Let’s fill the Hill

Posted on September 03, 2013 by

Calton Hill is probably our favourite place in all of Edinburgh. You can see everything from its slopes – Princes Street, Arthur’s Seat, the Forth Bridges, Leith, the Castle, the whole city. It’s also, now we come to look at it, just about the worst conceivable place in the entire capital to hold a rally, but it’s too late to worry about that now.

caltonaerial

Wings Over Scotland will be there. Come and join us. We’ve a flag and everything.

555 to “Let’s fill the Hill”

1. Training Day

Regardless of how we dissect and re-interpret the polls, regardless of the media spin, manipulation and lies, is it still not bloody depressing that – on the surface – so few of our countrymen and women want to run their own affairs?

I met 3 such last week and the idea was anathema to them, dismissed as ‘people won’t vote for that’.  That they had little idea what ‘that’ was did not matter.  Perhaps these people are – yet –  a significant majority.

2. Seasick Dave

Keep at ’em, Training Day, and keep smiling!

I have a friend who claims to be a firm NO but when I asked him if he would be funding the £9000 a year University tuition fees for my kids if we voted No, he was more than a little taken back.

“I hadn’t thought of it like that”, he said.

Minds will be focused as we near the big day 🙂

3. Anne McMillan

Hi All
    In case I cant get back to this thread (so busy here) every day can you point people in my direction that need help

anne@independencerally.com
    Or On FB – https://www.facebook.com/anne.mcmillan.94

Or Twitter –
    https://twitter.com/IndieAnne1

Will answer you all as soon as I can.
    thank folks
    Anne.

4. muttley79

@Training Day

Regardless of how we dissect and re-interpret the polls, regardless of the media spin, manipulation and lies, is it still not bloody depressing that – on the surface – so few of our countrymen and women want to run their own affairs?

I met 3 such last week and the idea was anathema to them, dismissed as ‘people won’t vote for that’.  That they had little idea what ‘that’ was did not matter.  Perhaps these people are – yet –  a significant majority.

When people are confronted with change they usually reject it off hand at first.  I think it is a natural reaction.  If they are saying the same thing in a years’ time then that is different.  I reckon the Yes campaign has still got a lot to do in changing that reaction to change.

5. Robyn - Quine fae Torry

@Albalha,

Ha Ha!

6. Jeannie

@Bugger the Panda
    I was the donor, the surrogate.

Always the bridesmaid, eh? 🙂

7. Bugger (the Panda)

Whose the Daddy then!!

boom Boom

Got an extra bamboo ration for it

8. Jeannie

@Bugger the Panda

You are well and truly the Daddy and no mistake 🙂

9. Bugger (the Panda)

Hey Jeannie

The Albanach in High Street for the Panda Clan pre march.

10. Seasick Dave

Oh dear, what a pity…

Still £150,000 too much.

GMB cuts funds it gives Labour from £1.2m to £150,000.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-23955577

11. MajorBloodnok

B(TP) you are going to have to change your name to “Inseminate (the Panda)” if you can prove paternity, or to be more precise, “pandernity”.

12. Juteman

For anyone coming from Dundee, I’ve just checked the Scotrail website, and you can get a return for £13.80 if you book two singles. A return is about double!

13. Morag

You know, I was thinking it was an awfully big area to try to fill.  But when you compare the flat bit on top to the area in and around the Ross Bandstand which we easily filled last time, it’s only four or five times bigger, at most.

It’s a lot, but it’s not completely impossible.

14. Jeannie

@major bloodnok

B(TP) you are going to have to change your name to “Inseminate (the Panda)” if you can prove paternity, or to be more precise, “pandernity”.

Well, you would know, right enough.  If my memory serves me right, you’ve got “form” on this – I vaguely remember something about a horse and a turkey baster, some time back?  When it comes to advice on artificial insemination, BTP, I think you’ll find the major’s your man 🙂

15. Bugger (the Panda)

Jeannie

Only for a truss of bamboo and the naming rights.

BtP

16. Jeannie

@BTP

Yes, I’m inclined to think a truss is exactly what you’ll be needing if you get into that game!

17. Bugger (the Panda)

Jeannie

Promises, promises.
    Albanach !

18. Jeannie

@BTP?

I’ll endeavour to be there.  Are you on the bell?

19. Bugger (the Panda)

am I on the bell?

Bugger aff!

Now you know

20. Jeannie

@BTP

Fair enough – cannae blame a lassie fur tryin’ tho!

21. Stephen Boswell

I’ll be there with my brood. Boswells for Independence! 

22. Morag

I just mentioned the march to a work colleague who is very pro-indy but didn’t march last year.  He’s coming.

23. MajorBloodnok

@Jeannie

It’s just a hobby.  Although my controversial editorship of Basters and Bastermen has been much remarked upon in the trade press.

24. Dave McEwan Hill

Stephen Boswell 
    Hello, Stephen. So you will. If I’m not mistaken you’re on the big bus from Dunoon

25. Jeannie

@major bloodnok

It’s just a hobby.  Although my controversial editorship of Basters and Bastermen has been much remarked upon in the trade press.

Oh….I think I’ve got a copy of that…  is it the Master Basters Weekly?

26. MajorBloodnok

@Jeannie said: Oh….I think I’ve got a copy of that…  is it the Master Basters Weekly?

I’m not sure, I’ll have to consult our archivist Onan_the_Librarian, although I think he’s busy at the moment because a bibliophile was going through his back catalogue last week and afterwards he found that all the pages have been stuck together.

Which pub did you say we were meeting at?

27. Jeannie

@major bloodnok

I hate it when that happens.  BTP says it’s the Albanach.

