A number of complaints

Posted on December 10, 2014 by

Just keeping you in the loop, readers.

Dear Mr Campbell

Thank you for your complaint regarding the article, headlined “The Vow Delivers”, published by the Daily Record on 27 November 2014.

I am sorry for the delay in getting back to you regarding this matter. I hope you will understand that IPSO has received a number of complaints about the article, and it has taken some time to process the necessary information.  

In line with IPSO’s procedures, as we have received multiple complaints about this article, IPSO has compiled a summary of all the complaints received, and referred that to the publication for its immediate attention.

Once IPSO has concluded its investigation, the Complaints Committee will consider the matter under the Editors’ Code of Practice and issue a ruling on the complaint.

As soon as the Complaints Committee had made a determination, we will write to you to inform you of the outcome.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact IPSO if you have any questions or queries about the process.

Best wishes

Hugo Wallis
Complaints Officer

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 10 12 14 12:01

A number of complaints | FreeScotland

2. 10 12 14 13:41

A number of complaints - Speymouth

80 to “A number of complaints”

1. Jim Thomson

Still trying to figure out exactly where I am on the loop. Is it a simple horizontal one, or are there vertical components (i.e. offering the ability to drop suddenly to a dodgy fate if the whole process should stall at an inopportune moment)?

2. Desimond

Murray Foote somewhere… “Oh why wont he just die!”

3. Bugger (the Panda)

Holding pattern communication to indicate that you may have run out fuel before you will be allowed to land.

4. Macart

There’s got to be a Terminator joke in there somewhere. 🙂

5. Jim Thomson

Is the office through the wall from them called FACTO?

6. Mealer

In the meantime,get to the back of the bus and shut up!

7. Devereux

@Jim Thomson

The winner!

8. One_Scot

“The Vow Delivers”

Thank God someone does, hopefully before Christmas, because Sports Direct ain’t gonna.

9. Martin Wood

@Jim Thomson

I jist goat that – gawd I’m slow

10. HandandShrimp

I’m just surprised that IPSO didn’t just reply

“FFS! it is just a crap tabloid what do you expect…the truth?”

11. Wee Jonny

Desimond & Jim Thomson – Hahahaha.

12. woosie

No doubt the final decision will be along the lines that, as the vow was so vague, who can say it hasn’t been delivered?

13. Jim McIntosh

I see from the BBC website that the SLAB winner won’t be announced until Saturday. Jesus they only have 70 MP/MSPs, 13,000 members (yeah right), and a bunch of unions, all with one vote each. We declared a referendum of 4 million people In quarter that time.

Still it’ll give them time to ‘massage’ the result.

14. Ananurhing

The Vow.

More Ipse Dixit (unsupported assertion) than Ipso Facto.

15. bookie from hell

Clegg PMQs

We over delivered on the VOW

#sick

16. liz

”we have received multiple complaints”. Interesting to see how that pans out.

17. liz

@Jim McIntosh – they will be trying to create a big drama out of it.

BTW has anyone seen JoLa, is she still getting paid as an MSP?

18. Moira Currie

Shysters sums it up nicely I think.

19. Morag

Wasn’t the complaint specifically about the assertion that the Scottish government’s budget had doubled? I don’t see how they can weasel out of that by claiming that the Vow was vague so anything they claim is OK.

20. Jack Murphy

Puzzled by ‘IPSO’,I didn’t have a clue Rev who they are,but now I’ve traced them down:–
    “IPSO is the new independent regulator for the newspaper and magazine industry in the UK.”

21. Stoker

I start reading the letter and i immediately sense a wee boost to my feel good factor and then suddenly, i don’t know why, as soon as i start reading the 3rd paragraph the words “Smith Commission” and “Bullsh!t” enter my head and my expectations are brought very sharply back down to earth.

Nevertheless, thanks Rev, nice to know there are still people out there actively attempting to right wrongs, or at the very least hold all these liars to account.

22. auldmcintosh

Jim McIntosh has a point it is a pity that we can’t shove it somewhere, but as the result is a given they will not weigh the vote they will just write out enough to confirm the required decision from London.

23. Chas

IPSO looks like another establishment quango. Don’t get your hopes up.

24. Dr Jim

I’ve had two replies, first one said if i discussed the complaint with anyone the matter would not be taken forward, second one the same as above, then another not reply to inform me of the reply i might be getting if they decided to reply…I am Alex Salmond..

25. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson Toys are Us £4 HullaHoops great fun fur You n Betty Boop while you await the verdict of IPSO.

26. Paula Rose

(Hoolah hoops for next wings nite out!!)

27. Fergus Green

My cat is called Ipso. He does not read the Record.

28. Stoker

@ Chas,

If you actually look into some of the people who make up “IPSO” your advice will be reinforced many times over.

However, its extremely important that people do pursue complaints, if only to confirm that the system IS impotent and rotten to the core.

I may be wrong in this but as far as i know “IPSO” only has the power to demand a retraction and/or apology – either way the damage has been done.

For me its a bit like the Judge who says “the jury shall disregard that last remark/statement” etc. He is legally obliged to instruct them to do so but the seed has already been planted.

Until organisations such as “IPSO” have the power to shut publications down then i don’t think we are going to see a change in their behaviour any time soon.

29. Desimond

Has the Daily Record signed up?

The landscape of press regulation has become even more complicated for the public, with some newspapers refusing to sign up to the new regulator and others vowing to regulate themselves. Publishers of The Guardian, The Independent and Financial Times have not signed up for Ipso.

Read more: http://www.theweek.co.uk/media/60314/ipso-is-new-newspaper-regulator-a-sham#ixzz3LV6IZB95

30. Jim Thomson

@Paula Rose 1:13pm

Now, now, m’dear. You just want to impress us more corpulent types with you lithe frame and stamina. That wasn’t you at Buck House a year or so back hula’ing and chanteuseing at the same time was it? Something about rhythm?

31. YESGUY

Good on you Rev.

Haud their feet to the fire. Wouldn’t hold my breath though. They can’t do much other than the odd apology , printed on a space the size of a postage stamp on page 24. underneath the advert for incontinence knickers.

http://tinyurl.com/drypants4ever

🙂 hope this dizny get me a row from the peepants people.

32. Tattie-bogle

Wrong way down a one way street.

33. manandboy

YESGUY – that link was below the belt. And yes, this is a row.

34. MJarga

Who are IPSO? Even I recognise quite a lot of the names (“Who we are”).

You could ask why newspapers have their own code of conduct and complaints when the criminal and civil law exists for everyone – are they being given special privileges in UK society?

Independent? Don’t let’s forget that it’s “the full system of independent regulation that the newspaper and magazine industry has agreed to establish and support.” (“We work for you”?)

35. John Young

Hearing the expression ‘North Britain’ more and more often from the English BBC News and Weather Depts, which of course I don’t watch live.
    Are they unable to say the wonderful word ‘Scotland’?

36. Stoker

@ Desimond,

Thanks for the link, interesting, so they can issue fines up to £1m?

As for the DR being “signed up” – i don’t know but would think so on the grounds that the Rev’s letter states they are sending a summary of the complaints to the DR.

I wouldn’t imagine they would waste their own time doing that if the DR wasn’t covered by them.

But as i said, couldn’t say for sure.

37. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose aye you hiv the Hips for Hoolahoops Jim/BettyB/& masel while jist sit in the corner eating HullaHoops cheesy wans.

38. Grouse Beater

It’s clear as daylight: by sleight of hand, UK party leaders made additional offers as incentives to vote No, and did it within the ‘purdah’ of no man’s land.

That they will not get sanctioned for the transgression, let alone the vote rendered null and void, is another indication of the loss of democratic rights and laws, but then they knew if they won they’d have all the power to ignore protest. And the Electoral Commission needs not be troubled either.

39. Jimbo

I don’t have (never ever had) any faith in the Press Complaints Commission, or whatever name they like to call themselves now.

Asking the press to investigate and pass judgement on themselves is tantamount to bypassing the Scottish legal system and having criminals investigating and judging their own wrongdoings.

40. think again

The Daily Record is published by Media Scotland, a subsidiary company of Trinity Mirror PLC, which is a member of IPSO, the Independent Press Standards Organisation. We adhere to the Editors’ Code of Practice as enforced by IPSO, which is contactable for advice at IPSO Halton House, 20/23 High Holborn, EC1N 2JD.

From the horses mouth.

41. teechur

Expect nothing from IPSO, they are a newspaper quango that took over from the PCC after Levenson. They are basically the same body, with the same code of conduct but with a few extra names. They are only interested in preventing legislation to be applied to newspapers. They will stick up for themselves and no one else. 🙁

42. Clootie

The Daily Record had a job to do (not the one that the readers pay for. They helped to deliver a NO vote.

They will now try to revive the Labour Party.

