernoB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Hi Brian, fwiw, I’ve just replied. πŸ™‚

N.B. Do not be disappointing that there’s not even a hint of the word Fascism in my reply. πŸ˜‰

127. Michael McCabe

Whatever happened to. With Respect. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1lbqhEOjBA

128. Michael McCabe

Thea Gilmore – Pirate Moon http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1lbqhEOjBA

129. Liz Rannoch

Having only been posting on here for a few months (but lurking for far longer!) I had hoped to get to George Sq. on Saturday – canny manage the walk – and meet you lovely folk, however I’ve not had a good couple of months and getting mostly good news yesterday, we have decided on escape to our ‘van in Bettyhill for a bit of R&R. So totally offline for next week.

What will we come home too? the mind boggles! Someone mentioned ‘flags on bridges’ a few days ago – will try my best on the Naver bridge, Though not great at the techno bits!

Please can someone take loads of photos! Have only seen a couple from the car rally in May.

Will be with you heart and soul on Saturday.

130. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt, 1.05am!!!

@ IanB

Aye, the south west coast, cut off from civilisation as we know it! Ian, you need to get out more πŸ™‚

Dundee, the centre of the known universe, hive of cultural activity and friendly Wingers. I note they always park near the coffee shop! Wish I could spend more time there rather than just passing through. πŸ™

131. Chic McGregor

Anybody else notice the resemblance, not just titular, between oor ain Rev and The Preacher?

http://www.geek.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/preacher2-625×350.jpg

Take away the mad mullet rug and wullah!

132. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty.

I’m on holiday and my sleep pattern has been a tad awry the past couple of days…

133. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Chic MacG.

“Take away the mad mullet rug…”

https://i.imgur.com/DjJxl7a.jpg

134. Chic McGregor

The wonders of photoshop.
    Skull’s a wee bit wee mind.

135. chasanderson200

Hello all
    Sorry I can’t do the march on Saturday (60 years of intensive sports have overtaken the hip, knee, and ankle joints) but I’ll be in the square for the rally.

Looking forward to a great day meeting you all.

Ian B and BDTT need to have a wee natter with you re RTB as I was LA Housing Finance specialist prior to retiring 5 years ago.

136. CameronB Brodie

chasanderson200
    Er, I would be interested in that conversation, could I listen in? I would be very interested to hear your views on my opinion re. RtB contravening the principles of international development law, though I doubt I’ll see you in Glasgow.

Sorry, couldn’t resist chas. πŸ˜‰

137. yesindyref2

Totally nothing to do with Indy – views please – guilty or not guilty:

http://archive.is/z9iOT

138. yesindyref2

BDTT
    Yeah, you convinced me. First thought with the Stairways / Taurus was it was similar, but it can happen. But it is very similar all the same! Case2 Bert Jansch – I almost thought that was Jansch, but on an off day πŸ˜‰

139. Andrew McLean

Not guilty, but I would give him something for his fantastic name “Randy Californian” ! πŸ™‚

140. Paula Rose

*looks up from book* Oh dear it’s one of those boring muso chat nights *goes back to book*

141. Andrew McLean

The bible per chance Paula, πŸ™‚

142. CameronB Brodie

Wonder if Randy had heard about the Scottish cringe? Well, everyone gets their inspiration from somewhere. Shirley?

Randy California – Downer
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AIhXMdf4cag

He at least appeared to appreciate that tomorrow is another day, full of boundless potential and countless opportunities.

Kaptain Kopter and the (fabulous) Twirly-Birds – Things yet to come
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKI6GBuGSKw

Perhaps I’m just Being a smart-Erse now? πŸ™‚

143. Paula Rose

*puts down copy of A RΓ©bours to stare menacingly at Andrew McLean*

144. K1

I confess to being influenced by their ‘covering’ and no crediting schtick, that’s what they are ‘guilty’ of, makes you ‘hear’ them in a new light. Having no access, as we do now, to the original recordings that they then ‘covered’ back in my youth, I thought wrongly, that they were the sole writer’s of their own material. Think people knew they were tapping into the old blue’s/folk singers/writers but possibly not to the degree of them basically being a ‘cover band’. Ignorance was bliss. πŸ˜‰
    (only cause I was obviously impressed by that facility that singer/songwriter’s posses πŸ™‚ )

I know of course much of the success of many multi millionaire artists has been their capacity to ‘nick’ various ideas and then transform them into sellable product. There is ‘artistry’ in that. They ‘should’ acknowledge their sources though and Zep’s reputation goes down a bit because of that aspect. Och let’s face it aw the big band’s/ariistes reputation’s are oan a shoogly peg in this regard.

Copyright’s a minefield innit.

145. Brian Doonthetoon

RE: Randy California.

As a rock DJ, I had this album and got much mileage out of this well known version, throughout the 80s and 90s.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_cSCOhRkZIE

146. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Hi Brian. I forgot we had a professional DJ among us. Didn’t mean to step on your toes there. πŸ˜‰

Incidentally, I’m very disappointing by the lack of input btl here, from Scotland’s practicing sociologist, planners and similar professionals. Is it deference to their mortgage that prevents them from making informed comment? Surely they can’t all be Yoons?

IMHO, explaining how shit works to Scotland should not be left up to the likes of myself.

P.S. I suppose you can forget planners as the RTPI is predominantly Fabian in membership and outlook. Fabians are British nationalists, at heart.

147. yesindyref2

Mmm, hopefully a bribe for Paula

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JdDb6klN7fM

148. yesindyref2

And just to spoil that

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0-Q3cp3cp88

149. CameronB Brodie

For example, here’s one for the lawyers out there and not just those for indy.

The British state actively prevents Scotland and her people from accessing the full potential of their “right to development”, which is supported by a raft of international law and Treaty.

Can we do them for denial of human rights?

Crowd-funding would be a doddle. πŸ˜‰

150. CameronB Brodie

which is supported by a raft of international law and Treaty.

which is theoretically protected by a raft of international laws and Treaties.

151. Wee Jonny

Hello fellow Wingers.

Just readin aboot this weekend’s March For Independence in The National the noo. Eh canny be there as the wife and me are dayin a sponsored keep fit event in oor gym ti raise dosh for a charridee that’s helped a lassie that’s been through hell (she was on the front page o yesterday’s Tully and will hopefully be in Setirday’s Tully tay).

So I hope it a’ goes well and there’s thoosands there.

Eh’ll be thinkin aboot yiz a’ as I’m dayin Zunba fir three ‘oorz.

Still Yes .

152. Andrew McLean

Has Paula Rose stopped looking and went back to 50 shades of grey? πŸ™‚

153. Paula Rose

Andrew McLean Honey – I’m still all goose-pimply after reading your comment at eleven minutes past eight this morning on the “The darling of the comrades” post.

154. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Apologies for my Glasgow-centric waffle. πŸ™

Anyway, The National has been good in recent days at plugging this Saturday, although I’m not sure where they got the 14,000 guesstimate.

It would be great to find a way of nailing the numbers at these things – no matter what it is in reality, it becomes a plaything. Anyway, we can only tend to our own patch.

Can we aim for 1.30 in the Square for a family snap?

155. crazycat

@ Ian

I’m aiming to be there, but will opt out of any photos.

156. Ian Brotherhood

@crazycat –

Fair do’s.

Fancy taking some then?!

πŸ™‚

157. Paula Rose

Oi – photography – that’s my job.

158. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt, 27/7/16, 3.32

Taking away that “mad mullet rug” – Jeez that was scary!

Enjoy your holibags.

159. Still Positive.

Will be there. No sure about the photos.

Will be delighted to meet you Wingers.

160. Ruglonian

@Ian B

Would be good to know accurate-ish numbers on Saturday.

If someone could take a series of photos going down the line before the march kicks off and then again at a fixed point as the marchers come into the square, that’d be pretty handy for working it out.

I’d happily do it myself if I was marching, but I’m going to be in George Square helping set-up Yes Rutherglens stall.

Any volunteers?

Incidentally, if you know of anyone who can’t physically manage the march then let them know that we’ll be in the square from 9.30am and they are more than welcome to hang out with us and welcome the marchers in. The word went out on twitter earlier, so it’s shaping up to be a nice wee crowd!

See you at 1.30 for the family photo, if not before πŸ™‚

161. Tinto Chiel

1.30 seems fine. Going to Boots this morning for some blusher.

Am under family supervision so, as Jimmy Reid would say, “There will be no bevvying.”

Walking in from the Tanics. Will there be a Wings banner?

162. X_Sticks

I wont get there until about 1:30-2:00 coming from Aberdeen.

Can’t post much as no broadband at home for the last two weeks!

Look forward to catching up with you all there.

Tally ho! (as they say in Essex) πŸ˜‰

163. Smallaxe

For Ghillie,as promised.First published 1995.

I don’t believe in a great God above
    I believe that God is Love
    I don’t think God is one being at all
    I think God is in us all

I don’t pray at night to an empty sky
    I pray for peace for you and I
    I pray our children live to see
    The world at peace all people free

Starvation prejudice and fear
    Will quickly fade and disappear
    If only Man will realise
    God is here not in the skies

God’s not up there looking down
    He”s yellow He”s white He”s black He’s brown
    He is ours and we are His
    He”s all of us He”s all that Is

164. Cherry

Ronnie and Briandoonthetoon

Can you put one of those Scottishy passporti thingies to one side for me (you know I can’t come coz of crowds of people) will pay the going rate not asking for wingers rates!!

165. Odet

Re: ronnie anderson says:
    29 July, 2016 at 1:28 pm
    ” Briandtt & masel went tae ah lot of trouble tae get Scottish Passports fur Sat ( at much cheapness fur Wingers) get there early.

Any Wingers wie Caligraphy skills would be more than welcome.”

I’m a tad out of practice, but can offer scribing help. What calligraphy skills are you looking for? eg indelible pen and ink name inscribing? Where/when?

166. Ian Brotherhood

Brotherhood’s Acme Sticky Label Service will be available for a limited time tomorrow.

In the meantime, some mood music…

The Pogues, ‘Battle March Medley’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVv-i5F6kwU

167. Thepnr

Really sorry that I can’t make it tomorrow. Hope there’s a good turnout and be sure and make it a grand day.

It feels like there is a bit of momentum starting. All the best.

168. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

πŸ™

Bummer.

Be sure to tune into BBC channels as they’ll surely be providing plenty of live updates as the march progresses!

169. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one for Thepnr, cearc, Quinie frae Angus, and all t’other legendary Wingers who can’t make it tomorrow…

Slainte aplenty to each and every one of ye’s!

πŸ™‚

UB40, ‘Red Red Wine’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXt56MB-3vc

170. Michael McCabe

Levellers – Hope Street http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDjdHe6U3Mo

171. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

Forgive me, but I haven’t been keeping my usual wee ‘list’ – will you be making it along tomorrow?

172. crazycat

@ Ian 24 hours ago

You wouldn’t ask that if you’d ever seen any photos taken by me! With detailed instructions about whatever gadget is being used, I’ll give it a try, but be prepared to have to get them repeated!

173. Ian Brotherhood

@crazycat –

πŸ™‚

I’m sure there are certain folk who would very much like to see us getting our heads chopped off, so to speak.

174. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood At the moment it does not look like I can make it. But I am not giving up on making it through Tomorrow. By the way only 4 to go

175. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

4 to go??

Lost me man…

176. Michael McCabe

The Magic Numbers, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2n2kcLas-c4

177. Ian Brotherhood

Sebastian Rivera, ‘March Of The Resistance’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DtqgvWO_wl0

178. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood 18181

179. Ian Brotherhood

Sam Cooke, ‘A Change Is Gonna Come’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ObYoxS4zzIY

180. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

*sound of penny, having dropped*

NOW you tell me!

