Boom and bust

Posted on January 27, 2014 by

We’ve been documenting lately the number of “Better Together” scare stories that have been horribly sagging under the weight of scrutiny since the turn of the year. But yesterday saw perhaps the No camp’s most significant boob yet.

Ladies’ foundation-garment manufacturer Michelle Mone has for some years insisted that she would pack up and leave Scotland – taking her factory and its attendant jobs with her – should Scotland have the temerity to vote for independence, causing much wailing and gnashing of teeth among the populace.

Yesterday, we’re delighted to report, she changed her mind.

monemoanmoan

Speaking in the Scottish Mail On Sunday (which appears to have dedicated itself to providing this site with material of late), Mone reacted angrily to news of the Scottish Government’s plan to impose a 40% quota of top boardroom jobs for women, blasting:

“If their ridiculous policy becomes law, I will challenge it all the way to the European courts.”

As we assume that in order to do so Ms Mone would have to be staying in Scotland after all, the story is in fact good news. (As is her apparent belief that an independent Scotland would definitely still be in the EU.) She may have her knockers among those who favour a Yes vote, but we’re sure they’ll welcome this new-found expression of confidence in Scotland, and be grateful for the extra support.

Do the rest of the jokes yourselves.

129 to “Boom and bust”

1. Alabaman

If she leaves her politics behind, she can knock on my door anytime!.

2. Indy

Lesley Riddoch has a piece about this in Scotman. The SNP has managed to get the proportion of women on public boards up to 35pc just by dint of persuasion but she is right, having a policy would be better – and less time consuming for ministers. It’s no biggie really, it’s an EU wide target, not some mad idea thought up by equality-crazed cybernats. The UK Government is against it, naturally. The rest of Europe will go ahead regardless and probably just sigh and shake their heads at the sight of UK demanding to be able to keep power firmly in the hands of the public schoolboy club. Cos that has worked so well.

3. sneddon

It’s good to know that underneath everything she’s a firm supportor of business in Scotland, nothing underwired about her…I’ll get ma coat 🙂

4. tartanfever

This time last year she made the press by running the scare story that she’ll leave Scotland if we vote for independence.

It happened to coincide with the launch a few days later of her latest range of underwear.

No such thing as bad press I suppose, but pretty cynical.

This year she’s had her underwear launch a couple of weeks ago and now she’s making the newspapers, not only with this story, but she’s been out and about in London being ‘papped’ by the Daily Mail (all a set up of course) and skiing in St.Moritz.

Maybe sales aren’t going as well as expected ?

5. Doug Daniel

As we assume that in order to do so Ms Mone would have to be staying in Scotland after all, the story is in fact good news.

Good news? This is awful news! I was only voting Yes to herald a mass emigration of right-wing ninnies.

Oh well, at least it shows Michelle is keeping abreast of the news. Maybe this will give people a bit of a lift?

6. K1

Well then, that’s bra’ news, no more beating of the breast in rage at Scotland becoming Independent!

7. handclapping

Ah yes, what a clever person. An engineer told me that supporting women was more complicated even than the effect of a coal train on the Forth Bridge.

8. Roddy Macdonald

My Scoto-German friend says “Wunderbra!”, oh sorry “Wunderbar!”

IGMC

9. Roddy Macdonald

Is this an attempt to erase the sight of John Barrowman making a right tit of himself with his Immortal Mammary from the public consciousness?

10. Rgweir

A well constructed piece but i tended to wander from the text and focus on the image.i am surprised the Rev has decided to go tabloid though.

11. Doug Daniel

What’s the difference between Ultimo bras and BetterTogether? Ultimo bras force boobs together in the name of duping onlookers into believing they’re more impressive than they really are, but as soon as you remove the support, they fall apart; whereas BetterTogether… oh.

12. Dave Beveridge

She obviously thinks we’d go bust without the support of Westminster.

