Liar, liar, pants on fire!

2. Donald Urquhart

There’s plenty fires where he’s going.

3. Morag

Why is anybody interested in what that has-been (or maybe never-was) maroon has to say, anyway?

4. Andrew Fernie

There’s no fires any more. Well, except these:

http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2014/12/2384/0

5. Grouse Beater

“No need for the fire brigade”?!!

Really?

You’re fired!

6. Jock Scot

And we all took the piss out of Jim Murphy for sniffing glue.This is perspective.

7. Michael Duvic

John McTernan, you ignorant slut.

8. Mosstrooper

No fires anymore?…Has anyone told Prometheus?

9. kendomacaroobar

You do realise he’s A i ?

10. Geoff Huijer

I cannot for the life of me understand why this man is on television or is ever asked his opinion.

Hang on he’s ‘Labour’ isn’t he?

That explains it.

11. heedtracker

Green room wacky baccy.

12. Jim watson

There’s no fires anymore…bat crap crazy indeed!

Half the prison population – how and why this could be achieved might have been worthy of a McTernanism…

13. Jim watson

Sorry Grouse beater but you are wrong…the phrase is now liar, liar, pants on something that formerly existed but doesn’t anymore

14. Democracy Reborn

Firefighters spend 2% of their time fighting fires??

John wins 2% of the elections he fights.

15. Finlay

Better start posting these hourly or you’ll never keep up.

16. Taranaich

Related videos which come up for me are “The DARK SECRETS of The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” and “The Fall of Scottish Labour.”

17. ClanDonald

Hope there aren’t any arsonists in the 50% of the prison population that he’s going to be releasing.

18. mike cassidy

Given that Labour spend about 2% of their time being Labour, who could we merge them with?

19. The Man in the Jar

Thats it. first thing in the morning I’m phoning the house insurance people and demanding a rebate.

20. Craig Wilson

Unfathomable. It’s like they’re enjoying the theatre of it now. I also like the way he half-heartedly pretended to find fault in Osborne’s all-Tory budget: ‘Oh there’s loads of things he could have done….erm, prisons!’

21. GallusEffie

Going by the repeated absence of Labour & Tory MP’s in the HoC chambers, perhaps we should merge the fireys, the popos and some MP’s. Give the fireys and popos somebody to practice on when they’re not busy.

22. Jimbo

I can see McTernan’s Labour Party logic coming to the fore here.

Merge the police and fire service and, since there are no fires anymore, we can have more men patrolling the streets. Good thinking John.

Since there are no fires anymore, why are the fire service putting them out?

23. Anne Bruce

Twat!

24. G H Graham

John McTernan is right. There are no fires anymore if one doesn’t include the 4,681 casualties from accidental dwelling fires, 2013-2014, sorted by local authority …

Aberdeen City 247
    Aberdeenshire 173
    Angus 71
    Argyll and Bute 78
    Clackmannanshire 38
    Dumfries and Galloway 112
    Dundee City 195
    East Ayrshire 91
    East Dunbartonshire 53
    East Lothian 81
    East Renfrewshire 61
    Edinburgh, City of 525
    Eilean Siar 11
    Falkirk 119
    Fife 217
    Glasgow City 763
    Highland 144
    Inverclyde 87
    Midlothian 62
    Moray 69
    North Ayrshire 135
    North Lanarkshire 258
    Orkney Islands 10
    Perth and Kinross 97
    Renfrewshire 223
    Scottish Borders 101
    Shetland Islands 12
    South Ayrshire 86
    South Lanarkshire 227
    Stirling 66
    West Dunbartonshire 105
    West Lothian 164

Scotland 4,681

Source: http://www.gov.scot/Publications/2014/12/2384/downloads#res466203

25. Cath

We should go back to the good old days of private fire insurance where only the insured had their house fires put out, and those with insurance could be identified by plaques on their house saying which private fire company they were with. It worked really well, except for things like the Great Fire of London, when it tended to ensure fires spread massively.

Meanwhile merging the police with the police is SNPBAD, as is asking for the Scottish police not to be the only ones in the UK who don’t pay VAT, so Labour will oppose both of those. Then toxic eejits like McTernan will wonder why they’re dead in Scotland and dying in the UK as a whole.

26. Cuilean

If any firemen are reading this, what you do for the the other 98% of the time?

27. Cath

Erm, I mean, who *do* pay VAT, obviously.

28. Still Positive.

And the Fire Service is sent to cut people out of cars in accidents is immaterial? Won’t say what I think of him but it begins with an a and ends with an e with 6 letters in between.

29. DerekM

What a complete idiot,its not about there being a fire or not its about having brave men and women who will rush to one when it does happen and put their lives on the line to fight it.

And every one of them is worth a 1000 of his kind.

30. Cath

Can’t speak as a fireman, but I’d assume it factors in the whole service. So management as a whole, looking after the fire engines to ensure they’re always ready to go, driving to fires and potential fires that turn out not to be, education work such as working with kids on fire safety, training and practice to ensure everyone can fight fires when they happen, fire safety such as fitting fire alarms and checking places for safety etc. Then at times, just being in the station so if there’s a call there are fireman there to answer the call. Not to mention attending road traffic accidents and various other non-fire services.

If firefighters were spending 100% of their working day, or anything like it, actually fighting fires, we’d all be in massive trouble. Not least if you had a fire you wanted quick help with! But also as a job, it wouldn’t be possible to fight large fires day in day out. It’s a job where any one really serious incident can leave huge scars on people.

31. Scunterbunnet

“Donald Urquhart says:
    21 July, 2015 at 11:58 pm
    There’s plenty fires where he’s going.”

Hahaha … perfect riposte, Donald. This site should be filed under ‘comedy gold’, except that some of the subject matter is so tragic.

32. Jimbo

Erm, keep fire fighting equipment in good working order and practice putting out fires and saving lives?

33. Betty Craney

He’ll be going to the bad fire for telling lies !

34. Thepnr

You’ve got to love Mr McT he alienates more Labour supporters live on the BBC than the SNP ever could.

