Margaret Curran should know the truth
Of engaging brain before opening mooth;
Using the word “foreigner”
Like a profanity

Offends large sections of humanity.

She should know better and be more carin’
Each one of us is a Jock Tamson bairn;
To hear an apology would be divine,
But don’t hold your breath – I won’t hold mine.
(c) M. Campbell, 2013

23 to “A poem, by my mum”

1. ThereWasACoo

Quality! 😀

2. Adrian B

Big Thumbs up to Stuarts mum for the poem 😀 

3. Steven M

I like it. I will confess that I heard it in a “rap battle” style, with US rapper voice and drum beat backing track. I suspect that just means I need sleep! Well done Rev’s ma! 🙂

4. The Man in the Jar

Maw knows best!

5. clochoderic

Magrit has just well descried / How we’d be a’ left right outside / A nation that should give ye pride/ To seek a  fight for british pride / but nae luck for mags  one thing’s o’curran – maggie it is your brain that’s furrin’ 

6. K Mackay

That’s great, more poetry from you’re mum please Stu 🙂

I’d like to see our policy on immigration once we’re independent just be the statement “we’re a’`jock Tamson’s bairns.” Love that saying 🙂

7. Taranaich

My Mum wrote a poem about Scottish independence, too. I’ll ask if she’d like to share it with you fine folk.

8. uilleambeag

What a great wee ditty. Mony thanks to Stu’s Mam.

(More please!)

9. john king

as sung by labour

Only we, the workers of the worldwide
    Great army of labour,
    Have the right to own the land,
    But the parasites – never!
    And if the great thunder rolls
    Over the pack of dogs and executioners,
    For us, the sun will forever
    Shine on with its fiery beams.
     |: This is our final
       and decisive battle;
       With the Internationale
       humanity will rise up! 😐

maybe it was wee mags’s day off?

10. Derick Tulloch

Mags?
    In the Days When We Were Radicals
    A short time ago
    – it’s in Radical Renfrew. Must get a copy

11. Jen

Excellent, cheered me up, thanks for sharing 

12. Doug Daniel

Ming Campbell’s your mum?!?

13. scottish_skier

@Doug
    The ‘M’ will be for ‘Mum’ or maybe ‘Mrs’.

14. Luigi

Ming Campbell’s your mum?
    Now that would be a real Star Wars revelation.
    Rev Skywalker requires immediate jedi councilling.

15. FreddieThreepwood

Curran’s at it again in the Herald this morning. Labour ‘research’ has found (shock) that there are Scots living all over the UK. They’ve counted them!
    Cue more use of the ‘f’ word. They really do seem to be pushing this button for all it’s worth.
    Which is ‘f’ all, of course.

16. Seanair

Freddie T.
    No mention of thousands of Scots HAVINGto go to England for jobs under Westminster rule.

17. Luigi

Apparently, Margaret Curran now knows every scots-born man, woman and child currently living in England. And yet, she knows nothing at all, of the massive, deliberate cover-up of North Sea oil revenue/forecast information that has occured, under successive Labour and Tory governments, to this very day. She cares more about labelling people “foreigners” than she does about the stolen wealth of a nation. Incredible.

18. Desimond

I think Paul Heaton once wrote a lyric with Maggie Curran in mind
    “You dont know, You dont care
    Youre just glad that you wasnt there”

19. CamronB

I think that makes Ms. Curran an accessory after the fact, which is a prosecutable offense in Scotland. I wonder if any law officers might fancy investigating all the unnecessary deaths, which resulted from all those years of Labour and Tory lies?

20. YesYesYes

Great Poem Mrs C. But what have you started?

Margaret Curran’s up to her old tricks again
    Refuting the truth with her shallow counter claims
    She told folk in Glasgow East she’d always lived near by
    Til the press pointed out her little white lie

Now Margaret feigns ignorance of Healey’s revelations
    “Ah wisnae there” is her response to nats’ protestations
    But Citizen Smart has outed her, for all to see
    This is how you silence a screaming banshee

How will Margaret talk her way out of this?
    An apology? A speech? Or grab a bairn tae kiss?
    But this mystery can be explained, for it would seem

That Margaret’s spent too much time with Labour’s ‘Truth Team’!

