The Achievers

Posted on July 02, 2019 by

As we all know by now, the active Yes movement is split into two camps. On one side are the whiners (mainly but not solely from the fringe far left), who are always full of destructive criticism and abuse for their own side while contributing nothing of any value themselves, other than to promote their own media careers.

On the other are the hard workers who actually get things done, quietly producing materials and work that reach out to voters and make a real difference.

These people have no interest in getting their faces known by appearing as tame Nat pundits on TV and radio, no desire to get their foot in the door at the BBC or grab a lucrative seat in Parliament. All most of them care about is bringing about a Yes vote so that they can get back to their normal lives in a better country.

So let’s see if we can help a few of them out.

AyeMail

Wings’ unseen right-hand man Lindsay Bruce and his family team slog absolutely tirelessly for the cause on a non-profit basis, producing all manner of campaign materials at bargain-bucket prices by getting them at bulk discounts and distributing them to Yes groups everywhere. (As well as handling all of Wings’ donor perks.) Their current fundraiser seeks to put 5,000 Yes flags in the hands of campaigners.

iScot

We’ve plugged this fantastic publication many times before, because it really can’t be overstated what an achievement it is to create a glossy regular magazine from scratch and keep it running for years. As well as being a great read in its own right it’s a brilliant way to reach soft No voters who’d never dream of reading out-and-out politics sites, especially in some of the most difficult demographics.

Phantom Power

Wings readers will already be familiar with the unparallelled body of work produced by Phantom Power in the field of video, from the Nation series on other small independent countries to the self-explanatory Journey To Yes (now on its 25th instalment) and more besides. Making video of this quality isn’t cheap, but the output speaks for itself.

Wee Ginger Dug

One of the movement’s finest and most popular working-class polemicists, with a string of books to his name and an exhausting record of shlepping all over the country to talk to the public, yet mysteriously never invited onto broadcast media when people with a tiny fraction of his readership or insight are regulars.

What all of the above also have in common is that they’ve been the subject of vicious attacks from the “radical” elements of the Yes movement, none of whom have put in a thousandth of the effort they have or produced a single identifiable result.

All of them deserve your support and are vital to the continuing strength of the indy campaign in the tumultuous times ahead, so if you’ve got a couple of quid to spare this month please think about firing it their way.

1. 02 07 19 14:56

The Achievers | speymouth

173 to “The Achievers”

1. Ken McDonald

Thank you Stuart.

2. Greg Drysdale

I contribute towards and support all of these (and Wings too of course). Unfortunately the Indy App doesn’t seem to be getting the uptake it needs or deserves. I think (hopefully) it will find its best use when an official campaign starts. I’m sure a wee feature on this would be a great boost from you though Stu 🙂

3. Proud Cybernat

Will do, Rev.

4. Hamish100

Well done to all.

The ordinary folk will win Independence

5. Patsy Millar

Absolutely spot on. Well said

6. David Holden

All three are doing a great job but I would like to single out AyeMail for special praise as it produces so much great gear . When our Yes group was dead in the water and not answering the phone I got in touch with AyeMail explained what was going on and they kindly let us have one of the Yes packs for £20. As selling the flags etc was not an option we donated them to people going on the AUOB marches and asked them to donate to a cancer charity if they were happy which a lot of them did . These flags and badges have been to all the highland marches and have reached the USA and other former colonies all down to the hard work put in by AyeMail. Glad to say our Yes group is back up and running .

7. craig

Thank to you all for all you have done so far and continue to do so till the day our dream will be achieved.

Thank you Stu for highlighting the good work those folks do and it’s justified that they all get a mention.

Scotland owes you all, I will be forever in your debt when we win,

Thank you

8. Proud Cybernat

Even the Bruce had to rely on the Sma’ Folk for final victory.

9. Robert J. Sutherland

Yes, “by their fruits ye shall know them”. (Matth. 7:20)

And applies to both camps.

10. Macandroid

Contribute to them all and will continue to do so.

iScot is a great magazine but all are doing a wonderful job.

If everybody who reads this article bungs them a quid each they will be very happy.

11. Petra

All WELL worth supporting and truly deserving of our appreciation. So a big thank you folks, better still some additional money in your coffers.

And I’ll add another name to the list, if you don’t mind, and that’s the totally invaluable Professor John Robertson and his site:-

‘TALKING-UP SCOTLAND – COUNTER- PROPAGANDA AND CITIZEN JOURNALISM SINCE 2014.’

Still working away (on his own?) producing massive amounts of data on a daily basis. The kind of guy that should be, and will be, at the forefront of a decent Independent Scottish media. We’ll definitely not forget who our ”friends” were (are) when the time comes.

https://thoughtcontrolscotland.com/

12. Capella

I support Wee Ginger Dug and and recommend getting along to a roadshow talk. I have the books, the superb Gaelic maps of Scotland and read the blog regularly.

I also subscribe to iScot. It is indeed a beautifully produced magazine. It can also be accessed online for reading while travelling.

Ayemail do a sterling job of getting the WoS perks out, in fact in getting the goods in the first place.

I hope all three are gearing up for the autumn when the BREXIT bus goes over the cliff and Westminster disintegrates. I expect the political temperature to go critical very soon. This Festival of Tory Britain has become too farcical for words.

13. Tackety Beets

Sorry to see “Kendomacaroon bar” has been archived. Smiley thing
    But lives on as a member of the Wings Family.

Another excellent post Stuart.
    They all deserve huge pats on the back.

14. RogueCoder

Thanks for putting this up Stu, very much appreciated! And of course to everybody who donates – we really couldn’t do this job without you.

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t been as active the last few months. I had some health issues to deal with and that took my focus and energy to get sorted out. I’m getting back to full fitness now, but if you had been waiting on t-shirts, flags, badges or leaflets, I apologise for any delays you may have experienced.

The flags crowdfunder really is a crucial one. I know folks probably think that we’ve got more than enough flags already, but it’s still the thing that we get asked most for. There are no flags with the new Yes logo on them yet, so it’s important to get these onto the streets before indyref2.

There is a second more powerful motivator though. We distribute these flags cheaply to Yes groups who then sell them locally to their own supporters. This raises a LOT of money for groups. For every £1 we spend on flags, Yes groups can raise an extra £4 in local funding. So basically it means your donation is multiplied by 5.

This is probably the last time we’ll do flags because we’re leaving the EU in October and our import license will no longer be valid. We have no clue what’s happening post-Brexit. So we want to do the new Yes logo flags now whilst we still have the chance.

Cheers

Lindsay Bruce

15. Robert

Well said

16. Bill Glen

Every one of them as you say work tirelessly in the background, We could all help more by offering some our time to help them Distribute The Material they Produce,,

17. MajorBloodnok

That reminds me, must be about time to get my copy in.

18. Donald anderson

Too true.

19. Stephen McKenzie

A timely reminder of the real hard graft that keeps the movement going.

20. Andrew Davidson

Done and done and done.

Not much but hopefully every little helps.

21. onanymous

Done, done and done.

22. Sarah

I’ve already done 2 of the 3 – will now go for the full set.

It is phenomenal, the amount of work and talent involved in these three projects. And there are several more, including Wings!

So what I don’t understand is how on earth Scotland is not yet restored to equal status with England [and the rest of the world’s countries]. With people like these working for Scotland we have a fantastic future ahead of us. Surely that it is obvious? And I can’t wait.

23. Footsoldier

O/t looking for tickets for Andre Rieu who is visiting Glasgow next May, I had a look at the website in the section Concert Info

https://andrerieu.com/en/tour/glasgow-may-9th-2020-uk

I came across “André Rieu is back in the United Kingdom and Ireland”.

If you click on the language box top right in every language other than English, the United Kingdom is shown as England in the language selected – thereby perpetuating the myth that the UK is indeed England.

24. Robert Peffers

@Bill Glen says: 2 July, 2019 at 2:39 pm:

” … Every one of them a hero and as you say they work tirelessly in the background, as do so many other wee anonymous Yessers, who always will remain anonymous, yet where would the indy movement be without them?

It will not be the billionaire’s spare millions, the dark money from non-doms or the fly Westminster government scams that will win in the end.

It will me the few hard earned quid, the saved pennies on the food bills from the uncommon, common folks that will, in the end, win this battle for freedom.

