Sometimes dreams come true

Posted on December 25, 2013 by

[KGVID width=”460″ height=”267″]https://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/I-Wish-It-Was-Christmas-Today.mp4[/KGVID]

One day is all it takes. Happy Christmas, readers.

90 to “Sometimes dreams come true”

1. Rev. Stuart Campbell

If you’re using a device that can’t play the video, there’s an alternative link to a slightly lower-quality version here:

https://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=217590969700

and here:

and the list of official Wings-approved Christmas songs is here:

http://open.spotify.com/user/splonko/playlist/4wXxIG46wdWq9LzcpBmKbF

Have a tuba-tastic time, everyone.

2. Bugger (the Panda)

No sound.

3. Dave McEwan Hill

WTF!

4. Pedro

Turn yer volume up! 

Merry Christmas! 

5. The Tree of Liberty

Rev, Merry Christmas, but you should be in bed,. Take awe few days aff, man.

6. twenty14

yeeehaaaaa – Merry Christmas everyone in our beloved Country

7. Thistle

Merry Christmas all!

8. kendomacaroonbar

It’s CHRISTMASSSSSSSSSSSSS !   

9. DanTDog

A’ ra best, a’ ra time…here’s tae a great Christmas and even better New Year moving forward steadily to Independence!! Slainté…

10. Taranaich

OH GOD THERE’S EVEN A TUBA

11. Alan Mackintosh

Aye, merry christmas from the highlands. 🙂

12. Heather McLean

Merry Christmas Rev Stu and everyone on Wings!

13. G. Campbell

Stu’s a big fan. He’ll enjoy this.

A tinselled Elvis returns from the grave to join Subo in showing support for the Union.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hD1XuOiLCpc

MerryHappyXmas.

14. X_Sticks

Thanks Stuart Campbell. Have a good one.     

15. David Smith

Merry Christmas folks from the wrong side of the border! 🙂

16. Bill Dunblane

Nissed as a pewt!
    Merry Chrimbo Stu! 😀

17. Bill Dunblane

…and if you want more Christmas nonsense, hae a wee swatch at my efforts!
    http://www.billdunblane.com/christmas-present.html
    Shameless plug, but merry Christmas everybodypeeps! 😉

18. Inbhir Anainn

Simply put Merry Christmas to one and all and may the Rev Stu’s pen be mightier than the sword in 2014.  God bless Scotland.

19. Macart

Ssshhhhh there’s footsteps on the roof. 😉

20. john king

Merry Christmas Stu,
    thank you for all your doing 

21. Andrew Morton

Can’t sleep. Too excited about Santa coming with presents. Has he been yet? Hope I get an Indy!

22. Boorach

Merry Christmas to all Yessers & Wossers from a still breezy Easter Ross

23. Ericmac

All the best folks.  Have a peaceful day. 

24. antmcg

Merry Christmas Stu, Wings and everyone 🙂

25. Juteman

Meh. 😉

26. Holebender

Bah Humbug!

Merry Christmas from somewhere in the Gulf of Guinea.

27. wapirrie

Merry Christmas everyone and a successful new year to the yes campaign. Keep up the good work.

28. sneddon

My that’s a radical new direction for Slade 🙂
    Thanks Bill Dunblane for the link, I love the beer commercial  I almost fell of my chair 🙂

29. Archie [not Erchie]

Oh Santa was good to me – The joy of a grand daughter born yesterday [name later], an olive wood mortar & pestle for crushin mah nutz, and finally a PC DVD Max Payne3.

Happy Christmas Day to you all and great to share it with the Wings extended family.

30. scotbud

Merry Xmas folks hope you all have a good one, spending today with our 12 week old grandson hope his future is in an independent Scotland.

31. Trunbull Drier

happy christmas your arse, i pray god its our last… as a nation without a mandate for proper democracy obv 😛

32. ianbeag

When the history of Scotland’s current struggle is recorded – and we’ve won, Rev Stu and ‘Wings’ will feature on the opening pages.  The analysis and exposures presented on these pages have contributed more to reversing the torrent of lies and distortions than any other source and we are grateful.  Be assured that your efforts are greatly valued by all who are committed to Scotland. Have a great Christmas and take the day off!

