Kezia gets the messages

Posted on May 17, 2017 by

From today’s interview on Good Morning Scotland:

(Good Morning Scotland, BBC Radio Scotland, 17 May 2017)

That needs transcribing for the record.

BILL WHITEFORD: You mention the two things there – independence and these other issues that you hope people will talk about. Let’s listen to some of what some people have said are mixed messages on this campaign trail.

RECORDING OF KEZIA DUGDALE: These are people who’ve gone and studied, earn a decent wage and are really struggling just now, and they are sick and tired of people talking about the constitution, obsessing about a second independence referendum. They would love a debate which is about the things people really care about.

RECORDING OF IAN MURRAY: We’ve got one message and one message only right across Scotland as we go into the general election on the 8th of June. And that is, we can put another nail in the independence referendum coffin by voting Labour on the 8th of June and sending a very strong message to Nicola Sturgeon that the people of Scotland do not want another divisive independence referendum.

BILL WHITEFORD: So you say people are sick and tired of talking about the constitution. Ian Murray – your single previous MP – says it’s one message and one message only, about [an] independence referendum. Which is it?

KEZIA DUGDALE [live in studio]: I don’t think those two statements are in any way inconsistent.

That one’s going straight into the Scottish Labour’s “There Is No Inconsistency Here” Greatest Hits, folks. But Dugdale wasn’t done for the day. Following the interview she went straight onto the Kaye Adams phone-in show, where she had a surprise policy revelation about her party’s policy on nuclear weapons.

But 45 seconds later she said something else that we’d like to play you first.

(The Kaye Adams Programme, BBC Radio Scotland, 17 May 2017)

ADAMS: Duncan in Strathspey says “I’m confused by Scottish Labour. Johann Lamont left in a flourish saying Scottish Labour was being treated as a branch office of the UK party. Miss Dugdale arrived and was adamant that she was a separate party. So what has this Westminster election got to do with her?”

KD: I fought for the Scottish Labour Party to be an autonomous party. It is now, that’s changed in our rulebook. Nobody tells me what to do.

Scottish Labour’s autonomous policy, of course, is to oppose the renewal of Trident.

So that’ll be what’s in the autonomous Scottish Labour Party manifesto, right?

(The Kaye Adams Programme, BBC Radio Scotland, 17 May 2017)

ADAMS: Austin’s in Blantyre, he says “What is your stance on the renewal of Trident as the leader of the Scottish Labour Party?”

KD: The UK manifesto is committed to the renewal of Trident, that’s the position of the Labour Party UK-wide, made democratically at our conference. That’ll be the position that’s reflected in the manifesto we publish next week.

Well, it’s lucky nobody told her what to do or that might have been embarrassing.

1. 17 05 17 12:56

Kezia gets the messages | speymouth

109 to “Kezia gets the messages”

1. Macart

Oh …!

That’s cleared that up then.

You know, I’d like to feel sorry for Ms. Dugdale, but I just don’t.

2. Chas Clark

Kaye Adams is an even bigger embarrassment here than poor Kez, if that’s possible

3. CameronB Brodie

In a truly open society, this clown would be laughed out of politics. Unfortunately, effective journalism in an essential component of an open society.

4. gordoz

Its all about Orewllian consistency, cant you see that REV ?

Come on. Why should you give Labour a hard time ? The BBC generally doesn’t.

It doesn’t really matter that the public are confused.

Labour are consistently confusing.

Its the Labour way (Scoddish or Bwittish), (New or Old)

Jeez 😀

5. harry mcaye

What is the actual point of that woman?

Kaye Adams or Kezia Dugdale, take your pick.

6. Merkin Scot

Listening to Ms. Dugdale, I never know whether to laugh or cry.

7. Kenster62

Poor Kezia, coming down with Carlaw Syndrome live on radio . He was unaware of the McCrone report pre indyref. Kezia unaware a raft of Labour figures including her boss down South support for Irish unification.

8. Richardinho

I can’t quite tell why the Tories are at 48% across the UK..

9. Swami Backverandah

Labour’s Dugdale:

We both support and oppose.

We can do that, because we speak with forked tongue.

First we say one thing, then we say the other.

Just like Jeremy.

10. Free Scotland

The uppity, student-politics mentality of this buffoon Dugdale is soul-sapping and utterly pitiful – “No-one tells me what to do” she bleats yet again, unconvincingly. If she comes anywhere near me, I’ll tell her EXACTLY what to do.

11. Street Andrew

Slabour has an entirely independent policy.

Independent of coherence.
    Independent of rationality.
    Independent of consistency.

The poll cards will have three boxes to put your cross in. Yes. No Maybe.

Labour voters are pressing for a fourth box; Errrr?

12. Faltdubh

Callum McCaig excellent on Daily Politics. A great asset for the SNP and very honest, transparent and direct.

A future leader.

13. Robert Louis

Unreal. Labour are going into coalition with the Tories in Aberdeen.

Labour and the Tories!! Or should I more accurately say,

Red Tories and Blue Tories are going into coalition in Aberdeen city council.

Of course they will PRETEND that they are ‘defying’ their leadership, but this will have been agreed right at the top.

Oh Labour what have you done???? You are finished as a Scottish party. Utterly shameful, zero integrity, disgraceful sc*m.

This just shows why a Labour vote or a Tory vote is wasted in Scotland. Only the SNP will stand up to the Tories.

