Wee Willie Won’t-He

Posted on February 12, 2017 by

Here’s Willie Rennie in the Times this week, castigating the Scottish Government for not having successfully done a £10bn deal with China:

willie1

And here he is in today’s Scottish Mail On Sunday, lashing the Scottish Government for seeking investment from Qatar, on the grounds of its human rights record.

willie2

willie2a

We can only conclude from this that Mr Rennie feels China’s human rights record is an impeccable exemplar the rest of the world should follow.

tianenmen

Which is weird, because that isn’t what he thought as recently as last year:

willie4

To be quite honest with you, readers, we don’t even mind so much that Scotland has a completely useless opposition whose only mantra is that the SNP are bad.

davidsonchina

But if they could at least keep their story even halfway straight as to why they’re bad – and particularly whether it’s for doing deals with “immoral” states or for FAILING to do deals with them – it’d save us an awful lot of tedious filing.

1. 12 02 17 19:56

Wee Willie Won’t-He | speymouth

141 to “Wee Willie Won’t-He”

1. Ken500

Scotland is paying £Billions on loan repayments for the biggest waste of pubic money. Hinkley Point, HS2, (borrowed Chinese money) Heathrow and squint Trident. £500Billion. All will be obsolete and redundant before they are finished..Like Unionists in Scotland. Public money which could be better used improving railways, NHS/Education system in Scotland.

2. Macart

Oh good grief!

What is the point of Willie Rennie?

No, seriously. What is the point?

3. Walter Scott

Although I want Scotland to be independent, I also would like to see a competent opposition. Rennie is a clown & Davidson just outTrumps Trump in her deranged madness. Can these blatent examples be presented to Daft Wullie & Fat Boab to see what they have to say on the matter?

4. Capella

The first Willie Rennie quote is berating the Scottish Government for attempting to deal with a Chinese company. But the point is made – the SG is damned if it do and damned if it don’t.

Distracts from the fact that the SG have virtually no levers to grow the Scottish economy. Almost everything the Unionist party leaders say is a distraction from the horror that is being ruled by a corrupt Tory Westminster forever.

5. Iain More

It is only good when it is England doing the deals with crack pot regimes, oh wait a minute when we become Independent will we have to do any investment and trade deals with a crack pot regime in London?????

6. Andy-B

Well done Rev, you’d have thought that Rennie and Co, would’ve at least had the brains to check what they said prior on Chinese investment.

We are now at the point, where attacking the SNP, is a higher priority than telling the truth.

7. Ian McCubbin

Thanks for exposing this with facts and cross referencing.
    Both Ruthie Routine and Kez latch on to every bit of fake news they are fed.
    The current one is Education failures of SNP.
    These were started in 1995-9 when Curricul for Excellence was launched as a pedagogal methodology and was hyped up to a whole new curriculum by SQA and Labour.
    So please make this the next take apart of Ruthie Jez and to lesser extent wee Willie.
    Cannot any of them find anything to be constructive about as opposition?

8. Ian McCubbin

Oops couple of errors in post Ruthie routine and Kez = Ruthie and Kez.
    RUthie Jez= Ruthie,Kez

9. Robert Kerr

I understand that the whole point of the unionist msps is to be incompetent politicians. The mantra of the”wee pretendy toon council parly” personified is plain to see. It is deliberate too.

What I cannot understand is that they are incompetent human beings born and raised here.

Is Scotland so useless?

10. Gullane No 4

Do these opposition leaders really think that they can utter such contradictory rubbish without anyone noticing.
    More so, why do their supporters not question such incompetence.

11. pic

What is the point of Willie Rennie?

Answers on a postcard to pobox….you get the idea.

12. David Smith

So Wullie’s bothered about us doing business with immoral states? How come he’s so enthusiastic about the UK being Scotland’s most important trading partner then?

13. galamcennalath

Project SNPBad won’t make any converts, but I’m sure it’s aimed at simply keeping the more gullible on side as NO voters. Perhaps it’s worked because things have been stuck at 50:50 for a long time.

However, everything is about to change. It will be a stark choice between Indy where we make our own future, or Brexit UK moving fast to the right with an economy faltering and endless Tory rule.

It’s a much bigger picture where SNPBad playground politics will be irrelevant.

The likes of Rennie has some serious decision making ahead of him.

14. Scott

Plenty to read about this Willie

Ex-director of Chinese investment firm SinoFortone Group throws doubt on its £100m pledge to Paramount resort in Kent

A former director of a Chinese investment company has thrown into doubt its plans to invest in a Paramount resort in Kent saying it was refused a loan from a state-backed lender.

Sir Richard Heygate was briefly a director at SinoFortone Group, an infrastructure investment business which has pledged to spend £100 million on the £3.2 billion attraction.

The company, whose managing director is young business tycoon Peter Zhang, has committed billions to a range of infrastructure projects across the UK.

Type in SinoFortone and get all information.

15. scotsbob

Rennie, like Ruth and Kez, relies on the fact that readers will have short memories. The media that supports them will never bring up their past press handouts for comparison or scrutiny.

16. mogabee

Can’t be long before folk realise that they’ve no idea who WeeWillie is!?????

17. Bob MACK

Willie and Ruthie are like the creature in Dr Doolittle called the pushme-pullyu
    It tried to go two ways simultaneously and got nowhere.

Doolittle might also be an appropriate description of the Holyrood opposition.

18. Robert J. Sutherland

Och, the puir wee cringer will likely be the last ever exponent of the Bain Doctrine, as enunciated by another Willie, Labour ex-MP Willie Bain: “I’ll always oppose the SNP, no matter what they’re for”.

The grinning fool must surely have become unhinged when the last wheel came off the LibDems’ rickety wagon over Brexit. Now he’s left pathetically clinging to his precious Union like a comfort blanket, with nothing coherent to say.

(Not that anyone’s listening anyway, Willie.)

19. Dr Jim

Runnie Willie and Bouncy castle Wood

One day little Runnie Willie was playing with all the other boys and girls in Bouncy Castle Wood at all their usual games of SNP Baad and FOI request when best girl friend Ruth Harrison said “let’s play change our minds Runnie” Well Runnie was very excited about that as it sounded like a great new wheeze “Can Kozia Dimdale play” said Runnie, “Oh yes please, may I” said Kozia, throwing her head back laughing, which was unusual for Kozia as she didn’t often laugh

New pal Adlib Timkins shouted over “I don’t believe you’re allowed to play Kozia, it’s not in the rules of the wood”
    Kozia was very disconsolate till Runnie said “It’s OK Kozy you can be in my team” then the phone rang (because they had one of those in the wood) and Kozias big brother Jibbery said “You can’t play with anybody except Ruth and certainly not Runnie” but by this time Ruth had changed her mind again and didn’t want to play with anybody ever again

Adlib Timkins smirked because that had been his plan all along and Runnie Willie walked home alone….again

20. Gary45%

Scott@7.20
    As this is in Kent, expect Scotch-shire to get handed the usual portion of the cost, as Scots will “benefit??”from something in Angerland.(something to do with Scotland funding the UK)
    As for Wullie “I’m a legend in my own head” Rennie. words fail me.
    He is not bright enough to be an embarrassment.

