Setting the Record straight

Posted on February 20, 2015 by

The Independent Press Standards Organisation has delivered its verdict on the Daily Record’s coverage of the Smith Commission recommendations on 27 November 2014, after we lodged a complaint with the watchdog body.

biglie

We attach its findings below. (Emphases ours.)

——————————————————————————————————-

Decision of the Complaints Committee
Various Complainants v The Daily Record

Summary of Complaint

1. Six complainants complained to the Independent Press Standards Organisation that an article headlined “The Vow delivered”, published in the Daily Record on 27 November 2014, and an article headlined “The Vow delivered: Scotland to be responsible for more tax and welfare worth billions of pounds in radical devolution package”, published on the Daily Record’s website on 26 November 2014, were inaccurate, in breach of Clause 1 (Accuracy) of the Editors’ Code of Practice.

2. The article was about the Report of The Smith Commission, which considered the further devolution of powers to the Scottish Parliament. A front page sub-headline claimed, “Scottish Government budget to nearly double”. The article went on to report that “the Scottish Government’s current budget of about £30 billion a year will rise by two thirds to about £50 billion”.

The online article reported that “the historic power shift from Westminster should see the Scottish government’s current budget of about £30 billion boosted by over 50 per cent”. The newspaper said that the online article appeared on the home page of the Daily Record’s website

3. The complainants said that the recommendations of the Smith Commission would not “nearly double” the Scottish Government’s Budget. Some complainants referred to paragraph 95 (3) of the Smith Commission report, which stated that there should be no change in the size of the Scottish Government budget simply as a result of the initial transfer of tax and/or spending powers, before considering how they were used.

Some complainants said that while certain tax receipts would be devolved to the Scottish Government under the recommendations, paragraph 95 (3) (a) made clear that this would be accompanied by an equivalent reduction in the block grant.

4. The newspaper explained that it had received information about the contents of the report shortly before its publication from a source with first-hand knowledge. It accepted that it had misunderstood the information provided to it on this point.

It offered to publish a correction in the “Corrections and Complaints” column on page 2 of the Daily Record. It proposed the following wording:

“In our report of November 27 we stated that the Smith Commission on Devolution would recommend that the Scottish Government budget should “nearly double” and that the current budget of about £30bn would rise to about £50bn. This was based on a misunderstanding of information provided by a source close to the Smith report.

The estimated “doubling” related to the proportion of the budget raised from taxes devolved to the Scottish Government, rather than the overall size of the budget; the £50bn estimate for the “increased budget” was therefore incorrect. The impact of the increased devolved powers such as tax, welfare, air passenger duty and Crown Estates budget is yet to be fully determined.”

5. The newspaper amended the online article, and offered to publish a correction, which it said would either be published at the bottom of the original online article, or as a stand-alone item published on the first news page of the Daily Record’s website. It would then be published on the corrections and clarifications page of the website.

——————————

Relevant Code Provisions

6. Clause 1 (Accuracy)

(i) The Press must take care not to publish inaccurate, misleading or distorted information, including pictures.

(ii) A significant inaccuracy, misleading statement or distortion once recognised must be corrected, promptly and with due prominence, and – where appropriate – an apology published. In cases involving the Regulator, prominence should be agreed with the Regulator in advance.

——————————

Findings of the Committee

7. The Committee welcomed the newspaper’s prompt recognition of the fact that it had misunderstood the information provided to it by a source. Nevertheless, in stating that the Scottish Government budget would “nearly double”, or that it would be “boosted by over 50 per cent”, the newspaper was making significant claims.

The newspaper’s publication of these claims, following a significant misunderstanding of the information provided to it, demonstrated a failure to take care not to publish inaccurate information. The complaint under Clause 1 (i) was therefore upheld.

As a consequence of the inaccuracy, the article significantly misrepresented the fiscal consequences of the Smith Commission’s recommendations. The article was therefore significantly inaccurate in a manner that required correction in accordance with Clause 1 (ii).

Conclusions

8. The complaint was upheld.

Remedial action required

9 Having upheld the complaint under Clause 1(i), the Committee considered what remedial action should be required. The Committee has the power to require the publication of a correction and/or adjudication, the nature, extent and placement of which is to be determined by IPSO. It may also inform the publication that further remedial action is required to ensure that the requirements of the Editors’ Code are met.

10 The Committee welcomed the newspaper’s prompt acknowledgment of the inaccuracy and offer of a correction. The wording and prominence of the print correction offered was sufficient to correct and address the initial error in the print article. In order to avoid a breach of the Code, this correction should now be published.

11 It noted that in some instances, depending on the nature of the original inaccuracy, it may be sufficient for a publication to amend the online article and append a footnote to the article. In this instance, however, the inaccuracy was particularly significant and prominent.

In order to remedy the breach of Clause 1, the newspaper was now required to publish this wording both as a footnote to the online article under complaint, making clear to readers that the article had been amended, and as a stand-alone item linked for no less than 24 hours from the home page of the Daily Record’s website, with a headline indicating the subject of the correction.

The stand-alone item should then be archived on the corrections and clarifications page of the Daily Record’s website.

Hugo Wallis
Complaints Officer

Independent Press Standards Organisation
c/o Halton House
20/23 Holborn
London EC1N 2JD

——————————————————————————————————-

vowdelivers1

It has taken almost three months for IPSO to deliver its verdict, but it’s a damning one. The organisation very rarely upholds complaints, but its language is strong.

As far as we can make out, the Record doesn’t actually have to print its correction for another two weeks, and despite IPSO’s comment that “The newspaper amended the online article”as we write this the original story on its website is still the wildly inaccurate version.

vowdelivers2

The paper’s excuse is pretty pathetic, as is the wording of the apology – only a complete idiot could have imagined that Holyrood’s budget was actually going to double, or that “Scotland’s Parliament will be responsible for billions of pounds of extra tax and welfare spending”. The Record can’t possibly not have known that it was printing total rubbish. But as these things go the correction should at least be a relatively prominent one.

It’s remarkable, given IPSO’s statement that the paper acknowledged the error “promptly” on receipt of the complaints in November, that the Record has nevertheless allowed its website to continue to carry the inaccurate claims for three months, almost as if it wanted people to keep believing them.

But when it comes to telling Scots the truth, we suppose it’s better late than never.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 21 02 15 00:41

Setting the Record straight - Speymouth

2. 21 02 15 13:31

Setting the Record straight | Politics Scotland...

174 to “Setting the Record straight”

1. Judge Grumpy

So the rag that is the Daily Record has been found out fibbing about the Vow. I can’t imagine anyone sane actually expected any veracity there, but the fact the complaint was upheld shows how far off the fact piste they were. They knew it, we knew it and they are still misleading their readership right now.

Damning and a final end to Daily Record credibility for the 2 or 3 people that still thought they had any.

2. Ian Brotherhood

Oooh, lovely-jubbly.