Here endeth my contribution to the bad bra pun jokes soon to infest this thread.

13. Dave Beveridge

Damn – the rev already used it in the title. Oh well.

14. Wp

She was leaving Scotland when labour got in,then she was leaving when SNP got in,now at last independence is coming maybe she will.

15. Mealer

Anytime I hear someone say they’ll leave Scotland if we choose to be a normal,independent country I’m reminded of that old Roger Whitaker song….”there’s a ship lies rigged and ready in the harbour.Tomorrow for old England she sails…”.Its good to hear Ms Mone has changed her mind and will be doing business in a prosperous,independent Scotland.

16. Alan Mackintosh

Cmon Rev, your milking this story a bit…

17. peter stoneman

how can people love scotland yet say if we go indy want to leave it? with a no vote im staying…its still scotland…..i loath this lass

18. cynicalHighlander

Bet she didn’t cross her heart though.

19. Gillie

Is she arguing with herself being a female director?

20. mato21

I’m sure the Chinese workers will be supportive, cannot have them rise above their station in life

Has she increased her Scottish workforce from what was it again, 43 or thereabouts?

21. Juteman

Titter.

22. handclapping

If I was the only bra maker in the country I’d not be moving on independence. Think of the sales when you advertise as “Scotland’s only supporter”

PS OT Does anyone know why it is called a Jocks(s)trap?

23. desimond

Rev, surely Wings is better than this. Time to nip it in the bud me thinks.

Michelles Mone’s the only person in History who seems to have actually gotten more manic after giving up drinking Irn Bru.

24. Taranaich

Normally I would object to this sort of thing, but since feminine upholstery is her occupation, I’m happy to treat the jokes more as puns on her job than her person.

Erm. Matron?

25. JOHN KING

Maybe she just wants to make a clean breast of it.

26. Kenny Campbell

Did she not actually originally say that she’d leave if Scotland voted in an SNP government ? I’m pretty sure that story has changed as the public have met her demands

27. McHaggis

I come to Wings for serious insight, not this kind of unsupported pap. I just had to get that off my chest sorry. Anyway, I will allow this one boob, Stu, and perhaps if you can get back to political discourse?

ta-ta!

28. Ericmac

I have heard that she also has a farm full of sheep with two sheepdog that round them up and point them in the right direction…

29. scaredy cat.

Sorry to go O/T but wanted to mention that this year’s march and rally has been called off 🙁

30. Memphisto

According to the Herald

“It is understood MJM International is now in the process of being hived up into Ultimo Brands International.

According to Companies House UBI was formed in January this year and is registered in London.”

Maybe this is what she meant by leaving Scotland…of course since most of her workforce are based in Sri Lanka it probably wont be much of a loss for Scotland, especially since the business made a half million loss in recent year or so.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/business/company-news/mjm-profits-warning-follows-mone-split.22684811

31. G H Graham

Her confidence in Scottish garment manufacturing was so high in 2010 that according to a finance article at

http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/how-michelle-mone-made-%C2%A339m-from-building-better-bras.html

she employed through a partnership deal, 1200 factory workers in China.

And in 2009, she apparently threatened to leave Britain if the top rate of tax were to be increased.

The proportion of female directors of FTSE 100 companies is only 19%. Apparently Vince Cable’s claims the UK Gov has set a target of 25% to be met by 2015.

(Source: http://tinyurl.com/pfbabnp)

A report from Lord Davies, Women on Boards, which was commissioned after a study by the Equalities and Human Rights Commission showed that, without further action, it would take 70 years to achieve gender-balanced boardrooms in the UK’s top 100 companies.

Now that we know what Michelle Mone thinks of setting ambitious targets for women in board rooms, will she now be taking the UK Government to the European Courts as well?

32. Ericmac

This a true story… A running friend of mine used to be a Product Engineer at a well known multinational that manufactured ladies underwear.

