The Queen Of All The Cretins

Posted on June 12, 2023 by

Nicola Sturgeon has not been charged with any crime. Yesterday she was arrested, questioned and released without charge pending further investigation. We do not even know which specific suspected crime or crimes she was questioned in connection with, so it is manifestly impossible to meaningfully speculate on her innocence or guilt (save of course for the fact that all are innocent in the eyes of the law until proven otherwise, something Sturgeon herself often appears to forget).

Nevertheless, in Scotland the Contempt Of Court Act 1981 applies from the moment a person is arrested, as the country’s most senior lawyer and its official prosecution service were both keen to remind people yesterday in the clearest possible terms, and it applies equally whether you’re asserting someone’s guilt or their innocence.

So you need to be a really extra-special class of boneheaded numbwit to do this:

That truly spectacular level of honking, gravy-addled idiocy is at least doubled when you’re a Member of Parliament – ie someone whose literal job is to make the laws of the country – and you proudly announce in your comment that you know what you’re doing is against the law but you’re going to do it anyway.

And one might reasonably argue that it was doubled again if you were until recently your party’s actual shadow Secretary For Justice in the House Of Commons (despite being a wildly overpromoted drama student with absolutely no experience of any kind in law, who was placed in the position over a highly experienced and respected King’s Counsel solely on the basis that you’re willing to say that lesbians can have penises and women should be locked up in prison with rapists).

McLaughlin didn’t just say that Sturgeon was definitely innocent of whatever she was arrested for yesterday (the fact that McLaughlin didn’t know what that was evidently didn’t dent her certainty), but that Sturgeon was incapable of committing ANY crime.

A more clear-cut example of contempt of court would be hard to construct on purpose, and for someone as ostensibly respectable and civically responsible as an MP to be saying it is astonishingly flagrant, but 18 hours later, after literally hundreds of people pointing it out to her, McLaughlin still hasn’t deleted the tweet.

Evidently she’s confident that the laws of Scotland do not apply to SNP politicians, or at least not to those favoured by the leadership, and that a yellow-and-black rosette is some kind of impenetrable shield of immunity.

One might imagine that if nothing else, Sturgeon’s arrest (following those of her husband and the party treasurer) would demonstrate to even the most catastrophically, imbecilically dim-witted fork-and-spoon operator that that was not necessarily the case.

But it appears that Anne McLaughlin is determined to demonstrate that whatever may happen in respect of Operation Branchform, there is no glass ceiling of stupidity thick enough to contain her.

0 to “The Queen Of All The Cretins”

1. Dave Llewellyn

To be fair she thought shagging Graham Campbell was a good career move . Fortunately she didn’t realise there were other Campbell’s

2. Den

I seem to remember after the AS trial NS used a COVID briefing of all things to attack a legitimate jury verdict of not guilty by commenting that because you were found not guilty it does not necessarily mean you are. (Not guilty) At that very juncture I realised that the SNP government and their counterparts have / had absolutely no respect or fear for the rule of law in this country. This is another glaring example.

3. Alison Whiteford

The arrogance of politicians who feel they have the right to enforce blatant lies like “men are women if they say so’ and “lesbians can have penises” on the population they purport to serve.

4. Taxi For Yousless

Was McLaughlin (Nadine Dorries) not on the NEC recently? If so this foolish tweet is even more contentious!

5. Douglas

It’s going to be interesting & revealing to see if COPFS or Police take any action
    My guess is no

6. jockmcx

HAHAHAHAHAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

I better not saY!

7. WingsOverFrance

Maybe she knows Operation Branchform is just a con by the establishment against the people of Scotland. Guilty or innocent (of whatever charge), no prosecutions will follow.

8. robertkknight

Stupid is as stupid does, which is typical of the troughers and bottom feeders that infest Sturgeon’s rancid SNP.

SNP out!

9. Zimba

At least they’re giving the Scottish media perfect cues to shine a light on what the real… oh, wait.

10. Ian

Not only has she not deleted it, she has made it her pinned tweet, giving it full prominence.

11. DiggerUK

Come to think of it, I have never heard what exactly the triumvirate were arrested for. Just that they had been arrested and subsequently released.

When plod nicked them, how did the sentence end. As in “you are being arrested on suspicion of” etc., etc., etc.,

Being a leader in the SNP isn’t a crime. Is it?…_

12. Ian Brotherhood

Humza will be along any minute to say that Anne McG ‘is in a good place and doing well’.

13. Vivian O’Blivion

In the dazzling unlikely event she finds herself in the Dock, she’ll escape censure by application of the Dugdale defence. Too fucking stupid to ken whit she’s doing.

14. AnneDon

She’s showing the same respect for the law that has characterised Sturgeon’s clique during their term in power.

I read somewhere that the Procurator Fiscal in charge of this case is there on an interim basis, and his permanent tenure depends on a panel of ScotGov ministers in a few months time.

#NothingToSeeHere

15. Cath

Maybe she knows Operation Branchform is just a con by the establishment against the people of Scotland. Guilty or innocent (of whatever charge), no prosecutions will follow.

If they follow the same tactics they did with Salmond, ie if they actually *want* to prosecute her, they’ll find something. He was prosecuted on opening a bottle of water, touching a back in a crowded restaurant, a consensual hug etc.

Then the media played their part by whipping up lurid headlines and allegations bearing no relationship to the charges. Question is whether they want to or it’s all just continuing theatre before she’s whisked off to her reward for helping destroy the real threat.

16. Stoker

Douglas says on 12 June 2023 at 10:50 am:
    “It’s going to be interesting & revealing to see if COPFS or Police take any action. My guess is no.”

Unless someone officially reports her to the police then we will never know.

17. Lynn

All I hear now is people weary of the political incompetence that surrounds us from all parties . Career politicians have killed off politics and we are now governed by people who don’t have the capacity and skills to do the job .
    Not only is there an Economic burden attached to this but it seems our very freedom of belief is also up for sale .
    Collectively we need to stop this type of poor performing politics .
    No idea how but spoilt ballot papers starts by sending a message .

18. Ianchisholm

Is it not classic Sturgeon to say she is totally innocent and that statement means it is so!

19. SteepBrae

Aye, Cath, and in case it turns out to be the latter, the sycophants and hingers-on will already have an eye on the new dining table.

20. panda paws

She’ll be fine as long as she doesn’t self identify as Craig Murray…

21. Anton Decadent

In a few days she’ll probably be in the Herald commenting on how she has been diagnosed with PTSD brought on by this article.

22. stuart mctavish

Maybe the penny would drop better if it was referred to as Mrs Thatcher’s pre Belgrano Contempt of Court Act 1981.

Personally I’m inclined to hope sturgeon gave them an earful now that she’s allowed to stick L plates on that camper but just as union leaders demanding answers from seasonal flu inquiries (rather than other way around), and a perceived need to request the pronouns of naked emperors (rather than getting them to fuck), and the SNPs own silence on the charges (rather than screaming liberty from the rooftops) suggests we’re expected to be idiots – we are not obliged.

Accordingly I’d go a step further than Ash, and would suggest that both Nicola AND Humza be suspended (from SNP, not lamposts) until such time as the enigma surrounding Humza’s claim Nicola told him she’d been proud to vote for him as her replacement (despite his ripping the piss from her indy plans and ability to request consensus on same) is resolved

If it turns out that she did indeed support his taking a wrecking ball to her core principles, and if the evidence seized from SNP HQ shows that the vote was rigged* to boot, then its not impossible there are even stranger games at play than the somewhat familiar leveraging of institutional disrespect for an outgoing FM in order to make it easier to control the incoming one. (fingers crossed we still know what we’re playing at, and why!)

*or even that non residents had a say – despite not having one in elections (local or otherwise)

23. Garry W Gibbs

Dear Stuart Campbell.
    Thank you for painstakingly and persistently pointing out the law as it is perceived by all right-thinking people, especially a rapidly rusting former court reporter like me who has sat in too many cold and forbidding crown and magistrates courts to see justice being wielded or enacted.
    My broad feeling with Scotland is that a new form of justice appears to have arrived there different from England and Wales which, broadly, seems to fit entirely with the ideological preferences of the ruling cadre in political power and, tragically, Ms Sturgeon herself so that proceedings seem, now, to be fitted in entirely with her, “Is it OK to ‘arrest’ you on a Sunday when you have eight hours to spare and have nothing else in your diary wee Nicola?’.
    Can you please explain to me what “arrested by police” in Scotland now means? I have been informed that it means something very different to what it means in England and Wales but do not understand this. You appear to be superbly armed and equipped with legal competence so hope you can illuminate me.
    You and I being arrested by police would mean we would take a solicitor in the expectation that charges would be put to us and that legal representation in the interview room would be crucial to us because I, certainly, would be naive about my rights and would need an independent third party.
    Here, it feels as if Ms Sturgeon knows better than the cops and is commanding and questioning them rather than the other way around. There is no basic humility or grace whatsoever and that is very dangerous because if these people are perceived to be law breakers (or, rather, law makers to suit their own lifestyle and ideology with a police which accurately represents and reflects them rather than us) then nobody will observe laws.
    I write having noticed a man walk into a Greggs earlier as I queued to buy a cup of tea push past me, help himself to two sandwiches and just walk out totally brass-faced with no notice nor even concern by the staff who might have said that they did not see it.

24. M

… Thinking that she’s courting yet another bye-election if sent down for a bit of a think.

If she manages that, then we can perhaps award her the accolade “Queen of the Clowns” – in a field scarcely lacking for talent (Kezia, Monica, Annie etc).

25. Andrew scott

WHO WILL SAVE US FROM THESE BONEHEADED CRETINS

26. Stephen O'Brien

While the SNP embarrassingly advertises for a new Heid Bummer, of it’s NEC, perhaps the general public should do the same, in search of decent politicians!

27. Morgatron

That would take a lot gravy to fill that pie face .

