2. 19 06 14 16:24

Ridiculous UKOK Claim of the Day #53 | mjaei

156 to “Quoted for Nazis, again”

1. Liz

It is the BBC’s duty to report all that is said and done without bias, and without favour to either side whether Unionists or Nationalists.
    Well they’re not doing it anyway! Now they’re saying they are RIGHT not to! Unbelievable.

2. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Ach, she’s just touting for the Crossfire seat.

3. auslander

Her archive seems to recently consist of variations of “Salmond BAD” as a comment piece each week.

4. Steve Bowers

I’m still using the point and laugh technique for the blatant lies on the paper stands

5. Adrian B

I wonder how the BBC will cover this in a fair and objective manner?

Nothing to see here, please move along – Oh look a squirrel.

6. James Forrest

Staggering. Absolutely staggering.

7. Anne Lawrie

I wonder if the BBC will report, without bias, the protest planned in Glasgow on the 29th? Or even their next-door-neighbours at STV? Probably not, but maybe it will be on Russian TV again! After all Putin didn’t respond to Cameron’s plea to denounce the Yes campaign!

8. Proud Cybernat

We know the BBC is rotten to the core in this debate as is the MSM. They are irredeemably biased in the debate and everyone knows it. We keep doing what we are doing–exposing their misinformation, disinformation and bare-faced lies. They have come after WoS for this very reason. They will NOT succeed. They cannot control the message because they cannot control the Internet. The ‘Tartan Spring’ will overwhelm them.

9. Tasmanian

The logical conclusion: the mainstream media don’t like it up em, sir!

10. heedtracker

“Think back to the Second World War, as we have all been doing this month in commemoration of the D–Day landings. The BBC was foremost in selling the rightness of Britain’s eventual victory to the rest of the world.

I’m embarrassed for this moron. Over 20 million Russian people died defeating Nazi Germany.

11. bookie from hell

SNP leader William “Billy” Wolfe 1924-2010

Born in 1924, he joined the SNP in 1959 and helped to define the party’s political identity.
    He served in the Scottish Horse Regiment in World War II.

12. Doug Daniel

I’m fed up of this. We’ve had it for years from snide Labour unionist activists with their “Scottish Nazi Party” pish, and now we’ve got the media joining in.

I want my country to govern itself. I want us to get the government that WE vote for. That doesn’t make me evil, it doesn’t make me a Nazi, it makes me normal. It make me like every other person on the planet (except for ProudScotButs.)

If the likes of Kerry Gill can’t make their arguments without having to resort to calling us Nazis, they should just shut the fuck up.

13. Papadox

How does Kerry feel about state propaganda and lies? If it agrees with her side that’s fair if it’s agin her side it’s to be banned.

Aye ye canna beat open free truthful news reporting Kerry, you should maybe gi it a wee try sometime.

Maybe give that a mis and just carry on wi the state propaganda angle, got to think of the mortgage.

14. ronald russell

Will these people stop at nothing to try and win their argument. Next we will be called Islamic extremists or the K.K.K. I should be reasonably happy that it shows how desperate they are and no doubt worse will come but do they not understand the offence they are causing to REAL ordinary people

15. Proud Cybernat

See now the UK Govt is about to bombard us with “Project Fart”… er… sorry… meant ‘Project Fact’–a summary document of their 1,400 pages of Gov-Guff. I am sure the Scottish Govt will be premitted by the Electoral Commision to do likewise?

16. mjaei

Just read the full article.

‘The campaign… is also a war in which the UK and its Unionist supporters are fighting for its survival as one of the world’s first rank nations.’

Seems like Mr Gill’s been at the bath salts again.

17. MajorBloodnok

Famously, the Germans have no word for ‘fair play’ and now, apparently, neither do the British.

18. Murray McCallum

I never realised that the Scottish Daily Express was basically written by the same kind of people that are in Britain First.

Are there not any responsible people at the Express to check what is written before it gets sent out?

19. Macart

So in the opinion of Kerry Gill its ok for the BBC to abandon democracy, the right of fair representation and reply, because these separatist folks are supposedly mad, bad and dangerous to know?

Just wow. Words fail.

Is this what the press have come to?

20. McDuff

What exactly has the SNP, and those who support independence done to be continually compared to Nazis.
    A democratic referendum on self determination is taking place in a stable, civilised and decent country and those exercising their democratic right are constantly being lab led as “Nazis and it disgusts me.
    If nothing else this referendum has shown me how rotten and corrupt the media and political elite really are.

21. handclapping

What is so disturbing about these “British” articles is that they cannot define what this “British” country to which they pledge allegiance is. “British” may mean one thing in the Home Counties, where one goes up to London, but it is not the same in Scotland where one goes down to London.

“British” seems to be an adjective that may be uttered with one concept and understood with a completely different concept. Its use therefore is either indicative of sloppy thought or of an intention to mis-inform

22. bunter

The numpty who wrote that, really needs to get up to speed as the BBC are one step ahead.

23. jacksloan2013

Absolute drivel from the Express but sounds like they are bizarrely also attempting to gather support for the main mouthpiece of the Union before the planned demonstration at BBC Scotland studios – 29 June at 2pm!

24. donald anderson

It was the Yanks and the Ruskies wot done it. Engerland. Engerland. Engerland.

The Highland Division was left stranded in St Valery without supplies or back up, whilst all the stops were pulled out to save the British army further up at Dunkirk which is now somehow portrayed as a victory.

25. muttley79

Confirmation if any was needed, at the extent to which most political journalists in the MSM are diehard British nationalists.

26. heedtracker

This is the BBC, in Scotland, and today BBC in Scotland’s not going to be reporting the Gordon Brown/Blair/Darling/ New Labour disaster that is civil war torn Iraq. Instead we’ll be monstering the cybrnats, again, like yesterday and the day before and we’ll be doing it all again tomorrow, so vote no.

27. eezy

This really is incredible ‘journalism’.
    A journalist actually stating the BBC should be biased!
    No ifs or buts….stating it.
    I know it happens but this has left me speechless….

28. bookie from hell

Noel Coward

; Express Newspapers general manager E.J. Robertson did admit that Coward had been “boycotted” because he had enraged Beaverbrook with his film In Which We Serve – in the opening sequence Coward includes an ironic shot showing a copy of the Daily Express floating in the dockside garbage bearing the headline NO WAR THIS YEAR

29. Catherine McRorie

Unbelievable had to read it 3 times to take in what i was reading.How can this they get away with this smear on our democratic elected Gov & by doing so they are accusing the people who voted for the SNP to be Nazi’s too. UK Media take note, one thing Scots have is long memories, never again will we trust you as a ppl or country, any semblance of impartiality is gone..If by happen chance we don’ t get Yes we will fight on to let every person know what you did to prevent us.