They used live models during some production meeting. He told me it was the only meetings in his life where there was 100% turn-up, perfect time keeping and maximum concentration on the work.

33. Gillie

Michelle Mone has also threatened to leave the UK if the top rate of tax was increased.

I wonder if Ed Balls has done us all a favour.

34. Brendan hynes

The last I heard her company was about to go bust, sorry burst !

35. Ericmac

@scaredy cat

How do you know? Are you sure?

One way or another, there will be a March

36. Kenny Campbell

http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2007/may/02/backtoreality

mentions Moane saying she would leave is SNP win…well worth a read for the chuckle alone ..

37. Breastplate

Gosh, that particular Kenny Everett character that I mentioned on the previous thread would apply here too.

38. scaredy cat.

@ Ericmac.
    It was announced on their facebook page today.

39. Macart

Well they certainly padded out that piece and sneaked it in underwire.

Ah’ll get ma coat.

40. Bill Dunblane

More circumambages than you could poke a stick at!

Eat your heart out Brian Taylor! 😉

41. Jon D

Definitely the breast article on Wings for some time. (.) (.)

42. Jimsie

People appointed to boardroom jobs will in future be required to wear a bra. In the interests of equality this of course includes men.Man boobs r us have produced a nice range of these.

43. Flower of Scotland

Let’s just say bye bye Michele and talk about something more interesting !

44. Bugger (the Panda)

Both of them can bugger off, as far as I am concerned.

45. Bill C

Sorry to go o/t but some important and in my view hugely disappointing news. This year’s March and Rally has been cancelled. Confirmation here:http://uk-mg-bt.mail.yahoo.com/neo/launch?.partner=bt-1&.rand=ddnlmkpoaubcd

46. alexicon

Well she’s certainly got her knickers in a twist, who the hell does she thong she is?
    Her argument has more holes than a [G] string vest or is this just another storm in a [B] cup?

I’ll get my coat

47. Bill C

Sorry folks just ignore that link, don’t know what has happened there. However the March and Rally has been cancelled.

48. Papadocx

What is it with all these “PROUD SCOTS” who are going to decamp if they loose the mastas protection. They obviously need a superior to allow them to feel safe and secure and give them direction in life. HOW INSECURE CAN PEOPLE BE REDUCED TO?

49. HandandShrimp

I feel a bit let down

Off to get my coat too

50. Gillie

Bill C says: Sorry folks just ignore that link, don’t know what has happened there. However the March and Rally has been cancelled.

Do you have confirmation of that?

51. Triangular Ears

I saw her in B&Q once. She’s an impressive woman, stature-wise. She should learn to bite her tongue a bit though.

Also, we keep hearing that she supposedly invented some type of bra, but I remember reading that she actually just obtained the UK (European maybe?) rights for some US bra that somebody else invented. I’m not sure which one is correct.

I actually don’t think she’s a terrible person, but she does herself no good with these threats to leave if she doesn’t get her own way, as if anyone actually cares what she thinks.

52. Les Wilson

If the March has been cancelled, then that is a shame. However in my view it was proposed too close to the big day.
    Nevertheless, there should be a march, June-July perhaps.
    That gives us a boost, and clear heads for the run in.

53. Bigdrone

Titivating and all as Michelle is …. what’s the score re this year’s march and rally????

54. Alba4Eva

This woman seems to be constantly making boobs.

55. X_Sticks

I can confirm rally cancelled – got an email this morning.

Dear Supporter
    Both the 2012 and 2013 rallies have been a fantastic success in bringing together many thousands of independence supporters to demonstrate the strength of the Scottish Independence movement and to hear from some of the best advocates of Scottish independence. But we know the focus this year has got to be on persuading the many undecided voters all over Scotland, crucially in their own communities, and that will call for different types of events.

We are aware that some people would like to see a similar gathering to 2012/13 this summer and we fully understand the benefits that the previous events brought but for the reasons above we would encourage everyone to engage and support events in their own areas and to keep in touch with YES Scotland for a full list of events and other initiatives that they can support and attend.

