A case apart

Posted on September 09, 2014 by

We’ve long argued that whatever the small print, when it comes to an independent Scotland’s membership of the European Union common sense and realpolitik will prevail, because nobody wants Scotland to be out of the EU for even a day and it’s in nobody’s interests for it to be.

Of course, we’re just some idiots with a website and nobody should listen to OUR opinion about anything. But it seems as though people like Graham Avery (Honorary Director-General of the European Commission), Lord Mark Malloch-Brown, (the former Deputy Secretary-General of the UN) and Sionaidh Douglas-Scott, (author of a book on EU constitutional law and professor of European law and human rights at Oxford University) ought to have a pretty good inside track on Europe stuff.

And if all those still aren’t enough, how about the esteemed Pat Cox, former President of the European Parliament? He ought to know what he’s talking about, right?

Subscribe
Notify of

569 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jim Thomson

Aye, well, another disappointment for the BBC’s agenda 😛

Seasick Dave

Good try, James, but epic fail.

Hamish Humphy

Brilliant interview. Pat Cox being very sensible and destroying all the scaremongering about EU membership.

Baheid

Two years on and they still can’t accept the EU is not going to be a major problem.

edward robinson

Somebody speaking sense ” a whole host of opportunities”.

john king

So there you have, A BBC reporter again getting it straight from the horses mouth from an Irish politician, Scotland is out on its arse if it votes yes.

Jim Thomson

I’m pretty sure that package won’t get wall-to-wall news coverage tonight. Good job the Rev has saved that clip for posterity.

Charlene

What a fine man he is.

beachthistle

Great, clear stuff.

And the usual wee snide BBC trick of asking somebody who doesn’t give the answers they want (i.e. who doesn’t stick to NO/BBC’s ‘Yes is difficult/impossible’ script) if they support Yes at the end of the interview – so that if they say yes, #NoYourPlace campaigners (including BBC reporters themselves) can then (meta-ironically) disparage/dismiss them as being ‘biased’…

Steve Bowers 74% win

Rev, you’re a star, nicked and shared, cheers loon

Stevie boy

Straight from the horse’s mouth.

Much more chance of exiting the EU if voting No!

muttley79

James Cook quote in reference to Spain: “struggling with separatists in their own country.” 😀 😀

Who dear James….

muttley79

@beachthistle

They are not subtle are they?

Lesley-Anne

Well I think Pat Cox has just become a member of Ian McWhirter’s wee “banned from speaking on the BBC” club with that interview.

Ian tweeted last night that he was due to go onto BBC Newsnight last night and discuss Gordon Brown. However, a phone call earlier with the BBC about the same topic resulted in Ian being informed that he was no longer invited on to the Newsnight programme. I’m guessing the BBC did not like what Ian thought about wee Gorie and his *ahem* new plans. 😀

Now that the eminently intelligent Pat Cox has just blown James Cook out the water with his answers to the typical anti independence questions I’m certain Ian will be only too happy to welcome Pat into his club. 😛

desimond

Europe will not be mentioned in the next 9 days. Even Mark Carneys comments on Current union will be hidden away. The only thing being mentioned over next week of so is “Look Scotland…Labour have jam, Tories have Marmalade and Lib Dems have lemon curd…tuck in why dont you and we’ll just go look for those pesky labels to make it official!”

Stewart fae stoney

yep I bet that interview wont get an airing on the 6 o clock news,

muttley79

McQuarrie (sp) and Boothman will be delighted at James Cook’s reporting in the last 24 hours. Referring to the No campaign as “we” in an interview with Salmond, and now saying with reference to Spain: “struggling with separatists in their own country.”

Indy_Scot

Today a Saltire flag above Downing Street, tomorrow they will be sitting outside Holyrood eating a haggis supper and holding a can of Irn Bru. I’m convinced they’re just at the wind up now.

Fireproofjim

Pat Cox should be co-opted into the negotiating team of an Independent Scotland as an advisor when the EU negotiations are undertaken. I have seldom heard so much clear common sense on the subject. Good man!

Colin Church

James Cook quote in reference to Spain: “struggling with separatists in their own country.”
Indeed! BBC Scotlandshire. Bloody splittists. Insurgency.

Stevie boy

Indy_Scot

They can’t do the Irn Bru thing.. that’s one of Murph the Smurph’s gimmicks!!

Blah blah blah.. and look I have a can of Irn Bru to show that I’m one of you!

heedtracker

link to notesfromnorthbritain.wordpress.com This is not my Slovene girlfriend but he does give “evidence” a lot to the Chairchoobs comittee for No Scotland anythiog. Watch out for upcoming EU law Prof Tomkins/BBC NO debate and how different is the Bettertogether take on stuff, compared to a very neutral Honorary Director-General of the European Commission.

Rod Robertson

Poor wee James Cook he could not squeeze a negative out of our Irish cousin ,god bless that man

muttley79

@Colin Church

I know!! We are now insurgents, rebels; I wonder how long it will be until we are called terrorists? This time next week maybe? I wonder what Derek Bateman is making of this? They are not even attempting to hide their bias anymore.

Grant

I am now a Pat Cox fan.

haud on the noo

OT sorry – been away in Dortmund for the game. Has the Sarah Smith farce been dumped ?

jim watson

Arguing on precedent – how dare they! This is unprecedented!

Not sustainable as an argument – Squirrels!

Edward

haud on the noo
Unfortunately no, she is still polluting our airwaves

Trust you had a effective time spreading the gospel of Independence whilst frolicking in Dortmund? 😀

Wee Jonny

FFS Jamesee Boy, how many klaxons went aff there?
Barroso klaxon.
Kosovo klaxon.
Extremely Difficult klaxon.
Impossible klaxon.
Separatists klaxon.
Struggle klaxon.
United Kingdon klaxon.
Schengen klaxon
Immigration klaxon.
Rebate klaxon.
Problems klaxon.
All skelped oot the park we “there’s a whole host of opportunities”
Class. Tick Tock Jamesee Snotter.

mary vasey

Who the neck is that little pipsqueek o’ a presenter and does his mother ken he’s oot on his own lol shows how long it is since I’ve watched BBC.
I’ve voted YES

Proud Cybernat

BBC NEWSFLASH….

“Former President of the European Parliament, Irishman, Pat Cox, agrees with Lucinda Creighton that it will be impossible for Scotland to join the EU.”

Okay, they haven’t quite got round to spinning this story yet but watch this space.

Did the BBC ever retract the Lucinda Creighton lie after its own trust found it guilty of bias and factually incorrect statements? Did the BBC ever apologise to Scottish viewers for their lies?

Didn’t think so. There will be a reckoning with that lot post YES.

[…] A case apart […]

Socrates MacSporran

I have all but given up on watching BBC, so-biased towards Bitter Together is their referendum coverage; so, I missed James Cook’s “We” moment.

Alas poor James – now the Alan Hansen of the BBC Scotland reporting staff.

Edward

Slightly O/T

Meanwhile in other news Bloomberg reports the US Dollar is growing in strength against a few currencies, including, funnily enough, Sterling

Why is this not being mentioned on BBC/SKY. Oh of course….

link to bloomberg.com

nigel

Have now stopped paying my tv licence-would have done long ago but wife objected….

desimond

How many of tomorrows visitors will play the “I love Scotland, my (insert relative/family friend/nanny/school fag) were Scotch”

Latest odds

1/10 for 3 from 3.
1/5 for 2 from 3.
1/1 for 1 from 3.
1000/1 for 0 from 3.

Im sure Mags Curran will be side by side with Ed to keep her rival Johann at an arms length.

Wee Ruth will be shocked at finally getting into same room at David cameron, unlike Tory Party conferences.

I hope wee Wullie has had his teeth sorted before he starts that mad girning next to his beloved Nicky

link to scotsman.com

liz

If this reappears just wait for the cut and paste to show the opposite of what was said.

Tommy Kane

Huw Edwards on BBC news just been photobombed by YES banner

Graeme Doig

I’m going to risk an O/T here just to report a colleague of mine who has been swithering told me today he’s voting YES.
Broonie and love bombing not on his radar.
Cheered me up on a day of complete unionitis 🙂

manandboy

While on a European theme,let it never be forgotten that whenever you hear a Labour politician say that Labour brought Devolution to Scotland, it is a pure lie. They were FORCED to do it by the EU.
link to electricscotland.com

Read on –

The international situation generally – i.e. quite apart from the CoE – had also changed since 1989 in the respect that there were now other sanctions available for use against any government (like the UK with a democratic deficit re Scotland) that failed to maintain the required democratic standards.

For example, the European Union’s Intergovernmental Conference in 1996 agreed that
this would entail the suspension of that country’s rights of membership, including its voting rights in the EU Council.

That, of course, would have had the effect of a political nuclear bomb in the
international community, to say nothing of its effect on Scotland. So Tony Blair and
his friends knew very well why they, no doubt grinding their teeth, were calling for a double Yes vote in the referendum – at least at leadership level, because the party was conspicuously absent from the scene at local level during the referendum campaign, which was carried by the SNP’s campaigning organisation, and by the Liberals.

Prime Minister Tony Blair and Chancellor of the Exchequer Gordon Brown both
ostentatiously boycotted the opening of the Scottish Parliament itself, and later
the Holyrood building, in order to demonstrate their personal opposition, and
that of the Labour Party, to the whole devolution project.

That is the situation that Tony Blair described as “a damnable nuisance”, although he
did a typical politician’s volte-face by making a virtue out of necessity and claiming the referendum as the Labour Party’s policy all along!

The truth is, however, that the centuries-old home rule nut was finally cracked
by Scotland-UN with a piece of hard-nosed international diplomacy that
involved playing major powers against each other, and which in the end forced
London to concede the referendum or face international sanctions.

The Labour leadership had had no intention of doing anything at all to restore the
Scottish Parliament until their hand was forced. Their attempts to kill the devolution project having been unsuccessful, Labour was left with no choice but to accept the new reality while at the same time trying to hijack the movement and limit it as far as possible. This meant maintaining control over it, compensating for it to reduce its effects, and presenting it as a Labour initiative while suppressing the truth about how it came into being.

The instrument for the implementation of this policy was Donald Dewar, Secretary of
State for Scotland, who in previous years had ridiculed the very idea of a “toytown
parliament” in Edinburgh.

For his involvement in the above and for his part in the transfer to England of 6000 sq mls of Scottish waters off the SE coast,
Dewar’s statue in Buchanan St., Glasgow, must be removed.

The man was a disgrace and the idea of him being heralded as the ‘Father of the Scottish Parliament’ is just disgusting.

All Labour’s doing of course.

David S Briggs

“john king says:
9 September, 2014 at 5:30 pm
So there you have, A BBC reporter again getting it straight from the horses mouth from an Irish politician, Scotland is out on its arse if it votes yes.”

Are you sniffing the marching powder?

Rather telling that you’ve disappeared, perhaps into a Unionist parallel universe?

nigel

I suspect the real reason the onionists are in full panic mode is due to the fact that the greedy bar stewards have, in addition to spending all of Scotlands present oil, whisky and all the other taxes we have given them,they have spent the next 20 years worth of oil and whisky revenues. This has been already spent on (mainly) grandiose infrastructure schemes benefiting the south of England.

If the yes vote prevails, the taps to westminster will be turned off, and when they default on their loans, as they surely will, the remaining part of the uk will be effectively bankrupted.

Recourse to the IMF will inevitably follow, if only to prevent civil disorder when the sassenachs find out their budgets are to be trimmed by 50% or more.

Thankfully Scotland will be well shot of the greedy pigs by that time!

M4rkyboy

The Irish have been excellent throughout this.

haud on the noo

Edward,

Dortmund was awash with YES badges / flags and the lot . Despite security confiscating some on entry to the game thousands managed to get in though I doubt they were shown on TV…

Weedeochandorris

Apologies if already posted. The Saltire refuses to be raised above Downing Street 🙂 link to skynews.grabyo.com

YESGUY

Don’t you just love our Irish cousins.

Spain try and veto Scotland , we keep their fishing fleet out of our huge area of seas , Spain in debt and mass unemployment needs money and jobs. Vote us in or your fishing fleet is finished.

Now that’s out the way. Poor BEEB are struggling to keep up the arguments o f BT/NT.

Next

sinky

Another great article by derek bateman on media reaction to unionist plan Z

liz

@Tommy Kane – LOL – please show us a link

desimond

@David S Briggs

Ive heard John King called a lot of things but never a Unionist Troll.

Me fears Stu and David didnt quite grasp the gag John was making about how BBC love to spin Irish EU spoken facts as No EU-entry lies.

T222Deracha

BBC Pravda really are churning out wall to wall hysteria, you can almost smell it! All this fuss to keep a supposed liability, anyone would think their lies had come back to bite them on the bahooky!

fred blogger

imo, the rights of a agreed vote between 2 countries within 1 country and by a member state ie the uk.
the indyref is a legal democratic process.
scotland is already an eu country, and will remain so if it chooses to be.
this takes precedence or supersedes lesser eu regulations, and in fact will form, defacto, new regulations.
yes indeed this is a case apart, and in unique and unprecedented circumstances.
this in fact sets a new precedence that will act as a guide to other eu states/counties in a similar position, and with similar ambitions.
there is no need for example, to immediately set up a central bank, nor to join the euro, or to have a separate currency.
scotland must be free to find it’s feet and it’s own way in the world as a free nation.
nothing can be done to force scotland to do otherwise.
the people of scotland will decide what is in scotlands best interests, and this will take a common sense pragmatic direction of travel.
democracy rules ok!

Dcanmore

While 70% percent of the BBC’s output is repeats I doubt if this interview will be aired again.

The Earthshaker

Off topic, but a wee bit of breaking news from Wales a former Liberal Democrat 2010 Parliamentary candidate in Kier Hardie’s old seat of Merthyr Tydfil has defected to Plaid Cymru today
link to twitter.com

This fighting for democracy is catching on!

CM

link to s28.postimg.org

Sky News on the ball ^^

@Weedeochandorris

That is brilliant, it’s almost as if the Saltire has a mind of its own.

liz

@desimond – agree, humour bypass – it shows how stressed we’re getting.

Dcanmore

The simple fact is Scotland doesn’t need to be in Europe or NATO and negotiations into both should weigh heavily in Scotland’s favour.

HandandShrimp

John referencing, admittedly somewhat opaquely, the treatment of Lucinda’s words following a similar interview….they couldn’t do it twice though…could they?

macart763m

As clear as crystal.

Nice one. 🙂

CameronB Brodie

The former President of the European Parliament says the No Better Together Thanks argument is ABSURD. You’ve got to love it, even though the BBC drone was doing his UKOK best to push Project Fear. 🙂

Clootie

James Cook was not asking questions. He was making a Better Together statement. The answers didn’t matter as long as he could churn out sound bites.

As we should remember what damage the BBC, MSM and others have done. We should remember the support of the Irish (respectful of our rights, decent honest comments)

fred blogger

The Earthshaker
great news, the dragon has fire.
no more sitting on hands, treated like mushrooms, coz it’s all we can do!

YESGUY

John King Unionist?????

NEVER

Sarcasm and irony , some don’t quite get it others do.

BBC are a disgusting propaganda tool equal to Goebbles.

And they have the neck to call us Nazi’s.

Scumbag Nawbags.

Dram

God love the Irish. Any chance to stick it the English. 😉 Cheers guys, and VOTE YES!

heraldnomore

Michty me they’ve even brung Flipper back oot – whit next, JoLa?

Fiona

OT and sorry if this has already been mentioned.

I have heard the queen’s jubilee speech from 1977 twice now on radio 4. This in a context where she has apparently said she will not comment. Apparently they think we will not notice that is just like those publications which condemn pornography and liberally illustrate the piece with porn pictures from the rivals they are criticising

But if the queen does not wish to comment does this amount to treason, or at least lese majestee?

macart763m

@Weedeochandorris

St Andrew at work? 🙂

Jim Murray

Nice post sir

YESGUY

MacCart.

Great read and a laugh to is guesting for the WGD .