30. Bugger (the Panda)

Rev Stu Campbell Eats Babies

Tomorrow’s headline in the Scotsman and the main talking point on the BBC.

31. desimond

Previous….

In April 2004, the Daily Express reverted to supporting the Conservatives, after a period backing Labour. On the same day, Desmond accused The Daily Telegraph, then considering accepting a takeover by the German Axel Springer group, of giving in to Nazis. Desmond reportedly harangued The Daily Telegraph’s chief executive and associates in faux German at a business meeting and imitated Adolf Hitler.

32. Grouse Beater

Scum.

33. Bugger (the Panda)

Remember the Rev Stoo is a “Cult Leader.”

So we all need to get bad haircuts, the same white trainers and drink his Coolade.

The Comet of Deliverance is coming.

Halleluja and pass the tambourine.

34. mogabee

Well, if the Express says that the BBC is OK, then it must be true.

How deluded are we?

I see Mr Gill has maligned Derek Bateman too…oh dear.

35. Donald

Flip side, surely some people who read that are going to go ‘WTF – that’s mental’ and start to examine stuff they hadn’t to date. Maybe, I’m be overly optimistic.

36. muttley79

@eezy

A cynic would say that there is no need to encourage the BBC to be biased…

37. Brotyboy

@ MajorBloodnok

Been meaning to say that I like your posting style and your wit. Suits your avatar.

38. desimond

Bugger (the Panda)

We should get badges made…

Rev Stu Campbell’s a Total Cult!

39. Bugger (the Panda)

Brotyboy

You didn’t know that it was TT speaking from the grave?

40. Bugger (the Panda)

desimond

Wings is a death cult!

41. TheItalianJob

@Brotboy ref Major Bloodnok

Totally agree. His wit is “perfetto” as the say.

42. TheItalianJob

Blast as “they” say.

43. joe kane

You got to love the mouth-foaming Express wartime comparison when British liberal democracy was completely suspended and all public publications came under strict government censorship rules.

Strangely enough, the Express newspaper’s calls for a boycott of liberal democracy was the kind of thing Herr Hitler was quite keen on, even under peacetime conditions such as prevail at the moment in contemporary Scotland.

Anyway, what about another of Fuhrer’s obsessions, the Gypsies?
    gypsies site:http://www.express.co.uk/

44. james davidson

Never mind yer shiny pin badges, we want wings branded jack boots. The march to freedom is sair on the feet

45. TheItalianJob

This is appalling, until you realise it’s the Daily Express calling.

Wouldn’t insult the intelligence of all of us here on Wings to buy or read it.

46. joe kane

Oops, sorry about that broken link to Express newspaper articles on Gypsies. Here it is again –
    Gypsies: Express

47. heraldnomore

and Hugo Boss jaikets

48. R whittington

Sensible Soccer.

49. desimond

The BBC neutral?….no chance..look it even has its own wikipage

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_the_BBC

50. CameronB Brodie

Once more, in case you missed it first time around.

As we examine the chronology of events leading up to the Holocaust, it becomes vital to understand the role of propaganda in perpetuating a crime of this proportion. To this end, this paper will analyze the fundamental tenets of Nazi propaganda, and the role that they played in not just the genocide of Jews, Romani peoples, homosexuals, and other undesirables, but also in helping turn Germany into an aggressor nation…..

USE OF KEY BEHAVIORAL PRINCIPLES

A. Introduction to Cognitive Biases

Cognitive Biases are situational instances of deviation in judgment, usually stemming from a stimulus. Typically cognitive biases are triggered for a variety of reasons, and their origins can be traced to evolved mental behavior to cope with new situations and make quick decisions. However, they can also be manipulated by providing an artificial stimulus seeking to induce certain responses in the target population. We will be analyzing Nazi propaganda with this lens, in order to better understand how they were able to manipulate an entire nation state.

Analysis of Nazi Propaganda
    A Behavioral Study
    Karthik Narayanaswami
    HIST E 1572: Holocaust in History, Literature, and Film
    Harvard University

http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/karthik/files/2011/04/HIST-1572-Analysis-of-Nazi-Propaganda-KNarayanaswami.pdf

51. mary vasey

mjaei you quoted a paragraph from said article ‘re uk and unionist supporters being of the first rank- well don’t ken about first but they are most definitely rank, the stinking lot of them. Have been reading this blog for ages but first time posting just want to thank rev and all here for all I have learned many thanks

52. TheItalianJob

Just read the full article from the link. Well not much to say about Kerry Gill, the article speaks enough about the character and his wish to clamp down on free speech.

The man is deluded. We have free speech on the internet now.

53. Nana Smith

@Mary Vasey

Welcome aboard Wings Mary…

54. Bill McLean

Kerry Gill must be one of the worst journalists in these islands for many reasons but the article I remember best from a few years ago had him complaining about “people wearing wee tin badges” (meaning we nationalist of course). Of course no one else in the entire country wear “wee tin badges”. Not in the slightest surprised that he favours unfairness and lack of democracy! I bet the Americans, Russians, French, Australians, Indians, New Zealanders, South Africans, West Indians, Poles, Greeks and many other nationalities were sorry they missed “Britain’s eventual victory”!!!

55. David Finnie

As I also have a German nationality, the comparsion with nazis is a serious insult to me.

56. mary vasey

Thanks nana, l love the comments nearly as much as Stu’s articles. Such a wide range of differing outlooks but United in the most important …. voting YES

57. CameronB Brodie

P.S. I can’t remember how many months back I suggested here that AS was a greater threat than Hitler, to the continuation of the British state. The only judgement of Kerry Gill, that I would share in public, is that she’s not very original.

58. Nana Smith

Apparently the no campaign have a 10 point lead. What poll is this from?

I am unable to access the article.

Scottish No campaign takes 10-point lead FT.com 15:12

59. gerry parker

@ Bugger
    “The Comet of Deliverance”
    Left a wee ditty for u on off topic.

60. west_lothian_questioner

Is there no a squirrel census these numpties could be busying themselves wi?

61. Democracy Reborn

Ich bin ein cybernat…..

62. heedtracker

It’s interesting to speculate what Winston Churchill would have made of the current BBC luv Fargae and vote UKIP campaigning. Fair enough BBC in Scotchland liggers are using UKIP to attack Scottish democracy but one of the great advocates of the EU was Churchill.

http://www.churchill-society-london.org.uk/astonish.html

Churchill was a federalist too and he used to say “keep buggering on.” I like that.

63. MajorBloodnok

@Nana Smith

I think it’s the YouGov poll, discussed here:

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2014/06/yougov-poll-shows-swing-to-yes-among.html

YouGov are reliably pro-no. They are just fooling themselves though…because all is not what it seems.

