Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

Subscribe
Notify of

40.9K Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Paula Rose

Was at a party with the lovely Fiona MacInnes (from Orkney and an instigator of a certain writ) – she and several others will be in Edinburgh in early September, could be a good reason for a get-together!

CameronB Brodie

It’s my birthday in September. I’ve not had a party in years. 🙁

Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

TJenny
Hi there, long time no see. I’m not sure if Tam is that fussed about another Edinburgh bash but what about you? I’m happy to organise another, if you think folk will come..

Cameron, I’ll come, if at all possible, and I live a long way from Embra!!!

Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

Just trawling through loads of comments and thought I would give the Embra folks a wee push with my last comment! We missed so many in Helensburgh!

CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
I think I’m just going to go ahead and organise something, but it would be good to get some feedback. Cheers. 😉

kendomacaroobar

Guys, I’m just putting this out in off topic to see if I can get a boost to our indiegogo fundraiser. After 8 days we are at 1300 and I’m wondering if there is a genuine demand for our magazine.

We are trying to attract those people who generally avoid politics and don’t access their news via the MSM. Any comments genuinely appreciated, in the meantime heres a link to the indiegogo fundraiser for any millionaires out there.

link to indiegogo.com

TJenny

Hi all, would love a WOS night in Edinburgh and greatly relieved that Cammy B has offered to arrange. 😉

It would be ideal to arrange said WOS night in Sept when the Orkney Heroes will be here. (I have slightly ulterior motives in this as I recently discovered I have Orcadian roots – clearly exceedingly long roots if they can reach to Edinburgh! 🙂 )

CameonB Brodie

kendomacaroobar
Hi there, I’m ttwapies (long story). That’s a hefty target, I hope you make it. I’ll try to donate again but not until towards the end of the appeal, I’m afraid.

Best of luck.

kendomacaroobar

Hi Cameron,

Thanks for your support, always appreciated.

The target pretty much covers paying for freelancers, photographers and expenses involved in providing a half decent magazine. We receive a lot of our material and expertise supplied on a voluntary basis and it’s really difficult to sustain this without somebody burning out.

Nearly 40k was generated by a ‘Scottish 6’ fundraiser last year, at exactly the same time we launched ours, yet we still managed to deliver the goods.

I guess in a way I’m just trying to establish if (excluding yourself) there is general support for the magazine and no doubt we’ll find out in a few weeks time 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Re. Edinburgh night. Same place (The Newsroom), or was that perhaps a bit subterranean and sweaty for some? Any suggestions welcome – careful Paula.

Paula Rose

Hi kendomacaroobar my people have just informed me that they have agreed terms with your people re – the centre-fold, as I understand it – when the money is raised, the studio will be booked! Looking forward to a spot of posing – any wingers got any ideas?

Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Hope you’re well.

Sadly, I no longer have your e-mail – lost it many moons ago, along with all other Wingers, and had to switch provider. If you (or anyone else) want to send me it again, no probs – ianbhood@gmail.com

kendomacaroonbar

@Paula Rose

The Maltese Falcon set is being prepped as I type, ( or is is the Millenium Falcon) say it again Sam ?

Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmm…

Things are falling into place for the next couple of months.

CamBB – the only problem with the Newsroom was that it became a nite club rather earlier than we’re used to, and –

The only two problems with the Newsroom were that it became a nite club rather earlier than we’re used to, and the price of the drink.

Incidentally, I nipped into the Invergowrie Inn on Friday and have provisionally booked both the 24th and 31st October (Saturdays) as possibles for another ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ get-together. I told Jackie the manager that I would confirm which night by 1st September. (They’re a tad pro-Yes in there.)

She had said that it would have to be from 8pm onwards (increasing demand for meals on a Saturday) but we eventually agreed that Wingers could take over the lower area beside the stage and the back door, for anyone who wants to have a meal before the shenanigans so we’d be in OUR area, from whenever. Licensed till 12 on a Saturday.

I spoke to Ronnie on Sunday and we agreed that it would be fine if Edinburgh organised a Wings Do in September, possibly the weekend before ‘Hope Over Fear’ in George Square, which is on Saturday 19th.

So, if you want to come up to the sunniest city in the UK in October, can you let me know if both dates are ok, or one or the other?

Ta. (We seem to be getting organamised…)

Brian Doonthetoon

“So, if you want to come up,” should really read “So, if you want to come up, or down, or across,”, iye X_Sticks and Cearc and Thepnr, and Paula Rose and Quentin Quayle and Chipmonkey and Tartan Tory?

8=)

Jock Scot

@TJenny(and anyone interested in an Edinburgh social)

Hi pal, I’m meeting Ronnie at Free Space at the top of Easter Road on Saturday and wondered if you cared to join us. I had the idea of going there to talk to Kate and Terence who own the gallery, which is for Independence related stuff, as they know the locals, including the pubs and see what we could arrange. For anyone who hasn’t been yet, it is highly recommended. They have hosted the Edinburgh launch of Greg Moodie’s books and can stay open late and have a lock-in. Would also like to introduce them to Wingers with the idea that they promote the site and any relevant merchandise like T-Shirts and possibly badges(lol). Think it would be a great idea to have an Edinburgh ‘Hub’ and reckoned that between Ronnie, you and me and perhaps some others we could interest them. just a thought.

@X Sticks
Cheers bud.

Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Is Dundee only the sunniest city in the UK in October these days? 🙁

missorkney

I am instructed to declare that I have succumbed to a stroking from Paula Rose which has resulted in the administration of painkillers.If I flunk on etty ket and put dots and other heinious things in the wrong places will someone please kindly whip me into line as gently as possible.

Stoker
CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
Dundee is suffering the UK’s 4th highest unemployment rate. We simply can’t afford any more sunny months. 😉

Stoker
Stoker

Going way back now:

ronnie anderson

Hi folks I,ve been talking to Jock Scot we will set a time to meet up in Embra for this Sat,to look for a place for a nite out. Tam J,T Jenny,CamB I let yous know at what time Jock suggested something near Easter Rd.

Stoker

Alan Dewar – you might be due for release but we’re watching:-
Glasgow or Inverness – Daddy or Granny will not save you.
LONG LIVE JOSH!

ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose get your toenails painted with the Unicorn ,BrianDTT kin dey the graphics fur you,well you did ask fur suggestions.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi hevvabeccywoss.

Meant to type earlier on – your YouTube link wasn’t. When you want to post a YouTube link, paste it into the comment box, then delete the “http://” so that it starts with “www”. The WordPress system adds the “http://” to your published post.

This is your link fixed.

Onnyhoo, I got a lot of mileage out of the cover version, back in the day…

ronnie anderson

@ Stoker Jools Hollands BBC Staff Homanay party payed by the TV Licence Fee Payers,but its gracious of them to let us share it via our screens, but weil no be getting any of the free Swally.

Stoker

@ ronnie
One of the beeb things i always watch mate, but at someone’elses
pad, i like Jools’s shows.

Stoker

Adam Ant – Goody Two Shoes

Stoker

Adam Ant – Stand And Deliver

Stoker

Tourists – Good to be back home again (please, i know folks)
(but i like this one -sorry)

Stoker

The Ramones – Sheena Is Punk Rocker

CameronB Brodie

Stoker
I wasn’t going to say anything. 🙂

Stoker

Cameron ???

Stoker

Cameron,
Do you mind if i ask you 2 questions? All will be revealed if you say yes.

I’ll ask them anyway and if you don’t answer i’ll know i was out of order.

(1)- Are you in the 30s/40s age group?
(2)- Is the latter part of your name your home town?

Blondie – Union City Blues

Stoker

Blondie – Dreaming

Stoker

And here’s one dedicated to my boys, they’ll get it:
🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Stoker

Sorry for the appearance of that nonce, boys, but this is what i meant to show, LLF, and you 2 tossers thought i’d never find this.
Love you both, LLF, mad bastwerps!
link to dailymotion.com

CameronB Brodie

Stoker
20 questions, is it?

– Your first Ramones track wasn’t the Ramones.

– I’m 47 in a few days.

– My surname is Brodie, born and brought up in Dundee, though an old girlfriend of mine used to work in Brodie Castle and she thought I looked like a younger version of the laird. Personally I always though my uncle bore more of a resemblance. He was a McClean. 🙂

P.S. …and now for the Mystery Guest round.

Stoker

I think this is one of THE deepest songs ever written.
Think about it but not too deeply.
UB40 – One In Ten

Stoker

Benny Benassi – Satisfaction

Stoker

Cameron
Thanks. I was up Brodie way at the New Year and was in a pub nearby, a couple sat at my table, i never got the chance to speak to them but for some strange reason i kept getting the niggly feeling that it might have been you. Obviously not.
Thanks again, you’ve put my mind at rest.

TV Theme – Boon

Stoker

Eternal – I Wanna Be The Only One

Stoker

One of my all time favourites. Goodnight, folks, stay safe.
Billy Joel – The River Of Dreams

Stoker

Which automatically leads to this cracker – Goodnight all!
Robert Palmer & UB40 – I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight

CameronB Brodie

Folks are perhaps wondering if I’m off the meds again? Yep. 🙂

Go Speed Racer Go!

CamernoB Brodie

I don’t pose a danger to small children nor fluffy animals though. Honest. 😉

CameronB Brodie

Or here’s one to mess with your cat’s head. Go on, film it and become part of a multi-dimensional experiment. 🙂

Well it is the silly season.

YESGUY

Hi folks

Regarding the Edinburgh night out in Sept. Hope it goes ahead as i would attend. Illness has stopped me over the last year but improving and a night with fellow Wingers will only make things better. 🙂

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello one and all!

We at Yes Rutherglen are having a little shindig on Friday 18th September, and you’re all invited 🙂

There will be live music and food all included in a £5 ticket charge (with a bar at the venue, obviously!).

I have already heard of a few wingers who’ll be coming, so it would be great to see many more, especially in light of the George Square rally of the 19th being cancelled.

The tickets are limited to 100 and will be going on eventbrite soon, but to secure them immediately send a direct message to me on twitter (gillian_ruglonian @Gillian_Mair80) or the group (Yes Rutherglen @YesRutherglen). You can use also use Facebook messaging to reserve, or just tell me here!!

Anyone who wants to come along to perform is more than welcome as we still have a spot to fill.

Cheers, and more details to follow x

Paula Rose

Boys and girls where are your manners? – Say hello to missorkney (9:39) – she’s even more worthy of respect than me!!!

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

‘Off-topic’ may have been infiltrated!

I got an email notification today at 11.24am, of a new post on ‘off-topic’. It begrail as such,

“missorkney commented on Off-topic.

in response to RevStu:

For off-topic chat. Duh.

I am instructed to declare that I have succumbed to a stroking from Paula Rose which has resulted in the administration of painkillers.If I flunk on etty ket and put dots and other heinious things in the wrong places will someone please kindly whip me into line as gently as possible.”

Now, the perpluzzling thing is that this post has never appeared, on my iMac at work or my Mac at home nor on my iPhone, on the way home. It’s still not showing here. There is nothing between CameronBB at 9.19am and YESGUY at 1.03pm.

Did you stroke her out of existence? Onnyhoo, hello, missorkney!

call me dave
Brian Doonthetoon
cearc

Hello, missorkney.

I hope your stroke didn’t leave you speechless.

Brian Doonthetoon

From comments I’ve read elsewhere tonight, looks like there’s gonna be a ‘popular revolt’ on 19th September, in that people are gonna turn up at George Square onnyhoo.

So where and when are Wingers gonna meet up, before we perambulate around, or in, the George Square environs?

Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Re 19th September. I wouldn’t expect anything less! After all, you meet all sorts of pals when out and about in the city.

@ missorkney

Hello missorkney. We shall remind Paula R to be be more gentle – when excited she can be a bit remiss in dealing with a ragged nail or two. 🙂

Paula Rose

Pedicure kit packed.

Paula Rose

Oh wow – using RIMMEL Salon Pro – toetastic!

Brian Doonthetoon

Can ANYONE see a post from misssorkney yesterday morning?

I still can’t.

Paula Rose

Bdtt – 9:39 pm.

X_Sticks

Hello missorkney.

Stroked by Paula Rose *before* your first post on Wings? That is indeed a thing! Most of us have had to put in a great deal of effort just to get a look. Usually you have to provide her first class transportation to get a stroke.

You must be something very special 😉

Brian Doonthetoon

Right Paula Rose.

I’ve worked out what must have happened. missorkney’s post would have gone into moderation as her first. It must have been passed yesterday morning, around the time I got the email notification (11.24am).

Then you typed,
“Say hello to missorkney (9:39)” so I assumed you meant 9.39AM, not last night, when the post wouldn’t have been visible. Once it was passed by the REV, it appeared at last night’s posting time.

Mystery solved!

CameronB Brodie

Does anyone know if the broadcasters are still ‘cautious’ over what tunes they play to us Scots?

Sly & The Family Stone – Underdog

Not to be confused with…

Underdog

or…

Underdog

CameronB Brodie

Put your hands together, come on and stomp your feet, Lord
Put your hands together, come on and get in beat
There’s a good time waiting for you, come on and let’s get free

Funkadelic – Good To Your Earhole

CameronB Brodie

“You can’t over-promise and under-deliver”

James Brown & The JBs – Give It Up Or Turn It Loose

James Brown, Bobby Byrd & the JBs – Get Involved

James Brown & The JBs – Cold Sweat

P.S. Is the last video evidence of the chronic overmanning problems of the ’70s. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Some folk may consider this sacrilege. Maybe so but evolution is a progress force. 🙂

Axiom Funk (ft. Bootsy Collins) – If 6 Was 9

Jock Scot

@TJenny, @Tam J, @Cameron B

Ronnie A. is picking me up from the side entrance of Waverley station (Market Street) at 11am on Saturday and we will be heading for link to freespace.scot (address 7 Easter Road) to discuss and check out possible venues for an Edinburgh ‘social’. If any of you and/or anyone else who wants to come along, make your way to Waverley for a lift or meet at FreeSpace at 11.30ish, we will see you there. If anyone has TJenny or Tam’s e.mail can you let them know. I’m assuming that Cameron will see this

CameronB Brodie

Jock Scot
I’ll do my best to be there Jock.

Jock Scot

@Cameron B

Sure hope you can Cameron.

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Top tunes buddy. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
Cheers Ian, I thought you might appreciate one or two, at least. Pity the James Brown stuff fades out but I suppose they’re just samples to wet your appetite to buy the films.

Paula Rose

All tearful – wish I could do this –

CameronB Brodie

Let’s devolve.

Sponge – Go Speed Racer Go

The track list is worth a listen. Might bring back some fond childhood memories. 😉

CameronB Brodie

weegingerdug
I didn’t want to make this my first post on your blog as I wasn’t sure how it would go down. Are you not being a wee bit harsh in your latest blog? 😉

A 1953 technical review in Autocar described “the extraordinary ingenuity of this design, which is undoubtedly the most original since the Model T Ford”.[10] In 2011, The Globe and Mail called it a “car like no other”.[11] Noted automotive author L. J. K. Setright described the 2CV as “the most intelligent application of minimalism ever to succeed as a car”,[5] calling it a car of “remorseless rationality”.[12]

link to en.wikipedia.org

What about a car designed by government committee, such as the Austin Allegro (a.k.a. the all aggro)?

link to en.wikipedia.org

Thepnr

Here’s a wee tune with a great video with love from sunny Venice Beach.

Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

I think your just a tad too young to remember this cartoon intro. A black and white cartoon too.

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Mr. Corbyn, Gawd bless you guvner. 🙂

John Barry – A Man Alone

CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
Yup, that was a new one on me, though Helmet cover it on the track list above (starting with Sponge). Fourth track in.

