The same old tricks

Posted on January 16, 2025 by

Way back in the day, the Lib Dems in particular, but also other parties and the “Better Together” campaign, were infamous for the “dodgy barchart” tactic.

And so degraded is the modern SNP, it’s now scraping the same barrel.

Here’s a graphic the party’s MSPs have been tweeting this week, made up to look like it came from the polling company Survation:

And here’s the tragic reality from Survation’s website:

That’s politics, of course. So far so casually, cynically dishonest. Business as usual. But what’s (very) mildly interesting about it is the way the SNP have bigged up Anas Sarwar in it. Their graphic suggests he’s the second-least-unpopular leader, when in fact he’s even LESS popular than Russell Findlay and Alex Cole-Hamilton.

A Scottish Labour leader being less popular than even the Tories’ would be something you might expect the SNP to want to make a bit of capital out of. Unless, of course, there was some reason they wanted to go easy on Labour.

Subscribe
Notify of

100 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Morag Frame

Stroking Sarwar! SNP already making plans to be in coalition with labour, after the 2026 election? Shame on them.

Muscleguy

Not to mention Lorna Slater of the Greens doing the same thing.

Nae Need!

Sneaky with the graphic, eh.
For the consummate liars that they clearly are, I’m surprised, and a tad disappointed, that Swinney is still viewed so favourably. Only minus 1.
I fully understand how Harvie/Slater get minus 18 and are viewed the LEAST favourably, but Swinney should, based on his track record, be closer to minus 18. And why is Ash Regan viewed so badly? Weird.
The NuSNP have been sooking up to SLab for ages – nauseating, obsequious-ness – ‘Choose us, choose us, we won’t steal the duvet and hog all the pillows, kiss kiss’.

Mark Beggan

The Nolan sisters. Hands up who was turned on in a very nice way by these Irish beauties. Ok hands down.

Parachute Boy is being groomed.

twathater

It would be interesting to run a survey asking voters if they would prefer having an STD instead of ANY of these fuckwits

What a collection of imbeciles and LIARS

Young Lochinvar

When the sun of politics is low even dwarves cast shadows..

Alibi

I don’t see that bar chart as showing anything of the kind. Clearly Sarwar is far more unpopular than Swinney and Findlay as the bar chart shows. That’s hardly going easy on Sarwar. Not often I disagree with WoS but in this case I do. Maybe if the chart was in black and white it would be clearer…

Owen Mullions

Look again

sarah

It’s the photo that has Sarwar second [the bar chart is correct].

duncanio

I saw this reported elsewhere in a nominally pro-Independence website by a nominally pro-Independence blogger.

I pointed out that all of the leaders/branch managers of parties in Scotland were in negative territory and as such was hardly a ringing endorsement of political discourse in Scotland.

Cue silence.

TenV

Seems as if they have fallen in step with Colonialising England now. Taking turns at being in Gov and then pointing the finger of blame (pretendy) Chuckle Brothers’ From me to you You to me’
Let Labour take stick for a wee while, hoping we forget their betrayals eh?

Vivian O’Blivion

The John Smith Centre introduced its Parliamentary Interns for 2025 this week (they weren’t the worst bunch they’ve produced). One was in her third year at the University of Glasgow doing a degree in Politics & Theatre Studies. After overcoming my initial outrage at such a preposterous course title, on reflection, it makes perfect sense. Actual performance and competency is sooo 1970’s. Perception is the only game in town.

Willie

Labour and the SNP are two cheeks from the same are.

British establishment parties supporting a neo liberal agenda. The SNP now, and indeed for some time habe been fully in the Better Together camp.

And that’s it folks. Game over. Enjoy your fuel poverty, your declining standards, and all wrapped up with the eradication of Scotland as anything more than an English region.

The SNP sold out and soon Swinney, Surgeon and the rest of the sell out brigade wi ride off into the sunset well pensioner up.

100%Yes

People are so fed up with politics and being lied to that the general public don’t know who to trust. For me it has to be said that politics in the last century was a better place to be, so what’s happened? It would have been unthinkable in the last century to be making someone acquaintance by sticking your longest finger into a fellow MP arse or to be looking at porn on a free Ipad with another 649 MP’s watching and not blinking a eyelid.

The funny thing is in the last century we used to look at Westminster as a joke and think at least in Scotland our MSP’s are a bit better you can no longer say that, if anything the SNP has brought our parliament right down to the sewer Its not that Swinney popularity is great its that who do you trust and who do you vote for. John Swinney hasn’t changed the party’s fortunes its that Labour down south is abysmal and the general public are picking up on it. The real test is when there’s a by-election and what the turn out is and here is were the SNP voting number are so low if I was John Swinney I’d be worried but I’m not John Swinney and I’m also not a moron.

I don’t pay attention to polls on any subject as its all down to the question your being asked because if you put the right phrase into the question you’ll get the answer you want every time.

For starters, I don’t under any circumstances call Labour Scottish we should get out of saying that all together there British Labour, end off.

Nae Need!

“For me it has to be said that politics in the last century was a better place to be, so what’s happened?”

I agree.
As to what’s happened, I think a veritable panoply (and this is by no means an exhaustive list) of very cynical thinking/behaviour, rampant greed & self interest, the promotion of deviancy, a gang mentality has ensured what appears to be a frantic race to the bottom.

Our elected representatives are supposed to be the BEST of us.

They now appear to be the WORST of us in increasingly greater numbers.

Last edited 1 day ago by Nae Need!
100%Yes

They have absolutely no interest in Politics or their constituency never mind their Country its all about the free bar, food and the wage and pension and the best of all the french benefits that comes with the JOB its so overwhelming they’ll say and do anything to keep the lifestyle up. This is the reason why Scotland isn’t Independent and why Sturgeon is the Messiah. Look at the clip of Kate Forbes that was posted by Wings the other day she was Window Dressing John Swinney arese and she look as untidy in her appearance. I going to be honest If I had to pick and I only had two options of the next leader between Sturgeon and Forbes trust me it would be a hard choice, Forbes is in it for the money and I would trust her with my Country never mind a rotten party like the SNP.

100%Yes

Anyone for a finger, hold your arse up.

Chocolatefingerssq-458844625
Ross

Eekies for Swinney is actually a pretty good result I’d say given everything.

Definitely get the impression he’s no William Wallace but a safe pair of hands.

Anthem

He didn’t dimiss fracking in Scotland today at FM’s questions.
Safe pair of hands? Yer arse!

sarah

Safe for whom? Not for those who want good governance nor those wishing Scotland to be out of the Union.

Ross

Long way to go but SNP might actually end up winning again haha.
Labour are awful.
Just show you how things can change.
SNP actually do quite well when Labour are in govt as people can remember how terrible they were.
Polling showing pro indy majority isn’t totally off the cards according to survation

I’d rather see SNP out and rise back from opposition but if they maintain an independence majority again… that would be a turn up

twathater

Ross I see your promoting snp as usual , what I do not understand is how can you seriously believe that anyone within the snp is actually working FOR independence, how can you forgive and forget the BLATANT BETRAYAL of sturgeon,useless and now swinney towards Scotland and Scots

Are you, like them quite happy to accept devolution , how many broken promises , lies and corruption are you willing to accept b4 it registers that they are taking the piss out of you and your fellow apologists ,FFS Pete wishfart OPENLY BOASTS about being 20+ years in WM , to any SANE person a person who was elected to sever ties with WM and gain Scotland’s independence boasting about his 20+ years in the heart of WM must realise that that fuckwit is maybe not trying hard enough or he is really ripping the serious pish

Nae Need!

Every word of this. Total agreement.

ross

I may not vote for the SNP.
Sturgeon did us wrong going to court without plan to carry through the defacto vote.

But.. I think they decided the defacto vote should be played at a more opportune time.

Like it or lump it, I don’t think even all yes supporters were totally up for another vote ..not to mention the rest of the country which would be needed to gain legitimacy.

100%Yes

Sturgeon’s intentions were clear, stop independence. Her favorite colour is red and its betrayal she had in mind and treachery in her heart. Theresa May was weak but she knew how to scare Sturgeon. God, I hope Peter tells all, go on peter shows us all you’re a better man than your ex-wife.

Nae Need!

I’m not sure what website you think you are on, but I can tell you this: you’re on the wrong one if that’s the best you can do.

At least our ‘3 Jokers of the Union’ know full well what shit they’re peddling. And where.