Got a wee bit grumpy today and after a wee visit to WGD all smiles again.

Great stuff Sam.

Never had my telly on for weeks now. Funny , i missed it for about a week and now can’t imagine i would go back to watching again.

Much more entertainment here 0-)

Croompenstein

FFS Flipper being allowed to witter on and on utter pish come on big bird talk over him

Croompenstein

…and FFS john king a unionist..aye right and JaBa’s a size 10

Quentin Quale

If this is Darling trying to say there is no desperation it isnae working. Completely at sea on the BBC.

macart763m

@YESGUY

Cheers.

We’re all for positive vibes. 🙂

Brian Doonthetoon

I agree with all the subsequent comments about some not getting John King’s irony/sarcasm.

You can’t wear a Wings t-shirt like his and not be 110% for Wings and YES!

8=)

Quentin Quale

Good grief, Darling really has lost the plot now. Only thing missing is frothing at the mouth,

Brian Doonthetoon

Watching Reporting Scotland – Wee Blue Books needed urgently in Cupar!

James Caithness

Scotland decides, the guy to the left of presenter had a drink with me when Thatcher died interesting to see what he says now. Seems going towards Yes.

Murray McCallum

The EU exclusion myth is like a super Zombie that just can’t be permanently eradicated. The interview with Pat Cox came as close to the rule #2 “double tap” as I have seen.

James Caithness

Wasn’t Darling awful in interview by Jackie Byrd. He said 1,000,000 gov jobs to be lost with independence.
Why do they not ask him where are those jobs???

Christopher Dale Rogers

As another of the Welsh brigade, it was good to see Pat Cox demolish a few more “Unionist” lies and propaganda spewing forth from the freedom-loving BBC.

Suffice to say, I trust the vote goes in Scotland’s favour and look forward to visiting an independent Scotland shortly.

Next, independence for Wales, although this may well happen, but only after my death I’m afraid. Another 30 years of neolibreal economic rule from Westminster is a great elixir for independence.

Onwards

Jackie Byrd allowed Darling to rattle on and on without interruptions.

I am sure she even said they were now proposing DEVO-SUPERMAX ??

Tomorrow it is Alex Salmond’s turn.

Let’s see the difference..

It would be interesting to compare the two segments, and count the number of seconds the two are allowed to talk without Jackie butting in.

BuckieBraes

Blinker Darling stuttering away there on Reporting Scotland, fists clenched and with one foot tapping nervously on the floor, made for an unpleasant sight. I’ll give six out of ten to Jackie Bird on this occasion.

‘Better Together’ will finally be holed below the water line if we can get this crucial message across regarding ‘guarantees’ of enhanced devolution: these people are not in a position to guarantee anything.

Croompenstein

I really cannot stand James Cook, he will never be forgiven for his reporting on the day they tried to hijack Bannockburn Live with the meh fest armed forces day where he couldn’t even bring himself to say the word Bannockburn. A little weasel

A.N.Surgent

Does anyone know where these three morons are likely to appear
tomorrow.

CameronB Brodie

When was Spain a fascist dictatorship?

link to theguardian.com

desimond

David Cameron “We three( He, Nicky and Edster) all agree passionately that we’re better together”

Now theres a mental image to put you aff yir haggis!

heedtracker

The BBC clown was really just wasting everyone’s time looking for a good hit on YES, questions like after 18th Sept and it’s a Yes win, can we still act as EU citizens or is it really going to be Scotland and Scottish citizens have to wait unitl the EU make there minds up, all of this is nothing to these absurd propagandists. Does anyone know what’s out EU status on the 19th?

heedtracker

The BBC clown was really just wasting everyone’s time looking for a good hit on YES, questions like after 18th Sept and it’s a Yes win, can we still act as EU citizens or is it really going to be Scotland and Scottish citizens have to wait unitl the EU make there minds up, all of this is nothing to these absurd propagandists. Does anyone know what’s our EU status on the 19th?

desimond

I pray that when the 3 duds arrive ( I did say Duds and not Dudes there I hope), they just get rounds of applause. Long slow, but very loud rounds of constant applause.

T222Deracha

Sorry O/T the Telegraph is going into uber hatefest mode. Some Daly woman comparing Alex Salmond to the late Hugo Chavez.
Both democratically elected, both despised by the media. They have depicted Scotland as a liabilty for more than several years, yet they want us to stay. A YES vote may lift the scales from th eeyes of the population in England and they realize they have been fed a pack of lies.

Lesley-Anne

Just heard that our folks were out in Annan today canvassing for over 6 hours and encountered a grand total of … wait for it … 2, that’s right TWO people voting NO. The canvassers were inundated with cries for YES badges etc. 😀

We ARE winning this folks. 😉

T222Deracha

Sorry O/T the Telegraph is going into uber hatefest mode. Some Daly woman comparing Alex Salmond to the late Hugo Chavez.
Both democratically elected, both despised by the media. They have depicted Scotland as a liability for more than several years, yet they want us to stay. A YES vote may lift the scales from the eyes of the population in England and they realize they have been fed a pack of lies.

David

URGENT REQUEST

I need to speak with Stu fairly urgently anyone got a phone number?

sv (DOT) highland (DOT) fling (AT) gmail (DOT) com

thanks in anticipation

David

fred blogger

James Caithness
must be these million jobs already announced.
link to mirror.co.uk

liz

O/T – read this by George Monbiot – interesting.

link to theguardian.com

Lesley-Anne

Alex Salmond live just now.

link to tinyurl.com

Onwards

Peston saying that in brief, Mark Carney was lining up with three parties to rule out a currency union..

Except he was choosing his words very carefully.

He said it was ‘incompatible with sovereignty’.

Not true, because Scotland would VOLUNTARILY be choosing to cede some sovereignty to share the pound and agree to some conditions on borrowing limits etc

We would still be an independent country, that could choose to leave at any time.

Just like France could leave the Euro if the people wanted.

heedtracker

Press and journal get worse by the day, half page photo of Brown “Scots will get sel-rule quickly if they vote No” so there.

SquareHaggis

BBC interviewed Alex Salmond on Calton Hill about 4pm, cool, calm and collected.
A good rallying call.

Can’t locate the footage but just after the interviewer wee Gary gaffe was interviewed and I’m sure he “accidentally”came out for YES. 😀

Brief silence moment then the camera panned away real quick leaving his interviewer looking most uncomfy.

galamcennalath

Darling, away with the fairies! While it might sound anti elitist, simple for the sake of it, I do wonder about people with public school ( in the English sense ) and / or the whole Oxford Cambridge thing. Same planet as the rest of us?

To paraphrase something I read earlier on Newsnet …..

A third of MPs went to public schools.

A quarter of MPs went to Oxford or Cambridge. Only 1% of the population attend those.

Last time Labour chose a leader all six candidates attended either Oxford or Cambridge.

SquareHaggis

Oops! Wee Jamsie not Gary 🙁

heedtracker

P&J also have huge bettertogether splash about a UKOK diplomat campaigning in the Northeast warning that history will repeat itself and that history is the Darion Project that seemingly bankrupted the silly Scots 300000 years ago and only England saved the Scottish skins, so vote No. Christ knows who these bizarre P&J liggers are trying to convince now. Probably its their boss, another £800 millionaire neocon man.

Cag-does-thinking

Surely some clever cartoonist can come up with a nice cartoon of Cameron Clegg Milliband and Farage all coming up in seperate planes or carriages of the train as better together campaigners. Am I the only person that finds it ironic that they can’t even travel in close formation.. ?

Richard Bruce

@CameronB Brodie

Up to 1975… Sorry, but I understand what you’re getting at.

Liquid Lenny

O/T and apologies if already posted, but feel the love 🙂

link to facebook.com

James Forrest

Scotland, for God’s sakes don’t fall for one of the oldest tricks in the book … any Glasgow sleazebag knows how to turn on the big Love Light … and just as quickly switch it off. Are we really going to end up doing the Walk of Shame on September 19, or are we going to tell these people to sling their hook?

link to commentisntfree.com

Thepnr

This interview just proves to me how weak the No campaigns argument is over both EU membership AND Border Controls.

Pat Cox’s answer to the final question was just pure class and reading it rather than watching is also very telling:

James Cook: Of course a bigger question is the terms. What terms would Scotland become a member on…and the suggestion is it would struggle to secure as good a deal as the United Kingdom.

It may be forced to join a tract towards joining the Euro for example, it may be forced into the Schengen Agreement. Which, could create problems in terms of different immigration policies with the rest of the United Kingdom.

It is suggested by “business rebate”…it is suggested there is a whole host of problems if they do join.

Pat Cox: Well, we could also talk about a whole host of oppertunities. But your talking to an Irish European whose country is in the EU for the same length of period as the United Kingdom which is part of the common travel area.

Precisely, we don’t want on the island of Ireland an artificial border requiring passports and so on and also be cause we enjoy ease of travel East/West between Ireland and the UK.

This precedent is already there! It is simply absurd to argue that you would oblige an independent Scotland to put up borders when you have not obliged an independent Ireland dealing with Nothern Ireland and the United Kingdom to do likewise.

The precedent is already there, of course it has to be negotiated but it is negotiable.

That’s the bottom point..the bottom line point.

john king

Rev Stu says
Eh?

Irony Stu Irony, in spite of being told by the Irish MP they didnt say what the BBC said they said the BBC went right on and said they said it anyway, capiche? 🙂

A.N.Surgent

liz

That was interesting Scotlands Independence now the hope for the future of England. Also interesting that Billy Bragg supports the
yes campaign

liz

@Liquid Lenny – this is my fav BLC –

– the scottish national team can F**k off Bunch of skirt wearing bag pipe playing Jacobites
But protect the union.

Do you think he knows what union means?

Training Day

Freudian slip by Brian Taylor there:

Talking about the rival camps he stressed unity – the unity of the Westminster parties and the unity of Salmond/Sillars. He concluded by saying these were ‘Two competing visions on the future of Scotland within the United Kingdom’.

So independence is off the table. Thanks Brian.

We’ll know how things are going on the 18th/19th if Taylor disappears as he did on 2011 election night. If Sally announces Brian ‘has to leave us’, we’re going to win.

bookie from hell

nice1 pat

but it won’t matter to bettertogether genius Alistair Darling on Scotland tonight

my bet he mentions Europe about 10 times

TJenny

David – to contact Stu, use the contact form at the top of the page.

Grouse Beater

The press and media have gone into hyper-propaganda mode, spouting as much lies and contorted factoids as they can chuck at readers, viewers and listeners.

It’s a shocking sight – the entire British Establishment determined to wipe of a democratic vote and stamp on the will of a people.

And to show how much their love bombing is actually shock and awe, governor of the UK Bank of England, Mark Carney, says if all the political parties (in England) are determindely set against a currency union, then such an agreement is not ‘compatible with a sovereign state.’

Though the press will never admit it, what Carney did not say, is the decision can not be challenged, or won’t become viable if resistance crumbles when the political parties fall out, as they most assuredly will, or their phoney unity falters under economic pressure.

But what we are witnessing now is a full-blown crappoing on democratic rights.

There is no other way to interpret the animus.

john king

I havent disappeared David I working, thing Lucinda Chrighton and youll get the irony in my post. 🙂

biecs

I am really struggling to understand the logic of flying the Saltire in defence of the Union.

I mean, it must be me, because it has been approved by the leaders of the three main UK parties with years of campaign experience behind them.

call me dave

@CM

Thanks saved that for later enjoyment.

@john king

I think most of us got it. 🙂

Celebrity Hardeep Singh Kohli ‘YES’ and the woman for ‘NO’ both need to mug up more on referendum stuff both were spouting rubbish in the wee YES/ NO debate on sky they are playing it every hour because sky are dumbing down the argument and also think the lady did well.

James Caithness

That Sarah Smith is a right bitch.

Lesley-Anne

Live Q & A with Alex Salmond going on now over on Facebook.

link to facebook.com

Liquid Lenny

heedtracker

Nothing happens on Sept 19th except a massive party, think VE Day cubed…

We will still remain part of the UK until May 2016 🙁

Lesley-Ann

I was hand delivering Wee Blue Books last night in Brodick, I was bemused as to why I was delivering most of the WBB’s to houses that were showing YES posters in their windows. Then as I came round a corner in the next street I met a YES Canvassing team, I asked them when they had canvessed the street I had just left and they said last week, so in that week over 80% of the undecided in that street had come over to YES. Today I was asked to visit a retired couple, they had some questions, but once pensions, defence and the EU was sorted out they were YES and I had not handed over the WBB 🙂 Momentum Momentum Momentum

Grouse Beater

That Sarah Smith is a right bitch.

Not at all, but she does carry some baggage to her job.

Judges of inquiries are disqualified or removed from an election to the post when their father was involved in the issue they are asked to investigate.

Sarah’s dad was leader of the Labour party, yet here she is conducting ‘objective’ reviews for BBC Scotland at one of the most momentous times in its history.

Nana Smith
Lesley-Anne

LL that is indeed what it’s all about. As James Mathews said at the end of his piece on SKY News the other night “momentum breeds momentum.” 😛

Let’s face it LL it is YES who has ALL the momentum at the moment and with that we are building on this and will continue to build on it until 19th. 😉

Doug Mcgregor

I think I’ll put up my St Georges Cross out of mutual respect to our colonial masters,,, or maybe I won’t.

Liquid Lenny says:

9 September, 2014 at 7:23 pm

O/T and apologies if already posted, but feel the love 🙂

link to facebook.com

Joe

CM says:

9 September, 2014 at 6:25 pm

link to s28.postimg.org

Sky News on the ball ^^

god no , not for us , we’re winning , we’re sunk if he is coming to campaign for yes

Colin Church

@ Onwards
The BBC casual lie. Jackie Byrd – “these proposals… let’s call them devo-max …” NO Jackie let’d NOT because that proposal has already been defined and it is definitely NOT what these cobbled together offers are. But let the BBC casually lie, let that one seep in.

Skintybroko

Sorry to be OT but received my referendum pack through the letterbox today – wee blue book included! We are all committed yes voters so it will be going to work tomorrow as there are still a few no’s starting to come round to yes. We are going to do it, the three stooges from today and the three new stooges tomorrow will have sealed it for us. Keep up the great work Stu.

CameronB Brodie

Richard Bruce
No need to apologise, it was a genuine question. I wasn’t suggesting that is the state of play now, just pointing out that Spain aren’t really in a position to tell anyone else how to run their affairs. 😉

A.N.Surgent

Bbc 3 have a programme on about Independence titled Free Speech.
Can you believe that, cant bear to watch it.

Andy smith

Manandboy,earlier.
Completely agree regarding the statue of dewar,maybe we could haul it down with ropes next Friday.
On news earlier, I thought I heard them say ja ba was in trouble off the Banff coast, turns out it was a MINKE whale !

Harry McAye

O/T Not complacent, still out delivering stuff but I think we are winning. Judging by the number of new Yes windows in Hamilton over the past few days, if it’s happening here in a Labour heartland, it does look very good. One street, about 250 yards in length now has 7 Yes windows, including a stretch of 4 houses in 5, where a month ago there were none. Another street in Burnbank has 4 in about 100 yards. Out earlier tonight and saw 6 new ones. Not all good, saw 3 new No Thanks too. But twice I spied a NT one, downcast for a few seconds then saw another Yes and my heart leaps again.

Jim

@Weedeochandorris says:
Apologies if already posted. The Saltire refuses to be raised above Downing Street 🙂 link to skynews.grabyo.com
___
Hahahaha, yur no gettin’ me up ere, no feckin’ way.

Grouse Beater

Jackie Byrd – “these proposals… let’s call them devo-max …” NO Jackie let’d NOT

Byrd is a newsreader not a hard copy journalist.

Donny Mac

I tried this afternoon to find out where Messrs Cameron, Miliband and Clegg were heading to tomorrow. The Lib Dems told me Mr Clegg would be in the Borders, but since the programme even then was just being put together – a bit short notice you understand – there was no detail available. It was hoped however that visits would be made to factories and schools. Mr Clegg would not be making himself available for Q & A sessions.

