Ruth Davidson is available

Posted on February 09, 2018 by

Not to discuss the UK government’s Brexit impact report on Scotland, of course. Not a single senior Scottish Tory will face the media about that, having all viciously rubbished the Scottish government’s assessment just last month as “scaremongering”, even though it turned out to be almost identical to the UK government’s version that we’re still not allowed to officially know about.

(Some hapless minor goon was dispatched to make a fool of himself today instead.)

But it seems she’s got plenty time to go on the radio if it’s something important.

Between that, Kezia Dugdale swanning off to the jungle for a few weeks in the middle of a Parliamentary session, and Douglas Ross squeezing the occasional bit of MSP work in between linesman gigs, it’s getting harder and harder to keep a straight face when the opposition go on about the SNP sticking to the “day job”.

1. 09 02 18 19:56

Ruth Davidson is available | speymouth

78 to “Ruth Davidson is available”

1. Bob Mack

Something about can’t have your cake and eat it?.
    They will get battered at the next election. Their goose is truly cooked. Their popularity will pancake.every one of them are cowards,chickens. They just do politics for the dough.

Did I miss any ? Subliminal stuff has no effect on me

2. Croompenstein

Ross is an MP Stu and an arsehole.. 🙂

3. G H Graham

The best companies, organisations, charities, collectives, groups etc. work best when the person at the top & everyone below is accountable in some way for their actions.

That is their over riding responsibility when given a job/roll/task, especially when their time is traded for someone else’s money.

When that accountability is removed or deliberately avoided (here it is clearly a deliberate effort by 3rd rate Unionist politicians with the full weight of the BritNat zoomer media behind it), one invites a state of dysfunction, inefficiency & often simply amazing zany behaviour.

Davidson’s juvenile & puerile antics are a perfect illustration of structural dysfunction in an alleged democracy.

It reveals for all to see, the complete disregard for her accountability as a public servant & an even worse opinion of those who elected her, unionist voters included.

You will find no better example of willful, systematic & pervasive British propaganda than that on display this week.

Every single person of every political persuasion should be deeply worried about this development, for this is the beginning of the end of our democracy. It is being chipped away, one propaganda stunt after another.

And anyone who pays the BBC TV tax is helping to make it happen.

4. yesindyref2

Some say, the current Tory party is half-baked already.

5. jimnarlene

I’d just like to say, I despise Tories and all they stand for.

6. Paul D

I was astounded, if not surprised, that she managed to venture out of her bunker to make that call having heard Gary on GMS earlier say nobody was available. Even the Unionists in the office muttered with discontent!

7. Ian McCubbin

Lers hope in next Holyrood and Westminster election they are trunced. Then we have Indy vote and take the independence course.

8. ClanDonald

Apparently she’s also available to do lunch but only if you’re wealthy enough to afford £15,000 for the privilege:

http://www.thenational.scot/news/15982893.Tory_fundraiser_sees_bidding_war_over_lunch_with_Ruth_Davidson/

9. heedtracker

Awful. But great example of how UK propaganda works in 21st century Scotland. Tories and their beeb gimps, they’ll crush the YES out of our Scotland region:D

10. Walter Scott

What a gang of arseholes. Aren’t they aware that people have eyes and ears and the internet. Wee fat Boab is still the darling of southern tories tho’

11. galamcennalath

All BritNat politicians in Scotland have just two policies … firstly NoIndyRef SNPBadaad ScotlandShite, and secondly looking after their own personal interests.

Constituents? Nah, a few lies and false promises at election time and there are enough gullible to elect the gormless. FPTP for WM, and Holyrood lists ensure that. Then voters can be ignored for a few years.

For a few short days post EURef I actually thought the northern BritNats intended to act according to their constituents wish to say “Scotland didn’t vote for Brexit”.

Then, I suspect, London HQ had words with them and they were reminded that their job is to act in the interests of their Union and nothing else.

Every one of them has been given strict instructions to never to take Scotland’s side against WM.