64. Bugger (the Panda)

A friend, a Professor at a major East Coast Ivy League University posted this on the Herald website

her e-mail to me.

“I posted this and another comment concerning the Britnats attack on Wings Over Scotland on the Herald’s readers forum. They were promptly deleted by the Herald’s moderator.

“Wings Over Scotland is the most widely read political website in Scotland which brings to the ordinary voter the counter balance arguments that the Britnat media refuse to publish which is why the Britnats hate it so much.

The Britnats have decided to try and close down debate by attempting to discredit Wings Over Scotland and its editor Rev Stuart Campbell.

Rev Stuart Campbell has suffered daily abuse and threats from Britnats and the website has suffered attempts to close it down with Denial of Service Attacks. It also worth noting that the the fat troughing scum remark was made in response to Conservative MSP Alex Johnstone’s personal attacks on Mr and Mrs Weir who’s only crime was donating money to the cause they have supported for most of their adult lives.

This is by far not the first time the Britnats have tried to censor the Pro-Independence voice. A year ago BT/PF tried to get Jack Foster’s excellent online film ” Top 10 Unionist Myths – DEBUNKED” banned by getting Youtube to block it twice. The block was later lifted.

The British nationalists rather than trying to build a grassroots campaign have built their campaign around a compliant union supporting media. This has obviously been a major miscalculation on their part which ignored the power of the internet to circumvent the unionist media so now that the polls are neck and next they have to attack websites and individuals that give the truth about Scots Indy and close down debate.

We cannot let the Britnats censor information in this way.
    Who will be next on their hit list?

Wings Over Scotland uses as its motto M.K. Gandhi’s saying:
    “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they come to fight you, and then you win.”

The Britnats seem determined to prove both Gandhi and Rev Stuart Campbell correct”

re the Britnats reference, she does have Irish roots.

65. heedtracker

Ipad word checker spells Farage, Fargae which may or may not be a bug.

66. Davy

Weel Kerry Gill you have your wish, one thing you don’t have to worry about is the BBc being un-bias against Scottish independence. So much for a free press eh.

OT – our First Minister was in fine form today as he casualy ripped apart the opposition, even though Willie Rennie did get a round of applause from the labour bench’s. (why?)

The three amigo’s were dire in the extreme, or as Alex has now named them “comrades” in unionism as he wrung them out and hung them out to dry.

And surely Ed Milibands new policy for withdrawing benefits from 18 – 21 year olds shows the labour supporters in Scotland exactly how their party is being run, more tory than the torys, and just to win middle England votes.

If labour in Scotland really wants to be a party that represents the ordinary man & woman, they had better vote YES and get rid of their present leadership or else change their colour to blue and their name to Conservative-Labour.

67. Lesley-Anne

It is the BBC’s duty to report all that is said and done without bias, and without favour to either side whether Unionists or Nationalists. But, for the reasons above, I don’t believe this should be so.”

Just a pity the UKIP Channel, sorry the BBC, do NOT in fact do as this incompetent *ahem* journalist suggests and report in an unbiased way or without favour. I guess she has just beamed in from the alternative universe where everything is rosy to write this piece of garbage. As this must be the case I have only one suggestion for her…beam straight back from whence you came and never return for OUR sanity…PLEASE! 😛

68. Taranaich

“Think back to the Second World War, as we have all been doing this month in commemoration of the D–Day landings. The BBC was foremost in selling the rightness of Britain’s eventual victory to the rest of the world.

It was most certainly not unbiased or objective. If it had been, the German Gestapo and their Axis colleagues would not have spent all their days and nights trying to stop anyone from listening to BBC broadcasts.

I’m sorry, since when is it bias to report facts?

A simple perusal of the facts would show the rightness of the Allies’ victory. It is not bias to point out that Germany invaded Poland. It is not bias to reveal that Germany’s Blitzkrieg conquered Belgium, Holland and France. It is not bias to report that Germany was bombing British cities and invading Russia. None of this is bias. None of it. It is an account of things that actually happened, as they happened, in the way they happened.

It is a stunning indictment of the reporters mindset when they somehow think that the only reason the BBC felt Britain was on the right side was because it was biased and subjective – as if the only reason anyone would support Britain against the Germans was because of bias. Not because of Germany’s casus belli. Not because of Germany’s aggressive actions. Not because Germany was undoubtedly, irrefutably in the wrong. No, it’s because the BBC was biased in favour of Britain.

Absolutely amazing.

69. Training Day

I don’t see how we can come to any accommodation with ‘our’ media, far less a reconciliation, regardless of the result of the referendum. The MSM, owned almost exclusively outwith Scotland, has shown itself to be perhaps the most corrupt, establishment-friendly, propagandist media entity in any so called democracy anywhere in the world.

They are, collectively, beyond redemption.

70. Peter Macbeastie

McDuff. My, how could you not know? It’s right there in the name. National. Or so those who would have you believe tripe about the SNP would say.

They seek to portray, exactly as per Alastair ‘Blood and Soil’ Darling does, the SNP as ethnic nationalists when we are nothing of the sort. Scotland is the people in Scotland; it is not the people born in Scotland, it is everyone regardless of where they came from. There is not so much as a hint of ethnic nationalism in SNP policies, activities or rhetoric. I would not be a member if there was.

Oh, you do find some ‘interesting’ views within SNP membership, and I am minded that independence is a concept shared by a wide range of political views under the hat of the SNP. I know personally of one person who has so little in common politically with the SNP you would wonder why he’s there at all; but he supports independence ahead of all other political considerations. Once independence is gained, he says, he’ll leave the SNP for a party that more closely represents his other views; I suspect he will need to start his own for most of his views, frankly. But without going into detail, even he is not an ethnic nationalist. His views on race basically amount to ambivalence; he simply doesn’t recognise the relevance of it at all. He is cheerfully right wing in almost every other aspect.

71. Black Douglas

Sorry to go O/T

But it looks the Danes have not been bought and sold for Tory gold or false promises.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-27925047

72. Davy

“Desimond”

ROFLMAO, too funny for words.

73. Bugger (the Panda)

Gerry Parker

????

I have replied to you in off-topic

74. Clootie

Britain’s eventual victory?

I love this re-writing of history. Forget all the European nations, the Commonwealth nations, the Russians, the Americans etc. It sounds like a Johann Lamont “some wee things”.

Of course it suits the unionist message to claim that we did it alone as Great Britain. The justification for the union based on this war message fails if you include other people (The Majority) who did not come under London rule but somehow worked to achieve a common objective.

My anger has never abated from seeing that Saltire photo “doctored” into the nazi symbol. The unionists should get down on their knees and beg forgiveness of the people of Scotland.
    These acts are not done by a lone person on a PC. They are executed by Lords, MP’s, MSP’s, National newspapers and the BBC. However nothing upsets me more than hearing fellow Scots say this of their own countrymen.

