Together in unity

Posted on March 01, 2016 by

Weirdly, right after seeing this earlier this afternoon, we sat down to watch an episode of The Professionals on ITV4, which contained what seemed a rather apt segment.

We don’t think it’s a younger Iain Martin of the Telegraph (accompanied by colleagues Alan Cochrane and Tom Gallagher), but don’t make us swear to it.

104 to “Together in unity”

1. jimnarlene

I’m not falling for the trap. I suspect an anthem much discussed, previously, will be heard.
    Not in my house, never ever.

2. Albaman

Ah, the poor bugger is suffering from shell-shock,
    Correct me if I’m wrong posters, but is this the only national anthem which is directed solely at a person, rather than a country ?.

3. Thepnr

There are only two types of Brits that nowadays would stand for God Save The Queen.

They are the True Brits, (aristocracy, military, Tory farmer type) and the Proud Buts (Cringers, aristocracy, military, Orange Order, Tory farmer type). There is a clue there.

Just wonder what Matthew Toby Perkins of the Labour Party thinks about his leaders refusal to sing the National anthem?

Probably the same as the majority of his fellow MP’s. Get shot of him. Not that I care.

4. Andy Borland

I remember that curly haired fella from The Liver Birds :
    “It’s me rabbits!”

5. mealer

ITS THE BRITS.LEG IT!!!!

6. heedtracker

JUNE 17TH, 2014 10:47
    Volatile and emotional Scots will decide the referendum. Alistair Darling doesn’t know how to speak to them

That Gallagher chappie’s an nice example of just how rude Rule Britannia types can get. You know he really wants to have his man horse whip a few jockos in to line. Comical Cockers would transport the rest to the colonies. UKOK national anthem’s awful anyway. Its Wales that gives you goose bumps.

7. Macart

Spooky. 😮

I’m sleepin’ with the lights on tonight.

8. Weechid

I’m sad enough to be able to tell you the whole plot of that episode, without watching it, and that the title was Lawson’s Last Stand. The guy from the Lyver Birds is Michael Angelis and Bodie saved the day as usual.

9. Brian Doonthetoon

Strange how the mind works…

That clip reminded me of this classic series from the 80s. Looks like all the episodes are available on YouTube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I-5A9Rz6fqk

10. Cuilean

Andy Borland & Weechid

Were the rabbits ok?

11. Donald Anderson

Sounds like the Labour Party Conference.

12. liz g

The great thing about Wing’s is finding out there are so many like minded people, who as a consequence of their experience have mostly arrived at a similar worldview to mine and want to debate and expand it.
    So……Please tell me I am not the only one,who really thought the word’s to that tune were

God Bless Ma Auntie Jean she lives oan Glesga Green ect.

As I was too young to be up for the TV close down,this was the only version I had ever heard, mixed in with Aly Baly Bee ect and I couldn’t even say how old I was when the penny dropped.
    If no one else can relate.
    I will consider going for the Title…..(Village Idiot)

13. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi liz g.

Jesus loves me, eh ken fine.
    He taught me to smoke Woodbine.
    He drinks whisky, eh drink wine.
    Jesus loves me, eh ken fine.

(Dundononesian version)

14. Brian Doonthetoon

Dundonesian

Huh, iye?

15. liz g

Hi Brian Doonthetoon
    Look’s like we both had eveil Wee bugger’s fur Grannies.

16. Muscleguy

@Brian Doonthetoon

Despite living here since the end of ’98, broad Dundonian is still opaque to me (I’m frae Ayrshire you see). Had I realised it was Dundonesian I might have kenned it. Time was I could reliably tell if someone was speaking Malaysian vs Indonesian despite speaking neither language. I can say hello is several Poluynsian languages though. It was that sort of school. That one was in Auckland, NZ. Long way frae Stewarton.

17. CmonIndy

That was a good meal we just had. Shame it has pebbledashed the living room wall.

