The Electric Chair

Posted on July 21, 2023 by

At least, we assume there was a sizeable current being passed through it, as little else could explain the visibly uncomfortable half-hour experienced by hapless Stonewall chair Iain Anderson with Beth Rigby last night, or the seemingly random changes every few seconds in his facial expressions, body language and accent.

(Just about the only constant, other than his sweating top lip, was the deeply irritating modern phenomenon of stupid people starting every sentence with the word “So…”.)

If you’re a connoisseur of vacuous, nervous awkwardness you’re in for a real treat. If you want to see a human being actually answering any questions with even the tiniest shred of coherence, pertinence or honesty, maybe give it a miss.

0 to “The Electric Chair”

1. SusanAHF

Shows how threadbare Stonewall is, how bereft of validity its stance on trans conflicts

2. sog

I watched about five minutes of evasion and gave up. Did I miss anything worth watching?

3. Kenneth

Oh my, what’s those are not my words, even though this numpty has been asked to comment.
    I use different words.
    Jeez
    ????????????????

4. duncanio

Iain Anderson doesn’t choose his words carefully, he chews them – not so much a West Country burr, more a West Country burble.

5. Rogerborg

“Well done, Our Beff, bloody good job trying to nail that blancmange to the wall,” is a phrase that I’d never imagined myself saying, any yet here we are.

6. ScotsRenewables

OT on the third post . . .

“Senior SNP figures are growing increasingly concerned that Nicola Sturgeon and her husband Peter Murrell may be charged as part of the police investigation into party finances.

Several leading nationalists have told The Times they believe a conclusion to the two-year inquiry is imminent. “It feels this is now coming to a head and that these investigations are likely to result in charges being brought,” one said.

Some opponents believe Sturgeon, the former first minister, and Murrell, the former SNP chief executive, may be charged as early as this weekend but Police Scotland have repeatedly refused to be drawn on a timescale for when inquiries may conclude.”

https://archive.is/4vqnl

7. Paul B

He certainly makes being gay a lot more complicated than it actually is.

Feels like more weasel words and prevarication.

8. Towbar Sullivan

Sounds like Farmer Giles gone wrong…

9. akenaton

They never change.

10. Stuart MacKay

From his linkedIn profile:

Iain is an expert in integrated communications, global political risk and public policy.

He has over 25 years experience in communications, initially as a business journalist and then as a founding shareholder at Incisive Media. He has also worked for a range of politicians, including Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke MP on his leadership bids.

Iain is co founder and Executive Chairman at Cicero and focuses on public policy and corporate communications strategy supporting many global FTSE and Fortune 500 blue chip organisations. He provides CEO and Board level counsel.

In September 2021 he was appointed by the UK Government as the first LGBT Business Champion – to drive forward workplace equality for LGBT people.

He is a non executive director at Innovate Finance – the body that represents the UK’s global FinTech community and is chairman of the Fintech Strategy Group for the Corporation of London/Innovate Finance.

He is one of the Financial Times / OUTstanding Global 100 Executives and a FT Male Champion of Women in Business. He is a Stonewall Ambassador and a Trustee of GiveOUT.

He regularly contributes to national and international print and broadcast media including Sky News and BBC. He is also contributing Political Editor of Square Mile.

Iain is a past Chairman of the Association of Professional Political Consultants and a past Chairman of the CIPR Public Affairs group.

Iain is a Freeman of the City of London. He is a Fellow of both the CIPR and the PRCA.

A bit of a car crash, to say the least, for one so experienced. Why did he take the job?

11. Graf Midgehunter

The whole interview from both sides was words being used but no real sentences or meaning coming out of them.

BR never made a precis question, she just rambled around what should have been short and direct, straight to the crux of the dialogue.

So..! When IA refused to answer by waffling off in any weird Stonewall, incoherent soup, she should have gotten the knife out and skewered the useless twat.

The swimming photo should have crucified him.

I’m all for getting the spotlights out for such representatives of the woo woo cult, the more you see of them, the more folk realise the utter stupidity that comes from them.

12. Beauvais

The other Iain Anderson sang about Living In The Past. This Iain Anderson is doing it. He’s trying to pretend that the Stonewall he chairs is the same organisation as before.

He’s got quite an insincere smile too. The kind you only usually see on televangelists.

13. Antoine Bisset

I DO think THAT the important THING is, that the Legislation, DOES protect. I CANNOT overemphasise that SOME questions MAY be TOO difficult FOR me.

Oh Dear. Some elocution lessons would not go amiss.
    (Although I did not grasp any of that really. I gave up after five minutes. The weather report was quite interesting. It looked fairly normal and not the conflagration to end the work.)

14. willie

A talking head if ever their was one.

Who pays to keep wasters like this in food and lodgings. I have never heard so much insane mumbo jumbo in my life. Looking at him, watching and listening he must subsist on a diet of bullshit and pep pills.

Iain Anderson may look like a demented clown with ants in his pants but he is a danger to society, and in particular women.

15. mike cassidy

So the dictum

Those who can do, those who can’t teach

Applies to PR consultants as well

16. Kate

@Graf Midgehunter
    I thought exactly the same about BR, I have seen her go for the jugular when people ARE answering her question, & she maybe does not like their answers or politics. but she sat on the fence herself with this clown..She as a female born woman should have rioted his jugular out..

17. David Hannah

Wings over Scotland has been amazing in helping to move the conversation on in Scotland.

There must be more resistance here than in most western countries.