33. gordoz

Luv it Stu – more power to you all at WoS.
    A Very Merry Christmas !!

Was that ‘Bear MacDougall’ on the Tuba ??
    Too positive a gig for the british lot surely ??

You’re credit to real scots everywhere !! Roll on Sept 2014

34. Jamie Arriere

Snay a tuba, it’s a Suzophone!

Happy pedantic Christmas!! Y’all!!

35. Midgehunter

A very merry Christmas to all Wings friends and to the YES for Independence campaign from Germany.

Special thanks to the Rev. for shining a spotlight on the lies and deciet of the NO / Better Togethers / MSM and keeping up the moral and truth when No piles on the pressure.

36. Brotyboy

Merry Christmas to all at Wings.  Kudos, Rev, for all your efforts to date and may they continue to bear fruit up to and beyond the 18th September.

37. Macart

Ooooooooo Crysis 3 and a bottle of ten year old Aberlour.

I’ll resurface sometime next year. 🙂

38. Albert Herring

Sousaphone, a marching tuba developed at the request of John Philip Sousa who wrote this familiar piece.

39. Rev. Stuart Campbell

A sousaphone IS a tuba. LOOK IT UP.

40. Themadmurph

MerryMerry Christmas everyone. Rev. Chalk up another device – my new iPad mini, I got for Christmas ????

41. bald eagle

macart @5.55am
    wheres the lead ya tight git
          merry crimbo all at wings
          and a special merry christmas to lumilumi and family
           have a peaceful and joyful christmas everyone

42. twenty14

Merry Christmas Rev – when I clicked on the link a comedy vision came to mind of –
     A Carmichael, A Darling, Stairheid, Lola etc  shuffling side to side as thye marched up Calton Hill to beg forgiveness on September 19th next year

43. benarmine

haha – Happy Christmas all.

44. Dubbyside

Rev

Great new spoof from Dereck Bateman.

http://derekbateman2.wordpress.com/2013/12/25/santa-scots-snub/

Santa will not get permission to fly into an independent Scotland as we will not be allowed to use the excising protocols which allow such flights.

Derek do not go giving them ideas, it will be on a No news release next week, and faithfully reported on the BBC by the burd. Well is it any dafter than they will have to bomb our airports?

45. farrochie

7 sleeps till 2014 – YES! Referendum Year.

46. Yesitis

After wading through tirades of some real nasty phobic name calling, visceral anti-English hatred and vicious misogyny…

Q. When is a tuba not a tuba?
    A. When it`s a sousaphone.

That`s why I love WoS 🙂
    Happy Christmas Rev Stu. Happy Christmas everybody.
    Here`s to a bold and positive 2014.

47. JnrTick

Ahhhhh The mighty ‘Strokes’.

48. clochoderic

Ian Brotherhood – April the 18th would be exactly 6 months before the big day.

Go for it, and as for sounds – get a wee band, and maybe even a guest speaker or comedian.

Is gonny be a blast, pal!

49. Morag

Happy Christmas everyone, from lovely sunny England where I am staying with friends.  Friend’s husband is currently carving the capon, then we shall eat.

50. Bubbles

Happy Christmas to one and all. I don’t know where I’d be Stu without your fine work keeping me sane.

Yes!

51. Andy-B

Ha ha very good Rev.

Merry Christmas to one and all.

O/T stumbled upon this recently, if you ever wondered where Westminster has dumped its radioactive materials, around the UK coast, then here’s the answer, also the file contains many other countries, sites of dumping radioactove waste.

A particularly popular dumping area is off the coast of France and Iberia, unless you’re Russian then it the Arctic thats most popular.

Link below

http://www-pub.iaea.org/MTCD/Publications/PDF/te_1105_prn.pdf

52. Archie [not Erchie]

What does it mean take off outer cover and film? I have tried that but nothing happens to the duck. Running out of memory on the camera. 🙂

53. Macart

@Bald Eagle
    Jeez, pawned that after the first austerity cuts. 😉

54. scottish_skier

Merry Christmas all.