N.B. I fully expect this will be completely ignored by the BBC, SKY and Channel 4 news, despite its relevance to the upcoming election. If it happened in an English council their would be uproar, but as it is in Scotland, it will be ignored.

14. Brian McHugh

It is quite clear that Labour (SLAB) are foragainst the renewal of Trident.

15. mike d

Fib dems promising another eu referendum. Righto.

16. mike d

Fib dems promising another eu referendum. Righto

17. bobajock

Idiocracy.

How did someone this stupid get into politics?

18. Training Day

In a field boasting Willie Rennie, Annie Wells, Queen’s eleven Fraser and Jackie Baillie, you’d think it would be impossible for Dugdale’s stupidity to stand out.

But it does.

19. Peter McCulloch

Its a pity Dugdale wasn’t subjected to greater forensic
    questioning when she’s on TV and Radio over her policy stances.

Because I believe we would see even greater
    Inconsistencies over what she says and what she
    ends up actually supporting.

Her stance on a second independence referendum being an example.

20. Bob Mack

She wants independence for Scottish Labour—for Scotland, not so much.

21. Chick McGregor

Maybe, as it is a Westminster election, she is only considering the view of their one and only MP in Scotland, Ian Murray?

Let’s see:

“I have a different view on Trident. The party ­position is the party position. I’ve made it clear that I wouldn’t support it [Trident].”

Oops.

22. Dr Jim

My name is Kezia and I’m the leader of, well nothing, but I’m still the leader so that’s really really important, and eh I’m autonomous at being the leader and everybody has to do what I say except when they don’t want to because that’s what autonomous really really means and I’m going to win at it

And so Kezia when did you come to know that you really really were the leader

said the Psychiatrist

23. HandandShrimp

So much for Labour not doing deals with the Tories. No real surprise at the Fib Dems leaping at the chance to jump in bed with the Tories in Argyll…it is a Fib Dem thing after all, but Labour? What a sad joke. The consistency of a very runny blancmange.

24. Desimond

I know it will never happen but I would love Nicola Sturgeon to stand there at leaders TV debate and play rope a dope and let Ruth, Kez and Wullie all rant away in unison and then politely ask “May I say something” to Bernard Ponsoby before launching a tirade about Local Coalitions with Tories, Rape clauses, Sectarian bandwagonning, Flip Flopping Manifestos adopting SNP policy.

She then turns to face Bernard and calls out STV, The BBC and the printed Media for the spin, the lies and the bias.

Then she drops the Mic and says “Scotland..OUT!” and walks off stage.

25. Thepnr

The most dangerous person to Scottish Independence talking in these clips in clearly not Kezia Dugdale, it’s Kaye Adams.

People need to wean themselves off BBC propaganda.

Don’t pay the telly tax and send them a message at the same time. Kaye Adams, Gary Robertson, Brian Taylor, Sarah Smith, Nick Robinson, Laura Kuenssberg can all go and take a running jump.

The BBC will never get a single penny from me ever again.

26. Donald MacKenzie

Remember when she went to America. Everyone thought it was to help the Clinton campaign. FAKE NEWS!

She was really there learning the art of communication from Donald Trump.

There being no inconsistency about her comments and Iain Murray’s re the constitution is straight out of the Trump book of what counts as sensible.

27. Tam the Bam.

Misreporting Scotland … 1-35pm

Scottish councillors in Aberdeen City Council who have entered an unholy alliance with their Tory pals have until 5pm this evening to extricate themselves from said coalition…….KEZIA DUGDALE.

28. Robbo

Well seems Dugdale is blocking this union with tories in Aberdeen!

29. David

She is a dug tail right enough, but i was wondering is westminster the dug or the tail, oooooooh, its all so confusing lol

30. Ken500

What on earth is going on. Labour have joined a coalition with the Tories in Aberdeen. The SNP has the biggest no of councillors. It is just unbelievable. They ruined the City and are back again. Crookett. They have no shame. How do voters get rid of them? The sooner the electoral system is changed the better.

31. HanadandShrimp

Pleased to see the employment figures for Scotland are very good. Must a source of pain to our Yoonish friends that they can’t have this as a stick to beat the SNP with. Looks like the day job is being taken care of. (What they would have said if the numbers were not good 🙂 )

Interesting to see if Crockett and Co just walk away from the Labour Party and reveal the fact that they are Red Tories for all to see.

32. The Isolator

I was genuinely shocked and stunned when listening in this morning live.Having listened back to some of it again I’m speechless.Absolutely horrendous stuff..giving the fuhrer a run for her money there ffs.

33. JockG

It will be interesting to see what % of the vote SLAB gets at the next GE compared to 2015. They are now something of a bad joke. i just hope that the coverage given to Ruth Davidson will have reminded people how awful the Tories are and that independence is our only way out of the coming nightmare.

34. Wullie B

Tried phoning in today, but got cut off three times Kez spinning out the GERS numbers as gospel again in an independent Scotland and brought up the £15bn, defecit, now I never listened to the rest of the show, but did anyone else manage to get through and dispute this figure with her

35. Robert Peffers

@harry mcaye says: 17 May, 2017 at 12:04 pm:

“What is the actual point of that woman?
    Kaye Adams or Kezia Dugdale, take your pick.”

Ah’ve telly ye afore – the point of both of them is the top o their wee pointy heads.