The “Saturday Morning Cartoons’ Greatest Hits” is actually pretty good album. Mostly American shows but a good few that were shown in the UK. The Violent Femmes doing Eep Opp Ork Ah-Ah, is one of my all time faves. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

My first crush. No, not the dog food and not Jacky. 😉

Jacky – White Horses

Thepnr

“The “Saturday Morning Cartoons’ Greatest Hits” is actually pretty good album.”

Best line on Wings ever, Cheers 🙂

Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Read your post on your son getting to register to vote for the first time. I hope he will be a chip off the old block as they say.

This is for both of you, hope you like it.

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya,

You can now reserve tickets for the 18th September Shindig at:

link to eventbrite.co.uk

mobile.twitter.com/YesRutherglen/status/631560749685559296

More details to follow, but look at the options, sitting in having the telly endlessly gloat about what happened ‘a year ago today’, or digging out your dancing shoes for a night of live music and yessers company:)

Gillian_Ruglonian

Sorry about the other link, but at the risk of being murdered by hammer (and missing my own groups event!), I shall refrain from another attempt.
I trust all you smart people to get the gist 😉

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers aplenty. I remember that song well, although I had no idea what it was about at the time (I was only 11).

Funnily enough, got quite emotional today, seeing the boy all fitted-out with his first kilt for an impending wedding. (Just hiring it, of course!). He looks a million dollars, and very much a young man. It’s easy to see why some families are more than happy to see their boys and girls joining the forces, getting all smartened-up with a nice clean uniform, prospect of learning a useful trade etc.

And then it all comes crashing home – he could, if he wants, sign up for the Forces next year.

Some of those who lost their children because of what Blair and his ilk did more than a decade ago could consider themselves lucky if they got recognisable bits and pieces back to bury, and yet we have scum like McTernan sweeping it all away as so much trivia.

Not everyone can pinpoint why they became active politically. I’m glad that I can, and it’s easy to explain – only four letters: I.R.A.Q.

For as long as any of us are still alive, we won’t forget what the bastards did to the people of that nation, and we’ll make sure that our weans know everything – in that sense, Blair et al can never ever escape.

At some point in the future, somewhere, McTernan is going to be confronted (by accident or design, doesn’t matter) by people like Rose Gentle and Reg Keays. When that happens, I hope cameras are present to record his words of comfort over the scandal that is Chilcot.

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

‘Some day I’ll have a disappearing hairline…’

Aye, comes to us all, but we can do our wee bit before we’re ‘wearing pyjamas in the daytime’.

Here’s one for you, and yer own lad (the one wi’ the pure gallus name’!)

Crash Test Dummies, ‘Afternoons & Coffeespoons’ –

Stoker

Ian Brotherhood wrote:
“It’s easy to see why some families are more than happy to see their boys and girls joining the forces, getting all smartened-up with a nice clean uniform, prospect of learning a useful trade etc.”

Very true, Ian, and then there are those families who see their son’s and daughters enlisting, not because of some false sense of queen and country pish but simply because they are of traditionally military family types, they were born to soldier.

I know several members of my own who have all discussed the big day when it arrives and while some will transfer over to help in the formation of a Scottish military there are others who, due to marriage and their locations etc, will remain where they are.

Ian, you also wrote:
” got quite emotional today, seeing the boy all fitted-out with his first kilt for an impending wedding.”

You think that’s bad, mate, just wait until its his own, unless it already is? Feeling as if your throat is stuffed with rusty steelies (marbles) doesn’t even begin to cut it. They bring us a world of worry but they also bring us their fair share of ten-foot-tall moments. Makes all the worry worthwhile.

Finally, i read your post on the other thread, re; Iraq body count and yes you are correct, they don’t make these numbers up. The only issue i have with the numbers is that they don’t truly reflect the reality.

I’m not counting the daily casualties amassed by suicide bombers or IED’ etc etc. I’m referring to the hidden figures of suffering and death due to a lack of proper sanitation and infrastructure etc.

Some time ago i put up a link on WOS regarding this very matter and it showed the actual death tallies to be far greater than anyone realises and how all the promises of help to rebuild the infrastructure were nothing more than PR pish, all but a handful of symbolic gestures.

People are still suffering and dying very painful deaths due to these political warmongering bastards and you’re correct, we will never forgive nor forget their actions as they globetrot earning millions from public appearances and speeches etc.

Brian Doonthetoon

Now peeps,

posts are disappearing up above rather rapidly without response. I’m only looking for a preference – 24th or 31st?

See:-

link to wingsoverscotland.com

Tam Jardine

Jock Scot and Ronnie

Thanks Jock. I am working Saturday but If I can make it along for a bit I will.

Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker (10.51) –

Thanks for that response.

This is why I love WOS.

There are, of course, other sites where this kind of exchange is possible, but this place is special because we have the space to express thoughts which may not be ‘on-topic’, but are, if you like, hardy perennials.

The sheer amount of information which has been exchanged via this ‘thread’ alone is astonishing – was it ‘Schrodinger’s Cat’ who, quite recently, posted that he was doing some experiment to archive the material in WOS? If so (apologies if it wasn’t!), s/he remarked on the scale of what’s been amassed here. I don’t think any of us can get a handle on what this place has achieved, even in terms of collating massive amounts of verifiable data which, otherwise, would’ve safely been jettisoned down The Memory Hole yonks ago.

But it’s the ‘human’ interaction which is so important, and is way beyond the ken of people like McTernan. Perhaps, back in the 80’s, pre-internet, it was possible for ‘Malcolm Tuckers’ to have a reasonable expectation of making a career out of calling subordinates ‘cunts’ and screaming their heads off every time their orders weren’t executed to the letter.

But we’re in a different era. McTernan and his kind simply do not understand that we KNOW what they’re up to, and can deconstruct their pish within minutes of it being broadcast. He has developed no strategy for dealing with the exponentially expanding networks of personal relationships which regard ‘doing the right thing’ as more important than any staid party-loyalty.

Seeing the Labour movement in its death throes must be profoundly painful for many, but ‘death’ is natural, and there’s always a fresh start. The ‘fresh start’ happens not to be one which includes swathes of The Establishment.

The people who are pinning their livelihoods and futures on the perpetuation of archaic power structures and ways of thinking are, ipso facto, not part of the future being created by people who do not, and will never, acknowledge that ‘authority’ which the former aspire to inherit.

Put simply – the Blairs, Browns, Camerons, Duncan-Smiths, Dugdales, McTernans, Straws and Osbornes have no idea what they’re up against. Jeremy Corbyn is the slenderest possible edge of a very thick wedge which is shortly to be rammed right up them.

Paula Rose

Language, please Ian dear – the “c” word is all right the way you used it but “rammed right up them” is not. Please be more careful.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry.

I should’ve been more delicate.

How about ‘the usual suspects must be forced to sit on their hands’?

Paula Rose

Ian honey, I think you missed an “h”.

Brian Doonthetoon

24th or 31st?

Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee honee bunchee either oree xx

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Ooh, you are awful etc…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Choice of date noted.

BTW: is ‘missorkney’ Fiona MacInnes, or someone from Orkney you’ve met in the Brechin/Stracathro area?

Jiss wundrin’, like…

Paula Rose

Well really – do I have to spell everything out?

David

This one’s for CameronB Brodie 🙂 :-

link to suffolkgazette.com

Ian Brotherhood

This one’s for Jeremy Corbyn:

Joy Division, ‘Isolation’ –

CameronB Brodie

David
I think you’ve cottoned on to what my actual level is. Cheers. 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Sent you an e-mail. Please let me know if it arrived – it didn’t ping back, but I’ve a feeling the address I’m using is old.

As mentioned to TJenny t’other day, I’ve lost most of the e-mail addresses I had for Wingers.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula rose.

You’re being endearingly obtuse. See, you mentioned Fiona MacInnes, but you never typed that you had visited Orkney, as far as I know.

But, I do know of an Orkney girl who is in your home prowling area. That’s why I asked. Capiche?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

This’ll be right up your closie then?

Tam Jardine

Jock Scot and Ronnie

Looking at my work the morn I think it is impossible to get away for an hour, so I wanted to put down a few ideas for venues.

Edinburgh is full of small, expensive ‘new’ pubs and small, locals pubs. Boozers with big function suites that are sitting idle on a Saturday night don’t exist to my knowledge. Space is there at a premium.

The Newsroom was close to the station and was big enough but cost money, and a pint was not cheap. Also there was something BDSM about the decor that was strange.

The Persevere on Easter Road is a great Leith boozer which has a function room (I’ve only ever been in the bar). Well worth investigating.

The Alexander Graham Bell on George Street is your Edinburgh version of the Counting House – central and cheap. There is another Wetherspoons at the foot of Leith Walk but it’s not really a pub I would go to… A little too rough for me.

The SNP club St David’s Street is fucking perfect, tiny wee bar but a bigish room that could be hired. I’m no longer a club member but it is worth investigating.

The Leith Dockers Club is another devine choice with the whole left of centre vibe we have going… If it is available that would be ideal. It’s a single bus journey or walk down just past the foot of Leith Walk.

I could come up with countless great pubs on Leith Walk but almost every single one used to be an old man’s pub and is now a gentrified bar selling craft beers. I paid £4.75 for an Innis and Gunn this very evening.

CheapER bars to bear in mind, without function rooms but without being too small neither – the cool bikers pub, the Black Bull down from the Newsroom and the Harp and Castle halfway down the Walk.

Easter Road mostly has your small corner type pubs where 60 – 80 wingers would be crammed in with 4 or 5 locals.

Leftfield suggestion worth trying outwith Leith – The Jinglin Geordie which is down a wee close off Market Street at the back of the station – a bit of room and cheapish.

Hope that helps sorry I probably won’t be there but I’ve just plotted out a wee pub crawl for you.

CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
Brilliant! I’d forgotten about the footballer celebrations (so true) and the all-in cricket (it’s day will come). Not the Fish Slapping dance though, which is iconic. Cheers Brian. 😀

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

If you’re in here… Apparently, my posts on Scot2Scot NE are moderated because I swear! Where DO you get your moderators?

I think I will probably withdraw from the page, next time I log into Facebook.

CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
Sorry to hear you can’t make it tomorrow.

Thanks for the suggestions. Here’s me suggesting I’ll get something organised and I haven’t be out on the town in years (£4.75 a pint). Ouch.

Ian Brotherhood

£4.75 for a pint?

That’s a straightforward two-fingered salute to anyone who has more sense than dosh.

I knew a guy, ooh, twenty years ago, who went to the Bahamas for a mate’s wedding. It was in a top-rated hotel etc, best of gear everywhere.

The friend was a smoker of roll-ups. (He couldn’t/wouldn’t smoke filter-tipped fags.) He’d bought a stack of rolling baccy on the way in, more than enough to see him through the ten days, and have a stack to take home.

Unfortunately, the Duty-Free didn’t sell fag papers. In the resort’s only shop he was charged a fiver for a packet of Rizzla.

Strange, but true.

Ian Brotherhood

Fuck it, I’m dancing with myself, and that’s okay…

MARRS – ‘Pump Up The Volume’ –

Paula Rose

Somewhat breathless from whizzing about – sorry BDTT honey – yes she is, and where is another lovely orcadian in my neck of the woods? Anyway got to fly – bye for now.

Tam Jardine

Ian B

Same pub sells Vitamin T but even though it’s less, I just canny pay £4 or whatever for a pint of tennents!

Minimum pricing for alcohol? Maximum pricing has an egalitarian feel to it

Brian Doonthetoon

AH, Paula rose. You are bereft of knowledge of the Orcadian in your midst?

I will tell all the next time we have a session…

Hi Ian B.

Is this not more up your closie? C’mon the Whitley Bay Social Club!

Brian Doonthetoon

And, Ian B, it was a travesty that “Ding Dong” didn’t win Eurovision, after the sterling work that ‘Star Turn’ put in.

Who else would DARE to go up a key, half way through a verse or chorus?

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=Icd0A0FkSUE

Brian Doonthetoon

OK, messed up the link. Here it is without the spurious slash.

Jock Scot

Tam J

Cheers mate..we may be away for a while wi’ that..hopefully one of us can stay as a responsible adult

Will keep everyone posted with our findings

Take care and have fun everyone and hopefully we will see as many folk as possible in Edinburgh very soon
G’night

Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Okay, I’ve had a few, but please, tell me – that last one?Is it a Peter Kay job?

It can’t be real.

Please, by all the Gods, tell me it isn’t real…

‘Fadeybooandarowdayboo,ya!’

Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Maximum pricing?

Kin right.

Seasoned imbibers can swiftly calculate how much bang they’re getting for their buck.

That’s why any attempt to ‘deter’ this or that segment of the population from drinking such or other drink is utterly ludicrous.

Stick 10% extra on ‘strong ciders’???

‘Sorry guys, ah canny come doon the park the night for a swally. A three-litre ay ‘Tesdo’s Ain’ wis £3.50 last week, but it’s £3.85 noo, so ah’m oot. See ye’s later eh?’

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

It well predates peter Kay, but may have been an influence. I’ve been a fan on ‘Star Turn’ since the first single, which you can hear here (applause not allowed):-

In the 80s, I worked as a service engineer for a local company whose area was all Scotland and a wee bit of the north of England. Onnyhoo, one of my trips involved visiting North Shields and, before I headed back up the A1, I took a wee diversion to visit Whitley Bay. It struck me as a tad dismal (windy and raining) but didn’t put me off the Whitley Bay Social Club’s most famous son.

You can check out more output of ‘Star Turn’ here:-

link to youtube.com“Star+Turn”

Prepare to be overcome…

Brian Doonthetoon

Och! That last link. It just takes you to YouTube’s search page. You’ll have to type

“Star Turn”

(with quotes) into the search box.

CameronB Brodie

Sorry to get all serious but I’ve not only remembered I had a crisis in my belief in the positive potential of urban and regional planning, I’ve also remembered why. You might have guessed I’ve been leading up to this point. 🙂

I felt that despite 3/4 of a century of planning theory and practice, the weasels still had it down. Also, just how limited the potential is in UKOK plc land to affect meaningful improvement to a broken society. Perhaps that’s why I didn’t get along with my predominantly Fabian (i.e. One Nation British nationalist) profession. I was also discovering the concept of umwelt and new leading-edge sciences that were indicating just how unsophisticated our attempts to nurture the human condition have been, so far.

Biosemiotics is dedicated to building a bridge between biology, philosophy, linguistics and the communication sciences. If it is true that biosemiotics is “the study of signs, of communication and of information in living organisms” (Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 1997, p. 72), it is also true that, in time, it has acquired a more general scope. Today, its main challenge is the attempt to naturalize biological meaning, in the belief that signs are fundamental, constitutive components of the living world. Biosemiotics has triggered revision of fundamentals of both biology and semiotics: biology needs to recognize the semiotic nature of life and reformulate its theories accordingly, and semiotics has to accept the existence of signs in animals, plants, and even individual cells. Biosemiotics has become in this way the leading edge of the research on the fundamentals of life, and is a young exciting field on the move.

By providing both a place for – and access to – exceptional peer-reviewed papers on the emerging discipline of biosemiotics, the journal will offer an instrument of its development by publishing papers in all relevant areas of the natural sciences and the humanities. In particular, the journal is focused on publishing original papers that explore deep links between biology and semiotics. Special issues are dedicated to some of the most interesting and provoking ideas in biosemiotics. In addition, the journal helps the readers to navigate in the current literature by publishing subject reviews and book

link to link.springer.com

Jings, way past bedtime. Do me a favour and leave an indication of your direction of travel when you carry on from the gallery, someone. Anyone. 🙂

P.S. I think Patrick Geddes also had it down. 😉

cearc

‘ the belief that signs are fundamental, constitutive components of the living world. ‘

Sssh! Don’t tell them or they won’t let us have control over our road signs!