Wee traditional song:

55. John Sm.

Thanks Rev for all you’ve done over the past year or so and a happy Christmas to everyone from Adele, John & Kel in Laurnie. Here’s lookin’ forward to the next year – woohoo.

56. Ian Brotherhood

@chlocoderic –

‘April the 18th would be exactly 6 months before the big day.

One of us must be bladdered!

57. M4rkyboy

Burp

58. clochoderic

DOH!

Wake me up when September comes.

59. Ian Brotherhood

@clochoderic –

It’ll be upon us before we know it.

BT face nine months of scratching about like half-starved chickens, pecking away at dust in the hope of finding something they can claim as a ‘positive case’. In the meantime, we just keep doing what we’ve been doing all along – talking truth to power, confident that we have the facts on our side.

Watch them fall like skittles come the new year – Carmichael is surely the first up for shaving, then Lamont, and Darling. McDougall? That man won’t be around for Sept 18th if  he doesn’t start looking after himself a wee bit. And let’s not forget – as and when these characters get real and fling in the towel, it will become exponentially more difficult to persuade anyone with a functioning brain to replace them.

60. Ian Brotherhood

O/T, but worth a swatch –

For obvious reasons, I was made well aware  of this group when I was in primary school. Thankfully, they disappeared, but tragically, were reincarnated for the Eurovision Song Contest with the hideous ‘Kisses for Me’. (I was only 13, starting secondary school – can you imagine what torments had to be endured?) But this, here, is the original Brotherhood of Man – highly inflammable Barnets, astonishing clobber, and a great wee song.

61. clochoderic

Ian – good find, we actually bought that single when i was a kid. Someone mentioned Roger Whittaker in a different forum today – another act i have not thought about in years.

Talking of oldies, feast your ears on Jeff Lynne giving the full ELO treatment to some old classics on his 2012 album Long Wave:

62. themadmurph

so, I was on my new ipad mini (which I’m a bit of a novice on) and I tried typing the URL for newsnetscotand, but typed newnetscotland! It takes you to Better Together! Sleekit bastards!

63. Ian Brotherhood

@clochoderic –

Nice one. Lynne’s got to keep busy somehow.

And here’s the inimitable Chas Aznavour –

She’ may be the reason I’m surrounded by Woolworths Christmas trees…’

64. clochoderic

Ian – if you still have my email drop me a line – i have some info about education in Ayrshire you may find interesting.

65. Ian Brotherhood

@clochoderic –

I won’t have it. Lost all me e-mail addresses after a major Orange/EE cock-up approx a month ago – please send it here:

ian@stevenston4.fsnet.co.uk

66. caz-m

Ian
    There’s nothing like good old tunes from the past.

And here is song that sums up how we feel today.

Called “I Can’t wait till September”

by, Peter and the Test Tube Babies.

67. Bugger (the Panda)

Update from 12.12 am
    it still doesn’t load on iPad and alternative link says I need F
    ash Player which is not supported on my device.
    Anyway it worked on MacBook but somehow I wished it hadn’t.
    Can’t get the moronic thing out of head.
    not enough alcohol taken yet.

Internet slow tonight, must be half of Europe is Skyping with Australia.

Merry Xmas everyone.

68. Ian Brotherhood

@caz-m –

Nice one. Never heard that before. Reminded me of this:

69. caz-m

Good one Ian
    Also like this from the Cure.

“Friday I’m in Love”.

70. Paula Rose

Ooh gosh a playlist –

71. clochoderic

If that is the game then i raise you:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=USdyRXZNSts

And no, it is not the horrible Tom Jones song.

But it is a belter – check out the Loch Lomond background.

72. Paula Rose

Oh willies, don’t know how to do the Rev’s preferred postie stuff, anyway – raise

73. Paula Rose

can’t resist playing this

74. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Brilliant.

Here’s one I’ve posted before. Never fails to bring a tear to the eye. Two magnificent monsters, both deid…RIP.