21. Jeannie

Lovely wee poem. Sums it all up.   Please convey our thanks to the “Reverend Mother” 🙂

22. Chic McGregor

I suppose I better put in my twa groats worth:

Lament For The Fakaris

I wuld be fain, giff Fakaris anent     
    With their cuifis, sen, wuld tak tent;     
    Sparit nocht be their facultie:—     
        Timor pro Patria conturbat me    

She has done petuously devour     
    The carling, Curran, of  Fakaris flour,     
    The skaldis, Baillie and Lamont, all three:—     
        Timor pro Patria conturbat me.

The Lordis McConnell of Glenscorrodale     
    Wallace, Foulkes, Forsythe, all hayle,     
    Tane piss haue thai fra this cuntrie:—     

That scorpion fell has done infeck     
    And thairwyth postal votis affeck,     
    Ballot-faking and tragedie:—     

Reid quhat Iain Davidson screivit,     
    That nocht we be fra Britane leavit     
    Sir Ming Campbell wuld agree:—     

Flytingis has Cochrane on Great Eck tane,     
    That mak fell heid-lines of disdaine;     
    Marcus Gardham ta, no frend he:—     

Sally Magnusson and Glenn Campbell,
    With Jackie Bird dois gyve the knell,     
    And ‘Brian’s Blog’ is ere nought free:—     

The ‘ConDem’ pakt is butt ane mirage,     
    Sen mycht we haue the ‘ConFarage’,     
    So short, so quick, of sentence hie:—     

James Murphy of Renfrew East,     
    Howpes sen he will on Miliband feast;     
    Twa better gowkis did no man see:—     

In Dunfermline we haue Gordon Broun     
    Quhom wuld dynge Alastair Darling doun;     
    Sir Willie the Ross schamit wuld be:—     

Lord George Robertson has forsayd,     
    That thai wuld our intent mak deid,     
    Of quhom all Lordis hes maist pitie:—     

Word Maister Wullie ‘Quhit can ye dae?’     
    In parle court tries verily;     
    Quhyle Ruth assailis the King fu she:—     

Thoch bretheris nocht, Alexanderis twane,     
    With Laydy Wendy act as ane;     
    Of force I man next in prayere be:—     

Since for the treuth remeid is none,     
    Best is that we for defeatt dispone,     
    Giff defeattit , neverendum we:—     

23. Chic McGregor

I have final tweaked that rather rushed effort.  BTW it is loosely based on Dunbar’s ‘Lament For The Makaris’.  Started off trying to stick close to the original but found it impossible.

Lament For The Fakaris

I wuld be fain, giff the Fakaris anent,     
    Withe their cuifis, wuld sen tak tent;     
    Sparit nocht be their facultie:—     

She has done petuously devour,     
    The Carling, Curran, of  Fakaris flour;     
    Withe skaldis, Baillie, Lamont, all three:—     

The Lordis McConnell of Glenscorrodale,     
    Wallace, Foulkes, Forsythe, all hayle;     
    Tane piss haue thai fra this cuntrie:—     
        Timor pro Patria conturbat me..     

Reid quhat Iain Davidson screivit,     
    That nocht we be fra Britane leavit.     
    Sir Ming Campbell wuld agree:—     

Flytingis by Cochrane on Salmond rain,     
    Thai mak fell heid-lines of disdaine;     
    Marcus Gardham ta, no frend he:—     

Sally Magnusson and Glenn Campbell,
    With Jackie Bird dois gyve the knell;     
    And ‘Brian’s Blog’ is ere nought free:—     

The ‘ConDem’ pact is butt ane mirage,     
    Sen mycht we haue the ‘ConFarage’;     
    So short, so quick, of sentence hie:—     

James Murphy of Renfrew East,     
    Howpes sen on Miliband to feast;     
    Twa better gowkis did no man see:—     

In Dunfermline we haue Gordon Broun,     
    Quho dyngit Alastair Darling doun;     
    Sir Willie the Ross schamit wuld be:—     

Lord George Robertson hais forsayd,     
    That thai wuld our intent mak deid;     
    Of quhom all Lordis hes maist pitie:—     

Word Maister Wullie ‘Quhit can ye dae?’     
    In parle court tries verily;     
    Laydy Ruth, oure Kynge fu assailis she:—     

Thoch bretheris nocht, Alexanderis twane,     
    Withe Laydy Wendy act as ane;     
    Of force I man in prayere next be:—     

That scorpion fell has done infeck     
    And thairwyth postal votis affeck;     
    Ballot-faking and tragedie:—     

Since for the treuth remeid is none,     
    Best is that we for defeatt dispone;     
    Giff alas, defeattit , neverendum we:—     

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.