138 to “Nicola Sturgeon: In Her Own Words”

1. Dorothy Devine

Judged and found extremely wanting.

2. Republicofscotland

Let’s not forget life expectancy in Scotland has gone back to the lowest in Western Europe under her watch.

We’ve got another four years of her terrible tenure left; God only knows how much more damage she’ll do to Scotland by then.

3. holymacmoses

She’ll be going nowhere if no-one offers her a job. Fortunately for Sturgeon, we are in an era where the more failures you can rack up, the better the job offer.

4. One of the 45s

The worse FM since the Scottish parliament recommenced but yet her sycophants continue to support and defend her!

5. X_Sticks

Turns out she’s not *even* a good administrator. It’s woeful.

6. Dan

#WrongerForScotland

Ach, but at least Scotland wasn’t taken out the EU against our will… and recall at least retaining single market access was a red line for she/her… Oh!

7. David Beveridge

I’m not sure how much more evidence the cult need that their guru is a dud. Then again, she could go on Celebrity Masterchef, skin a kitten alive before seasoning it and bringing it to a slow simmer, and they’d all be tweeting her for the recipe.

8. Republicofscotland

O/T.

I wonder if this was political, and will it make the unionist news in Scotland.

“AN Alba Party candidate and solicitor was allegedly attacked at his office in Glasgow, the party have said.

Muhammad Shoaib, 69, is currently in hospital but his condition is not known, Alba have told The National.”

https://12ft.io/proxy?q=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.thenational.scot%2Fnews%2F22565027.alba-candidate-muhammad-shoaib-attacked-glasgow-law-office%2F%3Fref%3Dnab

9. William G Walker

Hello all,

The results of everything that the Sturgeon-led SG manages is “unacceptable”, they say. How much does is take to make a Sturgeon-appointed minister, including herself, actually resign? Absolutely nothing, it would appear.

10. Republicofscotland

Unlike Sturgeon and Blackford, ALBA Party MPs have confirmed they will not take an oath of allegiance to King Charles.

https://www.albaparty.org/alba_mps_will_not_take_oath_to_king_charles

11. Dave M

Nicola Sturgeon: GUILTY

12. Ian Brotherhood

It all seems a bit hopeless so long as she’s still in post but that doesn’t mean we can’t prepare for post-Sturgeon Scotland.

For those who haven’t yet seen it, or doubt the potency of the ‘Claim of Right’ arguments, here’s the link to the Scottish Prism gig on Sunday.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gqj4ECVTT0Y

13. Cuilean

She is out of her depth.

14. Fionan

This fairly made me laugh – you have to laugh or you’d cry!

15. Republicofscotland

The latest from Grousebeater, are we slipping into fascism in Scotland.

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2022/09/21/sliding-into-fascism/

16. John Main

The best wee apologist in the world.

Has a certain ring to it.

Something we can all be proud of.

17. Morgatron

Shes our very own Timothy Lumsdale .

18. Louise

Stu I know you rightly despise her for the hollowed out mess she’s made of the indy movement we all do. But we need you. Not to focus on that vile ("Tractor" - Ed) but to come help us tie the threads back together. Gene sharp

19. James che

Sturgeon set sail to fail, purposely.

Every western and european government is failing its people.

It cannot be a world wide error.

In the bigger picture it is mantra of Globalism that is failing all people everywhere.

She is just a puppet. Puppets can be replaced when their use is finished. Like a pair of worn out shoes.

Great interview, where the propaganderist interviewer lost.
    Jorden Peterson being interviewed by Piers Morgan.

NS is in that catagory of Global capatilist puppet working in a british devolved government placed in Scotland.

The puppets and the system is wrong for the direction we in Scotland want to go.

20. John Main

@Republicofscotland says:22 September, 2022 at 8:28 pm

“The latest from Grousebeater, are we slipping into fascism in Scotland.”

Sure we are. Of course, there are about 5.5 million personal definitions of fascism, cos it is basically anything we don’t like, when we can’t be arsed to rationalise our reasons for that dislike. So diss the opponent as a fascist – job done.

30 years or so ago, the school class would have been overwhelmingly pro-monarchy, with maybes just one kid who DIDN’T accuse the teacher of anti-monarchy views. So the story could be easily spun to ask the question: Are we slipping out of fascism in Scotland.

Must be a quiet day on the grouse moor.

But a much easier story to argue about than the one about the English teacher south of the border, who is in hiding with a fatwa on his head, for trying to look at the two sides of that story.

I doubt that any Scottish teachers will be willing to enter that mine field.

21. Andy Ellis

O/T but interesting piece nonetheless from Prof. Curtice using the just released figures from the Social Attitudes Survey.

The independence debate is becoming more and more polarised in both Scotland and Northern Ireland it seems, and guess what folks….the key appears to be brexit. It’s a sair burn for all those pro-indy euroscpetics!

“This development has important implications for the constitutional debate. To persuade voters, unionists do not simply need to defend the Union but also Brexit. Conversely, nationalists need not only to explain the case for being outside the UK, but also that for being part of the EU.”

22. Wee Chid

I can hear her fanbase now – “Aye, but we’re better than England”. I wish they would stop comparing us to that failed state.

23. Merganser

Latest release: ‘Judge us on our record’ by Nicola Sturgeon and the Notgudenuffs. Written by Pete Wishart, with special guest solo by Ian Blackford on Sousaphone.

‘I’m the leader, I’m the leader, I’m the leader of the gang I amamamamaam…. Needle’s stuck again.

24. James che

Good book.

How to hide an empire. By Danial Immerwahr.

25. Scott

“It’s a sair burn for all those pro-indy euroscpetics!” – Ellis

Given this – “If you don’t think any of Britain’s nations are Little, Vote Leave on Thursday” – ndls61 on Twitter – which camp do you place yourself in, Andy?

26. James che

How to hide an empire is spoke about on Democracy now, on youtube.

27. Bob Costello

Once she had hade time to digest this , she will no doubt sack herself

28. Andy Ellis

@”Scott”

I’m in favour of a Norway style deal in the first instance and a post indy referendum on full EU membership. I used to be solidly pro-EU but cooled somewhat after the treatment of Greece and later their failure to stop Spanish action against the Catalans.

No idea what the 2016 tweet relates to without any context. Sounds like you’re just getting desperate again “Scott”.

29. James che

Alf Baird.
    Republicofscotland.
    Robert Hughes.
    Sarah.

It is a interesting topic of conversation on how the American government became nervous of the word Colony, and replaced it with the word Territory in the book How to hide an Empire.

It has raised a new curiosity about why we are turning the word Colony and Colonised when referring to Scotland and how Scotland has been treated, to territory when speaking of Scotland which changes its status,

30. Frank Waring

Andy Ellis: When Theresa May became PM, I thought she would cement herself in power for ten years by delivering a Brexit that was just like being in the EU, without actually being in the EU — ie, the 4 freedoms. (I also thought that this might unfortunately detach enough Scots from Yes to put paid to independence in my lifetime). Obviously, the first of these thoughts, at least, was wrong, but:
    Might not membership of the single market and the customs union form the basis of a satisfactory compromise between (Pro Indy, Pro EU) and (Pro Indy, Anti EU)?