(I’m actually coveting 18888, but they all ‘count’, in their own way…)

181. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Hi Ian I thought you were trying to get the 18181 post on off topic. I now realise its 18888 you are after. lucky numbers and all that. if you still don’t know what I mean then Check out your own post on off topic on the 30th of June. Anyway all the best to you and yours.

182. yesbot

Ian, Ronnie, Briandtt et al

Looking forward to the March tomorrow, hopefully it will be mobbed, is there a WoS rally point at the Botanics?

Also wondered if anything came of the plans for a get-together after George Sq? I’ve been looking forward to meeting everyone again since March, especially with this complete madness since Brexit!! xx

183. cearc

Ian B,

Nice thought, although I have actually been drinking white this evening!

I hope everyone has a great day.

184. Smallaxe

@ Ian Brotherhood,I have left a post on ’empty quiver’ please see,thanks

Ps. If Ian is not still on,could someone who is going tomorrow
    please convey message to him.Thank you.Peace

185. Smallaxe

Sorry time of message 11:44.

186. Miss Babington

Hello fellow Wingers,

It is my first time! Usually to be found on twitter, although I have written one Wings article which some of you may recognise my name from. Been a Wings reader for a few years now and like you all I have a whole lot of love & respect for WOS so I guess you are all now my new extended family.

The lovely Paula Rose ushered me in (Thank-you honey).I will be at the stall tomorrow, I have a few engraved goodies & similar to give away. Looking forward to meeting you all if not a wee bit shy/nervous. I can take some group pictures also if needed. Okay I will stop blethering now and hopefully see you all tomorrow x

187. ronnie anderson

@ Smallaxe message received tell them to come to the Walter Scott statue

188. Smallaxe

@ Ronnie Anderson.

Thanks Ronnie,have a great day.
    Peace.

189. Michael McCabe

Get Back to Water – Tree Adams http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8FObqBRSnU

190. Quinie frae Angus

@Ian Brotherhood

Thanks for the wee glass of red wine, that was much appreciated.

Hope all you lovely Wingers have a great time tomorrow. So sorry I can’t be there this time. I’ll see you next time though.

X

191. Ghillie

Smallaxe @ 11.10 am

Thank you Smallaxe = )

Your poem is pure delight and is true. So true = ) Love and peace to you too Smallaxe and to Mrs Smallaxe x

To all marching for Independence today: Wishing you all an amazingly lovely day with fine weather in the best of company!

May the road rise up to meet you, the wind be at your back and the sun shine warm upon your face = )

192. Archie [not Erchie]

For those who canna be there in body then this link will give you a great view of George Square and it refreshes every 15minutes.

Try to spot Paula’s pink boa and ‘Would you love to see my engravings’ Misssssssy Babbington!! Yaaay.

http://www.webcams.travel/webcam/1208800914-Weather-Glasgow-Glasgow

193. Smallaxe

@ Ghillie, glad you liked the poem,thank you.Peace.x

194. Betty Boop

@ Miss Babngton

Welcome.

Couldn’t make it for march but in Glasgow now and hoping to see some Winger pals about somewhere.

195. Ian Brotherhood

Well done all the Wingers. Great turn-out.

Home, knacked, half-cut, preparing to get fully-so, and with some happy memories to jingle with.

Hoots all!

πŸ™‚

196. Ian Brotherhood

@Tinto Chiel –

Great pleasure to finally meet you, and lovely Mrs Tinto.

As discussed, please get in touch whenever…these GSNs won’t write themselves!

ianbhood@gmail.com

Hoots!

197. Ian Brotherhood

Okay, some of us are still in a bad mood with Bowie, but he’s oot the game now and probably wasn’t THAT bothered about what we did.

Here he is, doing his pub singer par excellence, with some properly cheesy lighter-waving into the bargain.

And anyway, the general sentiment he voices is one which will chime with many, especially the impatient who really need to calm their jets a tad…

Let’s forgive and forget, eh?

Bowie, ‘Please Wait’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnKvpOYbOJQ

198. Smallaxe

@ Ian Brotherhood,

I think you met my Daughter and Granddaughter today,they can not remember the names of all the people who they tell me overwhelmed them with great kindness at the Wings stall.

May I take this opportunity to thank you all for the courtesy
    and generosity of the welcome given to my girls they have spoken of little else.please pass on my heartfelt thanks to all of those who were there.Peace,Love and Respect.

199. Robert J. Sutherland

Came by the Wings stall two or three times this afternoon, but each time it was mobbed and everyone seemed very busy selling merch, so I never found a suitable opportunity to say hello to anyone in person, alas.

Hopefully another time, though.

In default of that, to smallaxe in particular, let me take this opportunity to add my own very best wishes to you for a full recovery.

200. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

So many faces, I’m scrolling back inside my heid, but I don’t remember anyone using ‘smallaxe’ as a code! It all goes so quickly.

Thanks for your kind wishes, you are a proper gent.

More power to ye.

πŸ™‚

201. Ian Brotherhood

@Robert J. Sutherland –

Aaaaargh!

Why didn’t you say hello?!

There were loads of us around – horrible to think you were right there and we didn’t know!

As soon as someone posts one of the many ‘family’ snaps which were taken approx 1.45, you’ll see some faces which you no doubt clocked this afternoon. (Pondering which, it’s perhaps no surprise you didn’t introduce yourself!)

Next time!! πŸ™‚

202. yesindyref2

I could be wrong, but I don’t think there’s ever been a tune called “Off Topic”. I formally claim composer’s copyright – but freely donate it to the cause of Independence πŸ™‚

Is there a songwriter in the house …

203. Smallaxe

@Ian Brotherhood,

Thanks Ian,all at the stall have left my girls with a lasting
    impression of the the friendliness of true Wingers.Peace my Friend.

@Robert J. Sutherland,

Your kind words are very much appreciated Robert,I am improving every day and am humbled by the number of people like yourself who have sent messages of support,I am positive
    it has played a large part in helping me heal.Thank you my Friend,Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours.

204. yesindyref2

OK let’s go for it.

“The BBC make up the news
    and ignore all opposing views
    They twist and shake and bend it down
    to make us think how shite our town
    And when we cry in our despair
    You lot bend rules and play unfair
    they say

(chorus)
    Your’re off topic, off topic,
    you’re off topic, now bog off.

etc …”

Needs a bit of work!

205. yesindyref2

Be kind of cool if it could make it on downloads (99p each?) into the Vodafone top 40, preferably top 10 for one week, but research doesn’t give me a figure for that. A million is good for a lifetime – but for one week only? Would 100,000 do that? Could it be done? A week or two before Indy Ref 2? Never mind a million signature YES pledge! Let the Music Play.

Be even better if BBC had to play it on their chart show πŸ™‚

I’m thinking kind of IndyPunk style or even IndyIndie

206. Miss Babington

Hello Wingers!
    What an absolute pleasure it was to meet you all today. I was nervous but within a short while of Ronnie swearing like a trooper and all the banter I felt right at home. You are all stuck with me now I am afraid.

Thank-you for making me feel so welcome and for all the hugs & laughs. Yer a brilliant bunch of folks. Oh and if You need beer-mats I can engrave them on beech plywood, can keep the price at cost price for you as well. Just an idea.

Lastly how do I post pictures on here? I have a few good ones of today and no idea how to share them.

Much love to you all. x

207. Ian Brotherhood

@Miss Babington –

Cheers aplenty for the keyring. A wee thing of beauty which will be long treasured.

Hope to see you sometime on The Twitter Thing!

208. Tinto Chiel

@IB.

Mrs TC has gone all squidgy now, you sweet-talking intellectual. She loved your thoughts on He Who Cannot Be Named.

Sorry I seem to have missed so many Wingers who were lurking today. Maybe we could all meet in local drinking groups between official national meetings.

Will be in touch shortly to plan revolution and assail the trite North Face commercialism of modern publishing.

Crampons on.

Hoots!

209. Archie [Not Erchie]

@ Missy Babbington – To answer your question re photo uploading. I notice a few on Wings use ‘imgur.com’ to store photos then provide the ‘link’ in their post.

I have previously used ‘Flickr’ as its fairly simple to make an album and then post ‘link’ to album on here.
    Here are my 2015 Rally photos which could quite easily have been yesterday.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/archiescollection/albums/72157658864758145

210. Ian Brotherhood

@Miss Babington –

I think, as you mentioned yesterday, our paths have crossed before…it’s bugging me big-time.

Did you perchance ever work in any Glasgow pubs?

211. Miss Babington

@Ian Brotherhood

Nope, Not often out of the shire (Irvine) to be honest.Still annoying me though.

@Archie

Tried the image posting thing, comment has not been approved yet.Knowing me I broke the Revs posting etiquette rules.If I am not around you know he has killed me with hammers.

212. Ian Brotherhood

@Miss Babington –

Were you ever on the Yes stalls in Ayr Main St in run-up to indyref? I was quite often there on the SSP stall, we usually set-up outside the Nationwide.

213. Miss Babington

@Ian Brotherhood

Nah mainly door chapping with my WBB in Irvine during Indy-ref, although was often in the Irvine Yes hub on the high street.

Lets try the picture link thing again.

http://i.imgur.com/njbqZIw.jpg

214. Ian Brotherhood

@Miss Babington –

Yep, that worked.

πŸ™‚

Great to see so many old faces…

215. Tinto Chiel

To all Wingers who had a great time yesterday, courtesy of Big Ronnie, Irene, BDTT and others:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RTZoJ01FpD8

Old words, but they mean a lot for us all too in pre-liberation Scotland.

And wee Jimmie McCulloch: what a great guy.

Blessings to all, says the atheist.

216. Ian Brotherhood

Major respect to oor ain Ronnie Anderson for exercising soo-perb diplomatic skills in the CH, defusing a potentially catastrophic situation with a combination of firm decision-making and ameliorating humour.

A pleasure to witness.

(And also, thanks for the pint…)

πŸ™‚

217. ronnie anderson

Hiya Wingers thanks again for making the Wings Teams day & supporting the Wings Stall. Dundee looks like the next Rally Bob Costello will confirm this week time & date. Hope over Fear are also orginizing another one for Glasgow , so lookout via Twitter & Scot2.scot ( all regions). The bands getting back together,lets make this a summer of Rallies & Convoy’s.

218. Ian Brotherhood

Does anyone know if Paula Rose got home alright?

(I’m not actually bothered, but someone asked me to ask.)

πŸ˜‰

219. Betty Boop

Well, really scunnered that JimT and moi couldn’t make the march nor the square, but, pleased we made it back in time to catch up with a fair few Wingy pals before they staggered home.

Good job we know where to find you. I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or not, but, it’s awfy easy spotting folk even from my err… height. Anyway, good to see y’all and looking forward to the next time.

@ Robert Sutherland

Aww, you should have just shoved in at the stall and said hello; they would have recognised your name and been really pleased to meet you. You’d probably have been given a job, right enough, and the pay’s awful, but, the company’s a scream.

@Yesbot

Pleased to meet you!

220. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

‘Twas a totally unexpected and delightful surprise to see you and yer man in CH.

Just wish I could’ve stayed longer.

Until next time!

Mwaaaaah!

πŸ™‚

221. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Paula Rose & BrianDTT safely on the bus after a visit to Palacerigg Country Park. Im left picking up the rose petals she demanded scattered on the couch bed.

Glad Betty Boop & Jim Thomson made it for a wee drink & Yesbot with X Sticks.

222. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie Anderson-

Glad to hear it.

Aye, that Paula Rose leaves the petals where’er she goes, but if you leave them there long enough they dry and ye can hoover them up, nae danger.

