Pot, meet kettle

Posted on February 06, 2012 by

We were perhaps a little unfair on Alan Cochrane earlier today. After all, the core of his comment about Alex Salmond’s reaction to being banned from commenting on the Six Nations at the weekend:

“We could be generous and suggest that calling the hapless BBC mandarin a “Gauleiter” displays either an imperfect knowledge of the English language or of 20th century history – or both. But knowing our Dear Leader as we know, it is entirely possible that he thinks it is perfectly all right for him to liken those who dare to defy him as some kind of Nazi. “
(Alan Cochrane, the Telegraph, 5 February 2012)

…is a fair point, strongly made. After all, what sort of thoughtless idiot would casually toss around a highly-charged, potentially-offensive word like “Gauleiter” in reference to an obviously petty and trivial matter?

“I am on the horns of a dilemma this weekend. I have been invited to a posh dinner in the Scottish Parliament later this week and there are to be pre-dinner drinks in the Members’ Bar at Holyrood.

Although I have accepted the dinner invite, I am somewhat constrained in accepting the one to the pre-prandial cocktails. The reason is that the Scottish Parliamentary Journalists’ Association, of which I have the honour to be a member, is boycotting the said watering hole. We have taken this principled – if unusual – stance because we have been offered only limited rights of access by that Gauleiter of Holyrood’s catering facilities, Labour MSP Duncan McNeil.”
(Alan Cochrane, Scotland On Sunday, 22 January 2006*)

Whoops! Still, you have to admit, if the First Minister has sunk to Alan Cochrane’s level, maybe he DOES need to stop and think for a minute about his comportment.

…..

*Observant viewers may be wondering why we’ve apparently jumped to conclusions given the lack of a byline on that piece. But even as we linked this morning to the other instances of Telegraph writers using the ‘G’-word, we felt absolutely certain that a bombastic old Tory buffer like Alan Cochrane MUST have called someone a Gauleiter in print himself at some point, and as we poked idly around in Google the same page kept coming up with “Alan Cochrane” in the search terms.

Mr Cochrane was once Deputy Editor of SoS and continued to contribute to it for some time afterwards, so that fitted, and the writing seemed an excellent match for our man – pompous tone, gratuitous use of French, a Scottish political journalist who hates both Labour and the SNP? That’s practically a one-name shortlist already. But the page itself lacked any sort of solid evidence as to why it was appearing for a search string including “Alan Cochrane”. We hunted around for some kind of index page that might provide the smoking gun, but fruitlessly.

Then we had a “Doh!” moment and thought, why are we making this needlessly hard for ourselves? Let’s go straight to the horse’s mouth, as it were. So we rang up The Scotsman’s main desk, explained truthfully that we were trying to discern the author of an old archive piece, and a delightful and cheery receptionist called Jennifer put us straight through to the Library department.

There a a rather gruffer and wearier-sounding figure, who didn’t give his name and sounded as if he’d been shut in a dusty basement for the last 20 years, asked us if we knew the date and title of the piece. We said that we did, supplied the info and within a few seconds back came the answer we’d been hoping for – “That was Alan Cochrane”.

Investigative journalism, there, folks.

14 to “Pot, meet kettle”

1. Morag says:

Nice one.  Bet nobody in the mainstream media picks up on it though.

We get the message.  It's OK for Paxman to call Salmond "Mugabe" and accuse him of planning to run a one-party state, but it's not OK for Salmond to use a common word for "overbearing official" because it has Nazi connotations.

2. Peter A Bell says:

…imperfect knowledge of the English language…

As something of a language buff, I have been extra irked by the always grating Alan Cochrane's untoward fuss about Alex Salmond's use of the term "Gauleiter". The "imperfect knowledge" is Cochrane's, not Salmond's. As any journalist worthy of the name should be aware – or willing and able to find out – the word in modern usage refers to any pettifogging bureaucerat.
    Could it possibly be that Cochrane actually was aware of this, but was happy to make himself appear stupid in order to attack our First Minister? He should be advised that, while the former was rather more successful than he might have wished, the latter failed at the first hurdle of credibility.

3. Elaine says:

Gauleiter is a perfect word appropriate in the circumstances, however when there is furore to be stirred up or political capital to be made, then all sorts of allegations and mock horror is feigned by journalists who should know better.

4. John White says:

Interestingly, in today's Cochrane piece any post that refer to this article or links to it, is being deleted. This included moderate questions directed to Alan C. asking whether he wrote the piece you quote………….

5. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

I've noticed 😀

6. John White says:

The best thing today was discovering this site

7. Matt says:

" After all, what sort of thoughtless idiot would casually toss around a highly-charged, potentially-offensive word like “Gauleiter” in reference to an obviously petty and trivial matter?"
    I wonder who would do that?
    The sort of thoughtless idiot that translated the discovery of a medieval haggis recipe into 'an English land grab', perhaps?
    The next 2 years are going to be excellent spectator sport, whatever the outcome.

8. Morag says:

I wonder how Google knew.  His name isn't anywhere in the source code that I can see.

The thing I find odd about this is the lack of comment around the steamie of Cochrane's use of the term "Dear Leader" to describe Salmond.  That's right.  In the same actual sentence where he is condemning Salmond for a word as anodyne as "gauletier", he himself in effect identifies Salmond with Kim Jong-il.

Unless of course that comment was being modded off as well as links to the above information.

Nice.  I love the smell of unionist hypocrisy in the morning.

9. Bugger (the Panda) says:

I prefer the epithet

Politikal Kommisar.

