Unionist disowns Union Jack

Posted on January 13, 2012 by

The Guardian today runs an extensive interview with Labour's shadow Defence Secretary and former Scottish Secretary, the estimable Jim Murphy MP, in which Murphy demands that Labour must take the lead in the campaign to save the Union. We're a bit confused, though, because Murphy doesn't seem to be all that big a fan of said Union. Most of his responses were predictable and unremarkable, but this line really jumped out at us:

"I'm proud to [be] Scottish. The only flag I ever wave would be a Scottish flag."

The ONLY one? We're not alone in finding that odd, are we? We can't imagine considering ourselves to be citizens of a country, actively wishing to keep the people of that country united under one flag, and yet being afraid, ashamed or just plain unwilling to wave that flag ourselves. So why does Murphy want to save the Union when he can't bear to wave the Union Flag? If anyone can help us understand, we'd be grateful.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,935 Posts, 1,245,405 Comments

• Young Lochinvar on The End Of Law: “Wilma Flintstone @ 10.21 Nope, not the Army Catering Corps – an unfairly underappreciated field of service – but who…Jun 23, 17:51
    • agentx on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: ““Transgender prisoners are being moved to jails according to their biological sex, after the Scottish government confirmed it would not…Jun 23, 17:35
    • 100%Yes on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Is this the real reason Salmond was chucked out of the party and trumped up charges where brought.Jun 23, 17:33
    • Young Lochinvar on The End Of Law: “I’mnogay McI’mnogayface Go on numpty, keep writing it out, don’t stop short now like the mendacious one that you are..…Jun 23, 17:27
    • 100%Yes on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Its funny Mrs Sturgeon was saying the books are alright don’t look here and the husband was sending out letters…Jun 23, 17:22
    • Ex President Xiden on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Speaking purely hypothetically , if someone attempts to run cover for a crime they may or may not have been…Jun 23, 17:20
    • 100%Yes on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Why oh why isn’t there an out cry from SNP MP’s, shouting from the rooftop about the money they have…Jun 23, 17:18
    • Minceheid on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Ach, that was a year ago now. I like to think that people kept telling her that she looked completely…Jun 23, 17:10
    • Andy Wiltshire on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “I was thinking about that – what exactly happened about fingerprinting the camper van?Jun 23, 17:05
    • Skip_NC on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: ““No further comment” according to Aamer Anwar. Are we going to run a sweep on that? I go for 10:15-10:30am…Jun 23, 17:03
    • diabloandco on Job Half Done: “None so blind as those that canny see!Jun 23, 17:03
    • James on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “A parcel of rogues and then some- Branchform: How the Crown Office saved Sturgeon and the SNP ON X -Poster…Jun 23, 17:01
    • joe on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “wonder how long until divorce papers are served .Jun 23, 16:54
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Meanwhile Scotland remains skewered and Sturgeon immune. This must surely suit the British State. As surely as did the demise…Jun 23, 16:35
    • Mr Boyce N Franks on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “That she refused to comment tells me that commenting would have got here in serious trouble. Otherwise, commenting would either…Jun 23, 16:35
    • Dan on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “A wee reminder that the master’s tools will never dismantle the master’s hoose. Yet the big name internet sensation “Indy”…Jun 23, 16:33
    • Socrates MacSporran on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “I had to laugh when I saw the second boxed-off section of this post, the one about Aamer Anwar and…Jun 23, 16:24
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: ““I swear by Almighty God that I will be faithful, and bear true allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II,…Jun 23, 16:21
    • 100%Yes on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “The judge said “The manner of the embezzlement, although not particularly sophisticated”. Mr Campbell above has stated anyone looking at…Jun 23, 16:18
    • Skip_NC on Job Half Done: “I have mentioned it somewhere before (maybe here, maybe somewhere else) that we had a similar case in North Carolina.…Jun 23, 16:16
    • Dan on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “Aye, welcome to value for money Scottish “Justice”, #RatnersStylée Gold-plated to give something of lesser quality the appearance of being…Jun 23, 16:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: “Walrus mangles Scots. It’s “hae” and “whit”, Wally. Tae avoid makin yersel look even mair pig ignorant, stay in yer…Jun 23, 16:11
    • duncanio on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “It is very, very telling that Aamar Anwar has ceased making any implied threats to anyone who suggests that his…Jun 23, 16:06
    • Hatey McHateface on The End Of Law: “As delicious as the Yanks finding some of our world famous Decapitate TERFS Scots trannies in the Ladies Bogs? Less…Jun 23, 16:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “When he got caught.Jun 23, 15:56
    • agentx on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: ““gold plated” – no wonder Branchform cost £2.7 millionJun 23, 15:48
    • Iain Ross on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “I do begin to wonder whether Swinney knows where the ringfenced money went. If it’s just part of the day…Jun 23, 15:46
    • Karen on Hey Lord Don’t Ask Me Questions: “After his acquital Sturgeon said, “The behaviour complained of was found by a jury not to constitute criminal conduct and…Jun 23, 15:44
    • agentx on Job Half Done: ““Ms Sturgeon finds it disgraceful and beyond outrageous that she is being asked to comment on so-called ‘background’ briefings by…Jun 23, 15:39
    • Young Lochinvar on Job Half Done: “100% It’s probably quite straightforward, keep the high maintenance wife in the manner she feels entitled to, buy all the…Jun 23, 15:38