Stuey’s Night Off

Posted on February 14, 2014 by

Okay, readers, there’ve been quite a few 18-hour work days recently, and an awful lot of pain-in-the-arse stuff to deal with. Tonight I’m kicking back, cracking open a smooth and spicy Bundaberg Ginger Beer, and playing TxK.

txk

Talk amongst yourselves. Normal service will be resumed tomorrow.

246 to “Stuey’s Night Off”

1. twenty14

Can I be Rev – baggsy be Rev – just for an hour πŸ™‚

2. pro-loco

Since the rev is off duty is it ok to go off topic early and ask you all to think about this Duncan Hotherallish piece which comes to the wholly strange conclusion that the UK state is best undermined by voting against the only vote which is certain to undermine it:

http://www.morningstaronline.co.uk/a-cc7b-False-choices-in-the-independence-debate?#.Uv50z3lqBuY

?

3. Mealer

He’s speaking gibberish again,

4. Kryczek

Go for it u deserve a wee break.

5. fairliered

Do you ever miss the computer gaming journalism stuff, Rev?

6. twenty14

@ fairliered – see last line below pic ” Talk amongst yourselves. Normal service will be resumed tomorrow.”

7. Stewart Bremner

Bundaberg Ginger Beer = ambrosia. Have a good night off!

8. Ian Brotherhood

Have a good one mister.

(Okay, twenty14, go for it!!)

9. Archie [not Erchie]

testertickles

10. gerry parker

Well, I had to eat some humble pie tonight. I forgot to get her a valentines card. I’ll just round it off with a Cumberland sausage sandwich then get off to bed (with the Rennies at the bedside table)

Tomorrow’s another day.

11. jingly jangly

Missing you already πŸ™‚
    Have a weekend off , you deserve it.

12. Archie [not Erchie]

@ twenty14 – I have 5 rats against your pair of hamsters. Lets see how long you survive

13. twenty14

” Testertickles ” – if any one mentions testertickles again am gonny shutdown for the night.

Rev

14. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Gerry Parker – I used Yahoo autocompose Valentines messages and have lost all cred.

15. Croompenstein

A well deserved break Stuart, your arms must be sore batting all the pish and waffle out the park

16. twenty14

” @ twenty14 – I have 5 rats against your pair of hamsters. Lets see how long you survive ”

Erchie ( not Archie ) you’ll be blocked if you mention rats or hamsters again

17. scottish_skier

The FT will pick up on this and release another bombshell within the hour.

18. Dcanmore

HA! Jeff Minter, what a legend! I wonder if he still makes his jumpers from Llamas wool. Glad to see he’s still around pushing the psychedelic curve. My first Minter game was Gridrunner back in ’83 for the Vic20… happy daze 8o)

Have good evening Rev.

19. Shiehallion! Shiehallion!

@pro-loco

Jings, the toxic trio, leatherhead Kelly and now John Wight “writes” for No.

How will I get to sleep tonight.

20. HandandShrimp

Enjoy Stu, think I might take an evening to catch up on other stuff too. It has been a fun few days though.

21. Archie [not Erchie]

@ SS – It seems that your prediction way back last year that polls would show parity by Spring 2014. Is this still your prediction after this week’s entertainment from Ozzy?

22. Gallowglass

I have a serious addiction to Battlefield. I still like to hop into P4F to have have my fun. After two days playing 4 I think I need to get outside more even if it is lashing it down. I just can’t get rid of that giddy feeling every time I’m hitting that detonator!

23. Ian Brotherhood

Intended to go to McGinn’s today, but it didn’t happen.

Maybe tomorrow.

April 4th is still the date. Glasgow. City centre.

I’ve had some private e-mails from Wingers suggesting possible activity on the night e.g. presentations, discussion etc.

Any thoughts?

I want to find a suitable place, but I’m no MC. I’ll man the door, give out sticky labels with WoS handles written-on so that you can – if you want – make yourself visible to folk you’ve never clapped eyes on.

But what happens inside the place is another matter.

Personally, I see it as a ‘social’ – perhaps up to 100 people (43 already ‘confirmed’, so we’l get that easily).

IMO, we need a night off from presentations, discussions, debates etc.

Do people in truly independent nations spend their leisure hours congratulating one another on how ‘independent’ they are?

Nah – they talk about their jobs, friends, hobbies, trivia, but they do so in the company of like-minded folk, relaxed, natural.

And no DJ or pipe music – we make our own, and clear space for dancing as and when we have to.

I’ll make sure it’s somewhere that smokers won’t end up in the street – gaspers often have the best conversations, and deserve some acknowledgement.

Hey…this is all just thrown out there for consideration, but, one way or another, I will strive to have a potential venue lined up by this weekend’s end.

Hoots all!

24. Paula Rose

No Rev – can we do some atheism?

25. Paula Rose

btw raise you two rats and one kitten

26. cearc

My own ginger beer’s pretty good.

27. ewen

I’m working my way through the three thief games and fan missions. wife is away, I have beer and doing some first person sneaking. I also have an idea for a bit of video editing involving Karen Dunbar and some unionists…

28. kininvie

Update

29. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Ian B – Yes about the sticky labels. That was a problem for me at the September Rally trying to pin down WOS names to real people.

30. Morag

Well, I wasn’t going to come, but I don’t know. Maybe.

31. cearc

Sounds good Ian.

Yep, just a party. No point in speeches and presentations to wingers.

Why the pipe ban?

32. Hetty

that is ok, we all need therapy, and even the wasters in westmonster get time off…quite a lot in fact.
    The govUK have announced that their huge planned redundancies regards the environment agency jobs in England, are on hold, nice eh…they will dispose of you when ready. Urgh makes me sick.

Are the princes to be made redundant as well? Lol.

33. seoc

Congratulations and deepest respect and regards to all who produce Wings. Tapaidh leat gu h-uile duine

34. cearc

hetty,

Yea, really nice for all those people working around the clock sandbagging and such.

Well done chaps, great job, when you’ve finished we’ll sack you.

35. Lanarkist

Chill Stu, have at least two.

Enjoy your down time.

36. cearc

Sounds good Ian.

Yep, just a party. No point in speeches and presentations to wingers.

Why the pipe ban?

Dunno, if this is up already. I am showing comments of mine with ‘awaiting moderation’ at the top. (used wrong email address} so i don’t know if they are actually there.

37. Papadocx

Relax and enjoy your ginger beer rev let me express my admiration and gratitude for all you are doing for wee ALBA, YES SCOTLAND

38. Arbroath 1320

Go for it Stu you have more than earned a rest of late. πŸ™‚

Well twenty it appears you have to job, at least for tonight, remember now it is only TEMPORARY, Stu will return! πŸ˜‰

Oh before I forget I’ll see the rats, and raise the kitten with not one but TWO killer budgies! πŸ™‚

39. twenty14

Seems the dossers are on the late shift again

40. faolie

Some great posts this week Rev. Looking forward to next week. Man, we’re going to win this.