18. HandandShrimp

I’m with Macart on this

Lights on tonight

19. MajorBloodnok

Sleeping with the lights on tonight and one foot on the floor, just to be on the safe side.

20. Dave McEwan Hill

liz g at 19.04

When I lived in Burnbank it was

God save our gracious Queen
    Long may she sell ice cream
    Doon Burnbank Cross
    Hauf a croon between four of us
    Thank f*** there’s no more of us

and I can’t remember the last two lines but I’m sure they were in a similar sophisticated vein

21. Thepnr

I’ll be sleeping with the light on, a foot on the floor and one eye open. Just to be on the safe side.

22. MJT

He must have only got one take cos when he sings ‘Send her…’ he’s way off-key. He gets it back but the damage is done. It’s like Somewhere over the Rainbow. There’s a big jump from ‘some’ to ‘where’ it catches folk out.

Ho hum, fairwell to this lands cheerless marshes.

God save the queen ay John. Shit song, shit lyrics, shit sentiment, sung by shits for shits. Makes me want to forgive Coldplay for their crimes to music.

23. Valerie

The curse of old age, I can’t remember the Paisley version of this song.

It had ‘half a loaf’ in it. I obviously just copied everyone else.

24. Liz g

Dave McEwan Hill @ 11.14
    Well youse wir an aspirational lot…
    We only hid …wan poky hat atween four ay us.
    Though we also thanked F**K thir wir nay more ay us,when Ma grannie wisny there.
    We would have thought we were rich wi a haulf a croon.

25. Ian Brotherhood

I’m not sure if this complicates things, or helps put them in a fresh perspective for some…

Prince Philip as ‘God’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gws046zcrVQ

26. liz g

Valerie @ 11.26
    Just makes you wonder how many different versions there actually are.
    But for the record I would like to state…
    I never believed for a second…
    Ma Maw wiz a Millionaire (distinct lack of Eskimos in Glesga)

27. liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 12.03
    Man that’s scary.
    Well now we know where to send the BBC “to inform and educate”

28. Susan Macdiarmid

God Save our Auntie Jean,
    She comes from Aberdeen
    She sells ice cream
    Send her victorious, happy and Glorious
    A pokey hat between the four ey us
    God save Aunt Jean

29. Ian Brotherhood

PS to my last –

This is a better one about Phil The Greek as ‘God’.

It’s a Phd thesis, right here…

Worth watching, if only to see the old dude at 5.00 saying ‘I look at his face and I see him as a relative’. Oh really? Sadly, mister, I don’t think he views you quite the same way…and then, near the end, the faces of the weans, wide-eyed, taking it all in, so trusting, so innocent, so utterly and helplessly duped.

🙁

Same old colonial bullshit, alive and well.

Makes ye wonder what Liz had to say about it all, eh?

Vanuatu: The Return of Prince Philip –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOOoKXpwxRI

30. Ian Brotherhood

Yep.

Here it is, for real.

Doesn’t Phil have a moral duty to inform these people that he is not a deity?

Doesn’t he have a duty to his wife (our own Glorious Monarch) to discourage anyone appearing to worship him above her?

Why has he encouraged these people by sending them signed (framed!) photos and posing with artefacts of their making?

Shouldn’t we have a petition to demand that he cease this charade post-haste?

The people of Yaohnanen village deserve to know the truth, and we deserve to know that they know it!

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_Philip_Movement

31. Jas Sherry

The telling aspect of that clip is how the others in the bar react to this spontaneous outburst of patriotism. Fairly representative I would guess, and the programme is probably well over 20 years old.

The irony in this seeking out of some dusty old hymn that would encapsulate ‘Merry Olde England’ is that England, specifically, has produced some of the greatest rock and pop music over the last 60 or so years. But no, the powers that be go looking for some fossilised piece of shit, infused no doubt with all kinds of triumphalist superiority.

