Congratulations to President Trump

Posted on July 24, 2016 by

On his certain victory.

mcternanpredicts9

(A reminder of John’s most recent banker bet is below.)

mcternanpredicts10

(And of his Greatest Hits.)

84 to “Congratulations to President Trump”

1. VeganGod

someone needs to tell hillary that the game is up.

2. Walter Scott

I was convinced Clinton would edge it but now that the much ridiculed seer McTernan has come out for her I’m very worried indeed. Surely, in the name of all that is holy, this guy should stop his laughable predictions. His “take that to the bank” assertion is just dumb. Why does he do it? Isn’t he aware of people sniggering when he’s around?

3. Chessman

You can never predict whats going on in the mind of another person – especially in the ballot box.

4. HandandShrimp

A McTernan prediction of success is the kiss of death. I’m hoping that, like a broken clock, he is right a couple of times a day and he called this on one of those rare ocassions.

Not much of a fan of Hillary but despite her links to the established channels of power in the US she does actually present as sane. I am just worried that the ordinary blue collar voters in the US are being beguiled by easy options just as Brexit beguiled Labour voters in parts of England.

5. Jim Watson

Now I am very afraid…

6. Stoker

John who?

7. Richardinho

I think Clinton will win but anyone who thinks it’s certain is a total clown.

8. Breastplate

Surely by the odds of probability he has to get something right ffs.
    Or maybe not.

9. Stoker

Walter Scott wrote (@1:13pm) – Re; McTermite predicts:
    “Why does he do it?”

What else can a proven liar do to keep themselves in the spotlight?

10. Scot Finlayson

Trump winning,

is like two multi billionaires doing a `Trading Places` bet.

11. Grouse Beater

Which bank is McTernan recommending? – they’re all thieves and robbers.

12. galamcennalath

Some very good arguments here ….

http://michaelmoore.com/trumpwillwin/

13. stonefree

McTernan puts forward a good case for reintroduction of criminal deportation to the antipodies…….Oh hang on they don’t want him either, What the hell are media paying this clown for ( I know he post these on twitter)…None the less he’s a useless erse

14. Henry Hooper

id definitely put my faith in Michael Moore’s predictions over McTernans anyday, this type of “synch” doubles the likelihood of Moore being right

15. yesindyref2

The problem with people whose predictions always fail, is that you can’t take it to the bank that they will always fail. A stopped clock is right twice a day!

16. Swami Backverandah

Trump’s playing the electorate for suckers.
    He’s a businessman backed by elite corporates.
    A frontman, sales-pitch perfect designed to obfuscate and flabbergast.

Unless he gets taken down by a sex-scandal, he’s bound to win.

17. msean

I thought Hilary Clinton would do it,but only if she took a running mate like Bernie Sanders or Elizabeth Warren,to get that left leaning bloc behind her.

Not now.

18. Bob Mack

Too busy to post. Working on my bunker in the back garden. They say Donald is a bit grumpy in the morning so I hope to have completed my shelter the day before his inauguration.

19. rosa alba macdonald

Danger is the contingent who will not vote at all – I have many very orthodox Catholics friends, usually republicans because, if nothing else, pro-Life, who despite Catholic commentators endorsing Social Justice reforms for moral (and pro-life reasons) will not vote for Hillary because not just pro-Choice but a liar & too establishment.

They will not vote for Trump because well….comments very counter to Catholic teaching (for all he has a Catholic running mate brought on board).

Those who will vote will chose either Libertarian candidate ?Johnson, or if they were the very socially just-minded, the Green candidate.

I rather fear Trump may get in by default – those who are ardent enough to vote when they usually do not, the dedicated to his vision…

20. WGM

Come on. By the law of averages he has to get one right sometime.

21. Grouse Beater

How do you turn a plutocracy – Washington, Westminster – into a democracy?

“It’s not very hard. In the US, it simply means going back to mainstream ideas. To quote John Dewey, the leading US social philosopher of the 20th century, until all institutions – industrial, commercial, media, others – are under democratic control, or in the hands of what we now call stakeholders, politics will be the shadow cast by big business over society. That’s elementary and it can be done.” Noam Chomsky, 2016

22. Swami Backverandah

Has Hillllary sent a drone to vapourise my previous comment?

23. Gaelstorm

2/1 with Paddy power: get on!

24. desimond

What bank takes predictions?

25. Noel Darlow

There may be a serious argument that Trump could win:

26. Neil Cook

The thought of Clinton sends a shudder down my spine. She reminds me of the doll from Chucky. Trumps a wind up merchant and has got the media on both sides of the Atlantic in a frenzy. Never has someone with so little money got free advertising and won the largest number votes in a long time.

