The invisible truth

Posted on February 12, 2012 by

There are some stories which persist long after they’ve been debunked, a recent example being Joan McAlpine’s supposed accusation that anyone opposing the SNP was “anti-Scottish”. However many times it was shown that she didn’t say any such thing, however often she explained what she HAD said, the lie kept being perpetuated (and will doubtless continue to be in the coming months and years) by people who knew full well it wasn’t true, because it suited their agenda to do so.

The notion that Scotland is massively subsidised by England is another such political legend, and we don’t imagine for a second that this story from today’s Sunday Times will stop the endless stream of idiots on the Telegraph, Mail and Express (both above and below the line) from continuing to assert it at every opportunity.

But at least now you can handily link them to the actual facts, even if they don’t want to hear them. The full article can be read below.

The attributing to Scotland of only 83% of North Sea oil revenues (international law points to over 90% of such resources belonging to Scotland in the event of independence) is a touch controversial, and suggests that the reality would in fact be a slight subsidy of the rest of the UK by Scotland, but this’ll serve the purpose for now.

4 to “The invisible truth”

1. Bugger (the Panda) says:

plus VAT, defence underspend, corporation taxes etc.

2. Shodan says:

Don't forget the London and English figures are heavily massaged by comparison. They can borrow where Scotland cannot, London/England spends being classed as "UK" and so cutting into the Scots budget and the cost being spread throughout the UK instead, there's the bailouts and free money printing that goes straight to London, the fact that most the money being attributed to London is from the heavily corrupt and decaying financial industry that is crippling the rest of the country (and world). The list goes on.

Scotland's situation where it has healthier exports and lower spends gives it a much rosier future.

3. Longshanker says:

…now you can handily link them to the actual facts,…

I wouldn't be so bold as to call them 'actual facts'. They appear to me to be 'actual conclusions'. Nevertheless, nice article for rebuffing the old cliche of 'subsidy junkies'.

4. Longshanker says:

Then again. Maybe not.

link to bbc.co.uk

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,858 Posts, 1,233,238 Comments

• Dan on A matter of class: “@ Franchise Fanny Aye, maybe in your screwed up delusional head ya trolling bawbag. Guess your highly selective and twisted…Dec 28, 18:46
    • David Holden on A matter of class: “Is it a full moon or something as the trolls seem to be hunting in packs. I wonder if you…Dec 28, 18:45
    • Northcode on A matter of class: “The psychology behind the colonization of the mind is interesting… and very powerful. I read an article on psychology… years…Dec 28, 18:27
    • James on A matter of class: “Dan; yip, Unionist Troll Central on here now, both attack and concern varieties…They’e f*cking endless. Tragic.Dec 28, 17:54
    • Northcode on A matter of class: “Alf Baird @2:40 pm “I was long resistant to suggestions that Scotland has been colonised. But as I read Alf…Dec 28, 17:51
    • sam on A matter of class: ““Even the name ‘British Empire’ is fake, a disguise for a locus of power in London which in which the…Dec 28, 17:41
    • Mark Beggan on A matter of class: “Q.What do you call a person who likes to spend other people’s money? A. A socialist.Dec 28, 17:29
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “….feel free to banish me from this shithole you’ve allowed to be filled with trolls for evading your ridiculous moderation…Dec 28, 17:25
    • Mark Beggan on A matter of class: “Child: When I grow up I want to be a socialist. Parent: You can’t do both.Dec 28, 17:18
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “I particularly liked the conclusion: The Nationalism of the Scottish National Party is not based on ethnicity but territory, it…Dec 28, 17:17
    • Dan on A matter of class: “Or alternatively, to do a way with endless yak, jist go with the simple abbreviated version in the dictionary. colony…Dec 28, 17:02
    • Captain Caveman on A matter of class: ““Some of the many things said about the English is that they treat nothing seriously and the men are sublimated…Dec 28, 16:48
    • sam on A matter of class: “https://journal.thenewpolis.com/archives/1.1/Saville-Smith.pdf “The matter is settled, Scotland is not a Colony because it was part of an Incorporating Union. But what…Dec 28, 16:27
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “You may be right. Reform’s rise seems mostly to be cannibalising disillusioned Tory voters and the hard core brexiteers though:…Dec 28, 16:21
    • James Cheyne on A matter of class: “Xaracen, I take on board you’re excellent analyses of the position of Scotland territory and Sovereignty still belonging to the…Dec 28, 16:14
    • TURABDIN on A matter of class: “Some of the many things said about the English is that they treat nothing seriously and the men are sublimated…Dec 28, 16:13
    • Captain Caveman on A matter of class: “In actuality, Andy, I believe British nationalism is enjoying quite the renaissance of late, most notably in the form of…Dec 28, 15:19
    • Alf Baird on A matter of class: “““The intellectually low lumens” (wattage at a push) … metaphor to compare intellect to the brightness of light” Yes Northcode,…Dec 28, 14:40
    • Mark Beggan on A matter of class: “For those who can. I hope you are feeding the wee birds this winter. They also need fresh water at…Dec 28, 14:35
    • Northcode on A matter of class: ““Of course your keyboard being all sticky can’t help either.” Intellectual my perfectly smooth and rounded porcelain buttocks, Andy Inglis.…Dec 28, 13:47
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “I’ve thought for a long time that the chief reason the British nationalist project is “going down the pan” was…Dec 28, 13:20
    • Alf Baird on A matter of class: “The ““Scotland as colony” narrative – is perfectly legitimate”, especially so for those having studied postcolonial theory in depth, then…Dec 28, 13:11
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “@ Northcode Correction: “que the inevitable…” should, of course, read as “cue the inevitable…” I guess that’s what happens when…Dec 28, 13:05
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on A matter of class: “Book review I did a few years ago which may be of interest to some – ‘CANADIAN GAELDOM: FADED FOOTPRINT…Dec 28, 13:00
    • Northcode on A matter of class: “Correction: “que the inevitable…” should, of course, read as “cue the inevitable…”Dec 28, 12:17
    • TURABDIN on A matter of class: “@ ANDY ELLIS, ENGLAND OR UK is going to the dogs, finished according to taxi drivers and Hampstead dinner party…Dec 28, 12:11
    • Northcode on A matter of class: ““Your contribution is little more than we’d expect from the intellectually low voltage usual suspects in here…” “The intellectually low…Dec 28, 12:03
    • Xaracen on A matter of class: “@James Cheyne; 1- The 1707 Treaty did not expire with the Irish treaty in 1800! Technically, the English/Irish agreement wasn’t…Dec 28, 11:56
    • Andy Ellis on A matter of class: “@ Alf 11.33am I happen to agree with the OP, however my contributions being directed towards addressing the wall to…Dec 28, 11:49
    • Alf Baird on A matter of class: “A point to note is that “Your contribution” to the subject matter of the article itself is non-existent, your purpose…Dec 28, 11:33