Hoots again for a braw braw session. I hope you’ll ‘flag up’ any developments.

πŸ™‚

223. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood will do Dundee demo being finalized this week , i,ll keep Wingers informed & if you can make that event I have a spare bed for you here.

224. yesbot

Betty Boop says:
    1 August, 2016 at 12:01 am
    @Yesbot

Pleased to meet you.

And you Betty and Jim, It was fun, Saturday was a good start to the next phase, look forward to meeting you both again going forward. xx

225. Miss Babington

@Ronnie Anderson

I warmed to you the moment you started to swear like a trooper and I won`t forget yer crack in a long time πŸ™‚

http://i.imgur.com/EXRdbbC.jpg

226. ronnie anderson

@ Robert Sutherland

Pay whit pay Wingers on the stall get well below the minimum pay scale thats the Hee Haw rate,hee hee hee.

227. ronnie anderson

@ Miss Babington

Thats you in ma bad bad books fur posting that Photy lol,( swearing like ah trooper ) moi, ah did dey ah bit of equestrian sports in ma younger days.

Nice meeting you Donna & no doupt will meet again & your welcome to share our stall with your merchandise. Dundee & Hope over Fear & any other events, we,ll get arrangements sorted ie via transport ect.

228. ronnie anderson

@ Miss Babington Facebook request sent.

229. ronnie anderson

@ Tinto Chiel

Ah the auld songs Summer of Love Brighton 69,ah canny tell you whit happened oan here i,ll make you blush lol.

BTW Wingers am no the gaffer (did somebody mention tape lol) its a hap hazzard collaboration of incompetents,& the bestest shower of incompetents I have the pleasure of having the company of,not forgetting that nice wumman Irene who,s no incompetent lol.

230. Ian Brotherhood

@Miss Babington & Ronnie A –

‘I won’t forget yer crack in a long time.’

πŸ™

Ronnie, man, I did try to tell you thae jeans were working loose, eh?

231. Tinto Chiel

@ ronnie anderson:

“i,ll make you blush lol.”

Defo, I went to EK Old Parish sunday skool, ye know. πŸ˜› I was a Good Boy.

Hope the appeal went well.

232. ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood Ah wiz thinking aboot getting Braces but ah dont want tae end up wie sloping shouders lol

233. X_Sticks

Quick post from work – still no working broadband at home – currently get 284kbps so takes about 5 mins just to read an email or post here or twitter Grrrrr. πŸ™

Great seeing you all on Saturday and already looking forward to the next one. Was a great crack, eh Donna? πŸ˜€

@Ian – we’ll maybe manage to get 5 mins the next time!

234. Lenny Hartley

Ian Brotherhood, re paddy grandparents, my paternal grandmother from Mayo Belmullet a Joyce, were no related are we?

235. Ian Brotherhood

@Lenny Hartley –

πŸ™‚

Quite possible.

Granda was a Murphy, Gran was a Rodgers. Can’t remember name of the group of houses they lived at, but Belmullet was closest for ‘the shops’.

If memory serves, Dick Gaughan’s people are from the same bit.

236. chasanderson200

Just getting over Saturdays exertions now. I couldn’t do the march but was in the square from 10:00 to 2:00 by which time the hips and knees were screaming with pain.

Had a brilliant day though and made a point of estimating the size of the crowd as it arrived – reckoned about 5000 to 6000 on the march as it arrived with about 1000 already in the sqare (a veteran of many football matches and other social gatherings).
    BDTT and Paula – nice to see you both again.

Ronnie Anderson- nice to meet you for the first time, your way with words reminded me of the language of the old country, Fintry in Dundee.

Ian Brotherhood – hoped to catch up with you but seemed to miss you by minutes on a few occasions, will catch up with you at the next “do”.

In response to one of the comments above:
    Dundee would be great for the next do as I would be able to bring my daughter and grandsons with me from Glenrothes as well as catch up with my brothers in Dundee.

Greatest regards and thanks to all Wingers and yessers for a brilliant, inspiring day.

237. Wilma

Great to see you all at the rally.Especially Ronnie, Paula Rose in the magnificent shoes and Miss Babbington, enjoyed the hugs. Saw Briandoonthetoon from a distance but too faraway to say hello.And he was too busy at the stall!
    Our MP Brendan O’Hara suggested a Yes Rally in Helensburgh, any takers?

238. Cactus

Great to see yous all, another excellent march, meet and gather at Glasgow’s square. Enjoyed the afters in freedom house too πŸ™‚

btw, we were all in fine form Jock Scot, as the march rounded Nelson Mandela Place.. that was some noise we all made on the final approach.. they could hear us in the square..

Q) What do we want? Independence!
    A) When do we want it? NOW!

Cheers to all the other chanterers (and pipers.)

239. ronnie anderson

@ chasanderson200

Bob Costello is finalising plans this week for Dundee demo Wings stall will be there & hopefully Petethecamera is fully recovered.

240. chasanderson200

Ronnie Anderson 11:16
    Cheers Ronnie, I shall bring as many Andersons as I can muster. Also a good excuse to have a good sesh and update myself on the pub scene in Dundee for the first time since the Arabs won the Scottish cup.

Happy days!!!!

241. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie A

We’ve never mentioned your crack afore, Ronnie 😳 ! Never mind tho’, did ye hae the hairy string on duty? πŸ™‚

242. Macbeda

Just received my reminder about Electoral Registration.

We need to remind peeps the rules changed and that they have to do it themselves as individuals.

“Head of Household” can no longer do it for them.

Also noted that my status as a citizen is “British”. Unable to change this FFS.

243. Smallaxe

@ All who showed concern and sent so many messages of support

Lab.results came back yesterday,tumor removed cleanly,surrounding tissue showing no signs of it having spread.I can never thank you all enough,you have no idea how much your support carried me through the weeks of waiting.

Apologies to all for turning the site into some sort Dear Doctor forum at times.Peace,Love eternal gratitude to you all.

244. winifred mccartney

Delighted by your good news -I don’t know you at all but would love to meet most contributors to wings – will manage a march one of these days- keep well and enjoy your good news.

245. Still Positive.

Fantastic news, Smallaxe.

246. Tinto Chiel

Great news, Smallaxe. Best wishes to you and family. Maybe meet you at a march some time.

247. Smallaxe

# winifred mccartney,

Thank you winifred,like yourself I would like to meet more
    Wingers,hopefully someday soon.Peace and Love to you and yours.

248. Nana

So happy for you Smallaxe. xx

249. frogesque

Smallaxe: fantastic news. A very worrying time for yourself and your family. Hoping you get stronger every day.

250. Macart

@Smallaxe

Outstanding news. πŸ™‚

251. Andrew McLean

Small axe
    There is a rotten old Westminster oak that fears the touch of your honed steel, get swinging Man together we will make the ground shake when it topples!

All the best

Andrew

252. Valerie

@smallaxe

Fantastic news. Best wishes for your continued recovery and health.

253. Smallaxe

@ Still Positive & Tinto Chiel,

Many thanks for your past and present good wishes,as I have said repeatedly the love,good wishes,prayers and good vibes
    have humbled and gladdened my heart.

I have not met many Wingers but you all have shown immense
    kindness and concern on what is ostensibly a political site I
    consider you All to be friends that I have yet to meet,Peace,Love and Independence to All.

254. Andrew McLean

Actually small axe, since that talented surgeon is finished with you, there is a cancer, insidious in nature attacking the cultural identity of this great nation, it’s insipid vandalism of our culture, it’s strangulation of the lifeblood of our ambition, makes it a prime candidate for massive invasive excision from its festering heart, it lives and breeds at Pacific Quay, Glasgow.

255. Smallaxe

@ frogesque,Macart,Andrew Mclean and Valerie.

I thought I had picked a quiet time to post,obvously I was mistaken, I sit writing blinded by tears at the generosity of people like yourselves who have taken the time to support me
    and my good Wife at a very difficult period in our lives.Thank
    you all my friends.Peace,Love and heartfelt thanks to all of you.

256. Capella

@ smallaxe
    just opened up wings for the day to find your excellent good news. No need to reply, just sending best wishes to you and Mrs smallaxe and wishing you all the best for the future. Peace and love to you too.

257. Smallaxe

@ Andrew Mclean,

Agreed Andrew,and no scalpel for them.Axes and Cudgels only,this time we must rid Scotland of them forever before they can spread their vile lie’s to our young people to whom we owe a country that they can thrive in.Peace my friend.

258. Nana

@smallaxe

Smashing news smallaxe, forgot to address my post directly to you at 7.56am so you may have missed it.

259. Smallaxe

@ Cappella,many thanks my friend.Peace and Love to you and yours.

@Nana,Please look after those golden fingers,your links must take a lot of research and have pointed out facts that most of
    us would otherwise miss.Thank you.Peace,Love and gratitude to
    your good self.

260. call me dave

@smallaxe

Really pleased to hear your news today, all the best and keep on posting.

πŸ™‚

261. Smallaxe

@ call me dave,

Thank you for your kindness, I learn more from WOS than I could possibly contribute but I will continue to post my small
    contributions in the knowledge that I am among friends.Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours.

262. crazycat

@ Smallaxe

Really pleased for you – your contributions are much appreciated too.

263. Smallaxe

@ crazycat,

Thanks for that crazycat,as I have said I learn more than I can ever contribute,my work in the catering and bar trade took
    up so much of my time that I did not keep up politically until
    just before Indy ref1 but catching up quickly through WOS and
    people like yourself.Peace,love and good wishes.

264. Cherry

Smallaxe just want to add my very best wishes to you. I was delighted to read your wonderful news. Long may your good health continue. The love you have for all is the very thing that will keep you strong. (will keep sending healing) πŸ˜‰ Blessed Be. I know you will understand those two wee words πŸ˜‰

265. Smallaxe

@ Cherry,

Mathew 5:9. Understood Cherry,Mathew 7:19,goes a long way in
    explaining where the name Smallaxe comes from,someday I will explain where and how that name was given to me.

Thank you for your healing thoughts I truly believe that all
    positive vibes go a long way towards helping.Peace,Love and may your faith bring you the same comfort so kindly sent to me.

266. Clapper57

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh…..Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh !!!!

Sorry had to get that out as noted a twat on main thread today calling out Rev on Torrance and rather than ignore twat some people giving twat attention / recognition he craves in his so feckin obviously contentious twat troll post.

Oh to just feckin ignore obvious baiting by troll twat …too much to feckin ask obvs.

Still by responding to said twat they are guaranteeing twat sticks around and baits some more ….job feckin done.

Apologies but this pisses me off big big big time…..no offence meant but as I very rarely post on here now I do still enjoy reading stuff on this site and…most…of contributors on here.

267. Paula Rose

Clapper57 Honey it can be very vexing – here have a cup of tea and some cake.

268. John Young

Wonderful News Smallaxe, so happy for you and yours.

269. Michael McCabe

Really Glad to hear your Good News Smallaxe. Here is a wee song for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTrsB4t_Avs

270. Smallaxe

@ John Young,
    @ Micheal McCabe

Please check back here later tonight.Thanks

271. Epiphyta

@Smallaxe,

Please allow me to send my very best wishes to you and your family. My parents and one of my younger sisters have all done battle with cancer, and I know that emotional turmoil far too well: especial good wishes to your wife, as being the rock on which the others rest is a wearying duty. May your strength and good health grow daily!

272. Clapper57

@ Paula Rose says:
    4 August, 2016 at 4:15 pm
    “Clapper57 Honey it can be very vexing – here have a cup of tea and some cake”.