28. Breeks

“ Innocence is not just a presumption I’m entitled to in Law…”. – Ha! That’s rich coming from Nicola Fkg Sturgeon, hypocrite on stilts extraordinaire, after knifing the innocent Alex Salmond in the neck and back at every possible opportunity and from every direction, to the extent she was formally warned by the Faculty of Advocates to shut her gob and try not to smear the Scottish trial process and the integrity of jury’s verdict.

What a bunch of rats, and I apologise to rats for the gratuitous defamation.

There’s something not just dysfunctional but properly twisted about these people.

29. SteepBrae

Wee reminder that today’s the day the new ‘monitoring force’ at Scottish Parliament starts scouring social media for comments deemed to threaten MSPs.

Just happens to coincide with last night’s big tweet magnet.

30. David Hannah

Ash Regan calls for Sturgeon to be suspended.

The SNP won’t do so however she is chief mammy.

Where’s the missing 600K, Nicola?

Where’s Independence gone?

31. Ebenezer Scroggie

Did she manage to find a Scottish law firm prepared to defend her?

Or did she have to hire some obscure Mancunian firm for the job?

32. Mac

I like how she has colour coordinated her yellow top with her teeth. That lipstick really makes the yellow ‘pop’ as well.

33. robertkknight

Lynn @11:38

The trouble is that anyone with an ounce of intelligence and talent runs in the opposite direction from a “career in politics”.

So what do we get? Idiots who let political parties persuade them to stand “to give the electorate an opportunity to vote for the party – which they won’t have if you don’t put your name on the ballot, because nobody else wants to. But don’t worry, it’s not as though you’ll win”.

Then guess what? The f***wits get elected!

Then they get a whiff of power and privilege and expenses and meals and chauffeurs and hotels and fancy clothes and posh restaurants and before you know it, they’re hooked on keeping their incompetent and incapable snouts in the trough for as long as possible. And the party apparatchiks are happy so long as they continue to do as they’re told and behave like the rest of the obedient Lobby Fodder.

And this is where we are.

The people you’d actually want to run the country don’t want any part of modern politics, which leaves that shown above…

34. John McGregor

Boot ugly springs to mind

35. Craig

I had to go and look at the comments on twitter didn’t I?

Saying these people are deranged is putting it mildly, the rage towards Ahs Regan for even suggesting that Nicola be suspended is unreal and this is despite Nicola expelling people for lesser comments or actions.

Who could forget that us independence supporters and members were called “Cultists” in 2014, it seems that they were right when you see the comments, they are blinded and beholden to Queen “Ah cannae Recall” Sturgeon.

I really do despair at the quality that is Scottish politics, it’s an utter shitfest.

36. Chas

Under the ‘Law’ everyone is deemed equal irrespective of status, money or power.

Stop laughing at the back.

37. Thistle Bristle

Nicola Sturgeon, after her release, has also declared that she knows herself to be innocent of any wrongdoing.

Leaving aside for now the plausibility or otherwise of that claim, I’d like to know:

Is an arrested person in a special category regarding what they may publicly say, or is that protestation of her innocence (while investigation is ongoing) in itself a contempt of court?

38. John Main

Who’s that pinging her hair in the pic?

39. dearieme

Who ate all the pies?

That there land whale
    She ate all the pies.

40. David Hannah

The scale of paranoia is off the scale.

The social media monitoring task force don’t want you to talk.

The political class, their sheer level of arrogance and contempt for the laws of the land is beyond the pale.

41. Scot

Sturgeon says the “investigation played no part in my resignation.”

Well that’s being economical with the truth, wouldn’t you say…

42. David Hannah

SNP – The Scottish National Paranoids.

Chief Mammy is watching.

43. Charles (not the R one)

Mrs Murrel’s / Ms Sturgeon’s choice of words was interesting. It was “I” ….am entirely innocent.’

She did NOT say that that she believes that ‘nothing criminal has taken place.’ She may be drawing a distinction between her position and the positions of others.

Having just emerged from police custody (arrested as a possible suspect, as the police said) after some seven and a half hours during which allegations of criminal conduct will have been put to her, one might think that occasional replies like…..” what’s criminal about that?” might have been made.

Despite all she (and many SNP members) may think to the contrary, Sturgeon is not some divinity, is not infallible, and most of all is not exempt from the rule of law.

A first response of ” I am innocent” might just be an acknowledgement that unlawful activity has taken place….or at least what has just been alleged to her is undoubtedly criminal.

44. Stuart MacKay

It will be interesting to see whether the other good citizens of cretinopolis step forward to be counted. Perhaps we’ll see a trial of strength between the politicians and the prosecutors. Whether Yousaf forces her to resign from the party will be the opening shot in this battle.

45. James Che

I wonder were NS and her entourage would be, or how far they or the Greens for that matter would be if Scotland was not being run by a Colonial Corporate Body (Devolved Government) under Westminster legislation.

Perhaps the old Scots law of treason would be added to any possible forth coming charges.

However that was one law of Scotland that was quickly eradicated in 1708. By the Coloniser changing Scots law that the Coloniser promised “Scots law” “would remain” the same after the “hoax” treaty,

46. Bumsrush

Hamza has just announced that he will not remove the whip from Sturgeon.
    Absolutely correct in order to keep the SNP together – give her the push and many MSPs are likely to follow her onto the Independent benches OR keep her on the basis of not even charged yet and I doubt if any of her children will up sticks.
    Is this Hamza’s first wise decision of his political career?

47. Bob Mack

In her defence she is hardly as bright as the sun. More like a 5 watt bulb.

Minister for justice? Snigger. Rewards of being compliant.

48. James Che

Laws of the Land is questionable,

Which laws? And which land?

The Crown in Scotland is Westminster legislated and officially appointed. The Corporate Body of the devolved government to Scotland also Swears an oath to that Crown and therefore Westminster.

What are the laws of the Scot / land as could be defined from Westminster passing laws to Scotland under the Crown in the devolved government.

The definition of police Scotland is also intergrated with the Met Police of London,

Scotland can look and appear to be legally shambolic whilst under the ” pretence “of Scots laws, but in name only.

49. Alf Baird

Den @ 10:45 am

“I realised that the SNP government and their counterparts have / had absolutely no respect or fear for the rule of law in this country.”

Fascism sits at ‘the root of colonialism’ where ‘the party, a true instrument of power in the hands of the native bourgeoisie, reinforces the (colonial) machine, and ensures that the people are hemmed in and immobilized’. Fascism being ‘the dialectic result of states that were semi-colonial’ (Frantz Fanon), much as we saw for half a century or more in Latin America, and elsewhere.

So it is little surprise to see a co-operative colonial administration exhibit such features. In the colonial society ‘the rule of law’ takes on an altogether different meaning, especially for a complicit native bourgeoisie:

“Because, after all, we must resign ourselves to the inevitable and say to ourselves, once and for all, that the bourgeoisie is condemned to become every day more snarling, more openly ferocious, more shameless, more summarily barbarous; that it is an implacable law that every decadent class finds itself turned into a receptacle into which there flow all the dirty waters of history; that it is a universal law that before it disappears, every class must first disgrace itself completely, on all fronts, and that it is with their heads buried in the dunghill that dying societies utter their swan songs. The moralists can do nothing about it. There is a law of progressive dehumanization in accordance with which henceforth on the agenda of the bourgeoisie there is – there can be – nothing but violence, corruption and barbarism. I almost forgot hatred, lying, conceit.” (Aime Cesaire)

Though there is also some hope for the oppressed people, this from Fanon: “The behaviour of the national bourgeoisie..is reminiscent of a gang. Such behaviour shows that more or less consciously the national bourgeoisie is playing to lose if the game goes on too long. They guess that the present situation will not last indefinitely but they intend to make the most of it”.

50. Mac

Finally worked out what that picture was reminding me of… an over-ripe zit.

51. stuart mctavish

SteepBrae @12:19

Maybe they can elaborate on an issue that I’m struggling with:

ie my interpretation of their interpretation of the contempt of court act 1981 is that if our kids get arrested, stripped and, for sake of argument, cavity searched/ dingied on way home from school, before being released without, or with, charge, they’ll still not be allowed to tell their ma about it (not even on twitter) without running the risk of aggravating whatever they were lifted for with an actionable contempt of court & potential hate crime.. (and the worst of that since the 80s when Glitter, Saville and that Boy George were sill popular)

52. DiggerUK

https://www.spiked-online.com/2023/06/12/why-cant-we-talk-about-the-nicola-sturgeon-scandal/
    I read this article today in Spiked and came here to see if there was any response to my post. I can’t find my post.

Have I been deleted for reasons of ‘legality’, or am I still in the moderators in tray awaiting moderation…_

53. James Che

I think it is important for us all in Scotland to recognise We have a “Corporate Body” the Devolved Government ( which is a business for profit) making Scots laws under the legislation and Crown for Westminster.
    While ” Police Scotland” is conjoined with the London Met office.

It is a high possibility that Scots law would ensure all Court hearings would be open and a jury selected from the public.

But here the definition of “Scots law” and the Crown in Westminster laws become inter-woven under a Corporate body.

How many Scottish people are aware that a Corporate Body is able to make up and pass new laws to the Scottish people, dismantling Scots law, or that a profit making Corporation body under the inserted Crown held sway over the AS case and Craig Murry case.

One wonders how a Corporate body like the Devolved Government can pass a Racist “Hate Crime” bill in Scotland” but not to the rest of the UK, while under Uk legislation and the Crown. That would require royal assent before becoming Scots Law,

As we can be see from the gender issues and Supreme Court issues over section 30 referendums the Westminsters UK interrupts any passage of new Scots law legislation when it suits them,

This new case will be decided by those very same Corporate bodies under the appointments of the Crown made by Westminster,
    It has very little to do with Scotland and Scots law,

The Laws of Scotland have been swallowed up and are now ill defined from the laws of Westminster under the fallacious treaty of union,

This just adds to the listed reasons Scotland needs Scotland, to be separated as our Scots laws otherwise become unjust and corrupted,

54. dearieme

Och, enough about the missing £600k. What about the ferries/shipbuilding scandal?

