The Great British Success Story

Posted on August 12, 2014 by

This isn’t a spoof. We checked.

btstewartwhytefoodbanks

It was posted on the “Better Together Aberdeenshire” Facebook page by Scottish Conservative activist Stewart Whyte, who teaches history at Aboyne Academy.

stewartwhyte

It’s an instructive insight into the No campaign’s mindset. Foodbanks aren’t a problem to be solved, a shameful blight on a rich society, but an acceptable, “enriching” norm to be pleased about. We don’t think any more needs to be said.

4 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 15 08 14 04:45

Experts And Facts | A Greater Stage

2. 16 08 14 16:17

the rose of all the world (is not for me)

3. 25 08 14 16:12

What a difference a day makes | Are We Really Better Together?

569 to “The Great British Success Story”

1. ken500

The reason there are NO posters/banners around Aberdeenshire is Burnett who owns half of it and is married to a relative of the Queen. An ok guy but a complete landowning Tory. This sentiment is not a reflection of the local populous. The majority will still vote YES. The teacher should be sacked.

2. Sandra Wilson

Did anybody else notice that the woman on the Inverness panel, in response to a no voter’s question/comment called him by his first name? Coincidence that she knew him? Aye I am paranoid.

3. Achnababan

Lesley-Anne: I think you are close with your suggestions there Achnababan except your suggestion will be missing. Trident will NOT be negotiable, it WILL be gone by 2020 provided there is an SNP government returned to Holyrood…

I agree – I should have said the timescale for removal of Trident would be negotiable!

4. caz-m

I received this email from Livestream,

“Yes Kirkintilloch, Lenzie & Villages”

“Wed Aug, 13 2014 7:30PM — Wed Aug, 13 2014 9:00PM.”

No more details are on the email.

Does anyone have anymore information on this meeting tonight.

We need to get these meetings packed out with the undecided voters in the Kirkie area.

5. Grouse Beater

What Westminster offers Scotland in not democracy but plutocracy, where the wealthy rule.

6. Ian Sanderson

It will be interesting to see what history makes of this history teacher… (I should live so long…!)

7. Robert Peffers

@Lesley-Anne says:12 August, 2014 at 11:58 pm:

“FINALLY Calgacus, Danny Alexander tells the TRUTH!”

Perhaps somene has reminded Danny of the old Scottish saying, “Honest men dinna cairy salmon under thir coats”.

8. john king

Lesley-Anne says
    “Jim Murphy and his gang of dumbledorks!”

Is that no a group?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1iSrARujmYM

caz-m says”“We’d rather have a Panda than a Prince”. (Tartan Army Song).

I think it should be called “Independence”

Why dont we ask Ricky Ross?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgs6E156B3Q

Lesley-Anne says
    “Well to be fair to Westminster Jim they do need every penny they can get hold of you know. I mean what with their two, cheap at half the price, aircraftless aircraft carriers still in production, Cross Rail and everything else they need to find the money from somewhere don’t they? Who better to step up to the plate and *ahem* offer to fill the financial gap but the poor, ill, infirm, disabled, elderly, jobless, low paid. I mean they get money and what on earth do they do but squander it needlessly on irrational things like light, heating and food. Who on earth do these people think they are for gawd’s sake? ”

Thats it,
    stop right there,
    get that on a billboard!

Desimond @ 5.17
    !
    No words required.

Nana Smith says
    “Anyone believe this…”

Show me the money!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OaiSHcHM0PA

Jim MacIntosh says
    “O/T anyone understand this, or where it comes from, just noticed someone link to it on YES Scotland page.”

Sounds like bluster to me, or someone who hasnt a clue what he/she is talking about,
    Anyway good luck taking THAT argument to the ICJ
    Donald anderson says
    “Fat pig.”

Skinny get. 🙂

Faltubh says
    ” I’ve no doubt that most posh folks and English will vote no.”