Neither Labour nor Conservative offices answered their phones, so emailed them. No answer by close of play.

balaaargh

Ruthie on bbc 3 trying to be all yoof and down with the kids

william taylor

I need to link to an interview on youtube but cant seem to post it
Is it against the rules

EdinScot

Just watched Jim Murphy collapsing spectacularly on sky news. The odious sight of Murphy and his Labour party siding with the tories against Scottish interests must be going down like a lead balloon in Labour heartlands.

Adam Boulton told him they could hardly get a postive on Edinburghs streets about the 3 wastemonster stooges coming up to tell us jocks what to do. Interestingly Murphy didnt dispute that.

The fear is in the unionists eyes, i just witnessed it. History is unfolding in front of us. I shifted over 1000 wee blue books last weekend. Heaven knows what the people who are just reading the said book and are now watching the wall to wall propaganda all around us.

The media hysteria are telling me they are buckling as the Scottish people are standing firm, way too long in the tooth to fall for their mince. The msm forget theyve been throwing all they have at us for long enough. Lets drive this way over the winning line and take our independence from them.

msean

Don’t most folk take their hats off when on telly?

Lesley-Anne

william taylor says:

I need to link to an interview on youtube but cant seem to post it
Is it against the rules

Use this William, it will help get you around the problems. 😉

Dr JM Mackintosh

I think Scotland may get on pretty well with Ireland after the 19th.
Good man Pat Cox- the most sensible comments yet on EU membership.

balaaargh

Hugo rifkind telling us there’s no point in voting yes because WM will still make all the decisions that impact us.

Thepnr

@william taylor

Delete everything before www to post a youtube link.

Lesley-Anne

Oops!

Think it always helps when you mention a link you should at least put the link up. 😛

link to tinyurl.com

call me dave

George Galloway trolling on sky and I’ve yet to hear what he’s got to say.

‘Looking down the barrel’ of independence says G.

Don’t want to see Scotland doing self harm.

I was right. Bye George.

Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me all the NOES on the BBC *ahem* debate seem to be trying to twist the independence referendum into a post SNP government ad infinitum! DOH! 😛

Richard Bruce

@CameronB Brodie

Agreed Cameron, the PP in Spain contains quite a few dregs from the Franco regime. Dangerous people.

msean

That has to be the easiest time Mr Galloway has ever had on Sky News. Not even a quip re Gaza for instance.

Lesley-Anne

Oops, looks like it is turning into the Ruth Davidson show. I’m off to look for something else to watch I think.

balaaargh

Ruthie now talking over Joan macalpine. And TTIP is a good thing according to the SNP she says.

cearc

John King,

I roared with laughter when I read your comment.

A guess a lot of people haven’t been following this stuff long enough to get it. The pageview numbers were probably still in the thousands rather than hundreds of thousands now.

Stu, was obviously having a slow on the uptake day you actually bluffed the poker player! Well done you.

Brian Powell

A bit weird just listening to Jim Gallacher on BBC News and as far as I could make out he was supporting the Together stance.

For some reason I thought he was a supporter of Independence.

Edmac68

Don’t expect this one to shown over and over on the bbc, imagine if we had an unbiased media we would be indy already.

CameronB Brodie

william taylor
Delete all characters before the www, otherwise the spam filter rejects them.

william taylor

You really need to watch this inept interview about extra powers from Lamont its the funniest i have ever seen

balaaargh

Wow. Now we need to vote no and fix it. They’ve had 300 years to fix it!

the bigger picture

its at times like this when we walk into the polling booth
on september the 18th that this quote rings true

“one small step for man”

“one giant leap for mankind”

make it happen with a simple yes….

fred blogger

wtf is this all about, this a democratic long fought for and hard won indyref.
for me, that ultimately has nothing to do with flags, nor nationalism, nor patriotism, nor the snp, but independence from a distant and extremely out of touch imperialist ruler.
link to theguardian.com

call me dave

@Lesley-Anne

Coo! I’ve always wondered how to do that.

Who said ‘coo’ a lot in the cartoons Dandy I think it was a girl I think? Long time ago.

Lesley-Anne

Glad to be of service CMD. 😉

Dal Riata

Well said Pat Cox! And a great big GIRFUYz to the BBCBI.

It’s quite the thing to watch the BBCBI’s farcical attempts at balance [sic] since one of Westminster’s pet pollsters actually showed the Yes vote slightly ahead. (I believe that their own internal polling will be showing Yes well ahead, reflecting the views on the ground, thus Westminster’s OMFG! behaviour.)

Amazing how they always manage to find a 2 to 1 or 3 to 2, say, advantage for No over Yes when doing their interviews – spooky.

That piece where they went to Derbyshire and found, 3 to 1 this time, people venting predictable pish – to paraphrase, “We should also have a say about breaking up Britain, it’s our country too!” and, “We’ve given them enough powers, if they go then that’s it, no more!” was like a visual version of the comments found BTL in the Guardian. Fuck knows what the BBCBI were trying to prove. More of the, ‘We love you, honest we do, but if you leave, we’ll hate you and make things as difficult as possible!’ meme, perhaps? Ach well, whatever, fuck the BBCBI!

Really, really, really wish to see a Scottish Broadcasting Service. Independence will be worth it for that alone.

Tam Jardine

Liz

Thanks -I avoid the Guardian now but George Monbiot’s piece is excellent.

I wonder what the BBC journalists like Cook think will happen with a No vote of whatever margin? Do they think we will just say ‘Ho hum, the people have spoken and the BBC employees were just obeying orders'(!).

Nae chance. They will never be forgiven, and as the Conservatives have discovered memories last a long time.

Thepnr

@william taylor

Hahaha. Yes that is a famous one and has been commented on here before. Well worth putting up for those that have never seen it as it exposes the absolute incompetence of the No campaign.

Folks, watch this explanation of “new powers” if you have not yet seen it 🙂

call me dave

Some lighter relief.

Tonight at 22:00 on BBC Radio 5 Live, Mark Pougatch looks at how the outcome of the referendum could affect sport in Scotland.

He’ll be joined by Michael Stewart, who won four caps for Scotland and played for both Hibs and Hearts, and Lynsey Sharp who won silver for Scotland at the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games. Both will reveal on air which campaign they are backing.

Also taking part will be former first minister Henry McLeish, who wrote a report on the state of Scottish football.

Me:
Stewart is YES so for BBC balance Sharp probably NO.

Colin Rippey

Nothing you’ve said above will have any bearing on Scotland’s membership of the EU, the only thing that matters is the people who will make the actual decision – and that’s each member state.

There is no mechanism in existence that can be utilised to somehow “force” the EU to accept Scotland as a continuing member upon independence, the member states have to vote on it.

It only takes one of them to say “nil pois” and that’s that. And all the “of course the EU will all vote yes to Scotland continuing to be a member of the EU, why wouldn’t it?” has no clarity at all; I’m not saying it won’t happen, but you’re dealing with 28 other states all of whom have their own political agendas. There is no clarity.

Of course in the event of the EU voting that Scotland cannot be considered a continuing member then Scotland can apply for membership as a new state and be faced with the conditions for new states – adopt the Euro.

Still, I guess it will clear up the other elephant in the room of the currency, which has again been made clear today by the Bank of England governor that the SNP’s plan for a currency union is persona non grata.

You know as much as this website seems to be trying to convince itself that everything it says is “absolutely correct, there’s no argument” you just can run away from these 2 MASSIVE issues of EU membership and the currency.

This is the number one thing that will make people vote No.

There is just no answers, if there was a Yes vote we’d spend the next 2 years (or even more) listening to the SNP telling everyone first “It’s all Westminster’s fault” and then subsequently once the EU membership issued is cleared up “It’s all Brussel’s fault”.

Then, 5 years down the line we’d all be sitting cursing the rest of the UK who by that point will, ironically enough, have voted to leave the UK because Cameron would be forced to live up to his commitment to offering a referendum on EU membership because he’s won a clear majority as Labour no longer has the Scottish MPs.

So in a totally perverse and twisted way if you want to be more sure of EU membership with the current terms (no Euro) then a No vote is the best option.

Lesley-Anne

Thanks for that link William.

What is hilarious, apart from watching Lamont squirm like there is no tomorrow, is the idea that as Alex Salmond said in his interview earlier tonight that she has made known her desire to be part of Team Scotland. Please, please, PLEASE someone tell me that Alex Salmond is aware of her interview here. What an absolutely incompetent imbecile. I wonder if she has figured out what one PLUS one is equal to yet? 😛

Graeme Doig

Edin Scot

Here,here!

Dal Riata

@call me dave

Michael Stewart is a definite Yes. Lynsey Sharp is a big Rangers fan… so a probable No, then!

IcySpark

Where has Darling gone?

comment image:large

fred blogger

ot
“Cameron handing billions of our money over to firm run by fellow Old Etonian”
link to tompride.wordpress.com
“No wonder Scotland’s so desperate to get away from Westminster.”

A.N.Surgent

William Taylor

Truly staggering that this woman is allowed anywhere near the
media. Thats a vote winner for the yes campaign.

john king

only me

So after imparting my wisdom to the masses it would seem my pearls have eh fallen before swine, never mind eh?

cearc

A commentator on George Monbiot’s new piece says it all in a nutshell,

‘if gordon brown is the answer the question is no longer relevant.’

call me dave

East Germany! A fairy came along and pow! they were in the EU under the radar we just woke up in the morning and well you know the rest.

Ukraine all getting prepared and ready to be ushered in at the end of last year pow!…. now at war with itself. Funny old world init?

Scotland already in EU as part of UK, has a democratic system and has all these assets won’t list them.

No brainer I think. Will take about 5 minutes as some well informed ex EU official said last year. NNS.

Personally a country should be in control of it’s own affairs and be able to collect all the taxes and spent it accordingly.
Simples.

Radar

Latest George Monbiot indyref article:

“If Scotland becomes independent, it will be despite the efforts of almost the entire UK establishment. It will be because social media has defeated the corporate media. It will be a victory for citizens over the Westminster machine. It will show that a sufficiently inspiring idea can cut through bribes and blackmail, through threats and fear, that hope can spread across a nation, defying all attempts to suppress it. “

Nana Smith

Angus Robertson this morning outside Westminster….

JET JOCKEY

Do not think for one minute that the 3 stooges coming to Scotland is a sudden knee jerk reaction. This has all been planned as was the “FREAK” poll, watch carefully how all the media handle this. Only one thing has been overlooked the Scots are very well adapted to seeing through Scotch Mist, English Mist is so much more transparent.

Faltdubh

Stewart will wipe the floor with Sharp. Listen to his podcast with Bateman – he’s an intillegent, interesting and clever guy.

They’re ramping it up today, sit still Scotland! It’s NOT working.

My 1 hard No pal. I have 2 No pals (8 yes) out of my close group of pals. The hard No has text me “I’m pretty much a Yes now. How dare they. Just check oot your tv and the shite they are spluttering. Pathetic. Viva la Republic”

HAHAHAHA – Not joking it means nothing in writing, but this guy was a definite No. He used to argue the BT corner, didn’t believe in the UK splitting etc, now he’s voting Yes.

This is going to back fire horribly on them.

john king

Desimond says
“Ive heard John King called a lot of things but never a Unionist Troll.”

Ahem usually by my wife. 🙁

Croompenstein

@Colin Rippey – Who made you the law? away and spout your pish to your naysayer pals that will listen to your absolute crud

A.N.Surgent

Personally I would rather be out of the EU and NATO and declare ourselves a neutral country. Membership of these two organisations
will mean sooner or later a war with Russia and the Russians are
armed with more than a few AK`s and a bag of fertilizer.

Colin Church

@Nana Smith
Well Angus ate his cereal this morning. 4 Weetabix methinks! On form.

galamcennalath

This saltire is the wrong colour ….

link to independent.co.uk

…. colour of a clean butcher’s apron!

Jim McIntosh

On the 19th I think I’ll have a couple of pints of what Colin Rippey has been drinking.

@Colin – It’s called pragmatism, as Alec Salmond mentioned earlier in his Facebook interview it comes down to numbers: 1, 20, 25 and 60.

1 – Scotland has 1% of the population of the EU
20 – Scotland has 20% of the EU fish stocks
25 – Scotland has the potential for 25% of renewables of the EU
60 – Scotland holds 60% of oil in the EU

Even if one country wanted to keep them out pressure from other members would change their minds.

Regarding currency, if you’re going to paraphrase the governor of the BoE get it right – he said if the three main parties were opposed to CU the rules required to get CU to work would not get off the ground and THAT would make it ‘incompatible with sovereignty’. i.e.not CU per se.

Again it would come down to pragmatism, this state of affairs would be as bad for rUK as Scotland (if not worse).

Dan Huil

@ Colin Rippey. Oh, dear. If the EU doesn’t want an independent Scotland to join, or if its conditions are too severe, then Scotland will not be a member. The current SNP government may wish EU membership but it doesn’t automatically follow that it, or the people of Scotland, wishes it at any expense. There is a general election in 2016, you know, when the people of Scotland will have their say as all political parties start from a new perspective.
Likewise the currency. If the ruk is foolish enough to reject a formal currency union with us, then so be it. We can easily continue to use sterling until we decide to re-establish our own currency or join the euro, if we decide conditions are advantageous for Scottish interests.
Likewise Nato membership.
It will certainly be an interesting few years post-Yes. But I believe most people in Scotland will grab the chance to have people in Scotland making decisions in the best interests of Scotland. Currently we have Westminster making decisions which are in the best interests of Westminster, and to hell with Scotland if they don’t agree.
It would perverse and twisted to continue to let Westminster rule Scotland.
It must be Yes.

James Caithness

@Croompenstein – To coin a well known song

”You took the words right outa my mouth”

Dal Riata

This raising of the Saltire above government institutions in England is just so fucking pathetic. I mean – Really? Seriously? Is this the level that BTUKOKNoThanks have sunk to, stick up the Saltire and the dumb Jocks will be duped by the faux-love-bombing into voting No…? Utterly embarrassing.

Ed Miliband has lost any credibility he might have believed he had with his extolling of this laughable stunt. Hopefully, it will make even more so-called lifelong Labour supporters vote Yes.

Jim McIntosh

Oops! Sorry, I fed the troll 🙂

CameronB Brodie

@ Johann Lamont & No Better Together Thanks

Here’s a wee list to help off to sleep. Night night. 😉

19 statistics that will make you ashamed to live in Britain today

3.5 million
The number of children in poverty,according to the Department for Work and Pensions. That’s 27percent.

1 in 2
Women in Britain who have been physically or sexually assaulted,according to the European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights.

25 years
The gap between the life expectancy of the richest and poorest people in London,according to the London Health Observatory.

1 in 30
Rape victims who can expect to see their attacker brought to justice,according to the Office for National Statistics.

163 per cent
The increase in numbers of people using food banks in the last year, according to the Trussell Trust.

The number of families in Britain worth more than the poorest 20% of the population, according to Oxfam.

£39 billion
The amount inequality costs Britain in every year through its impact on health and crime rates, according to the Equality Trust.

£35 billion
The amount of money lost to tax avoidance schemes, according to HMRC’s own figures.

Women killed every week by a current or former partner, according to Women’s Aid.

1 in 3
Britons who admit to being racist, according to a OnePoll survey.

The number of people affected by homelessness in England, according to the Joseph Rowntree Foundation.

49 per cent
The proportion of disabled people who have experienced discrimination, according to Scope.

1 in 6
LGB people have experienced a homophobic hate crime or incident in the last three years, according to a 2013 survey by Stonewall.

5.2 million
Adults in Britain who are functionally illiterate, according to the Literacy Trust.

The number of children held in adult immigration centres in 2013, despite government claims to have ended child detention, according to the Refugee Council.

63.7 per cent
Pupils on free school meals who did not obtain 5 or more GCSEs at grades A*-C, according to the Department for Education.

62.6 per cent
Pupils not on free school meals that did,according to the same statistics.