Did money change hands there? And if there, where else? Is there a pattern of corruption?

Since the police haven’t told us what crime NS and the other toerags are suspected of, it’s presumably still legal to speculate about possible crimes that haven’t been in the headlines.

55. Stoker

Ian Brotherhood says on 11 June 2023 at 11:13 pm:
    “If Mia, Tinto, BDTT, Lorna, Breeks, Joe, Stoker and many other notable regulars here would like to consider submitting expanded comments to offtopicscotland.protonmail.com, they will be very welcome. So I’m told anyway. Hoots all”

Ian, when i put the address you gave into the URL bar i’m getting “This site can’t be reached” “check spelling” “check if there is a typo” etc. Even preceding the address with https:// makes no difference. Same thing!

56. James Che

Contempt of Court,

The jurisdiction of a Court, is in the Court.

It should not overflow into the public domain,

It says it on the tin,

57. Stoker

dearieme says on 12 June 2023 at 3:15 pm: “Since the police haven’t told us what crime NS and the other toerags are suspected of, it’s presumably still legal to speculate about possible crimes that haven’t been in the headlines.”

Both the BBC and SKY are reporting her arrest being in relation to “the investigation into missing funds raised (£600K) that were supposed to have been ringfenced but may have been spent on other things”

58. James Che

Extending “Contempt of Court” to the mass population of a Country as a whole, whom are not in the Court stretches the limit beyond the legal boundaries of where a Court is,

A court does have legal boundaries, a court is held in a specific place or building,
    Since when has a Court become a Country?

59. Jeremy Dawson

well you say “Evidently she’s confident that the laws of Scotland do not apply to SNP politicians”, maybe so.

But it is certainly clear that they don’t apply to those who are favoured by the authorities, as, for example, how Craig Murray was prosecuted (in the case of one of his articles) merely for repeating information which had already appeared in the press, but those who had already published that information were not

60. SteepBrae

stuart mctavish 2.23pm

This scenario is beyond me, not being a legal eagle. My comment was actually about the ‘monitoring force’ at Holyrood.

Presumably a youngster would have to be accompanied by an adult if that happened. However, commenting online afterwards could be, as you point out, a minefield.

To quote the Dean of the Faculty of Advocates, Roddy Dunlop, “The Contempt of Court Act 1981 kicks in after arrest. Thereafter, espousing your strongly held views as to guilt or innocence on social media is spectacularly unwise, dangerous and to be avoided”.

(Spectacularly unwise!)

The Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service warns against publishing commentary or analysis of evidence, witnesses or accused on any platform (print, broadcast media, social media or online).

Also interesting is that contempt laws, which mean that the only place these matters can be discussed is in court, don’t kick in until charges have been brought in England but they kick in after arrest in Scotland.

Your concern does seem valid although if the child were only to report what happened without giving an opinion as to guilt or innocence, would that count? Mind you, it looks as if someone who has been released can assert their innocence without being in contempt… Maybe a legal eagle would like to comment.

61. lothianlad

Shes Nae bonnie!

62. Stoker

@ Charles (not the R one) on 12 June 2023 at 1:25 pm:

Very good observations and good points. Are we seeing her distancing herself from a certain individual or individuals? Subconsciously practicing the throwing under a bus tactic? Is she even aware she’s doing it? LOL!

63. dasBlimp

Is it just me or are our women the fattest and ugliest on the planet. Excludng Mrs Blimp, of course.

64. Doroth Devine

I wonder how many busses she has lined up and who will be under them in the next few days.

65. Doug

Alba-commissioned Find Out Now independence poll at 52.5% Yes.

Humza Yousaf will be sick.

66. Tom

Bring back Alex Salmond

67. Robert Louis

Anne McLaughlin, renowned airhead and SNP MP, is living proof of the old adage, ‘stupid is as stupid does’.

Can you just imagine the discussion when they wanted to boot out Joanna Cherry for publicly stating reality and biological facts. ‘oh, who can we replace Joanna with? Do we have any other QCs or lawyers, especially female, that thinks women and lesbians have penises? I know, what about that halfwit drama student McLaughlin, she’ll say and do anything. Mind, she is thick as ten lavvie seats..Aye, perfect’

68. James Che

It could be challenged that a Court is not in ownership of a Country, that a Court has by law legal perimeters,

That a Court therefore cannot bind a population of a Country not to have freedom of speech, it does not own that that is outside the Court perimeters for contempt of Court,

The Court is also a public servant, payed for by the people of a Country, the Court itself has no Sovereignty over the people,

It would be a case for contempt of Court, if the people were inside the the Court house influencing the jury,
    But legally the Court within the actual Court hearing does not allow the jury to associate with the public to become influenced.

So how can a ” Scottish Court” claim Sovereignty over the population of Scotland and the whole Country of Scotland as if it were Sovereign.
    And that the same Court can control all of Scotland outside its perimeters of sitting court in any court case.

Apparently nobody has questioned this limited legal over reach in Scotland with regards contempt of a actual Court,

Because it chooses to presume it owns all the population of Scotland within it limited courts boundaries does not make it legally so.
    And has no legal jurisdiction to Stifle and repress the speech of a complete population in any Court case that is not within the limited perimeters of that particular court.

69. dasBlimp

Alf Baird and James Che still banging on about colonialism and other bollocks and blaming WM (the English). “It’s nae oor fault the nasty English did it bwah bwah bwah!” I’ve got news for you two – you overestimate the English. They just aren’t that clever. No, this debacle, this farce that shames all of Scotland is home manufactured and nothing to do with anyone outside of Scotland. It’s our job to get these lame fuckwits out of control and get a proper political party in that cares for Scotland and the Scotish first and foremost. It’s time we all grew up.

70. Andrew F

Famous quote: “We’re an empire now, and when we act, we create our own reality. And while you’re studying that reality — judiciously, as you will — we’ll act again, creating other new realities, which you can study too, and that’s how things will sort out. We’re history’s actors . . . and you, all of you, will be left to just study what we do.”

That headline where she is quoted as: “I know beyond doubt that I am innocent” reminded me of this idea of creating your own reality.

The criminal burden of proof is “beyond reasonable doubt”, so it’s no coincidence that those words were chosen for both the statement and the headline.

Like King Canute ordering the tide not to come in…

Sad miserable failures of humans these people are.

71. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi stuart mctavish at 2:23 pm.

You mentioned,
    “…the 80s when Glitter, Saville and that Boy George were sill popular)”

What’s Boy George got to do with the criminal pair? He was on TV a couple of days ago with Rod Stewart – they’re going out on tour together.

72. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker (3.26) –

It’s offtopicscotland@protonmail.com Sorry if I missed out the @ !

73. A Scot Abroad

Doug, I wouldn’t place too much credence in that poll. For a start, it was back in January, and there have been a few events since then. Secondly, it was commissioned by Alba, and commissioned polls tend to be sympathetic to the commissioners.

The long term average of all polls since devolution came into effect with the Scotland Act 1998 is about 45-46% pro Indy, and the needle isn’t moving very noticeably.

74. James Che

Any Court that held a member of the public outside the actual court case in contempt of Court would be stepping outside its legal boundaries as a court held and recognised in a specific place, in a specific case and could find itself in a Court case for over reaching its Court perimeters,
    It is not Sovereign, especially here in Scotland, it is a public servant.

75. Brian Doonthetoon

I wish some people would check the veracity of their suppositions before posting $h!†€…

NEW POLL SHOWS INDEPENDENCE SUPPORT RIDING HIGH AT 52.5 PER CENT
    Posted on 12 June 2023

“NB Find Out Now interviewed a total sample of 1,029 adults over the period 7th to 12th June.”

https://www.barrheadboy.com/new-poll-shows-independence-support-riding-high-at-52-5-per-cent/

76. douglas leighton

I was looking through twitter this morning and was forced to conclude that SNP supporters really are thick. I mean Ms Mclaughlin is a shining star of intellectual rigour, a heavyweight thinker for the SNP.

It s all beginning to make sense. the SNP supporters don’t understand politics- indeed they don’t actually grasp the most basic concepts. They don’t do abstract thought.
    I fear politics in Scotland its like trying to push an angry heifer over, and tickle its udder.

77. crazycat

Brian Doonthetoon at 4.19

https://archive.ph/vxan

78. Rob

Regarding recent polls, I’m “borrowing” this from Scot Goes Pop…

“Find Out Now have conducted five polls on Scottish independence. The five have been well spaced out, and each one has been commissioned by a different client. There was one in March 2021 commissioned by the Daily Express, one in December 2022 commissioned by an independence supporter, one in January 2023 commissioned by The National, one in March 2023 commissioned by Scot Goes Pop, and the latest in June 2023 commissioned by the Alba Party. All five have shown a majority in favour of independence, strongly suggesting there has been a consistent Yes majority throughout the period.”

https://scotgoespop.blogspot.com/2023/06/yet-another-bombshell-find-out-now-poll.html

79. George Ferguson

O/T Apologies for breaking the flow of thread. It has been reported by the MSM that puberty blockers in the UK NHS have been banned outwith the recognised established clinical pathway. The BJM is stating NHS England and Wales only (usually a trusted source). Anybody any info on the Scot NHS following suit?. Implications for Sandyford and our young people particularly our girls. Also implications for the GRRB Supreme Court referral by the Scot Gov.

80. Alf Baird

dasBlimp @ 4:13 pm

“this debacle, this farce that shames all of Scotland is home manufactured and nothing to do with anyone outside of Scotland.”

It may help if you better understood the main features and effects of colonialism, on the colonized as well as the colonizer, which explain the way the game is being played out. Postcolonial theory is very helpful in that regard.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2021/07/18/scotland-in-the-21st-century-4/

81. Ottomanboi

Subversion, comes naturally to the agents of the British state. That these agents have not been active for decades within Scotland’s national movement would tax even the most credulous.
    England/BritState having got Scotland by subterfuge is highly unlikely to give up «its northern territory» without the customary struggle.
    «Customary struggle», what every other people has come to realise is necessary to break the psychological and political chains of the dominant.