This chunk glares out –

‘Findings of the Committee

7. The Committee welcomed the newspaper’s prompt recognition of the fact that it had misunderstood the information provided to it by a source.’

A ‘source’?

Could it be that we’re a teensy-weensy baby-step closer to finding out who wrote the shite in the first place?

3. Steve Bowers

Rev, you’re a fucking star, outstanding work, I shall sleep a wee bit better tonight.

4. Andrew Haddow

“The deal, trashed out between rival political parties….”

Sounds about right.

5. Flooplepoop

most excellent…

6. M4rkyboy

Oh what a tangled web we weave,when first we practise to deceive.

So basically,they print a load of nonsense and then to qualify the nonsense they have to print more nonsense?

7. Aos

Is this the same misunderstanding Jim Murphy experienced when he couldn’t read a simple report about the NHS? The Record will probably try to blame this on the SNP as well.

8. cearc

Well done, a result.

Every victory helps, of course they ought to have to print, ‘We lied to you’ as the main front page headline but hey ho.

9. Ian

Kudos Rev, and GIRFUY Daily Record!

10. Cadogan Enright

Well, it goes to show that you should never miss an opportunity to complain to or about the MSM no matter how corrupt you think they are. Phone the BBC, write to STV and advance our legitimate complaints about media accuracy and bias (except when out canvassing) 🙂

Well done Stu

also, the Jobby is well ahead of the Smurph at this stage https://www.facebook.com/jobbymorepopularthanjimmurphy?fref=ts

11. Iain Gray's Subway Lament

“A ‘source’?

Could it be that we’re a teensy-weensy baby-step closer to finding out who wrote the shite in the first place?”

Well I certainly don’t hear ‘Billy Bunter’ McDougall laughing too hard tonight for some reason. 😉

12. Calum Craig

Nice one! Better late than never I suppose…

13. Thepnr

@David Clegg & Torcuil Crighton

Collect your jotters or like real men resign. You have been found guilty of extortion. Extorting the innocent of their votes.

If you don’t go now i guarantee the paper will go first.

14. DialMforMurdo

Real Scots Read The Record…

Including those we’ve consistently lied to since we changed our name from the North British Daily Mail in 1901.

15. Murray McCallum

“Relevant Code Provisions

6. Clause 1 (Accuracy)

(i) The Press must take care not to publish inaccurate, misleading or distorted information, including pictures.”

The Daily Record may need to rethink their entire business plan?

16. jimnarlene

You’ll need, a Sherlock Holmes types magnifying glass or the Hubble telescope, to read any apology from that rag.

17. No no no...Yes

Well, well, well.

So, the Daily Record source gave them dodgy info, pah!

Who was the source?

Will Murray Foote resign?

Will this be reported by all MSM outlets, including the BBC?

Will it be on Call Kay with an e?

Will Jim Murphy greet in his bru can?

Will Angry Salmond be less so tonight?

The Smith Commission bullshit detectors should be congratulated for their efforts in putting ink to scroll.

A fine start to the weekend.

18. Scot Finlayson

Wings is `kicking ass and taking names`

19. JayR

Great news. No let up on the pressure on the Record and its “journalists” until they all finally do the honest thing…and actually move en masse to OFFICIALLY work for the Labour OFFICIAL press office.

20. RMAC

Great stuff, I thought they were going to get away with it completely.
    I don’t understand why they haven’t been ordered to print the apology and findings of the complaint of the front page of the paper given the gravity of the deceit, but I suppose that would be expecting too much.

“Scotland’s Champion” but at what. It wont make them behave any better or print more accurate stories. I look forward to their apology, but its like telling a kid to aplogise when they don’t mean it or want to. They’ll say it but it really means nothing other than they were made to.

21. Proud Cybernat

Bravo Rev.

Daily Redcoat – GIRFUY.

22. blackhack

Who’s been telling porkies then ???

Sorry I should have realised, it’s the mainstream media……

23. Paul MacDonald

I (You/We) should never quote Scottish oils as the definitive one trick pony. However it does provide a very simple winner in my example. Currently the oil revenue serves the entire UK population of 64.1million (http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SP.POP.TOTL) if Scotland had won its independance that exact same money would be serving a populous of <6million (http://www.nrscotland.gov.uk/…/scotlands-population-at…) Less than 10% of its current burden. Answer me if Scotland ONLY and nothing else considered relied on oil, how could it possibly be skint?

24. Stoker

Well done, Rev.
    Thank you for your efforts and persistence.
    And thank you for WOS.

IPSO – Not good enough, this was deliberate deception of a nation and manipulative interference in our democratic process and referendum. We will accept nothing less than a full front page apology for deliberately misleading the public.

Daily Rectum – GTF – FILTHY LYING SCUM – and that’s official.

Rectum readers – take note – that rag has zero credibility.

25. dramfneday

Well done Rev (and the other complainers) a nicely placed spanner on the Record’s works. I enjoyed that.

26. bunter

What we need now is a mass boycott of this rag, like what Liverpool did to The Sun over its lies.

This London rag conned a nation at the most significant point in its history for 300 years.

27. NeilfaeGreenock

Who is the mysterious “source” ? Going by the level of inaccuracy, it can only be oor Jim.

28. Onwards

It would be nice if the paper had to give equal front page prominence to any apology and correction.

29. heedtracker

Amazing work WoS! What a pack of liars they are. THE VOW is a historic fraud on Scotland and now at least one of these fraudsters have to explain themselves. Crichton Torquil out.

30. Hoss Mackintosh

Well Done – Rev Stu !

And the other Alert Complainers.

Wings 1 – 0 Daily Record

Cannot wait for the 2nd Leg…

31. Aidan

Too funny!
    They’ve not really had a good week have they?
    After getting 90% against on their alcohol at football poll there’s now another on indy:
    http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/revealed-daily-record-poll-shows-5195216
    Showed over 70% yes when I checked.

32. muttley79

The source for this shambles of a story could be anyone from Blair McDougall, Jim Murphy, Douglas Alexander, Margaret Curran et al. Could very well have just been invented out of thin air of course. Another nail in the corrupt Daily Record’s coffin.

33. Dr Jim

So front page of the Daily Record will read

“WE LIED TO ALL OUR READERS”

Do we think so

34. bookie from hell

it had misunderstood the information provided to it by a source.

bfh—blaming the source walofs

35. Dr Jim

Maybe The National will lend them their front page

Just a wee hint

36. Salt Ire

Can we get #thedeplorablechrichton trending?

37. Macart

Ooft!

Neatly done Rev.

38. Thepnr

@Onwards

Agreed, a front page correction and nothing less.

SORRY BUT WE ARE A LYING SHOWER OF SHITE

All liars are eventually exposed, Clegg and Crighton are a liability to the Record, they should be hauled over the coals.

There is no excuse for outright lying, it was no “mistake”.