Thank you all for your support in both 2012 and 2013 and here is to a resounding YES result this September.

Jeff Duncan, Anne McMillan and Allan Hendry
    March & Rally Organisers

Sounds like YES may have asked them to cancel in favour of local rallies. Shame, I’d have done both. Room here for a Wings organised rally?

56. scottish_skier

Apropos of nothing.

Just thought I’d say hello from Stavanger.

Man if only we could send each DK / soft No over for a day.

Anyway, meeting went very well and just secured another wee modest bit of FDI for bonnie Scotland. Could get yourself a few underwired bras with it certainly.

57. Luigi

C’mon guys,
    It’s only natural for a designer of Ultimo bras to be in favour of “Better Together”.

58. Ananurhing

Moane by name, Moan by nature. A storm in a D cup.

Coat, exit, gone already.

59. Bill C

@Gillie Here is confirmation of cancellation of March and Rally: http://us6.campaign-archive1.com/?u=b61380309a1d291fd909986a0&id=debcb77f0f&e=beb33aa7fd

60. JasonF

Cancelling the rally is probably a good idea – anything that close to the referendum could well backfire on Yes.

A lot of voters won’t make up their mind until the last moment, and those people could be put of by anything that might look to them like ‘nationalism’.

Also, it would risk looking victorious, possibly putting some people off, and making others complacent.

61. Luigi

JasonF:

Cancelling the rally is probably a good idea – anything that close to the referendum could well backfire on Yes.

A lot of voters won’t make up their mind until the last moment, and those people could be put of by anything that might look to them like ‘nationalism’.

Also, it would risk looking victorious, possibly putting some people off, and making others complacent.

I agree fully – it would have been a blast though!

62. HandandShrimp

Shame about the rally, last year was a cracker, decent weather and a great turnout but I did think that earlier in the summer would be better this year given we are voting in Sept. however, I know there is a lot going on over this summer.

That said if we can get tens of thousands of activists on the streets supporting Yes stalls and rallies all over the country this summer that will have a huge impact on the public perception of our presence. The media went out of their way to ignore and downplay the rally and thus it slid past the consciousness of many.

63. Luigi

Remember Neil Kinnock’s “victory” rally, just days before he fell flat on his arse in the 1992 GE?

Good idea to avoid creating the wrong impression so near to the vote. The MSM would have a field day.

64. Roboscot

Twitter ye not.

65. patronsaintofcats

I got a email this morning from the organisers:

Dear Supporter
    Both the 2012 and 2013 rallies have been fantastic successes in bringing together many thousands of independence supporters to demonstrate the strength of the Scottish Independence movement
    And to hear from some of the best advocates of Scottish Independence. But we know the focus this year has got to be on persuading the many undecided voters all over Scotland, crucially in their own communities, and that will call for different types of events.

We are aware that some people would like to see a similar gathering to 2012/2013 this summer and we fully understand the benefits that the previous events brought. It for the reasons above we would encourage everyone to engage and support events in their own areas and to keep in touch with YES Scotland for a full list of events and other initiatives that they can support and attend.

Thank you all for your support in both 2012 and 2013 and here is to a resounding YES result this September.

Jeff Duncan, Anne McMillan and Allan Hendry
    March and Rally Organisers

66. EmbraBoffin

Perhaps lady supporters of Independence should switch to Playtex Cross Your Heart bras? I’m sure that was famous for separating and lifting?

67. proudscot

I tend to agree with Ms Mone that merit should count in boardroom membership, rather than the mere fulfilling of politically motivated quotas no matter how well intentioned.

So remind me, how did Johann Lamont and Ruth Davidson get to be “leaders” of their respective parties?

Re the disappointing news about the cancellation of this year’s projected march and rally, can the Rev Stu confirm this, and if so the reason(s)?