82. Muscleguy

If your name is on a political party bank account then you are responsible for what uses the monies there are used for. Especially but not limited to election campaigns. I have been there done that for the ISP Branch so I know that.

Sturgeon, Hubby and ex Treasurer’s names are on the SNP account so they are responsible for it under the law. We know from the last auditors that there were shenanigans going on which is why those auditors withdrew. They had a staff member in the SNP finance office for a year so they knew what was happening.

I can see the Electoral Commission taking an interest in this as well as Polis Scotland. The EC can do things like fining parties.

83. twathater

Is there anyone here who believes that the Scum Nonce Party will join with the other indy supporting parties and move forward with a sole indy first representative at the next election , even if hell froze over and they agreed to the proposal what would the percentage be that the ScumNP would DEMAND as their candidates

As we all know the likes of McLaughlan are very highly thought of within the ScumNP and are considered as extremely intelligent with maximum gravitas, if Youseless insisted that she/it were a favoured candidate and must be included as a representative would you still vote for her if it brought us nearer to independence, or would you prefer if she went back to giving her stunning performances of interpretive dance presentations

The sole independence representative from all indy parties really makes sense but it then presents another problem of who within the ScumNP would you vote for whilst still trying to hold your dinner down

84. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi crazycat at 5:07 pm.

You quoted and supplied a link…

“Brian Doonthetoon at 4.19

https://archive.ph/vxan

That escaped my knowledge at the time!

85. Anton Decadent

Re the posts commenting on her dimensions, after a period on antidepressants in which I felt that this is the day of the expanding man when I see people with a weight issue I am more inclined to believe that they have been prescribed antidepressants and entered a Catch 22 of depression/anxiety and the medication completely demotivating them.

Her actions with her other half, on the other hand, are worthy of comment. Running up a five figure dept in unpaid rent at the Afro Caribbean Centre, now a shop for equipment to grow cannabis, when the due rent was finally called in they did a sit in playing the race card and claiming to have redecorated the building and that this cost them something like forty thousand quid, exactly the amount due in unpaid rent, and claiming that this cancelled out the debt. Gawd luv ’em.

86. Merganser

Speaking in general terms, it is sometimes better for people to be charged with an offence rather than no action taken against them. Then, if they are tried and found not guilty, they can say they proved their innocence.

If they are not charged, the odour of suspicion will linger forever, no matter the protestations of innocence.

Mud can be a sticky thing. Smoke does not often occur without fire, so they say.

87. Shug

I can’t believe Humza us not suspending Nicola or at the leas asking her to go voluntarily.

Douglas Ross is going to look good on Thursday and will play up, have you asked Nicola what your views are in any subject?

He can list the people who were suspended when they were under investigation and it is a big list.

Humza is going to look totally useless and no mistake.

But oh not Nicola says she is not going cause she is innocent and can’t remember a thing.

88. Ottomanboi

The salivating tyrannosaurus in the field is asking what do independence seeking Scots intend to do about a political establishment that has made fools of them?
    The beast is looking very hungry.

89. John Main

@Ian Brotherhood says:12 June, 2023 at 4:21 pm

You off then?

Mind and pop back, give us an update when you get a fix on the “radioactive cloud heading our way”.

It’s taking its own sweet time to get here, isn’t it?

90. David Hannah

I stand with Nicola. A big boy did it. And ran away. It wisnae me. These things happen. I can’t recall. I have no recollection. Not to my knowledge. I don’t know. I know nothing.

91. dasBlimp

Alf Baird says:
    12 June, 2023 at 5:25 pm

It may help if you turned your one-eyed gaze away from post-colonial theory. Just because it fits your demented viewpoint it doesn’t everyone else’s. Yours and James Che’s posts are boring and you both come across as a bit bonkers.

92. David Hannah

Listening to Indy Car Ross. I respect his passion for Independence. He just loves defending Sturgeon. Aparently the COPFS have orchestrated a conspiracy against the SNP. Even though Nicola appoints the Lord Advocate to her seat. And that Jamie Hepburn was misquoted by the National on Devo Max, which is now a Unionist rag in his opinion.

It’s an SNP progaganda toilet paper rag. I. Glad it exists. It is an archive of the SNPs lies. It’s a parody.

Even though we saw in the Salmond conspiracy the Crown Office censoring the Scottish Parliament. That was the day I lost all faith in justice in this country.

Man the Barricades mentality of Bute House and the Holyrood Parliament.

Great to see the Independence poll at 52 per cent while at the same time. SNP are tanking in the polls.

93. President Xiden

Good evening, welcome to ‘double standards’ and here is your starter for 10. Which of these SNP politicians is the odd one out?

Natalie McGarry
    Michelle Thomson
    Mark McDonald
    Derek Mackay
    Patrick Grady
    Margaret Ferrier
    Alex Salmond
    Nicola Sturgeon.

94. President Xiden

Building back forgetful.

95. Shug

It is rather sad, Humza’s people are getting lots of good news stories out there about things the SNP is doing but nobody is listening.

All attention is in Nicola. He really has to make his own mark.

96. Geoff Anderson

The SNP TransCult attack dogs
    https://twitter.com/markthehibby/status/1668304623344517120?s=20

97. Ottomanboi

ALF BAIRD
    It id symptomatic of the condition to be affronted by the notion that you are a victim of colonialism. We could never be so stupid, so gullible, so full of ourselves, could we?
    That’s just for those guys with a sun tan, we’re exceptional.

98. David Hannah

I hope the parliament votes to protect women’s spaces from males Geoff.

I would not judge a transwoman for being in my male gym changing area. I would say nothing. Just like I wouldn’t judge a morbidly obese male for trying to get fit.

As long as I know that the female’s are protected from a cat amongst the pigeons.

99. Big Jock

It’s quite incredible the tin foil hat collective. I had one blame Alba for reporting the missing money today! They want everyone to whitewash any wrongdoing. Just ignore all the horrible things that have happened to the SNP. Its a bit like a child blaming his brother , when his brother tells his dad that he stole from the family. They are beyond rescuing, the truth cannot get in.

I am glad I escaped the cult.

100. stuart mctavish

Bumsrush @1:47

I was thinking (guessing) that the police investigation is outwith his control so if he suspended himself pending clarification of the membership numbers (/charges enabling a defence to be brought on other matters), and put Kate Forbes in charge (since Ash has already ruled out a rerun), it could give the party’s credibility a huge lift in the interim.

Bonus being that ALL Humza’s devolutionists could then be forced back onto independent benches* AND liberated to attend the AUOB Bannockburn where, hopefully, they’ll attract a big enough crowd to help the memories come flooding back/ make those filing charges think twice.. 😉

*thus priming Holyrood for an early defacto referendum, on same day, in event Westminster decides to disrupt Boris safer seat ambitions with an early GE.

101. James Che

Alf Baird.

Has it come you’re attention that the usual unionist minded people would prefer no one mentions the word Colony or Colonial to be associated with Scotland,
    I have noticed that many of those minds of the Colonialist also wish we would not mention the great hoax played on Scotland regards the fallacious treaty of union.

It always indicates that Scotland and Scots are over the correct legal target to Scottish independence.

I always consider that those that “other others” in the manner of a Colonialist always do you, a good number independence supporters and I a huge a favour.

We do not have to prove the point of how a Colonialist works while they work so hard to do the job for us;-)

102. STEPHEN M

She surely is the Delphi Oracle reborn

103. Charles (not the R one)

The advert for the successor to Mr Murrell and SNP Chief Executive makes clear the party is looking for someone who can drive change in party governance and transparency.

The successful candidate has also to be familiar with financial and risk management.

The chief executive job comes with a salary of £95,000 a year. Applications are open until the end of June.

This sounds like a great opportunity for James Che, he who seems to be so sure he knows better, and more than the rest of us combined. Just the fellow the SNP needs right now.

104. James Che

Why would you not speak out, to save women and children that could be in potential danger from those that pretend they are in the trans category and use it to gain access to these children and female groups,

I always wondered why trans groups do not chase up the politicians and law groups to provide separate toilets for trans groups that have not actually transitioned other than verbal,

It begs the question why they have targeted women’s and children’s spaces as there aim.

105. Doroth Devine

James Che , neatly put!

106. Ron Clark

Charles (not the R one) 8.34pm

As far as I know,,, James Che is actually a female.

No doubt James Che will confirm shortly.

107. Red

Anne McLaughlin was great in The Goonies.

108. Mac

All of this is happening at a pace and in a manner that is 100% consistent with Scotland being the most corrupt and squalid shithole in the Western world.

We are the wanksock, the petri dish, for every sick dream our imperialist masters can think of to inflict. A grotesque playground for our children’s nightmares to be enacted.

109. HelenN

@ Briandoonthetoon On 5 December 2008 Boy George, whose real name is George O’Dowd, was convicted in Snaresbrook Crown Court, London, of the April 2007 assault and false imprisonment of Audun Carlsen, a Norwegian model and male escort. Carlsen initially stood for a photography session with Boy George but on their next meeting, Boy George handcuffed him to a wall fixture and beat him with a metal chain.

Boy George was sentenced to 15 months in prison but only served four’

110. John Main

@Shug says:12 June, 2023 at 7:02 pm

It is rather sad, Humza’s people are getting lots of good news stories out there about things the SNP is doing but nobody is listening

Yeah, you would have thought that eradicating poverty in Scotland might have at least got Yousaf some grudging thanks.

But naw, not even that. God, we’re an ungrateful bunch.

On the plus side, they do say that there is no such thing as bad publicity, so looked at that way, this has been a great weekend for Scotland.

111. John Main

@Mac says:12 June, 2023 at 8:55 pm

Careful Mac!

Purge these thoughts, before you conclude that 404 is more deserving of saving from the yoke of colonialist imperialism than Scotland is.

112. PacMan

I found this YouTube video about a FtM transgender men who talks about the emotional problems of transitioning from female to male.