CameronB Brodie

cearc
That’s the plan, then even the hard No voters will surely see the error in their choice. Cunning, no? 🙂

CameronB Brodie

@ ‘The Scouting Team’
Sorry for the no-show. I’m sure you managed fine without me though. 😉

hevvabeccywoss

Hi everyone, I’m not sure if any of you have seen this already but I wanted to share with you details from an advert I saw yesterday.

It’s your chance to have your say direct to the BBC

The BBC have put out an advert stating that every ten years they look to re-evaluate and review their programming, productions, coverage etc and they have asked us to comment.

I know, I wonder if they have really thought about it. Do they realise what they have done or are they still delusional and don’t realise what they are in for.

Anyway please fell free to be completely open and honest with them. You can contact them in the follow ways:
Call: 0800 0680 116

Have fun troops ????

hevvabeccywoss

Hi again,

There is something else I wanted to share with you. Some of you may have heard about a new initiative from the Scottish Government called U.lab. It’s a programme which has been adopted from the M.I.T (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) that was created by Otto Scharmer. The purpose behind U.Lab is transforming business, society & self. Essentially what you learn on the course can be used to transform any area that is of interest to you.

Gillian_Ruglonian and I attended a 2 hour introduction to u.lab yesterday not knowing exactly what it was but feeling it had the potential to give us, the ordinary man/ woman on the street, the ability to influence government. We were extremely impressed with what we found. This course originally cost people to attend. It is now free. It is open to anyone who wants to attend and it takes about 3 hours a week over the course of 8 weeks. It’s available all over the world but one country has additional content and that country is Scotland which is great.

Anyway, it’s difficult to explain and do it justice. I have pasted below the content of the email I received from the course. This contains links to information videos and eventbrite tickets (I have edited the links as required for this site. I apologise if that doesn’t work but you should be able to use the details available anyway).

Have a look and if you like it sign up.

Thanks

As promised, here is a link to a short 3 minute video which explains step by step how to sign up as a participant in U.Lab

and here is the link to the actual U.Lab sign up page on the EDx website
link to edx.org

Here is the booking link to the U.Lab Scotland preparatory event on 1 September which I mentioned to you.
ulabscotland1sep2015hubhostsprep.eventbrite.co.uk The event is partly aimed at people who are considering running U.Lab Hubs but it’s open to anyone interested and would also provide an introduction to U.Lab for anyone who was new to U.Lab. We will be joined by Otto Scharmer and his team from MIT at the event, so it will also be an opportunity to hear from them.

If you’d like to share with colleagues or stakeholders any of the links above or any of the videos I used this morning please feel free. Here is the 3 minute introductory video to the global U.Lab programme by Otto Scharmer
And here is a 3 minute video summary of the 1 June Scotland-wide stakeholder event

which I didn’t show today, and a longer (11.5 minute) summary of the 3 July event
t.co/crKn18pyzY

Finally, some of you asked me after the event to clarify some points:

this run of U.Lab is not a one-off. It will happen again next year, so this isn’t now or never. You might therefore want to participate yourself this time, before doing something more ambitious with a wider group next time;

you don’t need to know what issue or question you want to work with before you start U.Lab. The U.Lab process itself helps you to work out what you want to put your energy into.

With best wishes, and thanks again for participating today. Hope to see you again as U.Lab Scotland participants!

Ian Brotherhood

Time for some funky protest music!

The Neville Brothers, ‘Fly Like An Eagle’ –

CameronB Brodie

hevvabeccywoss
The U Theory blurb appears to be in-step with the approach of Patrick Geddes, who some consider to be the grandfather of ‘Green’. Thanks for the head’s-up.

CameronB Brodie

I you insist Ian. 😉

Maceo & The Macks – Cross The Tracks

hevvabeccywoss

CameronB Brodie

No problem. I thought my post was a bit long but I wanted to give people the opportunity to look into it.

We were really impressed with how it went. I’m looking forward to going through the training.

Independence Live

Hi folks
I need a WoS night out. Anything happening?

KG

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronBB and ‘Hevva’.

CBB has mentioned Patrick Geddes a couple of times recently. Did you know, that in 1879, he discovered chlorophyll?

You may find these links of interest:-

link to dundee.ac.uk

If you want to explore further, try this:-

link to tinyurl.com

Paula Rose

KG honey – we’ll let you know, you missed the last one and I did my snake dance on the supposition that you would be there. All that effort to raise money for you and you let down your audience.

CameronB Brodie

There’s a shed load of other interesting looking links to explore, as well. I’ve had other interest for the last wee while, so had missed this completely.

Thanks again hevvabeccywoss.

link to ottoscharmer.com

It’s great being unplugged. 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Independence Live.

You’re not dipping into this page every day, iye?

TWO get-togethers are currently in the planning stages – Embra in September and ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3’ on either 24th or 31st October, depending on Winger preference.

Read the posts from my post at the link below.

link to wingsoverscotland.com

CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
As a student of urban and regional planning theory and practice, Patrick Geddes is my ‘Brother Number One’. 😉

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB (9.56) –

🙂 Nice one.

Here’s another one that appears in the same ‘People’ collection.

Lyn Collins, ‘Rock Me Again And Again’ –

Ian Brotherhood

@Indy-Live/ KevG –

Hot tip – the snake Paula ’employed’ for her routine is still attending counselling, but could be a fruitful subject for discussion/interview.

Paula Rose

I am still comforting my snake – she was promised prime time exposure on livestream, prepared herself for national fame and what happened – no fucking media, (have another mouse dear) I’m withdrawing my offer to livestream of an interview and associated tit bits. Harrumph. My people are now finalising i dotting and t crossing with i-scot.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Please console yourself with the fact that I have another hot tip – but it’s for your ears only. (No anagram intended…)

Paula Rose

And as for you Ian Bloodybrotherhood my lovely snake was clutching her autograph book to her bosom all the way from Brechin in anticipation of your monogram – she is now inconsolable.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

🙁

I can’t properly apologise to ‘her’ unless I know her name.

Which is?

Paula Rose

Melody

Michael McCabe

The great Nina Simone. link to youtube.com

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Please convey my best wishes to Melody. I hope she will accept my apology.

If I ever get the opportunity to meet her I will bring a mouse (‘Lubilu’ is a family pet – we’ve had him for three years) by way of a peace offering.

CameronB Brodie

Here’s another you might like Ian. Fundamentalist fun for cybernat insurgents. 😉

You might want to let it run on to the next part, as its a pretty good documentary, IMO anyway.

The New James Brown Band and The Birth of Bootsy

CameronB Brodie

Oops, it was a different link for the second part, which I’ve now lost. Here’s another.

Soul Deep – James Brown [+Bootsy Collins] (Part 2)

Brian Doonthetoon

C’mon peeps.

We’re trying to organise here but only Paula Rose has offered feedback. ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3′ – 24th or 31st October?

And, there’s been no feedback on the Embra pub crawl today. Fit’s thah’ aboot, an’ thah’?

CamernoB Brodie

I got myself in a right mess there. Sort it out yourselves. 🙂

Stoker

“a shockingly out of date and unrepresentative institution”
link to archive.is

No shit, Sherlock!

cearc

BDtt,

The 31st.seems more appropriate for the Wings coven!

Jock Scot

Report from the Embra scoutin’ mission..oh ma heid hurts!

Only joking..Still looking for somewhere with a function suite if Wings entertainment is required as @Helensburgh. Failing that, the Alexander Graham Bell on the west side of George Street seems the cheapest/most suitable for a pub take over..prices as per the Counting House..everywhere else is about £4/pint. Manager at AGB says we are fine to take over. The pub has a quick turn over so if we can get a few table with bums on seats we can spread out from there..Paula..don’t even go there. The festival ends on the 31st so first or second weekend in Sept may be a good idea.Nice to meet Michael McCabe and a fleeting TJenny.

CameronB Brodie

It is now the post meridian of the day after the day before and still no report from Edinbra. I think we can assume sare heeds aw ’round. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Refresh before posting. Doh!

ronnie anderson

C mon Guys N Gals Embra Frid 25th or Sat 26th Sept Alexander Graham Bell (witherspoons),ground work done M Mc Cabe ,J Scot,& me have dided the ground work. Handy for both Bus & Train.

Its over to You,s now . BrianDTT is waiting to get Invergowrie date sorted. Fingers oot People (nae comment fae you Paula Rose lol).

CameronB Brodie

Thanks Ronnie, Michael, Jock and TJenny, sounds good. I’m easy with the dates.

On the subjects of political landscapes, evolution, continuity and empty cupboards, I thought this would be a perfect base to edit in samples, loops and scratches of that iconic question once uttered by some BBC Labour in Scotland wifey:

What are we going to do?

The JB’s – Pass The Peas

Cactus

Aye aye all, pencil me in for September gig in the capital.

Here’s a thought provoking video a friend introduced me to, if you’ve got 82 mins to hand.

Kymatica (Full length)

Conan_the_Librarian

I’m up for it. As long as Ronnie gies me a lift hame…

Ian Brotherhood

This was just played on RS’s ‘Pipeline’. Never heard it before. Good stirring stuff:

Blair Douglas, ‘Neslon Mandela’s Welcome To The City Of Glasgow’ –

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

I hadn’t put two and two together to realise the 31st was Halloween! So, there’s two ways of looking at it: we have it on the 31st because it IS Halloween or, we have it on the 24th to avoid Halloween and the possibility that Wingers may have other Halloween plans.

I’m easy either way but if Embra’s on the 24th/25th September, it may be better making Invergowrie on the 31st, to give a decent interval between them.

———————————————

Hi Ronnie.

I’d suggest the Saturday, for the benefit of people who have to work on a Friday and have a mad flee and a possible 2+ hours journey to get to Embra from wherever.

Saturday makes it a more relaxed day out.

ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT am the wan that gets confuddled, its either the 25th or 26th for Edinburgh.

@Conan the Librarian Getting early are we. Whinch it in,Im havin to many late nights/mornings ( 3am from Maryhill gig this morning). Me & Bob dont think could stand anither trip roon Scotland in the gloom.

Brian Doonthetoon

And…

Gently changing the subject in ‘off-topic’.

I’ve had “Casino Royale” on tonight – it’s still on as I type this – and, as the Hispanic character in ‘Family Guy’ is apt to utter, “No, no, no.”

The ORIGINAL “Casino Royale” beats it hands down. I must explain that when I watch a ‘fillum’, primarily, I want to be entertained. I have watched the original at least half a dozen times since its first release and it still entertains me. Even the theme tune is more entertaining!

The ‘recent’ remake takes things far too seriously! You can watch the trailer for the original (which refers back to the first James Bond, Barry Nelson, a US TV production in the 50s) at this link:-

And, if your appetite is whetted by the trailer, you can watch the full movie here:-

BTW: the YouTube upload of the full film is speeded up a wee bit, to get round the YouTube automated copyright police so, if you can use one of the downloader plugins to save it to your machine, on playback, you’ll be able to slow it down a tad, to make it ‘natural’.

Gillian_Ruglonian

Just my 2p’s worth regarding the planning of the get-togethers,

I say definitely go for Halloween 😉

I’d suggest meeting in Edinburgh on the Saturday for the reason Brian suggested, also we’re having a do in Rutherglen on Friday 18th Sept so it’d be good not to have to rush around two Fridays in a row!!

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to the Broonasaurus.

My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult – These Remains

CameronB Brodie

Here’s another going out to the Broonasaurus.

Faith No More – King for a Day

CameronB Brodie

Last one going out to the Broonasaurus.

WARNING: probably not suitable for epileptics.

Sonic Youth – Disappearer

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to last year’s ill-served victims of the Broonasaurus, who are perhaps beginning to wake up to the hollowness of the mans’ words.

Sonic Youth – ‘Cross the Breeze

Jim Thomson

Folks, I have a domain name coming up for renewal in a month. Never been used, so, a blank canvas if anyone wants it. Let me know and I’ll agree a transfer.

Maybe kendo would be interested?

domain is http://freepress.scot

kendomacaroonbar

@Jim Thomson

Thanks Jim, but not for me I’m afraid. 🙂

Stoker
CameronB Brodie

I hope you don’t mind me sharing, hashtaggnweaslepeckr. 😉

CameronB Brodie

I hope you don’t mind me sharing, hashtaggnweaslepeckr. 😉

Ryan Reynolds and Elijah Wood – Threw It On The Ground

Stoker

My 9.42pm was dedicated to Jim & Betty but somehow the words have been removed? Oh, well, feck it, this is to myself!

chipmonkey

Hello folks. Stranger here. I’ve been more or less missing even from the back row seat on off topic for a couple of months. More active than ever though,mainly from getting involved locally with the SNP. They haven’t thrown me out for asking too many questions yet… 🙂 Locally I hope we’re making it seem normal and visible for people to be pro-independence in every day life,and more approachable in the hope that it seeps in to normal culture more. As a sensible idea.
Still a winger of course and regularly catching up with main streams… usually after everthings been said which needs to be said. I’ll keep an eye out in case qq and I can make a get together soon. Hope so 🙂

Stoker

Darts – Duke of Earl

CameronB Brodie

Given the shallowness of the BBC Labour in Scotland’s shrinking talent pool, it may become increasingly difficult for them to continue their conversation with themselves.

Hello

Stoker

Racey – Some Girls (dedicated to Yvonne McCutcheon)
(Who bought me my first pair of Waffles)
X

Stoker

And this one is dedicated to Hazel Cranston of Ardrossan.
X

Stoker

And this one is dedicated to Joanne McMail of Ardrossan
X

Stoker

And, finally, this is for all the old mates at Saltcoats slaughterhouse (1980s) and a special mention to Scottish Boxer Archie Salmon who gave me my first job in Saltcoats Abattoir.

Stoker

Remember the fun we had when we worked at Bathgate slaughterhouse.
Franny, fae Pennyburn, this one is dedicated to you pal.
And as i’ve always said, this is THE best Celtic side EVER, so good you couldn’t even fit King Kenny in to it. You will NEVER see a Celtic team as good as this, not even yer Lisbon Lions. 😉
For you Franny.

Stoker

From my childhood down south – Matchbox – Rockabilly Rebel:

Stoker

Meanwhile, my favourite Matchbox – Midnight Dynamos:

Michael McCabe

@ Stoker 11:43pm Thanks for the Memories. Cheers.

Paula Rose

Best rockabilly band ever – Levi and the Rockats

Brian Doonthetoon

Rockabilly? That’s for pussies!

Now, Psychobilly – that’s the stuff!

OK, here’s rockabilly…

Paula Rose

Naughty Beedeeteetee – now you’ve got me started…

Paula Rose

This is very apposite…

Brian Doonthetoon

Ah well, PR, sticking with The Cramps but going back to the ‘pussy’ theme…

And then back to classic psychobilly – spot the kilt!

CameronB Brodie

Can I play?

Bill Allen – Please Give Me Something

Paula Rose

Gosh – I did get a bit carried away with my clippers I must admit.

CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
Thanks Paula. I wanted to play Bikini Girls months back but didn’t think it would be gentlemanly of me. 🙂

Stoker

you’re welcome Michael, i was getting sidetracked and watching some of the old footage. 😉

Thanks, Paula, never heard them before.

CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose 😉

Leon James & the Rhythm Rockers – Thinkin’ About You

Stoker

Brian (12.40am).
That Rockabilly link, about 38-seconds in, is that what you call a spitoon?

Stoker

Proclaimers – I’m on my way

CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
You set my soul on fire. 🙂

The Phantom – Love Me

Stoker

And another from a group that reminds me of good times in Inverness.
I know they are Hibees but they remind me of special times.
And i like them, soooper! 🙂

Stoker

Scooter – Jumping All Over The World

Stoker

Primal Scream – Country Girl

Stoker

The Benn Sisters – The Earring Song

Goodnight, folks.