31. James Gardner

A dun person ……..

32. Andy Ellis

@Frank Waring

Might not membership of the single market and the customs union form the basis of a satisfactory compromise between (Pro Indy, Pro EU) and (Pro Indy, Anti EU)?

Yes, I suspect so. I’ve long thought that when push came to shove most Pro-Indy, Anti-EU types will still prioritise indy even if it means membership or close association with the EU.

33. Ian Brotherhood

Trailer for forthcoming SALVO documentary:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X4BH7WSNdRA

34. McDuff

She was a useless solicitor, is a useless FM, useless.
    This women never intended to pursue independence but if she did can you imagine her in separation negotiations dealing with the snakes of Westminster.
    I still don`t get her in that she is prepared to betray her country and its people.

35. solarflare

It’s the problem with the “gradualist” approach to indy.

The SNP leaders are politicians. All politicians invariably turn out to be shite, given enough time. This does not exclude the SNP. By the time they decide it’s definitely time to push for indy everyone will have been sick of them years earlier.

36. John Main

Andy Ellis

I have lately become less keen to scoff at the “Scotland as colony” theory because the theory predicted the outcome of the Brexit referendum.

The colonies voted to Remain.

The coloniser voted to Leave.

The odd one out is Wales, which voted to Remain, but that can be explained by Wales having substantial inwards immigration from the coloniser.

As Alf Baird explains, a clear indication of the colonised state is when the local elites persuade the rest of the locals to vote against their own best interests.

That is an exquisitely ironic realisation when you hear Indy enthusiasts eternally banging on about how Scotland was dragged screaming and kicking out of the EU against its will.

But to look to the future:

“I’m in favour of a Norway style deal in the first instance and a post indy referendum on full EU membership. I used to be solidly pro-EU but cooled somewhat after the treatment of Greece and later their failure to stop Spanish action against the Catalans.”

Really difficult to argue against any of that.

An iScotland will have to be eternally on its guard to avoid allowing its valuable resources coming under external ownership and control. An iScotland won’t be able to act in its own best interests if subject to EU “level playing fields” and EU “free movement of people and investment capital”.

The last thing anybody should want is for the kids and grand-kids of Wings BTL to be on a site much like this one, 30 years from now, posting much the same complaints, but with “Brussels” substituted in place of “WM”.

37. Ian Brotherhood

Kenny MacAskill, on the ‘Alphabetties’, Craig Murray etc.

The lid is being prised open…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BwFHLWeVs24

38. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m old enough to remember the situation before the UK joined the Common Market, as the EU was known back then, in the 70s.

We were a member of EFTA and had the Commonwealth as trading partners.

My Mum always bought Golden Emblem New Zealand butter but, suddenly, on joining the CM, it was no longer on the shelves. WE, the UK, had shafted our long-term trading partners.

Post-independence, I would like to see iScotland arranging trading partnerships with our former partners. It can be a more two-way relationship than what is being currently negotiated by the UK government.

The future of Scotland under an SNP government really depresses me.

Hopefully, ALBA can make the breakthrough, against the tide of MSM blackout.

39. John Main

Brian DTT

CANZUK is a proposed alliance comprising Canada, Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom as part of an international organisation or confederation similar in scope to the former European Economic Community.

No reason why an iScotland couldn’t be in that.

Given that 3 of the members are former colonies, an iScotland might expect to get fair and sympathetic treatment.

Pragmatists will already be well aware that the majority of our trade, post-Indy, will continue to be with the only country we share a land border with.

40. Ian Brotherhood

@John Main (10.35) –

‘Pragmatists will already be well aware that the majority of our trade, post-Indy, will continue to be with the only country we share a land border with.’

Is that right?

Even when oil/gas/whisky revenues are assigned properly?

41. Scott

Breastplate says:
    22 September, 2022 at 6:48 pm

Ffs Ellis,

Do you never tire of being the only person who knows everything?

http://www.wingsoverscotland.com/you-will-mourn-peasants/#comment-2705117

Adrian says:
    November 21, 2013 at 7:01 pm

“Mr Ellis obviously likes nothing more than to slam other people’s opinions with well-written but very “purple” prose. His assertions cover up his ignorance and his admirable writing style twists other people’s meaning to suit his fire-breathing agenda. Let us leave it that Mr Ellis knows everything and anything about Catalonia, its history, its language and its politics and we should always let him have the last word.”

http://blogs.lse.ac.uk/eurocrisispress/2013/11/08/europe-says-no-to-artur-mas/#comment-37256

It appears not…

42. stonefree

@ Brian Doonthetoon at 10:29 pm

It also screwed over the New Zealand Lamb exporting for NZ,and near destroyed that,It came about with the Joining UK had to cancel the UK/NZ agreement,
    Think that’s about right

43. Confused

screw you rev – little nikki has a brilliant record :

“Unknown Pleasures”, Joy Division, 1979 original pristine vinyl with special Peter Savile poster/flyer

Scotland’s school problems can all be solved by bringing back the belt and expelling all bullies, diddies and wasters. And banning mobile phones.

Scotland’s mental health can be solved by the use of frontal lobotomy. And banning mobile phones.

Scotland’s mobile phone problem can be addressed by banning them, except for the lobotomised (same difference)

Scotland’s political problems can be solved by the use of the lobotomised.

(sent from my iPhone, it’s only a 12 but I will get the 14 when my contract runs out, please don’t bully)

44. Breeks

…. But they’re doing it deliberately.

45. Hugh Jarse

Is this what the phrase ‘litany of failure’ was invented for?
    I was pondering the positives, the successes, but apart from free fanny pads and bus passes for da kids, I’m stumped.

46. Rab Davis

Huge Jarse 11.58pm

Sturgeon has always went for the women’s vote.

Baby boxes.
    Free Tampax/Pons
    Increase child benefit.
    Free child bus pass
    Her one woman fight against a notorious sex beast.

Always looking for the female angle.

I would say that the majority who still support her are females with kids and who could take or leave Scottish Independence.

And of course her Trans “Female” following.

47. Hugh Jarse

Forgot. Guaranteed, funded nursery places.
    TBF, my eldest daughter works in one, and this is a real lifeline for some of the literally poor wee cnuts! A few hours of fun, socialising and attention, away from the
    facebook addled, lard arsed, or chemically dependent ‘parent’ with the inevitably radge gadgie boyfriend.

48. Effijy

Millions lost in VAT that the Police and Fire Brigade couldn’t claim back from Westminster due to SNP error.

The attempt to build ferries on the Clyde had good intentions but Para Handy could have done better.

Refusing to open the SNP accounts sent me packing.

49. Neil

Who would have done better though, that’s the point.

50. Hatuey

Of course, from Sturgeon’s standpoint she has succeeded where it matters, in elections.

That’s the sort of inane point an East Kilbride taxi driver would make, but it’s also what equally thick defenders of Sturgeon say.

We all know it’s a bullshit argument since the BBC is supporting her and the opposition is basically unelectable and non-existent, but, as long as she keeps winning elections, they’ll keep saying it.