21. Jimbo

Aye, but, now that the ruling Brit Unionist red/blue alliance in Westminster are doing deals with China, it’s now bad form to criticise anyone else for following suit.

No doubt daft Willie Rennie would also deem it acceptable for Scots gov to do business with notorious human rights abusers, Saudi Arabia, because his handlers in London who collaborate with the red/blue Tories have no objection to human rights abuses and UK doing deals there.

Once the UK gov start making overtures to Qatar, daft Willie Rennie will be complaining how Scots gov aren’t doing enough to attract Qatari business here.

22. Gary45%

Bob Mack@7.49
    I think you mean Wullie “Dr Do-Fu*k all” Rennie.

23. Sandy

I thought MSPs/MP were supposed to be diligent & to be aware of what was happening around the Country, especially their leaders.
    Ruth, Kez, Wullie & their so-called well informed subordinates, Fraser, Mountain, Kelly, etc., have made sure the floor of Holywood is spotlessly clean, the number of times they have been put to that task.
    We’ve had the “muppets”. Old hat. How about “The Moppets”

24. Robert Peffers

@Macart says: 12 February, 2017 at 6:53 pm:

“What is the point of Willie Rennie?
    No, seriously. What is the point?”/i>

The top o his wee pointy head – of course.

25. Cal

Now, it’s funny you should mention that Norwegian oil fund Ruth….

26. Proud Cybernat

Hah! Yoon lies – caught in the Net.

What irks me though is that these fourth-rate ‘politicians’ think they can come out with this utter pish and get away with it. Well they WON’T get away with it and they’re NOT getting away with it. They can’t even keep up with their own lies!! That is how utterly stupid these people supposedly representing us really are. Utterly contemptible bunch.

And that is WHY Indy is now sitting at 50% in the polls and rising. (Just wait till A50 is signed and the full reality of AUSTERITY TORY BREXIT sinks in).

Indy support is rising because Scotland is utterly fed up with this constant SNP Bad pish and all the Yoon lies. Think about it – HOW, JUST HOW can ANY political party anywhere in the WORLD be anywhere near as BAD as the colonial media in this country paint the SNP Gov???) Ironicall, it is precisely BECAUSE of the OTT relentless SNP-Bad that we can absoluely KNOW for certain it is UTTER PISH these #fakenewspapers and #fakebroadcasters are coming out with. Because no one – NO ONE – can ever be anywhere NEAR as bad as these idiots paint the SNP Government. Which is why their #fakenews is simply not credible (and never was). They have cried wolf waaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyy too long.

Scotland is taking NO MORE of the pish these arseholes come out with. We’re on our way from misery to happiness today – uh-huh, uh-huh….

27. Arthur Martin

Ruth the mooth and wee Willie are just a couple of troublesome red white and bluebottles on the rump of the Scottish Government. Every Thursday they get a damned good swatting but just like real bluebottles they come back and make a nuisance of themselves time and time again.

After Indy Ruth will fly South and wee Willie will probably end up sitting in a big pile of pigshit.

28. Arbroath1320

So the Three Stooges think Scotland doing deals, or not as the case may be, with the likes of China is not good news for Scotland do they? 😉

Well I guess they are all doing cartwheels over the arms deals their beloved Westminster government is doing with that Whiter than white government of Saudi Arabia then!

29. Robert Peffers

@Robert Kerr says: 12 February, 2017 at 7:19 pm:

” … What I cannot understand is that they are incompetent human beings born and raised here.
    Is Scotland so useless?”

Well No. Robert. Like every NORMAL, (i.e. Independent), country, Scotland is rather like the Curate’s Egg – “Good in parts.”

Actually the point about the Curate’s Egg was that it actually was ALL bad but the Curate was attempting to play down the bad bits, (all of it).

Thing is that in NORMAL countries their leaders AND their opposition parties boost their countries parts that are good and try to play down, and sort out, the bits that are less good or even bad.

Only in Scotland do the opposition parties talk down the things that are good and try to extol and implement those that are bad.

30. Socrates MacSporran

Never forget Wingers – the Unionist parties’ MSPs at Holyrood were tested and found to be insufficiently intelligent to be considered for promotion to Low-Flying Jimmy or Jessie status.

But, they were found to be more-intelligent than such giants of civic Scotland as Gordon “BJ” Matheson.

It’s a sair fecht being a Yoonionist politician.

31. Socrates MacSporran

Whenever I see Buffalo Gal, Dippity Dug or Oor Wullie on their feet at FMQs, I am reminded of a line from George MacDonald Fraser’s ‘The General Danced at Dawn’.

Cannot quote it accurately, verbatim, but, it is something like: “The Jocks would follow their ‘Rupert’ (public school-educated Anglo-Scot officer) anywhere; usually out of a sense of morbid curiousity.”

Kinda sums-up Tweedledumb, Tweedledumber and Tweedledumbest and their Holyrood followers.

32. Socrates MacSporran

Sorry for posting so quickly and so often, but, I want to get everything off my chest before Rock clocks-on for the night shift and the thread descends into Rangers (even worse than chaos).

33. Bob MACK

George Orwell said “Political language is designed to make a lie sound truthful. Murder respectable, and give some solidity to pure wind”

34. Effijy

Well the Advert did say take Rennie’s for Irritable Stomach Acid.

Every time this wee 2 faced creep speaks I get that Irritable Stomach Acid.

Fib Dems, the Party of Lying to the people IS Politics!

Colleague Carmichael who’s lies against the First Minister
    cost Scottish Tax Payers £1 Million for a needless enquiry.

Cyril Smith, former Lb Dem party colleague, and paedophile extraordinaire.

Lib Lord Gropper Rennard- let off for crimes against female party colleagues, as he has money.

Former Leader of the Liberal Party, Jeremy Thorpe, in the dock at the Old Bailey, charged with conspiracy to murder his homosexual lover after years of alleged cover-ups over his behaviour.

The Liberal Democrats may be forced to pay back a record donation of £2.4m after a jury decided the party’s biggest donor was a con man.
    Michael Brown, a flamboyant 42-year-old who has been missing since June, was convicted of stealing millions from a former football executive and is now one of Britain’s most wanted men.
    Although now a convicted con man, the Lib Dems refuse to return the Stolen money donation to the victims!