39. gillie

Another “mistake”.

40. Tam Jardine

Well done Stu and the other complainants – great result.

Curious timing for the decision to come from IPSO – Friday night? You’d almost think IPSO had released their decision on a Friday night to minimise the impact – that seemed to happen during the indyref quite often.

Fewer politics programmes on the telly and a whole weekend to muffle the effect.

Still, one in the eye for Clegg, Foote and Torquil.

41. Bootsy81

Many thanks for lodging this complaint Stu. What would we do without you? Can’t tell you how much it’s appreciated.

Must feel good to have some vindication. I know it does here!

Thanks again.

42. Bob Sinclair

Hands up how many Daily Record readers actually pay attention to the truth. Particularly at the weekend when they’re desparately wanting to buy cheap nasty lager at football Matches.

43. Stoker

Spot The Rectum lover posting a direct link to the scummy rag @ 11.18pm – trying to trick people into helping the enemy survive.

GTF Rectum and GIRFUY.

44. Flower of Scotland

Thanks Stu for all your hard work.

THEY probably won’t retract their Vow statement but as we know everybody but everybody reads Wings and everyone will know the Truth!

45. Carntyne

It (Daily Record)accepted that it had misunderstood the information provided to it on this point.

That should read …”Deliberately misunderstood the information”….

46. Grouse Beater

A “misunderstanding.”

Deliberately undermining voter intention to such a degree a great many voted against their conscience is rebuked, yet quietly excused by newspaper’s goal was achieved.

No one goes to jail, no one loses their job, no one is fined. But an entire nation lost its sovereignty because of it.

Any brazen lie is excused as an honest ‘misunderstanding’ of the facts.

47. Valerie

Very well done for persistence Rev. and the complainers.

As said, that body RARELY upholds complaints, but perhaps they have your measure, and took notice.

I’m with Dr Jim, given the prominence and placement of the Vow, equal placement and prominence should be given to the apology/retraction.

“We print pish” will do for me.

48. Stoker

Latest from Newsnet:- BROADCAST NEWS 10:

Labour dictates RepScot agenda, amidst Murphy clangers
    http://newsnet.scot/2015/02/broadcast-news-10-labour-dictates-the-reporting-scotland-agenda-despite-murphys-clangers/

49. Lesley-Anne

Congratulations Stu on winning yet another (YAWN) retreat from the *ahem* Dark side! 😉

The newspaper explained that it had received information about the contents of the report shortly before its publication from a source with first-hand knowledge. It accepted that it had misunderstood the information provided to it on this point.

Oh look we have had a *cough* misunderstanding moment here. 😉 Hmm I wonder if this *cough* misunderstanding moment was a *ahem* trial run of the misunderstanding concept to see how far they could run with it and get away with it without anyone asking any questions.

Could this *ahem* misunderstanding moment have been carried out by oor Jim’s *cough* assistant who *ahem* misunderstood the NHS figures earlier this week? 😛

50. lumilumi

Oh, well done, Rev Stu! [enthusiastically claps hands]

Finally a formal acknowledgement and ruling on the bias of the (Scottish) MSM. Not that it’ll see the light of day in any MSM/BBC outlets.

What gets me is this “misunderstanding”. How stupid are the MSM jouralists? Or rather, how stupid do they think the Scottish electorate is?

“Oh, we just misunderstood a bit, so it’s all all right and vote Labour.”

Thankfully more and more people are beginning to see through their act and NOT misunderstanding.

Thank you, Rev Stu, for pursuing this. My donations haven’t been in vain. When’s the next fundraiser?

51. Joemcg

I imagine in some of the more hot headed countries in the world the rectum offices would have been burnt down by now.

52. Clootie

A toast – to the demise of the daily retard

53. liz

That has to be the best result bar none.

Well done Rev. I never expected any complaint to be upheld, as we have all tried so many times and get fobbed off.

The DR will never again be able to claim any high moral ground because we can all remind them of their dire ‘journalistic’ efforts.

OMG a cause for celebration

54. Murray McCallum

“Remidial action required

10 The Committee welcomed the newspaper’s prompt acknowledgment of the inaccuracy and offer of a correction. The wording and prominence of the print correction offered was sufficient to correct and address the initial error in the print article. In order to avoid a breach of the Code, this correction should now be tattooed onto the foreheads of the senior editorial staff.”

Crickey IPSO, publishing a correction would suffice!

55. Chic McGregor

Wow! IPSO upheld a complaint. Is that a record?

56. HandandShrimp

The Daily Record

Never knowingly accurate

57. Stoker

Now, it will be very interesting to see how certain other events transpire.

Is there not another organisation who have reported this rag and its interference in our referendum to a governing body in Europe?

The Celtic League?

OH HAPPY DAYS…WHO’S SORRY VOW…

Night night folks.

58. The Man in the Jar

“I only buy it for the crossword/football/TV guide” is not an excuse. No-one should give this reconstructed used toilet roll a brass farthing. Let them rot in their own mire!

59. Chic McGregor

Very OT but gotta print this snippet from Prof. Robertson’s article over on NNS:

“As Eleanor pointed out, this will bring the Scottish system up to the standard of the English system which is better despite all the dissatisfaction there. To be fair, Labour weren’t able to claim the credit this time as Eleanor claimed a key role for the BBC webpages in drawing attention to the information deficit in Scotland.

Then Eleanor has a veritable epiphany, a blinding insight into the value of more information which certainly caught me off guard. Read carefully. She said: “Personally, I think the more information, the better. The public pays for the NHS. It owns it in a way.”

Eleanor Bradford: Epiphany
    Brilliant! She’s right you know – we do pay for it. So we own it in a way. Wholly, in fact.

Then it was my turn for an epiphany. What Eleanor said about the NHS, could that apply to the police perhaps? Schools? Universities? Libraries? and even …the BBC??

Yes! We pay the licence fee and the taxes it gets re-directed to it, so we own the BBC in a way? Have I gone too far?

So, following the Bradford logic, we could ask for weekly reports on, for example, how many complaints there are by viewers under headings agreed with a sample of their viewers. BBC Scotland flatly refused to do this back in March 2014, at Holyrood, but they clearly didn’t realise then that we actually own them.”

60. Lesley-Anne

Chic McGregor says:

Wow! IPSO upheld a complaint. Is that a record?

Yup! It’s a Daily Record! Boom! Boom! 😛

I’ve got my coat on just grabbing my hat! 😀

61. ronnie anderson

Now we need to know who that person was that breached the Smith secrecy aggrement on the devalution talks.

Well done Rev.

62. Thepnr

I’ll admit my guilt. I used to buy the Record and at one time actually liked it. Don’t put the boot in yet, I was not a broadsheet reader, not even The Courier and the alternative was the Sun or the Star.

In the 70’s and 80’s it did seem broadly to support the principles I had.