I particularly like the thrust of this article though. She should be judged on her record and failings; that’s possibly the one thing I agree with her on. And if more emphasis was given to those failings on here and elsewhere, I don’t think she’d win elections so easily.

Who better to systematically go through those failings, one after the other, week after week, than Wings? Nobody could do it better.

“Shane, come back…. Come back, Shane…”

51. Hatuey

“Only a 12”

God, that hurts…

52. Hugh Jarse

Someone who made a success of themselves in the ‘real world ‘ before entering politics Neil?
    Maybe a non-narcissist, with any sort of empathetic ability pal?

At the height of the mania, a picture of her, arm raised to acknowledge the adulation of the crowd, you probably know the one, gave her real character away.

53. Hatuey

I liked the Salvo trailer… great ending.

Cheers for that.

54. Roger

Never mind all that!
    There’s going to be an Indyref2 on 19 October 2023!
    The First Minister promised…

55. twathater

Failed lawyer ,Failed FM , FAILED INDEPENDENCE LEADER ,BTW rev you should have included all the sturgeon fanzine front page promises just to highlight just HOW FUCKING USELESS SHE IS

@ Ian B 9.44pm Thanks for that utube link re the SALVO trailer can’t wait for the full version BTW people it is well worth watching and commenting on

56. Robert Louis

Yes, but what about independence for Scotland? Anybody going to the Edinburgh march?

57. Breeks

Neil says:
    23 September, 2022 at 1:19 am
    Who would have done better though, that’s the point.

After Brexit, a crash test dummy with a sign around it’s neck saying the Scottish people are sovereign would have done better, the Union would not have survived Constitutional crisis thus created, and Scotland would have stayed in Europe and been Independent in 2016/17, or at minimum, have entered EU holding pen status while negotiating the end of the UK.

Turn your question around Neil, who could have handled Scotland’s affairs any worse? Who else could have done so much damage to the cause and destroyed the unity and common purpose of the YES movement? Her failures and inactions, even if “somehow” well intentioned, are so close so as to those of an MI5 stooge deliberately trying to wreck Independence that the difference is indecipherable.

Sturgeon is an utter fraud, and that is her only accomplishment. Scotland’s Lords in 1707 live in infamy as a Parcel O’ Rogues. Sturgeon in my opinion has earned herself similar accolade all by herself. Damn her to Hell.

58. Stuart MacKay

Tories baaad; Sturgeon baaad; we’ve never been closer to independence – ad nauseum. It’s all part of the same carrot-dangling story.

James Che has it right when he observes that Sturgeon is just another globalist neo-liberal. You won’t get rid of her (or her anointed successor) until you get rid of the system that supports and sustains them.

A left-leaning, independent Scotland with control of it’s energy resources? Ain’t gonna happen with the political current system based on a top layer of fat cats skimming off all the cream.

Fortunately the window of opportunity is opening.

59. Ian

The signs of megalomania were there right from the start of her reign. A disaster hidden in plain sight.

https://archive.ph/Gyn4A

60. Tom Kane

Summarily judged. And the agreed wording from the specially selected judge was that although the SNP failed, it was not clear that they did it on purpose. So it’s not as bad as it looks. And all the MSM chipped in to agree, meanwhile, the whole time sharpening their carving knives.

61. Andy Ellis

@”Scott” 10.55 pm

Still scarily obsessed with me I see. Face it Scott, I’m never going to go out with you. Moonhowlers aren’t my type. If it weren’t so peculiar that I live rent free inside your (thankfully empty) head it’d be comical. I’m not sure what it is you *think* posting a link to BTL comments from another place, on a different topic in (checks link) 2013 proves…? Apart from the depths of your scary obsession with me.

It all seems “of a piece” with your output and MO of course, there doesn’t seem much point to most if it, and it’s generally only tangentially related to the point at hand, or indeed the real world.

Has your carer mixed your meds up again?

62. Dorothy Devine

Scott , some folk have developed the parasitic tendency to take over other folks blogs – must be an “ism’ or an illness.

63. Dorothy Devine

Ian B , thanks for the links – both are impressive!

64. Andy Ellis

@Stuart Mackay 7.16 am

You won’t get rid of her (or her anointed successor) until you get rid of the system that supports and sustains them.

I dunno mate, I’m not too happy kicking independence in to the long grass until some future date when Scottish voters deliver us to the sunny uplands of the non-globalist, non neo-liberal society?

I doubt the majority of Scottish voters are going to vote in significant for parties openly espousing such a platform either….although I’m not sure what such a platform would involve or what the system which replaced it would look like?

I think there is broad support for “taking control” of energy policy, and for a more communitarian, broadly left of centre “wooly social democratic” approach on many issues, but what other aspects of the “current political system” are you proposing we change, and why does that have to happen first before we can rid ourselves of Sturgeon and/or her successor?

Surely the task at hand is either to eliminate the SNP as a force, or at least ensure it isn’t led by crypto-devolusionists like Sturgeon, then capitalise on that to ensure independence via plebiscitary elections as soon as reasonably practicable?

Your proposed route seems destined to take many years to come to fruition, much like all the supposed “cunning plans for indy” that proponents keep assuring us will *just happen*!

65. McHaggis69

Stu, can you do an article of all Ms Sturgeons achievements over the same period?
    Real, popular and novel policy delivery of any true SNP objectives that have bettered the lives of all Scots.

66. P

I always look forward to Nikla saying, “there are lessons to be learned”.
    The tone of voice, without any musical ability as she flatly expresses her sound bite.
    Facial expression showing insincerity and her true sleekit self.
    But she’ll be off after the coronation, so there’s that to look forward to…
    The Macbeths…

67. Stuart MacKay

Andy Ellis

I’m not advocating a cunning plan for indy. Instead I’m merely pointing out that the question of independence for Scotland doesn’t sit in isolation from the rest of Europe or the rest of the world. The circles that Sturgeon moves in or aspires to move in don’t look kindly on nationalist aspirations. As a result it’s no surprise there’s little movement on the question.

The current trend is still globalisation and integration, an independent Scotland is neither here nor there in this system. In fact, from the West’s point of view, maintaining the integrity of the UK is probably seen as a good thing for the foreseeable future given the instability in Europe.

That might all change in the next few years, precipitated by the economic crisis. If the doomsayers are right then the EU will be mortally weakened and maybe the current crop of leaders will be replaced. That’s the opportunity for Scotland to act and break up the UK without incurring the wrath of the likes of the USA.

68. Alf Baird

James che @ 9:33 pm

“why we are turning the word Colony and Colonised when referring to Scotland and how Scotland has been treated, to territory when speaking of Scotland which changes its status”

As The Corries used to say: “If the shoe fits, wear it.”

I suppose ‘unionist’ soonds better especially to collaborating native elites or to others not paying attention than ‘colonialist’. The colonizers of today, with the Americans leading the pack globally, are still relying on the same brutal methods of their predecessors, mainly the British and the French, and are no less racist, greedy and destructive. Colonialism remains virulent, as we see in the Scottish and many other contexts where there is a desire for independence/ decolonization.

