Love is a stranger in an open car

Posted on April 27, 2017 by

We’re still struggling a bit with this one, to be honest.

So… now the Tories are upset because the SNP aren’t obsessed with independence?

Can we think of anyone who IS obsessed with independence in election campaigns?

We’re so confused.

1. 27 04 17 12:56

Love is a stranger in an open car | speymouth

112 to “Love is a stranger in an open car”

1. Scott

Why doesn’t someone just ask Ruth Davidson if she’d turn down the opportunity to be First Minister in an independent Scotland? That would sort her out.

2. Bradford Millar

the sign of desperation from the Tories they know they wouldn’t win another referendum on Indy Brexit is the game changer for EU nationals and 16 & 17 year olds since 2014 … they know their time is up … this is the same Ruth Davidson that proclaimed the Next PM should not block Scottish independence referendum

3. Scott

Why doesn’t someone just ask Ruth Davidson if she’d turn down the opportunity to be First Minister in an independent Scotland? That would sort her out.

4. Jacqueline Mcdowell

What part of the words Scottish National Party do they not understand. We don’t have to be obsessed as that is our ultimate aim, always has been and always will be till we achieve it.

5. Murray McCallum

Dependency has made the Scottish Tories obsessive?

6. Macart

I have a message in mind to send the SNP, but it’s not one a Tory would appreciate.

7. Athanasius

What’s to wonder about? Tories tell lies.

8. Albert Herring

I too would like to send the SNP a clear message.

I do want another Independence referendum.

In fact I’d like one every day, and twice on Thursdays.

9. Capella

There’s only one way to end all this silly rhetoric – we become independent then we can discuss important issues. We become like a real country.

10. K1

They has only goat wan typewriter what has only goat them wurdz oan it?

11. Proud Cybernat

All to build the completely bogus narrative that the SNP are not “getting on with the day job” when clearly they are getting on with the day job:

https://www.snp.org/record

And a blatant attempt by #rapeclauseruth to claim ‘Queen of the Yoonyin’ and to coalesce Yoons arround her true blue Tory banner.

Am no’ buyin’ it.

TORIES OUT!

12. Iain

Their campaign has a danger which they don’t seem to appreciate. With rejection of indyref2 as the biggest, almost exclusive feature of their campaign, and the only party pushing this line to the fore, if the Tories don’t get over 50% of the GE vote in Scotland – which they won’t – that confirms that indyref2 has majority support.

13. Davy

Tories they even make turds smell good.

14. Peter McCulloch

This obsession by the Tories about a Second indyref is to deflect the publics attention away from their appalling record in Government and the disaster we face as a result of Brexit.

Unsurprisingly I still haven’t had any leaflets in the local lections from Libdems or Tories.

15. Proud Cybernat

All to build the completely bogus narrative that the SNP are not “getting on with the day job” when clearly they are getting on with the day job:

https://www.snp.org/record

And a blatant attempt by #r*p*clauseruth to claim ‘Queen of the Yoonyin’ and to coalesce Yoons around her true blue Tory banner.

Am no’ buyin’ it.

TORIES OUT!

16. Ken MacColl

Many years ago a relatively unknown Tory politician conceded that the Conservatives were “the NASTY Party”
    Now that she is leading it can Mrs May not see that it has become much nastier?

17. TheStrach

The Tories don’t want us to focus on their appalling record since they returned to government at Westminster. We won’t let them obsess on independence.

We’ll remind them and the voters about the terrible policies Rape Clause Ruth and her colleagues at Westminster have supported and implemented against the democratic will of the Scottish people.

With thanks to Another Angry Voice these include:

1. The longest sustained decline in workers’ wages on record.
    2. Wages still 10% below 2007 levels in real terms.
    3. Most unaffordable house prices in history.
    4. 400,000 more children growing up in poverty.
    5. 1 million plus reliant on food bank handouts.
    6. Systematic impoverishment of disabled people.
    7. Super-rich doubled their wealth.
    8. English votes for English laws added to English votes for Scottish laws.
    9. Cap on child tax credits and the infamous rape clause.
    10. Hard Brexit approaching.

18. heedtracker

Psychotic tory mess. Who really buys into their toryboy bullshit though. Bombing Spain a few weeks ago, bombing south east Asia today, what japes and stunts will toryboy’s do next, as their BBC gimps bury GE 2015 mass tory election expense fraud investigations completely,

Jon Snow ? @jonsnowC4
    With exception of Andrew Neil, one wonders why the BBC so aggressively avoided looking into the Tory Election expenses scandal for so long
    10:44 AM – 16 Mar 2017

19. Yerkitbreeks

A bit like May’s “strong and stable leadership ” this “send a message ” thingy from Davidson will eventually falter.

Merkel has the right idea about Tory illusions

20. Blackhack

Anyone would think that the Con (Self) Servatives don’t want the people of Scotland to have a say in it’s own future…….
    Wonder why that is ??

21. Bob Mack

Hiding uncomfortable facts has become an art for for the Tories. Their NHS is in utter disarray as we can all see for ourselves daily in their media. Their education system is also in chaos due to the Tory preference of Grammar schools. They are short of teachers and are cancelling subjects from the examination curriculum.

There is absolutely nothing in England that is any better than Scotland yet they try to portray how wonderful it would be if the Tories were also in charge here.

My backside in parsley. They are the worst of the worst at everything they do because ultimately they have an innate hatred of anything that is public services rather than private.

They could learn from us rather than teach us anything about government.

22. North Chiel

O/T however , fantastic quote from FM during FM questions on Fishing/Brexit ” Ruth Davidson flip flops on this than a fish being landed”

23. Lobbey

Not normally lookist, but the tories are an odd looking bunch. Tony C’s casual hanging out on the railings is quite disconcerting too. Never has someone outside a dating site looked so cool and uncomfortable……

24. Robert Graham

Its becoming a little tedious when the only ones focusing on independence are the very people who are that s/**t scared of the possible result they want to stop it happening in the first place what a bloody twisted bunch of liars we are dealing with .