Women have a voice again Scotland. That for women.scot. Amazing what they’ve done.

Alba women and equalities, they have been amazing as well.

Neale Hanvey has been a real champion for LGB community.

They need to get rid of this psychopath in the banking sector that’s cancelling people.

The trans lobby are rattled. The United States the Republicans are coming to prosecute big pharma. It’s all coming.

Real political strategists like Alex Salmond. The guy is a hero of mine. He saw this coming years ago. His alba Party have absolutely aligned themselves to the side of public opinion.

The SNP are fucking idiots man absolute clowns.

18. willie

Minister for Women and Equalities, Liz Truss, has today (10th September) announced the appointment of Iain Anderson as the government’s new LGBT Business Champion.

Aye, he’s a champion all right. LBQT Business Champion no less. Now pray tell us what on earth that is.

LBQT electricity supply, or LBQT produced consumer goods, or LBQT supermarkets. or what about a Kite Mark on all produce to say LBQT approved.

In the name of the wee man what is this about. And we’re paying for this rubbish.

I hope Wings Over Scotland is fully LBQT approved.

19. Kate

In a reply to @Graf Midgehunter @ 1.10pm it should have been RIPPED not rioted

20. David Hannah

Well done to Wings Over Scotland. Joanna Cherry. Neale Hanvey. For women.scot. JK Rowling. Even Ash Regan. You saw her with the beautiful women’s rights banner outside Holyrood. These women and men are incredible.

You only need to look at the polls in Scotland.

Let alone the high profile criminal cases.

This is never going to take hold in Scotland, not a chance in hell.

21. Duncan

Has scarily similar mannerisms to malcolm Offord, like they have the same interview coach. For every word that slips out there’s an attempt to draw it back in for fear of being responsible for any meaning that might have escaped with it

22. David Hannah

The Sandyford gender clinic has been shut down in Scotland following that Cass report.

We’re it not for the NHS they’d be a lot of poor children today being sold the lie of medical mutilation.

We’re lucky to have the NHS. We need to keep fighting to keep our NHS alive.

23. Wobbly

I could only manage 15 minutes of that. It was less painful when I pulled 2 of my molars out with pliers!!!

24. Geri

Societal prejudice ..

FFS!

He wants everyone to just accept coercive control dressed up as everyone just getting along.

Fine.. Beth should’ve taken the opportunity to ask him..

‘Would you date a trans man’?

& As usual the bs that the nasty bullying is by both sides..

25. David Hannah

They trans lobby would like to destroy our NHS from within. They’ll start with the unions. They’ll want to weaken them. And then the corporate lobby that doesn’t work in the hospitals will be pushing it.

I bet you they are being disproportionately funded by the government.

It’s all coming from the United States. Everyone can see it.

26. Paulk

Catastrophically dire interview but Anderson probably thought it was so-so.

27. Morgatron

Jesus, he would have been more comfortable in a dentists chair whilst getting root canal treatment with no pain relief. Looks like a man with an agenda, but is keeping it a secret or perhaps not briefed by the CEO.

28. Aunty Flo

@mike cassidy

“Those who can do, those who can’t teach

Applies to PR consultants as well”

Mike, you forgot the rest of the dictum!

Those who can do, those who can’t teach
    Those who can’t teach, teach teachers
    Those who can’t teach teachers, become consultants.

That just about covers it.

29. Lorna Campbell

Psychopathy and misogyny meet resistance. Let us take everything away from you, let us mutilate your children and groom them for queer theory and we’ll all be happy. You are a fraud, Iain Anderson, and you know it. A tiny number, eh? Not if you bring in self-ID because the vast majority, if not all, are paraphiliacs and fetishists, heterosexuals and misogynists, porn addicts and psychopaths/sociopaths. When is everyone going to understand that ALL ‘trans’ ideology is utter, contaminated bilgewater? Certain people, several different groups, will benefit from controlling the population on this issue.

30. Tinto Chiel

The Rev: “Just about the only constant, other than his sweating top lip, was the deeply irritating modern phenomenon of stupid people starting every sentence with the word “So…”.”

Yes, “non-sequitur so” and “upspeak” are almost always signs of a bullshitter and this guy is incapable of giving a straight answer.

Now you know why the wokesters want to censor opponents rather than debate openly with them: their lunacy would be exposed in a few minutes.

31. Captain Yossarian

The subject matter is so unconscionable that Beth Rigby is afraid to question Ian Anderson incisively. Scotland is probably ahead of most counties in the world because we have looked at it more closely than most and we have rejected it.

32. Lorna Campbell

Geri: yes, she should have asked him that question and she should have taken the opportunity to ask him why 60% of all ‘trans’ identified males in prison are sex offenders, and why psychology and psychiatry agree, in the main, that these men are sexual paraphiliacs and fetishists – even the ‘trans’ themselves. It has been the prevalence of the porn industry in recent years which has driven this movement, as it has driven most of the detrimental effects on sexual relationships, such as choking, consensual killing and many other evils that dog women’s and girls’ lives. She could have asked: just what is it about women and girls that these mainly heterosexual men identify with, because the answer would have ben they identify with nothing except a stereotype because their interest in in themselves and is entirely, completely, wholly sexual but in a very unhealthy way.