36. Wullie B

Labour are going to suspend any councillor that joins the coalition with the tories apparently according to the latest news report on the BBC, Kenn500.

A bit two faced by the Labour party , they have been in partnership with the tories for nearly five years in Scotland, what makes this so different,,,, oh thats right, a snap general election

37. Robert J. Sutherland

Obviously Kez isn’t in charge of anything, she just thinks she is. “Aberdeen” Labour, for example, know she’s not. They prefer the Tories.

Contrast that recent (proper) interview of Col. Harrison by Emma Barnett. If the same journalist had done this interview, maybe we would all have actually found out something useful. (Incl. Kez herself.)

They ought to promote Kaye to tea lady or something, and replace her by someone who obviously knows how to do the actual job.

38. Ken500

In Aberdeen a Tory is deputy leader. Elected 22 to 19. Four abstentions. (LibDems?) The Labour/Unionists ruined the City got it into £1.2Billion of debt. Ruined the City Centre with a groteque monstrosity. Costing £200Million. The LibDems refused to go into coalition with the SNP. After getting votes above the Tories/Labour from SNP supporters. The Unionists are disgraceful. The sooner the electoral system is changed the better.

39. orri

I think the legal status of manifesto’s is confused to say the least. During an election they are campaign promises and nothing more. However once an election takes place they are a deciding factor in what a government can force past the HoL using the Parliament Act.

Now that’s where it gets messy. Obviously we don’t expect it to be significant in this election but no one actually buys that Scottish Labour are a separate party from Labour so the reality is that for Labour MPs in Scotland to actually have a snowball in hell’s chance of being able to implement commitments at odds with the UK party they have to be vital to the majority and be prepared, obligated even, to defy the party whip on those issues.

So either they’re saying that despite it rarely being the case this time a Labour government will depend on them for it’s majority, that they will defy the party whip or they are misrepresenting themselves in order to be elected.

That last possibility is where they are contravening electoral legislation.

40. Cuilean

Thanks for listening to these lickspittles on our behalf.

I do bear your suffering and endurance in mind, come your annual crowdfunder.

I’m sure Tokyo Kaye did not press her idol on SLAB’s totally insane position.

Where’s that Channel 5 lassie grilling Davidson, when you need her?

On happier note, Panelbase poll today, puts SNP on 56%.

Seems the media hype of a tory resurgence has had the opposite effect. Tee hee…. and Yaaaaas!

41. heedtracker

SLabbers and BBC Scotland gimps, both propped up by another country’s tories, red and blue. One a lot more than another obvs. They’re basically Winslett and DiCaprio, hanging on to stern of the Titanic, and not half as good looking.

42. Clapper57

Unionist politicians are but CONmen und women.

Keiza and Ruth often create CONfusion

Regularly CONtradict themselves

Treat voters with CONtempt

Are embarrassingly inCONsistent

CONtribute nada to Scottish politics

CONspire to smear the Scottish government

CONvey empty rhetoric

Both seem CONtent with CONtinually CONning the public.

CONceal the truth

Both branch managers CONtrolled by their respective HQ’s

CONstantly banging on about the CONstitution.

CONnect only with the delusional voters who it seems are in CONstant denial

The CONundrum is.. who will and when will they publicly expose them both for what they truly are.

No CONscience either of them seem to have

CONfucius say Red CONservatives and Blue CONservatives will , one day, have to accept the CONsequences for their actions and lack of.

CONsensus is…. they are only CONspicuous, thanks to MSM, when they PLAY at politics…….that is 24/7.

ps. No need trying to CONtact , CONnect with , CONtradict or CONsole me.

I am currently inCONsolable and suffering from inCONtinence at the thought of people actually CONtemplating voting for these CONts………..or a ‘word’ to that effect…..C*Nts……bad word I know but in my CONdition which is currently in decline and will hopefully be in recovery mode come independence day…then and only then I will be in total CONtrol und so, hopefully, will the SNP !!!…..and no more CONts to worry us…..one can but hope !

To be CONtinued……..

43. mogabee

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE, do not let Kezia Dugdale get the messages.

She’ll come back wi’ loo roll instead of tomatoes. :{ :{

44. call me dave

Aberdeen rogue councillors in all the senses.

Who put the foot down then Deputy Dugdale, or darn Sarf big labour, or the Unions, or the McTernan or uncle Tom Cobbley and all?

Whatever way it goes it’s a mess. 🙂

45. Desimond

@call me dave

This is a win win for Kezia…

1 – Labour retain power and presence in Aberdeen ( or at least appear important)

2 – She looks like a strong leader even if they all step aside and become independent ( which I doubt) or they come to some “agreement its for the best for the City!”

Shameful of course but its all about the Spin these days

46. Ian Brotherhood

Unless she’s given up on democracy altogether, Kez IS told what to do, by the electorate.

She prefers to ignore what they’ve been ‘telling’ her in their hundreds of thousands for the past five years.

47. Robert J. Sutherland

orri @ 14:05,

Alas, no. There is no electoral legislation requiring anyone to tell the truth, or require anyone to fulfil their manifesto after election. The only legal requirement is that candidates not denigrate any opponent with lies during the election period. (Liar Carmichael eg. essentially squeaked that one because the person he denigrated, Nicola, wasn’t actually standing.)