25. Craig P

After the first Indy ref it was clear that, for unionism to survive, it needed to coalesce around one party. It is to our advantage that there is not a new, British Unionist Party formed from the ashes of Labour, Tory and Lib Dems. The Tories have taken advantage of the situation but they can only now box themselves into a corner. As vote percentage for the Conservatives goes up, so non-Tory support for the union will decay.

26. Iain McQ

Well that red white and blue stream of twattery has at least saved me a trip to the bog paper shop

*presses print*

27. hamish

I just want the council to collect the bins and educate children. At the moment here in Argyll and Bute it is not carrying out these basic functions.

28. TheStrach

The Tories want to obsess about independence to deflect from their appalling record since they returned to government. We mustn’t let them get away with that.

With thanks to Another Angry Voice here are some of the things they want us to ignore.

1. Longest sustained decline in workers’ wages on record

2. Wages still 10% below 2007 levels in real terms

3.Super-rich minority literally doubled their wealth

29. Roddy Nicoll

Lynton Crosby has the best and most accurate data in the UK. It has been gather at HUGE expense and continues as each announcement is made.

Notice how the MSM break a story say “May considers Triple lock off” they then wait on rivals to push those buttons look at the data and how it plays in those 100 target seats and re-adjust the position

“May refutes Triple Lock climb-down’

Rivals look silly howling at false flags and thier credibility is gradually worn down

Sir Lynton re-distributes his resources and they try another message to refine the response

We are all being played like a rats to the pied piper

The tories will win a majority in the UK and most likley 8-10 seats up here. No Indyref 2, Emasculated Holywrood, end of Nonsense from the Scots

Maybe a Black flag direct action from some ‘Scots’ Moron to create more of a divide when it comes to pulling back powers

You do not give up a trillion pound oil reserve and 12% or your GDP without breaking eggs

30. boris

The message to Ruth the Mooth should surely be “Now is not the time to discuss a referendum.” There are more pressing matters to address. The Local Council Elections in May then the General Election in June must be given priority.

31. TheStrach

Continued:

4. 400,000 more children growing up in poverty

5. 1 million+ reliant on food bank handouts

6. Systematic impoverishment of disabled people

7. Most unaffordable house prices in history

8. Child tax credit caps and the infamous rape clause

9. English Votes for English Laws added to English Votes for Scottish Laws

10. Tory engineered hard Brexit approaching

Who knows what they’ll do next if they are returned with an even bigger majority.

32. Ian McCubbin

An old song comes to mind Message in a bottle by Sting.
    Online song of Tories and Labour in Scotland.
    Over 65 folk are falling for it and some actually joining SNP

33. galamcennalath

IndyRef1 WAS a once in a generation event. Does anyone actually believe we will ever be offered a future with DevoMax, guaranteed EU membership, and a partnership of equals again by Westminster?

Every Tory politician and activist knows that, whether they will admit it openly or not.

Therein lies their problem because the know in IndyRef2 the pro-Union offer is going to look absolute shite in comparison to 2014.

And all they have straw clutching in an attempt to delay IndyRef2 until after Brexit and the UK becomes a different state and free to suppress democracy as it deems necessary.

34. Abulhaq

For a party that is supposed to be about self-reliance and the adventurous spirit why are its members prostrate with fear at the idea of Scottish self-reliance and the exciting adventure of independence? What a parcel of old reactionaries in a nation!

35. call me dave

@Proud Cybernat

An excellent link.

I’ve got the fold up version that the SNP folk popped through my letter box 3 weeks ago.

Have it my inside pocket when out and about for reference.

What have the SNP being doing in Scotland ‘144 things’ and more to come 🙂

Had a chat to one of my prospective local election candidates in my Fife ward this morning as we both reached out to buy The National in the paper shop, known her for a long time now.

She didn’t have to tell me what SNP candidate to put first and second on the ballot as I already had sussed out the information on the SNP web site.

“Voting till I boak” said I
    “Good” she said “But it’s too complicated to explain to the normal punter on the doorstep”.

PS:
    Easy to use and only requires a post code: plan your vote.

https://www.snp.org/ See plan your vote box!

36. Swami Backverandah

Boris is a Crosby dead cat.

37. MajorBloodnok

Clearly the Tories have realised that telling people nobody should be talking about independence is not working, because unexpectedly the SNP has stopped talking about independence.

Therefore, they’ve now done a reverse ferret in the hope that getting everyone to talk about independence will somehow work in their favour.

38. Richard

Speaking of education, the sentence on RD’s poster is missing a comma.

It should read: “[…] better schools, not another referendum.”

39. RogueCoder

Apologies for OT so early in the thread, but really need your help.

We have just one week to go on our IndyKit 2.0 crowdfunder and we’re only at 9%. I understand that there are a lot of asks for money at the moment, and that we have an ambitious target – but these materials are crucial to keeping the Yes momentum going and to counter the rubbish being spouted by unionists. Can you help us?

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/scotref-express-europe/x/6905220#/

Many thanks!

40. Az

From previous article’s comments. Should we be concerned that Emma Harper’s Twitter link re: suspicious package shows as “this page doesn’t exist”?

I smell something rotting.

41. heedtracker

“Theresa May most popular leader since the late 1970s as Jeremy Corbyn hits all time low

Theresa May is more popular with voters than any leader since the late 1970s, a new poll shows as another reveals Jeremy Corbyn is more unpopular than ever.

Almost two in every three voters (61 per cent) believe Mrs May would make the most capable Prime Minister compared with about one in four (23 per cent) who said Mr Corbyn.