Thank You Ms Rose , Mini Slurp Slurp and Big yum yum aah that’s better, make it coffee next time….not a tea drinker lol.

Cheers have a fabby evening.

273. crazycat

@ Ian B

I’ve remembered what it was I wanted to say to you on Saturday:

If you’re still looking for mead (or want it in future – was it for the Icelanders and therefore no longer required?), it can be obtained in the Food Hall at Dobbies in Ayr.

I’ve not tried it so it might be horrid.

274. Smallaxe

@ John Young,

Many thanks John, I am totally blown away by the amount of kind people such as yourself who have taken the time to get in
    touch with me to offer thoughts,Prayers,Good Vibes and good wishes.I hope very much to meet you all at some point in the future.Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours my Friend.

Ps,sorry for the delay in responding to your kindness but I had unexpected visitors.

275. Jock Scot

@Cactus

Was about to give up on the chanting and then you appeared. Love how shit works. I reckon we must be amongst the best chanters in Scotland and the cherry on the cake was when the wee lad from Livi started up a round of the chant all on his own. Sorry I didn’t get around to talking to/say hello to all the Wingers but…do we need to? Ronnie..thanks for the Scottish passport, sheer brilliance. Ninja Penguin was rather chuffed in being presented with one.

276. Smallaxe

@ Michael McCabe,

Michael you could not have sent a better gift than music,l have been into music for as long as I can remember, I love music of all kinds,from my hippie days back in the sixties and still today.

The Dylan cover that you linked to was ‘something else’, I have never heard that version it made the hair on my arms stand up I will be listening to more of that tonight,thank you for pointing me towards two excellent musicians and many Thanks for your kindness.Peace,Love and Music.

277. Smallaxe

@ Epiphypa,

I truly appreciate your message especially coming from someone
    who understands that my wife and family go through all the trials with me,sometimes I think it is worse for them! but we are a close and happy family this has only served to bring us closer.

May I offer my best wishes to you and your family.Peace,Love and Happiness to you all.

278. Ian Brotherhood

@smallaxe –

More power to ye mister – hope you et famille are all hale and herty when we celebrate Independence Day. It’s comin’ yet for aw that!

πŸ™‚

@crazycat –

Aha!

I know the place, and have taken the weans there oftentimes to gawp at the fish.

You’re right – I wanted to get some mead for the Iceland/England game, but that doesn’t mean I can’t get some, er, well, for the NEXT Iceland and/or England game!

Hoots indeed.

279. Smallaxe

@ Ian Brotherhood,

Many thanks Ian I hope to have the opperchancity to shake your
    hand before and after that great day.Peace and Love to you and
    Yours Sir.

280. Thepnr

@Epiphyta

That was a wonderful thing to say.

@Smallaxe I hope we have the opportunity to meet up one day and I hope you get well, it’s a pleasure to have you gracing Wings and especially Off Topic πŸ™‚

281. Thepnr

This ones for the Rev, I know he likes it so I’ve shown it 3 times lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJWaBrU_BEg

282. Ian Brotherhood

I only ever post this when I’m getting a bit emotional, and that ain’t often.

For all the WOS Brothers and Sisters.

It’s in sight now.

‘These are the days now, that we must savour…these are the days that will last forever…you’ve got to hold them in your heart.’

Kin right.

Keep the heid!

Van Morrison, ‘These Are The Days’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lyve_egY8o

283. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Hi Alex it is a long time since I last spoke to you. Hopefully catch up with you at the next Wings Night out. Until then here is a wee song for you and yours and all the other Wingers to various to Mention. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IjKde3Q9uIg All the Best.

284. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Just realised that it was reading your 1.22 comment that made me think of Van M and post the previous – it’s a ‘faster’ version of one he did previously, but still brilliant.

Hoots mon – we all missed you on Saturday.

Van Morrison, ‘Wonderful Remark’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mDTKdHJiOco

285. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood Aye I can feel it coming too. Loving the Van Track. Here is Another one from Van the Man. It is for all the People who Voted No and now wished they had Voted Yes. Take the Leap. Come and Join us. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VINahJibd-4

286. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Well Michael what can I say? Other than you have excelled once again. I knew that guy was Scottish as soon as I heard him sing but I’ve never heard of him and like you do πŸ™‚ I looked him up.

Scottish right enough and we will meet again. Say hello to Lynn for me.

287. Smallaxe

@ Thepnr,

Thank you Sir, I have had the pleasure to read and enjoy many
    of your posts and I assure you Wings has graced me and has proved that Scotland’s best asset are Her people,a lot of the
    best of them Wingers.

I hope we meet up soon and will do my best to make sure that it happens sooner rather than later.Peace,Love and Independence.

288. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

I’ve got a huge grin on my face thanks to your choice of music to grace us with. Just fecking brill. Cheers!

289. Miss Donna Babington

@Smallaxe

Have not had the pleasure of meeting you yet but delighted to hear your good news! Wishing you and your family all the very best xx

290. Michael McCabe

I will say Goodnight and leave you with A Prayer without Words. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q6ie8j_mKH4

291. Smallaxe

@ Michael McCabe,

Michael, I fell asleep last night listening to Mike Scott and Sharon Shannon thanks for bringing my attention to them.

Sorry I can’t link but if you haven’t done so already listen to Postmodern Jukebox and Future Islands,some great music from both.Thanks again my friend.Peace,Love and Music.

292. Brian Doonthetoon

I thought everyone knew Mike Scott. Here’s another featuring the man.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fKsaHsCQqXI

Smallaxe – I blethered with your representatives at George Square last week and introduced them to Ronnie. Good to read that you’re on the mend.

293. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

I don’t know how Mike Scott got past me Brian, I think it’s me
    that needs a Bang on the Ear.

Brian I thank you so much for making my daughter and granddaughter so very welcome last Saturday and introducing them to Ronnie,they were both very taken by the hospitality
    shown to them at the WOS stall.My granddaughter said to me
    “Grandpa I never knew you had so many friends in Glasgow”

Thank you once again Brian and I am hoping to meet you all asap.Peace,Love and Friendship to all.

294. Paula Rose

Smallaxe Honey – it was our pleasure to meet your daughter and granddaughter, a fine pair of lasses.

295. Smallaxe

@ Paula Rose

Yes Paula as you say,two fine lassies but they say that they
    were outshone by your own classy good looks and decorum,thank
    you for your kindness to my girls.Peace,Love and long may you
    reign.

296. CameronB Brodie

I might have picked things up wrong but will there be a WOS presence in Dundee tomorrow?

297. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    I don’t see the problem with posting about major personal problems,and getting help and support. There’s a lot of people put a lot into Indy, and it’s kind of like a family. Share and share alike!

298. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB.

27th August – stay tuned for further news…

299. CamernoB Brodie

Thanks Brian. I was in town and thought I might lend a hand, if anything was on.

300. Cactus

@Jock scot

..do we need to?”

Aye, we do..

Heard a shout out for Helensburgh recently.. Clyde Bar calling, whatsay Kendo? ?

301. K1

Late to the celebrations of your good news Smallaxe…so glad to hear the results have been positive from the operation. I too will continue to think of you, as I often do these days…tis strange and yet not that we can ‘know’ and ‘feel’ others through this digital medium without meeting them in the flesh.

Here’s a wee song…for you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LOi_wxypeGc

302. Smallaxe

@ K1,

Many thanks to you my friend for the beautiful John Martyn song, I agree with you when you say that we can get to know and as I would put it feel the Positive vibes from each other
    through this digital medium.

I am positive that all the good vibes that have come my way have gone a long way towards helping me mentally and physically.People on this site have astounded me by their show
    of compassion towards someone that they have never met. I am doing well and my doctor’s are pleased at my speed of recovery
    so hopefully it won’t be long until I get to meet you and others personally.Peace,Love and Friendship, Winging it’s way to you from myself,keep up with your interesting and informative posts and Thank you once more for taking time to
    contact me.

Ps.When I look at the size of that paragraph it’s possible that I may land in hospital again covered in the Rev.Stu’s
    Hammer blow’s.:-)

303. Smallaxe

@ yessindyref2,

Family is the word my friend,ever since I explained to Cadogan
    Enright that I would not be able to meet him due to illness I
    have been showered with good wishes from countless Wingers like your good self.

Our job now is to get the others in our National family who
    unfortunately for their own reasons voted No in the past to step forward with us into a new and self determining future for our beautiful and intrinsically valuable Country.I have said before that our greatest asset is our people,Scots or Scots by choice.I thank you sincerely my Friend for contacting
    me,what you have written has gone a long way in lifting the guilty feelings for turning WOS into a Dear Doctor Blog at times.Peace,Love and Independence to you and yours.

304. Ian Brotherhood

Gala Day Disco in the local bowling club, visible from upstairs window here.

DJ played this about ten minutes ago – the whole place was jumping.

Billy Ocean, ‘Red Light Spells Danger’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvXLt74eA7s

305. Ian Brotherhood

And they’ve just gone properly mental for this:

Boney M, ‘Daddy Cool’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtxlCsVKkvY

306. Ian Brotherhood

Still waiting for them to play this…

Bee Gees, ‘Stayin’ Alive’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_izvAbhExY

307. Ian Brotherhood

This is just too good not to share –

All the Bee Gees together, at the absolute height of their power!

‘You Should Be Dancing’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_JoZS6LgqYI

308. Smallaxe

@Miss Donna Babington,

My utmost apologies,I have just noticed that I inadvertently
    missed your post. I thank you for your good wishes and hope that I can meet you and other Wingers in the very near future.
    Peace,Love and Happiness to you and yours.

309. Luigi

I am familiar with the <i and commands, but can anyone tell me how to print a scored-out word in WoS?

310. K1

like this Luigi:

‘scored-out’?

If so…then:

depending on your keyboard there are little chevrons (greater and less than symbols) above your comma and fullstop.

‘shift’ and type the ‘less than’ symbol then type the word ‘strike’ then type the ‘greater than’ symbol. Type the word/s you want to score out then type the ‘less than’ symbol followed by forward slash: / then type ‘strike’ again followed by the ‘greater than’ symbol.

So I scored this out thus: less than strike greater than scored this out less than forward slash strike greater than

311. Smallaxe

@ K1,

Just read your post and it’s”Twisted ma Melon Man”

something like:if it takes a man a week tae walk a fortnight
    how many pears in a barrel of plums?

Answer:A big banana that colour. πŸ™‚

Peace always.

312. Ian Brotherhood

testy nobblers

πŸ™‚

You learn something new here every day…well, most days…well, sometimes…

Will someone please play some music?

*looks unsmilingly at Paula Rose, Thepnr, Michael McCabe, BDTT etc etc*

If you don’t I will disco the living daylights out of ye’s all.

313. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

πŸ™‚

314. Andrew McLean

Ian Brotherhood

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LUfU8yoC2yw

Is this a relation? Or yourself in younger days ?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9IQa7RZzRbg

315. Ian Brotherhood

@Andrew –

Thanks.

It’s always good to see Willie Rennie making the cover of anything.

As for The Brotherhood Of Man, they did that Euroballs winner ‘Kisses For Me’ when I was in the first year of secondary school.

Can you imagine?

πŸ™

316. Paula Rose

That it was a winner or you actually went to school?

317. Michael McCabe

Hi Ian Brotherhood I was not much into Disco. Bit of a Dancing Fool. Anyway This one is for You. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X0X_-RsdYHU Amazingly it is of the Album Shiekh Your Booty

318. Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose A Wee Song for you. Hope it hits the Spot. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZmIueXgmlY

319. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael –

How is it that a song you’ve never heard, in a language you don’t understand, can reduce you to tears?

What’s that all about?