More please John 🙂

35. Ian Brotherhood

I hereby volunteer to spend 2% of my future slapping his cratered dish.

36. mike cassidy

Technically, I suppose I should wait for the rev to set up “The End Of Irony 2” –

but when Scotland produces its own “have a peace prize, Kissinger” moment

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-south-scotland-33612612

37. Tackety Beets

A few months ago we were all sniggering about how Labour had hit rock bottom and could not get any worse , remember …….. Well this last week or so they have proven us all wrong .
    It’s been like Xmas Panto.

Surely Dr Smart Alic “I get ma coupon on every political debate” is not on Twatter defending His beloved Labour Party ?

Few posters asking what this McTernan feller is doing on TV ? Don’t forget who goes on hols with Joke McConnel , Lord bla bla ? Eh , mine host Kirrrsty Warrrk , with their respective partners of course.

Aye McTernan has slid down the greasy pole to oblivion this time. A real life Homer J Simpson !

Ps Keep up the quirky comments folks , it fair cheers us up.

38. Malcolm

I am convinced John is an SNP sleeper, wrecking SLAB from within.
    And what a marvelous job he is doing.

39. Waseem

Are you sure John? Have you seen the VAT bill?

40. call me dave

What a brain, what a talent, he should be in charge of strategy for one of our great political part…OH! He’s blowing smoke rings

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UdE0qjbwwWo

PS:
    Here is a development that I would like to see succeed.

https://archive.is/hlmyF

41. Les wilson

After his tactics for Slab at the election,you would have thought he would have crawled under a rock to hide.
    But it seems getting cash from the BBC for piss poor interviews has him peeking out again, easy money.

Utterly hopeless cretin, however we can smile that we put a spoke in his wheel. The fact he is still working with Slab is simply unbelievable.

42. Rock

Malcolm,

“I am convinced John is an SNP sleeper, wrecking SLAB from within.
    And what a marvelous job he is doing.”

As a decent political party, the SNP would have nothing to do with such a disgusting person.

But the Tories could and probably are making the most of his “talents”.

43. turnip_ghost

It’s all about moving the goalposts. We’re now talking about his OBVIOUSLY ridiculous comments instead of keeping to the point that Labour are now being told what to do by the Tory party whip.

Either way, he’s just somebody that you should either laugh at or ignore. That’s what shows there’s true contempt for who he represents.

44. frankieboy

That is why he is a ‘former’ advisor. He is a complete and utter arse. He forgets our society is a democracy and not a mediocracy, we managed to jettison many of his fellow mediocrats at GE2105. Why is he even on TV?

45. Lanarkist

But what about the fire we set under the Labour Party.

McTiernan fiddles whilst John Smith House burns!

46. Stoker

“Merge the Fire Service with the Police – There’s no fires anymore”

ffs, How to win friends and influence people, McTermite style.

47. Brent

Fires in scotland have risen by 5% in the last year.
    Special Services (flooding, RTC’s) are also on the rise.
    We are 300 firefighters short of the number required to be effective.
    13 serious fires happen everyday, also preform massive fire prevention work, day in day out training and routine calls plus dealing with major cuts on top of that.
    but yeah firefighters have it easy.

48. Dr Jim

Don’t need soldiers ALL the time
    Don’t need nurses during the night MOSTLY
    How much of the time do police ACTUALLY crimefight
    The Queen! Don’t need her or her folks at all

I’m Melting

49. Macart

Just wow. 😮

What a prize.

50. Roll_On_2015

Donald Urquhart @ 11:58 pm

There’s plenty fires where he’s going.

Naw… Thatcher got there before him and has had all the furnaces shut down. Reckon he will be shivering his nuts of after he arrives there… in perpetuity.

51. ScotsCanuck

I suspect he’s been watching an old movie favourite of mine ….. Fahrenheit 451 (temperature at which paper spontaneously combusts !!, ironic .. n’est pas ?) by the acclaimed French Director Francois Truffaut. In the movie the Firemen don’t extinguish fires … they start them.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=976u_C5XnCc

classic film.

52. JaMur

Full of shit. That’s John mcTernan.

53. Juteman

Lord Watson of Invergowrie might disagree.

54. Roll_On_2015

OT

Meanwhile back in Tory ‘Lollipop World’.

Navy has no sailors for new aircraft carriers.

No aircraft and now no crew.

Altogether now, with gusto, RULE BRITANNIA… BRITANNIA RULES THE WAVES.

I am reminded of a previous Tory era when the UK was short of carriers… Falklands.

55. Clootie

Juteman says:
    22 July, 2015 at 5:25 am
    Lord Watson of Invergowrie might disagree.

🙂 Excellent 🙂

56. Bugger (the Panda)

Let us just go the whole hog and say McTernan is the spawn of the devil. A servant of Satan,.

This guy

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0079641/

57. Jim Arnott

It was bizzare on Newsnight last night. One former Labour advise wearing a blue shirt and one former Tory adviser wearing a red tie. FFS! That says it all.

58. Colin

So, let me get this straight. Labour attacked SNP for merging the police forces. They also attacked SNP for merging the fire brigades…..but now, it is ok to merge them both together. Hit us with your response Kaz. They are seriously on Planet Zog now!!

59. The Isolator

I think I’m getting the hang of this now.

So a SPAD spouts Schecht for 2% of the time and making it up the other 98.Am I right?

Well guess what John ,your a natural for making the tea at the BBC.Career Opportunities indeed.Oh and by the way don’t think we don’t see the little intro to privatisation of the health service a la USA by way of a combined firefighter and paramedic. Jog on John jog on!!

60. Ken500

Who elected him. Disgusting.

2016 & 2017 get them out. Then Independence and a responsible MSM.

Labour instigated? and voted to merge Police Force. Labour/Unionists appointed House. House protected their criminality and was in Labour/Unionist’s pocket. Labour/Unionist’s are rotten to the core along with the Tories and LibDems. LibDem used the local Police Authorities to cover up their criminality.