Im not so sure about that Faltubh
    driving around (which we do a lot of) my navigator ( the wife) has made a point of counting and noting where she sees yes posters and flags, and the bulk of them are to be found (at least where we go) in/on private homes, so homeowners/middle class are not at all more likely to vote no ,well not in my opinion anyway.

9. ken500

One person is putting up all the 200 – NO signs, and complaining if they are vandalised.

An abuse of privilege.

10. Dorothy Devine

Good debate last night ,apart from “Mrs Undecided ” .
    Too tired to watch Andre Neil and his buddies – may catch up tomorrow ,may not bother.

Cameron , I have never had success with cling film .Apart form swearing at the roll when attempting to use the stuff the best I have ever achieved was polythene string. Much like my success rate with super glue ,which finds fingers stuck , object to be stuck free as the proverbial bird.

Regarding my insanitary keyboard I may have to employ a mouse , of the wee brown variety , to fill its boots with the remnants of pastries and chocolate bars.

11. galamcennalath

Andrew Neil’s programme last night didn’t highlight any effects of a Yes for rUK we didn’t know. However, two thing stood out for me.

The establishment, the London Bubble, the folks down south … just don’t think it will happen. A Yes win and the end of the UK is simply beyond their mindset.

And, secondly, the arrogance and ignorance towards Scotland they are quite content to express openly is astonishing.

Scotland needs a YES for Scotland!

But, there’s a bit of me which wants a Yes win just to watch the reaction from down south 🙂

12. Nana Smith

This was sent to me by friends in England. Did Danny Alexander say the NHS was not being sold off…..

http://www.unionstogether.org.uk/page/s/nhs

13. ken500

Andrew Neil is a charlatan and a liar. A complete Thatcherite. Do not trust him. He recycled the lies for years.

14. Giving Goose

Marr feigns ignorance to make a point and attack Yes. She is a proud Brit who is perfectly comfortable with foodbanks in Scotland, 1 in 5 Scottish children in poverty, Trident and bonkers economics.

15. Robert Peffers

@Dorothy Devine says: 13 August, 2014 at 8:16 am:

<b."Regarding my insanitary keyboard I may have to employ a mouse , of the wee brown variety , to fill its boots with the remnants of pastries and chocolate bars.

The solution, Dorothy, is to get a tiny wee battery operated Computer Vacuum thingy from a computer shop. The benefit is that the vac won’t breed, steal your cheese or crap all over the house.

16. Muscleguy

@Marcia

Baxter Park

17. ken500

There was a million/billionare yacht in Aberdeen Harbour. The head of Aker on a visit. Opening new offices, in Aberdeen/shire. Rent £1.7 million a year.

18. manandboy

Think.

Q. What subject will no Better Together politician speak of?

Q. Which single revenue source is a sine qua non – vital to Westminster/the City for currency, interest and credit rating but also for economic/political status?

Almost the entire No campaign has been a squirrel,

To take the country’s attention away from the one thing

which Cameron & Osborne hold dearest but which they nor anyone

else ever discuss.

Oil.

The Yes Campaign simply MUST get OIL onto the most talked about list.

19. BobD

wow. just wow.

20. Nana Smith

Just received my voting leaflet from the EC. The no thanks statements are a pack of lies. I wonder how easily this may worry older folks who do not have access to the truth.

I am disgusted.

Over on the Herald the Yes commentators are trying to counter the No side who are denying any sell off in the NHS. I am not registered to comment so perhaps someone on here could add these links to the comments.

http://www.unionstogether.org.uk/page/s/nhs

http://www.nhsforsale.info/privatisation-list.html

21. HandandShrimp

After Andrew Neil last night there was another programme and the interviewer spoke to Mike Small and someone else. I found the other person, a young woman whose name I did not catch, a bit strange. It is almost as if there is a Labour school of how to attack your opponent. Rather than engage with any debate she treated each element as an opportunity to attack Yes/SNP/Salmond. It was almost robotic and it could have been an android channelling Lamont or Bailey. I was particularly struck by this when they discussed Salmond’s comment at the informal book event in the festival that both sides stretch the truth. Both the interviewer and Small thought it refreshing candour and the Labour person immediately latched onto it as disingenuous Machiavellian politics. I find this “attack whatever the issue” profoundly shallow and depressing. I am sure she will go far in New Labour.