Politicians generally feel obligated to fulfil their mandate through a mixture of honour (yes, some do have it) and fear that they will be called to account for the consequences by voters at the next opportunity. The LibDems have still not recovered reputational damage, for example, for reneging on both tuition fees and top-down reorganisation of the English NHS. The latter also applies – with knobs on – to the Tories, but they have largely avoided the electoral consequences thanks to a big Brexit smokescreen.

The consequences of the Unionist betrayal of their “Vow” mandate of the 2014 referendum are of course still very much with us to this day.

48. manandboy

UNIONISTS – RATS IN A CORNER

Everyone in the UK whose luxury lifestyle depends on the Union, has, at this time, the feelings normally associated with a rat in a corner. Deep fear and desperation with an acute sense of foreboding, producing screeching, biting, scratching and spitting. No room for protocol at this stage. This is a fight to the death – for Unionism.

Out steps Kezia Dugdale on to her daily stage managed job. Judging from the mixmash, mumbojumbo stream of half-truths and self-contradictory statements she makes, you could think her brain is well and truly scrambled. She is tied in a knot of lies.

She needs help – while convinced she IS the help.

49. Robert J. Sutherland

manandboy @ 14:57,

Well said, especially that last sentence.

Enoch Powell, I seem to recall, notably said that all political lives end in failure. Kez is simply a precocious instance of that.

A human sacrifice for the Greater Good of the Labour Party, not that it will actually placate the savage Unionist god that they so mindlessly worship.

50. orri

Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh is in the headlines.

Significantly they waited until after the closing date for candidates before spreading the muck.

The point isn’t the remote possibility that she was responsible for anything illegal.

It’s to force the SNP to suspend her or throw her out. At which point the claim would be that any votes for her wouldn’t count as an endorsement for indyref2.

51. Sandy

LibDems were well known as prostitutes, jumping into bed with anyone for a price. But SLAB in Aberdeen, well, well, must have spent a lot of time down at the docks.

52. Robert Peffers

@Merkin Scot says: 17 May, 2017 at 12:08 pm:

“Listening to Ms. Dugdale, I never know whether to laugh or cry.

Yes, Merkin Scot, but! That’s just like the rest of us when we listen – then we often do both – at the same time.

53. Jack Murphy

ABERDEEN.
    “Labour has threatened to suspend councillors after they agreed a coalition deal with the Conservatives on Aberdeen City Council.
    The nine-strong Labour group signed a formal deal with Conservative and independent groups, leaving the SNP – the biggest party – in opposition……..”

Bettertogether with the Tories right enough! ‘Nuff said.

BBC this afternoon:

http://archive.is/axl4x

54. Breeks

On the subject of not getting the message, (see how that’s not off topic?)… Why is Boris Johnson in India discussing a Trade Deal about alcohol?

Does that mean Brexit negotiations are terminated already? Or is the UK just sticking two fingers up to their EU commitments and obligations?

55. heedtracker

Graun takes the “there is no election in Scotland” messages, to its extreme. Its endlessly weird watching how yoon culture, red or blue, tries to contain Scottish democracy. Pretending it just doesn’t exist is one doing it for The Guardian. If only we’d all just disappear and leave their Scotland region alone. A lot of Scottish people were transported to the colonies too. Wonder if they still do that:D

Scotland
    Pass notes
    The invaders of Orkney: first Vikings, now cruise ships
    A boom in tourism thanks to an influx of boat passengers has angered residents of the Scottish archipelago – with one group apparently taking selfies at a private funeral. What can be done?

Tuesday 16 May 2017 14.00 BST

Welcome to Orkney? A cruise ship anchored off Kirkwall, on the Mainland. Photograph: Alamy Stock Photo

56. Robert Peffers

@Robert Louis says: 17 May, 2017 at 12:51 pm:
    “Unreal. Labour are going into coalition with the Tories in Aberdeen.”

We saw that coming from a long way of, Robert Louis.

“Of course they will PRETEND that they are ‘defying’ their leadership … “

Now the story is being reported by the BBC as, “Labour suspension threat over coalition”.

The nine-strong Labour Group have already formally signed up to a deal with both the Conservative group and the Independents. So there is now a legally binding deal. So if they Labour group back down the Tory Group can take them to court and, of course, as it’s a signed deal, if the Tory group decide to back down the Labour group can then sue the Tories and the Independents can sue them both.

Whatever happens I’m sure the good people of Aberdeen City will be very much amused. BTW: Note that so far there seems to be no objections to the deal by the Tank Commander.

57. Robert Louis

So Labour have spent the day ‘opposing the Tories’, by going into coalition with them in Aberdeen. Spread this far and wide. People across the entire UK need to know that Labour can not be trusted on any level. Utter utter farm machinery.

Would it not be an utter joy to see Labour lose EVERY single MP at the forthcoming election. Bye Ian Murray, of the Red Tory party. Maybe their blue Tory chums in England will reciproacte the benevolence of their Labour pals in Aberdeen and invite them to be in a coalition. Aye right.

Jim Eadie (SNP) is standing against Labour’s sole remaining Scottish MP Ian Murray in Edinburgh South. Jim Eadie is a good candidate (ex MSP) and needs all the help he can get, as both Labour and the Tories are trying very hard to win the seat. It can be won by the SNP.

His fundraiser is at http://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/elect-jim-eadie-snp-stronger-for-edinburgh-south/

58. clan rossy

i”ve said it before and i
    will say it again.