12. yesindyref2

Half of the point of Independence really, is that we can have political parties in Scotland that represent Scotland without having to represent the UK. So in theory we’d all be able to vote for any party, even including the Conservatives.

Mmm, we’re going to need a lot of new Conservatives. Or a few, depending on your point of view, of course.

13. galamcennalath

Ian McCubbin says:

Let’s hope in next Holyrood and Westminster election they are trunced. Then we have Indy vote and take the independence course.

I hope we’re gone, out of it, before then. I hope the next election is post Indy.

Also, I sincerely hope none of these BritNats stand in iScotland! However, I am certain some with rebrand and have the gall to appear on ballot papers.

Mind you, that would be a real challenge for them … they would need to present some actual policies!

14. Graeme McAllan

As an old goat, I’m amazed at the similarity between Fluffy, and Bungle from Rainbow

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bungle_(Rainbow)

They must be related 😉

15. Hamish100

I’ve have a £5 . will Ruthie dae a happy meal cos she is always greetin and needs cheering up.

It’s clear the Tories feel their weak spot is brexit and the damage to Scotland is an absolute hence their silence. They put their careers and britnats first. Cowards the lot.

16. Iain

O/t I remember so well the election of a tory mp for east Renfrewshire.
    Little did the tory boys know how they contributed to the demise of the United Kingdom.
    They managed to convert neutral voters to anti tory voters.
    What they seeked to preserve turned against them.
    And he passed on the black money to fund the leave campaign.

17. cynicalHighlander

She was perfecting her Fudge making.

18. galamcennalath

IndyRef2 could be triggered by Brexit. Everyone knows this. As they say, it’s not a threat it’s a promise.

Brexit has not gone well in the last week. Yes, there are the economic assessments, but I detect more is going wrong.

With Brexit and IndyRef2 coupled, is it any surprise the WM government’s representatives in Scotland are in hiding?

A week a ago there were indications that by week’s end, progress would have been announced in the week’s talks. There was supposed to be discussion of transition period, how to enforce the divorce treaty and on ensuring there is no “hard” land border within Ireland. Additionally the UK was to present customs and security ideas. And finally there was expected to be some announcement from TMay herself on what kind of free trade agreement she wants.

We were told that progress had to be made by Feb 23 so EU leaders could discuss Brexit progress.

Nada. Nothing but sniping and flinging accusations.

Things are not going at well. Or, that depends on what you believe the Tories actually want to happen.

19. jfngw

Wednesday’s Conservative PPB, Davidson ‘get on with the day job’

Friday, Davidson ‘I’ve phoned in to talk about my appearance on the great british bake off’.

20. Big Phil

This is actually a very scary time ,am I wrong for being excited.? Please Please let ruth and co continually feck up,it will only make more people see that Indy is THE only way.

21. Ian Brotherhood

Fair play to the bold Cameron Archibald for Twittering a blow by blow account of that GMS Robertson/Kerr nonsense this morning.

I heard it all and was struck by how calm Kerr was. Gazza The Robertson became unusually narky as it progressed but Kerr sounded like he didn’t give a fuck about anything, and this was approx 7.30 a.m. He really didn’t care because: he knew no other (more senior) Tories were on the running-order so he had pretty-much carte blanche to say whatever he liked; there was no opposing voice for ‘balance’, it was never going to be a sketch where Robertson had to referee anything; he just had to do the radio equivalent of rope-a-dope and Robertson’s time would run out no matter how many blows he landed. And that’s exactly what happened.

No matter how ‘slanted’ they may be (consciously or otherwise), people like Gary Robertson are professionals and they do not like being mocked. That’s what the BBC hierarchy is sanctioning now – the humiliation of its own employees. Producers are making it happen and there’s nothing the presenters can do but follow directions. Question is – how much longer will they put up with it?

Carrie Gracie showed how to kick up fuck in a classy way – there must be staff in BBC Scotland right now who feel scunnered enough to emulate her stance. They should be mad as hell, and they shouldn’t take it any more.