Yes Wee Willie, I’ve had a right good think about comparing you and your corrupt party against the SNP,
    and I wouldn’t touch your lot with a barge pole.

35. dakk

I think Brian Connelly got it right about this reprobate

‘Little Willy, Willy drives them wild with his run-around style
    Inside, outside
    Willy sends them silly with his star-shine shimmy shuffle smile
    Mama done chase Willy down through the hall’

Altogether now …

36. Macart

Waits for Ruth, Kezia and Wull to chin PM May over deals with China and approaches to Trumpton and Turkey…

… Might be waiting a while.

37. Robert J. Sutherland

Macart @ 18:53,

The point is to have a peg, however shoogly, for the yoonionist papers to hang another SNP-baaaad story upon. Always appears better if they’re quoting somebody else than merely incestuously repeating themselves.

Which then gets picked up and pushed by the broadcasters as “news”.

Like his obsequious toadying to Scotland in Union, Wee Willie Rentaquote is just a sadly-misguided but all-too-willing means to an end. And a very weak one at that.

38. Jockanese Wind Talker

I can’t find a link but I remember that The Fib Dems took a 6 figure ‘donation’ from a Chinese Company to fund one of their recent Conferences.

Didn’t hear Wullie speak out against that did we?

39. galamcennalath

The Greens, as fourth party, must be well hacked off that the LibDems still get more media coverage than they do.

40. Giving Goose

Willie Rennie and all Lib Dems are Anti-Scottish.

It is as simple, obvious and as easily understood as that!

They join their colleagues in Labour and Tory parties as Anti-Scottish.

The Anti-Scottish Liberal Democrats. Slips of the tongue and makes sense, doesn’t it?

41. Lenny Hartley

Effigy you forgot the £800k they (the lib dems ) owe Police Scotland for providing security for a conference.

42. Orri

Wonder if within the decade they’ll be deriding the SNP for trying to maintain trade links with an rUK headed into the depths of authoritarianism where human rights have been abolished and care for the vulnerable or even simply the unemployed is frowned on as unpatriotic wasting of resources on useless feeders.

Not sure how long it’s been the case but I remember a while back seeing the BBC logo with lightening bolts and assuming it was part of an alternative reality where the the Nazis won WWII till I realised that at some point they’d adopted as their corporate colours those of the Third Reich

43. Graeme

Lenny Hartley says:
    12 February, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Effigy you forgot the £800k they (the lib dems ) owe Police Scotland for providing security for a conference.

That seems a helluva amount for 1 police officer standing outside a phonebox

Graeme

44. ian m

If the SNP are so Bad
    How come the electorate keep voting for them?
    It must be a puzzler for the media!

How many media jobs will be lost when Scotland is free?

45. Arabs for Independence

How can any unionist party raise the issue of human rights when the UK embarked upon an illegal war killing tens of thousands and displacing millions.

Was Chilcott just a dream? – we waited years for the report and it was forgotten/buried within a few days.

46. heedtracker

Scots must be the most lied to people in the world right now.

47. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

We all know that Wullie’s real daytime job is working along side Kezia Ruthie and BBC Scotland putting in Freedom Of Information
    requests to bring down the Scottish Government.

48. Reluctant Nationalist

Rev: “Here’s Willie Rennie in the Times this week, castigating the Scottish Government for not having done a successful £10bn deal with China.”

Er…I suppose that’s one way of looking at it, but not what jumped out at me. Are you testing us for observation skills or something? Is this a test? It’s a test isn’t it?!

49. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

Connor McEwen 18.14pm

That is one helluva video about what Scotland has got to offer after Independence.

It’s a must view.

It should be shared far and wide.

https://www.facebook.com/100004809998397/videos/492296414274021/

50. Reluctant Nationalist

Wullie IS a complete erse, though. That I do not dispute.

51. robertknight

People of Strathmiglo, we’ve found your missing idiot!

Answers to the name of “Willie”

52. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

It is usually on a Monday morning that BBC Scotland like to hit you with a strong SNP Bad story just to set the Yoons up for the rest of the week.

It puts a spring in the step of every red blooded Yoon.

And you will hear it on Scotland’s only source for live political debate in the mornings, the BBC RADIO SCOTLAND!

2017 and we still NEED the radio to get our news updates.

53. dakk

@Arab

12 February, 2017 at 9:20 pm
    How can any unionist party raise the issue of human rights when the UK embarked upon an illegal war killing tens of thousands and displacing millions.

C’mon those are the 2 core British values right there.

Warmongering and Hypocrisy.

The Unionist Parties are doing what they do best.

Overtly promoting their British allegiance whilst they await their rewards in Westminster.

54. Clootie

Willie Rennie’s contribution…..

“Hundreds of wise men cannot make the world a heaven, but one idiot is enough to turn it into a hell.”
    ? Raheel Farooq

55. heedtracker

Herald pile on with big Sunday Times thing today.

http://archive.is/QXuS8

“More than half of Scots back scrapping free care for elderly and university fees”

Herald ed’s by-line pic looks like warm death too. Lying, professional or Willie grade arsery, is not good for the soul.

56. heedtracker

“Hundreds of wise men cannot make the world a heaven, but one idiot is enough to turn it into a hell.”
    ? Raheel Farooq

Aye and Scotland’s plagued by thousand of idiots too.

57. galamcennalath

Some serious straw clutching by Uber Yoons on Twitter, I see.

Scrap Holyrood. Stop EU citizens voting. Have a two thirds requirement to win.

What next? Only card carrying Tory party members allowed to vote?

State of them! You’d think they believe they might lose IndyRef2.

58. Reluctant Nationalist

Wise man once say: man who walk through airport turnstile sideways going to Bangkok.

59. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

The Daily Record has an Interesting Poll out tonight.

Grateful if somebody would archive it for the site.

60. dakk

@ heedtracker

‘Aye and Scotland’s plagued by thousand of idiots too.’

And not just by Scots

Every immigrant I know is a BritNat too

A Fin,Italian,Pole,Injuns,and English alike

Maybe it’s a Jordanhillie thing

Another shift in hell awaits the morn

61. Robert J. Sutherland

For those curious to know more about the Cardiff Uni analysis of the BBC’s use of stats in the recent past (the report indirectly referenced by RoboScot upthread), the original can be found at:

http://downloads.bbc.co.uk/bbctrust/assets/files/pdf/our_work/stats_impartiality/content_analysis.pdf

The most salient part is probably this section (authors’ original italics):

Although we found a wide range of information sources used in statistical references – for example, NGOs (7.3%), academics (6.5%), regulatory bodies (4.4%) and think tanks (3.8%) – it was politicians (20.6%), business leaders and government department/agencies (both 12.3%) that stood out as the most dominant source of statistics. With the exception of the BBC opt-outs, there was a higher number of political figures giving statistical information on the BBC than any other kind of source (BBC TV 20.6%, BBC radio 23.5% and online 21%) compared to commercial television channels (17.8%).