They view women and girls as inferior beings, and the sexual thrill lies in pretending that they are these despised females and conjuring up in their imaginations, images of women in exploitative and helpless sexual situations. The fetishists are overwhelmed in women’s spaces by all the objects that form their fetishes, from used tampons to hearing women pee. These are the questions that also need to be asked. Personally, I can see no great difference between the Taliban and the ‘Traniban’: both want to erase biological females from the public square, from employment, from sports, from all medical facilities, from help centres, shelters, etc. The complete control of every aspect of female lives would be what they have in common, even if the motives may differ slightly.

33. Northcode

I hadn’t intended to comment on this story directly. But something about this interview reminded me of Hannah Arendt’s observations, and for that reason I felt obliged to report them.

I’ve mentioned Hannah Arendt in previous posts – she was the Eichmann trial reporter who came up with the phrase ‘the banality of evil’

Adolf Eichmann was one of the main architects of the ‘final solution’.

Her overriding impression of Eichmann was that he was a rather stupid and profoundly thoughtless man.

She wrote of Eichmann that when he spoke at his trial he spoke in unthinking cliches, stock phrases. and standardized codes of expression.

This led her to postulate in her book “The Life of the Mind” that the true nature of evil wasn’t calculated wickedness, not something demonic, not the incarnation of Satan, but thoughtlessness.

She says:

There was no sign in him of firm ideological conviction or of specific evil motives, and the only notable characteristic one could detect in his past behavior as well as in his behavior during the trial and throughout the pre-trial police examination was something entirely negative: it was not stupidity but thoughtlessness.

In the setting of Israeli court and prison procedures he functioned as well as he had functioned under the Nazi regime but, when confronted with situations for which such routine procedures did not exist, he was helpless, and his cliche-ridden language produced on the stand, as it had evidently done in his official life, a kind of macabre comedy.

It was this absence of thinking which is so ordinary an experience in our everyday life, where we have hardly the time, let alone the inclination, to stop and think – that awakened my interest.

Might the problem of good and evil, our faculty for telling right from wrong, be connected with our faculty of thought?

Anyway, readers can make of Hannah Arendt’s observations what they will.

34. panda paws

“The Sandyford gender clinic has been shut down in Scotland following that Cass report.”

No it hasn’t. The GIDS at Tavistock in England was shut down after being rated inadequate by the inspectors and after the Cass report with regional centres to be set up in future. The SNP/Greens ignored the Cass report (fair enough, didn’t review their service) but also neglected to commission their own review of Sandyford.

35. Graf Midgehunter

Kate says: at 1:12 pm

“In a reply to @Graf Midgehunter @ 1.10pm it should have been RIPPED not rioted”
    ————-
    No prob, I got it first time round.. 🙂

36. Anton Decadent

I watched the first thirty seconds or so of him speaking whilst watching his eyes, facial expressions and how he was moving and thought “Dr Strangelove”.

37. David Hannah

Oh no. I’m sorry for sharing incorrect information. It says in a article on the 15th of February that the Sandyford has been “closed to new patients.”

38. Ebenezer Scroggie

How/why did the SNumPties get themselves entangled with woofterism?

What went wrong? It’s so destructive to the original Nazional Socialismus plan of destroying Scotland and Britain through separatism.

Mr Sturgeon is as bent as a three Pound coin. Mzz Murrel is a lesbo. Do they think that their weird predilections are a vote winning strategy? A Jockanese version of Kraft durch Freude?

39. Mia

The cruelty hiding behind this gender cult against women and children is enormous.

This cult aims not only to jeopardise the safety of women and girls, but also to humiliate them in the most disgusting way by denying them ownership of womanhood.

Judging by the underwhelming performance of the clown in the video above, defence of this absurd ideology in logical terms, without resourcing to gross verbal violence and personal abuse, is an impossible task even for those paid rather handsomely to defend it.

I am beginning to wonder until what point some degenerates are pursuing both, the legalised mutilation of children and young people under the guise of “gender care” and the continuous humiliation of women and invasion of our protected spaces, as a way to validate, normalise and legalise sadism.

I saw a creepy video in twitter a while back about a monster with pink hair, portraying himself as a surgeon, disgustingly boasting of mutilating virgin teenage boys, who were so underdeveloped yet that hardly had enough tissue to invert their penis into a fake vagina. Proceeding with that surgery in such circumstances, can only be considered, in my own personal view, as knowingly and deliberately inflicting a whole life of agony to that child and those who love the child.

Knowing that the person will experience physical and psychological pain for the rest of their life after being mutilated, and ensuring permanent humiliation of women by denying them of privacy, sense of safety and identity encapsulates rather well, in my view, the concept of sadism according to “google”:

sadism: “the tendency to derive pleasure, especially sexual gratification, from inflicting pain, suffering, or humiliation on others”

I am beginning to wonder how many dangerous and closeted sadists have been hiding behind the dodgy curtain of “gender ideology” and if the ultimate goal of this cult and the idiots in parliament forcing this abhorrence on us, is to normalise state sponsored sadism.

40. Robert Hughes

Christ ! No wonder the lunatics are gaining so much ground , one minute listening to that psycho and any interlocutor will be like ” ok , ok , please no more , where do I sign ” .

The 3 mins I spent listening to him were akin to being waterboarded by a sadistic robot to a soundtrack of ambient Death Metal .

These people are no right in the heid

41. Ian Brotherhood

@Mia (3.24) –

Many of us non-medical people had to start trying to get our heads around a lot of new stuff when the lockdowns kicked in.

Even laypeople like me now know that the core of the Hippocratic oath is ‘do no harm’. Another important principle is ‘informed consent’. There’s no way that all of these young men and women are fully aware of what they’re ‘allowing’ to be done to them. And the guiltiest of all the adults involved are surely their parents.