Fowk shuid onywey aye ken thair a colony whan the mither langage thay spik in the hoose an in the playgrund isna the langage thay lairn in the schuil, an whan maist o thair heid bummers spik anither tongue an mony frae anither kintra.

‘English studies’ has kept many a colonized nation pacified without the need for much force, an the Scots are nae different. The resultant psychological condition is not called ‘a colonial mindset’ for nothing.

69. Iain More

Meanwhile the new English Tory Chancellor is having an emergency budget sort of.

It looks like we are going to have to bail out the fuckin greedy English Tories yet again. Thanks for nothing no Referendum Sturgeon. Thanks for nothing you nah voting c!!!s.

70. Robert Hughes

” The circles that Sturgeon moves in or aspires to move in don’t look kindly on nationalist aspirations. ”

Correct , Stuart . And neither does Sturgeon . We’ve all seen her revulsion and haughty contempt for the ” N ” word .

Nationalism/s and the Nation State itself are anathema to the new * Progressive * – ie ..Globalist – movers n shakers .

Every * Identity * under the sun – irrespective of it’s lunatic nature – is to be affirmed . Other than National Identity . That’s soooo ” regressive ” now , don’tcha know ?

As long as it doesn’t threaten the Super-Identity – Consumer . The only one that matters to our Neoliberal/Capitalist Overlords

71. Alf Baird

Republicofscotland @ 8:28 pm

“The latest from Grousebeater, are we slipping into fascism in Scotland.”

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2022/09/21/sliding-into-fascism/

Postcolonial theory predicts the major ‘rupture’ in an independence movement which is caused by the co-operation (and ‘petrification’) of the dominant national party with the imperial power. Holyrood/Scottish Gov is a colonial administration efter aw, which as we see enacts ‘mystifying’ policies to make it look busy, behaves ‘like a gang’, builds up its pensions, and persecutes so-called ‘radicals’ who seek more urgency towards liberation, all of which moves us ever closer toward the root of colonialism, which is fascism.

Grouse Beater as ever calls it right. SNP Ministers are acting much as they were appointed and give oath of allegiance, as ‘agents’ of the Crown.

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2021/07/18/determinants-of-independence-colonialism/

72. Dorothy Devine

Picked up in btl comments on the Guardian cartoon , a summation of trickle down economics,

Trickledowneconomics
    Trickledowneconomic
    Trickledowneconomi
    Trickledowneconom
    Trickledownecono
    Trickledownecon
    Trickledowneco
    Trickledownec
    Trickledowne
    Trickledown
    Trickledow
    Trickledo
    Trickled
    Trickle
    Trickl
    Trick

73. Glenn

#NGE

…good enough?

74. deerhill

“Judge us on our record”

The record is a 78 RPM shellac disc with, on side1:
    “Somewhere Over The Rainbow” sung by a duet of “Oor Nikla” and some bald, fat guy, no one has ever seen in public.

On side2:
    A new rendition of that old favourite “Arrogant, Lazy and Complacent” sung by a hand picked choir from the NEC, who all dress unconvincingly as women.

All funds will go to the Independece Fund.( Honest, cross my heart and hope to die)

75. desimond

Its all just so sad.
    Self inflicted Death by 1000 cuts continues at home and for the Indy campaign.

Its like a game of chess slowly playing out when everyone knows its checkmate in 20 moves.

Had a good open chat on Twitter the other day where everyone was remarking on how there is now no-one in SNP who we could view as an Indy Champion. There is no one we could see as emerging talent who can take the Indy case forward and lead us to the promised land. Its all Estabishment expenses and talking in empty Westminster halls or on comfy London TV studio couches.

Get prepared for staying as slaves, as McMoses disnae exist!

76. Ron

Sturgeons SNP government is a popularist government.
    They always choose what will be popular with a large chunk of the population.
    eg. free prescriptions, free buses, free laptops etc.
    In general these freebies are very popular with the less well off.
    What many don’t realise is that to fund these freebies cuts have to be made elsewhere.
    We have found out recently that the ferries have been under funded for years and it looks like the A9 and A96 will not get dualed as promised (because the money has been spend on freebies to make Sturgeon/SNP popular)
    The infrastructure of the country is starting to fall apart, her time is just about up.
    PS. Sturgeon has no interest in Scotland outwit the Central Belt.

77. Pete Wishart

The thing now is to keep things positive, engage constructively and keep persuading our fellow Scots. The tipping point in Scottish public opinion isn’t far away.

78. sarah

@ Ian Brotherhood at 10.18: the youtube link to Kenny MacAskill saying in November 2021 that his knowledge of all the personalities involved meant “he never doubted that Alex Salmond would be acquitted”.

Thank you for posting this, IB. It confirms what we all know.

BUT the wider public still doesn’t know the truth. How and when will the truth be shown to the whole of Scotland? It is taking an awful long time.

79. Ian Brotherhood

@sarah –

It’s hard to guess how and when the full truth will emerge but the surge of interest in what SALVO has been doing will surely embolden someone to do the decent thing.

80. dandydons1903

Sturgeon the brit interloper and cronies begone. Simple as that.

81. Wee Chid

Rab Davis says:
    23 September, 2022 at 12:13 am
    Huge Jarse 11.58pm

“Sturgeon has always went for the women’s vote.”

Well she’s screwed that because women are not going to vote for someone who gives their rights away – and transwomen are men – so not quite going for the women’s vote, is she?

82. sarah

@ IB: coincidentally I am watching Sara Salyer’s speech at Aye Aberdeen Yestival where she explains at length the basis of and action to regain our people’s power over parliament in the Claim of Right.

Could you put the link on here, please? I am watching through Sara’s twitter.

83. James Che

Ns is a globalist, the policies that she has followed and introduced into Scotland are all those that are swimming around all the other countries these past few years,
    even our police in Scotland under NS devolved government are turning out to be politically bias, inept at chasing down real crimes like missing money, or street crime.

The people she associates with are either union flavoured or pals of globalists like Gates, Clintons, Even pals of Epstein, and the royals, the very circles she moves in are globalist and unionist.
    Talk about getting in with the wrong crowd.
    As Alf Baird says, and it is the same conclusion I and a few others have come to here.
    The devolved government is Colonial, with a strong union flavour.

Any or all parties sitting in the Devolved government could have stopped the direction the Snp were taken towards ideology of globalism and war screams,
    Any one of them could have protested a lot louder over miscarriages of justice and failed hearings, etc etc.
    Or over the mishandling of the Scottish economy,
    Nevertheless no past efforts have made from any other parties in the devolved government to stem the tide of the SNP or the direction they have taken, other than token gestures they don’t shout out to loudly or persistantly in case they are heard.
    Simple because they are all going in a planned one track direction, the colours of all the parties blend very well behind a false front of the devolved government.

They work as one unit within that devolved government system to prevent Scottish independence, even the msm whom are opposed to Scottish independence are paid for with our taxes through the devolved government.
    A system that has no checks and balances.