This version has dodgy video, but the sound seems okay, and it does show Brown and The Pav embracing at the end, the crowd reaction etc. (note how wary Pav seemed at the start…)

Wonderful stuff – whoever had the idea of teaming them up is a genius:

75. Paula Rose

A tear for you –

76. ronnie anderson

many thanks Paule Rose, brought a tear tae baith ein, Sorley MacLean wan o Scotlands finest bards,

77. Paula Rose

all quiet so I’ll post another bit of genius –

78. Paula Rose

Oh one more indulgence! – My Baby Does

79. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

re the MacDiarmid clip. I watched that just t’other night, and wanted to post it here, but could find no good reason. It’s magical stuff. The guy was a one-off.

Curiously, one of my tutors (at UHI) lives in Orkney, and she was telling us, just a few weeks ago, how strange it is to hear locals speaking about Mackay-Brown. It’s all stuff like ‘Aye poor Georgie, never did find a decent job, he was an awfy disappointment to his mother’ etc.

The whole idea that he’s regarded as one of Scotland’s major 20th century writers doesn’t seem to count for much in his home patch. I don’t know if that’s true – it’s just what we were told, but it does seem very odd.

80. Paula Rose

Prophets in their own land –

81. Paula Rose

Poor George – just this

82. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

That’s another new one for me, but it would help explain why some don’t like to see GMB and/or his work being celebrated.

I know that outlook – it’s truly horrific, because it is real. Only a very brave man could write something like that.

83. Paula Rose

Oh Ian honey – more to come,

84. Paula Rose

For anyone seeking Scotland.

85. Keef

Merry Crimbo to all
    Got Jenni Fagen’s book “The Panopticon” from Santa. Just finished reading it. it is a gem of a book and will go down in history as a Scottish classic in years to come. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

86. alexicon

Merry Christmas to all.

Meanwhile back to the grind of educating the readers of the Independent newspaper on Carwyn Jones’s article.
    Especially this line: “Mr Jones has found himself pressed into service for the campaign in Scotland to reject independence – or Project Fear as it has been dubbed by nationalists”
    Sorry I can’t sign in as I don’t do facebook etc.
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/carwyn-jones-the-uk-must-continue-down-the-road-to-becoming-a-federal-nation-9025313.html

87. Another London Dividend

Merry Christmas 
    http://archive.is/SEqBH
    Another sycophantic piece in Hootsman from failed Labour spin Doctor  John  McTernan who smeared all his political opponents in Australia and tried to smear SNP claiming they did a deal over Megrahi while glossing over Tony Bliar’s involvement.

http://blogs.news.com.au/heraldsun/andrewbolt/index.php/heraldsun/comments/why_doesnt_murphy_call_out_labor_for_its_vicious_smear/

88. caz-m

@alexicon

Never heard much about this Carwyn Jones until he butted into the referendum debate in November.

Westminster must love him, because his plan is, not to increase the Welsh budget, but to decrease the Scottish budget. To do away with the Barnett Formula.

This would decrease the budget to the devolved parliaments, which would give London and SE England an even larger budget to pay for more projects in the London area.

The Welsh NHS and Welsh education system are the worst in the UK, so instead of trying to better the Welsh position, he wants to drag the Scots down to their level.

Not a very positive outlook Mr Jones.

It is politicians like Mr Jones that more and more Scots see as one of the main reasons why we must get out of this rotten Union, and why the majority will vote YES.

After Independence, Scotland will become one of the most prosperous and confident countries in the world.

89. Dave McEwan Hill

It should not be forgotten that when Labour were in control of the Scottish Parliament they underspent annually and sent money back to London which I suspected at the time was a ploy to undermine the Barnett Formula

They actually underspent and sent money back after the Parlamentary term in which they had promised in their manifesto that they would start and complete the high speed rail link to Glasgow Airport on which they never lifted a shovel – then had the effontery to blame the SNP for cancelling the mad scheme

90. sionnach

I’m currently reading “The Hebridean Traveller” by Denis Rixson, and came across this (p. 69):

“The time may not be far distant, when, enervated by luxury and sunk in effeminacy, the … inhabitants of the South will yield to the hardier sons of the North, the seat of empire and the emporium of trade, for which their natural resources, their personal strength and vigour of mind, and perhaps local advantages, so much qualify them.”
    [Rev Alexander Downie, minister of the parish of Lochalsh, writing in the 1790s.]

No TWTPTS there. It might have taken a wee bit longer than the Rev Downie hoped, but it’s coming!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.