The cold hard numbers

Posted on February 24, 2016 by

The first quote below is from Magnus Gardham in the Herald, the second one is from Kenny Farquharson in the Times, both today.

heraldtimes

So just to clear that up: four times £12 million is £200 million. The mystery of why people are increasingly reluctant to believe what they read in newspapers continues.

81 to “The cold hard numbers”

1. One_Scot

I’m sure even David Attenborough would be flabbergasted at the speed at which BritNat journalists are evolving into online Yoon trolls.

2. Macart

So that’s who inherited beaker’s calculator.

Wondered right enough.

3. Peter McCulloch

I saw the headline on the front page of the daily mail today on the newsagents shelf, which read Scots face a double SNP whammy.

I didn’t bother reading the article, but I assume its about the tax powers that have been devolved to Scotland.

4. Ken500

The Treasury will not provide £200Million to set up a welfare system. Scottish taxpayers will. The inability to read a balance sheet is embarrassing. Scotland pays £16Billion for it’s (UK) pension/welfare system. Ie raised in Scotland. Less (pro rata) than the rest of the UK because on average people die younger in Scotland.

5. ScottishPsyche

The level of analysis from our pathetic press never ceases to amaze. From Torcuil this morning asking ‘what will they moan about now?’ to Clegg rejoicing in ‘winding up the right people’.

These are the very same people who demand that we move on and simultaneously ask Nicola Sturgeon when is the next referendum.

What is really funny is that while trying to say the vow is fulfilled, they must try also to say that Swinney achieved very little. They are destroying themselves in a frenzy of schadenfreude and self congratulation and it is glorious.

No doubt there will be graphs soon.

6. Iain

I have to assume that the yoon cult media must be subsidized by some of the intelligence agencies or why would they try to alienate half of Scotland.

7. R-type Grunt

The thing about these people is that they’ve obviously always been like this, it’s just that pre-Wings we weren’t really aware of it. Now we are and they’re scared. Rightly so. They’ve been lying to Scots for generations. When we get our independence these people should be banished from Scotland for good.

8. Hugh Barclay

Unionists as we now know can’t add up, as for those to arses, they do propaganda not journalism.

Fluffy on the radio this morning being pressed about UK Gov trying to rip Scotland of for 7bn, ah folk aren’t interested in process, what a fud, he is the type of idiot that was sent down to negotiate the Union in the first place, wake up D&G ffs.

John Swinney = Legend!

9. Hugh Barclay

‘Two’ 🙂

10. Clootie

…to the many branches of mathematics a new field has been added – “unionist progressive variation”

In this branch of maths variables within a formulae instantly change value to favour a unionist result. It has a unique geometric progression enabling the unionist result to improve with each restatement.

11. Dan Huil

So that’s how britnat newspapers inflate their circulation figures. Numerical numptiness.

Thank god for the internet and sites like WOS.

12. Bob Mack

This is straight out of Kezias Arithmetic for Beginners.Did they go to the same school?

Does anyone remember the days when these papers were regarded as “quality” broadsheets?

Oh dear Oh dear Oh dear.

13. One_Scot

Wow, great news, apparently according to the Yoons, Scotland now has the most powerful Devolved parliament in the world, sorry scrub that, it turns out that’s not correct.

But still, Wayhay, Scotland now has the most powerful Devolved parliament in the UK, well after Northern Ireland obviously.

Okay, start again; it turns out Scotland has a Devolved parliament that can straighten the road sign outside my house.

14. Bob Mack

Correction Arithmatic.. not arithmetic.

15. Luigi

Those yoons posing as journalists just cannot help themselves. Instead of an upbeat message about the future of Scotland and where we are heading (independence), they are already scoffing and thinking, rather wishfully, that this will kill the SNP stone dead. No thoughts for Scotland whatsoever, as long as the SNP suffer. Pathetic.

16. Tackety Beets

Remind me how much was it to set a Complete iScotland ?

How long will it be before these Yoons start to think ….. “Mmm I’m making a complete fool of myself”

No need for answers we all knew the answers years ago.