Now it has none, and I wouldn’t even use it in an outside lavvy. The newsprint is so poor that it leaves it’s imprint on yer bahooky.

63. Lesley-Anne

ronnie anderson says:

Now we need to know who that person was that breached the Smith secrecy aggrement on the devalution talks.

Well done Rev.

As the *cough* Daily Record is the printed mouthpiece of Labour I think we need look no further than the LABOUR M.S.P.’s who sat on the *Ahem* Smith Commission Ronnie. 😉

64. Tackety Beets

Rev ,

AFF ! ( Absolutely Effin’ Fantastic )

I have made umpteen Complaints with the Beeb and got lip service replies . Not that I anticipated anything else .

The Vow has actually turned into a WOW moment .
    I truly hope you are having a Rev I M Jolly time tonight . We all remember the sketch where the stage hand pours his gin bottle into the water and the Rev gets gradually more slozzzzelled . ” Where de ya get yer water , thats lovely water ”

Big smiley coupons everywhere tonight .

Enjoy your weekend .

65. RogueCoder

Outstanding work, Rev. Absolutely brilliant. Look forward to wall to wall coverage in the MSM.

Oh, wait… that’s right, they are all corrupt, biased fuckers.

66. heedtracker

Its going to fun trying spot any teamGB news reports on such historic ruling on the Record fraudsters, let alone the BBC Scotland creep show. Rancid Graun definitely will/will not, as they deemed this nothing fit for their virtually non Scottish reportage.

https://archive.today/Z2NkN

“The newspaper watchdog has rejected a complaint from a German journalist living in Scotland about a story claiming local people had worn Hitler moustaches and marched past his house.”

67. Melvin penman

Rev I really don’t know what we would do without you.
    You are an outstanding democrat and the watcher who ensures that the truth is …eventually out there. I am sure that in years to come you will be given the plaudits you deserve .

All stand for The rev Stu, guardian of the free press.

68. Lesley-Anne

Tackety Beets says:

The Vow has actually turned into a WOW moment .
    I truly hope you are having a Rev I M Jolly time tonight . We all remember the sketch where the stage hand pours his gin bottle into the water and the Rev gets gradually more slozzzzelled . ” Where de ya get yer water , thats lovely water ”

You mean this one TB? 😀

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EYcnKkBOcmI

69. Tackety Beets

Thanks Lesley-Anne , the very one .

Ye just hae t laugh and enjoy .

Forgot, thats a young David Hayman as the stagehand ?

70. Lesley-Anne

Ach ye cannae beat a guid Rev I.M. Jolly moment or two TB. 😀

71. cearc

Meanwhile, the Telegraph are responding to accusations of their news gerrymandering by shouting about the same in the Graun

https://archive.today/plhEQ

and the Times/Sun.

https://archive.today/gYd6c

Fingers-crossed, this could be a very interesting spat about the manufacturers of the news and their controllers.

72. R-type Grunt

Yet again, Stu, you’re the one showing them what real journalism is.

I’m amazed they’ve found in our favour but slightly less amazed they’re telling us at the weekend. BBC Scotland news reporting basically takes a holiday at the weekends, presumably because we’re not a real country.

Anyway, thanks Stu.

73. Gary

If you have to tell deliberate, and whopping, lies to defend your position, shouldn’t you have a long hard look at why you hold that position?

74. KennyG

Damn, and they’d have gotten away with it too, if it wasn’t for that pesky reverend.

So anyway, who’s this source?

Do you think it was Gordon Brown, or are they just making shit up?

75. Wulls

You absolute beauty……… Stu I salute you sir….. And not in a Ghadaffish sort of way.
    Is it not worth a second complaint to the IPCC regarding to the long running wording of the online article ?????
    They have now been publically chastised with the harshest wording of an upheld complaint I can recall. Will it make a blind bit of difference ?????? Will it hell.
    Their ability to publish barefaced lies is not an accident or fluke it is a long running and deeply held belief that they can manipulate public opinion to reflect their own blinkered editorial views.
    If that asinine editor dies not resign now he never will.

76. Mealer

I suspect,off record,the IPSO said “ffs,you’ll have to be a bit more subtle than that” to the Record.
    So,according to the Record,it’s their source whose to blame.I think we need to put pressure on the Record to name and shame this “source close to the Smith Commission” who provided them with misleading information.
    Anyway,well done Stu.You know,regardless of the politics,this is an honourable work you’re doing.

77. Ken500

DR sales plummeting. There are NO comments allowed on it’s website. Ex readers are censored from comments in the lying editorial diabolical behavior, printing fiction. Which one will go, Torquil or Clegg for lying every day for the highest bidder. Charlatans, a disgrace to there ‘profession’.

Cameron giving Scotland it’s own money back to build ships for the RN, and calling it an investment. Scotland puts in £3Billion plus for Defence, some could go on welfare. Westminster is still spending £9billion, a year (pro rata) and putting it on Scotland’s bill. DR like their sponsors the Labour Unionists not good at Maths, can count their falling profits. They are so out of touch. Failing.

Glasgow the only Council in Scotland (or the world) allowing Orange Marches every other week. They should be banned, they are in every other city. Taxpayers paying to Police that nonsense. Police Scotland wasting money on that nonsense and illegally locking up young innocent lassies. The money could be spent cleaning up the City.

No mean City, corrupt Unionism, unaffordable, out of date sectarism and illegal football companies (employing people of only one faith, against UK/EU Equal Opportunity Laws and bringing Scotland down. They should be banned and put in jail. The Union politicisming of the Police and the Press means no democracy. The illegal Unionist Sheridan ‘show trial’ cost £5million. Money that could be better spent. Come on brilliant Glasgow, you’re better than that. Get it sorted the verdict quashed and Tommy’s family compensated for the miscarriage of justice

Where’s the Chilcot verdict? Being illegally buried by Westminster civil servants under the Official Secret’s Act, before the GE, against the public interest? Cameron’s unionism too frit. Every word they utter is a lie. Westminster corrupt secrecy and lies. Along with the santaphantic Press. The public will be unforgiving, and sales will drop.

Another great report Rev. ‘Keep their feet to the fire’. *Thanks.

78. Malky

This makes for hugely gratifying reading and restores a little bit of faith in the complaints’ procedure. But for me the most positive thing to come from this is the respect I have for the sheer dogged determination and attention to the cause and the facts that Wings sees as its duty. A big thank you from me to Stu Campbell and the team.

79. Scotspine

Rev, cheers min!

80. Bugger (the Panda)

Deep Fry Throat

MacDougal but it has the arrogance of McTernan.

81. pitchfork

Well done Rev.

Chris

82. Tackety Beets

Morning,

Nae Rubens e day ?

Sadness Chris .

83. Clootie

Has anyone seen details of the DR circulation figures. The last one I can find is from Dec 2014 when they claimed just over 192,000 sales per day.