KEZ is just a complete and utter asshole.

59. Brian Powell

Robert Peffers

Truly extraordinary, not only did the Tories strip Labour of Councillors across the country, they have them formally agreeing to be second place.

Kezia looking even more feeble, if that is possible.

60. sensibledave

Whilst I don’t really have any skin in this game, I do note a little bit of hypocrisy in some the comments above.

The Greens have a zero fossil fuel economy policy aim and the SNP run an economy that is heavily reliant on oil revenues now and in the future.

Heaven forbid that we should see those two working together eh?

61. Robert J. Sutherland

sensibledave @ 16:35,

The old bait-and-switch yet again, eh, pet? =yawn=

62. sensibledave

Robert J Sutherland 4.41

… quite the opposite Robert, just pointing out hubris and hypocrisy when I see it. Truth hurts doesn’t it!

63. Ian McCubbin

My worry is people in this party are in office in councils all over Scotland not knowing what policy to follow or where leadership lies.
    This along with Tory far right unionism and abuse makes for a step back in local governance.
    It might take the same nationally for more people to wake up and make the SNP stronger.
    SNP are not perfect but they have policy and procedures and stick to them more than Tories and Labour. So the SNP can present credible governance.

64. Chick McGregor

The UK Government kept every last penny from the oil and squandered it on ego salve. No oil fund, no percentage to Scotland.

Even avarice ridden America allows individual states to keep their oil revenue.

From the Greens perspective, the only silver lining is that in its blind panic to get as much out of the ground before independence as possible, 50% of the oil has been left in the ground of abandoned wells in the Scottish sector and will probably never be recovered due to costs.

Westminster is the Mother of Hypocrisies.

65. Hamish100

Seniledave.

Truth hurts for the unionists right enough.

SNP will win a majority of MP seats. They already have a democratically arrived at decision in the Scots Parliament for a referendum vote.
    The truth is clear brexit is a mess. The Tory lies that powers over agriculture and fishing will return to Scotland is a lie. Westminster and the south of England need the bargaining chips of Scotland’s natural wealth and resources.

The truth is out and the Davies of the world can’t do a thing about it. We feel your pain.

66. Robert Peffers

@sensibledave says: 17 May, 2017 at 4:35 pm:

“Whilst I don’t really have any skin in this game,”

Then what the hell are you still doing commenting here?

” … I do note a little bit of hypocrisy in some the comments above.”

Pish! You wouldn’t recognise hypocrisy if it bit your bum.

” … and the SNP run an economy that is heavily reliant on oil revenues now and in the future.”

Pish! You do not have a clue about anything, whatsoever, to do with Scotland or Scottish politics. In the first place the Scottish economy has never been based upon oil & gas revenues.

Oil & gas revenues, as its name describes it, is collected by the Customs & Excise by way of duty levied on each barrel, (or equivalent), of the product at the well-head. Then on each litre sold on the filling Station forecourt by way of Road Fuel Duty and it also has VAT levied upon it and every penny of it is stolen by the United Kingdom as being extracted fromUnited Kingdom extra-regio-territory. This revenue goes directly to the United Kingdom Treasury.

None of it is returned to Scotland. There are claims that 8.4% of it is Scottish revenue but this is a total lie. The 8.4% figure is only a figure used by the UK to estimate other statistical figure to then make further estimates for other figures.

Scottish revenue, until very recently, is totally dependant upon the Barnett Formula and is paid as a Block Grant. Even then this is always a misrepresented claim. The usual claptrap is that it is English taxpayer’s money being gifted to Scotland.

Truth is there is no such thing as English Taxpayers money for it is all United Kingdom taxpayer’s money and, as there is no such thing as a Parliament of England, the truth is that all taxpayers are also beneficiaries of United Kingdom funds.

Thus the real calculation is to compare the per capita GDP of any particular area with the per capita funding that same area gets from the treasury. Scotland pays more to the Treasury than Scotland gets back.

As usual, sensibledave, you do not have the slightest idea of what you attempt to pontificate upon.

67. Bill McLean

Really Sensible? – Scotland leads the world in renewable technology maybe that’s why the Greens ally with the Scottish Government, and will develop it further when we are free from interference by people who can’t run their own country! I’ve been noticing your fatuousness for some time and the hypocrisy of you having “no skin in this game” but continually boring people with your nonsense. Go away and do something where you have “skin in the game”, which is in a desperate state due to the arrogance and ignorance of those who tell us they know best! Of course you may get short shrift there as democracy seems to be in very short supply! Just go away and do some canvassing for whichever colour of Tory you support!

68. sensibledave

Chick 4.58

… good try Chick. Just accept that all politicians are liars and hypocrites and then life will be easier. The throwing of stones in glass houses will, and should, be highlighted. The SNP are no worse, or better than anyone else.

69. Brian McHugh

Dave, you been talking to Kezia recently?
    …Either that or reading Orwells’ 1984?
    ROFL.

70. sensibledave

Robert Peffers 5:08 pm

…. I wondered if you would pipe up with the Colonel Blimp impression Robert — I am humbled by your admonishment.

Sorry Robert, I have got it completely wrong. Ms Sturgeon is not Leader of the SNP and is not the First Minister of Scotland – and no Scot is drilling for and pumping millions of gallons of oil and gas to the mainland for use as fuel. The SCottish economy, as well as its receipts via the Barnett formula, are in no way attributable in any way to the exploitation of fossil fuels. … And the Greens are not really against the burning of fossil fuels.