Ross

I’ll give my opinion. You can disagree with it or not.

Nae Need!

True dat.

Andy

Horrible thought, but maybe the policy of deliberating for ever over whether to bring any charges in Op Branchform, is actually working.

Muscleguy

Well SLab was nice enough to abstain so the SNP could get their budget through. So a dry run in semi cooperation there.

100%Yes

Asar wanted to keep is JOB that’s the only reason.

Kit Bee

No such thing as SLab only BLab!!

Muscleguy

And Ash Regan is only the party leader at Holyrood by default as she is Alba’s only representative now.

Nae Need!

I was unsure what was going on there. I am clearly running off old data, but last I knew Kenny was interim Leader of Alba . . . so what’s been happening?

duncanio

Ash Regan is only the party leader at Holyrood

Kenny MacAskill is interim party leader … but not in the chamber … as he’s not elected to it.

Nae Need!

Thanks for explaining.

I’m not a party member so don’t get the full bhuna, I only get occasional emails from Alba as someone who has previously donated.

Nae Need!

And just in case Stu is wondering if we are all myopic, yes, the opening bar graph is quite something 🙂
96 season tickets of a difference, and the red bar is almost double in size to the pale blue one.

They’ve got a book out: ‘How to lie in bar graphs for dummies’.

And this would be quite funny if the NuSNP weren’t at it too.

Corrado Mella

That Ash Regan has a worse rating than the “leaders” of the BritNazi Establishment parties is the clincher I needed.
This country is populated by imbeciles and doesn’t deserve independence nor my efforts
To hell with it.
I’m upping sticks.

Nae Need!

Where you going? Can I come too?

Ross

Independence is supported by nearly half the population. It’s just not a priority for many. And the rest.. 20% , bringing it upto 70% or so who would accept a yes vote even if they disagreed with it… aren’t convinced we need one right now.
It’ll come again but will be a good number of years.
The SNP can’t force people to vote one way or the other. It’s into the people.

Nae Need!

Are you Ross Greer? I claim my £10.

Anthem

Damned! You beat me to it.

Andy Anderson

Very defeatist Ross. The last two polls put independence at 54%. The reason the media is not talking about it is because it is they, not the people that have no interest. People are talking about it. Obviously not in your circle of acquaintances. I can understand your views if you are an SNP or unionist supporter.

gregor

They are up:

UPSIDEDOWNUP
Cynicus

PICTS!

Where is Alf when you need him!?

Southernbystander

How many ordinary Scots would side with those who use phrases like ‘BritNazi Establishment parties’ do you think?

Al Harron

Now wait a damned minute. Why is the poll listing Ash Regan as leader when Kenny McAskill is acting interim leader, & was previously Depute Leader? It explicitly says “Scottish party leaders,” not “Holyrood group representatives.”

Nae Need!

I have asked a similar Q, Al, check up thread. I too was puzzled by this.

G m

Point taken about the graphs but how in gods name does Regan, wrongly placed alongside party leaders, rank as low as that? I would be surprised if could form that negative an opinion of Regan given that she doesn’t get much coverage in the press. If they did know about her the punters would almost certainly rate her more highly than that. Unless the trans lobby dominate Survation polling this particular poll doesnae convince

Mia

“this particular poll doesnae convince”

Absolutely. My thoughts exactly.

But I guess it all depends on the pool of people they selected to conduct the poll.

If you look at the comments in “The National”, the hate for Alba among some of the most fervent SNP supporters is visceral and tribalist to the extreme, nothing to do with her abilities or the reasons as to why she left the SNP.

Those people appear incapable to look at Ash, Kenny and Neil beyond their short-sighted perception that they betrayed the SNP instead of the reality that has been facing the rest of us since the political fraud Sturgeon took over: Ash, Neil and Kenny, and actually the entire of Scotland, were deliberately betrayed by a disembowelled SNP which whose leadership has unilaterally surrendered the party’s raison d’etre to become a useless and toothless copy cat of labour and a political vehicle to frustrate, rather than facilitate, Scotland’s independence.

But, to me, the really odd thing about the poll is the ranking of Swinney. Goodness me. The man has all the charms and brings as much inspiration as a bucket of cold sick. So bad that his handlers could’t even afford to expose him to a leadership contest. He was simply parachuted to the post.

It is well known Swinney is at the heart of the suppression of information from the public on industrial scale, so his title “honest John” has been debunked as a total misnomer. In addition to this, his “high” popularity ranking compared with other party “leaders” does not tally at all with the tremendous hammering the SNP got at the last general election when he was at the helm.

So, to be honest, I think the “high” ranking he was given in that poll is even less believable than the low ranking given to Ash and to me, what is completely at odds with public opinion.

My impression is that this poll was conducted among a substantial majority of SNP voters and among those, a large proportion must have been devolutionists and fervent loyalists to the political fraud Sturgeon. I wonder how many of the 500 – 700 thousand pro independence voters who did not cast a vote at the last GE were part of that pool.

Last edited 16 hours ago by Mia
Alf Baird

Yes Mia, some people seem to forget the SNP were given several nationalist majorities yet still insist on asking permission from our kindly oppressor to liberate the people.

It was the SNP who opted to become a colonial administration and take the people up a blind alley.

And it was the SNP who ruptured the independence movement.

Much as postcolonial theory confirms:

link to yoursforscotlandcom.wordpress.com

Aidan

Worth pointing out that the only election which a majority of votes have been cast for pro-independence parties was 2015 and that election was not run on the basis of Indyref2 or UDI. In the 2017 election (which was run on Indyref2) pro independence parties didn’t even get 40% of the vote.

Mia

That election was not “run on the basis of indiref 2 or independence” because the political fraud Sturgeon announced it just a couple of months before the election. But the liar did not change the constitution of the party, so how many people actually knew they were not voting for independence? I bet that it would be less than half of those who cast a vote for the SNP.

The polls released from the end October 2014 were already projecting the mother of all landslides for the SNP and above 50 MPs. Those polls were conducted BEFORE the political fraud Sturgeon announced that a vote for the SNP was no longer a vote for independence. Therefore, it is safe to conclude that those projections were obtained on the basis that those completing the poll thought the SNP would still be the party of independence in the upcoming GE.

What this tells us is that the political fraud Sturgeon actively intervened to remove the teeth of the SNP in April 2-15 to stop the end of the union, which should have happened, if not in 2015, when that political fraud was in control of absolute majorities both in HOlyrood and Westminster, at least in 2016 after the EU ref vote demonstrated England and Scotland were pursuing diametrically opposing and incompatible political paths.

The UK union only remains standing today because the political fraud Sturgeon, Youseless and Mr black pen Swinney abused their positions of power in the SNP to directly betray the yes movement and frustrate its raison d’etre.

And that is why democracy does not exist in the UK and will never exist for as long as the will of Scotland continues to be suppressed. Every political party that has been in power since September 2014 has done so through deception.

Labour got a majority of Scotland’s MP seats with the backing from less than 23% of the Scottish electorate. Compare that paltry figure to that of 41% which is the proportion of the electorate in Scotland who did not cast a vote and which you could interpret as “none of the above”, or a rejection to the current political system. When you actually pay attention to that 41% figure, does that 23% backing labour really sound like “the majority”, never mind a democratic mandate from “Scotland”?

It only does if you ignore democracy.

Aidan

Why would you interpret a choice not to vote as a rejection of the political system? It’s more likely as a result of disinterest or knowledge that the Tories would be booted out regardless. Claiming the “didn’t votes” as a “vote for my point of view” is the classic losers argument.

The other part of your analysis that doesn’t stand up to any scrutiny is this. If you look at all of the public statements SNP politicians were making after the referendum, they were acknowledging that they had lost and were not promising an immediate rerun. I think it’s very clear that a lot of those who voted SNP in 2015 did so because they liked the Salmond government and saw the issue of independence as having been put to bed (and therefore not an issue). In your version of events it’s inexplicable that so many people would desert the SNP between 2015 and 2017, when the SNP explicitly put Indyref2 back on the table for 2017! If a majority of Scottish people wanted independence and saw it as a priority, why would they then abandon the party that was explicitly offering it, in many cases in favour of the Tories!

Anthem

What a load of twaddle! Make it up as you go along why don’t you.

Mia

“Why would you interpret a choice not to vote as a rejection of the political system?”