22. Morgatron

They all puddings. Though their baw faced chief suet pudding is a disgrace to her country as is that wee shite fluff.

23. Robert J. Sutherland

It seems the shouty little corporal is a pathetic coward. As useless at defending us as her pal Pinocchio, whose nose gets longer every time he speaks. Which is no doubt why he’s in hiding and staying schtum also.

24. Bob Mack

Imagine telling Scotland how she bakes. We all already know the Tories have been cooking Scotland books for decades in tandem with Labour.

25. Robert J. Sutherland

Ian Brotherhood @ 20:53:

They should be mad as hell, and they shouldn’t take it any more.

Now there’s a quotable blast from the past.

Yes, you’re right, the cynical manipulation and craven BBC toadying to it has got so bad that it’s not only demeaning to the public, it’s even demeaning to the interviewer.

Wouldn’t it be pure dead brilliant though if life did imitate art for once and some broadcaster (without a mortgage to protect) did let rip live on air?!

Even just the thought of it gives me a nice wee shiver.

26. Rock

Robert J. Sutherland,

“It seems the shouty little corporal is a pathetic coward.”

Rock (22nd June 2014 – “Good faith and bad practice”):

“I could perhaps agree with you about Scottish Tories but Ruth “line in the sand” Davidson IS NOT TO BE TRUSTED ONE BIT, to say the least.

She is a total bully on TV debates and her tone at FM Questions is disgraceful.

She came 4th in her constituency with less than 10% of the vote yet she gets the privilege of abusing and insulting the democratically elected First Minister.

She is worse than an English Tory and represents everything that makes the Tories so hated in Scotland.

And then there is that Tory scum Alex Johnstone —.”

27. K1

‘Celebrity’ plastic politicians in Scotland. Nothing authentic about Davidson, never was never could be, never will be.

People need to get it through their heids, never vote Tory in Scotland, ever. They are ‘lower than vermin’

Same as it ever was:

“The eyes of the world are turning to Great Britain. We now have the moral leadership of the world, and before many years are over we shall have people coming here as to a modern Mecca, learning from us in the twentieth century as they learned from us in the seventeenth,” said Mr Aneurin Bevan, Minister of Health, at a Labour rally in Manchester yesterday.
    The meeting was called to celebrate the anniversary of Labour’s accession to power. The Labour party, he said, would win the 1950 election because successful Toryism and an intelligent electorate were a contradiction in terms. His own experiences ensured that no amount of cajolery could eradicate from his heart a deep burning hatred of the Tory party. “So far as I am concerned they are lower than vermin,” he went on. “They condemned millions of people to semi-starvation. I warn you young men and women, do not listen to what they are saying, do not listen to the seductions of Lord Woolton. They have not changed, or if they have they are slightly worse.”

The Government decided the issues in accordance with the best principles, he said: “The weak first; and the strong next.” Mr. Churchill preferred a free-for-all, but what was Toryism except organised Spivvery?

As a result of controls, the well-to-do had not been able to build houses, but ordinary men and women were moving into their own homes. Progress could not be made without pain. People who campaigned against controls were conducting an immoral campaign. There was a kind of schizophrenia in the country, so that people reading newspapers and hearing talk in luxury hotels got an entirely different conception of what was happening, which did not square with the statistics. The bodies and spirits of the people were being built up – but the Government’s efforts could not be sustained except by the energies and labour of the people. Production must be raised to make the new legislative reforms a living reality.

The Government never promised in 1945 that everybody was going to be better off. It knew some were worse off to-day, but it always intended they should be.

4th July 1948

[Bevan’s “vermin” remark – one of the most famous jibes in politics – was adroitly turned against the Attlee government by Tory speakers, who pretended it insulted their voters rather than policy makers. However, Bevan merely retorted that men of Celtic fire were needed to bring about great reforms like the new NHS. That was why, he explained, Welshmen were put in charge instead of “the bovine and phlegmatic Anglo-Saxons.”

http://archive.is/8roVD

In our 21st Century battle against them, again people ‘of Celtic fire’ will be needed to fight these bastards, not just to keep our NHS but to keep Scotland thriving, to keep us from being driven into poverty and dragged back a hundred years…just because a bunch of Tory vermin want to capitalise on the misery they created.