So it goes …

32. Ian Brotherhood

…sorry, my bad linkage…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_Philip_Movement

33. Liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 12.21
    I have often wondered what Liz The Last has to say about the Ludge.
    I mean… “We will fight fur ye mam,we hiv flags an drums an everything,we even hiv sew’ed oor ain fancy uniforms and oor collar’s are already oan”.
    Presumably Liz knows she already has an army so it begs the question would she struggle to choose?
    Enquiring minds need to know.
    How does anybody even start to comprehend that narritive,the Islander’s in the film at least can claim not to have been introduced to a 21 century mind set.

34. Grouse Beater

Vote to leave the EU, say goodbye to another IndieRef: http://wp.me/p4fd9j-4Zo

35. Chic McGregor

God Save Our Cringe

God save our gracious Cringe.
    Long live our noble Cringe.
    God save our Cringe!
    Send your most odorous,
    Toxins and nuclear dust,
    Long to rain over us.
    God save our cringe!

O Lord a Cringer has,
    No need for enemas,
    With friends like you.
    Define our politics,
    Teach us enslavement tricks,
    We’re too wee, poor and thick,
    God save our cringe!

Our choicest gifts we send,
    To you our London friends,
    Every last one.
    May you define our laws,
    To stamp out the rebel cause,
    We’re proud we have nae baws.
    God save our Cringe!

In front of foreign foe,
    All our young lads can go,
    Just cause or not.
    Your army they’ll extend,
    Great London’s greed defend,
    No great mischief should their lives end.
    God save our Cringe!

Lord grant we marshal aid,
    To ensure your lies are played.
    Thus victory bring.
    May we sedition hush,
    And with a lavvy brush,
    Independence truths we’ll flush.
    God save our cringe!

36. Liz g

Susan Macdiarmid @ 12.17
    Ah think you’re Auntie Jean fae Aberdeen wid like ma Auntie Jean fae Glesga Green.
    You’re people should call ma people…poky hats rule

37. Ken500

Scary. 40 years out of date, even a suit and tie wasn’t compulsory. Old fashioned.

38. Ken500

90 years is long enough. Not much longer to reign over us. The Union has crumbled.Westminster has acted illegally and secretly. Broken every rule in the book.

39. Ken500

@ Craig Murray blog

40. Ken500

Labour sings the ‘International’ and breaks every International Law on the Planet.

41. Angus Skye

You know, I coudn’t care less if they want to show their allegiance to this discredited bunch of privileged parasites by singing this awful dirge, but, do they always have to be so angry?

42. Bugger (the) Panda

A propos Jesus looking like a relative of Phil the Greek.

Is Phil really Phil the Mexican?

You work it out???

43. skozra

“Lawson’s Last Stand” was a good episode and you had Greenock actor Prentis Hancock (Paul Morrow of Space 1999’s first season) appearing very briefly in it as well.

44. Bob Mack

God save Elizabeth
    From one more indyref,
    God save the Queen.

May all her subjects true.
    Wear Orange and the Blue
    and march in a street near you,
    God save the Queen

Save us from Scottish whinge,
    Just let them go and cringe
    Whilst on their land we binge
    God save the Queen

No sitting on the fence
    whisper a reference,
    Play on their deference,
    God save the Queen.

Two states unite as one
    robbing them was such fun
    But now it’s almost done
    God help the Queen.

45. call me dave

“The things that make the new breed of British nationalist angriest” says Mr Leask in the Herald.

https://archive.is/BuhLK

46. punklin

Stuart et al:

Have you seen this?:

this.http://www.theguardian.com/politics/blog/2016/mar/01/eu-referendum-why-is-sturgeon-crying-foul-over-remain-campaign

If only we deluded Scots had the insight of the man with the worm on his lip. Then we’d be as clever as he is in seeing right through the FM’s cunning plan…

47. ScottieDog

Sadly I personally know people like this.

48. ScottieDog

Here’s a question (and no one asked me this during the indyref campaign)
    What would make you STAY in the UK?