I imagine you’ve probably seen this snippet of interview with Helen Joyce but some may have missed it:

twitter.com/search?q=joyce&src=typed_query

42. Northcode

Reflecting on my earlier post, I wonder if Hannah Arendt’s theory of ‘thoughtlessness’ being the foundation of evil underlies the apprehension of some, perhaps subconsciously, over the deployment and proliferation of Artificial Intelligence systems.

A technology that consists of algorithmic routines and decision-making based on the bias and prejudices of its creators, and is quite obviously devoid of anything a human being would call thought.

Just a thought.

43. Ruby

He did say that we have legislation which states men can be women and that is true..

The 2004 GRA is the root cause of all problems.

44. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I watched about five minutes of evasion and gave up. Did I miss anything worth watching?”

Another 25 minutes of the same.

45. Anton Decadent

Over the last few years whilst looking up details on the people who were pushing this in the likes of the Guardian when it came to the Labour Party what also kept coming up was membership of Labour Friends Of Israel. Also one person had came into his position in the Labour Party from Chairman of the youth wing of Stonewall.

Over in the Herald the people who were its most vocal supporters in comments under articles (many of the articles in total support of the victimhood angle of the trans movement were closed for comments) worked in education, one as a lecturer at Dundee University and who sometimes writes for Pink News (the owner of which, Benjamin Cohen, was donated money by Google) and the other a retired primary school teacher who now worked with charities involved with young people. Another was an angry, confrontational jewish man who had got his photo into his local paper for jogging two kilometres and who maintained that taking drag queens into primary schools and telling the children that this was a woman was no different to taking children to a pantomime with a panto dame.

We see the phrase trans genocide being used quite often, perhaps the people using it have form in wielding the word genocide to close down any opposition to them regardless of what they are doing.

46. Ruby

I would like to see all the politicians who passed the 2004 GRA which stated men can be women because they were born in the wrong body being interviewed.

They are the ones responsible for everything that’s happening today. Everything from men in women’s prisons, women’s spaces, sports & all the rest.

The only thing this Stonewall nonentity has going for him is the 2004 GRA.

47. twathater

FFS what a condescending glottomised arsehole this clown is , he reminds me of sturgeons head shaking and bouncing napper

He is like a headmaster that KNOWS everyone else is stupid and it is extremely exasperating and frustrating trying to get people to accept that recognition

HTAF do these arseholes get into these exorbitant wage paying jobs , he should be a tory minister with the amount of pish he spouts , sorry just make that a politician from any party

48. Robert Hughes

@ Lorna Campbell

Yes , Lorna , a lot ( if not all ) of these creeps absolutely hate women . Witness that convicted sex-offender at a recent * Trans * rally exhorting HIS audience to ” punch a TERF in the throat ” – and being applauded for it . And this hideous creature was actually INVITED to speak . FFS

These people are not some poor marginalised , oppressed , minority , nothing remotely like that well-rehearsed and constantly reinforced characterisation .

They are a mob of nasty , self-entitled , fucked-up bullies .

And the clowns that support them and justify any heinous behaviour from them are , in their own way , just as bad .

” We’re here , we’re queer , we’re coming for your children ”

Ur yeez , aye ? Well yeez better be prepared to fight to the fckn death in that attempt : cause we’re prepared to fight to the fckn death to prevent you

49. Ruby

Geri says:
    21 July, 2023 at 1:24 pm
    Fine.. Beth should’ve taken the opportunity to ask him..

‘Would you date a trans man’?

Hi Geri
    I can make a good guess what he would have said. Something along the lines of everyone should be free to find love where they want or some such PR speak.

50. Ruby

I’m checking out the system whereby I have to have every post moderated. I’m getting the feeling this is a bit of a con. I don’t think I’m getting every post moderated I think I have been cancelled and no matter what I post my posts will never pass moderation.

51. Ruby

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    21 July, 2023 at 4:44 pm

“I watched about five minutes of evasion and gave up. Did I miss anything worth watching?”

Another 25 minutes of the same.

I thought it was worth watching even if it was just for the questions

52. SteepBrae

Duncan 1.19pm – “For every word that slips out there’s an attempt to draw it back in for fear of being responsible for any meaning that might have escaped with it”.

Priceless.

53. Jan Cowan

That poor creature needs medical attention. Stonewall? Looks like he took a run at it!

54. James Jones

David Hannah’s posts praising Scotland (“There must be more resistance here than in most western countries,”) for protecting women’s rights seem odd when it was the Scottish government that wanted to bring the GRB in, and Westminster that rightly blocked it.

55. Andrea

That was something to behold. I had to watch it in batches because I just could do it in one sitting; it was too much.

56. Merganser

He/it is living in a parallel universe. Pity he/ it doesn’t move there.

Talking of which, I see Sturgeon was at the Harrogate crime writing festival. Perhaps she has some new books on show:

‘The stitch up’.

‘Steel Yourselves’

‘Beginner’s guide to (ring) fencing’.

‘The buck doesn’t stop with me’.

Possible titles.

57. Milady

I know folks are saying Beth could have gone right for the jugular but I’m wondering if she was deliberately not going for a tougher style of questioning.

Anderson absolutely went to pieces anyway, under the softest of probing, if she had been more combative the TRAs would have been loudly protesting about the confrontational nature and deflecting from the substance. As it was, her careful questions made IA’s stance look even more idiotic.

I’m hoping it peaked a few more people!