*sniff*

320. Michael McCabe

This Song is for Myself. Why. No Reason. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuQvja_t1FY

321. K1

Smallaxe…glad to be of assistance…melon twisting takes skills man πŸ™‚

322. Thepnr

@K1

Should you no be in bed? Disnae matter her’s a wee tune to fall asleep too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjBwAYIxUso

323. Paula Rose

Reminder folks – the next Be More Brechin event is tomorrow at the Caledonian Hotel, Brechin from 7 and features a guest appearance by our very own SchrΓΆdingers Cat.

324. Andrew McLean

Michael McCabe

Jesus that song by Rachael Yamagata is a keeper, added to my library, thank you!

Paula Rose,
    the problem with SchrΓΆdingers Cat is that he might be there or he might not, and by looking for him you will change your chance of him actually turning up πŸ™‚

325. chasanderson200

Paula Rose: 9:41
    Unfortunately grandaddy childminding duties prevent me from putting in an appearance.

Regretably I had to miss the last soiree as well: guess I’ll have to find alternative childminders for any future Brechin nights which , I am led to believe, are LEGENDARY!!!!

326. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one just for that dhothersall chap, who appears to be somewhat out of sync with reality. What a silly person stamping his little authoritarian foot….

“Labour is one party – and it’s not just Scotland that needs to remember it.” – dhothersall

B52s – Party out of bounds.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DYq4OZYqF1E

@dhothersall
    The total-ism of your outlook is now confirmed. Thanks dude. πŸ˜‰

327. Willie John

Help someone! I got my EU/Saltire flag today, great stuff, but then my brother-in-law walked in and pinched it! (Well, he is the one with a flagpole in his garden but he might have asked first.)

Anyhow, can anyone supply the link so that I can get another? I might not have flagpole but I do have a garden shed beside a major road that I can pin it to!

328. Michael McCabe

@ Willie John I don’t have a link but if you get in touch with your local Yes Group they Might be able to help you. Or at least point you in the right direction. Hope that helps and Good Luck.

329. Michael McCabe

@ Andrew McLean Glad you liked the Rachael Yamagata Song. Here she is doing a Duet Called Duet with Ray Lamontagne. Hope you like ? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EO0w9i5wmA

330. Michael McCabe

Thea Gilmore – Old Soul http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=INj4ZrsI_pk

331. Michael McCabe

This Guy when he Sings Has got an Old Soul. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFH8xorP2UI

332. Michael McCabe

Isssac Hayes – Walk on BY http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UKMjkjZSbXw

333. yesbot

So recently discovered the Waterboys thanks to O/T sessions (June I think, BDTT and the PNR thank-you)

Anyway can’t believe I could have missed this joy.

They played Kelvingrove Bandstand, tonight. Wow still shivering!! Faery’s in the park! Love to you all xx

http://bit.ly/2aBADjk

Hope link works, if not newby excuses!!

334. Paula Rose

chasanderson200 Wee Ginger Dug on the 13th of September – put it in your diary now!

335. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Yesbot & Smallaxe.

http://archive.is/JaBKw

336. Tartan Tory

Thanks once again to Paula for last night. πŸ˜‰

337. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

Don’t rub it in Brian I’m embarrassed enough, I knew of the
    Waterboys but it never struck me who the lead singer was.
    Big riddy now that would glow in the dark.

Peace always.

338. Smallaxe

@ Anyone,

Does anyone know what’s happening regarding the Yes movement
    at Glasgow Green on the 18th of September,as far as I know the Yes bikers are going,will there be a Wings stall? Peace.

339. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

I believe there will be a Wings presence at Glasgow Green on the 18th. Not sure about George Square the day before. Hope Over Fear appear to be suggesting that it’s a pro-indy weekend so if people can attend one but not both, then that’s fine.

Personally, I think the 18th will be the biggie.

340. Betty Boop

@ Michael McCabe, 7/8/16, 11.19pm

Michael, snuck a look and listen to the Isle of Mull Choir video you linked for oor Paula.

Beautiful, clear as a bell and makes me all nostalgic. πŸ™‚

341. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

Thanks a lot Brian,the Mrs and I are hoping to make it on the
    18th,two days in a row would would be a wee ambitious but we will try our best for the biggie.

Hope to meet yourself and many others. Peace Always.

342. Cactus

Cheers for the delivery Team Wings.

Am looking forward tae seein’ all of dem Vile Cybernat designer bags struttin’ aboot the streets of Scotland. I’ll probably notice you, before you see me πŸ™‚

Incidently, wee books fit inside them very nicely..

343. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

My reason for posting the review of the Waterboys’ gig was that Yesbot mentioned she was there – not to cause ‘raidir generation’…

Probably see you on the 18th…

8=)

344. yesbot

@Brian Doonthetoon says:
    9 August, 2016 at 10:56 am
    Hi Yesbot & Smallaxe

Hi Brian
    Thanks for the review link.

Have to admit I’m really intrigued

Smallaxe says:
    10 August, 2016 at 9:44 am
    @ Brian Doonthetoon,
    Don’t rub it in Brian I’m embarrassed enough, I knew of the
    Waterboys but it never struck me who the lead singer was.
    Big riddy now that would glow in the dark.
    Peace always.
    ——

?!!

Probably none of my business?!

Cheers!

345. yesbot

Brian Doonthetoon says:
    10 August, 2016 at 6:50 pm

Hi Brian

β€˜raidir generation’?

Haven’t come across that one b4. Hope its nothing too bad. Just want to cause good stuff always.

Best wishes,

PS Ronnie A: I rest my case re-posting! Lol!!

So, see you all 18th Sept?

346. Brian Doonthetoon

Has the Brechin to off-topic ferry run aground at the Yetts O’ Muckhart? We are still awaiting Paula Rose’s report on the shenanigans in Brechin last night…

Clearly, the SNP is to blame.

347. Paula Rose

Hi Honeys – can I come out to play on the 18th of September? Last night was totally fabulous not only did we have the hugely hunky SchrΓΆdingers Cat enthralling us with his analogy of revving the engine but also Lanarchist wowing the ladies and the glorious leather clad Tartan Tory strutting his stuff!

348. Luigi

This is is not a test.

Thanks K1!

Luigi

349. Luigi

This is is not a test.

Thanks K1 !

Luigi

350. Andrew McLean

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDLfNkwLr1U

Just good music to chillout to!

351. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

Just an attempt at humour Brian,looks like it was a good gig,

hope to see you on the 18th.Peace,Love and Music. πŸ™‚

352. K1

Luigi πŸ˜‰

353. K1

Still no in ma bed Thpnr…nevah mind…here’s a wee tune fur you…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V–hWckaBvg

354. Thepnr

Wings scored a small victory today over the MSM by having the Herald change it’s headline not once but twice. That is worth celebrating so I offer up this. I’m sure you Wingers have more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0iAzMRKFX3c

An original for Off Topic LOL

355. Thepnr

@K1

SNAP!

356. K1

This place is…spooky… πŸ™‚

357. Michael McCabe

Bailey Tzuke – Uninvited http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2GCmJpMx6g

358. Michael McCabe

@ Betty Boop 10/8/16 2.19pm Glad you liked it Betty Here is the youngsters Singing. I think they are Brilliant. Even with the Hiccup. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Djo0nMwhsr8

359. Smallaxe

@ Brian Doonthetoon,

I must apologise Brian for my post at 9:44am yesterday, I was
    e-mailing my brother in London at the same time and he was taking pee out of me for not knowing that Mike Scott was the lead singer of the Waterboys.

I only realised what I had done when he asked me ‘what link’ so sorry about the confusion I caused to you and yesbot. I will do my utmost not to make an erse of myself in future.Peace Always.

360. Smallaxe

@ yesbot,

My apologies for the confusion I caused yourself and BDTT please see my post to Brian for explanation. I hope to meet you on the 28th,please forgive my stupidity.Peace Always.

361. Alex Clark

Just testing a new identity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fOVECbr-vsc

362. Thepnr

Well that’s good the switch has been made. I’ve ditched Thepnr I’m just gonna be me. Tried it before but was concerned of the potential harm it may bring.

Must be more grown up now as I’m willing now to face any reaction with at least some dignity. I think Thepnr served his purpose but the truth is the persona develops a life of it’s own over time and I got fed up of being that persona.

Hope though that now I can still engage and get stuck into the debate as myself. I’ll be ok because

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=35K6vQRt67g

363. Alex Clark

Oh dear, work to do before I stop posting automatically. Feels like an arse πŸ™

364. Andrew McLean

Alex I liked you better as the pnr, always wondered what it ment? Now you’re gone and went all holy, take that http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lBOgH5f36cQ

365. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andrew McLean.

I believe that now Alex has gone public with his ditching of “THEPNR”, he has passed THE Point of No Return.

8=)

366. Andrew McLean

Very droll Brian:-)

367. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepn, ach fuck, sorry, Alex –

It’s great we’re revealing our real names.

In the spirit of solidarity, I join you, and announce to y’all, my dear friends, that I should properly be called Dean Rubbergloves.

Finally!

I’ve done it!

What a relief…

368. Ian Brotherhood

P.S. An eternal truism:

‘If it looks like an arse and feels like an arse, it’s probably (insert favoured red/blue BTUKOKer here).’

369. Ian Brotherhood

Must send this in before I forget…

Will be of interest to some – promotional film for the ‘new’ Glasgow, imagining what it might be like in 1980.

http://movingimage.nls.uk/film/0974?search_term=Gorbals&search_join_type=AND&search_fuzzy=yes

370. Smallaxe

@ Ian Brotherhood,

Thanks Ian for posting the film,brought back a lot of memories
    some happy some sad.Glasgow had it all before it was cruelly
    taken away. I can remember when I could look out of the window
    and all I could see was a sea of greasy bunnets of the men coming out of the shipyards.Sadly no more.Peace Allways.

371. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚

Until I was five we lived in Cowcaddens, very close to the Subway, so some of my earliest memories are of the M8 being built, diggers and earthmovers everywhere.

The south-side stuff is fascinating too – Shawlands Arcade as cutting-edge/futuristic? And what of Hutchie E now?

Strange sensations overall, like looking into someone else’s history. God only knows what folk will make of all the documentary material being amassed right now, fifty, sixty years hence.

Hoots mon!

372. K1

That’s was quite nostalgic for me too…watching that wee film. Recognising much of the city, same early memories of tenements being knocked down and the M8 being built especially round Cowcaddens. I can’t pass a building that is being demolished in Glasgow without ‘that’ smell igniting those memories.

Tell you what though the amount of dens that were built during that time in the backs was phenomenal…some boys had them carpeted out, wi table and chairs and all manner of remnants from the empty buildings awaiting destruction.

We played in those buildings too…can ye imagine ‘them’ letting us now?

Great resource that…dipping into other wee films noo…thanks IB.

373. Smallaxe

@ Ian Brotherhood,

One thing that film never mentioned was the neighbourly communities that were broken up and scattered into housing schemes,like Easterhouse and such. I have good memories of
    women with a cushion under their elbows talking to each other
    and shouting down to others standing at the close entrance with weans wrapped in shawls.Happy days.Peace allways.

374. Smallaxe

@ K1,

Playing in the empty tenements,how many times did you get a nail stuck in your foot?and the Dens, I got my first kiss in one,manners prevent me from saying any more about that,as kids
    back then we had little idea of the poverty surrounding us but
    I’m sure our parents did.Peace Always.

375. Stoker

Alex, is that most recent avi a batch of brains simmering in a vat of chocolate? πŸ™‚

In other news – I received a response today regarding the UK Parliament Petition to Invoke Article 50. Basically confirms what we all already know, ie: petitions are pish and rarely ever achieve anything.