Cameron/Clegg illegally used the Police to attack the Press keep them in their pockets. The Police have protected criminals in Westminster and the Establishment. Westminster is rotten to the core.

61. Mealer

So that was Mr McTernans response to billions of pounds of Tory cuts? Hey,I’ve got a brilliant idea.Lets retrain our firefighters as fire raisers.They could go round setting fire to orphanages and old folks homes.Think of all the money it would save.Money we could spend on more nuclear bombs and tax cuts for the London elite.

62. Hugh Kirk

Dumb gets even dumber.

63. thomaspotter2014

The growing fire of Independence is the one they can’t put out and it flares every time this snake opens his mouth.

Dead Labour’s hand is still on the tiller of the sinking SNP BAD Ship BBC Scotland.

Kirsty Wark and John Mcternan-geez a break

64. thomaspotter2014

The growing fire of Independence is the one they can’t put out and it flares every time this snake opens his mouth.

Dead Labour’s hand is still on the tiller of the sinking SNP BAD Ship BBC Scotland.

Kirsty Wdark and John Mcternan-geez a break

65. Tinto Chiel

And so Labour’s descent into further madness continues. They are the political equivalent of the Klein bottle, disappearing up themselves at an incredible rate of knots.

It’s a crazy world John, crazy. Just for you…..

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=en1uwIzI3SE

66. heedtracker

For the BBC balance already today, BBC r4 news Today show has had strange man Normal Smith explain to their 6 million listeners that Corbyn is merely “comfort food” for Labour activists so its ok aswell as Macternan’s “they’re morons” Newsnight performance. Good example of BBC balance and neutrality.

Quick sniffy SNP mention from a Westminster ligger too and another day of UKOK hard right wing BBC propaganda and cover ups farts into action.

67. Grouse Beater

McTernan – all your questions answered

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2015/05/18/mack-the-knife/

68. caz-m

Mhairi Black:

“Only right that those who actually oppose should sit where the official opposition should.”

https://twitter.com/MhairiBlack/media

69. Wills

the absolute wanker.
    Absolute absolute wanker.
    Having spent 12 years in the retained I think I could speak on behalf of every firefighter in the UK.
    You are a wanker McTernan.
    Yes we only spend 2% of our time fighting fires, HOW THE ACTUAL FUCK DO YOU THINK WE CAN ????????
    TRAINING, TRAINING, THEN MORE TRAINING..
    That’s why we can roll up to damn nearly any property in the UK within 5 or 6 minutes and do our jobs
    The fact that the victims may be wankers like McTernan do not enter our heads.
    RAGING.

70. schrodingers cat

labour leadership poll

Liz Kendall 11%, Yvette Cooper 20%, Andy Burnham 26%, Jeremy Corbyn 43%

um, dont think mcteirnan will be long in getting his cards

71. caz-m

BBC Scotland’s GMS is dire. Absolutely no political debate worth talking about, any mention of the SNP or the Scottish Government is all negative. I don’t know if they are trying to lose listeners, but if they are, then they are doing a fine job.

Add to the mix, the Call Kaye show. This was meant to be set up as a political phone-in. It has been anything but. They have probably done a handful of political phone-ins this year, the rest have been a waste of time and money.

BBC Scotland definitely trying to dumb down the audience.

Tony Blair is a guest on LBC Radio shortly, about 8.30am.

72. Brian Powell

Interesting, the cult of the BBC and its acolytes.

Over the hill Kirsty Wark speaks seriously to the man who lead Labour to disaster in Scotland, McTernan. They agree, and all is well.

73. MolliBlum

There’s no fires anymore… get rid of the fire service.
    There’s no crime anymore… release the prisoners.
    There’s no child poverty anymore… scrap the benefits.
    What a wonderful world these people live in.

74. T.roz

Half the prison population? Good idea, make space for all the Westminster peados that are heading there.

75. Ali

i was in the fire service — albeit i have been retired for a good few years so i cant speak for the modern day but the time spent physically fighting fires is pretty low i don’t know about 2% but way back when i was there it was just onto double figures %.

what do they do, well training every shift ladders, pumps etc, a technical lecture every shift, servicing and maintaining equipment, fire safety visits, fire inspections of businesses, home fire safety visits, familiarization visits of larger properties and high risk premises, multi story inspections, school visits talks etc (think of all the other organisations that get the same BB scouts Girl guides brownies etc etc etc —

“special services” — eg in my day a vehicle accident was a “special service” hence would not be classed as firefighting (nor was it reflected in annual budgets)

then there is the false calls malicious and genuine, alarm faults, stand by hospitals for helicopter landings, stand by at airport for aircraft reporting problems — assisting other emergency services in their tasks for man power and specialist equipment — none of which count as “firefighting” for these stats

and lets not forget the “cat up tree”

this is an average across the country and there are retained and volunteer firefighters in very rural areas and the islands that might not turn a wheel from one month to the next. so this 2% or whatever the real figure is does not reflect on the work done by wholetime firefighters in our larger towns and cities, and of course what is recorded as a fire for the purposes of these statistic

then as some have already mentioned there are some firefighters that are not operational — ie don’t got to fires, eg fire prevention officers who carry out inspections of large hazardous buildings and investigate the cause of fire, injury and sadly deaths, they will be counted in the “average” but of course their work will not be counted as “fighting fires”

hope that helps

76. Joemcg

Whilst agreeing that McTernan is a eejit the over zealous character Keith Lard springs to mind when I think about firefighters!

77. orri

By that logic you could get rid of the Guards around Buckingham Palace. The word prevention obviously doesn’t enter into his vocabulary. Obviously not quite as bad as those who complain about there not being enough police on the streets to deter criminals and then moan about being proven right when increased numbers lead to a proportionate increase in manpower per crime solved.

78. heedtracker

The fact that the victims may be wankers like McTernan do not enter our heads.
    RAGING.

Now now come on be reasonable. Macternan’s point is that cops and fireman should job share, so you could be a cop giving a speeding ticket, investigating a murder, stopping a bar fight then, someone calls 999 for the fire brigade and all you do is jump in your fire engines and race over to put out the fire.