28. heedtracker

They should be mad as hell, and they shouldn’t take it any more.

Haha! They’re not journalists. They are UK state propagandists, spindocs and liggers. They’d lol out loud to be thought of as journalists.

UK hackdom is the most tory hard core right wing biased in the world today.

Its never going to change. Even if they’re losing money, their tory masters in UK gov will fund them because, UK hackdom is the most tory hard core right wing biased in the world today.

Scottish democracy will either be killed off over the next decade by all of the above, or Scotland will regain nation statehood, over the BBC’s cold dead body.

If we are living through the end days of Scottish democracy, dont worry, massed ranks of beeb gimps will tell us it was all for our own good.

And we will believe them because this is how power works in 21st century teamGB.

29. Brian Doonthetoon

I sometimes wonder why some commenters on here are so insecure in their own existence and their own point of view, that they have to cast aspersions on those who have “gone before” to attempt an effort at gaining some kudos.

“And then there is that Tory scum Alex Johnstone —.””

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alex_Johnstone

“Alexander Johnstone (31 July 1961 – 7 December 2016)”

30. dakk

Bob Mack says:
    9 February, 2018 at 9:03 pm
    ‘Imagine telling Scotland how she bakes’

The fat bastard’s cookie dough will be lucky to make it to the oven.

31. MorvenM

If you can’t stand the heat, get into the kitchen.

32. HandandShrimp

I have never been impressed by Davidson when the pressure is on. I really don’t understand why she gets hagiographies in the political media. She is a one trick pony in a polarised Scottish debate.

That said, I suppose anybody that can stand on a podium in front of a sympathetic audience and string coherent sentences together must seem like a positive from where the Conservative party currently stands.

33. Ian Brotherhood

@Heedy –

Ye know ah love ye bro, but ye really are the Cynic’s Cynic at times.

Gordon Brewer, Gary Robertson, Brian Taylor, David Porter, Glenn Campbell, Hayley Millar, Jackie Bird, Laura Bicker, James Cook, Nick Eardley…I could go on.

Do you seriously contend that these people are not ‘journalists’?

If that is what you are saying, and if you are right, then…good God!…are there any Scottish journalists actually working in Scotland? If so, who are they? Surely we have a right to know!

34. stewartb

heedtracker @ 9:43 pm

You write: “Haha! They’re not journalists. They are UK state propagandists, spindocs and liggers. They’d lol out loud to be thought of as journalists.”

Our historic Parcel of Rogues consisted of the self-interested, entitled and wealthy. It is disappointing, to say the least, that when tales are told and songs composed in the future by our descendants that look back to the early part of the 21st Century, the usual wealthy, entitled subjects that wish to deny Scotland’s self-determination, will be joined in ignominy by so many from Scotland’s ‘fourth estate’.

And the latter’s place in Scotland’s history will be set negatively whether Indy is won or not. What a legacy from a life’s work! Its not yet too late for Scotland’s journalists to re-discover decent objectivity and balanced professionalism.

35. Meg merrilees

Here is the link to the GMS interview with Stephen Kerr this morning.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p05xln3y

36. Meg merrilees

Here is the link to Cameron Archibald’s twitter analysis of the Stephen Kerr interview.

https://twitter.com/MammothWhale/status/961959343162904577

We have to get this man out of the stirling seat at the next possible opportunity -he does not speak for me!

37. heedtracker

Gordon Brewer, Gary Robertson, Brian Taylor, David Porter, Glenn Campbell, Hayley Millar, Jackie Bird, Laura Bicker, James Cook, Nick Eardley…I could go on.

Do you seriously contend that these people are not ‘journalists’?