Was informed, (can’t be arsed typing the full details at this time of night), that they’ll take their own sweet time on getting the right deal for all parts of the UK and there will be no invoking of Article 50 this year.

They’ll draw this out for as long as they can get away with it.

Finally, from the soundtrack to the movie Suicide Squad:
    Skylar Grey – Wreak Havoc
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E1mFLiZ0t6c

Goodnight, Troops!

376. Alex Clark

@Dean Rubbergloves

Thanks for that wee film, really enjoyed it. Have watched a couple more since on the same site, excellent archive.

Think you might like this one from my adopted neck of the woods.

http://movingimage.nls.uk/film/2257

377. CameronB Brodie

‘mon “the anarchy of sheep”. πŸ™‚

Ilan Eshkeri – Anarchy on the Farm
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m1ou_ffD0lM

378. Stoker

Over on today’s Cairnstoon thread Another Union Dividend wrote:
    ”Citizens Advice pay offs scandal in Herald it reports that Lucy McTernan (wife of you know who) got a Β£50,000 (tax free) pay off after being sacked.”

Can anyone produce confirmation that she is you know who’s wife?
    Been searching without success so far.

379. Alex Clark

Quiet right now so here’s another excellent short 10 minute film from the National Library about Scottish industry from 1962.

http://movingimage.nls.uk/film/0587

380. Ian Brotherhood

Got a message from Oneironaut earlier today. He asked that I post the following music link, and says’ ‘Hello!’ to abody, esp Crazycat –

‘Still Alive’ (Mirror’s Edge Theme’) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SUXyoyuJZ8Y

P.S. Oneironaut, if you see this, hope that’s the right version?

πŸ˜‰

381. Oneironaut

@Ian Brotherhood/Dean Rubbergloves

Actually it was this one:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzmUde_EK5Y

Sound quality and video is better I think.

How have things been here? Everyone still feeding the trolls? πŸ˜‰

382. Ian Brotherhood

@Oneironaut –

Aha!

πŸ™‚

Sorry I picked the wrong one – quite a lot to choose from!

Good to see yer ‘face’ back here man…

πŸ™‚

383. Alex Clark

@Oneironaut

Just dropping by to say hello, hope your keeping well. Anyway all the best.

384. Cactus

Cheers to y’all off topic!

385. yesindyref2

Ah well, one of those things you just have to do!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAzaOZfgf0M

386. CameronB Brodie

Alex Clark
    Ho Alex, you’re making me dizzy. Gonna choose an identity and stick with it please?

Just kidding. πŸ˜‰

387. CameronB Brodie

Steadied myself now.

I was critical of post-colonial theory’s effectiveness as an emancipating force, suggesting this was due largely to it’s failure to include local meaning making processes (semiotics), in it’s analytical framework.

Sorry, not entirely correct as it appears post-colonial theory was a post-structuralist rejection of semiotics. Feckin’ utilitarian neo-Marxists. Hope you’ll cut me some slack as I’m drawing on very dim memories here. I’m also using a very broad brush. πŸ˜‰

http://study.com/academy/lesson/post-colonialism-in-literature-definition-theory-examples.html

http://www3.dbu.edu/mitchell/postcold.htm

N.B. Acknowledging “race” is itself a ‘racist’ act of ‘othering’. Humanity is a differentiated whole, not a hierarchy based on skin tone. There is no supreme ethnicity IMHO. No master race.

P.S. Here’s another notable dude associated with ‘Orientalism’.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bernard_Lewis

388. CameronB Brodie

P.P.S. Many proponents of neoconservitism were formerly Marxist Trots. Neither outlook places much value on human rights. Funny that.

389. Ian Brotherhood

We need to talk about…

The weekend of Sep 17/18th.

‘Hope Over Fear’ rally is in George Square on the Saturday.

Sunday, at Glasgow Green, this:

https://www.evensi.uk/thousands-expected-at-yes-movement-rally-glasgow-green/183361612

Some will be able to attend both, but most cannot. If WOS is doing the usual stall, having a post-rally-swally etc and people are making travel plans, it would make sense to choose one or t’other.

What say ye’s all?

390. Robert J. Sutherland

Hi Ian,

Thanks for the heads-up over these upcoming events.

I am dreading though the potential downside of staging two different rallies on two adjacent days. If it could be sustained over two days it would be stupendous, but I worry that each might go off at “half-cock” and play right into the hands of the yoon media.

(Presumably this was an accident, but can it be fixed? We surely need far better co-ordination from pro-yes grassroots groups than this. What happened to the national yes registry, for example?)

Speaking personally, “Hope over fear” is a brilliant slogan, but I regard the people behind it as something of a Sheridanite splitter group. (Though correct me if I’m wrong.)

So I would be far more inclined to turn up for the yes “umbrella” group rally on the Sunday.

391. Robert J. Sutherland

PS: Proudly wearing one or more of my shiny new WoS badges, of course.

(Many thanks for that, Lindsay.)

392. Ian Brotherhood

@Robert J Sutherland –

Thanks for helping to get this particular ball rolling.

It’s a tricky one for all sorts of reasons, but the sooner we nail it the better, esp for those who have to make travel/babysitting arrangements. We need to show the naysayers and doubters that the non-party-affiliated Yes movement can ‘do’ big events and do them well.

Like you, I prefer the Sunday, not least because Glasgow Green has such resonance as a place of genuine grassroots activity. It’s also more ‘comfortable’ than the Square – nice to have greenery around, folk can bring picnics, get away from the central hub if they get weary of the speakers and/or find the volume a bit much (as many people do).

393. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m intending being at Glasgow Green on the 18th. I believe Ronnie is making arrangements to ensure a Wings presence at the event. Pete the Camera may be able to make it as well. He hopes to be out of his ‘in-patient’ status at Ninewells tomorrow.

The 17th gives me a problem. I had decided to give it a miss but I just found out today that Dundee’s Graham Brown Band are booked to play on the 17th in George Square. Working on the Friday, working on the Monday. How will I manage?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_Gr1KxLEBY

394. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s another from the Graham Brown band – “Watch Us Rise”. Incidentally, this song was put together well before “Hope Over Fear”. You can see how Gerry was influenced by a wee Dundee band…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mVcBM2fd8FA

395. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Did you once post vids of that band? If it’s the same one I’m thinking of, totally brilliant, and I can imagine they’d go down a storm.

Do you happen to know if they’re also appearing on the Sunday?

396. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

I think I have posted videos of the band in the past. Don’t know about the Sunday. I’ll endeavour to find out…

BTW: Graham Brown was, previously, in a band called ‘Amber Road’. There’s a cracker of a video, still on YouTube, of Amber Road doing “I Can Hear The Nation” (a Graham Brown song) live at Tiree music festival 2013. A beautiful day, not a cloud in the sky, and the song, obviously, went down well. (Graham’s the guy in the shades with a geetar towards the right of the stage…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LY9YVf5SG8s

397. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚

Yeah, good stuff.

The band I was thinking of was inside a pub, the ‘lead’ was a guy on bagpipes and the place was going mental. Sure it was a Dundee outfit.

Come to think of it, both would go down a treat at any rally.

398. Ian Brotherhood

Glasgow Green isn’t THAT far from PQ.

Just sayin’…

399. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian

At this late hour, when I’ve just sat down to have roast lamb, tatties, carrots, gravy and Yorkshire pud, I can’t think of the band of which you type. It’ll probably come to me eventually.

In the meantime, here’s another legendary Dundee band, with their infamous berryfield ballad.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fybwkm7ivQc

400. ronnie anderson

All under one Banner was brought to my attention 1st, they had intended (as far as im aware)to hold it in Freedom Square on the Sat 17th but had to move the rally to Glasgow Green 18th. I had contacted David & had a return confermation re Stall ( the no charge for a pitch)HOF had

PeteTC,s Badges donations monies go to Charities.

We have changed the structure on donations for the other materials ie we want to build up a fund for future council elections & Indyref2 ,leaflets ect ( with permission of the Rev or contribute to whatever he has in the planning,future booklets ect).

As BrianDTT says he would struggle to do both day’s.Paula Rose will no doupt have a say, we are dependent on other
    Wingers also to man the stall Irene Betty/Jim Castlehills Dez Ian Brotherhood at front as with other Wingers engadging with people.

There is a lot of controversy at the moment with HoF/Solidarity,thats for them to sort out. But for the clash of dates we would have been at Freedom Square.

401. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie A –

Yeah, we’ve already discussed this, and if there can’t be genuine openness among Wingers then we’re nothing.

As an ex-SSP member I have solid reasons to feel uneasy about Friends of WOS having anything to do with ‘Hope Over Fear’, but they shouldn’t influence any objective analysis of what’s best for ‘us’.

I totally agree with you – as you know – but any other Wingers who aren’t so interested in the deeper to-ing-and-fro-ing and Left-related shenanigans shouldn’t have to take all that shite onboard.

That’s why we need more voices – right here – to state their own position, voice concerns, whatever…

What’s most important, for me, is that the Friends of WOS presence in Glasgow, on that weekend, is united.

We’re not talking about a ‘flashmob’ here. We have to be organised – much more-so than would be expected of any mainstream political party.

The simple fact that we’re not a political party is our greatest strength.

We have to get this right.

And if we do? We’ll constitute a major element of the truly ‘independent’ presence at whatever rally we choose to attend.

402. CameronB Brodie

I prefer the sound of the Glasgow Green event though I do fancy checking out what ‘left-wing’ are saying. I doubt I’ll make both, so it’s going to be the Green for me. Hope I’ve picked things up correctly. I’ll lend a hand obvs.

403. chasanderson200

Ian Brotherhood (or is it Dean Rubbergloves??)

I can do both dates but my preference would be for GG on the 18th if you need bodies. Arrival time dependent on public transport from Glenrothes (there is a good regular express service that stops beside my humble abode).

PS are you related to the Rubbergloves who stayed in Inveraldie beside the Farfar road just north of Dundee??

404. CameronB Brodie

OK, so I might have gotten a bit muddled about the political origins of post-colonial theory. Frankly, I get a bit muddled at the divergence between structuralist and post-structuralist theory. Split-ers.

Though I knew it to be risky, I thought it was for the greater good that I pontificate on matters that I am not particularly familiar with, as a means to show how out-dated ‘class’-based conceptualisations of society are. As they say, the ends justify the means. They would say that though, wouldn’t they?

Here’s a handy slide show.

http://www.slideshare.net/gemcosta/postcolonialism-theory

405. Paula Rose

I’m happy to do both events – usual terms and conditions apply.

406. Tinto Chiel

Capella: in the words of the old advert, I saw this and thought of you:

http://www.calton-books.co.uk/scotland-3/

Link probs won’t work but you can find the web site no bother and look under Scottish badges.

407. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie, @ Bdtt, @IanB

Re: GG 18th Sept. JimT and moi, up for stall manning, hairy string duties, dogsbodying, etc., as usual and can do the GG on Sunday, but, HOF would be a problem only in so far as we ain’t likely to be available for the Saturday.

The GG one was the first one I was aware of and quite happy to go with that anyway. HOF, well, we’ve done it before and were quite happy in our wee spot away from the stage. We did our thing and they did theirs. I’m not sure that stalls like ours or attendees get tarred because of any shenanigans that might/or might not go on between the organisers. That said, some folks might feel uncomfortable.

408. Tinto Chiel

I think GG is a great venue and would prefer the 18th.

All the feuding around HoF is a bit off-putting for those not involved but I’ve been to previous events and enjoyed them. For Wings to cover both would take some organising. I’m doing something else on the afternoon of 17/9 and would have to leave about 2 p.m.