Simples.

It must be a great idea as it was impartial BBC Labour’s very important Kirsty Wark interviewing Labour’s very important Macternan in a plush BBC studio.

So that makes them not insane and they are not overpaid BBC idiots you know.

79. Ken500

It’s students from elsewhere (exhibitionists) who holler, bawl and drum at the Tennis (paid? Commercial) who put folk off the Tennis. Should be chucked out. Partisan.

It was students from elsewhere who swung the Independence vote. Just passing through.

There should be a residential qualification 2/3 years (quite legitimate) #indytwa so those with the biggest stake are eligible to vote.

80. Jim Thomson

@Roll_On_2015 5:30am

They also have no aircraft (and the F35s they are going to buy are shite anyway) so the launch plan is to crew them with US navy types.

Starting to look like a government sales drive for BAeSystems

81. Ken500

Any programme which gives horrors. Do not watch or listen. No viewers/listeners. No programme. They would just be talking to themselves. They are anyway. What is Wark on.

82. BillyM

Surely he should be kicked out of the labour party at the very least for calling elected labour MPs morons on national telly.
    Then again who actually listens to what he says?

83. Squarego

“Those who don’t build must burn. It’s as old as history and juvenile delinquents.”
    Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheit 451.

84. James Caithness

McTernan advocates taking money from people that actually work for their money. Remind me what he contributes for the money he makes.

85. Ken500

The Cameron/Osbourne are ripping iff the public purse with every gov contract – for them and their family and associates. That is why they join the Tory/Unionist Party. Funded by the Tory bankers. Osbourne’s best man and brother in law (bankers) made £Millions/Billions from the Royal Mail Pension grab. Osbourne’s father in law is a consultant on HS2 making £Millions in consultant fees etc. Rona Fairhead (Cameron appointee) fraudulent banker (should be in jail) now making £Milions out of the BBC. On and on.

86. Clootie

orri says:
    22 July, 2015 at 8:36 am

“…using that logic you could get rid of the guards..”

Using that logic you could get rid of Trident and it’s replacement….but we all know that already.

87. Dan Huil

McTernan and Murphy: rub them both together and feel the intellectual heat of yellow snow.

88. Nana Smith

O/T links

http://newsshaft.com/osbornes-cuts-couldve-killed-me-and-will-kill-others/

In Episode 15 of Apolitical we speak with James Cook, until recently the Scotland Correspondent and now Los Angeles Correspondent for BBC News. We chat about his experiences covering the Independence Referendum in 2014 and the General Election in 2015; allegations of bias in BBC reporting

http://www.apoliticalpodcast.com/15-james-cook/

Good grief…

https://archive.is/YrgCL

89. Capella

Good explainer here from Common Space on Osborne’s policy of ending the deficit and why it’s bad economics. McTernan speaks frivolous nonsense. Why is he being asked for his opinions on the Budget?

https://commonspace.scot/articles/1937/5-graphs-which-reveal-why-osborne-s-obsession-with-ending-the-deficit-is-economic-vandalism

90. G4jeepers

Spew, spew barmy McTernan
    Cut-throat, drivvel, grub!

91. Lochside

McTernan: the brain of a small plant.

92. frogesque

O/T but for anyone that ‘does’ irony’.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-south-scotland-33612612

David Mundell to open food bank in Dumfries
    9 hours ago
    From the section South Scotland

Scotland’s only Conservative MP is to open a food bank to help people struggling with welfare reform.

93. scott

Waiting times at Scottish A&E departments meet target

I note that BBC Scotland reported this but the Burd and Bradford still had to put SNP bad in about it.

94. Ken500

Brown/Blair/Osbourne/Cameron/Clegg and Co should be in jail. Most of them should be in jail. They are a complete and utter disgrace and watching them is sickening. They hate children.

95. GallusEffie

Ali & Wills

Thanks folks for the interesting breakdown of some of the work you do/did. You learn somrthing new every day.

I hope you realise no-one here took that fudrick McTernan seriously and have nothing but respect & awe for your professional service to the public.

96. galamcennalath

How did a total numpty like that get on TV? Whose views is he supposed to be representing? Why do the BBC think it’s acceptable to use license payer’s money to fill airtime with dross?

The real issue is that the BBC appear to be totally unaccountable! There is no effective mechanism for the public to rein them in.

97. heedtracker

David Mundell to open food bank in Dumfries
    9 hours ago

BBC in their Scotland region says

“Scotland’s only Conservative MP is to open a food bank to help people struggling with welfare reform.
    Scottish Secretary David Mundell has previously questioned claims of a link between food bank use and his party’s policy.”

When “cuts” become “reforms”, you’re a UKOK BBC propagandist.

Purr purr

98. Andrew Haddow

Can’t decide whether to go for fully comprehensive or third party and theft, now that the latter’s 33% off.

99. Now's the Hour

Always thought the Necromancer couldn’t possibly get any dumber. Seems I was wrong. Yet more nails in the Labour coffin.

100. Brian Powell

Presumably Mundell will open that food bank when there are no people around. Don’t fancy his chances otherwise.

101. The Moidart

I think people forget how brilliant a strategist this gentleman is.Look at the amazing job he’s done so far. And I’ve never seen a more humane, trustworthy, tolerant and compassionate looking man in my life. The plan is clear and brilliant….

Merge public services. Abstain from voting against cruel, aggressive,unfair,murdering welfare cuts. Reduce the public services. Deaths rise. State dependency numbers reduce. Child poverty numbers go down. Unemployment numbers go down. Everyone’s toast. Retain the ban on fox hunting but reintroduce the red coat shooting parties of the 1700s in Scotlandshire. Everyone’s a winner And blame SNP. The man is a genius!!!!

102. schrodingers cat

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04n5x7x

my fave mcternan moment when he all but calls andy kerr a ("Tractor" - Ed)

too bad its been taken down,

103. Ken500

Where’s the Chilcot Report?

