Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Thepnr

@Stoker

Better have some fun then eh Stoker. wouldn’t mind if Shakira came along to the party. No such luck 🙁 It’s Paula Rose for me then, that’s a lively one 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8e1xvyTdBZI

2. Stoker

Dougie MacLean – The Gael
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4v8pM7cHrT8

3. Stoker

@ Thepnr – LOL, great minds and all that, i can’t see past Shakira.

Hope you all have a great night.
    Here’s another lively one.

Erasure – Drama
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4gwiInUNf_s

4. Stoker

Eddie Rabbitt – Every Which Way But Loose (Live 1981)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3xahs0eezDA

5. Paula Rose

Pedicure sorted, hair sorted, snake trained, badges polished, ready to party!

6. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hi Paula, top billing again I see 🙂

7. Stoker

Well, time for me to go and chuck another log on the fire.
    Sweet dreams troops!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJDGcxAf9D8

8. CameronB Brodie

There’s definitely something about this site.

King Bee – Must Bee the Music
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qY3D8hFJYMg

9. CameronB Brodie

Check the size of the mobile phones. 🙂

KLF – 3 a.m. eternal
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LXEOESuiYcA

Relax, only time is eternal. Not even the BBC can do anything about that. 😉

10. CameronB Brodie

Still rockin’?

Boogie Down Productions – My Philosophy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1vKOchATXs

11. CameronB Brodie

No flagging now.

KRS-One – Step Into A World (Rapture’s Delight)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xbJxcFyaCpI

12. Stoker

Gillian_Ruglonian wrote:
    “Hi Paula, top billing again I see”

I would have had top billing but it would appear one of my contributions has been ejected into the ether. Besides, i got the one i wanted, the 13000th and i don’t mind losing star billing to Queenie. This showbiz lark can be a bit of a drag at times.

Here’s one for today’s birthday folks and to fire up tonights party folks. Get out those air guitars and get strumming along.

The Beatles – Birthday song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjF1bG5LUcs

13. Stoker

I’m not a fan of cRAP music but this one, first posted on WOS two days ago by K1, needs a thorough airing and spread far and wide.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cEDDfJX0W7g&feature=youtu.be

WARNING for the more gentle souls among us, contains strong language.

14. Stoker

Have a great weekend folks.
    Life’s very short and there’s no dummy runs at it.

Branded – Living Life In The Fast Lane
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rSpveuOfvII

15. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    I missed “keep your coins…” first time round and couldn’t be bothered looking for it. Hence all the crap shit. Cheers. 😉

16. Paula Rose

Here’s one of my faves – It ain’t what you do…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doHQjoQmr1E

17. chipmonkey

I hope all you lucky people off to party tonight have a lovely night. Typical. As well as a good natter and a drink or three there’s to be live music,sing song,open mike… and I can’t join you. West Coasters – be carefull with the hairy string, watch out for the spikey heels and don’t let my bestie Paula anywhere near a swimming pool. You have been warned!

18. Gillian_Ruglonian

Okay folks, who’s all in helensburgh?

We’re here, the sun’s out and its time to get the party started 😉

19. CameronB Brodie

For Claudia.

Lauryn Hill – Ex-Factor
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cE-bnWqLqxE

20. kendomacaroonbar

@Gillian

I’ve been in – dropped off a table and projection screen and no body there – gone back home again ! Brilliant weather though !

21. Jock Scot,Paula Rose and ThePNR

5 miles from Helensburgh,sitting drinking whiskey whilst Paula feeds her snake and the PNR cooks mince and tatties..what more could a choob ask for.. oh a Wings doo later on..That’ll do nicely.

22. Brian Doonthetoon

We’re having nosebags in the Henry Bell, round the corner from The Clyde Bar.

See yooz soon!

23. cearc

Have fun all of you. Sorry I can’t be there.

24. Jim Thomson

Betty Boop and I are along the road in the Commodore waiting for some nosh. Thought that trying to last until the wee sma’ hours on nothing but alcohol was a bad idea.

25. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt & Gillian
    Just waiting to trough at the Commodore along the street at the Travelodge. Lovely outside in the sun. !

26. Jim Thomson

@cearc we’ll have a wee snifter for you 🙂 Paula will be gutted, she still has your swimming thong

27. Lanarkist

Have a great night, would love to have been there.

Best wishes to all!

28. Croompenstein

Our beloved Scotland when the sun is shining…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oC7er_6dpsI

29. Ian Brotherhood

Was hoping, right up until yesterday, to make it along, but ’twas not to be.

Gutted.

Hope youse all have a rerr terr, and please sink one for me.

Slainte (sniff…)

30. Jim Thomson

@ian brotherhood

Sent you a tweet asking that very question. You need more followers young man (sorry, rum talking)

31. Bob Sinclair

Hope you guys are having a party & Cactus hasn’t bust his G string yet. Would love to have been there but the holidays beckoned. Enjoy yersels & ayes on the prize.

32. Croompenstein

Labour leadership contest…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8L6KGuTr9TI

33. Ian Brotherhood

@Jim T –

Here’s to ye’s!

I do hope it’s a decent rum you’re into, and not some red-eye such as the likes of meself would instinctively favour.

In any event, bottoms-up! 🙂

34. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    I could just carry on from last night, though I wouldn’t want to compete with deluge of updates from Hellensborough. 🙂

How’s about one, seeing as the Rev has Miranda up for scrutiny, allegedly?

The Adventures of Stevie V – Dirty Cash (Money Talks)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TecR_5-rQ4U

btw, Hong Kong Phooey hasn’t managed to turn up any new dirt on HSBC yet, but I hear Spot is on the case now.

35. cearc

Cameron,

I think they’ll be getting a bit past managing updates by now.

36. CameronB Brodie

cearc
    That’s no excuse. 😉

37. Brian Doonthetoon

Update: home, and about to consume a Lidl chicken jalfrezi with samosas and onion bhajis.

I believe a good night was had by us all.

I will be in no hurry to surface later today…

38. Kendomacaroobar

A huge thank you to all that attended the WoS Helensburgh shindig last night and this morning. It was great to meet up again with so many well kent faces who travelled far and wide to get here.

For those who are feeling slightly ‘damaged’ this morning….I share your pain 🙂

39. Yew Choob

Can we have oor Jock back please. What’s the world coming to when we let him go to one of your soirees and we don’t seem to have had him returned.Oor Technical director John let go of the leash and for this he will be ‘choobed’. BUT apparently you had this evening of joviality when Ronnie Anderson was ‘oot the country’. Anyhoos, John did say that you all had a blast and he would like to convey his gratitude for ‘looking after him’. Wingers doing what Wingers do ..mingling and having fun. Cheers.

40. ronnie anderson

Santa Ponsa ponsing aboot.

Sos Lads N Lassies,for missing the party. I trust everyone had a good time & made many new friends as Wingers do. Thanks for phone call Jock much appeiciated.

41. Thepnr

@Yew Choob

I have it on good authority that Jock Scot is being well looked after for now. He will make his own way back so don’t fret!

42. Betty Boop

@ Ronnie Anderson

While you were “ponsing” aboot, I felt obliged to mark your absence doon the watter by having your drinks for you. Awfy guid, ta!

Missed all of you who didn’t make it. A wee bit of gossip; Paula had a wee bit of competition in the heels department, but, carried off the dance moves with aplomb (or was she carried off? = can’t quite remember…)

43. Paula Rose

Oh gosh – I’ve just woke up barefoot on the shore of Loch Lomond – what happened?

44. Ian Brotherhood

This was played on RS earlier today. Good stuff, and quite liable to elicit a tear, especially if you’ve a hangover and are already missing the good friends you were with…

Aly Bain, Phil Cunningham, ‘Sophie’s Lullaby’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qa_x0_LHFDM

45. cearc

PR,

Oh no! You haven’t lost your sparkly, ultra-high heels?

46. Paula Rose

cearc honey dearest – no probs, rolled over and found them.

47. Cactus

Good times on Saturday night with y’all and great to meet some new faces.

Cheers to Helensburgh, The Clyde Bar staff, the weather and all you party people there 🙂

Next event..
    March for Independence from KG park this Saturday 1st August 2015.. there’s going to be thousands of people there, so get in amongst it and let’s re-run the fun!

48. CameronB Brodie

Here’s an impressive kitten for @EmergancyKittens.

Are we a sufficiently competent society to be secure in our ability to manage bioengineering technologies, in our pseudo-capitalist, monopoly interest/corporatist state paradigm?

Ruby (F1 Savannah) Jumping 8 feet
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vprEInOl1o0

49. CameronB Brodie

Some vital research material for the Rev. 🙂

Dave Allen on the supernatural.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_TbUt-9qJKM

Dave Allen on teaching your kid about time
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0QVPUIRGthI

Dave Allen on Religion
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxo81Ok9Urk

50. CameronB Brodie

Just cause it’s me and after getting a name check in the NME, here’s some more surfing and stuff. (that wasn’t poetry Rev., it’s they way I tell them)

Asian Dub Foundation – Hope
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmZOxl6RIhc

51. CameronB Brodie

P.S. Just found that mixes well with ADF’s “Committed to Life” as the lead, IMO anyway. 🙂

52. ronnie anderson

@ Betty Boop Good tae see you,s all had fun in Helensburgh & doing what Wingers do Looking after one & other & making new friends,Betty I know you would do justice on the drinks front & Jims ah big lad to carry you home.I,ve had one all nighter naemair I say naemair lol.

53. ronnie anderson

Anybody got a Link to Helensburgh nite out , I,ll look in later tonight.

54. CameronB Brodie

Ronnie, I don’t think there was a live-stream. Hope you’re having a good time, ya layaboot. 😉

While I can still get away with it, I hope. 🙂

Asian Dub Foundation – A History Of Now
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l0cCsHTwymg

55. CameronB Brodie

And here’s one I thought sci-fi fans might appreciate.

Asian Dub Foundation – Mindlock (THX 1138 Rescore)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1HFxdX7OG-4

56. CameronB Brodie

Sorry, but I just think ADF are a remarkably flexible and accomplished ansamble, though admittedly perhaps not on the scale of Andre Rieu. Different objectives though, I think. Different backers and audience, almost certainly.

Asian Dub Foundation – A New London Eye
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAzeQCmGlTE

57. ronnie anderson

@ Cameron B wha,s ah layaboot.I,ll let you know Mr I,ve never stopped Promoting since I got hear,I,ve convinced a few Notherners to our cause,the cheek of you thinking Im slacking lol.

58. ronnie anderson

@ Cameron B I can promise you that Ronnie is no sitting on arse, I’m Vinny from Wexford and I will be voting SNP nnext election.
    Vinny

59. CameronB Brodie

Cheers Vinny. Hope you’re having a good one yourself.

Apologies for doubting you Ronnie. 😉

Can I just apologies to everyone, all at the same time, here and now? Get it over an done with all in a one-er? Thing is, I voted Yes.

It wasn’t my fault. Honest, I ran out of gas. I had a flat tire. I didn’t have enough money for cab fair. My tux didn’t come back from the cleaner. An old friend came in from out of town. Someone stole my car. There was an earthquake. A terrible flood. Locusts. I wasn’t my fault I swear to God. – apologies JB.

Elvis Presley & Anita Wood – Who’s Sorry Now (mostly Anita)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_85RZLnF08

60. Brian Doonthetoon

For Ronnie, et al.

I’ve uploaded some pics from Saturday at Helensburgh and, also, a compilation vid of Jock Scot.

You can find the crimes here:-

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/wos-helensburgh-25-07-15

61. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Very good, sure I spotted an extra from The Exorcist moonlighting lol.

62. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Good stuff!

I thought Paula Rose was there?

Don’t tell me she managed to evade all the cameras yet again?!

63. CameronB Brodie

Fast on the heels of the lunacy that was Eduard Khil (Trololo Man) and the zaniness of Messer Chups, here’s Vitas.

Mind now, these guys are tough. They defeated the Nazis.

Vitas – The 7th Element (beat that Besson)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?t=90&v=cwhLueAWItA

How much can you take? 🙂

64. Paula Rose

Ian honey – as a special treat I allowed Jock Scot to take some pics of moi! No doubt he’ll work out how to put them up here once he has managed to stop his hands shaking.

65. Yew Choob

Thanks Brian and Pete, John didn’t say that you’d allowed Jock on a stage..that was brave.

@Ian Botherhood, apart from losing Jock, oor John did manage that elusive shot of Paula as posted below..for the more pornographic ‘Unicorn on a thigh’ picture..you will have to offer a load of cash ..I mean a LOAD.

http://www.facebook.com/1396874730561240/photos/pcb.1611698462412198/1611697905745587/?type=1&theater

66. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

No, he won’t – he’ll keep them to himself. The bastard!

67. Yew Choob

@Ian Brotherhood…the price just went UP.

68. Thepnr

@Yew Choob

Haha, much ye want gon tell us tell us 🙂

69. Ian Brotherhood

@Yew Choob –

Our comments overlapped…

🙁

Erm, eh, well, can we come to some kind of arrangement?

70. Thepnr

Some things are never for sale and dignity is probably the number one.

71. Paula Rose

Behave dears or I shall withdraw permissions for any other pics.

72. Thepnr

@Paula Rose and Jock Scot

This is for you 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZftlRs-pfv4

73. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m still processing a pic of Paula Rose from Invergowrie that was spoilt by failure of flash. It’s not one of my high priorities because I am satisfied, having seen her in the crotchless balaclava, on her way to the pool that night.

AS pic is a poor second.

But I’ll persevere in making it available to the wider interweb…

74. Brian Doonthetoon

“AS pic is a poor second” = “A pic is a poor second”.

“Lack of proofreading”, came the reply.

75. Kendomacaroonbar

I can finally reveal that Paula Rose refused a lucrative contract Point Blank to appear as our monthly centre fold spread (‘au natural’) as the staple location was too close for comfort.

The offer still stands M’aam

76. Yew Choob

@ThePNR

You will have to ask if you can get a discount from Paula as she isn’t under licence to Yew Choob…YET.

Blackmail is such a lurid vice wouldn’t you agree but can let you have a sneak peak at the negative for £200 -(minus) Travel, taxis,mince and tatties and looking after John..make it a fiver

@Ian Brotherhood

Took my post 23 minutes to register so understandable and do forgive our sense of fun..must be that bad influence which is so good here x

@Paula

If you are hiding Jock in your closet…..can you send him back cos Ninja Penguin has covertly furnished us with some new lyrics and we could do with, what passes as, a vocalist around here. We have heard from MFI 5 that he may have been spotted in Rutherglen of all places..must be that kick-ass Yes Rutherglen mob who owned the dance floor in Helensburgh by the way, according to John.

77. Thepnr

@Yew Choob Truth be told!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0feQ8zeCEo

78. Thepnr

Filmed in bonny Scotland, the stormy, atmospheric backdrop of the latest offering is provided courtesy of the tiny island of Easdale, in the Inner Hebrides. Directed by long-standing Florence collaborator Vincent Haycock, it’s a poignant piece of cinematic brilliance.

Ditching her usual sequins and cape, we see the magnificent Florence comfort a young version of herself, face a group of violent men, struggle with love, loss, family – and sing to a fisherman. Guaranteed to give you goosebumps.

Florence and the Machine

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSM0lLbVYOo

79. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT nice pics B thanks at least I get to see some of Helensburgh.