Have a good time off.

41. twenty14

@arbroath1320 – after all these long shifts I’m having the night off – chat amongst yerself :}

42. liz

Yes enjoy your night off.
    Valentines??? is there something your not telling us?

We brainwashed cybernats deserve to know!

43. alexicon

Not O/T.

I noticed all the newspapers, with the exception of the Herald, do not have yesterday’s announcement by Osborne as their main headlines on their front pages.

Don’t want to get the local natives riled up do they?

44. Arbroath 1320

WHIT?

You taking the night off now as well twenty?

You do realise twenty that you have left us all totally reverendless now. πŸ™‚

Is there anybody out there on cybernattery land who can step up to the plate and replace twenty no I mean the Rev? πŸ™‚

45. kininvie

Cheers Ian,

Reckon we’ve all been organised enough – ‘take this map, these newspapers…no you stupid sod, we’ve done those houses..’ Let’s just have an evening to ourselves, eh?

46. Hetty

oh and yes thank you, for a wonderful and informative site, on a daily basis this site is a god send
    ha ha anti Indy lot, get lost, your tactics are underhand, unethical and totally undemocratic and the people of Scotland are not daft,and the world is watching, be sure of that.

47. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose – I raise you 4 rats, 2 kittens and a feral of indeterminate sex.

@ twenty14 – Your hour is up. You controlled the website with a rod of limp spaghetti. In the ancient words of the OT..Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin. πŸ™‚

Bye for now. I am of to try Max Payne 3 which has cost me more in uploads, extra memory cards than the CD/DVD is worth.

48. twenty14

Sorry 1320- my merlot was rising above room temperature and their was a fear it would pale into a rose’

49. Arbroath 1320

I take it putting your merlot in the fridge wouldn’t work then. πŸ™‚

50. Dr JM Mackintosh

Rev, I played tempest 30 years ago. It was the only arcade game that I was completely hooked on and could get massive scores on with a couple of my pals.
    You are a star – I have looking for an update of this game for years.
    Must get TxK – it looks great.
    Have a good night off.
    James

51. Linda's back

Great stuff Stu and a deserved break before the next onslaught but I am sure we ain’t seen nothing yet if polls continue to move towards a YES vote bolstered by disaffected Labour voters who can’t stomach their alliance with Osborne.

How is the BBC going to cope with balanced coverage in the final weeks of the campaign as there is little evidence that London is telling them to be a cheerleader for the UK.

Derek Bateman marks their card here over their currency union coverage.

http://newsnetscotland.com/index.php/scottish-opinion/8739-the-new-coalition

52. twenty14

@ Ian Brotherhood – can we all not have a wee night off tonight and you put some tunes on ??? – A wee pre party warm up

53. Linda's back

Typo above delete little in Para 2 line 2

54. James123

Enjoy your night off Rev you deserve it. So its been another good week for the Yes campaign. As Del Boy used to say “this time next year we’ll be negotiating our way to a free and democratic Scotland”, or something like that.

55. Morag

scissors

56. twenty14

57. Conan_the_Librarian

@Archie [not Erchie]

I have three Jack Russels. I’ll see your five rats and two hamsters.

58. Alba4Eva

Enjoy your rest Stu… you deserve it… and have a Bunda…beer (wink πŸ˜‰ on me.

59. jimogroats

Is there a name for the nononoughts yet ?
    OhNoes ?

60. Ian Brotherhood

This is the thing, right –

It’s one thing to secure a date and a venue.

Fair do’s. I can do that. Any numpty could do that. But it’s important that only ONE numpty do it.

We’ve got the date, and city. April 4th, Glasgow.

I’ve got 43 names (i.e. total of names plus-partner, pals etc). If I get more in the coming weeks, I add them to the list. On the night, I (and/or trusted proxies) will be there, on the door, clip-board in hand, checking folk in, and issuing them with name-tags.

Regardless of whatever venue is chosen, they will have a legal maximum allowed. Once we go past that, everyone’s knocked-back unless they want to form an orderly queue and wait for others to leave. It’s as simple as that.

If I’m booking the place, I’m the named-person responsible for the numbers, unless we agree to pay for door-staff. There’s no need for that, and besides, it’s not a normal ‘guest-list’, is it?:

‘Hi. I’m Bugger the Panda.’

(Sorry man, using you as an example – I know you won’t make it, but you get the point..)

So – what happens inside isn’t likely to be my concern for a fair chunk of the evening.

But we have to get this right. If it works, and everyone has a good night, we can arrange to do it again, maybe somewhere else, maybe bigger.

And if we do that on the first Friday of every month between now and Sept 18th? Could be the backbone of something which won’t fade away anytime fast, regardless of the Sep 18th result.

61. Alfresco Dent

I used to love Tempest. If I’m not mistaken that was the game that introduced the trackball to the gaming arena.

In other news I’m suffering from a slipped disk and can’t walk. I’m on a list of drugs that would put Boots to shame. I can still smell shite though so Unionists look out.

62. Arbroath 1320

Surely there is one major advantage to Scottish independence that we all should be pushing haven’t yet started to. I refer of course to the ideal world of T.V. advertising. In an independent Scotland we will no longer have to suffer the ignominy of suffering the dreaded David Beckham appearing on our screens or having to listen to his nauseating voice! πŸ™‚

63. Another Union Dividend

Remember that the UK treasury reports the UK Civil Servants and Gideon Minor rely on are predicated on OBR forecasts.

In 2010 OBR forecast of oil prices for 2012 to 2014 was $87 to $88 a barrel (and unionists claim it is fallng from now on).

Well to-day’s Brent Crude price is $108 and one year forward price is $115 yet unioinists continue to ridicule the Scottish governments conservate forecast of Β£100 a barrel.

64. Conan_the_Librarian

@Ian Brotherhood

Re us folk from Edinburgh and other Points East; how much is the taxi fair back, do we need bodyguards, that kind of thing?

65. kininvie

@Ian

If you need a large guy with tats, shaven head white shirt and a very shiny suit to help you keep the door on the night, look no further!

(Maybe a few mild distortions, but does anyone tell the truth these days?)

66. James123

@Conan_the_Librarian
    I have three Jack Russels. I’ll see your five rats and two hamsters.

I have no idea what this conversation is about but my pet rabbit is called Stu, just like the Rev. So I’ll re-raise your three Jack Russels, five rats and two hamsters.