25. Marie Clark

Happy to support all of them, great guys and gals all of them. iScot is a great read, and should be passed on for others to see.

Thanks again folks, we can’t do it without you. Never mind the whiners and begrudgers, their type of indy or no playing. Just ignore them, the rest of us, well we have a big fight on our hands, but things seem to be shifting in our direction at last.

26. Peter Brunskill

Well said Rev.

27. starlaw

iscot great magazine get it every month Great items and photo’s, If you have ever read ‘The Scots Magazine’ then try ‘iscot’ it is superior.

28. Welsh Sion

Count yourself lucky, Footsoldier (3.11 pm) :). Rieu is not visiting Wales at all – but has one evening in Glasgow and another in Belfast to count as part of that ‘United Kingdom’ tour. (Plus a smattering in England, of course.)

Makes you wonder where my country is represented in the flag of this ‘family of nations’, doesn’t it?

Oh.

29. call me dave

Good post this.

We will owe a huge debt to folk like this all over Scotland when it happens.

Anyhoo!
    Chipped in and got a new ‘YES’ flag for my grandaughter.
    She borrowed my WINGS hat a while back…hmmm!

30. Sarah

@Lindsay Bruce re flags bought from overseas.

It must have been said before but given the vast amount of saltires being bought, would it not be a profitable business to make them in Scotland? Also all the other different banners. I did try to source a Scotland-made flag but no luck.

Any Wingers with connections in the textile trade?

31. Al-Stuart

Excellent thread.

Then we have the BBC Achievers…

Otherwise known as pernicious, greedy MBE chasing unionist creeps. The sort that front fundraising PR stunts to help raise their honour award status to an OBE or CBE due to their “helping charities”.

Of course, OBE stands for “Other Bu66ers Efforts” 🙂

Millionaire BBC presenters and “personalities” demanding poor people send what little they have to other poor people. Whilst the millionaire unionists Fiona Bruce and Nick Robinsons breach their legal duty of impartiality to sideswipe Scotland at any opprtunity.

Just as long as we are all paying the criminal and criminalised licence fee.

Please pass me the sick bowl.

32. Vestas

Please tell me I’m not the only one who took a quick glance at the photo & wondered why Jeremy Clarkson was holding a Wee Blue Book 🙂

iScot has some interesting stuff in it – I seem to have got a sub for it from last year’s fundraiser.

WGD has some serious travel expenses given he seems to go everywhere in Scotland to do (unpaid) talks.

Scot Goes Pop is another one with a fundraiser up now.

33. Craig Munro

Yup …. cheers Rev -)

34. Grouse Beater

Interesting…..

35. Adrian B

” Sarah – it gets asked a great deal. Cost of making a flag in Scotland is close to around £20 each. That price would require an upfront a capital investment that the Indy network isn’t going to pay for to produce flags at such a high individual price.

In order to be profitable in textile/ print for flags you need to produce 24/7/365.

Small and occasional orders wouldn’t get anywhere near the scale required to cover machinery investment.The printing industry is like the car industry – it is a global market. The EU prints is a big market and has a lot of big printers – but not for flags.

I do work in Printing/textile industry. 😀

36. stonefree

It’s good that you point to those that do excellent work for little thanks or publicity.
    You are appreciated

37. Doreen A Milne

Really great to put faces to names and what a lovely way to acknowledge them and all their hard work. Without them, and you, we wouldn’t know a fraction of the truth about our country and its place in the world. Thank all you brilliant and dedicated people.

38. Robert Peffers

Here’s another one I don’t see getting much help or publicity that has been asking for some help:-

https://www.broadcastingscotland.scot/

39. Robert Peffers

@Welsh Sion says: 2 July, 2019 at 3:26 pm:

” … Makes you wonder where my country is represented in the flag of this ‘family of nations’, doesn’t it?”

Yes but they think they have owned you foe a lot longer so they just take Wales for granted.

It’ll just come as a bigger shock to them after you leave them to their own devices. I know from first hand experience over many long years that there are places in Wales that have never accepted English rule and never will.

40. Bob Costello

You are right Stuart, it seems that the ones who do the most but can also see the shortcomings in the SNP and other aspects of the movement are the ones that get the most abuse and they do indeed come from the left in a disproportional amount

41. Welsh Sion

Sarah @ 4.02pm

Not the same, I know, but please accept a wee, free (NOT a Wee Free!) gift.

https://www.crossed-flag-pins.com/Friendship-Pins/Scotland/Flag-Pins-Scotland-Wales.html

42. Bobp

Vestas 4.13pm I thought that was Jeremy clarkson as well when I clicked on the photo. Been receiving my iscot magazine since it first came out,sent down to deepest Dorset for me. Love when it drops through the letterbox. Always give a wee bit to WGD when I can,

43. bobajock

The bleaters don’t know what they’re about at all. Almost all the issues are related to the ever present ‘UK (English)’ political parties, their ‘big con’ and their media.

Our team (you highlight them above) are those who can see a future and are driven by hope.

Thankyou.

44. ronnie anderson

Vestas 4.13 You better watch oot or that wee wummin ( Betty Boop ) beside Jim wull bite yer ankles lol .

Rev due to ill health I will be doing my last Wings Stall on Sat 6th at Ayr . BettyB/Jim/LizG/Briandtt will no doubt propose that all the Crowdfunders receive donations from our efforts on Sat .
    ( Im hopefull that by come Sat the Wings Stall will be under New Management ).

Many Many thanks to all who have supported the Wings Stall since out 1st venture at Yes in the Park .

45. Socrates MacSporran

OFF-TOPIC

BBC News – 12 seconds in, Clive Myrie in Lyon and, he mentions 1966. Possibly a new BBC record for bringing-up that game.

46. Sarah

@AdrianB at 4.31: thank you for that information. It saves me brooding on the subject of “why import saltires?”. I see now!!

@Welsh Sion at 5.20: thank you for the link to flag pins. I see the source is in Germany!!

47. galamcennalath

Contributions made.

I’m particularly looking forward to getting a new logo YES flag. I like the design – multiple colours symbolising inclusivity. Yet a different set of colours from the pride rainbow set, avoiding any toe treading.

Anyone know where we can get badges with the new YES logo? We’ve run out of 2014 ones and it would be nice to get the new style into circulation.

48. Robert J. Sutherland

ronnie anderson @ 17:58,

Sorry to hear that, Ronnie. Hope it’s nothing too serious or too long-lasting.

49. Adrian B

@ galamcennalath,

The design is an SNP design, so technically they own the design. They have some badges on their web site:
    https://www.snpstore.org/yes

I doubt if they would mind individual groups punching out a few with badge machines at local level. AyeMail have permission to produce flags only using this logo style.

You might want to try Donna Babington for a few if you don’t have access to a badge machine. Ask nicely and she might be able to help.
    https://www.saltirecustomcreations.scot/
    https://twitter.com/MissBabington

50. Robert Louis

Let’s just hope the USA women are playing at their very best tonight. A.B.E.

51. Bobp

Apologies for slightly going off topic, but is this happening in Scotland? Down here in our local tesco Express onions are being sold singly 25p each, in the local sainbury’s single rashers of bacon about the same. Apparently this is quite the thing now. Said to the wife what’ll it be next, sorry you cant buy a loaf but that will be 30/40p a slice or whatever. A post Brexit England is not looking good. Be warned Scotland,get out while you still can.

52. Maldwyn Owen

There is an excellent business in Ayr, that produce & sell friendship badges and other souvenirs.
    https://www.traditionsouvenirs.com/index.php/2/

53. Bobp

Robert Louis, yeah I had to turn that sh**e off at 2 minutes past 6, gave me the boak.

54. call me dave

Extra places in university to train 100 Scottish doctors say SGov Unfair to English and Welsh students say the Scottish Universities Nothing to do with the £9000 a year fees.

Hark the Herald infers SNP bad… 🙁 It’s just another day!

55. ben madigan

@ ronnie anderson @ 17:58,

Sorry to hear you are not well, Ronnie. Wishing you a speedy recovery to full health.

56. Mogabee

I do try to give something to all those you’ve mentioned. Everyone of them are heroes for their amazing contributions.

Ronnie
    Sorry to hear you are giving up the stall but glad someone else is carrying on the tradition. Take care of yourself!