28. Dave McEwan Hill

Major

Dorothy Parker called her canary Onan because it spilled its seed upon the ground

29. Conan_the_Librarian

@MajorBloodnok.
    Yes, the Albanach.
    Saves you beating about the bush…

30. ianbrotherhood

@Morag-

You know, I was thinking it was an awfully big area to try to fill.  But when you compare the flat bit on top to the area in and around the Ross Bandstand which we easily filled last time, it’s only four or five times bigger, at most.
    It’s a lot, but it’s not completely impossible.

Was this intended for the Jackie Baillie thread(s)?

31. AlexMcI

@Ianbrotherhood, quality mate, that really made me laugh.

32. ianbrotherhood

@Alex Mcl-

Hope to see you on the Hill mister – I’ll be with the SSP on the march, then doing my own thing, hope to find all ye Wingers as and when.

33. AlexMcI

@ianbrotherhood, I will be there mate. Mum, dad, sister , fiancée and a train load of kids are coming this time. Will see you there for sure.

34. Ruby Tuesday

Re A Parking Tip
    Please ignore parking tip that I posted earlier.  I drove past Abbeyhill yesterday and there were roadworks going on entrance to Abbeyhill closed and bus stop out of commission.

35. wee folding bike

Okay, it’s officially going to be first-come-first-served on the badges 😀
    Badges? We don’t need no steenkeen badges.

36. handclapping

Bugger. The Dr sucked his teeth at me and said “We’ll see. Come back in a fortnight.” So its mibbe aye, mibbe naw. Bugger. 🙁

37. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Major – Albanach it is with my pelmet. Curtains? Indeed!

38. HandandShrimp

One pub is not going to be enough is it? So where is our rallying point?

39. Jeannie

@archie (not erchie)

Major –Albanach it is with my pelmet. Curtains? Indeed!

Archie – that Major would get get ye hung!

40. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Jeannie – I just knew you would spot that post. 🙂 I love a woman with vision.
    Wait for it…….should have gone to…….. 🙂

41. Jeannie

@Archie (not Erchie)

Wait for it…….should have gone to……..

That’s funny…..that’s what Mr. Jeannie keeps saying!

42. Archie [not Erchie]

On the Roll Call thread Rev Stu says : ‘Badges will be on a first come first served basis’
    I had to smile, in fact I chortled. The responses will probably break 200 tonight and when folk talk about bringing doubledecker bus loads, families and friends, unicycles and budgies I think the Rev is pickled in his Cussons Imperial Lather. How many WOS badges has he got? I think his goose is charcoal, his faculties are suffering under the relentless feeding of the hungry 1000 Wingers.

43. Morag

Can’t he get more badges?  It’s still a fortnight off.

44. Jimbo

Glad to see WOS on the list of groups attending this year’s march & rally.

I reckon it could turn out to be the largest group there.

http://independencerally.com/main/?page_id=1719

45. Morag

Just compare and contrast this to last year’s dismal attitude….

http://wingsoverscotland.com/if-nobody-came/

46. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Just compare and contrast this to last year’s dismal attitude….”

To be honest, my attitude hasn’t really changed. I still think these events are unnecessary hostages to fortune unless you can get HUGE numbers – and if it’s pishing down and a lot of folk are put off it could still look bad – but I see the value of people getting together a bit more.

47. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Can’t he get more badges? It’s still a fortnight off.”

Four-week delivery time. Plus I like the idea of there only being 100. Because so long as a hundred of us turn up in time…

(I’ve no idea how they’re going to look. They should be quite fancy, but they weren’t cheap and I didn’t want to get hundreds sight unseen.)

48. Archie [not Erchie]

@ Morag – Yes of course the Rev can do that. My post was tongue in cheek 🙂 and I hope that the children get the badges and remember the 21st for the rest of their lives.

49. Morag

To be honest, my attitude hasn’t really changed. I still think these events are unnecessary hostages to fortune unless you can get HUGE numbers – and if it’s pishing down and a lot of folk are put off it could still look bad – but I see the value of people getting together a bit more.

Look, this is for us.  There’s a feeling starting to happen, and I think you have to be here to feel it.  I know how it is.  I went through 1992 to 1999 living in bloody Sussex.  You’ll understand when you get here.  There isn’t a morning I wake up now that I’m not glad I chucked up the Sussex job and applied for this job near Edinburgh in June of 2006.  Just to be breathing the air of Scotland at this time is a precious thing.  You need to do it, even if it’s just for the weekend.

And I will trample the children into the gutter for one of these badges.

50. Jimbo

I want one.

51. Morag

Stu, shouldn’t you make the “Roll Call” thread a sticky for a bit?

52. Morag

Sorry. Posted unthinkingly in the Roll Call thread. Please to delete.

53. Arbroath 1320

As per instructions from Stu, www.wingsoverscotland.com/roll-call/ , I am posting here, I don’t want to endure the mighty wrath of Stu, unnecessarily you understand. 😆

We were planning to attend the march along with my partner’s eldest daughter and three year old son. Unfortunately a family problem has raised it’s ugly head that we may need our attendance. As a result we will probably not know if we are able to attend until the last minute. 

To everyone who is definitely going have a great day we’ll be thinking of everyone if we can’t get there. If we can make it then we’ll be there looking out for the Wings contingent! 😆

54. Morag

Aw, Arb, you had to call off last year at the last minute too, didn’t you?  That’s a real shame.

55. Anne McMillan

#indyrally #letsfillthehill – next week at this time we will be filling Calton Hill folks. Please share. http://www.independencerally.com – Tweet, FB, Email, comment in online newspapers lets make this amazing.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.