@ Jock S Cactus you,s did ah grand job.

@ Gillian Ruglian thanks to you & your partner for the banners,they,ll look great at the Wings Stall.

@ CameronB lol did that suprize you eh Vinny fae Waterford lol,I have another one George Storer fae Lothian region he will be looking in by Tues of next week & a Couple fae Banknock, Cameron no need to appologise I know you were only kiddin lol.

80. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson

lololololololololo 😉

81. hevvabeccywoss

Who owned the dance floor? The Yes Rutherglen mob felt so welcome that you pulled a usually very shy Heather (hevvabeccywoss) out of her shell hahaha. It was fantastic night. Dixie set up the night, singing from Cactus, videos from Brian and Yewchoob had us dancing early doors. I canny wait for the next bash. Yes Rutherglen are organising a night soon. We’ll let you know the details in due course and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to return the favour and welcome you to our event.

82. Paula Rose

@ hevvabeccywoss lovely to have you all along and so pleased that you recognise our ownership (smiley, winky thingie) xx

83. Thepnr

@hevvabeccywoss

Hello Heather, nice to see you here in Off Topic. As for the dancing! Thanks for taking care of an old timer 🙂

84. hevvabeccywoss

@Yew Choob I like the sound of that unicorn on thigh tattoo. Sounds epic lol

@Paula Rose you’ve got the moves. I couldn’t keep up with you but it was fun trying ????

@Thepnr I don’t remember any old timers just a distinguished gentleman who did me the honour of a dance.

Right with all those compliments you all owe me a drink. Who’s up for it hahaha x

85. Paula Rose

Um I don’t actually remember allowing any of the Yew Choob team access to my unicorn – another wings myth! Cocktails next time hevvabeccywoss no probs xx

86. hevvabeccywoss

Erm I don’t know why question marks appeared on my last post. I entered a smiley face.

Cocktails it is @Paula Rose 🙂

87. Jock Scot

Hi Folks, sorry if HQ have been giving you a hard time..I’ve been in touch by fashioning a way to access the internet and stoap their moaning..I’ve been kept on a leash for too long and the break has been wonderful, thanks to my new handler/wearer for looking after me. Heather you were great on Saturday and a total pleasure to meet you. Wings are lucky to have you on board, methinks. Had an absolute ball at Helensburgh and wasn’t Dixie excellent..I missed some of the turns unfortunately as some Russian chap started wearing me and I got a bit confused. Anyone going to the March in Glasgow on Saturday..I think Gillian is, so will we be there as Wingers or individual subversives?

88. X_Sticks

Damn, won’t make the march in Glasgow this weekend either.

Just hope I’ll make it to the proposed Rutherglen do.

About time Embra got it’s act together for another do too!

89. Jock Scot

@Paula

My dear, I shall contact HQ and check this out but you did wake up not wearing your shoes if I recall.

@Heather

As the poster’s keep saying..’careful now’. And if you are up for a drink..would you be available to meet up after the March on Saturday for a ‘drink and a strategy sesh’ to discuss some of the ideas we came up with at Helensburgh.

@Ronnie

Don’t burn

90. Yew Choob

@Jock Scot

Ya dirty stop-out and did you say Russian?..who else was wearing you on Saturday?

91. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

I’m guessing some Wingers are going on the march – two and a half miles, an hour and a quarter – but I think there will be more Wingers at the BBC demo in the afternoon.

http://www.facebook.com/events/1642014286043226/

92. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya guys, I hope Helen’s got her burgh back in order after the weekend!

Another memorable night for the wings family, thanks to everyone involved and love to you all 🙂

If folk are up for it, we may as well take advantage of all being in the same place this weekend and have a wee meet-up after the march. What say you’s?

Oh, and the Yes Rutherglen shindig is proposed for Friday 18th September, details to follow xx

93. hevvabeccywoss

@Jock Scot A drink after the March you say? Mmm I believe that could be arranged. Purely for strategizing of course and nothing to do with the banter hahaha.

See you on Saturday troops 🙂

94. CameronB Brodie

Grouse Beater & donald (if you read WOS)
    I was caught in two minds.

The Ventures – Wipeout (live)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bKG0p6Tv9Q

surprise 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ke4sioh8tBw

95. James Caithness

Robert Peffers hasn’t posted for awhile, does anyone know if he is okay?

96. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock et al.

Yooz not going to the BBC Demo on Saturday afternoon?

Ronnie’ll mark you absent in the register…

http://www.facebook.com/events/1642014286043226/

97. Jock Scot

Brian

Wasn’t too sure what was happening this weekend but think we could do both and then have a brain-storming session.

98. Cactus

Aye, post-march refreshments this Saturday afternoon, count me in.

Dixie and I were back ROCKing The Clutha mic last night (hosted by the amazing Mr Dandelion). A braw night of singing and dancing had by all!

The bar is now situated in the courtyard/garden area and the famous tree still remains.. in fact, there are a few new branches which have sprouted 🙂

So there’s a thought.. once we arrive at Glasgow Green, who’s up for post-march refreshments in The Clutha? (5 mins away)

99. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cactus.

Ronnie’s looking for a good number of Wingers at the BBC Demo, 2pm to 4pm.

100. Cactus

Hey Brian Doonthetoon ~

Maybes then we could participate in an old-fashioned Glasgow tradition and have a mini ‘pub crawl’ on route to the quay..

Starters at The Clutha and work our way down the Clyde towards.. a half here, a half there? We’ll be dancing by the time we arrive!

Question:
    Who knows what Helensburghs The Clyde bar and Glasgows The Clutha bar share in common?

101. hevvabeccywoss

Cactus,

I think the Clutha is a great idea. After Dixie telling us how the owner paid for the refit out of his own pocket it will be good to show support and get money in the tills.

Clearly that is my only motivation and nothing to do with drinking whisky lol

I’m sure Gillian_Ruglonian and I will be going to the BBC demo but heading for drinks after that 😀

102. Jim Thomson

And for all us grammar Nazis out there (in here?)

I give you … Weird Al Yankovic

http://www.youtube.com/watch?t=46&v=8Gv0H-vPoDc

103. Jim Thomson

and (assuming my last post went through ok (it had the N word in it, no, not the ni* word, the one with the z in it))

Here’s a wee video of arguably the greatest metal guitarist around today – Zakk Wylde

As our American cousins might drawl … “Awesome”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bklFIanHdk

104. Jim Thomson

And, just before I get back to reading about “Physical Layer Characteristics of Universal Access Transmitters for ADS-B”, here’s a short clip of Zakk’s fingering technique (steady, Paula)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JaaCYfN8lzM

105. paulTgeist

@ Cactus:-
    Excellent suggestion for a gathering at The Clutha post demo.
    Excellent way for us to show our support for people who have
    been through some unimaginably terrible times recently.

106. Gillian_Ruglonian

So, looks like there’s a plan coming together…marching, sticking two fingers up at PQ, then showing our support at a great Glasgow institution.
    Who could refuse 🙂

107. Paula Rose

Oh decisions – Glasgae town, should I stay (in Brechin) or should I go? Perhaps I’ll do another crowd funder to hire Nicola’s chopper.

108. Thepnr

Oh the angst. Searching desperately for inspiration!

I found it, hallelujah, on one that I’ve already posted here lol.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rrXmE19hFk

109. Paula Rose

“Rock the Clutha” – music by The Clash, anyone got the lyrics?

110. Gillian_Ruglonian

111. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    You come across as some who might be able to answer this question. 🙂

Bullshit or not?

Ongoing academic explanation of the SEG.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EkBOaz-Av1E

112. Paula Rose

@ Gillian_Ruglonian faerie with wings?

113. Jim Thomson

Cameron – thanks for that bud. 9 minutes of my life that have just evaporated!

I have to say though, some hair! I want hair like that.

I have no idea what the Searl “machine” is but from the very brief snippets of video, it looks like induced currents in a grooved surfaces of aluminium rollers (no idea if the metal is Al or not). The grooves will allow multiple surface eddy currents to exist across the face of the roller.

The rotors could be ferrous or non-ferrous. If non-ferrous but conductive, then there will still be induced surface currents setting up opposing collapsing mag fields to that causing the currents and will result in repulsion. The geometry looks like it would cause the rotation of the rollers as well as the repulsion of the roller group.

But hey, I only have an ONC in electrical engineering (from hundreds of years ago). We were taught about series v shunt wound motors and that’s what I’m referencing in my cloudy heid-store. As well as some tiny remnants of stuff I used to know about super-cooled conduction.

So, anyway, I do hope someone gave him a safety briefing about working at heights. Looks like an awfy long way down just behind him! Maybe the guy to his left was the safetyman 🙂

114. Paula Rose

Ooo multiple surface eddies and repulsion of rollers coupled with shunt wound motors – heaven again on Off-topic, swoon.

115. Jim Thomson

… and another thing, he really does go on a bit. Not exactly concise. He’s obviously had a bad experience when someone criticised his “tainted” data back in his early academic history.

116. Paula Rose

Yippee we’re O/T on O/T where’s our fave O/Ter , where’s AuldA?

117. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

Comments on that video for which you gave the link.

Like Jim, I was wondering about the hair. Did Sheldon Cooper let Penny experiment with it?

On the rest…
    I’m quite happy believing that when the flux linking a circuit changes, an electro-magnetic force is induced, and that the magnitude of the induced EMF is directly proportional to the rate of change of flux linkage.
    Furthermore, the induced EMF acts in such a manner as to oppose the cause to which it is due.

Faraday and Lenz have a lot to answer for!

118. Paula Rose

Oh the magnetic forces of attraction with those other bits!

119. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    I wasn’t really expecting such an informative reply. Thanks, though I could , of course, ask the same question of your theory. 🙂

Ignorance is bliss, so don’t read Wings Over Scotland. It’s bad for your bliss folks.

Also, Jim, I didn’t put a gun to your head. 😉

Cheers 😀

120. Finlay

Gutted I missed the party on Saturday, hope you guys all had a grand old time!

I’ll definitely pop round for the next one, if you’ll have me. 😉

121. Paula Rose

Finlay dear – do you dance?

122. smithie

Paula Rose @9.26pm, happy days dear, slip aff thae 6 inch heels and get cumfy wi yer 3 inch baffies x

123. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Weird hairdos and flux capacitors. Mmmm. Not wanting to knock the subject matter, as I understand virtually zilch about physics (as evidenced by my lack of a Higher qualification in the subject), I think the vid shows it is relatively easy to gain mileage when expounding on specialist knowledge. I thought the guy sounded like he knew what he was talking about, though somewhat implausible. Book – cover – judge? 😉

Saying that, the first thing I thought of was Will Podmore selling his tripe. 🙂

How else has a misleadingly branded British Labour party survived for so long in Scotland, selling English imperialism? Corrupted working-class leaders and bamboozle merchants spinning shite to the flock and all supported by a corrupt BBC and right-wing press. That’s how.

Sorry for preaching to the converted. 😉

124. Jim Thomson

Thing is, I’m a sucker when it comes to “trying” to help :-p

I’m also always trying to find out what makes stuff tick … and then it stops … just when I get that last screw out …

And when it’s all back together again, there are a few spare bits that never seemed to have been necessary in the first place.

Which reminds me of a lad I had the great fortune to work alongside just at the end of my apprenticeship. He had a multiplicity of previous work experiences, one of which was working in a TV repair shop. His fault-finding techniques were legendary.

He had a theory that when someone designed a new TV, they handed the circuit to one of the technicians to build it. The finance people then got involved and got the tech to start removing components until it stopped working. The last one was replaced and that was the final design! There is probably some truth in there, and the techs would have made a few changes to stop the thing bursting into flames no doubt!

Ahh, those were the days, when you could hold a component in your hand and actually read what the value was without having to use a microscope.

125. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

“How else has a misleadingly branded British Labour party survived for so long in Scotland, selling English imperialism?”

Have you read this, from Tuesday, 28 April 2015? The sentence about “beholden” would answer your question, methinks.

http://tarffadvertiser.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/the-lady-with-gioconda-smile.html

126. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    I could do with one of those to read my phone. :0

Still not sorted out a pair of specks yet. ;(

127. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim.

Remember the days, when the TV went on the blink, the guy came up to the house, switched it on, then announced “It’ll be the picture valve”?

My uncle had absolutely no training in TV repairing. But he repaired TV’s, with around a 90% success rate. He took the back off, looked for a valve or valve that wasn’t lit, and replaced.

I’ve just realised – I’ve forgotten the mnemonic for the resistor colour codes…

128. Brian Doonthetoon

“valve or valve” = “valve or valves”.

129. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Thank Brians. I read that when first posted here but think the facts are of such significance they needs to be put in front of every Scot to consider.

Westminster binds Scotland to the Union, through subterfuge, subversion and superior numbers. Once you understand that, the choices become a whole lot simpler, IMO.

http://tarffadvertiser.blogspot.co.uk/2015/04/the-lady-with-gioconda-smile.html

130. CameronB Brodie

Thanks Paula. Another ‘new’ one to add to the collection. 🙂

131. Thepnr

Haha Paula, I saw them too. Those were the days lol.

132. Cactus

Excellent. In that case it’s the settled will of the Wings-crew, who have said YES to The Clutha bar this Saturday late afternoon (the best bar in toon.)

From Glasgow Green we first go ‘doon the watter’ to the Quay, then back ‘up the watter’ to The C, for afters. (maybe we could charter The Waverley?) 😉

Hey Oneironaut, T Jenny, Scaredy Cat, Alba4eva.. hope yeez are winning well.. gie’s a wave!

133. CameronB Brodie

I don’t know about “Acid Jelly”, so here’s some Lemon Jelly instead.

Lemon Jelly – Nice weather for Ducks
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e8yx4k4tzqE

134. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose CameronB one of the reasons I like WOS its like the Highdron Kaleidoscope People of many hue,s & many colours.How diz Wings work again & again.lol

135. Jim Thomson

Brian – you are just trying to get me to type something that never was quite PC.

The mnemonic was based on B B R O Y G B V G W

but I’m not falling for that old trick 😉

136. ronnie anderson

I had a chat with Jock Scott via F/B about Sat I hope that Many Wingers turn up to support You,s. You,s might be missing Me but You,s wont be short on Information & Talent in Promotion of WOS & INDY SITES.

BrianDTT/PeteTC I,ll be needing a good few badges to send out to People I met here Unicorn/Johnbull jiggin.

137. Chic McGregor

Just found this accoustic cover of James Taylor’s great song Fire and Rain.

Vindicates all us folkies moaning about over studio production back in the day.

Beautiful cello work by the young lad as well.

youtu.be/8WqwhEy1cK8

Sorry Rev. (forgot to strip the url there.)

138. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jim T.

I did a Google search and that mnemonic you refer to is NOT the one I was thinking of!

In fact, none of those I came across rang any bells.

139. Jim Thomson

Brian Dtt – the one I had stuck in my head started with “Big Boys” and ended “Go Without”

Just updated laptop to Win 10 – only took 90 mins :-/

Had an issue with the trackpad scrolling but that’s now (nearly) sorted. Damn thing now operates in the opposite sense.

Betty B is not quite ready for her one to be blitzed :-p

140. Taranaich

This is the toughest article I’ve ever written, because it’s the only time I’ve felt moved enough to break ranks and disagree with a great number of my friends and other independence supporters:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/07/30/there-is-no-failure-except-in-no-longer-trying/

For what it’s worth, I think events are moving fast enough that a second referendum will seem academic, a mere formality, compared to what the Tory government are continuing to do.

141. Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    I wasn’t really expecting such an informative reply. …

…Ignorance is bliss, so don’t read Wings Over Scotland. It’s bad for your bliss folks.

Now see what I have to put up with? You would ask… Nigh on 40 years and ma heid is fu’! Mind you, I don’t remember much of it.

My tuppence worth. That bloke was talking mince. Anyone who looks like he is wearing a cat on his head cannot be taken seriously! Mind you, it looked like he was somewhere west coast, USA and my son came across a bloke with a rabbit on his head down on the Big Sur, so maybe that passes for chic there.

What do I know though because…

@ hevvabeccywoss, 28/7/15, 11:27pm
    @ thepnr

I thought you had extinguished some old fella on the dance floor in Helensburgh! Then I put my specs on…

Anyways, pleased to meet you Heather and glad you were gentle with thepnr!

142. CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
    I must admit I found it difficult not to judge by appearance, even though my haircut was not dissimilar when I was young and daft(er). I found it easier to doubt though, when reference was made to the prominent chemical physicist, as I thought this was a mechanical physics problem.

What do I know thought? Bliss. 😉

Anyone care to spoil my bliss? 🙂

143. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

Powerful stuff, and FWIW, I fully agree with your take on it all.

Please allow me to flag-up a couple of typos:

The Gordon Wilson quote near the start: ‘That is the making of political leader.’ Surely ‘a’ missing there?

And much further on…‘We couldn’t assume we would have won the first won.’ Second ‘won’ should be ‘one, right?

Sorry to be pedantic-heid, but we all have blind spots.

Really enjoyed it – the passion pulses out if it all, and that’s what we need right now when so many are feeling jaded.

More power to ye mister, as always. 😉

144. Paula Rose

I generally find that Thepnr needs a firm hand. Btw way way O/T if I can turn out in all my finery on Saturday – who is first to volunteer to sleep on the floor and allow moi an uninterrupted kip?

145. hevvabeccywoss

@betty hoop the pleasure was all mine. I can’t remember being on a night out with so many new friends but feeling so welcome and like I’d known you for years. It’s a strong group off people who can pull that off. It’s hilarious you thought I’d extinguished their. No chance, I value my dancing partners too much lol

@Paula Rose ‘if I can turn out in all my finery’ I didn’t think you could turn out in anything less than finery. A lady of such extremely good taste as yourself surely would never slum it in anything less than fabulous darling 😀

146. Brian Doonthetoon

WOO-HOO!

I got 1st comment on a new story!

I am humbled…

BTW: for those coming to the BBC demo on Saturday afternoon, look for the new Wings banners hanging from a rather long pole.

Climb down to the bottom and you should find Pete and I and whover else has turned up.

147. Brian Doonthetoon

“whover” = “whoever”.

148. Paula Rose

Scottish culture – swoon xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CKly-dga3Nw

149. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

You must read faster than me, Brian!

150. Paula Rose

It’s the way you make me feel – my darlings

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByqXqz7Tvqo

151. Taranaich

Thanks, Ian!

I noticed the “won” one myself shortly after re-reading, but I copy-pasted the Gordon Wilson quote, so blame it on the Telegraph!

152. Paula Rose

I want to cuddle Taranaich again – sexiest winger apart from his mum – kisses darlings.

153. Betty Boop

@ Taranaich

Some article, Al. I know I have been swinging about on the “should we, shouldn’t we” argument, but, you make some powerful points.

The most persuasive, and it is one that has occurred to me, is that we are may well be doing the unionist job for them by appearing to assume we couldn’t do it right now. There is real danger in losing focus.

I think, though, that the main concern is that too many who voted no still don’t see the writing on the wall. The Scottish cringe has its roots in being brainwashed for 300+ years that we’re not good enough and someone/anyone else always knows better.

Anyway, good piece and should give pause for thought.

154. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose

Aww, you always get me with Dusty!

Then you hit with the Rezillos, mad punk rock, but, enjoyed that.

155. Jim Thomson

And so it begins …

Upgrade to Windows10 on the main PC has started. Only around 75 mins to wait to see if it will still let me post on Wings (that’s really all that matters!)

156. Jock Scot

@Taranaich

Excellent,sir. One of the other things we ‘lost’ after Sep 18th was a date. The movement had a focal point and all the hedging bets baloney is causing some to get really frustrated. The movement grew and flourished when our positive views thro’ art and get togethers in church halls etc brought back community involvement and allowed us to believe we could do it. Agreed that the 45%(possibly more but won’t go into that here) haven’t gone away but could probably do with something like Yes Scotland to build around.The Yes registry may be an answer and if so, would it be an idea if Wingers could come together in a group, like RIC, WFI and Common Weal and have a representation on the proposed Yes Scotland substitute. There is such a level of intelligence amongst Wingers that we could do with being a part of this or similar. I know Yes Scotland may have had issues with Wings by association but that has gone. The gloves are now well and truly off and I for one am fed up with trying to be nice about this.

Looking forward to meeting up with everyone this Saturday. I may not be able to access the internet tonight but will be at Kelvingrove for 11am. See you there or at PQ.

157. Gillian_Ruglonian

Well said Jock!

See you all in the town tomorrow x

158. Taranaich

@Paul Rose: I want to cuddle Taranaich again – sexiest winger apart from his mum – kisses darlings.

*Blushes bashfully*

@Betty Boop: Some article, Al. I know I have been swinging about on the “should we, shouldn’t we” argument, but, you make some powerful points.

The most persuasive, and it is one that has occurred to me, is that we are may well be doing the unionist job for them by appearing to assume we couldn’t do it right now. There is real danger in losing focus.

I think, though, that the main concern is that too many who voted no still don’t see the writing on the wall. The Scottish cringe has its roots in being brainwashed for 300+ years that we’re not good enough and someone/anyone else always knows better.

Anyway, good piece and should give pause for thought.

Cheers Betty. Much as I disagree with many of Gordon Wilson’s conclusions, I do think he’s onto something in regards to the national identity thing: a lot of people want what the SNP have been studiously avoiding, which is a reason to be Scottish instead of British. The last census showed a vast, vast majority of Scots call themselves “Scottish and British” or “Scottish not British.”

@Jock Scot: The gloves are now well and truly off and I for one am fed up with trying to be nice about this.

I firmly believe that if we are much more resolute in defending our stances on things like the pound & the EU, then people who voted No will respect it. If we don’t, then they may think Westminster had a point, and that we don’t have enough faith in our policies. Of course we can’t expect the media to report us favourably, but why play their game? The Wee Blue Book, I think, was absolutely instrumental in showing that our positivity had rock-solid foundations.

Case in point: the shyness about nationalism. Obviously people are going to draw associations with other nationalisms – but if we don’t give our definition of nationalism (not necessarily “civic nationalism,” either), then our enemies will define it for us. They define nationalism as “an extreme form of patriotism marked by a feeling of superiority over other countries.” They get away with it.

My definition of nationalism is the same as Ernest Gellner: “a political principle that holds that the political and the national unit should be congruent.” Nothing about Scotland being better, nothing about the English being evil, nothing about supremacy or superiority – just the idea that a nation should be congruent with its politics.

159. X_Sticks

@Jock Scot

” the 45%(possibly more but won’t go into that here) haven’t gone away but could probably do with something like Yes Scotland to build around”

National YES Registry

Advancing Scottish Independence by creating a campaigning collective from within the grass-roots.

“The idea is simple. Get all the existing pro-Indy grass-root activist groups, no matter how geographically disparate, linked together in a practical and mutually supportive campaigning network.”

Their crowdfunding appeal is at 49% with 40 hours to go.

I’ve made a contribution but that’s not an endorsement – you’ll have to make up your own minds..

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/national-yes-registry/x/101819#/story

I won’t make it to the protest/march/swally tomorrow as I have to attend a birthday party. Can’t get out of it cause it’s mine 🙁 😉 .

If Kevins livestreaming any I’ll be trying to look in when I can. Have a good one folks.

160. Betty Boop

@Gillian_Ruglonian

Nice gravatar, Gillian. Fairies at the bottom of the garden? You been hallucinating since Helensburgh? 😉

161. Stoker

Test
    :))

162. Stoker

🙂 )

163. Michael McCabe

My MP’s Maiden Speech Tommy Sheppard http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=H2wSGjjHXfQ A Class Act.

164. cearc

X_Sticks,

Happy birthday and many more of them.

165. hevvabeccywoss

Well it might be a bit cloudy but the sun is out. Fingers crossed it stays that way for today’s March and demo. Looking forward to seeing everyone.

166. ronnie anderson

I,ve been shouting for a Forum of committed Indy Supporters since the 19th Sept,we were let down badly by the Corperate Yes Campain. Grassroots are for action , batter a Idea aboot for a short time & a plan takes shape WOS / Scot2.Scot have well astablished site so there should be plenty of co-operation as with other Indy sites.

Lets get this show out there.

Contrabution done, share the link People.Here & abroad to the Scots XPats.

167. Betty Boop

@ X_Sticks

Many happy returns. Hope you have a great party today! 🙂

168. Chic McGregor

Another great article Taranaich

169. Betty Boop

@ ronnie Anderson, 10:10am

I,ve been shouting for a Forum of committed Indy Supporters since the 19th Sept…

Ronnie, can you shout louder from Santa Ponsin’ so they can hear you in that wee bit o’ Ayrshire between Stevenston and Ayr! No matter how loudly I shouted the same message locally, esp that we should still be out talking on the street, it didn’t penetrate the cloth ears.

Hope you are behavin’ 😉 – dinnae you be emigrating to Spain now, not unless you are joining the Wings Catalonia branch!

170. Jim Thomson

test … Windaes X

171. Jim Thomson

Ah weel, didnae wurk. Still same auld hauf oor wait ah reckon.

172. Lollysmum

@Jim Thomson
    Have you seen the stuff on Twitter in the last couple of days about Windows 10? Apparently everything you do online is shared-clicks, purchases-everything. More info here:

http://www.polygon.com/2015/7/31/9075531/windows-10-privacy-how-to

173. Jim Thomson

@Lollysmum

don’t believe everything that’s spouted on Twitter. Windows 10 is actually a really significant improvement over previous versions. Where they (Microsoft) have screwed up is the way they’ve left the default settings so that a lot of the privacy settings are effectively “open”. I never accept “express” installations, they are the spawn of the devil and allow suppliers to hide settings that are advantageous to them but not necessarily to the end user.

I’ve been around, and built, computers for over 35 years so I tend to get a wee bit over analytical when a new release of on operating system is dumped on the unsuspecting public (that’s an unfair comment though – Microsoft have been pretty fastidious with their pre-release testing).

This version has installed without problems on one laptop but I had to force a manual install on the desktop one I use for work and that has a few niggles that I’m gradually working through. It, the PC, does have a few non-standard features though and that seems to be the root of the problems.

I’ll deal with those tomorrow 🙁

Don’t worry about me, I generally win in the end (sometimes takes a while and I learn a lot in the process) 🙂

174. Ian Brotherhood

Daryl Hall & Cee Lo Green, ‘I Can’t Go For That’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hH1HrpzNwO8

175. Ian Brotherhood

Ray Lamontagne, ‘Crazy’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mEfDSP4g_U

176. Paula Rose

(too many hippies)

177. Paula Rose

Party time dolls –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sA2fW2IS6gk

178. Brian Doonthetoon

As a DJ, I haven’t played this in anger for quite a number of years.

But…

The swimming pool escapade after Wings Over Invergowrie, and the lost shoes on the bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond, somehow, makes me associate this song with Paula Rose – no offence!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zs970lwHn2E

179. Brian Doonthetoon

Good choice, Paula Rose.

But…

Still doesn’t excuse you from the gossip implied by my previous post tonight.

Are you gonna come clean?

180. Paula Rose

I’m dancing barefoot – but to transgress

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sA2fW2IS6gk

181. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    Here’s another one I’d like your opinion on, if you’d be so kind.

Bullshit or not? 😉

Turbo Encabulator
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rLDgQg6bq7o

182. Thepnr

What Spitting Image thought of the Labour Party 25 years ago.

Red Tories? “So you still think you can control them Neil?”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ReIAna459sg

183. Thepnr

Nightmares come true, Spitting Image on the nail again from the same year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N43AOtI_g98

184. Jim Thomson

Cameron, you have way too much time on your hands, son.

I have to admit the use of the white lab coat is simply genius.

The guy also has trouble counting, he mention seven something-or-others but there are clearly only SIX shown in the diagram. It patently will never work with that seventh thingy missing.

Coypu are alive and well and living in the Fens.

185. Jim Thomson

If you know anyone with a Masters in a technical subject who can speak two Euro languages this might be a job for them

http://email.ietinfo.org/q/1eVH4GsSX3JPamOO0DSnGUB/wv

I’ve seen this advertised a few times over the past couple of years so, they’re either losing staff because it’s a crap job, or, they’re really trying to be very helpful in securing Euro-patents.

186. CameronB Brodie

Jim Thomson
    Way too much time. 🙂

187. hevvabeccywoss

This has probably been well covered already but I just wanted to say how good it was to join the March on Saturday. The atmosphere was amazing and the sun was shining on us which was great. Shame we got rained off for the BBC bias demo but you can’t have it all. It was great to see so many people in the Clutha. The pub looks great. And personally I especially loved receiving my Wings over Helensburgh badge with my name on it. I’m extremely chuffed with that so thank you.

So I wanted to run a random thought past you to see what you think. Sunday night in the Solid Rock cafe it goes from quiet to pretty darn busy really quickly. Turns out the regulars were just back from a BBQ in Loch Lomond. They clearly had a good time. So, I know we might not be having the best summer ever but, since we are such a sociable group, anyone think it might be a good idea for a wings BBQ event? If you think a BBQ is pushing our luck with the weather anyone got any other ideas?

188. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi hevvabeccywoss.

Good to meet you on Saturday and install your badge upon your person!

Absolutely nothing to do with barbecues but…

Off-topic and off-site blethers have taken place since Pacific Quay on Saturday.

The outcome was that, if Edinburgh doesn’t come up with a Wings night by the end of September (avoiding ‘Hope Over Fear’ in George Square on the 19th), we’re looking into organising ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3’, towards the end of October.

To give you a flavour of the last one in February, see here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8RQKd2XX70

189. hevvabeccywoss

Hi Brian Doothetoon, it was grand to meet you too my good man. I see i’ve missed some of the chat. It looks a lot drier indoors than it would do char grilling a sausage on a beach so I’m thinking Invergowrie is a better option lol. Thanks for the clip.

See ya soon

190. Paula Rose

I want a Barbie!

191. Taranaich

Cheers, Chic!

I did another:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/08/04/totally-radical-dudes/

Am I being oversensitive? Because every time I encounter the term “radical” on the news/media (even though I don’t have a TV I do have a life outside my house – just shows you how intrusive the media is) it seems that the term “radicalisation” or “radicalise” is used in reference to new recruits for violent despotic regimes. So when the Herald says the referendum “radicalised thousands of Scots,” is it really oversensitive to worry about how the media have cultivated a very specific, othering culture around that term?

