Agent Shirlie

Posted on April 08, 2021 by

So, this absolute bumhole has just achieved what the combined massed forces of the Unionist establishment and the SNP Twitler Youth alike couldn’t – she’s basically shut down Wings Over Scotland.

Stealthily making her way last night past all the fortifications designed to prevent her and her five associates (Pepsi, Daphne, Celeste, Coco and Rosie, if you’re interested) from travelling from the Palatial Rat Environment to the danger-strewn floor of the Wings office, the tiny furry idiot above holed herself up behind my printer, idly chewing on its USB cable to pass the time even though there was food everywhere, including the packet of biscuits the little sod had dragged down off my desk .

I eventually located her at around 2am, and as I moved the printer to get to her there was a crackle and a bang and a flash and a burning smell from the mangled cable.

I thought little of it in the moment because the printer (like all printers) is nothing but a total arseache and barely used anyway, but 10 minutes later, having finally recaptured the prisoner and locked her up in solitary for the night to think about what she’d done, I noticed that my PC was dead.

It’s not even directly connected to the printer – there’s a USB hub between them and they’re plugged into different power strips. And there was no sign of anything charred or exploded on the PC itself. But the power button has absolutely no effect any more.

I did all the obvious stuff like unplugging it and leaving it for a few hours, but it didn’t help. I’m certain something like this happened before and there was a clever hack trick involving doing some kind of stuff with the power lead and buttons in a certain order that brought it back to life, but I haven’t managed to Google it again yet. And obviously all the repair places are closed and my delving-around-inside-PCs skills are minimal.

I’m typing this on an emergency solution which is no good for everyday use, so if anyone’s got any tech knowhow and can think of ways that might get the PC working again, and which can be carried out by a halfwit, I’m all ears. Even they’re not as cute as Bonehead McSaboteur up there’s.

319 to “Agent Shirlie”

1. David

Could be a fuse in the main PC power cable.

2. Rose Ford

Sorry, but this made me laugh out loud lol
    Hopefully some clever techy soul will come on soon to help.
    She is VERY cute 🙂

3. P

Jeez you got me going for a minute
    When I saw Shirlie, I immediately thought about SOS

4. Jason Smoothpiece

Reason number 11458 why it’s good not to have pets of any sort. Presume it is a pet?

5. Ruglonian

Shirlie not?
    (yes, my coat’s on!)

She is a beauty though so she’s forgiven her vile deeds.

6. ScotsWumman

Have you checked the fuse inside the plug? If it is a sealed unit, plug in another power cable that you know still works.

7. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I replaced the power lead and it made no difference. The socket is also fine, anything else you plug into it works.

8. Bobby McPherson

Ah the wee bisom, cute and dangerous. I hope she is suitably ashamed.

9. Josh W

Probably the PSU is fucked. Just YouTube replacing PSU. Remove your current one and check the wattage. Order a similar one on Amazon. Put it in. They are cheap, don’t worry. Definitely a DIY job if you have YouTube.

10. Margaret

sounds like you’ve blown a fuse in one of your extension cables, is everything else working?

11. McLaurin

You appear to be affected by a Remote Access Trojan, otherwise known as a rat 😉

Sorry bud, I’m useless at tech. Hope you get it sorted soon.

12. Betty Boop

Saboteurs come in all sorts of disguises, do they not? Good luck with repairs. Me, I’m a technophobe so no help to anyone.

13. DrNobby

Change the fuses in all the plugs, the surge may have blown the fuses.

14. Macaulay Culkin

Try this number, they’re very helpful. 01786 469455

15. Dan

There might be some kind of internal power surge protection fuse on the motherboard / power supply.
    Rodent gnawing is a known drawback when using those tasty Apple products…

16. Astonished

The CIA trained dolphins and dogs. The KGB trained dogs.

Possibly Nicola has trained your rat ?

Anyway my dad always used to give our telly a good whack on the top if it played up. Have you tried this ?

P.S. laughing my socks off here.

17. MikeW

it will have caused a power surge, if you are lucky it might just have dead the power unit, if not the whole motherboard might be dead.

18. Scozzie

I’d bet Shirlie is working for MI5 she has to go… bloody double agent

19. Gavin

Thats not a rat…….

….its an MI5 mole!

20. Big G.

Can be as simple as holding the PC power button in until it performs a hard-reset. However, sounds like something has blown in your PC power supply – you may be lucky and it’s just an internal fuse.

21. Vronsky

Press down the ‘power on’ button and hold it firmly down for a count of at least ten. Release, then try a normal restart.

22. K.A.Mylchreest

Now you know what it’s like to be ratted on 😉

23. Bright Spark

Try checking the fuse box/consumer unit. Maybe a mains cable got shorted and blew the fuse? Or it could be a blown fuse in one of the power strips.

24. Paul

Assuming desktop not laptop then I would look at the internal power supply unit. Possible to canibalise an old desktop and swap it. If running several drives then original supply might have been over stretched. Good luck

25. kenmccoll

Check fuse for PC power lead hasn’t blown

check a lamp works in the wall socket

On the PC;
    Unplug all cables
    leave for a minute or so
    plug power back in and try
    add video and keyb/mouse

Seen PCs stay off because monitor was in a stupid powersave mode (admittedly VGA, so… old) – but try disconnect video cable and reboot

26. Stoker

LOL!

27. Martin

I know you’ve tried obvious things thus far, but I’d first check inside your computer case and look at the

motherboard.Does it have any lights on it at all? You usually have an LED that indicates the board has power. If you look closely it will be written on the board itself, next to any lights. If you have that, it’s a good start. If not, you might have a PSU issue and you could buy a replacement on Amazon or from a local computer store that is open for delivery only.

It’s also possible you have a button named POWER or START which is supposed to be so you can power on the motherboard with it being inside a computer case. Try that. If not, you can then look for a button called RESET which is meant for situations where a motherboard doesn’t boot correctly and needs to be reset. Hold it down for 10 secs, and then try again with the POWER/START.

Quite simply, if it looks completely dead, and a replacement kettle lead/switch off/on the PSU and cabling check doesn’t work, you’ve got something fried and need a technician.

28. Steveupnorth

Hi Rev, if you first unplug your computer then hold the power button down for 30 seconds then plug in your power supply again and try the power button again it might work

29. Mike Robertson

Sounds to me like a power surge as a result of Shilrlie’s idleness. If you have checked your mains trip’s and all is well and have tried a new IEC cable connected to your PC then will more than probably be the small internal 20mm fuse that sits in a small pull out cradle just where the IEC cable goes into the computer or actually inside the body of the computer…..fingers crossed.

30. Normski

Have you checked the fuse in the plug?

And the power supply with a handy power supply tester nobody should be without? https://uk.banggood.com/Digital-LCD-Power-Supply-Tester-for-PC-ATX-or-BTX-or-ITX-4Pin-SATA-HDD-p-938085.html

To be fair though, a decent short circuit, power surge or earth loop via the USB port might have fried your circuit board.

31. kenmccoll

I doub’t you have much in the way of internal addons (like an extra video card that supplants the onboard video?)

If you do remove them and try again.

Then re-add the replaced items one at a time

You can also try removing all RAM and re-adding one stick at a time.

32. Giesabrek

As Paul says above, it could be the internal power supply. It could also be the motherboard or PC switch (although the last one is unlikely to go in a power surge). Does the PSU have an accessible fuse?

To be honest, at this stage it’ll require an electrical meter or spare parts you can swap out to diagnose and fix the problem.

Can’t believe you don’t have an adequate backup solution… Between myself, the missus and kids, we have 3 laptops, 3 desktops, 4 tablets and 3 phones and we don’t do anything as remotely important as you do Stu.

BTW, you can join a bluetooth keyboard and mouse to a tablet PC if that’s what you’re currently working on?

33. Ian Mac

She’s obviously a sleeper agent.

Could be your PSU (power supply unit) inside the PC which has been blown out by a power surge. It is not difficult to replace them like for like, but obviously that won’t make a blind bit of difference if that isn’t the problem.

There are various methods on the internet for testing a PSU:

https://www.neweggbusiness.com/smartbuyer/components/how-to-troubleshoot-a-pc-power-supply/

but I would exercise caution if you’r not sure what your’e doing, or just phone a PC repair person, they might talk you through it.

34. Captain Yossarian

Mia will write in any time now to claim it is an agent of the British State.

I would buy a great muckle cat; you will not have a single rodent left in your joint after that.

35. kenmccoll

If not already got one, consider a surge protection extension, and maybe a mini UPS to act as a surge protector/power smoother on top of giving you a safe shutdown option when in event of a power outage.

36. mountain shadow

ALBA still polling pretty poorly, early days I know and maybe down to the low number of folk actually being polled.

I just hope we’re not in some wee bubble of ALBA supporters.

37. Ornith

Might be just the fuse blown in the plug to the power cable. Or a power surge protector (if you have one) between the computer and the mains is fried. Or a power surge may have hit the computer which can be serious. If you plug your power cable into another socket and you can’t hear the fans start when you try to start it your power supply or motherboard may be fried. You should hope it is the former as it can be replaced. If it’s the motherboard you will need to transfer your hard drive into another computer and throw the rest away. Your hard drive is unlikely to be damaged but it’s possible if it’s not a solid state drive. But if it’s a relatively new computer it could well be.

38. Craig Macinnes

Get a back up ya tight git! ?

39. Mac

My laptop went dead one day out the blue. One morning it did nothing when I tried to power it up. I did something similar to what vronsky says to do. I thought it was goner but then it just started up like nothing was wrong and has been fine since.

I googled the make of computer and the problem and it came up that quite a few other folk had the same issue. Never worked out what caused it.

I also cant see how this could have damaged your computer. Weird.

40. A Murison

Is this the modern version of McPhail complaint that the thing that goes up & doon is going roon & roon & the thing that goes roon & roon is goin up & doon? Good luck

41. Ryan

You are running a website from a standalone PC?

42. A Murison

Bluetooth printer next time Stu

43. Craig Gilchrist

New fuse in cable possibly. If it’s still not working I’d look into swapping out the Power Supply Unit- they normally have some sort of surge protection so more than likely stopped it from frying the main board. It’s a £70 fix available from Curry’s or Amazon, Scan etc. but check the Wattage of the one you have before purchasing. Drop me an email if you need a hand.

44. Dave Beveridge

Get a mouse instead. Cute or not I bet that made you cursor.

45. Jim Kerins

Plug something else in to the socket, see if it works. Might also be a fuse on the board that tripped. If these don’t work then it sounds like you power unit is kaput. If you have an old functional pc you could swap drives over but that takes someone who at least has a bit of a scooby.

46. Gerard McGhee

For the want of a cat the mouse was free
    For the freedom of a mouse the cable was lost
    For the want of a cable the computer was lost
    For the want of a computer, the samizdat was lost
    For the want of the samizdat, our freedom was lost
    For the want of our freedom, our realm was lost
    For the want of our realm, hope was lost
    and all for the want of a mouser cat!

47. Helen Yates

I needed laugh right now so thank Shirlie for me.
    Now I hope you get back up and running soon, we need all the help we can get.

48. ScottieDog

I smell a rat..
    Sorry

49. Dan

Well with naming a couple of those furry critters Pepsi and Shirlie you’ve got to expect some Heartache…

3 mins of chronic 80s pop song noiseage

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oZcgCgQ-nDc

50. Michael B

Off topic, re Ruth Wishart’s observation about George Galloway’s fedora. If he is elected, will he allowed to wear it in the Holyrood chamber? I think we should be told.

51. Eddie Munster

Could be the power unit thats been fried, (the thing you plug the power cable into). Plenty of YouTube tutorials that’ll help you.

52. GMP

Sounds like the PC’s PSU (Power Supply Unit).
    https://www.ebuyer.com/store/Components/cat/Power-Supplies

53. STEVEN ELLIOTT

It’s a turn on, turn off situation – do this enough times till it comes back

54. Anton Decadent

Photo needs a speech bubble saying “all your base are belong to us.”

55. Muscleguy

Obviously the separats have like the SNP been infiltrated by one passing herself off as dedicated separat but is in fact just a careerist in it for the chow and the chance to gnaw something vital every so often.

Without knowing the make and model of your device I cannot add more than others have. I am fairly handy at computer surgery but Dundee is not sufficiently adjacent to Bath with Lockdown and other commitments etc.

Time to get yourself a set of insulated micro screwdrivers consult the web for instructions (there are lots out there) for your precise machine and get in there. It is not as hard as it looks, honest. I’m a Biologist who knows his way around animal insides. If I can do computer surgery so can you.

56. The Hot Needle of Enquiry

Tabula materna combusta est!

Stu in modo pessimo est!

57. red sunset

As others have said above, relatively easy to change the power supply inside the PC.
    But they’re not all the same. Really need to get somebody who has at least passing experience of this.
    On the downside, it’s “possible” that a surge could have blown the motherboard. In which case you definitely need someone to look at it.

58. Paula

Have you tried taking the battery out of the base for a few minutes ? PC might reboot itself when you put it back in. Worth a try, ya never know. Cute wee assasin though, butter wouldn’t melt LOL

59. Pat

What a great photo.

60. Effigy

You will find that a nice MI5 agent with a
    “We are a genuine PC repair company” sign
    on their van will knock on your door and of to
    Bug it, no fix it for a fiver.