The nonsense of a few tweets and posts compared to this ongoing slur should anger even honest NO voters. Only the win at all cost brigade could accept this depth of abuse.

The leader of the NO campaign has stated. Their recent big donor implied it in her “donation speech”

This will be classed as trivial / taken out of context / misunderstood etc
    This is an organised oft repeated sound bite. New Labour style chant driven home daily.

75. Ken MacColl

I am told that this sort of stuff really does not count if it is in the Daily Express

76. James Kelly

Nana : The FT story is about their own Poll of Polls. The headline is utterly misleading, because the 10-point No lead represents a very significant narrowing of the gap – it was 15 points not too long ago.

The FT and Curtice averaging methods are both fairly useless in terms of measuring the trend, though – it’s literally the case that the publication of polls from Ipsos-Mori and Progressive Partnership are guaranteed to make the Yes vote go down, and publication of polls from Panelbase and Survation are guaranteed to make the Yes vote go up. If the Yes campaign wanted to ensure a healthy looking Poll of Polls, all they’d need to is commission a Panelbase poll every three days from now until polling day (a bit too expensive, admittedly!).

77. MajorBloodnok

@Black Douglas

O/T I think the Danes are on our side (as are most Europeans). Also, Wee Ginger Dug has a brilliant analysis of what Spain’s true position probably is:

http://weegingerdug.wordpress.com/2014/06/19/bring-me-the-head-of-who/

And as regards NATO, their most recent members are Croatia and Albania and last time I looked the Adriatic was nowhere near the North Atlantic.

78. Maybolebuddie

@Proud Cybernat 2.16pm The “Tartan Spring” YES! YES! YES! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! Bring it on!

79. Nana Smith

@MajorBloodnok

I thought as much…better together lalaland polls.

80. heedtracker

One things for sure, 6th. June 2044 there’ll be even more grotesquly cheap politicising of D-Day by different liggers like this moron but exact same royals, BBC, ITV, English rUK. press and it will all be used to attack some other threat to the great British Con/Dem/Lab Westminster power and glory. 30 years after the nation state of Scotland comes about too.

Imagine a Scottish state representative simply honouring the sacrifice of so many different people and not trying to make poilitical gain from it all, like Lords trougher John Reid did so disgracefully last week was it.

81. Nana Smith

@James Kelly

Don’t trust prof Curtice one little bit!

82. Cllr David Turner

What the Labour party along with the press dont want you to Know the Truth about the Labour Party and its part in the rise of Fascism in Uk in 1930s

The New Party was UK’s first Fascist political party briefly active in the United Kingdom in the early 1930s. It was formed by Sir Oswald Mosley, an MP who had belonged to both the Conservative and Labour parties, quitting Labour after its 1930 conference narrowly rejected his “Mosley Memorandum”, a document he had written outlining how he would deal with the problem of unemployment.

Mosley Memorandum

On 6 December 1930, Mosley published an expanded version of the “Mosley Memorandum”, which was signed by Mosley, his wife and fellow Labour MP Lady Cynthia and 15 other Labour MPs: Oliver Baldwin, Joseph Batey, Aneurin Bevan, W. J. Brown, William Cove, Robert Forgan, J. F. Horrabin, James Lovat-Fraser, John McGovern, John James McShane, Frank Markham, H. T. Muggeridge, Morgan Philips Price, Charles Simmons, and John Strachey. It was also signed by A. J. Cook, general secretary of the Miners’ Federation.[1]

On 28 February 1931 Mosley resigned from the Labour Party, launching the New Party the following day. The party was formed from six of the Labour MPs who signed the Mosley Manifesto (Mosley and his wife, Baldwin, Brown, Forgan and Strachey),

83. manandboy

The BBC has a ‘contract’ with Scots Licence Fee payers.

Part of the contract is to be unbiased.

The BBC is in breach of it’s contract through it’s Unionist anti-Independence stance.

I look forward to the day when this case will be settled, in the court of public opinion on Sept 18th.

Even more, I look forward to the sentence of the court.

84. Thepnr

This is the end game, we’ve played the opening and the middle game. Only pawns and Kings left on the board. They cannot win now, their best hope is for a draw.

The Yes side has the extra pawn though and that is us, the grass roots movement. If we play skilfully from now until 18th September victory is assured. Their is no defence.

85. Susan

I am just back from bank cancelling my TV licence.I have never bought Daily Express so can not cancel buying it.
    I am a Yeser because I want democracy for Scotland, I want us to have a government that we vote for and not one that our big neighbour decides for us. Kerry Gill, how does that make me a Nazi?

86. Peter Macbeastie

Ah, the Danes. You cannot beat Danes.

Any nation which loves bacon has got to be good.

Interesting side point on John Major’s guff about Ireland and Sweden not being in NATO. What it said to me, in very clear terms, is that John Major, in spite of the military rank in his name, does not understand strategic positioning. Scotland is positioned in such a place as to be a crucial monitoring point for shipping traffic coming out of the Arctic Ocean. In this warming environment with the resulting diminishment of sea ice that shipping level is liable to increase, and that can clearly include military vessels. So Major might not understand why NATO would want Scotland, but NATO will understand it.

87. MajorBloodnok

@Peter Macbeastie

“There is nothing like a Dane. Nothing in the world. There is nothing you can name that is anything like a Dane.”

(Cue Two Ronnies sketch featuring now forgotten BBC news presenters from the early ’80s executing unfeasible backflips and a hula-hula girl dressed up as Sandi Toksvig.)

88. Helena Brown

I said earlier that these people will have to live with us after the vote regardless of who wins. They will have insulted more than half the Nation and they think this is a good thing.
    Having lost and uncle, a mother and a father in one way or another to the Nazi I am not at all happy to be called one. I think none of us here mind being called Stu’s Cult members, we laugh in their face on that one, but NAZI. NO and certainly NO Thanks. We are supposed to be better together, right now better apart.

89. Richy Duncan

So now we’re nazi’s

Is that all they can say. It’s typical of the express to print this guff but come on everyone , this what it all boils down to. Smears, scares and any old lies.

i am quite happy for this stuff to dominate the union papers as it does them harm, although they don’t quite know it .

Even hard boiled No’ers are getting fed up. We are used to it but the switherers aren’t. It’s nasty, negative and no bloody use when deciding to vote and it also helps them lean towards a YES , we are winning.

Roll on the 19th .

I will spend the morning sipping my tea and preparing myself for all the sour faces i’ll meet on my way congratulate everyone else for winning the referendum war.

That evening i will visit my local for a wee nip to toast in the “new Scotland”

Followed by the bIggest party EVER.

THE SCOTS ARE HAVING A PARTY
    WE WON THE INDI WAR.