Mrs May’s score of 61 per cent is the highest recorded by the polling company Ipsos Mori since it started asking the question in 1979.”

26 APRIL 2017 • 2:26PM

Headline from BBC Scotchland, BBC England, ITV, Graun tory twerps, swivel eyed loony torygraph, neo fascist lechers of the Heil, Express, SUN etc?

Doesn’t matter does it.

42. Sinky

Cracking last FMQ from Christine Grahame which highlighted that successive UK government have retained over £500 million attendance allowance money saved from Scotland’s free personal care policy.

I wonder how many outlets will give this publicity?

43. Ken500

@ for donation just put a bank a/c sorting code. Easy. Get more.

A donation coming shortly,

44. Robert Graham

if the result from the constant unionist carping dosent show the required movement and is shown not to be working and is not reflected in their constant bloody opinion polls , expect some kind of dramatic incident linking the independence movement to terrorism as hinted at by mayhem recently .I believe this lot are capable of almost anything , they have been at it a long time , the security services later denied but were suspected of supplying the explosives when a post box was targeted in February 1953 in Edinburgh , any and every nutcase would be offered the means of getting back at the establishment .

45. Welsh Sion

Dear Ruth Davidson,

Are you and your Party obsessed with Scotland not having a second independence referendum?

We need to be told – such conditions can be treated nowadays.

Yours ever,

46. Almagill

I’m confused… what is the Tory position on a second independence referendum? Are they for it or against it…?

I only ask because, in that other referendum, May, Davidson and Mundell were pro-Remain and now they are pro-Brexit. Are they going to flip flop on all their policies? Is this the new tactic that May’s government has adopted?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-eu-referendum-35616946

I mean, I can’t think of any other policies they were hard behind and then, within weeks, had done a total u-turn on… can you?

47. peekay

I intend on sending the Tories a clear message at both the upcoming elections. I wonder if they’ll listen?

48. K1

Almagill’s BBC link archived:

http://archive.is/su5AR

49. Ken500

The Tories are just disgusting. Always have been always will be. Finale. Why they even bother is a mystery.

North Korea. It might help if the US stopped scantioning and starving them. After 50 years. Trump is advertising Coke (Cola). It’s poisonous. How many people can be killed in 100 days? In the US 7,000 people+ killed in gun crime.

How many people have the Tories killed and maimed in 7 years. Millions. How much have they illegally embezzled £Billion. Trns in debt and rising. They should hold their head in shame. 5 jobs Osbourne off with his swagger. After destroying the Oil & Gas sector losing £Billions and 120,000 of jobs in Scotland. Scotland would have had full employment without his illegal interference. Sneaking out and in Aberdeen.

The emergence of Blair. He should be in jail. What a disgrace. He caused this mess. ‘Egotistical psycho bastard’. Boris Johnston is off his head. A psychopath. Ego. Getting larger every day. Lazy.

Independence can’t come soon enough. Please hurry up. Have a wish each day.

Farron is actually, unusually, speaking some sense.

Boris Johnston in the Sun. Back with Murdoch. After Murdoch sacked previously him for telling lies. Unsubscribe from SKy. The world will be a better place without criminal Murdoch and the Tories crooks.

50. dakk

heedtracker says:
    27 April, 2017 at 12:45 pm
    “Theresa May most popular leader since the late 1970s as Jeremy Corbyn hits all time low

Has to be her newish Alan Partridge haircut and her Archbishop of Canterbury delivery style.

There is certainly nothing else could explain that.

Maybe the leather breeks photo shoot.

51. ann

Roddy Nichol 12.22.

I believe that is what Lynton Crosby is know for and why he is the Tories man behind the scenes for the General Election.

Think Canada was where their version of the conservatives were way behind in the polls, but eventually won.

Twists and turns and makes other parties look stupid and start internal squabbling.

52. Dr Jim

Do the Unionists think if they keep shouting the same slogans over and over again we’ll just all change our minds and say well it’s all off then coz Ruth disnae like it

No, the only folk they’re trying to annoy with sound of their own voices are pensioners who watch the telly and who know no different in the hope their poor doddering minds fall for the crap that’s pouring out of their mouths as they read their Daily Mail moaning about that Nicola Sturgeon again

Until: They think their pensions might be affected then you’ll really hear those pensioners squeal
    Y’see if folk lose their jobs, if disabled are ripped off, if the poor are left destitute, if the economy crashes around their ears it all means nothing and pales into insignificance to the thought of losing £3 quid a week of a rise in the pension, and the reason I know this

I had that very conversation yesterday with an even older than me neighbour who, if the Tories are planning to touch the triple lock (in her words) she’ll vote for my lot even though she can’t stand that Sturgeon

Before anybody starts shouting at me for being oldist, not in the least considering I am of that vintage too and recognise the level of unabashed uncaring selfish attitude of our lovely elderly pensioners, as do the political parties because they know how dedicated that demographic is to the power of their vote and why at the last minute the Tories probably won’t do it, they’ll just rip off some young disabled folk even more

Well, they’re less likely to vote aren’t they

53. Arbroath1320

I’m confused.

Can someone please remind me … AGAIN … which party it is that will NOT shut up about Scottish independence. From what I see,hear and read it appears to be the Rape Clause Tories. I’m sure that can’t be right though … can it? 😀

As a wee O/T thingy here I was reading a twitter thread the other day by someone called Nice Conversations. The thread ran to around 50 tweets and discussed disability issues. After reading the thread I could not stop thinking about it and thought “this story needs to be spread far and wide.”

After spending time pondering, then pondering some more I decided to act, sort of, in my own inimitable little way. The result can be seen in the link below. It is far from being perfect but perhaps someone knows someone in a independence orientated party that may want to take this, clean it up, and distribute across Scotland.