If he wins we all know his policies will be watered down but Clintons response are no policies, she lacks substance and in reality a very poor politician.

I think Trump saw the effect of social media during the Indyref and has taken it to the next level.

Is Trump building a wall any different from Brexiteers wanting to control immigration.

Is Trump any different in saying that until American politicians get their foreign policy in check he will ban Muslims? The rhetoric of Trump isn’t pc but is it different from our lot.

Trump is saying what middle America wants to hear, its not pretty but its effective and as long as shooting, terroism continues I think he is a shoe in for President unless Hillary can access the Postal votes !

27. Anagach

Now I am afraid.

28. Thepnr

The USA started with George Washington as their first President.

Then you have had the likes of Jefferson who was the main author of the Declaration of Independence and argued that people have the right to govern themselves. Now this was a very wise man.

I hope we shall crush in its birth the aristocracy of our monied corporations which dare already to challenge our government to a trial by strength, and bid defiance to the laws of our country.”

“Experience demands that man is the only animal which devours his own kind, for I can apply no milder term to the general prey of the rich on the poor.”

“If the American people ever allow private banks to control the issue of their currency, first by inflation, then by deflation, the banks and corporations that will grow up around them will deprive the people of all property until their children wake up homeless on the continent their Fathers conquered…. I believe that banking institutions are more dangerous to our liberties than standing armies…. The issuing power should be taken from the banks and restored to the people, to whom it properly belongs.”

If Trump is elected he might just be the last President of the USA

29. Swami Backverandah

and as for McTurpid …
    He comes across as the sad epitome of a ‘once-was’, now desperate just to belong.

30. Thepnr

Just to be clear, the above is 3 separate quotes not one big one.

31. Vestas

Clinton has a lot of historical “baggage” (not least of which is Slick Willy) which many people will not forget. Black people in particular remember that it was her/Slick Willy who signed the laws which criminalised & targeted blacks.

She’s also “establishment” to the core which people are totally sick of.

This dislike goes across party lines as well – its not restricted to republicans by any means, many democrats can’t stand her and are likely to abstain.

Nor is it misogyny which certain aspects of the press would like you to believe.

She is hugely divisive and had the republicans nominated someone more credible they’d have a landslide in November.

Still when all you’ve got to choose between is a “christian” misogynistic fascist lunatic (Cruz) and a blowhard idiot (Trump) then what are you going to do? 😀

For people less aware of how much Clinton is despised by a lot of US people – I can only compare it to the reaction you’d get in Scotland if Norman Tebbit was appointed in place of Mundell.

I reckon Trump will edge it regardless of what stupidity he advocates between now & November.

32. CapnAndy

Oh No.
    Can that man not shut up. We’re all doomed now.

33. frogesque

In 1989 the Berlin Wall finally came down. I shed tears of joy watching a man on TV with a pick standing atop of that hated edifice. It still moves me to this day.

The thought that America will use forced work for welfare claimants to build a wall across its border with Mexico sends a ghostly chill through me.

Clinton maybe has baggage but is at least a pragmatic diplomat. Trump is just baggage. And that is the polite version.

34. Robert Peffers

@stonefree says: 24 July, 2016 at 1:35 pm:

… None the less he’s a useless erse”

Nae siccna thing as a useless erse, stoneface. Jist jalousie whit a muckle fash ye wad bi in wi’thoot yer ain erse.

35. Ken500

Trump/Clinton just another lame duck President. If they live to tell the tale. The tail wagging the dog. The US administration run the government. Senate and the Congress. The electoral system brings changes ever two years. Cheques and bank balances. America is at civil war. Out of control.

The Tories must have put a ‘D’ notice on the Chilcot Verdict. Trying to save their own skins. There is very little reporting of the consequences. It will come out from the Law Courts.

36. heedtracker

He does show how you can make money working for the red and blue tories though. He’s on C4 news a lot as if he’s some kind of soothssayer for UKOK greatness, “I’m joined now by Jon MacTernan who’s, inaudible mumble, John why is Scotland so fucked up and then, tell us why JC’s such a terrible man.” “Thank you Christian, can I have my money first?”

37. gus1940

Oh for a Lee Harvey Oswald Tribute Act.

Wouldn’t it be great if The US elected Michael Moore or somebody with his values as President.

38. Thepnr

Me and John McT started secondary school together at Oxgangs in the same year.

Never met the dude or if I did I can’t remember. Hard to believe really although Oxgangs is not that far from Morningside as that’s where I lived at the time.

In a childrens home.

39. carjamtic

McTernan so streetwise…fraudster.