22. John H.

If you want to protect your keyboard. £3.95 from a well known online bookstore.

Universal Silicone Keyboard Protector Skin for Laptops Notebooks 15″ 15.6″ 16″ 16.4″ 17″ 17.1″ 17.3″ inch 367mm*143mm

23. heedtracker

Our ruling elite in London do think Scotland will vote no. Their task now is how to keep devolution under their complete control and dilute it.

They can’t close Holyrood but they will remove power from Holyrood, probably by building on their devo for big UK cities schemes. If labour get in 2015 it’s going happen faster but in 10 years Holyrood will have same power as Manchester, Birmingham, Glasgow.

Watch BBC liggers, pressurise Scotland, eg your NHS is shite but local NHS for local people works is their kick off leverage. Making Police Scotland all one force is probably a reaction against it all.

24. caz-m

Social Attitudes Study,

“THE latest Scottish Social Attitudes survey found support for a Yes vote increased from 36 per cent to 39 per cent during the last 12 months, while No support fell from 64 per cent to 61 per cent, excluding undecided voters.”

Prof John Curtice is involved in this survey (surprise surprise) and he is telling us nearly two thirds of Scots are happy to vote for more of the same. Those 61% of NO voters don’t half hide it well, don’t they.

And we are seemingly feeling more British as well.

I think you need to get out of the house more John and stop being so patronising.

Meet the Scotcen team who came up with all these fascinating results.

http://www.scotcen.org.uk/about-us/people/staff/name/lastname

25. cearc

manandboy,

Absolutely.

A less technical precis of William Cameron McLaughlin’s, ‘Scottish Atlantic Margin Oiland Gas: The Game Changer’ with a graphic of current drilling would open the eyes of a lot of people.

I have printed out copies of these pages:

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/recovery-boost-for-north-sea-oil-and-gas-through-the-28th-licensing-round

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/274703/28R_OfferWOH.pdf

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/288410/28R_OfferNNS2.pdf

Which show the blocks put up for sale this year. Interesting to note and clearly a policy decision, that they call it all the North Sea.

Quite frankly the maps look like a fire-sale. Lets flog as much as possible while we can still get the money for it!

26. heraldnomore

missing posts, try again without the link:

Have a look at Munguin, and a BT tweet on postal voting tactics. I know nothing they do should surprise us but…

27. Indy_Scot

I would not be surprised if you cut the Scotcen team in half if they had UKOK running through them.

28. schrodinger's cat

if it is a No
    the only change of powers coming to scotland will be the removal of the right to hold any more referendums
    the edinburgh agreement set a precedent

if it is a No
    a resurgent SSP will split the labour vote in glasgow
    the SNP will win big in the 2015 GE
    The SNP and SSP will win the 2016 HE
    another referendum in 2017, 2 referendums if the torys win the 2015 GE

this fight is not over

29. cearc

There are also similar maps of the actual North Sea blocks available in the same licencing round.

30. Ronnie

Macart @ 8.24.

re-Oxford Journals, I particularly like the phrase;

‘The first partner has become the last colony.’

31. Marcia

Muscleguy

Thanks – in the Maryfield ward.

32. heedtracker

Quite frankly the maps look like a fire-sale. Lets flog as much as possible while we can still get the money for it!

Scottish Fracking licences too. No point in leaving Scotland without creating havoc, constitutional havoc, big energy co havoc etc and if they do chicken out, hey ho! Rule Britnatia

33. heedtracker

Propaganda for BetterTogether via Guardian

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/aug/11/scottish-independence-yes-campaign-underdogs-alex-salmond

“But the study, widely seen as the most authoritative of its kind, found voters are increasingly seeing themselves as both British and Scottish, as attitudes changed during the campaign. The number seeing themselves as Scottish as opposed to British fell to 65% – the lowest level found by the SSA since 1979, when it stood at 56%.”