49. Ken500

Michael White as usual writes nonsense. Doing himself out of a real job. The Guardian is under Cameron’s thumb. Since Cameron/Clegg put the Robocops in to trash the print room and threaten the Editor for telling the truth. The Editor was side lined and a suitable compliant, Oxbridge sycophant was installed. Guardian has been compliant to the pig face sucker psychopath, ever since. Protecting the guilty.

50. Macart

@Nana

Heh, popcorn at the ready on the last two links Nana. 🙂

51. Nana

@Macart

I can hear the wailing and gnashing of teeth from up here.

52. heedtracker

ScottieDog says:
    2 March, 2016 at 9:12 am
    Here’s a question (and no one asked me this during the indyref campaign)
    What would make you STAY in the UK?

Actual devo-max. Not their spectacular historic The Vow fraud on the people of their Scottish region. Jon Oliver in the US has made a huge impact with his Donald Trump’s a fantastic giant liar but we have our own appalling line up of Project Fearing UKOK liars. Crash Gordon Brown’s in there at no 1 with his ghastly range of terrifying lies that he roared at Scots to vote no for, through the medium of the great liars at BBC vote SLabour Scotland and all the rest.

Then Brown realised he was losing, so he lied again, even harder

http://www.channel4.com/news/gordon-brown-scots-being-offered-home-rule-within-uk

53. Ken500

Is the Herald on the turn. A bunch of turncoats. Seeing how the land lies. How the dice is falling. Like the ‘little red hen’, jumping on the bandwagon before they go over the cliff with the rest of the lemming.

75% of Herald readers support Independence, even more support the SNP. The Herald insults it’s readers frequently, or just winds up clickbait.

The ‘National’ has started to pick up advertising revenue.

54. Nana

@ Macart

Just to clarify my last comment was of course aimed at the yoons and not popcorn eating!

55. Robert Peffers

@Thepnr says: 1 March, 2016 at 9:20 pm:

“They are the True Brits, (aristocracy, military, Tory farmer type) and the Proud Buts (Cringers, aristocracy, military, Orange Order, Tory farmer type). There is a clue there.”

Where did you get the idea that those you describe as, “True Brit”, are actually true Brits?

They are, one and all, descended from the Anglo-Saxon immigrants invited into Britain by the south Britons after the Romans left Roman Britain.

The true Brits are those who were the aboriginal Britons descended from the stone age Hunter/Gatherers and early farmers who mainly came from what we now call, “Doggerland”, that now lies under the North Sea.

These immigrants took over south Britain and were the first in a long line of immigrant elite rulers and some of them are still sitting as hereditary peers at Westminster.

56. Breeks

Kinda spooky, but Michael Culver is the actor’s name, and to me, he is, and will forever be the Luftwaffe’s Major Brandt in the TV series about the Comet line, Secret Army. Excellent TV series, back in the day…. Makes the clip just a little more ironic….

57. Robert Peffers

@liz g says: 1 March, 2016 at 10:04 pm:

“So……Please tell me I am not the only one,who really thought the word’s to that tune were

God Bless Ma Auntie Jean she lives oan Glesga Green ect.

Naw! Liz yer no the ainly ane but the Embra version went:-

“God save oor auntie Jean,
    She gie’s iz nice ice-cream
    In oor back green”.

58. Macart

@Nana

😀 LOL

59. Bryan Aychter

I can’t think of many who see God save the Queen as an anthem that has connections with Scotland. I know the verse with Rebellious Scots To Crush in it was dropped but other than Rangers supporters and Orange men I think most Scots it as something from the past that has no place in a modern progressive Scotland.

60. galamcennalath

ScottieDog says:

“What would make you STAY in the UK?”

Me personally, nothing now. It’s all gone too far down the road. We are getting close to a nice tidy solution to the constitutional problems of the UK.

However, the pragmatist in me knows that as we hover around 50:50, perhaps drifting slowly to Yes, perhaps a compromise would suit a greater number of Scots.

