1. Brian Doonthetoon

“Those heels were made for clackin’,
    and that’s just what they’ll do…”

2. Brian Doonthetoon

Apologies – I just LURV causing Paula Rose to flounce…

8=)

3. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, she’s been neglecting her playground the last few days, while she’s been flouncing on Clydeside.

So there!

8=)

4. K1

Think your 1.07 am comment was the 20000th one Ian. Bravo! πŸ˜‰

5. Ian Brotherhood

@K1 –

Nah mate, wisny me.

Liz-G…take a bow there madam…

*sustained raucous applause* πŸ™‚

Ooooh-er, someone’s gonny be awfy cross when she sees sumdy else nabbed that one.

Looking forward to some fireworks well in advance of Nov 5th!

Hoots to all Wingers, and nichty-nicht!

6. Paula Rose

Well really you might of waited – some of us are serious politicians – love you all xx

7. K1

Och well, wrang again…well done Liz on yer unexpected achievement πŸ˜‰

8. Paula Rose

Now what was best about conference – riding pillion on the leading bike in the Yes Bikers cavalcade or Nicola asking to borrow my latest pair of darling heels for her wonderful speech.

9. Paula Rose

Darlings – I’m in Edinburgh anyone around for a wee cocktail lunchtimeish?

10. Liz g

Em…oops
    Thank You I think!

Trying to be proud and humble at the same time.
    Paula Rose how do you do that???

11. Paula Rose

By being me Sweetie – workshop session in the Palm House in 1/2 hour *learnt a lot about political organisation*

12. yesindyref2

With the incredible and surprising to me till he was interviewed by Brian Taylor (who I like by the way just to be contrary) , superstar Mike Russell in the hot seat to clear the way for Indy Ref 2 – or get the 5 tests completely achieved which is impossible, what an amazingly co-ordinated and concerted complete plan there is in place. I’m gobsmacked.This is a well-oiled machine reaching full speed ahead operation, and thanks goodness Angus got the position, he knows exactly what to do as well.

I’ve been patient with Curtice, but his wittering on about Jim Gallagher and his “more powers” garbage when he was aksed about Russell’s interview with Taylor, really puts Curtice in the category of w*ker of the first degree. First time I ever thought that.

13. Nana

@Smallaxe

Hope you are feeling good today. Thought you might like to know Scotland hot topic even in Jamaica

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/-Scotland-will-become-independent-_77316

14. K1

Yeah yesindyref2 also mentioning that Jack McConnell was the ‘first’ to mention overhauling the care system immediately after Nicola’s speech. How’d that work out then Curtice? Dick.

15. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thank you for the Jamaican newspaper,I used to read the daily Gleaner when I was there,it’s more sort of”local”.I’m ok thanks,just a bit tired but fine otherwise,hope your well.

Watched Nicola’s speech,a lot of Peace and Love there.

More here,Peace Always Nana,and Love xx

16. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good to know you are doing ok, I know battling fatigue is hard.

Had a tear in my eye watching Nicola’s speech, she had to gulp a couple of times herself. A very emotional subject talking about disadvantaged children.

Love and peace to you and yours Billy xx

17. Cactus

Greetings y’all from Killin, Middle Scotland.

Tick tock (faster tempo)

X

18. yesindyref2

Yes, if people find a thread via a search engine or even from the index, one of the things I think some do is scroll down to the end and look at the latest comments. Which is why we should keep a watchful eye on older threads. Doesn’t need an answer to whoever has put the troll like posting on at the bottom, who cares, just repeat some important conclusion, and away they go.

19. yesindyref2

A song for David Mundell (the title I mean!)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qhLlXvkm65Y

20. yesindyref2

Mmm, is that Tony Blair on the right?

21. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Cactus: how was Barca?

Hope you like the new *ahem* “palm house” a Certain Lady installed while you were away.

It’ll be orchids next.

22. Paula Rose

*looks over top of glasses*

23. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Empty cocktail glasses, nae doot…

πŸ˜‰

24. shiregirl

Evening πŸ™‚

Just to say I’ve looked at some of the remarks left on the Brain family’s justgiving site and I am appalled.