There again maybe not. 😀

https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/101639850456727702167/album/6413352331234758609/6413352333578405058?authkey=CPnM4P266fSyIA

Apologies for my wee bit of self promotion here.

54. Brian

You’d think for people who don’t want independence, the Tories would stop banging on about it.

Also too stupid to realise that the local election have bugger all to do with constitutional change. How can you vote for a party that doesn’t understand the basics of government?

55. Jack Murphy

Off-Topic. The Scottish Parliament. Main Chamber.
    First Minister’s Questions.TODAY.27th April 2017.

YouTube:
    http://tinyurl.com/lqb5vo9

56. Dr Jim

BBC Reporting Scotland with Bryan Taylor completely misrepresenting the events of the First Ministers questions that I just watched by employing the edit process to maximum Unionist level

57. Desimond

@TheStrach
    Nail on head!

Independence – the new “Look a Squirrel!”

(Independence Squirrel sounds like a great wee cartoon character btw!)

Its classic illusion 101.
    Lest we forget lessons from “The Prestige”…

Cutter: Every great magic trick consists of three parts or acts. The first part is called “The Pledge”. The magician shows you something ordinary: a deck of cards, a bird or a man, (a bunch of made up stats). He shows you this object. Perhaps he asks you to inspect it to see if it is indeed real, unaltered, normal. But of course… it probably isn’t. The second act is called “The Turn”. The magician takes the ordinary something and makes it do something extraordinary. Now you’re looking for the secret… but you won’t find it, because of course you’re not really looking. You don’t really want to know. You want to be fooled. But you wouldn’t clap yet. Because making something disappear isn’t enough; you have to bring it back. That’s why every magic trick has a third act, the hardest part, the part we call “The Prestige”.”

58. Arbroath1320

Hmm.

Looks like my post has been blocked for some reason … probably due to the mentioning of the word Tories … AGAIN! 😀

I’ll try and post it again.

First though I’ll use this post as a wee test. 😉

59. Capella

O/T I’ve just noticed that the Wings URL now has a little padlock icon on the left and the message says it is secure. I use Chrome so this is an advance.
    Will checkout my tablet android browser to see if it is working.

60. geeo

@scott.

You said this…

“Why doesn’t someone just ask Ruth Davidson if she’d turn down the opportunity to be First Minister in an independent Scotland? That would sort her out”.
    …………….

There is a simple logic to that question.

When Scotland votes YES to independence, then EVERY unionist politician is out of office.

Think about it, will it be possible for the SNP, post YES vote, to leave the 56 SNP MP’s operating within Westminster ?

Of course not, that is clearly ridiculous.

Now imagine how unionist party politicians, with allegiance to parties registered and operating in what would be a foreign country, could remain in positions of (independent) SCOTTISH public office ?

That is also, clealy ridiculous.

And THAT is why unionists do not even want the referendum to take place.

Pure self interest. Nothing more, nothing less.

61. Terry

@iain is right.

Let’s take the Tory vote as the opinion poll against Indy – they will lose that one.

62. The Rough Bounds

Back in 1960 there were only around 200 of us that were ‘obsessed’ with Scottish independence. We now have around 120,000 who are of like mind.

It just goes to show what a healthy obsession can achieve.

63. yesindyref2

It’s one of those things. The Tories go on about not wanting Independence so much it’s clear they’re trying to convince themselves “I’m not, I deny it, I don’t, oh OK go on them I want Independence”.

Meanwhile they’re scared senseless of a second referendum in case they vote YES in the privacy of the ballot box. So they go on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on about not wanting a second independence referendum hoping nobody will notice.

Hypocrites! Did I neglect to say this today? Nevermind:

#toriesout – and – #stopthetories

64. Effijy

Vote Tory and attack the Disabled!

Vote Tory and run down the NHS until it is ready to be privatised!

Vote Tory to end workers rights!

Vote Tory for Nuclear Bombs before people!

Vote Tory to ensure that the peoples of Scotland’s voice
    is drowned out in favour of English preferences.

Vote Tory to end free University Tuition in Scotland!

Vote Tory to increase the number of UK Kids going hungry from their 3,000,000 starting point.

Vote Tory to ensure all UK media outlets are focused on
    extremist propaganda.

Vote Tory to break the pensioner’s triple lock, and increase the retirement age to 70.

Tell me more about how I can become obsessed with that Independence option so that we can get rid of the Scottish Tories forever!

65. Govanhill bhoy

I rather fancy the Govanhill community pressure group the Tories have used in a video didn’t think they would be part of a Tory propaganda video.

66. Bill McDermott

I dearly hope that Ruth’s Tories get humped next Thursday. They have seriously overreached themselves in my estimation in banging on about another referendum. Remember to vote ’till you boak next week!

67. The G With The Criminal Behaviour

‘….better schools not a referendum.’ Ironic that they don’t understand punctuation. Or irony. Or decent humanity.

68. heedtracker

Lest we forget Willie Rennie’s style of tory rule, over his Scotland region, another FibDem says smell my spaniel, vote FibDem,

Helena Horton
    27 APRIL 2017 • 1:51PM
    Tim Farron has unwittingly come up with the catchphrase for the General Election after a bizarre clip of the Liberal Democrat leader surfaced in which he asked someone to “smell my spaniel”.

In 2015, the phrase everyone remembered from the election was “hell yes I’m tough enough”, spoken fiercely by Ed Miliband as he took part in the televised interviews during the campaign.

This time around, it could be “smell my spaniel”.

Torygraph and a meme is born. Guess it’s better than Carbuncle trying to destroy Scottish democracy GE 2015, with his French Ambassador leak lies, that he’s got away with if Orcadians dont mind.

69. Desimond

The South Ayrshire candidate is either a stickler for historical fact or playing the Orange card..I suspect I know which one it is

70. poo9

The Tories have no other position they can go on the offensive over.