So….

Written constitution guaranteeing Scotland’s rights and position as a partner. I would not want a federal solution as this would diminish Scotland’s sovereignty.

Change of direction on world stage from hawk to dove. No WMDs.

Real DevoMax. No HoL. PR elections at WM.

Then it might just be acceptable.

Nae chance, of course. So I’ll just stick to plan A, Indy.

61. Robert Peffers

@ScottieDog says: 2 March, 2016 at 9:12 am:

“What would make you STAY in the UK?”

Nothing!

62. heedtracker

punklin says:
    2 March, 2016 at 9:06 am
    Stuart et al:

Have you seen this?:

Its merely rancid The Graun UKOK whiners taking offence at Sturgeon pointing out how Project Fear has ulitmatley failed. Rancid’s own hard core Britnat thuggery 2014 certainly exposed that bunch of liars and hypocrites to be nothing more or less than any of the UK tory press, when it really comes down to it.

On many occasions, rancid The Graun were actually far bigger thugs and bullies than even the Heil and Express goons.

Now they’ve won, Graun airbrushes their Scotland region out of their British news, not parochial or insular at all and they’d like to get back to be fine and noble progressive liberal journalists, like the BBC, not a pack of thugs.

So shadap and leave our Scotland region alone, vile separatists.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/bellend4.jpg

63. CameronB Brodie

I’ve said it before but Britain is a legacy of traditionalism, held together by fear and nepotism. Our Establishment consider themselves beneficent yet they resists modernity. The trouble is, we live in post-modern times. This is a recipe for Britain’s failure, IMHO.

64. Marie Clark

Scottie Dog @ 9.12 ” what would make you stay in the UK?”Absolutely hew haw. Too far down the road now only indy will do.

Nana ” 9.27, aye Nana, just wait for it to hit the fan. I’m with Macart on this one, popcorn time again.

65. Ananurhing

I bumped into one of yon Loony Yoonies a few weeks ago.

Huge Better Together sign on her house during indyref. Flies an equally large union flag every day. Takes it down every night. Never worked a day in her life. Over privileged and under blessed in the cranial dept.

She parked in front of me and over someone’s drive. The back of her car is bedecked with every UKOK, BT, No Thanks sign you can think of.

I know her well. I gestured to her car and politely asked if this was her getting ready for indyref2. This was her reply in very loud RP.

“I’m ready…..I’M READY….I fucking hate Alex Salmond….I fucking hate him….I wish he was fucking dead….I wish someone would fucking kill him…..I could kill him…..with my bare fucking hands.” She went on and on getting angrier by the second.

I waited then calmly replied, ” At least you’re now accepting there is going to be another referendum.” Man, off she went again. People were stopping in the street to watch with jaws dropped, and to make matters worse, I had tears streaming down my face with laughter by this point.

She was becoming apoplectic so I thought I’d better back off a bit. Wiping my tears away I put my hand on her shoulder and told her “Look, I know you’re a history scholar. Do me a favour. Go to the library and get Amy Chua’s Day of Empire, and read about devolution in India 1920s to 40s, then read up on devolution in Norway, 1820s to 1905. Then come back and tell me if you can see a pattern forming. I’m telling you. As soon as we get even a whiff of diplomatic representation, the games up.”

She was silent by that point, so I told her how nice it was to see her again, and offered my warmest regards to her husband, and left. I hadn’t used the “I” word once. It made my day.

Sorry for the lengthy post, but I had to share this with you. It was like being in a very angry wind tunnel.

66. Fred

I was waiting on somebody throwing a pint over him, quite disappointed!

67. Golfnut

@ heedtracker.

Progressive liberalism, joke right. These people are self delusional at best and Britnat fanatics in reality.
    We live in a fascist state, the 14 tenets of fascism, listed at Rene.com( sorry can’t do links ) describe the UK to a tee.
    Coordinated, same hymn sheet media, demonizing sections of the population, racism and flag waving militarism to name but a few. It’s all there in brittania wonderful ukok.