0.1 per cent
Pupils on free school meals who went to Oxford or Cambridge, alsoaccording to the Department for Education.

1.9 million
Incidents of violent crime last year, according to the Crime Survey for England and Wales.

http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/19-statistics-that-will-make-you-ashamed-to-live-in-britain-today–ekWvDVRtA

P.S. As Johann Lamont was keen to emphasis, Britain is all about pooling and sharing Scotlands resources with the poorest parts of Britain. All very noble, until you understand that England hosts 9 out of northern Europe’s poorest regions.

http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/are-9-of-the-poorest-regions-in-northern-europe-really-in-the-uk–eJ0axHCqmx

piggy

Pat Cox has spoken truthfully and makes Westminster politicians look like a variety show.

He speaks with authority and understanding.

To hear the truth is good and that is where the hope of this country lies.

Dcanmore

I would think Lynsey Sharp is a NO, as someone mentioned she is a big Rangers fan and also calls her fellow British althletes ‘her family’, shame though as her father Cameron is a YES, but then Alan Wells is in the NO camp too 🙁

CameronB Brodie

Sorry, 9 out of 10 poorest regions.

davidb

On the BBBC.

Surely career positioning is not enough to lose your integrity over? Do they really expect to carry on as if nothing happened after the 18th? Either we win and they must be removed from our screens, or we come second and a TV licence payment strike begins.

They have shown themselves to be the tools of the establishment. They have no credibility.

Have you noticed how you question absolutely everything they report now? I wonder what is going on in Iraq and Ukraine now. And I don’t even believe their weather forecasts or football results!!

John H.

Sorry O/T.
I can’t remember who came up with the idea of knocking on the door of people with a Yes poster in their window, and asking if they knew any undecideds.Whoever it was thanks a million, you’re a genius.I took some WBB’s out tonight and gave it a try.I got them all away no bother.

I’m waiting for more to be delivered, and I know now that I’ll be able to put them into the right hands quickly.
Thanks again.

call me dave

@Nana Smith

Thanks for that, looks like Mr Robertson has drawn a line on the pitch and not with that new disappearing stuff the ref uses.

Ah the Dandy question…who said ‘coo’ a lot probably lots of the characters but I was thinking ‘keyhole Kate’ err I used to collect old comics..that’s my excuse.

Off to do some ironing.. Tuesday! Not much sport on a Tuesday.
Hate the frilly tops..and resetting temperature down for these man made fibre things.

🙁

Nana Smith

@CameronB Brodie

Just makes your heart sore what Britain has become. Please let it be a YES on the 18th.

Lesley-Anne

Colin Rippey says:

Of course in the event of the EU voting that Scotland cannot be considered a continuing member then Scotland can apply for membership as a new state and be faced with the conditions for new states – adopt the Euro.

From what you claim here Colin then perhaps you are right. One country says “Non” to Scotland’s continued membership. However, by so doing they have only created a multitude of other problems for the remaining E.U. members.

If Scotland is denied continued E.U. membership then I assume you are implying that Scotland is an outsider to the E.U. That being the case then I think you will find that ALL the fishing boats from E.U. countries will no longer be permitted to fish in what is now NON E.U. waters. How do you think the Danish, Dutch, Belgian, German, French and Spanish fishing fleets will feel about denied access to 20% of the E.U.’s fishing grounds?

As for your suggestion about adopting the Euro may I suggest that you do some research on adopting the Euro and what rules are required to be met BEFORE adopting the Euro. As things stand at the moment there are a number of European countries who are all members of the E.U. but would you believe they are NOT in the Euro?

Czech republic joined the E.U. in 2004 but has not yet joined the Euro.
Hungary joined the E.U. in 2004 but has not yet joined the Euro.
Lithuania joined the E.U. in 2004 but has yet to join the Euro.
Poland joined the E.U. in 2004 but has not yet joined the Euro.
Bulgaria joined the E.U. in 2007 but has not yet joined the Euro.
Romania joined the E.U in 2007 but has not yet joined the Euro.
Croatia joined the E.U. in 2013 but has not yet joined the Euro.

Oh and there is one other country you might like to know about Colin.

Sweden joined the E.U. in 1995 but has not yet joined the Euro.

As everyone and their dog knows full well Colin, the POUND is an internationally tradeable currency therefore an independent Scotland can and more importantly WILL be using the POUND as its currency. No one can stop us from using the POUND! By the way whenever anyone mentions Scotland using the POUND out with a currency union the Pro union supporters always seem to pluck Panama out of thin for some strange reason. I wonder why.

link to ibtimes.com

Andy

Who are rangers surly u mean rangers mk2 cause they died in 2012

Socrates MacSporran

These things, such as the Pougatch piece on what happens in Sport after a Yes vote, are examples of the BBC trying to muddy the waters.

Jeremy Vine did a piece on his show today, which was as irrelevant and maybe as funny as anything his brother Tim has come up with.

The only thing which matters right now is the vote on 18 September, nothing will immediately change thereafter. When we get the Yes vote, Alex Salmond and his team start putting together “Team Scotland” – the negotiating team to negotiate the split.

We will still be UK citizens up until the Union Flag is hauled down over Edinburgh Castle and the Saltire is run-up in its place, whenever that is, and, as I have always believed, that might not be by March 2016.

While one part of Team Scotland is negotiating with Westminster, another part will be negotiating with the EU, and another team will be sorting-out United Nations membership, another NATO membership.

There will also surely be talks about Scottish representation in the 2015 Westminster General Election.

The sporting things will take care of themselves, by and large. In football, rugby, cricket, hockey, badminton, bowling – so-many sports, Scotland already has independence, this will not change. What will change will be our association with the Olympic Games and with Team GB.

I would be amazed if we could gain International Olympic Committee membership in time for Rio 2016, but, we should have this sorted-out by the 2018 Winter Olympics.

I am not certain, but, Scottish athletes might, if they were unwilling to represent Team GB, be able to compete in Rio under the IOC flag.

But, as I say, what happens in sport is for post-18 September. The only game in town for the next nine days is, winning the referendum, getting a Yes vote and being ready, on the 19th, to set-off on the great adventure towards building an independent Scotland.

Nana Smith

@call me dave

Yes Angus is a goody.

I hate ironing. I do hope some clever Scot in an independent Scotland invents an ironing machine soon.

James Caithness

Buckingham Palace has issued a warning to politicians to leave the Queen out of this referendum. The Queens view is it is for the Scottish People to decide.

fred blogger

colin
but scotland is already a member of the eu.
the eu see this as a democratic internal matter, to which they have offically expressed no other view, preceding an agreement between r.uk and scotland to hold an indyref aka the edinburgh agreement.

Breastplate

I spoke to John King at CH1 and he is definitely a unionist troll because although he was trying to hide it you could see that he was wearing red, white and blue bloomers. 🙂

Dcanmore

I should have added, Lynsey also retweets ‘too wee, too poor and too stupid’ stories from the Daily Mail and The Economist etc 🙁

Jim

@william taylor
You really need to watch this inept interview about extra powers from Lamont its the funniest i have ever seen
___
That was hilarious, raise the tax and our higher earners would leave but we cant lower it to attract the best brains to our country, well done Johann!
I liked the comment in the comments section, !Ahh, she thinks she’s people”. lmao

Croompenstein

Well I never! john king in red,white and blue bloomers shocker..

Like this you mean..

link to pinterest.com

heedtracker

Membership of these two organisations
will mean sooner or later a war with Russia

Putin wants the Russia colonies back and he’s using ethnic Russians of the Ukraine right now so once the Ukraine does give in, there will be several other former eastern bloc countries with several hundred thousand Russian people doing exactly the same as the Ukraine separatists. Very bad news form some small countries bordering Russian but its not the EU that will save them.

link to ft.com

john king

Cameron Brodie @ 8.57

ANSWER GUY?
IS THAT YOU? 😉

Boorach

Simple explanation for the Saltire over Downing St is that the Westminster troika intend to use tomorrow’s visit to announce that No 10 is, even now, being prepared to become iScotland’s embassy in Englandshire… simple! 🙂 🙂

Andy

But on a more pertinent subject the only reason bt are running scared is they know that after freedom we will be sending out warrants charging all off them with the theft of scottish monies and property

john king

Croompenstien says
Like this you mean?

No its more like this

Breastplate

Ah croompentein, you noticed as well:)

FergusMac

@Socrates MacSporran

As the No Thanks/No Surrender lot are “not genetically programmed to make decisions” © J Lamont (and she should know), and they have done nothing but bad-mouth Scotland’s prospects and kow-tow to their Lords and Masters, I regard Mr Salmond’s magnanimous gesture of inviting them into the negotiating team as a tribute to his good nature. The Allies didn’t ask Marshall Petain to help negotiate the German surrender. Former collaborators have forfeited all trust.

I would rather see the likes of Craig Murray, the Rev Stu, Lesley Riddoch, Jeane Freeman and others like them to be on the negotiating team. We certainly don’t need failed unionist politicians selling us out.

CameronB Brodie

Oops, too many links. That was the UKOK defense.

link to inequalitybriefing.org

Jim McIntosh

It’s great reading on here the anecdotes from people who are chapping on the doors and getting undecideds to make up their minds to vote YES.

It’s even better when I read of someone converting a NO to a YES, because we’re herd animals and that ex NO will probably know many more NOs than we do. He/she goes back to his/her circle of friends and converts one or more of them, and so on.

Before you know it becomes like one of the chain letters that used to pop up every now and then and we win.

Total respect to everyone who is doing the legwork to make this happen, it’s not something I would be good at (get too flustered if someone even looks at me the wrong way :)). But I have contributed financially to lots of projects, including Stu’s incredible fundraiser for WoS earlier this year, WBB printing on here and towards an extra 1,000 for distribution in the Forres area. I’ve also volunteered as a WoS count agent here in Moray.

Keep it up chaps and chapettes, nearly there.

Lesley-Anne

Isn’t all this love bombing from London just ever so exciting folks?

How can I get to sleep tonight, I’m just ever so excited!

Will our three, or will it even be FOUR, Stooges all fly up together in one plane side by side?

Will they all fly up sitting in different areas of the plan?

Will they all travel by train?

Will some fly and some travel by train?

Will they all be standing on the same podium, together at the same time?

Will they all use the same podium independent of each other?

Will they just visit different areas of Scotland to spread their words of wisdom as far and as wide as possible in as short a space of time as possible?

I mean, so many questions. I’m just so, so , SO excited. I’ll have to stay up all night cause I know I will not be able to calm down until I know they have all arrived safely back in London. 😛

tartanfever

Two things will happen on the 19th:

I’ll have a big smile on my face after a Yes vote.

I’ll guarantee that tens of thousands of Scots will cancel any Direct Debits for their licence fee.

With only a year and a half until independence and a new Scottish broadcasting service, who is going to continue paying to the BBC ? It’ll be like the Poll tax non-payment, too big to do anything about.

john king

Breastplate says

I spoke to John King at CH1 and he is definitely a unionist troll because although he was trying to hide it you could see that he was wearing red, white and blue bloomers”

I refute that scurrilous suggestion that you could see my bloomers, you couldnt have seen them through this.

Andy

Gloria gaynor says it perfectly in her great song I WILL SURVIVE

Brotyboy

I was going to post something acerbic about ‘no peas’, but with 5 troll feeders already I have decided not to.

Carol Jardine

Lesley-Anne @ 9.23pm

That is really, really funny. Thank you. I’ll keep that one if you don’t mind.

A.N.Surgent

heedtracker

Ive got a different view than you on whats happening in the
Ukraine which is also a different view from what the BBC is
telling us. War cannot be an option, Europe will be the battlefield. Which fills me with dread.

James Caithness

Has anybody heard of a party outside Holyrood starting at midday on the 19th?

Lesley-Anne

Be my guest Carol. 😉

Rolf

@John H – if you want to get shot of WBBs then pop out canvassing with your local Yes group. They will have lists of undecided voters they will be trying to contact before polling day.

link to events.yesscotland.net

john king

“Has anybody heard of a party outside Holyrood starting at midday on the 19th?”

No but we have now. 🙂

Colin Rippey

@Croompenstein, @James Caithness – Here is the relevant section from the White Paper (Part 3, Chapter 6, page 222):

“We recognise that specific provisions will need to be included in the EU Treaties as part of the amendment process to ensure the principle of continuity of effect with respect to the terms and conditions of Scotland’s independent EU membership, including detailed considerations around current opt-outs, in particular the rebate, Eurozone, Justice and Home Affairs and the Schengen travel area”

Changes to EU treaties can only be made by member states voting to change them. Pretty sure what the above paragraph is stating is that a change to an EU treaty will be required? No?

I’m not for one minute pretending to be Judge Dredd, and there’s every chance that the member states of the EU will all agree to alter the current treaties to cater for this unique situation of a member state breaking apart and wanting to be considered a continuing member – but you’re then into the realms of the art of persuading the other member states that there’s no issue to be had with altering the treaties in such a fashion.

There’s no other member of the EU who face such a situation is there? Hmmm, wonder why Spain is the only member of the EU who has to date never recognised the independence of Kosovo?

Could it be that the Madrid elite are paranoid that the Basques and Catalonians could use Scotland’s independence, and subsequent retention of EU membership, as a catalyst for their own independence movement?

Of course the Spanish are the only state who really need persuading and their objections, however far removed from Scotland’s independence against Spanish region’s independence, could be soothed – but political agendas and “one state doing another a favour” are extraordinarily complicated in the land of the EU.

So whilst you may well characterise this as “pish”, I would reckon that you avail yourself of the entire issue and recognise that on the issue of EU membership that there is no clarity – it’s a leap of faith to vote Yes, which again is a perfectly valid decision. But…telling other people who raise questions about the issue that they’re “spouting pish” does no one any favours.

What do I believe? I believe if Scotland did vote Yes that the EU would come up with some bizarre fudge for Scotland as the EU doesn’t really have a mechanism for a state leaving the EU – they’ll probably say “look rUK and Scotland can sort it out themselves, we’re going to just pretend that you’re still all one big happy UK okay? We’ll continue to treat you as a unified entity and all the bits and pieces that go with it”.

What amazes me the most about this website and the people who comment on it is the self-congratulatory nature and certainty that everything being spouted is “the absolute truth”.

I’ve seen the same psychology countless times all over the Internet on a wide variety of “holy wars”, the keyboard warriors of the day make a declaration and their troops all repeat the same sentiment and deride anyone who dares question the dogma of the day.

There are tons of great reasons why Scotland would be better as an independent country, not having to ever again be subject to the Tories is one, but the issue of EU membership is one of the bigger negatives that continues to linger.

john king

Lesley-Anne says
“I mean, so many questions. I’m just so, so , SO excited. I’ll have to stay up all night cause I know I will not be able to calm down until I know they have all arrived safely back in London”

OOHH I thought I could do sarcasm, meaow ouch. 😉

James Caithness

A wee gem I found on Yes St Andrews facebook page. (if you have seen it before, sorry, but well worth being reminded)

link to facebook.com

Croompenstein

john king LOL the mankini guy is brilliant and is that morphsuit what the three amigos will be dressed in tomorrow 🙂

john king

Let me try LA

OOHH the ice cream mans here
Mr Rippy can I have a big cone and a wafer and,— oh what are all those hundereds and thousands all over him for?

omg I think he’s topped himself call the Daily Mail.

Lesley-Anne

Sorry John, didn’t mean to make you feel inferior. 😉

Alan McHarg

John King:

I got it!

James123

@john king
So there you have, A BBC reporter again getting it straight from the horses mouth from an Irish politician, Scotland is out on its arse if it votes yes.

Take away the hn from john king and what do you get, that is some uber-sarcasm.

Croompenstein

@Colin have you watched the video at the top of this piece ?

john king

Croompenstien says
” the mankini guy is brilliant”

So didnt go big on my holday video then?