84. morgatron

What a fantastic result for honesty. Well done Stu and the others who complained, thanks for a great start to Saturday.

85. Dair Allan

There’s a fundamental problem with IPSO’s “remedial actions”. The print correction does not get the due prominence of the original story.

When a complaint is upheld, the correction should cover the exact same column inches and appear in the exact same position in the paper. If necessary leaving blank space. That way the paper will actually feel the bite of their lies AND it can be certain that readers will not completely miss it (as they do a Corrections column).

86. bjsalba

Justice delayed is justice denied.

87. morgatron

I wonder if they would they would be good enough to print of a large apology and take it round the country on their mobile advert hoarding , or perhaps park it outside the the cyclops from Fifes house. So he can at least look at the truth as he obviously cant speak it. Their days are numbered, msm, Slab northern branch im sure i can smell the reindeer dung which is running down their legs.

88. john king

Record
    DO ONE!

89. JLT

I agree with Roguecoder above. It’s a great victory for Stuart, but for the Scottish public, they will never be truly aware of the Record getting slapped down. Hell, even The Sun won’t mention it in their paper, even though the Record and Sun apparently hate each other.

This is a closed shop. The main newspaper outlets may all sneer at each other when it comes to following their own parties, but any attack on one of them from the outside, and they all back each other up by going silent on the matter.

Absolutely detest our media in this country.

90. David

print out a copy and put it on every newspaper stand.

91. Sinky

Excellent work Stuart.

No no no…Yes says: @ 11 pm Well said.

Won’t hold my breath to see this reported on BBC / MSM

The Press Complaints body is a toothless body and newspapers should always be compelled to make corrections on the same page and the same prominence as the original inaccuracy.

92. horacesaysyes

Well done on pursuing this to all six complainants.

It’s just a shame that the correction isn’t compelled to be given the same prominence as the original article, but can instead be tucked away inside.

93. robertknight

I’d love to see The National run a front page on this on Monday’s edition…

“Daily Record caught telling porkies”

94. Wats

This is a good one… The Press must take care not to publish inaccurate, misleading or distorted information, including pictures.

The BBC, “newspapers”, most “news” outlets on the “UK” isle lie through their teeth everyday. Google it, dig deeper, find out facts.

Theres evidence, but they aren’t going to tell you they are lying are they!

Heres a couple of dooses for u to google, bbc lying about 911 and about Lybia. Go on dare you to google that.

Hmmm wonder if this comment will get published….

95. Roll_On_2015

OT

UKIP are launching their Scottish campaign in Glagow today and it appears that Nigel Garage is a bit feartie of coming up personally… he is going to launch it through a video link.

The other snippet in the link is that they (UCRAP) intend to enter Scotland’s only elected Ukip politician, David Coburn MEP to contest the Gordon seat against Wee Eck.

My opinion is that this will be counter productive as it will bugger the planned tactical voting up as they will tend to take votes away from the Tories, LibDums and Labour.

96. cearc

O/T Wot no cartoon, yet?

We want Chris, we want Chris!

97. Gary45%

Nice one Stu,
    We had an old saying many years ago regarding the Sun, which was – there was more news/information on a roll of Andrex.
    The Daily Rectum stooped to these depths a very long time ago. As for knowingly reporting mistruths and fabricated garbage, it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest.

A bit of advice to those misguided readers of the DR – although it may be tempting, don’t use it to wipe your arse, it will give you a very nasty (potentially incurable) rash and increase your susceptibility to believing drivel.
    Gary

98. Lollysmum

Excellent news Rev & well done. Now we know why Foote was getting worried about them being sued when we were all discussing it on these pages.(Bit tongue in cheek there!)He also knew that if we crowdfunded it, we’d get more than enough to pay for legal fees.

We were deadly serious at the time & should have gone ahead with it.That’s what they do with us, the plebs, the little people, threaten us with legal action-well in my view what’s good for the goose is good for the gander. That is the only way we will get these companies to clean up their act.

IPSO is a ‘pretendy regulator’-the people wanted Leveson’s recommendations implemented in full & Cameron chickened out & let the press do it’s own thing knowing that the IPSO system does not hold anyone to account. ‘Worst Prime Minister ever’ neatly sums him up.

Wonder if he enjoyed himself yesterday giving a speech to less than 100 aged scottish tory members in Edinburgh. He & Ruthie must find it heartbreaking to see the enormous attendance at SNP conferences. GIRFUY tories

Still say that Nicola’s tour was the best thing to happen after the ref & the most demoralising event for ALL the other parties. Whoever came up with the idea deserves a medal 🙂

99. HandandShrimp

I hadn’t fully appreciated that all comment activity on the Record’s website had been removed. Mind you it is hardly surprising, most were censored anyway and few supported their editorial line. The Record is about as free and honest as a North Korean Daily.

100. Dr Jim

@ Clootie
    The Record distribute a lot of papers but ask your local corner shop how many they return
    The Record makes practically no money from sales now
    their income is mostly advertisement based and the only reason the diehards buy it is for the racing section and football
    Studies have shown that Daily Record readers only read a few lines of the front page and look at the pictures in top left hand corners
    I’m not making it up

101. gordoz

Daily Reword ???

102. gordoz

Totally agree with what David said 🙂

“Print out a copy and put it on every newspaper stand”

103. galamcennalath

Great achievement, Stu.

It would be wonderful if the result was widely publicised. I have my doubts.

Roll_On_2015 says:
    “UKIP are launching their Scottish campaign”

Dare I make a ‘positive’ observation about UKIP?

Unlike Lab / Con / LibDem, UKIP make no pretence about being a Scottish Party by placing the word ‘Scottish’ in front of their local branch!

In that respect, UKIP are being honest and acknowledging they are a London centric BritNat party. Lab / Con / LibDem lie when they claim to have any special interest in Scotland.

104. Ricky

What a great piece REV.

Posted off to all. What would we do without you and the team.

And thanks to all the commenters who have given me a sore face with laughing so much.

Rev Jolly took me back . Preparing for bringing in the new year with a laugh. Thank you. Great memories

105. One_Scot

So the Daily Record has now been officially outed as a politically corrupt lying Labour pamphlet.

To be honest I can’t say I’m surprised.

106. JET JOCKEY

If the Daily Record don’t publish an apology for the “error” on the front page, this will mean another 2000 leaflets in Douglas Alexanders patch explaining the 6000 stolen square miles in the North Sea and the “Secret Macrone Report”, C’mon Douglas have a word with the Record and the leaflets will be held back for the next “ERROR”.

107. Croompenstein

HaHaHaHaHaHaHaHa…

Scotlands Champion GTF

108. AuldA

Congrats Stu’. Remarkable work of debunking, seconded by your unflinching diligence. Hats off.

109. Dave McEwan Hill

It is very sad that the Record is reduced to this level. Shouldn’t the editor be sacked? Can’t somebody mock up a front page that can be distributed across the country?