67. liz

checking in again

68. Morag

Regardless of whatever venue is chosen, they will have a legal maximum allowed.

What quaint customs you have in the city, grandmother….

69. twenty14

@ Ian Brotherhood – with regards your last sentence

1. In the current economic climate any establishment would bend over backwards to know there kegs would be dry once a month for the next 6 months

2. it would be even better if the establishment was on our side ( tho that might be hard to distinguish as the chance of a full house would tempt even the hardest Unionist to lie for a few bucks )

Also to enable you to enjoy the evening there should be a cut-off point for entry – say 9 pm so that from that point you can chill and join the party

70. Donna

Enjoy!

71. Conan_the_Librarian

@James123

Rabbit Stu. I like it.

Some sort of pet poker; I thought three Jacks was a pretty good hand.

72. twenty14

3 jacks is quite a good hand unless your playing a Gideon

73. Another Union Dividend

Labour must be worried about the backlash from Osborne’s blunder as attack dog Brian Wilson has wheeled out in tomorrow’s Scotsman

http://archive.is/FelPF

74. Arbroath 1320

@James 123

I have no idea what this conversation is about but my pet rabbit is called Stu, just like the Rev. So I’ll re-raise your three Jack Russels, five rats and two hamsters.

To be honest James does anybody? πŸ™‚

Personally I did raise against the kitten earlier with my two killer budgies but I’ll now re-raise with Codzilla my giant goldfish! πŸ™‚

75. cearc

Party-time?

I’ll crack open my own ginger beer.

76. twenty14

@ cearc

Tunes :}

77. CameronB

celafain

78. cearc

conan,

You can keep them away from my ducks and chickens.

Although my 3 pair of guinea fowl would probably take them on.

79. Erchie

Back at the appropriate time, I spent a lot of 10ps playing Tempest and Battlezone.

I really, really loved Battlezone but Tempest with it’s twirly knob control was even better

I must see of tkx is available for anything I own

80. scaredy cat.

Evening folks

Don’t know if this counts as OT or not since we don’t really have a topic.

Just wanted to ask if anyone else had any contact from anyone down south following Cameron’s love-in?

I work for the UK civil service and I was sent an email from a colleague in England. It contained a message from Downing Street encouraging people to contact their Scottish colleagues to encourage them to vote No.

I found it slightly offensive.

81. cearc

twenty14

I’m singing. Can’t you hear me?

82. cearc

scaredy cat,

Show and tell!

83. twenty14

@ cearc

-currently with BS and the E-street band live in Barcelona – Land of Hope and Dreams

84. scaredy cat.

cearc
    I’d love to, but I’m not called Scaredy Cat for nothing.

85. Pin

I see the BBC has the story that Project Fear aren’t going to give anymore information on devolution.

What a howler- but with all this hooha about the currency union and Westminster’s nonsense about not respecting the referendum result, it seems a good day for them to bury bad news

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-26189448

86. Ian Brotherhood

@Conan/Morag/twenty14/kininvie –

Good stuff, cheers all.

Only thing worrying me – seriously – is the capacity.

Don’t want people being knocked-back if they turn up at, say eight o’clock, only to find the place is already packed. And ‘guest-lists’ of any kind, all kidding aside, are a total pain.

Bear in mind – we’re talking about a Friday night, spring-time, nearer the start of the month. It’s a good night for a knees-up, but there will be competition for the available spaces. I want to walk into a suitable place, book that date, able to assure them that at least 50 or 60 folk will definitely show. Otherwise we’re talking about having to issue tickets etc – total nightmare.

But they’ll need to know numbers. Right now, I’m guessing between 75 – 90, probably nearer 100.

(But what if we get another 40-plus names via WoS alone?
    Over the course of the next six weeks? It’s not fantastical, and besides, it’s a nice ‘problem’, all things considered.)

87. twenty14

@ Ian Brotherhood – fuck it book the Hydro :}

88. laukat

Wee question for those that are more savy on finance and banking than me

What is the monetary value of a currency union to Scotland?

If its say Β£50 Billion do we not now go back any say we will only accept 9% of debt minus Β£50 billion?

This in my view does 5 things. It allows us to show a reasonable approach to all, where the money comes to setup our own currency, removes the false argument that Scotland would renege on its debts, demonstrates to RUK that there will be a cost to any unilateral decisions they take and best of all that if Osballs objects that they are continuing to try and bully

Just a thought so open to examination and ridicule

89. Morag

Don’t overthink it. These things have a habit of working out OK. Just do it.

90. cearc

scaredy,

fair point but maybe you could send a copy or relevant quote to Stu?

It is quite outrageous.

Still at least you got a love-bomb, I didn’t.
    I did visit southen england last year though and several distant relatives asked me about the referendum and I obliged. (I think they may have regretted asking).

91. Thepnr

OK I think those of you with the rats, hamsters and rabbits are all BLUFFING so I’m raising with my wee Cairn Terrier called Mac!

All yours are just food for mine. Go on I dare yeh.

92. James123

@twenty14
    Tunes :}

State of Independence by Donna Summer. Too obvious?

Top 3 scare stories next week:

Apparently The Loch Ness Monster thinks that Great Britain is Great, so in the event of a Yes vote he will be moving to the Lake District and will henceforth be known as The Lake District Monster.

Santa Claus believes that the UK is A OK so no xmas presents for Scottish children next year if we vote for independence.

Jesus has contacted the BBC and will make an announcement next week that a formal currency union simply won’t work.

93. Arbroath 1320

Nah I disagree there twenty, if the numbers are going to keep going up the Hydro might not be big enough. I suggest going the whole hog and booking Hampden. πŸ™‚

I know it is being “updated” for the Commonwealth games but just tell them we’re the official test “party” and I’m sure they’d agree to let you use Hampden Ian. πŸ˜‰

94. cearc

Ian

Just book it. Places available on a first come basis. Entry from list only. We can take turns on the door.

I’m not very mobile so I could park meself by the door for a while.

95. twenty14

@ cearc – we may not be very mobile by the end of the evening – best we all stay at the door :}

96. Les Wilson

Rev you deserve a break for all your hard work, probably need more of course.
    I am a little concerned, with all the goodwill and love for you on here, are you becoming a Guru !!!

97. cearc

thepnr

One cairn! My guinea fowl would see him off, nae bother.

98. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

If that was for me?

Aye, agreed. I will.

And you’re in charge of the ‘live music’ side of it.

(Big Smiley)

99. Ian Mackay

I’m now imagining Stu’s night off to be like Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. Stu off serenading Yes campaigners to ‘Twist and Shout’ while Alastair Darling – as the unwelcome Dean of Students – keeps landing himself in shit, losing his shoes and attacked on doorsteps by dogs.