(SUNG TO “FOR HE’S A JOLLY GOOD FELLOW”)

90. Helena Brown

In case some of you do not remember there was a boycott in the seventies of the ahem “Scottish Daily Express” they closed their press here and had it printed in England.
    That finished it for many, me for one, I haven’t actually had a paper in my hand for years apart from the 2 Sunday Heralds purchased very recently.

91. Helena Brown

@ Clottie, could not agree with what you said more, this abuse is reprehensible, it certainly is not trivial.

92. Oneironaut

I hope someone is keeping a record of each and every one of these anti-Scottish broadcasts and headlines.

They’re all evidence for why the BBC should be banned from an independent Scotland and replaced with our own national broadcaster answerable to the people of Scotland and building a reputation for speaking the truth to the world.

We certainly have enough journalistic talent, going by some of the articles I’ve seen on Wings and elsewhere lately. Seems like rough times really do bring out the best in people 🙂

93. donald anderson

Three Amigos? Three Stooges!

94. Oneironaut

@mary vasey
    Welcome to the Wings “regular poster’s club”! 😀

The lounge is through the door to the right, the bar is along the corridor to the left and through the door opposite the drunk passed-out squirrel laying in a pile of empty bottles.

Don’t go through the big double doors marked “Cybernat High Command HQ”. The Rev tends to get a bit tetchy when people disturb him when he’s making his covert battle plans 😉

95. Andy-B

This a shocking piece of journalism, (If you can call it journalism) Kerry Gill is basically calling large sections of Scottish people “Nazi’s” just because they favour self governing, through independence,its an outrageous smear.

Kerry Gill is also actively encouraging the BBC to be biased, though in my opinion,they were never neutral to start with. As this campaign heats up I fully expect the press and tv, along with the Westminster government,make more outrageous statements.

Its a sign of desperation on behalf of the unionists, but we shouldn’t let these smears, distract us from our real goal of debunking unionist myths and gaining independence, for one and all.

96. john king

“they not understand the offence they are causing to REAL ordinary people”

Oh they do Ronald but they don’t care.

97. Cindie

Like @Helena, my husband’s family, his grandmother, aunt and several cousins died in Auschwitz. My father-in-law saw the rise of the Nazis and fled to Edinburgh where he was made very welcome. Sadly, he was unable to persuade his family to follow him.

Articles like this and vile images like the swastika Saltire just convince more people to turn away from the no camp. They have just become totally toxic now and therefore their spin and manufactured outrage gets louder. They have no coherant arguments left and I think, from the recent tone of the no campaign, they know that they are losing badly.

BTW, in case anyone is interested most of Denmark’s Jews escaped the Holocaust, because they were protected by the Danes: http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/mar/13/countrymen-untold-story-denmark-jews-escaped-nazis-bo-lidegaard-review

98. Gary

Newspapers are entitled to give opinion but in the midst of political campaigning to imply that a party of government and those supporting independence which has to be a good third of the population, are similar to Nazis isn’t JUST offensive. This crosses over into incitement. This is an attempt to create real and lasting division. Having seen and been victim of menacing online behaviour I think that they are breaching their guidelines on responsible behaviour. Is someone bringing this up with the Press Complaints Commission.

99. Thepnr

@Oneironaut

LOL

You know why we’re winning? Easy, we are a force to be reckoned with. Bit by bit, day by day we get more on our side. Project Fear has hit the skids, no matter what the MSM print or spout each day will matter.

THEY, the establishment underestimated the power of the internet, they underestimated the Scots psyche against being downtrodden, they underestimated our desire for a fairer society. That’s why they are losing.

That’s why we will win this referendum.

100. msean

We weren’t asked to pay for a biased channel.

101. john king

Ich bin ein cybernat…..
    Fit aboot ich bin ein Dundonian,er
    or whit aboot ich bin ein Cowdenbeath,er
    or—–
    help a cannie stoap, this things nae brakes.

102. john king

Anyone else starting to think a knock on the door in the middle of the night is suddenly not beyond the realms of possibility?

103. Oneironaut

@Thepnr

Thanks. I need to hear that occasionally in order to maintain my calm collected exterior 😉

104. CameronB Brodie

john king
    That is why I posted this a while back, but if it is OK for the MSM to re-cycle…… Though there is possibly a relevance for all of the countdown, I was particularly thinking of number one. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hrQhv1KWAg4

105. handclapping

Is “Kerry Gill” real? (S)he has no journalist recommendations, though described as “political editor” and does not appear among the “Columnists” even though this piece appears among “Comments”.

Do we take it that the Express policy is that at least 40% of people in Scotland are Nazis and that democracy should be suspended to be able to demonise this minority?

106. Will S

“They” seem to be happy to call us nazis… They seem happy to leave their WMD in our hands. Is there a shadowy move afoot to have us labelled a terror organisation with nukes and call up Uncle Sam ?? The absolute drivel that some of these journos come out with is almost as worrying that it’s passed proof reading, editors etc not to mention that they actually believe it :0:0

107. willie

Was WW2 fought so that the British establishment could keep their own kind of fascism rather than being usurped by hitlers

108. Chitterinlicht

All a bit embarrassing really. Yes MSM is biased but keep the heid, speak the truths and be positive and we shall see.

I have no yes friends changing their minds based on MSM (well at all). Probably just reinforces No minds. It is the undecided that are most important and we can only hope enough of them are willing to consider both sides for themselves and in my mind a positive message shining light/doubt on untruths is more likely to swing it.

At the end if this which side will be able to look themselves in the eye and like what they see?

Also there is a lot of YES positivity being sucked into fighting the NO black hole that could be used converting undecideds. Just saying

109. call me dave

He is real and can be googled

Any excuse for an anti SNP article.

110. call me dave

NNS got a good article up.

One rule for YES no rules for NO

Also one poster says Keza Dugdale drops or is dropped on the new Crossfire programme.

111. donald anderson

Ein Reich
    Ein Volk
    Ein Fuhrer.

Ein Labour Conference.

112. Bob Sinclair

I foolishly decided to read this ‘gentlemans’ essay on democracy and broadcasting and now I need a shower. Not only ‘quoted for nazis’ but also ‘quoted for Soviet era Spys/Traitors. A bit of a stream of unconsciousness.

This guy is just an idiot. If any ‘O’Grade history student handed that in as coursework when I was a kid they’d of got the belt for wilful stupidity.

113. Peter A Bell

We have become accustomed to the mainstream media being saturated in the arrogant, elitist rhetoric of British nationalism. But seldom have we seen a more smugly self-righteous revelling in unabashed notions of British exceptionalism than Kerry Gill presents.