I say it is very sad because the Record is leagues above all our other tabloids in reporting the minutiae of day to day Scottish national life, the stories,the wide coverage of Scotland with almost all copy sourced in Scotland.The Sun’s content for instance is about 90% English sourced and the Express and the Mail are just bad jokes

110. gerry parker

@Dr Jim.

What we need to know now is who are the 20% of their advertisers who provide 80% of the DR’s advertising revenue, and quietly have a “word” with them.

111. Fiona

So they knew it was wrong, and offered a correction promptly, once the tardy IPSO ruled that it was wrong

Is there some rule which says they cannot make the correction as soon as they discover their “error”? You know, without waiting for someone to tell them to do it?

112. Les Wilson

It is great Rev that you have won here and proved your point.
    I just wish the penalty had been more severe, as I feel it is a bit of a cop out.

It should have been a full front page apology, in line with their full front page lie. Or a whopping fine, would have felt more like justice.

113. Dr Jim

Remember folks Nicola Sturgeon will be in Kirkintilloch opening the new shop 11.30am this morning
    If you’re in the area come on down

114. Luigi

A mock up DR front page: “WE LIED” would be ideal for distributing to Labour strongholds before the GE.

If the DR want to sue, let them – I’m sure it would be pretty awful publicity for them.

115. JPfife

Front page error, front page correction.

116. starlaw

worked beside a guy who brought in the Record every morning, he only ever read items about Rangers, four times a day he read about Rangers. Don’t know why he bothered taking it home! but he did, must be some uses for a dead newspaper.

117. Proud Cybernat

Current Daily Redcoat online Indy Poll (10:30am, Sat 21 Feb):

http://www.scottcreighton.co.uk/GE2015/Rec-Poll.jpg

118. Effijy

Great work Rev Stuart.

I really dread to think where we would be thrashing around in the dark without you diligence.
    Thank you from the bottom of my independent heart!

The Daily Rancid has finally had someone with a degree of authority tell them that they are misleading Liers.

They know it, they maintain their blatant lies as long as they
    possibly can, they see from their latest Independence poll that
    75% of Scots would now vote for independence, and yet they don’t give a damn!

Their raison detre is to keep the Westminster elite in power and receive their 30 pieces of silver for their services.
    Sod the greater good and the will of the people.

119. BJ

What a fantastic result. One in the eye for people like Michael Portillo who said on the Andrew Neill show. “The vow has been delivered”

Well done to everyone involved in getting this farce exposed.

120. bookie from hell

Daily Record

1 december 2014

Jim Murphy

WRITING exclusively for the Daily Record, the Labour leadership candidate says the Smith paper means it’s time to look forward.

WHAT a few days it’s been for Scotland. A 28-page report means that a better, fairer, more equal country can be in our grasp.

Scotland will have the power to shape its own future, thanks to the Daily Record’s Vow and the Smith Commission.

It’s the biggest transfer of financial power to Scotland in history. Bigger even than when the Scottish Parliament was first created by the then UK Labour Government.

Many families are struggling and these powers can be a time of hope.

As Record readers know better than most, Scottish Labour promised more powers for Scotland without putting at risk the financial security that comes from being part of the larger UK.

I know there was some scepticism from Scots about whether or not The Vow would ever even be met.

I totally understand that. Scots are a canny folk and they remember that politicians from all parties have let voters down in past.

But this time is different. Scottish Labour, the driving force behind The Vow, have kept their promise to Scotland.

Many are surprised by the SNP’s response. They signed up to the deal and then trashed it almost immediately. I’m disappointed that Nicola Sturgeon’s promise of a more consensual politics didn’t last very long.

But what it does is make Scottish Labour the “Yes” party – we will embrace the new powers and make them work for the benefit of the nation we love. I want to put the referendum behind us. We had a passionate debate. And we came to a firm conclusion.
    I’m optimistic about what we can do with these new powers.

Income tax – meaning we can, as I have proposed, ask the wealthiest few in Scotland to pay a bit more to support our small businesses and reduce poverty.

Borrowing powers – meaning we can build the new schools and hospitals that will secure the brightest future for our children.

Voting rights – meaning 16 and 17-year-olds can vote in future Scottish elections.

Welfare – meaning we can take local decisions about getting people back into work. And about how to care for those who need it.

But we need to do more than transfer responsibility from London to Edinburgh.

We can’t leave it at that.
    I want us to spend the next few weeks talking about what we can do with the new powers. Not complaining about what we can’t do.

I want us to spend the next few years changing Scotland for good. Not trying to overturn the referendum result.

For the first time in years, let’s have a genuine battle of ideas in Scotland about what we will do today, tomorrow and next year.

I travelled round the country during the referendum. I probably spoke somewhere near you. I saw the beauty and the potential.

Above all, I saw how different we Scots are. We need different solutions in different places. We want to do it for ourselves.

For many Scots, the Scottish Parliament at Holyrood can be as distant as the UK Parliament in Westminster.

Too often decisions are made and issues debated in the Scottish Parliament without any real consideration of the impact on different parts of our great nation.

I want to change that.

If I am elected leader of Scottish Labour I will hold special conferences in every city and many communities in Scotland to find radical ways of using the new Smith powers that best suit local needs.

What works for Edinburgh won’t necessarily work for Aberdeen or Inverness.

The welfare needs of Glasgow aren’t the same as those of Stirling.

The means of generating wealth in Dundee and Dumfries are different.

I am determined that the new powers for Scotland work for all of Scotland.

Whether in our historic towns or new cities or our rural communities.

I want all Scots to work together on how to have more prosperity and less poverty in our country.

The Smith Commission has given us the chance to reshape all of Scotland.

These are our powers now.

The time for talking is coming to an end, now’s the time for action.

The time for asking wether you were Yes or No in the referendum is over.

Let’s now vow to change Scotland together.

121. Foonurt

Jist coincidence, thon Alex Salmond wheeze wiz the day afore. Yon wee erse Crichton, probably hud forewarning. Therefore, Labour’s daurk-airts, showed their haun.

Mak thum peiy folks, at lousin-tum oan 7th May, 2015.

122. Fred

All credit to Stu for killing off the Vow fiasco. Now that that’s settled Scotland awaits Billy Connolly’s considered response and apology for his ill-thought-out interference on this very subject, bleating that if the “Vow” isn’t delivered there will be hell to pay in Scotland!

123. Edward

A bit O/T concerning Internet explorer
    If any friends are having problems with their IE Browser
    it is likely to be due to Norton antis virus program

What they need to do is manually do live update on their Norton, which will download patches to resolve the problem that occurred last night (this affected all users of windows browsers that have Norton)

so don’t panic 😀

124. Training Day

The Daily Record is, was and always will be – while it continues to exist – Scotland’s enemy.

Tenacious work Stu – you shame the cowards in the MSM.

125. fred blogger

fantastic work by wings.