If NS was outed, what would we get? , one of the other wet blanket Snp members, or one of the other chocolate teapot parties that also do nothing for Scotland and its people,
    We are dealing with a Colonial system that lords it over Scotland, changing Scots Law and manipulating the mythical treaty to the advantage and new ownership of a Westminster UK government that we have no Treaty with.

84. James Che

We are staying positive, wishart. you and the colonial system have to go.

The people will eventually overtake the uselessness of the Scottish devolved government and all who sail in her.

85. Bob Mack

Seems she has had several red lines—- most of which have been crossed numerous times. Politicians!!!

86. James Che

Ron.

It is true that every thing has to be finance to get freebees,

That is why the Westminster government introduced the Barnett formula for Scotland.
    Our taxes go out of Scotland but only a small purportion come back to Scotland.

Westminster has its Freebee.

87. Bob Mack

Alex Salmond handed her an Independence movement moving like a Ferrari which only required a service. Instead she has turned it into an Austin Allegro which is heading towards the scrappy.

We need a new vehicle.

88. Grouser

Thanks to Dorothy Devine, 23rd September 2022 at 10.31.
    You have just handed me my next leaflet to go through the door of the West of Scotland HQ of the Conservative and Unionist Party near where I live in Glasgow.
    I like to give them some unpleasant truths to read.
    I’ll put it on one of the offerings from IndyPosterBoy as a double whammy – probably the one about the Union being a prison.
    Also, in respect of the Modern Studies teacher being disciplined. I read Grousebeater and if what was reported there is true there is no way he should have been suspended. I speak as a retired Modern Studies teacher. If you can’t encourage your pupils to question things then you may as well just sack all teachers and make a national education computer programme and sit the weans in front of it.

89. robertkknight

Mene, mene, tekel, upharsin.

Writing on the wall for Sturgeon’s NuSNP hopefully.

But what replaces it/her? Private Fraser sums things up eloquently…

“Wur all doomed! Doomed, ah tell ye!”

90. Dorothy Devine

Grouser , you are welcome but don’t thank me as the original source is unknown.

As a retired teacher I was horrified that anyone would think it appropriate to suspend the broadening of children’s minds and only promote the establishment propaganda.

91. James che

It has taken the yes movement, myself included a long time to realise that NS is closer to the union in her heart and actions than any association to a independent Scotland,
    If it had not been for STU over the last year or so pointing out the duplicity of the NuSNP it could have gone on a lot longer.

It is with this in mind that it becomes more and more obvious the major tool that has been of great assistance to the NuSNP has been the devolved Colonial Government place in Scotland.
    This is the ” Yes for independence’s” second ( blind spot) that is keeping us from progressing forward.

It is time for the Sovereign people of Scotland to chose a new method of governance, under the Claim of Right and self determination.

I cannot foresee the devolved branch office of Westminster in Scotland contesting itself back to london main office as it would be wrestling its own arm behind its own back,

The establishment that runs both governments will not say yes to anything it can simply ignore including not recognising a referendum or election basis for independence from the devolved government.

“A Scottish sovereign people” meeting has to be held to by pass the hinderence’s and blockages from the devolved government.

This devolved government and the NuSNP been the YES for a independent Scotland blind spot.

Waiting for something magic to happen from either of these two sources takes a lot of believing and a strange kind of faith.

92. McDuff

So tell me Pete exactly what has the SNP done in 8 YEARS to further the cause of independence apart from react to events.
    Startle me with the list.

93. Scott

Andy Ellis says:
    23 September, 2022 at 7:49 am

@”Scott” 10.55 pm

Still scarily obsessed with me I see.

—-

Not in the slightest, you’re just scared of exposure beyond the here and now.

Mind that time I said I had the receipts for your bullshit? I wasn’t lying.

“As one of those outed as issuing “vicious broadsides” (really?… I couldn’t say it was my usual MO, tho’ granted I’ve certainly been known to dish it out when I felt it was justified!) I can only echo the sentiments expressed by many fellow pro-independence supporters online. I won’t be intimidated by the forces of darkness directing the gutter press and their cowed fellow travellers in the No camp. My thoughts on it are expressed in my first blog, which no doubt anyone interested in the rantings of a vicious “cabernat” will be able to find!”

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-bully-pulpit/#comment-776763

It is your usual MO, despite the Daily Hitler being reluctant to paint you in the same light as the others in the so-called ‘Cybernat 7’, as highlighted by Rev Stu in his article ‘The bully pulpit’

“The Edinburgh- born former politics student appears to be one of the more temperate cybernats.

What’s he doing in this article, then?” – Rev Stu

You wrote a scene-setting blog in an attempt to head off any questions about why you willingly engaged with a journalist from the Scottish Daily Mail, who’d allegedly managed to doorstep you in Sussex just in time to chum you to the station to catch the 0840 train to London.

“Confessions of a “cabernat” or how to behave when doorstepped by a Scottish Daily Mail journalist.

He even asked me if I’d ever thought about being a politician (to which of course the answer is “Hell, No!).” – http://archive.ph/wogck

Now, why would someone study Politics at two universities if they’d never considered becoming a politician?

Is it because they’re a lying narcissistic cunt?

94. Republicofscotland

“Sturgeon has always went for the women’s vote.”

Yeah, she’s taken a leaf out of heroine’s book Hillary Clinton who also pretended to push for women’s rights. Clinton took a seat on the Walmart board, whilst pretending to push for women’s rights but never once did she call for a wage rise for women at Walmart which is one of the largest employers in the US but pays low wages to its staff.

95. Republicofscotland

“The thing now is to keep things positive, engage constructively and keep persuading our fellow Scots. The tipping point in Scottish public opinion isn’t far away.”

Y’know, the above is just exactly what Wishart would say, a lying wee toady. However, I doubt the real Wishart would have the balls to comment in here.

Nice try, but no cigar.

96. Ian Brotherhood

@sarah (11.46) –

This link?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gqj4ECVTT0Y

97. Andy Ellis

@”Scott”

For someone who denies being creepily obsessed with me, and insisting I’m a narcissist, you certainly spend an inordinate amount of time increasing my exposure on here. Indeed you scarcely seem to post about much else. It’s pretty pathological behaviour and I’m not the only one to think so as others have called you out for it in the past.

You’ve made the frankly rather weird claim before that there was somehow something suspect about me “willingly engaging with a journalist from the Scottish Daily Mail (in fact I had no idea where the random hack was from as he was a freelance, it only emerged later it was the Daily Heil) and that I felt the need to head of questions about it. Why on earth would I need to do that? I had – and have – nothing to hide, unlike snivelling anonymous creepy online stalkers like yourself.

Lots of people study politics with no intention of “becoming politicians”; the fact you think it’s in the least bit odd suggests you need to get out more. Sitting in yer kecks in yer mammy’s spare room, eating Frosties from the box, and obsessively researching me online isn’t healthy “Scott”: ask you carer.

Far from having receipts for the bullshit fruits of your creepy obsession with me “Scott”, your mouth is still writing cheques your intellect can’t cash. Give it up mate, you’re making yourself look even more of a creep than most folk already had you marked down as.

98. Scott

“Confessions of a “cabernat” or how to behave when doorstepped by a Scottish Daily Mail journalist.