409. Ian Brotherhood

@Betty Boop –

I was down your neck of the woods earlier this evening (wean-related chauffeuring duties) and ended-up kicking my heels for a while, got savaged by midges. Have lost your e-mail. Any chance you could re-send?

It’s just that I might be in Troon fairly regularly over next few months and it would be nice to catch-up, even for a quick cuppa, if youse are up for it.

Hoots to you and yer man!

ianbhood@gmail.com

410. CameronB Brodie

as a means to show how out-dated β€˜class’-based Marxist conceptualisations of society are.

411. CameronB Brodie

Although we share common ground on many things, ( we share 50% DNA with a banana, more if you’re David Torrance ) it’s the differences that are important here.

MINIONS – “Respect the Banana”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iq1Y4PF0eKE

412. Capella

@ Tinto Chiel – thanks for the link. Missed it yesterday as inundated with visitors. The Thomas Muir is a must have, he’s a hero.
    Listened to Alex Salmond on “Great Lives” talking about Muir. “Why haven’t I heard of him?” asks host Matthew Parris.
    Good question!
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b07mxk48

413. Betty Boop

Yes Rally GG 18th Sept – might be a wee bit of a hiccup here. found this on FB. Waiting for update from organisers.

http://bit.ly/2aXffDH

414. Stoker

FFS, i’ve heard it all now, a white “Australian” politician (Malcolm Roberts) from the “anti-immigration One Nation Party.

And no, i didn’t make it up! From MSN: http://archive.is/FV7kn

415. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    Living up to your name I see, or not thinking before you post?

416. Tinto Chiel

Capella: no probs and thanks for the link. Will listen to AS tonight after my tea.

The TM badge looks even better in the flesh as it were. Nice colours. I got a few John MacLean ones too as wee presents for other insurgents.

“Why haven’t I heard of him?” asks host Matthew Parris.

Sadly most Scots know nothing about him either, of course…

417. Stoker

CameronB Brodie

Really? You obviously don’t get the irony/hypocrisy of a white Australian politician (a person whose existence in Australian society is due to immigrants in the first place) belonging to a right-wing racist anti-immigration party. I thought it amusing!

Amusing in a UKIPish or KKK sort of way.

418. Tinto Chiel

Good programme, Capella, and Matthew Parris played along quite well. No knighthood for him after rubbishing Bojo so brutally, so he’s not all bad, eh?

I liked the reference to Burns’ thoughts in one of his letters:

“Alas! Have I often said to myself, what are all the boasted advantages which my Country reaps from a certain Union, that can counterbalance the annihilation of her Independence and even her very Name?”

Indeed.

Sigh.

419. Betty Boop

@ IanB

Sent an email, so, look in your junk mail πŸ™‚

420. CameronB Brodie

Perhaps I’m loosing it, though it would appear not as much as another space cadet. My advice to BLiS is that they seek professional help.

B-52s – Planet Clare
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bqhGKDIciBw

421. Stoker

Dave McEwan Hill wrote the following on 7 August, 2016:

“I would love to see us take out some of our media enemies by a targeted campaign on individual bits of it.Derision is the best treatment for it. Once people start laughing at it it has no impact.”

And so would many more of us. If we ever do get around to organising such a worthwhile campaign and it involves any form of leafleting – i’ve come across this little very helpful legal precedent which has been set:
    Freedom of expression (Article 10 of the Convention)
    Steel & Morris v the UK (click on link, scroll to p21)
    http://www.echr.coe.int/Documents/FS_Environment_ENG.pdf

IanB wrote on 15 August 2016:
    “The simple fact that we’re not a political party is our greatest strength.”

AYE, and we need to start utilising that strength to the max!

422. Alex Clark

I know there are more than a few that visit Off Topic enjoy a rousing Johnny Cash number. Like others that do, I knew almost all the old ones but few of the recent before he passed away.

So I was a bit surprised typing nothing but “Johnny Cash” into youtube search that the song Hurt appeared before I’d even finished typing his name. Anyway I chose to listen to hurt and with 22 million views was a Mexican post.

I looked through the listings and found this on the first page not too far down with less than 20,000 views. It gave some information about the song:

‘Hurt’ is a song written by Trent Reznor, first released on Nine Inch Nails’ 1994 album The Downward Spiral. In 2002, ‘Hurt’ was covered by Johnny Cash to critical acclaim; it was one of Cash’s final hit releases before his death. Its accompanying video, featuring images from Cash’s life and directed by Mark Romanek, was named the best video of the year by the Grammy Awards and CMA Awards, and the best video of all time by NME in July 2011.

I wonder why I can’t find 20 million views in English, nor had ever heard of the song, nor can I find the original video?

Forever will remain a puzzle, guess if you like him your just gonna have to watch the Mexican posting on youtube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt1Pwfnh5pc

423. yesbot

@IanB,@ Ronnie, @ Bdtt, @Betty Boop

Betty Boop says:
    16 August, 2016 at 1:33 pm
    Yes Rally GG 18th Sept – might be a wee bit of a hiccup here. found this on FB. Waiting for update from organisers.
    ————-

My comment might be a little belated now, but anyway:

I’m good with both days and very happy to offer help whenever is decided, please let me know if/how I could be of any significant use at all!

As BDTT pointed out there is some good stuff promised @ HoF, any details emerging of who will be participating @GG?

Thanks to IanB, RonnieA, Bddt et al for pulling this together to ensure Friends of WoS are united!

Really hope that events on this significant weekend are not dissipated by inadvertent conflict of dates, bookings etc

Look forward to seeing you all! x

424. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Yesbot et al.

Had a telephonic blether with Ronnie a wee while ago. He hadn’t picked up on the “hiccup” scenario but will look into it.

He did wonder if it could be a ‘spoiler’ put out by another YES group to get peeps to attend another rally that weekend.

Onnyhoo, he is going to investigate. No doubt he’ll keep us up to speed with events…

425. Macbeda

Just a bit of fun

The Essenpee Particle

Background to the Project.

We have received permission and funding from the joint leaders of the NEC in London to use the new Heedrum Hoedrum Collider to run up and down the Great Glen to search for the particle of common sense.

The powers down there feel that spreading the common sense particle will defeat the Essenpee particle currently sweeping through the country.

Of course being fully autonomous we can use the full capacity of the collider to also search for the elusive Essenpee particle that’s affecting nearly half the population.

Day 0
    We now believe the particle of common sense is probably too wee to find and too poor a particle to bother with. Anyway we are really genetically incapable of taking any common sense on board. We were told that nearly three year ago by our great leader of the time. Which one that was escapes me. There have been so many.

Now as you you know we can always get two or three more things out of our budget if we use the Jabba abacus.

This means we can put two or three times the power into the machine at no extra cost by tapping into the local power stations because the SNPBaad Government has stopped using electricity from anywhere and has Scotland running on wind power.

I mean, how SNPBaad is that. The Greens will be chuffed and that’s SNPBaadj too.

Day 1
    The Heedrum Hoedrum Collider is all fired up and we have volunteers from all our many (well more than one) branches giving their lifeblood to feed the machine.

Side Note. Did you know the Collider needed to draw the lifeblood out of our members to fuel the particle builder? I always thought the subsidy from London and the Β£5 subs were enough to get us through the tough times ahead.

Day 2
    We had a visit from the BLiS Person in Charge. She didn’t appear to know anything about the project since the command had come directly from London. She hardly never ever listened to what London said being full autonomous. This had gone right past her while she was being spoken to in a strange but familiar language in a faraway place.

She admitted she was puzzled about the common sense particle and agreed that we were maybe doing the right thing by investigating the Essenpee thingy particle.

Day 3
    The collider has hit a snag. The damn thing hiccuped and we found another bloody Boson particle and had to give it back to that guy Higgs. We could have just nipped over to Edinburgh and given it to him but Oh No. It had to go down to London to be given to the correct people to pass on after it had been checked and valued. These are the rules, no free money for Scotland as it might upset Barnett.

Day 4
    Getting worried because there is no sign of the Essenpee particle but there may be good news as we found what might be a common sense particle. We will investigate further.

Day 5
    Disaster. The Essenpee particle and the common sense particle are one and the same. The SNPBaad Government have found out and colluded with the EU to keep the particles safe in their hands.

Day 6
    The particle has escaped the Collider and we can’t stop the spread of this common sense and Essenpee particle. It’s maybe affecting over 50 % of the population and the number keeps going up.

Day 7
    It’s out of control. People are asking questions, poking their noses in where they aren’t supposed to go. That Nicola (boo, hiss) has said openly that a second referendum is possible if we don’t get answers to our questions.

London has phoned to tell us to shut up shop here in the glen and send back the money because they need it to pay the lawyers for the leadership battle. We tried cutting off the power but the wind keeps blowing and generating the damn electricity for it.

The Heedrum Hoedrum Collider won’t stop.

It’s going independent.

Even the blue Tank Commander has given up and moved Dan Sath to escape the spread of the Essenpee/common sense particle. Too many people are now coming to their senses.

It may not stop at the border. Will Hadrian’s wall be the last bastion for the defence of Engerland. Oh wait that’s well past the border. The Geordies might get infected.

WHERE WILL IT ALL END?

426. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

That’s a keeper.

Cheers mister.

427. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Macbeda.

You typed,
    “…because the SNPBaad Government has stopped using electricity from anywhere and has Scotland running on wind power.”

An interesting site I bookmarked the other day…

“Scotland has the largest oil reserve in the E.U. They just proved they don’t need it.”

http://www.upworthy.com/scotland-has-the-largest-oil-reserve-in-the-eu-they-just-proved-they-dont-need-it

428. Macbeda

Hi Brian

Cheers for that.

People forget that oil isn’t just used for fuel.

I believe most of the oil can be used for other products – petrochemical industry thrives on/ oil.

429. Paula Rose

What oil is that then – the cooking stuff?

430. Brian Doonthetoon

Nah, Paula Rose. I would have thought you’d share a certain affinity with one of your sisterhood…

http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/the-mystery-case-files/images/2/2c/818-Olive-Oyl.jpg

431. Paula Rose

Where’s the fooking like thingie?

432. Ian Brotherhood

From Twitter, looks like Bikers for Yes have plumped for the 18th.

πŸ™‚

433. David

@ Macbeda, nice one!

My favourite day was Day 5, with a special mention too for the “Jabba abacus”! πŸ™‚

434. Alex Clark

I’m having an identity problem in that I don’t know how best to picture myself now that I’ve ditched Thepnr.

That one was easy, a shipwright from the 19th century, someone who looked like he felt “yeah yeah heard it all before” and wasn’t taking in any of their pish.

Now that I’m me I’ve flip flopped so much I’m as dizzy as Cameron B said I made him πŸ™‚

I started with one of me and my brother, quickly changed, too personal for me on a blog. So I tried a pot of mince and doughboys, liked that but too abstract LOL. So then I settled on the Oliver Twist one but then hated holding out the begging bowl and thought maybe taht the Artful Dodger might suit my character more.

He doesn’t, I was wrong.

I’m definitely more of an Oliver Twist, he didn’t just beg, he got off his arse asked for more when no one else was prepared to do so.

You can relax now Cameroon B, Oliver Twist it is for the foreseeable. Now gimme what we’re due.

435. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

Feel free to use a Scott Brothers steak and gravy pie as your avatar. Ronnie and Mitch have enjoyed them…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/badge-designs/Peh-02-crop.jpg

436. Alex Clark

Eh Brian yeh canne beat a Scott bros peh πŸ™‚

Last word on Charles Dickens “Please sir can I have some more” well, for too long that is where Scottish politicians have been, fawning and forlock tugging with their superiors in Westminster in order to feather their own nests and enhance their careers.