126. Bill McLean

Never read the Record and never will but could someone put together a list of their main advertisers and if as many of us as possible write/email them to say we will be withdrawing our support for their product we may get some results!

127. Stoker

Here’s a wee thought – why don’t we organise a massive WOS demo outside The Rectum, to bring the worlds attention and even more bad publicity to this full of shit rag.

Afterall, it exists solely to destroy any aspirations we may have.

Lets bring shame down on The Rectum and let the world know.

It will be VERY interesting to see just how the Sunday Herald and The National handle this, will it be given front page prominence?

128. david

Thanks for doing this, great stuff. Is there an equivalent complaint and redress scheme that we can use to take action against Gordon Brown’s speeches?

129. Helena Brown

Bookie from Hell, I bet Jim Smurphy wishes he could eliminate that article as easily as he does his twitter and facebook pages.

130. Helena Brown

Congratulations Stuart on them upholding your complaint and as so many others have said, thank you for all your hard work.
    I doubt they will take a red face but they should but then is there an established Newspaper who actually knows the meaning of truth these day, they certainly do not in Scotland.

131. G H Graham

What a sorry country we live in

132. Dan Huil

Great work, Rev. Once again rags like the odious Daily Record have been found guilty of espousing unionist lies. The unionist media in Scotland is truly disgusting.

133. Edward

No mention yet on the BBC website or on any MSM

Should I stop holding my breath (turning a shade of blue) 😉

134. bookie from hell

Jim Murphy

Daily Record 4 days after 27th Nov

Is he the source?

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/vow-delivered-labour-leadership-candidate-4724901

135. Husker

This episode shows that any part of the Mainstream media can put out any old rubbish which as seen with this particular one had a significant affect on the democratic process and it is months later that it is investigated and where they may or may not need to take corrective action on it.

It’s not a healthy sign of democracy and a bit of joke considering how the British governments and members of its establishment constantly criticise other countries for their lack of democratic checks and balances.

136. R-type Grunt

@ Edward

What you really, really need to do is uninstall Norton. There are dedicated uninstallers for Norton; that’s how bad Norton is. The second thing you need to do is stop using Internet Explorer. Use Firefox, Chrome, Opera or anything really, instead.

And yes, that’s exactly the same advice we geeks gave out in 2000, 2001, 2002…

137. Graham Fordyce

My sincere thanks for the time, trouble and energy you have taken in pursuing this in the interests of truth and decency. I just want you to know how much your contribution to our society is appreciated by millions of folk like me who want change. Your dedication gives us all hope.

138. john king

Anyway in honour of the Chinese new year I decided to have pancakes, maple syrup, and bacon, (what?)
    never had this before so decided I’d give it a try, aaannnnd………..
    it fuckin rotten, I think it was because I had tea with it and not coffee. 🙁
    Oh and The Record sucks.

139. Les Wilson

bookie from hell says:

Good advert for Murphy!

140. HandandShrimp

Does this mean that we will be off the Daily Record Christmas card list?

141. Grizzle McPuss

So, is it all tears & snotters in Mr Foote’s office today?

Hardy-har-har

Hanky anyone?

142. Staunch

I hate this BS in today’s media where it’s acceptable to make flagrantly inaccurate claims, splash them prominently over the front page with massive, eye-catching fonts and graphics, and yet any retraction (even a relatively prominent retraction – as far as retractions) like this one gets to be placed discretely in what will no doubt be a couple of inches of column space with as minimal as possible visuals to draw the eye.

It’s like they can shout lies on a street corner (which almost every passes) with a bullhorn then getting to whisper “we’re not actually telling you the truth” under their breath. Front page lie? Front page retraction and apology. Maybe they’ll actually carry out some journalistic due diligence before running off at the mouth (keyboard) and risking embarrassment.

143. Les Wilson

Sorry O/T
    Just a warning for those among us who have bought Lenovo computers in the recent past up to now.

Lenovo have apologised for installing the horrendous “Superfish” spy software in their computers. This is a spy software a league above. It can even break the link between you and your bank, and get all your details. That is only the start.

However, due to public outcry, they have now released something that will enable removal.
    Here is a link for it, and about the program. Be safe folks.
    http://techcrunch.com/2015/02/20/how-to-remove-superfish-lenovo/

P.C world have also given out an instruction on how to remove. If you want more insight, then google it. There has been outrage.

144. heedtracker

Thanks to this work alone, every time you hear and see “THE VOW delivered” lie, just point to here. IPSO a liars too creepy Jim? Shurely shom mistake or however it goes. Its really going to be fun to see which “British” newspaper reports but Private Eye have got to, unless its just too big for them.

145. Stoker

Quite often we see people expressing their disbelief at Scotland voting ‘No’ and they seem lost for answers.

We also, quite often, see folk referring to ‘No’ voters as stupid, thick or some other description.

Let me ask one question – can we truly expect Scotland to vote anything other than ‘No’ when certain individuals on this site repeatedly and routinely post direct links to Unionist rags, therefore helping these rags to survive and piss all over our cause?

There is absolutely NO excuse for it.
    Any article of interest will be picked up by the Rev and in the event of it being missed by the Rev, people can archive OR type the general gist of their article they want to expose.

There is absolutely no excuse for aiding & abetting Unionists.

Learn to archive, even Unionists have that cerebral capacity.
    Unless you’re a troll.

146. Hoss Mackintosh

@Stoker

Great idea – Daily Record demo.

How about Sunday 15th March after the BBC bias demo?

It is only across the bridge and up the river a wee bit.

147. allan thomson

They will continue in the same way as will the established others . We simply won’t prevail until our reach matches and exceeds theirs. Thanks for all your efforts Rev

148. Harry McAye

Great stuff Rev and the other five. Haven’t bought the Record for ages and have influenced my Dad to read The National. Will never ever buy it or it’s Sunday cousin ever again.

149. Chitterinlicht

Well done and thanks for doing this.

I wonder if The Daily Record editors/journalists feel any shame?

150. Brian

I think this can genuinely be called a “result”. I would expect, when we become an independent country, there will still be a call for knighthoods. So get ready Rev Stu.

151. Author_al

Regarding setting the record straight I have just completed a pop up survey on the BBC Scotland online news site. Very cathartic as I pointed out the extreme bias, citing examples. Then, when asked how I could improve the site, I suggested they get in some journalists who can do balanced factual reporting…oh, and cut all management links with SLAB. If enough of us respond it will give the BBC some interesting reading.

152. Les Wilson

Proud Cybernat says:

Nice one!, for twitter and facebook for those who do that!

153. john king

“I wonder if The Daily Record editors/journalists feel any shame?”

NO!

154. Dorothy Devine

Most excellent!
    I’m sure there will a full page ,sackcloth and ashes article by way of apology to those who believed anything they read in the MSM and very particularly the Record.

Not to mention the BBBC giving a full report on the exposure of the lies.

