A sense of inclusion

Posted on January 18, 2018 by

Previous episodes in the series are here. If you’ve got a story like this to tell, or you know anyone who does, Phantom Power want to hear from you – drop them a line.

1. 18 01 18 11:56

A sense of inclusion | speymouth

233 to “A sense of inclusion”

1. Rev. Stuart Campbell

I can’t find #19 for some reason, so here it is in case we didn’t post it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6NddVLypIg

2. One_Scot

Love these films, thank you to all involved in making them and starring in them, it gives me belief that maybe, just maybe we might do this.

3. bobajock

BBC Scotland will be covering …

4. Yerkitbreeks

Just look at the sooper Nordic decor in their flat – just another influence we need lots of .

5. Ken500

It just takes more people to come out and vote SNP/SNP. Vote for Independence. Get off their backsides. May and the Tories – unionists are bringing the Scottish economy down. Deliberately.

6. Proud Cybernat

Well said Nina and Craig. Welcome to Scotland. And YES – I hope to that an independent Scotland will become a beacon for the northeast of England to stand out of the shadow of London too. London is the black hole of the UK which sucks in most of the resources of the UK and, in the process, impoverishing many parts of the UK for its own needs. There HAS to be a better way. I often feel sorry for the people of the north of England who are essentially stuck with London.

I truly hope indy Scotland will show the rest of the UK the way it has to go, that London and the southeast is not the be all and end all of England.

Welcome!

7. Bob Mack

Great film. Yesterday I felt a bit down but today after studying the Scottish age population figures I feel reinvigorated. We all know that the referendum was lost because of older people being afraid or having unbreakable ties with the Union. That is just fact.

Today I learned that there are just as many young people between 1 and 15 years of age,as there are elderly 65 to 80+.

This renews my hope for know young people can be more radical regardless of influences.

Independence will come. Hopefully in my lifetime, but if not then at least I helped put down a foundation stone with my grandaughter. The future is ours.Those who come to reside are also unburdened with the baggage of Scotland divided past and are more likely to see a better future.

8. galamcennalath

Excellent!

Isn’t it great that these lovely folks have moved here, want to be part of modern Scotland, and want Indy?

And yet, it’s also bewildering that we have so many born-here proud-butts who willing sell out this country. Proud-butts should listen to this couple and feel utterly ashamed of themselves.

9. Weechid

Bob Mack says:
    “Today I learned that there are just as many young people between 1 and 15 years of age, as there are elderly 65 to 80+.”
    Let’s just hope they aren’t like my younger relatives who voted No because they were worried about their pensions and currency and who are indoctrinating their children with the same mindset. Brother in 70s, sister in 60s and myself, still just in 50s all voted Yes.

10. Ken500

It just needs more people to get out and vote to preserve their rights. Use it or lose it. Their choice. May and the Tories – uninionists are trying to bring the Scottish economy down. Do not let them.

11. Dr Jim

Bloody foreigners coming here and paying taxes

Pensions:

Young folk don’t have to worry about that as long as they pay about half their wages to an American insurance company in the new Great Kingdom of Brexland they’ll be promised all the money they need ..until they ask for it, then mibbees aye mibbees naw, but definitely not covered for Medical insurance for whatever ailment you’re going to die of

Vote Tory, or Labour, no difference and that’s what you’ll get

Vote Scotland!

12. ScotsRenewables

We need a powerful recruiting drive in England – replace the dying House Scots one for one with enthusiastic Yes-voting incomers and we’ll soon have the numbers.

Hope this video brings home to some of the birthers on here how important the New Scot vote is.

13. Robert J. Sutherland

What a fine couple – a great asset to all of us. They have invested their future in our future, so we had better not let them (and ourselves) down.

For a very, very long time, Scotland has bled people and talent, as DMH recently reminded the readers of The National. Now instead we have people coming here for a better life. What a happy change, eh?

Another great episode from Phantom Power. One of the best things (beside WoS, natch! =grin=) to ever happen for indy. We just need to get these seen by more people. We only need to reach and change another 5%…

14. Capella

Unfortunately (by design) immigration is a reserved matter. Let’s hope we can change that soon so that people like Nina and Craig can feel safe.

I think Nicola is taking a bold step in endorsing the contribution EU citizens make to Scotland, in the face of the dreadful racism which seems to have taken over the rest of the MSM and political leadership.

Thanks to Nina and Craig for their contribution, and not least, for their beautifully decorated apartment.

15. Macart

It’s a keeper. 🙂

16. Ken500

Banning air b/b in Edinburgh. Do they know how many family apartments at relatively short notice to rent in Edinburgh 12. They are only 12. Pop 1million. Yet that is considered a major problem. Do they not want visitors in Edinburgh. How daft is that? Impossible. They need more.

OAP’s in rest of Scotland are not allowed to use their (bus) travel passes on the Edinburgh Trams. They paid for it. More buses have to run. More congestion and expense. The Trams are running under subscribed. Losing maximum revenues. Edinburgh the wealthiest City in Scotland has subsided transport.

Two stops on the London tube without contactless £5.90. Contactless only one ticket per card. Subsdised transport.

17. Tatu3

Glad to see more coming over to Yes. I know one or two families in the north east who would be Yessers if they lived in Scotland. Unfortunately not everyone is able to up sticks and move.

Also Ray Winstone in a movie worth watching. Sexy Beast

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0203119/?ref_=nv_sr_1

18. Brian Powell

These folk embarrass the cringing ProudScots who drag us down.

19. Robert Peffers

@Bob Mack says: 18 January, 2018 at 10:41 am:

“We all know that the referendum was lost because of older people being afraid or having unbreakable ties with the Union. That is just fact.”

Matter of true fact, Bob Mack, is that it isn’t a fact. There is a far more simple explanation that is the fact.

This belief that it is simply because a greater number of unionists are from an older age group is a dangerous and stupid viewpoint. Quite simply the actual members of the Westminster Establishment tend to be from an older demographic range is because they are all that remains of the Labour, Tory and LibDem party membership and their followers.

It doesn’t take a genius intellect to figure out that as the SNP has grow from a tiny handful of what the vast majority of the Scottish electorate, (remember the Scottish electorate were voting Tory, Labour and Liberal back then), and they regarded the SNP members as a lunatic fringe of dangerous terrorists who blew up pillar boxes, stole the Stone of Destiny and were anti-Royalists at a time when the Royals were far more acceptable to Scots than today.

That means the present, around 50%, of Scots voters who now favour Scottish Independence came from that Labour, Tory, LibDem demographic. So if you were to add up the actual Labour/Tory/LibDem party members now running Scottish councils, being members of the Holyrood Parliament, the Westminster Parliament and all their close family – plus the council employed officials whose jobs depends upon the unionist led local, national and EU structures who will see that as the reason the unionists are of an older generation.

A fine example of that as a fact is shown in today’s SMSM news.

MSPs recommend repeal of Football Act.

MSPs on Holyrood’s Justice Committee have recommended the repeal of the Offensive Behaviour at Football Act.

A majority of members on the committee backed Labour MSP James Kelly’s members bill, while stressing they strongly condemn sectarian behaviour.

The SNP members do not want the legislation repealed, but are outnumbered by MSP’s from opposition parties, all of whom are in favour of scrapping it. The first vote on the repeal bill will take place at Holyrood next Thursday. “

Here we see a small group of those mainly older generation Labour/Tory/LibDem people attempting to overrule the SNP/SG while the vast majority of the electorate, football supporters, Police Force and even a majority of Labour/LibDem and Tory voters are against the repeal bill.

Rev Stu has highlighted the figures of those for and against the act more than once here on Wings. It is absolute nonsense to imagine that just because a person is of a certain age they are, simply by being that certain age, automatically going to vote to remain part of the UK.

If we ever hope to free Scotland from the Westminster yoke we really need to get rid of such daft, overly simplistic, ideas.

Go look at a picture of a Scottish Tory Party conference and you will see that those sitting watching the stage are almost exclusively blue rinsed elderly females. The conclusion is not that they are there because they are older ladies but there because they are what remains of the Tory party membership.

The same goes for the other unionist parties- they are older because they are what remains of the actual party membership and not because they became the party membership upon arriving at a certain age.

20. Thepnr

Well done Phantom Power films another excellent production.

As was pointed out in the video there are over 80,000 vacancies in the NHS and this couple would have found jobs wherever though chose to move to in the UK.

I’m glad thew chose Scotland and that’s another two more Yes votes in the bag.

21. Gus

Always impressed with the quality of these. Brilliant.

22. Reluctant Nationalist

Nice couple.

23. Bob Mack

@Robert Peffers,

Sorry Robert but you are away on a different planet today.

Are you actually trying to tell me that all the empirical evidence about how and why the older generation voted in the referendum is wrong. I presume you will publish your alternative sources rather than your anecdotal evidence.

24. Richard Duncan

Day in day out,

We are bombarded by propaganda and bullshit by the Govt(Westmidden) and the media.

These videos give me the belief that the bullshit is being ignored and folk can see for themselves how good a country (Scotland) we have.

Big thank you to all for these videos .

I feel so much better having watched this.

Now if only the rest of us could show our support more.

Independence is close … really close .

25. Scott

This couple are more than welcome a very good story not like this one is it only a Tory who would do this.

https://on.rt.com/8x6w

26. Robert Graham

all these clips deserve a wider audience

Perhaps the foyer of the scottish parliament

I cant see any objections after all they are happy and uplifting showing real people’s experiences of and in scotland

Or is happy and uplifting a no go area for unionists , incompatible with their we hate everything and everyone especially foreigners , and of course the S N P .

27. Ken500

People should be happy that over 1/3 of older voters vote SNP/SNP. They vote for Independence. Their help, dedication and campaigning helps gets support over the line in historical victories. There is much mention of those who don’t. Instead of those who do. On the increase.

28. Robert Graham

all these clips deserve a wider audience

Perhaps the foyer of the scottish parliament , for visitors to view while waiting , i trust there are screens in our 10 times 2 years late parliament

I cant see any objections after all they are happy and uplifting showing real people’s experiences of and in scotland

Or is happy and uplifting a no go area for unionists , incompatible with their we hate everything and everyone especially foreigners , and of course the S N P .

29. galamcennalath

Richard Duncan says:

Day in day out

… and yet Indy support is creeping up despite levels of omission, bias, and propaganda we didn’t even see in 2014.

I agree videos like this are most uplifting. They instill the will to get on and win our future.

30. Smallaxe

These Phantom Power Productions showing such nice people as this couple make a welcome change to the usual SNP bad dross that we are subjected to on a daily basis.
    Heartwarming.

31. Robert Graham

In the previous comment I missed out the usual word when Labour are involved.

OVER BUDGET & LATE

Now how did i miss that now silly me , after all they go together

32. Valerie

Lovely, articulate, well informed couple. Thank you!

Couldn’t help but covet their artwork, too.

33. Blair Paterson

This does not change the fact that 80per cent of Incomers voted no in the ref., 1 you keep on pointing out the odd ones who said they voted yes but ignore the the,80per cent who voted no if you want to have a fair chance of gaining our.freedom it must be only the scots who wre born and live in Scotland who should be able to vote on the future of their country no one else these Incomers are not Scottish it’s as simple as that we can welcome in as guests in our country but they should have no say in the future of our country

34. Proud Cybernat

Don’t miss the boat, Scotland…

https://imgur.com/a/psDY1

35. One_Scot

Can you imagine if we had a National News broadcaster that gave you the facts rather than hiding them, (You know who you are), support for YES would be 60 to 70%, no question.

36. Highland Wifie

What a lovely couple. They deserve to be successful and have a great life here.
    That film made me very emotional towards the end.
    I look forward to welcoming more people like Nina and Craig. With the opportunities an independent Scotland will bring we can bring some of our young people from around the world home too.

37. yesindyref2

Very timely Rev, some people are playing the “anti-X” card afain in their absolutely rock-bottom desperateness. Here’s one I cooked earlier and elsewhere:

In no particular order, Italian, Saxons, Northern Irish, Chinese, Vikings, Welsh, Dutch, Celts, Irish, Norweigans, Romans, Indians, Cumbrians, Germans, Pakistani, Normans, Americans, Poles, Gaels, French, Picts , and of course English and many others.

Which ONE are you?

I forgot Africans and dozens, hundreds if you take into account period of history, of others. “Scots” are very gregarious, sociable and welcoming!

38. winifred McCartney

Proud Cybernat 1.17 That should be on billboards all over the country

Phantom Powers thank you for these wonderful films – keep up the great work.

39. MajorBloodnok

Thanks, that was uplifting. Needed that after the depressing perfidy of Westminster and its Scottish shills thinking they’ve sold us down the river this week. It’s not over yet.

40. yesindyref2

@MajorBloodnok
    I’m hoping the thoughtless thirteen have terminated the Union with their extreme prejudice.

Don’t see you enough on Wings.

41. Ken500

Many newcomers could not vote in IndyRef. Same as GE + 16+. 80% ? of newcomers could not vote. Only 1% of voters (from the rest of of the UK who had a vote) voted NO. Only voters of Scottish descent would not be democratic. Or be able to arrange. It would mean there could not be a Ref held. Impossible to organise? The bureacacy would prohibit it. Either inclusive or not at all basically. No taxation without representation. The basis of democracy. A free and balanced Press etc. There is a 40Million diaspora of Scots decent all over the world. They were made welcome. People from Scotland work all over the world. In the Oil & Gas sector, engineering, medical care, teaching, music industry etc. Scotland was depopulated by Westminster centralist, secret and illegal policies and intransigence,

The MSM/Press is not reporting the waiting times and chaos in NHS in England. They are covering it up. Not reporting the correct figures. The Westminster Press Office has told them to cover it up. The biased MSM.