He will ask to use your bathroom and plant a mic
    In there just in case you make calls in there with the
    tap running.

I’d check the history of the mouse in case it served in the British Army.
    Does it salute you back?
    Does it heavily polish its feet?
    Does it stand upright on hearing God Save the Queen?

It is a moustery why no one will rat on this mole!

61. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“Bluetooth printer next time Stu”

Hahahahahahahaha. This is already supposed to be a wireless printer, but the wireless functionality doesn’t work because NO WIRELESS PRINTER IN HUMAN HISTORY HAS EVER ACTUALLY WORKED.

62. David

“Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    8 April, 2021 at 11:39 am
    I replaced the power lead and it made no difference. The socket is also fine, anything else you plug into it works.”

Hopefully not a dead motherboard if it took a jolt through a USB port.

On the subject of printers, You only need one as soon as you throw out the one you never used.

63. Elmac

I reckon this is a case of mistaken identity. The rat in the photo is not Shirley, its name is Nicola. This would explain everything.

64. chas

Give everything a good kick and two or 3 hard slaps. That just about sums up my technical abilities!

65. Rev. Stuart Campbell

” Hi Rev, if you first unplug your computer then hold the power button down for 30 seconds then plug in your power supply again and try the power button again it might work”

It was definitely something like that last time, but no dice this time.

There are no lights showing on the motherboard, but I’ve scrutinised the motherboard very closely and can’t see even a tiny light anywhere that COULD be on. When I was having the PC built I specifically requested that it didn’t look like a mobile disco.

66. Bob Mack

I smell a rat!!!

67. the friendly sassenach

If the fuses are all ok then probably the PSU Inside the PC has been shorted.you can’t repair these and will have to get another

68. Stoker

Wings Over Scotland now ratdacted. Typical! 🙂

69. David

https://help.corsair.com/hc/en-us/articles/360025085372-How-to-Test-a-power-supply-unit

If the PSU fan starts up after trying the above you may have a dead mobo.

70. jennifer Allan

I think she must be related to that ‘Siberian Hamster’ rat owned by Manuel in Faulty Towers. It’s all part of a cunning plot to shut you down.

71. Anonymoose

Stu,

Unplug all your USB peripherals and see if it turns on.

If no, is the USB port that the USB hub was using on the case or on the I/O plate at the rear of the motherboard?

If it is a case mounted USB port you can try tracing the header back to the motherboard and unplugging it there and then try to power on.

If it is an I/O plate USB port then the motherboard might be shagged if it doesnt turn on with all USB peripherals unplugged.

If it does turn on after unplugging all USB peripherals, then plug them back in one by one – if you have Device Manager open while you are replugging peripherals any device that appears with a yellow exclamation mark next to it may be faulty.

72. Clavie Cheil

Unionist vermin obviously.

73. John Muir

Hey! My Samsung M2070 works over WiFi just fine! Did once have to replace its power cable though… blown fuse. Weird how flaky those can be. Don’t even have a rodent!

74. Monica Worley

For the future, my wireless HP Envy works a dream….Through stone walls even…

75. Gordon Currie

It’s likely the motherboard has been fried through the USB connection from the hub. If it’s clone PC (i.e not a brand like H-P, Dell, Lenovo etc), pop open the case and look for the motherboard manufacturer and model number. Post it up here and I’ll try to source one for you.

It’s not to difficult to swap them out if you’re handy with a screwdriver….

76. Vestas

Are you sure the repair places are actually closed?

I know that in Leicester they’re not actually closed, you just have to make a booking to take it in. Daughter had to do it with lappie a couple of weeks ago.

Was the hub a powered one? If not then one of the auxiliary 5V supplies on the base unit has probably been shorted out. That should be either a fuse replacement (internal to PSU) or a PSU replacement. Both are trivial to do…

I’m assuming that given your description of “a crackle and a bang and a flash and a burning smell” that it was in fact a powered hub.

If it was cheapo generic shite then the 12Vdc supply (it’s usually 12V) to the hub from the wall wart has probably put 12V onto the 0V line which is likely to have caused significant damage to motherboard/cpu/memory/HDD/etc. I’m assuming your usb hub wasn’t directly powered from 240Vac or the rat would be “rat onna stick” – ie cooked 😉

I’m somewhat surprised you don’t have a second PC just in case of failures. £300-400 will get a decent (office) base unit & cheapo monitor. Hindsight & all that etc….

77. Republicofscotland

” Hi Rev, if you first unplug your computer then hold the power button down for 30 seconds then plug in your power supply again and try the power button again it might work”

I did this with my laptop but I looked it up on my tablet and it said you needed to remove your battery as well before pressing the power button.

It can also in some instances unblock the dreaded Blue Screen.

78. Republicofscotland

re my 12.42 comment.

Disconnect all devices from your laptop. This includes docking stations, USB devices, external displays, etc …

Disconnect the ac adapter.

Remove/disconnect the battery. The following steps require access to the battery. If the battery for your laptop is accessible from the bottom, remove it and proceed to the next step. …

Hold down the Power button for 15 – 30 seconds. By holding down the Power button, you release all of the residual power left in the laptop. …

Connect the ac adapter and plug it into an ac jack. …

79. Kenny

Muscleguy – thought you’d gone for 6 months or so?
    Anyway, my apologies for doubting your credentials the other day. I know nothing about you and couldn’t possibly know if you were, or were not, working for another crew. However, I was angry over your targeted attack on this site, thought it unreasonable, petty even, and let-rip. I still feel your mini-rant was misguided, as was my accusation.

Hope you get the pc up and running, Stuart.

When my 10 year old pc chucked-it last May – no service engineers available – I had steep learning curve from completely pc-illiterate to research, purchase, build a new one.

My Lockdown build:
    Ryzen 5 3600
    MSI B450M Mortar Mobo
    Adata XPG SX8200 512Gb PCi SSD
    Lexar 250Gb SSD (Scratch)
    Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 2x8Gb RAM
    Be Quiet Pure Power 11 400W (no gaming).

I’m happy with it.

80. Lollysmum

My HP All-in-One printer now about 10 years old works on Bluetooth & WiFi so its not entirely true that wireless printers don’t work. You know we expect accuracy of reporting from Wings. We don’t expect to see your standards dropping you know :-))

81. TheSNPLeftMe

Good luck with the Unionist rat!

In the meantime Barrheadboy has a great interview with Alex.
    https://www.barrheadboy.com/scottish-prism-8th-april-2021-alex-salmond/

82. robbo

That’s what happens when you’re in a relationship with that rat- Shirley Ann Somerville .

Dump her!

83. Magnus Erlendsson

I asked a professional and he agrees with Gordon Currie that it’s most likely the USB port shorted out and fried the motherboard.

It is not difficult to replace a motherboard but it is a PITA.

84. Mutualist

Obviously a CyberRat

85. Mac

After having the pish ripped out her on twitter the SNP have pulled all the Nicola T-shirts from their website.

86. Karl

A couple of ideas 1. Power supply has blown and needs replaced, 2. Fuse on motherboard has blown and needs replaced. Reason for failure needs identified before replacing fuse but looks like you know that.

87. Southernbystander

I am assuming you have checked but PC repair places are allowed to open as essential shops. They are open where I live so it might be worth another look.

88. Mairi Cameron

I had no idea you had rats, I’ve always wanted some. Ridiculously cute. Can’t help with the tech issues, sorry!

89. Vestas

Lollysmum says:
    8 April, 2021 at 12:50 pm

“My HP All-in-One printer now about 10 years old works on Bluetooth & WiFi”

Depends how you define “works” 🙂

When there are multiple access points (common these days) setup on C1, C6, C11 then lots of cheap printers (HP & Canon spring to mind) will only connect to C1 because its the first channel they scan. This is a monumental pain in the arse – trust me on this. Certain HP models don’t deal well with wireless power saving modes. There’s no end of issues with them.

If it doesn’t move then it should be wired. Simple as that.

90. Arbroath1320

She hadn’t been watching that well known rat friendly film Ratatouille and suddenly got the urge to go get something with a bit of a bang to it to eat by any chance?

Ah’ll get ma hat and coat!

91. Donibristle

Change the name of the site to “Rats over Scotland” and boot.
    Might not work but the name describes the climate pretty accurately.

92. David Mooney

What Anonymoose said at 12.20

“Unplug all your USB peripherals and see if it turns on.

If no, is the USB port that the USB hub was using on the case or on the I/O plate at the rear of the motherboard?

If it is a case mounted USB port you can try tracing the header back to the motherboard and unplugging it there and then try to power on.

If it is an I/O plate USB port then the motherboard might be shagged if it doesnt turn on with all USB peripherals unplugged.

If it does turn on after unplugging all USB peripherals, then plug them back in one by one – if you have Device Manager open while you are replugging peripherals any device that appears with a yellow exclamation mark next to it may be faulty”.

It’s unlikely to be the PSU but worth checking the fuse in the PSU housing if it has one.

*** Don’t disassemble a PSU unless you know what your doing – It should be powered off for at least 30 minutes for the capacitors to drain their charge before any work is carried out. ***

FWIW if it is the motherboard you have been very unlucky as your hub should have absorbed most of the short.

Either way looks like you need to send or take it to a PC repair shop if they are open (NOT Currys/PC World).

93. Goggs

It’s either a fuse in one of your extension cables or your PSU is kaput. If it’s a tower PC replacing the PSU isn’t as difficult as it sounds. I’d do it for a fish supper. Oh, and flights from & to France.

Bon courage mon ami.

94. Confused

obligatory –
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UT8RkSmN4k

“Pet Posting” is a welcome change of pace from the usual doom and gloom, hyperbolic speculation and hissy fit tantrums of the BTL

95. Carl R

Unfortunately it sounds like it’s fried a USB port on your motherboard. Your motherboard might be damaged beyond repair. I would unplug everything from the PC and try from there. Really need another PC to test each component to find out where the fault is. Hopefully it’s just the PSU. There’s a few PC Repair places in Bath, take it to one of them to diagnose the fault.

96. T.roz

Stu. Check the socket on the wall. The printers explosion may have caused a radial circuit to trip a breaker on your main consumer unit. Plug something into the wall to check for power. Or go straight to con’ unit und check all breakers are up.

97. akenaton

Even the real rats are turning into WOKE saboteurs, at least you won’t have to worry about them breeding :0(

98. Cenchos

Maybe hightime you got a new computer. It’s a heartache when these things happen, but someday you’ll be able to say it’s all right now.

99. Robert Dickson

“NO WIRELESS PRINTER IN HUMAN HISTORY HAS EVER ACTUALLY WORKED”

Mine does*

*Hides

100. Helena Brown

No help with your problem but I have two Mexican Rat Catchers, my female is the one to watch, the wee fellow missed two opportunities outside.
    No, I think Shirlie is too cute.

101. stuart mctavish

Used to get something similar with windows updates – especially those following a power cut – flashing the cmos seemed to do the trick although occasionally spring cleaning with compressed air was also required.

102. Fishy Wullie

I thought you had a cat in that house, if you have I’d pay him off 🙂

103. Lindy

Haha loving all the replies. ?

Hope you get it sorted soon Stu.

104. Dan

Pesky Scots cause IT equipment damage in England due to overloading the grid with their surplus leccy…

https://extranet.nationalgrid.com/RealTime

105. Jonathan Lin

Replace the power supply inside the PC, you can buy a new one for 50 pounds or so. 600watts should be fine. Exchanging is easy, the cables only fit where they should. Happy to help you and talk you through it, just mail me.

106. Effigy

Max Bygraves had a sing about this

Hiccups from HamsterJam.

107. Clavie Cheil

Now we know why we cant get any PC repairs done. They are all frisking here.

108. Mark Boyle

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:8 April, 2021 at 12:17 pm

“NO WIRELESS PRINTER IN HUMAN HISTORY HAS EVER ACTUALLY WORKED.”

Tell me a fking bout it!

109. MrRocknRoll

This post will certainly boost your rat(ing).

110. Contrary

Oops!

I don’t know the reset trick either – you may have a mystery reset recess somewhere that you have to press down with a small awkward pin for 20 seconds. Holding down the start button for a tedious 30 seconds (ten seconds is not long enough) while pressing on F10 on your keyboard maybe, or doing it in sequence maybe, or is it F7. Or phoning an emergency IT person,,,

Good luck!

111. Scozzie

sorry to go OT…

Alba ain’t going to win seats relying on online alone. AS has asked for grassroots support so let’s give it – Need to hit the streets to give it some visibility with some guerilla tactics and 2014 energy.

We must know a good graffiti artist that can do street murals in major cities on Alba’s supermajority to catch attention – oh if only we had a Banksy!

Who were the independence stones people? Get them to do a stones display of the ‘supermajority’ graphic with vote Alba on Arthur’s Seat.

Our Aye Mail guy – get him doing Alba supermajority flags and merchandise etc. that can be distributed by supporters.

Get our AUOB mortorcyclists doing a circuit of the major cities with ‘vote ALBA on the list’ tours.

Bridges for Indy – plaster them with ALba supermajority flags.

The Alba website need to make available some downloadable resources for window posters etc in houses, car stickers etc. It’s old fashioned I know, but just coming out of lockdown options are limited.