Fact

http://www.nrscotland.gov.uk/news/2013/census-2011-key-results-on-population-ethnicity-identity-language-religion-health-housing-and-accommodation-in-scotland-release-2a

Sixty-two per cent of people felt Scottish only, 18 per cent felt both Scottish and British and two per cent felt they were Scottish in combination with some other identity.

34. bunter

Have a good feeling that the Scot Gov is now making its move, with powerful YES arguments appearing in the papers this morning over the NHS protection and welfare and benefits. With the implosion of beaker and his pound scare last night, the currency thing will only get weaker.

I would hazard a guess that folk will have a greater attachment to their NHS than anything else, but the lies of NO will need to be countered that it will be safe under Westminster.

Another good story is the emergence of a powerful Farmers for YES lobby and also the Bateman story regards the 1707 union.

Feeling upbeat after last weeks bludgeoning by the papers.

35. John Brown

News about the Clair field is beginning to slip out
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-23681061

36. Robert Peffers

In the Salmond/Darling debate Salmond said an independent Scotland would be using the pound at least 30 times.

Could someone, (very loudly), ask him how the post independence Kingdom of England Parliament proposes to prevent Scotland the use of Sterling? Either that or write the question upon a bit of cardboard as Blair seems to have lost his hearing aid.

37. cearc

Heedtracker,

Given the sale of fracking licences, I think the first power to be repatriated in the event of a no vote, would be planning permission.

Without planning consent the fracking licences are worthless. Similarily, the decision on where to create a nuclear waste dump was delayed until later this year.

38. Gareth

@Ronnie While it’s a nice phrase, it’s not true. We in Wales will still be a colony after you (hopefully) get your independence. 🙁

39. Robert Peffers

@Robert Peffers says: 13 August, 2014 at 10:21 am:

That should have read : –

In the Salmond/Darling debate Salmond said an independent Scotland would be using the pound at least 30 times.

Could someone, (very loudly), Blair McDougal how the post independence Kingdom of England Parliament proposes to prevent Scotland the use of Sterling? Either that or write the question upon a bit of cardboard as Blair seems to have lost his hearing aid.

40. fred blogger

sign of things to come? not if we vote yes.
    “Labour will be tougher than Tories on benefits, promises new welfare chief”
    http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2013/oct/12/labour-benefits-tories-labour-rachel-reeves-welfare

41. X_Sticks

cearc says:

“I think the first power to be repatriated in the event of a no vote, would be planning permission.”

I think that planning is one of the powers taken back by WM in the Scotland Bill. At work now, so don’t have time to find it.

42. ronnie anderson

Are we in for a RUN of good jokes & SATIRICAL comments ie

John H, with his 3.95 keyboard protector,

Robert Peffers, advice to Dorothy Devine a keyboard hoover,

CLINGFILM you,s lot are the ruination of our cultural image.

Bloody MEAN SCOTS, nae mair ah say, nae mair.

43. ronnie anderson

Ah fugoat aboot being THRIFTY

44. Helena Brown

Robert Peffers, I have a hearing aid which I am not using do you think I should forward it to Blair, it did not help me but then my Tinnitus gets in the way but it might make things clearer for him. He will have to pay the postage but then he has all these wee donations to help.

45. ronnie anderson

The Scottish Gov should be saying to those Fracking companys there will be a Recall of all Licences issued during this period.

UK gov slash & burn policy, I would have used another word but I would incur the wrath of the Rev.

46. Helena Brown

Ronnie, I like to feed the wildlife so any mouse who can get the pickings off my keyboard is welcome. It will also keep the dug fed.

47. Macart

@Ronnie

Yeah, that put a smile on my face too. 🙂

48. ronnie anderson

@Helena Brown feeding the moose with crumbs is ok, but am a bitty concerned wie that bit aboot keeping the dug fed,care to expand.

49. caz-m

cynicalHighlander

Kirkintilloch Meeting tonight,

Cheers for livestream link, but there is no detail of where the meeting is being held.

