[SCENE MISSING]

Posted on July 26, 2012 by

There seem to be a lot of things disappearing from the Scottish media today. First the interesting Robbie Dinwoodie story on Olympic football in the Herald does the Bermuda-Triangle routine, and then we see this odd piece in The Scotsman. It opens powerfully, promising to refute (or at least contest) one of the commonest and most compelling arguments made in favour of independence:

“ED MILIBAND has attacked the SNP’s suggestion that Scots face a choice of either independence or Conservative rule from Westminster as the Labour leader made his latest intervention in the referendum debate.”

We’ve read the rest of the short article three times now, however, without being able to locate a single sentence in which Mr Miliband (pictured in the piece as the Child Catcher from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang) refers to said choice in even the most oblique passing manner, far less “attacks” it. We’re rather keen to hear the official Labour answer, too. Can any eagle-eyed readers help us out?

13 to “[SCENE MISSING]”

1. Juteman says:

I didn’t get it either, but i liked one of the comments re Milliband meeting Lamont.

Champagne Socialist meets Buckfast Socialist, 🙂

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Champagne Socialist meets Buckfast Socialist”

The funniest part of that is the use of the word “socialist”.

3. Juteman says:

They are both Socialists, Stu.
     The word ‘Socialist’ simply means Unionist, Neo-Liberal, power mad scum when applied to Labour in Britain.
    It has nothing to do with Socialism.

4. megabreath says:

another cack-handed attempt from the lamentable Scotsman(sic) to puncture the independence debate.lamont?Silent but deadly?Give me strength.Will we ever get any grown up politics from the no camp?Answers on a postcard plz to “independenceisevil sayyestoservility”,Milliband Towers,the Cayman Islands.

5. Doug Daniel says:

Ed Miliband really should just leave Scottish independence the hell alone. Still going on about the date? Really? Everyone has accepted it’ll be in Autumn 2014. Even David Cameron. Miliband actually makes Cameron look like he knows what he’s talking about, in fact.

(I say everyone, but of course, Ian Smart is one of a few who doesn’t even accept the referendum has already gone long past the point of no return…)

Incidentally, the article is apparently written by “ANDREW WHTIAKER”, which I found amusing. 

6. ronald alexander mcdonald says:

Any political articles in The Anti-Scotsman concerning Independence are 97% lies.

They have moved from the gutter to the sewer.  They are just as bad as The Mail or Telegraph.      

7. Neil Jn says:

You’re right. Not a single reference linking the opening lines and the body of the article. It looks like the Scotsman has just shoehorned in what they wish someone from the ‘No’ campaign will say at some point in the future, whilst giving these two numpties another chance to say ‘boo’.
    Reporting in this way can be positive in the longer term. The more the mainstream press behave in this way the more the Scottish population will look elsewhere for the truth.

8. YesYesYes says:

Johann Lamont is no spring chicken. I’m sure that even she herself would be the first to concede that. She is 57.

So could someone in Scottish Labour inform Ed Miliband and/or The Scotsman that the reason there is substance in the SNPs “suggestion”, is that the last time the Tories won a British general election in Scotland, Johann Lamont hadn’t even celebrated her second birthday. 

9. YesYesYes says:

Disappointed, but not surprised, that no one (particularly no male) from Scottish Labour hasn’t rushed to Johann Lamont’s defence so far. Gallantry really is dead. The truth is, of course, that Johann Lamont wasn’t even conceived the last time the Tories won a general election in Scotland.

10. Peninsula says:

The Scotsman is just a farce now.  I’ve also noticed how little credibility it has amongst the wider public; much less than it used to.  

The comment sections are just ridiculous,and their online poll results fluctuate widely, often from hour to hour.

Didn’t WoS have a blog on their crazy independence poll a few months ago?  The whole thing was a total shambles.

An embarrassment to Scotland that this rag has pretensions of being a quality daily

Sales and profits are at a critical level now. It might not be around much longer if the pattern continues.  

11. TYRAN says:

First time visiting The Scotsman for ages. Currently has entry after entry of this in the comments…  

THIS FORUM IS DIRE IT HAS BEEN HIJACKED BY LABOUR PARTY ACTIVISTS FROM ENGLAND WHO ARE ALL AS THICK AS MINCE
    ???????????? 

(^ That bottom bit is in Chinese text rather than me typing question marks)

12. YesYesYes says:

Great photograph btw. On another day, it would invite some irresistible one-liners for a caption competition. Like, for example:

‘Don’t be upset son, this is a much nicer number 10’.

Or, ‘Jimmy Krankie snubs Ed Miliband after his offer to her of her own very special Bute House’.

Or, my personal favourite, one for Daily Mail readers and  Scottish Labour loyalists, ‘Ed Miliband helps out the authorities at Dungavel as another asylum seeker makes a desperate bid for freedom’.