I stand corrected. I will try harder in the future …. nah!

71. Clapper57

Has Ruth Davidson declared the Aberdeen council a coalition of chaos yet.

72. call me dave

Aberdeen ‘labour’ councillors now suspended says shortbread radio.

73. Bill McLean

Sensible – as ever you digress. Why not just go away and sort out your land? Too difficult?

74. heedtracker

The SNP are no worse, or better than anyone else.

Don’t think they’ve killed anyone sensibledave. You know, like the Westminster merrygoround of tories do, with psychotic abandon.

But we’re all British together, so we’re all the same on these ickle wickle islands, deliverers of death and destruction, but only to places too poor and just far enough away to retaliate, eh sensible.

But England’s not psychotic enough to story its WMD’s in England. Have to give you that much sensible.

75. Iain More

re Aberdeen

It is nothing new for Red Tory Labour Party there to go into coalition with the out and out Neo Fascist Brit Nats there. They were in coalition with them there the last 5 years after all.

So how many Red Tory Councillors are now suspended in Scotland as a whole?

@sensibledave

Are you one of those types that gets his kicks abusing Scottish schoolgirls? You sound like one!

76. Meg merrilees

Aberdeen Labour councillors suspended – confirmed by the BBC

Unless i’ve got these wrong then what about
    Angus?
    Clackmannanshire?
    Argyll and Bute?

Haven’t they’ll done deals with the tories too?

Two Tory Councillors suspended in Stirling as well.

It’s going REALLY well for these patriotic (pathetic more like) parties, isn’t it?

77. meg merrilees

Correction – Angus council a coalition of Independent ( all but one) and Conservative.
    Apologies to labour for that one.

78. Robert Peffers

@sensibledave says:17 May, 2017 at 5:23 pm:

Robert Peffers 5:08 pm
    …. I wondered if you would pipe up with the Colonel Blimp impression Robert — I am humbled by your admonishment.

Your kind are far too ill educated to understand to be humbled, sensibledave.

Fact is, if you had understood what I described you would know that the Scottish economy has never been based upon oil revenues.

The closest it came was when a Scot actually invented the oil industry. A gentleman known as:-

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_Young_(chemist)

However, the information I posted in reply to you utter balderdash is 100% correct.

The present North Sea and West of Shetland oil extraction revenues were, from the first drop of oil until now, all treated as United Kingdom revenue from The United Kingdom, “Extra-Regio-Territory”. BTW: The workforce employed in the Oil & Gas is drawn from all over the World and only a tiny proportion of it is Scottish.

These workers do their stint on the off-shore installations and then head home to wherever they are domiciled. They normally have their earnings transferred into their bank accounts. There are very limited opportunities to spend their earnings aboard oil installations.

Furthermore most oil & gas companies have their registered head offices in London. By law all companies in the UK must legally maintain a registered head office in the UK for tax reasons.

As usual, sensibledave, you expose your ignorance every time you comment on this blog.

79. Clootie

The action of Aberdeen Labour councillors typifies the remaining Labour values. They will permit society to be damaged and their nation plundered simply to “spite” their enemy – the SNP.

Better a Tory in charge than vote SNP.

Kezia, Murray etc have succumbed to the red mist. The only red option left to them.

80. heedtracker

Future Prime Minister of Scotland, although there are so many contenders in this generation.

Callum McCaig – SNP Candidate for Aberdeen South
    27 mins ·

For five years Aberdeen suffered under that hapless leadership of a Labour/Tory/Independent council. They repeatedly made the city a laughing stock, right across the country.
    Today, despite Labour losing half of their councillors, and the Tories not even bothering to put together a manifesto, they’ve banded together again to keep their grip on power in Aberdeen, aided and abetted by independent councillors and a defection from the Lib Dems.

The SNP were the clear winners of the election, but have been frozen out.

To make matters worse, Labour nationally have suspended their 9 councillors for doing a deal with the Tories. So of the 21 administration councillors elected on a part ticket, only last month, ten have either left or been suspended by their party.
    This making a mockery of democracy.”

81. CameronB Brodie

sensibledave
    You appear to think this is a game, when concerned Scots are actually fighting to retain their democracy and gain access to inalienable human rights. Why would you think the opinion of an English bigot who is almost entirely ignorant of Scotland, would be of any help to anyone?

Btw, you never did reveal whether you reject post-modern critical social theory, or not.

82. Orri

They stood as “cooncil” Labour and were elected as such. The claim in Aberdeen is that the Deal is between three groups one of them called “Aberdeen Labour” so if such things have any legality then perhaps that was preplanned by “Scottish” Labour as a get out clause.

Or it might be a shambles.

83. Robert Louis

If you ever need to know just how corrupt and devoid of principles Labour has become, you need only look at their behaviour in Aberdeen. In coalition with Tories. Labour.

It is of course to be noted, they have merely been suspended, and will no doubt be re-instated once the general election is over.

‘The voters of Aberdeen looked from Labour to Tory, and from Tory to Labour, and from Labour to Tory again; but already it was impossible to say which was which’. Adapted from Animal Farm by George Orwell.