That is what they do!Even if it dooms them.

It is like being angry with a scorpion that stings!

“A scorpion asks a frog to carry him over a river. The frog is afraid of being stung during the trip, but the scorpion argues that if it stung the frog, both would sink and the scorpion would drown. The frog agrees and begins carrying the scorpion, but midway across the river the scorpion does indeed sting the frog, dooming them both. When asked why, the scorpion points out that this is its nature”.

43. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson dont be jumping through this hoop

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIBTg7q9oNc

for U n BettyB.

44. HandandShrimp

Morag

I think that is the nub of Stu’s complaint. The Record either has no understanding of what the “budget” consists of, how it is composed and what Smith does to it or they were indulging in bare faced lying…I lean to the latter

45. Luigi

What we need are a few genuine, pissed off NO voters, who voted so in good faith that the Vow (apparently signed by the three party leaders and backed by Gordon Brown) would be delivered. At the very least, the Daily Record and Gordon Brown have a legal case to answer.

Sue them, sue them all.

46. ronnie anderson

@ John Young. north britain Inhabitant 1 gordie broon

47. Lesley-Anne

Jack Murphy says:

Puzzled by ‘IPSO’,I didn’t have a clue Rev who they are,but now I’ve traced them down:–
    “IPSO is the new independent regulator for the newspaper and magazine industry in the UK.”

Well folks, thanks to the due diligence of Jack we now know exclusively here on WOS that there will be NO reply forthcoming. How can I know this I hear you all ask. Well it is quite simple,IPSO is the new independent regulator for the newspaper and magazine industry in the UK. gives you a clue. IPSO only deals with newspapers and magazines and as we all know the Daily Record is NEITHER a newspaper nor is it a magazine it is a COMIC! 😛

48. ronnie anderson

@ YesGuy whit did we dey tae upset You am a Big Boy Phampers wearer goat wan on ma heid the noo under the tammy by gaud its cauld ootside,but ma lugs ur warm.

49. Jim Thomson

@Ronnie Anderson 1:46pm

Don’t do curry much these days 😉

50. Chic McGregor

Fergus Green
    “My cat is called Ipso. He does not read the Record.”

Notice you didn’t say he does not use it. 🙂

BTW I cracked the Ipso Facto gag some weeks ago and never got a nibble. 🙁

51. Jim Thomson

@Chic McGregor

just shows that we are managing to educate a few people 😛

52. manandboy

Never mind, after Labour’s rejection in Scotland in GE15, a deflated John McTernan recognises better career prospects in an Independent Scotland, and then, in a moment of deep regret for his errors, he tells the full story of how IndyRef was taken from the hands of Democracy by the criminal classes in Westminster.

And, before a packed courthouse in Glasgow, citing the DR as a co-conspirator, McTernan’s testimony proves decisive in the closing down of the DR for good.

The judge said in his closing remarks that McTernan might be considered for parole.

Footnote. Glasgow Firemen are still dowsing the flames after last nights mysterious blaze which consumed the entire building at Pacific Quay. The very strong winds are reported to have been a major factor in the inferno. There was no one in the building at the time.
    A spokesperson for the national broadcaster in London said, ‘Incidents of this nature do occur from time to time in Northern Britain.’

For more fantasy, please consult the MSM.

53. ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson nothing wrang wie a ruby murrey.

54. jimnarlene

Nice one, doubt a reply will be forth coming but, I await further loopage.

55. Haggis Hunter

The Conservative and Labour Party decided to ignore Levison’s recommendations for a reason

56. Roberto Esquierdo

Exactly the same as I received

57. bookie from hell

i will predict the future findings

I.Piss.Scotland.Off

58. heedtracker

How many postal votes were cast before their THE VOW fraud was blasted at Scotland, is probably not worth even thinking about let alone asking. The biggest referendum fraud in modern European history and Scotland has to just suck it up and move on to Referendum 2.

Its not going to be a Scottish neverendum.

59. Stoker

@ manandboy (2.49pm).

Very good, pit a big grin oan ma coupen.

60. Chic McGregor

Jim
    “just shows that we are managing to educate a few people :-P”

I think its the way I tell em. 🙁

61. Graeme Doig

O/T (nothing to do with hula hoops)

… and meanwhile, somewhere in labour party HQ, there is frantic scratching of heads and laptops being squirrelled away by unknown figures etc etc

62. Elizabeth Sutherland

O/T Anyone watching the debate in our parly on the smiffy paper. Christine Graham giving the SUP a mouthful. Go wifey fire in her belly.