57. TJenny

Ronnie – very sorry to hear your health is not good. You’ve been such a stalwart for indy and Wings. Hope you can enjoy watching from the sidelines for a long time.

58. Ruglonian

twitter.com/YesRutherglen/status/1146125500525494274?s=19

For badges, stickers and whatever else you may fancy – Yes Rutherglen & Cambuslang is the place to find it! 🙂

59. Bobp

Ronnie , I seen you at the wings stall 4th may Glasgow green. I bought the last large vile cybernat t.shirt, you chucked in some extra badges for me. The guy with the white beard and Scotland baseball cap.

60. Bobp

Ronnie , I seen you at the wings stall 4th may Glasgow green. I bought the last large vile cybernat t.shirt, you chucked in some extra badges for me. The guy with the white beard and Scotland baseball cap. Hope you getting better.

61. Bobp

Sorry posting twice.

62. Petra

Interesting site, Adrian. I wonder if the NTS and HES sell Ms Babington’s creations?

http://www.saltirecustomcreations.scot

………….

Really sorry to hear that your health isn’t great right now Ronnie. Here’s hoping that things will improve for you soon X

63. Mike cassidy

Socrates.

12 seconds is impressive.

Can’t see tonight’s commentary beating that.

Might watch the start just to see if they take up the challenge?

64. heraldnomore

Anthems. Managing to avoid them, or one of them at certain football match. But I hear Ms Widdecombe says it wasn’t an anthem she turned her back on earlier. For it’s the EU, a union, not a country. Ergo not an anthem.

But the dirge is probably playing right now. Not my anthem.

65. Wee Chid

May I add DGP4Indy A group of Pensioners for Indipendence who have been active for some time, running street stalls, pop up shops etc. We crowdfunded and have managed to purchase a vehicle which will be launched as a Mobile Indy Hub this Friday by Godon McIntyre Kemp, who will be speaking at a local event organised by English Scots for Yes. We feel that the hub will be invaluable in trying to get the indy positive message across to the residents of Dumfries and Galloway – currently held by Tories Alistair Jack and David Mundell. The “IndyVan” will make its first appearance at the AUOB March in Ayr whilst, in Dumfries, volunteers will be manning a pop up exhibition about Scotland’s wealth. http://dgp4indy.scot/index.php/events

66. heraldnomore

Oh well, the Aussie wimmen cricketers have just kept their side of the bargain – what price the double?

67. Clapper57

BBC business news this afternoon mentioned Scotch Whisky included in new EU tariffs ????????????

I am confused.

No explanation why but when the business editor told Simon McCoy on business news …McCoy did not ask why or even how this made sense ????? They both never questioned this logic as being strange……

Nothing on main news and do not think the six o’clock STV news programme mentioned anything….am I being thick cause what the fuck has Scotch whisky got to do with US retaliating on EU with tariffs…….is this Trump trying to get protected status removed from Scotch whisky or is he in huff because his golf course has now had it’s protected status removed…………or is he colluding with English Tory politicians against Scotland.

Does anybody know wtf this is all about….still I suppose it will make the WATP types happy….win win for them what with them being so pro Trump and anti Scotland.

68. Clapper57

Re my previous comment meant to state Trump’s golf course’s ‘sand dunes’ lost protected status not his actual golf course. Lol

69. Fionan

Sorry to hear you have health problems Ronnie and hoping they are soon overcome and you are back to full health again. Take care.

70. Calum McKay

Independence will be secured by the motivated people in the background helping to change the ore of the people in the middle!

We should all pull as one and pull us out of this union gone bad!

71. galamcennalath

Petra says:

WGD:- ‘Boycotting the people of Scotland.’

The Citizens’ Assembly is intended to find a consensus way forward.

That doesn’t fit the Tory agenda at all because they want to move backwards. They want to undo what has already been achieved and move back to London rule.

The Tories don’t want to even contemplate what might be best for Scotland. To them that’s a total irrelevance.

I was fairly ambivalent about a Citizens’ Assembly however it’s biggest achievement might be to redraw the constitutional lines in Scotland into a) those whose interests and intentions are genuinely for the common good, and b) those those agenda is vandalism, undermining, sidelining, and external control.

Soft BritNats might have their eyes opened to the harsh reality of the hard Britnats!

72. Silverytay

Ronnie , sorry to hear about your health . Look after yourself and hopefully you will be fit for the big push when it comes .
    Yes in the Park seems like a lifetime ago .

73. Robert Peffers

Get well soon Ronnie the Yes movement needs you.

74. Cubby

GO USA

LOL

75. mike cassidy

Clapper57

Tariff story here.

Irish whiskey too.

http://archive.is/q8WXu

76. The Tree of Liberty

Come back when yir ready, Ronnie. Yie’ll be misssed.

77. James Caithness

To Ronnie Anderson Sorry to hear about you not being well.

Get the fags stopped, do as the doctors tell you and get well soon. Look after yourself.

78. Iain mhor

@Ronnie Anderson
    As they Yanks are wont to say to their veterans:
    “Thank you for your service”
    Wishing you better health soon.

79. Clapper57

@ Mike Cassidy

Thanks for that Mike.

The story you added a link to states :

“Scotch whisky is among the products targeted by the US for a possible range of new tariffs on imported goods.

The US has threatened to impose tariffs on European Union imports worth up to $4bn (£3.2bn), although it is not known when tariffs would be imposed.
    Whiskey from Ireland, cheeses including Parmesan and Gouda, pasta and olives are other items affected.
    The US Trade Representative said it was in response to harm caused by EU aircraft subsidies”.

My problem Mike is that…. is it not being promoted that UKOK is coming OUT of EU in October 2019 with or without a deal…AND thought UKOK was going to get fandabby trade deal with USA post Brexit..would that trade deal NOT include Scotch Whisky ???..this story is all related to retaliation on EU products …..so kinda does not measure up that Scotch whisky is being included in this …..USA tariff retaliation on EU products.

Am I smelling a rat…one with an orange face and hair that looks ready to take off in a ten force gale..or even light breeze with intent….not having a tin foil hat moment just confused.dot.com at the rationale behind this in a UKOK about to leave the EU….surely this tariff on Scotch whisky would punish UKOK NOT EU…UKOK obvs being synonymous for the Tory/Brexit party England……is some dirty shit going down here ?

80. Golfnut

@ Clapper57

This is all about painting EU membership baad. Whisky and fishing are fairly emotive subjects in Scotland and you will note they have both been in the news over the last seven days. Whisky is one of Scotland’s largest exports, (its provenance is protected by the EU) and its export value is pretty well known. Of course if we left the EU and stayed with the UK, everything would be ok because of the wonderful trade deal with unicorns attached that we will have with the US. It’s an old story being resurrected to scare the horse’s.
    The wonderful trade deal will include the privatization of our SNHS, but hey look, we saved whisky.
    What’s not commonly known is that whisky isn’t our top export by a long way. Electricity topped £6 billion, gas topped that and oil came in at over £20 billion, but you don’t hear about those items from the EBC.
    So this story is old news, if the U.S. does embargo whisky we’ll just have to sell our surplus to South America, the EU have just signed a new trade deal after 20 years of negotiation, another 400,000 million people added to the market for Scottish goods, and we get to keep our SNHS, we won’t be fracked and we get rid of Trident.

81. Clapper57

@ Golfnut

Cheers for that.

Sorry just posted another comment before seeing yours…..now after reading your post….it all makes sense.

Is there no end to the fuckery …..of course not.

82. Effijy

Oh dear God must be taking the night off again.

His superior nation on Earth are indeed not bringing it home again.

The USA Ladies football team have knocked them out of the World Cup.

Queenside will now need to dish out some MBEs or some kind of medal to
    Comfort them and assure them it will be coming after the lady 26 attempts failed.

If they weren’t so bloody arrogant and smug about their chances so sympathy could be
    Given but your bus and your excuses are waiting. Flip channel quickly!

83. Robert Peffers

Oh! Dear! England 1 – USA 2

Never mind!

84. Dorothy Devine

Ronnie , I won’t make it to Ayr so won’t be there for your last official Wings stall, I hope your health improves rapidly and a big hug from me with thanks for all the work you have done –
    another unsung hero for Scotland.

Take care.

85. Robert J. Sutherland

heraldnomore @ 19:58,

Appalling behaviour by the uber-hypocritical Faragistes at the EU Parliament today. I imagine that the whole chamber will erupt in a hearty cheer when they finally shuffle out the door. (While hopefully our faithful servants will be welcome to stay.)