104. Sinky

The Last Labour MP (ever) from Scotland using excuse in Edinburgh Evening News that pairing was in force over Welfare Bill.

https://archive.is/LzAsG

I thought pairing was not usual on important issues.

105. The Moidart

Galamcenallath… Fortunately there is a mechanism that can rein these corrupt brainwashing THX113 subservient scum..

You could cancel your illegal licence and when they visit your property you don’t tell them your name….

Under the Land reform act(Scotland) Act 2003 Part 1, Chapter 2, Section 6, subsection 1 you can evoke your statutory rights and inform them that right of access to your property is withdrawn. And inform them that if they touch your door again you shall have them charged under the criminal justice and licensing (Scotland) act 2010, Part 2, section 38. You could even film the event as evidence.

106. Les wilson

We should have a poll just on wings every week, ” The Political Freak of the Week” between the 5-6 of the worst /most idiotic Unionist comments of the week, complete with their writers names. We could have a bit fun with that. Only a poll program needed.

It would be popular I think.

107. Robert Kerr

The National have published my letter re exports through English ports being English even when they come from Scotland.

Enjoy.

The fight goes on.

108. cearc

Plonker has a Great idea.

They could try it out in London first. After all, they haven’t had a ‘Great Fire’ for a few hundred years!

109. Sinky

Good job vacancy here in Ian Murray’s Office

Team Murray is hiring for my exceptionally busy Edinburgh constituency office. All details here: http://www.w4mpjobs.org/JobDetails.aspx?jobid=51874

Naw I think I’ll just abstain that’s much more effective.

110. The Moidart

Hi Effie. How are you and the family today?? Hope you are all well. How is the bold Joff??? Better now??

111. Macart

Mundell opening a food bank?

Oh good grief.

112. Ken500

£1/4Million Mr Tumble’s food bank visit. Will not pay £20 a week to feed children. Greedy hypocrite. Has no empathy with children.

Alcohol and strip clubs visits.

113. dakk

I watched the interview with McTiernan ,and the way he tore into the Labour members who nominated Corbyn(calling them morons) was bizarre.

Perhaps Wings articles on Labour’s direction are more widely read than we think.Looks like Stuart’s views are gaining traction.

Labour are all morons to me,however.

114. Craig MacInnes

People in the Labour Party he defines as morons actually pay this guy huge sums of money for his “expert” opinions 🙂

Well, he’s right about one thing. They ARE morons.

No wonder he’s got that smug look!

115. caz-m

Tony Blair had two things to say about Scotland in his speech this morning,

One was that our NHS was a basket case and the second was that our illiteracy levels have grown.

Go Tony!
    Go Kezia!

Vote Labour!

Are you lot havin a giraffe!

116. jackie g

Sinky says:@ 9:59 am

Good job vacancy here in Ian Murray’s Office.

I am qualified enough to do that job,

Mmm think i should apply and get some info on the wee toad.

Then i could watch his face when i tell him what i really think..

117. Tinto Chiel

@ The Moidart 9.53.

Thanks for that. I was going to ask Wings for advice on this as I have heard Capita claim there is no facility in Scots Law to deny right of access. I am expecting a re-visit shortly from the goons.

118. Ian Brotherhood

‘There’s no Labour party any more…’

119. caz-m

Lesley-Anne

Are you still going down to see Mundell tomorrow at the Foodbank opening in Dumfries?

If you are, remember and take your camera, so you can share the moment with the rest of the unwashed.

We are definitely not worthy.

All hail the Fluff!

Be gentle with him.

120. Les wilson

Nana Smith says:

Excellent links today Nana, well done.

121. Alastair

We I think he is right. And we could help the deficit by selliing all the fire engines to Boris to use as water canons.
    Soldiers only fight 1% of their time so we could merge them with G4S sell the guns to fairgrounds.
    I’m on a roll but think I’ll stop there.

122. The Moidart

I would hate to come across as being cynical.. But I can’t think of a more inappropriate choice to open a food bank in Scotland. I think this is similar to Captain Jim Murphy and Reddie izzards “visit “to Saint Enochs and the riots that followed. Hhmmmm

123. Les wilson

Just read an economist ( Harry Dent ) prediction that the price of oil will fall down to $32 or less; due to the fact the recent Iran-US nuclear deal will now allow Iran to flood the markets with oil.
    This will effectively destroy the US fracking industry, with hundreds of US companies going bust. They need between $60-85 to survive.

124. The Moidart

Tinto Chiel…no problem my friend. That’s my understanding of it. To access your home they have to be provided with a warrant provided by the court. Which can only be provided on the basis of evidence to the court. Evidence that can’t be provided if they can’t access your home. But please Google it yourself and see what information is out there. I’d hate to misinform anyone as it was a long time ago I accessed this information Just in case….

Incidentally. You should type bbc corruption into YouTube. Sickening.

125. Ken500

Tony Blair is a tax evading criminal liar. Tony Blair a criminal who should be in jail not swanning around the world leading a millionaire life style. Where’s the Chilcot verdict?

126. walter scott

It’s true there were less fires a few years ago but that was because Lord Watson was in jail

127. GallusEffie

Hi Moidart,

thanks for thinking about us, all is well here bar a bit of a cough, the wee monkey was eating for Scotland last night, he’s either got a worm or a growth spurt is on its way.

Hope you’re enjoying your time off.
    And thanks for that info about access for licence checking, we’re gonna ditch ours. Enough is enough.

128. Fred

Wait till the next London riots!

129. Nana Smith

@Les wilson

Thanks Les. Some days there just isn’t a lot of news out there.

I noticed that lately some of my links were not appearing and when they did appear the post had moved on so I’m sure some links were missed.

Here’s one more for now

http://news.scotland.gov.uk/News/First-Minister-to-visit-China-1b57.aspx

130. Roll_On_2015

OT

Oh dear this one has come out of left field:

Petition for Parliament to debate a vote of no confidence in Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt hits 100,000 in just 24 hours

A petition to call a debate on a vote of no confidence in Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt has hit the required number of signatures to be considered for debate in Parliament, in less just 24 hours.