Thepnr

Aboot time you went to bed! 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker (1.47am).

I guess it is a spittoon. Similar objects appear throughout the clip.

spittoon |spi?to?n|
noun
a metal or earthenware pot typically having a funnel-shaped top, used for spitting into.

Stoker

@ Thepnr.
Chance would be a fine thing mate.
Even sleeping tablets are garbage, they only put me out but don’t bloody-well keep me out for any longer than an hour or two.

@ Bdtt.
Aye, thought so, cheers!

Stoker

Alice Deejay – Back In My Life

CameronB Brodie

S01:E04 – English Socialism For Beginners

CameronB Brodie

There’s always going to be one that has to do it their way.

MR.TAPE – Revoxlution

jackie g

Hi All,

a wee remider for everyone of this event.

link to word-power.co.uk

Betty Boop

@ Stoker

Ta for your dedicated 9:42pm and later 10:15pm on 17/8/15! Showaddywaddy had me dancin’ roon the room. Terrible sight!

BTW, do you never sleep?

@ Bdtt & Ronnie

I’ve not been keeping up recently – trying to get the garden sorted after too much politics and no’ enough digging. So, apologies if I ask questions which have already been answered elsewhere.

Embra – 26th September, but, no venue confirmed?

Glorious Invergowrie – 31st October in the usual howf?

Whatever, we is up for it!!!

@ Chipmonkey

Will email you. 🙂

Paula Rose

Darlings I have a cunning stunt – there’s a conference coming up and it is possible to book stalls, shall we?

scottishgreens.org.uk/conference2015/ Info here also for booking stalls etc.

Stoker

@ Betty Boop.
Rarely, Betty, think i’ve been cursed once or twice.
Plenty of time for sleep when am deed.
_____

From the main thread – Re Michael Kelly:
David S. Briggs wrote:
“@Stoker
‘Scotland’s largest and most successful football club’.
I wasn’t aware he had anything to do with Rangers FC?”

And what do you base your assertion on?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

As far as I know from Ronnie, it’s looking like the Alexander Graham Bell in George Street for Embra – on the 26th September.

I’m leaning towards Halloween for the Invergowrie event.

Jim Thomson

Dammit – apologies to our Stuart – Left in the http plus www thingies.

So, once again, … apologies only for the bad miming

X_Sticks

@Jackie g

“a wee remider for everyone of this event.

link to word-power.co.uk

You’ve made me feel guilty now! I have tickets for the Thomas Muir Memorial Lecture with Alex and I hadn’t posted it to the troops. I have a suspicion that it could be rather good 🙂

Sorry for not letting everyone know before. My bad 🙁

Paula Rose

I just love it when X_Sticks trembles and shakes, poor love realises that sweet moi has read what he has to say.

Whipping time is very close dearest.

X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

Should say I will be aiming to make one or both nights if at all possible 😉

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya I’m looking for some info for a friend, so before I start researching myself I thought I’d put the call out here.

The first topic is the TV licence: I’d like to give a complete run-down of the situation i.e. the legal opt outs and the reassurance that nothing can be done in pursuit of fee.
I don’t know if anyone has compiled a factsheet on this, but if they haven’t then I will, so send me the best links and stuff.

Second is a quite a bit more complex: The situation is migration and where to go for advice on the correct route to pursue permanent residency/citizenship. My first thought is her MP, but I think she needs a good source of information to digest before seeking what kind of assistance is available.

Any pointers you have folks will be most appreciated.

(been loving all the music links recently, keep up the good work x )

Fiona

TV license is very simple. Don’t watch TV live: don’t pay license fee

You will get several letters a year, with different degrees of menace, all of which should go in the bin

Occasionally you will get a visit from Capita staff. It is best to be polite, because I ranted at one in sheer frustration and finally asked him why he was trying to harass me: he said “because I have a crap job”. Which is true. So be polite and refuse entry. They have no right to any information and no right to enter. In my experience they go quite quietly and it is back to the letters.

Stoker

@ Gillian_Ruglonian.

Hi Gillian,
There are many sites out there offering varying degrees of similar info and there are quite a good few Youtube videos also.

There are no “fact sheets” available as far as i know but that would be a very good idea to produce one. More power to you!

Here are one or two facts, to help with your fact sheet, you may not already know but bear in mind, as with any rules, they can change overnight unannounced:

(1):You only need a TV Licence if you watch tv programmes as they are being shown – do not confuse this as only meaning watching live events/programmes etc because it includes ALL programming (including pre-recorded soaps etc).

(2):You do not need a TV Licence to own a tv, play games, watch Netflix (or similar suppliers), watch i-player (although they are trying to change that rule) or to use your tv for computer purposes etc etc.

(3):You currently do not need to divulge or confirm ANY personal information to the BBC or their agents (currently Capita). Every Capita agent gets a fee from every address he/she gets info from, that’s how they earn their money.

(4):All you need do if they ever come to your door is to answer the door, establish who they are, tell them nothing about yourself, state clearly and politely that you do not require a tv licence and close the door.

(5):You can also contact them by calling them and once again you can confirm or divulge as little as you feel comfortable with. Tell them you want them to register your address as not needing a TV Licence and no matter how hard they try to tell you otherwise and get you to part with private details, you are legally under no obligation to do so. If you feel exceptionally mischievous you can always tell them your name is MR or MRS.P.Occupier (present occupier) as i and many others have done.

(6):When they have registered your address as not requiring a licence you then tell them that you want to remove their “Implied rights of access” – this prevents them from even approaching your property. They are legally bound to add your address to the list of “no go” properties. Some people dispute, without any evidence, that this law does not apply to Scotland but all i can say is that i and many other Scotland residents have successfully taken this route.

(7):Once you have notified TV Licencing that you do not require a licence etc you will receive a confirmation letter stating that this will last for a period of 2-years etc. Then you will need to repeat the process.

Different folks prefer different approaches but i would recommend the polite but firm doorstep approach because if you show the slightest signs of anger i would not put it passed these Capita clowns to embellish the reality just to return with a police officer and the Court paperwork to enter your house and go through your home etc.

As i said, Gillian, there is a wealth of good info out there and someone creating an easy to read fact sheet is a very good idea, especially for a lot of elderly who are easily frightened and intimidated.

There, i’ve just broken one of my own rules for you, i’ve compiled a post which requires scrolling down to read.
Hope you’re happy! I’m away for a lie-down in a darkened room.

Stoker

That previous post should have read:

“..i would not put it past…”(not passed)

Rolls eyes, tuts and shakes head!

CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
I think it’s time I set my cards on the table.

Sid King & The Five Strings – Let ‘Er Roll

CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
Please forgive me. 😉

The Original Diamonds – Little Darlin’

ronnie anderson

EDINBURGH Wingers nite out 26th SEPT Alexander Graham Bell (Witherspoons) West George St.Make a day/nite of it. Anti Fracking Protest Rally is on the 26th.

Get your names down for Badges.

Paula Rose

Practise sleeping on floors now – my chauffeur will need a sofa and I require absolute luxury.

ronnie anderson

Futons are us delivered to any bench on Princess St, jist pick wan.

Tam Jardine

ronnie anderson

Great Ronnie- I’ll be there.

Betty Boop

Penthouse booked, ready for Embra on 26th September!

If anyone is looking for accommodation, there isn’t much about that won’t cost you a mortgage or isn’t a very long walk. If folks are happy sharing, there is a Code Hostel quite near but not much left for that date.

See y’all.

@ Bdtt, @ Ronnie

Are we doing the Embra list over on quarantine?

Jim Thomson

And, to add to the fun, if you want to use the Q-Park at the Omni, the discount code (10%) until end Sept is SY10CT (that’s a “ten” in the middle) if you pre-book on-line link to q-park.co.uk

Mind and pick the right city though 😉

Paula Rose

Ho hum twiddles thumbs.

Paula Rose

Shall I play a tune or two to while away the time?

Paula Rose

Yippee lt’s have some old faves…

Its Stan and Ollie boys and girls!

Paula Rose

“It’s” silly me should be “let’s” – giggle.

Paula Rose

Oh why not – why I fell for Rev Stu’s son…

Paula Rose

Hankie time…

Paula Rose

Ah heaven…

Paula Rose

Feel this!!!

Paula Rose

Here’s me in an early vid doing some shaking!!!

Paula Rose

Oh giggle – total vice…

Paula Rose

Oops c’est moi!

Paula Rose

Total swoon time…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

I’ve got something for you. “The Visitors” were a Dundee band in the late 70s, who had evolved from “Exhibition” Exhibition reformed in 2009. You can find their 2009 stuff here:-

Onnyhoo, to go back to “The Visitors”. This track was the B side of a single released in 1977. Depending on how your web browser is configured, you may have to download first, before you listen to the mp3 file.

Do you detect any influence in the keyboard work?

link to sites.google.com

I’ll upload the A side in a wee while, for a style comparison between the A and B sides.

Stoker

James Blunt – Wisemen

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Here’s the A side. It’s called “No Compromise”.

link to sites.google.com

Paula Rose

@ Beedeeteetee – whatever – *lies back sips cocktail and strokes head of slave pampering moi*

Stoker

Jason Mraz – I’m Yours

kendomacaroonbar

Hi Paula Rose,

If you can mail me at ken@iscot.scot I’ll forward your centrefold pics. You can upload them here and see if your milk brings the boys to your yard.

Stoker

Bryan Adams & Mel C – When You’re Gone

Stoker

Puff Daddy & Faith Evans – I’ll Be Missing You

Paula Rose

Omg – the centre fold for the next edition of i-scot has arrived!

You won’t see it unless you fund this –

link to indiegogo.com

First pics of me ever on the interwebby.

Stoker

4 Non Blondes – What’s Up

Paula Rose

Does it work if I do the click V thingie on a mac? First ever pic of me will be revealed – need more funds for i-scot first though.

Stoker

Ultravox – Love’s Great Adventure

Stoker

Iron Maiden – Can I Play With Madness

Have a great and safe weekend everyone.

Michael McCabe

Radar Love

Michael McCabe

Ha Ha Ha More of this kind of thing would be Great. link to youtube.com

X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

If you weren’t so profligate with your stroking I might have been enticed…

but as it is I’ll just have to sign up for iScot because it has such a fabulous centre fold..eh? What did I just say there…

Paula Rose

Think I’ll just leave this here…

link to twitter.com

Thepnr

Paula

You look pretty in pink, should wear it more often.

Come up and see me sometime 🙂

HandandShrimp

Cheers Paula.

I shall opt for one of those packages

ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose you,ll bring the traffic tae a halt when that centrefold goes in the window of the Hub on Easter Rd Emburgh, Fan tastickle.

Paula Rose

Ronnie honey – I just lay there and dreamt of you whilst kendomacaroon’s team ran about doing things.

Quinie frae Angus

Hello Wingers, hope you’re all well. When are the next Wingy nichts oot?

Croompenstein

I’ve got the aerial held high calling come on thunder, come on thunder…

CameronB Brodie

I wonder what the Establishment politicians and their media will say about Mt. Corbyn today. Whatever, I’m sure there will be a lot of twisting going on. 😉

The Dee-Jays – Sunday Patrol

CameronB Brodie

Watching Labour tearing itself apart does have a certain nostalgia to it.

Billy Quarles – Bringing up what I’ve done wrong

CameronB Brodie

As it’s Sunday. 🙂

Andre Williams – The Monkey Speaks His Mind

CameronB Brodie

Re. the Spectator article that has amused/bemused the First Minister.

The Avengers – Be A Caveman

Just in case in wasn’t a spoof, hey.

Brian Doonthetoon

OK, ‘hands up’ time.

I got my dates wrong for the Invergowrie get-together. I’d actually provisionally booked the 17th & 24th October, not the 24th & 31st.

I’ve just phoned Jenny the manager and, unfortunately, the 31st has been booked for a birthday party since earlier in the year. She’s had an enquiry about the 17th so, to be fair, we should go for the 24th October, from 7ish onwards.

Remember, tables for meals can be booked up to 7pm and an early booking is recommended. We’re gonna have the ‘dance floor’ area for WOS, so eating Wingers will all be in the same area at the start of the night.

Remember to mention that you’re for the Wings Over Scotland get-together when booking your seats.

Sorry for the wrong date previously.

——————————————–

Also, there will be a pro-independence rally/event in Dundee’s City Square on Sunday, 4th October, in the afternoon, with bands, pro-independence spakers and so on. A bit like the rally on 9th May, I guess.

I’ll give more details on the 4th and 24th as things are firmed up.

ronnie anderson

@ Qunie fae Angus Edinburgh Wings nite out 26th Sept Alexander Graham Bell West George St.

See BrianDTT,s Invergowrie date change 24th Oct.

Big Hiya tae ye Quinnie.

Quinie frae Angus

Thanks Ronnie and Brian DTT

I’ll try and make one or both of these!

Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon Any chance of a Have we Met Badge for the Edinburgh Shindig ? Cheers in Anticipation.

jackie g

Hello all,

Hope this works tried to post earlier and it disappeared?

Regarding Wings night oot in Edin on the 26th, i would love to come along, live in Midlothian is there anyone else from that area going along.

Socrates MacSporran

Just watched Greg Rutherford join the athletics immortals, by adding the World title to his Olympic, European and Commonwealth titles, then waving the Union Flag in celebration.

Unfortunately, like so many British winners, he held the flag upside down. If the “Butcher’s Apron” is such a terrific symbol, how come so many British winners don’t know the correct way to hold it? Bloody annoying.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Michael McCabe.

Since the first ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ last year, we’ve been doing personalised ‘Wings Over…’ badges for the get-togethers.

You can see an example here:-

comment image

So if you’re going to Wings Over Edinburgh on 26th September and/or Wings Over Invergowrie on 24th October and want your name on a badge as a souvenir of the night, let me know in Quarantine (link at the foot of this page) so I can keep a couple of lists.

paulTgeist

From the Revs Twitter feed – Geo the Ger tweeted:

“Anti-UK SNP now has 110k membership. Take away their loyal Catholic support, and the vile, pro-Irish republican and racist element…zilch!”

Now, folks, how’s that for sheer bone-headed ignorance!
To think that we still have a substantial number of like minded half-wits polluting our country with that sort of hatred in this 21st Century. And for clarity let me just make one thing crystal clear to the likes of “Geo the Ger” – your former club went to the wall because it had numerous like minded followers. Too thick to see the reality due to being blinded by pure hatred.
What an absolute turd!

David

(Based on “American Pie” by Don McLean, and inspired by Thursday, 7th May, 2015 – the day Scottish Labour died.)

“Jackie Baillie’s Pie”

Verse 1
A long long time ago
I can still remember how Labour’s policies used to
make me smile.
And I knew if I had my chance
That I could get those chancers tae France
And maybe they’d be humble for a while.
But February made me shiver
With the election leaflets I’d deliver
Bad news on the doorstep
I couldn’t take one more step.
I can’t remember if I cried
When I read about Murphy’s egg-wounded pride
But something touched me deep inside
The day Scottish Labour died.

(Chorus)
So, bye-bye, Jackie Baillie’s pie
Bought a bevvy, paid my levy
To the union guy
And them cooncilors were beginnin’ to cry
Singin’ this’ll be the day Labour die.