68. proudscot

Oops, I made my foregoing post about the cancellation of the march and rally before seeing the subsequent post by “patonsaintofcats”. Carry on Rev Stu, just ignore me.

69. Rab.c

OT anybody heard how Dougie Alexander’s speech went down at BT rally.

And how many thousand attended ?

70. Conan_the_Librarian

The puns on here are udder crap.

71. mogabee

Well EXCUSE me! Is there nothing for the female readership to innuendo over?

72. dave kemp

She does indeed have her knockers..

73. Alba4Eva

I actually think the puns are quite cossetted by folk on here Conan. 🙂

74. Itsagoingwrang

MJM is now part-owned by a Sri Lankan company I believe so the likelihood of expanding any manufacturing jobs in the UK, never mind Scotland, is probably zero. Still, as long as they make money, those monies are hopefully coming back here. We don’t want to be encouraging any businesses to leave.

75. Schiehallion! Schiehallion!

Bravo, MiMo.

76. Ananurhing

“she would pack up and leave Scotland – taking her factory and its attendant jobs with her”

She needs to make her mind up. Better together?
    Or round ’em up and head ’em out?

77. Molly

Disappointed with the cancellation of the march but wouldn’t it be great to have something like a Festival of Yes? Where loads of stalls from farmers for Indy to Artists for Indy could showcase their stuff but be on hand to talk to the public directly.A stage where the comedians, musicians, poets could strut their stuff.Political stalls , food stalls, book stalls small business stalls, a national collective if you like.

Showing the Scotland we live in , a modern Scotland looking forward and having fun with everyone invited ?

78. Seanair

Slightly O/T, but does anyone remember Sandy Crombie CEO of Standard Life promising that he would remove SL from Scotland if we got DEVOLUTION?

In a Herald supplement on Edinburgh the other day the bold SC was extolling the viirtues of the Finance industry in the city (which still contains SL)

No doubt he trousered some money for the article–the hypocrite.

Michelle Moan–well named.

79. Kev

Ah big Michelle moanin again..If this wummin had any observation skills she would see that this sort of measure is spreading all across Europe and beyond, indeed, according to this report the EC has an objective to “increase the number of women members in boardrooms to 30% by 2015 and 40% by 2020″…

http://archive.is/vFoZ1

80. jingly jangly

Rab.c

I guess there would have been about 25 thousand at Ibrox on Saturday.

I am glad to see you have managed to figure out how to make a post, and therefore you can keep the Invasion of the Cybernats Mug that I sent you, lol

81. handclapping

March and Rally were cancelled as Stu couldn’t afford the number of wings he’d have to hand out 🙂

82. RoughMan

I feel the cringe coming on; we can’t march in case we lose, we can’t march ‘cos there’s so much else going on, we can’t march ‘cos nobody notices anyway, we can’t march ‘cos ‘cos ‘cos…

FFS folks, wake up! We need to do this for our kids. We need to get out there, marching, shouting, singing, so many, so loud, so strong that we can’t be ignored, we WILL be noticed, and we CAN do all the other stuff AS WELL.

All we have to do is pick the right date and find some organisers.

Never give in, never give up.

83. RoughMan

I’ll get ma coat…

84. pmcrek

Did nobody have the heart to tell her the 40% gender proposal came from the European Commission in the first place?

85. JasonF

Molly says: Disappointed with the cancellation of the march but wouldn’t it be great to have something like a Festival of Yes?

Small festivals across Scotland, particularly in the cities, on different weekends over the summer would be a great idea – events which are very clearly open to all, and not just those who are already Yes. But broad in scope, too – not just for ‘creatives’. This seems to fit well with what rally organisers were suggesting.

86. cjmasta

Disappointed about the march and rally, last years was great but we do need to be getting out in our local areas as much as possible.
    When people get engaged with the foot soldiers for YES and with fewer BT ones apart from maybe some shipped up from England during the campaign we`re more likely to get folk to actually turn up to vote for us.
    I think BT are well aware of this.