Spin doctors. Its why they get these jobs, which are the top spin doc jobs going.

Bicker and Cook BBC Scotland reported indyref1 and now have huge BBC World jobs in America.

Its reward for loyalty, obvs.

Labels are just labels though. If BBC “journalist” works, it makes no odds. Its them that’s keeping the red and blue tories alive in Scotland and ofcourse the union jack fluttering over Scotland.

If they succeed in their SNP out mission, which lets face it, its not that an insurmountable task, its all over. Look at how they took out Alex and Angus for example. Is that journalism?

BBC Scotland radio is one of the most tory corrupt radio stations anywhere. During an approx 18 month run up to indyref1, that crew went completely UKOK SNP Out berserk.

Which journo school taught them that?

Don’t be fooled by fraudsters that want to rob you of everything, just because you’re a nice guy:D

38. winifred mccartney

We have said it several times when the going gets tough RD goes into hiding until her bosses in London tell her what to say. They are hoping the dust will settle but they are very wrong. They all hold Scotland in contempt and we are used just to service UK debt. Scotlands tories are performing the greatest deceit of all by pretending to be other than WM tories and are quite happy to lie to the Scottish people and pretend to be working for them when they are absolutely against everything Scotland stands for – they know nothing of moral values, equality or fairness.

We should keep asking them at the next conference where Fox, Johnstone and Gove are hiding and not let them pretend to be anything other than what they are – despicable.

39. Meg merrilees

O/t slightly…
    did anyone read about Jeremy Balfour’s (CON MSP) proposal as an ammedment to the Welfare Bill being discussed at Holyrood.

He suggested that terminally ill people in Scotland should have their benefits re-assessed if they haven’t died in 3 years.

Thankfully, Kezia has called it out for what it is and it would seem he will be asked to remove his proposal.

Who needs enemies when your friendly local politician is gunning for you?

40. HandandShrimp

Just listened to the Kerr interview. Clearly thrown to the wolves,

Interview in short, good intentions, haven’t read the stuff myself, its secret but its already in the public domain, forecasts are crap*, SNP nasty bad, Brexit a wonderful opportunity, fingers in ears lalalala whenever scaremongering is raised.

I would not buy a second hand car from this man.

* the corollary of that is that the numbers could be a lot worse.

41. Ian Brotherhood

@Heedtracker –

So, in essence…no youngster in Scotland right now should even entertain the notion of becoming a ‘Scottish’ journalist. The gigs are all taken, and have long been occupied by people who are qualified to present themselves to prospective employers as ‘journalists’ but do so knowing that they have that wee something over-and-above what’s technically required?

Is that what you’re suggesting?

42. Macart

Were it not for the fact their chain tuggers are the UK government, it’d be fair to ask just what are they good for? They are worthless to the Scottish electorate. They are dishonest, reactionary and ideologically opposed to the very parliament they sit in. They consider themselves untouchable. After all, the media won’t challenge them. Their gaffer is in the big chair in number ten. They have willing support in both Labour and Libdem benches. Yeah, they can pretty much say what they want and do as they please.

So why are they hiding from the Scottish electorate?

Because they’re not untouchable.

They can be brought to account and their fleg wavy, ranty and deceitful world can be brought down around their ears. The population are far more powerful than any government. A motivated and focused population are a downright awesome sight to behold, not to mention a fairly frightening judge when they put their hearts and minds to it.

To put not too fine a point on it and to state the bleedin’ obvious, they’re terrified of you and what you’ll do at the ballot when the opportunity presents itself.

Tick tock Tories.

43. Dan Huil

Britnat fake off. Davidson is a disgusting individual who gleefully talks down Scotland. She’s a bbc favourite of course. The bbc deserves to be staved of funds. Don’t pay the bbc tax.

44. Meg merrilees

Hand and Shrimp:

(t)Ruthless gets an easy ride because the powers that be want her to be the next leader of North Britain so that all their plans will go through smoothly.
    Stephen Kerr gave the game away when he said that all the Scottish Government do is snipe away and be totally negative about everything – that’s the real Tory speaking there.