Seems to me, though, that any parliament, eg. both the EU one and Holyrood, should require an oath of allegiance to itself and to its principles, not to any extraneous entities. It might not stop greedy parasites from attempting a cynical grab at resources, but actions speak louder than words, and any activities that traduce the oath should lead to suspension, and if persisted in, eventual expulsion.

Sinn Fein is principled enough that even when members are elected, they don’t attend a parliament they refuse to recognise, and the Faragistes, if they were anything like as honourable, would do the same. It says much that they likely won’t, at least while there’s attendance expenses to be obtained.

86. Morgatron

Ronnie, so sad to hear of your I’ll health issues at the moment. I for one enjoyed your posts on here and although never met you yet face to face ,which I’m sure I will . Ta for all you have done. Andy Morgan.

87. James Caithness

https://twitter.com/BjCruickshank/status/1146162806636593154

“A review” we can guess what this means. This was predicted what this tory government would do.

I have though been noticing things and am left confused as to where we are heading.

Guy Verhofstad comments in EU about Boris Johnston being the PM of Uk then changing to say NO he’ll be PM of England and Wales only.

I am confused. My mind is on overdrive.

88. KOF

@Robert Peffers 21:53

Commiserations to the Leopardesses.

89. jfngw

Plucky performance from England and that’s how the U.S. like their opponents, plucky.

90. Craig Murray

Ronnie you can’t get ill now just when we’re winning. Stuart is absolutely spot on in this thread and Ronnie deserves a place among those heroes who just get on with the hard slog of campaigning.

91. Petra

They’ve been reviewing Scotland’s future for years now. Who’s kidding who?

http://www.thenational.scot/news/17744591.nicola-sturgeon-slams-theresa-may-for-ordering-devolution-review/

92. ronnie anderson

Thanks Lads n Lassies taking some down time to get this bloody disc sorted ( am no deed yit ) and have other avenues to explore that dont involve lifting & laying . I’ll be lurking on Wings for a long tome to come + Admining some Yes pages Scot2. scot ext .

We will have some new Yes flags on Sat thanks to Roguecoder + Wings flags .

93. Thepnr

@ronnie anderson

Sorry to hear that you will be doing your last Wings stall at Ayr next Saturday. You and the team of helpers such as Betty and Jim in the first picture above have helped provide funds to many an Independence cause.

It’s good that the Rev has posted this article highlighting the efforts of those committed to Independence and by their efforts make the Yes campaign more widely known, I admire them all.

There are though too though many just like yourself and other volunteers who are unknown but doing their best everyday to help make Independence happen.

Found this on Off Topic, pictures from the very first Wings stall from Yes in The Park in June 2014. Have a rest ronnie, put the feet up, others will be ready to fill your shoes in moving forward. Even if they are quite a big pair of shoes 🙂

https://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-4/#comment-1587879

94. Robert J. Sutherland

James Caithness @ 22:19,

Got any more on what Verhofstadt said here, anybody?

During the recent EU elections, he had fulsome support only for his fellow Liberals here who were =ahem= “third-largest party in the UK” – and we know fine about the FibDems’ principled support for referendums which somehow manages to bypass a Scottish one – but maybe realities are beginning to dawn on the former Belgian PM after today’s activities and he can see clearly enough now what can be saved and what can’t.

Nice to know more, though…

95. galamcennalath

Tory devolution review. The Scottish Parliament (a majority therein) are needing to tell the London Tories

1) Now is not the time
    2) The Tories have no mandate
    3) There little fiasco will be ignored and boycotted

96. call me dave

Theresa May coming North of the wall on Friday and not a secluded scout hut or village hall this time, the full monty!

The men in white coats and the bean counters have been given orders by the WM mandarins to tell the Tory gangsters in charge the books don’t add up and there is trouble ahead.

Bottom line is, if Scotland goes the games up…desperate times darn Sarf!

97. Robert J. Sutherland

galamcennalath @ 23:03,

Another enhanced bout of Torysplaining, eh? That should just about guarantee indy.

They never learn.

98. X_Sticks

@Ronnie

I hope you get the back fixed quick! You’ve done an amazing job in spreading the Wings word far and wide and providing us all with a focal point at the rallies. Glad to hear the stall intends to continue and no doubt I’ll see you there. Won’t make it to Ayr unfortunately.

99. galamcennalath

Robert J. Sutherland says:

Another enhanced bout of Torysplaining, eh? That should just about guarantee indy.

During IndyRef1 someone suggested to the London Tories it might be a good idea if they kept their heads down and mouths shut. Presumably it was their BT best chums the North Brit Labourites who said – step aside and let us deal with this. For the most part, they stuck to that advice. It almost certainly contributed greatly to the NO win.

Thankfully things have changed. There are no North Brit Labourites capable of fronting for the Tories, and the daft bu99ers are so emboldened by their own over confidence that they are haplessly proceeding to destroy their own union.

100. stonefree

@ Socrates MacSporran at 6:02 pm

I think the previous best was Alan Hansen at 35 second,who followed it up within 2 minutes refering to the “Jocks”

101. jfngw

Theresa May is going to revue devolution, hopefully the outcome is nigh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAvszMXYNeU&feature=youtu.be&t=207

102. jfngw

Anybody keeping count, how many years of hurt are we up to now?

103. Dr Jim

I smell *conflict* and I smell it from Trump and the new English regime which will likely be the mental case Johnson

I believe the people behind the people who actually run things need to have conflict to cement themselves again and it’s no wonder the European Union is worried about this rise of head cases, they’ve lived it, they don’t want it again, but I believe they see it too

Todays back turning by Farage and his crew may look like nothing more than petulance but history has shown us that every move Farage makes is a repeat of moves we’ve seen before and joined by so called legitimate figures like Anne Widdicombe denigrating the EU flag as a Nazi symbol is just ridiculous and as we know, beware people who accuse others first of the very thing that they themselves are planning when they keep insisting that their England means we are one nation

I don’t want to be right, but if I am they need Scotland for this and that would mean we’re in trouble

Some might say I’m a conspiricy theorist but that doesn’t mean they’re not out to get us, it just means I’m wrong and I would prefer that to what’s going through my mind right now

I’m happy for anybody to tell me I’ve missed something and everything’s OK I’ve just gone a bit potty on my meds which admittedly make me shaky at night

104. jfngw

Tories hate the idea of a Citizen’s Assembly which has representatives from Scotland but love the idea of a devolution revue conducted by unelected Tories, some from outside Scotland I suspect.

The Tories idea of democracy is Scotland taking its orders from another country, and they mean it.

The above also encompasses the LibDem’s, the party that brought you austerity hand in hand with the Tories. The high reported deaths from the policy is the legacy brought to you with the full co-operation (enthusiasm actually) of Jo Swinson.

105. Dr Jim

Oh I can tell you what the new deal devolution plan is, the Tories have decided to resolve their House of Lords problem by unloading all the Scottish ones back here to Scotland in a new shiny wee House of Jock Lords

I’ll put a thousand squids on it right now

Well 50 pence then

106. Col

@jfngw 11.59.

107. Tony O"neill

Just as in the past, it will be the sma folk who once win our nations freedom.

108. ronnie anderson

Thepnr lol we’ve had a few wet days since then everyone memorable 1st time i’ve bookmarked those photo’s .

Hi X Sticks .

109. msdidi

Robert J. Sutherland
    Found this eventually…I think it is what was referred to earlier
    by James Caithness https://www.facebook.com/rosscolquhoun/videos/10153965639698101/UzpfSTU1NTc5MzIzNzg4NDAzMzoxNTUzODA5MDM0NzQ5MTEw/

110. Sarah

@Dr Jim: I hate to show some worry but… I too am worried by the things being said which go unchallenged by the media.
    There are so many of them I don’t know where to start – DUP as a conduit for dark money in the EU referendum; the lies during the EU campaign; the mind-bogglingly blatantly arrogant response to any questions – Brexit means Brexit, No deal is better than a bad deal, a red white and blue Brexit; the failure to resign and call an election when Gov votes defeated hugely; the failure to co-operate with other parties in what is surely the equivalent of wartime when govt is one of National Unity; the even considering proroguing Westminster.