68. heedtracker

Golfnut says:
    2 March, 2016 at 11:58 am
    @ heedtracker.

In the back ground, I can hear the UKOK PM answer a Westmonster PMQ, “why did you try and take £7bn over ten years off of Scotland with the fiscal frame work?”

“SNP grievance, we built you a power house parliament, shadap”

says PM Cameron, who cant actually face the SNP opposition.

69. call me dave

Jackie Baillie saying SNP bad again over the new council tax changes. Broke promises and anyway our plans will be err…much better…maybe!

Just wait till we present them next week…err…if we can find a fag packet and a calculator.

70. ScottieDog

“What would make me stay in the UK?”
    Cheers for responses.

For me:
    Replace Bank of England with Central UK bank with truly independent mandate to full employment. (Not to serve bankers)
    Disbanding of the city of London corporation
    Break up of banks
    Abolish House of Lords
    Stopping pillaging other countries for resources.
    PR.

As already said – not going to happen.

71. Ken500

The pig faced sucker has been on the wine and pork. Alcoholics made bad decisions, without counselling and total abstinence. Lying through his teeth. What a PR performance. The Pantomine continues in the cess pit, lying, criminal Westminster. Corrupt to the core.

Scottish Oil tax sector taxed at 60% – (30% corp + 30% supplementary tax). Losing thousands of jobs and £Billions in Scotland. Oil & Gas is being imported putting up the balance of payment deficit and the debt.

The Tories have banned Wind Turbines in England, reduced renewable investment, stopped producing Coal/Steel. They now all have to be imported. Putting up the balance of payment deficit and the debt. Costing jobs in Britain. Gas is being imported. Fracked Gas from other countries. £25Billion is being spent building a nuclear station beside the sea with borrowed money (Chinese/French) it is more expensive than renewables and other fuel sources in the UK, and produces less. A total waste of money putting the UK in more debt.

Germany in surplus puts a tax on fuel to lower wasteful consumption.

Cameron is still using RAF planes based at Lossiemouth to illegally bomb Syria, using taxpayers money without the Scottish Gov permission.

72. Ken500

Cameron, Osbourne are devious lies along with their associates. Illegal wars, banking fraud and tax evasion. HMRC not fit for purpose. Labour etc totally useless.

73. maxxmacc

Is that Arthur ‘Misty’ Thackeray in the lead role 🙂

74. galamcennalath

OK Jocks, let’s get this clear once and for all 😉

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/87/WWII_Divide_and_Conquer_12.jpg

75. Ken500

Those snooty looking Tories are such a turn off. They make people sick, sanctioning and starving vulnerable people. Worried, hungry vulnerable people don’t sleep and get sick. People are sleeping in bins.

76. heedtracker

Nice example of UKOK toryboy bullshit in action, from toryboy Westminster and its liar meeja, adblocks a racket.

So much for tory capitalism red in tooth and claw, free markets, dog eat dog profit is all, survival of the fittest. If the UKOK press is so good, charge us for their garbage. Ian UKOK Hyslop is always bragging about how makes loadsa Private Eye money by not giving his product away.

They could easily make their BBC mountain of crap subscribe only too, but they dont dare.

http://www.theguardian.com/media/2016/mar/02/adblocking-protection-racket-john-whittingdale

“Please Sir Toryboy, we at rancid The Graun are awfully progressive liberals what believe in the fundamental democratic freedom of info n shit, people wont buy our garbage though, so can you make them?

Anyone got that archive thingee please?

77. Effijy

When I google Wings for an update, I am now presented
    With a picture of the Rev in what looks like a
    Protest march crowd. They then describe him
    As a Video Game designer and former journalist for
    That Industry and as being a Pro Indy Blogger?