87. pictishbeastie

I was going to make a comment but was afraid I’d make a tit of myself!

88. CameronB

Itsagoingwrang
    According to Mephisto’s post @ 12.31pm, MJM International’s Registered Office is in London. That means all tax receipts from MJMI business conducted in Britain, will be recorded as London’s turnover.

Personally, I don’t think Scotland would be any the worse without her.

89. ScotsCanuck

Looking at that picture of Michelle Mone reminded me of Charlie Drake and his famous catchphrase ” hallo my darlings “.

Yes, I am that old and my coats already on …. when’s the next bus tae Partick ?

90. ronnie anderson

Well,here,s a suprize Ms Mone, ah dont wear bra,s, but ah

dae know, they LIFT UP, An SEPERATE.

Ah bit like, YES campainer,s,

Awe lift me Up Higher Than A Mountain, if you,s canny sing

jist whistle while you,s work,keep it up lad,s n lasses.

91. Barontorc

If YES is behind the cancellation of the Rally and March it’s an indication of the detail and planning going into everything associated with YES.

BT and their BBC/STV and MSM pals haven’t a hope in hell of matching such preparation and they know it full well.

Who’ll know for certain what’s going on behind the scenes, but the cancellation maybe to do with the wind of a black-ops plan to disrupt an discredit YES and I wouldn’t be surprised in the least.

We’ll recall the Union Jack episode in the Gardens two years ago – it has been done once and it’ll be easy to do again only with bells on and BTW, whatever happened to the UJ crew taken into custody that day? It went all quiet didn’t it?

92. Alabaman

ScotsCanuck,
    Aye and the “darlings” are staring right at you ,in that picture which declares she is a ” self-made woman” och aye, I’ll get my kilt on the way out.

93. ronnie anderson

Ah would suggest a new merchandize line fur you Ms Moan

Barbed Wire nicker,s n bra,s

you could caw them The RENNARD COLLECTION,ah hear tell

M n S dey a good line in knicker,s n bra,s

ah lot cheaper than your,s, so say,s ma Wife.

94. ronnie anderson

Is Frankie Howard posting on here,some body jist cawed me a

Tit, Oh titter ye not.

95. Weedeochandorris

Berlei Berlei funny guys. 🙂

96. David McCann

Watch out for this item on tonight’s TV news

97. ronnie anderson

Rev, re my E Mail on Sun,remind me how many book,s has

Bill Ode, written on Twitter,s,re think per pap,s

Why o why do you give us licence to do this.

The D M, will fun oot.

98. Neil Mackenzie

Surely there’s a specific word for that many Benny Hill type puns in such a limited space?

99. Dave McEwan Hill

March cancellation very disappointing. It was going to be our reward for our activists.
    Still believe we would profit from a rally in Glasgow.

Can we organise victory rally for the following weekend instead?

100. GP Walrus

Terrible puns in the headline Rev. I’m surprised you didn’t add a similarly low strapline.

101. Morag

I wonder why they cancelled? We can afford one Saturday to have fun together, surely? And it would hardly be wasted, because the BBC would have to cover it this time. Anecdotal reports of people in Edinburgh last year deciding to vote Yes on the strength of the turnout and the happy faces.

102. Harry Shanks

Perhaps one reason for cancellation is that anything less that 1 million on the streets (a la Catalonia) would be ridiculed by the BT mob – just last week a BBC News piece on Catalonia allowed BT the airtime and opportunity to rubbish the 2013 march on a comparative basis.

103. Suzanne K

So, positive discrimination to enable more ethnic minorities and women to hold high ranking posts in the Forces is okay, but female director legislation is a no no? Has she heard the word persecution because women and ethnic minorities certainly have!

104. ronnie anderson

@ScotsCanuk,2.47,git yer coat aff n stye in, it,s to cauld

ootside fur us aulder wan,s dont be a proper Charlie

105. Dal Riata

Re: March and Rally cancellation(?)