In fact the petition is sitting at just under 150,000

Get stuck in there the 56… stir the pot.

131. Craig P

Firefighters spend a lot of time going round premises and making reports on fire safety improvements, installing fire alarms in people’s homes, etc. These things (along with social changes like fewer people cooking chips or smoking) prevent fires from happening in the first place which is surely preferable to having to fight a fire.

132. caz-m

Scottish Labour and Kezia Dugdale will be giving their full support to Jeremy Corbyn, right?

We need to know these things.

133. The Moidart

Hi Effie. I’m glad you and the family are well. And it’s a lazy day as we were busy yesterday. You’re welcome about the information of course.. But as I said to Tinto Chiel previously… Please check out the information first…to my knowledge it’s correct. But there are many more enlightened people than I on here who will know for sure.

134. Simon

I honestly think he’s just Trolling. He will continue to skulk around getting thrown scraps from those journalists who are still embedded with the non-existent labour machine in Scotland.

I was genuinely dissapointed that this did not come true.

Will we see him as a list candidate for Holyrood?

Will he lead the charge in 2020?

All I can say for certain is that every word that comes out of his mouth is pure gold.

135. MJT

@The Moidart

I volunteer at a Foodbank in Glasgow that’s run by the Trussell Trust. Every week I’m amazed at the generosity of ordinary people, without whose donations foodbanks wouldn’t be able to meet the demand, and saddened by the number of people who need emergency food bags and parcels.

In my experience people who come to the foodbank to receive emergency food bags are treated with respect and dignity by people who know what they’re going through and who have and show kindness and empathy.

And that’s why I’m flabbergasted that Mundell is the person chosen to open the new foodbank in Dumfries. I think it’s a terrible choice. I can’t see the logic. I’m really disappointed.

136. Macart

@Nana

Playing a blinder today Nana.

Many thanks.

137. fletch49er

[face palm] it’s all I can do

138. Nana Smith

@Fred London riots,that’s what they are afraid of…

Boris’s water cannons use was vetoed by Theresa May last week so now he wants sound cannons.

https://archive.is/lTrWF

Wee Eck said he should pay back the costs

https://archive.is/b2wvl

139. Valerie

OMFG what a tool this guy is, and I know BBC are scraping the barrel, but c’mon, insulting the fire fighters?

No firefighter has to justify themselves – end of. A bit of bloody respect for professionals that risk life and limb, and their families that fear for them, ffs!

I bet that fire brigade was a welcome sight when mad dog Labour peer Watson set fire to the curtains at that swanky Edinburgh hotel. A perfectly rational response to not getting whiskey.

I don’t usually comment on appearances, but wtf IS Kirsty wearing?

140. Ian Brotherhood

McTernan should stop arson about.

141. Tinto Chiel

And thanks again, The Moidart.

Don’t know if I can stomach anything more to do with the BBC. Ponsonby’s book is excellent but is bad for the blood pressure. Guy deserves a medal.

My local ironmonger has some nice galvanised pails, though.

142. CameronB Brodie

What an odious cretin, promoted by the similarly odious state broadcaster. A natural combination IMO, as neither are friends of democracy.

143. The Moidart

MJT.. Bless you for that. Takes an amazing type of person to do that. I’m going to Google Trussell. I want to help more. Unfortunately it isn’t going to get any easier. I’m fortunate. I work. But coming from Northeast Glasgow ive seen the effects of abject poverty my whole life. Labour and tory induced!!! Please keep up the wonderful work. There are good people too. As for Mundel???it’s like putting Ed miliband in charge of labour… Lol I think they are looking for an incident to show on the British broadcasting cult. Scum the lot of them!!

144. The Moidart

Ps…Maybe Stu can find out how much Mundane will claim on expenses for his excursion… Lol

145. orri

A brief Google shows that Access seems only to be mentioned in land reform and certainly doesn’t give people carte blanche to wander through your garden or property. Perhaps what they meant was entry and hoped you’d be confused enough to not realise? In which case not even the owner of a property can enter without prior arrangement with their tenant.

http://scotland.shelter.org.uk/get_advice/advice_topics/renting_rights/taking_in_a_lodger_or_subletting_your_home/letting_if_you_are_a_home_owner/your_responsibilities_as_a_landlord_if_you_let_your_home

http://www.bbctvlicence.com/Tips%20for%20avoidng%20TVL-BBC%20harassment.htm

Also seems to indicate that they can come as far as your front door. Entering is an entirely different matter.

146. Al-Stuart

John McTernan has ZERO credibility…

Honours probe quiz for No 10 aide

“John McTernan was re-interviewed under caution last week. Downing Street’s director of political operations has been questioned for a second time by police investigating allegations of cash-for-honours.

John McTernan, seconded to the Scottish Labour Party to run its campaign for May’s Holyrood elections, was re-interviewed under caution last week.

The interview took place before Ruth Turner, the prime minister’s director of government relations, was arrested.

Police have so far spoken to about 90 people including Tony Blair.

All deny wrongdoing and no-one has been charged.

Metropolitan Police officers, headed by Assistant Commissioner John Yates, have been probing claims that political donations were given in exchange for peerages.

The inquiry was sparked after it emerged that a number of large secret loans had been made to the Labour Party before the 2005 general election and that some of those lenders had subsequently been nominated for peerages.”

Source: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/in_depth/6293191.stm

What really jars me off is I am being drilled up the fundament by the BBC to the tune of £145 odd a year in licence fee tax, whilst they then hand the cash over to this dodgy creep for his “insight” in the BBC Bias interviews he pollutes regularly.

147. Nana Smith

@Macart

Thanks Sam, glad you enjoyed.

Linking is the easy part, the hard part is deciding which to choose just in case the Rev has an article planned.

Has happened a few times!

Gave my friend a few printed links on Monday which she has passed round her friends and family, so far 7 previous no voters now Yes. We CAN do independence if we work together by sharing information.

148. YESGUY

Nana Smith.