The Tories are cutting NHS funding £4Billion a year from 2015 to 2020. £20Billion. When they should have increased it for the elderly and inflation. They have put back £2Billion. The Tories are trying to privatise healthcare. To line the pockets of them and their associates. They have given tax breaks, (over £100 a month) More for the wealthiest. They are trying to charge over £100 a month for healthcare.

42. Robert J. Sutherland

Bob Mack @ 12:31,

Actually, on that particular point I find RP’s argument quite plausible.

Another way of looking at it is that the Unionist parties have bled supporters, but have done so more from the younger demographic than the older, who tend to be more set in their ways, although not universally so as many posters on here can readily attest, myself included.

Likewise, none of the Unionist parties have been acquiring new supporters at anything like the same rate as the SNP (and Greens, perhaps).

The advent of JC The Messiah has given Labour something of a morale boost because they believe it will stabilise or even recover some losses and also encourage an increase in naive young recruits, especially in England where there is little alternative available within an encrusted FPTP electoral system. But we older hands in Scotland recognise all the danger signs of continuing ambivalence, trimming and hypocrisy (Trident, EU, tax v austerity, etc., etc.), not to mention sheer incompetence, and must keep alerting everyone to the eminently avoidable error of believing any of the NorthBritLab empty rhetoric. As will the empirical facts, if young people in particular care to check things out for themselves, as they did during IR1.

I don’t myself accept that there is any age group that is totally immune to influence. I believe the young have a big role to play in convincing the older generation to bequeath them the future to which they aspire, for example.

In some cases it may not convince older people to switch to indy, but may cause some at least to abstain from voting for a fading Union again. Not ideal, since a lost vote is only worth half of a switched vote, but everything helps.

43. Proud Cybernat

Pure gutted that I never came up with this one…

https://imgur.com/a/IOyNh

44. Robert Graham

Yer back then

I thought the empire were striking back with the removal of Wings from the internet

Or was that just a warning !

45. yesindyref2

Righty, this has reared its ugly head elsewhere and it’s time it was stomped. It relates to a previous poster DC I think, the identical thing coming up elsewhere now, different name, maybe different person who knows.

https://www.nrscotland.gov.uk/files//statistics/migration/2016-july/a8-total-net-mig-scotland-ruk-overseas-1951-52-to-latest-jul16.pdf

The total net inflow from the rUK over 20 years is just 93.1 million net migration from the rUK – some years had negatives. This is way less than figures being claimed.

For year ending mid-2016 it’s “net gain of 8,809” and “46,300 people came to Scotland from the rest of the UK” from the infographics here:

https://www.nrscotland.gov.uk/files//statistics/population-estimates/mid-year-2016/16mype-cahb.pdf

Someone’s stirring it, and someone else is being able to refute it every time an apparent “anti-English” apparent “Indy supporting” poster posts it.

They’re avin’ a laff.

46. Robert Graham

Proud cybernat ha ha thanks for the post

Now that is Clever

Worth repeating , would work well as a retro fit poster just stuck on top of Unionist guff

47. yesindyref2

Oh yes and welcome to Nina and Craig, watch it tonight, busy catching up with stuff right now.

48. Robert Graham

No One affected by the short removal of of Wings from the twitternet

The site was unable to be reached for a time just after half three

A Warning ?

49. ronnie anderson

ProudCybernat Purloined an shared on Yes pages lol.

50. Scott

Ruth Davidson “It’s the SNP’s secret Scotland and it stinks

For me this is what stinks

The Tory MP for West Worcestershire has come under fire after trying to claw back a £50 gift to St Richard’s Hospice on the taxpayer’s tab.

https://on.rt.com/8x6w

51. Bill Hume

A power outage apparently.

52. Robert J. Sutherland

Blair Paterson @ 13:17,

Let’s look at this another way:

+ There are people like Nina and Craig who are now resident in Scotland who have come from elsewhere in the UK and/or the EU.

+ UK citizens will be eligible to vote in IR2 whether people like you like it or not. Plain fact. EU citizens hopefully also.

+ So what should we do to convince all such people that their interests are best served by voting for indy? Slag them off as “unwanted and untrusted”, as you repeatedly seem to do, or welcome them with open arms as fellow citizens of a new forward-looking inclusive sovereign Scotland, as the rest of us do?

+ Answers on the back of a stamp.

Oh and BTW, have you made your considered submission yet to the current review of the electoral system?

To be found at:

https://consult.gov.scot/elections/electoral-reform/consultation/confirm_submit

(But at a quick guess, probably not.)

53. Capella

A power blackout in Manchester took down WoS host (and everyone else). Stu commented on twitter so not sinister, probably.

54. wull2

Most of the EU people going home, were told to vote no on 2014, because they were told to vote no to stay in the EU.
    People in Scotland left, Vote YES next time.

Removal of Wings, I have thought for a time, they would use your own antivirus to block certain sites.
    People with the knowledge please look into this.

55. yesindyref2

@Bill Hume
    A bit surprising, they’re big and respectable (Positive) and would have UPS and probably jennies. I’m guessing since it was a widespread power cut (practically regional I think) they took a decision to ensure data security and “ration” emergency power in case it was longer term.

56. manandboy

Proud Cybernat says:
    18 January, 2018 at 3:28 pm

https://imgur.com/a/IOyNh

LOVE IT !

Must convert to a car sticker, or flag. Itds a winner!

57. Bobp

Robert Graham 3.40pm. Yes I noticed that.couldnt get access.

58. Thepnr

@Robert J. Sutherland

As far as I remember Blair no longer lives in Scotland. I’m sure he said he lived in Camberley, Surrey.

Is that right Blair?

59. Bobp

Educated clever couple unlike the home grown bigots who drag Scotland down.

60. Clootie

The quality and content of these films always makes me think of what it would be like to have a media that wanted to give a positive image of Scotland to the World.

…instead we will have Union Jackie & Co droning on that we are too poor, too wee and too stupid!

We are indeed the field slaves listening to the house slaves for guidance.

61. CameronB Brodie

Social exclusion and marginalisation is a process (see the history of Scotland in Britain, also Brexit). Social inclusion isn’t simply morally attractive, it is essential if we are to be able to cope with the challenges of tomorrow. Lack of agency and a sense of control over one’s life, can be extremely damaging to a person’s psychological health. Effective agency is an inaleable human right (see the “Right to Development”). Social inclusion is also a means of managing future demands on vital public services, both locally and globally. This is one of the reasons a “rights-based approach” to human development is vital.

Towards social inclusion in mental health?

Abstract

This article explores the uses of the terms social exclusion and social inclusion in a mental health context. We briefly describe the origins of the term social exclusion and analyse its connotations in relation to four key dimensions: the relative, multifactorial, dynamic and transactional. We discuss Levitas’s three discourses concerning social exclusion (the redistributionist, moral underclass and social integrationist) and present a case in favour of a fourth perspective, societal oppression. Focusing on social inclusion as a remedy for the ills of social exclusion, we discuss implications for contemporary mental health policy,
    practice and research. We highlight the potential contribution of social psychology to social inclusion theory. We conclude that a better theoretical understanding of causal mechanisms is needed to enable the development of more socially inclusive mental health services.

http://apt.rcpsych.org/content/aptrcpsych/14/2/131.full.pdf

The British Psychological Society

Professional Practice Board Social Inclusion Group

Discussion paper
    Socially inclusive practice

BPS activity and the Society position

The Society has worked with NSIP over the past two years to assess and develop the socially inclusive practices of the mental health workforce in the UK. A collaboration with the other four major professions within mental health (nursing, social work, psychiatry and occupational therapy) has created a framework for the assessment and development of Capabilities for Inclusive Practice (CSIP, 2007). Based upon the Ten Essential Shared Capabilities (Hope, 2004) to which the Society had also previously contributed, the framework prompts reflection upon inclusive practices at the level of the individual practitioner, mental health teams and organisations. Within the Society the framework is being used to exert an influence upon postgraduate and undergraduate curricula.

Operationally the framework will be used as an audit tool by workforce planners within the NHS to assess the practices of the mental health workforce. Wider social inclusion issues have also been addressed recently in the Society publication: New Ways of Working in Teams (Onyett, 2007). The general issue of social exclusion is also being taken up by the Professional Practice Board in a number of work-streams to connect with the priorities of the SETF, for example, children and families, offenders in prison and return to employment. Psychologists from across the Divisions are actively involved in taking this work forwards on behalf of all applied psychologists….

http://www.bps.org.uk/sites/default/files/documents/socially_inclusive_practice_discussion_paper.pdf

Together in the EU – Promoting the participation of migrants and their descendants

How can trade unions and the public sector support migrant workers?

Membership of trade unions is a key element in social cohesion. It contributes to the shared sense of protected rights. However, a 2015 Eurofund study showed that although migrant workers form an increasing proportion of the workforce in certain sectors, few trade unions encourage migrants to become members.

This report shows that in 2015 trade union membership rates of immigrant workers were comparable with those of host-country nationals in Austria, Belgium, Estonia and The Netherlands; larger gaps were reported in Denmark, Ireland, Spain and the UK. In addition, 12 countries have trade unions with well-established policies to reach out and support migrant workers. However, no such activities were identified in Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Lithuania and Slovakia.

When it comes to the public sector – for example law enforcement, education and healthcare – 19 Member States provide equal access for non-EU nationals. Eight of these take concrete actions to increase diversity in the public sector and to encourage the recruitment of non-EU nationals or citizens with migrant backgrounds. Encouraging recruitment from those with migrant backgrounds can help better reflect the ethnic and cultural diversity of society.

In Austria, Vienna launched a police recruitment initiative called ‘Vienna needs you’, to have at least one officer of migrant descent in every station.
    The native-born offspring of immigrants make up over one-third of public sector roles in France, The Netherlands and Sweden.

http://fra.europa.eu/en/publication/2017/migrant-participation/findings-q-and-a

62. Robert Peffers

@Robert Graham says:18 January, 2018 at 12:55 pm:

“all these clips deserve a wider audience
    Perhaps the foyer of the scottish parliament.”

I’ve said it often enough, Robert, that this is where we grass roots guys & gals come in. That includes actual SNP card carriers and the wider YES movement. The elected members of the SNP/SG at Holyrood do very much more than their part but their main job is to run Scotland and set the example of how Scotland should be run – for the Scots not for Greater England/UK or would-be British Empire.

The Westminster MPs have more than enough to fight the combined Westminster Establishment and the UK/England Scots buts. It is we, the grass-roots of the indy movement who have the job, (in the almost complete absence of a real SMSM and dead tree press. An SMSM/Dead-Tree-Press that is factually the main weapon of the union against Scotland.

The truth is that if each of us had converted just one yoon each to support the cause we would have been an independent Scotland lang syne.

63. manandboy

The slogan ‘A Stronger Scotland’ does nothing for me – and, I suggest, nothing for Scotland either. I’ve seen the ‘stronger’ word in election campaigns elsewhere in the world and it seems to be part of the spin doctor’s user guide.
    Time for a change?

64. Dave McEwan Hill

manandboy at 4.35

Exactly. Any party operating in Scotland can use it.
    Independence for a stronger Scotland is our theme.

65. manandboy

The idea that Scotland should give tens of thousands of people from England moving to Scotland an automatic vote on Scotlands independence referendum is suicidal.
    I subscribe to inclusivity but not when it’s just political correctness or plain naivety.
    Tesco doesn’t throw their doors open to shoplifters. Neither should Scotland.

66. CameronB Brodie

I am not being partisan when I highlight the dangers of lacking political agency.

Towards a Social Psychology of Community: a Social Representations Perspective

Communities impinge into people’s lives: they orient the social construction of knowledge; they ground the negotiation of common identities; they marginalise and stigmatise certain social groups; they provide the tools for empowerment and social inclusion. For these reasons, I argue that communities are central to the social psychology of humankind. They have not, to date, been given the attention they deserve in the academic discipline of social psychology. A short account of the history of this discipline demonstrates that need for a paradigmatic shift and for a dialectical approach to community. I suggest that the theory of social representations offers the tools to explore the concept of community as a source of social knowledge, as a basis of common identities, and as a means in marginalisation and social exclusion. This reveals the potential of social representations to construct, delimit and empower the everyday experience of community, highlighting the status of ‘community’ as a social creation that has acquired reality.

http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/2442/1/Towards_a_social_psychology_(LSERO).pdf

67. Robert Peffers

@Robert Graham says: 18 January, 2018 at 1:06 pm:

“In the previous comment I missed out the usual word when Labour are involved.
    OVER BUDGET & LATE”

I also meant to post a comment about the news item tucked away almost out of sight. It concerns the PFI/PPP deals so beloved of such by such as Scottish Labour. The news reporters are just a wee tad late by informing the electorate that, “Financing projects such as schools and hospitals privately costs taxpayers billions of pounds more than public service alternatives, parliament’s spending watchdog says.

A report suggests a group of schools cost 40% more to build and a hospital 70% more to construct than if they were financed by government borrowing. The National Audit Office report identifies costs and benefits of PFI. Not to mention that lots of the PFI funded schemes are literally falling to bits nor that the PFI contracts often tied the local councils into long term contracts for the private companies to provide cleaning, maintenance and canteen facilities.

The Treasury said, (cough!), it only approved PFI contracts that were value for money. Not, though, a mention of the truth that Labour Party run local authorities throughout Scotland most certainly did not follow that, (claimed), policy.

68. Referendum1707

“A small window of opportunity” was mentioned at one point in the vid.

The No campaign has been going full on non stop since early 2014 when they got their first inkling that they might not get a large majority in the forthcoming referendum. The Yes campaign failed in Sept 2014 and has been basically sitting on it’s arse and twiddling its thumbs since, seemingly thinking that there has to be a specific date set for the next referendum before any campaigning proper can begin. And what kind of campaign would it be? And how come the no campaign doesn’t need to wait for a date to be set?