I’d love to know why I am now taken to this
    Picture and description. Someone has taken the
    Trouble to add this in to google even though
    My search is for the wings site, I get a picture
    Of a protest march, a double reference to link
    The Rev with Video games, and I reject the best
    Political site on the planet being referred to as a
    Blog.

Someone up to no good again.
    There must be spare halos that could have
    Been used in a picture of the Rev now that
    Dim Jim Murphy is Fundimudily retired?

78. Chic McGregor

@Ken500
    Good post.

I remember my school geography Teacher, c 1967, explaining that Britain and Japan were the two biggest net exporters of manufactured goods in the World. The reason given was that both countries were over populated in terms of food production and needed to sell a surplus of manufactured goods in order to import enough to feed their populations.

Made perfect sense to me.

Since then, of course, the removal of barriers to international movement of capital, increased usage of money printing, invention of derivatives and general reduction in financial sector regulation has lead to a situation where the great London Casino, that shibboleth of spivvery, speculation, money laundering, corruption and tax evasion has grown into a monster.
    Furthermore it has allowed some to believe, contrary to any cursory analysis of history, that the monster can live on indefinitely, providing more than enough GDP to replace any lost by manufacturing. We do not need to ‘bash metal’. Manufacturing? farming? pah! who needs it?

Aided by a post Cold War honeymoon period where the World appeared to have a stable future and in the UK’s case the windfall of hundreds of billions of North Sea oil revenue to add to the illusion, it seemed the experiment in neo liberalism was working.

Even though the pennies are starting to drop regarding the real danger of this since the banking crisis, The UK in European terms has still not managed to get itself out of the relegation zone in the European manufacturing league table.

Here is a composite chart I complied recently from Eurostat statistics which reveals the UK’s dire position re manufacturing output compounded by the worst %gdp record for equipment investment in the EU (so no sign any attempt is being made to improve things).

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f390/chicmac/WeDontBashMetal.jpg

If Robbie the Robot were still around he would be screaming “Danger Will Robinson” incessantly.

79. heedtracker

Effijy says:
    2 March, 2016 at 1:58 pm
    When I google Wings for an update,

Its all down to google. They are either placing most hit search find at the top of this search list via google. Or google are fiddling around with the code.

Obviously you will pay to get your site or news or product at or near the top of a google list. There are probably a whole host of different agencies monitoring what gets searched and they all pay google to do this for them.

Try another less well known search engine that doesn’t use google.

80. mr thms

Re Council Tax..

The SNP has provided details about how they are making the current system fairer in the short term.

http://www.snp.org/making_local_taxation_fairer

81. Ken500

The changes are a start.

Trident has to go. No illegal wars. A tax or minimum price for ‘loss leading’ alcohol. Stop paying £4Billion to the UK Treasury for money Scotland doesn’t borrow and spend.

Cut the illegal 60% Tax on the Oil sector, losing revenues and jobs. Tax should be in relationship to barrel price. Stop tax evasion by (foreign) multinations.

Invest in coal CCS and renewables – electric cars are four times cheaper to run. Invest in nurseries, smaller class sizes, education and health. Put in modules in addition needs in teacher training course. Put in modules on drink/drug addiction in Medical school courses. Put modules in mental health and addition needs, two separate issues, in Police training. Appoint a Head iof Police with knowledge of Scottish Law. How can they enforce the Law when they have no knowledge of the Law. 40% of arrests never go to court. Wasting time and money.

Stop children being abuse and it being covered up by the abusers. Establish proper counselling, total abstinence for drink/drug addiction.

Stop councils wasting £Milllions of taxpayers money on grotesque projects the majority do not want. Against the majority wishes and the public interest. Leaving the community in unnecessary future debt without a mandate. To spite the SNP. That is the mentality.

82. Ken500

People do not mind paying more for essential services. Not to pay more council tax for Unionists to waste on unmandated grotesque, wasteful projects.

83. Thepnr

O/T Some good news.