Sorry OT

Had a conversation with a pal from down sourf and he and others like him are NOW questioning the media for truth ? FFS

Maybe this next few months will waken a few up and see reality.

17. mike

Gardham killed the Herald single handedly, that is some achievement for a journalists cv.

18. Weechid

Hugh Barclay says:

24 February, 2016 at 10:36 am

“Unionists as we now know can’t add up, as for those to arses, they do propaganda not journalism.

Fluffy on the radio this morning being pressed about UK Gov trying to rip Scotland of for 7bn, ah folk aren’t interested in process, what a fud, he is the type of idiot that was sent down to negotiate the Union in the first place, wake up D&G ffs.

John Swinney = Legend!”

D&G voted for Richard Arkless. Fluffy represents Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale. Only part of Dumfriesshire in his constituency and very little of Dumfries itself. Given that – on national toast day – wish he was toast.

19. call me dave

Golly, and I thought Swinney had to work his socks off to get a score draw. It must have been much easier in reality if that’s their best mathematics.

Anyhoo! That vow.

John Swinney: The Vow has not been delivered by historic fiscal framework deal

https://archive.is/aWo9M

20. Ken500

These ‘journalists’ contradict themselves at every sentence. Writing themselves out of a job. Paid by tax evading Non Doms. They are only interested in themselves. They have a grudge against the SNP and it clouds their judgement. Putting their foot in their mouths. Mirror group to set up a ‘neutral’ newspaper?

The hypocritical arguments about the EU and sovereignty are laughable.

21. Almannysbunnet

Ruth Davidson said: “This is a major challenge to the SNP because grudge and grievance will no longer wash.”
    The same Ruthie who was encouraging Nicola to just accept what was on offer last week, including the £7 billion of detriment!

I’ll tell you what won’t wash Ruthie, any pretence that you or your party give two figs about Scotland and its people. Thank god that we have Nicola, John Swinney and our SNP MP’s and MSP’s keeping an eye on these nefarious unionist clowns.

Like the far off sound of the bagpipes playing I swear I can hear another whiney voice wafting through the ether “penny ona tax penny ona tax”. Who could that be?

22. Legerwood

It only goes to prove that whatever appears on the page passes through their brains without being impeded by any content therein.

O/T The Daily Telegraph is reporting that there will be a ‘Scottish Six’ on the BBC starting next year. The news programme will be 1 hour long and cover international as well as local news.

23. One_Scot

‘John Swinney: The Vow has not been delivered by historic fiscal framework deal’

Ahh, that’s just class, you do know that is gonna wind up the Yoons something awful.

Right, lets start pushing ahead getting this so called ‘Vow’ delivered. Hopefully the Daily Record will throw its weight behind this cause.

24. bjsalba

@Peter McCulloch

I too saw the Daily Mail headline about the “double SNP whammy”. Since it was dsplaed at head height I could read the first sentence easily.

From what I read I would suggest a remedial course for the “journalist” who wrote it. They need to understand the difference between fact and speculation. Then they might actually be reporting news.

25. David MacGille-Mhuire

The British state in its wannabe perpetual action mode – imperially eternal as in assumed in its exceptionalism as it temporarily blow jobs the U -S-A (as ancient Greece did to auld Rome when it was clear the former was well fcuked and had to keep doing the needful in order to sustain its pretensions).

The blue-woaded Caledonians again fcuking the master plan up.

Absolutely intriguing.

A fcuking multi-disciplinary humanities/philosophy/sociology/etc case-study which must be made core to the curriculum in addition to being an elective for scholars pursuing other intellectual and not immediately connected disciplinary paths to their core subject matter.

For example, civil engineers and medics- both of aspirant local duties, understanding, and scientific.

A belter of a result in the face of a political, fiscal, and Anglo-Brit-Stalingrad come pole-dancing seduction scenario – burn them to death or pseudo-shag the uppity fcukers before slitting their throats and other organs whilst sniggering away at some WM “elite” club at getting away with it yet again.

Well done, “Big John” Swinney, DFM, and the Scots FM, Ms Sturgeon, and the Scots negotiating team!