That’s not how you win referendums. We’re running out of time and seem to be sleepwalking into a situation where next time we’d be lucky to get 51 or 52% or which could very easily go the other way and uniquely in world history Scotland would have signed its own death warrant. And 51 or 52% wouldn’t settle it anyway, technically of course it would be a win but unionists would shout about recounts, vote rigging, anything that could be used to stir up trouble and uncertainty including but not limited to encouraging oo knuckledraggers to go berserk. That’s apart from any vote rigging THEY may well attempt.

(Complications around the EU issue need to be addressed but with the emphasis being on the FACT that only with independence can Scotland at least vote for itself as regards that issue. There is no way that the EU, EFTA or whatever would unnecessarily delay or refuse an application for Scotland’s membership if indeed that’s what the Scottish public wanted.)

However 55% Yes would shut them up nicely, mirroring as it would their “decisive” 2014 result.

In order to get to that 55% the numbers game has to be played. There needs to be an updated 2018 version of the Wee Blue Book and twice as many copies need to be printed and distributed as last time because to reach a significant number of potential supporters you need as many as is possible to print and distribute. Statistically about half of them would go through indy supporting letterboxes and would largely be wasted unless they can be passed on to soft no’s, undecideds, waverers etc. About another 30% would go through tory voting no voting letterboxes and be binned immediately. To reach as many as possible of the remaining 20% (which is obviously where victory or defeat lies) then as many books as possible has to be distributed overall.

This is our second and last chance so whatever costs have to be covered by crowdfunding then that cost will have to be met.

Recently someone on here suggested that the SNP should send to EVERY home in Scotland, in plain envelopes and addressed to “the occupier”, a leaflet outlining exactly what powers the SG does and does not have (because at least half of the dimwits out there haven’t got a clue) and with a foreword or afterword explaining the threat that the existing powers they do have are under. If I had the funds and resources available I could do it myself so why isn’t the SNP doing something like that? I want someone on here, preferably an SNP member, to explain to me why not?

Also people come on here and make suggestions about leafleting campaigns, billboards, advans etc but nothing ever comes of it. Again I want someone on here to explain to me why?

69. heedtracker

Powerful stuff. There are few things more heartening to hear, than people who have moved to Scotland and want to vote YES.

70. Robert Peffers

@Blair Paterson says: 18 January, 2018 at 1:17 pm:

“This does not change the fact that 80per cent of Incomers voted no in the ref.,”

First of all your claimed statistics are lies and secondly your attitudes are racist and against all decent indy values. Get lost.

71. yesindyref2

@CameronB Brodie
    This is where Trump is an idiot. The USA is one of the strongest countries in the world in many ways, and yet it owes all most of its strength to the social inclusion of all its immigrants (who incidentally did suppress the indigent natives but that’s another story). If you look at Trump himself he’s a mongrel, like just about all Americans – and just about all of us as well going back tghe generations.

And yet Trump can’t even look at a mirror and see it’s himself he wants to exclude from being an American.

72. Andy-B

O/T. Anyone remember this guy?

The king is dead, Jason King that is, Peter Wyngarde, who played the character, in Department S.

Wyngarde’s character Jason King, and his sartorial style, is thought to have inspired Mike Myers spoof spy Austin Powers. Wyngarde also said in one episode of Department S, the words “Groovy Baby.”

http://archive.is/wE3WN

73. geeo

1.27pm yesindyref2..

That list of peoples reminded me of an old joke, allthose guys tried to get into a nightclub, but the boucers says, “sorry..you can’t come in without a thai…”

Ahl get ma coat…!!

74. geeo

@referendum 1707…14.52pm

Aye ok then buddy…EU ref was 52-48, and that appears to have settled the issue huh ?

50% plus 1 vote = indy. No IF’s no BUT’s.

As for your utter desperation to have the indyref date named…away ye go son.

We already know when it will be held, between october 2018 and March 29th 2019.

Did you miss the memo, numbnuts ?

75. heedtracker

yesindyref2 says:
    18 January, 2018 at 4:56 pm
    @CameronB Brodie
    This is where Trump is an idiot. The USA is one of the strongest countries in the world in many ways, and yet it owes all most of its strength to the social inclusion of all its immigrants

US has some spectacular deficit and debt stats though. Its like its been run by Gordon Brown on meth.

http://www.usdebtclock.org/

No idea how accurate the above site is but a US debt of $20 trillion, is extremely mental. Coupled with staggering wealth inequality, matched only really by teamGB freaks like the Windsors, and its not looking rosy for future Americans.

For the balance here’s UK debt clock,

http://www.nationaldebtclock.co.uk/

When office shagger of the millenium Clinton lost to Bush, he at the very least left behind a very small US national debt. Bush blew it all up. Is it a coincidence that closest allies Blair and Brown did the same?

Another great Crash Gordo legacy, as he minces about Kirkcaldy today.

76. yesindyref2

https://www.nrscotland.gov.uk/files//statistics/migration/2016-july/a8-total-net-mig-scotland-ruk-overseas-1951-52-to-latest-jul16.pdf

Net migration of people from the rUK at mid-year (30th June) in thousands – that’s all ages and not all would have voted but who cares, let’s count them all, women, men and babies just in case they cheated and put down postal votes for the new-born.

2009-10 – 3.3
    2010-11 – 2.9
    2011-12 – 3.0
    2012-13 – 7.9
    2013-14 – 9.6
    Total: : 26.1 thousand

(2014-15 – 8.4)

Majority NO in 2014 = 400,000, net migration iuncluding babies from the rUK total

So taking all who arrived for 5 months and nearly 3 months before the 2014 Referendum and snatching their votes from them, ballot sheets from the mouths of babies even, and telling people who leave and died they can;t vote which they couldn’t ANYWAY, we get 400,000 – 26,100 = 373,900 majority for NO.

next.

77. Robert J. Sutherland

manandboy @ 16:47,

Since you evidently missed it, I refer you to my reply to Blair ex-Pat upthread.

They’re here and they will have a vote, whatever you might think. So quit moaning and get used to it.

The real question, as it is with everyone else, is how best to convert them. Some are already there, as this video clearly shows, and some are persuadeable, because it is in their long-term interest just as much as the rest of us.

So spare us all the unproductive negativity and focus instead on how to win over as many as possible. Every convert is a step nearer a win. (That’s what you want, right…?)

78. mike cassidy

Robert J Sutherland 5.23

That’s the question is it not?

How do you persuade them?

And the one-to-one private approach –

or hug-a-noer –

may just be the best way.

Cos the rational approach is not looking too healthy!

http://archive.is/1I74G

79. Bob Mack

On a happier note the latest circulation figures indicate The Sudan mail down by 16% from last year and The Daily Rogue down by 13% from last year to under 140,000 a day.(including free copies)

Now that is progress.

80. CameronB Brodie

@David Torrance
    What was you motivation in studying psychology at university, self-advancement? How the hell did you qualify in a caring discipline, you wee, narcissistic, Tory, weasel? Are you really comfortable in supporting neo-liberal policy that widens health inequality? Happy that Scots are excluded from the Brexit decision?

Measuring social inclusion—a key outcome in
    global mental health

Accepted 1 October 2013

Background Social inclusion is increasingly recognized as a key outcome for evaluating global mental health programmes and interventions. Whereas social inclusion as an outcome is not a new concept in the field of mental health, its measurement has been hampered by varying definitions, concepts and instruments. To move the field forward, this paper reviews the currently available instruments-which measure social inclusion and are reported in the literature, realizing that no single measure will be appropriate for all studies or contexts.

Methods A systematic literature search of English language peer-reviewed articles published through February 2013 was undertaken to identify scales specifically developed to measure social inclusion or social/community integration among populations with mental disorders.

Results Five instruments were identified through the search criteria. The scales are discussed in terms of their theoretical underpinnings, domains and/or key items and their potential for use in global settings. Whereas numerous reviewed abstracts discussed mental health and social inclusion or social integration, very few were concerned with direct measurement of the construct. All identified scales were developed in high-income countries with limited attention paid to how the scale could be adapted for cross-cultural use.

Conclusions Social inclusion is increasingly highlighted as a key outcome for global mental health policies and programmes, yet its measurement is underdeveloped. There is need for a global cross-cultural measure that has been developed and tested in diverse settings. However, until that need is met, some of the scales presented here may be amenable to adaptation.

Keywords Social inclusion, social integration, mental health, cross-cultural, measurement

https://watermark.silverchair.com/dyt224.pdf?token=AQECAHi208BE49Ooan9kkhW_Ercy7Dm3ZL_9Cf3qfKAc485ysgAAAZ8wggGbBgkqhkiG9w0BBwagggGMMIIBiAIBADCCAYEGCSqGSIb3DQEHATAeBglghkgBZQMEAS4wEQQMjgj4bgqAXQTN4F0DAgEQgIIBUuYViVVPrAs_ktsNUBoOX1xJ50U19pYXrJ1JHVexhWl20Rsg1pB2daoUiaYXw2SnOJEBccmiltld8Ihs0yMyyTcLEoDW5QxuHhaxLSFvvMhd9KEnx6Jk92igtrsSsDGqf4y-27lHMOmEO_KQ6lQQlGveICGSeDO8fUS_DdXcjIC9f6CixHbLJfC29HeUQT8OGZRojkF6FUAxOoIxnIBoOXPQa2QOTtSMzQCmhZiKxF8acGH-x2GGn1_gi8POBktj-LMa9Wut4h1yVSP_r4KZg-ZN2cUUDBVO__hQSgooS-s7ePI9-EH7ynGWTJMQFv4S4J-WSYac5f-equLdiYkmAzivwZctzoZw-Rzhdf4tFLxPv2MpL09QaBI0fdrNmglRo4kniO0HKR5xcMPruwnxj0qoBH5_-pmbGbi2Tzxx5BZFEVsA6_35GPSh1sl3irBaNWLb

81. yesindyref2

I’ve no idea if I’ve posted this here but yrtis – 2011 census overview:

http://www.scotlandscensus.gov.uk/ethnicity-identity-language-and-religion

What’s happening is that Indy Ref 2 is on the way and yet again the “Indy supporters and SNP and Sturgeon and Mike Russell and Angus Robertson are anti-English” is getting pushed out by unionists, perfectly backed up by pretendy Indy supporters and the gullible. And this could lose us Indy Ref 2.

Well fuck that, I’m fighting it tooth and nail, and I’ve sharpened my choppers and filed my nails to a point and almond oil to give me strength.

82. Robert Peffers

Is it just my system or is Wings having problems today?

I’ve had several posts vanish as I was still typing them and a period of time when I could visit any website – except Wings.

Now I’ve just had yet another comment vanish before I had finished typing it.

83. yesindyref2

@mike cassidy
    Maybe hug a noer and tell them it’s their absolute right to vote NO to Independence if that’s their (considered) choice. Reverse psychology.

84. CameronB Brodie

yesindyref2 and Heedtracker
    Yes, Trump is daft. His wig-hat tells you that.

Yes, consumer capitalism is fecked. Pity we haven’t found a workable replacement yet.

A right-based approach is the solution to both, IMHO. 😉

85. Dr Jim

Just because folk moved south to north doesn’t mean they all originate from the south, and even if they did nobody can know how they voted even if they voted at all

The FM converts people every single day she’s out there working doing the day job and anyone who might have thought they had a negative opinion of her beforehand changes that opinion after meeting her

That’s another reason we’re at 49% and climbing
    This politicking thing isn’t easy when you’re the focal point of everything on your own and the entirety of the British political system and media power is determined to bring you down

One wee lassie from Ayr against everybody? and she’s got them terrified, I think it’s going pretty well

86. IndyRef2

Do any other Wingers agree with me that Nicola Sturgeon is in need of a strong Deputy First Minister.?

Alex Salmond had a strong deputy leader in Nicola Sturgeon, she could handle the press no problem and was excellent at deflecting attention away from him.

In my opinion Nicola does not have anyone who can do that for her. She seems to be carrying the whole SNP Government.

I don’t know who could become her No2 but in the run up to IndyRef2 I think the SNP should be actively looking someone.

Maybe somebody will appear out of nowhere. It would also help freshen up the whole SNP image.

87. PictAtRandom

@yesindyref2

Not wanting to start World War 3 or contribute to a long and negative thread, but aren’t the relevant figures those for all incomers rather than for net migration? From the official Mid-2016 population estimates [sorry, cut and paste doesn’t seem to work properly]:

40,400 people came to Scotland from overseas and an inflow of 46,300 in that year from the rest of the UK. So 86,700. Multiply that up for 3 years worth or whatever. So I suggest that the issue is a bit bigger than your figures would indicate.

For avoidance of doubt, I’m not advocating discrimination against any nationality and I’m glad to see incomers supporting the cause. That doesn’t alter the fact that this is liable to play in favour of the Union, partly because some are from other parts of the Union and some newly arrived from further afield may be easily spooked on the basis of previous bad experiences. (I seem to remember some nonsense about Nigerians being deported if Yes won and that may be more believable to people who have only just arrived.)

88. Andy-B

Did anybody see the SNP party political broadcast after the STV news?

A David Torrance lookalike, got it in the neck, it was one of the best yet from the SNP.

89. galamcennalath

Apologies if already linked to.

SNP political broadcast. Very good. Sets the record straight on a lot of things …

https://mobile.twitter.com/theSNP/status/954040730686812160

… and a cracking Monty Python rip off 🙂

What I found particularly interesting was the caricature of the Unionist whinner.

90. Marcia

galamcennalath

I see Duncan Hothersall is in that party political broadcast. 🙂

91. yesindyref2

@PictAtRandom
    It’s the infographic on page 2 (yes it doesn’t cut and paste, it’s a pain you have to type it and check it):

“Net migration overseas 26,000, Net migration rest of UK 8,800”

Net is inflows minus outflows. If they “outflow” then they’re gone or deid and can’t vote! So it’s the 8,800 figure is the one that increases the resident rUK population.