We need to get fucking creative on the streets – things are about to open up at the end of April.
    “Hit the streets – vote ALBA for independence seats”

There also needs to be a campaign highlighting that the Greens are full tonto gender nutters. These feckers need to be exposed – fucking supporters of Aimee Channelor FFS.

I know AS wants a positive campaign and it still can be positive, but information needs to get out there on the sheer lunacy of what peeps are potentially voting for – GRA, HCB, zero plan or appetite for independence etc.

I fear we’re in a cosy bubble – and the electorate are asleep at the wheel. Shine the spotlight, people are starting to leave their houses help them fucking wake up from their rohypnol!

112. Sharny Dubs

I think it going to be one of those hiccup scenarios.

Everyone has a cure but non of them work.

Good luck Stu.

Nice rodent.

113. Hamerdoon

https://wingsoverscotland.com/agent-shirlie/#comment-2645144

Gavin says:
    8 April, 2021 at 11:45 am
    Thats not a rat…….

….its an MI5 mole!
    ——————————————————————————
    Methinks it was wearing a fur coat as a disguise (or it might have been Russian to get the job done………I’ll get ma coat) –

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Naked_mole-rat

114. Karmanaut

There’s an LED in ethernet ports. If you plug an ethernet cable into the computer you should see the LED flash. As long as the power supply is switched on, the ethernet LED should light up, even if the PC itself isn’t switched on.

If the ethernet led doesn’t light, it’s not getting power, so I guess it’s most likely the short has damaged the PSU.

115. Karmanaut

Sorry, scratch that last comment. The power can come through an ethernet hub.

116. Karmanaut

Sorry, scratch my last comment. The power for the LED can come throught the ethernet cable.

117. AWhiteLife

You tube is the best place to start, lots of videos only a few minutes long, no patter just straight to the point, works for dummies like me. Avoid tech forums, they are pure barstewards for folk like us. 3 hours dot prompt type zzzxysndjrktjavzb/zcksfketjdgn 18 times while doing a handstand against a North facing wall at 2:16 est and that’s just to turn up the volume!. Good luck, hope it’s nothing mega ££s

118. Mist001

Well, PC repair used to be my game back in the 90s and going from what you’re saying above, my guess is the PSU has gone. I’ve seen it many times.

If you can be bothered testing it, here’s how. It looks like a long, complicated post but honestly, it’s not complicated:

Remove the sides from the PC. The PSU is a large square thing sitting either at the top or bottom of your PC case. It has a thick cable coming out from it which is a bunch of smaller cables all wrapped together. Follow this cable to the main component board on your PC and disconnect everything that this thick cable is connected to. Go to the back of your PC and you’ll see four screws holding the PSU in place. Remove these and just wiggle the PSU out of the case.

Once it’s out, connect the power cable to the PSU and switch it on.

Get a length of wire about 6 – 8 inches and bare both ends. There’s a big thick connector on the end of the PSU cable about 2 inches wide usually with a bunch of multicoloured cables going into it.

Make sure the PSU is turned on and connect one end of the length of wire into a BLACK wire on the big connector and the other end of the wire into a GREEN wire.

Don’t worry, you won’t get a shock or anything.

Connecting the black and green cables powers up your PSU. If it sounds a bit feeble, wheezy, or nor sounding very powerful, then it’s time to get onto Amazon and order a pretty silent Corsair VS 550 PSU which will cost about £45 and just follow the removal instructions above in reverse to fit it.

Since you’re not very confident about the insides of a PC, it might be an idea to take some photos beforehand so you know where all the connections go.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Corsair-VS550-Active-Certified-Supply/dp/B078XXNC3J/ref=sr_1_2

119. Stuart MacKay

Reminder: the Alba Party crowd funder for May is ticking along, but could be going faster. Only 8 days left and just under £20K to go.

https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/albaparty

120. Lulu Bells

I donated directly to Alba, I am sure many others have too.

121. The Hot Needle of Enquiry

I donated directly as a monthly membership.

Gives a base load income stream.

122. Pixywine

Find a clever child to sort it out. They’re our only hope in such times.

123. Breastplate

Scozzie,
    I like the idea of an Albanksy.

124. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Rev, are you sure you got the name right?

https://cpb-ca-c1.wpmucdn.com/myriverside.sd43.bc.ca/dist/9/678/files/2014/09/Barney-short-story-1zm9dho.pdf

Better don the old Marigolds before attempting a repair, just to be on the safe side…..

125. Hatuey

Hard to believe a surge would have gotten past the USB terminals and into the motherboard or something. I’d check daft stuff like fuses. Unplug everything except the bare essentials… it’s possible something else got damaged by a surge and is causing a fault. Believe it or not, I’ve seen PCs that refuse to boot up or do anything simply because the fuse in the plug for the monitor is blown.

Great photo of the rat though…

126. Martin

“There are no lights showing on the motherboard, but I’ve scrutinised the motherboard very closely and can’t see even a tiny light anywhere that COULD be on. When I was having the PC built I specifically requested that it didn’t look like a mobile disco.”

Despite this, the motherboard does have simple LEDs for indicating the power and functional state of the major components. If you have absolutely nothing, then you are looking at a likely PSU failure. Best get a techie to physically look at it. It’s not a hard thing to fix if you know what you are doing, but if you don’t, then you don’t want to go poking around too much at this point.

Hopefully a simply PSU replacement will be enough to bring it back to life – I don’t think the motherboard would be fried, most modern PSUs have pretty good over-current protection and so on. However, depends on the specifics.

Short of reading the docs on your PSU and motherboard for more help, I think you need to reach out to someone local for support. Ask them to bring a test PSU and be ready to tell them the make and model of the motherboard and PSU you have (it’s printed on it).

127. Captain Yossarian

We’ve always kept a mouser cat in the house. The current itteration is named ‘Walter’ and he is fabulous. Just what you need at the moment. A good mouser cat will polish-off any rodents that are still hanging around that joint of yours.

When seeking a cat, always insist upon a ‘mouser’. These pedigree cats and all the rest of it are no use at-all. They’re just nuisance-value.

They’ll be available mousers in Bath. Just advertise and be reasy to feed it plenty of nice grub.

128. Jock Roach

Hi Stu

Rodents just love the attraction of electromagnetism. Our house bun is always trying to get in behind the tv and eviscerate the Sky connection. Given it provides 900+ channels of shite should probably let him get on with it.

Hope you get sorted soon.

129. David

Hope you get this sorted, one possible idea would be to disconnect the power lead from the back, press and hold the power button for a while to discharge any buildup. Sometimes latent power can build up in the machine and stop it from turning on. Just a guess but might help.

130. David Caledonia

I have four computers, 3 laptops and a desktop, anything goes wrong with any of them my method never fails, I take it to a whizkid I know and he charges me a fortune .
    At least Dick Turpin had the good grace to wear a mask lol

131. maureen

On the odd occasion why my desktop doesn’t come on, albeit without a damaged cable, I press the on button while repeatedly pressing F8 until safe mode comes up and give options for find and repair pc.
    No idea if this will help.

132. Brian

This is a long shot but………………have you tried thoughts and prayers?

133. maureen

Captain Yossarian says:
    8 April, 2021 at 2:29 pm
    We’ve always kept a mouser cat in the house. The current iteration is named ‘Walter’ and he is fabulous. Just what you need at the moment. A good mouser cat will polish-off any rodents that are still hanging around that joint of yours.

You know that Shirlie is a pet? lol

134. unsigned

Just a google hit but worth a call?

No idea beyond the website testimonials but they offer onsite service:

\\
    https://www.bathpcrepairs.co.uk/testimonials

Contact us

Telephone: 0871 9157750

E-mail: mark.chivers@bathpcrepairs.co.uk

Our
    business hours

Mon – Fri 9:00 am – 5:00 pm
    Saturday 9:00 am – 4:00 pm
    Sunday Closed

Round-the-clock
    service

IF YOU WORK DURING THE DAY,NO PROBLEM

WE CAN DO EVENINGS AT NO EXTRA COST

FREE LOCAL COLLECTION AND DELIVERY

CREDIT/DEBIT AND PAYPAL ACCEPTED
    //
    Others in Bath might know better?

Good luck!

135. Scozzie

Breastplate @ 12.20pm
    I love the idea of an Alba-nsky.
    C’mon Sam Bates of aka Glasgow High Street St Mungo (if you’re on this site) – do an amazing mural for Alba

136. David Caledonia

You never get a shock or anything, I asked an sparky friend of mine years ago, do you ever get an electric shock, he said, aye all the feckin time.
    I do most repairs myself about the house, but the big stuff I let some other poor soul put their life on the line to keep me hot and bothered lol

137. Garrion

I’m in the fried motherboard via usb camp.

In other news, why don’t you take a couple of days, check on the bear situation and smell the daffodils. Wading through Murgeon horsedoody and nonsense must be very wearing, and you’ve been wader in chief for a good while now.

We’ll keep an eye on things.

138. Captain Yossarian

@maureen – You even corrected my spelling mistake for me. That wicked you know.

139. maureen

Lol, sorry, that correction was automatic, not a criticism!

140. mr laing b. french

If there’s no power in the pc probably the main power distributor needs changed , rec. 750watt

141. TNS2019

Where did you get the rat?
    I note that Bath is close to both Salisbury and Porton Down and that WoS is currently conceived to be the enemy of the state.
    Porton Down breeds rats for experimental purposes.
    We are just into an election campaign and suddenly your rat ‘goes native’.
    Seems a bit strange to me.

142. TNS2019

OK. Taking the p*ss.
    Sorry.
    But the Craig Murray blog on the Skripals is well worth a read.

143. Breeks

There’s an Election on, and I’m feeling the need for some ALBA car stickers, badges, bunting and flaggy things and suchlike.

Maybe a mini wee blue ALBA book explaining why SNP 1 and ALBA 2 is the perfect recipe for a Happy Election Cocktail.

I was gonna say Tee Shirts, but it’s a May Election, so maybe ALBA woolly jumpers and beanie hats just to be on the safe side. Maybe ALBA duffle coats in some places. Maybe ALBA stab proof vests in others…

Might help the old ALBA funding department a wee bit too… Is anybody on to this yet?

I know there some merch folks left kinda struggling trying to anticipate what Sturgeon’s IndyRef Palantìr Stone Crystal Ball was gonna say, but ALBA and May 6th is a dead cert – if stuff can get made in time…

144. Pete Roberts

OT but partner & I got begging letters from the SNP today with prepaid reply envelopes. We are going to send them back with questions about ringfenced £600,000, our objections to allowing biological men into women’s toilets and other safe spaces and removal of free speech.

145. Watty Eyeballs

There was a hack for IBM monitors that might be worth a try.
    Sometimes when you pulled the power plug out whilst the monitor was on, it refused to turn back on when plugged back in, even when you reset the power button to ‘off’ before plugging in and turning on.
    The workaround was to leave the power button on, unplug the unit from the mains and use a metal object (knife) to short the plug live and neutral for approximately 1 minuite. Turn the power button to ‘off’ and then plug and power up as normal.

146. Breeks

Scozzie says:
    8 April, 2021 at 1:44 pm
    sorry to go OT…

Sorry Scozzie, you’re way ahead of me with the merchandise and stuff… Just reading back comments getting caught up… 😉

Indie Poster boy on side yet?

147. Graf Midgehunter

Captain Yossarian says: 2:29 pm

“We’ve always kept a mouser cat in the house. The current itteration is named ‘Walter’ and he is fabulous. Just what you need at the moment. A good mouser cat will polish-off any rodents that are still hanging around that joint of yours.”
    ————————
    I somehow doubt that you’ll be around much longer with that if you don’t know the rat history of the big Macker in Bath..! 🙂

Only the emergency cat gets anywhere near “Rat heaven”

148. Stuart MacKay

Lulu Bells

Yes I was spamming the site with the Alba Crowd funder, which BTW is, https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/albapart However, you have to be a bit of a nag about these since you won’t always catch people at a convenient time.

149. Rev. Stuart Campbell

“https://www.bathpcrepairs.co.uk/testimonials”

Thanks, but this does not fill me with confidence:

150. rob

Have to agree with Stu re wireless printers. Mine’s is an Epson , it’s going fine at the moment, but there are often times when it stops working for no apparent reason and I have to reset the PC and printer, very time consuming. Unfortunateley a USB connection is not possible in my case.

151. Fairliered

Are you sure the acid from the Sturgeon pictures hasn’t leaked out and eaten away at a vital component?

152. John Martini

If you ask nicely Nicla might give you a free laptop or tablet.

153. Billy-Bidey-Indy

Sounds like the PSU (power supply unit). It is fairly simple to replace by yourself just buy a 400/600 watt psu from pcworld and basically remove old psu and take note of connectors as you unplug. 30 minute job.

154. rob

Stuart MacKay says:
    8 April, 2021 at 3:35 pm

Lulu Bells

Try this one……https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/albaparty

155. Republicofscotland

This gives you a step by step guide to find out why your PC won’t start when you push the power button.