Andy

At first i was afraid i was petrified thinkin i could not live without you by my side, but i spent oh so many nights thinking how u did me wrong, did you think i,d crumble did you think i,d lay down and die oh no not i, WE WILL SURVIVE

Lesley-Anne

Just for a laugh I’ve tweeted all the news channels that they should watch this video and learn how to carry out an interview PROPERLY! 😛

link to tinyurl.com

James Caithness

I forgot about a wee incident while at the YES stall in St Andrews. I gave a toddler, who was with his Mum, a little Saltire. She took it off the child and threw it on the ground.

Few negatives who mainly looked Tory voters, but got about 6 pages of declarations signed.

highseastim

@Nana Smith

Cheers for the Angus Robertson interview, as my mp, I’ve been really impressed the way he has handled the media in recent times, good on ye Angus!!

Jim McIntosh

@colin rippey

“I’ve seen the same psychology countless times all over the Internet on a wide variety of “holy wars”, the keyboard warriors of the day make a declaration and their troops all repeat the same sentiment and deride anyone who dares question the dogma of the day.

What you mean like:

Pooling and sharing
Best of both worlds
Broad shoulders of the UK
strength, security and stability

You do know NONE of that is true?

Tam Jardine

Colin Rippey

Did you watch the clip with Pat Cox? That is a serious question, not winding you up.

I don’t recall anyone in the Yes campaign suggesting they could force the EU into ratifying our continuing membership or force the rUK into a currency union either for that matter… force doesn’t come into these matters, common sense and expediency does.

We all watched as the Greek economy collapsed, and my amateur impression was that the rest of Europe REALLY wanted them to stay in Europe. And if they wanted to keep Greece in at any cost, it seems like if anything we could be a little more bullish: does Europe want us to stay in? How much?

I love Europe, I love being a European. The No camp look at all these issues from a weird, mega pessimistic point of view, from the point of view of someone who thinks the idea of an Independent Scotland in itself is an absurdity.

Essentially ‘how will we cope, how can we? Everyone one will hate us – even with our oil, gas, renewables, our fisheries, forestry, our culture, our people and with a democratic movement to make Scotland a better country free from nuclear weapons.

Despite all of the positives we can contribute they are not enough to compensate for how much we are hated for encouraging the Catalans and the other bits of Europe that want to go it alone.

It strikes me that they almost are forced to keep Scotland in Europe because it makes sense SO MUCH but I appreciate that they are at liberty to decide, much like Westminster is at liberty to cut its own throat over the Currency Union.

Such self loathing on behalf of the No camp is crazy to me. Funny thing is, I voted agin devolution – I was a No (to devo) Yes to tax raising powers. Seriously. No to a parliament that has returned a level of democracy and pride to Scotland absent before. And Yes to bullshit accountability tax raising powers that are still in the box, in its original packaging. I hated Labour and thought it was a poor compromise – we should have independence or the union, not some halfway house.

Boy was I wrong! Not making the same mistake this time, even though there are few certainties in life and there will be a few bumps in the road ahead.

As for us having more chance of staying in Europe with the same terms if we remain in Europe, do a wee bit of investigating into the European elections earlier this year – a bit of an eye opener!

Let’s do this thing!

john king

In a lot of countries James that woman would have spent time in jail for disparaging her national flag, her time is coming tick tock

James Caithness

@highseastim – I think Angus Robertson was very robust in the interview and I think that that is the way to go, take no nonsence from them and remind the interviewers of their inadequacies (meaning their bias).

James Caithness

Ignore Rippey folks.

Andy

Go on now go walk out the door dont turn around now cause your not welcome anymore i,ve got all my life to live i,ve got all my love to give WE WILL SURVIVE

Joe

The EU would take pretty quickly iScotland in as a member pretty quickly just for the resources , the fishing rights alone would persuade them , plus Dave Cam is not to popular there , especially with a possible out vote looming ,they would vote us in just to piss him off. Nato will do likewise , the North Atlantic between Greenland Iceland Scotland is a major defense line against Russian fleets from bases in arctic Russia, remove Scotland and you leave a big hole , the yanks wont tolerate that.

Andy

WE WILL SURVIVE

Lesley-Anne

I can only guess James that the woman is one of the 700,000 who will be speeding down the M74 on 19th after we win. 😀

Think I’m on M74 cleaning tomorrow, brush and pan at the ready. 😛

john king

The Scottish SUN SAYS YES

Joe

anyone interested in a newspaper boycott , no sales for Saturday & Sunday , would be a good wake up call ??

sausage fingered luddite

Just caught Scotland 2014 on the bbc news channel. Angry snide questioning from the impartial Sarah smith of hamza youssef followed by a visit to a scotch restraunt in belgravia. Classic comment from the first guy they spoke to ‘ we’d really like to keep them’

john king

Lesley-Anne says
“Sorry John, didn’t mean to make you feel inferior. ”

Never met my wife have you LA? 🙂

Did I hear right? your going to PQ?
Maybe I’ll finally get to meet the famous Arbroath 1320?
It’ll be a privilage!

Lesley-Anne

I think a few of us on here have had the feeling they were about to jump onto our ship John. I know a lot of people don’t want the SUN on board but on the flip side they do have the biggest circulation in Scotland, I think, so they’ll hit a lot of undecideds out there who still rely on the media for all their information. 😛

GrahamB

Yet more proof that Labour politicians are not to be trusted: go to http://www.craigmurray.org.uk and watch ‘The Stolen Seas’.
TB we know was/is a crook but not many realise Saint Donald was every bit as sleekit.

Andy

Dose anyone realy belive that oil aside that scotland with all its fishing grounds and still having weapons of mass destruction that the eu will say gtf only a fool would belive that

JLT

Mr King

I go out canvassing and seem to find that you have become (gasp) ….a unionist troll!!! (LOL)

…and the moon is made of green cheese! (LOL)

You did have me wondering with that opening post though (…whew!!!)

May see you on the Royal Mile on the 19th after all John if we win. I think our party in West Lothian is to be held on the Saturday. Will keep you posted.

kininvie

@david

For reasons which are completely obvious, you are unlikely to get Stu’s phone number – especially not on a public site.

Either email your request to him via the contact form, or, if it is genuinely urgent, email it to me: kininvie (at) gmail (dot) com.

CM

Finally got a door knock tonight. So hoping it was a Nay-sayer. Dammit, it was a YES-man. I said, “sorry, you’re wasting your time..I’m voting YES!!” We had a quick laugh and off he went 😉

Lesley-Anne

Sorry John can’t make PQ. We’re trying to save what few groats we have for when we go Dan Suff to a family wedding in Kiddiminster. 😉

One day. ONE DAY I WILL MAKE IT TO A GATHERING SOMEWHERE. I PROMISE! 😀

john king

Get a bloody YES in a window CM save those poor guys wasting energy chapping doors and wasting time on us.

David S Briggs

@john king

Very poor irony.

Source for the Sun story.

bugsbunny

I see the three stodges are coming to Scotland tomorrow have been told by Alex Salmond that he would pay for the leaders bus fare to come Scotland, that much a liability they are? The Queen according to the BBC is being pressured to side with the Unionists. What a surprise. Now BBC1 are going on about currency again. Oh God now we have the Union Cairn Story. FFS.

Stephen.

john king

David
get over yourself
I did the same thing when Derek Bateman came out with his first blog about being a snp plant in the BBC, fell for it hook line and sinker, 🙁

(the sun says yes) my wife saw it on facespace

Iain Gray's Subway Lament

The absurd BBC Peston self-evidently doesn’t have a clue what DevoMax actually is. Beyond belief.

CameronB Brodie

You do know that Jim Murphy had intensive coaching before setting out around Scotland, to scare and goad innocent pedestrians?

Famous15

Scotland2014

Four noes …is that fair?

BBC is beyond bias

Jamie Arriere

Colin Rippey,

You do realise, as all of us on this site do, that the entire uncertainty over the whole EU accession question could have been sorted months (even years) ago, by the member state i.e The UK government, clarifying with the Commission the entire legal procedure and status, BY ASKING THEM.

That they have chosen not to (knowing the answer wouldn’t suit their motives), along with the innate commonsense position as explained by Mr Cox above, informs us that consensual democratic decisions with the will of a majority of people will decide the paths and accommodations that all countries in the EU ought to respect.

The No campaign constantly plays up this uncertainty, knowing they could clarify it if they wanted to, while at the same time demanding instruction manual level detail.

It doesn’t wash with us. Not from you either.

Now former chairman of the Young Conservative Nick Robinson is flat out lying about the three westminster liabilities having a “debate”. Talking AT scots isn’t a ‘debate’ old bean.

Nana Smith

@Andy

We will survive

We are not afraid or even petrified
To take this chance for freedom and get back our civic pride
Now westminsters’ panicking and trying to appease
Promising more powers cause they know we’re gonna leave

Tell them to go get on their bike
And pedal off to london town tell them to take a hike
Be sure they take the bbc and all their meeja hacks
Its time for Scotland to break free and get them off our backs

For years we wanted freedom then Salmond came along
And gave us all some hope at last which helped to make us strong
To find our pride and set things right for everybodys gain
Which sure beats any message against austerity refrain

We will survive there is no doubt
You can take your missile carriers and stick them way down south
And keep your house off ill repute which is already stuffed
Lords and ladies sleeping there subsidised by us

Go westminster go walk out the door
Don’t turn around now for you’re not welcome anymore
Scotland will create a land of fairness for the best
So this is just one reason why we should all vote yes

cynicalHighlander

The BBC is fighting for its very existence as it has lost creditability in Scotland is losing it in the rUK and further afield as it is the glue that kept the UK together.

Thepnr

Hahaha.

Tomorrow’s Daily Heil according to BBC News at Ten. Cameron reveals “We want you to stay, We want you to stay”. Remind you of something 🙂

James123

Carney said currency union incompatible with sovereignty, yeah so what, we knew that already. Both Scotland and England would have to give up some sovereignty in a CU, there are very few or any countries in the world that have full sovereignty, nothing new here.

Lesley-Anne

Oops!

And so the panic in the London centric media continues. 😛

So the BIG question for tonight is “do I watch BBC paper review or SKY paper review at 22:30?” 😉

alistair

BBC news at 10 – Someone needs to go and tell the pub manager at the Globe Inn that DevoMax is not on offer. What’s on offer is an agreement to disucss what to agree.

call me dave

Mr Stewart (YES) is a braw speaker for Scotland on Radio 5 (How will a YES vote affect Sport) and a smart well informed person too.

Ms L. Sharp (NO) seems unaware that Scotland pays taxes and lottery share to the UK parliament for sport. It’s the same all over, some folk think were on handouts.

She’s turning Scotland down and playing for Team GB.

Lynsey is on a hiding to nought regarding her knowledge of how things are.

James123

@Lesley-Anne
And so the panic in the London centric media continues

I get the sense your enjoying some schadenfreude out of all this, so am I, it’s great isn’t it.

Minty

Home to ‘Panicking Unionists on Broadcast Media: Day 2′.

Enjoyable.

Jim Sillars’ film on Scotland 2014 also very moving.

Famous15

Jim Sillers and Margo’s memory redeemed the BBC bias above.

God their back in the studio with Ian Davidson MP. and he trashes the memory!

Jim

As Salmond said, “1, 20, 25, 60”.
1% of the population of Europe.
20% of the fishing grounds of Europe.
25% of the renewable energy of Europe
60% of the oil of Europe.
That the EU wont accept an Independent Scotland is ludicrous in the extreme.
As for Spain, remember we have 20% of the fishing grounds so they are unlikely, pardon the pun, to make any waves regarding Scotland’s entry into the EU.

Lesley-Anne

Now whatever makes you think that James? 😉

Can’t you feel the pain that I’m feeling right now … the pain of laughing so hard that my sides are aching! 😛

Sandra D

OT Did bbc news just compare yes supporters to ukip supporters? Out of order but why am i surprised?

James Caithness

Please please tell me that someone has Scotland2014 taped. Jim Sillars gubbin Ian Davidson.

Now we have a prat on there contradicting the Queen.

bugsbunny

Just seen BBC1 news about a Glasgow born English Woman saying that the Scots simply don’t care about what the English/Welsh/Northern Irish think? They just don’t get it.

Stephen.

john king

The funniest thing I’ve seen today, the Saltire being raised over Downing street and falling down half way up, doesnt want to be there obviously. 🙂

Lesley-Anne

That doesn’t surprise me James. Jim is extremely articulate in his arguments Davidson on the other hand is just a gormless, brainless, gutless knuckle dragger! 😛

Jim

I see J.K Rowling has more or less said Independence or staying in the union will not affect her because she is stinking rich but it will affect the poor if we vote for Independence, ahhhh, bless her the wee lamb.

fred blogger

i know how the three of great burden, are getting to scotland, perhaps.
link to theguardian.com

msean

Well said Mr Sillars.

Ian Brotherhood

@Iain Gray’s Subway Lament –

Good to meet you today!

Hope youse had a good session this evening, wherever ye did end up. SSP leafleted most of Lochend in Ayr, and it was mercifully dog-free, friendly. We managed to satisfy many requests for WBBs and will have more with us as we try to cover Whittlets and adjacent areas in the next few days.

Famous15

Look!*

Lesley-Anne

Oh dearie me, not only are the media types in London panicking like gawd knows what but so are the paper reviewers on SKY news. Cameron, Milliband and the other one HAVE to go up to Scotland to help save the union. 😛

James Caithness

Bloody hell Ponsonby is giving Darling a kicking on STV

Andy Howue

Poncanby is totally hammering Darling at the moment. It is painful to watch…

bugsbunny

They also earlier said that AT LEAST 50% of Labour voters were going to Vote Yes. If we lose, it’ll be about as democratic an election as thearch 1933 German Parliamentary Election under Chancellor Hitler. Intimidation and vote rigging.

Stephen.

Andy smith

Personally I think BT fucked up again by hoisting up the saltire…it was meant to be a white flag !

liz

@galamcennalath -I’ve just got round to reading that and I am gobsmacked – I didn’t think Broon could get any lower – I am struggling to even put this down but he mentioned his daughter when talking about the NHS – I seriously think he has had some kind of breakdown.

msean

Scare central on the paper reviews tonight again,all the way to next week lol. Comedy gold.

Jim

@Lesley-Anne
Cameron, Milliband and the spare? The three amigos. Just call us trinity? The tory version of the corries and paddie bell?

muttley79

@cynicalHighlander

MI5 has issued security costumes.

That is us fucked then…

Deontas

Oh dear oh dear, Mr Darling humming hawing eh eh eh eh-ing stumbling about for words never mind a sentence! (He’s on STV as I type)

Cringe worthy don’t come close to this debacle, DK’s please just listen to him!!!!

Golfnut

Hey ho, another day of fearmongering, distortion, dishonesty from Her Majesties press corps only surpassed by the shrill antics of the bt broadcasting channels.

Maybe we should come up with our own line of can’t haves, like a petition to the SG telling them under no circumstances are they allowed to grant currency union to WM.

Sort of puts a different slant on the situation.

Lesley-Anne

Jim says:

@Lesley-Anne
Cameron, Milliband and the spare? The three amigos. Just call us trinity? The tory version of the corries and paddie bell?

Give me the ORIGINAL set up Jim and sink the copycats. Oh wait a minute they’re sinking already. 😛

Deontas

I am glad Ponsonby (so far) isn’t interrupting as it only means more Yes votes listening to this buffoon!!

Andy smith

Good to see Iain Davidson get bayoneted by Jim sillars!

Jim

“Gordon Brown vows to ‘nail the SNP lie’ on NHS privatisation”
How about nailing the Gordon Brown lie on blood transfusions and organ transplants?

Les Wilson

Bernard Ponsonby allowing Darling to turn his interview into a BT broadcast. Nothing like he was with the FM.

Famous15

SNP Cutting 130,000 college places says Darling three times. Could someone give me the reason for this? I thought it was a redesign which eradicated low value hobby courses but could someone give an answer.

CM

comment image

Sun front page tomorrow 😀

Colin Rippey

@Lesley-Anne

I suggest that you read up on the current rules of joining the EU, Article 49 is the relevant article.