84. Nana

Twitter thread explaining Aberdeen council shambles

https://twitter.com/guy_ingerson/status/864863732777844736

85. Brian McHugh

There should be a series of Local By-Elections in Aberdeen. Those Labour councillors were elected on a Labour platform. If they are now Independents, they should stand down and look to be re-elected as such.

86. Bob Mack

The news followed by a toe curling cringeworthy Scotland Labour party political broadcast denouncing the Tories and austerity. Oh dear.

87. Orri

Whilst the motto

For the many not the few

sounds noble.

Think about it if you’re gay, disabled or any other minority. How reassuring would that be in a totalitarian regime. Left or right wing doesn’t matter.

I’d far rather a government for everyone.

But then with only a twelfth on the UK population, they are many and we are few.

88. crazycat

In that Twitter thread Nana linked to, Aberdeen Labour are ranting about how their mainifesto can now be implemented in full.

That’ll be the manifesto explictly rejected by voters, leading to a collapse in their number of councillors, less than 2 weeks ago.

89. heedtracker

Our imperial masters wont like this. Should be interesting watching Prime Minister Corbyn trying to stop leakers.

https://www.bloomberg.com/politics/articles/2017-05-16/brexit-talks-can-t-be-secret-eu-says-in-push-for-transparency

90. CameronB Brodie

Orri
    As a disabled Scot, I’m brickin’ it. Unless Scotland chooses independence, I’m looking at spending the rest of my life under English nationalist, Tory rule. I doubt there will be much of a welfare-state left when my time comes and I most need its support.

@Brian Taylor c/o the BBC in Scotland
    You’re a balloon!

Transforming our world: the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

Our shared principles and commitments

10. The new Agenda is guided by the purposes and principles of the Charter of the United Nations, including full respect for international law. It is grounded in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, international human rights treaties, the Millennium Declaration and the 2005 World Summit Outcome Document. It is informed by other instruments such as the Declaration on the Right to Development.

https://sustainabledevelopment.un.org/post2015/transformingourworld

“The right to development is an inalienable human right by virtue of which every human person and all peoples are entitled to participate in, contribute to, and enjoy economic, social, cultural and political development, in which all human rights and fundamental freedoms can be fully realized.” (Article 1.1, Declaration on the Right to Development)

“The human right to development also implies the full realization of the right of peoples to self-determination, which includes, subject to the relevant provisions of both International Covenants on Human Rights, the exercise of their inalienable right to full sovereignty over all their natural wealth and resources.” (Article 1.2)

http://www.un.org/en/events/righttodevelopment/pdf/rtd_at_a_glance.pdf

91. Rock

Some posters might write her off as a fool and an idiot.

But she is neither.

She is a complete liar and hypocrite out there to fool gullible people into voting for Labour.

Unfortunately, more than 20% of the voting public in Scotland remains stupid enough to vote for Labour.

The more selfish of Labour’s support has moved seamlessly to the Tories, led by the most disgusting and dishonest politician in Scotland.

Decent former Labour supporters have moved to the SNP.

92. Flower of Scotland

Absolutely brilliant Stu! I’ve had no broadband for a week and still not sorted, but always manage to read Wings.

You have absolutely dissected Kezia,s autonomy fiasco!

I’ve been out leafleting, and am tired, but this fair bucked me up. Well done!

93. HandandShrimp

Vote Labour get Tories!

It is hard to believe that Labour Councillors could be so stupid during a General Election…or is it?

94. heedtracker

C4 teatime news ends with a very pleasant hagiography (party political broadcast on behalf) of Mayhem there, she’s really really nice and really really good at her job too. C4 news arse lickers must be wanting to NOT be sold off and start paying their way.

95. Thepnr

Kezia Dugdale is a fool and an idiot. Though not solely responsible of course for Labour party support dropping from 42% and 41 MP’s in 2010 GE to around 14% now she shares some of the blame.

Only a total idiot and fool would carry on with the same priorities that has cost them so much.

Yet that’s what Kezia is doing,

The halfwit Theresa May avoids the public, she won’t take questions from journalists unless they have been submitted beforehand. That’s because she is a fucking idiot and wouldn’t be able to answer the questions. She needs somebody to write the answers up for her beforehand.

Dugdale, Davidson, Rennie and May fucking balloons that need pricked.

96. Calum

The utterances are no longer anger inducing, or even the slightest bit irritating. They are hysterically funny.

97. schrodingers cat

careless tweets cost lives kez, her tweet left her no option but to suspend the 9 lab councillors in aberdeen, thing is, was she unaware of the other labtory coalition in other councils in scotland? some of which have been together since 2012. social media and stv already asking if she will suspend the other lab councillors across scotland?

a complete goat rodeo from slab, created by themselves and compounded by a careless tweet from kez

expect to see anas sarwar hovering around bbc cameras ready with a renta quote.

i’ll be surprised if she makes it to june the 8th. corbyn roadshow is doing well at the moment, they will be furious darn saff

98. Robert Louis

No Kezia is not a fool. Today she said on radio that Labour in Scotland had abolished tuition fees for students. Technically, that could be argued as true, but in reality all they did was rename tuition fees as ‘the graduate endowment tax’. So when Kezia said that on the radio this morning, she hoped that some listeners would not know the truth, and just believe it.

She would know it is deceptive. She knows that it was actually the SNP who abolished tuition fees, or the ‘graduate endowment tax’, as Labour called it. She would also know that it was LABOUR who started tuition fees in the first place. Even Thatcher didn’t dream that one up, no it was Labour.