No? You do surprise me.

P.S some ego from Wessex on the Massie article about the Cons Party conference , giving it sneery ,sneery about Wings ,Rev Stu and the rest of us.

I didn’t respond and am so proud of myself for heeding the advice I give out concerning the OBEs, Wessexman and Moseleys of this world.

155. Phronesis

It is a fantastic result well done !

156. Aye well maybe they will start to print honest articles ,ha ha ha I’m only joking I know you all know better than that.Integrity is something else that is missing from those pages.Oh and aye I have stopped buying it a long time ago.Its the National for me got the first and will keep on buying well its getting much better,even got a crossword now,and I like the five days rest on Saturday get Sunday Herald tomorrow.

157. Democracy Reborn

The inhabitants of The Sun’s Scottish HQ used to cheerfully refer to it as ‘The Kinning Park Lie Factory’. That grovelling, subservient rag known as the Record has well and truly taken over that mantle.

Well done Stu. As a Sun headline once famously said….. “Gotcha!”

158. Cuddis

Regarding the source of the Daily Record leak it is quite possible that it was Jim Murphy because here he is at it again:

Jim Murphy yesterday claimed that Sammin sponsored SNP Ninja are using chaos at Accident & Emergency departments as a smokescreen behind which they have been secretly fitting castors to the legs of Zimmer frames at Aberdeen Royal Infirmary – an action leading to an increase in ward casualties of 1200 percent since January.

Murphy’s claim was the subject of this morning’s interview with Andrew Neill on BBC9’s new flagship talking heads program, Spudwatch. Byeline: ‘Because Truth Into Lies Won’t Go’.

The program is to go out at four a.m. on Friday mornings, and will therefore be watched only by bakers who have slept in for their work and have opted for a duvet day.

For Wingers who missed yesterday’s interview here’s the transcript of the green room conversation prior to the broadcast. The transcript of the interview itself, as reflective of real life as an episode of In the Night Garden, has been omitted, but may be summarised as follows: SNP bad.

TRANSCRIPT

Location: Green Room kitchen on the Spudwatch set 0330 hours 20 February)

Neill:
    Tea?

Murphy:
    Now Andrew, that’s the kind of tricksy question politicians ask me all the time. I know this is not what you want to hear but I’m going to give you a boring answer to your boring question: If there’s any Typhoo to be quaffed, my constituents will be the first to learn of it.

Neill:
    So you don’t want tea then?

Murphy:
    Look, Andrew. You might think that shouting at me will get you somewhere but it really won’t. Let’s have a real debate. This is not about party politics; it’s about me. And you know that, Andrew.

Neill:
    What about sugar?

Murphy:
    The people of Scotland need answers to far more important questions, Andrew, like who’s going to help me beat out the flames with my Rangers top when the SNP set fire to my pension? What currency are we going to use to pay that pension? The groat or the doubloon? And most important of all, how are we going to get out from under the yoke of fiscal oppression that is the Scotsman’s burden – North Sea oil? And by the way, I don’t take sugar, so what is your plan B?

Neill:
    You are Jim. Plan A was to interview a tailor’s dummy but Willie Rennie was using it as a stunt double. Milk?

Murphy:
    Andrew, that’s yesterday’s question. It’s the day before yesterday’s question. Everybody’s moved on from there except the BBC. And if you could just let me finish Andrew because it’s important that I say this: SNP bad.

Neill: Surely not as ‘yesterday’ as the pseudo-democratic, warmongering, nuclear-fuelled underclass-bashing, blame the victim, neoliberal twaddle you’ve been hawking round the market squares of late. Slice of lemon?

Murphy:
    (Stuffs fingers in ears and screws eyes tight shut. Begins humming The Sash)

Neill: And by the way, Jim, your key messages may well be clear: Pensions under SNP reduced to a fiver a week, paid in groats; We’ll be down to our last hogshead of crude by March and SNP to introduce fixed odds betting terminals to all primary five classrooms. But these issues have nothing to do with the General Election, Jim. They might have been referendum issues. But the referendum’s over.

Murphy: (Long pause, takes fingers from ears) It is? (Looks puzzled). I must have missed that. I was playing shootie-in against some Jewish nuns when my turn came up for the sectarian karaoke at half time. Who won?

Neill: Better Together won, Jim.

Murphy: We did? Result! Must tell Kezia, she’ll be made up!

159. thomaspotter2014

Tremendous job on those lying dirty scum sucking pigs that are The Daily Lying Record!
    Lies,Lies,lies on a daily basis.

But days like this with that upheld complaint(who’d have thought it)are what makes me feel that the tide is going out for these horrible bastards and their grip on the phyche of the Scottish People is fading fast.
    This has made my day and is not to be underestimated.
    Hallelujah!

Keep on keeping on Stu.
    More power to you and your little helpers who are helping to set Scotland FREE!

160. Marcia

Cuddis

You missed out the end bit. Sean McClerkin bursts in, ‘Stop the Tory cuts…….

161. Suzanne

The Daily Wreck’s sales are plummeting like never before. Newsagents are left with great piles of the things. I went in to a local one the other day as he was tying up the returns and noticed that the biggest pile was the Wreck.

May I just take this opportunity to say, Rev, that I am in awe. You have done, and continue to do, mighty things, the like of which are rare if not completely absent in the MSM. Thank you. We have Scotland’s Merlin sitting in Holyrood – I think you might possibly be related, in a kind of prestidigitateurial way. Keep pulling those rabbits out.

162. Annette

Always the same excuses, from the BBC, from the Labour Party, from the Daily Record: “We’re not biased/dishonest, we’re just stupid.”

163. drawdeaddave

Thanks Rev, lets publicise this as much as we can.. SNP ScotGOV why is this ruling & apology not on your website?

164. Lollysmum

Cuddis at 1.30pm

Absolutely brilliant 🙂

165. Cuddis

@marcia 6.45
    Ha Ha. I was actually looking for a punchier ending too. Too late now.

166. Robert Graham

Regarding the vow and the record their website still has the offending phrase the vow delivered after they have been told to remove it anyone know the penalties for defying a complaint instruction or is this institution the same as the electoral reform society ie no f/n use .Also anyone have any problem commenting on this rags online version? Or is it just me they block ha ha

167. Robert Peffers

I stopped reading a certain Scottish Newspaper in 1952. I have never even physically touched a copy of that paper ever since –

Is that a Record?

168. Stewart fae stoney

I always knew the daily record targeted the intellectually challenged and this confirms it. I expect you got an apology from the paper/comic Stu

169. Inspector Fanny

MI5-man Jim Murphy is a fucking bawbag! Case closed!

170. frankieboy

Well done Stu, great work.
    I think its worth repeating a GIRFUY for the Daily Rancid.

Bend over and clench!
    Clegg= a fly that eats shite
    Torcuil Crichton= WTF is that all about?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.