Choosing not to vote is the result of a combination of factors: illness, indecision, apathy, disenfranchisement and, in the absence of the option “none of the above”, the most obvious option to show your reject for the political system and your intention of not engaging with it.

“It’s more likely as a result of disinterest”

I disagree.The SNP lost over 500,000 voters from 2019 to 2024. 700,000 if you compare 2019 with 2015. Those votes have not gone anywhere. Turnout in GE 2024 for Scotland was 59%. Turnout in GE 2019 was 68.1%. In GE 2015, turnout was 71.1%. That is a drop of almost 10%. That drop is not the result of “disinterest”. It is the result of despair and disenfranchisement.

“In your version of events it’s inexplicable that so many people would desert the SNP between 2015 and 2017, when the SNP explicitly put Indyref2 back on the table for 2017”

It is perfectly explicable, unless you choose to look at it from a myopic perspective:

The political fraud Sturgeon had wasted the previous 2 years of a 56 majority doing absolutely nothing to progress independence. By then, many SNP supporters became disappointed and had realised she was just playing for the gallery.The political fraud Sturgeon is on record claiming in May 2017 that “The SNP would try to form an alliance with other parties to pursue “progressive policies” if the general election results in a hung Parliament”. If what you are after is independence and expect to get a majority, you do not form “alliances” with colonial parties. This put off many people because it indicated that all what she was after is to play Westminter politics. In April 2017 she had claimed “This will be – more than ever before – an election about standing up for Scotland in the face of a rightwing, austerity-obsessed Tory government with no mandate in Scotland but which now thinks it can do whatever it wants and get away with it.” You do not need to be Einstein to realise from those comments and similar ones that her intention was just to play in the system, not pursuing independence.There were several articles published in April 2017 stating: “Last week, the First Minister (Sturgeon) said the election was “not about independence or about another referendum”. For those SNP voters who had been paying attention, these words would bring an uncomfortable deja vu to the political fraud’s words in April 2015. Clearly, she was not putting “indyref” back on the table, just the illusion of it to ensure a electoral victory. Examples of those articles are “SNP denies split over general election’s impact on independence vote”, published by The Guardian on 30 April 2017 and “General Election about backing Scottish parliament, says Alex Salmond”, published by The Herald on 30 April 2017. These articles, and others, attempted to show a disagreement between Sturgeon and Mr Salmond with regards to the progression towards independence. Mr Salmond was showing signs of becoming impatient, just like the rest of us, quite frankly.Her first request for an independence referendum to the uK gov had been rejected. Her 2017 “Strategy” did not include anything other than keep begging for a referendum to the UK government until they caved in (only to happen in her imagination, of course). By then, it was obvious to many that such “strategy” was leading to absolutely nowhere because the UK government would continue to say no forever and there was nothing stopping them doing so. By then, handing over such veto to the UK government was seen as a betrayal to Scotland’s sovereignty.
All the above was reaffirmed when the political fraud almost fell over herself running to use the result of the GE2017 as an excuse to immediately shelf indyref2 and closing the crowdfund. And this despite the fact that the result was still an absolute majority for nationalist MPs.

It was beyond obvious by then that she had colluded with the establishment to use the GE as a tool to halt independence. Some people realised of that AFTER the election. But the drop in turnout from 71% in 2015 to 63% in 2017 suggests many more realised of her intentions well before then.

Last edited 11 hours ago by Mia
Andy Anderson

Your analysis is spot on Mia. Sadly many live in. cloud cuckoo land or are simply not paying attention.

Aidan

But again, going back to my earlier point. The 2015 election manifesto did not say that the SNP would use a majority of seats or votes as a mandate for Indyref2, and the public comments from SNP politicians prior to 2015 was that they had lost the referendum and were acknowledging that and working on governing Scotland within the devolution settlement. I can understand that some independence supporters felt frustrated that more progress wasn’t being made despite the huge majority, but ultimately the SNP actions aligned to their pre-election promises. Contrast that with 2017, the SNP were now very clearly promising Indyref2 in the aftermath of the Brexit vote. Both in the media and in their manifesto. I cannot honestly fathom how a thinking person who supported and prioritised independence at that point could decide not to vote SNP that time round and/or vote for a unionist party. You might be cynical about whether the SNP would do enough with a mandate given the opposition from the U.K. government, but the risk/reward calculation still massively favours voting SNP. The fact that people didn’t shows that there was a significant unionist component in the SNP’s vote that wanted an SNP government but not independence, hence the 14% drop in support.

If you think I’m wrong, then answer me this: what better option existed in 2017 for an individual voter to further their support for independence?

Mia

“The 2015 election manifesto did not say that the SNP would use a majority of seats or votes as a mandate for Indyref2”

It did not have to. The political fraud did not change the first article of the constitution of the party which clearly stated what the aim of the party and reason d’etre was: to pursue independence. THAT was my expectation when I cast a vote for the party: to pursue independence through the fastest route. This union started because of the vote of a simple majority of parliamentarians. A vote to end the union by a simple majority of parliamentarians is what was needed to end it. I am sure I wasn’t the only nationalist thinking that way. I certainly voted for the party on the basis of THAT constitution, not to endorse that narcissistic idiot as leader. But then, the thought that all SNP MPs and MSPs were nothing but invertebrate amoebas without the balls to stand up to the political fraud to stop her destroying the party and betraying Scotland had not even crossed my mind.

I questioned at the time and still question today the right of a corrupt and rogue “leader” like Sturgeon to piss all over the constitution of the party in the way she did or to put it on hold for 10 effing years. She should have been expelled from the party immediately. That she wasn’t says very little of MPs and MSPs.

Her aim was and continues to be deception. The deception lies in she (or Yousaf or Sweeney) knowing they have absolutely no intention whatsoever in delivering indyref, never mind independence, but trapping yes voters into continuing to be deceived into believing they will thanks to the serious pro-independence credentials Mr Salmond had built for the party.

Look retrospectively and you quickly spot the deception and the collusion of Sturgeon and the colonial parties. She hardly ever mentioned indyref or independence, but she and her version of the SNP continued to be validated as pro-independence by the colonial parties, which were the (only?) ones actually talking about indyref and independence. It was all a game of deception. That deception continues today.

“the SNP were now very clearly promising Indyref2”

The SNP were not “promising” indyref at all. You either were not paying attention or forgot to read the small print. They were just asking for a mandate “to beg” for an indyref. Those are two completely different concepts. As I said in my previous comment, by then, many had become fed up of waiting and watching her wasting opportunities. Others had realised that “begging” was leading nowhere. Others (me included) were incensed that this idiot saw appropriate to hand over a veto over Scotland’s own sovereignty to a foreign government, which she had no right to do.

“what better option existed in 2017 for an individual voter to further their support for independence?”

In hindsight, much better options would have been to either have spoiled the ballot or not voting at all. I was late in realising of that, but the drop in turnout from 71% to 63% from 2015 to 2017 clearly suggests other independence supporters were much smarter than me at the time. I quickly wised up at the end of January 2020, though, when the political fraud embarrassed us all by delivering her infamous capitulation speech on brexit.

If what you are after is Scotland’s independence, then there is absolutely no point in continuing to cast your vote for a political party that has no intention in delivering it, or is only lukewarm to it, and the only thing it is doing is to deceive you to continue voting for them so they can keep earning big salaries at your expense. The only thing you are doing by endorsing that deception with your vote is to legitimise a political system using deception to suppress democracy and any progress towards independence.

What did we win having Sturgeon, Yousaf or Swinney as SNP leaders from 2014 to today?

NOTHING. Looking retrospectively, we should have crushed the SNP in 2017 already. After wasting 2 years of the mother of all MP majorities, it was obvious they had no intention to take us anywhere. Should we have done that and at least we would have saved ourselves having to wait until 2020 for a serious pro-independence party to emerge.

Last edited 10 hours ago by Mia
Aidan

Yes, you are technically right that the manifesto asked for a mandate to hold a second independence referendum, rather than promising directly to hold the referendum. However, let’s not forgot that that strategy had worked in 2012 with David Cameron.