Bahookie well belted by ScotGov spanking Cammers & Ossie & the rest of the twunting Unionist Hands-Down-in-A -Foreign-Piss-Up-Posh-Place team (as they bottled it).

Avanti!

26. call me dave

Just catching up on Swinney’s report to the Holyrood finance committee this morning,

He said
    £200m set up costs (+ £66m additional funding annually)

Find it here on ‘parliament tv holyrood’.

http://www.scottishparliament.tv/Archive/Index/15adcdab-c7cd-4f76-a82a-94d9535cae58?categoryId=5a0ecf14-f101-4200-afcc-119ace2ba439&parentCategoryClicked=False&pageNumber=0&orderByField=ScheduledStart&queryOrder=DESC

Geez…hope that link OK. Tiny url thingy advice please!

27. Almannysbunnet

The Kenny Farquharson article is a strange one. the headline is:
    “Fair, hard-won blueprint to keep UK united”
    Swinney will be surprised to hear he was negotiating to keep the UK united. 🙂
    In a bout of honesty he then goes on to say:
    “John Swinney, leader of the Scottish negotiating team, won the most crucial battle. Treasury ministers tried to pull a fast one on the “fiscal framework” — the working arrangement for the next phase of devolution — but he saw them off.”

28. velofello

I like it Clootie: The Unionist progressive variation branch of mathematics.

You could also consider the Unionist Progressive School of Journalism.

Course work: “Lies? They are only words”;
    SNPBaad;
    How to write a Vow.

29. mogabee

Bob Mack–right first time. 🙂

You’d think these journos would have enough on their plate with so many other issues:

Economy diving into the deepest darkness.
    Eu referendum and Tories cat fights and handbags being chucked.
    Syria and resulting mass migration.

But no, whining and lying on behalf of the establishment and thinking we haven’t noticed!

30. Hugh Barclay

@ Weechid

Thank you for that, I stand corrected, hate it when I get shit wrong :-0

Come on, wake up DC&T ffs 🙂

31. Capella

@ call me dave
    copy link address
    go to tiny url site,
    http://tinyurl.com/create.php?url=http%3A%2F%2Ftinyurl.com%2Fcreate.php

paste address into dialogue box,

click “make tinyURL”

then click “Copy to clipboard”.

http://tinyurl.com/jtd2mvy

32. Papadox

O/T Alan Cochran the times today, is worried about the “quality” of EBC propaganda being harmed by the setting up of a Scottish six news program. This guy thinks lies, propaganda and manipulation of the truth is “quality” news reporting? The loonies really have got the keys to the asylum. Well done Alan, just keep taking the pills.

Should the EBC set up a Scottish six (as reported in the times) then it will be hobbled and cotrolled from EBC LONDINIUM as is at the moment. *anking exercise!

33. Capella

from Herald link above @ call me dave:

“John Swinney: The Vow has not been delivered by historic fiscal framework deal”

??”@George_Osborne
    Fiscal framework agreed delivers on the Vow made to Scotland while being fair to the rest of UK
    9:41 AM – 23 Feb 2016″

Who to believe!

34. Andrew McLean

voters in Scotland – 3,896,900, a fall of 3.4% from 2014 to 2015?
    funny only 5% swing and we would have got independence.
    How many of the 3.4 % are no voters, lets make sure they are not out guys!

This fiscal arrangement is on population isn’t it?

35. Bob Mack

@Andrew Mc Lean,

No Andrew,this was one of the points insisted on by the SNP that Scotland should have no detriment because of falling population numbers.

36. Graham MacLure

Legerwood @ 11:23.

An hour long Sottish News at 6?
    Where are they going to find the journalists is the first thought that came to mind. Not in the pool of MSM copy and pasters.
    I imagine the existing presenters would have to put in 16 hour days to come up with the necessary amount of “SNP Bad” stories to fill an hour every day! Their mince machine wouldn’t take the strain.License tax would have to be increased.

37. The Rough Bounds

Scottish journalists remind me of Dougal in that scene in ‘Father Ted’ where Ted is holding up a couple of toy farm animals to Dougal and, standing at the window, explains to a completely confused Dougal, ”These are very small”: (then indicating out the window) ”These are far away”.