I think we get a lot of “temporary” workers from the rUK who go back after a year or two – I’ve known a fair few, but no idea if that’s the reason or just part of it why the nett inflow from the rUK is so small in percentage terms to that from overseas – apart from the fact that’s a lot further to travel back!

92. Robert Graham

o/t
    Always a bit of trepidation when Robert Peffers answers or comments on something posted Ha Ha
    However the nice Robert Peffers seems to be in charge today , no kicked arse today .

Anyway your first comment , Convertion agreed and whenever the opportunity presents itself bob opens his gub ( can’t help it ) , I fell out with my older brother just before the 2014 Ref I just couldn’t persuade him , anyway we met up at a funeral recently , and the first comment was oh don’t start on independence again , I said ok no problem , I will just say one thing , he was involved in the whisky industry so it was close to home , I said how come one port in England Felixstowe exports more whisky than a whole country Scotland , Ha Ha well a blank look , then a well I am going to the bar That moment of hesitation I knew , I knew it hit home so you never know , slowly slowly .
    Second comment re PFI , two guys down Ayrshire way , apologies for forgetting their names anyway they produced a video of the shenanigans in their council , firstly selling land that didn’t belong to them , it was gifted to the community . Then despite evidence refused to hold an investigation into why only one bid was recorded as the other bids were bogus paper shell companies , Turned out the whole procedure broke EU Procurement rules , even the police couldn’t answer why no criminal investigation was carried out , Times this by the contracts in place right now and it shows the scale of what a public inquiry would have to face.

I believe a study was made involving one School ,and to cut a long story short the conclusion was this School would have cost eleven million pounds to build , with costs over the lifetime of the contract involving PFI , repayments would be in the region of seventy seven million £ 77.000.000 for a £ 11.000.000 pound building I said in the region because mostly these contracts have a built in inflation clause going only one way, you gussed it UP .

The councils involved would have been cheaper going to their local Halifax , at least at the end of the day they would actually own the building ,

PFI the only game in town , courtesy of Lord Jack McConnell , he should be prisoner 1100 in HM Prison Peterhead if there was any justice .

93. colin alexander

Just wondering:

Did I miss a bit of the Nicola Sturgeon interview with Andrew Marr where she lambasted the BBC for being a UK Govt / UK Union propaganda machine?

94. Valerie

You can view the PPB for SNP here.

What have the SNP ever done for us

https://twitter.com/theSNP/status/954040730686812160

95. Effijy

I’ve just watched the BBC and ITV National news and they have both refused to show me the latest A & E figures for NHS Tory England????

They both focused on how bad it is in Wales, while explain that figures are bad all across the UK, and England struggled because of the very high levels of Flu.

Isn’t that strange that when Wales performance is worse than Scotland’s, who only make a crisis out of our results.

No need to mention England’s specific figures, just a note to say that unprecedented Flu levels sees their NHS Stretched??

As per the Revs earlier post, completely breath taking
    that UK Media do not think the biggest vote affecting Scotland’s powers I years is not worth mentioning.

STVs pretend political programme at 10.30 tonight is giving the latest North Accounting Unit leader air space to ask him how likely he is to become First Minister.
    Much better idea than cover this Tory betrayal.

Id love to ask Nicola why our Government doesn’t demand Demented Donalda attends Holyrood to explain why Propaganda Quay has not extensively covered the Tory Party betrayal of Scotland.

Would someone in the points of view programme care to explain?

Id rather get my news from North Korea than take on board the UK propaganda, fake news, and downright lies.

96. Ian Brotherhood

This has had 2,168 votes since the same time last evening and has never been less than 95% Yes:

‘Would you be supportive of peaceful civil disobedience if WM moves to shut down the Scottish parliament?’

(I don’t do FB – if those of you who do wouldn’t mind sharing it there I’d be most grateful.)

https://twitter.com/ianbhood/status/953702987523940352

97. manandboy

Supermarkets don’t welcome shoplifters, a view shared by Norway and Germany as well as in the rest of Europe.

The First Minister said: “There should be no strings attached, no blocking mechanisms applied and no Downing Street diktat,” she said,

“Scotland’s referendum must be made in Scotland.”
    (FT March 2017)

In Europe’s biggest and richest countries, Germany and Norway, voting is restricted to citizens over 18 but also to foreign nationals resident for 3 years minimum but restricted to local elections, plus in Germany, EU elections.

It will be very interesting to see what the terms and conditions of IndyRef2 will be.

98. North chiel

“ Agree Galamcennalth @ 0635 pm “absolutely brilliant ppb and the “ unionist whiner “ caricature was indeed very interesting if you “ rewind the clock” ??

99. K1

I don’t do Facebook or Twitter Ian, please put me down as a Yes on your survey thingy. Ta.

100. yesindyref2

Title of thread: “A sense of inclusion

Makes you think and the eyes water!

101. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Cheers, but I can’t register a vote for anyone else, set-up is one Tweeter one vote. Still, it’s good to know that, if anything, the % for Yes should be even higher.

It got quite heavy last night, some folk making out I was calling for civil unrest, but the wording is clear enough and I meant it – it’s not ‘coded’ in any way. Still, I’m surprised the approval is so high – thought it might be 65, even 70%, but 95? I know a lot of folk think these polls are worthless but that number in response to that question surely means something.

102. Terry

These films just get better and better. What a great couple making great points When she said at the end, “I believe in Scotland” I burst out crying. So touched. Wingers believe in scotland too. How sad that some Scots don’t. But then that’s the challenge.

103. Terry

Ps. Snp broadcast was ace!

104. Smallaxe

Ian B.,

What K1 says.Ta fanks

105. CameronB Brodie

mike cassidy @ 5:43pm today
    We are roughly 2% rational and 98% emotional.

Rationality and emotions

The relationship between emotions and rationality is one that has preoccupied man for thousands of years. As the ancient Stoics said, the emotions typically involve the judgement that harm or benefit is at hand (Sorabji 2006). Already, then, there was thought to be a relationship between emotions and ‘judgement’, the latter implying a degree of rationality. But Sorabji, a philosopher, also points out that the mere intellectual appreciation of benefit or harm does not constitute emotion, but there must be some physiological disturbance: disembodied emotion is not meaningful. Yet the physiological reactions involved in emotions are typically thought of, since the development of evolutionary theory, as something of more primitive origins than reasoning. One reaction to this would be to argue that emotions govern actions that are urgent and essential to survival, whereas reasoning is dispassionate and calculating. Such a separation would be too simplistic, though one might be led to believe that the social science that has perhaps focused most on rationality, economics, has developed along these lines. Indeed when discussing the relation between emotions and rationality, Elster (1996) observed

“Economists have totally neglected the most important aspect of their subject matter” “(p. 1386)”

http://rstb.royalsocietypublishing.org/content/365/1538/215

Aristotle’s Psychology, Emotion’s Rationality, and Cognition of Being: A Critical Note on Ogren’s Position

Abstract

Ogren advances a hermeneutic interpretation of Aristotle that brings to light several important and overlooked points about Aristotle, emotion, and cognition. In my article, I argue that his interpretation is on certain points correct, particularly in stressing that the distinctively human, irrational, emotional and desiring part of the soul is rational to a certain extent, and through its own forms of cognition, revelatory of being. His interpretation errs, however, by construing the fully rational part of the soul in a fundamentally un-Aristotelian way, as merely a faculty informed by the rules of formal logic. After indicating Ogren’s interpretation’s strong points, then its central errors, I present an alternate exegetically grounded Aristotelian interpretation of these matters.

Specifically, I show that Aristotle’s division of the parts of the soul is more complicated and ambiguous than Ogren’s interpretation. Then, I show that, for Aristotle, the fully rational part of the soul is, contra Ogren, concerned with practical matters and life, and possesses substantive modes of cognition of the world. I finish by exploring one of these, specifically perception of moral qualities, and discuss some recent Aristotle scholarship engaging this issue.

http://www.minerva.mic.ul.ie/vol11/aristotle.pdf

Neuroscience Confirms We Buy on Emotion & Justify with Logic & yet We Sell to Mr. Rational & Ignore Mr. Intuitive

Harvard Business School professor Gerald Zaltman[i] says that 95% of our purchase decision making takes place subconsciously (aka System 1).[ii] Despite widespread agreement amongst neuroscientists that our conscious rational mind plays a minor role in decision making, why do our sales messages to buyers focus almost exclusively on facts and figures? Doesn’t all of this data flood customers with too much information, and result in paralysis for analysis? Why do we largely ignore the emotional subconscious, the real star of decision making? If we really want to reduce the number of sales opportunities lost to no decision, shouldn’t we also be directing our sales message to Mr. Intuitive, and not just Mr. Rational?

http://customerthink.com/neuroscience-confirms-we-buy-on-emotion-justify-with-logic-yet-we-sell-to-mr-rational-ignore-mr-intuitive/

106. Tinto Chiel

Yesindyref2 @5.51: this seems desperate stuff from them. Surely Mike Russell is English?

Being Scottish is increasingly an attitude of mind, not an accident of birth, as far as I can see.

Think of all those self-loathing Butcher’s Apron waving thugs and racists who’ve never got beyond Ecclefechan, for example.

107. CameronB Brodie

Just wondering:

Did I miss a bit of the Nicola Sturgeon interview with Andrew Marr where she lambasted the BBC for being a UK Govt / UK Union propaganda machine?

Colin Alexander isn’t stupid, he simply wants to undermine support for the SNP, the lead party in our drive to independence.

108. ronnie anderson

Was trying to get Gary Robinson interview ( G A Ponsonberry ) Twitter feed but Twitters down ,

109. ronnie anderson

Ian Brotherhood Shared on F/B & Yes pages .

110. Ken500

Scotland population. 5.2milion. Increased 0.2 million, since devolution. 2000. It was going down before then. It has only increased since 2000. Otherwise it would still be going down. People having less children. Or migrating. The population of most European countries is going down. People having less children. 2 or none at all in Western democracies.

The world population is expected to peak and then fall. Migration has increased in Europe because of the US/UK illegal wars displacing people. Then they have the cheek to blame migrants for the warmongers economic woes. After they US/UK bombed the middle east to bits displacing people. Wasting £Trns. They have no shame. They are the lowest of the low. Poland was handed to Russia dominance after 11WW by Churchill and Roosevelt? Yalta settlement, That caused the economic woes in Poland. After the 11WW started to stop Poland being invaded. Killing millions. 26Million Russian died saving the West. 1/2million in Britain and in France.

The £Billions being taken out of Scotland by Westminster. Unauthorised. Total mismanagement by Westminster, illegally and secretly under the Scottish Office, No published accounts. Westminster unionists claimed they couldn’t published separate accounts. Lies. It was only when the SNP came to power? 2007 that any form of accounts were published on the internet. Scottish Gov accounts.

No one in Scotland had a clue what was going on. The Westminster unionists hid it. People knew something was going on but could not prove it, because of all the denial. The claims that Scotland was subsidised. All lies. The McCrone Report proved it. All the Oil revenues going south etc. All the revenues and resources worth the equivalent of £Billions. Paying for illegal wars, financial fraud and tax evasion. Westminster illegal debts. Not borrowed or spent in Scotland. It is still going on. A total fraud. They still try and keep it secret. Under the Barnett Formula. That was why it was set up so the Westminster Treasury could take Scottish resources, mismanage and misappropriate them.

111. Robert J. Sutherland

mike cassidy @ 17:43,

An interesting link that, Mike. Interesting but deeply scary!

If also somewhat artificial. But then people voted Leave yet the consequences for them (never mind the rest of us) could be very profound and negative indeed. The power of smokescreening and deliberate confusion.

I guess people do tend to prefer personal experience over anything else, and after that the experience of those they are most in contact with.

Maybe though that’s the power in these videos. They aren’t chock-full of professional politicos selling a line – except cleverly as a kind of negative background – but ordinary people telling their own story in their own words.

We really need to get these seen by more non-involveds. Giveaway compilation DVDs maybe posted through letterboxes…?

112. yesindyref2

@Tinto Chiel
    Mike Russell is (or was!) English yes, our lead Brexit negotiator, and Angus Robertson was born in London. I think I have seen them included in the “anti-English” comments but not a lot compared with Stgurgeon (grandmother English, husband English!), the SNP and indy-supporters in total.

I’ve also been watching upvotes, and you get some strange things. Both the Herald and the National all people have to do is upvote, refresh, upvote, refresh so it can be just one person. Standard upvotes for a good solid pro-Indy post like Peter A Bell get maybe 30 on a normal day. But you get one with even a hint of anti-English and if can go up to 40. Why? And more to the point, who? Then of course you’d get a unionist pointing out the anti-Englishness of it (even if it wasn’t really there).

In the old days of Indy Ref 1 you could see who upvoted who, which I found very useful as I’ve always been a bit “controversial” at times, specially on Sunday, and though my upvotes would drop I’d get upvoted by reasonable Unionists at times, and those pro-Indy posters who, well, supported me I guess, probably with a sigh and patience!

These days upvotes are anonymous, and that’s fertile territory for agents provocateurs.

They’re about this Ref, and they’re breeding like rabbits,

113. Brian Doonthetoon

Caught the SNP ‘Party Political Broadcast’ on iPlayer after ‘Misreporting Scotland’.

Got to type… That’s the first time I have had an emotional reaction to a PPB – I ‘LOL’D’!

‘Twas brilliant! And didn’t Torrance do well…

8=)

114. galamcennalath

Tinto Chiel says:

Being Scottish is increasingly an attitude of mind, not an accident of birth, as far as I can see.

Exactly.

And …. clearly there are those who were actually born here who neither expect nor deserve to be considered Scottish!

115. boris

Wealthy farmer was greatly assisted by tactical voting when he toppled Alex Salmon. He made great play to the electorate that he was an independent thinker who would not blindly follow the instructions of the Tory Whips at Westminster. He lied.

https://caltonjock.com/2018/01/18/tory-mp-for-gordon-colin-clark-the-multi-millionaire-elected-by-deluded-voters-in-the-north-east-of-scotland-promised-much-delivered-little/

116. Ian Brotherhood

@Ronnie Anderson –

Cheers big yin, ye’re a star.