If the March and Rally really has been postponed this year then I’m totally gutted. I was at the first one and had a blast, but couldn’t make last year’s because of overseas committments, which was disappointing. However, that disappointment was diminished somewhat by the thought of attending the final Rally in 2014… And now I’m being told it has been cancelled…Aaargh!

I would have expected this year’s Rally attendance to easily surpass that of those previous. Plus, by summer, the voting numbers for ‘Yes’could have already gone past the 50% mark. With that, and the referendum itself almost upon us at that time, I’m sure the atmosphere would be terrific and with lots of positivity in the air. Also, it’s a bloody great day out if nothing else!

Another thing. If the cancellation is definite, will that not just supply ammunition to the guns of the Better Together propagandists? Yes, the previous Rallys were deliberately ignored as much as possible by the MSM, but this cancellation would give them the excuse to spread more smear, sneer and fear about the “people of Scotland rejecting ‘separatism'” bullshit, however mendacious and hypocritical that may be.

Finally, having had a March and Rally in 2012 and 2013, surely there has to be one in 2014, the year of the referendum itself. Here’s hoping that something of the sort happens this year, even if it is not what was originally envisaged to occur.

106. Morag

I was thinking more likely they were worried there might be north of 100,000 and crowd control would be a problem?

107. Ken500

Making losses.

Not the smartest cookie. Fighting it all the way to the EU. It’s EU policy.

108. ronnie anderson

@Neil Mac Kenzie, 3.44 there is a word fur that many pun,s

its PH UNNY.

109. tony o'neill

Nice knockers awe the same lol.

110. Ken500

There is always Unionist opposite to the Marching Rally from various quarters. From petty legislation to health & safety etc. There are demands for thousands of pounds etc for insurance and minor by Laws. That is why it often ends up being held in less accessible places or areas. It has hung on a thread too many tines to mention. One the main organisers, in fact the main organiser, is ill.

E,g. The National Trust or the Crown? will not allow it to be held in Holyrood grounds. Unionist football stadiums will not allow it to be held at their premises. The rugby Stadium asked for £thousands. There are Unionist (in high places) from the Police down who try and prevent the Marching Rally in every way possible. It is not easy!

111. Andy-B

Corset its a good idea, and its an uplifting experience, to have her on board again.

112. Doug Daniel

It may simply be that organising the rally was proving to be a logistical nightmare. It was going to be happening right at the tail end of the Fringe, it may have been proving impossible to arrange a suitable location, transport may have been a problem – who knows?

Or it may simply have been that the organisers just couldn’t commit themselves to organising it again, for reasons that may be none of our business. Or maybe they simply figured that the time, money and effort required would be better spent in other ways. I remember they did some fundraising last year – perhaps it would just have been too expensive to put on a bigger one this time around?

It would be nice to know for sure, but it’s entirely their prerogative.

113. Morag

It would also be nice to know for sure, for people who might want to step into the breach. I wouldn’t die of shock if some might consider it, and it would be good to know the real reason if that’s the case.

114. Ken500

Her man left with her workmate

115. ronnie anderson

Dont give up on Rally,s folk,s,the shakle,s are aff,

we,re the grassroot,s supporter,s,I did,nt make the Rally ither last year through Illness,but I had hoped after April I would be attending some Rally,s,in every CITY in SCOTLAND ,nothing to do with crowd control & Police, YES Scotland dont control many YES supporter,s an am a member of Airdrie YES.

Time for WINGS to take on the mantle,of direct action,more for to show the Scottish public the STV / BBC BIAS, & how much the BT / British state, can,& do control Public Information, what we re allowed to see / think.