58. PacMan

Could only sit through a couple of minutes of this.

The individual is simply a no-platformer. They will only talk to you if you agree with what they say and agree to talk to them on their terms.

That isn’t debate and is a waste of time trying to engage and reason sensibly with them.

59. Merganser

More possible book titles:

‘Advanced framing techniques’.

‘Evil under the sun’. (Autobiographical).

‘Double Sin’. (Co author P. Murrell).

‘Why didn’t they ask Evans?’ (Wth A. Salmond).

‘They do it with mirrors (like me)’.

‘Towards Zero’. (A history of the membership figures of the SNP)

60. sarah

@ Merganser: keep going with this theme. It’s giving me a good laugh! Been scratching my head trying to think of another title….

“The Good, the Bad and the Ugly: the SNP’s transition from 2014 to today” perhaps?

61. George Ferguson

I didn’t watch it. I haven’t watched Sky News and Beth for many years. The backlash against Stonewall and Corporate Stupidity is in full flow. The job of a CEO is to make decisions to provide dividends for shareholders. The ultimate owners of a private organisation are the shareholders. Corporate Governance does not include data scraping, adoption of imported values and pontificating on social values. You have only got one job. Increase dividends. Having said that a return of public ownership of Utilities is imperative. A failure of market governance big style.

62. Merganser

Sarah @ 7.29.

Glad you’re amused. How about:

‘Dumb Witness’ (With Woman H).

‘Third Girl’ (Or an encounter at an Edinburgh hotel).

‘The mirror cracked’ (When hit by the iron).

‘Crooked House’ (A History of the SNP at Holyrood).

‘Destination Unknown’. The complete guide to SNP policy on independence.

There may be more. Apologies to Agatha Christie for using her titles.

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Merganser –

Ha, good stuff!

‘An Inspector Calls’

64. holymamoses

The problem for people who back themselves and their opinions, into a corner is that they become unable to see, let alone hear and/or understand anyone else’s point of view.
    Eventually, survival necessitates moving away from the walls and contemplating a broader view of things.

65. Beauvais

Merganiser

And Then There Were None (SNP membership figures).

66. Lorna Campbell

Northcode: yes, evil can be banal, and, for most who participate in evil such as Hitler’s henchmen and the WW II majority of the German population, who participated through silence and passive acceptance, that is it; but, for others, as Mia says, sadism is a huge factor, and many of these larping men and their aggressive activists are sadists, psychopaths/sociopaths, narcissists, totalitarians, all given a free rein to indulge their sickness.

Milady: you have a point, but, sooner, rather than later, someone is going to have the spine to ask these very pertinent questions because they absolutely underpin the ‘trans’ movement. You just have to dip into some of the social media platforms, if you don’t actually choke on the deviance and filth, to know that THEY know perfectly well that their motives are mainly sexual.

Robert: well said. I really do not believe that those of us who detest this stuff and see it for what it is – and there are a lot of us – will back off, back down or accept their utter delusion. Human beings – most of us – cannot lie effectively (barring the odd, kind white lie) and it is painfully obvious that this enabler cannot lie to himself either, because, in the end, it is to ourselves we are lying if we just give in and put a sheen of respectability on this very dangerous creed.

Sooner or later, the cognitive dissonance necessary to lie to ourselves becomes too painful to bear. I believe also that most of the ‘trans’ and activists choose to do what they are doing because they loathe us. We have never understood why so many male people hate female people because it goes well beyond resentment or Schadenfreude into the realm of sadistic pleasure. No woman asked for this. We wated equality because we did not have it. This ‘trans’ lobby have all their rights, but they want ours, too. All the violent and sex crimes seem to come down to one common denominator: total control over another human being, no matter how much pain and cruelty is involved.

Of course, it is not all men; it is a very small proportion of men; but they are enabled to commit their heinous crimes by societal attitudes across the board. It is happening with this movement where too many fall over themselves to excuse and/or cheer on atrocious behaviours. There are so many good men out there, real men who take responsibility and fulfil their obligations, but their decency is overshadowed by the ones who want to hurt and harm and control. Thank you, Rev. Without you and the other bloggers who highlight what is happening, this ‘trans’/’woke’ lobby would steamroll over all of us.

67. Andrew scott

WHAT A PRICK- if he/she/they have one

68. Shug

Was Nicola’s crashing the party an accident due to a lack of ability or a deliberate act.

Any views appreciated but not the usual bots

Thanks

69. SteepBrae

The interview just became more and more excruciating to watch. Why tie yourself in knots worrying about what you think you’re allowed to say and what’s the latest verbal transgression? Just say what you mean and at least listen to the responses, the subtext. Challenge them.

Attempts to squirm out of answering a clear and simple question should be rounded up and tossed back. Exposed. Otherwise why bother? Just because one side is stonewalling doesn’t mean the other side has to slope off as if nothing has happened.

“I think it’s a problem in terms of the perception of the conversation”…
    Got away with that.

Then, in response to a ‘basic’ question:
    “I understand the question you’re asking but are we to say that trans people SHOULDN’T take part in elite sport?”… “Are we to BAN trans people from elite sport?”…
    Pure deflection and another bit just spluttered to a halt. Another opportunity missed.

However, there’s a checklist of questions to wade through so on it went.

A bit of “We need a strategy for this instead of megaphone diplomacy”…

Then suddenly a gift to any interviewer with a political nose: “This may feature through the election period”…

All left hanging the air without remark. How hard can it be to ask “what do you mean?”