117. Tinto Chiel

“Agents provocateurs”: that’s my impression too, yesindyref2. They will be used increasingly on-line and at demos to try to discredit us. Things are getting desperate for the Establishment and they know the next referendum is make or break.

Self-policing on the streets will be even more important when it comes to rallies.

Funny thing is, I’ve never actually heard an anti-English comment from any of our side while canvassing, and that goes back to 2014 and all elections since. This video just backs that up.

118. Breeks

Ha ha ha. I thought the SNP PPB was brilliant.

I was going to say a carmudgeony “but…” but I won’t.

Full marks.

119. Iain

Things are going to get worse, as the empire gets more desperate, and then we will be free.
    Independence is a hard road, but freedom is worth fighting for.
    The yoons will try anything to keep the cash cow Scotland in the empire.
    At every opportunity you must try to convert them.
    It is not easy, but freedom never was.
    Never forget Scotlands death rate of 50,000 per year is on our side.
    Freedom must be won, one person at a time.

120. Tinto Chiel

“…nor deserve to be considered Scottish!”

Nice touch, galamcennalath. My Polish plasterer pal would agree. He and his wife voted for a Scotland our PSBs loathe and fear.

Twisted as corkscrews, these chiels.

121. mr thms

In Labour run Wales…

https://www.itv.com/news/wales/2018-01-18/over-3-700-patients-spent-12-hours-or-more-in-a-e-in-december-in-wales/

“3,741 patients spent 12 hours or more in A&E in December – an increase of 599 patients from November”

I can’t find the figures for the whole of December, but in Scotland in the last week of the year there were 272 patients who spent more than 12 hours in A&E.

I wonder if BBC Wales keep the country in the dark about the performance of NHS Scotland because it is a scandal how their patients are being treated.

Richard Leonard recently raised an issue about ambulance call out waiting times.

In Wales, a person had to wait for 5 hours for an ambulance last month

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/woman-wait-five-hours-cold-14014751.amp

122. Macart

Have to say that was a laugh out loud PPB. Oh, and the doomsayer? Superb. 😀

Neatly done SNP.

123. Robert J. Sutherland

O/T Is there any way to view this new SNP PPB besides Twitter or FB? Vids on these sites don’t play for me.

I would have thought Youtube and the SNP’s home website would be the obvious “go-to” places for such but neither seem to have it (yet)…

124. heedtracker

Robert J. Sutherland says:
    18 January, 2018 at 9:58 pm
    O/T Is there any way to view this new SNP PPB besides Twitter or FB? Vids on these sites don’t play for me.

There’s a cracker with Colonel Ruth on the EU and Brexit too. If tory creeps did irony, omfing g!

http://www.thenational.scot/news/15865354.WATCH__The_SNP_s_new_video_stars_a_character_who_reminds_everyone_of_David_Torrance/

125. Robert J. Sutherland

heedtracker @ 22:06,

O/T That one doesn’t work for me either, heedy. Just a still image. =sigh=

But thanks for the assist anyway.

126. Black Joan

Anyone want to be part of a “lively audience” for Question Time on Burns Night in Dumfries? (Deepest double Mundell territory.)

Don’t all rush at once.

“Confirmed panellists include Michael Forsyth, Conservative peer and former MP, and Kezia Dugdale, Labour MSP and former leader of Scottish Labour Party.

“David Dimbleby said: “I am very much looking forward to bringing Question Time to Dumfries. What really matters is that we have a lively audience who want to speak their mind. It’s a chance for Dumfries to get its voice heard not just by politicians but right across the UK.”

” Members of the public can apply to be part of the studio audience by completing an application form on the BBC website http://www.bbc.co.uk/questiontime or by calling 0330 123 9988.

Creepy application form wants to retain personal details for four years and demands to know one’s gender, but is so behind the times that it only offers two options. Dear me.

127. Valerie

For shame. Leonard used a 92 year old lady at FMQs to prop up an attack on Nicola about Bield. He said the lady had dementia, and family are contradicting.

Have to say thats what happens if you agree to be cannon fodder.

https://twitter.com/AidanKerrTweets/status/953992446362480642

128. ronnie anderson

Watching FMQs today & Richard Leonards performance he spoke of a Mrs Sutherland 94 in a care home suffering Dementia , the care home is due to close & its causing the woman great distress ( she asks her daughter every day where she’s going to the next care home ) .

I don’t think Leonard has a clue about dementia , more a case of rattling his gums SNP Baad .

129. heedtracker

Twisted as corkscrews, these chiels.

They are twisted. This morning BBC r4 vote tory Today show had their man in Washington explain the latest Orange Hitler nonsense and his fake news awards stuff,

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09lw39m

22 minutes past 8, very old hand beeb gimp whines long and hard, about how truly awful it really is in America journalism today.

American media today in the “Trump era” thinks that its the main opposition to Trump and that’s bad.

Yes its popular and good for sales, but American media’s an anti Trump “liberal echo chamber,” and this is very very bad, mainstream US media sees itself as the opposition to the democratically elected American President, an “awful lot” of Americans do not trust journalists, now, and this also, is very very bad.

If only Orange Hitler had a BBC to help protect the US electorate, from the evil and cruel liberal main stream media.

Scottish Beeb r4 gimp network listeners, me only probably, also got a huge thing about snow in Dumfries and Galloway, much like the new and awful The GrAUn does, from its Scotland region ed Seve the vile sep slayer, does everyday, for his massive The gRaUN Scotland editor salary

“Netherlands
    Deadly gales halt trains and flights across north-west Europe
    Storm lashes Belgium, Germany, Netherlands and parts of UK, uprooting power lines and trees, and killing at least seven people”

Twisted, or just UKOK barking tory mad?

130. ronnie anderson

Don’t caw ma ah Fat B&(^£$@D am PC sensitive . Well done Fiona McQueen Chief Nursing Officer, tell it like it is an F%^K the Political Correctness .

131. Rock

colin alexander,

“Did I miss a bit of the Nicola Sturgeon interview with Andrew Marr where she lambasted the BBC for being a UK Govt / UK Union propaganda machine?”

CameronB Brodie,

“Colin Alexander isn’t stupid, he simply wants to undermine support for the SNP, the lead party in our drive to independence.”

The lead party in any independence movement has to be a radical one, not one which plays according to Westminster rules.

Not a violent one by any means, but one which is capable of leading a mass Ghandi style independence campaign.

Look at the bravery of the Catalonian “separatists”.

The BBC should have been openly challenged a long time ago.

Rock (20th September 2014 – “Keep ‘em peeled”):

“A very public and massive boycott of the BBC should now be the NUMBER ONE PRIORITY. They destroyed our hope for a fair society, we must destroy them in Scotland starting NOW.”

132. CameronB Brodie

Leonard better watch or I’ll rip him a new one. I deal with dementia every day, in-between posts. I have a view, based on what is desirable and what is achievable. How does he plan on protecting public health, while supporting Brexit?

133. CameronB Brodie

Rock
    I’m not challenging your point but how far do you think the SNP message would get if it was, “the messenger can’t be trusted”? Do you not think achieving sovereign statehood radical enough, for a start?

134. Robert Peffers

@galamcennalath says: 18 January, 2018 at 9:07 pm:

“Being Scottish is increasingly an attitude of mind, not an accident of birth, as far as I can see.
    Exactly.
    And …. clearly there are those who were actually born here who neither expect nor deserve to be considered Scottish!

Genetically the entire United Kingdom is all pretty much the same and that has in fact always been the case. The difference is that in England, from Roman times their culture has been one of a usually foreign elite ruling class and the native Britons being slaves, serfs, villeins with a few of the skilled common people being freemen. The Romans left and there has been an unbroken history of one or other Germanic tribes as an elite ruling class, (the aristocracy and the royals).

Note that the UK parliament that has converted itself from a bipartite union of kingdoms into a system where Westminster is the de facto parliament of the country of England devolving a few useless English assumed powers of sovereignty to the three other countries.

However, in North Britain that became Scotland there has never been a foreign elite ruling class until the English got a foothold by nefarious means. That is why our Scottish Culture is different. We have quite a different cultural outlook on life. Even our sense of humour is different.

We may not be without any real class system and what we have is imported from the other British countries.2018 + around 54 years of written history is long enough to make us very different culturally from our nearest on-land neighbours.

Never forget the comparative distances between the Shetlands and London and from the Shetlands and Scandinavia.

135. Scot Finlayson

Why are the Anglo Saxons happy to take the bayeux tapestry,it shows them getting done over/subjugated by the French,

Marcon taking the pish and the Anglo Saxons don`t see it.

136. Thepnr

@Rock

Which party in Scotland should be the “lead party” if not the SNP?

137. heedtracker

Look at the bravery of the Catalonian “separatists”.

The BBC should have been openly challenged a long time ago.

Rock (20th September 2014 – “Keep ‘em peeled”):

Just one of the great things about internet politics Rock, agent provocateur thugs like you are completely powerless. You can be as butch roughee toughee as you like Rock but online 21st century, you’re just a laugh not scary:D

Must suck so hard to be you eh Rock.

138. Rock

CameronB Brodie says:
    18 January, 2018 at 11:27 pm

“Rock
    I’m not challenging your point but how far do you think the SNP message would get if it was, “the messenger can’t be trusted”?”

Half a million voters deserted the SNP at the last election, resulting in a fall in SNP support from 50% to 37%, and a loss of 23 MPs.

That would not have happened if they still trusted the messenger.

I am sure those half a million voters would agree with me that Nicola squandered a once in a 1000 years golden opportunity of Scotland actually becoming independent by wasting time flogging a dead horse – a separate deal for Scotland which was never going to happen.

Independence will NEVER be won as long as the BBC exists in Scotland.

The SNP should have openly challenged and boycotted the BBC starting immediately after the stolen referendum of 2014.

Of course the SNP is the lead party in the independence movement.

But it has escaped the attention of the “sovereign” clueless pompous armchair pundits posting here that the British Establishment has succeeded in making the SNP lose half a million voters and will make damn sure that the unionists win the next Scottish election by whatever means possible.

139. yesindyref2

Ironically the HMS Sutherland has just conducted a “sovereignty” patrol off the Rock.

140. louis.b.argyll

Rock, here’s a paraphrase of any one of YOUR predictable comments-

…’SNP should’ve done this..Sturgeon should’ve done that..people here are stupid..everyone else’s comments and opinions are confusing everyone else..’

Do you have anything constructive?

141. heedtracker

Russian tv take, on why English non tories might be emigrating to nation state Scotland.

https://www.rt.com/uk/416298-daily-mail-news-may/

142. yesindyref2

Here’s another one about “500,000 dodgy NO registrations in second homes and BTR addresses” (whatever they are).

The latest figures, for September 2016, show that there were 26,140 second homes, 44,296 unoccupied exemptions and 35,725 long term empty properties.

http://www.gov.scot/Topics/Statistics/Browse/Housing-Regeneration/HSfS/LTemptysecondhomes/EmptySecondhometables

“26,140 second homes” for somewhere approaching 500,000 voters – plus kids?
    Up to 40 over-16s per house?

There’s a lot of shit going around. Must be a fanny somewhere.

143. heedtracker

James O’Brien?Verified account
    @mrjamesob
    Follow Follow @mrjamesob

First anniversary of this today. In many professions, such rank incompetence would be penalised, possibly even career-ending.
    The man who wrote this is now the Downing Street Press Secretary.
    You’re unlikely to encounter anything more emblematic of the national pageant today.

with pic of that mad Heil Strong Stable Teresa front page.

Head of BBC r4 Today show is ex Evening Standard editor now. London Evening Standard’s merely local fascism for local fascists, maybe with less of the Daily Heil’s regular ogling little girls in their underpants.

Ah the great UKOK fascists.

Run non tory England, run:D

144. louis.b.argyll

Like, Rock, how can we change to our supplier of news and broadcasting when it’s entwined with our national consciousness, while THE SAME CONTROLLING INTERESTS DISINCENTIVISE LICENSING REFORM AND COMMERCIAL TV..? How?

Beat them at their own game, beat them with their own stick. Play politics right out in the open.

Our secret weapon? The truth.

Nicola Sturgeon is shrewd with expectation, yet unflinching in measure.

145. heedtracker

There’s a lot of shit going around. Must be a fanny somewhere.

There is a lot of ongoing work getting the Scots electoral register straight. If you cant show them you have a right to vote at an address in Scotland, you have two weeks to show why not and if not, you’re off the register, today.

Prior to 2014, does it matter now?

146. Robert J. Sutherland

heedtracker @ 00:48,

O/T (But important) If you haven’t done so already, I would encourage everyone to make their (level-headed) representations concerning correct voter registration to the current consultation on electoral reform, which is reviewing the powers over elections that have lately come to the SG. It could actually make a difference.

You can find it at:

https://consult.gov.scot/elections/electoral-reform/consultation/confirm_submit

yesindyref2 @ 00:20,

A fine name for a warship, if I may say so. Baggsy it for us when we get independence! =grin=

147. Thepnr

Rock says:
    19 January, 2018 at 12:09 am

“Of course the SNP is the lead party in the independence movement.”

Precisely, and that’s why you and others constantly doing down the SNP take well deserved pelters from other posters on Wings.

We need to increase the support for the SNP and you should be supporting them as being the vehicle towards an Independent Scotland, it’s fair to be critical but not hypocritical.

148. yesindyref2

@Heed “Prior to 2014, does it matter now?

Almost exactly my point. I think the rules are that second home owners can vote in council elections which makes some reasonable sense as they are directly affected by the council. But they’re not allowed – I think – to vote in parliamentary elections or referendums.