BBC,MSM,Red Tories,Blue Tories,Trump,Clinton…fraudsters

#omgphonyrappers

40. John Jones

C’mon, Trump has some great ideas, like the one to build a wall on the border with Mexico, it just doesn’t go far enough, it should be right round the states to keep them all in and stop them bombing the rest of the world!

41. mike cassidy

I just sent Hilary Clinton my commiserations!

http://hillaryclintonoffice.com/leavemessage/#

I wonder if it will appear on her page!

42. Michael Duvic

Please, someone in Scotland adopt me.

I have to escape the impending hell that is a Trump presidency.

Please!?

43. Lenny Hartley

Frogesque according to a Canadian dude on Max Keiser last night , more Mexicans have left the USA in the last three years than have moved there as the Mexican economy improves and the Economy of the States goes down the tubes. He also said that over 1 million yanks have moved to Mexico.

44. Jamie

President Hilary Clinton? Does he not mean President Shillary?

45. mike cassidy

OT

but as Alex Rowley’s referendum comment has stirred the Scottish political manure –

here’s the opinion piece in the local paper where he said what he said last week.

http://archive.is/XVTKU

46. Robert Peffers

@Robert Peffers says: 24 July, 2016 at 2:49 pm

@Robert Peffers:

Tae ma’sel,

Mind yer spillin Bob, Yon comment wis tae stonefree.

Whar did ye get Stoneface frae ya numptie.

47. Greannach

Oh shit. I don’t like Hillary Clinton but I really didn’t want to see Donald Trump as US President. That’s a certainty now.

48. mike cassidy

I like Michael Moore’s brexit parallel.

What happened in the UK with Brexit is going to happen here. Elmer Gantry shows up looking like Boris Johnson and just says whatever shit he can make up to convince the masses that this is their chance! To stick to ALL of them, all who wrecked their American Dream! And now The Outsider, Donald Trump, has arrived to clean house! You don’t have to agree with him! You don’t even have to like him! He is your personal Molotov cocktail to throw right into the center of the bastards who did this to you!

49. Clootie

…and yet the BBC still wheel him out as an expert. People still employee him to advise them.
    When you need an opinion regarding the outcome of a political situation then remember a coin flip would be a better option

50. Robert Peffers

Mind you MacWhitsit might be correct. Just remember some of the Yanks will buy anything.

Just remember it was them that bought London Bridge.

51. donald anderson

Is Labour still paying the bam?

52. Ian Brotherhood

‘There are no fires any more’, he said, barely visible, enveloped as he was by thick smoke rising from his underwear…

53. call me dave

Holyrood to hear Scots Brexit business impact evidence during the Summer Holyrood recess.

https://archive.is/hCJJO

54. Gerry

Nicola Sturgeon to speak tomorrow at 11am re Scotland and the EU.
    Should be interesting

55. Bob Nugent

COME ON PEOPLE WE SHOULD NOT MOCK THE AFFLICTED.
    HE PROBABLY NEEDS TO TALK TO PEOPLE
    BUT WHEN HE OPENS HIS GOB
    WE ALL FALL ASLEEP.

56. Hoss Mackintosh

Knowing of Mcternan’s predictive powers I think the bank he means must be Lehman Brothers!

Mcternan did meet Tony Blair on a train to Scotland once…

https://goo.gl/images/0R4nMi

This is the only time they were photographed together – strange since he was supposed to be Tony’s chief adviser?

57. Stephen Armstrong

MYSTIC MEG is NEVER wrong!

58. woosie

McTumshie, by the law of averages, must get one prediction right some time. Lets hope it’s about US politics, then back to normal during indyref pt 2!

59. Camz

Throw enough mud and eventually some will stick. This guy has thrown more mud than most.

60. Big Jock

Why does someone with his record keep setting himself up. Maybe if he keeps throwing darts in the dark he hopes one eventually hits the board.

61. Richardinho

I think this demonstrates why McTernan is a fool: It’s not that he’s so often wrong, it’s that he asserts certainty over doubtful outcomes (that he is then wrong about), and then goes on continuing to make new predictions.

I can only imagine that this is an act which is somehow pleasing to the people who pay him.

62. DaveL

Given a choice between verbal abuse or bombs raining down on me I’d opt for the abuse. Go McT!

63. Lochside

McSneernan take it to the bank….Bank of Toytown? or in his case …Spermbank…and as for Trump…watched him the other night at the Republican hatefest..jutting imperious jaw and hair…like a cross between Mussolini and Liberace…Mussorace or Liberolini anyone?

64. Ian Brotherhood

@Lochside –

‘…a cross between Mussolini and Liberace.’