Queensferry Crossing on course to open by end of year ‘almost £1bn under budget

https://archive.is/CiQLu

84. Del

Nana says:
    2 March, 2016 at 9:09 am
    Polls are predicting lib dem win.

Danus Skene? That’s one seriously mixed up person.

Educated at Eton, FFS. Labour Party. Scottish Labour Party. Liberal. Only latterly SNP thanks to devolution.

I know he came a close second to pants on fire last year, but seriously is the best the SNP can do? Fair enough if no-one else wants the job.

85. Ken500

Osbourne is spending £70Billion on a railline HS2, with no business case, Not enough passengers. It will have to be susidised with public money. It will make continuing journeys throughout the UK take longer. People will have to disembark and get on another train. Instead of improving the rail line in the North of England and Scotland which have not been electrified. Making journey’s and connections faster.

86. Chic McGregor

@Thepnr
    “Queensferry Crossing on course to open by end of year ‘almost £1bn under budget”

Oh no! How many times over will Kezia spend that billion quid in La La Labour Land?

87. Jack Murphy

Daily Record Front Page :-
    “Now Osborne wants us to….
    WORK TILL 75”

Stop yer moaning—-you made yer bed,now lie in it.

88. heedtracker

Queensferry Crossing on course to open by end of year ‘almost £1bn under budget

Great story for the new BBC Scottish Six show. lol

89. call me dave

My grapes are not sweet and I’ve waited too long for them implies
    Magnus Gardham, Political Editor 🙁

https://archive.is/AHU0q#selection-547.0-549.19

90. Robert Louis

I pass the new Forth bridge quite often, and I have to say, it really is starting to look very impressive. Must be a hell of a job working the cranes at the tops of the towers. Looks like the towers will be higher than the current road bridge.

It would be great if they had a live view webcam up there.

As regards the underspend, 1 billion saved equals 2 billion to spend in Labour’s distorted reality.

91. Keith Hynd

“what we’re going to fight for is this country’s soul!!!!”

would that be Dover soul he’s yackin about????

92. James Westland

Jack Murphy @ 4:17

Any newspaper headline that begins with “Now” is either a rant or faux outrage.

“Now they want to give immigrants houses!”
    “Now the EU wants to…..xxxxx (fill in your own outrage)
    “Now Sturgeon intends to soak the rich”

Always worth a laugh though! 🙂

Cheers!

93. bjsalba

@heedtracker 2 March, 2016 at 2:08 pm

Try degoogling. It is very liberating.

94. Effijy

Jack Murphy says:
    2 March, 2016 at 4:17 pm
    Daily Record Front Page :-
    “Now Osborne wants us to….
    WORK TILL 75”

Stop yer moaning—-you made yer bed,now lie in it.

I’m a Glaswegian and I have a life expectancy of 72 years.
    Would Osborne let me take out a loan for the 3 years that I’ll
    miss working due to bereavement? Will I need a Doctor’s line?

I’d hate to think of a coffin being repossessed by bailiffs.
    Talk about Death Duty.

The Daily Redcoat headline “The Here and Now Delivered”.

95. Ken500

@ Telegraph

– 440 million year old Scottish fungus which kick started the human race.

– Conservative MP sponsored pass for lobbyist whose firm paid him thousands.

96. Weechid

Jas Sherry says:

2 March, 2016 at 12:43 am

The telling aspect of that clip is how the others in the bar react to this spontaneous outburst of patriotism. Fairly representative I would guess, and the programme is probably well over 20 years old.

It’s over 30 years old – but dinny remind me, please:-)

97. Andrew Mclean

No harm to old Lillibet, will we have to sing a dredge to Charlie,

“One of the strongest natural proofs of the folly of hereditary right in kings, is, that nature disapproves it, otherwise, she would not so frequently turn it into ridicule by giving mankind an ass for a lion”

Now a better description I could not imagine!

98. chris kilby

“Apology accepted, Captain Needa.”

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.