But at 26,140 second homes that would be at most 100,000 votes, and yet there is someone I think is an agent provocateur or a patsy now saying elsewhere that that’s giving 500,000 dodgy NO votes. Why? To discredit Indy supporters I would guess.

Be alert. Scotland needs lerts 🙂

@RJS
    Frig it. I’m sorry, that should be frigate, a Type 23, full anti-sub and the newest built in the fleet, and possibly the most recently refit (2015), then the most advanced in the fleet – just like you I guess. Yes, I think we’ll just pirate her on the way out, they won’t notice.

Royal Navy ships had always been launched with a bottle of champagne, but Lady Walmsley broke with tradition and used a bottle of Macallan Scotch whisky.

LOL. Sounds reasonable to me, but what a waste!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HMS_Sutherland_(F81)

149. CameronB Brodie

Some might think I’m an idealist but I’m a realist, frankly.

The Will and Ways of Hope
    Hope involves the will to get there, and different ways to get there.

Talent, skill, ability—whatever you want to call it—will not get you there. Sure, it helps. But a wealth of psychological research over the past few decades show loud and clear that it’s the psychological vehicles that really get you there. You can have the best engine in the world, but if you can’t be bothered to drive it, you won’t get anywhere.

Psychologists have proposed lots of different vehicles over the years. Grit, Conscientiousness, self-efficacy, optimism, passion, inspiration, etc. They are all important. One vehicle, however, is particularly undervalued and underappreciated in psychology and society. That’s hope….

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/beautiful-minds/201112/the-will-and-ways-hope

What Exactly is Hope and How Can You Measure it?

Snyder, Irving & Anderson (1991, as cited in Snyder, 2000, p.8) define hope as

“a positive motivational state that is based on an interactively derived sense of successful (a) agency (goal-directed energy) and (b) pathways (planning to meet goals)”.

http://positivepsychology.org.uk/hope-theory-snyder-adult-scale/

Re-examining hope: The roles of agency thinking and pathways thinking

A considerable amount of research in hope is driven by Snyder’s (1994) model which proposes that hope is positively associated with agency thinking and pathways thinking. However, the current research suggests that hope as understood by the layperson (Hope) is only associated with agency thinking and not with pathways thinking. This was found over four studies using different agency and pathways variables, different Hope variables, different methods, and different cultures. Implications of these findings for Snyder’s model are discussed.

http://www.unc.edu/peplab/publications/Tong%20et%20al%202010.pdf

150. Dr Jim

The Jusice secretary must intervene
    How dare the Justice secretary intervene

Todays Daily Mail: The Justice secretary is anti English

Remember when they got together and tried all the same stuff on Kenny McCaskill when he was Justice secretary, how times never change for Ruth Davidsons Scottish BBC media party
    She’ll have the Orange Lodge out delivering leaflets in Aberdeen again

151. Dr Jim

In your early morning comedy category of news Lord George Ffoukes says he’ll stand up for Scotland in the Lords

You can’t keep a good buffoon down, and you’re not allowed to kill them

Do we think we can ask the Lords for George not to be on our side please

152. Ken500

Second homes owners are not allowed to vote in any elections if their principal residence is elsewhere. People in the UK are not allowed to have two votes in any elections. That is gerrymandering. Illegal Jail. The only vote they are supposed to have is at their principal residence. Any council giving them a vote is acting illegally and should be reported.

Those allowed to vote in council elections i.e. other EU citizens are noted on the back of the Council tax form. The Council tax demand. It states all the countries EU citizens residents that can vote in council elections, They can vote in EU elections. They are not allowed to vote in GE unless they take citizenship.

The unionists sabotaged the electoral system in Scotland to give them unfair advantage. The STV D’Hondt system. So they could muck up the economy. It is just a joke. In an electoral system many people do not understand. This can lead to apathy. ‘Their vote doesn’t count.’ Because it doesn’t. They cancel out their own vote. FPTP the unionists would be wiped out. That is why they illegally changed it. Without a mandate or permission from the electorate, Secretly and illegally. Their usual appalling behaviour.

26,000 from elsewhere included children under 16/18 and those who do not vote. 50-80%. Lowers the figure considerable, To be almost negible. 1-2% (50% vote SNP.? 25%mvote for Independence)

In any case it is not about ‘nationalism’. It is about justice, equality and fairness. It is about right and wrong. It is about Scotland being screwed for far too long by liars and crooks at Westminster. Damaging the Scottish economy and illegally depopulating Scotland. With policies which illegally damage the Scottish economy, Emulating from Westminster. Either use it or lose it. Too many people in Scotland are not voting. SNP/SNP. Yet say they support Independence They will never get Independence unless they do, It’s as simple as that. Apathy. Can’t or won’t be bothered voting.

The last election apathy let the Tory – unionists gain. Too many people stayed at home, in the NE etc. 6,000 less votes.

153. Ken500

Orange Lodge are not popular in the NE. All public marches are banned, None existent. There is less sectarianism in the NE. No separate schools, Small proportion. % Religion plays less prominence in general. In decline.

Many are absolutely astonished at the Masonic marches in Glasgow /Central,belt. How do they get away with it? Every other week. They should have been banned long ago. A small minority of bigots and racists taking over the streets, it is an outrage. Public money is being used to support that carry on. Illegal. The football carry on is bad enough. Racist and bigots, it should gave been stopped long ago. Bankrupt sporting clubs. No wonder the terraces are empty. Perverts and criminals running the clubs. What a state. All support declining in any case. The 3rd rate rejects.

154. Ken500

The population has only increased 0.2million in 17 years. After Devolution. 9% of the population is from elsewhere in the UK, including children under 16/18. The vote % of those who voted – NO is 1-2% of voters. Minimal Negligible by comparison of all voters. Rest 52%? of those who voted. Even if those from elsewhere had not voted NO. YES would still not have won. Proportion is increasing. Especially after the latest Westminster carry on? Just needs more people to turn out to vote? SNP. Vote for Independence.

155. Ken500

The Lords is a useless waste of time and money. It should have been abolished long ago. It can only delay twice. The Tories have stacked it full with even more unelected Tories. It is just a joke, Totally non democratic. Just like Westminster.

156. Smallaxe

LINKS!

Why UK’s oil and gas revenues are dwarfed by Norway’s;
    http://www.businessforscotland.com/uks-oil-gas-revenues-dwarfed-norways/

The Empty Vessels;
    https://www.autonomyscotland.org/the-empty-vessels/

It’s happening!;
    http://indyref2.scot/its-happening

President of Uruguay, First Minister of Scotland, and Leaders in Economics, Health and Development Join to Advocate for Lifesaving Policies that Address Noncommunicable Diseases Linked to Tobacco Use, Obesity and Alcohol Consumption;
    https://www.bloomberg.org/press/releases/task-force-address-preventable-leading-causes-death-noncommunicable-diseases-fiscal-policy/

157. Smallaxe

LINKS!

Brexit: Where Are We Now ‘Sufficient Progress’ Has Been Reached?;
    https://www.scer.scot/database/ident-4776

Civil society under threat, EU fundamental rights experts warn;
    http://www.scottishlegal.com/2018/01/18/civil-society-threat-eu-fundamental-rights-experts-warn/

Please support @TrulyScottishtv. They need viewing figures of around 2500 a day for 3 months to get backing from potential sponsors;
    http://www.trulyscottishtv.com/channel-1—welcome-to-scotland.html?vvid=d2478cb76650e9f2d2051ce0e6237aba

Brexit ‘transition’ agreement talks will not be for faint-hearted;
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/europe/brexit-transition-agreement-talks-will-not-be-for-faint-hearted-1.3359023

158. Smallaxe

LINKS!

“Why are the Government singling out the charter of fundamental rights to be the only piece of EU legislation that they wish to repeal?”;
    https://www.thelondoneconomic.com/news/government-singling-charter-fundamental-rights-piece-eu-legislation-wish-repeal/18/01/

If Theresa May enjoyed meeting the French president, she didn’t show it;
    http://archive.is/1beBZ

‘Last opportunity’ to save powersharing as new round of talks to begin next week;
    http://archive.is/2J3l6

Tories planning to hand private firms ’10-15 year NHS contracts’ to stop Labour from renationalising;
    https://evolvepolitics.com/tories-planning-to-hand-private-firms-10-15-year-nhs-contracts-to-stop-labour-from-renationalising/

That’s all, for now, folks, I’ll post anything that may come in later.

Have a funky Friday, Wingers: Peace to All.

159. heedtracker

yesindyref2, there is only one electoral register though. If you’re not on it, you cant vote in any elections.

Electoral register people are now cross checking to see if you appear anywhere else for any reason.

So for example, if you’re a council tax payer in Brighton, but not on the Brighton electoral register, a check is now made where and if you are.

If you’re found to be electoral registered in Scotland, you are given the opportunity to explain why you’re not registered in Brighton but pay council tax there and if you do not have a reason, you are removed from the Scottish register. You are automatically given the right to apply for vote on the Brighton register and you 2 weeks to appeal to the Scots one.

If you are second home owner in Scotland when the big day comes, you will have to re register in Scotland de register in say Brighton.

Before 2014, it is likely that people were registered to vote in Scotland and England, adult families for example from households with one council tax payer, then we move into the EU registers.

No backsies now though.

160. Dr Jim

@Ken500

There are no Orange Lodge marches taking place every other week in Glasgow why would you tell people that?
    This scattergun making up of facts out of your own head serves nobody, opinions are fine but making stuff up is not

Most decent folk don’t care for the OO that’s true but don’t try to tell anybody the North East of Scotland doesn’t have them when they are Ruth Davidsons strongest supporters and the Highland games is positively heaving with the loyalty to the Queen shortbread dancing buggers

Keep Yer “facts” facts

161. Ghillie

Nina and Craig, welcome welcome = )

Thank you for choosing to make Scotland your home !

And thank you for believing in Scotland =)

162. Smallaxe

Repeated warnings that the Private Finance Initiative was an outrageous rip-off, dumping ultimate risks on the taxpayer, were ignored;

The Sting: George Monbiot;
    http://www.monbiot.com/2018/01/18/the-sting/

163. Ottomanboi

A point…why are some people so negative regarding the terms nationalist and nationalism. Small country nationalism is generally not racist, supremecist, aggressive or intolerant. Nationalism has been the driver of decolonisation and popular liberation movements on every continent. We ought to be proud of what we are as Scottish nationalists and not be disquieted by rubbish spouted by imperialists and their media about nasty nats. We are not neo-nazis or crypto-fascists, we leave those tendencies to the likes of the neo-colonialist agents of the British state.
    What we ought to be, and that constantly, is a sharp and maddeningly painful thorn in the side of the system. Too often we are little better than an occasional pin prick.

164. Smallaxe

The vasectomy guy, again.

Tory vice-chair encouraged police brutality during the riots that were caused by police brutality;
    https://www.thecanary.co/uk/2018/01/18/tory-vice-chair-encouraged-police-brutality-riots-caused-police-brutality/

165. Robert Peffers

@Scot Finlayson says: 18 January, 2018 at 11:38 pm:

“Why are the Anglo Saxons happy to take the bayeux tapestry,it shows them getting done over/subjugated by the French,
    Marcon taking the pish and the Anglo Saxons don`t see it.”

The tapestry was actually made in England, Scot. Perhaps the English want to put a Butcher’s Apron on it and a made in England label like they are doing with Scottish made products.

166. louis.b.argyll

Dr Jim, it is impossible to ‘make up’ facts, isn’t it? People make up lies, not facts.
    A fact is a fact, Ken500 merely collects them.

167. stu mac

@Ken500 says:
    19 January, 2018 at 7:12 am
    =================================

Unfortunately the reason for the empty terraces isn’t sectarianism – at least not the way I assume you mean it, that a lot of folk are sickened by it and avoid football. What sectarianism did was create two ultra big clubs (in Scottish terms) who draw support from all over the country, not just the city they’re based in. This sucks support from all the small clubs. Indeed nowadays with the Old Firm live on telly every week, you don’t even get them turning up at their local team as a few of them (those who were also real football fans as opposed to pure bigots) used to when they couldn’t get to Ibrox/Parkhead.

I put Celtic with Rangers their which is a little bit unfair these days but historically they were happy to gain financially from the hatred. Rangers though are the core and I agree 100% with Ian Archer’s famous comment about how Scotland would be a better place.

168. Dr Jim

@louis.b.argyll

My sarcastic tone failed to translate in my usual attempt at humour

169. galamcennalath

Ottomanboi says:

why are some people so negative regarding the terms nationalist and nationalism

I never use the terms to describe my own position nor the Indy movement I support.

You are correct in what you say, but that is part of the issue – the words need caveats. It’s difficult to use the terms because they come with so much historical baggage. Use requires a “not one of those nationalists, but one of the nice civic variety”.

Because there are undoubtedly nice and also nasty nationalists, the words lack precise meaning by themselves.

Historical example 1 – the rebel fascists in the Spanish Civil War were call the Nationalists. Pure nasty types.

Historical example 2 – promoter of peaceful resistance in India, Ghandi, was a Nationalist. However it’s also worth pointing out that despite Ghandi, Indian and Pakistani nationalism meant independence didn’t go smoothly.

Also, in the UK, the nasty nationalists never refer to themselves a nationalists nor does the media. We all know Brexit feeds of and is driven by English Nationalism, but rarely is that said. Why are they called Brexiteers, why not simply Nationalists? I would suggest the negative historical connotations have tarnished the word and since they want Brexit seen in a good light they never get called nationalists.

Conversely, the establishment want those seeking self determination for Scotland or reunification for Ireland to be labelled nationalists because there can be negative connotations.

I describe myself as a pro democracy activist. Which is accurate. I want to live in a democracy and to see all the justice and benefits that will bring. It will never happen at a UK level, but I firmly believe it is achievable for Scotland.