100. Arbroath 1320

@James123

Apparently The Loch Ness Monster thinks that Great Britain is Great, so in the event of a Yes vote he will be moving to the Lake District and will henceforth be known as The Lake District Monster.

Perhaps you have seen this. πŸ˜‰

https://twitter.com/sovereigndaisy/status/434446264642846722/photo/1

101. cearc

James,

No christmas presents for kids? Wow, we will all be richer.

The plusses keep rolling in.

102. twenty14

@james123 – you should be our Brahan Seer :}

103. cearc

Messy under Nessie

love it.

104. pro-loco

@ Shiehallion! Shiehallion!
    Hey, Ho let’s go! Some 75 posts after your reply to mine I am able to see it. Those ddos winds are strong tonight!

OK, so it was the same old, same old from the ‘far left’. But when Rev Stu is away we can all post without the formatting police being here. Or maybe not given it’s al being monitored by frick and frack at GCHQ.

105. Morag

And you’re in charge of the β€˜live music’ side of it.

Am I coming, then?

I can bring a musical instrument and a rather limited repertoire of basic tunes, if other people do the same. Maybe we can figure out how to play in the same key, you never know.

106. Thepnr

@cearc

Your Guinea Fowl is getting it! Mine is an Easterhouse Cairn, no messin.

107. Taranaich

@Arbroath 1320: Surely there is one major advantage to Scottish independence that we all should be pushing haven’t yet started to. I refer of course to the ideal world of T.V. advertising. In an independent Scotland we will no longer have to suffer the ignominy of suffering the dreaded David Beckham appearing on our screens or having to listen to his nauseating voice!

You may jest, but I believe that touches on a very valid point: what other countries do you know which have a media so profoundly dominated by their neighbours’? For years (or is that yurs) Scotland’s television has been dominated by English accents, English voices, English viewpoints. BBC Scotland’s obviously inextricably tied to its base, but even then, Scotland can only hope for representation matching its population percentage.

Just imagine: in an independent Scotland, we’ll finally have a channel where a Scottish accent isn’t just an occasional feature, it’s the foundation. The regional accents of England work for England – but can you imagine if the situation was reversed, that it was mostly Scottish accents on English television? It’s bad enough people grouse about American accents.

This isn’t just about accents, of course, but about our own national character. The independence debate has been framed around what’s important to England – economics, the pound, how it affects English people (rarely Wales or NI). So too is every national discussion, from immigration to healthcare to education. Again, can you imagine people in England having to put up with, say, Fox news or even CBS over a broadcaster actually based in England?

I’m positive the only reason we aren’t running away with the vote in a landslide is because of this. Not only are the media biased towards the union (in addition to their connections to Atos destroying their impartiality regarding welfare), they can’t help but view the debate from an English perspective – because they’re English, and the ENTIRE POINT of independence is because Yes advocates claim Scotland to be a very different country from England. How in God’s name are we expected to argue that when the media not only will not, but CANNOT, understand this?

But most people in Scotland are just so used to this state of affairs, they can’t see how bizarre it is. What other country in the world has its entire media outlook based in what is, to all extents and purposes, another country? Imagine Portugal’s broadcasters were all based in Spain: Belgium’s in France; Vietnam’s in China. There are a LOT of things about the union which are simply ridiculous which are only the way they are because “that’s how it’s always been.”

108. Flower of Scotland

Great job , well done Rev !
    You deserve a break . Look forward to your return !

109. cearc

thepnr

There are six of them, they surround and attack as a group. Dogs, foxes etc. are completely fazed by wee birdies turning on them.

110. Clootie

Poker stakes to high. I’m doing an Osborne – “Fold”

111. Arbroath 1320

I think you’re right Taranaich, folks never think much about these sort of things mainly because as you say “that’s how it’s always been.” How sad is that?

I think this just highlights a sleeping giant in Scotland. After independence I would fully expect, over time, for the vast majority if not all T.V./Radio ads to be be “voiced” by Scots. Only when this happens will folks realise how “under the thumb” figuratively speaking, sort of, we have all been.

112. Thepnr

@Ian Mackay

Talking of Twist & Shout, here’s something to consider, was she a Yes then but now a No?

113. cearc

Ian, Morag,

I should add a possible plus one. Will confirm when it’s all definite.

Will probably be staying with a friend who is a violinist (not fiddler) who might, shyly, be up for music.

114. heedtracker

Cheers Reverend. Another unforgettable week for Scotland’s future made sense of by people like you. Thanks very much for letting me CiF on your blog, appreciate it!

115. Morag

That’s why I don’t really want the BBC after independence. We can buy in the programmes we want from their sales list. I don’t want them making our news and current affairs programmes.

OK, can I keep Radio 3 anyway? (I remember being on tour with Brian Kay, a baritone who also did some Radio 3 announcer work. Suddenly one evening he reverted to a Yorkshire accent and revealed that was his natural voice. Radio 3 sent him to some sort of diction school to be reprogrammed before they let him on their airwaves.)

116. twenty14

I have been known to bang the table in time with many a tune

117. CameronB

Stepping down the rabbit hole that is WOS, I finally understand my place in the parallel universe called Scotland.

I’m a conservative reformer driven to radical submission. πŸ™‚

118. Arbroath 1320

I’m a very incompetent player of the air drums, or at least used to be when I was fit! πŸ™‚

119. cearc

I have been known to bang the table OUT OF time with many a tune

120. James123

@Taranaich

You make a very a good point about television, I remember as a youngster watching children’s TV and predominantly hearing English accents. From an early age it gives you the impression that a Scottish accent isn’t ‘normal’.

When TV does Vox Pox in Scotland it seems that many Scots are very reluctant to speak and express themselves normally where as English folk don’t seem to have this issue.

121. CameronB

Anglican Evangelism, English based media. Same thing really. Both good for empire.

122. Desimond

@Ian Brotherhood

Just picked up a job ‘darn sarf’ thats due to start in March. Will hope to fly back on the Friday night to join the Wingers. My mate has just recording a new “Demo Max” group of self written IndyRef Songs and would be willing to do a turn Im sure if we fancy some entertainment.

123. Thepnr

Are we Wingers or Wossers? Can we have a vote?

124. twenty14

Wossers

125. jingly jangly

I was in Galway for a stag weekend, and my mates were folkies, playing their instruments in a pub called the Crane, they were getting free beer, so I bought a triangle in a music shop and every thirty seconds hit the thing, whether it was time to do it or not, result I got free beer as well.

scaredy cat.