Conservative politicians represented 72.6% of all statistical references made by political sources – compared to Labour’s 18.4%. BBC and commercial television most frequently used Conservative sources (82.7% and 80.0% of all sourced statistical references made by political sources respectively). Indeed, excluding more-independent bodies such as the ONS, the UK-wide government or cabinet ministers represented a 13.5% share of attributed references to statistics across all sources as a whole – higher than any other type of source. Again, excluding opt-outs, commercial television was less reliant on government sources – 9.1% – than UK national BBC news coverage (BBC TV 15.3%, BBC Radio 13.8% and BBC Online 15.9%).

It is not surprising that Cabinet ministers and government departments are a routine source of statistical information, since they are regularly briefed by relevant civil servants and have a ready supply of data. But since many statistical references are relatively vague or unclear, the degree of government or Conservative sources – in BBC coverage particularly – does raise questions about how often their statistical claims were challenged or contested by alternative perspectives. The extent to which the Labour Party or the Conservative/Liberal Democrat coalition was equally as prominent as a statistical source when they were in power is a matter for further empirical investigation. The point raised here is about the degree of scrutiny the government of the day (whether Conservative, Labour or a coalition) is subjected to when its representatives are allowed to make statistical claims in news coverage. It is also worth noting that independent sources that produce a high volume of statistical information – notably think tanks, universities or other research bodies – were, between them, used less often than political sources.

We found a difference between BBC and non-BBC outlets that may have implications for impartiality in its broadest sense. For example, BBC outlets were generally more likely than other broadcast outlets to use business as a source of statistics. Arguably this limited the opportunity for other perspectives – from think tanks to NGOs – to routinely interpret social, political and economic issues.

Now this was a UK-based analysis of limited relevance here, where BBC Scotland’s disinclination to accept the Scottish Government’s take on anything is notoriously aberrant compared to the main office attitude to UKGov as described above, the analysis is nevertheless still quite revealing, I would suggest…

62. dakk

‘Wise man once say: man who walk through airport turnstile sideways going to Bangkok’

Unless you’re wee Willie Rennie of course

63. Lenny Hartley

Record poll
    http://archive.is/kMTgv

64. Lenny Hartley

Graeme , it was a UK party conference so it was a motorcycle and sidecar they had to guard.

65. BBC Scotland Tells Lies

Lenny 10.48pm

Good man. Ta for archiving Record Poll.

66. heedtracker

Every immigrant I know is a BritNat too

A Fin,Italian,Pole,Injuns,and English alike

Maybe it’s a Jordanhillie thing

Another shift in hell awaits the morn

Are a cowboy, in the old wild West? I’m sure they just love working with you too.

67. Artyhetty

Let’s not forget that these people take a generous wage from the public purse to talk their pish and have it printed out in the daily lying rags.

Definitely noticed and it’s quite obvious, that the unionists, both north and south of the border, are adept and obviously well versed in how to make it appear that the Scottish parliament is a pretendy parish council. I know it has been pointed out already that the so called opposition’s aim is to attempt to undermine the integrity of the SNP led, Scottish government.
    This will no doubt be vamped up big time once another independence referendum is announced.

It’s quite obvious that the UKOK state are hoping very much that folks will be a wee bit confused, while relying on that old adage about politics, “aye well, they are all the bloody same anyway”. So why bother taking any notice and why bother voting, eh?

68. stewartb

“More than half of Scots back scrapping free care for elderly and university fees”

So? In this not-a-one-party state, all these folk are at liberty to vote for the party at the next Holyrood election that commits unequivocally in their manifesto to abolish these benefits. Bring it on! Only question is, will it be the Tories, Slab or both that promise abolition.

(Seriously, the issue of a sustainable policy for care for an ageing population really should be taken out of partisan politics – getting it right for all is a common good. Not sure this is a concept present-day Tories get!)

The opportunity to make these kinds of important policy choices for the Scottish electorate will only be enhanced – and greatly so – when an independent Scotland has all the economic and social policy levers of a ‘normal country’ rather than being limited to those of a dependent ‘region’ with a now constant and pervasive democratic deficit.

But I forget, we’re ‘too stupid’ to be allowed to make any more extensive choices for ourselves – or else we have to sacrifice our own power to make wider, progressive policy choices for an unspecified length of time until folks in England next decide to: (a) vote in a Labour government; and (b) that next Labour government decides to pursue policies aligned to the choices of the Scottish electorate.

(And then, when at later UK elections, Scotland and England diverge again, we’re back to where we are now in this Union. And so it goes on.)

69. Reluctant Nationalist

dakk: ”Unless you’re wee Willie Rennie of course.”

He still going to Bangkok. But more comfortable jouney.

70. heedtracker

Are you a cowboy Dakk, in the old wild West? I mean:D

71. Robert J. Sutherland

Artyhetty @ 23:05,

Yes, “stirring up apathy” is surely on the cards.

But any attempt to disparage Holyrood or other Scottish institutions would be a serious strategic error, I believe. It will backfire. People are already getting annoyed by the “frenemy” approach.

Being shown again and again (SC, Sewell, Brexit, etc.) that our voice is, and will remain, studiously ignored by London is not negative. Far from it. It provides a much-needed wakeup call.

A UKGov “jist do as you’re telt” followed by a likely popular/tabloid anti-Scottish backlash during the upcoming Brexit negotiations will be the last straw to break the Union.

72. ben madigan

as movement towards Indtref2 proceeds it might be well to think about techniques that are used to influence voters – particularly with the data that has by now been collected from the google poll.

Here’s an interview from Aldous Huxley (Brave New World) dated 1958 showing how the then tomorrow’s world would develop

There’s also a link to an essay about todays Brave New World,speculating how experts, computer algorithms, datasets and money helped sway the vote towards Brexit in the UK and towards Mr Trump in the US Presidential race to power

Never say I didn’t warn you!!!

https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/aldous-huxley-todays-brave-new-world/

73. HandandShrimp

I can’t take Rennie seriously. The third Chuckle Brother that took a wrong turning at the studio.

74. heedtracker

stewartb says:
    12 February, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Its just another day of our tory master baiter’s press and tory BBC, desperately trying to shape and frame how we think and force us to vote how they say, they being ancient old turds like Rupert Murdoch.

