Kettle, meet pot

Posted on February 11, 2012 by

It’s almost like they don’t even know they’re doing it, the poor loves.

“The First Minister was selective in his definition of a ‘gauleiter’ in the Holyrood chamber on Thursday.”

That’s Ruth Davidson, quoted disapproving of the FM’s shady behaviour in a Scottish Conservatives press release today. And it’s a strong point – there’s nothing worse than using definitions selectively to support your own case, right? But wait, what’s this?

“Alex Salmond described it as the kind of decision made by a tin-pot dictatorship populated by ‘gauleiters’ – which, according to the Chambers dictionary is a Nazi official.”

That’s the very same press release, just a few lines earlier. And unless we’re very much mistaken, what it’s doing is… you guessed it, readers. It’s selectively quoting from the dictionary definition of a “gauleiter”. Oops! Our wife’s going to kill us, etc.

But in fact, it’s rather worse than just selective – as the Collins definition quite clearly notes, “Gauleiter” in a Nazi context must have a capital “G”, because all German nouns are capitalised. If you write the word all in lower-case (as the Tory press release attributes to the FM) you’re explicitly citing the non-Nazi definition, which means that according to the Tories themselves, Salmond’s usage is correct and theirs is wrong.

And the Chambers definition they refer to makes things worse still – it explicitly refers to the Nazi definition as “historical”, meaning the current usage of the word is indeed to describe a petty bureaucrat. It also states that the former definition is only applicable to the period “under the Nazi regime”, which as far as we’re aware ended in 1945. (Germany has no Gauleiters nowadays.) In other words, unless you’re directly referring to specific events that took place in Germany under Adolf Hitler, the ONLY legitimate current definition of the word “gauleiter” is the one the First Minister used.

We’re sure the Scottish Conservatives would be embarrassed at this shocking display of both rank hypocrisy and basic grammatical ignorance, except that looking at what they’re doing to the unemployed, the disabled, and the sick at the moment, we’re forced to conclude that the Tories have no shame at all.

1. 12 02 12 17:33

Round Up #01: Jan – Feb 2012 « Skull and Saltire

7 to “Kettle, meet pot”

1. Scottish republic says:

It's pathetic that's the best they've got is this against our natonal movement.  But that is all they've got because they are sitting on 300 years of corrupt empire building which has been reduced to zilch.
    We on the other hand wish to accomplish something for our country and countryfolk

2. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Ruth Davidson appears to be an idiot.

That is a selective quotation from me.

3. Shodan says:

Ruth also "forgets" about all the comparisons to dictators that have been made to Alex, as she fails to complain or bring this up at any time. When SNP members are outright insulted or threatened they are told it should be shrugged off by her and her kind. She also fails to notice that the very same term has been used in parliament many times, by her own party no less. If it is okay for MPs, Lords and the media to use it and she doesn't complain about it then she's only making herself look pathetic and hypocritical, but then this is Ruth Davidson and she is rather dim and a very bad politician.

Would we expect any better from someone who used valuable FMQ time to call someone fat instead of doing anything worth while or to justify her pay? This is how far the unionists have sunk. Truly pathetic bunch.

4. Diane says:

Every day is a school day right enough.
    By the way, how does one pronounce it?

5. Shodan says:

Big news for Scotland today. Apparently Whitney Housten has died. A tragic blow for the independence movement, I'm sure you will agree:

link to newsnetscotland.com

The SNP and Scotland will never recover from this. Thank goodness for quality journalism at NNS raising the bar and letting us know about all these Scottish events.

6. Shodan says:

@ Diane

GOW-LIGHTER, from what I can tell.