They cannot defend their record – it is atrocious.

They can lie about the supposedly poor job the SNP are doing with health and education etc., and hope the scottish electorate is too dumb to notice that in England, with full Tory control, health, education etc. are in far worse shape than they are in Scotland. That tactic is wooly and fraught with pitfalls for them.

Simpler to attack, and to focus on Indyref, as they have a simple position for people to identify with. No. I imagine they hope that they can scoop up as many of the unfortunate 2014 55% as possible, to vote with them on that single issue, and ignore all their other catastrophic policies.

It is the politics of distraction.

Find a wedge issue and shout about it from the rooftops, while ignoring anything else in your manifesto.

With the media in their pocket thay can be hopeful that their message might stick with enough people to make an electoral difference.

Any gains at all will be used as a justification for stonewalling, or ignoring any indyref2.

That is what they want, above all.

The question is: how many people in Scotland can vote Tory today? They have been electoral poison since Thatcher. Will enough people choose to forget what the Conservatives have done for the last 40 years? I think the Conservatives are trying to attract single issue voters, much like the Republican plan in the US to get the anti-abortion vote. How many can they win over? How many are willing to vote against their own economic self-interest, against their own future well-being, because of this one issue? In the US, over abortion, or guns, or other wedge issues, it is millions, and they help to keep the Republicans in power even as they do nothing for the blue collar Americans they conned into voting for them. And that is long prior to Trump.

Stay focused on the Council elections. Remind people of the Conservatives track record, of their broken promises. I hope that the tories are once again misjudging the Scottish people, and underestimating the loathing in which their party is held in most of Scotland, but our side cannot be complacent and rely on that loathing without working to keep people aware of the nightmare that would be a tory victory in Scotland.

They cannot be allowed to claim any sort of victory. No tories in Scotland.

71. Desimond

@Govanhill bhoy

Sadly that pair have already been exposed as part of mad Annie Wells hit squad.

Impartial my arse as Jim Royal would say

72. pool9

Excellent post effijy 2.49pm. Those are the punchy messages that won’t let the Conservatives hide. Nice.

#toriesout

73. Thepnr

The Ruth Davidson party is a sham, a pretense which works in Scotland by hiding the words Conservative Party.

It works because now it’s mainly only our elderly who are the demographic that oppose Independence, so many will change from previously supporting Labour to supporting the Ruth Davidson Party.

With just days left before the council elections ask yourself if their is one elderly person you know that will vote and who can be persuaded to come over to the good guys. The NOT Ruth Davidson party.

If their is, particularly a relative or good friend then go and talk to them. Show them the evidence of what a Tory vote means. The media are strong in getting their message across, we know this and the only way to fight it is face to face.

First we deal with the council elections so tell people to “Vote til ye Boak” and then we deal with the General election. That gives us just over a month to change hearts and minds. Work until you drop, open your big gobs and make your voice heard.

You don’t need a crowd to have a demonstration. No, demonstrate all by yourself everyday, if you want change it will take everything we’ve got to make it happen. So no being shy anymore, let’s look the Tories and the rest of the Unionists right in the eye and say that this is where it ends, with these two elections. People power is required to overcome the scum media.

We will have a referendum and we will vote Yes. Don’t be afraid to say so.

74. galamcennalath

IMO the Tories won’t do particularly well next week. They will get their core Tory-till-death voters and then some more.

Some voters are daft, but most aren’t. They will wonder what the constitution and Union has to do with street lights, schools, public toilets etc.. By completely ignoring local politics, the Tories run the risk of being ignored in local politics.

Remember, there was a period where many voters would vote differently in Holyrood and Westminster. This could be an occasion where they do choose to vote in local issues, not national ones. The voting patterns could be quite different.

Politicians who talk about local issues will be noticed, those who don’t might be ignored, might be the outcome.

75. heedtracker

David Davis strikes back, with independence in the Herald. Promoting civil conflict’s right up there with usual psycho tory in Scotland stuff.

“David Davis: SNP promoting ‘civil conflict’ in independence push

David Davis has accused the SNP of promoting “civil conflict” in their quest for independence as he faced pressure over protecting workers after Brexit.

The Brexit Secretary mocked accusations that the upcoming general election was solely about capitalising on poor Labour polling and tackling rivalries within the Conservative Party, rather than the negotiations to leave the European Union.”

4 hrs ago

We’ll do really well to shake off the tories once and for all.

76. Dave McEwan Hill

Despite it being council policy to allow political postering on council furniture for two weeks at election time Argyll and Bute Council – probably the worst run council in Scotland – have ordered the SNP to take down two large posters at the traffic light junction on railings which have huge posters from a variety of organisations on them most of the time.

77. Jack Murphy

poo9 said at 3:13pm:
    “The Tories have no other position they can go on the offensive over.
    They cannot defend their record – it is atrocious.

They can lie about the supposedly poor job the SNP are doing with health and education etc., and hope the scottish electorate is too dumb to notice that in England, with full Tory control, health, education etc. are in far worse shape than they are in Scotland………”

Agree.This is what the Tories and Ruth Davidson don’t want Scotland to know.

The Tory Friendly Daily Mail:
    “…..Many patients must wait three weeks for an appointment or face queuing up to be seen on the day…….”

Tory NHS England:
    http://archive.is/0LCzK

78. Proud Cybernat

Most NO-inclined voters still vote SNP for our National Government in Holyrood because they realise that the SNP do a bloody great job of running the country at national level. They must know then that the SNP will do just as great a job at running local services.

VOTE ‘TIL YAE BOAK – TORIES OUT

79. Big Jock

latest You Gov Scottish sample. Rape Clause Ruth’s Tories 25% , Labour 19% and SNP 45%. Tories honeymoon is over. They can only go down from here when the election expenses scandal hits the fan. Seems only Channel 4 journalists have been briefed on the scandal though! Or have I missed the BBC’s coverage.