38. Peter McCulloch

@bjsalba
    24 February, 2016 at 11:30 am
    Thanks for that, I try to ignore these rags, but if I remember correctly, as Stuart once pointed out that these rags rely on is, people simply reading the headlines and no further.

39. call me dave

Mr Swinney addresses Wee Wullie’s concerns about the use of the WM mechanism for forward calculations and demolishes them.

About 24mins and 45secs in for about 5 mins.

See link above.

As they used to say on ‘laugh in’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=krD4hdGvGHM

Well until Jackie Bailie gets going later on 🙁

@Capella
    Believe Swinney of course.

Thanks will try that procedure later for tiny url.

40. Inverclyder

One_Scot @ 10:50am

Scotland now has the most powerful Devolved parliament in Scotland.

The world has never seen a parliament in Scotland so powerful since before Scotland was in this Onion.

At least we have the SNP starting to strip away the layers of the Onion to expose the rotten core.

The good thing about all of this is that there would be a big stooshie if our lords and masters try and take away any (limited) powers that are being devolved whether it’s tax raising or signposts.

Speaking of signposts. We should be adding a Saltire to every signpost in Scotland.

41. Andrew McLean

Bob
    I will go stand in the corner, Mr sensible can pass the dunces cap!

42. Legerwood

Graham MacLure @ 12.05

Increasing the staff by around 60 – not sure if that will involve transferring staff from elsewhere to Glasgow. Suspect it will. The current lot are so embarrassingly amateurish at times.

43. galamcennalath

“John Swinney: The Vow has not been delivered by historic fiscal frame”

Of course not! From the Vow …

“The Scottish Parliament is permanent” … Says who? The word of the three amigos at the time is all we have. I think we need something more than that!

“… extensive new powers … ” …. Road signs? Increased borrowing is good because that can be used for infrastructure investment which will promote growth. However, ‘extensive’, by any reasonable measure, I think not.

Vow aside, other much greater promises were made by people who were spokesmen (they were all men) for BT / WM / UK. A offer was placed firmly on the table. This was taken at face value by 5-10% of voters and was central to the outcome. Cameron STILL needs to respect that result and deliver!

44. Effijy

??”@George_Osborne
    Fiscal framework agreed delivers on the Vow made to Scotland while being fair to the rest of UK
    9:41 AM – 23 Feb 2016?

Can we ask Gideon, Fluffy, and the Wee Tank Commander why they tried to Cheat £7 Billion GBP from Scotland over the next 10 years, with on-going detriment, and then reduce their plundering offer to £3 Billion, before now agreeing with the Scot Gov that
    the No detriment offer is the Fair One???

This surely must set a precedent for all Scottish Voters that No one in the Tory Party is willing to give Scotland an even break.
    If they can secure their own seat on the Tory gravy train, they will sail Scotland down the river at every opportunity.

SNP X 2

45. Jim Mitchell

Aye when you deal with the unionists the first thing you look for is the catch!

46. Phronesis

Scotland should just keep talking ,thinking like an independent country until the inevitable happens.
    Now Scotland is no longer willing to live in a permanently infantilised state courtesy of WM – how liberating to make adult decisions, control our destiny – WM is no longer necessary and Scotland will thrive without its suffocating influence.

47. call me dave

Coo! MSP Lesley Brennan is a bit slow on the uptake on the committee. 🙁

It seems she thinks somehow that oil and gas is somehow ‘Scottish’ when talking about a financial ‘shock’.

Swinney quietly corrects her misapprehension by reminding her it is entirely within the remit of Westminster.

Funny old ‘Scottish’ labour world init!

48. louis.b.argyll

If unionists can add/subtract..never mind calculus/algebra..
    How can they claim to understand ‘black holes’?

49. Ken500

Cameron says that the 60% Oil sector tax is the ‘broad shoulders’ helping Scotland and Ruth is great for Scotland. Tell that to the thousands of workers losing their jobs.