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

@Shodan, Diane: Yes, that's correct.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,866 Posts, 1,234,359 Comments

• James Cheyne on Governing For Beginners: “It is time for four separate nations to regain their own border control, to regain their laws that keep them…Jan 14, 12:28
    • Alf Baird on Governing For Beginners: “Yes James, we are indeed products of our environment. As colonialism ‘is based on psychology’ (Cesaire) this means that in…Jan 14, 12:18
    • James Cheyne on Governing For Beginners: “One of the unforeseen damage control that all nations in Britain can play a part in is for the people…Jan 14, 12:14
    • James Cheyne on Governing For Beginners: “There is a need by people in general to regain there focus from events further afield to the circumstances of…Jan 14, 11:39
    • 100%Yes on Governing For Beginners: “The term “Claim of Right” refers to two significant historical documents in Scotland: the Claim of Right Act 1689 and…Jan 14, 11:14
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: “A great post, Lorna. There are some hopeful signs that people are starting to face reality once again. Wilful ignorance…Jan 14, 10:28
    • Aidan on Governing For Beginners: “James isn’t going to the UN Hatey, there is no chance they’ll give an ESTA or a visa to someone…Jan 14, 10:07
    • 100%Yes on Governing For Beginners: “Does any one listen to this guy “David McGuinness” he’s asking James Kelly ” James I want to interview so…Jan 14, 10:01
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: “You tell us, James. Surely the UN must be back at work by now? We’re half way through January, FFS!Jan 14, 09:10
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: “How fortunate then that we narrowly avoided a fourth in 1745/46. Although, technically, that would have disrupted the numbering somewhat.Jan 14, 09:08
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: “I am thinking about it, Dave, and I am smiling. It’s good news. You could play a part too. Even…Jan 14, 09:01
    • Cynicus on Governing For Beginners: ““A country that has had kings called David, Alexander, Constantine and James” ========= A formidable four names. It has also…Jan 14, 00:46
    • DaveL on Governing For Beginners: “Aww diddums, poor wee Hatey you’re upset. Just think of the long range missile the UK Government has decided to…Jan 14, 00:26
    • James on Governing For Beginners: ““Are we there yet?”Jan 14, 00:06
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Governing For Beginners: “The motto of Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar (Western Isles Council) is: “ÀRDAICHIDH FÌREANTACHD CINNEACH” That is the Gaelic version of…Jan 13, 23:38
    • Kate L on Governing For Beginners: “This is absolutely excellent. Enjoyed every word.Jan 13, 22:09
    • Dunx on Governing For Beginners: “It’s not right wing to expect citizens to contribute to the state. “From each according to their ability…” Karl Marx.Jan 13, 21:51
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: ““Truly America is chosen, though for what” Blethers, Alf. Just ask any of the tens of millions of illegals the…Jan 13, 21:30
    • Alf Baird on Governing For Beginners: ““Truly America is chosen, though for what is open to much rumination.” Being an artificial imperial construct that systematically obliterated…Jan 13, 21:11
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: “I am pleased, Dave, very pleased. My mates may or may not be winning, but so far, they’re not losing…Jan 13, 21:07
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: ““Religion in the western world has had it’s day” Oh dear, Chas. Oh deary deary me. We’re into the end…Jan 13, 20:37
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: ““I’m sure that’s how Stevenson saw it, too” Naw, you’re nae. You’ve found a good way to keep warm though,…Jan 13, 20:25
    • Hatey McHateface on Governing For Beginners: “1707 is around one hour before I usually start my denner. On a school day. Weekends are less predictable.Jan 13, 20:17
    • GM on Governing For Beginners: “Frightening.Jan 13, 20:12
    • Northcode on Governing For Beginners: ““Well, I did study history at a Scottish university. At the time Sarah is talking about, pre-1707…” Hard to believe,…Jan 13, 19:31
    • factchecker on Governing For Beginners: “Well, I did study history at a Scottish university. At the time Sarah is talking about, pre-1707, “direct democracy” as…Jan 13, 19:00
    • Aidan on Grandpa John’s Nightmare: “Breaking into a factory and attacking a policewomen with a hammer so severely that it broke her spine is an…Jan 13, 18:33
    • Rev. Stuart Campbell on Grandpa John’s Nightmare: ““And who is reporting on the woman on hunger strike languishing in an English jail for peaceful legitimate protest. Now…Jan 13, 18:17
    • Stuart on Governing For Beginners: “Dictator! Not even close to being a patch on “Junta” by West End Games, the best evening of double crossing,…Jan 13, 18:15
    • Sargie on Governing For Beginners: “This is superb. Thank you!Jan 13, 16:37