Best example since the last Scot GE and the ref ofcourse was their Leave Scotland campaign, that was creepy as feck. We’re all immigrant haters up here, us jocks, said the Pacific Quay reprobates in particular,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-31800374

Claim that Scots are more tolerant of immigration is a ‘myth’, says …

telegraph › News › UK News › Immigration
    10 Mar 2015 – Poll finds that almost two thirds of Scots think immigration should be cut.

http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/2015/03/10/scots-tolerance-of-immigr_n_6838296.html

All of which was vomited over Scots for months prior to the EU ref. Without this kind of debate framing, Remain Scotland could have been even higher too. Its a dirty game, played by real sleazebags, keeping Scotland down.

75. dakk

‘Are you a cowboy Dakk, in the old wild West? I mean:D’

Yup,a wild west hero,ridin the range all day

Away from all this mad Britnattery

76. dakk

Or, at least

I Wish I Was A Wild West Hero…

77. heedtracker

Its amazing to think that such a staggering clown like Willie has spent his whole professional life in politics, FibDem too. He probably hasn’t won a VC though.

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

For the recipient of the Victoria Cross, see William Rennie.
    Willie Rennie
    MSP

William Cowan “Willie” Rennie (born 27 September 1967) is a Scottish politician and current Leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats after he succeeded the post in May 2011.

After college, Rennie spent most of his early career as a Liberal Democrat election campaigner and official before working as a public relations consultant in the private sector. He became the Member of Parliament (MP) for Dunfermline and West Fife after a by-election win in February 2006.

78. Almannysbunnet

Why are the SNP bad in Willie, Kezia and Ruth’s world? Because they’re good and that’s the truth of it. A truth they can’t abide.

79. clan rossy

rennie, dugdale , davidson

absolute fukcin scumbags no morals no souls
    or principles.
    they are like three demented fukcin souls
    in a haunted house .

they try to scare the shit out of anyone
    with there lies,lies and more fukcin lies
    they see but refuse to see
    they hear but refuse to hear.

my god they are blind deaf and dumb to anything
    that is good for scotland,jesus christ even a
    fukcin cabbage is more open to indy than they are

no disrepect to the cabbage

they will say anything fukcin anything
    to put scotland and the snp down they are nothing
    but fukcin scumbags

honestly i know i dont post much but i do read a lot of posts on here especially the senior posters .
    which mainly keep me sane but i am really getting pissed off with all these lies .

away to my bed now pissed off

80. Still Positive

Almannysbunnet @ 1.59

Got it in one!

They could NEVER stand up for Scotland the way the SNP does because they take their stance from their London HQs who don’t give a damn about Scotland.

81. carjamtic

And with god’s help Scotland press can conquer this terrible WR addiction.

82. ScottishPsyche

The SNP made secret deals with bad people.
    The SNP messed up deals with people that could have brought £10 M of investment because they are incompetent.
    The people were con artists – there were no deals.
    The SNP should apologise.

The world economy crashed in 2008.
    It is the SNP that have ruined the economy.
    They spend more than they should out of the money the UK gives them back out of their own money.
    The SNP delude Scots into thinking they are better than everyone else.
    Scots are just as horrible as the English.
    Scots are useless.
    Why would the EU even want them over Turkey?

Stick to the day job.
    Who do the SNP think they are speaking to people outside Scotland?
    Get rid of Holyrood – It’s a glorified town hall.
    Nicola Sturgeon is a jumped up local Councillor.

Sometimes I feel my head will explode with the utter negativity of it all. How can people live like that? Don’t they realise they are talking about their own country and what it says about them as people?

83. Still Positive

Too true, carjamtic @ 12.43.

84. Artyhetty

Clan Rossy@12.39

Despair not CR, it is a difficult road, to say the least. However, the liars, and the self-seeking gits that do down Scotland will be shown up for the wasters that they are. Now that brexshit is on the horizon, whatever happens, Scotland as a country is on the mindmap. Scotland is a forward thinking, positive, life affirming country.

The unionists are on a self destruct trajectory, more fool them.

85. Chick McGregor

Willie Won’t He?

Who GAF?

86. Chick McGregor

Not for the first time:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NM6I-pmV0RA

87. Chick McGregor

Sorry Re. never clocked the title of the thread.

88. Colin

Rennie, Dugdale, Davidson.
    Three demented souls in a haunted house.
    Best analogy ever haha. Wings readers, you make me laugh. Comments are top notch as always.

89. yesindyref2

Headline in the Herald:

Anger as iconic Scots food brands are placed ‘at risk’ by EU-Canada free trade deal

But the important part of the story:

The final agreement between the European Union and Canada just backed by the UK government fails to protect any British produce – because it is understood UK ministers have failed to add any to the free trade deal.

And who was responsible for that? Is it the dreaded EU?

The UK gave its sanction to the CETA agreement through Parliament’s European B Committee last Monday, despite appeals for months to International Trade Secretary Liam Fox for a debate in the floor of the House of Commons.

But who cares, it’s only some “herrings you see in the streets of Arbroath”, or “in fishmongers alongside the smoked haddocks that take towns name”? From a previous Herald business section article 12 Dec 2016:

(Food and Drink): “” Employing 360,000 people, it is – as a manufacturing / producer cluster – Scotland’s fastest growing export segment. The industry is set to meet its annual revenue target of £16.5bn by next year.

Whisky and seafood lead the way, followed by our beef and lamb, craft beers and dairy producers. International consumers, particularly quality seekers, are pleasingly receptive. The US and France are the top two destinations.

Oh. Just part of £16.5bn, and 360,000 jobs.

But we’re Better Together, out of the EU.

90. K1

Fuck ‘im, he’s a wee willied wanker.

91. Mike Johnson

Go Scotland!

92. MJT

Who doesnae love a wee bit ay Propaganda?

The conscious and intelligent manipulation of the organized habits and opinions of the masses is an important element in democratic society. Those who manipulate this unseen mechanism of society constitute an invisible government which is the true ruling power of our country.

We are governed, our minds moulded, our tastes formed, our ideas suggested, largely by men we have never heard of. This is a logical result of the way in which our democratic society is organized. Vast numbers of human beings must cooperate in this manner if they are to live together as a smoothly functioning society.

Our invisible governors are, in many cases, unaware of the identity of their fellow members in the inner cabinet.

They govern us by their qualities of natural leadership, their ability to supply needed ideas and by their key position in the social structure. Whatever attitude one chooses toward this condition, it remains a fact that in almost every act of our daily lives, whether in the sphere of politics or business, in our social conduct or our ethical thinking, we are dominated by the relatively small number of persons-a trifling fraction of our hundred and twenty million-who understand the mental processes and social patterns of the masses. It is they who pull the wires which control the public mind, who harness old social forces and contrive new ways to bind and guide the world.