The clip below is a commentary on it but the actually TikTok video is on about 2 minutes into the clip.

https://tinyurl.com/5n7fba8d

It does perfectly highlight the emotional & psychological problems faced by people who transition.

113. PacMan

In no way I am trying to claim that I know anything about and contempt of court but I can’t help but think that random postings that from individuals on sites like this would matter but comments from those actually involved in the case or anyone associated with those involved would.

Nicola Sturgeon did it with pleading her innocence and now this individual highlighted in this post.

I’ve resisted getting involved in these conversation about Scotland being a Banana republic but looking at this, it is easy to understand how people outside of Scotland would get that.

Business people who are looking to invest in the UK must look at these headlines and think the risk is to much to want to invest here.

As I said previously, while the unionist parties aren’t that better, the SNP needs to be away from any form of government in order to clear the desks, not just in order to get back to being a party for independence but also to be a party that can govern responsibly.

It would be good if it could happen but I’m afraid it won’t. I made the mistake of going onto WGD and the BTL is going haywire about Sturgeon being stitched up and being a victim of the British establishment.

They are so wrapped up in blaming the Tories and Westminster for all of Scotlands problem’s that they can’t process the reality that we Scots need to take some responsibility for the problems we face.

Until that happens, charlatans like Sturgeon and their cabals will continue to rule Scotland for their own benefits voted in by the lemmings who get whipped up into a frenzy but the evil Tories and the Westminster chummies.

114. Charles (not the R one)

PacMan says:
    12 June, 2023 at 9:26 pm

I found this YouTube video about a FtM transgender men who talks about the emotional problems of transitioning from female to male

It does perfectly highlight the emotional & psychological problems faced by people who transition.

………….

I am sick fed up with this “transition” word being bandied about, as if “transitioning” from the gender at one’s birth to the other gender was a routine possibility, a matter of personal choice.

People can mutilate their bodies by surgery, and take all sorts of chemicals and potions, but till the day they die every cell in their bodies could be identified as being male or female, one or the other, of the gender they were born as. There’s a tiny minority who have been born with confused gender, and that too can not be changed. Gender is for life.

Whatever gender a person is born as, CAN NOT BE CHANGED.
    IT IS NOT POSSIBLE.
    Surgical or chemical mutilation can NOT change a person’s gender.

115. sarah

Quiz question: What is the collective term for a host of squirrels? As in, Gender issues, SNP ex-leader’s arrest for questioning, Dorries/Johnson/another Tory MP resigning.

None of these subjects warrants more than a paragraph on the inside pages yet huge amounts of media and parliamentary time are being spent on them whilst really important and achievable matters are ignored.

116. Charles (not the R one)

PacMan says:
    12 June, 2023 at 9:39 pm
    Business people who are looking to invest in the UK must look at these headlines and think the risk is to much to want to invest here.
    ………………………
    It is worse than that.
    Businesses already based in Scotland are quietly packing up and moving south of the Border, and others are making contingency plans to cover a move at short notice. This has been going on for a while.
    Money is being moved south too, and any number of individual people are buying properties in the north of England which they will call their primary residences.

The SNP is wholly responsible for what could be a catastrophic migration out of Scotland of talent, money, investment, and all. Scotland can ill-afford that, especially in the present economic circumstances.

Can the situation be saved?

Only time wil tell, and I am not optimistic.

117. Charles (not the R one)

sarah says:
    12 June, 2023 at 10:04 pm

Quiz question: What is the collective term for a host of squirrels?

A SCURRY of squirrels!

118. sarah

@ Charles [not the R one]: “A SCURRY of squirrels”

Excellent! Bet the Rev wishes he’d thought of that!

119. David Hannah

I listened to a few clips from that petition debate on the equality act.

Neale Hanvey is a class act. A proud gay man standing up for women.

I cringed so much at Kirsty Blackman. Everything about her including her space woman dress. She’s not from this planet!

120. David Hannah

Men should stand up for women. There’s no stronger voice than Neale Hanvey to do so. Massive respect.

121. Doug

Anyone know the official census figures 2021 for the number of people permanently moving to Scotland from England since 2011?

122. James Che

PacMan.

It is undoubtably true the genuine trans man or woman has great psychological problems and difficulties in life,

However that psychological issue they have, should not be transitioned or imposed on to children and women,

123. robertkknight

Charles (not R)

“It does perfectly highlight the emotional & psychological problems faced by people who transition.”

These are individuals who already have pre-existing emotional and psychological problems.

They are then exposed to the big pharma-funded Trans lobby, who convince them, (wrongly), that the cure to their anxiety and unhappiness and lack of fulfillment is to go under the knife and take body altering drugs in order to join the happy band of fellow travellers, (equally deluded), who have convinced themselves that they’re on a mission to make a better world for them and those like them.

Only later, when it sinks in that the Transgender Shangri-la as advertised by the cult doesn’t exist, and the realisation comes that the emotional and psychological problems experienced previously were not gender-related after all, do those same emotional and psychological problems return, often with tragic consequences.

The pied piper-like Trans lobby of course takes zero responsibility for such tragic consequences, and instead seek to blame wider society for failing to “be kind” or for being outright Transphobic. They refuse to admit that there are undoubtedly a vast percentage of individuals who regret going through the transition process, of which many I am sure suffer increased trauma and become clinically depressed, require medication, resort to self-harm or to taking their own lives – not because of how society regards them, but how they regard themselves.

There are elements of industry, the media and the body politic preying upon people who have mental illnesses simply in order to make money or to enhance their public profile through virtue signalling. The effects of their actions upon individuals, families and wider society is deplorable.

I have every sympathy with people who are so miserable that they see the only route to happiness is one which requires them to be drugged and mutilated. However, I do not believe that societal norms and hard fought women’s rights should be sacrificed in order to accommodate such individuals – there has to be a middle ground.

And as for the transvestites and fetishists and social anarchists who are largely responsible for the Trans Cult, don’t get me started! Suffice to say there is a world of difference between such individuals and those having had a clinical diagnosis of Gender Dysphoria. We should do well to remember that.

124. James Che

PacMan.

You have made wise comments.

125. Angus Files

Tom says:
    12 June, 2023 at 8:20 pm
    ‘Nicola Sturgeon would have suspended Nicola Sturgeon’

I guess that could be split personality self inflicted frontstabbing?

Voice 1.Your suspended!
    Voice 2.I am certain I have committed no offence’
    Voice 1.Your suspended!
    Voice 2.Its a shock and deeply distressing’
    Voice 1.Your suspended
    Voice 2.I’m innocent of any wrongdoing”
    Voice 1.Your suspended
    Voice 2.Many continue to show faith in me
    Voice 1.Your suspended
    Voice 2.I would never do anything to harm either the SNP or the country.

from wiki
    Dissociative Identity Disorder (Multiple Personality Disorder) A mental health condition, people with dissociative identity disorder (DID) have two or more separate personalities. These identities control a person’s behavior at different times.

DID can cause gaps in memory and other problems.

126. Ebenezer Scroggie

President Xiden says:
    12 June, 2023 at 6:54 pm
    >>>>
    Good evening, welcome to ‘double standards’ and here is your starter for 10. Which of these SNP politicians is the odd one out?

Natalie McGarry
    Michelle Thomson
    Mark McDonald
    Derek Mackay
    Patrick Grady
    Margaret Ferrier
    Alex Salmond
    Nicola Sturgeon.
    <<<<

Nice one!

The Queen of Cretins is above everything.

As Richard Nixon once said: it's not illegal if the President does it.

Of course she says she's "innocent", though she doesn't actually say what alleged crime she's innocent of.

She expressed a very sinister legal opinion when she said, after Alex Salmond was acquitted on all 13 charges, "Just because someone is found not guilty in a Court of Law doesn't mean that he's not guilty."

So much of what she says could have been written by Lewis Carroll.

127. James Che

If the Scottish court cases were open to the public with juries then it may be suggested that some of public may possibly be involved,

However it would still hold that a court during a court case cannot include all the people in Scotland on trial for contempt of court.
    There would be a legal perimeter in what constitutes a Court, and its legal vicinity in its jurisdiction,

If there were no limits to its boundaries that would include migrants and Europeans, England, wales, America, Ireland, africa, NZ the Isle of man,
    Each court pertains to a certain jurisdiction within its legal boundaries, and a court is never a country,

There is a reason that Courts have legal boundaries and limited jurisdiction,

128. A Scot Abroad

Anyone got an update on the ferries, which after all are pretty simple ships designed to do nothing more exciting than shuffle between reasonably local ports. One would think that a nation with such a great shipbuilding heritage could be knocking out those sorts of simple ships on time, and on budget, at the rate of one a month.

It’s not just the famous two drydock queens, it’s also the rest of CalMac’s fleet that need replacing. And yet the islanders are suffering, and it’s nothing to do with London.

129. Matt Quinn

I always amuses me to see people claiming to be ‘Journalists’ when they plainly have not a grain of training, let alone qualification in the basics of that profession… Equally well; members of the general public pontificating on points of law when they plainly do not have the slightest idea of what it is or how it works.

No credible media course omits a basic unit in law; in Scotland Scots law. – So there is really no excuse for anyone working at any level in the media to be pleading ignorance (unless they’re an utter charlatan) – which isn’t a defence anyway!

For those spouting absolute tripe on the matter of Contempt of Court in BTL comments, the relevant act in law is the Contempt of Court Act 1981 – it’s easily found online; read it and read the numerous ‘tutorials’ on the subject.

Whether, like a ‘Freeman On The Land’ loonball you imagine you know better, and also imagine that ‘somehow’ you can write your own definition of what’s what is irrelevant. – The law is what it is and no matter how much breathtakingly-childish, deranged, ignorant shite you write on the internet, you’re subject to it…

Posting fanciful garbage when you (very obviously) have never even sat through an ‘O’ grade Scots Law class at secondary school – only serves to mark you out as a bloody fool; and undermines the whole forum. – Seriously; just grow the fuck up! It’s past a joke!