Again this idea that people were “tired of waiting”. A referendum had been held in 2014, which Better Together won (albeit fairly narrowly). The direct opportunity to demand a second referendum (Brexit) only arose in June 2016, with the demand for the referendum only being made a matter of months before the 2017 election. Political commentators, politicians themselves, academics etc. were discussing at great lengths the risks Brexit posed to the union. It was a major and continual topic of discussion dominating the political landscape. Yet you want me to believe, in that context, that Theresa May’s refusal to grant a second referendum meant that large numbers of committed independence supporters decided to throw in the towel at the first hurdle, and at a critical moment, and therefore deprive the SNP of a mandate to hold that second referendum. My prediction is that if 55% of people in Scotland had voted SNP in the 2017 election, with a high turnout, I think it’s more likely than not that Scotland would be an independent country now. That was also very apparent at that time. I say that the Scottish people who stopped that from happening were unionists who had previously supported the SNP as a governing party, but did not want independence, you say they were independence supporters. I think the facts overwhelming support my view. You also admit yourself that you didn’t have these views in 2017. Perhaps you can find any serious evidence from 2017 of this sentiment, which you say was so significant it caused a 14 point drop in SNP support?

What do you think spoiling a ballot or not voting would do? Do you seriously think a U.K. government saying no to a request by the Scottish government for another independence referendum which was in their manifesto, would say yes and relent just because a few people stopped voting or screwed up their ballot paper? Not voting protests are the easiest to ignore.

Mia

that strategy had worked in 2012 with David Cameron”

Actually no. From what I read, Mr Salmond never asked for the S30. He said at the time that he would hold the referendum with or without Westminster’s consent. The tools in Westminster then almost fell over themselves rushing to generate the S30 “to ensure Holyrood had the powers to hold the referendum”. Looking retrospectively, it seems this might have been to stop Mr Salmond becoming “creative” and getting the powers through some other “less conventional” way. If there was something the powers that be knew is that Mr Salmond was an incredibly astute and resourceful politician. Personally, I think they were trying to set a precedent, which, incidentally, was exploited by the political fraud Sturgeon to avoid delivering the referendum.

Now look at the situation in 2012. Mr Salmond commanded a MSP majority in Holyrood. But, for as long as that majority kept abiding by the Scotland Act, Holyrood was a subordinate to Westminster.

Now, how did Westminster look like at the time?

The SNP only had around 6 MPs. There was no chance in hell that a majority of MPs from the colonial parties would ever lift their arses from Westminster voluntarily, heaven forbid on their own accord, and reconvene Scotland’s parliament. So the “incentive” for Cameron to cave in was not coming from Scotland’s MPs. It was coming from Holyrood.

So how on earth did Mr Salmond manage to get Cameron to actually agree and get approval from Scotland’s unionist MPs for the referendum in such circumstances (It is in Hansard that Cameron approached the Scottish MPs and asked them about the referendum)?

Two possibilities spring to mind:

The first is that they probably did not think (they knew?) yes would never be allowed to win.

The second is that they feared what Mr Salmond might have done with that majority in Holyrood if they refused. I favour the second option.

Just think about it for a second. If I remember correctly, Mr Salmond did not have that unelected crown figure “Lord Advocate” sitting in the middle of the cabinet like the political fraud Sturgeon, Yousaf and Swinney did/do. He also had the numbers to pass whatever the hell he wanted in parliament. He could have ditched the Scotland Act, which is the straightjacket restricting Holyrood’s power, and transform Holyrood into a full blown Parliament.

Cameron caved in because the alternative might have looked far, far worse. What this tells us is that Sturgeon is either a complete fake or she has been laughed at for all the years she was in power. The same applies to Yousaf.

“The direct opportunity to demand a second referendum (Brexit) only arose in June 2016”

This is not true. You are only thinking in brexit and completely ignoring the vow and the “breach of contract”, that also represented an opportunity to demand a re-run of the referendum.

People voted no on the assumption that Scotland would get Devo Max. Full Fiscal Autonomy for Scotland was trashed by Westminster pretty much straight away after the referendum. Again, that is a change in the circumstances of the vote. It was also demonstrated by then that The sewell Convention was worth less than wet toilet paper, therefore the promises were not kept.

“What do you think spoiling a ballot or not voting would do?”

Spoiling the ballot is clearly an act of protest. The vote is counted as being cast but it cannot be allocated to any party in particular – it helps to reduce “the percentage of the vote” of the colonial parties. It does not have much traction yet.

Not casting a vote reduces the turnover therefore reduces the pool of votes that can be divided up between the colonial parties. For as long as the turnover remains high, votes not cast are easy to ignore as you say. But if the turnover falls below 50% in a GE, then they will become far more difficult to ignore.

Look at the current situation in Scotland. In the last GE, turnover was 59%, so you could say that a higher percentage still trust the system. Even so, we already have the laughable situation where more people chose to not cast a vote than those endorsing the party of government who claims “the majority”. We are talking of 41% not voting vs 22%, which is almost half, endorsing the “winner” party. The real majority here is the people who did not vote. The more the vote falls, the more difficult to ignore it becomes and the more undemocratic the result looks.

“Do you seriously think a U.K. government saying no to a request by the Scottish government for another independence referendum which was in their manifesto, would say yes and relent just because a few people stopped voting or screwed up their ballot paper? “

You are forgetting that I do not think the UK gov has any right to deny a referendum for which the people of Scotland, who sits above Westminster, has already given a mandate.
I do not care if the UK gov “gives” permission or not. I do not recognise its authority to deny it. What I do indeed care about is that the useless Scotland representatives keep undermining Scotland’s sovereignty by handing to the UK gov a veto that it does not own.

“Not voting protests are the easiest to ignore”

Are they now? Then we may have to keep mentioning it whenever we have the opportunity to make it more difficult for the powers that be to ignore them.

We could even campaign to increase the number of non-voters so turnover in UK General Elections falls below 50%. At that point, we could start demanding that the option “None of the above” is included in the ballot and that the vote is made mandatory. This might make the non-vote a little bit more difficult to ignore.

Why should we just focus on a way to unglue the arses of Scotland’s MPs from Westminster when we can use several strategies at the same time?

Aidan

I’ll also specifically respond to the point about the demanding a S.30 strategy “going nowhere”. That’s obviously nonsense. Sturgeon had barely made the first request for the S.30 order by the time of the 2017 election. There was a great deal of discussion both in Scotland and the U.K., by serious and influential people, that Brexit would imperil the union. I can’t believe any serious independence would just give up after being told no, once, by the May government, in that context.

Mia

That’s obviously nonsense”

Remind me again what the response from Ms May was to the request?

“Now is not the time”

And what did the useless Sturgeon, who commanded the mother of all anti-union MP majorities in 300 years, who had just achieved the “change in circumstances” that under the Vienna Convention of the law of Treaties gives a reason under international law to terminate a treaty and that had just activated the mandate for a referendum”, replied with?

“I agree with her that now is not the time”.

The political fraud Sturgeon could have ended the union right there and then. Instead, she just pulverised two years of the mother of all majorities achieving the square root of FA. The idea that this was anything other than deliberate is fanciful.

By the way, it may have not been obvious TO YOU that the S30 strategy was going nowhere. Others, far more alert than you, realised of that much, much quicker. Actually, some of us were incensed that she dared to insult Scotland’s sovereignty by even pretending to “beg” for it once. And 10 years of absolute non-progress whatsoever of this deliberately-set-to-fail strategy have proved us right.

There was a great deal of discussion both in Scotland and the U.K.”

Discussion? What discussion? If Scotland is an equal partner in this union there should have never been any discussion, never mind any questioning regarding if a referendum for which the people of Scotland have just given a mandate was granted or not.

Scotland is not England’s property, hence it is not for England MPs or the English crown to decide if Scotland can or cannot have a referendum. It is because of this that the “strategy” of handing over a veto over Scotland’s sovereignty to our neighbour was the entire wrong thing to do and clearly part of the deception, a direct collusion of Sturgeon and the SNP with the British state to frustrate independence at the weakest point of the union ever in 300 years. You have to be incredibly shortsighted to not realise of that.

” that Brexit would imperil the union”
Brexit should have terminated that union, not just “imperil” it. This became obvious the minute you saw the results after the referendum which demonstrated beyond any doubt that England and Scotland were pursuing completely different and incompatible political paths.

This “union” only remains standing because the expressed will of the people of Scotland has been continuously crushed and suppressed since 2014 thanks to the betrayal of the people of Scotland and what looks like collusion of Sturgeon and the SNP with England MPs and the English crown.

“I can’t believe any serious independence would just give up after being told no, once”

This comes across as whataboutery. You are approaching the issue on the entire wrong way. Scotland is an equal partner in this union, therefore it should not have asked for permission EVEN ONCE, to hold a referendum on ending the union.