The spelling with a K has an oblique reference to the pastime of the London political and media scene although its fashion was some while ago in Austria.

10. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

"The thing I find odd about this is the lack of comment around the steamie of Cochrane's use of the term "Dear Leader" to describe Salmond."

Possibly because Cochrane's been using that forever and everyone just rolls their eyes at it now.

11. Jock MacSporran says:

Cochrane recently referred to Alex Salmond as "Il Duce" – a title originally taken by the facist dictator Mussolini. He repeatedly uses highly derogative terms to abuse Salmond and other leading SNP politicians. How far does Cochrane have to go before he's sued for libel? 

12. Morag says:

The trouble is, insults are not libel.

13. Shodan says:

Last time I looked purple faced Alan is was deleting comments and references to this place and what is being dubbed COCHRANEGATE. I've seen quite a few things vanish now. He must be burning with fury after sitting there lording it over and dishing it out from up high and now the peasants are rebelling and making him look like a fool.

Cover ups are always entertaining when they are inept.

14. David Ferguson says:

I'm another who discovered this site as a result of the Cochrane article. Great piece of work – I will be  a regular visitor in the future.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,974 Posts, 1,250,056 Comments

• twathater on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “Northy you explain it very well Liebour and the Daily Redcoat’s NEW VOWSep 1, 03:15
    • Big Jock on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “The UK is a trap. They are openly admitting it. A normal government would go to the UN , as…Sep 1, 00:52
    • Young Lochinvar on The Shortest Day: “SB I don’t knock hot pot, or food from the slow cooker. Tasty, and be honest now; it’s not really…Sep 1, 00:44
    • Saffron Robe on The Shortest Day: “A forced marriage is, by its very nature, illegitimate, because it is entered into without the free consent of one…Sep 1, 00:30
    • Young Lochinvar on The Shortest Day: “HMcH Aye Hatey, it’s being so cheery that keeps ye going isn’t it? One baleful benediction after another tonight, and…Sep 1, 00:30
    • Mark Beggan on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “In short; Carrots!Aug 31, 23:51
    • Young Lochinvar on The Shortest Day: “Chas There’s no guarantees in this life. Even sitting on your hands scared and so holding with the status quo…Aug 31, 23:44
    • Aidan on The Shortest Day: “Yes, no it isn’t James. Alcohol duty is not levied on exports, so there isn’t a specific duty to accrue…Aug 31, 23:35
    • Northcode on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “The Record doesn’t even come close to making a valid point… or any point at all. This is the Record’s…Aug 31, 23:35
    • Young Lochinvar on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “100% Yup. Why not 70%, 80, 90 or any of the above over who knows how many years before we…Aug 31, 23:23
    • Hatey McHateface on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: ““After years of simply stalling on the pursuit of independence, the SNP now appears to be in full headlong retreat,…Aug 31, 23:07
    • Young Lochinvar on The Shortest Day: “LC Very good! However you forgot to mention the bribery, offers of position and rank and overall subterfuge with a…Aug 31, 22:58
    • Hatey McHateface on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “A disappointing but perhaps not unexpected reversion to type, Northy. The Record View makes a valid point, not that any…Aug 31, 22:49
    • duncanio on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “The Daily Record’s ‘suggestion’ is merely an effort to make British Labour relevant again in Scotland so that they can…Aug 31, 22:46
    • Spartan 117 on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “Well, quite. Lard Foolkes and his ilk would happily do away with elections permanently, makes things much easier for them…Aug 31, 22:41
    • Hatey McHateface on The Shortest Day: “Naw, Spartan. Exhibit W.Aug 31, 22:35
    • Hatey McHateface on The Shortest Day: “That’s the Spandau gonna be well and truly cocked now!Aug 31, 22:33
    • Spartan 117 on The Shortest Day: “QED, Exhibit A.Aug 31, 22:18
    • Northcode on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “By George Foulkes, Baron Foulkes of Cumnock’s – Born in Shropshire and educated privately at The Haberdashers’ Aske’s Boys’ School…Aug 31, 22:14
    • Mark Beggan on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “Anyone for a carrot! It’s feeding time at the zoo.Aug 31, 22:02
    • James on The Shortest Day: “So say the English Nationalists. Fuck off.Aug 31, 21:57
    • James on The Shortest Day: “Ah. “…Naw it isnae….” The usual. Dan kindly provided the relevant liknk. https://wingsoverscotland.com/true-faith/ Read it, and weep, Yoon.Aug 31, 21:54
    • Effijy on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “With all financial levers controlled by Westminster these 300 years and debt spiralling up to £3 Trillion and the first…Aug 31, 21:44
    • 100%Yes on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “The reality is the more and more people voice that Independence is their preferred option to the union. The more…Aug 31, 21:40
    • Alf Baird on The Shortest Day: ““Maybe you could start one of the ‘democratic legitimacy’ processes yourself!” 20,000 sovereign Scots already have: https://liberation.scot/Aug 31, 21:37
    • 100%Yes on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “This is all because the SNP membership has grown a back bone and got upset about not being being able…Aug 31, 21:29
    • Mike Fenwick on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “For info, my contribution in The National today. Tommy Sheppard writes in The National as to ” Why a de…Aug 31, 21:28
    • Cuphook on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “Not that we’re going to get one due to our current political emasculation, but we’d lose another referendum unless the…Aug 31, 21:26
    • 100%Yes on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “The simplest solution is for Westminster to transfer the Constitutional authority to Holyrood for good and allow the Scots to…Aug 31, 21:19
    • Spartan 117 on Haven’t had a dream in a long time: “Interesting indeed.Aug 31, 21:14