Of the countries you list above, they have joined the EU and are “obliged” to join the EURO. There are only 2 countries in the EU, UK and Denmark who have negotiated specific exemptions on having to join the EU – every other country is OBLIGED to join, once they meet “the criteria”.

Of course it can easily be argued, as in the case of Sweden, that even though they are obliged to join the EURO one of “the criteria” to join ERM II is voluntary so in effect they don’t really need to join.

Ananurhing

“Ponsonby is giving Darling a kicking on STV”

You must be kidding. Ponsonby is facilitating an Alistair Darling political broadcast.

Contrast this with Pby’s treatment of Salmond last night. He was a disgrace.
Like I said then. What’s Pby’s brief.

john king

Sorry you wont be at PQ LA I as looking forward to meeting you at last I’ve been a fan since I saw you posting on the Telegraph 2 years ago when I was posting as jdman, but hey ho , there will be anothr time soon when we have (Ihope and pray) something to celebrate,

O/t does anyone have a long range weather forecast for the 18th yet? please God let it be a warm sunny day, people feel good about themselves on warm days and I think will encourage them to vote YES, 🙂
thats it Im off to bed, working tomorrow, night all.

Lesley-Anne

Oh my gawd!

The pair on BBC doing the paper review ratcheting up the money fear about folks taking their money out of Scotland.

link to i.imgur.com

I think this pair of Muppets are doing their best to help create another Northern Rock scenario!

alistair

Had to go to meeting in London today so wore big Yes badge to keep me amused. Interesting that colleagues down there seemed to think we would vote for Independence. They were also very aware of the impact of us leaving would have on the English pound if we didn’t tie up a CU (i.e. not good). They seemed better informed on that than a lot of punters up here. So how come the wonderful BBC haven’t twigged on to that yet ?
In the airport sat next to four fat suits who all turned out to be Yes. Who would have thought…

Jim

@Lesley-Anne
What is the bet one of them or maybe all wear tartan trews, I mean the kilt would be a bit overkill. lol
100 to 1 anyone. Where’s John McCririck when you need him?

Indy_Scot

Hope that Sun front page is genuine, it’s class.

boris

This is a full report on the journey to independence taking in the performances of Labour, Tory, Liberal and SNP.A read of this will convince you of the need to vote Yes in the referendum. best wishes

link to caltonjock.com

@Ian Brotherhood

Likewise mate. Great to see you!

Was out not long after you left helping leaflet in the area locally and tonight the focus was the same. One bit at a time. I’ll likely catch up with you again at some point and fill you in on some of the details.

Ye tend to get used to the dugs after a while though there’s always wan or two waiting silently right at the letterboxes hoping to catch the unwary. 😀

Your help with the WBBs are a godsend and great to hear Ayr wis friendly. Good luck with the deliveries in Whittlets and the area. 🙂

Andy Howie

@Anaurhing Disagree this is comedy gold. Darling is melting and can hardly answer a question coherently! BP just destroyed the devo max argument

dadsarmy

If the Scottish Sun has come out for YES, it’s all over bar the shouting. The SUN backs winners.

If true, I’d like to see oddschecker in a while. It’s got some coming down near 6/4 (8/5), SUN “backing” could see evens, or even odds-on.

liz

@Famous 15 – the question I would like asked about those cut college places is how many jobs were created for folk attending the courses that were cut.

If someone could answer that it would be very useful.

No no no...yes

Ponsonby is letting flipper make an absolute fool of himself.
MELTDOWN, CRASH, TOAST.

Lesley-Anne

That’s a brilliant front page CM. 😛

I’m sure we’ll all meet up at some point John. 😉

I think you’ve just answered your whole Euro thing in you own last sentence Colin!

BuckieBraes

Darling’s ‘Scawtlund’ seems to be the equivalent of John Barrowman’s ‘Chicawgo’.

Andy smith

Think darling is punch-drunk after his (mis)match with salmond .

Grouse Beater

Don’t let the sons of bitches fool you!

Mark Carney only repeated that which he stated before – uncomfortable, as if asked – there can be no currency sharing unless each party cedes a little sovereignty.

Ananurhing

John King

link to yr.no

Doesn’t look too bad. A spot of rain maybe.

Lesley-Anne

Just for a wee giggle here are the front pages of the Scotsman and the Sun. 😛

link to i.imgur.com

Ally McEwen

Are ‘nil pois’ peas from the Nile?
Petits pois are us Jocks, I know that.

Snode1965

Ponsenby toying with darling right now on stv. Anyone old enough to remember max headroom?

liz

I believe the BBC would love to have a Northern Rock run on Scottish institutions so that the UK could come in and save us.

BTW they have dug their own graves as I think the rUK folk would go ape-shit if the government stepped in to save any Scottish institution.

They would be demanded to cut us free – I now think that the BBC are the most disgraceful news organisation in the world.

James123

Just watched the paper review on Sky, more uninformed twaddle from completely out of touch journalists, same old same old.

There’s seems to be a presumption in London that if Scotland votes Yes Labour will still win 40 Scottish seats in the GE next year. Really! SLab as we know it will be practically finished after a vote for independence, hopefully a new Labour Party will emerge that will have little interest in sending MP’s to Westminster.

muttley79

@dadsarmy

No, it is not over. It is not over until the fat lady sings.

Thepnr

@Grouse Beater

Succinct!

Ananurhing

Andy Howie.

We’ll have to agree to disagree. Ponsonby is allowing Darling to spout a monologue of glib assertions, completely unchallenged.
Compare with his obstructive technique last night where Salmond was barely allowed to finish a sentence.

I thought Ponsonby was better than that. He’s lost all credibility for me.

Joe Swan

Ponsonby let him waffle on and on. No interuptions.

Darling is already putting in tell-tale audible mumbles. “When Scotland gets…” fluster, blink.

He let him off lightly though at the end.

Tinyzeitgeist

Dahling was destroyed by Bernard Ponsonby tonight. wonderful stuff.But the difference between last night’s performance of the FM under a heavy grilling about details is telling on a number of counts.

Lesley-Anne

Don’t you just love watching all those London luvvies squirming around spouting their illogical nonsense about something they know absolutely nothing about but are hoping against hope will turn out to be true in their favour! 😀

As I’ve said before, I can not wait until 19th. Oh to see the faces of all the paper reviewers on SKY and BBC THAT night! That night is going to be a night of unbelievable hilarity, in my view. 😛

Training Day

Shambolic, at times incoherent Darling on Scotland Tonight.

He has the haunted look of a man who knows he has lost.

Jim

Watching the Ponsonby, Salmond interview I thought Salmond handled it extremely well.

Natasha

Hi folks
been reading your comments for a while now, totally committed Yes voter and activist helping to win votes in the Scottish Borders; guess what, I’m English and a Cambridge graduate. Don’t tar us all with the same brush, okay?

galamcennalath says:

9 September, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Darling, away with the fairies! While it might sound anti elitist, simple for the sake of it, I do wonder about people with public school ( in the English sense ) and / or the whole Oxford Cambridge thing. Same planet as the rest of us?

To paraphrase something I read earlier on Newsnet …..

A third of MPs went to public schools.

A quarter of MPs went to Oxford or Cambridge. Only 1% of the population attend those.

Last time Labour chose a leader all six candidates attended either Oxford or Cambridge.

kestral

The saltire made a desperate bid for freedom today and tried to escape being raised above downing street

We must rise as a people to rescue our beloved flag

link to scotlandnow.dailyrecord.co.uk

dadsarmy

@Colin Rippey
Accroding to Avery (who is not an Independentist), Article 48 is a suitable legal route:
link to scottish.parliament.uk

Sorry to butt in LA.

Lesley-Anne

Butt in all you want dadsarmy, no need to apologise. 😉

GrahamB

Caught the final 10 minutes of Ponsonby Vs Flipper and for once thought he gave Flipper a hard time. However, in spite of shouting at the TV loud for STV to hear, Ponsonby failed to ask the killer question: “How can you guarantee to get all these proposals through Westminster against inevitable rUK opposition?”

TheItalianJob

Nana Smith says:

Angus Robertson this morning outside Westminster….

Great intelligent interview by Angus. Batted off all the questions on if there is a no vote and focused on the positives of a Yes vote. put the interviewer in his place.

Sky news paper review by two numpties who know nothing about the referendum. Pure drivel being spewed from their mouths. The guy is saying he is watching the polls and as they are favouring a no vote it is a good barometer to the actual result.

Pity he hasn’t checked for a few days as the no odds are drifting out and the yes odds all shortening to less than 2/1 in most instances.

highseastim

With the three amigos hitting town tomorrow, Nige the fascist on Friday and the OO fascists on Saturday, this should be another excellent week for Yes Scotland!!

Thepnr

@Training Day

He has the haunted look of a man who knows he has lost.

They all do, check out the three stooges body language in London this morning. Body language is giving off a big clue about how all of them really feel.

Even Brian Taylor tonight looked like a deer caught in the headlights. No other signal required.

They REALLY are shitting themselves.

dadsarmy

@muttley79
I know what you’re saying, but I certainly don’t intend slackening off, quite the contrary. It’s only 9 days to go now, less even, and I’ll catch up with my sleep on the 19th. Well, after the celebrations which will be long noisy and totally inebriated!

Sometimes I let Unionists get away with posting garbage. From now on I’ll probably rebut every single one of them, even if it’s been done before. There will be new readers, and every little helps!

Doug Mcgregor

Ponsonby had him at his mercy about 15mins in , blustering and blinking furiously , for some reason he backed off and gave him a couple of dolly questions and virtually the rest of the interview was the usual bunch of clichés we have come to know and love. Incidentally it was the question of what new powers the latest initiative would have that had not already been mooted that set him off. Of course ,no answer was given. (dictated by my wife)

Ken500

Scotland can’t join the Euro. It has to much debt. There is a ratio to debt a country has to realise before they can join the Euro. It would be good for the future. Nearest biggest Market. Cut red tape and expensive for business, Traditionally low. ECB lending rate.

Interest rates in the UK are kept higher (to bring in investment) to fuel the Tory London banks lending Market. Raking it in, means there is more to lend out. Or did until they lent out too much without collateral. Raising values by false surveying. Decreased leverage of capital to reserves all the time. From a world banking agreed 25% to 13%. Reagan, Thatcher, Clinton etc deregulated banking. The Bankers fund the UK & US political Parties. Without this support certain Political Parties in UK/US would not exist.

Thatcher demutualised the Building Societies which were owned by their members, so Tory bankers could take over the Building Societies and gamble with the mortgage books.

Tinyzeitgeist

Is anybody watching newsnight on BBC2? They are allover the ploace, panic, what panic?

James123

I don’t know if anyone will have the slightest idea what the answer to this and i hope it isn’t too early to ask but when will we know the result on the night? Will it be a 2 am job or earlier or will we have to wait till the next day? I haven’t heard or read anything about how the count will be conducted or when it will be announced. Anyone know?

Tinyzeitgeist

Sorry for the Typo’s above. I’m Gobsmacked by what I’m watching.

Stevie boy

On Newsnight..

Looks like we have stirred up a hornets nest..

Talking about whatever happens it will shake up even England regarding devolution and spreading the power around!

Clootie

I have a copy of a briefing stating each of the 32 regions will sent their results to Edinburgh and then receive confirmation that they can announce. Each region will issue their result. Edinburgh will issue the final approved totals.

dadsarmy

No idea if anyone’s come up with this old nursery rhyme for the grand visit of the best of the rUK:

“Rub a dub dub, three men in a tub;
And who do you think they be?
The butcher, the baker, the candlestick-maker;
And they all jumped out of a rotten potato
Turn ’em out, knaves all three!”

Ken500

The Unionists in Edinburgh who authorised the Orange March are a disgrace. Totally offending the majority of the electorate. Taxpayers have to under right Edinburgh’s extravagances. Not Orange Marches.

Clootie

Send not sent 🙁

Lesley-Anne

Just for a laugh I’ve had a wee keek over at Tory Rory’s Hands across the Border website. 😉

Now if I remember rightly, Stu ran a wee fund raiser to raise £55,000. This total was raised within THREE HOURS!

Wee Tory Rory was also trying to raise, would you believe, £55,000. Well would folks like to know how he is getting on, of course you would. 😛

Well. He started his fund raiser on July 11th and the fund raiser closes on, oh look it closes tonight at 23:59 hrs. The grand total raised to date is … wait for it … are you sitting comfortably … £21,527 in 8 weeks 4 days! That is LESS than £3,000 a WEEK! 😛

Onwards

Yeah, article 48 allows adjustments with a simple majority, so even if Spain for example, had a problem, it wouldn’t matter.

That would never happen anyway, as they know they would get outvoted – so what would be the point of a pissing anyone off with a protest vote after a legal and democratic referendum?
Plus they like our fishing waters too much..

Thepnr

@James123

Chief Counting Officer for the referendum said today that the result would be “around breakfast time” on Friday. She expects a huge turnout and that will take time.

Might be known earlier if the result is clear cut 🙂

muttley79

@James123

It will be well into Friday until we get the final result I would imagine. People are talking about a turnout of over 80 per cent. There will be 32 local authority counts, and the final result will come from counting up all the votes for these.

Grouse Beater

Anyone know?

A predicted turnout of 80% to vote? Next morning, surely.

Papadox

@Muttlley79 10:58pm

You don’t mean Jaba is going to sing! Thanks for the tip off.

James123

Thanks Thepnr, I was planning to have a few drinks as the results came in, maybe I shouldn’t coz I’ll be flat out by breakfast time.

Joe Swan

Newsnight with Galloway?

It’s a comedy show now.

He’s selling books on TV.

Thepnr

@James123

So will I and might even miss it hahaha. Though I doubt I will 🙂

Lesley-Anne

I’m with Thepnr on this. The final result may well be around breakfast time. However if, as I suspect the vote goes the way I suspect it will go, there is a great vote for YES, then I would expect the 50% + 1 result to be passed at around 3 a.m. 😉

I’m working on the assumption here that almost all the voter registrations that took place were from people who will vote YES. I’m sorry I don’t buy the media claiming that there were NO supporters registering. If there were any NO’s registering then it would be the odd one or two who have recently moved house. The vast majority, 99% in my view, would be folks so p****d off with the political elite they have never voted for years or even decades. The referendum gives folks a chance to change things for ever and they know it hence the mass registrations.

Colin Rippey

@dadsarmy

Nothing I’ve said is contradicted by the link you provide. From the link:

“It has been argued that since Article 48 requires unanimity (and the same is true of
Article 49) its use would be blocked by Spain in order to discourage Spanish regions
from seeking independence.”

That’s all I’ve been saying, that ALL member states would need to vote on changes.

The webpage we are commenting on seems to imply if you get a bunch of “experts” to express their opinions to agree with your agenda then it makes it okay.

All I’m saying is that it’s got nothing to do with experts opinions (and to be honest that’s all the link you provided is, an opinion) it’s got everything to do with the fact that the member states of the EU would have to ALL agree.

That makes the membership of the EU a very unclear question.

Jim

@Onwards
Plus they like our fishing waters too much.
__
Yep, if Spain wants to continue fishing our waters then they wont dare veto Scotland’s entry into the EU.

Jim

@Colin Rippey
Spain’s fishing industry would be more or less fcuked if they were banned from Scottish waters.

Thepnr

Who left the back door open?

The fucking dug is back in.

thedogphilosopher

Best moment of the day, Jim Sillars on 2014:

Sarah Smith:” … Are you worried that this (BTs Timetable shenanigans) might be a last ditch campaign attempt by BT that could defeat you?”

Jim: “It’s already a dead duck.”

dadsarmy

Presumably observers will be allowed into the counts, same as for elections. So I’m guessing we might get indications well before the official result is handed out?

We’re going to be in a pub with a late licence (probably Dundee). It might be worth looking for one with a lock-in …

Edward

I find it frankly amazing that the media, especially certain newspapers call for the Queen to intervene.

Assuming that most if not all had University education, it was clearly wasted on them.

Any child cold tell them, that the last monarch to poke their royal snout into politics, happened to be a Stuart and got their head chopped off!