The UK government and the UK parliament are byproducts of the treaty of union and therefore they are not above it, but below it. The only two parties that are above the treaty of Union are the parliaments of Scotland and England. The authority to recall Scotland’s parliament lies with Scotland. But until then, that authority is represented by Scotland’s MPs. 56 SNP MPs could have just lift up stakes, reconvened that parliament and empower Holyrood to hold that referendum. Sturgeon and the SNP invertebrates chose to protect their salaries instead.

The only entity that is above the parliament of Scotland is the Scottish people.

The fact that the useless Sturgeon and her acolytes in the SNP thought it was necessary to humiliate Scotland by begging permission from an entity subordinated to Scotland to hold a referendum for which the people of Scotland had already given a mandate for, tells you quite clearly that Sturgeon does not recognise Scotland’s sovereignty, therefore she is no nationalist. She is a colonialist.

It also tells you that she never had any intention to pursue independence and that she was just wasting time, turning pro-independence supporters off and increasing disenfranchisement so that uncomfortable anti-union majority, the fruit of Mr Salmond’s hard work and dedication to Scotland had achieved, disappeared from Westminster.

Sturgeon was fooling us from day 1. She is no leader, never mind a pro-independence leader. She is just another crown and colonial tool using deception to preserve the union. The same applies to Yousaf, Swinney and I dare say Forbes too.

Alf Baird

What has any% of the vote got to do with it? We’re only talking about cancelling a single mankit violated treaty that was brought into being through a majority of Scots MPs and can be ended the same way.

James

Well said, Alf!

Aidan

It’s got everything to do with it, because the idea of the U.K. as an entity formed of an international treaty between two sovereign states is complete nonsense, as you well know. It is an idea that isn’t recognised or applied by anyone in authority anywhere.

Alf Baird

How was the union of the English and Scottish kingdoms brought about if not by treaty? Did it just miraculously happen one day in 1707?

Aidan

The Treaty of Union agreed the terms for the union to be entered into, and then the two parliaments both passed acts implementing the terms of the treaty, the effect of which was to merge the Scottish and the English parliaments and the Scottish and the English states into a single state (The United Kingdom) with a single parliament based in Westminster.

Alf Baird

The Treaty of Union agreed the terms for the union to be entered into”

Thank you

Aidan

Yes – and the effect of the treaty being implemented was to dissolve two states and create a new one.

Mia

the effect of the treaty being implemented was to dissolve two states and create a new one”

Actually no. The effect of the treaty was not “to dissolve” anything. It was simply to UNITE two states into one with the main purpose of ensuring the same succession to the crown in both. The statehood of the Kingdoms of Scotland and England was put on hold for the duration of the treaty.

If the treaty is revoked, the states who united into one under the treaty revert to their original status of separate states. And that is all.

If you read the articles of the treaty, you will realise that nowhere in that treaty it says that the states of the kingdom of Scotland or England “would be dissolved” nor that their parliaments “would be eradicated”.

Wording is important to avoid misinformation and misunderstandings.

Both in 1712 and 1713, revoking of the treaty and the restoring of Scotland’s Parliament was considered very seriously in the context of the Hamilton and the Malt Tax affairs, respectively.

Those who considered revoking the treaty and recalling Scotland parliament at those times knew very well if the Kingdom of Scotland state had been “dissolved” or not, as they were the ones sitting in the parliament of Scotland at the time the treaty was ratified and the Act of Union with England was passed.

If the Kingdom of Scotland’s state had ever been “dissolved” as you claim it was, restoring Scotland’s statehood and recalling its parliament would have not even been contemplated in 1712 nor 1713. But it was.

By the way, the reason why the revoking of the treaty did not succeed in any of those two times was because Scotland’s MPs were only looking after their own personal financial interests (by accepting bribes and privileges), rather than the interests of their country. Exactly as we have seen happening since 8 May 2015.

Andy Anderson

Sorry Aidan, what you say is not correct.
There was no territorial union, there was no legal and judiciary union, there was no educational union, there was two crowns, two constitutions, and one political parliament. In fact if you really look into documents you will find out that the treaty was not ratified in England and that we are actually in a fictitious kingdom and a fraudulent state. Scotland was taken over by force and military power between 1746 and 1810 with military roads and over 430 military bases. So much for a voluntary union.
Regrettably Aidan you believe the myth.

Mia

the effect of which was to merge the Scottish and the English parliaments and the Scottish and the English states into a single state”

The main aim of the treaty was always to ensure that the succession to the crown of Scotland was the same as the succession to the crown of England.

If you do a little bit of research you immediately realise the treaty was very much a crown affair. Instigated and pursued by the English crown. Both, in 1712 and 1713, it was also the crown that prevented that union from breaking apart after the Hamilton and the Malt tax affairs.

I would not be surprised if at some point in the future we are told that it was the English crown who also intervened in 2014, and has been intervening ever since, to ensure the union does not break.

For instance, I have always wondered who empowered and gave enough clout to Gordon Brown in 2014 to recruit the PM, deputy PM and leader of the opposition (and to get them to sign the vow) when the guy was just a hasbeen who was not even an MP at the time.

Where did he get the power to create and publish “the vow”? The guy acted like a propagandist, just like Daniel Defoe did in 1706. Daniel Defoe was a spy working for the English crown who had been tasked with inflating the benefits of the union to convince the scots. Brown is the one who lied to us and inflated the benefits of voting no. He told us that we would get Devo Max, as close to federalism as we could be and the most powerful devolved parliament in the world, if we voted no. Who empowered this guy to preach that propaganda?

It is also rather telling that the crown office was at the heart of the Salmond affair, it remains at the heart of the protection of perjurers and the vietnam group, it continues to aid the suppression of information from the public, it was at the heart of malicious prosecutions of pro-independence supporters and it is currently at the heart of the stalling of branchform. It seems to be right in the middle of an awful lot of bad things, isn’t it?

It is also quite telling that an unelected representative of the crown, in the form of the figure of “Lord Advocate”, who incidentally also happens to lead that crown office, intervened to stop the Keatings case from providing a clear response regarding Holyrood’s real power under Scots law.

It was also that same unelected crown representative figure (albeit a different person) who blatantly pissed all over democracy and Scotland’s Claim of Right by recruiting an English court and English judges to apply English law convention so the English crown could usurp from the people of Scotland the control over Scotland’s legislative power and to stop the referendum bill entering Holyrood.

So much for a “limited powers monarchy”, huh? Representatives of that English crown appear to be everywhere and sticking their fingers in all pies where they shouldn’t.

But none of the above invalidates the fact that the UK parliament, the UK government and indeed that English court otherwise known as “Supreme Court” are simply by-products of that treaty and therefore subordinated to it. Actually, I am not sure of the legality of that English court otherwise known as “Supreme Court” under the treaty.

If they are not treated like the subordinated entities they are, it is only because our useless Scotland’s representatives keep choosing to hand those subordinated entities a veto over Scotland’s sovereignty, executive and legislative power rather than putting their spines back on, standing upright and acting on the people of Scotland’s mandates and interests.

Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

In support of Mia’s train of thought, here are two deeply relevant contributions by Aidan O’Neill QC (second link to follow in separate post).