13. James Morton says:

It’s a box ticking exercise.

Come up to Scotland – say something to attack SNP – check
    Say something to enthuse about the status quo without mentioning the “U” word – check.
    Photo opportunity with Lamont – check

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,785 Posts, 1,221,603 Comments

• Anthem on Too Tight To Mention: “OT. But, why are we using American corporates as consultants for road infrastructure around fort William? Aren’t there any Scottish…Jul 8, 10:27
    • Aidan on Too Tight To Mention: “Again, there is no point in trying to rewrite history here. Go back and read the posts prior to May…Jul 8, 10:25
    • Xaracen on Too Tight To Mention: “No, Aidan, that was not the plan. I had misunderstood part of it because I was unaware at the time…Jul 8, 09:38
    • Aidan on Too Tight To Mention: “@Alf – does Edinburgh not have one of the highest rates of GDP per capita anywhere in the world, higher…Jul 8, 08:58
    • Alf Baird on Too Tight To Mention: “Gaun yersel Aidan, tell us aw aboot oor zero-growth unner-developed and plunnerred colonial economy aye rin bi a bunch o…Jul 8, 07:40
    • Aidan on Too Tight To Mention: “Let’s rewind back a bit, go back to any WoS post from May or earlier and the plan was very…Jul 8, 06:18
    • Young Lochinvar on Too Tight To Mention: “Dangerous stuff. The more boxes that are ticked that say “ye just Cannae dae it” and that we are in…Jul 8, 05:07
    • Anthem on Too Tight To Mention: “Brilliant!Jul 8, 01:33
    • Dunx on Too Tight To Mention: “The UK has a veto in the UN Security Council, not the General Assembly . The GA is a talking…Jul 8, 00:41
    • Young Lochinvar on Too Tight To Mention: “I suspect not MB. The problem I have with the Jacobite rebellions is the whole “using” thing the exiled Stuart’s…Jul 8, 00:24
    • Young Lochinvar on Too Tight To Mention: “LOLz 🙂Jul 7, 23:57
    • Stuart on Too Tight To Mention: “Would that be the same UN General Assembly where the UK Government can wield a veto? Why yes it is!…Jul 7, 23:21
    • Xaracen on Too Tight To Mention: “Only one page on JPTI appears relevant, Aidan, and it doesn’t say what you asserted. JPTI states on its site…Jul 7, 22:52
    • sarah on Too Tight To Mention: “Liberation’s case has to be approved by the General Assembly of the UN. That is well known. The route to…Jul 7, 22:28
    • Oneliner on Too Tight To Mention: “Not My KingJul 7, 22:27
    • Confused on Too Tight To Mention: “I like to think of it this way : an analogy Scotland is like Auschwitz (rich industrial area, but not…Jul 7, 22:10
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on Too Tight To Mention: ““The foundational function of the State is the monopolistic organization of the power of the sword over a territorial cultural…Jul 7, 22:07
    • James on Too Tight To Mention: “I quite agree, “Chas” is indeed a unionist prick. Well said.Jul 7, 21:56
    • Northcode on Too Tight To Mention: “Leah Gunn Barrett has this to say about the Darien Scheme. The Darien Myth and the Origins of the Union…Jul 7, 21:53
    • Mark Beggan on Too Tight To Mention: “Pity the Jacobites didn’t win. Young English nationalists would be talking of the slaughter of London, the burning of Winchester.…Jul 7, 21:46
    • Aidan on Too Tight To Mention: “@Alf – I constantly praise Scotland and talk up its strengths both here and in person. Can the same be…Jul 7, 21:37
    • Aidan on Too Tight To Mention: “@Xaracen – it’s on the JPTI website. If you want the actual wording you’ll need to email JPTI or persuade…Jul 7, 21:35
    • Alf Baird on Too Tight To Mention: ““they talk about our history and culture as being ancient guff but not one of them has ever presented anything…Jul 7, 21:19
    • Xaracen on Too Tight To Mention: ““The Committee on Decolonisation has said conclusively that the case of Scotland won’t even be considered in any session as…Jul 7, 21:14
    • Young Lochinvar on Too Tight To Mention: “Chas Well first because it’s interesting, second because it’s pertinent to much of the discussion going on here and lastly…Jul 7, 21:12
    • Aidan on Too Tight To Mention: “No it doesn’tJul 7, 20:59
    • Anthem on Too Tight To Mention: “Looking forward to hearing about it Sarah.Jul 7, 20:55
    • Chas on Too Tight To Mention: “Why? The past has passed.Jul 7, 20:55
    • sarah on Too Tight To Mention: “Liberation’s case to the UN continues.Jul 7, 20:43
    • Young Lochinvar on Too Tight To Mention: “I reckon with the current thread toing and froing on the subject of colonies and colonialism and the Act of…Jul 7, 20:42