It might be worth a look.

https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/uk/en/gaming/resources/why-wont-my-computer-turn-on.html#:~:text=Troubleshooting%20-%20Why%20Won%27t%20My%20Computer%20Turn%20On%3F,…%204%20Power%20Button.%20…%20More%20items…%20

156. Lulu Bells

Given the WoS is the lynchpin of the Yes movement and has a critical role to play it seems to me that you need Backup, Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery plans. I am not technical but I have a fair amount of experience writing and testing the plans if I can ever be of any assistance. Sorry, no help in the current emergency though.

157. Dan

Get some gaffa tape. There isn’t a problem on this planet that can’t be fixed by using it.
    If it doesn’t re-insulate the gnawed wires, you can use it to restrain the guilty rodent.

#RolandRatWrapping

158. rob

Just call in the experts Stu, forget the expense, we are all here to help.

159. Scot Finlayson

@Captain Yossarian,

your controller no tell you about Stu and his rats,

or were you staring out the window dreaming of Thatch when the subject was covered,

it`s the Eastern Front for you.

160. John Johnstone

With regard to Alba merchandise, have been informed that a Bristol based company are selling Alba Party logo flags on their site, which also includes a description of the Alba Party and its recent history.

161. Captain Yossarian

Advertise in your local sweety-shop for a ‘Male Mongrel Mouser Cat’. Problem solved. A quality mouser will cost you about a monkey…maybe a bullseye for a thoroughbred. Although I’ve known rough and ready mousers to change hands for a deep sea diver in the past.

Mousers need to be on their toes day and night so don’t feed it any lousy or cheap grub…only Whiskas or Felix, or something like that. Understand?

162. WeeChid

You must have said the name George Orwell three times and inadvertently opened the doors to room 101. Naughty Shirlie. Check for her SNP membership card.

163. Mchaggis69

Used to build and ‘repair’ PC’s a long time ago. I say ‘repair’ because its always ‘replace component thats goosed’ rather than an actual, you know, ‘repair.

First thing I’d look at is the PSU. Cheap to buy and easy to change over. Will be held to the case by 4 or 5 screws. Unplug from motherboard/drives etc, plug in the new one and away you go. I’d be amazed if motherboard or anything else is fried… unless the current (no pun) PSU was a heap of junk.

164. Paul Cockshott

To me it soundsmore like damage to the USB interface chip. If its that your motherboard is a write off

165. Captain Yossarian

@cot Finlayson – I’ve only been around since mid-Jan and so I don’t know the rodent history of Stuart’s gaff. A good mouser will polish-off any rat though. Rats don’t mess with mousers.

166. SilverDarling

I sympathize. I was recently caught in the hell of a neverending Windows 10 update and ‘undoing changes to your computer’ loop. I ended up taking out the battery and rebooting.

Hope you get it sorted soon.

167. kapelmeister

Maybe ‘Penfold’ put Dangermouse up to this.

168. Footsoldier

Basically you need to be on the telephone to someone who knows what they are doing to talk you through the problem.

169. Bob Johnston

Shirlie’s squeak as she was returned to custody has to have been “Rule Britannia.”

170. John Jones

Scozzie
    I’ve had my
    ALBA
    Says
    AYE
    Flag with a big lion on it for ages, went to the marches.
    You can get them from
    Yes2.scot it’s the Yes2 hub in Cardenden.We also do mugs,t shirts etc to order.
    Of
    Perhaps you’ve been too close to Craig Murray and picked up Ratsputin lol

171. Gordon Currie

Guys

I had posted earlier about it being the M/B. I can’t see how the USB cable which had the power surge through it (and presumably the only external connection to the system unit) could fry the PSU, and Stu stated that the printer and machine were on different extension leads.

Cheers
    Gordon

172. Scozzie

Breeks @ 3.19pm
    I agree, peeps needs to feel the grassroots motivation of 2014 again. That’s what AS asked for in his last live broadcast.

I’m overseas so limited, but jeez it was done in the summer of 2014 and can be done again. Everybody come together – any idea to hit the streets can only help get the Alba brand noticed, locally and nationally.

There’s 4 weeks to go so faffing around is not an option. Just do it everyone in your own local area.

The recent women’s rights campaigns have been very successful in getting recognition. We can do similar (I mentioned a few suggestions above but some more:

– ‘Artists for Alba’ campaign- street murals, art graffiti etc
    – fly-posting Alba supermajority posters, stickers etc on city streets
    – someone make Alba face masks to sell
    – Alba 1 pager flyers with decorated stones leave them on streets, buses, trains,shopping centres, etc.
    – Alba supermajority badges, car stickers, home posters etc
    – ‘chalking’ worked well for the women’s rights campaign – get Alba logo chalking just like kids do on your pavements
    – women support Alba stickers, posters: XX Chromosomes = X Alba on the list

The first step is to get the name recognised, the second step is for it to resonate with people.

Alba are prevented from getting their message across by the major broadcasters. But nothing beats grassroots as it’s the most authentic way to get messages across.
    Hit the streets to win independence seats.

173. John Docherty

Stu,

Try Richard Hudson at Simple PC Help.

http://www.simplepchelp.co.uk/

07979 252573

01985 330073

He’s Warminster based but does lots of business in Bath as well. Over the years he has fixed some serious tech problems for us.

Regards

174. Graf Midgehunter

Captain Yossarian.

This is where to start. The second or third generation has been an gone. 😉

wingsoverscotland.com/sorry-readers/

Stick to pissing off the trolls, it’s safer.

175. Republicofscotland

Worth a watch again Alex Salmond with Barrhead Boy, Alex has certainly breathed new life into the indy cause, his direct approach is a breath of fresh air.

https://www.barrheadboy.com/scottish-prism-8th-april-2021-alex-salmond/

176. katherine hamilton

I assume your info systems are safe and recoverable. If so get a shit load of new stuff and send us all the bill. Built in obsolescence is a thing, printers excepted. They’re obsolescent pre-purchase, to give the makers a laugh. I will not contribute to a new printer. On your own, pal.

177. Jim Tadgercock

Can you no just get a multi meter and bell out the cables. Mind and wear your clean rubber gimp outfit if your working live.If that fails petroleum for the win.

178. ian murray

This reminds me of an old “The Broons” when Grandpa’s tea was too hot to drink and all the family had him do their own special way ro cool their tea down.
    By the time he had done them all he could not drink the tea because it had become too cold

I definitely agree with The Rev about Printers, oxymoron much?

179. Don

@Jason Smoothpiece 8 April, 2021 at 11:38 am

“Reason number 11458 why it’s good not to have pets of any sort. Presume it is a pet?”

I hope so too or else he is a bit of a wimp for letting 5 Rats just move in of their own accord. 🙂

180. unsigned

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

“Thanks, but this does not fill me with confidence:”

Fair enough, but I wouldn’t be put off a hardware guy by some poor cross device webpage presentation. I posted it as it seemed as if you’ve had to shift to a phone or similar at the mo.

I could have posted lots of links to USB circuit isolation from MB, possible diagnostics, requests for more info from you etc etc but if you aren’t a tech and you are trying to run things from a phone, I think that would all lead nowhere.

I think finding yourself a local professional who does on-site is the way to go. DIY might work but I think the downside of losing more isn’t worth the aggro. I’m sure lots would chip in to help with costs of repair.

181. Dan

Whilst out for a walk earlier I noticed someone has flytipped 5 x 5 gallon containers of waste engine oil along the roadside I litter picked over the festive season.
    Fortunately no damaged had occurred to any of the containers as they were launched from the roadside into the ditch so only minimal seepage of oil past the lids.
    If just one of the containers had spilled its contents, 5 gallons of dirty engine oil would have caused considerable pollution.
    Took the car along and have collected them and will take to recycling centre next time I am in town.

Policy ideas for Alba. I understand waste management is a power devolved to Holyrood.
    There needs to be a serious review of how we deal with the waste our society produces. It is ridiculous the amount of waste that is thrown away or flytipped across what should be our bonnie country.
    Better education, processing facilities, and incentivise schemes to make folk more aware of the issues, and reduce the “need” to dump stuff inappropriately.
    The collection of a simple but minuscule plastic tax per item at source from the companies that produce bottles and food trays etc would easily raise considerable revenue to aid the running costs of improved processing systems.

Pretty much all reasonable folk will agree something needs to be done and support such an initiative.
    There is considerable calorific energy, and therefore potential monetary value, in all plastic waste as it is derived from oil.
    Take the initiative and also votes from the few environmentally conscious folk left in Green Party by actually doing something to really address and get on top of this matter.

182. Carol Neill

I agree with Katherine above , get a shit load of new stuff .
    You raised over 10k for a joke £50 fundraiser , imagine what you might raise for the tools of your trade that we need you to have !

183. wee monkey

Republicofscotland says:
    8 April, 2021 at 3:51 pm
    This gives you a step by step guide to find out why your PC won’t start when you push the power button.

It might be worth a look.

https://www.intel.co.uk/content/www/uk/en/gaming/resources/why-wont-my-computer-turn-on.html#:~:text=Troubleshooting%20-%20Why%20Won%27t%20My%20Computer%20Turn%20On%3F,…%204%20Power%20Button.%20…%20More%20items…%20

Can you think of a flaw in your cunning plan baldrick?

Is IT not an business essential during lockdown??

Might be worth asking or looking for a mobile tech 😉

184. velofello

And I was settling down to an article of revelations about Shirlie Ann Somerville, the FM’s pal!

185. Don

Rev. Stuart Campbell 8 April, 2021 at 11:39 am

“I replaced the power lead and it made no difference. The socket is also fine, anything else you plug into it works.”

Did you prove the power lead you replaced it with was working itself before you did that ?

Hard to beleive a short on a USB cable onto a Hub would affect a PC on the other side of it through the Hub without the Hub itself being fecked too, if the Hub is fecked and still connected to PC could that stop the PC from repowering up ? I’d disconnect it from everything, read chapter 1 Peter 1:3 in the Bible then go press the power button again with a known good mains lead plugged in. If it still doesn’t work it might be dead Jim dead Jim dead Jim dead. 🙁

186. Bob Mack

Have you checked ALL the cables Stu ?. She was there for a good bit of time obviously.

187. Bill mackay

Run an extension cable from another socket and check the mains socket

188. MikeW

@dan it is not the lack of facilities, it to some degree laziness and the other that commercial waste are charged for it (as should be0 and this scum want to avoid that. There should be laws to punish fly tippers if caught more profoundly so it does not pay to fly tip. Though i think it is the tipper themselves that should be punished not necessarily the person who hired them.

189. Nod Bruce

A bit late to the party but, as an electronic engineer who builds his own PCs:
    USB power comes from the PSU through Motherboard regulators, possible hub regulators (rare) to device. It’s likely connected straight through the cable/hub PCB all the way from the MB.
    PSU not likely to blow – they’re high-current, surge-capable lumps. Might blow an output fuse, in the unlikely event there is one fitted.
    The MB regulators are the fragile link – look for small (transistor-ish) components cracked & smelling of burnt plastic! They supply MB 5v lines, so will trash your PC if blown.
    It’ll be quicker & easier to replace the MB than repair it.
    Should take a tec 10-30 mins.

190. Colin Alexander

1. Unplug everything from the desktop sockets and ports, power supply, usb, mouse, keyboard, monitor cable, Lan, anything else in usb sockets.

2. plug mouse and keyboard back in. check wires are ok.

3. Plug monitor cable back in.

4. With desktop disconnected from wall socket power supply, Hold down power button for at least 30 sec. (assuming no uninterruptable power supply).

5. Replace fuse in kettle lead plug or use known working kettle lead. Plug in

6. try switching on.

7. Does power supply fan spin?

8. Does cpu fan spin?

No fan sound from power supply, no fans spinning I would guess main pc power supply is dead. I would replace the power supply if no burning smell or damage visible on motherboard.

The only time I’ve seen a big flash and heard a loud bang from a desktop pc, the computer power supply (PSU) had blown and fuse in wall plug too.

191. Wally Jumblatt

I wouldn’t trust a machine that shouldn’t have had a catastrophic failure because of a shorted printer cable. No matter if you get it going again.
    Just buy a new one, and start taking proper backups OFF the Cloud.
    The Cloud is not your friend.

192. Hugh Jarse

Anas is here for everyone!
    Just about stopped laughing at his PPB ‘sincerity’ efforts.
    Totally convincing.

193. WeeChid

My OH’s desktop wouldn’t start. I took it to bits and gave the fan a good clean, put it back together and it started working again.

194. Ruby

“as I moved the printer to get to her there was a crackle and a bang and a flash and a burning smell from the mangled cable.”

If that had happened in my flat half the flat would be without power. I would have to check all the little buttons on the main fuse box thingy and check they were all in the up position.
    https://tinyurl.com/48dmp4uh

The whole thing is so sensitive if a light bulb blows it trips a main fuse.

If the socket is working it might suggest no main fuse has blown.
    Always worth checking

195. Kcor

How did you manage to get a photo of the cheeky little thing?

You could win top prize for it, which could pay for the damage it has caused.

196. Ruby

Wally Jumblatt says:

Just buy a new one,

Maybe a new iMac would be a good idea.

He could still have Windows on an iMac.