For those looking for a ‘free’ resource to study and gain a basic understanding of how things have to work I’d advise ‘googling’ “The BJTC Media Law, Regulation & Ethics Handbook” which you will be able to download as a PDF – and before anyone says it; yes it’s biased towards England and Wales but is still entirely relevant in Scotland.

For those who are a little more serious – especially those who imagine they are ‘citizen journalists’ or worse; ‘professionals’ because they once got a postal order for two shillings and sixpence for an article published in ‘Trumpton monthly’… The standard text on which most basic courses are based is “McNae’s Essential Law for Journalists” …Nobody working in any form of media should be without a well thumbed (by themselves!) copy; I think we’re on the 26th edition now. It will cost you about £30.

Search for “HannaandHarrison_9780192847706_41_Online.pdf” and you’ll find the ‘Media Law in Scotland’ chapter – which y’all can read for free!

130. Scott Shaw

The more of them who end up in the pokie the better, even if its for something as stupid as this.

131. Gordon

I’m glad to see A Scot, A Broad is whistling in the dark and no one is challenging his ever more egregiously challenging posts.

77th brigade need a new source of ammo for their failed ChatBPT bot.

132. chic.mcgregor

Matt Quinn

Rarely have I seen a post on accuracy be undermined so early by an inability, right at the start, to spell the two letter word ‘It’.

133. robbo

chic.mcgregor says:
    13 June, 2023 at 12:37 am
    Matt Quinn

Rarely have I seen a post on accuracy be undermined so early by an inability, right at the start, to spell the two letter word ‘It’.

Excellent ! lol

134. Matt Quinn

“Chic.mcgregor says:
    13 June, 2023 at 12:37 am

Matt Quinn

Rarely have I seen a post on accuracy be undermined so early by an inability, right at the start, to spell the two letter word ‘It’.”

…However, I know how to spell the word Twat!

If you’ve any actual counter to the points made (however badly typed) do feel free.

135. Kcor

Shug says:
    12 June, 2023 at 6:35 pm

“I can’t believe Humza us not suspending Nicola or at the leas asking her to go voluntarily.”

How can he suspend his de facto boss or ask her to go voluntarily?

He is just a puppet.

136. Iain mhor

@Matt Quinn 12:07am

A timely rebuke.
    The best thing I ever hear, while engaged in the pursuit of whatever bureaucratically shackled endeavour I’m working on is: ‘The Law says you can’t do that’

Brilliant! Saves me a metric fukton of work, because I now know I most probably can do what I’m doing.
    This is simply because, in many, many years of ‘getting shit done’ almost every single instance of “Ye absolutely canny dae that because the rules/ regulation/ law says so’ has been utterly wrong. The vanishingly 1% was at least ‘open to interpretation’

What can, or cannot be done, is usually propagated down the chain via hearsay, through people who have never read the regulations, and assume the level above them did – nope.

Any Law is not difficult if one has a passable reading comprehension – “The Law says…” Naw, naw it dizny – that’s at very best, your interpretation of what the Law actually states.

Now that small point is the only issue I’d have with your rebuke.
    The Law always ‘states’ – what the Law does not do is interpret – it only states, and only very occasionally gives vague guidelines on the interpretation of what it states.

Betwixt what the Law states, and interpretation of that statement, is where lawyers, judges and the common pleb live – this is where ‘Case Law’ also lives.
    It is not the first time that a pleb has put a law (or contract, or otherwise) to the proof, and it has resulted in a ‘finding’ because there was a novelty of interpretation which stood proving.

This I know, because I’ve done it, severally, albeit from a close reading, of what is actually stated, and not hearsay.

The discussions BTL which claim an unequivocal position anent ‘Law’ are invariably wrong, and are worthy of your rebuke; those who seek to probe, query, test, or otherwise put a ‘Law’ to the proof (in the manner of uncertain enquiry) should be encouraged – because that’s precisely what is required to be become a ‘legal professional’

Thanks are due for your reference to McNae – required reading indeed – it consists mostly of what Law maybe means, what it maybe doesn’t mean, and how not to look a complete tit when you state you know exactly what a Law means… with examples.

137. Iain More

MI5 Agent Sturgeon is of course innocent. She cant possibly be anything but innocent.

138. A Scot Abroad

Gordon,

I don’t care particularly if anyone responds to me about the ferries, but I do know that perhaps 100,000 islanders care about them, and then there’s 200,000 summer tourists, and about 2,000 island businesses that care about them.

You might recognise that. The ferries (and CalMac’s wider fleet) are important, and have been absolutely shambolically shit upon by fucking useless Scots people in government, and in public administration, for years, and the utterly useless Scottish government, led by Scots, and directing Scottish public money to Scottish industry, haven’t got a clue as to how to put it right.

139. robbo

“Britain’s forgotten pensioners” on ch4. So fucking sad to watch this. Auld folk canny put their heating on, forced to pay standing charges for wanker shareholders in big company’s

2.1 million old pensioners living in poverty in UK in 2023. How fucking proud eh!

Better together in lovely UK MY ARSE . GET IT FUCKING ROON YE

Maybe, A scot abroad, John Main and thon Chas wan can furnish us with awe the answers eh

140. A Scot Abroad

Ian Mhor,

on the matter of the law, the Supreme Court recently ruled that Scotland only gets a referendum on Indy, under the law, via a S30 ruling. And that appears to be game, set, and match under the law.

141. robertkknight

Just spitballing, but does anyone know out of all the independent sovereign states that were formerly colonies of the British Empire, however many that was, what percentage of them gained their independence via referenda?

And of the remainder which didn’t employ referenda, how on earth was this feat of gaining independence even possible?

142. robbo

That was one of the saddest programs I’ve ever watched in my life.

C4 DIPSATCHES- “Britain’s forgotten pensioners”

Recommend folk watch this on catch up and then tell us why these energy companies get away with this.

Fucking disgrace.

143. Ebenezer Scroggie

Men = X + Y chromosomes

Women = X + X chromomes

Fuckall to do with nationality or nationalism.

Move on. Get a life.

144. Breeks

Shug says:
    12 June, 2023 at 7:02 pm

It is rather sad, Humza’s people are getting lots of good news stories out there about things the SNP is doing but nobody is listening.

All attention is in Nicola. He really has to make his own mark.

Sturgeon getting arrested is a good news story.

My only regret is it seems to be over a relative misdemeanor, not framing somebody as a sex offender and trying to jail him for the rest of his life, being party to conspiracy, perjury,and selling Scotland’s sovereign constitution, (which would have delivered Independence in 2016).

Did I say my “only” regret? I fear her Teflon Red-coat and friends in high places still have it in them to confound and deny Scotland justice one more time.

I genuinely cannot fathom why people cannot see Sturgeon for what she is, a rogue and a charlatan, someone grossly unprofessional, grifting for all she is worth.

Just ask yourself, how many careers have you had that ended in full blown disgrace, ignominy, and ultimately expulsion? One is unfortunate. Two is a damned scandal.

Sorry Shug, it will take more than a few good news stories to save the SNP from their monumental, (and totally self inflicted), humiliation on their current trajectory.

There’s a big difference between good news stories when we’re on the up, and good news stories launched to deflect attention away for dire misadventures which need to be dealt with and / or urgently rethought.

Eva Comrie sums up Humza really well. All he has to do is pick up the phone and talk to Alex Salmond.

Just imagine how the SNP’s fortunes would turnabout and change direction if Humza was to announce a fundamental realignment of SNP strategy and a new-formed alliance with ALBA under a Scotland United ticket?

You’ll have to imagine it of course, because there’s zero chance of it happening.

Frankly, that’s just as well, because the SNP would contribute precious little to that alliance beyond controversy and tainted “baggage”. I’m not even convinced they command electoral support any more. What else would they offer Scotland? A strategy? What?….

145. stuart mctavish

Brian Doonthetoon @4:19 pm

Cheers Brian – Exactly!

But give (ahem) institutionally racist societies enough time, and names like that risk becoming one.

146. Tommo

‘I’m not going to discuss an ongoing police investigation…I would never do that’ (Copyright N. Murrell)
    A short time later- ‘ I didnae do it- I wadnae’

147. Ron Clark

Good to see the Trolls went home last night without as much as a bite.

They sat at the end of the pier all night with their fishing rods out, hoping some clown would bite, and they got nothing.

Send these Troll wankers home tae think again, because their present plan is heading the same way as the SNP’s,,,down the toilet pan.

148. Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

The extreme negative hyperbole of this article and of many comments is dehumanising.

149. Ottomanboi

Unfortunately, it was the SNP leadership that got hoisted by the referendum pétard.
    Lacking confidence in the party’s ability to gain majorities we got the devo max/independence referendum mashup which the opposition has used to its advantage by exploiting the «once in a generation» mantra.
    The SNP had majorities and it chickened out.
    Was that all by design?
    Referenda are mostly used for changes to countries constitutions.
    In the former colonies of the British and French empires pro independence party success at elections set the trajectory, the colonial power, nevertheless, doing everything to subvert but with determined nationalist leadership, ultimately failing

150. Politically Homeless

It’s times like these one knows that the SNP would dearly love to pass a contempt of court act that applies to everything official and call it “contempt of the government”, or as they said in the good old ancien regime, lese mageste

151. Mac

I still marvel at the enormity of the injustice in sending Craig Murray to jail for doing sweet f**k all wrong and in fact doing the right thing. Compare his treatment compared to the living human slug, the physical embodiment of journalistic sleaze Neil MacKay. That article he published on the eve of the trial was beyond belief. Yet nothing, crickets as usual.

If anything sums up the two tier ‘justice’ (I really hate to even use that word in scare quotes) system that operates in Scotland just compare and contrast. Hell let’s throw in another fat bag of lying shit Liz Lloyd for good measure. She knows a thing or two about trying to prejudice an on going police investigation.

But oh noooos, it seems Police Scotland and COPFS can’t seem to work out what everyone else in Scotland already knows… another case of looking but never seeing what is right in front of their faces… while instead seeing hair pinging as sexual assault.

Yeah yeah yeah, it is GLARING. You are bent as fuck.