50. Jack Murphy

OT. Just two points to make:-
    1. As from this morning going to work,I did NOT buy a newspaper—-no withdrawl symptoms. Feels great—-a burden off my shoulders,and money in my pocket,—I’ll be saving a fortune over the next few years. 🙂

2.I think John Swinney must be exhausted and should be given 7 days off by Nicola Sturgeon. 🙂

51. Robert Peffers

@R-type Grunt says: 24 February, 2016 at 10:35 am:

“The thing about these people is that they’ve obviously always been like this, it’s just that pre-Wings we weren’t really aware of it. “

Whit!
    Wha’s this, “We”, yer oan aboot, R-Type?

I’ve been harping on about Scotland being ripped off since the late 1940s.

Niall Aslan’s, “The Great Deception”, from 2005:-
    http://www.electricscotland.com/independence/TheGreatDeception.pdf

Niall Aslan’s The Great Obfuscation from 2006:-
    http://www.electricscotland.com/independence/TheGreatObfuscation.pdf

The main reason for the change of title seems to be that after the first one, “The Great Deception”, it suddenly became rather hard to get Niall’s article under that search term.

There was a sudden rash of articles with that title suddenly making searching for Niall’s article almost impossible. His article was relegated way down the search results from having been first in the search engine list of finds.

I would imagine it was an early Establishment attempt to silence Niall and to stop Scottish people getting hold of the truth. Believe me there are so many Establishment rip-offs that it is hard to keep track and remember them all.

In fact such rip-offs can be traced back as far as the Treaty of Union itself and even before that. The Establishment in the English deep south has been there and at it since even Roman times and there are no written records from before then.

The Romans ran their Empire as a Customs and Excise scheme and that is the real reason for both Hadrian’s and the Antonine walls. They were not to stop the North Britons from invading the south but to prevent the south Britons smuggling what the Romans were in Britain to obtain. The then rare metals, minerals, manufactured goods and of course slaves.

Your Royalty and English aristocracy are the descendants of the Anglo Saxon and Norman aristocracy and these are still sitting in the HOL as hereditary peers today.

52. DerekM

It was probably the best outcome we could have got from a real twisted piece of yoonery nonsense,the only thing agreed is that its to be punted into the long grass.

Of course that wont stop the colonial press from singing rule Britannia and the vow delivered,and trying to make a mountain out a molehill and i expect we will see all sorts of made up figures in a yoon attempt to muddy the waters with lots of SNP bads flung in for good measure.

At least we now can get back on track i am more surprised they caved so soon,since this was never anything else than an exercise in time wasting.

53. Frank Wright

I notice the Scotsman gives most of its front page to two health stories and only squeezing the Fiscal framework in at the side.

I guess they must be gutted that that Scotland’s representatives, namely Sturgeon and Swinney, dodged the Treasury bullet.

54. blair paterson

The report I heard stated that a deal had been reached in Principle surley that means it is still open to change ?

55. Luigi

Frank Wright says:

24 February, 2016 at 1:02 pm

I notice the Scotsman gives most of its front page to two health stories and only squeezing the Fiscal framework in at the side.

I guess they must be gutted that that Scotland’s representatives, namely Sturgeon and Swinney, dodged the Treasury bullet.

I think the corporate media reporters (as many of us did) thought that there would be no deal, so they worked their little socks and carefully crafted “SNP BAD” stories to ensure who got the blame. Oh Dear! The SG went and did a deal at the last minute, scuppering their cunning plans, and they had to stay up all night trying very hard to spin the (unexpected) result in favour of WM. No wonder they are grumpy this morning, they must be exhausted, poor things. 🙂

56. Proud Cybernat

Giddy: “The Vow has been delivered in full.”

Away and raffle yerself, son. WE will tell YOU when The Vow has been delivered! YOU will NOT tell US. ANY Devo-Maxer will tell you The Vow HASN’T been delivered. Get it?

The majority in Scotland support Devo-Max. So, deliver DEVO-MAX or face Indy. What’s it gonnae be, Giddy?