In response to an email I sent out to my English mates asking why they had not phoned me, I got one response saying basically we will not be calling, we wish we could get rid of the bastards as well, good luck…

126. Linda's back

Perhaps it was only me but at last weekend’s rugby,during the National Anthems I thought the BBC crowd mikes were switched off for God Save the Queen as you could only hear the English players but switched on for Flower of Scotland.

Why might that be?

127. mogabee

Rest well Rev. coz you need some down time.

Hope the site finds its mojo, it doesn’t flow as well as before Ddos.

I really have to sleep as busy day tomorrow delivering last of the yes papers but wind is howling outside and the dog is snoring! The joys…

128. scaredy cat.

refresh attempt πŸ™‚

129. Thepnr

@twenty14

Yep, I’m a Wosser, No doubt about that. I’d rather be a Wosser than a Winger. No offense to any Wingers out there.

130. James123

Abracadbra, make comments appear, I have the power of magic.

131. CameronB

OK, if it is to be Wossers, might an appropriate emblem be a seagull?

132. Ian Brotherhood

@Morag –

I know Glasgow’s not exactly on your doorstep, but there’s no question here. Ain’t down to me to ‘invite’ anyone. It’ll be a space arranged, and come aw ye…

I know nothing about music, but I love it, and have huge admiration for folk who can ‘do’ it, be they composers players, whatever.

That’s why I ‘asked’ (sorry if I came across sarky, or put you in a spot, wasn’t meant that way at all) – whatever might happen ‘musically’ inside the place would have zilch to do with me, but if I knew, booking the place, that there was no need for them to provide ‘music’, that leaves the space open to those who can.

I’m very confident that there is a wealth of musical talent among WoS regulars, but you’re better placed to know that – wouldn’t it be great to see a (relatively) spontaneous session?

The word ‘relatively’ is key though, right? – these things are always much more organised than they seem, and if I had to pick a WoS regular who sounded, to this uneducated ear, as if they knew about music, it would, of course, be you.

133. CameronB

I thought that was going to be our codeword. πŸ™‚

134. Midgehunter

Have 2 days off Rev and recover even more . you deserve it. Your Wingers will take care of the other lot.

I’ve got a nice cool crate of Andechs Doppelbock beer waiting to be finished, none of this crap lager / pils coloured water stuff and this is where it comes from

http://www.andechs.de/en/the-monastery-brewery/a-delight-for-body-and-soul-andechs-beer-specialities.html

By the way, I’ve got a colt loaded and cocked on my lap so I don’t think your budgies, rats and kittens will somehow win against my pair – unless that is I accidently fire, then I probably won’t have a pair again… ;-(

135. cearc

O/T. Looks lke the yellow tories are going to be short of funds as well as votes. Or own wee Danny boy gers a mention too. He will be pleased, likes being in the leading story.

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/feb/14/lib-dems-party-donor-choudhrie-undesirable

136. Marcia

Thepnr 11.04

She was a No in 1979.

137. Thepnr

The first time i was called a Wosser was in primary 5. I denied it and told my tormentors that I was a Winger.

Didn’t work it followed me everywhere I went. “You are a Wosser” embarrassed, well I suppose I was. I thought that once I was an adult the abuse would stop, but No, i was still a Wosser in most peoples eyes.

Than a funny thing happened, totally unexpected but some Stu Campbell guy came along and made Wossers acceptable. Oh how I laughed, my taunters now wanted to be like me, a Wosser.

Life is strange!

138. CameronB

I’ve still not forgotten that the shiny shiny, special edition WOS badges ran out, just as I got to the front of the throng. ;(

139. Morag

Rock

140. Weedeochandorris

Ach Ian, Morag,Kininvie et al, for folks who can’t get there could you record it and put it on youtube? Just asking like, so jealous πŸ™‚

Rev, thanks for everything, you enjoy your wee break from the madness!

141. Erchie

Alfresco

I think Missile Command was the game to bring in the trackball

142. Arbroath 1320

@Midgehunter

By the way, I’ve got a colt loaded and cocked on my lap so I don’t think your budgies, rats and kittens will somehow win against my pair – unless that is I accidently fire, then I probably won’t have a pair again… ;-(

You haven’t seen my killer budgies in action Midge or you wouldn’t be threatening them like that. πŸ™‚

143. Morag

I still think we’re all wingnuts….

144. Arbroath 1320

@Morag

I still think we’re all wingnuts…

Would that be in addition to be a cybernat/cabernat/streetnat/bedroomnat or in place of? πŸ™‚

145. Morag

I nearly lost my shiny Wings badge twice.

I was giving a lecture to second year, and I don’t know why but I fingered my collar and the badge wasn’t there. I thought I’d never see it again, as the college building is huge, but then I saw it! I looked down and both bits were lying on the carpet below the projection screen. I think I went on talking all the time I was noticing that. I waited till the end of the lecture and then picked it up.

About a week later I had a different pullover on, and I was sitting at my own desk, when again I fingered the badge and it was loose. In fact the bit at the back that holds it on was missing and only the pin lodged in the fabric was holding it. I later found the missing clip on the floor in my bedroom. I’d been walking round all day with the badge about to fall off.

So I cannibalised the clip from the back of an SNP badge, which I’m not wearing now, and now the Wings badge is solidly fixed. I’d have been well cross if I’d lost it, limited edition collectors’ item and all that.

146. Morag

Would that be in addition to be a cybernat/cabernat/streetnat/bedroomnat or in place of? πŸ™‚

As well as, natch.

147. CameronB

Precision laser.

148. Arbroath 1320

Glad to hear that Morag I was getting worried I was going to have to choose. I don’t do well when I have to choose. πŸ™‚

149. Midgehunter

Arbroath says:

“You haven’t seen my killer budgies in action Midge or you wouldn’t be threatening them like that.” πŸ™‚

Only another 3 months and my wee midgie friends will be back again.
    Lean, mean and hungry – they eat killer budgies for breakfast. πŸ™‚

150. Arbroath 1320

@Midgehunter

I can hear my killer budgies now as I read your post…

“oh goodie goodie LIVE food, no more of this dried seed mush!” πŸ™‚

151. Kalmar

Hi from Iceland! Awesome place.. There’s big ‘no’ posters about the place, I think they’re having a referendum about joining the EU?
    They have BBC telly channels, and the currency is ISK. More to follow.

152. Appleby

Favourite Jeff Minter game, everyone?

For me it has to be the strange experience that is Batalyx. Stuck with me for years when other games just faded away in my memory.

153. Fergie35

Aye, shared a bottle of wine with the mrs seeing as its romance time of year, but more importantly I chucked the cap off of the bottle of MacAllan which I swapped for a bogie load of sticks, living the dream brothers (.& sisters) living the dream, amen to sobriety, for the necht anyway!