No, of course not. If that was true, surely we’d see the papers & BBC refer to the human beings dying at Calais in dehumanising terms like “migrants” and dutifully broadcast the Prime Minister describing them as a “swarm…”

192. Jim Thomson

Just a wee test of the new Microsoft browser “Edge” to see if that makes viewing posts any faster.

I’m about to blitz the PC and do a fresh install of Win 10 anyway, to see if that also improves the dire loading and shutdown times.

See you on the other side (it might take a while 🙁 )

193. Jim Thomson

So much for that idea … Nada.

Backing up a few more files and then – clean sweep and a few hours of frustration while I try to remember a kazillion passwords and logon IDs. Deep Joy.

194. hevvabeccywoss

@Paula Rose says: ‘I want a Barbie!’

Looks like it’s just you and me then. You any good on the hot coals?

Here’s the plan:
    I’ll bring the whisky, you bring the music and your dancing shoes and if we remember food it’s a bonus but not essential hahaha

195. Paula Rose

hevvabeccywoss honey – it’s a plan, lets do it!

196. Gillian_Ruglonian

Any glaswegians going to the left project’s meeting at renfield St stephens church on bath st tonight at 7pm?
    No, well I’ll report back if anything good comes up!

197. Brian Doonthetoon

Methinks attendance on Friday night to see the Graham Brown Band, would be an ideal starter for the the George Square rally next day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hOU5uz6dg1I

198. Brian Doonthetoon

Although I don’t actually think The The will be on at George Square…

199. Brian Doonthetoon

This looks like it’s worth our support.

“British Army Veteran, Bill (71 years old), a staunch Scottish independence supporter and campaigner, has lived in a van for 15 years (7 years in current van) and many will know him online as “Boorach”, which we think superbly denotes his beard (as pictured).
    The van is a well-known and loved indy celebrity vehicle in the Highlands. And, Bill is alright as well! 🙂 The van has a bed, a microwave, and a wee cooking facility run on a generator.”

and

“However, the rusty battle bus has done over 250,000 miles and is in need of serious repair and this comes at a time when Bill has, unfortunately, been diagnosed with lung cancer. This will involve treatment direct to the affected lung and then bouts of radiation treatment.

Bill currently survives on his Army Pension and recently lost his passenger seat companion “Chip” the terrier. However, he still has his YES Comrades and it is the indy faithful we are pitching to now. We want to raise funds to deliver a brand new battle bus to Bill – one that will be comfortable, reliable and well insulated – this van will be Bill’s new home during his cancer treatment, rehabilitation and beyond.”

http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/billsbattlebus/

200. Paula Rose

It is, it is, it is, go on, go on, go on…

201. Jock Scot

@Paula

When you said you wanted a ‘barbie’, I was shocked, ye Ken

@Brian

Agreed, it’s a good cause and you could do worse than being entertained by the Graham Brown band..thoroughly enjoyed dancing with Paula when they played Dundee..oh, the stroking that happened that day!

202. Paula Rose

Ah Jock Scot – all a-tremble and thoughts of “I am not worthy”. Have seen the famous stage where Yew Tube first performed, I knelt and praised the Ninja Penguin.

203. Jock Scot

@Paula

you say the sweetest things x

204. cearc

BDtt,

A cause worthy of a badge?

He’s a long time Winger.

205. hevvabeccywoss

@Jock Scot I see you made it home in one piece this week. No ransom required. Did your captors treat you well? It was a grand moment seeing you returned to your rightful place x

206. Lollysmum

cearc
    I reckon so. Defintely a worthy recipient 🙂

207. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Cearc.

I emailed for info re donating via PayPal.

This is the reply:-
    ———————————

“Hi Brian,

Thanks for your message. You can use
    kevin.kane@talktalk.net
    to send a donation through Paypal – thank you so much for the support. We will then update our facebook page to detail the current running total including your donation and any others (www.facebook.com/billsbattlebus)

Will amend the Crowdfunder shortly to include the Paypal address – only discovering now people need to register and having other issues with the site. Hope it’s not putting too many folk off!

Thank you again for your donation – we really appreciate it.

Best wishes

Claire (Bill’s Battle Bus Team)”

208. cearc

The email address was already further down in the updates but now they have put it at the top.

Dunno why crowdfunder want all your details to donate, seems a bit ott. Just as easy to do a direct paypal payment and saves the bother of finding a card to pay by card.

Boorach seems to be having a pretty bad time, what with losing his wee dug and being so poorly. Let’s hope they get enough to sort him out well.

209. Gillian_Ruglonian

Very positive meeting tonight, with a great turnout – a diverse age group with wide ranging opinions on the way forward for the indi movement and Scottish political society in general.
    (The interior of the Griffin hasn’t changed much, since I was last in!)

210. Gillian_Ruglonian

Oh, a wee plug for this event – for anyone who’s at a loose end on Friday 🙂

facebook.com/events/518048555015377/

211. Cactus

Evening, that’s me made it back from Saturdays adventures.. what a crowd and great to meet the ever-increasing friendly faces.

Yeah, I’d be up furra BBQ or next event of similar sort. Let’s keep the momentum going.. maybe even aim for (at least) one get-ra-gither a month.

So yeah, Edinburgh and/or Invergowrie next.. I’ll be there 🙂

212. Ian Brotherhood

Van Morrison, ‘Full Force Gale’ and ‘Bright Side Of The Road’ (Live)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xdeKp5KT3GA

213. Gillian_Ruglonian

Anyone about?

Just been watching the SNPs results come in on Twitter, nice work indeed 😉

214. Michael McCabe

I did not know there was Council Elections going on. Thanks to Gillian Ruglonian I do now. Great result for the SNP and Scotland in general. I feel well cheered up now. Here is a wee bit of the ABYSSINIANS. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=SMAemOwtnkY

215. Gillian_Ruglonian

Cool Michael, glad you’re cheery!

Labour are finished in Glasgow! When the job’s complete and we’ve prised the power from their grubby little mits, then we’ll truely deserve to run our own country!

(Just my humble wee opinion 😉 )

216. Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian I hope labour are finished over here in Edinburgh too. The sooner the Better.

217. Michael McCabe

@ Gillian Ruglonian Looking at the wee picture next to your name I thought I would leave you with a song before I head of to sleep. it is a good song a good band and some of the lyrics are by the poet Yeates.

218. Brian Doonthetoon

Four of us went to Jolly’s in The Ferry last night for nosebags.
    It was rather busy but we were able to grab the last available ‘table for 4’.

These were the table numbers…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-8/DSCN0494-1100.jpg

219. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

You’ll know. Why is it, that whenever I do a new post at Scot2Scot North East Scotland, I always get this message?

“Your post has been submitted and is pending approval by an admin.”

220. Michael McCabe

I do not have a TV Licence but Sex and Drugs and Rock n Roll is on BBC 2 at Midnight. I will be Watching. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=i3lLJ9XqHhA

221. Stoker

Cactus wrote:
    “Evening, that’s me made it back from Saturdays adventures.. what a crowd and great to meet the ever-increasing friendly faces.”

Hi Cactus,
    Nice meeting you all at the weekend.
    FFS, i thought i was bad, i never got back to the Borders until Sunday night.

Take care pal and stay out of the main threads, too much bickering.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bpwO0lbJPF4

222. Stoker

Here’s one of my all-time favourites:
    George Baker Selection – Little Green Bag
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gD6KGaQIW04

223. Stoker

Another favourite of mine:
    Hook On A Feeling
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2QK-XUsKb00

224. Stoker

And another:
    I Fought The Law – The Clash
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tR3XY6wfSBw

225. Stoker

“Hook” ???

Hooked !!!

😮

226. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker (10.49) –

‘…too much bickering’

Aye. There is. And we all know who’s causing the vast bulk of it.

We know to expect trolls, and they’re usually identifiable within a short time. But some are very good at what they do and avoid being hoofed for anything obvious.

The best – by definition – will never even be suspected, let alone revealed.

Remember The Day Of The Jackal? We all remember what ‘The Jackal’ was up to, and how he met his end, but what happened after that? Did they ever find out who the dude was?

The ones who do show face (intentionally or not) have to be tackled, not tolerated.

In any event, hoots mon! 🙂

227. Stoker

Exactly, Ian.

Here’s my tribute to Slabber
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6CYkZcPYXQI

228. Stoker

Now i’m getting a wee bit homesick – I want to be back on the west coast 🙁
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WgkGrm5516k

229. Stoker

Mon Ian, give us a choon

230. Ian Brotherhood

Anyway, fuck the trolls.

Here’s Larry Graham and his buddies doing their version of Maroon Five’s ‘Moves Like Jagger’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgjcnzeIq2c

231. Stoker

Am away tae bed – take care folks – Here’s my babe:
    Close All The Honkytonks by Caitlin – MMMMmmmmmmmm
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTkM3S8IKS0
    X

232. Ian Brotherhood

This is a wee curio, but will be of particular interest to bass-players and/or anyone who’s into Sly & The Family Stone etc. Good stuff.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lIbvj2EBqM

233. Stoker

Ian,
    I hate that tune but the one you played at 12.19am (never heard that version before) likey very much.
    Eff it, just going to stay up for a bit.

234. Stoker

Ian,
    Larry Graham (12.27am) reminds me, especially his actions, of another well known black dude. I can see him but can’t, for the life of me, remember his name. I’m cursing you right now. He’s an artist i love as well and can’t get it. I’m typing a load of sheet in the hope it will come to me. Wavy jet black hair and top class on the guitar and i think he done a duet with Chuck Berry???

(((((HELP)))))

235. Stoker

OH, wee red face thingy, it is Chuck Berry, OOOooops, GLOW!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qK5N2LavUZQ

236. Taranaich

It’s actually kind of amazing how New Labour constantly portray themselves as the underdog when even in 2007, where they were the government in Westminster AND Holyrood, they were “fighting back” against the SNP:

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/08/07/the-labour-fightback-starts-here-no-here-wait-what-about-here/

It’s like playing with a small child who insists on starting a game over again because they kept missing the ball. “Wait, I wasn’t ready!” “Wait, I got something in my eye!” Wait, I have a stitch!” “Wait, I slipped on something!”

237. Stoker

A wee change to the Quo since these posts are taking forever to appear:
    Down The Dustpipe – Status Quo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUOAtDU5yFY

238. Stoker

Aye, thanks Taranaich, when i’m feeling homesick and doing my best via music to forget the west coast you pop up and remind me of Greenock and The Hole In The Wall. Used to go in there regular on a weekend and the group that played in there always played this for me…..and they were excellent at it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbwgKH2SqoY

Thanks for nothing mate!

239. Stoker

Another oldie i loved as a kid:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHPI5o5zPhM

240. Stoker

BTW, Ian, Rock’s not a troll, argumentative yes but not a troll.
    The Jesus And Mary Chain – April Skies
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPPP3BXurHk

241. Stoker

Ocean Colour Scene – Better Day
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YFSoXOzVzmU

Goodnight, folks, all the very best to each and every one of you.

242. Stoker

OH, I’m as happy as a pig in shite!

This tune on video was unavailable for a while, don’t know why, but i’ve just been informed of its existence again.

Just watch these two super-groups work together and i defy anyone to show me a video of any two groups doing it better.

I’m away to bed a very happy chappy and will leave you with this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A_OnFHJou4o
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

243. Cactus

Cheers for your 1049’er Stoker.

Am enjoying and learning from the main threads as always, never let one go by. It’s tasty bite-sized articles one at a time (political education here is like dining tapas-style.)

When catching up, I tend to go to the end of threads first (back to just before midnightish) and work forwards from there. That’s when the comments BTL (Below The Line) get juicy and real!

Also handy reading and finding out live, if some local or worldly event has happened, or even occurred 🙂

Have a braw Saturday everybuddy, go’an do something good today for Scotland and yerself.. ye’s both deserve it.

244. Stoker

@ Cactus.
    Sorry about that, should have been more clearer in my 1049er.
    I was referring more to the main comment thread at the time and how it had descended into pointless petty bickering. I was merely attempting (badly) to offer a heads-up on it.

Yes, you sure can learn a lot from the threads but i find it extremely taxing when they descend to that level, especially when it’s between folk who ultimately believe in the same goal and who are supposed to be on the same team.

There’s nothing wrong with having our differences, in fact it’s healthy but we don’t need to keep fueling those fires and we certainly shouldn’t be derailing topics. If certain folks want to scrap they should take it outside, ie; Off topic and i’ll volunteer to hold the coats.

Nevertheless, i have never missed an article or Cairns Toon since joining WOS and i never will, they’re far too valuable.

245. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

re ‘Rock’, I hope you’re right. I truly do. It would help if the man (?) would show us his brighter, lighter side, and stop issuing lists of imagined enemies.

In any event, thanks for the tunes you’re putting up here, and the general good, healing vibes you’re generating. 🙂

246. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

Check out this video – sobering…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VafZic-UM_Q

247. Jock Scot

Very true Brian..can’t help wondering what Lennon would have thought of Bush jnr and Trump..what an album that would be.

248. Stoker

@ Ian (9.55pm).
    Thanks, i enjoy music, life would certainly be a lot duller without it and when it comes to music i sometimes wonder if my brain is just one large bag of neurological Liquorice Allsorts.
    A variety of flavours with a wee preference for the pink & blues.

I’ve also just seen this on the main thread and don’t know whether to metaphorically blaw thur heeds aff for putting that tune in ma heed or ????? I think i’ll just say MAGNIFICO!
    Their best yet!

I’ll know it off-by-heart by this time tomorrow 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y7QFXFTQZhw

249. CameronB Brodie

Yew Choob certainly makes a forcefull point, Stoker.

Giving you a heads-up this time, I’m not sure if many folk will enjoy this particular Allsort. Tbh, I’m not sure how to describe it as it looks as if someone has been sitting on the bag. 🙂

This one going out to Paula. Hope you’re not stroking yourself to the point of nervous exhaustion. 😉

Shockabilly – Your Good Girl’s Gonna Go Bad
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2zycT3URrqo

250. CameronB Brodie

In other news, David Cameron has been urged to reign in the leader of the Scottish Separatists, as the threat posed to Great British traditions by the most dangerous woman in Britain, spreads panic and confusion amongst ordinary English voters.

http://www.thepoke.co.uk/2015/08/06/yorkshireman-calls-999-cat-ate-bacon/

251. Jock Scot

@Stoker
    Sorry and HaHa all at the same time..your comment made me smile so much it was sore 🙂

@Cameron
    Don’t think Ninja Penguin was going for the ‘enjoyment’ factor and agree it will be interesting to see/read any reaction..if I’m not invited back to a night-oot, I’ll understand. Loved the squashed sweeties image.

On a more serious note..if anyone can get in contact with TJenny, can they let her know that I was wanting to communicate quite urgently

Cheers

252. CameronB Brodie

Cheers Jock and apologies to Ninja Penguin for the incorrect credit.

In other news, that Partick mascot has made my year and that Ipswich under 14s goal was a cracker, though I think the winger was a couple of yards off-side when the final pass was made. Still astonishing though. 😉

253. Ian Brotherhood

Paula Rose!!

Where ur ye??

450k comment slot is up for grabs, right now…

254. Ian Brotherhood

This is my feeble, tired lob-in for the 450,000th comment.

Half-hearted as it is, a full-hearted nicht-nicht tae ane an’ aw the fellow travellers.