Then there is Scotland: seizing powers from Holyrood; manipulating things to give time for a legal challenge of a Holyrood bill; expanding the Scottish Office…

I have to stop because my blood is running cold. Are there any optimists out there who think everything is or will be OK?

111. Cactus

Featured updates as of the NOW…

ayeMail:
    £2,531.53 of £8,000
    https://donorbox.org/5-000-new-yes-flags

iScot:
    £4,769 of £60,000
    https://www.iscot.scot/crowdfunder/

Phantom Power:
    £520 of £20,000
    https://www.gofundme.com/f/future-scotland

Wee Ginger Dug:
    £4,540 of £10,000
    https://www.gofundme.com/f/wee-ginger-crowdfunder-2019

Awe ra best tae ye Ronnie, mend ye well

112. Ghillie

Sarah, Scotland IS heading for Independence 🙂

Hey there Cactus =) Jings. The fund raisers needs will be met when folk like me stop being Mrsgonnado and actually get on with it!! Keep at me. This will be done!

Ronnie, get well soon =) We need your bonnie ways in our midst always 🙂

Rev Stu, thank you. Folk like me need to be reminded that NOW is the time to contribute!

113. Robert J. Sutherland

msdidi @ 00:53,

Much obliged for your sterling efforts.

Interesting, the omission was clear and the intention quite deliberate. Things are evidently moving behind the scenes, but that was a curious wee preview…

114. winifred mccartney

Regarding the polling done by WM – in National this morning, WM refusing to release data – they obviously did not like it. JH admitted they got a ‘bit of a scare’ when polling showed too much support before indyref1. They know the writing is on the wall. Wonder if TM will hide in a barn tomorrow when she visits Scotland.

115. Reluctant Nationalist

Grouse Beater: “Interesting…”

Heh. His hands are tied.

116. James Caithness

msdidi says:
    3 July, 2019 at 12:53 am
    Robert J. Sutherland
    Found this eventually…I think it is what was referred to earlier
    by James Caithness https://www.facebook.com/rosscolquhoun/videos/10153965639698101/UzpfSTU1NTc5MzIzNzg4NDAzMzoxNTUzODA5MDM0NzQ5MTEw/

=====================================

That is exactly the piece MsDidi. Cheers

117. A. Bruce

Cactus@ 2:22

I don’t know where you got 4,540 pounds for the Wee Ginger Dug, as Paul has said that it was standing at 6,809 pounds after the first 24 hours and he hadn’t done a new count.

118. James Caithness

https://twitter.com/Guide2Scotland/status/1146312441065857024

Something else that makes one think. A secret poll, conducted by Cabinet department, relating to independence that they are refusing to release on a FOI request. Add this to Guy Verhofstad’s speech in the EU chamber among other we snippets you pick up, gets hopes up.

Times they are a changin’ to quote a well known lyric.

119. frogesque

Haud oan a minute!

TM is officially out of office and is only the Jannie until the great Bodge takes over. So why the fuck is TM putting on the chain mail and heading here for a ‘devolution’ review?

Anything she says or does is meaningless, not worth a shite in a frying pan. A Next dummy in a sale windae has more say.

Somebody somewhere is bricking it, big time.

120. Golfnut

I believe Dunlop is one the 2 shills commissioned by Cameron to write the opinion piece stating that Scotland was extinguished. He wasn’t a Lord then, becoming a Scottish Lord was his reward from Cameron and the Crown for penning an opinion that Scotland no longer existed. Ironic or maybe something else.
    Anyway we’ll be be reviewing the union and Westminster next year, the year incidentally is the 700th anniversary of the Declaration of Arbroath, significant in terms of our Sovereignty and International Law. We might want to get our Sovereignty out and aired and have a wee practice with it before then though.

121. Effijy

May is coming to Scotland as Westminster’s Kamikaze Pilot.
    Her political life is over, thankfully, but now she can nose dive
    Into Holyrood with her cargo of high explosives.

I believe the Tories are looking to kick the Hornets nest and try
    To get the SNP to trigger off an attempt to hold Indy ref 2 before
    Bojo the Clown becomes PM and No Deal Brexit arrives to provide
    Fuel for Scottish Independence.

Put your tin hats on as Scotland and your future is under attack!

122. Marie Clark

late to the party, been away. Ronnie, sorry to hear that your suffering wi’ yer back. That’s a real bumer, back problemos are so commanding.

Get well soon, the end disnae look too far away noo, and we will need abody for the final push.

Whit diz the Maybot think she’s up to, a revue of devolution eh. Your a day late and a dollar short with that one Mrs, now bugger off.

123. Scott

Prime minister to announce devolution review during trip to Scotland

UNIONISTS have stepped up calls for a boycott of the fledgling Citizens Assembly

Seeing that is what they are doing I hope nobody from the SG will go and meet TM just give her the 2 finger salute.

124. Frank Gillougley

Sorry this is OT, but I’d just like to say that some time later today, I will from now on be a non-smoker. I look forward to getting my life back.

If any one else is in the same boat and would like to cease the addiction, i could recommend Allen Carr’s ‘the easy way to stop smoking’.

Ther. I’ve said my piece. Thanks for bearing with me.

125. Legerwood

Does Mrs May have a mandate for this review?

126. Graeme

Legerwood says:
    3 July, 2019 at 9:28 am

“Does Mrs May have a mandate for this review?”

—————————————————————–

Ask Jo Swinson she’s the expert on mandates

127. Robert Peffers

@Frank Gillougley says: 3 July, 2019 at 9:08 am:

” … I will from now on be a non-smoker. I look forward to getting my life back.”

Go for it, Frank. One thing though, do not try patches, gum or any of the other commercial ways to stop. Just stop.

I smoked Bogie Roll in a pipe, cigarettes, and cigars, (not all at the same time), and on 28 May 1970 I threw the pipes and all the associated gear into the bin and said I’ve stopped smoking and just stopped. End of story. I wonder how much cash I’ve saved since then?

128. Clydebuilt

May’s Review of Devolution

Strengthen Union = Remove Powers from Holyrood

Shona Craven (Journalist at the National) on GMS discussing BBC wages, Whiteford finished off with query on BBC bias
    SC. said SNP under representation to be adressed, finished off saying both sides of the Independence debate compain of bias, so it’s often in the eyes of the beholder.

So it is Shona, changing her tune, frequent paychecks for BBC and STV interviews are having the desired effect!

129. jfngw

Be prepared for the BBC onslaught of how positive the devolution revue will be, it will be dressed up as more power to Scotland as they systematically strip it. Power transferred from Holyrood to their selected few at the UK government HQ in Edinburgh.

Just imagine the new Scottish secretary Ross Thomson being given a hands on role in Scotland’s future, Ruth Davidson to be named Empress of Scotland and given executive power over Holyrood (a joke but you can never tell what the Tories plan).

130. galamcennalath

Legerwood says:

Does Mrs May have a mandate for this review?

Normal rules needn’t apply to Tories. They don’t need democratic trivia like mandates.

131. Legerwood

Graeme says:
    3 July, 2019 at 9:29 am
    Legerwood says:
    3 July, 2019 at 9:28 am

“Does Mrs May have a mandate for this review?”

—————————————————————–

Ask Jo Swinson she’s the expert on mandates””
    …………….

Aye, but I am not sure I could bear to listen to her answer.

132. Legerwood

By the way what does Ms Cherry think she is playing at?

133. galamcennalath

Legerwood says:

By the way what does Ms Cherry think she is playing at?

Given her high level of competence, it must be intentional.

Perhaps begs the question, what is the Citizen’s Assembly really all about?

If it did come to some conclusion, some consensus, it will be knocked back by WM. So perhaps it’s true raison d’être is be reasonable (again) and show WM to be unreasonable (again). Show (again) that the Tories and WM ignore Scotland’s wishes.

If there was a consensus (a middle way) it’s likely to be far more powers for Holyrood. While that is opposite of Tory thinking, it wouldn’t stop BritNats making deceitful offers of more powers (Vow2) during IndyRef2. Getting that on the table, and rejected, BEFORE IndyRef2 campaigning begins in earnest is a good tactic.

The Citizen’s Assembly may be functionally successful in bring people and opinions together, but its ultimate success may in proving to a wider group that Scotland cannot progress without Indy.