80. Cactus

Aye, it’s the tories that are obsessed with indyref2.

Look, they’re even promoting it here on their web address:
    http://www.scottishconservatives.com/Number2indyref

What? When did they change that page…

It’s a tory obsession.

Although, it is, a Scottish reality.

81. geeo

@poo9 @3.13

Of course, what the Tories have seemingly overlooked, is that it is possible to be vehemently AGAINST independence and NOT vote Tory in a General Election.

How come ?

Well, for one, Nicola Sturgeon has made it a matter of public record that the GE is not about independence nor a referendum. Correctly stating she ALREADY HAS a democratically gained mandate for a referendum from the electorate.

For 2, when the referendum DOES take place, if you are against independence, then you have the option of VOTING NO and “send a message” to the SNP/WORLD/GOD/ALLAH or the fucking cookie monster, that you are against Scottish independence, WITHOUT the need to vote Tory in ANY Election.

They used to call it….democratic choice.

What the Tories (and labour/lib dems are saying is, “vote unionist and we will DENY SCOTS the DEMOCRATIC choice to vote Yes”.

A vote for ANY unionist party is a vote to deny democracy.

82. Robert Peffers

@Jacqueline Mcdowell says: 27 April, 2017 at 11:44 am:

“What part of the words Scottish National Party do they not understand”

Oh! Jacqueline, It is the middle one the poor wee undereducated ones cannot understand. You just have to ask them to sound it out as we old ones had to do at School all those years ago.

Please Miss! Please Miss Jacqueline! Me Miss! I know Miss!

N-A-T-I-O-N-A-L. Spells Nat-ion-al it does not spell Nat-ion-al-ist.

83. galamcennalath

OT. Will this be the who’s who in the post Brexit EU?

The Tories sure as Hell hope not! However, Scotland would have much more power as a middling country at the top table than as a wee appendage to Greater England, in or out of the EU.

Or, if we do end up as a Norway style single market member, we’d still be in the ‘big team’.

Germany 82.54m
    France 59.64m
    Italy 57.32m
    Spain 41.55m
    Poland 38.22m
    Romania 21.77m
    Netherlands 16.19m
    Greece 11.01m
    Portugal 10.41m
    Belgium 10.36m
    Czech Rep. 10.20m
    Hungary 10.14m
    Sweden 8.94m
    Austria 8.08m
    Bulgaria 7.85m
    SCOTLAND 5.40m
    Denmark 5.38m
    Slovakia 5.38m
    Finland 5.21m
    Ireland 3.96m
    Lithuania 3.46m
    Latvia 2.33m
    Slovenia 2.00m
    Estonia 1.36m
    Cyprus 0.72m
    Luxembourg 0.45m
    Malta 0.40m

84. Shug

I know a yes voter who is full of Nicola is too focused n independence and now is not the time

It is a bit worrying that yes voters are absorbing the BBC line of not now

85. Jack Collatin

Can anybody tell me: where does Ruth Davidson and the unelected LisTory Boys stand on the question of a second Referendum, or rape victims, or Bedroom Tax pensioners facing eviction from their homes because Ruth has slashed their pensions, or hundreds of thousands of WM manipulated poor kids who are too hungry to learn, or widows with young families whom Murdo Fraser took away their Widow’s Allowance>
    They are shit scared. They know this time we shall prevail. Independence is a certainty. I can only hope that many of these ProudScotsBut fuck off out of here if they think that Scotland is a shit wee backwater.
    They are crapping themselves.

86. Robert Graham

Now i have seen it all the nutters are well and truly in charge of the booby hatch , all due respect to nutters by the way .
    Mayhem given a 60 % approval rating the highest ever by opinion polls taken down south .
    looks like a double dose of stupid pills has been swallowed , or we are trapped in some kind of horror movie , this is beyond funny

87. Ian

Proud Cybernat link to the SNP site and their list of actual achievements. A breath of fresh air away from the bs of the UK parties ‘jam tomorrow’.

The most noticeable thing about the tory/labour official websites is that there isn’t a word about having achieved anything positive during their current/last time in power. This is from their respective websites –

Labour – Read Jeremy’s pledges and help shape our next manifesto. Labours aim is to rebuild and transform Britain, for the many not for the few.

Tories – our Plan for a Stronger Britain will establish us as the strongest and safest country in Europe; it will lock in our growing economy so we can secure well-paid jobs; it will provide real opportunity for all, delivering more affordable homes and a good school place for every child; and it will make life in the United Kingdom even better.

So who should folk trust; those with a proven track record of doing things to make life better for most folk, or those with a track record of simply spouting hot air and making things a lot worse for most folk (but promising to do better in the future, honest guv).

If the MSM weren’t so sycophantic they’d laugh in the faces of these windbags. No wonder May and now possibly Corbyn won’t debate on tv. They’ve got bugger all to say that’s worth hearing and they sure as hell don’t have any real achievements to flag. And since they don’t but as always, promise more in the future, it begs the question – Just how much time do they need to get to their promised land?

88. Big Jock

Shug- Correct . Now is most definitely the time. It’s amazing how many people repeat lines from the media.

89. Bob Mack

I hear there has been an apparent attempt at an attack in Westminster which was foiled by police. This on the day when Boris Johnston reckons the UK would join the Americans in bombing Assad and his regime with no need to ask Parliament

This is fuel to the fire to anybody who has an interest in that region through family etc. Way to go Boris.