197. Dan

@ MikeW

So you acknowledge there is an issue then.
    I disagree that the current facilities are adequate. The amount of plastic waste that gets lobbed into landfill is ridiculous. Just look in the general waste skip at any local authority recycling centre.
    Whether it’s private or commercial the waste exists so our country should have adequate systems in place to deal with it.
    I was suggesting a wholesale review and revamp of the current setup as it clearly doesn’t work in practical or enforcement terms.
    There is inherent value to some waste and if processes are put in place to collect that specific high value waste it could go along way to funding the running costs.

I’ve committed a huge amount of time and energy clearing waste up.
    I recall collecting several tonnes of flytipped waste from the same area those oil drums were dumped. It was the leftover waste from a monoblock drive job.
    From the waste I could clearly identify the block manufacturer, the size, colours, and style of block, and the ratio of pink to grey stones. This was clearly a large job with around a dozen pallets.
    There are batch numbers on the pallet wraps to cover warranty claims if things like degradation through frost damage occurs.
    This waste was clearly easily traceable. Identifying a specific order and the delivery of over 12 tonnes of bespoke materials is not rocket science and could have with little effort identified the flytippers.

I handed all this to local Councillors and Police present at Community Council meeting and they couldn’t be arsed with it.
    So I spend a day of hard dirty graft clearing the waste and fuck all gets done by all those that supposedly have the power to do something about it.
    Aye, the current system works just fine as long as there are mugs like me doing it for fuck all.

198. Scot Finlayson

See this `pronoun` stuff the weak minded and woke use in their bios,

is that not the same as putting Mr or Mrs/Miss in front of your name,

it sort of tells you if you are

a man, Mr or he/him

a woman, Mrs/Miss or she/her,

if the weak minded and woke want to confirm their gender choice could they no just use Mr or Mrs/Miss.

199. crazycat

@ Scot Finlayson

could they no just use Mr or Mrs/Miss.

No, because the crucial ones are her, him, their (plus a few modern inventions), to be applied to inappropriate parts of the anatomy.

200. Kcor

Dan says,

“So I spend a day of hard dirty graft clearing the waste and fuck all gets done by all those that supposedly have the power to do something about it.

Aye, the current system works just fine as long as there are mugs like me doing it for fuck all.”

Every system is designed for the plebs to do the hard work with as little pay as possible while those in power abuse rather than use their powers to do something good.

One of the very few persons I would trust in power would be Alex Salmond.

201. sarah

@ Dan: you do a lot of good work of all kinds – environmental and political, getting people registered to vote and alert to the need to vote Alba on the list. Well done.

Now how do we shift those b…s who don’t do their jobs, as described by you and Captain Yossarian, amongst others?

202. Mac

A custom made bit of kit that did not light up like a mobile disco…

Sounds like a high end gaming PC… so no surprises there.

203. Roger Gough

Fur all the world it sounds like a trap

204. Republicofscotland

weemonkey @5.37pm.

I’m sure there’s plenty of IT going on under Jeremy Fleming and Ken McCallum, the latter being just another tractor-ed to Scotland.

205. John Jones

appologies wrong address for yes/Indy produce.
    Yes2cdd.scot
    We design/make many items for the promotion of Independence.
    discounts for like minded outlets and bulk buys.
    please check out our shop and contact for all the help we can manage.

206. Mark Boyle

ian murray says: 8 April, 2021 at 5:19 pm

“This reminds me of an old “The Broons” when Grandpa’s tea was too hot to drink and all the family had him do their own special way ro cool their tea down.
    By the time he had done them all he could not drink the tea because it had become too cold.”

Granpa’s was use the bunnit, Paw’s was stirring 20 times one way then 20 times the other “like a gentleman”, Hen or Joe’s was drink it from a saucer with your pinkie out or something like that.

I’m getting Sunday Post flashbacks … jings, crivvens, help ma boab.

207. holymacmoses

Got it working yet?

208. maureen

Twa auld heids interview Alex 8pm this evening
    https://twitter.com/bridgesforindy/status/1380200277236649991

209. FrankM

The video of Alec Salmond being interviewed by Bellshill Boy Is absolutely excellent .
    Alec is a breath of fresh air and in the murky world of Scottish politics and is the only person in Scottish or UK politics capable of real statesmanship. Thank you to Bellshill Boy for the link.
    Thank you also Alec.

210. FrankM

Two “ands” – delete whichever you want. Sorry for the typo.

211. TheSNPLeftMe

FrankM

“Barrhead”

212. AYRSHIRE ROB

Too right ROS

Total twat. As Jim Sillars sain that statement it was that Alex was one of the last people that Margo asked to come see her.

Farkie, you’re a prick!

213. Wullie B

Rev. Stuart Campbell says:
    8 April, 2021 at 12:17 pm

“Bluetooth printer next time Stu”

Hahahahahahahaha. This is already supposed to be a wireless printer, but the wireless functionality doesn’t work because NO WIRELESS PRINTER IN HUMAN HISTORY HAS EVER ACTUALLY WORKED

I have a wireless printer that works great, connects to iPad, iPhone and both desktop and laptops, its a cannon all in one, only problem is the usual one, ink is extortionate

214. Elmac

As said earlier above, if the fault lies within the main box why not treat yourself to a new system? It will cut out the hassle and waste less time. You can keep the peripherals such as keyboard, mouse (no pun intended) printer etc if they are working OK and compatible with the new box. Better still buy another new system with keyboard, mouse etc so you have two work stations in case one goes down. The cost is chicken feed in relation to what you do for us and would be funded in an instant if you say the word. The biggest cost to us would be for your blog to go down for any length of time.

When I was in business before I retired we had 4 workstations in a local network. We always replaced and upgraded our 4 desktop boxes every 3/4 years on the basis that we could not afford any breakdowns. We had automatic back up to a mirrored hard drive and kept a spare work station on our network in case any of our 4 went down. Always took back ups off site and ever used the cloud for storage as I would not trust it to be reliable or confidential in today’s world. Sounds good but it was a pain in the backside both financially and in terms of effort – never had a serious issue but, sod’s law, we would have had if we hadn’t taken precautions.

215. Robert Graham

Hi Campbell you still haven’t fixed the bugger yet ?

Anyway been reading some of the weird and wonderful suggestions yep and raised a laugh.

One thing that stood out DO NOT HOLD THE POWER BUTTON IN its a PC not a Lap Top they work in different ways ,

A few reasonable suggestions

I have experienced this fault it’s your PSU don’t bother trying to open it because it probably has a sticker NO SERVICEABLE PARTS INSIDE the reason being the line fuse will probably be solderd to the circuit board inside the unit and it’s to save the life of any nosey fkrs

PSU do fail especially after a surge it is fairly common that’s why there are such a variety on sale of replacement ones .

You will probably get one on Amazon for about £25.00 , A 600 watt unit should do the trick The one suggested Corsair is a good unit if you don’t mind about the money, if you are not familiar with the inside of a desktop PC leave it alone , if you’re determined the panel to remove is the left hand looking from the front of the PC it’s either two screws or Wing nuts ,

I would suggest you take lots of photos before you attempt to touch anything

And remember the cables are where they should be,

Rearranging them won’t help

If in doubt don’t call me I am busy

216. Jontoscots20

So folk complaining about waste management and rightly explaining that there is often an evidence trail. These are exactly the sorts of issues Police State Scotland should be dealing with but they are too busy acting as Sturgeon’s Stasi to do anything as useful as that. J

217. Kcor

Computer hardware can fail at any time, with or without Agent Shirlie’s help.

Your data will surely have been backed up to somewhere safe.

IMHO, the best solution would be to have a spare laptop for emergency use at any time.

218. Daisy Walker

Cute rat, bugger about the computer.

OT – what are folks thoughts re the riots in NI. Even the MSM are admitting its the loyalists responsible.

Please tell me they are not so daft as to think that if they create a ruckus, the British will put the army back in as they did back in the ’70’s. They don’t have the army numbers to do that, and also America and Europe – counter signatories to the GFA – are involved. They won’t countenance it. Times have moved on.

Likewise there was no internet, or cameraphones back in the day. If they try half the shit that they did back then now, it will go viral.

So, what are they trying to achieve? Its gone beyond being pissed off at the Police for carrying out a succesful drugs bust on Loyalists…

My other thought is, they are trying to create a state of unrest and climate of fear, against Protestant voters, so that they will not vote for reunification.

I’m pretty sure they will, if their jobs are on the line.

From WM’s point of view how does this play out. A state of unrest, so that they can lock down NI and Scotland?

If NI returns to Ireland – will that make concentrating on keeping Scotland easier for them, or less so?

One thing I’m growing to be very keen on, and I think it needs to be shouted from the roof tops. Whether its another Indyref2, or a Plebiscite Election specifically re Indy – folk who have not resided here at least 5 years need to be excluded – especially holiday home owners. (And its not like they can cry fowl, since its been the number 1 issue in Scotland since 2014).

There really does need to be an acknowledgement that folk from England (and potentially soon NI) are or will move here for that very reason.

I do hope the badness in NI does not start up again.

219. Iain Donald

So it’s a custom build? Do you know the make and model of the Motherboard?

Things to try:

1. Unplug the power lead, wait 5min.
    2. When you plug the power cable back in, listen closely to the PSU area where you plug the lead in. See if you can hear an arcing sound. It will either sound like a very low, muffled pop or a click. If you don’t hear that, the PSU might be dead.

If you do hear the popping sound it suggests the PSU might be good, If we can find out the following info, we may be able to power it on:

1. Make/Model of PC case.
    2. Make/Model of Motherboard.
    3. Make/Model of PSU

ALSO. Try powering it on with all peripherals removed. The only wire being connected should be the power lead.

220. Dan Hardy

Nerds On Site dot com

“First, try turning on your computer: if the ‘green’ light comes on and you can hear the fan, but nothing happens—it’s a sign your computer has been affected by a power surge or outage.

Unplug the big black power cable from the back of the computer. If it’s a laptop, remove the battery as well
    Hold the ‘on’/power button your computer
    Wait 5 seconds
    Press the power button to ‘turn off’ your computer
    Plug in the big black power cable from the back of the computer again
    Turn on your computer

If this fixes the issue, you should be fine. You have just purged the “dirty power” from your computer, and your computer power supply is fine. The same could be accomplished by letting your computer sit turned off for several hours or days, but who wants to wait that long?

If that solution doesn’t work, or the lights and fans don’t turn on when you try turning on your computer, there are a couple other fixes you can try to diagnose the problem:

Check the website mentioned as the rest is too big to post on here. And buy a mouse trap!

221. Paul

Occasionally get handed a PC or laptop that appears dead at first glance…

Have you tried resetting the CMOS?

Unplug everything, hold the power button for a good few seconds to ensure power has dissipated then:

a. Locate the cmos jumpers on main board and short them for 5-10 seconds using something metal like screw driver or paper clip.

b. if you can’t find the cmos jumpers then remove the battery on the main board leave for 30s or minute then replace and power up.

Any changes that have been made to the BIOS will need reapplied.

If that doesn’t work then need to troubleshoot components to see what has failed, start with PSU if still no sign of life. There may be error lights on the main board to speed up the process get a copy of the main board manual to check and understand codes etc.

Hopefully you’ve got more than one PC of similar spec to make troubleshooting easier.

Good luck!

222. Al-Stuart

Stu.,

This will fix the problem, but I absolutely love Shirley Boaty McBoatface Le Sabateur.

via MEME

223. SomeBlokeFromCambridge

Cute Ra’ee 🙂

But, seriously, trade ’em in – you don’t get this kind of bover from a Guinea Pig. Rabbits, however just *love* wires…

Re: ‘puter – basically you have to learn how to do engineree fault finding stuff, then fixing broken things becomes easier. Sorry, there is no other easy way, except pay or blag someone who can. And have a recovery path for when Ms.Nibbler (or any other disaster) strikes.

224. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m glad I use Powermacs and iMacs!

The failures I’ve had over the years have been disappointing – one PSU and one strange one, that I couldn’t get to the bottom of – but I’ve never lost anything, by using backup external hard drives.

I use ‘Time Machine’ and ‘Carbon Copy Cloner’ on each of my home machines – belt and braces.

Windows? Why do you have to click on “Start” to close down? Windows was added as an app, on top of DOS, to emulate what Apple were doing from the ground up, back in the 80s.

DOS and Microsloth Windows kept the principle that only “experts” would be able to sort out problems. Logic and user-awareness wasn’t a factor in their design.

Does any ‘normal’ computer user understand those error messages that Windows spews out? We just click to get rid of them, without understanding what’s gone wrong.
    (I use a Windows computer at work.)

225. Beaker

Assuming the fuses have been checked in the mains plug…

If it’s an older PC (per Win10) it could be as simple as replacing the battery on the motherboard. My old PC is Win7 and died last year. No power at all. Bought a new battery from local PC shop for £1 and started up first time.

It takes a lot to blow a PSU.

226. Hatuey

“what are folks thoughts re the riots in NI…”

Brexit basically abandons NI. The loyalists are naturally feeling insecure.

If Britain had refrained from giving them support and encouragement over the last few decades, the loyalists would have cooled the beans long ago and the troubles as we know them wouldn’t have happened.

They created this monster. At some point someone will need to teach it some manners.

227. ScotsRenewables

Buy another PC. Ask a tech guy to clone your HD or, failing that, buy a 3.5″ external USB caddy from Ebay or Amazon and put your old HD in it.