Whether the piece ever sees the light of day remains to be seen. I will await it with interest if it does; all I have to do now is find some way of reading it that doesn’t involve actually buying the Daily Mail!”

“(in fact I had no idea where the random hack was from as he was a freelance, it only emerged later it was the Daily Heil)”

– Andy Ellis

Your blog was written days before the article appeared in the DM on 25th January 2014 and the day after the alleged doorstepping took place…so stop lying, you thick cunt.

The only person obsessed with you is yourself – and it eats away at you. You are the architect of your own misery, so own it for a change instead of lashing out at all and sundry. Tear down the wall…

99. Andy Ellis

@Stuart MacKay 8.58 am

The current trend is still globalisation and integration, an independent Scotland is neither here nor there in this system. In fact, from the West’s point of view, maintaining the integrity of the UK is probably seen as a good thing for the foreseeable future given the instability in Europe.

I think you’re right: in the general scheme of things Scotland is a drop in the bucket looked at from a systemic level. The west / USA/ EU would of course prefer a quiet life and no distractions like Scottish or Catalan independence to complicate matters (particularly in current circumstances), but in the end they’d all adjust if either of those things came to pass. Post brexit the UK is short of friends, particularly in Europe and even the supposed “special relationship” with the USA is far more special to us than it is to them.

That might all change in the next few years, precipitated by the economic crisis. If the doomsayers are right then the EU will be mortally weakened and maybe the current crop of leaders will be replaced. That’s the opportunity for Scotland to act and break up the UK without incurring the wrath of the likes of the USA.

Who knows…? The future isn’t ours to see, but I have my doubts about predictions of the EU being mortally weakened. I’d lay money on the EU emerging stronger once Vlad and his mates are defeated, and expect to see the EU members of NATO becoming much more cohesive in security policy, particularly as the US looks more towards China and the Pacific Rim.

What a post-independence Scotland does or doesn’t do probably isn’t that important to most of them in the final analysis though they’ll all have preferred options of course. Most will assume/prefer that Scotland will become part of the EU and NATO, but none of them will lose any sleep if we took the Irish option or the Icelandic option. They’ll accommodate whatever events dictate.

I suspect that even if the current slew of leaders are replaced with others, they’re not going to represent a sea change, however hard those on either extreme of the debate wish it were otherwise: globalism and neo-liberalism aren’t going away, and the Great Reset remains the wet dream of a coterie of the super rich. Both alternative futures soon come apart at the seams when they come in to contact with realpolitik.

100. Andy Ellis

@”Scott”

Your blog was written days before the article appeared in the DM on 25th January 2014 and the day after the alleged doorstepping took place…so stop lying, you thick cunt.

The hack was a freelance, not a Scottish Daily Mail journo. I doubt the story justified sending one of their ace reporters all the way to Sussex when a gun for hire would do. The fact it was the Daily Mail only emerged after the doorstepping when Graham Grant of the Daily Mail contacted me before the piece appeared.

Not sure why you’re making such heavy weather of this. You’re making yourself look ever more ridiculous trying to build some confected story that there is anything more to the Cybernat7 episode than a right wing Tory rag trying to other pro independence supporters.

Perhaps that’s because your’e personally creepy as fuck, and as big a liability to the movement as the Daily Heil?

101. Scott

“The fact it was the Daily Mail only emerged after the doorstepping when Graham Grant of the Daily Mail contacted me before the piece appeared.”

“Whether the piece ever sees the light of day remains to be seen…”

Andy Ellis

In 1989, I shared a flat with someone studying journalism who now works for SDM…just saying

102. Andy Ellis

In 1989, I shared a flat with someone studying journalism who now works for SDM…just saying

?

“Away, ye scum, That still rise upmost when the nation boils; Ye mongrel work of heaven, with human shapes, Not to be damned or saved, but breathe and perish, That have but just enough of sense, to know The master’s voice, when rated, to depart.” Dryden.

103. Scott

Andy Ellis says:
    23 September, 2022 at 5:02 pm

“Away, ye scum, That still rise upmost when the nation boils; Ye mongrel work of heaven, with human shapes, Not to be damned or saved, but breathe and perish, That have but just enough of sense, to know The master’s voice, when rated, to depart.” Dryden.

‘Nobody cares about things written in 1689…’ – Andy Ellis on Claim of Right Act 1689

104. Robert Hughes

” I’d lay money on the EU emerging stronger once Vlad and his mates are defeated, and expect to see the EU members of NATO becoming much more cohesive in security policy, particularly as the US looks more towards China and the Pacific Rim. ”

WOS’s very own Nostradamus speaks .

Much more likely is ” Vlad and his mates ” ( who they ? ) strengthening his/their links to China in particular and BRICS becoming ” much more cohesive ” as the only logical response to the ever more desperate attempts of the U.S to maintain it’s – once unassailable , now doomed – global dominance .

The EU – if it continues blindly following U.S lunacy , becoming increasingly impoverished ,fragmented and domestically riven as people object to their leader’s complete disregard for their collapsing incomes and standards of living .

All Empires fall in the end , the U.S will be no exception .

The * burning * question is whether it will take the rest of the world with it

105. Andy Ellis

Just when you thought things couldn’t get much worse after the mini-budget:

Employment Law – Changes are Afoot

The UK Government has published a draft Bill that will allow the British Government to revoke by 31 December 2023 all EU-derived subordinate legislation and retained direct EU legislation. What this means in simple terms is that the British Government can now deviate from any EU legislation as it sees fit. The Bill as presently framed will automatically repeal any retained EU law unless legislation is introduced to retain it. To underline this power the draft Bill expressly abolishes the principle of the supremacy of EU law.

All of this may sound rather dry to the average reader but the implications may be profound in the field of employment law where many rights we take for granted are now potentially under threat.

For example, we all enjoy the benefits of the Working Time Regulations, which cap the working week. Similarly, the Transfer of Undertakings Regulations have long been a feature of employment protection. Both could in theory disappear. There will be many other rights that could be under similar threat.

Of course, much can happen between the publication of a Bill and eventual enactment as legislation. We will continue to monitor developments as they occur but this is an early warning that major changes to UK employment law may be afoot.

https://www.wjm.co.uk/news/employment-law–changes-are-afoot

106. Stuart MacKay

Robert Hughes, Andy Ellis,

Two events that would really set the cat amongst the pigeons:

1. Trump gets elected and pulls the USA out of NATO.

2. The EU gets fed up of Turkey and boots it out of NATO – or more likely Turkey finally gets off the fence and throws it’s hat in with the other BRICS countries.

That would at least set the stage for NATO becoming the military wing of the EU and the set up of that EU Defence Force.

That, in the long run, might end up being a decent option. The European countries finally start spending real money on defence. While they’d still be a satellite of the USA, it might be enough of a re-balancing act that some kind stability gets created geopolitically. However to really work, the New Europe would have to put a little daylight between itself and the likes of Victoria Nuland and not simply bend over at the first request from the USA.

107. Stuart MacKay

In other news the pound fell 3% against the US Dollar on news of the first Trussonomics budget. I wonder how much of that £150 billion got set of fire as a result. That declaration on a price cap for energy is rapidly starting to look like a blank cheque!