The latest statement from Mr Snowden ie NSA/GCHQ should have us up in arm,s Goverment,s gathering information for use by the Builderberg,s of this world,& they get richer as do the Politicion,s TAX PAYER,s footing the bill in the quise of Terrorism ??? Who,s the Terrorist

116. Dal Riata

If the March and Rally 2014 is indeed cancelled I’m sure we’ll find out the reason(s) why soon enough. But the following statement, however earnest in its ideals, just doesn’t ‘feel’ right, like a cop-out or something:

But we know the focus this year has got to be on persuading the many undecided voters all over Scotland, crucially in their own communities, and that will call for different types of events.

Yes, but those “different types of events”, fine as they may be, will not pull in the numbers that one ‘mass’ rally would.

The visualisation of so many of Scotland’s people, and others, together as one in support of an independent Scotland just weeks before the actual vote would have done a lot to help, surely, in “persuading the many undecided voters all over Scotland”, just as much as, and if not more than, those in 2012 and 2013.

I’m at a loss. I don’t get it, I really don’t.

117. Dal Riata

@ Ken500 (4.30 pm) Thanks for the info.

@ Doug Daniel (4.40 pm) Yes, fair enough, good points.

118. Jimbo

I’m pleased Ms Mone is staying.

We will need more people like her in an independent Scotland – And she is right, it is a ridiculous policy.

119. A2

On the rally, I would rather spend that one day persuading that last tricky Don’t know, then we can have a massive party the next week.

On the other matter, anyone making a decision to leave before seeing if it goes tits up .. err, what actually happens is pretty dim.

O/T it just occurred to me. Once all the dust settles can we start buying into rUK utilities like the french and chinese? perhaps Scottish water might make a better job of running Thames water than it’s current management?

120. Croompenstein

@Dal Riata I think that yes will be ahead or very close in the polls by the time of the rally and a mass rally may be perceived as triumphalism re kinnocks sheffield wednesday which may turn some people against yes

121. Graeme McCormick

I hear that the Marist Brothers at St Aloysius Academy heave a sigh of relief when Ms Mone is not on the school run.

The air can be somewhat blue

122. CameronB

A2
    That is genius.

An oil fund should enable the SG to buy in to English utilities, thereby helping to protect English consumers from the price gouging we are all currently experiencing. Only after we are up and running ourselves, of course.

Now that’s “pooling and sharing” I could support.

123. Lochside

I find it very dispiriting that the march is off. I attended the last two and felt momentum was building publicly.

Only in Scotland are we able to convince ourselves that few or indeed no public demonstrations for our Country’s liberty is ‘for the better’.

If our cause is not strong enough to be supported publicly in large numbers, then what is?

A large demo does not equate triumphalism. We are not the Orange order with their ugly hatred. We are demanding our civic right to rule ourselves.

Surely that is why we need to encourage the waverers by marching collectively with hope in our hearts and smiles on our faces…not a boastful pride?

124. Ian Brotherhood

I’ve only just caught up with this ‘rally cancelled’ stuff.

Is a possible alternative the Glasgow Cathedral gig, the WWI ‘commemoration’. Forget the date, but there’s bound to be something organised, maybe on Glasgow Green, and that would probably be a better venue than Calton Hill anyway?

Don’t know…really just thinking aloud, but, like many above, properly scunnered the big day’s off. It’s all well and good having dozens of smaller events at different times and places across the country, but there’s nothing like a gathering to ram home the message.

The whole world will be watching (apart from the BBC) and we need at least one opportunity to let off steam (like the two-minute rumpus when Blair spoke at the Armadillo) and leave no doubt that we really do speak for the majority in this country.

125. Ian Brotherhood

@Dal Riata –

‘Yes, fair enough, good points.’

Thanks for bringing us back on-topic.

126. Appleby

By the sound of it she’s so out her depth or more likely filled with rabid knee-jerk hate she can’t even keep her opinions and ideas consistent and instead simply says she’ll do or support the opposite of whatever the SNP or current Scottish Government says.

127. Dal Riata

@Ian Brotherhood

LOL!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.