228. AwakeNotWoke

Unplug cable. If the power supply unit on the back of the PC has its own power button, flick that to off then leave it for few hours. Some models have a circuit breaker mechanism that will reset after a bit. If no joy, sounds like power supply is goosed mate.

229. ahundredthidiot

I am sure you have considered this Rev, but once you get all your data back, build your resilience up using the funds donated by double or tripling up on your resources. (AKA buy more tech shit)

We don’t contribute for you to be sitting around in dark rooms pointing lights at and interrogating pretty little rats you know!

230. Scott

Pour some sawdust on it. Give it ten minutes, and it’ll be right as rain.

231. Pete Roberts

RevStu – re printer ink try this site and see if they have anything for your printer – https://www.cityinkexpress.co.uk/

I’ve been using them for years without problems

232. Mikey d

Hatuey 8.52pm no need for the ‘loyalists’ to feel insecure, i’m sure boris will put out out the same welcome mat for them,
    As he is doing for the residents of hong kong.

233. FrankM

Oooooops,
    Barrhead boy.
    Apologies.

234. Gone right handed

Sorry. My team has been tasked with The National tonight. You guys aren’t a threat, apparently.

I’ll be back as soon as, promise. Any way, hugs. xx

235. Fishy Wullie

So a Guy called Colin posts this on WGD

*Highlands and Islands Region and South Scotland region are the only places SNP won a List Seat in 2016. The SNP are unlikely to win List seats in all other regions.

e.g. I vote in a List region where the SNP are likely to win every constituency seat. That means zero List seats for the SNP. If indy supporters in my region vote SNP on the List, Labour and the Tories or LibDems will get the List seats. That’s what happened in 2016.

I’m not suggesting an anti-SNP strategy.

I suggest:

VOTE SNP ( Constituency vote)

VOTE ALBA ( or Green) on the List

if you want to maximise the number of pro-MSPs in Holyrood.

Max the indy MSPs for independence”

—————————————————————–

The very next post comes this well reasoned and intelligently thought out reply

—————————————————————

“Colin have you not found the way back to Mordor yet. To find the prattt exit take a left along Moron Ave then a right along Bampot Dr then you will find the big door back to the netherworld aka Bathistan.Dont let the door hit your rear on the way out.
    I never believed a word you wrote when I used to read Wings and certainly won’t on this site so imaginary block button pressed. Cheerio ”

—————————————————————-

There’s really not much you can say is there

236. Wobbly

Blown motherboard. Back in the good old days of MMPC’s I plugged my speakers in without realising the power to the speakers was on. That was enough to blow my motherboard. New motherboard c/w processor, added new hard drive for operating system, connected old hard drives and installed windows. Problem solved.

237. Derek

@Captain Yossarian says:
    8 April, 2021 at 4:05 pm

Mousers need to be on their toes day and night so don’t feed it any lousy or cheap grub…only Whiskas or Felix, or something like that. Understand?

Whiskas for the incumbent wee shite* here – Felix is made by Purina and thus is filed under “Don’t buy from Nestle”. No mice in this flat. Mog gets Aldi dry food because it likes it.

I can’t add to the pc advice.

*I’ve seen it make a mouse last all day as a plaything.

238. Robert Hughes

” Brexit basically abandons NI. The loyalists are naturally feeling insecure. ” .

Indeed , and they have reason to feel insecure : Britain would gladly rid itself of that troublesome province , and would/will do so if it can find a way to blame someone/thing else.

The timing , however , is ” interesting ”

We know there are elements who seek to inflame sectarian divisions in our country and an upsurge in civil unrest in N.I tends to reverberate strongly with the indigenous Brit Nat ” Loyalists ” in Scotland .

All such unrest being manipulable

239. Quinie frae Angus

Late catching up with this informative and hilarious BTL thread.

Just need to re-post this comment I found up-thread as it’s a cracking post and can’t be emphasised enough!

We’ve only got four weeks left, folks. Time is of the essence! Remember you don’t want to wake up on the 7th and wish you’d done a bit more….. (remember that sentiment??! Aye!)

Anyway here’s the post:

Scozzie says:
    8 April, 2021 at 4:32 pm
    Breeks @ 3.19pm
    I agree, peeps needs to feel the grassroots motivation of 2014 again. That’s what AS asked for in his last live broadcast.

I’m overseas so limited, but jeez it was done in the summer of 2014 and can be done again. Everybody come together – any idea to hit the streets can only help get the Alba brand noticed, locally and nationally.

There’s 4 weeks to go so faffing around is not an option. Just do it everyone in your own local area.

The recent women’s rights campaigns have been very successful in getting recognition. We can do similar (I mentioned a few suggestions above but some more:

– ‘Artists for Alba’ campaign- street murals, art graffiti etc
    – fly-posting Alba supermajority posters, stickers etc on city streets
    – someone make Alba face masks to sell
    – Alba 1 pager flyers with decorated stones leave them on streets, buses, trains,shopping centres, etc.
    – Alba supermajority badges, car stickers, home posters etc
    – ‘chalking’ worked well for the women’s rights campaign – get Alba logo chalking just like kids do on your pavements
    – women support Alba stickers, posters: XX Chromosomes = X Alba on the list

The first step is to get the name recognised, the second step is for it to resonate with people.

Alba are prevented from getting their message across by the major broadcasters. But nothing beats grassroots as it’s the most authentic way to get messages across.
    Hit the streets to win independence seats.

240. lumilumi

The SNP Twitler Youth did their stuff insofar as we cannot get Rev Stu’s semi-humorous updates about the separats or separt-induced computer problems on his Twitter like we used to up until a couple of years ago.

Because the SNP Twitler Youth got Rev Stu’s Twitter account permanently removed a couple of years ago.

Chew on that. Removing an opposing voice from a “free speech” platform.

The SNP Twitler Youth celebrated it like a win. A win FOR what?

Their toxic identity politics? Definitely a win for authoritarianism and denial of free speech.

Can’t say much nowadays because some young preciuous middle-class special person will feel offended or (historically) oppressed.

Never mind the working class people who’ve been historically exploited and oppressed for centuries, or the genuinely poor even today, who have to go to food banks to feed their children. Very different ‘lived experience’ to the middle-class identity crowd, who all have oh-so opressed identities.

Twitler Youth – not only in Scotland but in other U.S. influenced countries – are destroying democracy, democratic politics.

The idea is to have a democratic, pluralistic country for the good of us all. The young (middle-class) extremists, the old gurmudgeony small-c conservatives (upper crust or old working class). A country where rational political debate is possible, a country where shades of grey are acceptable in stead of black-and-white. A country where political parties try to find common ground, a shared path forward, for the good of the country.

Identity politics: I must get what I want, what are MY needs, MY rights, because I have an IDENTITY, bow down and forget democracy.

Whoever shouts loudest, gets what he wants. And it’s almost always a he, not a she. Or a he self-identifying as a she.

Funny how shes self-identifying as hes almost never figure in these debates. It’s almost like they are dismissed, same as other females, while the men and transwomen sort it out. Gee, trans wasn’t so inclusive after all. Can anybody understand why? /sarcasm

241. AYRSHIRE ROB

Fishy Wullie @ 9.27 pm

Without even looking at WGD I bet that reply was Dr Jim. He can’t see past the St Nic cult- hail the nic!

They can’t even defend that stupid argument of 1,000,000 list votes wasted on 4 seats in 2016. Crazy mad fuds.

242. Effigy

What a nerve N Ireland
    They are the only ones who voted against the Bankers Brexit
    and got to stay in the EU trading block.

They seem to be demanding they get ignored and not get what they asked for just like Scotland.

It may take the standard Westminster cure for the situation, yet another Billion
    of Scotland’s money to Arlene and the DUP.

The party leaders must all be millionaires by now with the cash for ash scam.

They could all relocate to a Caribbean Colony and sashes, F the Pope T-Shirts and Rangers strips
    can all be flown in.

The most terrifying aspect of recent events there is the abject fear in their journalists to condemn
    petrol bombers, beatings and vandalism.
    Their jobs and the lives of their families depend on not seeing the reality of vicious bigotry on every street

243. Scott Shaw

Get yourself a decent external hard-drive for backing up your stuff, don’t just rely on the cloud. If I were you I would keep a remote one elsewhere as well in case you get an unwelcome visitor of a different variety.

244. lumilumi

Oh, and Agent Shirley is very cute.

Though she might’ve been an MI5 or SNP agent, treat her gently and turn her into a double agent. I’m sure rats are intelligent enough. The other separats will welcome her back into the fold – though forever more view her with some suspicion…

I don’t know much about rats, I’ve always had a cat. A savage little predator, not a lap cat.

245. Fishy Wullie

AYRSHIRE ROB says:
    8 April, 2021 at 9:54 pm

Fishy Wullie @ 9.27 pm

Without even looking at WGD I bet that reply was Dr Jim. He can’t see past the St Nic cult- hail the nic!

————————————————————–

No Rob it wasn’t and I forget the name although to be fair Dr Jim would have been my guess as well I’ve seen some of his comments, and I’m not going back in there to find out

but I have to say say I’m glad Pauls walked away from the fray for now, living amongst that bunch of morons can’t be good for anyones health, and it’s such a shame because I used to enjoy reading Pauls stuff and the comments, but sadly his blog lost it way and ironically taken over and ruined by the same mindset that’s destroyed the SNP

246. boris

I loved Margo who was as honest as the day is long. If only more Scots had listened to her heart felt pleas to waken up and smell the coffee Scotland would be free now. Margo was wise to and warned of Martin Rifkind and the Tory’s control over the British secret services. Read the full article. It is mind shaping.

2013: Margo Macdonald Wrote to the Head of the UK’s Security Service and Asked but never got an Assurance that MI5 Spies Would not Interfere in the Independence Referendum.

In a letter to MI5’s director general, Andrew Parker, Margo MacDonald wrote: “I will be obliged if you can give me an assurance that UK Security Services will not be used in any respect in the lead-up to the Scottish referendum on sovereignty, unless, of course, the Scottish police have sufficient evidence to justify normal responses to potentially overtly criminal acts. I do understand that the Security Services are vital to all the countries and regions of the British Isles and the potential for law-breaking may be heightened during the forthcoming campaign. As action on the Security Services’ part is calculated to keep communities safe and aid cohesion, I would welcome an assurance from you that this will continue, and that no other consideration will inform your Department’s work.”
    At interview Margo said the recent comments of former chancellor Denis Healey, who said the Labour Government of the 1970s had underplayed the value of oil revenues, underlined her concerns. She said: “The influence of the security services was insidious. If the opportunity came up to depress the self-confidence of Scots, then the opportunity was taken.” Asked if she believed the SNP and the wider Yes movement was currently infiltrated, she said: “Of course the security services have people in the SNP.”

https://caltonjock.com/2021/04/08/the-british-secret-service-won-the-2014-independence-referendum-just-as-margo-macdonald-predicted/

247. Contrary

Quinine ag 9.32pm,

I agree, some good ideas there – can Now Scotland help with organising? (… What is happening with Now Scotland just now anyway?) – now that Alex Salmond has the political side sorted, grassroots can focus on other areas, perhaps, like this.

Maybe even get some ribbons printed with ‘vote Alba on the list’ (assuming such a thing is possible) – ribbons tied inoffensively around things in a pretty bow seem to have a massive impact – I know it might cause outrage and the police getting called because of the vandalism and intimidation, but if would certainly get a huge amount of attention and publicity – if anyone wanted to take that risk,,,

248. Contrary

Apologies – that was meant to be addressed to Quinie frae Angus above,,, autocorrect (honest).

249. Quinie frae Angus

@lumi lumi, 9.39 pm

“Twitler Youth – not only in Scotland but in other U.S. influenced countries – are destroying democracy, democratic politics.”

You make a very good point about the US influence.

And we know already the fascination Nicola seems to have with the whole Clinton-think “thing”.

Suddenly you’ve dropped a penny with me about the “Why” of the presence of that young woman Kat Clary that posts so much poisonously-expressed gender zealotry on Twitter. She’s a young American who has some sort of “Spad” position in the Scottish government or SNP (sorry, should have checked my facts before posting), and she tweets with an arrogance, a hubris and a level of sarcasm aimed at “wrong-thinkers” (i.e. sane ordinary folks who don’t subscribe to the Nicola project) that has often had me scratching ma heid.

Who is she? What’s her background? What motivated her to come and be part of the “supposed” Scottish indy-supporting New SNP?

I think we should be told.

But the fixation (Nicola’s/Peter’s) with trans bollocks and associated billionare-funded Orwellianism, has to be coming from somewhere.

Just WTAF is going on?

Of course, my conspiracy may be wrong and this Kat Clary may just be a nice young overseas student type who landed here. liked it, and saw a career opportunity. And is just a cheeky narcissisic type on social media, as seems so ubiquitous a trait in the Twitler youth of the New SNP.

But I think this whole arena needs further investigation….

250. Mark Boyle

Sarah Smith has just interviewed some sort of teenager with a ring through the middle of its nose, which said on the news the Scottish Parliament’s biggest problem is it’s too full of white straight cis males and not women, BAME, gay and transgender people.

Yet on all those factors, as Stu has pointed out, Holyrood is the most overrepresented on the planet.