Somehow made it to the finishing line and it was “great to have some space to go through the issues”. All pals together. Job done. Through the issues, out the other end and no-one’s any the wiser.

Bring back Robin Day!

70. Southernbystander

O/T re the banality of evil. I don’t think this idea stacks up and I am far from alone in thinking this (this is notwithstanding Arendt’s excellent insights generally).

I am reading Martin Amis’s ‘Inside Story’ (truly excellent btw) and he sums it up by quoting others who point out that:

a) Politically, psychologically, Germans h ad an idea of genius, obviously knew what murder was – the banality was camouflage; the idea that making the century’s greatest crime look dull is not banal, they did it to take the curse out of murder (Saul Bellow).

b) At his trial in 1945, Eichmann said: ‘I will leap into my grave laughing because the feeling I will have five million beings on my conscience is for me the source of extraordinary satisfaction’. What is banal, what is tediously commonplace about that (Amis)?

c) A Jewish doctor (Robert Lifton, who wrote ‘The Nazi Doctors’, 1986) who had been in close contact with 28 Nazis says: ‘repeatedly in the study, I describe banal men performing demonic acts. In doing so . . . the men changed and in carrying out their actions, they themselves were no longer banal’.

71. Alf Baird

Shug @ 8:53 pm

“Was Nicola’s crashing the party an accident due to a lack of ability or a deliberate act.”

Postcolonial theory (Fanon, Memmi etc) tells us that a dominant national party elite will tend to: take the people up a blind alley; feather its nest and build up its pensions; reaches a compromise with the colonial power; becomes an instrument of coercion. This serves to delay independence and ruptures the movement, also creating potential for conflict.

The answer therefore appears to be yes – what we see is a deliberate and dangerous act by a compromised and deceitful national party elite, this being perhaps the most sickening aspect of the ‘decolonization’ path trod by many oppressed peoples.

72. Corrado Mella

Stu, thanks for the heads up.

I’ll give this a pass.
    30 minutes of my life gained.

73. Effijy

A Dry Stane Dyke should get on their bike
    If they can’t walk with a cock in a frock.

Those are not my words? FFS

I’m sure the thing in glasses was an early attempt at AI.

They should have cut off the power when they finished.

74. Northcode

Lorna Campbell @21st July 8:18 pm

“sadism is a huge factor, and many of these larping men and their aggressive activists are sadists, psychopaths/sociopaths, narcissists, totalitarians, all given a free rein to indulge their sickness.”

I take your point, Lorna. Hannah Arendt was referring to the banality, and thoughtlessness, of the people who were the administrative cogs that made the functioning of a giant bureaucratic killing machine possible.

The ‘trans’ ideology being vigorously promoted appears to be something quite different.

75. Jimuckmac

‘Sooner or later, the cognitive dissonance necessary to lie to ourselves becomes too painful to bear.’

A very powerful sentence.

76. Northcode

Southernbystander

Thanks, Southernbystander. I haven’t read Martin Amis’s ‘Inside Story’ or Robert Lifton’s “The Nazi Doctors”, but I will now that you’ve brought them to my attention.

You make a valid point. Banality, or the appearance of it, might well have been camouflage for those who actively and knowingly participated in such crimes as those carried out in the Germany of the nineteen thirties and forties.

77. Geri

If I was Beth I’d have just stayed on the topic of why these transwomen think they’re women when they still own a penis.

If they genuinely want a GRC then show proof it’s been lopped off.

Lorna, correct, they’re sadists & what’s absolutely unforgivable by the (experimental freaks) medical professional is that they are conducting this butchery on ppl who are mentally ill while dirty old pervy men remain intact in theis nans dress. It’s paedophlia & when the weans are sexualised & groomed in schools they’ll be easier to get to. Instead of being interviewed these feckers should be arrested.

78. Anton Decadent

There is a concerted effort underway by a few people on here and other places online to try to dissociate the Left with the trans movement by claiming, in complete disregard of the Hammer And Sickle, ANTIFA and Socialist Worker Party placards at the demos, that the Right are behind this.

In places such as Rotherham and Rochdale when news began to leak out of the grooming gangs an organisation called Left Hook went into those areas to teach self defence classes to the Muslim communities who were clearly the victims.

79. Ian Maclaren

What a curious way of speaking for a supposed communications expert, now also on the Court of St Andrews University.

80. Rocko

From my exposure to London’s ‘Queer’ subculture in the late 80s & early 90s, it seemed to be mainly populated by S&M fetishists and ‘sex workers’. It appeared, to me, to be about cruelty and subversion. I’m all for a bit of subversion, but the cruelty was horrible.

81. Willie

Folks would do well to also remember that this creep’s organisation provide teaching aids to our schools.

Videos like the one where a bannana and a jar of Nutella are used to teach school children as young as even and eight year old school children about anal sex are all part of the agenda.

With this agenda absolutely written in to Scottish school policies and procedures and with Stonewall a contributor to teaching aids the depth of these people’s penetration of our young is truly frightening.

82. Mac

Can’t watch that wanker spout shite for 30 minutes. No chance. So I’m gonna talk France instead.

Funny isn’t it seeing the cities of France burn this last few weeks that this never seems to get a mention in all of it…

https://archive.is/Hn90f

83. Robert Louis

What an evasive weasel. Stonewall does NOT fight for gay and lesbian rights, they have been consumed by TRANS above all else. That is why the LGB alliance and other similar gay rights organizations around the world have started up.