The tories here are doing everything they can to divorce themselves from the toxic Tory brand of WM politicians but it’s an uphill struggle.

Ms.Davidson does everything she can to come across as the girl next door who really cares about you and me – hence the bake-off appearance, and of course, she’s not sitting in some vast country pile somewhere like ‘Edward Mountain’ or ‘Burnett of the Leys’ so your average Daily Mail reader believes the picture that is painted.
    Davidson is shamelessly playing the ‘Unionist’ card and she’s not necessarily referring to the 1707 Union.
    She, singlehandedly, has done more than anyone else to bring back bigotry and sectarianism into Scottish politics and set this country back a couple of decades with her poisonous courting of the Unionist ( that’s Ulster unionism ) vote.

45. Highland Wifie

Thankfully didn’t have the (dis)pleasure of listening to that nonsense but those innocent listeners who did must be starting to suspect that something’s rotten in the state of …well I sometimes wish it was Denmark.

Very good clip from James O’Brien on LBC further down the Twitter thread of Cameron Archibald’s account of the GMS interview. Sorry can’t link. His take on the Brexit situation and Barnier’s complete incomprehension of the idiocy of WM government is stark.

46. K1

I think Heed is suggesting in all manner of the 3rd and 4th estate in Scotland, the upper echelons of all positions are taken up by those from south of the border. In the same way that there is no such thing as ‘Scottish’ Tories or ‘Scottish’ Labour. The BBC in Scotland is run by it’s HQ in London.

They may speak with ‘Scottish’ accents but by all accounts are the employees of London based and owned institutions. Why would journalism be excluded from this reality?

Those who ‘make it’ and fulfil London’s/Anglo centric bidding will of course reap their rewards. So to any fledgling journalists…it’s like that old adage in Scotland: ‘if ye want to ‘make it’ ye have to go tae ‘the big smoke’.

Am sure Heed will correct me if I’m off the mark in terms of his meaning?

47. Clootie

Yes, the Tory MPs and MSPs are useless self centred cretins.
    Yes, the BBC and MSM defend and promote them tirelessly.
    However none of this would concern us if our fellow Scots did not vote for them and give them “authority” to speak for Scotland as the official opposition which the unionist media can back with gusto!

Previous LibDem and Labour voters prefer these idiots and Westminster rule to that of building a better nation…you may be annoyed by the Tory trash damaging our efforts but the real problem is those fools who put them there.

48. heedtracker

Is that what you’re suggesting?

No ofcourse not. But the term journalist is a far removed from what we have here in this union, than a metaphor I cant think of, to make the point right now.

Anyway its not just me is it? Public trust wise, UK hacks are at the bottom today. Almost no one takes them seriously. Or worse, top Beeb politics honcho Laura Keunsberg needs BBC body guards, “reporting” the Lab party conferences. She probably doesn’t at the tory party’s.

You’re not going to win any of them over by being nice about one of them Ian.

They’re in the beeb, running all the UK newsrooms because of one thing and one thing only, they are all tory unionists.

New start Sun hacks always get asked, “are you one of us?” Its not golf club membership application.

And that’s why that Mormon moron tory was so relaxed today, obvs.

49. Gary45%

And there are plenty of stupid inbred Scottish fuckers who vote for her and her bunch of sorry arseholes.
    If Scotland continues to believe the shite “it” spouts, hell mend Scotland.( We will go down in history as the Stupid Nation and deservedly so).
    Simples.

50. manandboy

BritNat golden rule:-

‘You can fool some of the voters all of the time –
    and they are the ones you want to concentrate on.’
    (Attributed to George W Bush, former POTUS.)

For the rest, just rely on continued brainwashing through the State sponsored broadcast and print media.

51. ScottieDog

Fluffy is in London

52. Dan Huil

There is a definite hardening of anti-EU [and therefore anti-Scottish] pigheadedness emanating from England. Some tractors in Scotland will go along with this but I believe more and more people in Scotland will reject it. The more English nationalism rises the more Scotland’s independence will be seen as desirable.