108. Andy Ellis

@Robert Hughes

Just as 1897 reports of Mark Twain’s death were an exaggeration, the airy assurances of many that the USA’s dominance is doomed looks over egged. Doubtless it is true that at some point the USA will lose its dominance: no superpower has been immortal thus far.

Whether China and the BRICS are going to replace the USA and/or western liberal democracies in a reasonable timescale remains to be seen. Perhaps you’re right, but I wouldn’t bet the farm on it if I were you. A lot could happen to frustrate the airy assertions some make about how China and the BRICS will somehow surpass everyone else, or build a Renminbi based system to replace the US $.

Doubtless other parts of the world will continue to “catch up” with the developed world, but your atavistic desire to see the EU “becoming increasingly impoverished ,fragmented and domestically riven as people object to their leader’s complete disregard for their collapsing incomes and standards of living” looks a bit…well….hysterical or – strangely – like wishful thinking.

Our systems might not be perfect, but I’d still rather be a citizen here than being a citizen of Xi’s China, Vlad’s Russia or Khameini’s Iran either now or for the foreseeable future. Horses for course I suppose?

109. James che

There are many laws changing with the new bill and many being abolished.
    Nows the time, after Brexit, so J R Mogg says.

Nows the time for us to leave more like it, with bad workers rights, with a distinct lack of forward thinking for food and water quality,
    And a unprotected existing wildlife safety gage.its not looking good to stop fracking effecting water table levels,

We have no treaty with the UK parliament, time to say goodbye.

110. Andy Ellis

@Stuart Mackay

It’s certainly an option. Plans for a European Defence Community foundered in the 1950’s, largely because post war European governments found it politically and fiscally easier to free ride on the US security guarantee. Perhaps Vlad’s war will change things; looks like most European NATO countries are now ramping up defence expenditure, and with the accession of Finland and Sweden a security aspect for the EU can’t be ruled out, even if our Irish friends aren’t too keen.

Having Europe / EU as a separate pillar in the world order of the future isn’t the worst idea. Of course, being independent of the USA, China, BRICS etc means being serious about defence spending and co-operation, not something we’ve been notably successful at in the past. The Turks should have been kicked in to touch when Erdogan went rogue: they’ll soon pipe down when folk recognise Kurdish independence. Ankara’s pan-Turkic pretensions are as absurd as Vlad’s Eurasian schemes.

111. James che

Wasn’t one massive army always on the table to batter the hell out of smaller defenceless countries that won’t do as they are told by the boss of the one world order.

Dangerous road to go down for all Countries, one army, imagine if you had a different opinion for your Countries peoples welfare,

Too late your dead.

112. James che

Blinken does not believe in democracy for people to hold referendums,
    Funny we heard that from Teresa and boris and now Liz,

Lets have one army to rule the world, then no one needs to vote at all.

113. Joan Edington

I suppose the one good thing that can be said from all this is that she does actually apologise (sincerely?), which is more that anyone from other parties around the UK seem to do these days.

114. sarah

@ IB at 3.47: that is a good Through a Scottish Prism video from last weekend but the one I meant was at the Aberdeen Yestival, in the Blue Lamp, on about the 25th August. Sara’s twitter has it re=tweeted from Alba Therapist – it is the 2nd tweet from the top.

115. James che

Where is Ruby?

116. Rab Davis

That was a quick read through today’s posts.

As I never read a word posted by ,,,or a post relating to,,the pedant dildo Andy Ellis,,it took just a few minutes to read what was left of today’s comments.

Because all I see above is the name Andy Ellis on just about every post today.

Can’t we crowd fund a six month holiday for this guy Ellis,,,, preferably in Outer Mongolia.

As has been said on many occasions,,, he’s a bigger plant than Nicola Sturgeon.

117. Dan

We can chat about geo-politics as much as we like, but the bottom line is that Scots can do heehaw aboot it till we return to being a self-governing country fully empowered to make oor oan decisions on the world stage.
    Scotland is out-voted by ten to one within the UK due to the democratic deficit in England’s favour, so we jist get what England wants as they elect governments we don’t vote for; Ergo Conservatives of all hues and the British Establishment are perpetually in full control of all the significant and important powers.

118. sarah

@ Dan: many thanks for the vid link of Sara Salyer’s very informative speech about Claim of Right and the strategy of taking a question to the UN that the UK must answer i.e. is Scotland in a voluntary union or are we a colony?

Whatever the answer, Scotland is empowered to regain independence.

I recommend everyone to listen to this speech and then sign the Edinburgh Proclamation on liberation.scot or salvo.scot, if you haven’t already! Sara says they need about 100,000 signatures before the matter can be sent to the UN. Calling all SNP members to sign – this UN strategy will help put extra pressure on the UK government to comply with SNP’s referendum demands.

119. Dan

Maybe Pete Wishart could write and publish a blog to counter and explain why this is ok…

https://yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com/2022/09/23/how-to-take-over-a-party-3/

120. Effijy

Budget today is a final top up for the rich as the Tories know it’s game over at the next election.

A worker on £20K saves £93 per year with this supposed income tax cut.
    A Tory voter on £100K gets £1093.

The lower paid person is looking at a gain of around £1.80 per week.
    So with the most basic foods having risen by over 20% a food budget of £10 per week would see that the tax break means that they are worse off.

Never mind your home energy costs having doubled in a few months.
    Never mind the mortgage rate having risen 6 times in 9 months
    Never mind petrol prices hitting an all time high.

The most powerful bank in Europe, Deutsche Bank advised the Bank of England to again interest rates again next week if they hope to see anyone invest in the U.K.

I love how not increasing National insurance or tax on alcohol is presented as some sort of saving?

You can’t eat, you can’t heat so buy the kids a bottle of whiskey that stays as expensive as ever.

The Pound is heading a level less than 1 for 1 for the first time.
    Idiotic expert on radio says it will be easier for U.K. manufacturing to export to the US?
    What does the U.K. manufacture that the US or China don’t already supply?

Any Engineering Co here is likely to pack up shop when the 6 month energy subsidy goes.

Give the rich more money and they can have more foreign holidays, buy foreign sports cars
    drink more French Champagne or invest it off shore in Panama or the Caribbean.

It seems by removing any barriers on obscene bankers bonuses they are going to pack their bags in New York and head to London leaving their $10 million annual earnings behind in search of more?

Just how hard a job is banking?
    Most no longer give out any interest
    Most are closing down a multitude of branches and cutting jobs
    and when interest rates go up the pass a fractional interest rate on to clients.
    Charge £50 for a letter to say you over spent by a fiver.

Corruption and immorality never paid out so well

121. Breeks

Stuart MacKay says:
    23 September, 2022 at 5:37 pm

That, in the long run, might end up being a decent option. The European countries finally start spending real money on defence…

I think it was Scott Ritter, former UN weapons inspector, who argued that it was never Mr Put’s intention to have a utility war with Europe over gas supply. If that had been his intention, he could simply have done it, and cut off the gas.