X

255. hevvabeccywoss

Good morning everyone

I’m posting this for no other reason than it was on my Facebook timeline and it made me smile. Thought it might make someone else smile too. Have a good Monday people 😀

m.youtube.com/?gl=GB&hl=en-GB#/watch?v=CQTq88Ie5sU

256. X_Sticks

@Jock Scot

Hi Jock – been away at Belladrum over the weekend, but I’ve passed on your request for TJenny to get in touch. She hadn’t seen the post.

@Tartan Pigsy

Enjoyed that wee catch up at Bella. Look forward to you coming to one of the Wings social nights out!

257. TJenny

Jock Scott – Hi, I’m intrigued (wee quizzicalfacedthingy).

Ian Brotherhood did have my email address, and X-Sticks has my phone number.

I await contact with bated breath. 😉

258. CameronB Brodie

TJenny
    Hi there, long time no see. I’m not sure if Tam is that fussed about another Edinburgh bash but what about you? I’m happy to organise another, if you think folk will come. Let me know in OT. 😉

259. CameonB Brodie

Doh, there was me thinking I was on main thread. 🙂

260. Paula Rose

Was at a party with the lovely Fiona MacInnes (from Orkney and an instigator of a certain writ) – she and several others will be in Edinburgh in early September, could be a good reason for a get-together!

261. CameronB Brodie

It’s my birthday in September. I’ve not had a party in years. 🙁

262. Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

TJenny
    Hi there, long time no see. I’m not sure if Tam is that fussed about another Edinburgh bash but what about you? I’m happy to organise another, if you think folk will come..

Cameron, I’ll come, if at all possible, and I live a long way from Embra!!!

263. Betty Boop

@ CameronB Brodie

Just trawling through loads of comments and thought I would give the Embra folks a wee push with my last comment! We missed so many in Helensburgh!

264. CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
    I think I’m just going to go ahead and organise something, but it would be good to get some feedback. Cheers. 😉

265. kendomacaroobar

Guys, I’m just putting this out in off topic to see if I can get a boost to our indiegogo fundraiser. After 8 days we are at 1300 and I’m wondering if there is a genuine demand for our magazine.

We are trying to attract those people who generally avoid politics and don’t access their news via the MSM. Any comments genuinely appreciated, in the meantime heres a link to the indiegogo fundraiser for any millionaires out there.

http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/iscot-phase-2-be-the-change/x/2351065#/story

266. TJenny

Hi all, would love a WOS night in Edinburgh and greatly relieved that Cammy B has offered to arrange. 😉

It would be ideal to arrange said WOS night in Sept when the Orkney Heroes will be here. (I have slightly ulterior motives in this as I recently discovered I have Orcadian roots – clearly exceedingly long roots if they can reach to Edinburgh! 🙂 )

267. CameonB Brodie

kendomacaroobar
    Hi there, I’m ttwapies (long story). That’s a hefty target, I hope you make it. I’ll try to donate again but not until towards the end of the appeal, I’m afraid.

Best of luck.

268. CameronB Brodie

Re. Edinburgh night. Same place (The Newsroom), or was that perhaps a bit subterranean and sweaty for some? Any suggestions welcome – careful Paula.

269. kendomacaroobar

Hi Cameron,

Thanks for your support, always appreciated.

The target pretty much covers paying for freelancers, photographers and expenses involved in providing a half decent magazine. We receive a lot of our material and expertise supplied on a voluntary basis and it’s really difficult to sustain this without somebody burning out.

Nearly 40k was generated by a ‘Scottish 6’ fundraiser last year, at exactly the same time we launched ours, yet we still managed to deliver the goods.

I guess in a way I’m just trying to establish if (excluding yourself) there is general support for the magazine and no doubt we’ll find out in a few weeks time 🙂

270. Paula Rose

Hi kendomacaroobar my people have just informed me that they have agreed terms with your people re – the centre-fold, as I understand it – when the money is raised, the studio will be booked! Looking forward to a spot of posing – any wingers got any ideas?

271. Ian Brotherhood

@TJenny –

Hope you’re well.

Sadly, I no longer have your e-mail – lost it many moons ago, along with all other Wingers, and had to switch provider. If you (or anyone else) want to send me it again, no probs – ianbhood@gmail.com

272. kendomacaroonbar

@Paula Rose

The Maltese Falcon set is being prepped as I type, ( or is is the Millenium Falcon) say it again Sam ?

273. Brian Doonthetoon

Mmmm…

Things are falling into place for the next couple of months.

CamBB – the only problem with the Newsroom was that it became a nite club rather earlier than we’re used to, and –

The only two problems with the Newsroom were that it became a nite club rather earlier than we’re used to, and the price of the drink.

Incidentally, I nipped into the Invergowrie Inn on Friday and have provisionally booked both the 24th and 31st October (Saturdays) as possibles for another ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ get-together. I told Jackie the manager that I would confirm which night by 1st September. (They’re a tad pro-Yes in there.)

She had said that it would have to be from 8pm onwards (increasing demand for meals on a Saturday) but we eventually agreed that Wingers could take over the lower area beside the stage and the back door, for anyone who wants to have a meal before the shenanigans so we’d be in OUR area, from whenever. Licensed till 12 on a Saturday.

I spoke to Ronnie on Sunday and we agreed that it would be fine if Edinburgh organised a Wings Do in September, possibly the weekend before ‘Hope Over Fear’ in George Square, which is on Saturday 19th.

So, if you want to come up to the sunniest city in the UK in October, can you let me know if both dates are ok, or one or the other?

Ta. (We seem to be getting organamised…)

274. Brian Doonthetoon

“So, if you want to come up,” should really read “So, if you want to come up, or down, or across,”, iye X_Sticks and Cearc and Thepnr, and Paula Rose and Quentin Quayle and Chipmonkey and Tartan Tory?

8=)

275. Jock Scot

@TJenny(and anyone interested in an Edinburgh social)

Hi pal, I’m meeting Ronnie at Free Space at the top of Easter Road on Saturday and wondered if you cared to join us. I had the idea of going there to talk to Kate and Terence who own the gallery, which is for Independence related stuff, as they know the locals, including the pubs and see what we could arrange. For anyone who hasn’t been yet, it is highly recommended. They have hosted the Edinburgh launch of Greg Moodie’s books and can stay open late and have a lock-in. Would also like to introduce them to Wingers with the idea that they promote the site and any relevant merchandise like T-Shirts and possibly badges(lol). Think it would be a great idea to have an Edinburgh ‘Hub’ and reckoned that between Ronnie, you and me and perhaps some others we could interest them. just a thought.

@X Sticks
    Cheers bud.

276. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Is Dundee only the sunniest city in the UK in October these days? 🙁

277. missorkney

I am instructed to declare that I have succumbed to a stroking from Paula Rose which has resulted in the administration of painkillers.If I flunk on etty ket and put dots and other heinious things in the wrong places will someone please kindly whip me into line as gently as possible.

278. CameronB Brodie

Betty Boop
    Dundee is suffering the UK’s 4th highest unemployment rate. We simply can’t afford any more sunny months. 😉

279. ronnie anderson

Hi folks I,ve been talking to Jock Scot we will set a time to meet up in Embra for this Sat,to look for a place for a nite out. Tam J,T Jenny,CamB I let yous know at what time Jock suggested something near Easter Rd.

280. Stoker

Alan Dewar – you might be due for release but we’re watching:-
    Glasgow or Inverness – Daddy or Granny will not save you.
    LONG LIVE JOSH!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5INzqtUi9aw

281. ronnie anderson

@ Paula Rose get your toenails painted with the Unicorn ,BrianDTT kin dey the graphics fur you,well you did ask fur suggestions.

282. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi hevvabeccywoss.

Meant to type earlier on – your YouTube link wasn’t. When you want to post a YouTube link, paste it into the comment box, then delete the “http://” so that it starts with “www”. The WordPress system adds the “http://” to your published post.

This is your link fixed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CQTq88Ie5sU

Onnyhoo, I got a lot of mileage out of the cover version, back in the day…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=flMS2gHFOH0

283. ronnie anderson

@ Stoker Jools Hollands BBC Staff Homanay party payed by the TV Licence Fee Payers,but its gracious of them to let us share it via our screens, but weil no be getting any of the free Swally.

284. Stoker

@ ronnie
    One of the beeb things i always watch mate, but at someone’elses
    pad, i like Jools’s shows.

285. Stoker

Adam Ant – Goody Two Shoes
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=27Tj-Xo_eqI

286. Stoker

Adam Ant – Stand And Deliver
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4B2a6l6wM2k

287. Stoker

Tourists – Good to be back home again (please, i know folks)
    (but i like this one -sorry)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=awGNtRhnWKc

288. Stoker

The Ramones – Sheena Is Punk Rocker
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGgfHZ02I2k

289. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    I wasn’t going to say anything. 🙂

290. Stoker

Cameron ???

291. Stoker

Cameron,
    Do you mind if i ask you 2 questions? All will be revealed if you say yes.

I’ll ask them anyway and if you don’t answer i’ll know i was out of order.

(1)- Are you in the 30s/40s age group?
    (2)- Is the latter part of your name your home town?

Blondie – Union City Blues
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hvqgb1D6Opw

292. Stoker

And here’s one dedicated to my boys, they’ll get it:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SHuOagWzaws
    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

293. Stoker

Sorry for the appearance of that nonce, boys, but this is what i meant to show, LLF, and you 2 tossers thought i’d never find this.
    Love you both, LLF, mad bastwerps!
    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xzybe_is-this-the-way-to-amarillo-spoof_fun

294. CameronB Brodie

Stoker
    20 questions, is it?

– Your first Ramones track wasn’t the Ramones.

– I’m 47 in a few days.

– My surname is Brodie, born and brought up in Dundee, though an old girlfriend of mine used to work in Brodie Castle and she thought I looked like a younger version of the laird. Personally I always though my uncle bore more of a resemblance. He was a McClean. 🙂

P.S. …and now for the Mystery Guest round.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c5MjzGyKmiw

295. Stoker

I think this is one of THE deepest songs ever written.
    Think about it but not too deeply.
    UB40 – One In Ten
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=usYgf8cVfvU

296. Stoker

Benny Benassi – Satisfaction
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V5bYDhZBFLA

297. Stoker

Cameron
    Thanks. I was up Brodie way at the New Year and was in a pub nearby, a couple sat at my table, i never got the chance to speak to them but for some strange reason i kept getting the niggly feeling that it might have been you. Obviously not.
    Thanks again, you’ve put my mind at rest.

TV Theme – Boon
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5XWmU-lv3Q

298. Stoker

Eternal – I Wanna Be The Only One
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsTeL8-ornA

299. Stoker

One of my all time favourites. Goodnight, folks, stay safe.
    Billy Joel – The River Of Dreams
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSq4B_zHqPM

300. Stoker

Which automatically leads to this cracker – Goodnight all!
    Robert Palmer & UB40 – I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBcq5EzBcmQ

301. CameronB Brodie

Folks are perhaps wondering if I’m off the meds again? Yep. 🙂

Go Speed Racer Go!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nin7_XotRNI

302. CamernoB Brodie

I don’t pose a danger to small children nor fluffy animals though. Honest. 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZXttD0_Wt8

303. CameronB Brodie

Or here’s one to mess with your cat’s head. Go on, film it and become part of a multi-dimensional experiment. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ns9Zf0DrFlk

Well it is the silly season.

304. YESGUY

Hi folks

Regarding the Edinburgh night out in Sept. Hope it goes ahead as i would attend. Illness has stopped me over the last year but improving and a night with fellow Wingers will only make things better. 🙂

305. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hello one and all!

We at Yes Rutherglen are having a little shindig on Friday 18th September, and you’re all invited 🙂

There will be live music and food all included in a £5 ticket charge (with a bar at the venue, obviously!).

I have already heard of a few wingers who’ll be coming, so it would be great to see many more, especially in light of the George Square rally of the 19th being cancelled.

The tickets are limited to 100 and will be going on eventbrite soon, but to secure them immediately send a direct message to me on twitter (gillian_ruglonian @Gillian_Mair80) or the group (Yes Rutherglen @YesRutherglen). You can use also use Facebook messaging to reserve, or just tell me here!!

Anyone who wants to come along to perform is more than welcome as we still have a spot to fill.

Cheers, and more details to follow x

306. Paula Rose

Boys and girls where are your manners? – Say hello to missorkney (9:39) – she’s even more worthy of respect than me!!!

307. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

‘Off-topic’ may have been infiltrated!

I got an email notification today at 11.24am, of a new post on ‘off-topic’. It begrail as such,

“missorkney commented on Off-topic.

in response to RevStu:

For off-topic chat. Duh.

I am instructed to declare that I have succumbed to a stroking from Paula Rose which has resulted in the administration of painkillers.If I flunk on etty ket and put dots and other heinious things in the wrong places will someone please kindly whip me into line as gently as possible.”

Now, the perpluzzling thing is that this post has never appeared, on my iMac at work or my Mac at home nor on my iPhone, on the way home. It’s still not showing here. There is nothing between CameronBB at 9.19am and YESGUY at 1.03pm.

Did you stroke her out of existence? Onnyhoo, hello, missorkney!

308. cearc

Hello, missorkney.

I hope your stroke didn’t leave you speechless.

309. Brian Doonthetoon

From comments I’ve read elsewhere tonight, looks like there’s gonna be a ‘popular revolt’ on 19th September, in that people are gonna turn up at George Square onnyhoo.

So where and when are Wingers gonna meet up, before we perambulate around, or in, the George Square environs?

310. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Re 19th September. I wouldn’t expect anything less! After all, you meet all sorts of pals when out and about in the city.

@ missorkney

Hello missorkney. We shall remind Paula R to be be more gentle – when excited she can be a bit remiss in dealing with a ragged nail or two. 🙂

311. Paula Rose

Pedicure kit packed.

312. Paula Rose

Oh wow – using RIMMEL Salon Pro – toetastic!

313. Brian Doonthetoon

Can ANYONE see a post from misssorkney yesterday morning?

I still can’t.

314. Paula Rose

Bdtt – 9:39 pm.

315. X_Sticks

Hello missorkney.

Stroked by Paula Rose *before* your first post on Wings? That is indeed a thing! Most of us have had to put in a great deal of effort just to get a look. Usually you have to provide her first class transportation to get a stroke.

You must be something very special 😉

316. Brian Doonthetoon

Right Paula Rose.

I’ve worked out what must have happened. missorkney’s post would have gone into moderation as her first. It must have been passed yesterday morning, around the time I got the email notification (11.24am).

Then you typed,
    “Say hello to missorkney (9:39)” so I assumed you meant 9.39AM, not last night, when the post wouldn’t have been visible. Once it was passed by the REV, it appeared at last night’s posting time.

Mystery solved!

317. CameronB Brodie

Does anyone know if the broadcasters are still ‘cautious’ over what tunes they play to us Scots?