53. Cactus

Would Ruth Davidson be available to be known as an absolute fanny this weekend… and speaking of the weekend, aye prophecise a new Cairnstoon a comin’, that is, if Talk Talk got their finger out and walked the walk earlier today.

Tories Davis or Mundell could be fanny contenders too.

The UKGov Brexit impact report on Scotland, will self-destruct in ten seconds.

ps Jim Bowen keeps telling the lady contestants, the answers to the questions on this here guest tv.

54. awizgonny

O/T Re internet outages FAO of Rev. Stuart – don’t you have a mobile phone account with some decent data allowance when you can’t get online through your landline? You could tether your laptop to that service so you can at least get some stuff online.

55. dakk

Cactus says:
    9 February, 2018 at 11:49 pm
    Would Ruth Davidson be available to be known as an absolute fanny this weekend …

Very gracious in affording the creature this accolade Cactus.

Fanny Pad Of The Week might just cut it in my albeit not very esteemed estimation.

56. Legerwood

Two separate stories today but not unconnected.
    UK trade deficit figures in December was £13.6 billion and is greater than forecast.

Scotch Whisky exports reach record levels and now account for 20% of all UK food and drink exports.

No wonder they want to keep Scotland

57. manandboy

Breaking free from the tentacles of British Colonialism has never been easy for any former British Colony.

Why should it be any different for Scotland. So dig in, forget your personal timetable, and let’s do it for as long as it takes. It could be a marathon.

Vote SNP, Scotland, and Independence, every time.

58. Cactus

Mornin’ dakk ~

Aye aye, ye might be right there. Saying that, them pads do more good for our ladies than Davidson ever could (or would) for Scotland.

Nonethemoreorless, Ruth is still an AbFan.

Jocky Wilson on the oche 🙂

59. Dr Jim

Ian Duncan Smith says “There are two in this negotiation”
    in reference to Brexit negotiations
    Maybe that’s why Ian Duncan Smith is such an Arse, he can’t count, there are 28 in this negotiation and 27 of them aren’t playing Bluff

60. Dr Jim

I wonder if the First Minister of Wales gets a load of abuse from folk in England when he congratulates his National sportspeople on their success, or does he get a load of abuse from England because he objects on behalf of Wales to stuff the English government do

Does the First Minister of Wales get abused by England Twitter Trolls for doing whatever he thinks is the best for Wales

Day after day Scotlands FM has her Twitter account full of abusive trolls from England telling her she’s anti English because she should be doing more for them and they don’t seem to understand Scotland is a different country and our FM has no governmental involvement in England

It’s like complaining about the Emperor of Japan not supporting England in the world cup

We’re all one country they say, until we don’t agree with them then they say shut up it’s none of your business England rules coz there’s more of us we win

61. Big Phil

@Dr Jim
    They have eyes but they cannot see.Oor Nicola is the best politician the uk has not now but ever,the abuse she gets is from either knuckledraggers or brainwashed assholes,makes me sick,theyre not used to a politician that cares about her people.. history will show it.

62. Scotsmanic

Have many things to say about this third rate reptile, but none of them are printable, and some may be legally actionable.

63. Nana

Black and White ball: Tory donor pays £55,000 to spend day with PM
    http://archive.is/7WYVu

Leading Newcastle University cancer professor leaves the UK – citing Brexit fears / http://archive.is/Qmdxk

https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/letters/brexit-and-british-politics-1.3385472

You reap what you sowed / http://archive.is/j1mDY

64. Muscleguy

@manandboy
    New Zealand, Australia and Canada did it pretty easily, gradually, so gradually virtually nobody in the UK noticed. South Africa declared its republic without too much drama too. Rhodesia was more of a crisis but it happened.

NZ is perhaps further advanced and will become a republic first, both because of the politics and their unicameral parliament simply makes it easier.