Eddie Bernays, come on doon.

93. Luigi

What we are witnessing now around the globe is the neoliberal endgame. Unregulated capitalism leads to global depression. With military corporate muscle backing the corrupt greed, bankers and politicians and the “liberal” emancipation of the left. It is a downward cycle. There can only be one, final awful, outome:

Fascism

It’s inevitable

94. bjsalba

As is my wont, I am listening to Radio 4 (monitoring for the latest propaganda). Hearing over and over again that today’s pensioners are better off than the average working household. Funny thing is that in most instances the qualification was missed off. Only once in about six repetitions did they say that it was “after housing costs were taken into account”!

Didn’t I hear lately that many young people are paying almost half their income in rent?

95. Breeks

So much exposure, so few votes.

96. Nana

http://indyref2.scot/asked-and-answered

Ever wondered why Scotland’s revenue was stopped getting printed after 1921
    https://twitter.com/rst2675/status/830762375200534528

For new readers
    John Jappy: Scotland’s Oil
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tUduiJL1f6s&app=desktop

Brexit could cost Scots £6bn as Theresa May admits she can’t match the funds from the EU
    http://archive.is/ZFIk7

97. Nana

UK ‘must train 1.6 million care workers to plug gaps in workforce post-Brexit’
    http://archive.is/c0dtb

http://www.rawstory.com/2017/02/he-doesnt-like-this-sht-trump-reportedly-hates-his-job-and-his-staff-after-less-than-a-month/

The Guardian view on official secrets: new proposals threaten democracy
    http://archive.is/2kRJe

98. Macart

galamcennalath pretty much sums it up neatly above, last night was the capper right enough.

There are truly mental unionists actually discussing the binning of democracy and democratic rights out there. Abolishing Holyrood, raising the bar on constitutional change by enforcing a 60% threshold on any ballot and of course as we’ve seen from a certain boneheaded online petition, removing EU residents right to vote.

THAT is fear. No question.

Those are apparently the voices of people not confident of their argument and you have to wonder why that would be? The triumphalism they displayed at your pain two years ago seemingly somewhat subdued today and again, why would that be?

Surely they must consider the VOW they sold the Scottish electorate delivered? Surely they must be delighted with the broad shouldered pooling and sharing enjoyed by the Scottish electorate over the past two and a bit years? You’d think they’d be over the moon that they got the government and PMs of their dreams entrenched in Westminster and it looks as if they’ll be there for a good while with that majority they carry in England. Oh and let’s not forget how they won ‘their’ sovereignty back from those interfering furriners and saw them off. Y’know, the sovereignty they never really lost, that one.

Their media and narrative on all things Scottish dominates both the printed sheet and airwaves. Scottish representation is daily punished and humiliated as per standing orders. Keeps them in their place donchaknow?

So why the fear? Unless…

Unless they feel they’ve built a house of cards on a foundation of sand. Unless they feel in their heart of hearts that they have mistreated the electorate of Scotland, that they may have been a smidge dishonest? A tad too previous in believing their own hype? Unless they are worried their is a high tide coming in and some pretty stormy winds.

Could it be that after two years and what, five months of better togetherness? People aren’t exactly delighted with the UK, its politics or the disturbing turn taken by its wider society?

All you can say for certain, is that the confidence and sheer arrogance they displayed when they had a near 25-27 point lead in 2011. The naked vindictive triumphalism they displayed on September 19th, 2014 and near every day since, has been replaced with something else entirely.

Mibbies they really should have kept a promise or two and maybe, just maybe, instead of attempting to alienate and punish those who supported Scottish self determination, they should have attempted to build a few bridges.

In my experience folk don’t like to be taken advantage of, sold a false bill of goods as it were. People also don’t tend to respond well to alienation and intimidation.

So. Guilty conscience or simply afraid the other the shoe is going to drop on them from a great height?

Probably both.

99. Smallaxe

Nana: Good Morning,

Lots of lovely links, Thank You.Kettle’s on

Peace Always

100. ScottieDog

@bjsalba
    “Didn’t I hear lately that many young people are paying almost half their income in rent?”

Yes most likely. This is mainly due to the government effectively privatising the money supply since the 1980s by allowing banks to create most of it..

Here’s a good summary of why house prices are so high..
    http://positivemoney.org/issues/house-prices/

101. DerekM

Are you trying to tell me that Willie actually did a thing to deserve his own wings story,the wee man will be over the moon,you do know he will be unbearable now with the ego boost.

He will be peeping the bus horn like there is no tomorrow,where is a wee dug when you need one?

102. Ken500

Hinkley Point, HS2, Heathrow, Trident. All disasters waiting to happen. All will be obsolete and redundant before they are finished. A total waste of money. £500Billion. Scotland will have to pay £50Billion for nothing. Not have £50Billion to invest in Scottish economy. A £100Billion deficit because of Westminster economic policies. The Tories are one of the only associations in the world to ban renewables and support nuclear.

Scotland has lost £Billions and thousands of jobs because of Westminster economic policies. Taxing the Oil sector at 60% to 80% when the price had fallen 75%. Over the last 6 years. £24Billion+. Scotland could have near full employment.

The Tories are now increasing the deficit and the debt. They do not raise enough tax in the rest of the UK to pay for essential services. NHS/Education etc. Prices are already going up. Inflation is returning. The cost of living is going up and standards of living are falling. Article 50 will destroy the world economy. The Tories are a disgrace.

103. Capella

Oh the irony. NATO discovers Kremlin-funded Sputnik news, based in Edinburgh, is spouting propaganda. So says Westminster-funded BBC anyway.