Verse 2
Did you rewrite Clause 4, my love
And do you have faith in Blairite stuff
If McTernan tells you so.
Do you believe in Ashcroft’s poll
Can triangulation save your Party’s soul
And can you teach me how to dance real slow.
Well I know that Ruth’s in love with Jim
‘Cause I saw her adjusting the tie on him
You both kicked off your campaigns
Man, I dig when Kaye’s callers complain.
I was a cereal-eating broncin’ buck
With a pink battlebus from yon Harmon schmuck
But I knew I was out of luck
I started singin’

(Chorus)

Verse 3
Now for ten weeks Ian Murray’s been on his own
And stickers grow fast on his Morningside throne
But that’s not how it used to be.
When Jester Smart tweets for the King and Queen
In language he borrowed from Effie Deans
In a voice that defames both you and me.
Oh, and while Historywoman was looking down
There was an INTERVENTION from Gordon Brown.
Janner’s courtcase was adjourned
No verdict was returned.
And while Kezia read a book on Marx
Gordon Matheson ‘practised’ in a car park
And Sarah Smith sang dirges after dark
We were singin’

(Chorus)
Bye-bye, Jackie Baillie’s pie
To the union guy

Verse 4
Helter Skelter the summer was a belter
Labour flew wi’ the crows so we gave them pelters
Their expectations high but falling fast,
Murphy landed foul upon his arse
The cheaters tried for a postal vote smash
With Lord Foulkes on the sidelines, out of his class.
Now the halftime air was sweet perfume
While we queued for hot Bovril and a Macaroon.
We all got up to dance
Oh but we never got the chance.
‘Cause the SNP tried to have Scotland healed
The Red Flag band refused to yield
Hothersall’s weak argument was revealed
We started singin’

(Chorus)

Verse 5
Oh, and there we were, 56 MPs in one place
A generation found in cyberspace
With all the time left to start again.
So come on, Kezia be nimble, Kezia be quick
Jim Murphy hit by an egg not a brick
‘Cause BBC bias is Labour’s only friend.
Oh, and as I watched him on his crate
My hands were clenched, I was irate.
No Corbyn going through Hell
Could break that shouty spell.
And as flames climbed high into the night
To light the sacrificial rite
I saw Salmond laughing with delight
He was singing

(Chorus)

Verse 6
I met a Bird who had the BBC blues
And I asked her for some happy news
But Jackie just scowled and girned away.
I went down to the Freedom Square
Where I’d heard the music years before
But the cooncil said only Orange music would play.
And on TV Eleanor Bradford screamed
Nick Robinson lied, and the Daisley dreamed,
But no true word was spoken
The Brown Vows all were broken.
And the three men I admire most
Wee Dougie, Anas, and Kier Hardie’s ghost
They caught the last train ‘cos they were toast

(Chorus)

They were singin’
Bye-bye, Jackie Baillie’s pie
To the union guy

—————————–

The original:

We didn’t leave Scottish Labour, Scottish Labour left us.

X_Sticks

@David

Excellent.

Surely one for Yew Choob there – how about it Jock?

Michael McCabe

@ David Bravo sir. Good Lyrics.

Cactus

So being on off-topic.. thought provoking video.. did you know there are two sides to your brain? (WARNING: Contains real human brain/spinal cord.)

Jill Bolte Taylor’s stroke of insight (on TED)

It could only happen to a Neuroanatomist.

David

…and breathe!…

Just shows what can be done when you have no internet for 6 days, and no tv for 3 days. 🙂

Thanks for the kind words, X_Sticks and Michael McCabe. Yew Choob is kept super busy with their own stuff, and their philosophy is to get people doing their own creative thing. I.e. you write it, you sing it. I save my singing for the shower, so I’ll do peoples’ ears a favour and stick to writing & then posting here.

Yours in cybernattery,

David

CameronB Brodie

Cactus
Thanks for that. Having been faced with needing to adapt to my own life threatening brain damage, I could relate to a lot of what she was saying.

Might the duality of our physical being, create an environment which fosters our prejudices and cognitive dissonance?

Must be what they call a ‘design feature’. Bummer. 😉

CameronB Brodie

I’m afraid I was never a fan of Dire Straights but there was only one track that sprang to mind after watching the latest Moodievision. So, here’s Don Partridge instead. 🙂

This one going out to Dave, Gideon and Monkey Man. Thanks for all your support.

Don Partridge – Sultans Of Swing’ & ‘Walk Of Life

jackie g

Afternoon all,

For anyone interested in Enviromental issues.

Greenpeace have been holding a Music Requiem outside Shell’s offices in London to bring attention to what will happen when Shell start drilling in the Arctic.

link to greenpeace.org.uk

Jim Thomson

Not sure how this will appear (if at all – apologies to Stuart if it screws with his WordPress settings)

There’s a vacancy for a cheffy person in Tayport (NE Fife) if you know of anyone suitable:

Facebook post Wednesday, 26 August 2015

That should link to the fb page for the Bellrock Tavern

Stoker

@ Ronnie Anderson (or anyone else with the capability):

I’m assuming you’ll have his contact details Ronnie but if not sincere apologies.

Can you contact caz-m to let him know about the 3 recent articles on WOS regarding the AMS Electoral System.

I know he’s been busy recently but i have no way of knowing if he’s already seen or is aware of them.

A few weeks ago he was telling me that he wanted to know more about this system so if anyone can give him the heads-up i would appreciate it.

Thank you!

CameronB Brodie

This might not be the most sensitive selection given the current spotlight on Scotland’s drinking culture, but this one goes out to all No voting Suzi Quatro fans.

Pleasure Seekers – What a Way To Die

CameronB Brodie

This first one didn’t make the cut for a main thread earlier but I think it has substance. 😉

This one going out to Ms Dugdale as she leads BBC Labour in Scotland down a new, new path to commencing the conclusion of the debate on how to define what needs to be delivered in policy terms, that real proud Scots aspire to yet which are in accordance with London HQ diktat.

Lindsey Stirling & Josh Groban – Pure Imagination

This one going out to the former Cairngorms National Park Authority employee, who has ascended the greasy pole of British politics at an astonishing rate of knots. He must be some kind of prodigy.

Sir Beaker of Rodentshire – Ode To Joy

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Inspired by your Don Partridge link of a day or two ago…

This is the short dream sequence from the film “UHF”.

frogesque

Any help for SANDS (Stillbirth and Neonatal Death Charity would be welcome.

link to justgiving.com

Molly, Born asleep 14th. August 2015 xx

ronnie anderson

Cmon Wingers not many names for Edinburgh nite out on 26th Sept.

ronnie anderson

@ Stoker sos pal nae contact details for caz-m,dont know if he,s offshore,or Hols.

Paula Rose

Ronnie honey – perhaps someone with authority and gravitas should mention it on a main thread.

ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop yes names on Quarantine for Emburgh.

CameronB Brodie

This going out to all ennobled ‘socialists’.

The Lords of Altamont – “Soul for Sale”

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Everyone. I am putting out mah feelers to find out if there is interest in going to George Square Rally on the 19th September. My initial thoughts are to hire a 16 seat minibus with luxury wooden benches for the oiks but upholstered reclining seats for any i-Scot centrefold models. 🙂

As its just a germ of a notion I have not spoken to those brave Wings banner flyers or those who do Wing’s erections [stalls]. However once all becomes clear I can develop the scope.

Logistically – It would be departing Aberdeen around 7am with pick-ups at various locations on the way to Glasgow and return by that route.

@ Ronnie – Are you planning to have a Wings stall in George Square? Are stalls allowed?

@ Nana – Re one of your messages on main thread, what is your location?

@ Quine frae Angus – Are you still in Fife?

@ heedtracker – Are you in Aberdeen?

@ X-Sticks and Doug Daniel – Are you interested?

So folks its up to you. I will drive minibus and perhaps sing lustily, old mountaineering songs and rude sea shanties. Other music may be available.

Contact me : archiemelrose@yahoo.com

Betty Boop

@ ronnie anderson, 27 Aug, 10:53pm

@ Betty Boop yes names on Quarantine for Emburgh.

Ta, Ronnie. I put my name and JimT’s on Quarantine the day before anyway. That makes approx. three on the list so far!! Just to echo your post:

WINGERS FOR EDINBURGH – NAMES ON QUARANTINE PLEASE!!! Ta

Paula Rose

Upholstered reclining seats – *pricks up ears* and by the way page 90 of the new iscot magazine due out on Tuesday is without doubt delectable – send money in that direction now.

gerry parker

@ Stoker.

Sorry, was out all afternoon.

It seems like the Media people in the SNP are just dafties.

I’ve pointed out at least 3 times to them that posting direct links to the Herald, The BBC, and the Daily Record is just giving these organs credibility. (Oh – look how many hits our website gets)

I’ve explained archive, and I’ve sent them the link and explained the advantages of using it but they’re still doing it as I posted on the last thread.

Perhaps you could weigh in too, and any other wingers who feel the SNP media people are just giving out clickbait.

I’m monitoring the media centre

link to snp.org

and using the contact form to give them feedback

link to snp.org

Thanks in advance.

Any of my comments to their contact Page are now IN CAPITAL LETTERS.

I’ll be considering next starting my comment with ” Dear dafties”

Stoker

@ Gerry Parker.

“Dear dafties” – LOL, good yin! 🙂

No problem, Gerry, i’ll give it a go and hopefully others will also get on their case. I’ll set about it as soon as i get 10 minutes to myself.

Although, i have to add, i doubt we’ll get anywhere because the SNP have to be seen in a certain light and act accordingly, hence Nicola’s recent comments about the BBC – which many of us utterly disagree with, and as strange as it may seem they could end up being lambasted by certain outlets for being petty etc whereas this site and us activists have no such worries. They wouldn’t dare try because we can and will bite back. We are not the government. Hope that makes sense!

However, we will never know unless we give it a go, count me in.

gerry parker

Great stoker, many thanks.

I am gathering up some archived examples of “quality” output from these 3 institutions to point the media centre to, like “the Vow Delivered” by the Daily record.

link to archive.is

or Jacky birds ” So on the 18th September, it’s a choice between independence and Devo-Max then?”

and hope that stirs in them the thought that these organisations do not have the SNP’s interests at heart and should not be supported in any way.

Perhaps it could help augment the knowledge that their HNC in media studies provided them with.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie [not Erchie].

I know there is a bus being organised from Dundee on the 19th so it may be that planning your route to ‘take the pretty way’ may be fruitful, ie down to Stonehaven, then inland to Brechin, Forfar, Alyth, Blairgowrie, Perth, may pick up bums on seats.

Brian Doonthetoon

You know what’s pi$$in’ me off?

For the past year, while peeps were complaining about posts taking ages to appear, I sailed through the problem with no worries.

I hit ‘submit comment’, the page refreshed, and my post appeared within a few seconds – until yesterday. I updated to Firefox 40 and now I have the same ubiquitous problem.

I’ve just done two posts – one on ‘Quarantine’ which has still to appear, and one on ‘off-topic’ which took 4 minutes.

What’s the morning glory?

gerry parker

@ Stoker.

I passed that info on to Caz M.

Stoker

Thanks very much Gerry, great stuff!

ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose ah dont know aboot the Authority ,bit ah hiv the gravitas ah think,if thats they hingin dooon bit then ave goat them.

Paula Rose

@Archie[not Erchie] pretty route is via Brechin – rummaging in wardrobe.

Indigo

I’ll be there on the 19th but will make own way up from Dumfries by train – would be lovely to have a big Wings get together at it

Ian Brotherhood

Just back from seeing ‘Straight Outta Compton’ – inspirational stuff, highly recommended.

Paula Rose

I can honestly say – without the hugs and cuddles from ronnie anderson I wouldn’t be the woman I am, for you sweetest…

Paula Rose

Oh btw page 90 of the next edition of iscot is out of this world.

X_Sticks

@Archie [not Erchie]

Can’t make the Hope Over Fear rally so I won’t be able to join you I’m afraid.

We’ve got tickets for the Alliance thingy in Dundee on the 19th and have a wedding reception in Banchory that evening.

Ian Brotherhood

For purposes of clarity, and general decency, it should be pointed out to those unfamiliar with ronnieandersonspeak that his post at 11.09 (where he mentions ‘they hingin dooon bit’) refers to frayed strands of hairy string-like material at the bottom of his Levis.

Paula Rose

I’m getting concerned about the lack of gravitas and decorum in here -Hard Stare at Ian Brotherhood.

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I never meant to hurt nobody…

After seeing Straight Outta Compton I’m watching too much stuff like this:

Tyrese ft Snoop Dogg, ‘Dumb Shit’ –

Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood you dear boy, I’m arranging a special stroke for you soonest darling – let me calm your fevered brow, sweetest you are all red and angry, relax doll feel the love.

Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello everyone,

I haven’t posted for a wee while (been a bit busy around the house) but rest assured I’ve been keeping an eye on things 😉

Cheers to Fiona and Stoker for the replies regarding the tv tax.
Stoker, I hope you’re fully recovered from that mega post and there’s no lasting damage!

Anyways, will there be any other Wingers in attendance at the RISE launch today, or do I have to report back all on my own?
If anyone else is going, I’ll probably be found outside, smoking, underneath a black hat!

Hope everybody has a great weekend, whatever you get up to x

Brian Doonthetoon

Colin Fox on just now…

link to livestream.com

john king

@Ronnie Anderson
I’m really keen to be there Ronnie but I cant commit to it just yet. hopefully closer to the date I’ll know if I’m going to be able to go.

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose 11:23pm – Oh oh Paula….Brechin is do-able. Am considering the options – heated or massage seats? Bollinger or Mums? Sozzled at Stirling, Puggled at Perth, Blootered at Brechin? Decisions, decisions. [Driver excluded of course]

If there is anyone else on Wings who is in that area and would like a lift to Glasgow on the 19th September then contact me so I can choose the Aston Martin or the Mini.

Paula, you can contact me at my email address if you are truly truly scrumptious. I mean if you would like a lift!!! mmmmmmmmm

Contact – archiemelrose@yahoo.com

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Briandoonthetoon – Thanks Brian. I got an email from ‘Lanarkist’ in NE Fife who told me about the Dundee bus being arranged by Sibbald Travel on the 19th September. That’s fine, so your suggestion of the scenic route is good.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie.

There’s a bus being put on by Sidlaw Executive Travel from Dundee. They have 25 seats booked so far, at £12 return.

Is that who you meant?

Cactus

Howdy pioneers, I’ve had this idea floating around furra while, on how to additionally promote the website in original ways.

Try this one for size..

You know how at celebratory events like Glasgow’s Commonwealth Games, birthdays, weddings, divorces, rallies etc. There’s lots of decorations, party poppers and other stuff..

Have you heard of something called a Confetti Cannon?

So, now imagine hundreds and thousands of wee blue and silver ‘Wings Over Scotlands’ floating and flickering their way down from the sky.. rather fitting don’t you think!

If only there was some pro-Scottish event coming-up in the near future.. 😉

Paula Rose

Darlings – the new love of my life…

link to reverbnation.com

Paula Rose

Gary Anderson – swoon, so hunky – play the songs. He may well do a set at Inverwotsit if I stroke him a little bit more.

ronnie anderson

@ Cactus ah dont think the Rev will start a crowdfunder for Brooms lol.

ronnie anderson

@ Cactus ah dont think the Rev will start a crowdfunder for Brooms lol. Good idea tho.

ronnie anderson

@ John King ok noted ,bit whit will we dae withoot oor Raffle Seller extraordinaire Irene.

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 12.18am Ah thought Betty Boop wiz ma Interpreter,mair the merrier ah,ll keep you,s baith busy.

Smilies.

Croompenstein

March in to the HoL to this tune Flipper ya cnut..

Betty Boop

@ ronnie anderson, 8.08pm

That’ll be me multi-tasking wi’ bein’ yer carer, Ronnie! More like your loud-hailer than interpreter! 😉

ronnie anderson

@ Beaty Boop thats the beauty of Wingers we,re Multi Taskers,so,s you,ll be in your element, or that ither wie hum> Mental XX.

X_Sticks

Done my bit for iScot fundraiser – urge you all to contribute to this excellent magazine.

They are doing a superb job softly undermining the awful Scottish MSM and gently leading folk to our point of view.

link to tinyurl.com

CameronB Brodie

So Kezia vows an end to control freakery at Labour conferences? What next in support of UKOK’s neo-feudal ‘One Nation’ social fabric and food-bank economy? Better Together?