154. Midgehunter

@ Arbroath 1320

Aye, gives budgie meat slowly roasted on the spit a nice tender aroma, πŸ˜‰

Ta ta till tomorrow on better behaviour as the Rev will be back

155. Fergie35

Failte Kalmar, welcome to Scotland, great to hear from our Icelandic neighbours

156. Arbroath 1320

It’s been fun Midge, I think. πŸ™‚

We’ll all return later in a more respectful manner, possibly, possibly not! πŸ™‚

157. Dramfineday

Well the drams are having a weekend of too in Ainster. The Spindrift is cracking, the Waterfront great, the Boat good, the Masonic needs more support and the Dreel was jumping. Looking fwd to another outing tomorrow then back to business delivering the yes material. Best wishes to Yes Pentlands working in Colinton Mains, in nearly tram city, later today.

158. CameronB

Some might consider my choosing a precision lasers in a game of stone, paper, scissors, is a bit like cheating. I’m trying to make a serious point though.

Britain does not have a plan to decentralise further than the HS2 corridor. The economics of empire will ensure a ‘chicken and egg’ situation will result re. needs based allocation of resources. The UK of the future will suffer from a clogged heart and starved extremities. It is not fit to face the next century, let alone leave anything for the following centuries.

Scotland was a world-leading tool maker. Let’s embrace post-modernity. Vote Yes.

159. The Man in the Jar

I dont know why but if I refresh the comments once an hour I can do so without any jiggery-pokery. Odd!

As for pet poker I raise you all one Patterdale terrier. (see avatar)

160. sue

@Morag, 11.57
    Lizard

161. Appleby

@CameronB

I’d love to see a stamp of “Made in Scotland” being appreciated as a mark of quality like “Made in Sweden/Switzerland/Germany”, and so on. We have it for a few items we export, but I’m sure we have it in us to produce quality in other areas too.

162. Bouncy

@appleby – years ago engineering machines with a Made in Scotland sign were respected as state of the art/best in the world – as were our ships

163. Dougie Douglas

Hmmm… Bundaberg Ginger Beer?

Add some Bundaberg Rum and you have made yourself a Dark and Stormy – now that is a drink!

164. CameronB

Appleby
    I can’t point at any, but I’ve no doubt their are Scottish and Scots based scientists, doctors, engineers, designers, whatever, who are ate the leading edge of their fields (no animal jokes please).

What I was alluding to, is that these types are unlikely to thrive in a Scotland of the future, shackled to the Union and milked dry to sustain needs based allocation of resources. As the One Nation, Fraser Nelson clone, SLabour apparatchik told me the other night, ‘pooling and sharing our resources so that all can benefit’.

Welcome to oligarchical collective-ism, welcome to 1984.

165. CameronB

Resources do need to be allocated according to need, obviously, but I hope you get where I’m coming from. Who’s needs and who’s resources?

166. Lanarkist

We fight for the right…

To partaaay!

167. Patrician

<—–

He will take on anyones pet. As long as it doesn't bite, make loud noises, move quickly, fly, or is in any way aggressive.

168. Morag

I’ve no doubt their are Scottish and Scots based scientists, doctors, engineers, designers, whatever, who are ate the leading edge of their fields (no animal jokes please).

Ouch. Why not?

http://www.sruc.ac.uk/info/20005/sac_consulting

169. Guttersnipe

Get a grip Stu play Eve with the rest of us megalomaniacs.

170. john king

Whats this whats this, we’ll have no shouting here, this is a local shop for local people,
    I turn my back for five minutes and the rev takes a night off, and look at the place,

rats kittens hamsters budgies running all over the place, and its a complete mess, if you lot don’t clean this up I’m telling the rev,

and archie(not erchie) there is no apostrophe in rats,what? whats that you say? you didn’t put an apostrophe in? now you see this is what I’m talking about folks, no wonder the revs scunnered and gone off for the night, the minute he digs you up for crimes ( cough imagined) against the English language you go off on one and say big boys dun it an ran away ,well I’m sorry but these spurious (see what I did there) excuses have to stop.

171. john king

Ian I’m still working on the wife to go, but I need to find a reasonable hotel nearby, any thoughts on that?

172. john king

Twenty14 says
    “Wossers”

You cannot be serious (ala John MacInroe)

any idea what a cockney would do with that?
    come to think about it what anyone would do with that?

173. john king

“OK, if it is to be Wossers, might an appropriate emblem be a seagull?”

Deep man deep.

174. Trunbull Drier

Good morning everyone.. I hope Stu has recovered from his ginger beer and TxK fest.. I’m just catching up after a week of Internet wilderness. What a week to miss!?

175. john king

Found one Ian Atto hotel is (according to google maps 57 seconds away, now to get working on the wife

176. Conan_the_Librarian

It was February ’14 when The first cracks appeared. In a putsch led by the shadowy figure known as ‘Thepnr’ He declared leadership of the ‘Wosser’ faction…

My smallest Jack Russell, ironically known as ‘Sweetie’, the only sabre toothed terrier in existence, would love to add Guinea Fowl, budgies and hamsters to her victory roll.

http://mypseudepigrapha.blogspot.co.uk/2009/05/guinea-pig-flew.html

Sweetie is the wee one next her dad. See what I mean?

177. john king

Are you going to mcginns conan?

178. Fergus Green

179. gerry parker

Good morning all. Well I had a couple of non alcoholic beers with my cumberland sausage sandwich last night. Enjoyed some cold shoulder also, but no mustard.
    I see this morning that the Lib Dems have had another of their coalition wish list items scuppered. No to constitutional reform (recalling of MP’s)

Not doing too well are they. Beware of promises to get your votes.

180. Conan_the_Librarian

@john king

Fully intend to John, investigating the possibility of sharing a taxi, otherwise it’s the last train/coach back.

181. john king

Im looking at a hotel that’s just 3 minutes walk away @ 65.00 a night which isn’t bad I could run you through, that’s assuming I can persuade her to go.

182. The Man in the Jar

@Conan
    Nice dugs!

183. Quinie frae Angus

@ianbrotherhood

I think it’s great that you’re organising this do. I wouldn’t worry about the music. If we just ask all the Wingers who can play a (portable) instrument to come along we could have a great wee jamming session to enjoy.

Mind you, not that I wish to put anyone on the spot, but the fabulous Dick Gaughan is a Winger too……

And I agree with previous posters that we don’t want any discussions or debates – we are all of us, I’m sure, spending way more time than we can realistically afford in our lives as it is, just keeping up with the wealth of information coming our way on our favourite online sites, and rebutting the mince from the MSM. Think April 4th should just be a chance for us to relax, enjoy the moment, meet our fellow Wingers, and “hing oot”.