A previous Labour coalition abolished imperial honours, minted the Honours of NZ. Next National (tory) govt reinstated them and a whole slew of pathetically desperate hangers on got knighted and damed. It was unedifying. The two systems now run in parallel. Then there was the flag referendum, the shortlist borked by the politicians (no simple silver fern on black on offer). But the point is these are moves towards increasing separation.

I expect Scottish Independence to accelerate republican tendencies Down Under and maybe in Canada too. When that thing which you cleave to cleaves itself then your faith is shaken. If we make iScotland a republic the other dominoes will fall and the House of Windsor’s demesne shrinks markedly.

65. Robert Peffers

Why, when she isn’t looking angry, does Ruth Davidson always look as if there is an obnoxious smell just under her nose in published photos?

Err! BTW:That question was really just hypothetical.

66. Scot Finlayson

@Muscleguy

Did Lizzy`s loyal subjects of New Zealand not vote to retain the Butchers Apron as part of their flag,

I remember the referendum and felt sure the citizens of New Zealand would want to look to the future instead of hanging on to their blood soaked colonial past,

a silver fern on a black background would have made an inspiring flag for all the peoples of New Zealand.

67. Blair Paterson

Most people on here are assuming that ref 2 will happen and we will won our freedom how nieve as long as you play by their rules it will never be allowed to happen at the end of the day you will have to do what every other country had to do fight for it even in a non violent way by public displays of non compliance etc., just like Gandhi did remember he said I am willing to die for my cause but I am not willing to kill for it remember we are not dealing with reasonable people but liars and cheats who have no rules of their own

68. Highland Wifie

Sigh.

69. Stravaiger

Is it just me or does anyone else think that Jacob Rees-Mogg is being lined up as a future PM?

The UK is heading in a very scary direction and we, the people of Scotland need to get organised for mass action sooner rather than later.

70. TheBuchanLoony

Legerwood @12.12am
    “UK trade deficit figures in December was £13.6 billion and is greater than forecast.”
    Funny that happened when the Forties pipeline had to shut down for two weeks to repair a crack.

71. Peter McCulloch

Ruth Davidson’s priority has always been is to put Westminster’s interests before Scotland’s every time, we saw that with the rape clause and we are now seeing it with Brexit.

I also had a quick scan in yesterday’s daily stranger Labour MP Ian Murray effectively pleading with Corbyn not to trust the cowardly Tories over Brexit.

These of course will be the same Tories Murray urged people in Scotland to vote for last year.

He had a go at the SNP to by staing that before they talk about leaving the EU, they also want to leave UK single market.

When was Scotland being part of the UK being in a single market?

72. Wes Wemyss

Cake Nazis – the perfect descriptor for the Tory Party in Scotland!

73. Ottomanboi

UK political parties don’t really do ‘regional assemblies’ without arm twisting. In the Scottish case it is made very clear that they hold authentic local democracy, that which they cannot manipulate and control, in contempt. Davidson and Dugdale are of the appropriate type.
    Blair allowed the Scottish Assembly and Executive on condition that the system devised would keep the SNP permanently in opposition and that the set-up functioned in the manner of a talking shop regional council. A Scottish Parliament and Government in the hands of ‘separatists’ wasn’t considered a possibility under such a dispensation.
    Davidson and her Unionist party’s collective mooning at Scotland and its political institutions might at best be called childishly peevish at worst classically Brit colonialist

74. Gary45%

Apologies for my wee sweary rant earlier.
    I remember decades ago when as a small child, my granny “Booing” at the telly every time Ted Heath came on the box.
    I had no clue what she was on about, fast forward to the present day, I can honestly say I now understand what my granny was on about.
    I does not bother me who is in political opposition in Scotland so long as they are honest and credible, and here lies the problem.
    Ruth Harrison/Davidson has no credibility/honesty or any fabric of decency to hold the position of opposition or even FM, if she did I would be the first to take my bunnet off to her.
    I wont hold my breath.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.