63. Morag

It’s clear as daylight: by sleight of hand, UK party leaders made additional offers as incentives to vote No, and did it within the ‘purdah’ of no man’s land.

That they will not get sanctioned for the transgression, let alone the vote rendered null and void, is another indication of the loss of democratic rights and laws, but then they knew if they won they’d have all the power to ignore protest. And the Electoral Commission needs not be troubled either.

You know, that was the one real fear in the pit of my stomach from the minute they refused to have any sort of devo-max on the ballot paper. I couldn’t see how we could stop them making insincere and misleading promises of goodies at the last minute, when there would be no chance of scrutinising what was on offer, or making sure they delivered on it (as would have happened if it had been an option from the beginning). And obviously all they had to do was win the vote. There would be no re-run no matter how loudly we cried foul. The result would be irrevocable.

I just tried to put my fears aside and hope that a competent Yes campaign would foresee such an obvious ploy and have some plan in place to mitigate it when it happened. That didn’t exactly work out.

64. Morag

That’s how they won, when what I think was their main dirty trick put in place years before wasn’t enough to swing it.

The vote is irrevocable, but it doesn’t preclude another run at it in the future. We need to be more alert to the dirty tricks next time. (And next time, I’m told, there will be no Yes Scotland organisation.)

65. Morag

How many postal votes were cast before their THE VOW fraud was blasted at Scotland, is probably not worth even thinking about let alone asking.

The thing about that is that the vow swung people from Yes to No. The only people I’ve heard about who wished they’d voted differently after the vow was published were people who voted Yes who said they would have voted No if they’d known that would lead to devo-max. (I suspect they’re actually quite glad they voted the way they did, now.)

It’s not so much the purdah period that creates the scandal, it’s the fact that it was done so late that the Yes campaign had really no chance to challenge or even scrutinise what was being offered.

66. velofello

I fancy a wee bit of litigation, along the lines of “knowingly misrepresented.. and so interfered(?) with the democratic process of the referendum”. IPSO is left to it, will simply use suitably multi-syllabled words and talk of integrity, and the precious rights of journalists to ..eh.

Dastardly WOS blogger raises against the VOW instigators – would make a good headline for the Sunday Herald and the National, if no others. But then, who instigated the VOW? Wisnae Mes are wafting around.

I see we, the great British public, are to be protected against knowing the facts concerning Dr Kelly’s death for 70 years. I’ll need an Old Testament life span to learn the facts. I suppose it gives the Establishment ample time to provide a balanced account.

67. Morag

I think the IPSO complaint is specifically about the statement that the Smith proposals mean that the Scottish government’s budget will double. It’s got nothing to do with the vow.

68. velofello

Morag,
    IPSO or no IPSO, either the three amigos conspired with the Record to construct and print the VOW or the Record acted on solely it’s own initiative. Either way, neither of these two parties are now admitting their involvement, nor are delivering the commitments contained within the VOW. The Smith Commission, as will be the IPSO charade, is a distraction from the core issue, deliberate deception by either one or both parties. And a flouting of the Purdah requirement.

In a fair society Mr Brown has a case to answer too, but we ain’t enjoying such an environment.

69. Morag

While that’s all true, that’s not what the IPSOS complaint we’re discussing is about.

And as you say, they’re going to get away with the breach of purdah, and there’s bugger-all we can do about it.

70. Cherry

When, after signing the Treaty of Union to the present day did we, as a nation become extinct?. Why, if we are allowed “self determination” are we forbidden to follow it. Why do we have to ask “can we do this please”?

I must have been living here with my head in a bag. I have never felt so unwelcome in this country as I do today.For the first time in my life I know what it is to feel irrelevant, it’s like watching Russia move into Ukraine, the world is outraged but does nothing. Can the world not see what Westminster (England) is doing to our people, our land.

What I’m not getting is this, if we are two Kingdoms, with equal rights. Why do we (Scotland) have less rights than the other Kingdom. I must have not listened at school when that was explained..no wait I didn’t get any Scottish history. Where is Robert Peffers when you need him 😉 I know some may say “really are you stupid” but I have to say..no not really, I just find it hard to know when we disappeared and became nothing more than a race of people that our masters can hold up to ridicule, can take our wealth, our land and move our borders and nothing is done… we do nothing, I’m not advocating violence but if, me.. a mother, a grandmother, feels like this then how do we stop the youth, who are full of enthusiasm, from advocating violence just to be heard…and really who would blame them. This is going to be an eventful year ahead, are we ready for the onslaught..I hope we are! Scotland is awake, we have to keep that energy alive. We also need to get the world to “have our backs” we need the UN, NATO,EU and the kitchen sink to be watching, as WM is not going to play fair. If we can show the world that our country is being controlled by a dictatorship instead of a democracy we could have a better chance of that freedom we all seek.