Does Oliver Cromwell not ring any bells with these twats?

This is the main reason that the Queen, as well as her predecessors since the Stuarts, have refrained from getting involved in politics

Lesley-Anne

There’s a fair few French fishing boat skippers who would be severely p****d off as well Jim if we were not permitted continued membership. 😛

Thepnr

Just ignore it and it will stop whining!

liz

@Stevie Boy – I turned over to watch Newsnight and saw Galloway get away with a load of bollocks about the RAF fighters in the battle of Britain but failing to mention there were other nationalities also involved.

But also interestingly after that they appear to have a discussion which was about acceptance.

Rock

Jim,

“60% of the oil of Europe.

That the EU wont accept an Independent Scotland is ludicrous in the extreme.”

Norway is not in the EU, so almost 100% of the oil in the EU, except the oil in the Scottish territory stolen by England.

A.N.Surgent

A thought before bedtime

Devo-max: A pig with lipstick is still a pig.

cearc

James 123,

2.00am, no way. Loads of boxes are more than two hours away from the count and the turnout is expected to huge. If the cities are hugely Yes then the result maybe obvious earlier but the official totals will be much, much later than that.

Thepnr

@dadsarmy

There will be WOS observers at every count as well as Yes, SNP, LFI, etc. No worry there.

Marcia

Video of an tonight’s interview of the FM with John Nicholson

Lesley-Anne

Apparently there have been a number of Tory and Labour back benchers making the same call Edward. 😉

Don’t you just love watching all this squeaky bum time squirming around like a bunch of heidless chickens. 😛

Sorry Stu I just HAVE to put this link up again. 😀

link to tinyurl.com

Jim

@Lesley-Anne
There’s a fair few French fishing boat skippers who would be severely p****d off as well Jim if we were not permitted continued membership. 😛
___
Aye Lesley-Anne, veto my arse, let them try it.

Stevie boy

Lesley-Anne

Yeah I agree. I suspect about 60%+ to Yes. As counting will commence not long after 10pm and with it just being a straight Yes or No I think it will be around 3am when they announce that we have won 🙂

Natasha

If Scottish Borders Council’s previous record is anything to go by, you’ll be lucky if they even start the count before lunchtime on the 19th. Bunch of complacent incompetent numpties.

dadsarmy

@Colin Rippey
What you said, and I quote: “I suggest that you read up on the current rules of joining the EU, Article 49 is the relevant article.”

What I’m saying and Avery is saying is that Article 48 can be used. So, yes, what I posted does contradict your claim as both can be used, not only Article 49 as you implied.

Arabs for Independence

I have had a better night watching all the news/political stuff than last night. Ponsonby started slow but did a complete demolition job on Mr Darling. Jim Sillars bayoneted Ian Davidson – loved Sillars’ parting shot “you (Davidson) are intellectually bankrupt”

Then I watched Peter Hain and John Redwood arguing and totally disagreeing over constitutional changes thus demonstrating why Gordon Brown’s timetable is utter bollocks

I cheered and my tv relaxed realising it was not under threat of being kicked again.

Jim

@Rock says:
Jim,

“60% of the oil of Europe.

That the EU wont accept an Independent Scotland is ludicrous in the extreme.”

Norway is not in the EU, so almost 100% of the oil in the EU, except the oil in the Scottish territory stolen by England.
___
Aye, Rock, veto my arse, let them try it.

cearc

Thepnr

Will you not be at your count?

Rock

Yes should counter the more powers nonsense by asking why 100% of oil revenues devolved to Scotland is not on offer.

After all, according to No Thanks, there is hardly any oil left. And it is not worth much anyway according to the independent OBR.

So surely it wouldn’t be a big deal to hand over the remaining revenues to Scotland to preserve the greatest union on earth.

Thepnr

@Arabs for Independence

Hows the chapping on doors going!

cearc

Rock,

Hahahaha!

Rock

Jim,

“Aye, Rock, veto my arse, let them try it.”

I am sure that if WE didn’t approach the EU or NATO soon after 19th September, they would get extremely worried.

Jim

@Rock
Yes should counter the more powers nonsense by asking why 100% of oil revenues devolved to Scotland is not on offer.
__
You know the answer to that and so do they. Our oil is what they want, after it is gone and we are a dried out husk then we can have our Independence.
Oil prices may be volatile and oil may be finite but they want it in their hands while it lasts.

Baheid

twitter.com/Cherylliddell/status/509466831120510976/photo/1

Apologies if you’ve seen this already.

Lesley-Anne

Despite all the rhetoric that comes out of Madrid or any where else Jim we all know they are also keeping one eye on the locals in Spain and when push comes to shove they will NEVER upset their fishermen. 😀

I think 3 a.m. is a reasonable time to aim for Stevie to get the 50% + 1 result. I think the final and full result will not be announced by around 8 a.m. I reckon. That is not the important time for me though. The important time is the 50% + 1 time. At that point the rest of the count almost becomes surplus to requirements because at that point we all know that BT have lost. In fact the earlier the time for 50% + 1 to be announced then I think the BIGGER the overall margin between a YES count and the BT count. 😛

Baheid

Dammit, don’t know how to link

Jim

@Rock says:
Jim,

“Aye, Rock, veto my arse, let them try it.”

I am sure that if WE didn’t approach the EU or NATO soon after 19th September, they would get extremely worried.
___
They will be shitting themselves if Scotland decided not to join the EU.

James123

I’m hoping that exit polls will show a large majority for Yes so I can start my celebrations early.

Jim

@Baheid
Dammit, don’t know how to link
__
Copy the link then paste it in your post minus the http and the forward slashes.

Arabs for Independence

@ thepnr

Got another 20 books tonight and finished my leafleting.

Tomorrow start the brave step of knocking on doors and organising my wee gang.

Really appreciate your help and good to meet you.

Thepnr

cearc says:

Thepnr
Will you not be at your count?

I have the opportunity but haven’t committed. I will be later this week and next at postal vote opening. The count in my constituency is very significant.

Other than Glasgow, Edinburgh, Aberdeen and Dundee the only one being shown live on TV is Arbroath for Angus and for obvious reasons.

I probably won’t volunteer as I’m sure I would have been too hyper all day and will need an early bed before getting up again to watch it all live on the telly. LOL.

Jim

@Lesley-Anne
Despite all the rhetoric that comes out of Madrid or any where else Jim we all know they are also keeping one eye on the locals in Spain and when push comes to shove they will NEVER upset their fishermen. 😀
__
Precisely, they have more to lose than Scotland has if they veto our application for membership.
If they dared do this then I predict riots in Madrid to save their fishing industry.

Marker Post

Re the Cook interview, loved how he spent the first 2 minutes trying to argue that we wouldn’t get in, then saying, “but the bigger question is, there will be all sorts of problems once we do get in”.

The dam has burst, they’re still trying to sellotape over the cracks.

Lesley-Anne

I hope everyone has recovered from tha last round of papers front pages because here are another two, the Scottish Daily Mail and the Daily Telegraph. 😛

link to i.imgur.com

Onwards

It’s not just the oil, much undiscovered yet.
The sea area is a massive part of UK territory.
Fishing, shipping, defense, training, green energy etc.
coal and minerals. Huge fracking potential away from protestors.

Scotland’s offshore territory is SIX times bigger than the land area.
We have huge resources to back up our economy.

And the UK knows it too. They won’t let go without a fight.

Michael McCabe

Nana Smith at 10:18pm Very good Lyrics. Gloria Gaynor Would be Proud. Vote Yes.

Jim

Onwards says:
9 September, 2014 at 11:55 pm

It’s not just the oil, much undiscovered yet.
The sea area is a massive part of UK territory.
Fishing, shipping, defense, training, green energy etc.
coal and minerals. Huge fracking potential away from protestors.

Scotland’s offshore territory is SIX times bigger than the land area.
We have huge resources to back up our economy.

And the UK knows it too. They won’t let go without a fight.
__
You didn’t think they wanted us to stay because they loved us did you?
That was rhetorical by the way. 🙂

dadsarmy

@liz
Ignorant pigs. A lot of the early Battle of Britain was carried out by Poles, as they were the group that had experienced fighter pilots rather than the British. They also had the most “kills”.

Sadly after 74 years, not a lot of people know that.

Jim

dadsarmy says:
9 September, 2014 at 11:57 pm

@liz
Ignorant pigs. A lot of the early Battle of Britain was carried out by Poles, as they were the group that had experienced fighter pilots rather than the British. They also had the most “kills”.

Sadly after 74 years, not a lot of people know that.
_________
I know that and so do many others. They can try to pull the wool over peoples eyes but we know the truth.

Lesley-Anne

This is the whole problem Jim. Up until now all we’ve ever heard from the nay sayers, papers/BBC/SKY/BT/WM etc, has been “Oh but Spain will veto your entry into the E.U.” The problem for all these knuckleheads is that they are only looking at it from the perspective of trying to make it sound impossible. What they have totally forgotten in this process is that Madrid will do what is in Madrid’s best interest. As you say Jim, if Madrid vetoes our entry into the E.U. then they have just shut the door to their own fishermen fishing in probably the E.U.’s richest fishing grounds. I can just see that decision going down like a treat with the Spanish fishermen … NOT! 😛

manandboy

link to theguardian.com

hermionegingold 09 September 2014 7:11pm

i have no vote but the sheer ineptitude of the no campaign has convinced me that scotland should take this chance and just go with it.
if gordon brown is the answer the question is no longer relevant.

Does the phrase ‘calling a spade . . . ‘ come to mind?

Stevie boy

Have to be honest. I was a bit worried about these ‘new powers’ and all the air time that BT was getting the past few days but I realise it hasn’t worked at all.. if anything it’s helped the Yes camp!
Feeling a lot happier tonight. 🙂

Regarding what currency we’d use.. I’d use bloody buttons to get away from this lot 🙂

Rock

Jim,

“You know the answer to that and so do they. Our oil is what they want, after it is gone and we are a dried out husk then we can have our Independence.
Oil prices may be volatile and oil may be finite but they want it in their hands while it lasts.”

We know the answer but YES should call their bluff on live TV. How will they answer that?

Thepnr

@Lesley-Anne

Re the Telegraph front page:

“Yes vote will be disastrous for the economy warn banks”

No surprise there then, they mean the rUK economy. Why haven’t they been shouting this for months?

Oh! They thought the Scots would get back in the box!!

Lesley-Anne

I just love this from Alex Salmond regarding the arrival of the three, or is it FOUR, Stooges later today. 😛

“If I thought they were coming by bus I’d send them the bus fare!”

Jim

@Lesley-Anne says:

This is the whole problem Jim. Up until now all we’ve ever heard from the nay sayers, papers/BBC/SKY/BT/WM etc, has been “Oh but Spain will veto your entry into the E.U.” The problem for all these knuckleheads is that they are only looking at it from the perspective of trying to make it sound impossible. What they have totally forgotten in this process is that Madrid will do what is in Madrid’s best interest. As you say Jim, if Madrid vetoes our entry into the E.U. then they have just shut the door to their own fishermen fishing in probably the E.U.’s richest fishing grounds. I can just see that decision going down like a treat with the Spanish fishermen … NOT! 😛
___
I totally agree, their self interest will be our insurance against any thought of a veto.
Our referendum is just that, ours. We have no dog in their fight against basques or catalans, that is their business.

Jim

@Rock
You know they will say we don’t want your money, money, money.
We just love you and want to hug you and kiss you and call you sweaty sock. It’s a pet name you know.

Stevie boy

Manandboy

Good post. Just shows that we might kick start a much better fairer society for rUK as well after we leave.

Nice thought!!

Lesley-Anne

I just love the way all the final panic stories are beginning to emerge Thepnr. All these stories are the ones they thought they’d never have to write because a NO win was in the bag. 😛

The Telegraph has its financial scare story, as does the Financial Times, the Business section of the Telegraph and the Scottish Daily Mail has a sub headline financial scare story. 😉

Roll_On_2014

Well who would have thought it? Cameron, Clegg and Miliband… Squeaky Bum Time.

Lesley-Anne

At the end of the day Jim, political self interest will ALWAYS overcome what ever s***e other parties spread about. 😉

ben madigan

hope the video at the bottom of this post raises your spirits! Support for YES Scotland on a mountainside on the outskirts of Belfast, courtesy of Gael Force Art
link to eurofree3.wordpress.com
They even made the front page of the Sun!!
facebook.com/pages/Gael-Force-Art/174957995982116?hc_location=timeline

Jim

@Lesley-Anne says:

At the end of the day Jim, political self interest will ALWAYS overcome what ever s***e other parties spread about. 😉
__
That is why there will be a currency union.

Les Wilson

Oh I just HAD to post this, Jola, Darling and guests!

dadsarmy

@Jim
Glad to hear it! It still angers me. I read a lot of books about the Second World War, and even then it’s only more recently that some of the truth has come out.

Proibably not a lot of people know that France and Britain took just about all of Germany’s manufacturing equipment. I was told this when working in Germany and didn’t believe it, until I thought of the places I’d worked, and the German nameplates on the manufacturing equipment. It probably still works.

Mwanwhile the Germans took full advantage of the Marshall plan and rebuilt their manufacturing using modern efficient and cheaper to use equipment. And so the decline of Britain’s manufacturing, especially that of Scotland.

thedogphilosopher

Second best moment of the day: the end of the same 2014 interview with Jim Sillars and Ian (Bayonet) Davidson. Sarah Smith winding up by asking JS about the tone of the campaign so far, and how to bring people together post-18th.

Jim shrugs, mentions egg throwing, death threats, insults, Murphy and the Blame Game, all part of the hustings he says … 30 seconds later the two of them are going at it hammer and tongs … Davidson makes sarky face and comment about flying pigs (“secret pot of oil at the end of the rainbow”), Jim loses rag: ” …you are intellectually bankrupt …”

Meanwhile, Sarah tries to calm things down: “Quiet both of ye!”, she barks.

Superb entertainment.

manandboy

The Guardian DrDel 09 September 2014 7:17pm

The vote in Scotland is as much about a rejection of Anglo-Saxon neoliberalism as it is about self-determination.

Scotland has the potential to rewrite the consensus on equality, fairness and social justice across the whole UK if it votes Yes.
It is by no means inevitable that crushing inequality and hopelessness are the norm from now till eternity.

I am English and I say, Go for it Scotland!

Now is your chance for change.

Show us that it can be done and, HOPEFULLY, we’ll follow too.

liz

@Lesley-Ann and @Thepnr – exactly why do they think this is news to us.

You begin to realise just how inept these folk are -they get promoted thro the old boys -Bullingdon Club – network and not because they are brighter than the rest of us.

Thepnr

@Les Wilson

Sums it up perfectly at this time. Well done Yew Choob, I love it.

Stevie boy

Les Wilson

Thanks for that post. Put a wee smile on my face before bed 🙂

Lesley-Anne

I think you may be right Jim regarding the currency union.

I think I’m reaching the point now however where they have had all this time to get their fingers oot their ears and thumb oot their earse. I’m kinda secretly thinking, oops looks like it’s no longer a secret 😉 , that if they stick to their position then when it comes to financial discussions they will be there on their knees begging AS for currency union and he just turns round to them and says NUTS!

“We offered you CU and you said no we kept the offer open up till 18th you still said no so guess what I’M saying no now … BYE!” 😛

“you are intellectually bankrupt …”

That has to be THE statement of the debate so far I reckon TDP. 😛

kininvie

The referendum thingy has moved into a new phase down south today. Panic is being replaced by grief

link to theguardian.com

link to blogs.spectator.co.uk

Having basically ignored the whole business until a week ago, the whole of the London establishment and commentariat now seem to be treating the referendum as lost (whatever the result).

We have yet to win the actual vote on the ground (and I personally am sparing neither sweat nor sleep to do so, as are many thousands of others)

But their morale has gone.

“The opportunity to secure ourselves against defeat lies in our own hands, but the opportunity of defeating the enemy is provided by the enemy himself. – Sun Tzu

Thepnr

@liz

I am as guilty as many I suspect who post here of being totally ignorant of the ineptitude of those we elect to govern us, until now.