Gay folk are rightly sick of Stonewall, they do not stand for us. Indeed most gay folk do not even know what the ridiculous alphabet soup means. It went from LGB, meaning lesbian gay bisexual, to something completely different, and gay folk were NOT consulted. The latest silly version I have seen is 2sLGBTQIAA++, and I have no idea what it means, or, indeed what it has to do with being gay. Seems like every nutter and creep on the planet is included.

Anyway, Stonewall does not stand for gay equality, just ‘trans’ rights. It is that simple, and it explains why their chairman above, had so much difficulty answering ANY question.

https://lgballiance.org.uk/facts/

84. akenaton

That is not true Robert, most homosexuals supported Trans and Stonewall despite its disgraceful history in Scotland.
    They and their spokespeople only started to back off when they realised that the hetero population would not countenance the danger to their children and women in general.

The alphabet soup regardless of the letters is bad for society and if not kept in check will finally destroy it..

85. Jontoscots21

You summed it up Duncan!

Duncan says:
    21 July, 2023 at 1:19 pm
    Has scarily similar mannerisms to malcolm Offord, like they have the same interview coach. For every word that slips out there’s an attempt to draw it back in for fear of being responsible for any meaning that might have escaped with it.

I would add that the scariest part of this was how this PR creature with his pan loafy Scott(Ish) was clear. Continually in that accent a bit like another diversity horror Jo Swinson, or Blair’s wingman Faulkner, he came back to using institutions to impose this vile and corrupt creed. Idiots like Truss instead of using her own mind took the advice of senior civil servants who have drunk the Stonewall elixir. The fact that he is termed a “business leader” should be taken with a giant sack of Saxa. He is in fact nothing more than a PR shill (and clearly shite at it )is testimony to the upward failure promoted systematically by diversity hiring. The same applies to the Stonewall fag hags such as Rose at RBS/NatWest and McCall at ITV. Many of them have alphabet passive aggressive gimps like Anderson advising them. I know from my time in London based corporate roles. They all end up with top jobs and set up their own consultancies with a groupie client base.

86. Northcode

Southernbystander @21st July 9:01pm

I’ve taken another look at your comment and there’s a problem with it – it’s wrong and doesn’t stand up to scrutiny.

You argue that Hannah Arendt’s theory on the ‘banality of evil’ doesn’t ‘stack up’.

I’m assuming you mean that Arendt’s theory doesn’t ‘stack up’ against the three points you make in your post. Points a, b, and c.

Let’s take a look and see why your argument fails.

Point A:

a) Politically, psychologically, Germans h ad an idea of genius, obviously knew what murder was – the banality was camouflage; the idea that making the century’s greatest crime look dull is not banal, they did it to take the curse out of murder (Saul Bellow).

This statement is made by the fictional protagonist of Saul Bellow’s fiction novel “Mr. Sammler’s Planet (1970)”.
    Saul Bellow (1915 – 2005) was a Canadian–American writer.

For that reason your point A can immediately be discounted as a serious counter to Arendt’s deeply researched theory.

Point B:

b) At his trial in 1945, Eichmann said: ‘I will leap into my grave laughing because the feeling I will have five million beings on my conscience is for me the source of extraordinary satisfaction’. What is banal, what is tediously commonplace about that (Amis)?

Eichmann’s trial opened on 11th April 1961 not 1945. And he never uttered those words at his trial – that would have been beyond stupid, even for him.

Eichmann did say this on record in 1945, sixteen years before his trial. Which in itself is convincing evidence of his stupidity.

His statement from 1945 was read out in court by the prosecutor.

If the text of your point B is what Amis actually said in his book he was wrong.

As in your point A, your point B also fails to challenge Arendt’s report of Eichmann’s banality.

Point C:

c) A Jewish doctor (Robert Lifton, who wrote ‘The Nazi Doctors’, 1986) who had been in close contact with 28 Nazis says: ‘repeatedly in the study, I describe banal men performing demonic acts. In doing so . . . the men changed and in carrying out their actions, they themselves were no longer banal.

It turns out that I had this book in my digital collection.

Here’s the passage you quote in its full context in the book:

Psychological research is always a moral enterprise, just as moral judgments inevitably include psychological assumptions.

Consider, for instance, Hannah Arendt’s celebrated judgment on Adolf Eichmann and the “banality of evil.”

That phrase has emerged as a general characterization of the entire Nazi project.

What I have noted about the ordinariness of Nazi doctors as men would seem to be further evidence of her thesis. But not quite.

Nazi doctors were banal, but what they did was not.

Repeatedly in this study, I describe banal men performing demonic acts. In doing so — or in order to do so — the men themselves changed; and in carrying out their actions, they themselves were no longer banal.

Lifton actually supports Arendt’s theory albeit it with an addendum.

As with points A and B, your point C also fails to challenge Arendt’s theory on the banality of evil. In fact point C supports it.

All three of your points fail to ‘stack up’ against Arendt’s theories.

87. Lorna Campbell

Northcode: have just finished David Grann’s ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’ about the killing, defrauding, stealing from, and generally exploiting of, the Osage Native American people, in Oklahoma.

I think that the perpetrators of genocidal and other acts of monstrous cruelty adopt a mindset whereby those they are exploiting/murdering are classified as sub human. The god complex comes into play. That allows the normal ‘cognitive dissonance’ to be subverted and those perpetrators are able to convince themselves they are doing no harm, that these people are of no consequence so why should they feel bad about what they are doing. Also, they want what these people have, whether they be native Americans, Jews or females or children.