90. heedtracker

Independent’s Remain zealot to say the least

The latest polls show most people think Brexit was a mistake. This could be a turning point

May and her Brexit-backing band have, up until now, always been able to count on the majority being in their corner. They have used it as a club in an attempt beat their opponents into submission. Majority rules! That’s going to be a lot harder to do if she’s lost the majority

James Moore @JimMooreJourno 4 hours ago

and also from same lot,

NewsUKUK Politics

Conservatives lead over Labour cut by seven points ahead of general election, latest poll shows
    Poll suggests somewhat tighter race than other surveys

Samuel Osborne @SamuelOsborne93 4 hours ago

91. Cactus

See the image above of the lady on ITV News that’s claimed to say:

“Nicola’s constituency is a slum”

Tell that to your local council missus, which happens to be currently run by a Labour majority in Glasgow. Aim your anger at them. Local councils are responsible for delivering to your doorstep dear lady.

Fortunately, it looks like Glasgow’s City Chambers will be undergoing a dramatic change from Labour rule. It’s only taken 40 years.

Thankfully, we can change all of that as of one week today.

By voting.

SNP up.

92. Richardinho

I think people should be more insistent that not IS the time: If we wait for the Brexit to happen it will be too late: Too late to prevent permanent exclusion from the EU, too late to prevent Tory domination for decades to come, and too late to prevent the likely dissolution of the Scottish Parliament by said Tories.

93. shiregirl

It’s savage and it’s cruel
    And it shines like destruction
    Comes in like the flood
    And it seems like religion
    It’s noble and it’s brutal
    It distorts and deranges
    And it wrenches you up
    And you’re left like a zombie

Cracking song, Rev. And very apt when describing the affliction that is toryism.

94. Richardinho

Sorry: crucial edit to previous post:

I think people should be more insistent that now IS the time: If we wait for the Brexit to happen it will be too late: Too late to prevent permanent exclusion from the EU, too late to prevent Tory domination for decades to come, and too late to prevent the likely dissolution of the Scottish Parliament by said Tories.

95. Cadogan Enright

Don’t worry.

Our unbiased national broadcaster will quickly see what is happening and challenge them , pointing out they are the only ones obsessed by a referendum.

The BBC can be relied upon to point out that the ‘day job’ of the SNP in Scotland by all published national statistics in the NHS or Policing or number of children making it to 3rd level education is better than that of the Torys in England.

Every time the Torys say something about Scottish public services, the BBC can be relied upon to challenge them with the context of England, and ask the Conservatives to address their record in Governemt

96. Proud Cybernat

In search of the mobility vehicle…

http://imgur.com/a/iHV1x

97. pool9

@geeo 3.52

I agree.

Nicola Sturgeon has made her position plain – but how plain has it been made to the mass media consuming public?

NS runs rings around the opposition at FMQ, does that get reported? Does Jackie Bird sign off with a grin and a quip about another great day for Nicola? Nope.

The message you expressed so succinctly needs to be unambiguously spread.

But even so clearly expressed it relies on people holding fast to that message and remembering it in the face of a wall of propaganda saying every new election (Council, GE, etc. etc.) is about indyref, even though it is technically already resolved via a vote in the Scottish Parliament.

Hopefully people who are vehemently No will continue to spurn the Tories. They should be helped along in that decision by reminding them of what else, aside from No, the Tories really represent, their failed policies, and wretched outcomes.

The Tories want to make every election about indyref until they ‘win’ one. (Win being record any kind of gains) With Labour gone they want to make all the No votes theirs. Yes they hope ex-Labour voters will hold their noses and vote Tory, if the UK Union is important enough to them. That is the Tory gamble we are seeing. Will it work? I don’t think it is likely to, but can we afford to ignore it? The independence movement cannot be complacent about the motivations of disillusioned formed Labour voters (and any others the Conservatives are trying to appeal to, but it does seem to be mostly that group), those who have not already switched to the Indy side.

It doesn’t matter if the SNP say correctly that they already have their mandate and their vote if the Tories and their media cronies just ignore it. If the tories cannot be forced to accept the legitimacy of the SNP position, they won’t.

The only way to force them to accept the legitimacy of the SNP position is for the Conservatives and their Unionist allies to be defeated over and over again and left no room to wiggle in, rhetorical or legal.

The democratic deficit is the key. Scotland in Westminster has no meaningful ability to defend itself from laws created by MPs from outwith Scotland. The will of the Scottish people is routinely ignored as their elected representatives are routinely and easily outvoted. Independence isn’t about Nicola, or the SNP, as much as the Tories would like to have everyone believe, just as they focussed on Alex Salmond in 2014. Independence is about having the ability to govern ourselves as we see fit, and not being ruled from afar by people who do not have our communities and people’s best interests at heart. That might not be what these elections are about in terms of manifestos, but it is at the heart of every vote in Scotland now.

The Conservatives don’t care about that. All they care about in these elections is muddying the waters about indyref, and hopefully getting any kind of pattern of results that they can spin as being a refusal of Independence by the Scottish public. They are trying to get single issue voters on their side. Those voters may not care for nuance, or votes that have already happened in the Scottish Parliament.

So I agree with your position. But that is not what the Tories are campaigning on as they court any and all No votes to their side, and try to hide their horrible record. Any success on their part will be used to undermine the 2016 election, and the vote that resulted from it.

So these elections are vital. The Tories must continue to go backwards in Scotland.

98. The Dog Philosopher

The only thing I’m obsessed with is democracy. Everyone has their own idea about how that can be achieved. For Yessers, it should be about recognising that Scotland is a distinct and discrete sovereign entity, and therefore deserves, democratically, to run its own affairs. For years Scotland voted hoping for a left wing government only to have right-wing Thatcher and New Labour governments imposed upon it. Because we are lesser in population any kind of democracy is denied as long as WM holds on to the levers of power. Thanks to Holyrood, and the SNP government, we can catch a glimpse of what Scottish democracy might be like.