152. Dan

A Scot Abroad says: at 12:06 am

Anyone got an update on the ferries, which after all are pretty simple ships designed to do nothing more exciting than shuffle between reasonably local ports. One would think that a nation with such a great shipbuilding heritage could be knocking out those sorts of simple ships on time, and on budget, at the rate of one a month.

It’s not just the famous two drydock queens, it’s also the rest of CalMac’s fleet that need replacing. And yet the islanders are suffering, and it’s nothing to do with London.

From earlier in the year in case you missed it.
    Don’t get too triggered though as it’s by Alf Baird. 😉
    And seeing as you tried to eliminate folk from adding their input to energy matters because they didn’t know about ohm’s law, please list all your shipping / maritime / engineering qualifications and expertise, so we’ll know whether to put any worth on your opinions over that of Alf’s on ferry related matters.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2023/05/02/fixing-the-ferry-crisis/

153. Mac

The only way we are going to have a tiny chance of getting a modicum of real justice in Scotland is for us to relentlessly shame the Police and the COPFS into it.

Time to start calling them what they are. We should be mocking them. Ripping the absolute pish out of them. This is third world level shit. And that is probably an insult to the third world. This is worse in many ways. They all know better…

There are a lot of very good guys and gals in the legal profession but honestly I am sick of this shit.

By mocking them we daring the Police and COPFS to prove us wrong (by doing the right thing for once). I don’t think they can. The fish rots from the head down. There might be many good cops at the bottom but what power do they have to change anything. None it seems…

In many ways this last few years I can’t believe what I am seeing. It is really outrageous and people need to be held to account for it otherwise our democracy will be in real danger, in fact I am sure we have already passed that point.

Nothing will be done here about big flappy gob Anne is my bet.

If Scotland is not bent how can we all predict this successfully?

So this prediction is a good experiment testing the ‘Scotland is bent’ hypotheses.

Let’s await the results…

154. Republicofscotland

Nothing will happen to Mclaughlin she’s one of the clique, one of the in-crowd of the SNP, the COPFS will turn a blind eye, oh some of Police Scotland’s officers and commanders still want to see justice served, but the LA will put the kybosh on anything happening to McLaughlin, unless a scapegoat is required or an official complaint is made Sean Clerkin has what it takes to make an official complaint, pity Scotland didn’t have more of his ilk.

I recall Craig Murray saying in one of his threads that several so called UK MSM “journalists” had named one or two of the Alphabet women, and jigsaw identified them but as we suspected none of them were prosecuted.

Professor Alf Baird is spot on when he say our colonial administration

155. Stuart MacKay

Scotland Is A Society In Decline, https://www.conter.scot/2023/6/12/scotland-is-a-society-in-decline/

This is way, way too short and the article simply repeats the title. However it’s worth some time pondering over a coffee. I think it gets to the heart of the problem that Scotland is facing. If you can revive society (and everything else that goes with it) then you sort of indirectly fix the politician problem in the process. Yes, I know it’s the cretins making the rules that got us a long way into this mess and the cretins are intent on keeping themselves and their fellow cretins in power. However, power is granted and ultimately it’s the people who get the politicians they deserve. We simply have to ensure we deserve better.

In other words, if you can fix the things that matter to people then the Holyrood problem will fix itself. The politicians have lost their legitimacy and along with that, their right to have any say. We already see the first signs of this in the increase in support for independence as support for the SNP falls away.

156. Ottomanboi

Divide to conquer and rule.
    When the destination is confused by peripherals, as now, the rulers need not fear.
    Sturgeon and her brand SNP were false trails.
    The old destination is well over the cliffs of oblivion.
    Recalibrate.

157. Mac

What is dawning on a lot of people for the first time is that Nicola Sturgeon lies like she breathes. It is so easy to her. We all know it on here, seen many, many examples of it.

The whoppers she told when announcing her sudden resignation (after not meeting with topcop, who definitely did not tip her off about her impending arrest and house searches) and why she was resigning is the latest example where people now realize she was spinning them utter shite.

She stood there for ages that day talking utter bollocks about why she was suddenly resigning and then hoored herself around England’s TV slop-shows to repeat all the bollocks once again.

But now it is all obvious bullshite. As a tweet I saw said, ‘Bet NS is relieved she resigned a few months back for totally different reasons’.

Sturgeon demonstrably lies, and lies with ease, but the lies are just not (as) convincing anymore. Her routine is starting to wear thin, to grate.

Inevitably the Public start thinking, if she lied with such ease about all of this what else has she lied about…

There is going to be a tipping point if it continues… and if it does continue I could see public opinion really swinging hard against Nicola and Peter, and quite suddenly as well relatively speaking.

I really don’t think it would take much more here…

158. SteepBrae

Dan 8.35am.

Thanks for the link to this article by Prof Baird. Should be a gift to the decision makers. What is holding them back?

The article follows “a meeting on 27th April between the SNP’s Kevin Stewart, Transport Minister, and maritime specialist Professor Alfred Baird and his colleague, catamaran designer Dr Stuart Ballantyne, to discuss and embrace a progressive policy of commissioning the build of catamarans for use between the islands, and not costly monohull ships”.

It’s worth posting a couple of extracts:
    “It is important to note that catamarans, as well as being acquired for less than half the price of a monohull, also have around half the annual operating cost of monohulls, plus half the emissions per car-space. This means that operating cost and emission savings for catamarans compared with heavy displacement monohulls are very substantial indeed when taken over the expected operating 25-year+ lifetime of a ferry”.

Prof Baird’s DEVELOPMENT PROPOSAL TO FIX THE SCOTTISH FERRY CRISIS begins:
    “On the matter of Scottish Government ferry agencies claim to being ‘neutral’ on the issue of catamarans, this is clearly incorrect as the present intentionally restrictive ferry procurement process only specifies strict monohull (single hull) ferry parameters. If state ferry agencies wished to consider the vastly superior competitiveness, reduced environmental impacts and improved safety aspects of catamarans then this needs to be allowed for in their procurement process; currently it does not.

“Scottish Ministers question why there are “only six similar catamaran ferries” to those in Orkney operating in northern Europe, the implication being that this vessel type is unpopular?

“In fact, there are hundreds of catamaran ferries operating in northern Europe, and well over one thousand worldwide. Some 100 catamarans operate in Norway alone. These are mostly passenger craft under 50m length, however, at least 10 catamarans in Norway also carry vehicles.

“Vehicle carrying catamaran ferries also operate in Denmark, Sweden, Germany, The Netherlands, and across the Irish Sea to Ireland and Isle of Man, as well as (also a trimaran) to the Channel Islands. Many of these are high-speed craft”.

So what is going on?

159. Shug

It is hard to imagine why Nicola would promote such a person with so few relevant skills to Shadow Minister for Justice.

To promote someone without any knowledge of legal matters to such a position can only be an act of sabotage.

This can’t be about promoting somone you can control, it is an act designed to weaken the movement and any response to activities in Westminster.

I am afraid the SNP has been so heavily infiltrated it is possible to promote the most unsuitable
    , to positions of influence where they can bring their incompetence more fully to bare.

160. Alf Baird

A Scot Abroad @ 2:51 am

“You might recognise that. The ferries (and CalMac’s wider fleet) are important, and have been absolutely shambolically shit upon by fucking useless Scots people in government, and in public administration, for years”

‘Scots people’? In fact, the key decision makers on ferry policy and procurement in the UK-SG civil service and in its ferry agency CMAL dealing with the two undelivered hulls 801/02 were not Scottish. Neither are the current and previous CEOs of Ferguson’s shipyard ‘Scottish’.

Most of the big decisions in a colony are of course left to those appointed from ‘the mother country’, or to those who hold the same values. Colonialism, as your comment demonstrates, depends on “debasing the colonized” and where “everything about the colonized is deficient” (Albert Memmi). Dependency culture is where the oppressed group accept this myth.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/11/12/how-to-end-the-madness/

161. Stephen O'Brien

Many SNP politicians currently undergoing counselling, to make the transition to ALBA, should prepare to be sorely disappointed.

Acquired Devolution Certification, non-renewable!

If some SNP officials wish to continue the charade of being a politician, they should do so in the privacy of their own home. Just don’t expect the rest of us, to vote for them, come election time 🙂

Governance Recognition Refused!

162. Xaracen

A Scot Abroad said;

“on the matter of the law, the Supreme Court recently ruled that Scotland only gets a referendum on Indy, under the law, via a S30 ruling. And that appears to be game, set, and match under the law.”

There is much more to the matter than Westminster’s legislation, and it is perfectly clear that not all laws made by Westminster are valid within the Union.

I’ve made this argument before that any legislation passed by Westminster by a majority of England’s MPs but without a majority of Scotland’s MPs cannot be deemed valid Union legislation, because in that case clearly the Union didn’t pass it. Only England passed it, and England by itself isn’t the Union in any rational definition, and therefore has no bloody business passing UK legislation on its own.

And let’s have no crap about all MPs are UK MPs so any majority is a UK majority, because that is irrelevant, since it deliberately ignores the most basic fact of the Union; it’s a Union! It’s a Union of two sovereign kingdoms, and each kingdom is represented in the Westminster parliament by its own set of MPs. That means those ‘UK’ MPs are not a single homogenous body, because one group represents the English partner as the English Principal of the Treaty that founded the Union, and the other group represents the Scottish partner as the Scottish Principal of the Treaty that founded the Union. And that’s it.

Two equally sovereign Kingdoms, two different sovereignies, two countries, two crowns, two monarchies, two constitutions, two legal systems, two national religions, two Principals of the Treaty, two bodies of MPs representing them in the Union’s parliament, and two bloody votes, one from each of those two bodies. Which bit of ‘Union’ do you and Westminster not get?

163. dasBlimp

Alf Baird says:
    13 June, 2023 at 10:05 am

Blah blah. Off again about colonial theory. In fact, the English know more about post-colonial theory because they have been colonised since 1066 by the Franco/Normans. Their land was stolen from them by French barons (whose descendants still own it to this day) and they were forced to speak French. Does that ring any bells with you? They are not even citizens but subjects of the crown. So if Scotland is colonised – it is colonised by the French. So you see – there is always someone worse off than yourself.