170. Dr Jim

Turns out Richard Leonards constituent who was suffering from dementia when Mr Leonard raised this at FMQs in fact *isn’t*

Labour have now clarified Richard Leonards statement was incorrect

One wonders if *Clarified* is the correct word

171. PictAtRandom

Dr Jim says:
    19 January, 2018 at 8:11 am

@Ken500

There are no Orange Lodge marches taking place every other week in Glasgow why would you tell people that?
    This scattergun making up of facts out of your own head serves nobody, opinions are fine but making stuff up is not

Most decent folk don’t care for the OO that’s true but don’t try to tell anybody the North East of Scotland doesn’t have them when they are Ruth Davidsons strongest supporters and the Highland games is positively heaving with the loyalty to the Queen shortbread dancing buggers

Keep Yer “facts” facts,

Dr Jim,
    Orangeism is not something with roots in the NE. There may be pockets of sympathy for that in places like Peterhead and Portlethen where oil has brought people from West Central Scotland — but otherwise you’re left with individual oddballs like Mr Buchan of the SFF.
    I suppose that the Unionist element in the NE could be characterised as polite and respectable Royal Deeside and’wordly-wise’ (a.k.a. money-grabbing). There’s also a military element in Moray. And when harbours change to marinas then that implies a change in the nature of the population. And I can’t help but feel that the handover of chunks of the area to ‘car culture’ has boosted the right-wing Unionist vote. (It’s a bit of a disgrace that the area had more miles of rail track when the Forties Field opened than it has now.)

172. jfngw

@galamcennalath

Well said! I don’t vote for independence because I’m a nationalist, my ancestry is not Scottish, but because I’m a democrat. I believe the country should always be governed by the party that Scotland votes for. In my lifetime that is below 50%, combined with a second chamber of totally unelected ermine chasers.

173. Ken500

The Orange Lodge and Ruth Davidson do not have major support in the NE and never had. Very few. Deeside is not the NE in general. There have always been Tories but they have usually been defeated. The SNP had a representative or two, one of the few, in Scotland for over 40 years. The majority in the NE voted (Labour)!city or LibDem to keep the Tories out. Often there were no SNP candidates or Labour standing in some constituencies. At the last GE. A few Tories got in because of apathy. People did not vote. It was raining. The N/E lost good representation. People will take notice.

The SNP often get the most no of councillors but the unionists unite to keep them out. Then ruin the City getting it into £1.2Billion of debt. Etc. STV confuses people. Increases apathy. There is still a strong SNP/Independence support in the NE. A relative conveyed the number of Orange Marches in Glasgow. Maybe they got it wrong. There seems to be quite a few. Along with other ‘sporting’ sector behaviours.

There is still. a strong SNP support and for Independence. In the last GE People who support Independence did not come out to support SNP. They did not vote. 6,000. Apathy won. They will when the time comes. There are quite a few incomers on the East coast compared to the West. Oil & Gas finance etc and that does have an affect, There are no OO marches every week. They are banned completely. Any attempt is just refused. The schools are mainly mixed, Religion does not play such a prominent part People support/supported the SNP mainly for they saw the meters turning. Many knew what was going on in the economy. Voters remorse. Time will tell. There could be a backlash. The result was surprising. Independence /EU propaganda played a part, as intended by lying unionists.

174. Robert Peffers

I’m breaking my own advice here as I’m seeing far too many Wingers engaging with Rock so I did read some of his crap- I should not have bothered.

Let’s ignore Rock as his input has become so desperate and stupid.

He makes idiotic and obviously distorted claims. He then compounds his stupidity by drawing even more dafter conclusions from his own distorted initial views.

He claims millions of the Scottish electorate deserted the SNP. Yet the obvious truth is those millions were really never SNP supporters in the first place.

They voted SNP in protest against the unionist parties they normally supported in the so called landslide election that sent all but one Scottish constituency MP to Westminster. That was the anomaly that anyone with a bit of sense knew was not going to be the norm.

So all that happened is that most of the protest voters returned to their former loyalties. Thing is that the SNP retained some of them after things returned to normal. That was a step forward.

While idiots like Rock attempted to consider the anomaly as the norm the rest of us knew getting all but one Westminster MP as SNP was the anomaly and would not be sustained.

Like the SMSM, who attempted to portray the following election as a defeat for the SNP when the truth is that the SNP still had a majority over every individual unionist party.

Rock just holds the views as given him by the SMSM that the SNP were not a majority government. This, of course, was based upon the fact that the three Westminster parties were, (pun intended), in union against the SNP in Scotland but remain the opposition to each other at Westminster.

Ignore the silly bugger as he cannot see reality through the haze of SNP BAAAAD that distorts his view. He is not alone in that.

Tory, Labour and LibDem voters who sent a message to the parties they normally vote for simply returned to their first loyalties.

The fact that Rock couldn’t see that shows he has no perception of reality of political situations. Rock sees politics through a prism of his own making that distorts reality.

175. Abulhaq

@Robert Peffers
    There is much dissent among scholars as to the origins of the embroidery, it is not technically a tapestry. The English ie Anglosaxons were skilled in the art of embroidery, which may swing it for some to be English in origin. To others, analysis of subject detail suggests a French source, somewhere in the Loire valley where there was also some skill in the art. However, the Norman propaganda it conveys of England’s subjugation is quite stark. Why a conquered country would desire to display a work lauding its conquerors is bizarre.
    But then they go ape over the Domesday Book, simply a detailed inventory of the conqueror’s loot.

176. Ken500

A few thousand spectators at Braemar Gathering mainly made up of tourists. Foreigners not locals. Most people ignore it. Is not representative of the NE. Deeside is sparsely populated by comparison. There is just a song and dance about it. A bit of tradition. The majority live elsewhere in the City or Shire. There are many farmers/fishermen who support the SNP/Independence. Their voice is never heard in the unionist MSM/Press. Just like a lot of information.

177. cearc

Robert P,

Bayeux Tapestry was made at an English monastery AFTER a Norman abbot had been put in charge!

178. colin alexander

For fair minded readers of this site, I think they will agree that I made a valid point re no criticism of the BBC by Nicola Sturgeon on the BBC’s Andrew Marr Show.

Stu, just the other day, focused on the lack of reporting by the BBC about a major story about the Scottish Tory MP’s voting to send the devolution power grab to the Lords. (The Great Whiteout).

However, even though that happened after the FM’s interview, it’s a regular theme in articles and btl comments and has been since indyref1 about BBC bias. It’s not just Rock saying it about the BBC. It has been confirmed by academic study that the BBC was not impartial ( which is a clear breach of the Edinburgh Agreement and democratic principles).

When the leader of the SNP appears on the BBC, not one word mentioned about any BBC misreporting or bias, just a lot of old hat waffle about how she hasn’t yet decided to have an indyref or not.

That was the chance begin exposing the BBC for their corruption. The FM didn’t take it.

Another wasted opportunity.

So, it appears, if we are waiting for the SNP to take action, nothing will be done to limit the corrupt power of the BBC to again influence the result of another indyref in favour of the UK Union.

179. louis.b.argyll

Dr Jim, I know what you mean, tone is tricky in black and white.

Btw, bought a new KETTLE yesterday, was under pressure and desperate for COFFEE. Bought one, in a box with a ‘BRITISH BY DESIGN’ badge on five sides. On the bottom, MADE IN CHINA.

180. Robert J. Sutherland

Hi, CoCo the Precious, if Nicola is no damn good, who exactly do you recommend then?

We’re still waiting for an answer to that burning question…

181. Ottomanboi

@galamcenalath
    I agree there is an issue with the usage of the terms but it is not of our making. Nationalists and nationalism liberated the Baltic states from Soviet rule and the Balkans from the Ottomans. It was Irish nationalism that drove the desire for independence in the 18/19th century ie the idea that Ireland should be a sovereign nation state. It was a nationalist outlook that united Gandhi, Nehru and Jinnah regarding the ‘Indic’ sub- continent. The divisions in their ranks were if anything exacerbated by the British who believed they could manipulate Jinnah to their advantage and scupper the whole project by causing ethnic friction. Which they did of course with lasting negative consequences and ghosts of the raj mentality still haunt both India and Pakistan.
    In a broad spectrum nationalism which encompasses culture in its widest and most positive sense, I am happy to style myself nationalist and cosmopolitan.
    Excepting constipated Unionists, the expression ‘Scottish nationalism’ should give no one nightmares.

182. Bob Mack

@Colin,

No Colin, your point was not valid by any means. You wanted her to be bullish, accusing and overbearing. That did not happen. I think your strategy is to encourage Nicola to put forward an aura of intolerance, anger and resentment. Everything she is not in fact.

You may like that in politicians like Farage, but personally I don’t. She was concise, determined ,and at the very least accurate and inclusive.

183. yesindyref2

@Ken500 / @Heed

I saw this the other day and was a bit surprised myself:

http://www.electoralcommission.org.uk/faq/voting-and-registration/i-have-two-homes.-can-i-register-to-vote-at-both-addresses

If I’m registered twice, can I vote twice?

If you are registered to vote in two different electoral areas, you can vote in local elections for the two different local councils.

However, it is an offence to vote twice in the same type of election, such as in a UK general election. Doing this could result in a fine of up to £5,000.

184. colin alexander

Regarding BBC bias coming under regular focus on WoS, just put BBC in the WoS search box and you will see what I mean.

Yet, as I said, not a word about BBC bias from the FM.

Oh dear.

185. Macart

@galamcennalath

RE: National/Nationalist

Heh, good ol’ word association. The word means what it means.

National:
    adjective
    1. relating to or characteristic of a nation; common to a whole nation. “this policy may have been in the national interest” synonyms: state, public, federal, governmental; More –
    noun
    1. a citizen of a particular country.
    “a German national” synonyms: citizen, subject, native, resident, inhabitant; voter “a French national”
    2. a national newspaper as opposed to a local one.
    “the inability of the local press to compete with the nationals for news”

But basically, representative of the population or geography.

The word is harmless and in its truest sense so are the vast majority of institutions to which it can be applied. The problem comes when political ideologies appropriate the word to describe themselves. Has to be said that not all those who use the descriptor have done it any justice.

As you say history has ample examples of ideologies claiming to represent a national identity and who perpetrate unspeakably repressive crimes in the name of said ideology. Yer establishment parties so love to point that out whilst ignoring unspeakable crimes their own ideologies have committed throughout their history. In the name of ‘patriotism’ of course. (I’m not entirely sure they’ll understand the irony)

End of the day? It’s just a word. You judge the book by its contents, not its cover. Does the title fit the narrative?

In this instance, does the SNP Scottish government seek to be representative of the geography, the population and peoples of Scotland? Are they tolerant or repressive? Do they seek to include or exclude? Engage or alienate? Govern through reflection, mandate and representation or dictate from a position of power enforced?

If in each instance the answer is in the positive former, then they are doing some justice to the descriptor and seek to be a nationally representative party.

186. yesindyref2

By the way it’s good to see AG at over 350 upvotes in the May thread, well done whoever you are 🙂

187. louis.b.argyll

Sigh..if the FM had complained (live-on-air to Marr about his employer/BBC bias) he’d say he couldn’t possibly comment and that there are complaint procedures in place etc etc..and simply move on, seeing as he’s the interviewer.

Then C.A./Rock would come on here with a different angle to undermine the SNP leadership.

188. heedtracker

There are no OO lodges in the north east of Scotland but there is a lot of masonic lodges, from Aberdeen all around the fishing towns, frae the Blue toon to the Broch. Then you hit the Buchan coast and its hoachin with retired RAF types, all slavering at just the thought of their S_____d no longer existing and they can die in peace, great British peace.

BBC r4 gimp network’s Any Questions in Wales tonight, Leanne Wood versus likes of Boris Johnson’s dad. Beeb gimps have long ago dropped any pretence at balance now but BJ’s dad?

UKOK Rule by beeb gimp network, for how much longer.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09m1c4s

189. PictAtRandom

I’m in agreement with Ottomanboi about “nationalism”. If we let opponents define things then we’re on a slippery slope. I suppose that it could be argued that UKIP have ruled the use of “independence” out. And then there are those “Freedom” groups on the far right..
    One thing that grates with me is the use of “BritNat” as it implies that we’re a region of a larger nation. Supporters of the British state should be “BritStats”, no?
    And then there is a species known as the “EngNat” although it tends to be in a state of semi-consciousness at the moment, trampling over smaller things that it doesn’t seem to see…

190. colin alexander

louis.b.argyll

When asked about indyref2, which was a predictable question, the SNP could have had an answer ready like this:

Before we decide on whether to hold another indyref or not, we have to look at strategies to counter the extreme bias of the BBC which , we believe and studies show, actively supported the NO campaign in 2014, and which on a daily basis attempts the undermine the SNP Scottish Govt and the case for independence by the use of anti-SNP and anti-independence propaganda.

Of course the BBC would try to dismiss this and move on but, the point would have been made. I would have admired such an answer by the FM.

Would you have criticised the FM if she had given such an answer?

191. yesindyref2

@Oh dear
    No, nobody is going to rise to the bait and put pressure on the FM “you should be more aggressive and kill of Independence” because we’ve been on to you, oh dear, for a long time – some a lot longer than me (I was a bit slow).

Now GFY, there’s a good dear.

192. galamcennalath

Macart says:

national

I have absolutely no reservation about the use of ‘nation’ or ‘national’, the meanings are fairly precise.

However, ‘nationalist’ and ‘nationalism’, that’s different. The response straight from google highlights the breadth of meaning …

” nationalism

patriotic feeling, principles, or efforts.

synonyms: patriotism, patriotic sentiment, allegiance/loyalty to one’s country, loyalism, nationality; xenophobia, chauvinism, jingoism, flag-waving, isolationism;
    ethnocentrism, ethnocentricity

an extreme form of patriotism marked by a feeling of superiority over other countries.

advocacy of political independence for a particular country. “

The good and bad. My bold on the bad. No escaping the bad.

193. heedtracker

I would have admired such an answer by the FM.