Soo-perb.

He plays ‘chopsticks’, best as he can – if you don’t applaud vigorously you end up in a gulag.

Lambrini wouldn’t be far off the mark either – ‘Fascists Just Wanna Have Fun!’

65. chris kilby

The guy’s a fud.

66. JLT

So (…with a resigned shake of the head) ….McTernan’s cursed it again (….sigh)

67. Albert Herring

McTearwan’s an arsehole and no even a new one.

68. dakk

He’s no half a jobbie bum,but then I thought Remain was a certainty and Belgium would win Euros so I shouldn’t judge Mr John too harshly personally.

69. Les Wilson

The US elections. What is sure is there are now two unsuitable, decisive candidates left. Trump is an opportunist who has taken his chance, and Clinton is erratic leaning on to bonkers, and possibly and out and out crook protected by elites.

I cannot see any outcome that will not effect the US, and subsequently the world, in any positive way.

Sanders was at least a voice of reason, but the America elites
    considered him a step too far and have subverted his chance, as elites all over the world do in their own scenario, to protect their own.

God help America, god help the world.

70. Swami Backverandah

Trump is seen as someone who comes from a different sphere than career politics, and can be seen as a new broom sweeping away the unpopular policies of previous Governments.

He’s certainly got the hair for it.

71. Iain More

I think somebody needs to tell the Democrats that they really need to pick Bernie now!

72. Big jock

Does McTernan get a new zit every time he gets a prediction wrong(Like Pinocchio). Christ he has made some howlers with that face.

73. shug

I have to say I seem to be hearing unionists getting more and more vitriolic in their attacks on the Scottish Government across all subjects. Even on the BBC this morning they were almost spitting with rage that the Scottish government might want to protect our position in Europe.

A few friends have even started circulating anti SNP graphics which seemed quite childish initially, but on following them to their source seem to be from the Orange Lodge or Scottish, seriously right wing organizations (based around Rangers).

I have to say I think we are moving into quite scary territory where I can see the government arming these types and providing all the intelligence support they require.

When I reviewed their web sites I could see these people in George Square with union jacks and giving Nazi salutes.
    Am I alone in this observation??

74. shug

Eventually found a report of EU funding and jobs at risk for this year;

£5,969 millions in investment and 171,000 jobs are directly supported by the EU

75. john mcguire ( Not Sarah Nuff )

Not sure if this has been posted before – its from Little Big Man. Richard Mulligan ( Burt from Soap )is General Custer speaking about Dustin Hoffmans character.
    BUT…I always think of McTernan now : )

http://www.filehosting.org/file/details/588624/reverse_barometer.wav

76. Foonurt

“Not gonna happen”.

“USA!,USA!,USA!”.

77. Peter Clive

I hope the yanks don’t try to emulate the reactionary insurrection of Brexit and remember the more positive constructive insurrection of the Yes Movement:

http://moflomojo.blogspot.com/2016/07/the-arena-and-agora.html

78. Peter Barjonas

Good on you, Johnny McT, you haven’t let us down.

79. Macart

The greatest trick the devil ever pulled… etc.

An anti establishment vote and two fingers to the elite.

Uh huh!

I think the poor American public are in for a rude shock.

80. Iain Ross

Not sure what to make of the US election, it seems like a bit of a circus to me. Anyway the most reasonable comment I have heard being made relates not to the result per say but to what it represents i.e. a reaction against the political establishment. This appears to also be present in the Brexit outcome, in Spain, here etc and as such reflects a general distrust across Western democracies.

For me the sad point in all of this is that we, the Scots, seem to be the only people who had an opportunity to make a mark like this and turned it down. Perhaps shows the impact of 300 years of having your face rubbed in it, instead of reacting the majority just accept their fate willingly.

81. schrodingers cat

mmm, so we didnt dodge that bullet

his first presidential visit will be to london, the queen, the tories and the bbc will kiss his arse

did you notice how little criticism of trump there has been from theresa may and her government? the smart move. The uk/us trade deal will be back at the front of the cue and the ukippers and brexiteers will love trump for that

trump will oblige them all by putting the boot into scotland, nicola, the snp and the yes campaign

“America will block any attempt by scotland to break away from the UK etc etc…The US will block all trade deals with an indy scotland…etc”

we can witter on about what currency an iscotland will use, but trump will ensure we lose the economic argument in indyref2

the snp picked a fight with someone who just became the most powerful person on the planet, pay back time for us will be pretty high on his agenda.

bad day all round

82. schrodingers cat

a £5 accumulator on leicester, brexit and trump would have paid out £12.5 million today

bugger

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.