So glad your back and in top form. Really missed you .

As for Mc T. How can anyone take this twat seriously. Attacking his own party certainly pulls the voters back. I cannot wait for the wipeout Pt2 in the SE. Oh the joy to see them turn on each other like rats in a sack.

Love Wings 🙂

149. Kevin Evans

The prison population is not going to halve if it gets sold off to private business.

If someone’s pension pot is invested in lets just say – the security service in charge of prisons do ya think there’s gonna be more prisoners or less?

Britians prisons are head the same way Americas prisons are – filled with people they can use as a new slave market to produce cheap goods to compete with China.

150. Nana Smith

@Valerie says “I don’t usually comment on appearances, but wtf IS Kirsty wearing?

Someone on twitter likened her to Widow Twanky.

151. The Moidart

Orri….thanks for that. Been quite a while since I checked it out but they definitely can’t access without a warrant.

152. The Moidart

tinto Chiel… Anytime at all my friend. Yeah those galvanised steel buckets fair pack a wallop… Lol

153. Nana Smith

@YESGUY

Thank you. Some days are good, other’s not so much.

Plus it helps when there is actually some news stories and not the usual guff.

That McTernan gives me the heeby geebies and I see they have dragged the war criminal Blair out today so that should help Jeremy Corbin’s leadership bid.

154. Ali

hey wills

how about we get this buffoon, don him in full fire fighting gear, twin pack BA set, shove him through the tunnels through the crawling galleries and into the search n rescue chambers at its usual roasting hot temperature and humidity whilst laying one of those chuffing guidelines as he goes to search for the wee doll that the kind instructor has hidden in some out of the way corner that you would struggle in broad daylight to find let alone the pitch black.

one of my instructors gave us torches, unfortunately he took the batteries out which was just something else to lug about and dare you come out of the exercise having “lost the torch” gawd help you. and if you were minus the wee doll — back in again for more of the same til lyou found it

let him fumble about in the dark for the duration of the set before dragging the 15 stone dummy all the way back the way he came getting tangled up in personal lines and guide lines etc — as you do — and don’t lose the torch or drop the dummy or the doll yes folks standard BA (breathing apparatus) drill.

then interview him as soon as he gets out and see what he thinks of that before putting him in a squad for a shift and see how he fairs trying the same in REAL life — wouldn’t last a minute in some of the squads i worked in i can assure you

155. Hoss Mackintosh

Does anyone know if McTernan is still SLAB Chief of Staff? I have not heard anything to the contrary?

He probably has a water tight contract which means he could quite difficult to get rid off. Blair McDougall may be similar?

Hope so – I think they should be retained by SLAB right up to SE16 and beyond.

Mind you if Corbyn and the Morons get in there may be trouble ahead – as of course he is employed by London Labour and not SLAB!

156. Nana Smith

@Hoss Mackintosh

Was McTernan not employed by Murphy and as Murphy is no more then McTernan is obsolete. I recall reading something about him having to fight Slab for his severance pay but I’m unable to find the link.

I guess we should thank him for doing such a good job for almost annihilating slabbers. So perhaps the tories should pay him for that service.

On a happier topic here’s some good news

http://www.snp.org/media-centre/news/2015/jul/new-vote-confidence-shipbuilding-industry?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

157. gus1940

That was some outfit Kirsty was wearing – sore on the eyes and enough to frighten the horses.

On the subject of The BBC – on last night’s Misreporting Scotland that fabulous double act of Jackie Bird and Eleanor Bradford were in top form as they poured cold water on the good news (reported positively in the rest of The MSM)about improved figures for A&E Waiting Times.

On another of yesterday’s stories in which they were critical of Holyrood they showed astonishing ignorance, deliberate or otherwise, of the fact that until recently The A1 had a horrendous accident record to match that of The A9.

158. Macart

@Nana

“We CAN do independence if we work together by sharing information.

Post of the day. 🙂

159. GallusEffie

Tried posting the link earlier, I’m still learning about how links go in here…especially for Youtube, any tips welcome.

Earlier comments about the phrase “welfare reform” made me remember a wee song I made last Sept for Indyref…hope you enjoy it.

Feels ancient history already, so much has happened since.

youtu.be/d4aLjI7Vyuk

160. Rob James

When people such as McTernan, Mandellson, Alastair Campbell and now even Blair himself remain in the limelight, showering us with their pearls of wisdom instead of occupying an 8 x 6 cell,this may infer that they are in possession of information which would damage reputations, if said information were to be released into the public domain.

It would appear that the more shit you know about, the less likely it appears that any action will be taken against your own trespasses. Carmichael is another example, otherwise the Tories would have been screaming for his resignation. The old adage, “it’s not what you know but who you know”, seems to work the other way around once your are within the hallowed chambers.

@Nana. Great links. I particularly liked the first one where Labour are still in turmoil trying to work out how they fared so badly in the election. Maybe they should try asking the electorate, although it is unlikely that such a thought has ever entered their collective cranium.

161. GallusEffie

Am speechless…

Things people really said #2

Just been pointed to a response by Johann Lamont to a tweet by a fellow carer about a visit by the FM to a carer’s centre in SW Glasgow to show support for the cuts being brought in by Glasgow CC.

She said:

“The FM could fund Glasgow properly for a start. Cannot believe that she settles for politicking when she (sic) she has such power”

162. CameronB Brodie

GallusEffie
    Posting links is normally copy and paste, though for youtube clips, you’ll need to remove all characters before the www. Otherwise the link gets binned.

163. Nana Smith

@GallusEffie

Here you go. Just remove everything before www.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4aLjI7Vyuk

Enjoyed that!

164. GallusEffie

Aww thank you so much CameronB and Nana Smith – that’s really helpful to know. Glad you enjoyed it!

Your kind replies have taken the edge off my rage at JoLa’s tweet earlier. Can not believe the hypocrisy of her!

165. jcd

Absolutely un – feckin – believable. I had to play that vid twice to make sure he said what I thought I heard him say :

“There’s no fires anymore”

Even if he’d said something immediately after that made it a little less looney tunes, he still said that fires no longer happen.