Sly & The Family Stone – Underdog
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HMQQcniF2Bg

Not to be confused with…

Underdog
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHej4ZqZDwo

or…

Underdog
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDVLiuto5Ec

318. CameronB Brodie

Put your hands together, come on and stomp your feet, Lord
    Put your hands together, come on and get in beat
    There’s a good time waiting for you, come on and let’s get free

Funkadelic – Good To Your Earhole
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAHzj71EUu4&spfreload=10

319. CameronB Brodie

“You can’t over-promise and under-deliver”

James Brown & The JBs – Give It Up Or Turn It Loose
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G1_ctj5jx_s

James Brown, Bobby Byrd & the JBs – Get Involved
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rUSaC1qvAQ

James Brown & The JBs – Cold Sweat
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MKQjVB1VyE

P.S. Is the last video evidence of the chronic overmanning problems of the ’70s. 🙂

320. CameronB Brodie

Some folk may consider this sacrilege. Maybe so but evolution is a progress force. 🙂

Axiom Funk (ft. Bootsy Collins) – If 6 Was 9
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTl3dtQviDA

321. Jock Scot

@TJenny, @Tam J, @Cameron B

Ronnie A. is picking me up from the side entrance of Waverley station (Market Street) at 11am on Saturday and we will be heading for http://www.freespace.scot/ (address 7 Easter Road) to discuss and check out possible venues for an Edinburgh ‘social’. If any of you and/or anyone else who wants to come along, make your way to Waverley for a lift or meet at FreeSpace at 11.30ish, we will see you there. If anyone has TJenny or Tam’s e.mail can you let them know. I’m assuming that Cameron will see this

322. CameronB Brodie

Jock Scot
    I’ll do my best to be there Jock.

323. Jock Scot

@Cameron B

Sure hope you can Cameron.

324. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB –

Top tunes buddy. 🙂

325. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    Cheers Ian, I thought you might appreciate one or two, at least. Pity the James Brown stuff fades out but I suppose they’re just samples to wet your appetite to buy the films.

326. Paula Rose

All tearful – wish I could do this –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4fAqAM1TY4

327. CameronB Brodie

Let’s devolve.

Sponge – Go Speed Racer Go
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ngilTl56-Gs&list=PLEejVjC10QavH_sd7SKQP-nyABvvW6Qst

The track list is worth a listen. Might bring back some fond childhood memories. 😉

328. CameronB Brodie

weegingerdug
    I didn’t want to make this my first post on your blog as I wasn’t sure how it would go down. Are you not being a wee bit harsh in your latest blog? 😉

A 1953 technical review in Autocar described “the extraordinary ingenuity of this design, which is undoubtedly the most original since the Model T Ford”.[10] In 2011, The Globe and Mail called it a “car like no other”.[11] Noted automotive author L. J. K. Setright described the 2CV as “the most intelligent application of minimalism ever to succeed as a car”,[5] calling it a car of “remorseless rationality”.[12]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Citro%C3%ABn_2CV

What about a car designed by government committee, such as the Austin Allegro (a.k.a. the all aggro)?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Austin_Allegro

329. Thepnr

Here’s a wee tune with a great video with love from sunny Venice Beach.

330. Thepnr

@CameronB Brodie

I think your just a tad too young to remember this cartoon intro. A black and white cartoon too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jNEKhxvEvlc

331. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to Mr. Corbyn, Gawd bless you guvner. 🙂

John Barry – A Man Alone
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f72sWDn1ZaM

332. CameronB Brodie

Thepnr
    Yup, that was a new one on me, though Helmet cover it on the track list above (starting with Sponge). Fourth track in.

The “Saturday Morning Cartoons’ Greatest Hits” is actually pretty good album. Mostly American shows but a good few that were shown in the UK. The Violent Femmes doing Eep Opp Ork Ah-Ah, is one of my all time faves. 🙂

333. CameronB Brodie

My first crush. No, not the dog food and not Jacky. 😉

Jacky – White Horses
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtCNbERKvMs

334. Thepnr

“The “Saturday Morning Cartoons’ Greatest Hits” is actually pretty good album.”

Best line on Wings ever, Cheers 🙂

335. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Read your post on your son getting to register to vote for the first time. I hope he will be a chip off the old block as they say.

This is for both of you, hope you like it.

336. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya,

You can now reserve tickets for the 18th September Shindig at:

http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/18th-september-shindig-tickets-1813243259

mobile.twitter.com/YesRutherglen/status/631560749685559296

More details to follow, but look at the options, sitting in having the telly endlessly gloat about what happened ‘a year ago today’, or digging out your dancing shoes for a night of live music and yessers company:)

337. Gillian_Ruglonian

Sorry about the other link, but at the risk of being murdered by hammer (and missing my own groups event!), I shall refrain from another attempt.
    I trust all you smart people to get the gist 😉

338. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Cheers aplenty. I remember that song well, although I had no idea what it was about at the time (I was only 11).

Funnily enough, got quite emotional today, seeing the boy all fitted-out with his first kilt for an impending wedding. (Just hiring it, of course!). He looks a million dollars, and very much a young man. It’s easy to see why some families are more than happy to see their boys and girls joining the forces, getting all smartened-up with a nice clean uniform, prospect of learning a useful trade etc.

And then it all comes crashing home – he could, if he wants, sign up for the Forces next year.

Some of those who lost their children because of what Blair and his ilk did more than a decade ago could consider themselves lucky if they got recognisable bits and pieces back to bury, and yet we have scum like McTernan sweeping it all away as so much trivia.

Not everyone can pinpoint why they became active politically. I’m glad that I can, and it’s easy to explain – only four letters: I.R.A.Q.

For as long as any of us are still alive, we won’t forget what the bastards did to the people of that nation, and we’ll make sure that our weans know everything – in that sense, Blair et al can never ever escape.

At some point in the future, somewhere, McTernan is going to be confronted (by accident or design, doesn’t matter) by people like Rose Gentle and Reg Keays. When that happens, I hope cameras are present to record his words of comfort over the scandal that is Chilcot.

339. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

‘Some day I’ll have a disappearing hairline…’

Aye, comes to us all, but we can do our wee bit before we’re ‘wearing pyjamas in the daytime’.

Here’s one for you, and yer own lad (the one wi’ the pure gallus name’!)

Crash Test Dummies, ‘Afternoons & Coffeespoons’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3UVlpbCpZw

340. Stoker

Ian Brotherhood wrote:
    “It’s easy to see why some families are more than happy to see their boys and girls joining the forces, getting all smartened-up with a nice clean uniform, prospect of learning a useful trade etc.”

Very true, Ian, and then there are those families who see their son’s and daughters enlisting, not because of some false sense of queen and country pish but simply because they are of traditionally military family types, they were born to soldier.

I know several members of my own who have all discussed the big day when it arrives and while some will transfer over to help in the formation of a Scottish military there are others who, due to marriage and their locations etc, will remain where they are.

Ian, you also wrote:
    ” got quite emotional today, seeing the boy all fitted-out with his first kilt for an impending wedding.”

You think that’s bad, mate, just wait until its his own, unless it already is? Feeling as if your throat is stuffed with rusty steelies (marbles) doesn’t even begin to cut it. They bring us a world of worry but they also bring us their fair share of ten-foot-tall moments. Makes all the worry worthwhile.

Finally, i read your post on the other thread, re; Iraq body count and yes you are correct, they don’t make these numbers up. The only issue i have with the numbers is that they don’t truly reflect the reality.

I’m not counting the daily casualties amassed by suicide bombers or IED’ etc etc. I’m referring to the hidden figures of suffering and death due to a lack of proper sanitation and infrastructure etc.

Some time ago i put up a link on WOS regarding this very matter and it showed the actual death tallies to be far greater than anyone realises and how all the promises of help to rebuild the infrastructure were nothing more than PR pish, all but a handful of symbolic gestures.

People are still suffering and dying very painful deaths due to these political warmongering bastards and you’re correct, we will never forgive nor forget their actions as they globetrot earning millions from public appearances and speeches etc.

341. Brian Doonthetoon

Now peeps,

posts are disappearing up above rather rapidly without response. I’m only looking for a preference – 24th or 31st?

See:-

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-27/#comment-2047039

342. Tam Jardine

Jock Scot and Ronnie

Thanks Jock. I am working Saturday but If I can make it along for a bit I will.

343. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker (10.51) –

Thanks for that response.

This is why I love WOS.

There are, of course, other sites where this kind of exchange is possible, but this place is special because we have the space to express thoughts which may not be ‘on-topic’, but are, if you like, hardy perennials.

The sheer amount of information which has been exchanged via this ‘thread’ alone is astonishing – was it ‘Schrodinger’s Cat’ who, quite recently, posted that he was doing some experiment to archive the material in WOS? If so (apologies if it wasn’t!), s/he remarked on the scale of what’s been amassed here. I don’t think any of us can get a handle on what this place has achieved, even in terms of collating massive amounts of verifiable data which, otherwise, would’ve safely been jettisoned down The Memory Hole yonks ago.

But it’s the ‘human’ interaction which is so important, and is way beyond the ken of people like McTernan. Perhaps, back in the 80’s, pre-internet, it was possible for ‘Malcolm Tuckers’ to have a reasonable expectation of making a career out of calling subordinates ‘cunts’ and screaming their heads off every time their orders weren’t executed to the letter.

But we’re in a different era. McTernan and his kind simply do not understand that we KNOW what they’re up to, and can deconstruct their pish within minutes of it being broadcast. He has developed no strategy for dealing with the exponentially expanding networks of personal relationships which regard ‘doing the right thing’ as more important than any staid party-loyalty.

Seeing the Labour movement in its death throes must be profoundly painful for many, but ‘death’ is natural, and there’s always a fresh start. The ‘fresh start’ happens not to be one which includes swathes of The Establishment.

The people who are pinning their livelihoods and futures on the perpetuation of archaic power structures and ways of thinking are, ipso facto, not part of the future being created by people who do not, and will never, acknowledge that ‘authority’ which the former aspire to inherit.

Put simply – the Blairs, Browns, Camerons, Duncan-Smiths, Dugdales, McTernans, Straws and Osbornes have no idea what they’re up against. Jeremy Corbyn is the slenderest possible edge of a very thick wedge which is shortly to be rammed right up them.

344. Paula Rose

Language, please Ian dear – the “c” word is all right the way you used it but “rammed right up them” is not. Please be more careful.

345. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry.

I should’ve been more delicate.

How about ‘the usual suspects must be forced to sit on their hands’?

346. Paula Rose

Ian honey, I think you missed an “h”.

347. Brian Doonthetoon

24th or 31st?

348. Paula Rose

Beedeeteetee honee bunchee either oree xx

349. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Ooh, you are awful etc…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=39QwuCZMkxQ

350. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Choice of date noted.

BTW: is ‘missorkney’ Fiona MacInnes, or someone from Orkney you’ve met in the Brechin/Stracathro area?

Jiss wundrin’, like…

351. Paula Rose

Well really – do I have to spell everything out?

352. Ian Brotherhood

This one’s for Jeremy Corbyn:

Joy Division, ‘Isolation’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-bkcPS3GHQY

353. CameronB Brodie

David
    I think you’ve cottoned on to what my actual level is. Cheers. 🙂

354. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

Sent you an e-mail. Please let me know if it arrived – it didn’t ping back, but I’ve a feeling the address I’m using is old.

As mentioned to TJenny t’other day, I’ve lost most of the e-mail addresses I had for Wingers.

355. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula rose.

You’re being endearingly obtuse. See, you mentioned Fiona MacInnes, but you never typed that you had visited Orkney, as far as I know.

But, I do know of an Orkney girl who is in your home prowling area. That’s why I asked. Capiche?

356. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronB Brodie.

This’ll be right up your closie then?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImQOhSjtlYg

357. Tam Jardine

Jock Scot and Ronnie

Looking at my work the morn I think it is impossible to get away for an hour, so I wanted to put down a few ideas for venues.

Edinburgh is full of small, expensive ‘new’ pubs and small, locals pubs. Boozers with big function suites that are sitting idle on a Saturday night don’t exist to my knowledge. Space is there at a premium.

The Newsroom was close to the station and was big enough but cost money, and a pint was not cheap. Also there was something BDSM about the decor that was strange.

The Persevere on Easter Road is a great Leith boozer which has a function room (I’ve only ever been in the bar). Well worth investigating.

The Alexander Graham Bell on George Street is your Edinburgh version of the Counting House – central and cheap. There is another Wetherspoons at the foot of Leith Walk but it’s not really a pub I would go to… A little too rough for me.

The SNP club St David’s Street is fucking perfect, tiny wee bar but a bigish room that could be hired. I’m no longer a club member but it is worth investigating.

The Leith Dockers Club is another devine choice with the whole left of centre vibe we have going… If it is available that would be ideal. It’s a single bus journey or walk down just past the foot of Leith Walk.

I could come up with countless great pubs on Leith Walk but almost every single one used to be an old man’s pub and is now a gentrified bar selling craft beers. I paid £4.75 for an Innis and Gunn this very evening.

CheapER bars to bear in mind, without function rooms but without being too small neither – the cool bikers pub, the Black Bull down from the Newsroom and the Harp and Castle halfway down the Walk.

Easter Road mostly has your small corner type pubs where 60 – 80 wingers would be crammed in with 4 or 5 locals.

Leftfield suggestion worth trying outwith Leith – The Jinglin Geordie which is down a wee close off Market Street at the back of the station – a bit of room and cheapish.

Hope that helps sorry I probably won’t be there but I’ve just plotted out a wee pub crawl for you.

358. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    Brilliant! I’d forgotten about the footballer celebrations (so true) and the all-in cricket (it’s day will come). Not the Fish Slapping dance though, which is iconic. Cheers Brian. 😀

359. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie.

If you’re in here… Apparently, my posts on Scot2Scot NE are moderated because I swear! Where DO you get your moderators?

I think I will probably withdraw from the page, next time I log into Facebook.

360. CameronB Brodie

Tam Jardine
    Sorry to hear you can’t make it tomorrow.

Thanks for the suggestions. Here’s me suggesting I’ll get something organised and I haven’t be out on the town in years (£4.75 a pint). Ouch.

361. Ian Brotherhood

£4.75 for a pint?

That’s a straightforward two-fingered salute to anyone who has more sense than dosh.

I knew a guy, ooh, twenty years ago, who went to the Bahamas for a mate’s wedding. It was in a top-rated hotel etc, best of gear everywhere.

The friend was a smoker of roll-ups. (He couldn’t/wouldn’t smoke filter-tipped fags.) He’d bought a stack of rolling baccy on the way in, more than enough to see him through the ten days, and have a stack to take home.

Unfortunately, the Duty-Free didn’t sell fag papers. In the resort’s only shop he was charged a fiver for a packet of Rizzla.

Strange, but true.

362. Ian Brotherhood

Fuck it, I’m dancing with myself, and that’s okay…

MARRS – ‘Pump Up The Volume’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KJ3uZNpH5dk

363. Paula Rose

Somewhat breathless from whizzing about – sorry BDTT honey – yes she is, and where is another lovely orcadian in my neck of the woods? Anyway got to fly – bye for now.

364. Tam Jardine

Ian B

Same pub sells Vitamin T but even though it’s less, I just canny pay £4 or whatever for a pint of tennents!

Minimum pricing for alcohol? Maximum pricing has an egalitarian feel to it

365. Brian Doonthetoon

AH, Paula rose. You are bereft of knowledge of the Orcadian in your midst?

I will tell all the next time we have a session…

Hi Ian B.

Is this not more up your closie? C’mon the Whitley Bay Social Club!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mG79-FSQ7hQ

366. Brian Doonthetoon

And, Ian B, it was a travesty that “Ding Dong” didn’t win Eurovision, after the sterling work that ‘Star Turn’ put in.