184. Early Ball

Can someone help me with a discussion I am having with a friend. He said the SNP voted with the Tories more than with Labour during the last Labour administration at Westminster.
    There is some sort of chart where the left/right of a party is measured that I have seen before. Anyone know where to find it?

185. Archie [not Erchie]

rat’s test

186. K Mackay

Early Ball, did you mean this one? http://www.politicalcompass.org/ukparties2010

187. The Man in the Jar

@Early Ball
    Damn this DDoS someone might have already provided a better answer. (with a link) but.

I think your friend refers to the 79 referendum which Yes won but were denied a win due to the 40% (of electorate) rule introduced by Labour. effectively moving the goalposts to the other end of the park!

Later that year there was a vote of no-confidence against the Labour government. Naturally the SNP either abstained or voted against (cant remember) but the Labour govenment lost the vote.

This led to the Tories getting into government and Labour are still in a huge huff over this. This being the reason behind the tribal hatred of all thing SNP

188. Flower of Scotland

Wossers are people that like Johnathan Ross , aren’t they ?
    I don’t like him !

189. heedtracker

Got a chance to hear McCrone report author Prof McCrone on Radio 4 news this morn but he’s not exactly a barrel of laughs nor did he much to say either on a very dreary attack/debate. BBCBetterTogther’s Jim Naughty up first though with his weird brand of UKOK fearmongering. Christ Naughty’s a shameless UKOK propagandist. These BBC guys really believe they can shut down Scottish democracy simply by their own brilliance. Whatever happens, from now on BBCBetterTogether are going after any undecideds harder than ever.

190. Robert Louis

Early ball, @0916

An important point about SNP votes in Westminster is this, it is the policy of the SNP at Westminster to only vote on matters which affect Scotland. They do not vote on rUK only matters.

On rare occasions, however, they vote on matters which do not seemingly directly affect Scotland, but which do have a knock on effect. This is however, very rare, and only where there is a clear consequential detrimental effect upon Scotland, for example, it might lead to a reduction in Barnett consequentials.

For example, if Michael Gove decides to change the English A level system, the SNP do not vote. Interestingly, Scottish Labour MP’s will always vote, regardless of whether it is an English only matter or not.

The SNP also as a matter of policy do not accept seats in the Lords, as it is unelected and wholly undemocratic. There are no SNP peers.

At a guess, there may be an element of duplicity in what your friend has been told. The SNP do not participate in a lot of votes at Westminster for the above reasons.

191. Arbroath 1320

Just got woken up by a funny sounding scrapping noise. After spending some time searching the flat I finally uncovered where the noise was coming from. It was my killer budgies sharpening their beaks and talons. πŸ˜‰

There was also a wee sign stuck onto the cage that read:

“Bring it on. We tackle all comers!” πŸ™‚

192. HandandShrimp

Listened to GMS this morning where there was considerable discussion regarding Osborne’s intervention. Ian McWhirter was surprisingly robust in how damaging he thought the speech was to the No side.

On the technical side I thought Professor MacDonald (who I have always thought of as Better Together’s “independent expert” which was OK because there was a positive case too) amply displayed why Salmond is sticking to his guns. There was mention of the likeliest plan B, (pegged exchange rate) and Prof MacDonald was immediately chasing the hare as to why that would be shite too. I have little doubt that plans c and D would get the same treatment.

193. Horacesaysyes

Does this mean that last night you were indeed hiding away, hunched over a flickering screen, and the DM was right? I’m aghast!

I hope you enjoyed your night off – you should maybe do it more often, though, as we don’t want you pegging out on us before the big day.

194. Robert Louis

heedtracker,

Former BBC presenter and experienced journalist, Derek Bateman, made quite scathing comments regarding Jim Naughtie’s atrocious behaviour this week,

“Jim simply can’t stop himself railing against the SNP and seems to have a personal issue with Salmond.”

The full article can be found here,

http://derekbateman1.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/the-new-coalition/

The blatant bias of the BBC is rapidly becoming common knowledge in Scotland. They have no reputation left. They are anti-independence propagandists for London, no more, no less.

195. Cruachan

Stuey’s night off. What the hell, Brian.

196. scottish_skier

123 testing

197. Calgacus MacAndrews

Bwtter a Wosser than a DDosser.

198. Alba4Eva

Petition has been started to get Cameron to debate Salmond on TV…

http://epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/55155

199. The Man in the Jar

@robert Louis
    I agree about the BBC they are digging one huge hole for themselves. I think that it will get much worse before Sept. Their bias is getting more and more obvious by the day. They are an insult to Scotland and democracy.

200. clochoderic

As we are still off-topic here is the latest pearl of wisdom from cooncillur Terry Kelly:

“Linking me to Alex Salmond,Bobbie Burns and William Wallace is dangerously close to personal abuse, Wallace did not exist, Burns couldn’t write “fuck” on a misted up window and salmond is the most devious and vile politician, possibly human being ever to draw breath be careful.”

https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=35177951&postID=5067455458302675830

201. Yo Rev, Imma let you finish but Paradroid is the greatest space shooter of all time, of all time!

202. Flower of Scotland

Shereen on radio Scotland hosting a news of the week programme . Everything from Dave L Travis to Giraffes and Floods , but not one dicky bird about Scottish Politics never mind Cameron’s Love in ,or Osballs visit to Edinburgh !!
    Turned OFF !!!

203. heedtracker

@Robert Louis, I read Bateman too but Naughty and co know exactly what their doing. On that R4 report he told us that “he talked” to Alex Salmond earlier and he “detected” something in his tone that Salmond is giving up etc blah blah bleh. Naughty interviewing Salmond is hardly “talking”, desperate, hectoring, provocation in reality. There can’t be many “democracies” in the West that have to exist or even try to exist, with this kind of BBCBetterTogether cultural and political reactionary right wing domination. In effect, its merely upper middle class BBC fearmongering everyone in Scotland. Is Scotland listening to them?

204. K Mackay

testing, sorry folks

205. Seasick Dave

John

If you are looking for a good, clean, cheap city centre hotel look no further.

http://www.premierinn.com/en/hotel/GLASTA/glasgow-city-centre-buchanan-galleries?cmp=KNC_D_BND&mckv=sE7F00BVr_dc|pcrid|35272921539|kword|premier%20inn%20glasgow%20buchanan%20galleries|match|e|plid|

They also do half price (I think) parking for the Buchanan Street car park.