Firstly, this 2017 Law Society of Scotland article by Aidan O’Neill QC is worth reading for constitutional insights:

Miller, Brexit and BreUK-up

Extracts:

« In asserting in absolute terms the doctrine of UK parliamentary sovereignty, the Supreme Court has left us with constitutional paradoxes and a decision that will exacerbate political tensions with the devolved nations »

« […] It cannot be correct to say that “parliamentary sovereignty” was established in these statutes, as if pre-Union Scottish and English Parliaments could simply bootstrap themselves (or their successor, the post-1707 UK Parliament) into sovereignty. The Bill of Rights 1688-89 and the Scottish Claim of Right 1689 are certainly predicated on the primacy of the pre-Union English Parliament and the pre-Union Scottish Parliament over the English and Scottish Crowns respectively; but these two enactments are premised, if anything, on claims of popular sovereignty in their claims to justify the deposition of the monarch. And the Acts of Union of 1706 and 1707 contain provisions which are “expressly declared to be a fundamental and essential Condition of the said Treaty of Union in all time coming”, which, on its face, suggests that the 1707 Parliament of Great Britain created by this Union was intended to be born in chains rather than be a creature of untrammelled sovereignty. »

« […] On the Supreme Court’s analysis the United Kingdom’s constitution exists in a perpetual present. It has no past, and no future. Ultimately the United Kingdom constitution can, for the Supreme Court, be nothing more than a description of whatever the UK Parliament does, or allows for, on any particular day. »

« […] Instead the Supreme Court’s reasoning proceeds on the assumption that the 19th century English constitutional tradition as formulated/invented by Dicey – the mythistory of England, as it may be termed – is the fount and only source for the contemporary United Kingdom constitution. »

Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh

Secondly, for detailed analysis of the contrasts between Scottish and English constitution heritages, Aidan O’Neill QC is excellent here, clarifying that the religion-related enactments were proxies for political issues (Please note that the PDF link on webpage is defunct): 

UK Supreme Court: Article 50 ‘Brexit’ Appeal –

WRITTEN INTERVENTION FOR THE INDEPENDENT WORKERS UNION OF GREAT BRITAIN (IWGB) [2016]

« 2.2 Answering that question shines a spotlight on just what the UK constitution is. But UK constitutional law has been the law that dare not speak its name. This is because the 1707 Parliamentary union between England and Scotland undoubtedly created a new State, but it did not create one Nation. Various schemes for a wholly incorporating ‘perfect’ Union of Scotland and England had, unsuccessfully, been proposed to the English Parliament by James VI, King of Scots, after he had acceded to the English throne in 1603. The 1707 Union differed from these earlier schemes in that, while ensuring the depoliticisation of Scotland, it put into place measures intended to protect – and indeed to strengthen – other aspects of Scotland’s distinctive continuing nationhood. Conrad Russell put it thus [505] (internal footnote added):

“That the Scots found a perfect union politically unacceptable, and the English an imperfect union intellectually incomprehensible, provides the basis for the odd mixture of the two which was set up in 1707. The English got the unitary sovereign power which they wanted, and got it in the form based upon the existing English Parliament, with an English majority in it. The Scots got their recognition as a separate sovereign state, both from the form of the Union of 1707 as an international treaty, and from the survival of Scots law and the Scottish church. It is that claim that Scotland is a sovereign nation state which is reasserted whenever the English forget that 1707 was not a ‘perfect union’ and has recently been repeated in the Claim of Right. Scotland in accepting the Union in 1707 remained a nation and as a result any sovereignty in the British parliament could not be national sovereignty. This has always been hard for the English to understand.” »

« 3.8 In this early modern period, models of constitutional government are expressed in the terms of political theology. The religious is political precisely because in defining the terms of the Church settlement in a territory you define the source and extent of power of the State.19 So in Scotland at least, the term “Papist” translates into a believer in absolutist government; “Episcopalian” into a supporter of constitutionally limited Monarchy; while “Presbyterians” hold to a democratic model in which the Elect(ors) delegate defined and limited powers to those whom they appoint to hold office. »

« 3.9 The whole point about the 1707 Union is that it constitutionally entrenched the distinct Scottish and English constitutional traditions as embodied in the two nations’ separate ecclesiastical settlements. Thus, the “securing of the Protestant Religion and Presbyterian Church Government within the Kingdom of Scotland” was expressly declared to be “a fundamental and essential Condition of the said Treaty or Union in all times coming.” And it was similarly declared by the English Parliament that the preservation of the Anglican settlement in England also be made “a Fundamental and Essential part of any Treaty of Union” with Scotland. And this is not simple antiquarianism or misplaced originalism. The accession oath which was sworn by Elizabeth II before the Accession Privy Council on the day immediately after her accession, and which is renewed by her each year (whether in writing or in person) before the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland is in the following terms:

“I, Elizabeth the Second by the Grace of God of Great Britain, Ireland and the British dominions beyond the seas, Queen, Defender of the Faith, do faithfully promise and swear that I shall inviolably maintain and preserve the Settlement of the True Protestant Religion as established by the laws of Scotland in prosecution of the Claim of Right and particularly an Act entitled an Act for the Securing the Protestant Religion and Presbyterian Church Government and by the Acts passed in both Kingdoms for the Union of the two Kingdoms, together with the Government, Worship, Discipline, Rights and Privileges of the Church of Scotland. So help me God.” (emphasis added) »

« 3.10 What this means is that this distinctive Scottish constitutional tradition embodied in the Claim of Right – of the Crown holding power from and in trust for the people assembled “in a full and free representative of this Nation”, with the Crown bound by the constitution to honour the terms and limits of the sovereign people’s grant of that power, and with both the people and the Crown subject to a duty to respect fundamental rights and the rule of law – not only survived the 1707 Union, but was expressly preserved by it and is reaffirmed by the Crown in personam every year of her reign. »

Aidan

I’ll come back tomorrow as I’m out tonight, but for everyone’s benefit can you please highlight the section where Aidan O’Neil says that the U.K. is formed of two distinct sovereign states, bound by an international treaty which can be discharged by a majority of Scottish MP’s voting to end it. Not something pointing to Scottish legal tradition or the history of the union, but an explicit statement of the above.

Mia

“The idea of the U.K. as an entity formed of an international treaty between two sovereign states is complete nonsense”

The United Kingdom of GREAT BRITAIN is formed on the back of an international treaty between the sovereign states of the Kingdom of Scotland and the Kingdom of England. It is that international treaty and the ratification of the treaty by the parliaments of Scotland and England what gives that union legitimacy. End the treaty, end the union.

Now, the [(United Kingdom of Great Britain) + Northern Ireland] is the current “UK”. But if you end the entity of “Great Britain”, which is what Scottish nationalists are pursuing, you actually end the concept of “United Kingdom”.

Northern Ireland is not a different Kingdom to England. It is one of the dominions of the Kingdom of England, and it has been so for centuries before the treaty of union between Scotland and England took place. The whole of Ireland and Wales entered the Treaty of union between Scotland and England as a dominion of the Kingdom of England. The Kingdom of Ireland was terminated the moment Ireland declared itself a republic.

“It is an idea that isn’t recognised or applied by anyone in authority anywhere”

If you are referring to the entity [(United Kingdom of Great Britain) + Northern Ireland], then I am not sure that there is an actual treaty, valid under international law, between the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland. As far as I remember from what I read in Hansard a while back, it was said that when the union was between a power and its dominions an international treaty was not necessary, just an Act, which is a piece of domestic legislation.

But if what you are attempting to peddle here is that the treaty between the Kingdom of England and Kingdom of Scotland that produced the United Kingdom of Great Britain does not exist, then you are evidently lying and pursuing active disinformation. You only have to do a google search and information about the treaty immediately appears.

Last edited 8 hours ago by Mia
Andy Ellis

As we all know a majority of MP may not represent a majority of voters. 56 of 59 MPs represented 49.9% of voters: close, but no cigar. Even if it HAD been > 50%, they weren’t voting for independence because the SNP and movement didn’t explicitly state it was a plebiscitary vote.

The international community would have ignored such a result, and so would Westminster.

The British nationalists wouldn’t even have had to go to the trouble of beating up Scottish grannies or jailing pro independence leaders à la mode Catalan, because our leaders don’t have the political balls the Catalans had and the people wouldn’t have been behind it.

Your hot takes on international politics and self determination are as perceptive as your caricaturish views of the general Scottish population.

Alf Baird

The role of the colonizer ‘is to make any prospect of liberation for the native seem impossible’ (Memmi).

Aye, yer daen a guid job thair.

Andy Ellis

If only you had any ideas of your own Alf rather than regurgitating inapplicable post colonial theory talking points like some Red Guard cadre waving The Thoughts of Chairman Mao.

Doubtless the study of Memmi & Fanon and ability to recite them by rote will be a requirement in the new Scottish Republic.

Have you thought of translating them in to Scots yet…..? I’m sure there would be a muckle* market of at least a dozen or two.

Insider

Well said Andy !
I wish Alf would realise how much harm his constant spamming of every discussion does to the Indy movement.
Random quotes about colonialism in 19th century Africa have no relevance to Scotland in the 21st century !

twathater

“I wish Alf would realise how much harm his constant spamming of every discussion does to the Indy movement.”

FFS another franchise fanny that knows what every independence supporter THINKS

How about you and the REAL franchise fanny tell us what the winning lottery numbers are seeing that youse are so prescient

Alf Baird

Much of what we know as postcolonial theory was written from the 1950s and 60s onwards, which corresponded with the mass of declarations of independence after WWII and the creation of the UN.