Nor have we often seen a clearer expression of the contempt in which Scotland and its people are held by the British establishment. We exist solely for the greater glory of the British state. If we do not meekly accept our subordinate status then we are to be regarded as upstarts against whom the full power of British state must be brought to bear.

The institutions which wield that power are not held in common by all the peoples of these islands but, rather, they are the sole property of the ruling elites of the British state to be used exclusively in defence of their power and privilege.

We are told that we are “better together”. But, as part of the periphery – a mere annexe of Greater England – we have no claim on the whole that we are supposed to be part of. We are part of that whole only on the terms dictated by those who see us as “other” and assume that they have a “natural” entitlement to dictate those terms.

We cannot look to the institutions and processes of this imagined nation of Britain for succour because we are already regarded as being as foreign as any of the imperious British state’s multitude of past enemies.

The only possible conclusion, therefore, is that we must look to ourselves. We must bring our government home and establish a democracy whose institutions and procedures serve the interests of the people of Scotland.

114. Robert Peffers

Dammit! These jackboots ir afu ticht oan ma auld arthtitic feet.

115. Ninja Penguin

Coming soon to a Daily Express near you – Cybernats killed Princess Diana

116. David Smith

FFS, don’t these bastards know they’re beat?
    “Thinking back to WW2”, they remind me of the Japanese in 1945.

117. TJenny

Ninja Penguin – O/T are you and the YTers coming along to Fri 4th July night out in Edinburgh?

118. TJenny

Ninja Penguin – should have saiid it’s in The Newsroom (basement) at top of Leith Walk.

And for the genius syncronicity of having WOSers meeting in the basement of somewhere called the Newsroom, we have to thank our own Tam Jardine. 🙂

119. Restlessnative

If we are all nazis are the mainstream media”untermensche”?.
    Draw your own conclusions.

120. galamcennalath

Ouch, when did the Daily Express last say anything which was true or sensible?

121. Thepnr

And for the genius syncronicity of having WOSers meeting in the basement of somewhere called the Newsroom…on the 4th July lol

122. Derek M

i would have thought those who back unionist Great Britain should know better than use a Nazi slur ,if it wasnt for the Nazis how would history be looking at Great Britain ,a power that controlled half the world through military invasion and dictatorships changing countries borders stripping then of their resources and causing the entire mess the world is now seeing, yet is still glorified as some kind of good cause in our education system ,bah not only are they liars now they were liars back then as well.

123. orri

The most disturbing thing about this is the claim that the BBC aren’t already biased.

The Kezia Dugdale thing seems down to something I said a while back, although I wasn’t the only one. http://www.scotsman.com/what-s-on/tv-radio/kezia-dugdale-pulls-out-of-bbc-independence-show-1-3450213
    They binned Dianne Abbott when she was an MP so shouldn’t even have considered hiring a serving MSP.

On a lighter not, I see that Vote No Borders have cut the crap and finally admitted their registered/based in London. They seem to have lost the handy tally of their Facebook Likes though, perhaps due to embarrassment.

124. donald anderson

Nuke ’em with their own petard.

125. CameronB Brodie

Restlessnative
    Naw, in Scotland’s parallel universe, it’s possible to be Nazi and Untermensch (cybernat), at the same time. Our alternative reality quotient must be through the ceiling. 🙂

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Untermensch

So what does that make the MSM and all those that define me as a “cybernat”?

126. David G.

Smearing independence supporters as Nazis was how Soviet Era media labelled Lithuanians, Latvians and Estonians when they were trying to regain their independence.

It didn’t work then, most of the Russians living in those republics didn’t believe the propaganda either .. as Soviet
    citizens they expected to be lied to, it’s more of a shock
    to the don’t knows here because they’ve been brought up to
    believe our press is more credible. Slowly but surely the
    Scottish people are seeing that our media is no better than
    the Soviet Era media.

The Baltic Republics regained their independence with no
    violence on the part of the their independence movements
    … they won, despite the odds, without access to the internet and so will we.

I’ve never forgiven Labour’s Gerald Kaufman for telling
    the Lithuanians basically to stop rocking the boat, to quit
    “waving antique flags” and accept that they’d always be part of the Soviet Union. Where’s Kaufman now ?

127. Liquid Lenny

O/T need a bit of help from those in Inverclyde, having a fb conversation with a cousin, There proud Scot but even more Proud Brit, love the Queen and I quote Alex Salmonds handling first hand of Inverclyde flooding strategy and if he deals with Scotland in the same way etc etc.

I have pointed out that we don’t need the English Queen as we have our own one called Eliabeth 1 queen of Scots and that Britain is not going anywhere and its about Democracy not alecsammin. Can anybody give me a heads up on the Inverclyde Flooding strategy which the FM seems to be getting blamed for. Im fairly sure there is something else which may have caused it not to fullfil the promise my cousin had for it other than Mr Salmond.

128. Ninja Penguin

TJenny – We’ll all be there. 4 July is the start of my 3 week summer break, so I’ll be ready to party!

129. Paula Rose

@ Ninja Penguin – party guaranteed xxx

130. TJenny

Ninja Penguin – yippeeeeeee. 🙂

131. wee_monsieur

Peter A Bell.
    Well said.

132. CameronB Brodie

How Untermensch would you say a virus was?

133. CameronB Brodie

If ‘cybernats’ are a virus, and so sub-human, should they be allow a vote?

134. SquareHaggis

Too much time and credit wasted on the Mid Stream Mania.
    Let them insult and disrupt, smear and discredit.
    All they do is confirm their own irrelevance.

135. CameronB Brodie

SquareHaggis
    I agree, but would you allow me a wee correction of my previous post? If “cybernats” are a “virus”, I think that makes them unter-untermensch. I hope that meets with everyone’s approval, bad German grammar aside. 🙂

136. Mike Heinemeier

It is State controlled media that is used for propaganda purposes whether in Nazi Germany or North Korea. Evidence of this is when they all speak the same hatred and vitriol without dissent. Only the Glasgow Herald has the courage to stand up to the powers that be and it’s media mouthpiece. The UK media are in danger of losing their freedom and Independence, the very things they are trying deny the people of Scotland. Shame on them.

137. Paula Rose

This is all very confusing dears – just about mastering English but missing the German innuendos.

138. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    Sorry if I’ve gotten you in a bit a fluster. I’ve just been contemplating the duality of Scotland. That which we live in and that which is reported.

139. john king

Here you go Paula
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Untermensch

140. Defo

If ever there were a better symbol of the darker reaches of the BBC, and the wider establishment Kerry, Saville is it.

The sex offenders broadcasting corporation knew all along, as did Thatchers govt. Let the train take the strain ?

Think about that for a bit Kerry. The mindset that manages to reconcile themselves with that knowledge, is a complicit mind.