SNP x 2 = IndyRef 2

57. Bob Mack

@Blair Paterson,

Still needs approval from Commons ,House of Lords. I believe

58. Capella

Email from Nicola yesterday:

“When negotiations first began, they proposed a cut of £7 billion.
    Yesterday it was £3 billion.
    This morning it was £2.5 billion.

Tonight we secured a deal that will ensure that Scotland will not be a penny worse off. And the new powers which were promised will be delivered.”

59. ScottishPsyche

O/T Another mind-numbing PMQs.

The SNP MPs need to sharpen their attack in the preamble to their question. Asking straightforward questions is an open goal for Cameron, gives him opportunity to launch into his mantra about oil prices.

Although it does make them look so much more grown up to the watching audience.

Nauseating attack on Jeremy Corbyn’s appearance by Cameron. He really is the worst type of bully, using his platform and privileged position to attack the person.

I am starting to believe he really is one of the most unpleasant characters to have ever been in power. The worry is what he does after his political career is over. A relatively young man, he has his post-PM Tony Blair years still to come, doing as much damage but probably in finance,NHS privatisation and arms dealing.

Is he just preparing the ground for what he really wants to do?

60. HandandShrimp

Hard to see what the Unionist journalists have to celebrate. It was clear that they would have settled for any old crap from Westminster and sang its praises.

The deal we have, modest though it is, was fought for tooth and claw by the SNP. The SNP fight for Scotland – you would need to a masochistic innumerate to vote for the Red, Blue or Yellow Tories. The latter are not people you can trust with Scotland’s interests and that goes for their newspaper propagandists.

61. galamcennalath

Proud Cybernat says:

“deliver DEVO-MAX or face Indy.”

Yes, that is where we should head now. This piss poor Smith affair is out of the way. Now Cameron has to respect the offers made to secure his win.

62. One_Scot

‘Away and raffle yerself, son. WE will tell YOU when The Vow has been delivered!’

Brilliant.

63. K1

I’m actually just so pleased that we got the no detriment deal through because these bastards were completely willing and very keen to shaft Scotland. It’s ‘their’ grudge and grievance agenda that we are really up against…they just project it on to SNP and those of us who support an Independent Scotland.

I never did read newspapers…even before the ref et al, so to see the depths of the madness displayed in the opinions and incompetent/lying reporting in any of these rags that have been held up as ‘trustworthy’ unfold over the last couple of years has been equally enlightening and utterly draining.

I don’t know how yer mind can cope Stu, with all the rancid ramblings of these so called journalists pontificating and exposing their narrow minded agendas and their complete incompetence when any kind of the figures are involved. But I’m grateful that you do this work…for us.

We have a bit of breathing space, time to focus on SNP X 2…let’s finish off the red tories…MSP level, then we take the councils.

64. muttley79

Libby Brooks has joined Professor John Curtice in bringing us the news that Euroscepticism is at a record high in Scotland:

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2016/feb/24/euroscepticism-scotland-record-high

Remember there is absolutely no agenda by the unionist MSM in the UK against independence and the SNP. Repeat until you can recite this; there are no political differences between Scotland and the rest of the UK, there are no political differences between Scotland and the rest of the UK, there are no…

65. Clapper57

Before the ink is dry on the ‘most devolved parliament ‘ Huh! final deal ( of sorts ) the self styled sage of the Lying Democrats once again whining and lining his own political pocket via his predictable doomsday observation .

Wee Willie Rennie said the ” current negotiations were “carefully choreographed” to cover up that the Scottish government had “caved in” to TREASURY demands”.

He said: “I suspect the Scottish government knew they had to cave in order to get a deal, given how bad it would look for them if they couldn’t “.

Ah the Lib Dem / Tory alliance how easy it is for Wee Willie to forget one o his ain Danny Alexander, was once the Chief Secretary to (the Tory majority with a sprinkling of Lib Dem’s Govt) TREASURY in that former alliance pre 2015 GE.

Pray tell us Wee Willie what did Sir Danny have to ‘cave in’ to get his knighthood , perhaps the ‘carefully choreographed’ timing of his new title was to ‘COVER UP’ that both he and the WM government shafted Scotland pre and post referendum.