71. Gallowglass

Keep throwing them punches!!

72. hetty

‘had made a decision’, seems they have their tenses wrong.
    Do they have a complaints time frame like for instance the nhs who have a certain time to respond to complaints and the complainant has a limited time in which to make the complaint. How long is it going to take them?
    How long is a piece of string in fact.

73. caledonia

How do you contact them i will put in a complaint as well

74. Paula Rose

@ hetty –

“how long is a piece of string”

ipso facto as long as it’s hairy

75. The Rough Bounds

Can we be honest? That ‘Vow’ and the twats that fell for it has the British establishment pissing themselves laughing.

They simply will never take us seriously. When the Fist Minister was introduced to the queen this evening she was introduced as the First Minister of the Scottish Executive.

We have had a GOVERNMENT for seven and a half years: that is as long as we had the previous laughable title of ‘Executive’.

Sure they ‘apologised’ afterwards for the mistake, but it wasn’t that; it was a deliberate insult and I bet they were just about killing themselves laughing in the member’s bar just after it. They are taking the mickey out of us on a daily basis and we will have to find a way of getting those bastards on their knees.

76. Cadogan Enright

Keep going rev!

You all told me I was wasting my time when I complained to the Broadcasting regulator of their censure-ship of RT for their so-called bias in Ukraine and their failure to censure the BBC for bias in the Referendum and that they would write back saying that the BBC had editorial independence.

here goes nothing . . . .
    Dear Mr Enright

Thank you for contacting Ofcom.

We have noted your comments about our recent decisions regarding broadcasts on the channel RT.

You identify a number of examples of BBC content during its coverage of the Scottish independece referendum which, you believe, may raise potential issues. However, under the terms of the Communications Act 2003, Ofcom’s rules on impartiality and accuracy (as set out in Section 5 of the Broadcasting Code) do not apply to BBC services funded by the licence fee. The BBC Trust has sole jursidIction over such matters on these particular channels.

In order for a complaint to be conisidered by the BBC Trust, you must first go through the standard complaints process at the BBC.

I would therefore suggest that you submit your complaints about BBC programming directly to the BBC using the link below.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/complaints

Yours sincerely

:: Steve Turner
    Complaints Analyst
    Content Standards, Licensing & Enforcement

Any suggestions? Obviously I will keep going. If I was a wealthy man I would take a judicial review over this obvious inequity (anyone got a spare 20k?)

I was not suprised to see that they could not spell ‘Independence’ , ‘jurisdiction’ or ‘Consideration’

feel free to point me in the right direction.
    Ar aghaidh agus os chionn! (Onwards and upwards!)

77. donald anderson

Keep complaining and make them keep waffling.

78. Chic McGregor

Should that HL not have been “A number of compliants“?

79. Tom B

Cherry (10 December, 2014 at 5:46 pm) wrote:

“[…] it’s like watching Russia move into Ukraine, the world is outraged but does nothing. […]

What? Are you seriously so ill-informed? Turn off that TV Cherry.
    US installation by violent coup of far-right extremists waging a genocidal war against ethnic Russians in Ukraine, particularly in the East of Ukraine is the issue. ‘Russian invasion of Ukraine’, despite being a repeating mainstream media fantasy, has not ever happened except during world war two, to drive the Nazis out. If they ever did ‘invade’ somewhere which has been part of Russia for centuries – the Kievan Rus is the place in Ukraine Russia’s very name comes from – the parallel with 1942-1943 would be identical.

80. Robert Peffers

A wee auld friend of mine, (prone to Spoonerisms), was most upset about, “The Vow”, and told me, “It’s enuch tae mak yer bile blid”.

This is the same person who once looked down the vertical ladder, that dropped from ground level to the tunnel that ran under Rosyth Dockyard’s deepest drydock and said, “jings yon’s an afu hicht doon”.

He’s 92 now and after reading the Record and supporting Labour all his adult life voted YES for independence and now tells me he is going to join the SNP. Obviously he is not as daft as he oft times seemed.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.