It is this body of literature that helped create the fundamental principles of self-determination independence within the UN, the intent of which was to bring to an end the imperial powers through decolonization of their acquired territories.

Postcolonial theory is applied to the Scottish colonial situation in this published academic article here:

link to cpb-us-w2.wpmucdn.com

Chas

Unbeleviable. Yet a link to yet another load of mince written by, you guessed it, the bold Alf Baird.
As someone posted earlier, the continual self promotion of repetive dross only serves to drive people away from Wings and the the desire for Independence. Who really wants to be associated with rabid nutters?

twathater

“The international community would have ignored such a result, and so would Westminster.”

And as usual the FRANCHISE FANNY not only knows what everyone in Scotland, engerland, the uk knows and thinks HE now speaks for the whole INTERNATIONAL community,
what a ballsack

Andy Ellis

Try interacting with what people actually say and write rather than what the voice in your head or at the bottom of the bottle tell you twatbyname.

If you can show that the international community and/or Westminster would ever airily accept a situation where some random body with no clear mandate declared UDI, be prepared to show your workings.

If it’s so self evident, or you can show that I’m wrong and you’re right, then provide some evidence….you know:

• polling of popular support;
  • statements from Scottish political parties and respected public figures supporting your Brigadoon fantasies;
  • learned papers from subject matter experts in international law, International Relations theory, constitutional law and practice;
  • UN and other international organisations voicing their support for these novel routes to independence.

Should be a shoo-in since you and other fantasists BTL here keep insisting that I’m not reflecting the views of the majority.

We’ll wait….

Chas

The nutters, there are a good few on here, are incapable of reason. They live in their own wee fantasy world where anything that is said or written is correct if it fits with their warped views. Anything to the contrary has to be shouted down at every opportunity.

I find it difficult to pick out who is the worst amongst them. The least original is definitely Baird but…………….he has a following for some strange reason. Of course, one track minds attract………..one track minds.

After Independence, which will occur by magic, EVERYTHING will be fantastic in Scotland. We will not even need a competent Government. Maybe Dynamo. David Blaine or a whole raft of the Magic Circle will stand for Parliament?

Mia

The international community would have ignored such a result, and so would Westminster”

The international community recognised the division of Czechoslovakia despite being decided by a simple majority of MPs, not by a majority of the vote. As far as I remember, there never was a referendum and the public were not even consulted on it.

Ireland separated from the UK on the basis of wining the majority of the seats representing Ireland, not the vote. As far as I remember, the vote was below 50%.

Independently of Czechoslovakia’s and Ireland’s cases, in the case of Scotland we are speaking of repealing an international treaty. An international treaty that, lets not forget, was enacted on the power of a simple majority of MPs and that, therefore, can be repealed, unilaterally, by a simple majority of MPs from any of the two entities that signed the treaty.

We have been told many, many times that the UK is not a democracy but a parliamentary democracy. Well then, that applies to the treaty too.

The problem is that we seem to be constantly forced to look at the case of Scotland under the optics of the Catalonian case. But Scotland is not Catalonia. Scotland is not a region of the Kingdom of England. Scotland is united to England merely by a treaty. That is it.

There is no reason as to why other countries would not recognise the right of Scotland to unilaterally end a treaty of which it is a signatory after a change in circumstances has invalidated the reason to keep the treaty or because sustained violations of the fundamental conditions of the treaty.

Scotland does not need to “secede” from anywhere, like it was the case for Catalonia. It simply needs to end that treaty, which it can do unilaterally at any point of its choosing, to restore its statehood.

It does not need a referendum and it does not need the majority of the vote either. Scotland was dragged out of the EU against its will and on the minority of the vote. Scotland only needs either a majority of Scotland’s MPs reconvening the old Scotland parliament and ending the treaty, or a mechanism to empower Holryood and to overrule those MPs that, for the last 10 years, have refused to enact the mandate to end the union.

A way of empowering Holyrood would be through Westminster, but that route appears permanently blocked. An alternative route is by bypassing Westminster and electing MSPs on a mandate to ditch the Scotland Act and to transfer all powers currently held by Scotland’s MPs to Holyrood. We just need an election and a political party willing to put that in their manifesto. That would be, in my view, what using a Holyrood election as a vote on independence should look like: a vote to restore Scotland’s old parliament and repeal the treaty.

The political party that pledges to do that have my vote.

Andy Ellis

Ireland’s independence happened in the face of incipient civil war after negotiations between British and Irish nationalists predicated on a threat by the British to invade if the Irish didn’t accept partition. Nice try, but no cigar on the comparison front.

The Velvet divorce was indeed cooked up by the leaderships of both sides, but again it’s hardly comparable with the UK: the populations of both countries accepted it, the political leaderships in both accepted it, and there was no successor state, there were two new states. In the case of the UK in the Scottish case and Spain in the Catalan case there will be a successor state.

The international community won’t see any difference between the Scottish, Catalan or Quebec cases: all have differences and all have similarities, but they’ll all be held to the same standards.

There are lots of reasons other countries won’t recognise a unilateral decision: ask the Kosovans, Turkish Republic of North Cyprus, Somaliland, etc. Refer to the points above in response to twatbyname. The onus is on the small coterie of extremists punting non-conventional means to show their concepts have any intellectual, political and popular hinterground.

So far you and they are coming up empty. No change there.

I actually agree with some of you last paragraph: what’s needed is a party with the balls to do it. That clearly isn’t the SNP. Plebiscitary elections need to demonstrate a majority in favour of parties standing on an explicit independence platform, same goes for Holyrood parties proposing to repatriate all powers over our constitutional future.

Mia

Ireland was one of the Kingdom of England dominions and entered as such, the same as Wales, in the treaty of union.

Scotland was not and is not a dominion of the Kingdom of England. It is united with it by an international treaty. You keep forgetting that.

Despite that important difference, the comparison of both is more than pertinent, because both of them were subjected to the exact same UK rule and laws. What Ireland did was in violation of UK laws ( according to Westminster) and was not initially recognised by Westminster, hence the war.

You go on and on about “recognition by the international community”, as if you knew what the other countries think and how geopolitics is going to play at a given moment in time.

Despite Ireland being a dominion, despite refusing to follow the laws of the imperial power when declaring independence, and despite that independence not being recognised initially by Westminster, the international community had no problem recognising it. The truth, no matter how much you try to obfuscate it, is that Ireland declared independence after a GE where Sinn Fein had a majority of MPs but not the majority of the vote. Did they need a majority of the vote? No, because the UK is not a democracy. It is a parliamentary democracy.

The division of Checoslovakia is a perfect comparison to the situation of Scotland and England. First of all, Checoslovakia dissolved into two separate states by exclusive decision of MPs. The people of Checoslovakia was never asked, nor given an opportunity to express a desire or rejection to that division.

Despite the decision not being democratic in the strict sense of the word, the two new states had no problem whatsoever being recognised by the international community.

Secondly, that MPs got to decide the division in Checoslovakia means that Checoslovakia, the exact same as the UK, was a parliamentary democracy, not a democracy. So yes, the comparison is more than pertinent.

Thirdly, the same as it happened with the union between Scotland and England, it does not appear that the formation of Checoslovakia followed any kind of referendum. In other words, the people in the original states that then would unite to form Checoslovakia were forced into it wanted it or not.

It stands to the obvious that if a referendum was not needed to form Checoslovakia, a referendum would not be needed to exit it, and that is exactly what Checoslovakia had. A union or a dissolution of a union is a political decision. In a parliamentary democracy, that decision is made by a majority of MPs. That is what Checoslovakia had and what the UK should have. The idea of a referendum has been simply another fabricated obstacle to the dissolution of this union. The other fabricated obstacle being, of course, the flawed franchise.

But there is yet another interesting twist in the case of Checoslovakia that further demonstrates the nonsense of your need for a referendum and “recognition from the international community”:

It seems that the original Checoslovakia was formed by uniting provinces with no previous historic connections: Bohemia, Moravia, Czech-speaking Silesia, Slovakia and Subcarpathian Ruthenia”.