No more begging, demand that which is already ours. No other than our country, that which we live in, the right to elect our own government and to let the decisions we make shape our own future.

We are a nation, if you continue to ignore our grievances you will pay a heavy price. We are not a NATION of beggars living on a subsidy from English taxpayers. You just want us to believe that.
    …………………./´¯/)
    ………………..,/Β―../
    ………………./…./
    …………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`Β·ΒΈ
    ………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
    ……..(‘(…Β΄…Β΄…. Β―~/’…’)
    ………\……………..’…../
    ……….”…\………. _.Β·Β΄
    …………\…………..(
    …………..\………….\…

Well, you can fuck right off hahaha. We don’t believe you.

437. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Your choice, of course, but I’d find it very difficult to associate the Oliver Twist image with you in any way.

With minor tweaks, it would work i.e. if the wee lad was frowning, as if to say ‘I do believe you took my last bit of grub mister – kindly return it, right now, ya ****. Aye, and stick a wee dod extra in for good measure.’

438. Alex Clark

Ian Brotherhood

Yeah I heard you. No reason for the real me to hold out a begging bowl.

439. Alex Clark

OK I’ve finally got it. I am Thepnr too!

Is that better? Feels like it for me.

440. K1

Actually that is better Thpnr, I don’t know about anyone else but the little icons really do become associated with the ‘person’…and you’re shipwright is definitely ‘you’. Glad you decided to stick with that in the end. (Oliver Twist jist wisnae ‘you’…)

441. Alex Clark

Imagine that a man in his fifties could have an identity crisis.

What?

I’d just find that very funny. I promise not to start jogging or going to yoga classes. Meanwhile what does “Tusk” actually mean?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MrRVW-p8SJ8

442. Alex Clark

If you didn’t watch that last one to the end then you would have missed the point of the question lol.

No worries, quite pleased to have decide to change my nam but stick with the wee picture of the shipwright. Thanks Ian and K1.

Before I get the head down, here’s an old yin that I think I’m only playing for the third time. Worth hearing once at least if three times πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUOAtDU5yFY

443. Michael McCabe

@ Alex Clark I have heard that Tusk is meant to be a nickname for Mick Fleetwoods Trouser Snake. There is an even Longer Explanation and I will tell you it the next time we Meet.

444. Michael McCabe

Early Fleetwood Mac http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xmbFG2QnD1g

445. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr/Alex –

Quick game of chess with junior this evening. He objected to the music I was playing, forced me to play soundtrack of ‘Suicide Squad’ via YT.

Fair do’s.

Second or third track was this:

Sweet, ‘Ballroom Blitz’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tqketmsRz1E

446. Alex Clark

OK I found a much better copy of the Johnny Cash video “Hurt”. Talking of the video, he had this to say:

“It’s all fleeting,” Cash said. “As fame is fleeing, so are all the trappings of fame fleeting. The money, the clothes, the furniture.”

At first Rubin didn’t want to present the tune to Cash because of song’s sole cuss word, which appears in the line, “I wear my crown of sh–.” He wound up substituting the word “thorns,” instead.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x6osf_johnny-cash-hurt-video_music

Cash was one of the good guys.

447. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

That Ballroom Blitz video is guaranteed to make you smile.

Pure class!

448. CameronB Brodie

It all flows from respect Alex.

Aretha Franklin – Respect
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6FOUqQt3Kg0

449. Alex Clark

Right, since I’ve got my identity back I’m right in the mood for another top 10.

Here’s my top 10 Johnny Cash, most of which have been played here.

In at number 10 is “I Walk The Line” first sung in 1958. This is not the 1958 version.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jh169rVMveA

450. Alex Clark

Ok here we have at number 9 a classic and well loved song originally by Tennessee Ernie Ford.

Sixteen Tons 1987

451. Andrew McLean

I like my flag thing, so did someone else of face book, though I think I will go back to using Andrew, to old for nick names!
    Anyhow Alex you cant beat “a ring of fire”

452. Alex Clark

@Andrew McLean

I like your flag too Andrew πŸ™‚ Patience man patience it’s coming.

Here’s the number 8, deserved to be higher. A Thing Called Love

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3-62z7qyXI

453. Alex Clark

Some DJ I am, just noticed that I never pasted the link for Sixteen Tons, number 9. I’ve put myself On the naughty step LOL.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tfp2O9ADwGk

454. Alex Clark

My old man liked this one from 1968. I’ll just drop it in at number 7 Folsom Prison Blues.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N5Ts4M3irWM

455. Alex Clark

At number 6 a cheeky wee song A Boy named Sue

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WOHPuY88Ry4

456. Alex Clark

Here you go Andrew Number 5 Ring of Fire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zI-GGnzSQa4

457. Alex Clark

This is the first Johnny Cash song I ever heard. My Da bought the LP. It’s at number 4 San Quentin 1968.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zgja26eNeY

458. Alex Clark

Now we’re into the nitty gritty time. A purely personal opinion and at number 3 I offer this. Hope your paying attention now LOL.

A totally new song for me until yesterday. Hurt 2002.

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x6osf_johnny-cash-hurt-video_music

459. Alex Clark

Now this song and video is very powerful. It’s not the official video but just some guy who probably put it together in his bedroom.

The images it show will never leave your mind, ever.

Number 2 When The Man Comes Around

460. Alex Clark

Number 2, done it again

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtK-QCiD-FE

461. Alex Clark

Matters not a jot to me whether anyone bothered watching the first nine of the top 10 Johnny Cash songs. Even if you didn’t I think you should watch this.

In this song he describes how I feel and I suspect a good few of you share the same values. He had it nailed, we might just have missed it back then. Number 1 is The Man in Black.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t51MHUENlAQ

462. Alex Clark

Right I’m off. This has never been played on Off Topic before and it is about time it was. From one auld drunk to another lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NTymtAbaG08

463. Betty Boop

@ Alex Clark and his doppelganger @Thepnr

I am Betty Boop!

Too late to be otherwise just like Thepnr’s gravatar.

Just catching up, at the coo’s tail end as usual. Will get around to listening to all the Johnny Cash links. Hurt is one of my all time favourite songs.

464. Alex Clark

@Betty Boop

I hope you do get around to listening. I don’t think you will be disappointed.

PS Your avatar suits you, I’m just sweet talking now πŸ™‚

465. SchrΓΆdinger's Dug

If you hate this then Andrew McLean made me do it!
    Dedicated to Adam Thomkins MSP, the joy-fool clown of twitter.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUe2OnXIBEg

466. SchrΓΆdinger's Dug

Speaking as the dug what I am, this is the “Dogs Blks”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0PMq4XGtZ

woof

467. Paula Rose

Yippee I’m back with a proper operating system –
    EEK I’ve lost all my data.

468. CameronB Brodie

Personally I’m reveling in the totalitarian environment created by the vile SNP and their selfish desire to emancipate a people.

Red Army Choir – O Fields, My Fields
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CW9iRun6xKg

@Darren McGarvey
    Your quest will require you to train your consciousness in ways that enable the liberation of thought from socially contrived boundaries. Your journey will be long and the pathway often obscured, so trust the “force” and do not dismiss the power of love. Just my opinion but I think the β€œMethodology of the Oppressed” might act as primer for your studies.

469. CameronB Brodie

VILE

470. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Cash top-ten is great, cheers aplenty.

I’ve definitely seen that ‘Man Comes Around’ vid before, so it was probably you posting it here. Powerful indeed.

Here’s hoping we never have to endure any of that shit on the way to independence – some of the yoons seem hell-bent on causing as much fear as possible. If anyone gets hurt they’ll have a lot to answer for. Sep 19th 2014 was enough.

471. Alex Clark

Cheers Ian, that was very much appreciated πŸ™‚

It was me that first played β€˜Man Comes Around’ vid. Seems so long ago now.

472. Michael McCabe

@ Alex Clark Johnny Cash 10 in a row. Wow I prefer Him like this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OQ2olHWs1UA

473. CameronB Brodie

I’ve just noticed the soldier marching in the front row forth from left (@ 1:20 Red Guard clip) reminds me of Baron Darling of Roulanish’s dodgy egg assailant. Spooky.

How you doing Stu you twat?

474. CameronB Brodie

Here’s one to mess with your marbles. πŸ™‚

Evgeny Belyaev & the Red Army Choir – Annie Laurie
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P1ukTI3wgl0

475. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve featured this video in the playlists for the Wings get-togethers in Invergowrie and Helensburgh but don’t think I’ve ever linked to it in off-topic.

It was released in 1991 and I’m pretty sure I have the 12″ picture disc stashed somewhere in my hovelhold.

“Internal Exile”. “The land we stand on is never our own”…

The first link is the album/12” version with lyrics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTMSGVu_2ks

This second link is the shorter 7″ “official” version, shot roonaboot Embra ‘n’ thah…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E6wqjrTTR-0

476. CameronB Brodie

Fundilymundily I got that one wrong. It gets hard to remember which Yoon schemer is which, they are all so disgustingly dishonest.

477. Alex Clark

@CameronB Brodie

No you never got anything wrong. Just you keep on being you, your one of the good guys and we all need friends.

xx

478. CameronB Brodie

The cheque’s in the post Alex. πŸ˜‰

479. Alex Clark

@CameronB Brodie

Perfect response, can’t wait to receive it πŸ™‚

480. Ian Brotherhood

‘Never a frown, with Gordon Brown’.

Huh?

Aaaaah!

Maricahi Mexteca, featuring Hugh Cornwell, ‘Golden Brown’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zy8Y3R4dXyc

481. Ian Brotherhood

‘Drive me to the best thing that has happened to me all night…’

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

They were just the best. Can you believe it’s over 16 years since Dury passed away?

Ian Dury & The Blockheads, ‘Dance Little Rude Boy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g33rN4zplMM

482. Paula Rose

I won’t be out to play tonight Darlings but I must thank Thepnr or whatever he’s called now for the lovely Johnny Cash collection – just fab and Ian B Honey this is the biz…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOQoqV_hekg

483. Dave McEwan Hill

Betty Boop
    You’re not the Betty Boop that features in this,are you?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n1roQFn627Y&list=RDn1roQFn627Y

484. Brian Doonthetoon

Just came across this on YouTube – don’t know why. You know what following links can do to your health…

Onnyhoo, it’s for those of us who have a wee liking for prog rock – “Yes – The Lost Broadcasts ? Remastered”.

It’s a compilation of clips from TV progs in ‘that Europe’, from the black and white days when WE only had TOTP and some decent music progs on GRAMPIAN TV, which seem to have been NOT archived. (I still have an audio tape of a Grampian prog from 1969, which featured The Shy Limbs and Cat’s Eyes. I bet STV don’t. Greg Lake was the vocalist with The Shy Limbs.)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SszeZhF9Xq4

485. Croompenstein

@Alex – Wonderful Johnny Cash but you missed this….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JyTw44MFvE

486. Alex Clark

@Ian Brotherhood

That “Gordon Brown” was the real deal LOL. Here’s Hugh Cornwall in his younger days. Once a star…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gfIgA-PYyQ

487. Kenny

Greetings, Wingers! I will be in Barca just before the New Year and was wondering: does anyone have any suggestions of ways of making contact with the Catalan equivalents of Yes groups, probably best those already affiliated with Scotland, for going along to some sort of social events.

I realise there will not be rallies or the like over the “Nadal” (Xmas) period… but they may be organising their own get-togethers at that time and it would be nice to go along and bring some solidarity (as well as saltires, yes badges, “I’m With Nicola” pens, whatever…).

Anyone have any contacts?

488. Paula Rose

Kenny – if you are on twitter follow me @PaulaHoneyRose and DM – I have contacts.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.