I’d say the bigger problem is a plethora of diabolically, wilfully ignorant youth whose ‘opinion’ is whatever disinformation trends most on Twitter and never read books but only colour them in.

251. Geoff Anderson

They’re Young, they will get older!

252. Auld Jock

Scott Shaw @ 9.57
    I agree you can’t rely on the cloud totally. You should have mirrored internal and/or external hard drives as backups. Plus another PC that can easily be plugged into these or said cloud for failsafe redundancy..

253. Beaker

I refuse point blank to use cloud storage for anything. All my backups are on removeable drives and dvds.

Although nowhere is safe. One of sons when little thought it was a good idea to draw on all of the Wii discs… with a screwdriver.

254. Ian Brotherhood

@Beaker –

My lad has tried explaining ‘the cloud’ to me many times.

It’s like yon sketch with Fathers Ted, Dougal, and the cows…

Sober or otherwise, it makes no sense to me and it never ever will.

🙁

255. Don

@Ian Brotherhood 8 April, 2021 at 11:23 pm

“My lad has tried explaining ‘the cloud’ to me many times.
    Sober or otherwise, it makes no sense to me and it never ever will.”

Just think of it as a mahoosive big computer disk drive to save stuff on at the other end of the Internet. See easy ..Sorted.

256. Paul Delaney

Sounds like the PSU is knackered you should replace it.

257. James Che.

Dan, we pick up other people’s rubbish, as well as the local councils rubbish that blows over their fencing from the CA site into the fields and countryside around about,
    Maybe if we are gonna do this, we should be wearing,
    Cleaning up Scotland, vote snp 1 Alba two high viz vests.

258. James Che.

Where can I get high printed viz vests from during lockdown,
    Let the locals in your town see groups of independence supporters cleaning and tidying up the rubbish being ignored by unionist parties even if you socially distance in a park or beach or even down toe local walk in town.

259. Elmac

Re Don @ 11.28pm

My sons think I am nuts for not using the cloud and use hard drive back up instead. They also tried to explain how you mine for Bitcoin without physically digging for it. Its a weird world they inhabit. As far as I am concerned if you can’t touch it, it aint there!

260. Beaker

@Ian Brotherhood says:
    8 April, 2021 at 11:23 pm
    “My lad has tried explaining ‘the cloud’ to me many times.
    Sober or otherwise, it makes no sense to me and it never ever will.”

I sometimes think Dougal had a hand in the original design…

261. Checks Notes

I can vouch for this, I have the 4527. Turns out my neighbour has the same one too, a fact I didn’t know upon purchasing mine. When I was setting mine up, I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t printing…all my stuff was printing next door

262. Sharny Dubs

I read an interesting paper (I think Jordan Peterson)which pointed out that the modern “twitter youth” instead of playing in playgrounds with their siblings and learning how to interact with real people when they were kids, they have spent all that time building up their “profiles” and creating their own persona on the web. That is their reality. A persona they have created for themselves, hence the obsession with “what do you identify as”.

They have grown up with all the platforms and are adept at the search apps. the friend files the banned groups etc. But real life they cannot do.

This is how we have idiots affecting policy decisions etc. For them its all a game, like reality tv. Only the net is so set up and manipulated by the powers that be that there are real winners and losers.

A good example are journalists writing articles with zip, zero, zinch real life experience.

And like someone pointed out its not just our problem. Its the rest of the wests problem. They don’t seem to be so bad in the east. Australia is rife.

Question is, what to do?

263. lumilumi

Mairk Boyle says:
    8 April, 2021 at 10:56 pm

Sarah Smith has just interviewed some sort of teenager with a ring through the middle of its nose, which said on the news the Scottish Parliament’s biggest problem is it’s too full of white straight cis males and not women, BAME, gay and transgender people.

Yet on all those factors, as Stu has pointed out, Holyrood is the most overrepresented on the planet.

I’d say the bigger problem is a plethora of diabolically, wilfully ignorant youth whose ‘opinion’ is whatever disinformation trends most on Twitter and never read books but only colour them in.

This… not exactly a disease but something like a fungal thing between your toes… It’s not unique to Scotland.

BTW, the youth are not on Twitter, it’s Instagram or TikTok or whatever is the newest thing. Anyway…

I give leeway to teenagers/early 20s kids. They make stupid pronouncements, are angry at their parents and anybody older than themselves for anything/everything. As they should be. Then grow out of it. Not get stuck and take over a political party – the SNP, I’m looking at you!

The kids think they are better than us middle-aged people because they have IDENTITIES, so there!

If we (the middle-aged people with no ‘identities’) had made a perfect world, what would these angry young men and women (though it’s mostly men) do with their precious IDENTITIES?

Still shape the world to their liking, to hell with any ‘wrongthink’ people?

What exactly do these ‘identity politics’ babies want?

No hurt feelz – any disagreement is hurt feelz – any hurt feelz is literal violence and a hate crime. (Thank you, Humza!)

Let’s take a moment.

Should the legislative system be based on verifiable facts, or on the ‘feelings’ of people not even involved in the potential court case.

That is Humza Yousaf’s Hate Crime Act in a nutshel. His ‘wrongthing act’.

You cannot make and uphold legislation based on ‘feelings’. The alledged ‘victim’ feelz this way, the alledged perpetrator feelz another way. Whose ‘feelz’ are more important? (Since facts don’t enter into it, only ‘feelz’).

Whatever happened to facts, forensic evidence, corrobration etc.

Are we descending into witch-hunts for wrongthink?

Sign me up for a dunking-chair or a stake. I’m the demographic, a middle-aged woman. Must be a witch, or a terf, as witches are now called.

Ho-hum.

264. Red

Quinie frae Angus – that horsey Canadian woman from the Green Party gets on my cisgendered mantits.

It takes a special kind of dicketry to move to another country and imagine it’s appropriate for you to make their laws. Most nations in the world would laugh you out of their country if you tried.

The SNP believes anybody who has smelt whisky or set foot on the tarmac at Glasgow Airport magically becomes just as Scottish – but better, somehow – than people who were born here. They couldn’t be more wrong.

Btw, civic nationalism is looking pretty threadbare these days, is it not? Given that our civic institutions include the malicious prosecutors of COPFS, the speech hushers of the Scottish Parliament, and the serial liars of Rape Crisis Scotland. If that’s all that we are, we don’t deserve Independence.

Boris – Margo MacDonald was the rarest and most dangerous kind of politician, she always told the truth.

It rubbed some of her peers the wrong way, even in the pre-Woke SNP, back when it was still a Scottish nationalist party. The grey men and the clique quines never liked her, much to her credit. Margo was far too honest, and mibbe a bit too gallus.

But the rest of us who had the honour of meeting her remember a formidable woman of keen insight and great character. She is missed.

265. Beaker

Alexa can be fun. Couple of my work colleagues have it in their homes, and great joy is to be had when they forget to turn her/it off during online meetings.

As for printers… I’ve yet to find one that doesn’t cause problems. But I do have one tip for laserjets, always remove the toner cartridge BEFORE using an air can…

266. Red

Sharny Dubs says:
    9 April, 2021 at 12:30 am
    I read an interesting paper (I think Jordan Peterson)which pointed out that the modern “twitter youth” instead of playing in playgrounds with their siblings and learning how to interact with real people when they were kids, they have spent all that time building up their “profiles” and creating their own persona on the web. That is their reality. A persona they have created for themselves, hence the obsession with “what do you identify as”.

Sharny, I’m a dad, and I’m terrified of the world my weans are growing up in. Because I know I won’t be around to protect them forever. And I can’t protect them from some of the things out there.

The number one problem is, we’re just not having enough children. That’s the main reason for all the helicopter parenting. (That, and a legitimate fear of pedophiles).

When I was a boy, in a far-off age of heroes known as the 1980’s, the streets were full of kids. If you didn’t have brothers or sisters (which was unusual in them days), other weans would chap your door and ask if Red was coming out to play.

And I did.

Entire summers spent following the canal, climbing trees, riding bikes, playing football and kirby and hide and seek, frequently getting up to mischief and being battered when my Dad found out.

We didn’t know it then, but we were privileged. Despite not being actually privileged – I remember hiding behind the couch from debt collectors and the power card running dry in the frozen midst of winter. Dad unemployed and drinking again, blaming Thatcher. Mum making macaroni for dinner again, on the one working electric hob. Real Yorkshireman stuff. Ken Loach would’ve loved it.

But that didn’t matter, because we had something better. We had a childhood. A genuinely happy, glorious childhood where we were free to explore the world in the company of other children, without adults hovering by. Adults didn’t think it was their job to watch you 24/7, or tell you to play nice, or fight your fights, or entertain you. We were lucky.

I feel sorry for children today. They’re surrounded by material things that don’t make them happy, and we’re too afraid to risk allowing them the liberty we had. It’s not a surprise that so many of them are poorly socialised and anxious and try to find identity in the digital sewers of the internet.

We owe them better than that.

267. Clavie Cheil

re Red.

Margot MacDonald once bought me a meal when I was starving and I didn’t have a bean to my name.

Oh and when growing up there was one call from my mither that got me and my brither running hame.

“Yer suppers ready!”

But then we were growing up in a Nation where Celtic had just won the European Cup playing possession fitba and Scotland had humiliated the Auld Enemy at Wembley and Jim Baxter played keepy uppy with the fitba and Winnie Ewing had won the Hamilton by-election.

Now bairns dinna get oot the door because Moray and the North East is being used as a dumping ground for English kiddy fiddlers and sex predators as if we did nae hae enough of were ane problems to deal with. Who can blame Scots parents noo for keeping their bairns in the hoose.

268. Elmac

Red @ 1.09 pm

That was powerful Red. I grew up in the 50s but it was so much as you described. From morn to night we played football, climbed trees, swam in the river (summer only), got into scrapes and built lasting friendships. Girls came later. We did not have a care in the world and our parents did not need to worry about our safety.

It is not just the internet age that has changed things. In my day cars were fairly rare as were strangers and there was little serious crime. Everybody knew everyone else. Nowadays parents have to be much more hands on and I think modern youth suffer as a result. As you say they do not have the freedoms we had and do not build the same relationships with their fellows.

269. PhilM

Fucking hell!
    Kirby!
    What were the rules again??!
    You stood at one side o’ the road, yer pal at the other…
    You tried to throw the ball, hit their kirb without the ball touching the road, if you managed it and the ball came all the way back to your side, you moved into the centre of the road and could have as many goes as you liked hitting their kirb until you missed and then it was yer pal’s go…was it first to fifteen or what was it exactly?
    That’s what I remember anyway…sounds like the fifties but we were playing kirby in the seventies…god…there was even a rag n bone guy came round our way with his horse and cart…he was filthy like a tramp and I’m buggered it I can remember what he gave us for our rags…a way of life all long long gone.

270. Sharny Dubs

Red, I’m a dad to and the things that my three sons have to deal with just scare the living shit out of me most of the time.

However we can’t turn the clock back or relive the past for them, as parents we should be doing what we can as best we can, after all we are supposed to be the grown ups, and should be trying to be practice.

One thing though, I believe kids are way more resilient and smarter than we give them credit for. Sometimes I find something scary on the web and my sons will just shrug and say yeah yeah knew about that, where have you been dad!

Also they are Scots!!

271. Hatuey

“I’m buggered it I can remember what he gave us for our rags…”

It’s tempting to suggest the answer may be in the question itself.

My guess is it was a balloon, though. Balloons were a sort of currency in the old days. Most of life’s problems could be resolved with a balloon or two.

I remember acquiring one of these much sought after balloons, given to me by a barber. I believe it was intended as some sort of compensation for the atrocity he committed on my scalp.

No matter how hard I blew on this thing it wouldn’t inflate. It rendered my ears inoperable which may have been the intended purpose; my new hairstyle was such that the less I heard, the better.

272. David

I’m afraid it’s probably the motherboard Stu, if Shirlie shorted the +5V line with one of the data lines in the usb cable then unfortunately this has potentially fried something on the board. Best to take it to a reputable pc repair place and they can check the components separately.

273. Thistle's Bristles

Rev, I’m glad Shirlie is OK which I admit was my first thought.

Sorry I have no tech advice to give.

When all three of us siblings lived with our parents and were at school, my wee sister had a rabbit which was sometimes let loose in the lounge. On two separate occasions it nibbled the telephone line which ran behind the sofa, presumably taking the cream-coloured cable to be some kind of tasty root. Or something.

It cut a family coversation off partway through, that way, but was itself unharmed.

So sympathy.

Hope the fix isn’t too expensive for you nor challenging. Please do unplug everything before working on the electrics, and remember that capacitors can hold a charge for some time after disconnection!

A very amusing read too. Your love of animals comes through, as on other occasions, which is always a joy. Thanks!

274. twathater

WOW I have just had a memory explosion with all this auld days talk

I was born and brought up in Govan in the 50s and at 12 moved to the great expanse of Easterhouse , the flats were so modern and luxurious with an inside bathroom and would you believe it a VERANDA

When I stayed in Govan there was a ragman used to come around with his horse and cart yet when we moved to Easterhouse the same guy came around in a van as it was probably too far for the horse , but in both locations he would always shout out TOYSFURRAGS , BALLOONSFURRAGS and as usual the weans would all go and pester their maws fur rags , but most of the time the only problem was we were wearing them

275. PhilM

Very witty…
    Yes…I do remember a balloon or two…our other currency was Freddoes…they were sadly withdrawn from circulation for a while but now they’re legal tender again!
    Lordy…have I just gone and solved that nagging currency question that’s dogged the independence movement?!!