When Checoslovakia’s MPs decided to end the united state, they did not revert to the original status of those provinces as separate entities, which is what you would expect would happen should a treaty have been terminated. Instead of this, those MPs, by themselves, created two completely de nuovo states that had not existed as such before! This is stretching international law to a whole new level compared to what Scotland needs, which is simply dissolving a treaty. And yet, it was perfectly accepted by the international community, despite not being democratic and despite not holding a singe referendum to either form Checoslovakia nor to dissolve it into two the nuovo territorial states.

Scotland’s territory has not changed since the treaty was agreed. In other words, the dissolution of Scotland’s treaty with England and return of Scotland to its original status with its borders intact is a much, much simpler affair that the exceptional change that the territory where Checoslovakia existed went through.

The international community won’t see any difference between the Scottish, Catalan or Quebec cases”

I am sorry but this is complete and utter nonsense. The people representing the international community are not dumb idiots who cannot read. That is preposterous. The international community will never see in the same way a region trying to secede, as it was the case of Catalonia, and a former state exercising its perfectly legitimate right under international law to repeal a treaty. I am sorry but you are trying to peddle nonsense here.

“So far you and they are coming up empty”
Actually, it is you who is coming up completely empty here. You insist and insist and insist some more in forcing everybody to see Scotland from the prism of Catalonia, despite knowing well that they are completely different cases. Catalonia is not even “a dominion” like Ireland was. Catalonia is simply a region.

Scotland is neither a dominion nor a region. It is a former state that put its statehood on hold after signing a treaty which is perfectly entitled to repeal at any time of its choosing.

The case of Ireland and Checoslovakia are far more relevant as a comparison to the situation of Scotland than Catalonia or Quebec would ever be. Yet, surprise, surprise. Here you are still desperately attempting to distract attention from a very relevant case of Checoslovakia, which was actually a union, to bring it back to the cases of Catalonia and Quebec, which are just regions and integral part of a larger country, attempting to secede.

rob

who cars about tories labour or any of the english based parties,,,,,,,,,not me,,,,,,,,,, you can big up any of them i care not a jot,,,,,,,,,,,,in fact big up the lot, they are all just ("Quizmaster" - Ed)s in fancy dress after all.

Aidan

Good to see that the Harvie/Slater co-leadership is about as popular as the coronavirus!

agent X

As an aside I note that The National has removed the ceasefire from their online main articles and it barely gets a mention now. The King is dominant.

Vivian O’Blivion

Massive, YouGov, MRP poll has Bündnis Sahra Wagenknecht – Vernunft und Gerechtigkeit (BSW) at 6%, breaking the ceiling for representation at the Bundestag and getting 45 MdBs. Perhaps more importantly, Die Linke, get zero seats. BSW has won the battle of the left.

?Combined with the populist right (AfD, 2nd largest party at 146 seats), the populist block would comprise 30% of seats. Difficult for the centre and the German, Permanent State to ignore and sideline, but I’m sure they’ll manage. Expect dirty tricks.

Andy Ellis

The Germans have a history of Grand Coalitions though, so it won’t seem that outlandish to them. Parties representing 70% of the electorate (or a subset of them) co-operating to ensure parties representing 30% of the electorate who are knowingly supporting populism is the essence of democracy.

Parties of the right and centre in the Weimar republic cosying up to the NSDAP and thinking they could contain/control them didn’t really work out to well for the Germans in the past.

agent X

Speaking in an interview with the Scottish Sun, John Swinney was asked: “When will Scotland next vote on independence?”

He then responded: “Soon.”

There you are.

sarah

Is anyone holding their breath? [I’m not.]

100%Yes

I’m 100%Sure Swinney meant monsoon, the guy is a moron. I’m absolutely in dread of next year elelction their becomes a collision between British Labour and the SNP. Warning our politicians will say and do anything to get your vote the after all bet are off, I would trust any of them and neither should you.

Mia

It all depends on the context he had in mind, of course. For example, 100 years from now, in geological terms, might be considered as “imminent”.

Stats: 6,693 Posts, 1,209,169 Comments

• Mia on The same old tricks: “It all depends on the context he had in mind, of course. For example, 100 years from now, in geological…Jan 17, 23:10
    • Mia on The same old tricks: “Ireland was one of the Kingdom of England dominions and entered as such, the same as Wales, in the treaty…Jan 17, 22:40
    • Chas on The same old tricks: “Unbeleviable. Yet a link to yet another load of mince written by, you guessed it, the bold Alf Baird. As…Jan 17, 21:07
    • Andy Ellis on The same old tricks: “Ireland’s independence happened in the face of incipient civil war after negotiations between British and Irish nationalists predicated on a…Jan 17, 21:07
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““the effect of the treaty being implemented was to dissolve two states and create a new one” Actually no. The…Jan 17, 20:51
    • 100%Yes on The same old tricks: “I’m 100%Sure Swinney meant monsoon, the guy is a moron. I’m absolutely in dread of next year elelction their becomes…Jan 17, 20:32
    • Alf Baird on The same old tricks: “Much of what we know as postcolonial theory was written from the 1950s and 60s onwards, which corresponded with the…Jan 17, 19:32
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““that strategy had worked in 2012 with David Cameron” Actually no. From what I read, Mr Salmond never asked for…Jan 17, 19:26
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “I’ll come back tomorrow as I’m out tonight, but for everyone’s benefit can you please highlight the section where Aidan…Jan 17, 19:13
    • sarah on The same old tricks: “Is anyone holding their breath? [I’m not.]Jan 17, 19:11
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “Yes – and the effect of the treaty being implemented was to dissolve two states and create a new one.Jan 17, 19:03
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““The international community would have ignored such a result, and so would Westminster” The international community recognised the division of…Jan 17, 18:24
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The same old tricks: “Secondly, for detailed analysis of the contrasts between Scottish and English constitution heritages, Aidan O’Neill QC is excellent here, clarifying…Jan 17, 18:15
    • Chas on The same old tricks: “The nutters, there are a good few on here, are incapable of reason. They live in their own wee fantasy…Jan 17, 18:13
    • Fearghas MacFhionnlaigh on The same old tricks: “In support of Mia’s train of thought, here are two deeply relevant contributions by Aidan O’Neill QC (second link to…Jan 17, 18:11
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““the effect of which was to merge the Scottish and the English parliaments and the Scottish and the English states…Jan 17, 17:57
    • Andy Ellis on The same old tricks: “Try interacting with what people actually say and write rather than what the voice in your head or at the…Jan 17, 17:54
    • twathater on The same old tricks: ““I wish Alf would realise how much harm his constant spamming of every discussion does to the Indy movement.” FFS…Jan 17, 17:53
    • agent X on The same old tricks: “Speaking in an interview with the Scottish Sun, John Swinney was asked: “When will Scotland next vote on independence?”He then responded:…Jan 17, 17:46
    • twathater on The same old tricks: ““The international community would have ignored such a result, and so would Westminster.” And as usual the FRANCHISE FANNY not…Jan 17, 17:46
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““The idea of the U.K. as an entity formed of an international treaty between two sovereign states is complete nonsense”…Jan 17, 17:18
    • Insider on The same old tricks: “Well said Andy ! I wish Alf would realise how much harm his constant spamming of every discussion does to…Jan 17, 17:13
    • Mia on The same old tricks: ““That’s obviously nonsense” Remind me again what the response from Ms May was to the request? “Now is not the…Jan 17, 17:01
    • Andy Anderson on The same old tricks: “Sorry Aidan, what you say is not correct. There was no territorial union, there was no legal and judiciary union,…Jan 17, 16:56
    • Andy Ellis on The same old tricks: “If only you had any ideas of your own Alf rather than regurgitating inapplicable post colonial theory talking points like…Jan 17, 16:42
    • Alf Baird on The same old tricks: “The role of the colonizer ‘is to make any prospect of liberation for the native seem impossible’ (Memmi). Aye, yer…Jan 17, 16:37
    • Alf Baird on The same old tricks: ““The Treaty of Union agreed the terms for the union to be entered into” Thank youJan 17, 16:26
    • Andy Ellis on The same old tricks: “The Germans have a history of Grand Coalitions though, so it won’t seem that outlandish to them. Parties representing 70%…Jan 17, 16:02
    • Andy Ellis on The same old tricks: “As we all know a majority of MP may not represent a majority of voters. 56 of 59 MPs represented…Jan 17, 15:39
    • Aidan on The same old tricks: “The Treaty of Union agreed the terms for the union to be entered into, and then the two parliaments both…Jan 17, 15:32

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()