This referendum has awoken tens of thousands in Scotland if not more to what is going on. Well I for for have had enough and that’s why I’m fighting for change.

We will win not by bullets or bombs but by spreading the truth to our fellow Scots. The Bullingdon will be consigned to history.

We can do better, a lot better by voting Yes.

liz

@ben madigan – That made me feel really emotional – well that plus several glasses of wine.

We are part of a historical movement – this is amazing.

Thepnr

@kininvie

But their morale has gone.

Who is this your talking about? Not us I hope?

It’s their arse that has collapsed, we see that with our own eyes.

Onwards and upwards, the goal is in sight and I for one won’t be letting up.

liz

The Gordon brown article mentioning his dead daughter is now on the Herald – I almost feel sorry for the man, he can’t be well.

Jeanne Freedman destroyed this nonsense on the Andrew Neil show – also Labour MPs are saying the same in London.

This has to stop, it’s like watching someone you thought you knew fall apart in front of your eyes.

Deontas

Top post Ben M @ 12:11am!!! Cheers

Thepnr @ 12:27am So true, wise words that sums it up for me also, totally scunnered with the current “set up”, bring on the new era in life.

Ian Brotherhood

@kininvie –

Thanks for the links.

This leaps out:

‘London has reneged on its agreement to honour a policy purdah.’

It certainly has!

Why have no broadcast journalists (so far as I’m aware at any rate) bothered to point this out? And why aren’t Yes Scotland kicking up hell about it?

Hey mister, it’s all rhetorical – these questions are not yours to answer.

I’m sure we’re all looking forward to hearing Darling, Brown, Miliband, Clegg, Cameron, Lamont, Davidson, Rennie etc providing voluminous answers in interviews, five years hence, (when they’re being paid £2,000 cash by HistoryChannel for their testimony) – it will be delicious to watch them establish a pecking-order as and when such revisionism is demanded.

William taylor

Front page of Daily Record today
24 page ultimate guide to help you choose

Do not want to give them any money but would love to see whats in it

Patrician

In the BBC debriefing session after the interview I bet someone got one hell of a bollocking for suggesting they spoke to Mr Cox.

o/t. I feel sorry for the two guys putting the saltire up over Downing Street, the conversation probably went like this,

1. “Fuck it, i told you that wasn’t how you attach a flag, it has fallen down now”
2. “Don’t worry it will be OK, no one will have noticed it”
1. “yeah, you are right, who would be paying any attention to this”

Thepnr

@Patrician

Nobody much, just the entire world that can afford a telly 🙂

Lesley-Anne

Oops!

Another one bites the dust! It would appear that another former NO supporting individual has jumped ship and is now supporting YES. 😉

link to newsnetscotland.com

Lesley-Anne

Sorry folks just found this on my partner’s Facebook page. Apparently Google carried out a consumer survey and here are the results. 😉

link to facebook.com

Does this mean we can call it THREE polls in a row showing YES ahead? 😛

Chic McGregor

Am I alone in hearing ‘Kosovo’ rather than ‘Catalunya’ here?

And therefore Spain rather than Serbia?

Not that it changes, bizarrely enough, much of the validity of the ensuing diatribe.

Robert Peffers

I said it years ago and see no reason to change what I said. All these international organisations that the present bipartite United Kingdom belongs to have one thing in common. They are all in the business of bringing as many countries, states or kingdoms together for mutual benefit.

So why would any of them take sides with one part of a disuniting entity? All any of them needs do is tell both former partners that they are continuity members who need to renegotiate their terms. Thus the organisations retain their raisons d’être, their integrity. And their list of members.

Furthermore, they all have good reason to do so. NATO needs Scottish Territorial waters to protect the The North Atlantic Gap so will beg Scotland to remain a member. The EU needs Scottish fishing grounds and natural resources. For UN see NATO. None of them wants a hostile Scotland and that includes the three country Kingdom of England.

Wee Alex

Just heading off to beddie byes. Can someone wake me up when the love bombing starts.

Lesley-Anne

I think there is a phrase going round in my head Robert, currently rather scrambled, that backs you up exactly. 😉

“head the nail the on hit” 😛

manandboy

So the big 3 are coming to Scotland tomorrow.

Oblivious to the fact that their credibility
has been shredded and flushed into the sewer.

They’ll be laughed at and ignored.

Someone should tell them, but won’t, for fear of losing their job – like wee Dougie Alexander, who is betraying not only his country, but his political masters as well.

I wonder if the big 3 have any idea of what is actually happening, not just in Scotland, but throughout the UK.

The old politics is past it’s sell-by date and people are now looking for a new way of running the country – a way that isn’t built on self-serving corruption, lies and criminality.

As for Gordon Brown, Britain’s worst PM for over a century.
The man who presided over the Crash in 2007 and then, with his chancellor Darling, proceeded to do more damage to the UK economy than Al Quaeda could have accomplished in a hundred years.

Is the old corrupt UK/Westminster politics over?

Vote YES and be done with it.

Chic McGregor

Yes I am alone because I just relistened to it and he was talking of Spain’s lack of recognition of Kosovo correctly.
My brain freeze, sorry.

kininvie

@thepnr

No, not us you t**t. Them!

Them smart-arsed journalists and wine-bar imbibers and them people with mobiles growing from their ears, and them literati and them arty types with their fingers on the pulse (or so they tell their friends)and them gossipers in the expensive eateries around Whitehall and Victoria.

A couple of polls (still winnable) and their morale has been shattered. That’s all it took.

We’ve had two years and more to grow a pair (plus whatever the female equivalent is) and we’ve learned to stand up to hard pounding.

But they haven’t, and now they have morally collapsed. So, even if we lose – which we won’t – we’ve won, because they have now realised what the people are telling them – that the union is dead and almost buried.

Thepnr

Just a heads up.

There is a chance to meet up, swap stories and generally have a wee get together before the referendum this Saturday in Invergowrie on the outskirts of Dundee.

Locals will know the way, for out of towners trains do stop there but only at certain times. Transport though has been arranged to take all from the town centre and back again. For free of course.

If you fancy coming and meeting some that fell just like you then see Brian DoontheToons post at 9:08 pm over on Off Topic here:

link to wingsoverscotland.com

kininvie

Oh, and it appears that the 3 desperados will travel separately, appear separately, speak separately.

Wonder if it might be a good opportunity for the Yes campaign to gather all its groups together to show its unity?

Well, possibly. Let’s see, eh?

Lesley-Anne

We all know that the THREE Stooges are arriving in Scotland later today but I think I’ve just found the anthem for Farage the Mirage’s wee shindig on Friday. 😉

link to tinyurl.com

Thepnr

@kininvie

The union is dead no matter what now. We are only voting on what to do with the corpse. Let’s bury it, and build things anew.

Vote Yes.

Thepnr

Sky News preview just mentioned Salmonella and then “this lot up there” who is this stuff aimed at? Don’t they know we get TV up here? Fucking dope.

R-type Grunt

I saw a brilliant comment on Facebook earlier…

“There is a fourth horsemen, he is called Boris and he rideth his horse backwards. :-)”

Alex Hunter.

Kevin Evans

Can I suggest we put George Galloway on trial before the BBC?

bookie from hell

Just watched a taped Scotland 2014

the three unionists seemed very somber,probably realising the proposals they are offering might not be good enough to save the union

what was laughable is when they said reaching consensus on calman was easy,didn’t say the proposals Weren’t implemented.

Sillars calling late intervention a dead duck,cheered me up

Ken500

Westminster Unionist should be in jail for fraud, dishonesty, corruption killing their own citizens and people worldwide. They are totally undemocratic greedy Fraudsters who are above the Law. Along with their associates. The only reason they join a rancid political party is for greedy personal gain.

Semi democracy only was achieved in Scotland in tbe year 2000 and these corrupt charlatans will not prevent full democracy in Scotland ever again. People in Scotland have fought too long and too hard for it.

The only UK (non Scottish) Press reports that shown any truth are Billy Bragg, John Harris and George Mondoit of the Guardian. The only paper with any freedom of editorial in Britain. The main stream (anti Scottish) Press reports are garbage.

Ken500

The EU are democrats. Westminster are garbage.

The EU Union and the UK Union are totally different, and are not comparable. Different aims and affiliations. EU Union is a small contribution which comes back for beneficial reasons. The UK Union is secret government, lies corruption and taxes Scotland at a higher rate. UK Union taxes Scotland heavily for Westminster corruption and lies. Westminster taxes Scotland twice for Westminster corruption.

Marker Post

An entity that calls itself “Better Together”, yet they can’t afford to appear “together” on the same platform?

Has any interviewer asked them why?

Tattie-bogle

any links to jim sillars filleting davidson?
also what was darling twating on about the snp never turned up to vote against the bedroom tax absolute choker

Clootie

tatie-bogle

A vote that was brought forward and called/closed early plus a delayed flight from Scotland.
Opportunism once again by the WM.crowd.

Roll_On_2014

Tattie-bogle: at 5:37 am

any links to jim sillars filleting davidson?
also what was darling twating on about the snp never turned up to vote against the bedroom tax absolute choker

Jim Sillars Starts about 13.50 minutes in.

I think all the 90 NuLabour MPs, being sent up to Scotland, have been briefed about the bedroom tax jobby so we have to be ready to kick erse.

Calgacus

…………………./´¯/)
………………..,/¯../
………………./…./
…………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
……..(‘(…´…´…. ¯~/’…’)
………\……………..’…../
……….”…\………. _.·´
…………\…………..(
…………..\………….\…Go home Westminster bastards. For you the war is over

Roll_On_2014

Interesting Brown cartoon in the Indy

Ken500

Wesminster voting against the Bedroom tax. That will be te day. Another lie. A publicity stunt by the Westmnster crooks. Just another chance for them to lie and fill their boots. Darling the millionaire (on public expenses) tax evader. Darling doesn’t have a vote in the Referendum. He lives in London.

john king

Snode1965 say
“Ponsenby toying with darling right now on stv. Anyone old enough to remember max headroom?”

Thepnr says
“Just ignore it and it will stop whining!”

But– but– but, its pissing up our back Alex! 😉

Patrician says
“1. “Fuck it, i told you that wasn’t how you attach a flag, it has fallen down now”
2. “Don’t worry it will be OK, no one will have noticed it”
1. “yeah, you are right, who would be paying any attention to this”

All said in perfect queens English , they’ll be Poles then? 🙂

that image of thje Saltire falling off the flag pole will be an iconic image for many years to come, “THE DAY THE UNION ENDED”

john king

cearc says
“I roared with laughter when I read your comment.”

Thanks cearc
I was begining to think my brand of irony was just too “opaque” for some tastes. 🙂

heedtracker

GOOOD morning Vietnam, I mean Scotland:D

link to dailymail.co.uk

“But I suspect that this supine response to Salmond’s lies will be the final straw for most English, Welsh and Northern Irish voters.
The English, especially, will wonder why our leaders feel the need to suck up to a nation that sponged off our largesse consistently over the past 307 years, yet is still not satisfied.”

Pip Pip England.

Ken500

Sanctioning people and cutting off benefits is akin to murder of the citizens by Westminster in the 21Century wealthy country. Along with the millions killed in the (illegal) invasions of other countries. Westminster members and their associates, lie and secretly (illegally) steal and waste £Billions of public money. Tory bankers etc who fund these corrupt Parties tax evade £Billions with immunity, and lack of prosecution.

Immigrants come to Britain, because they can speak English, and Westminster and associates (illegally) invade their countries. The corrupt US/UK governments (illegally), destroyed the world banking order. Immigrants go to these countries UK/US, because they can speak English, and corrupt UK/US gov (illegally and secretly) destroyed the world banking order.

caz-m

Does anyone know where these three Westminster halfwits are going to be today.

I would especially like to give Cameron a good Scottish welcome.

Please post any info of there timetable on Wings.

Ken500

Simon Heffer is a liar. Gets paid handsomely to lie by crooked tax evading liars.

Ken500

Simon Heffer can’t count or read a balance sheet and is a racist,

Paula Rose

Well I’m 99% certain the wee three will not be showing in Brechin.

Ken500

Simon Heffer in no way a spokesperson for English people. Delusioned.

john king

Edward says
“I find it frankly amazing that the media, especially certain newspapers call for the Queen to intervene.”

I agree, if she had come out in favour of the union she would have Guaranteed that she would have been the last monarch of Scotland,

I still think she should be btw.

Paula Rose

My dearest friend is on a short sojourn in Paris, she emails me:

Everyone – eg berber resident (neighbour), jewish coffee bar lady, her customers, falafel man (morroccan?) etc etc : ” vous votez que?” I say ” je votez OUI”.They clap their hands and say ” of course- c’est bon!”.

But yes- seriously the minute they discover you are scottish – this is the immediate question- people not only are very aware- they are genuinely interested, sadly, not the case à londres… People, lovely as they are, are simply not aware, knowledgeable nor particularly interested – or if they are, they are all very shy to talk about it + a bit embarrassed ‘cos they just don’t know anything about it. Of course, they have DELIBERATELY not been informed.

heedtracker

The whole world thinks Scotland is wonderful country and can’t even begin to understand why Scotland is reigned over by England.

We’ll be welcomed back with global applause and if that puts England’s nose out of joint, too bad.

ronnie anderson

@Paula Rose in the case of londres s they are being de_ frocked,they will only notice when a Cappchino costs double the price,water cannons on the london streets to cool the masses during this freek heatwave,so says the BBC.

ronnie anderson

And Jim Reeves sung that wonderfull song Adios Amegos Adios my Friend you,s ate your Bannana’s everything must end.

ronnie anderson

These so called constitutional experts ( on the unritten constatution ) say its not easy to disentangle the Union, thats the laws made by Westminster without the consent of the Scottish people,& it would take years to get Scottish Independance they dont realise that its All Change we dont need to employ the politics of Westminster we make our own Rules.

T222Deracha

Yay! The Three Amigos are coming to Scotland to tell us the Emperor DOES have new clothes and is riding a golden unicorn!

Paula Rose

Oh dear – poor John Major, send him a wee blue book someone!

Tackety Beets

GMS , Darling getting a we grilling at last ! What a change Haley !

heedtracker

1 week to go! Im going to miss all this. See Brown weeps for his NHS, his eye and his, well lets not go there, only desperate desperate political crooks go where Crash went yesterday.

What a 70 year right to reign over you Scots Labour end of empire. Those demolished towers in Govan and Red Road are a great start.

Famous15

Darling refuses to say what powers are coming. He is blustering more powers but all we will get is burdens . No oil tax,no vat a fraction of other taxes. It is all a con.

David

naw just a light toasting 🙁

Fiona

Just listening to John Major on R4. If I am to be patronised to this extent I prefer if it is done by something a little further up the food chain of intelligence

Juteman

Darling repeating his ‘1,000,000 jobs depend on the union’ bollocks on GMS. No challenge from the presenter.
I hope a caller brings this up.

Bugger (the Panda)

John Major is so out of touch.

Hasn’t a clue.

heedtracker

How empires end

link to archive.today

Gordon Brown cites daughter’s death, partial blindness as he vows: I’ll nail SNP lie over NHS

Fiona

@ heedtracker

That will be why we are being told tbe new powers will enable the SG to defend the NHS, then? Cos there is no threat to it at all?

Findlay Farquaharson

so sweet listening to the desperate rantings of alistair darling. Does it make me a bad person that i am enjoying the downfall of this negative miserable man?

Robert Peffers

Now! Now! Folks. With the BEEB in full hunting mode, like a pack of baying (news)hounds there has been a plethora of similes for the invasion of Scotland by the three Westminster party leaders.

The Three Stooges, The Three Amigos, The Naegood, The Afu bad and the Plug Ugly and, of course, Walt Disney’s, “The Three Caballeros”, (For you young folks – these three):-

link to amazon.fr

But for my money it has to be, “Bad things come in threes”.

Stats: 6,657 Posts, 1,199,543 Comments

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()