WW2 propaganda from auntie helped in the war, so it’s fair to understand that their undermining of our democratic rights is all in a ‘good cause’ ? Hmmm

The BBC is a monster, drunk on it’s own power, bloated on an unaccountable tax, out of control & tied to the troughers at Westmidden by the charter.

I actually think there is a case to be made, that our desire for the freedom to run our own show has hastened the end of the beast.

141. Rock

David Smith,

“FFS, don’t these bastards know they’re beat?”

They do indeed but they are doing their damnest to cheat us of victory.

Give the false impression that we are miles behind and then rig the vote.

Nazis, virus, is there anything nasty they have not called us yet?

142. Greannach

So… we’re celebrating the start of WW1, D-day (my Granda got medals there but didn’t parade around like Albert Tatlock), etc. Isn’t it about time we started celebrating the start of Iraq 2? It’s been 11 years – a natural anniversary to celebrate. I look forward to Reid, Wilson and Murphy waggling their Union Jacks in rememberance of the great day of Shock and Awe – a great day of pride for the Labour movement, international solidarity, blah blah blah. Come on, folks, rally round the flag and celebrate another great day in the history of the Family of Nations.

143. X_Sticks

Rock says:

“Give the false impression that we are miles behind and then rig the vote.”

That looks like the plan. Polls and bookies to back the rig. Postal, and the printing of 20% extra postal votes; anyone?

How do we ensure it doesn’t happen though?

144. Brian Kelly

Will the no campain decry the writer and publisher for this?
    Er naw.
    Mak ye seek thit thon kinna thing goes unremarked.

145. Horseboy

Calm Down Calm Down Calm Down.
    Keep Calm and Carry On.

YES Scotland obliged to come out with strong statements.
    To hobble the MSM and to comfort our YES rightwing.

BBC Scotland didn’t run with Tory MSP Alex Johnstone faux cybernat outrage today. Reading Glasgow Herald’s political editor Magnus Gardham story, its a non story. BT Unionist trying to control airwaves by criticizing and censorship.

Sticks and stones. Words don’t physically injured or physically hurt. In a true democracy, which both my parents actually fought for in WW2, freedom of speech is paramount.

I’m centre left centre right centre, depending on weather.
    We all want same outcome, Scotland’s Independence.

After Independence Day I don’t know who I’ll vote for, but I know it will be a Scottish Party not a UK Party.

ps. Bill Bailey has come out for YES, as Billy Bragg did.

Derek Bateman saying Labour MSP Kezia Dugdale dropped already from BBC Radio Scotland’s Ken MacDonald’s Headlines Sunday morning show, before she begun! Tune in to see who takes over. BBC Surprise Surprise.

derekbateman.co.uk

146. Ian Brotherhood

@Peter A. Bell (6.16 p.m.):

‘We have become accustomed to the mainstream media being saturated in the arrogant, elitist rhetoric of British nationalism. But seldom have we seen a more smugly self-righteous revelling in unabashed notions of British exceptionalism than Kerry Gill presents.

Nor have we often seen a clearer expression of the contempt in which Scotland and its people are held by the British establishment. We exist solely for the greater glory of the British state. If we do not meekly accept our subordinate status then we are to be regarded as upstarts against whom the full power of British state must be brought to bear.

The institutions which wield that power are not held in common by all the peoples of these islands but, rather, they are the sole property of the ruling elites of the British state to be used exclusively in defence of their power and privilege.

We are told that we are “better together”. But, as part of the periphery – a mere annexe of Greater England – we have no claim on the whole that we are supposed to be part of. We are part of that whole only on the terms dictated by those who see us as “other” and assume that they have a “natural” entitlement to dictate those terms.

We cannot look to the institutions and processes of this imagined nation of Britain for succour because we are already regarded as being as foreign as any of the imperious British state’s multitude of past enemies.

The only possible conclusion, therefore, is that we must look to ourselves. We must bring our government home and establish a democracy whose institutions and procedures serve the interests of the people of Scotland.’

IMO, this is a stand-alone belter of a post/comment worth headlining.

Cheers Peter – more power to ye mister.

147. Weedeochandorris

Having a rake around for Kerry Gill I came across this by Ian Hamilton QC. “Soon I will be dead But, oh, to be alive at this moment in Scotland.”

“And now we are to have a referendum. Mr Cameron, the near-illiterate occupier of the post of Disraeli and Gladstone and Churchill, steals a word from Quebec and refers to it as a neverendum.” Short but worth a read. http://www.scottishreview.net/IanHamilton230b.shtml

148. Tam Jardine

Kerry Gill ‘ s twitter page is worth a read if you like to spend your free time wading through sewerage. The BBC coverage of the referendum isn’t biased but it should be. The mind boggles.

Guys like Gill have lost their way – they should be pitied. The plan at the moment seems to be (in the absence of critical opposition by their peers) to attempt to use anything and say anything to form an argument that in another dimension could be used against Scottish Independence.

The use of the second world war is so grossly insulting that I can imagine, outwith our own sphere it will pass as completely acceptable by the rest of the press.

We have truly passed into a strange new world. I find the UK of 2014 unrecognisable.

149. Josef O Luain

Mr Gill is yet another enemy of Scottish democracy.

My question for Mr Gill and his like is: How do you propose to de-enemy yourselves on the nineteenth of September?

Intoxicated by their own hubristic certainties, our enemies were/are unable to countenance a situation wherein their defeat is a distinct probability.

No matter what might happen in September, Scotland will no longer be that wee, couthy backwater wherein the enemies of democracy were hitherto indulged.

150. HandandShrimp

It is only the Express, it isn’t exactly serious journalism. A sort of Mail wannabe…except I can’t even begin to imagine the mindset that would want to be like the Mail.

Funny old world isn’t it? 🙂

151. Hewitt83

It takes a lot to offend me. I have the thickest skin you can imagine.

I was absolutely appalled by this ‘piece’

Too offensive to put into words. Even a couple of Unionists I know were disgusted with this. Shocking.

152. SHB

donald anderson says:

It was the Yanks and the Ruskies wot done it. Engerland. Engerland. Engerland.

The Highland Division was left stranded in St Valery without supplies or back up, whilst all the stops were pulled out to save the British army further up at Dunkirk which is now somehow portrayed as a victory.

I say:

Don’t be such an utter prat all your life.

Your slur against my grandfather – who got away by the skin of his teeth at Dunkirk, and who was wounded in action in North Africa is a racist, evil, cowardly insult.

Perhaps you would also like to insult my Grand Uncle Vic. He was captured in Crete by the Fallschirmjager. They lined up a wall and murdered every other man in his unit while they were unarmed.

Actually most people down here in England can and do read about history at some stage- we are well aware of how much we owe EVERYONE who fought and died for our freedom, WHATEVER their nationality.

Why don’t you get a life away from your little Scotland version of imagined victimhood.