50. ronnie anderson

@ Macart smiles we do in abundance, better than soor puss lot on BT site, Helena am sorry ah brought a cat into the site hide the moose

51. You can’t be serious? They are actually saying that foodbanks are normal? I’m sorry but proper and decent compassion would come from making sure foodbanks aren’t needed. Making sure that people have what they need, when they need it.

52. X_Sticks

@caz-m & cynicalHighlander

“no detail of where the meeting is being held.”

What? There’s options in Kirkintilloch? 😉

53. fred blogger

re; personal independence payments (PIP), “Benefits blow: Study reveals that cruel Con-Dem cuts will slash £100m off sick and disabled.” Scotshttp://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/benefits-blow-study-reveals-con-dem-4042856
    this is on top of the £1.6bn+ pa already removed from the sick and disabled in scotland, as vox political reveals; “Cumulative effect of welfare reform revealed – deprived areas hit much harder than the rich.” then there are the 900000/yr sanctions that affect those on jsa/esa alike. foodbanks are hardly a story of success, but a story of slashing benefits without showing a shred of humanity.

54. cynicalHighlander

Contact details.

http://www.independencelive.net/contact

I just watch them because they do us all a great service running around all over the place and recording them.

These folk as well.

http://www.referendumtv.net/referendum-tv-live-1308/

http://batemanbroadcasting.com

55. TJenny

Heedtracker – I see what you mean about page 9 Q 15 in the document below. How can they extrapolate whether you are Scottish or British if both options are included in the same q?

http://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/documents/Householdpre-addressed27_05_10specimen.pdf

56. John H.

Ronnie, we’re canny Scots.We know a bargain when we see one.

57. Dorothy Devine

Thank you Robert , John and Ronnie – I had a wee hoover Robert but it had nae sook , I take your point about the wee rodent , I think Helena’s dug is a better bet!

Anyway you’ve made me splutter a pineapple cake this time and I may have to lick the keyboard myself.

58. bobdog collie

Do they have any in Norway?

59. Muscleguy

@Marcia

Yes, most of the group headed into the houses south of the Arbroath Rd. I think we were the only ones doing the north side.

60. Wee Jimmy

FWIW – I’m late to the thread but it strikes me that the example of Smallpox could be used as a response to arguments such as those of Stewart Whyte.

At one time in the not so distant past, Smallpox was considered an everyday threat for those living in a European country. Did everyone just accept that and learn to put up with Smallpox? No. Scientists worked tirelessly to eradicate it for good. One foodbank is one foodbank too many.

61. Macart

@ronnie anderson

The power of positive waves ronnie. 🙂

62. Thepnr

Well said Wee Jimmy.

63. Bugger (the Panda)

Helena Brown says:

Tinnitus

Neck exercises works for many. Nipped nerve?

No more sommersaults in the 4 poster for you, I am afraid.

64. Thistle

Foodbanks & Welfare State event Thu 14th from Westerton Hall, Bearsden, Glasgow starting at 7:30pm. Julie Webster (Greater Maryhill Foodbank), Denis Curan (Loaves & Fishes Foodbank), Michelle Thomson (chair – MD Business for Scotland) and more on panel.

If you can please attend event and have your say, or tune into out LIVESTREAM and send us your questions.

More details on our website: independencelive.net

65. Axel Lagerborg

There is a point here though. Whilst food banks are unfortunate it is better that they exist rather than they do not. They help the current failing but what is to say any future government would not fail the people. Good that people remain compassionate and better that politicians state how they will change things.

66. Wee Jimmy

Sure – but the counter-point is that they shouldn’t HAVE to exist in the first place. I’m quite sure if the foodbanks were no longer required, the excellent people who operate the foodbanks would still contribute to their community just as tenaciously. There are always social injustices that need righting.

67. SM88

Does anyone know how many foodbanks we have in Scotland? I’m finding it hard getting an actual figure somewhere

Thanks in advance

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.