The Chips – Rubber Biscuit(s)

CameronB Brodie

Is Kezia being realistic?

Screamin’ J. Hawkins – Maybe

kendomacaroonbar

@X_Sticks I can’t thank you enough for your most generous donation to the iScot fundraiser. When we started we gave ourselves a target of a year to get the magazine up and running and we feel that the basic look and feel of the content is there or there abouts.

Most of the work is being done voluntarily and the effort to produce a 100 pager every month is, well, a mammoth task. Our fundraiser allows us to pay for journalists, proof readers, photographers as well as graphic designers that enables us to up our game.

We have been generating this publication on a shoestring, and making a mighty fine job of it if I say so, but we need to increase our bandwidth to stop burning people out both physically and mentally.

The reality is that the lack of traction with the fundraiser so far makes us think that perhaps we don’t have a product that resonates with the punters, although we are trying to reach out to the 55 – and they won’t buy the National or Sunday Herald.

Apathy is our enemy, lack of funds would be the coup de grace – therefore generous donations from yourself is a massive confidence boost to our wee team.

Thanks for all that you have done. We’ll do the best we can – that’s all we can do.

Yours aye

Kendo

CameronB Brodie

So how does ‘One Nation’ British Labour sustain itself in Scotland, when their core Scottish support aspires to more autonomy than London HQ is prepared to even consider? I see the only solution is to get down with the people and break completely from London. Jungle Boogie, one might say.

This will never happen, of course, as British Labour is a tool of the Establishment. They made sure of it, back in the day. 😉

The Muppets – Jungle Boogie

X_Sticks

@Kendo

Damn fine job you and the team at iScot are doing. I’m at a loss to explain the lack of support for the fundraiser so far although there are an awful lot of worthy causes around and money is tight for most folk.

I’d suggest a wee push from the Rev, but not sure that would be wise given the media’s denigration of all things Wings.

Let’s hope the rest of the Wings community get on the case and start pushing the cause. (here’s looking at you guys 😉 )

And please don’t forget to support the Live Independence fundraiser too – they’re not asking for much!

CameronB Brodie

Here’s one going out in advance of the centenary celebration of Israel’s creation as a nation state and the British Labour movement’s most enthusiastic embrace of imperialist values. Undoubtedly British Labour’s most significant contribution to the respect of basic human rights, international solidarity and world peace.

Ted Weems And His Orchestra – Heartaches

CameronB Brodie

Don’t forget, it was the Fabian Society that was most industrious in directing Britain’s ‘working class’ into the embrace of English Socialism. A hybrid of colonial imperialism and basic animal husbandry.

Until the Boer War, in 1899, the Fabian Society had paid little or no attention to the imperial rule. The Society was mostly concerned with domestic issues, such as national ownership, free education, and improvement of the life of the poor classes. A major split occurred in the Society over its response to the Boer War, leading to the resignation of Emmeline Pankhurst, William Clarke, and J. Ramsay MacDonald, at that time a member of the Fabian Executive Committee and the future leader of the Labour Party. In 1899, a group of Fabian rank-and-file members, led by the future guild-socialist, S. G. Hobson, and supported by a few members, unsuccessfully attempted to get the Fabian Executive to issue a statement of opposition to the war against the Boers.

However, it was in 1900 that the Society finally published a tract drafted by George Bernard Shaw, Fabianism and the Empire, which became the most significant statement of the Society’s imperial policy. Shaw supported imperial expansion because, as he claimed, the world evolved toward big and powerful states. The Fabians criticised Liberals, but supported British imperial policy as a means of disseminating enlightened principles of governance throughout the world. The early Fabian socialists wanted to reform Britain’s imperial rule and turn the British Empire into what was later called by the Webbs the Socialist Commonwealth. They spoke in favour of ‘public-spirited’ or ‘social’ imperialism. Hubert Bland defended British imperial policy arguing that “England was the only country fit to pioneer the blessings of civilisation.” (Porter 109) Shaw presented the view that small nations, like the Boer Republic, were anachronistic in the new world of the twentieth century. (Semmel 61) Eventually, the Fabians accepted the opinion that Britain must defend and maintain her empire in the most efficient way.

The British Empire, wisely governed, is invincible. The British Empire, handled as we handled Ireland and the American colonies, and as we may handle South Africa if we are not careful, will fall to pieces without the firing of a foreign shot. [Fabianism and Empire, 15]

…Although the Fabian Society could boast of accomplishments in social reform in the final decade of the Victorian era, the Society was not immune to fallacies which bore on its later image. The early Fabians believed erroneously in the quick breakdown of capitalism and the emergence of a socialism based on state control, strict bureaucratic social planning and management for public welfare. Fabian socialism was by no means democratic. The Webbs, who were the leading theoreticians of Fabianism, proposed a model of a professionally administered society. They believed that in the socialist commonwealth political parties would disappear, and politicians would be replaced by highly skilled and benevolent ‘experts’ and salaried middle-class civil bureaucrats who would care for the general welfare of the rather ignorant and passive lower-class masses. The early Fabians believed naively that social problems could be solved through scientific investigation, state-regulated planning and administrative measures as well as the benevolence of enlightened middle-class elites.

link to victorianweb.org

LeRoy Shield’s Orchestra – Sing Song Girl

If you think you recognise the artist, you’re showing your age. 🙂

LeRoy Shield’s Orchestra – The Laurel & Hardy Medley

@ Will Podmore
Any relation?

link to en.wikipedia.org

CameronB Brodie

Erm, it wasn’t the LeRoy Shield’s Orchestra performing on the last clip, it was the The Beau Hunks. Showing my age. 🙂

The Beau Hunks Little Rascals Theme Song – Prelude (Our Gang Tribute)

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s something a wee bit different to help while away the hours until Rev gets another post up on the main board and spares us that photo of the dick in the UJ suit:

Roxy Music, ‘Love Is The Drug’ (Todd Terje Disco Dub) –

CameronB Brodie

Cool remix and clip Ian, added to the collection. Cheers. 😉

If “Love Is The Drug”, can I just lower the tone for a minute? This one inspired by our very own Paula Rose, I think.

Robert Crumb & His Cheap Suit Serenaders – My Girl’s Pussy

Paula Rose

CameronB Brodie sweetie – I exist to raise tones not lower them xx

Ian Brotherhood

@CameronB –

Hope you are well.

We will meet one day!

Here’s a curio which you may have seen – if not, I suspect you’ll enjoy it.

Noam Chomsky & Gore Vidal, ‘In Conversation’ (1991) –

CameronB Brodie

Sorry for that last one. 😉

Here’s an essay on the topic of evolution, that appear to support the concept of umwelt. The side-notes are of interest in their own right, IMO.

In the first three decades of the nineteenth century, Great Britain experienced the vicissitudes of the first industrial revolution and the birth pangs of industrial capitalism. In the aftermath of the French wars, it became increasingly clear that the great social, economic and political problems had to be addressed. Working-class activists responded to waves of economic depression with mass violence, reaching their height in such momentous occasions as the “Peterloo Massacre” of 1819 and the Chartist uprising of 1839.

The surges in working-class agitation were met with greater state repression, including newly enforced laws against blasphemy and sedition, stamp taxes on newspapers aimed at squelching the pauper presses, and the outlawing, with the anti-combination acts, of political and workers’ unions. By 1839, the cultural conservative critic Thomas Carlyle coined “the Condition of England Question” to describe the situation of the plebeian classes. Friedrich Engels continued the discussion in 1844 with The Condition of the Working Class in England.

link to victorianweb.org

3 Social environmentalism stressed the importance of circumstances or environmental conditions in the production of human character. Locke’s theory of knowledge was the philosophical basis of social environmentalism.

23 For evidence that members of Darwin’s camp acknowledged the role that earlier freethinkers played in tilling the soil for them, see George Jacob Holyoake, “Characteristics of Prof. Tyndall,” in John Tyndall Memorial (1894): “I remember meeting Tyndall one day in Dundee, when the British Association for the advancement of science met there. The Duke of Buccleuh was President. Narrow-minded, of little knowledge, and possessing a larger share than was due to him of Scottish intolerance, the Duke had a bad time in the chair while Tyndall was addressing the saints and philosophers assembled. When the meeting was over I said to Tyndall, ‘It’s very well for you, you have come to Dundee late; the Duke’s ancestors would, and I think he would, treat you like a witch, and try the persecution of fire upon you.’ ‘Ah! Holyoake,’ he replied, ‘it’s very well you went before us. We do but gather where you have sown’” (2).

Ian Brotherhood

@Cam B –

Apologies – my last comment should’ve included ‘again’ after ‘meet’. Last time we met I was already watching the time to get home. 🙂

I’m thinking more along the lines of being able to sit and have a civilised chat. To that end I have already contacted another regular, and I’m hoping that we can start to network on a more one-to-one basis. Big get-the-githers are great, but there comes a time when folk have to sit and talk one-to-one, and try to develop solid ideas about what can be done, practically, to make full use of the many talents we share collectively.

I hope we’ll get the chance, one day, to do just that.

Hoots the noo! 🙂

Paula Rose

More strokes for more folks!

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
Nice one Ian, I always enjoy listening to Gore Vidal. The world is a poorer place for his passing, IMO.

Re. the Bush dynasty. Allegedly, they were up to their necks in selling Enron’s accounting practice to Wall Street. Not only did this sowed the seeds of the USA’s property market crash and resulting toxic derivatives bubble we are now all enslaved to, it also helped fund the family’s political continuation.

Apparently all the evidence from FBI and other official investigations in to their involvement, was destroyed when the strengthened structure of WTC7 collapsed at free-fall speed. Co figure.

Gore Vidal 9/11, war, etc. Part 1

CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
We’ll need to have a chat about that, one of these days. 😉

Paula Rose

Do your own washing-up.

CameronB Brodie

As it’s past midnight and we are living in an age of manufactured fear, here’s another couple from Screamin’ Jay Hawkins. OK, I’ve posted the first track before but not this performance. Surely one of the least recognised blues greats.

Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – I Put a Spell On You

This one going out to ‘soft’ No voters. 🙂

Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – Constipation Blues

In case folk don’t get Screamin’ Jay’s act, you might want to check out Stepin Fetchit and the dramatic vehicle of ‘cooning it up’. Rab C springs to mind.

Stepin Fetchit – Lazy Richard

Gary Anderson

Paula, great to share a cocktail with you on Saturday. You keep stroking, I’ll sing like a bird 😉

Paula Rose

Gary Anderson honey – we must do it again, clever of you to know that Sex on the Beach is my favourite!

Gary Anderson

I was impressed with your fuzzy navel as well

CameronB Brodie

I’m not here. 😉

Jim Backus and Friends – Delicious

Stoker

@ Gillian_Ruglonian.
Slight correction to the BBC Licence fee info i supplied.
As of January this year the BBC have now discovered that Scotland has its own legal system and therefore the “Implied Right of Access” cannot be applied in Scotland. As a result they are no longer accepting applications from Scotland that request the “Implied Right of Access” option. 😉
______

@ Betty Boop.
I was searching for a certain version of this song and came across this, i immediately thought of you, LOL 🙂
Neil Young – Motorcycle Mama

CameronB Brodie

Was that a failed used-car salesman getting his arse skelpt? 🙂

I. M. Joe – Ouch

Paula Rose

Considering what’s going on on the main thread – time to put this example of Scottish culture on again –

CameronB Brodie

Hot Boogie Chillun – Oh Well

CameronB Brodie

“Never stir up deep emotions unless you enjoy big explosions…”

The Blenders – Dont fuck around with love

CameronB Brodie

Hope I didn’t break this thread with my last post. 😉

De Phazz – Devil’s Music

Paula Rose

Break the thread honey – are you sewing under pressure?

CameronB Brodie

It’s just all such an atrocious stitch-up. 😉

Paula Rose

We weep what we sew.

Ian Brotherhood

I’m putting this up for anyone who likes constitutional stuff (and maybe feels like a wee break from what’s happening in the ongoing threads!)

Had to view this as part of uni-related work. Prof Linda Colley’s field is 18th/19th century, and her 1992 book Britons is, it seems, the essential read on British identity, how it was formed etc. Here she is in interview, in early 2014 – it’s all good stuff, but her take on what might happen in the event of a ‘No’ vote is prescient. (Jump to approx. 35.30 for the question prompting her prediction.)

It seems that the interview took place on the same day that GB made one of his infamous ‘interventions’. Blimey – that man crops up everywhere!

‘In Conversation With…Professor Linda Colley’ –

Paula Rose

Ian dear – please – I’ve got graffiti in three different languages to get off the walls, wee Cameron sitting in the corner having problems with his embroidery, music that has not been properly mixed and a mad idea about letting off confetti cannons.

Please come in an hour and I’ll have it all cleaned up.

Ian Brotherhood

Happy Mondays, ‘Step On’ –

(i.e. the ‘You’re Twistin My Melon Man’ song…) 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Well they would say that, wouldn’t they Ian? 😉

Paula Rose

Why do I Bother *chucks tea towel in corner*

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Don’t mind me, oh gorgeous one, I’m just sifting through some old vinyl…

Paula Rose

Ian dear – I’ve warned you before about cluttering the place up with stuff your wife won’t let you have in the house. You come if you want to, but this lady is not for turning.

CameronB Brodie

The Imps – Uh Oh

Ian Brotherhood

I have it on good authority that the next WOS knees-up will feature this song being ‘karaoked’ by Ronnie A, X-sticks, BDTT, John King and Cameron B. (The line-up may be subject to sudden change depending on availability, but, let’s face it, there’s plenty more where they came from…)

No prizes for guessing the identity of the ‘missing angel’ they’re singing about. (Quelle surprise…nowhere to be seen, as per usual!)

Tavares, ‘Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel’ –

Ian Brotherhood

‘Karaoke’ lyric transcribers can only handle so much…how would they handle this?

Barry White & Lisa Stansfield, ‘All Around The World’ –

CameronB Brodie

Morning folks.

Chumbawamba – Ulrike

Oops.
link to amazon.com

CameronB Brodie

Deeper understanding brings new perspective.

Chumbawamba – Give the Anarchist a Cigarette

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Professor Adam Tomkins.

Chumbawamba – Farewell to the Crown (Royal Wedding Song)

X_Sticks

@Ian

They put me on the drums for a very good reason Ian!

Vocally I can massacre ANY song you can think of 😉

Some great obscure links recently and some choices that would indicate serious therapy is required.

No broadband at home this week – someone’s broken our ancient copper wire somewhere. Hopefully getting fixed today. Without broadband I’ve found I’ve had to interact with Mrs X_Sticks, unsure how long I can live without my online fix!

CameronB Brodie

X_Sticks
Therapy? They tried that but I broke the NLP guy. True story. 😉

Jerry McCain And His Upstarts – Trying to please

CameronB Brodie

X_Sticks
Just to clarify that, I de-constructing her world-view not her physical being. My bad. 😉

CameronB Brodie

What’s the saddest, most negative word in the English language?

The Savages – No No No

I think Scotland is about to learn it means a lot less/more than Better Together promised before the indy vote.

Jim McIntosh

testing

Jim McIntosh

test again to see if auto fill is working

Taranaich

I decided to add some biographical information on the “about” page on my blog, following from twitter suggestions, and I thought I’d acknowledge Morag in the process for her encouragement:

link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com

I just wish I could figure out how to do what Wings does to put the author under the post title…

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

You typed,
“Therapy? They tried that but I broke the NLP guy. True story.”

Therapy?

CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
That was it Brian, we couldn’t get past her judo-christian mind-set, apparently informed by the MSM.

I suggested she was more c o n f l i c t e d than myself…..