Who else would DARE to go up a key, half way through a verse or chorus?

/www.youtube.com/watch?v=Icd0A0FkSUE

367. Brian Doonthetoon

OK, messed up the link. Here it is without the spurious slash.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Icd0A0FkSUE

368. Jock Scot

Tam J

Cheers mate..we may be away for a while wi’ that..hopefully one of us can stay as a responsible adult

Will keep everyone posted with our findings

Take care and have fun everyone and hopefully we will see as many folk as possible in Edinburgh very soon
    G’night

369. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

Okay, I’ve had a few, but please, tell me – that last one?Is it a Peter Kay job?

It can’t be real.

Please, by all the Gods, tell me it isn’t real…

‘Fadeybooandarowdayboo,ya!’

370. Ian Brotherhood

@Tam Jardine –

Maximum pricing?

Kin right.

Seasoned imbibers can swiftly calculate how much bang they’re getting for their buck.

That’s why any attempt to ‘deter’ this or that segment of the population from drinking such or other drink is utterly ludicrous.

Stick 10% extra on ‘strong ciders’???

‘Sorry guys, ah canny come doon the park the night for a swally. A three-litre ay ‘Tesdo’s Ain’ wis £3.50 last week, but it’s £3.85 noo, so ah’m oot. See ye’s later eh?’

371. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

It well predates peter Kay, but may have been an influence. I’ve been a fan on ‘Star Turn’ since the first single, which you can hear here (applause not allowed):-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ciurZpFgYnI

In the 80s, I worked as a service engineer for a local company whose area was all Scotland and a wee bit of the north of England. Onnyhoo, one of my trips involved visiting North Shields and, before I headed back up the A1, I took a wee diversion to visit Whitley Bay. It struck me as a tad dismal (windy and raining) but didn’t put me off the Whitley Bay Social Club’s most famous son.

You can check out more output of ‘Star Turn’ here:-

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=“Star+Turn”

Prepare to be overcome…

372. Brian Doonthetoon

Och! That last link. It just takes you to YouTube’s search page. You’ll have to type

“Star Turn”

(with quotes) into the search box.

373. CameronB Brodie

Sorry to get all serious but I’ve not only remembered I had a crisis in my belief in the positive potential of urban and regional planning, I’ve also remembered why. You might have guessed I’ve been leading up to this point. 🙂

I felt that despite 3/4 of a century of planning theory and practice, the weasels still had it down. Also, just how limited the potential is in UKOK plc land to affect meaningful improvement to a broken society. Perhaps that’s why I didn’t get along with my predominantly Fabian (i.e. One Nation British nationalist) profession. I was also discovering the concept of umwelt and new leading-edge sciences that were indicating just how unsophisticated our attempts to nurture the human condition have been, so far.

Biosemiotics is dedicated to building a bridge between biology, philosophy, linguistics and the communication sciences. If it is true that biosemiotics is “the study of signs, of communication and of information in living organisms” (Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, 1997, p. 72), it is also true that, in time, it has acquired a more general scope. Today, its main challenge is the attempt to naturalize biological meaning, in the belief that signs are fundamental, constitutive components of the living world. Biosemiotics has triggered revision of fundamentals of both biology and semiotics: biology needs to recognize the semiotic nature of life and reformulate its theories accordingly, and semiotics has to accept the existence of signs in animals, plants, and even individual cells. Biosemiotics has become in this way the leading edge of the research on the fundamentals of life, and is a young exciting field on the move.

By providing both a place for – and access to – exceptional peer-reviewed papers on the emerging discipline of biosemiotics, the journal will offer an instrument of its development by publishing papers in all relevant areas of the natural sciences and the humanities. In particular, the journal is focused on publishing original papers that explore deep links between biology and semiotics. Special issues are dedicated to some of the most interesting and provoking ideas in biosemiotics. In addition, the journal helps the readers to navigate in the current literature by publishing subject reviews and book

http://link.springer.com/journal/12304

Jings, way past bedtime. Do me a favour and leave an indication of your direction of travel when you carry on from the gallery, someone. Anyone. 🙂

P.S. I think Patrick Geddes also had it down. 😉

374. cearc

‘ the belief that signs are fundamental, constitutive components of the living world. ‘

Sssh! Don’t tell them or they won’t let us have control over our road signs!

375. CameronB Brodie

cearc
    That’s the plan, then even the hard No voters will surely see the error in their choice. Cunning, no? 🙂

376. CameronB Brodie

@ ‘The Scouting Team’
    Sorry for the no-show. I’m sure you managed fine without me though. 😉

377. hevvabeccywoss

Hi everyone, I’m not sure if any of you have seen this already but I wanted to share with you details from an advert I saw yesterday.

It’s your chance to have your say direct to the BBC

The BBC have put out an advert stating that every ten years they look to re-evaluate and review their programming, productions, coverage etc and they have asked us to comment.

I know, I wonder if they have really thought about it. Do they realise what they have done or are they still delusional and don’t realise what they are in for.

Anyway please fell free to be completely open and honest with them. You can contact them in the follow ways:
    Call: 0800 0680 116

Have fun troops ????

378. hevvabeccywoss

Hi again,

There is something else I wanted to share with you. Some of you may have heard about a new initiative from the Scottish Government called U.lab. It’s a programme which has been adopted from the M.I.T (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) that was created by Otto Scharmer. The purpose behind U.Lab is transforming business, society & self. Essentially what you learn on the course can be used to transform any area that is of interest to you.

Gillian_Ruglonian and I attended a 2 hour introduction to u.lab yesterday not knowing exactly what it was but feeling it had the potential to give us, the ordinary man/ woman on the street, the ability to influence government. We were extremely impressed with what we found. This course originally cost people to attend. It is now free. It is open to anyone who wants to attend and it takes about 3 hours a week over the course of 8 weeks. It’s available all over the world but one country has additional content and that country is Scotland which is great.

Anyway, it’s difficult to explain and do it justice. I have pasted below the content of the email I received from the course. This contains links to information videos and eventbrite tickets (I have edited the links as required for this site. I apologise if that doesn’t work but you should be able to use the details available anyway).

Have a look and if you like it sign up.

Thanks

As promised, here is a link to a short 3 minute video which explains step by step how to sign up as a participant in U.Lab

and here is the link to the actual U.Lab sign up page on the EDx website
    http://www.edx.org/course/u-lab-transforming-business-society-self-mitx-15-671x

Here is the booking link to the U.Lab Scotland preparatory event on 1 September which I mentioned to you.
    ulabscotland1sep2015hubhostsprep.eventbrite.co.uk The event is partly aimed at people who are considering running U.Lab Hubs but it’s open to anyone interested and would also provide an introduction to U.Lab for anyone who was new to U.Lab. We will be joined by Otto Scharmer and his team from MIT at the event, so it will also be an opportunity to hear from them.

If you’d like to share with colleagues or stakeholders any of the links above or any of the videos I used this morning please feel free. Here is the 3 minute introductory video to the global U.Lab programme by Otto Scharmer
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gF8wV9OlUHc
    And here is a 3 minute video summary of the 1 June Scotland-wide stakeholder event

which I didn’t show today, and a longer (11.5 minute) summary of the 3 July event
    t.co/crKn18pyzY

Finally, some of you asked me after the event to clarify some points:

this run of U.Lab is not a one-off. It will happen again next year, so this isn’t now or never. You might therefore want to participate yourself this time, before doing something more ambitious with a wider group next time;

you don’t need to know what issue or question you want to work with before you start U.Lab. The U.Lab process itself helps you to work out what you want to put your energy into.

With best wishes, and thanks again for participating today. Hope to see you again as U.Lab Scotland participants!

379. Ian Brotherhood

Time for some funky protest music!

The Neville Brothers, ‘Fly Like An Eagle’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5M1THeNNCeY

380. CameronB Brodie

hevvabeccywoss
    The U Theory blurb appears to be in-step with the approach of Patrick Geddes, who some consider to be the grandfather of ‘Green’. Thanks for the head’s-up.

381. CameronB Brodie

I you insist Ian. 😉

Maceo & The Macks – Cross The Tracks
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0Dkt61NWSI

382. hevvabeccywoss

CameronB Brodie

No problem. I thought my post was a bit long but I wanted to give people the opportunity to look into it.

We were really impressed with how it went. I’m looking forward to going through the training.

383. Independence Live

Hi folks
    I need a WoS night out. Anything happening?

KG

384. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi CameronBB and ‘Hevva’.

CBB has mentioned Patrick Geddes a couple of times recently. Did you know, that in 1879, he discovered chlorophyll?

You may find these links of interest:-

http://www.dundee.ac.uk/planning/patrickgeddes1854-1932/

http://www.dundee.ac.uk/geddesinstitute/

If you want to explore further, try this:-

http://tinyurl.com/newxchf

385. Paula Rose

KG honey – we’ll let you know, you missed the last one and I did my snake dance on the supposition that you would be there. All that effort to raise money for you and you let down your audience.

386. CameronB Brodie

There’s a shed load of other interesting looking links to explore, as well. I’ve had other interest for the last wee while, so had missed this completely.

Thanks again hevvabeccywoss.

http://www.ottoscharmer.com/

It’s great being unplugged. 🙂

387. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Independence Live.

You’re not dipping into this page every day, iye?

TWO get-togethers are currently in the planning stages – Embra in September and ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3’ on either 24th or 31st October, depending on Winger preference.

Read the posts from my post at the link below.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-27/#comment-2047039

388. CameronB Brodie

Brian Doonthetoon
    As a student of urban and regional planning theory and practice, Patrick Geddes is my ‘Brother Number One’. 😉

389. Ian Brotherhood

@CamB (9.56) –

🙂 Nice one.

Here’s another one that appears in the same ‘People’ collection.

Lyn Collins, ‘Rock Me Again And Again’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rpo54tD0Svk

390. Ian Brotherhood

@Indy-Live/ KevG –

Hot tip – the snake Paula ’employed’ for her routine is still attending counselling, but could be a fruitful subject for discussion/interview.

391. Paula Rose

I am still comforting my snake – she was promised prime time exposure on livestream, prepared herself for national fame and what happened – no fucking media, (have another mouse dear) I’m withdrawing my offer to livestream of an interview and associated tit bits. Harrumph. My people are now finalising i dotting and t crossing with i-scot.

392. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Please console yourself with the fact that I have another hot tip – but it’s for your ears only. (No anagram intended…)

393. Paula Rose

And as for you Ian Bloodybrotherhood my lovely snake was clutching her autograph book to her bosom all the way from Brechin in anticipation of your monogram – she is now inconsolable.

394. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

🙁

I can’t properly apologise to ‘her’ unless I know her name.

Which is?

395. Paula Rose

Melody

396. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Please convey my best wishes to Melody. I hope she will accept my apology.

If I ever get the opportunity to meet her I will bring a mouse (‘Lubilu’ is a family pet – we’ve had him for three years) by way of a peace offering.

397. CameronB Brodie

Here’s another you might like Ian. Fundamentalist fun for cybernat insurgents. 😉

You might want to let it run on to the next part, as its a pretty good documentary, IMO anyway.

The New James Brown Band and The Birth of Bootsy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ChyGkjRWSgw

398. CameronB Brodie

Oops, it was a different link for the second part, which I’ve now lost. Here’s another.

Soul Deep – James Brown [+Bootsy Collins] (Part 2)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zz-wdGaGpEI

399. Brian Doonthetoon

C’mon peeps.

We’re trying to organise here but only Paula Rose has offered feedback. ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 3′ – 24th or 31st October?

And, there’s been no feedback on the Embra pub crawl today. Fit’s thah’ aboot, an’ thah’?

400. CamernoB Brodie

I got myself in a right mess there. Sort it out yourselves. 🙂

401. Stoker

“a shockingly out of date and unrepresentative institution”
    https://archive.is/MlRHs

No shit, Sherlock!

402. cearc

BDtt,

The 31st.seems more appropriate for the Wings coven!

403. Jock Scot

Report from the Embra scoutin’ mission..oh ma heid hurts!

Only joking..Still looking for somewhere with a function suite if Wings entertainment is required as @Helensburgh. Failing that, the Alexander Graham Bell on the west side of George Street seems the cheapest/most suitable for a pub take over..prices as per the Counting House..everywhere else is about £4/pint. Manager at AGB says we are fine to take over. The pub has a quick turn over so if we can get a few table with bums on seats we can spread out from there..Paula..don’t even go there. The festival ends on the 31st so first or second weekend in Sept may be a good idea.Nice to meet Michael McCabe and a fleeting TJenny.

404. CameronB Brodie

It is now the post meridian of the day after the day before and still no report from Edinbra. I think we can assume sare heeds aw ’round. 🙂

405. CameronB Brodie

Refresh before posting. Doh!

406. ronnie anderson

C mon Guys N Gals Embra Frid 25th or Sat 26th Sept Alexander Graham Bell (witherspoons),ground work done M Mc Cabe ,J Scot,& me have dided the ground work. Handy for both Bus & Train.

Its over to You,s now . BrianDTT is waiting to get Invergowrie date sorted. Fingers oot People (nae comment fae you Paula Rose lol).

407. CameronB Brodie

Thanks Ronnie, Michael, Jock and TJenny, sounds good. I’m easy with the dates.

On the subjects of political landscapes, evolution, continuity and empty cupboards, I thought this would be a perfect base to edit in samples, loops and scratches of that iconic question once uttered by some BBC Labour in Scotland wifey:

What are we going to do?

The JB’s – Pass The Peas
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQ3W7fXLGZc

408. Cactus

Aye aye all, pencil me in for September gig in the capital.

Here’s a thought provoking video a friend introduced me to, if you’ve got 82 mins to hand.

Kymatica (Full length)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p5plpGS7t0U

409. Conan_the_Librarian

I’m up for it. As long as Ronnie gies me a lift hame…

410. Ian Brotherhood

This was just played on RS’s ‘Pipeline’. Never heard it before. Good stirring stuff:

Blair Douglas, ‘Neslon Mandela’s Welcome To The City Of Glasgow’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0YQfbje-CE

411. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi cearc.

I hadn’t put two and two together to realise the 31st was Halloween! So, there’s two ways of looking at it: we have it on the 31st because it IS Halloween or, we have it on the 24th to avoid Halloween and the possibility that Wingers may have other Halloween plans.

I’m easy either way but if Embra’s on the 24th/25th September, it may be better making Invergowrie on the 31st, to give a decent interval between them.

———————————————

Hi Ronnie.

I’d suggest the Saturday, for the benefit of people who have to work on a Friday and have a mad flee and a possible 2+ hours journey to get to Embra from wherever.

Saturday makes it a more relaxed day out.

412. ronnie anderson

@ BrianDTT am the wan that gets confuddled, its either the 25th or 26th for Edinburgh.

@Conan the Librarian Getting early are we. Whinch it in,Im havin to many late nights/mornings ( 3am from Maryhill gig this morning). Me & Bob dont think could stand anither trip roon Scotland in the gloom.

413. Brian Doonthetoon

And…

Gently changing the subject in ‘off-topic’.

I’ve had “Casino Royale” on tonight – it’s still on as I type this – and, as the Hispanic character in ‘Family Guy’ is apt to utter, “No, no, no.”