Strange too the idea that he thinks the SG ‘caved in’ when wee Willie was one of the yoons who declared The Vow had been delivered, long before these ‘current negotiations’ started.

As Willie joined forces with Tories in BT campaign then why would he think the SG would need to ‘cave in’ to Tory treasury , surely his former partners in crime, the Tories, would offer Scotland what was promised , or as Willie puts it , DELIVERED , in the Vow.

Obviously one has to assume he must have been LYING then and well , let’s be HONEST , Lying now. Par for the course. Yes ?

Rennie really does takes ‘whining’ to a new level , to the top level. Yes ?

#RennieBeyondParody

66. call me dave

Trying out the tiny url thing as recommended by Capella.

Swinney reports back to the finance committee this morning.
    Wee Wullie Rennie’s whine demolished from 24mins in to 29mins.

http://tinyurl.com/jtd2mvy

Hope it works. 🙂

67. Les Wilson

Robert Peffers says:

Robert, read your links ” The Great Deception”
    It is high time that the SG got to check Scottish Finances like the writer did.

It shows though, just why they are very desperate to keep us under the thumb. Times have changed,more info is available than ever before, the time is coming for a complete exposure of their systamatic robbing of Scotland.

68. K1

Rennie: …I’ve got nothing…*shrugs*

69. Fred

The unseemly rush to settle with Greg Hands might just have some connection to Cameron’s Euro Referendum & his inability to think of two things at the one time.

70. Valerie

Gawd, PMQs was particularly cringeworthy today, I couldn’t do it, and I worked in Local Government!

The noise was deafening, at one point, I came back in from the kitchen, thinking the HoC was under attack, seriously awful.

I’m no fan of Corbyn, but the disrespect is off the scale. Perhaps because of my background, his position deserves respect, as part of governance, and his party put him there.

Still, pigface is being shown for the patronising bully he is.

71. yesindyref2

Yes, latest offer from the Treasury last week was £50 million, so they quadrupled that to £200 million.

SG going for up to £600 million was like asking for £200 to wash someone’s car. The anti-SNP mob were so intent on going on about how Salmond said he could set up a whole state with £200 million, they never thought to ask themselves if perhaps £600 million wasn’t a bit excessive! The Treasury got caught by that one too, that was their comment about Salmond last week too. Not a word about it actually being grossly excessive.

I think the SNP knew exactly what would happen, and really pulled a fast one with that. Played the anti-SNP mob for the frothing fools they are – and the Treasury.

Me and the boys will do it for £50 million!

72. Andy-B

It just proves a long standing point, that lowly hacks parrot everything and anything, that carries the #SNPBAD tag.

Oh and they’re shit at maths as well.

73. frogesque

@ call me dave: 2.19

Tiny URL linky thingy worked fine. For some reason a lot of links and stuff are not supported by Safari browser but no probs when copy/pasted to IE

74. frogesque

@ yesindyref2 :2.57

Me and the boys will do it for £50 million!

Cash only, no VAT, no receipts! Del Boy would be fair proud of oor John,

75. Peter Mcculloch

I see Dugdale has been reported describing the Scottish Government’s budget an ‘austerity budget’ and called on it to back Labour’s one penny tax increase.

76. Brian Doonthetoon

According to Big Brian on Reporting Scotland, it was “1%”.

Can they not get a story straight?

77. Peter McCulloch

@Brian Doonthetoon
    24 February, 2016 at 6:38 pm
    Here’s what it say on tonight online edition of the courier
    Labour leader Kezia Dugdale branded the spending plans an “austerity budget” as she renewed calls for the Scottish Government to back her party’s proposal for a 1p tax rise.

78. Iain More

Oh God No! A Disreporting Jackie Six will have a whole hour to spew anti Scottish Indy and anti Scottish and anti SNP bile! The Yoons must be doing a reel of glee!

79. Ali

Hmm pretty sure if I go to the bookies and stick £12 on a horse at 4/1 if it wins they ain’t going to give me £200!!!!

Do they ever actually think before spouting this nonsense?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.