206. ronnie anderson

testing 1 2 3

207. gerry parker

I think we should vote on giving Rev Stu a regular night off, this one has been hilarious. I’ve been thinking of putting in multiple ellipsis, no line or paragraph breaks, appending a signature with every message and even chewing up bits of paper and flicking them up onto the ceiling. (two carriage returns just in case)

πŸ™‚

208. Dick Gaughan

I notice my name appearing above. “fabulous”? Now I suppose I’ll have to get my hair cut and change my strings.

I’d love to be there but unfortunately I’ll be in the depths of darkest Englandshire on that date telling the natives how much we love them but to leave the keys under the mat.

Hope it’s stopped raining by then – I emailed Miliborneballs to inform them that they are in breach of Health and Safety in the Workplace and that therefore I will require an immediate complete draining of the place but I got a reply saying “We’re all out at the moment. Please leave a message but don’t expect we’ll ever respond.” So I sang a verse of “Hermless” and sent them that.

Have a ball on the night.

209. Tattie-bogle

Labour’s new leaflet its a gordoun

http://imagebin.org/index.php?mode=image&id=293488

210. ronnie anderson

1 2 3 ah leery hud ma whip i,ll dos yer peerie,

am if you bliddy lot hiv,na cleaned up this room

wie ter budgies/hamsters/dugs/cats/rats,beer bootles

fag pkts/crisp pokes / irn bru cans,

ah know whit the Rev,s gonna dey wat that Whip an he,ll

no be whipping peeries, an git the air freshner oot tae.

Morning all, no hang overs I hope.

211. mato21

Still having problems accessing the site

212. Calgacus MacAndrews

@Ian Brotherhood

Put Mr & Mrs Calgacus down for the party in Glasgow on 4th April.

213. Flower of Scotland

What a tosser Terry Kelly is ! On his blog says he is Councillor for Renfrewshire , UK .
    He doesn’t even acknowledge that there is a country of SCOTLAND in his address !
    Wouldn’t have him for a councillor , that’s for sure !

214. Desimond

@Robert Louis

re ‘Interestingly, Scottish Labour MP’s will always vote, regardless of whether it is an English only matter or not.’

Someone best tell Anas Sarwar

215. kininvie

Morning all. Checking in.

216. Ian Brotherhood

@john king –

‘…now to get working on the wife.’

Steady there. Steady.

217. Marcia

I visited the lost property office at the local police station but no; Alistair Darling wasn’t there. Haven’t seen much of him lately.

– that that would be better than just test. πŸ™‚

218. jingly jangly

Ian Brotherhood, Mark me down at an attendee on 4th April..

219. kininvie

Ian Bell on cracking form today:

http://archive.is/8X9Jx

220. Dan Huil

Hardcoregamer? How old is the Rev?

221. Edward

Tattie-bogle
    Take it it supposed to be blank?

222. ronnie anderson

@ IanBrotherhood,I would love be with you,s all but I hope to have a opperation to put a Shunt in my head in March, if I am able, I would like to pop in & give you a bottle for the raffle,weil see what happens.

223. Croompenstein

Rev Stu – are you up yet?

224. Dorothy Devine

Clochoderic, I think you should copy and paste that on the appalling Spectator , Daily Telegraph ,Guardian and Daily Record site and even the good old Herald.

Let the folk know just in how much contempt we are held.

225. Croompenstein

I just wish FM would tell Gideon to stick the currency union that far up his arse that it touches Danny Alexander’s shoes oh and their will still be enough room for Trident

226. ronnie anderson

@ C-mon Rev you must have painted enough post boxes Gold by now,

does that Lizzie Yoland think she,s the only celebrity in Bath.

227. ronnie anderson

The REv,S the marathon Man

228. Ian Brotherhood

@John King, Mr and Mrs Calgacus MacAndrew, jinglyjangly & ronnie –

That’s you all added.

229. Croompenstein

@clocoderic – Kelly is click baiting he is a numpty and a nothing hopefully he’ll be able to write his name on his new Scottish passport.

230. mato21

Test

231. gerry parker

@Croompenstein.
    I hope you’re not going to grass on us all.
    (Resisted the urge to use cite tag.)
    πŸ™‚

232. Seasick Dave

Clochoderic

I love it when Terry plays to the gallery πŸ™‚

He’s ignorant and proud of it!

Way to go, Terry.

233. ronnie anderson

@ gerry parker, we,re awe grassrooters here lol

234. cearc

Ronnie

Good luck with the op.

Shame your sheds not a wee bit bigger, we could have had it there to make it easier for you!

235. Dorothy Devine

Ian , I seem to have missed the venue for the pairty – where ? when ?

236. Fergus Green

Petition signed. Bring on the debate.

237. john king

Dorothy
    Its Mcginns bar Glasgow on 04/04/14

238. john king

Thanks for the tip seasick dave I’ll check it out, I had already looked at a hotel near the pub but is was over a 100.00 a night,

239. Seasick Dave

John

This hotel is about Β£39.00 and its excellent.

Good Wi-Fi too πŸ™‚

240. john king

thats sounds good to me dave thanks

241. Early Ball

@Man in the Jar, K.Mackay and Robert Louis

Thanks very much guys. My friend was shocked to see where Labour were on the political compass and impressed at the SNP’s voting ethics. All helps.

242. Taranaich

@Arbroath 1320: I think you’re right Taranaich, folks never think much about these sort of things mainly because as you say β€œthat’s how it’s always been.” How sad is that?

I think this just highlights a sleeping giant in Scotland. After independence I would fully expect, over time, for the vast majority if not all T.V./Radio ads to be be β€œvoiced” by Scots. Only when this happens will folks realise how β€œunder the thumb” figuratively speaking, sort of, we have all been.

Indeed, and it’s going to be wonderful. We already have great genuinely Scottish TV, film & radio, but it’s bound by the “regional” box: when the Scottish government has full power over broadcasting (doesn’t it seem obvious in hindsight why broadcasting wasn’t one of the powers offered to devolution, especially given the enormous commercial interest from overseas and the film studio scuppered because Labour couldn’t be seen to advocate an SNP-supporting actor?), it’ll be as if we’ve been walking around in the dark all these centuries.

@James123: You make a very a good point about television, I remember as a youngster watching children’s TV and predominantly hearing English accents. From an early age it gives you the impression that a Scottish accent isn’t β€˜normal’.

When TV does Vox Pox in Scotland it seems that many Scots are very reluctant to speak and express themselves normally where as English folk don’t seem to have this issue.

Exactly: the English are represented by their media, and that gives them confidence, a sense of self, a sense that they have a place in the world. Right now, Scots have a marginal place in their own media, as a mere “region.” I have no doubts at the wonders a Scottish-owned & controlled media would do for the nation’s psyche.

This isn’t jealous grousing, by the way: it’s wonderful that the people of England have this. Every nation SHOULD have it – and that includes Scotland.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.