The Sonics – Psycho 🙂

CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
I hadn’t meant to get so personal Brian but I think I own it to myself, to at least provide some context.

I suffered a serious brain injury, which wasn’t really that clever. I pulled myself back together over the next 20 years, until suffering a work-related nervous breakdown. This is how I discovered how sever my brain injury had been (v. bad Glagow Comma Scale reading) and that I had apparently been suffering ‘PTSD’ for 20 years. Go figure. 😉

X_Sticks

@Cameron

You’d be any therapist’s worst nightmare. Bet she had to go off and review her own mental state!

So pissed with BT – no fn broadband until Sunday – I’ll be round the bend by then. Should I post a song link for that – I’m sure ther’d be something appropriate 🙂

CameronB Brodie

What harm can come of it, X_Sticks? 😉

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi X_Sticks.

“I’ll be round the bend by then”

Just crying out for a “bend” track so I thought I’d go for a less obvious one.

CameronB Brodie

Perhaps I shouldn’t have asked? 🙂

X_Sticks

@Cameron & BDtt

“Perhaps I shouldn’t have asked”

Lol, knew someone wouldn’t be able to resist.

Can’t even listen as at work and sneaking a look at tinternet when I can 🙁

CameronB Brodie

Jack and Victor do the slosh.

CameronB Brodie

No it’s more the stance of a traditional Hawaiian Hula dance – Joe Mullin

They told me to imagine I was doing the Hula Hoop – Derek Bateman

I’ve always though that we don’t hear enough Hammond organ / Hawaiian steel-guitar combos. 🙂

The Waikikis – Pacific Punch

Which brings me to….

The Elegants – Wake Up (Scotland)

That might be my genre set for the next wee while. 😉

CameronB Brodie

You thought I was joking. 🙂

Cover of Steel Guitar Rock by Rudi Wairata and the Kalima Hawaiians.

and the original…

Rudi Wairata and the Kalima Hawaiians – Steel Guitar Rock

Paula Rose

Wait a minute darlings – shoes off, hoop spun – heaven.

CameronB Brodie

I don’t think I’ve gushed before but this one goes out to the First Minister.

The Elegants – Human Angel

Ha, had you worried there it would be steel-guitars as the genre of the month. 😉

CameronB Brodie

I see that Fatboy Slim is to play at Dismaland.

Just Brothers – Sliced Tomatoes

CameronB Brodie

Is that you at the start Ronnie, with your talc?

Tony Clarke – Landslide

CameronB Brodie

Dean Parrish – I’m On My Way 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s me ould favourite of a television reporter losing the plot when he is unexpectedly ‘bugged’ –

CameronB Brodie

Someone take the mouse away from me. 🙂

This one going out to the leader of BBC Labour in Scotland.

Patti & The Playboys – Tears

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s some O/T O/T –

Twin Peaks is coming back?

fairliered

Just received from a Canadian relative.
Equally applicable to the UK!

Once upon a time there was a king who wanted to go fishing.

He called the royal weather forecaster and enquired as to the weather forecast for the next few hours.

The weatherman assured him that there was no chance of rain in the coming days.

So the king went fishing with his wife, the queen. On the way he met a farmer on his donkey. Upon seeing the king the farmer said, “Your Majesty, you should return to the palace at once because in just a short time I expect a huge amount of rain to fall in this area”.

The king was polite and considerate, he replied: “I hold the palace meteorologist in high regard. He is an extensively educated and experienced professional. Besides, I pay him very high wages. He gave me a very different forecast. I trust him and I will continue on my way.” So he continued on his way.

However, a short time later a torrential rain fell from the sky. The King and Queen were totally soaked and their entourage chuckled upon seeing them in such a shameful condition.

Furious, the king returned to the palace and gave the order to fire the weatherman at once!

Then he summoned the farmer and offered him the prestigious and high paying role of royal forecaster.

The farmer said, “Your Majesty, I do not know anything about forecasting. I obtain my information from my donkey. If I see my donkey’s ears drooping, it means with certainty that it will rain.”

So the king hired the donkey.

And so began the practice of hiring asses to work in the government and occupy its highest and most influential positions.

ronnie anderson

@ CameronB 11.12pm aw good dancers carried their ain Talk & Slippereen wiz to dear lol.

David

Well now, CameronB, on 4 September, 2015 at 4:41 am.

I have heard of “muscular Christianity” but you take it to a new level with your “judo-christian”. 🙂

Paula Rose

STOP NOW and take your mats with you.

Paula Rose

Just adore these boys…

CameronB Brodie

David
Well I tried but couldn’t come up with a witty reply. Ach well. 😉

CameronB Brodie

Just for fun: fascism vs neoconservatism.
http://www.democraticunderground.com/discuss/duboard.php?az=view_all&address=364×3063888

Billy Bragg – Thatcherites

CameronB Brodie

Dave
Rather than seeking humour, I should have simply stated “As Long As You Love Me”. 😉

CameronB Brodie

David
The cogs weren’t working earlier. It’s a vid-e-o!! 😉

CameronB Brodie

Here Will, further to that quote I posted from Erwin Schrödinger (re. the properties of light), in opposition to a materialist approach? What is the British Communist Party’s stance on the environment and sustainability? On environmental psychology?

The case of the green-eyed squid: Fluorescence in the deep-sea squid Histioteuthis

David

We’re all friends her, CameronB:

“We love you”, 1967, Rolling Stones.

“All you need is love”, 1967, Beatles.

Extract of “All you need is love” in “The Prisoner” TV show.

CameronB Brodie

The Shindigs (Jerry McCain & Sam The Sham) – Pussycat A-Go-Go

CameronB Brodie

If self-love is a moral duty and there is no boundary between the individual being and the cosmos, it follows that Sam the Sham is correct. In light of this understanding, there is only one possible logical course of action.

Elvis Presley – Do the Clam

CameronB Brodie

I commented negatively re. ‘hardcore rap’, when ‘egg gate’ hatched. This is hardcore that’s hard to resist though.

Run The Jewels – Close Your Eyes And Count To Fuck

Taranaich

The Syrian crisis has been weighing on my mind a lot, as I suspect it has for a lot of people. This just makes it all the stranger knowing that the Conservative candidate for Inverclyde in the 2015 General Election was born and raised in Damascus:

Inverclyde has lots of communities founded by refugees: French, Italian, even African. We’re even suffering a significant population decline. It would be stupid NOT to invite more refugees here.

Paula Rose

I just love Taranaich I’m jealous of his mum and that is a strange emotion for me to feel.

Jock Scot

Hope this link works

//dixielang.bandcamp.com

For those who missed her at the Clyde bar in Helensburgh. Also due to appear at the Yes Rutherglen shindig. Tickets might still be available but I’m sure if you mention you are a winger..preferential treatment and that.

Jim Thomson

I see we have a Winger (at least one) in the hearing chamber.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

You mentioned,
“…a vid-e-o…”

Here’s a classic vid-e-o.

Jim Thomson

Jings, must be cauld in there. Our Winger has a jumper on noo!

Thepnr

A funny thing happened to me on the way to Cadiz in Spain 6 months ago. Now this is not a joke but a true statement.

OK, so I gets picked up by the Project Engineer and as you do you chat about nothing of importance.

I says to him *Are you from this area” in my normal Scots accent.

He replies “YES!” I’m from Damascus how did you know I was from Syria?

Work that one out lol.

Taranaich

I really, really hate The Sun. Is there not something that can be done under incitement to hatred/violence/mass murder laws?

I have never felt so ashamed of the UK press.

Cactus

Hats braw of ye Jock Scot, cheers, aye me and D were away yee-hawing it, over on the Isle of Cumbrae (or Millport to visitors) at the weekend there for the country festival.

Things shaping up nicely for the 18th & 19th..

Who knows where we’ll all be by the Sunday!

Thepnr

Hey Guys and Gals!

I would’t say this was worth listening to if it wasn’t. Believe me!

I wish there were more like us.

Thepnr

Saw a relly funnt thing today it was Youchoon.com LOL I wanted to take a picture but that was not really on. It was inside a shipyard in Singapore and we cant take pictures wirhout permission.

Now where have I heard that before?

ronnie anderson

@ Jim Thomson aye it wiz cauld ah got telt in the morning the hearing would be finished by 12/30 they must have set the heating for that time, an its ma Jaiket.

Betty Boop

@ Thepnr

I says to him *Are you from this area” in my normal Scots accent.

He replies “YES!” I’m from Damascus how did you know I was from Syria?</blockquote?

With my dodgy ears, I have conversations like that regularly LOL!

EddieMunster

@Thepnr your story reminds me of the Chic Young(?) joke, when he asks a man carrying a pole, if he’s pole volter, and he says “yes I am, and how did you know my name was ‘volter'(Walter)?”

EddieMunster

@Tarantino I can remember The Sun running a story crying out about the sexing up of young children and the clothes they wear etc and on the opposite page of the “newspaper” they had a story about Charlotte Church, saying how she was awarded rear of the year at 16 or she was due to “turn legal soon”, can’t remember which one, as it was so long ago.

I’m sure The Sun realised they were effectively, pissing in to the wind after promoting that vile woman’s opportunistic piece, in their rag, about not caring about refugees drowning in the med and changed tactic, to put themselves as to paper of the refugees.

They really haven’t changed since the days of Kelvin Mackenzie, and his accusations of football fans urinating on people, at Hillsborough.

CameronB Brodie

Hey, BBC Labour in Scotland.

Apollo 440 – Stop the Rock

Brian Doonthetoon

A wee test…

Brotyboy

Any technical gurus out there know if there’s a Saltire emoji or how I can paste such a thing into my iPhone email signature?

Christmas Curry with my ex-pat mates being set up in London atm and I’d like to wind the buggers up.

Taranaich

I’m loving Nicola singing along to “God Save The Queen.” The amount of triumphalist yawping from smug unionists can only push support for independence even further:

David

Clip 1:Reporter says in 1952 Elizabeth went home “to become Queen of England” after the death of King George 6. BBC reporter. British BBC reporter. Today. Of all bloody days.

link to bbc.com

CAN SOMEONE PLEASE RECORD THE 2:09m VIDEO IN THE FIRST LINK, ABOVE. (Before it disappears.)

link to bbc.com

Second clip, uses a shortened version of video from Kenya, avoids the reporter’s mistake.

Bow down before your imperial masters…and their BBC sidekicks.

Taranaich

The Daily Mail cites one Joe Byrd’s tweet as evidence of “cybernat barrage of criticism” against Nicola Sturgeon in regards to the Queen’s visit, which just happens to contain language regarding the queen which would surely have monarchists in a right tizzy:

Call yourself Scottish Nationalist worshiping an Anglo German Queen? Ha!— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd)

Yet here are some other tweets from Mr Byrd. Does this sound like a Scottish nationalist to you?

@dlow0905 @thei100 @LabourLeft I think you’re wrong. SNP is killing Britain. It’s left @ moment but Salmond can take u anywhere.— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) August 15, 2015

Nationalists are dangerous look at IRA, SNP, UKIP? They have no tolerance of real calm people they want to bully their way to power & worse.— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) August 8, 2015

@Zarkwan @WestmorlandHill SNP aren’t racist they r nationalist…now what was the difference again?— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 25, 2015

@Joe90kerrByrd Some fools don’t believe that Murdoch was sleeping with Salmond? Here’s the evidence SNP are tartan Tories— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 10, 2015

SNP should remember Scots voted to stay in Union!— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 9, 2015

@theSNP @NicolaSturgeon it’s time to call time on first past the post. SNP are as illegitimate in Scotland as Alan Partridge Cameron in UK— Joe Byrd (@Joe90kerrByrd) May 9, 2015

All this and more at my latest blog, heavily inspired by Wings Over Scotland’s tireless scrutiny of the media:

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to the Royal Archers. 😉

Chumbawamba – When Fine Society Sits Down to Dine

Taranaich

BTW, you apes have convinced me to join Twitter. I’m @WildernessPeace: not elaborate or imaginative, but it gets the job done, and people can find it easily.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Re the Edinburgh get-together on 26th September.

If you’re intending going to the get-together and want a badge with your name on it, do a post in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), stating what name you want on the badge.

You have until 11.59pm on Wednesday, 23rd September, to order your badge. There is no charge; however I will point out that when in Wetherspoons, I tend to like a bottle of Tsing Tao or a pint of Orkney Dark Island, if they have it, and Pete the Camera is partial to Irn-Bru (full fat).

Cadogan Enright

I wanted to post this OT on the main blog topic – but see there is a new one just posted and don’t want the Rev to shit a brick by posting this OT on it

SO can people please promote the SCOTTISH DIGITAL CURRENCY please link to facebook.com

CameronB Brodie

Violent Femmes – Crazy 😉

JLT

Taranaich says:

‘I’m loving Nicola singing along to “God Save The Queen.” The amount of triumphalist yawping from smug unionists can only push support for independence even further’

You couldn’t make it up, mate. If she didn’t sing, then she would have got howls of derision, bricks and threats from all sides of the Unionist bandwagon.

Yet …following State protocol, she sings …and get slaughtered for it!

That’s Unionists for you… keeping someone down if they can.

JLT

Ronnie Anderson

Get your names down for Badges.

Hi Ronnie …you can place my name on your list. Will pop along from sunny Livi.

Cheers

Cadogan Enright

if I recall correctly Paula Rose pushed the last Indy Live and they hit their target at the last moment

Can she do it again? – they are doing a great job – evidence their coverage of court case. Please contribute and share;
link to indiegogo.com

Ian Brotherhood

For no particular reason. It’s just a braw tune…

Bonnie Tyler, ‘It’s A Heartache’ =

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi JLT.

You’re not really keeping up with the furious events that are ‘off-topic’, iye?

I typed last night,

“Re the Edinburgh get-together on 26th September.

If you’re intending going to the get-together and want a badge with your name on it, do a post in Quarantine (link at bottom left of this page), stating what name you want on the badge.”

So, what’s stoppin’ yi, iye?

Come on, you Lothian peeps are gonna have to up your game to match Dundee, Glasgow, Helensburgh and Airdrie.

8=)

Ian Brotherhood

Rory Gallagher & Frankie Miller, ‘Walkin’ The Dog’ –

Ian Brotherhood

The one-and-only Shaky wearing eyeshadow, and old footage of controlled demolitions – what’s not to like?

Shakin’ Stevens, ‘This Ole House’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Glasgow Green at the height of the music festival season, 2014.

Pure class.

Sydney Devine, ‘Tiny Bubbles’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Savour this…

Dick Gaughan, ‘Erin Go snooker loopy!’ (live, in Cologne, er, about ten years ago?)

Michael McCabe

Here is some Transatlantic sessions. link to youtube.com Hope you enjoy.

Michael McCabe

The Lovely Eddi Reader. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

These poor dogs have had to listen to a Kezia Dugdale Speech. link to youtube.com

Paula Rose

@ Cadogan Enright I promised Indy live a unique view which they can ask for again – but if you look at page 90 of the new iscot you will see the real me, get them over the line as well xx

Michael McCabe

Trouble in the fields. link to youtube.com

Michael McCabe

@ Paula Rose I Think you covered page 90 with amazing grace. here is a nice relaxing song for you. link to youtube.com

Paula Rose

@ Michael McCabe sweetness!

Ian Brotherhood

Christy Moore, ‘Deportees’ –

Michael McCabe

The Blue Train. link to youtube.com

ronnie anderson

@ Ian Brotherhood 10.58 Hiv you over indulged in they Shandys again.lol

Paula Rose

Oh btw Archie (not Erchie) love, if you are in the throng – are you still planning on bringing your coach and horse through Brechin next weekend?

Ian Brotherhood

@ronnie anderson (10.58) –

Shandy?

Shandy?

The auld Para-handy?

Moi? (Excuse my French…)

Fwaaarrrgh!