Say something nice about the SNP or even the evil Sturgeon Colin A, you torytwa

No, I promised Petra, no more rude words btl WoS:D

194. Ottomanboi

@macart
    The key word is appropriation. It might be argued that the idea of Scotland/Alba was appropriated by the British state and morphed into something that suited its politico-cultural ends. Scotland as the footnote to English history as the marginal entity is the result of that appropriation.
    National renewal ie resurgent, broad spectrum nationalism is I believe the only way to get Scotland back to rightful ‘ownership’.
    Our USP is Scotland, its people, its history, cultures, geography and patrimony. All else is just playing politics and mind numbing white noise.

195. Fred

@ Ken500, you’re holding forth on a subject which you obviously ken nothing aboot ken. Masonic Marches in Glasgow? what might they be, there’s no such thing! The Orange Order is not the Masons, are you the full shillin?

196. Thepnr

@galamcennalath

That is exactly the reason that Unionist politicians and the media often referred to the SNP as the Scottish Nationalist Party rather than their correct name of Scottish National Party.

Nobody ever calls the NHS the Nationalist Health Service.

That’s also the reason that supporters of Independence are always refereed to as separatists. Negativity is the name of the game and is not surprising that it can be seen on Wings too!

197. Ottomanboi

@galamcennalath
    To the victors and the conquerors the right to compile dictionaries. This is the definition in a French dictionary..nothing about xenophobia, chauvinism or jingoism etc. Interesting!
    I think this is a purely anglophone hangup.
    nationalisme
    nom masculin
    Mouvement politique d’individus qui prennent conscience de former une communauté nationale en raison des liens (langue, culture) qui les unissent et qui peuvent vouloir se doter d’un État souverain.
    Théorie politique qui affirme la prédominance de l’intérêt national par rapport aux intérêts des classes et des groupes qui constituent la nation ou par rapport aux autres nations de la communauté internationale.
    In sum, enlightened national self-interest.
    Hope WordPress doesnt turn the text into macaroni!

198. Macart

@galamcennalath

There is always a dark side (I’ve seen that somewhere before). As I say, it’s about judging the book by its content and that is what we need to encourage in folk. To look past the words and the headlines to the deeds, to the actuality.

Negative inference and insinuation is, as we are all painfully aware, a preferred tool of the UKs establishment parties and their media. They feed off ignorance and projection. I reckon it’s about educating folk that for every dark side and as you excellently pointed out above with your reference to Ghandi, there is also a flipside to that coin.

199. colin alexander

Heedtracker

I’ve said good things about the SNP: Carol Monaghan has been a good SNP MP. Her and other SNP MPs talents are wasted there as the power grab vote demonstrated.

I think Sandra White is a really good SNP MSP.

I like Mhairi Black for her willingness to speak out; it’s a breath of fresh air to read how SNP MP’s are coached to avoid answering questions and her revelation of the lack of communication between the FM and MPs like Mhairi Black.

I think the FM is a competent devolution administrator and a competent public speaker.

The SNP made me laugh out loud when they nominated Bill Kidd MSP for the Nobel Peace Prize. To be fair to Mr Kidd, he’s renowned for his photobombing before disappearing, to pretend he’s doing more than he does. That was genuinely comical.

Compare that to Saint Obama and Saint Blair getting peace awards after bombing hell out of countries and leaving a power vacuum for IS to fill. I had to laugh or I would have cried.

200. ronnie anderson

Don’t converse with the usual suspects , if you feel the need to converse with somebody put a appointment on with a Trick Cyclist much more fun .

201. Robert Peffers

@Abulhaq says:19 January, 2018 at 10:11 am:

“There is much dissent among scholars as to the origins of the embroidery, it is not technically a tapestry.”

Yeah! I know, Abulhaq. The point I’m making, probably rather badly, is the English/British nationalism they do not even seem to realise they exhibit. I mean that Dunkirk thing where they cannot countenance a great humiliating defeat and regard it as somehow being a great historic victory.

Like their present ploy of sticking Butcher’s Apron and made in Britain labels on Scottish produce. They though this would chasten Scots but in fact it has had exactly the opposite effect.

All of which only emphasises the stark fact that while Scots are genetically little or no different from the rest of the United Kingdom we most certainly are, in the main, culturally very different.

202. Smallaxe

ronnie anderson,

We’ll no doubt get to meet the usual suspects at the next independence rally, or am I being a bit over-optimistic Ronnie?

203. Robert Peffers

@cearc says: 19 January, 2018 at 10:20 am:

“Robert P,
    Bayeux Tapestry was made at an English monastery AFTER a Norman abbot had been put in charge!”

See my reply to Abulhaq. Apology for my clumsy way of attempting to explain the point properly.

204. yesindyref2

@Ottomanboi
    Fine, but it needs to fit modern times, and to be nothing to do with Independence so as to appeal to all.

A for instance of that is The National’s campaign for Scotland the Brand, which is having some bite, not only in resisting the UJing of Scottish products, but in making people more aware of Scotland and the Saltire, and there’s Scottish companies pleased about it – of course.

But more needs to be done, hailing Scottish achievements, encouraging more, and making them Scottish, not British. In fact perhaps what Wingers should do is email The National with any major achievementes they know about that happen but don’t get reported in the usual dismissive media.

205. louis.b.argyll

Colin/CAptain Hindsight, would I have criticised…?
    Again, Marr would have simply deflected any NS criticism of his employer live on air.
    You just answered with five more ‘if she..would you have, should she haves’.

206. louis.b.argyll

I’m done, sorry folks, back to lurking.

207. yesindyref2

“The media could not be played” which I often get.

Anyone got a link to the SNP PPB that doesn’t go through twitter?

208. colin alexander

yesindyref2

The only one suggesting aggression is you, with your “GFY” comment.

Listen to Petra, if you won’t listen to me, and stop the aggression and obscenity that drags the debate into the gutter.

209. Abulhaq

@Robert Peffers
    As much as I appreciate English culture and native genius I do not admire a tendency to ethnic hubris which lies not too far under the skin. I am often stunned by how little many English people know about Scotland beyond porrage, tartan and tossing the caber, the ‘brigadoon’ stuff seeming to be the limit of their ‘interest’. The implication is that Scotland just isn’t worth the intellectual effort: Scotland is by no means alone in getting the familiar glazed eyes look. They also tend to be bemused by the whole idea of independence. Scottish dna isn’t significantly different from that in southern England but by cultural criteria we are markedly different. Scotland is not just another Yorkshire, the much favoured comparator.
    But trying to get that over is misspent effort, better employed closer to home.

210. cctxt

Could anyone make last night’s ppb available on youtube for folks like me who don’t do TV, FB or Twitter – I’ve not been able to watch it so far ……

211. Ottomanboi

@yesindyref2
    An awakening of national consciousness via a coherent, re-educating national movement may often be the precursor to creating the mood for political independence. Independence dished up cold without the trimmings may still be too much for the Scottish ‘heichgait’, too liable to the ‘how much wiil it cost me’ mantra.

212. Robert Peffers

@colin alexander says: 19 January, 2018 at 10:23 am:

“For fair minded readers of this site, I think they will agree that I made a valid point re no criticism of the BBC by Nicola Sturgeon on the BBC’s Andrew Marr Show.”

Naw ye didna. As usual you never do make valid points.

What your comment indicates is that you do not know the slightest thing about modern, (and not so modern), broadcast studio set-ups.

In point of fact there has not been such a thing as a really live broadcast at least since TV came to Scotland and BBC Television had a very sombre start in Scotland broadcasting, (on a still not officially open Kirk o’ Shotts Transmitter), the funeral of King George VI on 15 February 1952.

Four weeks later the Kirk O’Shotts transmitter aired, “Television Comes To Scotland”, from Edinburgh’s large music studio to the whole of the UK.

By around 1957 my then best pal was working in the BBC TV studio close by Parkhead Cross and I would be in that studio with my pal on Saturdays while he set-up the sound equipment for the tea-time news insert from Scotland into the BBC’s national network.

We would then go to a Glasgow football match and return to the studio for that News insert and the sports reports before going to a dance hall for the rest of the evening.

Even back then nothing went out of that studio live. They had a tape set-up that used an endless belt tape. Depending upon the length of the tape loop the machine recorded first the composite video/audio signal – allowed the tape loop to pass through the machine and only then sent it out to be transmitted.

Thus the production team behind the soundproof glass could hear and see what was to be broadcast before it was actually transmitted. How the hell did you figure they could have, “Beeped”, out a swear word or inappropriate comment? No one could possibly anticipate such occurrences without such electro/mechanical aid.

Nowadays, of course, such devices are done wholly electronically and digitally and thus a longer or shorter delay can be used at the press of a button.

Don’t take my word for such things try the following. Turn on your DAB radio and tune to Radio Jockland. Now turn on your TV and tune to the Radio Jockland channel, (ch719).

You will probably notice that there is a short lag between the two broadcast signals that cannot be explained by possible different paths between the two transmitters. In fact most areas of Scotland will receive both signals from the same transmitter mast. I haven’t tried this with FM Radio or Medium or long wave receivers but it will probably be the same result.

Do you imagine that the SNP government don’t know that?

If Nicola, or anyone else, were to try to do such a thing as castigate the BBC the broadcaster would interfere, or more likely, “Suffer technical difficulty”. I have seen some comments on Wings and elsewhere with commenters saying it is strange the broadcasters seem to often have more, “Technical”, problems when SNP people are talking.

Here’s another clue for you, Colin. Have you not noticed that when there are SNP people on a remote monitor during studio items with the unionists invariably in the studio and the SNP people in a remote Scottish studio elsewhere in Scotland, there is a considerable delay between the question asked and their answer being made? Yet minutes later they will have a USA live interview with a USAsian political figure with little or no delay.

I sat in my wee pal’s sitting room last evening and there was tennis reports coming in from Australia with very little delay between the BBC London anchor and the BBC reporter in Australia. Just pay a bit more attention and you will see/hear I am right.

213. yesindyref2

@Proud Cybernat
    Thanks – plays for me at last!

214. One_Scot

Lol, some pathetic LibDum fud has complained to Ofcom about the PPB that he thinks someone looks like someone.

Looks like the Yoon Tinfoil Hats are out in force.

215. Macart

@One_Scot

Yeah, just clocked that. Awesome. 😀 LOL

You couldn’t make this stuff up, but they do. Simply jaw dropping mentality.

216. cctxt

@Proud Cybernat
    Thanks for that.

217. One_Scot

Lol, I see the lying ‘I am not a unionist’ Prof Scot is trying to gate crash the party. Lol, he’s probably not even a Prof.

218. ronnie anderson

Smallaxe 12.17 Optimistic noo that’s unrealistic the Usual suspects don’t stand out proud amongst honest men women , they’re fortay is hiding behind the sofa wie they’re keyboard , nae IrrnBru n Crisps tae sustain them , nip in nip oot dribbling aw er oor dance flair . Oanybudy goat any slippereen tae mop up the dribbles .

219. ronnie anderson

PS . at ah push some Talcum Powder but no the sniffin kind .

220. Jack Murphy

Thankyou for all your links earlier today Smallaxe.

This one about the Tory MPs from Scotland is a shocker.

A random quote from the article:
    “…….As has been well-rehearsed, if the Scottish Tory MPs had voted as a bloc for the amendment, it would have narrowly passed by two votes, and the devolution settlement they are supposed to regard as sacred would have been preserved………..”

http://scotgoespop.blogspot.co.uk/2018/01/the-ultimate-betrayal-scottish-tory-mps.html

221. PictAtRandom

I think this is one instance where Wee Colin Alexander could legitimately have popped up and said he was disappointed that Nicola scheduled her announcement so close to that vote.

2017 to 2019 are the years of nationalist/indy punch and sneaky unionist counterpunch. (Or even of the unexpectedly crude headbutt carried out by TM & Co. in June 2017.) No need to make it worse. This is the land of (intentional) confusion.

222. CameronB Brodie

ronnie anderson
    You’ve got a good memory Ronnie. 😉

Bobby Byrd – I Know You Got Soul (Extended Version)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVbpA-BuSdU&list=PLUXl043M6v4PmfHZ5WqrFnufHYK2bLCZz&index=29

223. CameronB Brodie

Oops, I thought I was in OT. Sorry.

224. Rock

Robert Peffers,

“I’m breaking my own advice here as I’m seeing far too many Wingers engaging with Rock so I did read some of his crap- I should not have bothered.”

You are an aggressive verbal bully here and almost certainly a nasty person in real life.

And like all bullies, you are a coward who runs away the moment he is challenged.

If you are as clever as you think, why don’t you have your own site to flog your “knowledge”?

Instead of contaminating every article on someone else’s website with your verbal diarrhoea.

Why haven’t you ever written a book on the history of the union?

After 310 years as a colony of England, only an utter “numpty” like yourself would pretend that Scotland is “sovereign”.

225. Brian Doonthetoon

“You are an aggressive verbal bully here and almost certainly a nasty person in real life.”

How many times has that phrase been posted in WOS over the past year or so?

We tend to scroll past these days. New phrase required. Re-program and try the new software elsewhere, before polluting WOS.

226. Rock

Brian Doonthetoon,

“How many times has that phrase been posted in WOS over the past year or so?”

Every time the aggressive verbal bully, coward and nasty person in real life has thrown abuse at me without reason.

227. Brian Doonthetoon

“aggressive verbal bully”

“nasty person”

It’s a shame, when someone, whose vocabulary is so bereft of synonyms, tries to take part in a debate, where a wider vocabulary would seem to be a prerequisite but then just turns out the same old phrases ad infinitum.

228. Breeks

Genuine query… In what way did Europe assist in delivering devolution? I know Labour like to bask in the glory, but I understand they didn’t have much choice and Europe was relevant to it all.

Details seem obscure to research… Anybody clarify?

229. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Breeks.

This may help.

http://www.electricscotland.com/independence/council.pdf

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.