164. Northcode

. . . the manager’s boy put his insolent black head in the doorway, and
    said in a tone of scathing contempt—“Mistah Kurtz—he dead.”

That’s a line from Joseph Conrad’s novella ‘Heart of Darkness’.

Which was the inspiration for the movie, Apocalypse Now.

Except in the movie Kurtz wasn’t Mistah Kurtz, he was Colonel, like ‘A Scot Abroad’, Kurtz. Anyone here willing to play the role of Captain Willard?

Conrad knew very well that, grammatically, a verb was required to make a complete sentence, but the line “Mr. Kurtz is dead” would have been neither striking nor memorable.

So, he made a deliberate mistake?

That raises all sorts of philosophical questions about whether a mistake can be deliberate. But we aren’t concerned with those.

We’re concerned with linguistic questions about what correct English grammar is, and whether one person ever really has the right to tell another person they’re wrong.

The ancients in their wisdom considered these very questions.

And of course the ancients, because there was no telly back then and they had nothing else to do, gave a name to when a phrase stands out because of its unusual grammar.

Enallage (e-NALL-aj-ee) is a rhetorical figure used when deploying a deliberate grammatical mistake.

‘Heart of Darkness’ is 39,000 words long, but those four words, “Mistah Kurtz—he dead.”, are probably the most remembered.

It the bad grammar what do make the phrase. That enallage, that – which, if you’ve been paying attention, is also diacope.

165. Mac

If you look at the behaviour of Sturgeon over the entirety of both attempted stitch-ups of Salmond, knowing all of what we know now, it is very clear she is a ‘bad actor’ in all of it. It is impossible IMHO to look at the detail and the entirety of her actions and convince yourself otherwise.

So bearing that in mind it is worth looking back to the very start of the very first attempted stitch up (the one that was thwarted by the highest civil judges in Scotland in the Court of Session).

Right at the very start of that stitch-up and long before any meetings were called with Salmond or his chief of staff, Sturgeon strangely (for such a renowned a control freak) handed over the responsibilities for handling such ‘internal’ complaints to Leslie Evans. Prior to that it would have been her who had the ultimate authority.

So Sturgeon clearly knew what was coming at that point and did not want to get her hands dirty personally. That decision to hand it over to Evans is the first moment that you ‘know’ IMHO that Sturgeon was preparing the ground for the attempted first stitch-up. And if she was preparing the ground for the coming stitch-up she must also have known the identity (some) of the ‘accusers’ they were lining. It is completely implausible to think otherwise now with hindsight.

So Sturgeon has been lying about all of this from the very very origins of it, way back. The switch to Evans won’t even be the real start of the first stitch-up. That decision to handover to Evans must have come out of an even earlier planning meeting or meetings… amongst no doubt the same cast of ‘inner circle’ suspects.

Handing it over to Evans tells you that Sturgeon knew fine well what was planned as early as then. Who having seen Sturgeon in action in all the years since would honestly now believe that decision to handover to Evans was just an innocent co-incidence. Not a f**king chance.

They thought by doing it a few months prior to the official start of the first stitch-up it would slip under the radar but no it doesn’t. You have to go back and include that decision, it was clearly part of the stitch-up preparation, and is the earliest point you can say that Sturgeon knew what was coming with certainty IMHO.

We are talking about a foundation of lies that started right at the beginning and have continued endlessly. Pretending she did not know the identity of the accusers etc… all of this was trying to cover her very early tracks.

I am long past the point where I don’t believe anything Sturgeon says. We are talking about levels of deceit and betrayal here that are unimaginable to ordinary people. For Sturgeon it is just another day at work.

166. Xaracen

Xaracen said;

“Which bit of ‘Union’ do you and Westminster not get?”

Actually, I know exactly which bit of ‘Union’ you and Westminster don’t get. It’s the bit that denies England it’s power over Scotland.

167. Northcode

Mistah ‘A Scot Abroad’ – he dumb.

168. sam

Lisn bud lisn

169. sam

Ah, colonialism in the UK. Funny how it lingers on after Empire. From Kenya to Aden to NI to Iraq. What propensity drives that?

170. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chic.mcgregor at 12:37 am.

You commented,
    “Rarely have I seen a post on accuracy be undermined so early by an inability, right at the start, to spell the two letter word ‘It’.”

I’ve just started reading that PDF and the only use of “it” that I can see ‘right at the start’ is in “the Scottish legal system and its judiciary” where the possessive form of “it” is spelled correctly.
    Perchance you’re confusing it with the contraction “it’s”, meaning “it is” or “it has”?

171. douglas leighton

David Hannay @10.36

“I cringed so much at Kirsty Blackman. Everything about her including her space woman dress. She’s not from this planet!”

I recognised the dress material because I bought one for my 5yo granddaughter.It was supplied by a very small company through the online marketing outlet-Etsy. I was surprised to see it because I had the impression it was a design intended for children. I thought it notable(odd?) that she chose something so ‘youthful’ for her commons speaking event.

As for Kirsty Blackman’s performance in the debate. Her speech left me speechless.It was very troublingly inept.

The speech has generated comment on Twitter regarding the visibly scornful reactions of Joanna C and N. Hanvey who were visible behind Ms B as she spoke.

The speech was one of the worst I have seen in the commons(and there have been many dire efforts over the years).

It was embarrassing to think that a handsomely paid professional communicator could talk such gibberish about the Trans issue. And what does it say about the leadership?

She has been busily twittering this AM to try to undo the damage but I think she has actually made it worse.
    I know nothing about her but I noticed a comment that she was once a medical student so one must assume basic education is not an issue. I wrote to her when I lived in Aberdeen to discuss CCS but her reply suggested she was very poorly informed about the subject and the issues around climate change.It was a typical waffly fobbing off type of reply.

I was making the point (yesterday)here, that some of the twitter contributions of SNP supporters and representatives contribute greatly to the gaiety of the nation while making very little sense or any contribution to our hopes for independence.

I have rarely noticed it before (i.e. have not thought about it) that the calibre of the current SNP representation is extremely ‘variable’ and I can’t help thinking that the current wave of dissatisfaction within the SNP may be related to some ‘peculiar’ deficit of intellect within the ranks of the elected.

Some mischief makers even suggest that their selection was related to the qualities that Ms Sturgeon was comfortable with.

This resonates very strongly with my memory of the calibre of Scotlab in the period before SNP dominance.
    Breathtaking and laughable incompetence was frequently on display at that time.
    As Rev. Campbell might say there were many trained fork’n knife operators among the elected reps of Scotlab. at that time.
    Are we living through a reprise of that period but with SNP replacing Scotlab?

172. willie

Quite frankly Kirsty Blackman is an absolute waste of space. How anyone could have voted for this piece of toilet tailings I have no idea.

This woman or whatever she is an absolute disgrace. People are struggling with the cost of living crisis, a failing health service, a declining economy and this thing gets up and talks about her genitals.

Could you imagine Rishi Sunak getting up on his hind legs and talking about his cock and whether it’s different from anyone else’s. Or Theresa May talking about the shape of her fanny.

Welcome to the world of the elected SNP. Time we made the SNP history is about all I can say.

173. Geoff Bush

This may be a dumb question – but is Nicola Sturgeon herself not in contempt of court for commenting on a live case ?

174. mark

I am no fan of Sturgeon or this cretin, but merely commenting on the case is not contempt of court. There must be a “substantial risk that the course of justice in the proceedings in question will be seriously impeded or prejudiced”: 1981 Act, sec 2(2). On what planet does a ridiculous, bald statement that Sturgeon is innocent create that risk? Let’s be honest, it doesn’t and it is not contempt of court. So there is no point trying to draw a false equivalence with other cases.

175. Ebenezer Scroggie

Is the Poileas description of the arrested person “a 52 year old woman” not a ‘jigsaw identification’ offence under the Contempt of Court laws?

Worthy of an eight month prison sentence, surely.

176. Northcode

@A Scot Abroad

I withdraw my comment of @11:09 am.

Sometimes my wit runs away with me, and I forgot that you and I have a truce in place.

On reflection I feel that my remark was unwarranted and overly personal.

177. Liz

@alf baird.
    The fact the trolls are dissing you means you scare them.
    I welcome your posts so more power to your elbow.

As for McLaughlin, of course she hasn’t a clue about the law despite being SNP justice minister – what a joke she is

178. David

Kirsty Blackman is so dumb. Remember she dressed up as an impoverished constituent unable to pay for her heating during the winter?

179. ephemeraldeception

@Doug – “Anyone know the official census figures 2021 for the number of people permanently moving to Scotland from England”

There are no such stats as far as I can tell.

However there are census figures broken down by region for how many of the current population in a region were born elsewhere in the UK other than Scotland. Which will be mostly from England.

However its a better stat as it shows %age influencing voting patterns who do not have a Scottish background or culture for the most part.

I live in France and cannot vote here just like most immigrants cannnot in most counties unless they adopt its nationality. Except Scotland has no nationality of its own it has a pêrsona instead called British, which is just a synonym for English. Just ask any person of any other country in the world outside the uk and some of its colonies.

Anyway I was back in Scotland a few weeks ago for the 1st time in yeasr and was shopping in Campbeltown. I was amazed at the number of English accents, mostly retired people, gouping together. It stood out as I am not used to hearing such accents in France obviously. It felt like I was in a ghetto.

So, I checked the stats – In Argyll 25% of the population are now from elsewhere in the UK. I dont have the link but is easy to verify. This will be a serious cultural impact on the many rural communities where anglisization is already having an impact. Eg I am now seeing locals pronounce Machrihanish as Mackrihanish. What the fcuk!

Nevermind, I am out of the indy game and having a better life in France where at least the French vote for what the French get. To paraphrase Fish, its tough being a Scot – no matter where you are or travel to in the world the land under our feet is never our own!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.