I really am curious now about the kind of rocks they find these cretins under.

I think we should be told.

166. Nana Smith

@GallusEffie

The hypocrisy of Jola. I could point to lots of instances of her blatant stupidity & hypocrisy. Her appearances at First Ministers Questions were a laugh a minute, that’s when she actually turned up.

One particularly cringeworthy appearance during the indyref can be seen here. Actually now I come to think back there were a good number of embarrassing interviews.

Shows the lack of talent in the labour party.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsUkgtsYDSw

167. Macart

@GallusEffie

“Can not believe the hypocrisy of her!”

Well, we are talking about the person who declared Scotland a sumthin’ fur nuthin’ society. Likened civic nationalism and its supporters to a virus and declared Scots genetically incapable of political decision making, albeit the last one may merely have been a horrendous mis speak, it did make you wonder at the mindset.

So yes, I can absolutely believe the lady capable of the most awful hypocrisy. Thankfully her time and her party’s time are almost done. They won’t be missed.

168. frogesque

Tinto Chiel says:
    22 July, 2015 at 10:22 am
    @ The Moidart 9.53.

Thanks for that. I was going to ask Wings for advice on this as I have heard Capita claim there is no facility in Scots Law to deny right of access. I am expecting a re-visit shortly from the goons.

No warrant, no access. Simples!

Without a warrant they can only access your premises with your consent. Give them no information, do not even confirm your name. They have to provide a Sherif with just cause (not sure of the actual legal term)to enter. Not having a licence is not just cause.

Some folk do have right of access without a warrant, Fire, Water, Gas, Electric to name a few but they can only do so in an emergency. Centrica most definitely do not.

I’ve had nearly 20 years of this garbage at my flat (which these days I use as a workshop/storage place)I have no TV there nor internet though I do keep a PC for running Open Office stuff. I’ve been polite, co-operated with visits in the past but all they do is take you off mailing for a for a few months before the insulting letters start fluttering again.

Remember, it costs them to obtain a warrant and they are most unlikely to apply for one.

169. Tinto Chiel

@ frogesque.

Thanks for that. I wonder how many applications for warrant they make? And unless you incriminate yourself, I wonder how they can get evidence to apply for one? Don’t miss the TV anyway, too much good stuff to read.

170. Alan Mackintosh

Folowing on from Frog above, even if they were to apply for a warrant, (which they wont), they would have to show just cause to a sheriff for one to be granted, and for that they would need evidence, which they dont have because they havent been in the house…

You see how it goes in a circle. They rely on scaring people, particularly with the “what to expect in court” version, which implies that you are going to be taken to court, when the reality is that it is trying to trick you.

So, ignore the letters, refuse them access, refuse to confirm your name and remember they are only employees of a private company – Capita. They have no rights of access or any other power. (NB, even police have no right of access per se, which is why they always ask if they could come in. If you invite them in, you have just granted them access.)

171. Tinto Chiel

Oaks. Thanks, Alan.

172. Fred

Nana, the clock is ticking my dear! tick tock, tick tock……

173. GallusEffie

Oh Nana, I DO remember that interview, I was cringing with embarrassment watching the words spill out and me thinking, eh? Am I having a senior moment here understanding her?

As well as social media, thank goodness for pause and record so we can watch and analyse these snafu appearances. Of which, as you rightly say, there were many. For a while “astonished on stilts” was the catchphrase du jour in our household. Might be worth a dusting off again…

Macart, for me the hypocrisy is not only in pointing the finger at Nicola for the chronic underfunding of carer’s centres/projects/allowances but also in doing it in the very week where her WM chums were, by and large, ordered to abstain in the Welfare Reform bill, which will directly and indirectly hammer carers. And then to cite “politicking” OMG….catch yersel on hen….

The last contact I had with Labour was about Carer’s Allowance with Anne McGuire, when she was Minister for Disabled People and carers, who replied to me in a letter that carers didn’t *work* but *played an important role*

Their demise can’t come quickly enough for me.

174. Craig

I am hard of hearing and I couldn’t make out what the question was and what was the answer, if someone could be so kind to tell what he said, I would be grateful

Many Thanks

175. Craig

Actually scrap that, reading the comments (which I should have done 1st). I get the gist of his comments now

176. Grouse Beater

In a lengthy transmission – it went on for many minutes – of Blair’s anti-Corbyn speech on BBC radio’s PM at 5PM, Blair stated in emphatic terms that:

He would never undertake an election on a left-wing agenda. He would ‘rather the Tories won.’

So there you have it.

What Scots have always known and feared. Labour’s heart lies in Westminster one stop from a tomb in the Abbey.

177. Fred

An echo of Miliband preferring the Tories to any kind of deal with the SNP.

178. Jegster35

He is the biggest problem for the labour party ????

179. Brian Doonthetoon

Maybe Corbyn should pay a visit to Central Scotland and LISTEN to former Labour voters who, “with a heavy heart”, voted SNP on 7th May.

I met a couple in Glasgow after one of the George Square rallies – and they exist!

I’ve no doubt the parallel in England is all those who didn’t vote in ‘the Labour heartlands’, because there was no viable alternative, unlike Scotland.

https://i.imgur.com/0LzHa22.jpg

180. Lynch70

Here is a man giving advice on something he knows nothing about and hasn’t bothered to think through either he’s an embarrassment to free thinkers everywhere. I’ve heard better advice down the pub.

If he took a few seconds to engage his brain before he opened his mouth he’d soon figure out fire brigades don’t just fight fires.

They attend accidents and do all manner of work that help prevent fires and improve safety don’t they ? Their prevention work saves lives eh ?

And if it’s really true that firefighters only spend two percent fighting actual fire then isn’t that a sign that they’re doing a bloody marvellous job at preventing fires ?

The mans a fool and the bloody worst of it is he’s failed to get people elected when he’s been hired in that capacity. Yet they reckon he’s good enough to be on talking pish and expecting people to listen to what he thinks.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.