Pwlaaaarch..erkkk…phfflaaah!

As you may have gathered, I’m not partial to ‘shandy’. Lemonade? Aye. Beer? Maybe. Cider? Aye.

Shandy?

🙁

Anyway, looking forward to seeing you next week, in Freedom Square.

You did a sterling job in Edinburgh this week faither – mony’s well proud ay ye.

Hoots, hoots, an’ thrice ah cry it, hoots tae ye!

Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood toi doll xx

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

In the throng, or the thong?

Reminds me…

Last year, our boy’s tennis coach texted my missus, asking if he could take part in a competition at short notice.

The ‘better half’ replied text-wise, saying that it wasn’t possible as we were both busy and couldn’t transport him to the relevant venue.

The coach didn’t reply. At all.

It wasn’t until the next day that she realised, upon re-reading her text, that she’d said – ‘Sorry. Can’t do. Ian and I both have thongs on.’

🙁

Mind you, he’s been very friendly ever since.

Paula Rose

Thong is – collapse in giggles.

CameronB Brodie

Eurovision?

Tam – Oatcakes ‘n’ Cheese

JLT

Apologies Brian

LOL was busy as I’m back at the Uni stuff again (started again this week), so I’m kind of leaping around from website to books to other nonsense.

Anyway ….done! (added my name on the ‘Quarantine’ page

Cheers again

Brian Doonthetoon

JLT – you are now listed…

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose 1:16am – Ah bit late to be asking about my thong dont ya think? Oooops yah mean throng? 🙂

Well to answer your Q – I would be happy to pick you up and of course any others en route to Glasgow. Unfortunately my previous offer of a big one [MiniBus] came to nothing as most folk are making their own way. So I have tempered down my offer of transport to a 3-wheeler tuk-tuk complete with flapping bunting.

On a more serious note – Yes I can pick you up and deliver you home again. If you can supply a variety of thongs so we can thing and thing for a couple of hours you will be welcome.

I wait your response.

[Ok guys – how did I do there?]

CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Jim Thomson (sorry, you’ll probably not like it Jim). 😉

The Cramps – I’m Cramped

The Cramps were an expression of post-modernity, IMO. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

The post-modernity just keeps expressing itself, almost as if it’s a force of nature.

Kid Congo and the Pink Monkey Birds – Bruce Juice

P.S. The dude in the glasses is the same dude that wore the blond streak in his hair, back in the ’70s.. 😉

Paula Rose

Archie [not Erchie] dear – did you receive my email? Also contactable on twitter @PaulaHoneyRose. Can’t hang about now, busy whipping some folk into shape elsewhere.

CameronB Brodie

See yon 1860 Munich’s Oktoberfest-inspired kit. Culturalism, that’s what that is. 😉

Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

We’ve met, right? In the CH?

Correct me if I’m mistaken – I remember you as a rather tall smiley dude.

Anyway, was just wondering – what it is you’re studying? Don’t mean to be nosey, just curious. (I’ve just started 3rd yr at UHI, doing Eng Lit.)

Ian Brotherhood

This tune has had over a billion views…

Meghan Trainor, ‘All About That Bass’ –

Ian Brotherhood

Anyone fancy a dance?

Kool & The Gang, ‘Get Down On It’ –

JLT

Hi Ian,

LOL …yes, we did meet in the Counting House earlier this year. I never knew that you were also studying away in the background!

I’m doing a BA (Honours) in History, which (hopefully next year) will finally be on Scottish History. Absolutely fascinating as the first two years were a grounding in Art, Classical Music, Religious History, Political History, Philosophy, Literature, Science and Enlightenment amongst all things. The point of the first two years was that everything …and I mean everything is connected! Nothing happens by itself, and nothing happens for no reason.

I’ve now just begun my 3rd year (Exploring History Medieval to Modern 1400-1900 (A200)). This is where everything that I learned over the last 2 years comes into play. How to study documents and sources from a ‘neutral’ point of view as a historian, and now begin to realise where things lie in context; especially during the Renaissance, the Reformation and the Enlightenment period (this is the 1400-1900 period). It also covers topics of economics, the slave trade and nation building (the coming of ‘united’ countries such as ‘Great Britain’, Germany, Italy and even the French Republic under Napoleon).

For myself, I believe History to be one of the key ‘sciences’ within Man’s knowledge. History when read, leads to knowledge in Geography, which in turns leads to Geo-politics and Geo-Economics. It leads to the learning of cultures, of myths, and of the study of Art, Music and Architecture. When it is all combined, the vast knowledge one learns is incredible. You can literally discuss any subject within Humanities.

Anyway …I rabbit! I could go on for hours discussing History if you were to let me LOL.

And strangely enough, you find me sitting at my study desk doing just that (I took a wee break to see what was happening on Wings). At this moment, I’m learning the history of England, France and Burgundy during the Hundred Years War. Fascinating stuff!

Anyway, Ian …good luck with your studies. And if you make it to the Edinburgh gathering, then we can have a pint, and a good old cab about our studies LOL.

Enjoy the rest of your night, matey! Cheers!

CameronB Brodie

Not quite as popular as your first choice Ian but true, true…. so sad. 😉

The Key of Awesome – Moves Like Jagger

snigger…

Stewart Lee – Political Correctness

Ian Brotherhood

@JLT –

Sorry I didn’t respond sooner – I was dancing.

Methinks our studies do overlap, so if you’re up for it we can gee each other along in the months to come. Happily, my son is also doing his Highers this year, so we’re pushing one another to keep at it as and when one or t’other of us flags.

Have to say, I LOVE the way UHI works. A lot of folk are on campus, in Inverness, Nairn, Orkney, Perth, all over, but many are home-based. (One of my peers is in Derby!) The lecturers are superb and the modules treat English Lit with a strong Scottish angle. I thought I was quite well-read, but the sheer amount of new information I’ve encountered in the past couple of years is just mind-boggling.

This term we’re doing ‘Union & Discord’, which is all about literary figures in the 1707-1815 period, New Zealand ‘postcolonial’ literature, and the Scottish ‘renaissance’ (MacDiarmid etc) in context of European Modernism. Perhaps looks a bit dry to some, but the material is fascinating.

No doubt we’ll get to swap notes on some stuff. For example, I didn’t know that Napoleon was a talented short story writer. Just yesterday, via e-bay, came his short novel ‘Clisson & Eugenie’. Last time I had to do anything even remotely connected with that dude was a school project in Primary Five!

Hoots to you too mister, and good luck with it all – before you know it the semester will be over.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have several people waiting for a dance…

Paula Rose

*taps fingers, looks at watch, stares at ceiling* – dance with IB looks unlikely before his bed-time.

Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Cheers mister. Good stuff.

WOS is quite chirpy this evening, eh?

Long may it continue…

Now, FFS, someone else get a song on, or I’ll post an Alexander Brothers medley which will haunt you forever.

Consider yersels warned! Ye have five minutes!

And it’d better be funky!!

kendomacaroobar

Here you go… my personal favourite : Burlesque Family

link to youtu.be

Ian Brotherhood

Here’s a rare treat for y’all – many moons ago, I visited the States, and managed to wangle a ticket to get on a recording of the famous Soul Train.

If you blink you’ll miss it, but I jump into view at 1 min 45 secs.

Enjoy!! 😉

CameronB Brodie

kendomacaroobar
You tease, link doesn’t work for me.

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula – Nope no emails from yooohoo. Sent a tweet and got reply DELETE YOUR TWEET NOW. Something not right methinks.

Try later after your dancin. 🙂

Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I’ll get to you eventually. Sorry, but people keep putting on 12-inchers…

Paula Rose

Archie Honey use the tweet message xx

Ian Brotherhood

Getting into it now…ready Paula?

You sure?

Okay…here we go!!!

Madonna, ‘Hung Up’ –

Paula Rose

Oh gosh I need to sit down…

cearc

Ian, (10.13),

Napoleon was also a great collector of roses (on behalf of Josephine).

Whenever he spotted a new on, on his extensive travels, he had it dug up despatched back to her post haste.

Ian Brotherhood

@cearc –

Noted.

I’ll make a point of working that in to an essay somewhere down the line.

Hope you’re well, and that we’ll meet again sometime.

You going to the rally next Saturday?

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Archie [not Erchie].

You typed,
“[Ok guys – how did I do there?]”

You did ok. I must warn you, though, that the first meeting with Paula Rose is to be savoured and stored in the memory banks – it won’t happen again. And with the city of Brechin as a backdrop, what more could you pine for?

Onnyhoo, a wee bit of music from me. I may have posted this in the past – I can’t remember, and there’s no way I’m raking through pages of ‘off-topic’ to see if I have!

One of the very few tracks that have combined a traditional Scottish choon with syndrums, which were apparently quite big around 1980…

cearc

Ian,

I can’t quote the source for that but I read it in a book about Redoute (who painted her roses at Malamison) over 30 years ago so you maybe able to source it.

Unfortunately, I cannot make it down this weekend. I had been wanting to but it is not to be. Can’t do the wings-do in Edinburgh either (hotels a bit pricey and a last brood of chicks still a bit wee to leave) but am hoping to make it down for Invergowrie. Any chance you’ll be there?

Stoker

Oh how i long for Scotland to be full of folk like this wifey!
link to archive.is

CameronB Brodie

Well there’s me trying to be all smart. Kid Kongo is obviously not Brian Gregory. Duh!

Thepnr

In light of Corbyns victory I offer this.

Labour No More. You will weep as are the Blairites now 🙂

Tinto Chiel

Evening, groovers. A tribute to Mr Corbyn:

link to m.youtube.com

Brian DTT: a final enquiry. Put me out of my misery. What is “St Andrew’s” Dundonian word for a pram in his sublime track?

Still delighting in Moray Mince.

Thanks, Alan.

Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Tinto Cheil.

It’s “tansad”, although tansads were more like what evolved into the “buggie” – a collapsible baby carrier for taking on buses – rather than the formal coachbuilt pram featured in the video.

You may find that this page will go some way to help you with the vernacular of St Andrew.

link to sites.google.com

CameronB Brodie

Will Podmore
link to colour-affects.co.uk

While I’m at it, can I ask what you think of aesthetics? Utility or quality? Backwards or forwards?

Tinto Chiel

BDTT: thanks for this quite wonderful Dundonian Dictionary. It will be the study of many hours before I enter the hallowed portals of Scott Bros. No fitba’ scarves will be worn, of course. Don’t want to bring down the tone.

Love the droll definitions.

Isn’t this peh day for you? Dare I ask: any special sauces involved?

Enjoy!

Brian Doonthetoon

Actually, I forgot I needed to go to Scotties on Saturday so, today will be a Lidl Peppered Steak pastry slice.

I never have sauce with a solo pie or pastry.

Will pick up my Scotties vittuls tomorrow, probably.

Thepnr

This video is very interesting, hadn’t even heard of Bernie Sanders until today. Next president of the US??

@Ian Brotherhood you have to watch this, would like your opinion.

Archie [not Erchie]

@ Paula Rose – Re txport to Glasgow 19th Sept. Need to know soon. 🙂

Macandroid

Looking for info. on what’s happening in Edinburgh this 18th and 19th Sept. Glasgow too if I’m in a fit state to get there 🙂

Thanks Wingers

1 25 26 27 28 29 81

Stats: 6,668 Posts, 1,202,042 Comments

• Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Presumably, your comment is intended to discredit Fearghas Mc F. but your attempt is nugatory. Such imprecision as may have…Nov 13, 21:25
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Lorna, I agree with all your comments. The key concept is ‘power’, so far as I can see. The expropriating…Nov 13, 21:10
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “PROFESSOR Alfred Baird please do not ask wee Chas to edumacate himself, he’s liable to get above himself and try…Nov 13, 20:58
    • znovak on The People You Most Suspected: “Yup indeed. I cannot fathom how people who ostensibly support Scottish independence can be in favour of U losing its…Nov 13, 20:56
    • James Gardner on The People You Most Suspected: “1 in 4 children in poverty and 1 in 4 pensioners dying in poverty, proof positive that the politicians are…Nov 13, 20:47
    • James Gardner on The People You Most Suspected: “Seen one dressed as Jimmy saVILE…….WTF ?Nov 13, 20:42
    • Republicofscotland on The People You Most Suspected: “Thanks Alf for the link a very interesting read.Nov 13, 20:42
    • Robert Matthews on The People You Most Suspected: “Professor Plum more like.Nov 13, 20:20
    • Stevie on The People You Most Suspected: “Fking criminal : the SNP is the shte clogging the waste disposal pipes of Scottish politics.Nov 13, 19:52
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “From what I read, it seems that U is increasingly losing ground to its greedy and powerful imperialist neighbour. People…Nov 13, 19:50
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “Yes academics often use referencing to confirm their sources. Perhaps you have never read an academic paper or studied for…Nov 13, 19:44
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “There’s you making that claim again, twathater. I’d keep it under wraps, even if it does work like a charm…Nov 13, 19:12
    • Chas on The People You Most Suspected: “I really should not respond to cranks like you but I will keep it relatively short and not so sweet.…Nov 13, 18:16
    • Jay on The People You Most Suspected: “Have you seen anything from RM which could possibly promote Scottish independence? Please let us know.Nov 13, 18:15
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “You have to understand there’s a strand of opinion that believes that as long as U has sovereignty and freedom,…Nov 13, 18:03
    • Hatey McHateface on The People You Most Suspected: “A talking plook! BTL channeling Family Guy yet again. As I recall it was Chris who was afflicted – he’s…Nov 13, 17:54
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “TBQH SteepBrae I am 73 yoa and I cannot think of any GOOD politicians from any of the parties, ALL…Nov 13, 17:47
    • Chas on The People You Most Suspected: “Have you any thoughts of your own Alfie boy? All you ever do is quote other numpties. At least we…Nov 13, 17:41
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “I wouldn’t worry Fearghas I think Crapper Campbell has amply exposed his eagerness and willingness to sacrifice his Scottishness to…Nov 13, 17:37
    • twathater on The People You Most Suspected: “Oh No! just when you think that Chas is joining the ranks of real indy supporters with common sense he…Nov 13, 17:14
    • Chris on The People You Most Suspected: “That’s my secondary school in the paper. We never had any of that when I was there!Nov 13, 17:10
    • Alf Baird on The People You Most Suspected: “The SNP elite appear totally oblivious to the fact that colonialism involves ‘hateful racism’ (Cesaire), and that self-determination independence means…Nov 13, 16:48
    • diabloandco on The People You Most Suspected: “I haven’t forgotten that slur. I have become Sturgeon phobic.Nov 13, 16:13
    • Republicofscotland on The People You Most Suspected: “Marko Polo (@markthehibby): “Lest we forget Sturgeon describing the majority of Scots as “Transphobic… deeply misogynist, often homophobic, possibly some…Nov 13, 16:10
    • znovak on The People You Most Suspected: “I have no doubt that in late 1930s Bob would defend legitimate interests of Germany in neighbouring countries, admire political…Nov 13, 15:44
    • Mark Beggan on The People You Most Suspected: “It is being said that Sturgeon is taking control again! Oh Goody! Wherever Chucky goes disaster is sure to follow.Nov 13, 15:20
    • Campbell Clansman on The People You Most Suspected: “Fearghas, glad to see you confirm that you despise accuracy…. and facts.Nov 13, 13:33
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The People You Most Suspected: “Your pedantry is sinister (and indeed rather sickening) in its evasion of substantive issues of such consequence. The key facts…Nov 13, 13:15
    • Campbell Clansman on The People You Most Suspected: “In short, you confirm that Fearghas was, as I pointed out, laughably wrong. Thanks!Nov 13, 13:05
    • KOF on The People You Most Suspected: “Transgenderism is Satanism. “Woe unto them that call evil good, and good evil; that put darkness for light, and light…Nov 13, 12:58

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()