The Jews were considered to be Untermensch, as were the Osage, by their white neighbours, as were African slaves, as, today, are females and children. If you can convince yourself that women and girls, as well as children, were created solely for your use, amusement and pleasure (as were animals, with sexual fetishes around animals being strong in the TQ+++++++), and the pornography industry certainly pushes this sub human ‘use, abuse and discard’ mindset, then you can live happily ever after without a stain on your conscience.

This, basically is what Iain Anderson personifies: the god complex. He knows, however, what he is saying and doing, and tries, if you listen carefully, to suggest that the fault for ‘transphobia (which is everything that does not conform to the ‘trans’/Stonewall doctrine) is all down to silly females who just do not want to allow other ‘women’ into their spaces when there is no problem. It is the fact that this hideous creed is facing resistance that makes him wary. He knows he’s lying and cannot quite pacify his own conscience. It shows. Had this stuff been pushed through easily, his conscience would be easy, too.

This man is an enabler. Anyone who pushes this utter tripe is an enabler, and there will be something in it for him that has little to nothing to do with ‘trans’. Politicians who push this nonsense are also enablers and should be removed from public office as being quite unsuited for government or high office of any kind. Same with managers, civil servants, et al, who push this bilge water. They are dangerous people because they acquiesce and are able to calm their consciences by seeing the resistance as ill-intended and obstructive instead of existential. The billionaires behind it care only for enrichment and the power that affords. Most of them are psychopaths with a god complex that they will change the world in their own image.

88. Alastair Ewen

So?

89. Alastair Ewen

So,

90. Northcode

Lorna Campbell

I’ve read David Grann’s ‘The Lost City of Z’, but not his ‘Killers of the Flower Moon’. He’s a great writer and by all accounts a notorious perfectionist when researching his material.

You’ve piqued my interest in the Osage people; I’ll get hold of a copy of Grann’s ‘Flower Moon’ book and take a look.

I’m guessing that I’ll find parallels between the treatment of the Osage people and the treatment of women and children we are seeing today under the guise of a ‘progressive’ ideology.

I couldn’t quite identify what it was about Anderson’s interview that prompted me to write of Hannah Arendt’s observations, but I think you’ve articulated the reason in these passages:

“I think that the perpetrators of genocidal and other acts of monstrous cruelty adopt a mindset whereby those they are exploiting/murdering are classified as sub human. The god complex comes into play. That allows the normal ‘cognitive dissonance’ to be subverted and those perpetrators are able to convince themselves they are doing no harm…

This, basically is what Iain Anderson personifies: the god complex. He knows, however, what he is saying and doing, and tries, if you listen carefully, to suggest that the fault for ‘transphobia (which is everything that does not conform to the ‘trans’/Stonewall doctrine) is all down to silly females who just do not want to allow other ‘women’ into their spaces when there is no problem.”

The way Anderson speaks in the interview reminded me of Arendt’s description of Eichmann on the stand; “he spoke in unthinking cliches, stock phrases. and standardized codes of expression”.

Although, as you correctly pointed out in reply to my initial ‘Arendt’ post, there is a difference between the pathology of the bureaucratic ‘cogs’ Arendt identifies in her banality theory and the pathology behind the behaviour we see in those with a ‘God complex’.

This line from your comment:

“He knows, however, what he is saying and doing, “

Yes. Anderson’s mannerisms often indicated his discomfort when confronted with the bizarre reality of the ideology he supports.

The image of the athletes on the podium was a powerful visual statement of the underlying irrationality and madness of that ideology; Anderson’s incoherent response merely emphasised that madness.

You say:

“…all down to silly females who just do not want to allow other ‘women’ into their spaces when there is no problem.”

Here he is attempting to trivialise, not only the very serious concerns women have, but women themselves.

This is an age-old tactic, and a very clumsy and basic form of Ad hominem attack. A poor attempt at distraction from the seriously non-trivial dark reality of the doctrine Anderson promotes.

As a postscript; I enjoy reading your posts, Lorna. Your views are always informative, educational even, and eloquently expressed.

91. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“I’m checking out the system whereby I have to have every post moderated. I’m getting the feeling this is a bit of a con. I don’t think I’m getting every post moderated I think I have been cancelled and no matter what I post my posts will never pass moderation.”

I’m on holiday. It can take quite a while for posts to be manually approved. I’m sure it’s a pain in the arse, but maybe you should have listened to the 427 warnings about breaking the rules and then it wouldn’t be happening.

92. Scott Galloway

I think she did well! Managed to get him to admit two things:
    – there IS a competition of rights between women and trans-women (13:10, 18:46)
    – women should be able to ask for and receive intimate care from other biological women (23:05)

Does that make him a TERF?

93. Southernbystander

Northcode (22 Jul, 12:21pm), I don’t find your reply convincing.

Yes, the first point is from a novel but that does not undermine the idea in any way as the idea itself survives and does challenge Arendt (Bellow was Jewish btw though that is tangential)

Eichmann did make the statement in 1945 and it was read at his trial in 1961 – sorry if I was unclear on this (Amis gets it right) so clearly does challenge Arendt cos he said it.

As for the Nazi Doctors, as you actually quote, the ‘not quite’ bit of the author’s analysis of Arendt is crucial as it leads to the actual point I am making.

So not seeing anything here that fails to stack up at all. It all still stands.

94. revjimbob

Sorry, didn’t get to 8 minutes. This is a Snuff Movie.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.