What a disgusting, deceptive, lying bunch.

99. Clapper57

O/t

And so it begins.

Brexit Free trade deals….there’s yon Boris Johnson the Tory candidate discussing potential post Brexit Scotch Whisky tariffs to sikhs in a temple….while on the campaign trail…..Scotch Whisky…..aye right.

100. G H Graham

Kezia “Dizzy” Dugdale: “Nobody tells me what to do!”

and

“Jeremy Corbyn told me to tell you that.”

101. heedtracker

Total mess in Aberdeen, but Kez criticism free, as per, from beeb gimps. Its odd not to see catastrofuck and not so future Sir Willie Young ballsing it all up too. Busy counting his millions, like the good socialist worker he really was/is/haha.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-39940006

Meanwhile in Northern Scotia,

Yes Shetland shared Orkney SNP’s live video.
    23 hrs ·

BUSTER – Shetland’s Cat Rampant
    Miriam Brett and Mhairi Black filled the Lerwick Museum Auditorium twice over tonight!
    So they held two sessions back to back
    Possibly the largest single political public meeting ever

102. ChewinTheFat

Does anyone even listen to Dugdale anymore? Or her party? They are the walking dead.

103. Legerwood

Of course with all of this uproar about Labour plus muted uproar about the two Tory Councillors in Stirling it seems to have been overlooked by MSM that unemployment is down again in Scotland and is lower than UK level.

Practically invisible in online MSM sites.

104. jfngw

@Legerwood

Now your just being silly, don’t you know that Scottish unemployment figures only need reported when they are bad. In fact if they had been worse than the UK then it would have been BBC headline news.

A bit like the growth figures, they compare Scotland to the rest of the UK including London & SE, not with areas of the same population. If you do a valid comparison then you find Scotland is not at the bottom as inferred. The BBC, HMV.

105. ScottishPsyche

Almost, almost – but didn’t – feel sorry for Kezia tonight as I watched Barney Crockett on Scotland Tonight navigating his way through this wee bit trouble for him and his cronies.

He had no doubt it would all be sorted out soon and life would be back to normal. His avoidance of eye contact and slippery demeanour indicated he would not give way.

You could almost see him patronising Kezia with a ‘don’t you worry dear, we know what’s best’. ‘The Tories and us, we get along fine, we know how to operate in a way that’s best for everyone, you know what I mean… course you do dear, now Let us old Slabour hands sort it out our way…’

Makes your skin crawl.

106. defo

Pay dirt !
    Fess up Stuart. You’ve been running her as an agent from the start, haven’t you ?
    A sort of ‘Deep throat’ Max.

Autumn 2010

Salisbury Crags,Queens Park, overlooking Holyrood with Auld Reekie beyond.
    A swarthy, deceptively young in appearance chap, an escapee from Bathgate, and now experiencing its polar opposite namesake, our hero, sits next to a not unattractive, but tired looking politico.
    Prime material, greasy pole wise though, and a Grade A sucker to boot…

“…You set ’em up, just as I tell you, & I’ll knock ’em down Kes dear. You get your well deserved moment in the Sun , and I’ll get to look like Mystic Meg”

“OK Stu, sounds foolproof, and anything to get away from servicing his Lordships ‘needs’, and there’s pension for life you say ?…”

“And Stu, when do we get to the bit where we tell everyone we wis at it again ?”

Present day.

Bath.England. Soon to be Former UK.
    The sound of tumble-weed dunting down a leafy, deathly silent suburban street…If smug had a sound…

107. Jack Murphy

heedtracker said at 10:23 pm last night:
    “……
    Meanwhile in Northern Scotia,
    Yes Shetland shared Orkney SNP’s live video.
    23 hrs ·

BUSTER – Shetland’s Cat Rampant
    Miriam Brett and Mhairi Black filled the Lerwick Museum Auditorium twice over tonight! [!]
    So they held two sessions back to back.

Possibly the largest single political public meeting ever”.

I think this is the video of the Yes Orkney meeting.
    I hope the link works,if not,maybe Wings could just not post this comment.
    Thanks.

https://www.facebook.com/OrkneySNP/videos/1324800544240525/

108. Davy

Hey Stu, what did you say to Kezia to get her all worked up about you on First Minsters QT, she was quite pissed off.

In fact if I was you I would be thinking about “not giving a shite” as Nicola nailed her within seconds about using you as a smoke-screen.

labour brings new meaning to daft as a brush. aye “triggers” brush.

109. Rock

Rock,

“Some posters might write her off as a fool and an idiot.

But she is neither.

She is a complete liar and hypocrite out there to fool gullible people into voting for Labour.”

Thepnr,

“Kezia Dugdale is a fool and an idiot. Though not solely responsible of course for Labour party support dropping from 42% and 41 MP’s in 2010 GE to around 14% now she shares some of the blame.

Only a total idiot and fool would carry on with the same priorities that has cost them so much.

Yet that’s what Kezia is doing,”

Robert Louis,

“No Kezia is not a fool.”

“What a disgusting, deceptive, lying bunch.”

At least it is safe to say that if it was 2pm and the sun was shining and I said it was day, fellow independence supporter Thepnr would insist it was night.

Fools and idiots would not be capable of selling their country and fooling so many people.

Dugdale is a nasty person.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.