As Shug points out (above), people here still have some weird ideas about the nature of democracy. Too much politics has become a refrain for those who don’t want their TV schedules inconvenienced, as we slip and slide ever closer to some kind of right-wing dictatorship.

99. Les Wilson

Watch this
    I have tried to post this many times but it will not work
    Made it tinyurl and it worked so paste this in your browser.
    http://tinyurl.com/m9bonmg

100. bugsbunny

Nearly chocked on my dinner listening to Wee Willie Winkie telling people why you must vote for the Liberal Democrats. It’s a wonder his nose didn’t break the screen and take my eye out. No wonder people are sick of them. Asbestos underpants for Wee Willie as his pants must be on fire after that verbal skitter.

101. john

if polls are to believed then the SNP will be down 12 MPs to the “No Surrender” party.
    Please God no. Are Scotland’s people that entrenched in younisim that they hate their country that much?

102. Robert J. Sutherland

Not that I am that way inclined myself, you understand, but given the Tories obsession with Scottish dependence (being the opposite of independence) how can a true-blue conservative who actually believes in Scottish sovereignity sensibly vote in the local elections?

(I know, there may not be many of them, and any that are so inclined, besides Michael Fry, must surely be keeping their heads down, but still…)

This monomaniacal single-issue campaign from the May Muppets effectively destroys any kind of proper choice for such voters, which is hardly democratic. Overloading false meaning onto councillors whose day job has nothing to do with independence one way or the other anyway.

103. Robert Peffers

@bugsbunny says: 27 April, 2017 at 6:28 pm:

Nearly chocked on my dinner listening to Wee Willie Winkie telling people why you must vote for the Liberal Democrats.

Even Willie’s own MSP’s were laughing at the numptie when he ask Nicola if she though the LibDems buttoned up the back at FMQ’s.

104. louis.b.argyll

I look at the UK flag but see a swastika.

I look at Conservatives but see fascists.

I must have something in my eye, oh yes.. perfect vision.

The world is hurtling towards an unsustainable future.. BUT GREENS ARE EXCLUDED FROM DEBATES by media owners self interest and denial.

I was going to check out their new STV2 thingy, not now. How do STV advertisers feel about the channel’s GLOBAL WARMING DENIAL.

105. Linda millar

When the SC say NO and Ruth “rape claws” Davidson says NO they mean business according to their leaflets….sorry shiny toilet paper…

So Ruth “Rape Claws” Davidson tell me this when does NO mean NO.

Is it after you’re raped and borne a child, is it before and you still bear a child or is it that NO is the single most abhorrent word in the litany of tripe that comes from the mouths of the Scottish Conservative Party when you’re trying to claim a paltry £13 to feed the child you told your rapist NO to….

NO means NO ….unless you’re a Tory in which case it means MONEY

106. George Drever

Right, this is a pointless article. We can all see the hypocrisy in the Indy obsession message but for goodness sake it’s a calculated? tactic! They keep repeating it and the gullible swallow it. How do we retaliate? That’s what needs focused on, not ‘oh look how bad that lot are’, because we already know the answer to that…

107. K1

George this ‘is’ the retaliation. Wings publishes their crap and we disseminate Wings articles to everyone else. Wings has more than 350,000 unique readers a month, a month George? Every other Scottish based (no such thing but everyone knows what ah mean) paper is below Wings in online readership figures and everyone buying the failing dead tree press hard copies don’t necessarily read them for the politics, so the Rev is right to publish the absolute pish that they are sending tae people’s homes to debunk and show the disengenous ‘nae referendum’ photocopy that is being passed around by these lying bastards and delivered across all areas in Scotland.

There’s nothing ‘pointless’ in anything that the Rev does, this is a fight for our life’s, our way of life and every means possible tae gie these unprincipled bastards a right showin’ up for the one trick pony nae substance shallow mendacious devoid of policy or care for the communities that they are sending this propaganda intae needs to be highlighted as often as is humanly possible so that we can spread the truth of this tactic for as many people tae see as possible.

Why dae ye think they hate Wings? Is it cause Wings has nae impact?

Naw…it’s the complete opposite George. There’s many we’ll never reach cause we cannae reach those whose mind’s are made up. But there’s still mair people in Scotland that will never vote Tory even if they don’t vote SNP and we have tae reach them and remind them time and time again who These Tories are. And how far These ones are from a single policy that in any way represents their interests. These generic leaflets for ‘council’ elections with ‘no referendum’ splashed all over them reveal the scale of their fear, they no longer represent the communities they are inviting themselves to be chosen for, they represent their own ideological position on ‘one’ constitutional intractable position without having to prove what they can and will do for the people of the wards they are contesting?

This is a very salient article in my opinion for that sole reason, a single ‘slogan’ is masking the fact that These Tories don’t give a damn about the ordinary everyday concerns within a given community and they are advertising that for aw the world tae see. Well it’s up tae us tae make sure we let as many people see this as possible cause they will be targeting specific areas and not others and this will give the SNP foot soldiers the opportunity tae place heavy fire into those very areas.

Nothing pointless aboot this article George 😉

108. George Drever

K1, I don’t disagree with your points, and I want to make it clear I’m a big fan of WoS. But the huge problem I see is that articles and messages of this type are only being consumed by us, ie the converted. It’s a classic echo chamber scenario. I could share this article on FB but know for a fact that the vast majority of my No voting FB ‘friends’ have long since stopped following my posts because of their pro Indy content.

109. Smallaxe

George Drever:

Hi, George, as my good Friend K1 has said, the Rev. gives us the information and from there on it is up to us to spread the word by any means possible, FB, Twitter, in the pub or the club or in a public shitter. Each One Teaches One!

Good to see you posting George, I look forward to seeing more of your posts and some of your converts.

Peace Always

110. Gaelstorm

Enough already!

111. gerry parker

/No2indyref

Is that number 2 indyref we’re signing up for?

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.