134. galamcennalath

Boris Johnson could axe sugar tax. Perhaps not surprising. I have read that the sugar industry is very pro Brexit. It wants access to cheap sugar on the world market instead of being forced to use more expensive EU beet. I guess this move by Johnson is payback to the sugar industry.

135. admiral

jfngw says:
    3 July, 2019 at 9:38 am
    Ruth Davidson to be named Empress of Scotland and given executive power over Holyrood (a joke but you can never tell what the Tories plan).

Given her especial fondness for wearing military uniform and strutting around like a Poundshop Mussolini, I think she’s hoping to be appointed Governor-General (sounds like a promotion from Colonel, hee hee) and getting to wear a gold braided uniform with a preposterous, featherd hat.

136. Dr Jim

Theresa May will turn up tomorrow with the bribe in one hand and the threat in the other and both will be bluff

The new poll on Scottish Independence has thrown them into panic, the Prime Minister doesn’t know what to do so they rely on what’s gone before and crossing their fingers, Boris Johnson’s approach is *I’ll stand up to the Jocks and the Irish* (his words), perhaps he thinks by calling us Jocks that’ll endear him to us

I just think he doesn’t give a Jock

In Boris’s head he believes he’s Churchill and the world will see that and bow to his Imperialism and wave a wee Union flag, God save the Boris

The guy’s a mental

137. jfngw

Tories!

EU referendum: We must respect the will of the people

Citizen assemblies: We must ignore the people.

138. ScotsRenewables

Frank Gillougley says:
    3 July, 2019 at 9:08 am
    Sorry this is OT, but I’d just like to say that some time later today, I will from now on be a non-smoker. I look forward to getting my life back.

If any one else is in the same boat and would like to cease the addiction, i could recommend Allen Carr’s ‘the easy way to stop smoking’.

There. I’ve said my piece. Thanks for bearing with me.

Frank, I read Alan Carr’s book 30 years ago and stopped smoking. Boy, was it easy. Problem is, I gradually started again on the basis that stopping was ‘easy’

When I finally stopped 5 years later it was total cold turkey and accepting that there was no ‘easy’ way that did it for me. 25 years later, I do not regard myself as a non-smioker, just as a smoker who has not had a fag for a quarter of a century. I find this perspective is what keeps me off them. Maybe two or three times a year I get the odd feeling ‘wow, I fancy a fag now’ but would NEVER give in because I know how insidious the habit is.

So – good luck, hope it is ‘easy’ for you, but whatever happens never give in to temptation again – and if it all does become too much, then vaping is a very viable option that was not open 25 years ago.

Welcome to getting your life back, all the very best.

139. Betty Boop

@ Lucia Daines, 8:51am

We’ll look forward to seeing you bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at Ayr. Always handy having someone tall about to erect things I can’t reach, LOL.

140. geeo

Rees Moggs MEP sister saying brexit party MEP’s turned their back on the EU anthem because the EU is not a country.

Errmm….United Kingdom is not a country last I checked, does she turn her back on GSTQ on that basis ?

141. Jack Murphy

OT.
    England’s Newspaper Front Pages are revealing more about the BBC Tax, Celebrities’ salaries and the over-75s.

From ITV News on-line:
    https://tinyurl.com/y395jerc

142. Phronesis

A review of Scotland’s devolution- bring it on. A true democrat would welcome a Citizen’s Assembly, support participatory democracy and acknowledge that the UK political system is defunct and needs deconstructed and re-imagined.

A political party that loses control of its extreme right wing, propels Farage, Johnson and Widdicombe (dearie me) into ‘leadership’ roles, threatens economic disadvantage across all sectors (with a heavy heart you understand) except for those who have unfettered access to unregulated financial markets, brings the welfare system to its knees, plunges ordinary hard working citizens into poverty and destitution and destroys Scotland’s European legacy is not fit to comment on Scotland’s progress to become a fully independent nation.

Unless the review of devolution is about assisting Scotland’s extraction from such political incompetency then it should be given the tin ear it deserves from Scotland.

‘The UK is the 5th richest economy in the world yet astonishingly 14.5 million people are living in poverty. Of these, 4.5 million are children. A record 2.9 million children from working families in the UK are living in poverty after housing costs have been paid. Families with two parents working full time, at the national minimum wage, are still 11 per cent short of the income needed to raise a child. In total, 70 per cent of all poor children were living in working families with at least one parent in work…High cost of housing is pushing many people over the poverty line. Recently the Rugg Review of the private rented sector found that 86 per cent of low-income households in England and 97 per cent of low-income households in Greater London renting privately experience at least one of three harms; poverty, overcrowding, and hazardous homes…According to calculations by the National Housing Federation (NHF), nearly a third more children – or 193,000 – are now living in such meagre circumstances because of spiraling rents and mortgage costs, compared with 2010…The Government said that tackling poverty is its priority. I don’t see that. So we need to shout out about the impact of poverty on children because failing will affect us all’

https://www.cypnow.co.uk/cyp/the-early-years-blog/2006816/child-poverty-affects-us-all

‘A no-deal Brexit could lead to an immediate reliance on imports, with catastrophic impacts for the nation’s food and farming sector, the four main UK farming unions have warned.
    In a joint letter to MPs, currently debating the prime minister’s EU withdrawal agreement ahead of a key vote next Tuesday (15 January), the unions have urged them to “take all the steps necessary” to avoid a no-deal Brexit.
    • Exports – the UK could face a trade embargo on shipments of animals and animal products, as it would not be listed as an EU-approved exporter.
    • Import tariffs – the UK government is expected to slash import tariffs on food from the EU and other third countries to contain food inflation.
    • Export tariffs – the UK could face tariffs of 27% on chicken, 46% on lamb and 65% on beef destined for EU markets.
    • Inputs – supplies of things such as fertilisers, plant protection products, feed and machinery parts could be disrupted by new border controls’

https://www.fwi.co.uk/news/eu-referendum

143. geeo

Forgot to add to last post, Rees-Mogg’s sister ‘announceamental’ or whatever the feck its called, is LITERALLY a ‘swivel eyed loony’

Look up her Daily ‘non SNP’ Politic live interview to see what i mean.

It’s that or she is ‘out her head’ on something.

144. Welsh Sion

Dictionary Corner:

‘mandate’ (noun).

The occasion when the Minister for Northern Colonies goes out for a meal with his secret boyfriend.

145. Sarah

@Ghillie at 05.00: thanks for the cheerful word! 🙂

146. ross

i’m going to be honest and say an independence magazine is not going to be in the hands of soft nos.

I’ve never seen it and i’m active.

The guy that does the memes and Indymail are doing some job though.

147. DerekM

The axe man is coming,i hope the SNP are ready for this.

If he so much as tries to change anything that is not part of the 2014 referendum manifesto they used to win you must declare independence ,call their bluff.

Be Brave SNP we have got your backs now is the time.

148. Breeks

ScotsRenewables says:
    3 July, 2019 at 11:10 am
    Frank Gillougley says:
    3 July, 2019 at 9:08 am

There. I’ve said my piece. Thanks for bearing with me.

Frank, I read Alan Carr’s book 30 years ago and stopped smoking. Boy, was it easy. Problem is, I gradually started again on the basis that stopping was ‘easy’…

I used to be a heavy smoker, 50+ a day, spending more money on fags than rent, “enjoying” my ciggies, with no serious will to quit. It was a money thing.

I’d no will power, I’d no serious desire to quit, but the price of cigs was beginning to skyrocket like the petrol, so I decided to get hypnosis under the Alan Carr franchise, which promised 96% success rate. What can go wrong? 96% success or your money back. I was also keen “not” to turn into one of these pious and self righteous ex-smokers who never shuts up about smoking. Hypocrites right? Absolutely.

Incidentally, I was also pretty cynical about hypnosis too. My sole experience of hypnosis was being at an amateur show, where the hypnotist tested the crowd for susceptibility. He told people to clasp their hands, then stand up if they couldn’t unclasp them. I wasn’t picked out to go on the stage for his act, but I swear, until released on command, my hands were welded together by forces unknown.

Anyway, the anti smoking wasn’t for entertainment, but a single session was 4 hours long, but you were only hypnotised for the last 10 minutes, and I went straight from there, to work on a building site howf that was blue with cigarette smoke, and it never troubled me.