276. PhilM

And yes…insomnia thy name is PhilM.

277. Kiwilassie

Checks Notes says:
    9 April, 2021 at 12:09 am

I can vouch for this, I have the 4527. Turns out my neighbour has the same one too, a fact I didn’t know upon purchasing mine. When I was setting mine up, I couldn’t figure out why it wasn’t printing…all my stuff was printing next door

This made me laugh out loud. I’m not computer savvy & this is the sort of thing that would happen to me. 😉

278. Breeks

https://archive.is/PzxRo

Anybody in the SNP who’s not embarrassed and ashamed reading this?

Greatest leader we’ve ever had apparently. Ah ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!

I don’t think Scotland has had a First Minister who I’ve detested more. She is poison.

279. David Caledonia

I was reading a copy of the sun newspaper, in this newspaper, if you can call it a newspaper is a numpty called Bill Leckie.
    Change his name around and you get a leckie bill, and none of us like leckie bills, with good reason.
    This idiot, cause that’s what he is and idiot, praised a guy called hunter a scottish business billionaire, or he was until he lost a bit due to whatever misfortune befelled the poor soul.
    If your not sure of Mr Hunter, he is a scottish person who as far as I know started selling training shoes from a market stall, you could say if you did not know about Mr Hunter that he is a success.
    But what would you say if you new how he did it, well he got his gear from the sweat shops of India, yes young kids sleeping under the tables where Mr Hunter got his low cost gear from, and he had the huge profits from the slave wages that these kids where paid.
    Leckie bill said that scotland needs more people like Hunter, but here is what Leckie bill said about Alex Salmond, he basically said that Mr Salmond was a clown, and had a mock picture of Mr Salmond in some kind of clown outfit.
    So there you have MSM in all its glory, scotland needs people like hunter, but we don’t need a man that has the main purpose of his life to help scotland to be an independent country.
    Liverpool was right, do not buy this paper, this lie paper, this contemptable toilet roll of crap

280. David Caledonia

Someone mentioned printers and it made me laugh, many years ago I bought one, got to have one of them lovely things to get all my photies in culla I thought.
    What I was not told was the cost of the ink, I had to sell it, what’s the point of having a printer when your bank manager won’t give you a loan to buy the ink.

Heh heh heh

281. David Caledonia

We lost Margo but we still have Jim, two great human beings.
    If I was half as good or as intelligent as these two beauties I would be well chuffed with myself

282. David Caledonia

The main thing in life is not to worry, worry causes stress and stress leads to illness, I am working on a young lady just now on this very subject.
    She gets stressed over the tiniest little thing, I am gradually getting her to stop it bit by bit, its a slow process but I’m getting there.
    She smiles a lot more now, and to see this young lady and her big jolly smile makes it all worth it.

So stop worrying about nothing, a smile is better for you than a frown

283. North chiel

Well said “ David Caledonia @0550 a.m “ In the context of “ clowns” the Sun newspaper and some of their columnists could be compared to “ performing circus seals “ in the context of never ending unionist propaganda, and their Tory “ ringmaster” bosses .

284. Cudneycareless

Printers are like the old razors and very old cameras. Sell the base unit very cheaply to get a sale then when you use it it the profit comes from ink, blades and film . Digital cameras did for old world films. Beards did for razor blades , and the inability to read will do for printers.

Friday morning and already cynical.

285. Winifred Mccartney

No doubt about it the HP Envy printer is super. I have the 7640 and I have had it for more than 12 years with never a minutes bother. It is wireless and I have a contract with HP to supply the ink – it reads printer remotely and sends ink when needed. You can buy ink depending on how much you print in a month from about £4 per month. Great service and no problems at all.

286. Baxter

Breeks,
    There are a fair few people who I thought were SNP/ Nicola fans who have expressed what can only be called hatred towards Sturgeon over the last few weeks. Covid has taken a toll on their lives and businesses and Nicola’s approach over opening up Scotland compared to the timetable of Boris and they are now seeing Nicola for what she really is. It still amazes me how many have little or no knowledge of what the two inquiries were about or the details of the Salmond trial.

287. Effigy

The U.K. government, the SNP leaders and Westminster’s media
    all praying that Alex Salmond and the Alba Party fail in their crowdfunder.

It’s only at 65% of the small £50K target and we only have 7 days remaining
    show our support.

288. Rikali

It’s only at 65% of the small £50K target and we only have 7 days remaining
    show our support.

—————-
    Yes, it is slow.

I made my humble contribution through Alba’s website.

I’m sure many others did too.

289. Grey Gull

I donated the day the party launched so haven’t given to the fundraiser. My partner has too. Does anyone know of that money will be added to the fundraiser?

290. Luigi

Another car crash interview for gorgeous George on Radio Scotch land this morning. What a joke. A spent force if ever there was one. Squaring a socialist circle on a conservative unionist platform. Why does he even bother lol.

291. Baxter

I made a contribution through the website as I’m sure many others did when they signed up. Possibly slightly bad planning by Alba if they were planning a crowdfunding as well, would have been better in my opinion to have a note directing people to the crowdfunding site and asking them to donate there.
    The effect of Alba hitting their target in a few days would have had a better effect on the media, if they bothered to even cover it.

292. Luigi

The media will certainly cover it if Alba fail to reach their target fund.

293. WeeChid

David Caledonia says:
    9 April, 2021 at 6:25 am

“The main thing in life is not to worry, worry causes stress and stress leads to illness”.

At my age I don’t worry so much these days but I do get bloody angry and that is about as bad.

294. Robert Hughes

Breeks @ 5.18

” I don’t think Scotland has had a First Minister who I’ve detested more. She is poison.”

From a philosophical POV I try to avoid ” hate ” as an unhealthy and unproductive emotion , but Sturgeon is really testing this capacity for me .

Everything about her is bogus , she is a total fraud and ruthless deceiver and the longer she is in power the more damage she will do to our country and our hopes for Independence .

After the H.E – whatever the outcome – all energies must be directed at getting her and her cabal of useless ( other than their own myopic interests ) fuckwits out of our lives , permanently .

The damage she has already done will take a long time to repair , we just can’t afford another 6 years of her political stupidity and bad faith

295. Auld Jock

Whilst we are on this computing wizardy or lack off. Does anyone else get this issue. I access wings quite a lot on my android phone. Samsung S10+ where there are video files imbedded in Stu’s posts and I click on them they never seem to play. Always says error loading or something. Always plays on pc. Any ideas on how to fix this? I know it’s not a helpdesk just thought I’d ask..thanks

296. ebreah

Has anyone seen this? Herald put a link via twitter but I cannot open it.

https://inews.co.uk/news/scotland/scottish-independence-nicola-sturgeon-says-covid-may-delay-indyref2-until-2024-947875

297. Meg merrilees

Ebreah
    The link worked for me.
    NS saying that she would move Indy ref 2 to 2024 from2023 if pandemic still a problem. When asked if she would discuss Indy strategy with AS her answer was “No”.

298. Meg merrilees

Ebreah – there is a link on Breeks post up thread at 5.18 this morning.

299. Zander Tait

I’d be careful if you have any sensitive material on your PC Stu before taking it into Bath PC repairs.

Swapping out a PSU is not too difficult and it does sound like that is the issue here.

Alternatively, if you have backups of everything, just do the 21st century solution and bin the old one and buy a new one.

300. osakisushi

Almost certainly the PSU.
    Remove it and take it to a computer shoppe. There are different cabling requirements on motherboards.

There is a rare chance the processor has been fried but generally, a USB short will provoke PSU failure.

301. Republicofscotland

So again yesterday in a Q&A session Nicola Sturgeon ruled working in any way or fashion with Alex Salmond and the ALBA party, even though Salmond said he wants to put previous issues with her behind him, to focus on Scotland gaining independence.

I know which one of these two has Scots interests at heart, and its not Sturgeon.

302. Scot Finlayson

@Sharny Dubs,

Dr Jordan Peterson (Canadian clinical psychologist) is a bastion of truth and fact in this `woke` dystopian world we are heading for,

not sayin i agree with him on everything but,

vilified by media,politicians,educators,social media so must be doing something right,

he was agahst when he read about Scotland passing Humza Yousaf`s Hate Thought Bill.

“Surely not Scotland as well”

truth and fact are anathema to the white privileged middle class uni uneducated nose ringed unicorn `wokist`,

he is well worth checking out if you are interested in reasoned debate using facts and truth instead of `feelings and rainbows`.

303. Albert Herring

Fill it up with rice and leave it for a week.

304. Dan

Meg merrilees says: at 8:52 am

NS saying that she would move Indy ref 2 to 2024 from2023 if pandemic still a problem. When asked if she would discuss Indy strategy with AS her answer was “No”.

So not really Scotland’s Future in Scotland’s Hands then…

If most of the vulnerable folk have now been injected with these supposedly great vaccines, and it’s safe enough for us to turnout for elections next month, then one ponders what the delay could be for, other than the political class hoovering up their big salaries for another few years…

305. Meg merrilees

Re ALBA crowdfunder- like a lot of folk I donated when I joined.
    However, I donated to the crowdfunder yesterday because we really need ALBA, over the years I’ve given plenty to the SNP.
    ALBA is our only hope and if needs to make an impact in the next two weeks or it is done for this election so I would urge folk to dig back into your funds and chip in a bit more. Surely we can all afford a bit more. Just think, if even half of Wings readership even chipped in a pound then it would make a significant difference.
    Alex deserves our support- they are throwing everything at him. Let’s get this fund over the line- thank you.

306. ebreah

@Meg merrilees, thanks for referring the 5:18. At least it is in the DR. Herald tweeted its own article but for some reason the link was broken [or they pulled the article out]. Right after that tweet was another tweet saying NS won’t work with AS but will with the Greens. That link was ok though.

307. T.C. Nu

I’d be careful if you have any sensitive material on your PC Stu before taking it into Bath PC repairs.

And, of course, giving anyone your hard disk always runs the risk that you might get it returned with hidden ‘added extras’…usually swiftly followed by a visit by the 4 o’clock knock squad, c/w press in tow.

308. Hatuey

“NS saying that she would move Indy ref 2 to 2024 from2023 if pandemic still a problem. When asked if she would discuss Indy strategy with AS her answer was “No”.”

Don’t suppose they asked what she did with the 600 grand?

That Party Political Broadcast video, for all that it was diabolical, looked to me like it cost a few bob.

Any video production people willing to hazard a guess at what that cost? I would say it was least 30k… but what do I know.

309. Ruby

Got really fed up with the colour inkjet printers and
    I bought a monochrome Laser printer.

It’s great!
    I can’t remember when I last bought a toner cartridge.

310. Fred

The crowdfunder is only one thing, the latest poll I read this morning had Alba at 3%. That’s extremely concerning for Salmond and I’m not sure how he’s able to gain any further political traction at such a late stage. If he doesn’t he’s simply out of the game.
    I agree with some others, for maximum impact he should have really joined forces with another established independent party rather than going it alone and starting from scratch.
    SNP sitting with a projected 70 seats and Greens with 12.
    I’m staying in bed May 7th. 🙁

311. Sandra

That rat has a look of Stewart McDonald about it. Does he self ID as a rat?

312. Mark Boyle

@Fred

“I agree with some others, for maximum impact he should have really joined forces with another established independent party”

And there’s the fatal flaw in your deduction.

313. Stephen

@Sandra
    Does he self ID as a rat?
    /
    No. Judging by the picture he/she is a bit of a rug muncher.

314. Del G

The first question is whether there’s power coming out the PSU. If you have a voltmeter you can measure across one of the power leads that attach to the motherboard, or to the disk drive, and most of these wires should measure 5 volts. 0 volts across multiple test points means the PSU is broken.
    There will be a fuse within the PSU. Most PSUs have got dire safety warnings on them aimed at keeping prying fingers out of there. If it’s that fuse, the replacement cost is minimal but a computer technician will charge an hour’s work – say £50.
    Alternatively, a cheap replacement PSU – there are plenty online from the likes of ebuyer – https://www.ebuyer.com/store/Components/cat/Power-Supplies
    Under £50 assuming yours is a utility PC. If it’s a gaming machine then the motherboard and graphics unit will have muscle, and need greater power.
    Lastly, thinking about how the surge could have damaged the computer, that surge could have shorted the PSU but it could have got into the PC via the USB port. That’s unlikely, but you never know. In which case I’d suspect fried resistors or capacitors on the motherboard. Let’s hope it’s not that.
    Best solution is to get it to a repair shop who can see if the motherboard will power up with a new PSU.

315. Donald Urquhart

I smell a rat. That ‘Shirlie’ looks very similar to one I’ve seen Pete Wishart training in his back garden these past months

316. Derek

1) I believe that it’s possible to buy a cable that allows you to connect a hard drive to a USB port. Might be worth a punt along with a new machine so that you’re not entrusting your archive to someone unknown.

2) Never buy The Scum.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.