The ORIGINAL “Casino Royale” beats it hands down. I must explain that when I watch a ‘fillum’, primarily, I want to be entertained. I have watched the original at least half a dozen times since its first release and it still entertains me. Even the theme tune is more entertaining!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RPHogQ02DFw

The ‘recent’ remake takes things far too seriously! You can watch the trailer for the original (which refers back to the first James Bond, Barry Nelson, a US TV production in the 50s) at this link:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BemV24WhM_0

And, if your appetite is whetted by the trailer, you can watch the full movie here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZ24JC3fgX

BTW: the YouTube upload of the full film is speeded up a wee bit, to get round the YouTube automated copyright police so, if you can use one of the downloader plugins to save it to your machine, on playback, you’ll be able to slow it down a tad, to make it ‘natural’.

414. Gillian_Ruglonian

Just my 2p’s worth regarding the planning of the get-togethers,

I say definitely go for Halloween 😉

I’d suggest meeting in Edinburgh on the Saturday for the reason Brian suggested, also we’re having a do in Rutherglen on Friday 18th Sept so it’d be good not to have to rush around two Fridays in a row!!

415. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to the Broonasaurus.

My Life With the Thrill Kill Kult – These Remains
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ej5EnAybuE

416. CameronB Brodie

Here’s another going out to the Broonasaurus.

Faith No More – King for a Day
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAUXPkx7gMI

417. CameronB Brodie

Last one going out to the Broonasaurus.

WARNING: probably not suitable for epileptics.

Sonic Youth – Disappearer
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y8MFqJ22kSs

418. CameronB Brodie

This one going out to last year’s ill-served victims of the Broonasaurus, who are perhaps beginning to wake up to the hollowness of the mans’ words.

Sonic Youth – ‘Cross the Breeze
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g1RgamFC72E

419. Jim Thomson

Folks, I have a domain name coming up for renewal in a month. Never been used, so, a blank canvas if anyone wants it. Let me know and I’ll agree a transfer.

Maybe kendo would be interested?

domain is http://freepress.scot

420. kendomacaroonbar

@Jim Thomson

Thanks Jim, but not for me I’m afraid. 🙂

421. CameronB Brodie

I hope you don’t mind me sharing, hashtaggnweaslepeckr. 😉

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAYL5H46QnQ&feature=share

422. CameronB Brodie

I hope you don’t mind me sharing, hashtaggnweaslepeckr. 😉

Ryan Reynolds and Elijah Wood – Threw It On The Ground
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gAYL5H46QnQ&feature=share

423. Stoker

My 9.42pm was dedicated to Jim & Betty but somehow the words have been removed? Oh, well, feck it, this is to myself!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHPI5o5zPhM

424. chipmonkey

Hello folks. Stranger here. I’ve been more or less missing even from the back row seat on off topic for a couple of months. More active than ever though,mainly from getting involved locally with the SNP. They haven’t thrown me out for asking too many questions yet… 🙂 Locally I hope we’re making it seem normal and visible for people to be pro-independence in every day life,and more approachable in the hope that it seeps in to normal culture more. As a sensible idea.
    Still a winger of course and regularly catching up with main streams… usually after everthings been said which needs to be said. I’ll keep an eye out in case qq and I can make a get together soon. Hope so 🙂

425. CameronB Brodie

Given the shallowness of the BBC Labour in Scotland’s shrinking talent pool, it may become increasingly difficult for them to continue their conversation with themselves.

Hello
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cts4vHXzcbM&feature=youtu.be

426. Stoker

Racey – Some Girls (dedicated to Yvonne McCutcheon)
    (Who bought me my first pair of Waffles)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i15ALD6fsUU
    X

427. Stoker

And this one is dedicated to Hazel Cranston of Ardrossan.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qgDKtLPp46s
    X

428. Stoker

And this one is dedicated to Joanne McMail of Ardrossan
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSq4B_zHqPM
    X

429. Stoker

And, finally, this is for all the old mates at Saltcoats slaughterhouse (1980s) and a special mention to Scottish Boxer Archie Salmon who gave me my first job in Saltcoats Abattoir.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WScEJKNMdgI

430. Stoker

Remember the fun we had when we worked at Bathgate slaughterhouse.
    Franny, fae Pennyburn, this one is dedicated to you pal.
    And as i’ve always said, this is THE best Celtic side EVER, so good you couldn’t even fit King Kenny in to it. You will NEVER see a Celtic team as good as this, not even yer Lisbon Lions. 😉
    For you Franny.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rQ96X9ekag

431. Stoker

From my childhood down south – Matchbox – Rockabilly Rebel:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9H8QbQ0NRAk

432. Stoker

Meanwhile, my favourite Matchbox – Midnight Dynamos:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ob00yRpECis

433. Michael McCabe

@ Stoker 11:43pm Thanks for the Memories. Cheers.

434. Paula Rose

Best rockabilly band ever – Levi and the Rockats

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ge0tlcgY5M

435. Brian Doonthetoon

Rockabilly? That’s for pussies!

Now, Psychobilly – that’s the stuff!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OegqDyBbndw

OK, here’s rockabilly…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2KMDA13ITg

436. Paula Rose

Naughty Beedeeteetee – now you’ve got me started…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fyr0zbaFyE

437. Paula Rose

This is very apposite…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rISbnsi0Ns

438. Brian Doonthetoon

Ah well, PR, sticking with The Cramps but going back to the ‘pussy’ theme…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYIQm3CywPU

And then back to classic psychobilly – spot the kilt!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OS-1K_IDf60

439. CameronB Brodie

Can I play?

Bill Allen – Please Give Me Something
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oD7JlMbm3oA

440. Paula Rose

Gosh – I did get a bit carried away with my clippers I must admit.

441. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    Thanks Paula. I wanted to play Bikini Girls months back but didn’t think it would be gentlemanly of me. 🙂

442. Stoker

you’re welcome Michael, i was getting sidetracked and watching some of the old footage. 😉

Thanks, Paula, never heard them before.

443. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose 😉

Leon James & the Rhythm Rockers – Thinkin’ About You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7XUS5867zg

444. Stoker

Brian (12.40am).
    That Rockabilly link, about 38-seconds in, is that what you call a spitoon?

445. Stoker

Proclaimers – I’m on my way
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VEzLTSF6XaU

446. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    You set my soul on fire. 🙂

The Phantom – Love Me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sibImC5agbw

447. Stoker

And another from a group that reminds me of good times in Inverness.
    I know they are Hibees but they remind me of special times.
    And i like them, soooper! 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eRybRH4aTcc

448. Stoker

Scooter – Jumping All Over The World
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZrPaEUjtYvQ

449. Stoker

Primal Scream – Country Girl
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6tyeHbCFmg

450. Stoker

The Benn Sisters – The Earring Song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDZeyHUNhbw

Goodnight, folks.

451. Thepnr

Aboot time you went to bed! 🙂

452. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Stoker (1.47am).

I guess it is a spittoon. Similar objects appear throughout the clip.

spittoon |spi?to?n|
    noun
    a metal or earthenware pot typically having a funnel-shaped top, used for spitting into.

453. Stoker

@ Thepnr.
    Chance would be a fine thing mate.
    Even sleeping tablets are garbage, they only put me out but don’t bloody-well keep me out for any longer than an hour or two.

@ Bdtt.
    Aye, thought so, cheers!

454. Stoker

Alice Deejay – Back In My Life
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gZW0U9FqrT0

455. CameronB Brodie

S01:E04 – English Socialism For Beginners
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yj_vvjRNT4k&feature=youtu.be

456. CameronB Brodie

There’s always going to be one that has to do it their way.

MR.TAPE – Revoxlution
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=msvzuQkLCE0&feature=youtu.be

457. jackie g

Hi All,

a wee remider for everyone of this event.

http://www.word-power.co.uk/viewEvent.php?id=3235

458. Betty Boop

@ Stoker

Ta for your dedicated 9:42pm and later 10:15pm on 17/8/15! Showaddywaddy had me dancin’ roon the room. Terrible sight!

BTW, do you never sleep?

@ Bdtt & Ronnie

I’ve not been keeping up recently – trying to get the garden sorted after too much politics and no’ enough digging. So, apologies if I ask questions which have already been answered elsewhere.

Embra – 26th September, but, no venue confirmed?

Glorious Invergowrie – 31st October in the usual howf?

Whatever, we is up for it!!!

@ Chipmonkey

Will email you. 🙂

459. Paula Rose

Darlings I have a cunning stunt – there’s a conference coming up and it is possible to book stalls, shall we?

scottishgreens.org.uk/conference2015/ Info here also for booking stalls etc.

460. Stoker

@ Betty Boop.
    Rarely, Betty, think i’ve been cursed once or twice.
    Plenty of time for sleep when am deed.
    _____

From the main thread – Re Michael Kelly:
    David S. Briggs wrote:
    “@Stoker
    ‘Scotland’s largest and most successful football club’.
    I wasn’t aware he had anything to do with Rangers FC?”

And what do you base your assertion on?

461. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

As far as I know from Ronnie, it’s looking like the Alexander Graham Bell in George Street for Embra – on the 26th September.

I’m leaning towards Halloween for the Invergowrie event.

462. Jim Thomson

Dammit – apologies to our Stuart – Left in the http plus www thingies.

So, once again, … apologies only for the bad miming

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dP9Wp6QVbsk

463. X_Sticks

@Jackie g

“a wee remider for everyone of this event.

http://www.word-power.co.uk/viewEvent.php?id=3235

You’ve made me feel guilty now! I have tickets for the Thomas Muir Memorial Lecture with Alex and I hadn’t posted it to the troops. I have a suspicion that it could be rather good 🙂

Sorry for not letting everyone know before. My bad 🙁

464. Paula Rose

I just love it when X_Sticks trembles and shakes, poor love realises that sweet moi has read what he has to say.

Whipping time is very close dearest.

465. X_Sticks

@Paula Rose

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j_QLzthSkfM

Should say I will be aiming to make one or both nights if at all possible 😉

466. Gillian_Ruglonian

Hiya I’m looking for some info for a friend, so before I start researching myself I thought I’d put the call out here.

The first topic is the TV licence: I’d like to give a complete run-down of the situation i.e. the legal opt outs and the reassurance that nothing can be done in pursuit of fee.
    I don’t know if anyone has compiled a factsheet on this, but if they haven’t then I will, so send me the best links and stuff.

Second is a quite a bit more complex: The situation is migration and where to go for advice on the correct route to pursue permanent residency/citizenship. My first thought is her MP, but I think she needs a good source of information to digest before seeking what kind of assistance is available.

Any pointers you have folks will be most appreciated.

(been loving all the music links recently, keep up the good work x )

467. Fiona

TV license is very simple. Don’t watch TV live: don’t pay license fee

You will get several letters a year, with different degrees of menace, all of which should go in the bin

Occasionally you will get a visit from Capita staff. It is best to be polite, because I ranted at one in sheer frustration and finally asked him why he was trying to harass me: he said “because I have a crap job”. Which is true. So be polite and refuse entry. They have no right to any information and no right to enter. In my experience they go quite quietly and it is back to the letters.

468. Stoker

@ Gillian_Ruglonian.

Hi Gillian,
    There are many sites out there offering varying degrees of similar info and there are quite a good few Youtube videos also.

There are no “fact sheets” available as far as i know but that would be a very good idea to produce one. More power to you!

Here are one or two facts, to help with your fact sheet, you may not already know but bear in mind, as with any rules, they can change overnight unannounced:

(1):You only need a TV Licence if you watch tv programmes as they are being shown – do not confuse this as only meaning watching live events/programmes etc because it includes ALL programming (including pre-recorded soaps etc).

(2):You do not need a TV Licence to own a tv, play games, watch Netflix (or similar suppliers), watch i-player (although they are trying to change that rule) or to use your tv for computer purposes etc etc.

(3):You currently do not need to divulge or confirm ANY personal information to the BBC or their agents (currently Capita). Every Capita agent gets a fee from every address he/she gets info from, that’s how they earn their money.

(4):All you need do if they ever come to your door is to answer the door, establish who they are, tell them nothing about yourself, state clearly and politely that you do not require a tv licence and close the door.

(5):You can also contact them by calling them and once again you can confirm or divulge as little as you feel comfortable with. Tell them you want them to register your address as not needing a TV Licence and no matter how hard they try to tell you otherwise and get you to part with private details, you are legally under no obligation to do so. If you feel exceptionally mischievous you can always tell them your name is MR or MRS.P.Occupier (present occupier) as i and many others have done.

(6):When they have registered your address as not requiring a licence you then tell them that you want to remove their “Implied rights of access” – this prevents them from even approaching your property. They are legally bound to add your address to the list of “no go” properties. Some people dispute, without any evidence, that this law does not apply to Scotland but all i can say is that i and many other Scotland residents have successfully taken this route.

(7):Once you have notified TV Licencing that you do not require a licence etc you will receive a confirmation letter stating that this will last for a period of 2-years etc. Then you will need to repeat the process.

Different folks prefer different approaches but i would recommend the polite but firm doorstep approach because if you show the slightest signs of anger i would not put it passed these Capita clowns to embellish the reality just to return with a police officer and the Court paperwork to enter your house and go through your home etc.

As i said, Gillian, there is a wealth of good info out there and someone creating an easy to read fact sheet is a very good idea, especially for a lot of elderly who are easily frightened and intimidated.

There, i’ve just broken one of my own rules for you, i’ve compiled a post which requires scrolling down to read.
    Hope you’re happy! I’m away for a lie-down in a darkened room.

469. Stoker

That previous post should have read:

“..i would not put it past…”(not passed)

Rolls eyes, tuts and shakes head!

470. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    I think it’s time I set my cards on the table.

Sid King & The Five Strings – Let ‘Er Roll
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_YDnb_sAafg

471. CameronB Brodie

Paula Rose
    Please forgive me. 😉

The Original Diamonds – Little Darlin’
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VCrpUsLd5kE

472. ronnie anderson

EDINBURGH Wingers nite out 26th SEPT Alexander Graham Bell (Witherspoons) West George St.Make a day/nite of it. Anti Fracking Protest Rally is on the 26th.

Get your names down for Badges.

473. Paula Rose

Practise sleeping on floors now – my chauffeur will need a sofa and I require absolute luxury.

474. ronnie anderson

Futons are us delivered to any bench on Princess St, jist pick wan.

475. Tam Jardine

ronnie anderson

Great Ronnie- I’ll be there.

476. Betty Boop

Penthouse booked, ready for Embra on 26th September!

If anyone is looking for accommodation, there isn’t much about that won’t cost you a mortgage or isn’t a very long walk. If folks are happy sharing, there is a Code Hostel quite near but not much left for that date.

See y’all.

@ Bdtt, @ Ronnie

Are we doing the Embra list over on quarantine?

477. Jim Thomson

And, to add to the fun, if you want to use the Q-Park at the Omni, the discount code (10%) until end Sept is SY10CT (that’s a “ten” in the middle) if you pre-book on-line http://www.q-park.co.uk/pre-book

Mind and pick the right city though 😉

478. Paula Rose

Ho hum twiddles thumbs.

479. Paula Rose

Shall I play a tune or two to while away the time?

480. Paula Rose

Yippee lt’s have some old faves…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVAahsWM_2Y

Its Stan and Ollie boys and girls!

481. Paula Rose

“It’s” silly me should be “let’s” – giggle.

482. Paula Rose

Oh why not – why I fell for Rev Stu’s son…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.