This was 24 years ago, and I’ve never had, or wanted, a cigarette from that day to this. Not a single one. I never once suffered ANY withdrawals, none whatsoever, and even if a smoker blows smoke in my direction, there’s no lust awakened for a drag on a cigarette of my own.

If it wasn’t for the Alan Carr hypnosis, I’d quite likely have smoked myself to death to by now. Best money I ever spent. You’ll also be aware I’m not the kind of person who is profligate with their endorsements, but frankly, it’s an outrage that the money and personal hardship being spent on nicotine patches, (which only alters the method of introducing nicotine into your system), when for most people, ostensibly 96% of people, (and I’ve no personal reason to doubt it), a session with an Alan Carr hypnotist is an end to the matter. Job done… and permanently.

I also remember the hypnotist reflecting that the people in the session, I think there were 7 of us in my session, that one of the saddest things in an otherwise great job, (because it’s a great and rewarding thing to be doing), was meeting so many smokers for whom the deliverance was too late; their bodies were already broken beyond repair with lung cancer or heart disease. If only they’d come sooner…

If you’re reading this Scottish NHS, Allan Carr’s hypnosis does the business. Forget the nicotine patches and support groups. Or at any rate, keep them for the 4% for whom the hypnosis doesn’t deliver. Some things in life “can” be cured with a silver bullet, and smoking is one of them.

Good luck Frank. I hope you’re one of the 96. The chances are good that you are.

149. Scott

I see that Kevin Maguire thinks that Scotland’s MPs have a cheek to go to Westminster and collect wages and expensive’s when all they want is to have Independence for Scotland,typical unionist.

150. Effijy

UNIONISTS have stepped up calls for a boycott of the fledgling Citizens Assembly.

Yes Westminster can’t have ordinary Scots deciding what’s good for them and Scotland.

How on earth any ordinary decent Scot could wish to stay robbed, abused, and ignored by the corrupt fascist nation next door just astounds me.

Yes, Bojo you be our next in line Tory Prime Minister that we never voted for and it doesn’t matter that you hate Scots and that you would always invest in England before Scotland.

The situation is just too idiotic to be believed.

151. Terry callachan

To SotsRenewables and Frank Gillougley…Allen Carr’s book on how to stop smoking helped me to stop too, I found the part that described how certain things trigger people to reach for a cigarette particularly helpful because although I smoked for two decades I did not ever smoke more than ten a day and often went days at a time not smoking at all.
    On several occasions I tried to stop smoking and would manage a few weeks without a cigarette but then I would be Ona night out and start again.

After reading Allen Carr,s book I concluded that I was most likely to resume smoking after a period of abstinence if I was drinking beer with my friends so I decided to stop smoking and drinking alcohol for three months .
    After three months I had no inclination to smoke at all in fact the smell of it annoyed me .

The test was my first night out with friends at the end of the three month abstention.
    It happened to be a football match on a Saturday after which it was usual for us to go to the local pub TIL about 7pm .
    I did not last until 7pm because after three beers I was tempted , not a lot but just a thought , so I left.

I didn’t go to the pub again or drink alcohol for another month and when I did I had no urge, the link of smoking and drinking beer was broken and I never looked back.

Twenty years off them now, I now go the gym three times a week do spin classes for 45 mins , I run half marathons in about 100 minutes and cycle 30-50 miles for enjoyment on my new road bike.

I thoroughly recommend the Allen Carr book, some of its content I found inapplicable to me but there were a few gold nuggets that were so life changing for me in particular the linking of things that triggered a reaction to smoke and once I accepted that I had this weakness and my ability to overcome it by avoiding situations that triggered my weak reaction to smoke I was on the road to success.

Good luck to all those who invest in this book it is a book of immense value in learning the psychology of what triggers you to smoke when you don’t want to smoke.

152. Bill McLean

Not keen on Kevin Maguire myself Scott – but where did you hear/read that?

153. Robert Peffers

@Bill McLean says: 3 July, 2019 at 12:48 pm:

… Not keen on Kevin Maguire myself Scott – but where did you hear/read that?”

Well, Bill, if Kevin Maguire, had two braincells to rub together he would conclude the SNP contingent are the ones at Westminster trying to stop the gravy train in order to get off it.

154. Dr Jim

Kevin Maguire Daily Mirror Daily Record Unionist Labour

155. call me dave

Tuned on car radio -radio 5 just before the news there to hear a cricket update. Wifie commentating on the summer scene describes the green grass and the crowded stands with the castle in the background with the red and white union flag fluttering proudly …err…St Georges Cross.

Shurley schome mishtake easily done wifie commentator. 🙂 🙂

Googled it when I got home.
    Check out the picture:

http://archive.is/SDgMI

Right ready to catch up now.

156. Scott

Bill McLean says:
    3 July, 2019 at 12:48 pm
    Not keen on Kevin Maguire myself Scott – but where did you hear/read that?

Politics today,They were talking about the Brexit party and them going to EU and collecting their money and he piped up just like the SNP at Westminster.

157. Petra

Well there you go. It’s alright to lie about something that’s ultimately going to adversely, catastrophically, affect the lives of millions of people and then be rewarded by holding the highest post in the land. That’s UK democracy for you.

C’mon Scots waken up FGS, see the light, how rich we are, get off of your knees and help get us out of this bl**dy asylum, ASAP.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vLvi1KlR3XU

………………….

‘High Court judges explain why Boris Johnson won’t face court over alleged Brexit lies: ‘Politicians making false statements is not new”

..”But the laws do not cover arguments used in political campaigns like the 2016 EU referendum, the judges found. There is no precedent for any office holder being prosecuted for misconduct in public office for wilfully making or endorsing a misleading statement in and for the purposes of political campaigning,” their ruling added. It said that allegations that Mr Johnson knew Vote Leave’s £350m-a-week claim, which was emblazoned on the side of a bus, was false would not amount to neglect of duties or the abuse of state power.”…

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/boris-johnson-court-latest-brexit-lies-high-court-end-tory-leadership-contest-a8985876.html

………………………

‘Why is Scotland setting up a Citizens’ Assembly?’

…”The plan is for 120 members of the public to be independently appointed to serve on the assembly, with the aim of having members who are “broadly representative of Scotland’s adult population in terms of age, gender, socio-economic class, ethnic group, geography and political attitudes”.

They will be tasked with examining three questions:

What kind of country are we seeking to build?

How can we best overcome the challenges we face, including those arising from Brexit?

What further work should be carried out to give people the detail they need to make informed choices about the future of the country?”..

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-48759720

……………………………………..

Professor John Robertson:- ‘Research on obesity in Scotland wrongly based on estimates and ignoring improvements due to Scottish Government policies.’

https://thoughtcontrolscotland.com/2019/07/03/research-on-obesity-in-scotland-wrongly-based-on-estimates-and-ignoring-improvements-due-to-scottish-government-policies/

158. Petra

‘Canada ‘hedging their bets’ on trade agreement with UK while they wait to see how Brexit turns out.’

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/uk-canada-trade-agreement-brexit-eu-leave-us-european-union-a8985986.html

…………………….

‘EU, South America sign historic trade deal after decades (20 years) of talks.’

…”It covers markets that total approximately 780 million consumers, an EU statement said.”…

http://www.france24.com/en/20190629-eu-south-america-sign-historic-trade-deal

…………………………

These two men, English imbeciles, will decide for the women of NIreland.

‘Northern Ireland bans on abortion and same-sex marriage will stay, say Boris Johnson and Jeremy Hunt.’

..”Stella Creasy, a Labour MP and campaigner on the issue, said: “Both these men want to be prime minister of the UK but are happy to treat some UK citizens as second class because it’s politically expedient.”

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/northern-ireland-abortion-ban-boris-johnson-same-sex-marriage-jeremy-hunt-tory-leadership-a8984866.html

159. Ahundredthidiot

Stooges and Shills not on WoS today…..they’re all over on LBC talking SHHHEEEIIIITTTTTEEE

160. Petra

Ha ha ha. Is that why Big T is visiting Scotland tomorrow? Bring it on.

‘Scottish independence: Lidington blocks release of key poll.’

…”The Cabinet Office’s FOI officer told Sheppard: “I am writing to advise you the requested information is being withheld as it is exempt under section 35(1)(a) of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 (the Act), as it relates to the formulation or development of government policy.”