The sanctions are hurting Europe much more than R, and while there’s the obvious possibility of “gamesmanship” going on, there’s an argument that the EU has shot itself in the foot while ending up piggy in the middle between the US and R.

I think if the EU does form it’s own Defence force, it might as well give up. The whole principle underpinning the establishment of Common Market was a reaction to two World Wars and a desire to put an end to the bickering and wee cliques of warmongering allies who made a lasting peace so impractical. The EU’s reaction to Ukr has been a MASSIVE disappointment.

The EEC, which became the EU has been a spectacular success in bringing peace to Europe, but I fear that will all be undone by militarism. Militarism which incidentally will be a nightmare to coordinate. If disparate economies create problems for the currency, just wait until you have 27 nations trying to mobilise an army / navy and airforce.

It is my firm belief that global stability requires NATO to put an end to it’s expansionism, and stop being the patsy, copping all the flak (perhaps literally), for American style foreign policy which is all but colonial Imperialism.

After Gorbachev began the process, and the USSR collapsed, I firmly believe all the right pieces were in place for Europe in particular to embrace Ruski land, and really put the Cold War to a permanent end, and begin to heal a great artificial division which doesn’t belong in Europe.

Sadly, I think that’s actually the very last thing that the jealous US wants, and so the US strategy towards R barely softened at all, and was in fact cynically exploited, through NATO’s expansion to the East, with US backed coups and regime change.

In short, we have the wrong villain in our sights.

I’ve said it before; the Ukr is to Ruski, what Israel is to the Middle East, what Taiwan is to China. It’s a provocative “enclave” of US interference that’s designed to foster instability and provoke “mini” wars which keep the defence based economies of the West ticking over.

Just look at the hypocrisy too of the US’ reaction to Cuba, or more recently, the possibility of a Chinese Maritime base on the Solomon Islands… The US likes to flex it’s muscles wherever it likes, but suffers a paroxysm of outrage whenever somebody else sets up a base in their backyard.

“That” is the source of true global instability. The insatiable greed of the spoiled brat USA, and it’s Mini-me sidekick, Rude Britannia, and a serious lack of moral integrity found in either.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that Ruskiland or China don’t have their issues, but after a lifetime watching Scotland plundered while treated like we’re dirt, there is nothing more nauseating to my sensibilities than two faced UK treachery and hypocrisy.

122. Ian Brotherhood

The Tories blame everything on P***n. The SNP blame everything on Tories.

Some folk seem capable of supporting both positions with a straight face, expecting others to take them seriously.

Anyone under, say, 60 years of age will struggle to remember a time when ‘Fuck The Tories’ wasn’t a well-known slogan. We can repeat it until we’re blue in the face but how many decades have to pass before it starts sounding a bit hollow? Tories don’t lose sleep over nasty slogans.

And anyone who gets their information about the blue-and-yellow ‘war’ from pretty much any source outwith Western MSM knows that the ‘bogeyman’ script, tried and tested in so many countries, is being relied upon yet again. What’s different about it this time?

We should be well beyond the influence of such crude propaganda – it can only work when there are individuals prepared to prostitute themselves at all levels of discourse, be it on MSM or alternative media. It has become impossible to state a simple empirical truth without someone instantly contesting it, often citing ‘fact-checkers’ who happen to be in the pocket of the usual suspects, all paths leading back to Blackrock, Vanguard, the US/UK intelligence nexus etc.

The shills enabling the constant misinformation should be utterly ashamed of themselves – they know who they are and so do we.

123. John Main

Andy Ellis & Stuart Mackay

Head and shoulders above the rest of the posters/roasters on this thread so far.

Could there be a direct correlation between openness and honesty (in terms of owning your identity) and relevance, sanity, and rationality?

It certainly looks that way.

124. John Main

@Effigy

Petrol prices are not at an all time high.

I didn’t read the rest of your post.

Let me try to help you here. It doesn’t matter what point you are trying to put across, or how justified your point might be.

As soon as you deploy a lie in an attempt to bolster your case, sane and informed readers give up.

It really is simple. If your point is valid, and your argument is sound, it needs no lies.

125. Ian Brotherhood

Today’s edition of UK Column News.

From approx 24 mins there is analysis of the ‘war’ situation.

https://www.ukcolumn.org/video/uk-column-news-23rd-september-2022

126. John Main

Just noticed a wee reference from Hatuey at 1:24 am.

I’m flattered, Hatuey, honest. To think that as I drifted dreamless in the arms of Morpheus after a long day educating my fares, I was in your thoughts. I’m welling up just thinking about it.

But if you are going to be selling your shoes in atonement for historical colonialism and exploitative larceny, why not go large and sell your laptop/iPad/moby also?

You owe it to those long-died victims.

And it’s a win-win for us.

127. John Main

@Ian Brotherhood 8:19 pm

“Shills enabling the constant misinformation”

I would ask you what that constant misinformation might be, but I know in advance you won’t answer honestly, or answer at all. More to the point, I no longer believe you can untwist your warped thought processes.

I am content that I have stood up for ordinary, decent patriots who are prepared to fight for their nation, culture, freedom and right to self determination.

I am however deeply, deeply ashamed that my country harbours people whose views are so twisted that the would traduce and insult those same patriots and their supporters.

128. Ian Brotherhood

Like many millions of others, I managed to avoid most of the flummery and pish last week, but this very brief video has to be seen.

(Well, it doesn’t have to be, but I just watched it and would like to invite you to share the pain.)

Nicola Sturgeon meeting her new king.

If you have toes prepare to curl them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l4mXB1K52v0

129. Ian Brotherhood

@John Main (9.18) –

‘I am content…’

Are ye, aye?

That’s nice.

130. Dan

@ John Main

Could you link back to some of your past efforts (from say around 2014) highlighting your concern and standing up for those same ordinary, decent patriots who were prepared to fight for their nation, culture, freedom and right to self determination, whilst their country was in turmoil.
    I jist can’t recall there being anywhere near the “concern” and chatter about yon place back then as there is now.
    Just seems some are awfy late to the party on this subject as there’s been folk blowing each other to bits out there for many years.

131. Tinto Chiel

@Dan 9.38: looks like about an hour since your question. Must be a hard one.

Ian B 8.19: “The shills enabling the constant misinformation should be utterly ashamed of themselves – they know who they are and so do we.”

Don’t know whom you had in mind but David Pratt in The National needs to be on the naughty step, imo. Admittedly, I don’t read other MSM papers so there may be worse. He seems oblivious to the American-sponsored Majdan coup of 2014 and to those unsavoury Azov Battalion types with their Nazi regalia who’ve been battering The Donbas etc. since that time.

132. Iain More

The Axe Wielding English Nationalist I referred to earlier was of course Thatcher.

133. 100%Yes

I’m sure after the 12.10.22 you’ll have a view more headlines to add.

134. WhoRattledYourCage

Ms. Sturgeon should maybe get some advice from her sister Gillian, and their deceased grandmother, about running Scotland:

https://www.sundaypost.com/fp/nicola-sturgeon-sister-interview/

135. DavidRitchie

Dont underestimate her

136. DavidRitchie

Dont think for a second FM does not want independence

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.