Nato says viral news outlet is part of “Kremlin misinformation machine” – http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/blogs-trending-38936812

104. Jack Collatin

I wonder if Tom Gordon over at Herald Newsquest ever tires of being Davidson’s and Dugdale’s bitch.
    Today features two pointless ‘will say’ bits of Blue and Red Tory cut and paste Press Releases.
    Davidson and Dugdale have high tailed it out of Scotland, Davidson to speak at The LSE, Dugdale at London University.
    Davidson ‘will say’ that the horrible wee shit of a woman The Sturge should concentrate on closing the education attainment gap, instead of calling another Referendum which will surely lead to Civil War, like in Ulster, because the SNP are now picking candidates who support something called ‘the Provos’.I’m sure Professor two Jobs WATP Adam Tomkins and Murdo The Queen’s Eleven Fraser, and the Political Wing of the Green Brigade James I Will Not Sit Down Kelly, or as I like to call them, the rejected utterly failed political nobodies, will be up in arms at such blatant sectarianism.
    Anyhoo, Ruth doesn’t think that plunging our poorest children into deeper poverty because her party rewards their rich benefactors, and illegally buys more Nuclear Death Toys, will have anything to do with the widening education attainment gap.
    Malnourished, starving, having stomach cramp and rickets should ‘incentivise’ our poorest (sorry, ‘less well off’ according to Toodle-Oo-The-Noo Brian Taylor) into studying their way out of poverty and the slow death at the cold dead hands of the Blue Red and Yellow Tories.
    This woman is evil.
    In another piece of Central Office propaganda, Bitch Gordon ‘will says’ on Dugdale’s ‘speech’ at London University tonight.
    Her final, no absolutely final, Federalism model will be set out..in London, away from the raucous laughter of derision her tired old Fed Speak would have Up Here in Jockland.
    Tom Gordon, what a fucking way to earn a living.
    Ad Sales Exec on the Findo Gask Thunderer awaits, Tom.

105. Undeadshuan

The government lurches ever right wards

http://archive.is/ZwdDK

Once UK leaves EU and European court of justice.

Pity help us if we arent independent.

106. Brian Powell

Nana

“Brexit could cost Scots £6bn as Theresa May admits she can’t match the funds from the EU”.

It’s what the Daily Record campaigned for, but never mind, the Vow has been delivered again, apparently.

107. JLT

If I were Willie, I would be worrying about trying to hold on to the last remnants of Lib-Dem fiefdom in certain parts of Northern Scotland. As the UK lurches ever more to the right, wee Willie should be wondering what that means for the Scottish people …not looking to score points with Holyrood over issues that no one is remotely interested in.

108. galamcennalath

…. asylum-seekers keep pouring into Manitoba from U.S.

http://www.cbc.ca/beta/news/canada/manitoba/welcome-place-call-for-help-1.3979227

109. Robert Graham

Aye calls for this, calls for that, FOI requests to give the arses a bit of gravitas , when all the information they require is freely available and not being somehow hidden from these parties, who are held in such esteem by the electorate that they vote for them in great numbers , i believe the general public recognise arseholes when they see them and thats why they dont vote for them in any numbers , well not enough to actually let them near the till.

110. galamcennalath

@Nana

https://petewishart.wordpress.com/2017/02/11/the-day-our-independence-was-won/

Brilliant!

But what does Pete Wishart know about 6th September 2018?

111. Peter McCulloch

I doubt if Wullie Rennie even remembers what he has said from one week to the next, but then we are talking about a LibDem here.

Has he has had anything to say recently about that country with the impeccable human right record, Saudi Arabia,
    which the UK sells arms to, that has been reported to have Bombed hospitals and food warehouses in Yemen

112. Ken500

David Davis criticised Diane Abbot’s outlook. Cheek.

Mirror. Mirror.

113. Capella

Talking of Sputnik – George Galloway’s RT programme, Sputnik, reports that the Henry Jackson Society has been paid to plant anti-China stories in the UK Press. Is Willie Rennie helping?

https://www.rt.com/shows/sputnik/377095-far-right-rise-consequence/

114. Stewart Glendinning

O/T Scotland In Union are polling. After ignoring their unsolicited e-mail to our business account last week they are now chasing it up with reminders no less. If you answer on the lead question in the e-mail “Do you feel that the threat of another Independence Referendum is harming the economy?” it takes you to a further 8 questions and the obligatory begging request for donations. Poll seems to be via Surveymonkey.com.

115. asklair

“Will you be in on 20th February?”
    Who got their monthly letter from Gordon Smith, Enforcement Manager, Dundee.
    “Our Enforcement Officers visit an address every 5 seconds.Day. Evening. Even weekends.”
    “We visit 10,101 addresses a day”

116. galamcennalath

A wee aside …. great Scottish women …

http://www.nationalwallacemonument.com/scotlands-heroines/cast-your-vote/

117. Ray Melville

I understand Wee Willie used to be a Head teacher. Such a waste of his talent in his present occupation!

118. Proud Cybernat

Herald Articles Archived:

Anger as iconic Scots food brands are placed ‘at risk’ by EU-Canada free trade deal

http://imgur.com/a/QhPjV

David Torrance: Unionists may allow another referendum – but not on the terms SNP wants

http://imgur.com/a/G2dal

119. Dr Jim

If thine right eye offends thee pluck it out

That could be the motto of Scotland in Union except they want to pluck everybody else’s eyes out

These folk are raving Nazis of the highest order

First: No referendum on Indy
    Second: If there is then no 16 17 year olds to get the vote
    Third: No EU citizens get the vote
    Fourth: Shut down Holyrood

Who can take a guess at what comes next with these total Nutters
    I’m putting tape on my windows!

120. Valerie

The Pete Wishart blog post is very plausible, also confirms that, although his blogs are a wee bit cheeky, the SNP are always looking ahead.

Alyn Smith tweeted a quote, attaching link to a FT article. The article says Spain is challenging UK over access to the isthmus that Gibraltar airport sits on. Spain insist the site is the subject of a 300 year old dispute, as it was not included in the Treaty. Spain says the EU must not take sides in this and legitimise any UK claim.

It’s gonna go like a fair, now the vote has passed.

Alyn Smith – “If you are not at the table, you are on the menu”

121. Ruby

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/government/event/a-public-lecture-with-ruth-davidson/

Ruth Davidson is in London campaigning for the Union.

Could be worth watching! I think you can watch it live and usually the LSE make a video available after the event.

122. liz

WM doesn’t give a toss about anything except the City.
    Torrance is a cringing waste of space.

So yet more fake news to discredit.
    When we eventually escape from this corrupt Union we’ll not know what to do with ourselves.

123. Capella

@ Ruby – the blurb for Ruth Davidson’s LSE speech says:
    In May 2016 she was re-elected as the constituency MSP for Edinburgh Central and now leads the official Opposition party at Holyrood.

I recall that Ruth Davidson was a list candidate in Glasgow before 2016 and only just squeezed in as a constituency member in Edinburgh by about 600 votes because the Green candidate picked up c 4,500 in the ballot, thus costing the SNP front runner the seat.

The LSE seem to have got the wrong information.
    http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/government/event/a-public-lecture-with-ruth-davidson/

124. galamcennalath

liz says:

When we eventually escape from this corrupt Union we’ll not know what to do with ourselves.