She added: “Section 35 is a qualified exemption and I have considered the public interest for and against disclosing the information. The Cabinet Office recognises the decisions ministers make may have a significant impact on the lives of people across the UK.”…

http://www.thenational.scot/news/17744172.scottish-independence-lidington-blocks-release-of-key-poll/

…………………………

Iain Blackford:-

‘SNP’s Ian Blackford says “devolution review” is a “farce”, saying the Tories “have never supported devolution and never, ever will”

May: There’s only one party that wants to stop Scottish devolution, and that’s the SNP.’

https://twitter.com/BBCPolitics/status/1146379673066070016?ref_src=twsrc%5Egoogle%7Ctwcamp%5Eserp%7Ctwgr%5Etweet

161. BinPin

Everyone on here go and listen to LBC jeezo what a slating SNP are getting. Utter crap

162. Cactus

Hi A. Bruce, this will be the donations sent direct to the GoFundMe crowdfunder, other donations have probably gone direct to Paul’s account

“I don’t know where you got 4,540 pounds for the Wee Ginger Dug, as Paul has said that it was standing at 6,809 pounds after the first 24 hours and he hadn’t done a new count.”

https://www.gofundme.com/f/wee-ginger-crowdfunder-2019

163. Jack Murphy

OT.
    Another Chancer just like Jo Swinson LibDem MP.

Ruth Davidson 5 weeks ago in 9 seconds.
    Enjoy [smiley]

https://tinyurl.com/y6obw4zq

“She’s {Sturgeon] done it against the will of the Scottish people.”

Just like Swinson she can’t count!

Swinsonn is on previous Thread, ‘LIve and in Pieces’ 1st July.

164. Bill McLean

Scott – sorry about late reply. Missed that. Thanks for the info. Not taken with McGuire – he has a keen ear for the wind! And thanks to Robert P for comment.

165. cynicalHighlander

Frank Gillougley

Good luck I stopped 3 months ago as ended up with a collapsed lung and operated on immediately with a local anaesthetic plus lashes of liquid anaesthetic squirted into my mouth fairly regularly as the surgeon brutally forced a metal rod between my ribs so as a plastic pipe could be inserted to drain the offending air pocket. The surgeon shook my hand afterwards but I wouldn’t like to go through that again.

Now on Nicorette Quickmist which is far cheaper even though a near 6 decade smoking habit is still
    hard to give up. All the best in your endeavour.

166. Joe

I wish that could agree that the fringe radical left are quite so fringe. Great article though

167. Ken McDonald

QUOTE : ross says:
    3 July, 2019 at 12:00 pm

i’m going to be honest and say an independence magazine is not going to be in the hands of soft nos.

I’ve never seen it and i’m active. END QUOTE

Ross, I’m the guy that produces iScot and I can assure you that there are plenty of folks who pass on the magazine to undecideds/soft No’s and soft Yes’s. Only a few weeks ago we were told of a No voter having been given a subscription to the magazine decided to investigate further and finally decided that he was voting YES.

I genuinely don’t comprehend the point of your original post…Am I wasting my time? – is the National wasting their time? but thanks for alerting WoS readers that perhaps they are in supporting us.

168. Graham

Genuinely: what far left self destructing nationalists?

169. Pauline Boyd

Absolutely no. When you say yessers having abuse for their own side do you mean death threats. Photos of your house tweeted. Blogs about you. Twitter accounts to harass you. Scores of lies told about you, reported to the dwp and stuff sent to your flat and the entire movement sitting and watching?

As much as I like wgd I’ll be giving nothing till people call out the rabid element. One that ken from Iscot interacts with frequently

David Hooks was behind most of the abuse I got. He gets away with it as he’s an Indy blogger with 12k followers. He’s a compulsive and prolific liar and a very dangerous individual.

This movement is toxic. Both Julie and I were openly threatened a few weeks ago. We were going to be doorstepped. Not a murmur. Nothing.

Threats to tweet my address. Same. Death threats to me. Same. Pictures of my house being posted. Same. We hate Pauline dm group. Same. I got more support from unionists.

David. Simon. Tracey. Miriam. Mark Robertson. Paul Wright. Bill Brady. Who put my details on a doxxing blog are the reason I’ll be giving zero to anything to do with Scots Indy going forward.

One of my stalker accounts made 1000 offensive tweets at me. I draw the line at death threats.

Let David and Paula rose give. I’m done.

170. Pauline Boyd

I’ve had 16 twitter stalker accounts dedicated to me over the last 12 months. I’ve had my social media stolen on numerous occasions. They even stole a photo of my lovely ginger tom and put it on one of their disgusting sock accounts. They found out my full name and location and googled me and then found out that I raised two grand for the stroke association after she died and then spread lies that I scammed it.

And then they go around yelling that they are the victims ahd that you are mad and people should block you or unfollow you. They went looking for my brother as well. And the one man who tried to stop this has also just been harassed. He’s been threatened with having his kids school tracked down and contacted.

I didn’t particularly need or want the yes movement to come out fighting my corner. But I didn’t need to see publications and causes I supported unfollow me and stay in touch with a bunch of highly abusive people who were trying to wreck my life.

I was reported to the dwp for doing a very small crap for Indy. It wasn’t benefit fraud.

These people are trolls. Doxxers. Stalkers. Highly offensive and dangerous people. Try being a nothing in this movement when people defame and harass you on and offline. See how much support you get. People stay silent as they know they’ll be next.

I’ve been to police 5 times. I’m not the only person this hate gang are currently targeting in the name of Scots Indy. It’s disgusting and it needs to stop. There is one man I have never interacted with who is a pal of Paula rose who has made open threats to find me and Julie and batter her. The language he used to me was more violent

I can’t support any Indy cause while people asking for donations engage with any of these cranks. As that’s exactly what they are.

171. Eleanor Boyd

Absolutely not, not after the way Pauline has been hung out to dry by the yes movement on Twitter. She made a few non offensive tweets a year ago, since then she’s put up with being

Reported to the dwp for benefit fraud she wasn’t committing
    Defamed all over Twitter and Facebook
    Shes had numerous stalker Twitter accounts
    My son was found on Facebook and his name tweeted
    She had a picture of a block of flats in the same area as she lives posted on Twitter last week
    Death threats
    Hate dm groups
    Hate blogs
    Tena lady sent to her home
    Open threats to doorstep her and kick her head in
    Lies spread that she is a scammer

The man who tried to stop this @Rumplefinkin on Twitter has just has his kids threatened by the dross. I stopped my subscription to Iscot because Ken followed one of Pauline’s horrible stalker account at the very beginning and unfollowed her. Jason McCann has tweeted several lies about Pauline as well and he is partly responsible for whipping up the hysteria against her.

I also gave to your crowdfund Stuart and to your crowdfund for your defamation action. You put Pauline on her block list just after threats were made to her and when she needed support from yessers.

I will not give again, not as long as the bullies rule and decent people are forced off Twitter. I lost my Twitter account because of these bullies, the main bully being David Hooks, because these people lied and said I had multiple Twitter accounts and Pauline’s account was mine, we lost ours on the same day.

She’s also had her social media stolen by Paula Rose who is currently doxxing @Rumplefinkin , there have been thousands of nasty tweets made about her over the last 12 months. Not one of them true. She was also trolled about her dead gran’s stroke and my cancer. Her crime was making a few tweets about another yesser that were non offensive.

Pauline is not the first yesser this nasty gang have terrorised on and offline. Pauline had a lot of support and some people were horrified but most were too scared to speak out publicly incase they were targeted next. A year long vicious and concerted hate campaign is a bit more than whining.

Lots of yessers know what happened to her, her analytics were through the roof every month, she got more support from unionists.

Go ask Paula Rose why Scots nat has just been threatened Ken and then you might understand why I can’t fund your magazine any longer. You are friends with Jason and he is friends with this man. Paula Rose also posted a screenshot of my daughter’s neighbours flat (done to terrorise her) after the account that first posted them (the vicious troll Mark Robertson) was taken down from Twitter.

These people are disgusting and as long as anyone asking for money interacts with them I will not be donating.

Apparently Hooks is a friend of yours as well Ken. Pauline was told that he has engineered all of the harassment against her and from the tweets she has seen of his, the lies, the victim playing, the aggressive ones, she believes this, you only need to see some of the hate to know who is behind it all.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.