51st Highland Div were lost after Dunkirk and were nowhere near the rearguard perimeter at the time.

Perhaps the soldiers who actually died in the raerguard (like 1st guards, which my grandfather saw digging in ) count for nothing in your eyes, because a lot of them were English (and before you try and slime me – there were plenty of French, Scots, welsh and Irish fighting for their lives too).

What about 1st armoured Division, a predominately English unit. They were sent in AFTER the Germans had basically won the battle of France. The unit was smashed to pieces for no gain, sacrificed to try and keep France in the fight.

That is what happened to the Highlanders, and it was not the only time that Winston Churchill threw away good troops in the name of politics. He did the same to 18th infantry Division, from East Anglia- sent to Singapore just in time to surrender to the Japanese.

We just found the grave of someone from my home town who died on the Burma railroad. He was English, and may have been sent over as part of 18th Division. Perhaos you wish to spit on his grave too.

Don’t try and claim that the Scottish were somehow singled out for sacrifice in WW2.

There was plenty of death, incompetence and suffering to go around.

153. donald anderson

My father was in the Royal Navy at Dunkirk and was sunk several times. I lost uncles in the Argyles in that war. I l also lost a grandfather and other relatives in the Imperial WW1. The Scots lost more than any other country in both World Wars, apart from the Serbs and the Turks due to dysentery and frostbite. The daft Jocks were sent over the top as dispensable cannon fodder and I can give you plenty of quotes on that. I served three year in the Army mostly in the Middle East against people I had no quarrel with.

Churchill said if he wanted a bloodbath give him the Canadians, Australians and Irish in that order. He also wanted to repopulate Scotland with people from down South after the war.

I am neither racist, cowardly or evil, nor a prat, or at you level of “debate”.

154. SHB

At your level of debate….I am not the one making slurs at another nation and accusing them of using my nations’ people as cannon fodder or dispensable.

loss rates…..the London regt took the highest overall casualties in WW1. The UKas a whole took 700-888000 in WW1, including the Scotts who died. My local primary school has a plaque in the main hall with dozens on names on it – all killed in WW1. They fought from Le Cateau in 1914 to some of the worst sectors on the somme 1916 and Arras 1917. A lot of them died in Gallipolli too.

I can detail every one of them for you if you like…..

My great grandfather was gassed in 1917, his lungs never recovered and he suffered ill health afterwards. He also got from what would be called post traumatic stress disorder today – flashbacks, nightmares. He had to be sent to a local “institute” doe treatment – a major source of shame at the time.

WW1 was still going on in his head well after 1918. The things he saw/done must have been horrific.

Was the Butchers bill for England not high enough for you?

Douglas Haig was a Scott, do you think he was trying to wipe out expensively trained and equipped troops? Or to destroy the Scotts?

The daft scotts…I would NEVER ever call any serviceman who was killed, injured or wounded daft. The Scotts had a tough reputation and got sent to the toughest sectors, just like the best English or other units. Do you think you won at Bannockburn by being poorly led and unmotivated?

Cannon fodder …welcome to ww1 warfare- neither the central powers or the allies could break the other side easily. Infantry assault through curtains of machine gun fire and massed pre-registered defensive artillery was the only game in town to defeat the enemy.

It was an equal opportunities mincing machine.

I am genuinely sorry to hear what happened to your dad at Dunkirk. The tale of disaster echoes what my granddad told me.

You served in the middle east…I talked to an Pub landlord in the English side of the borders, while on my way to Scotland (Gairloch and Ullapool) for a walking trip. He had served in the Canal zone in the late 40s There was talk at the time of finally awarding servicemen who were over there at that time some sort of medal. He said he wasn’t interested, it was too little, too late and he hadn’t been impressed by the experience either.

155. donald anderson

SHB
    “…not one for making slurs”. “Racist, coward and prat”? That was the level of debate and personalising it with your wartime ancestry. Never an good idea to personalise anything with someone you don’t know. This is not the British legion, with poseurs in blazers and badges.

London is the largest city so would have the greater number of causal. I had relatives serve in the London Scottish regiment. Scotland is around 1/10 of the so called UK with a disproportionate number of losses in most wars, especially the denuded Highlands and Highlands still suffering from the effects of the Clearances. See
    Scotland’s War Losses
    http://www.scottishrepublicansocialistmovement.org/Pages/SRSMArticlesScotlandsWarLosses.aspx

Especially tragic was the loss of men returning from war to be sunk yards from the home shore in full view of the waiting women,old men and young boys.
    https://www.google.co.uk/?gws_rd=ssl#q=iolaire

I am sorry about your gt grandfather. I worked with people whose relatives were gassed by their own side accidentally and hated the Haig Poppy fund because they got as much from them as they did from the London Government. The Germans and the Yanks looked after their own much better.

Douglas Haig was as much of a Scot as Sir John de Menteith; Tony Blair; Ramsay MacDonald (a distant relative of mine) Lord Reid, or Alastair Darling. Genetics is no guarantor of morality. I worked and lived in England and spent four years also in the Merchant Navy. I took every person on their own merit, regardless of nationality. Yesterday I saw a bit an old black and white film on TV. The shopkeeper listed some people who spent money in his shop from Five pound down to ten shillings, saying, but he was a Scotchman. Is it not racist to call the Irish stupid and the Scots mean and the English superior and generous? We don’t hear of jokes about the Englishman with an inferiority complex, who thought he was equal to everyone else? The meanest and least humorous persons I ever met in England used to repeat all the cliqued, stereotyped anti Scottish jokes. Yet many English persons I met chastised them and showed me nothing but kindness. Do you want Gordon Brown back? I don’t want him neither.

As for medals. I threw my Cyprus active service medal in the bin. I am no Imperialist neither. I also “served” in Aquaba, Bahrein and a short skirmish in Trucial Oman, supporting a British puppet tyrant. My father had a row of medals on his coffin. So what? He served from the Baltic to the far East and happened to be wounded.

At the time of the so called Union, 1707, we were told that it stopped us fighting among ourselves(not true I’m afraid). Instead we fought the Danish; Italians, Dutch, Germans, Indians, American colonists, Chinese, Japanese, Africans and goodness know what. General Wolfe said of the Highlanders under his command in Canada, “Little mischief if they fall” and Prime Minister Pitt said, what better way to rid one’s enemies than in one’s own service. The list is endless and includes Lord Chelmsford, Newcastle, etc, discussing in the House the need to kill and deport all Highlanders, even those who fought in our service and sterilise the women. There was no need, as his troops did a thorough job. The Hessian troops in Scotland were shocked at Butcher Cumberland’s excesses. and his Hessian cousin Prince fell out with him over it.

The effects can be seen very starkly today with half of the country a rural desert and the other and industrial desert.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.