…. there are many years of entertainment still to be had! 😉

125. Luigi

WoS, Wee Ginger Dug, Newsnet Scotland and a few other bloggers are doing a really fantastic job debunking all the MSM scare stories and fake news items spewed out to the nation on a daily basis. The yoon MSM may seem relentless but be under no illusion – they are cracking! They are panicking again and making big mistakes. At 45%+ YES already, they cannot afford any slip-ups this time. It’s only a matter of time before the dam bursts. 🙂

All I say to everyone involved in this long, tiring process – whatever you do, don’t give up. Keep going. Rev, keep doing what you do. In 2014 I always though there would be another chapter in the struggle (even before the referendum result). This time, however, we are approaching the end game. I don’t know exactly how it will come about – maybe not even by referendum, but make no mistake, the prize is almost in our grasp. The final hurdle is always the most difficult but we will clear it. 🙂

Keep going friends. Keep at them. No mercy. 🙂

126. Iain More

OT

Aren’t the Uber Fascistic Yoons a bit late with their Indy Ref 2 submission to the SG – DOH!

127. Phil Robertson

“castigating the Scottish Government for not having successfully done a £10bn deal with China:”

And where exactly did he do that? The criticism was about the nature of the negotiation and its being hidden from the Scottish electorate. You’re false-newsing – again.

The problem was always about the nature of the prospective partners, one with a dubious human rights record and another a wise boy whose only business venture appears to be borrowing money from RBS to buy a pub in England.

In earlier discussion of this matter, several WoS apologists assured us that the deal was NOT cancelled. I wonder if they still think that is the case.

128. Undeadshaun

Notice bbc news Saying pensioners better off than those in work.

Looks like triple lock going, bus passes going, they should continue paying NI, Even mean testing the state pension.

This message should be given to all older no voters, vote no next time and your next target for the tories!

Vote yes to save your pension.

129. Ruby

Capella

Did you miss the bit at the beginning?

Speaker: Ruth Davidson (@RuthDavidsonMSP), Ruth entered the Scottish Parliament on the Glasgow regional list in 2011. Following the resignation of Annabel Goldie, Ruth was elected leader of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party in November of that year.

130. ronnie anderson

Is this ah do wah diddy diddy dumb diddy do Wullie down day. Am tellin yous nae good wull cam o it, he’ll only grow in stature and bounce higher oan that Playgrun Bouncy Castle, think o the ither wains in the playgrun Ruthie n Kezia they’ll no git ah lookin lol.

As if

131. Robert Peffers

@asklair says: 13 February, 2017 at 10:32 am:

““Our Enforcement Officers visit an address every 5 seconds.Day. Evening. Even weekends.”
    “We visit 10,101 addresses a day”

These, “Officers”, What, force do they belong to?
    Not the police force; not the Air force not even the ATC cadet force. This term is being used to illegally imply these people, who merely operate from an office, have some form of legal authority. They have no such authority. Their implication that they do makes them liable to be accused of the criminal offence in Scotland of coercion, (That’s Blackmail under English law).

They have no more legal right to enter private property than any other cold caller. i.e. to go directly to the main entrance in order to contact, “The occupier”. If they deviate from that, or as much as look in a window, they are breaking the law of Scotland. If they attempt to browbeat the occupier that is coercion as they are posing as, “officers of the law”.

They have the right, as does anyone else, to apply to have the premises searched as they suspect there is criminal activity on the premises.

As they do not know who, “The Occupier”, is unless, “The Occupier”, tells them, then their chances of getting a search warrant and either a bailiff, or police officer, to accompany then is zilch.

Your first step on being faced by these people is to assert your rights as, “The occupier”, to inform them that YOU not they are in charge and you will conduct the exchanges between you. You do not have to tell them anything.

So begin by requesting, (politely), they name the particular, “Occupier”, they wish to contact. If they cannot name who they wish to contact their visit is over.

Chase them and threaten to call the police as they are now invading your privacy. If they do name an, “Occupier”, tell them, “The named person does not wish to speak with you”, and then chase them.

Another good approach is to ask which of them is in charge as they usually come mob-handed. Then tell them only the person in charge can remain as it only takes one to comply with their right to be on private property close enough to invade privacy.

As to their claims of calling upon that large number of addresses each day – there must be a vast number of non-payers for I’ve been waiting on their threatened call at my address for at least 5 years and I’m not that far from the Office they claim makes them, “Officers”.

Mind you the past couple of weeks has seen the threatening letters increase in both threat and frequency – so perhaps I might at last get a chance to insert a very large flech in some rather arrogant illegal lugs.

132. Reluctant Nationalist

@ Phil Robertson

I like to see it as Rev temporarily adopting the methods of some of the MSM, in order to show the unionists what it’s like to be on the receiving end of unprincipled reporting. I think Rev is more than smart enough to know that what he is inferring from the Times piece cannot in fact be gleaned from the piece.

133. Reluctant Nationalist

Sorry, I meant to write::

I think Rev is more than smart enough to know that *alert readers can see that* what he is inferring from the Times piece cannot in fact be gleaned from the piece.

Aye. Or maybe you think I’m a blinkered soul. *shrugs*

134. Capella

@ Ruby – no I saw that bit but it is misleading to suggest she was re-elected to a constituency seat, Edinburgh Central. I guess LSE was given a crib sheet from the Ruth Davidson No Surrender and Stranger to Truth Party.

135. Phil Robertson

Reluctant Nationalist says:
    13 February, 2017 at 1:11 pm
    “what he is inferring from the Times piece cannot in fact be gleaned from the piece.”

I.e. he’s making it up aka lying. Glad to know that you agree with my original point.

136. Reluctant Nationalist

@ Phil

Yiiiiis, but it’s more layered than merely that. I think. A joke of sorts.

We’ll probably never know for sure. Wooooooooo

137. c rober

I always love you use their own weapons against them.

As Slab , Lib Dems , And Tories decry the signing of the memorandum with Chinese investment into housing in Scotland via flat pack housing – well because it wasnt their baw , their parties south of the border though different outcome. Then said Scottish parties complain that after a MSM drive to discredit said investment into housing it was SNP fault.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2016/12/19/chinese-state-owned-construction-firm-signs-25bn-deal-build/

This is only one of the backtracks , and importantly state subbed social and private rented – as the tories shaft the private landlord they empower the corporate one after decades of protecting the housing market and through RTB and monies never returned to create new social housing.

L and G have also started creating factories for flat pack housing.

The returns on investment – for social as asc , for private rented are 12 percent per annum.

So why the holy fuck are we not doing this via councils , in effect giving them jobs and an investment vehicle with 12 percent returns?

The answer is simply that SLAB , Tory and the LIE Dems are parties pure and simple for one existence – to prevent empowerment and control wealth creation for the few – even if that is against the grain of the head office , in order to blame the SNP and Holyrood.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.