I am in shock at their lack of empathy whilst being taken aback at how daft they are linking their horrible comments with their place of work (quite a few NHS and education establishments). I mean…eh?! I only hope NHS Tayside looks at one particularly nasty comment.

Rant over. Didn’t want to go o/t on the new post. I’m sure the rev is a softy inside that scary outer shell, but I’m no risking it…!

25. Cactus

Sway hey Tinto Chiel πŸ™‚

Barca was brilliant.. tremendous tapas, fine wine, lots of fork lightening (with no sound of thunder WTAA?) and unlike Glasgow.. the pigeons are teencey, must be their diet.

Speaking of Glasgow.. many a time walking through the streets and meeting with local people, I felt like I was back in my home city.

Caledonia & Catalonia.. we’re so much the same.

Nice greenhoose!

26. Tinto Chiel

Yes, it’s a great city and I must go back since one of my daughters deleted my foaties. All of them. With one little click of a button.

I hear they’re renaming Paula’s Gaff the Kibble Palace.

It didn’t have to be this way…..

27. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe, hope you managed to get some rest and aren’t as tired to day.
    You will certainly have to brace yourself for this morning’s catch up.

Insanity has broken out on Wings I blame Fluffy,we watched far too much of him yesterday.
    Now late last night I did wonder if I myself was a wee bit crazy,but thankfully worked it through.

But this morning….. there is most definitely contagion.
    Started on the main thread with buttered toast tied to a cat.
    But quickly moved on to the Revs twitter.
    There’s giant wheatabix .
    Unspeakable toilets.
    Boasting about how many pint’s the Rev can drink, now while that’s not unusual for a Scotsman . Oh Smallaxe….he ment milk!!!
    They all seemed to have trouble identifying their mum.
    And most disturbingly one seems to think milk is an erotic term.
    I am honestly scared to go back and look.
    So I thought I would just come over here to off topic where all the sane people hang out.

Anyhoo now your all caught up, how are you today?

28. AuldA

@Brian Doonthetoon:

Good to see you back!

Thanks! πŸ˜‰

Puis-je confirmer que vous avez eu votre thΓ©?
    (Feel free to improve Google’s translation… 8=))

This looks a bit formal. β€œPuis-je” is not stilted, but close. Posh. Try Avez-vous eu votre thΓ© ? That’s more informal, and sounds better.

Here’s one of our badge designs for you.

Thanks! I’ll adopt it as soon as I get round to it.

Take care!

29. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

Avez-vous eu votre thΓ© ?

The only problem that I see with that is that it translates as “Have you had your tea?”. This could be taken as an invitation to come in and partake of a meal, if the answer is no.

What I was trying to translate was, “You’ll have had your tea?”, which, although an apparent question, is more of a rhetorical question – a statement that you HAVE had your tea so don’t expect anything here.

30. Paula Rose

Yippee modern languages lessons again *gets notepad and pen*

31. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Seeing as AuldA is back and is a sponge for language knowledge, we can start to introduce him to the various Scots dialects an’ thah’, iye? Ya hoormin! Nihin’ else even cams close!

Mind you, we could have a problem relating the story of the wee cooper o’ Fife, specially when it comes to “Nickety, nackety, noo, noo, noo”, or “Hey willy wallachy, how John Dougal Alane quo rushety, roo, roo, roo.”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mcH0qtyvbQE

http://scottish-music-lyrics.blogspot.co.uk/2008/01/wee-cooper-o-fife.html

32. yesindyref2

Not quite appropriate but shame to waste it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFMNZXWavmQ

33. Tinto Chiel

Yesindyref2: even less relevant but a great way to finish an album:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ofq39n0skQw

Great lyrics in all their songs, imho.

34. Paula Rose

Oi who’s been leaving their fag-ends in the plant tubs?

35. Tinto Chiel

So when I asked PR, “Whit are we daein’ aboot the rampant Japanese knotweed in the “conservatory”, Babes?”, this is all I got:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4H2pUKYYW-o

Sheesh!

36. Paula Rose

Tinto Honey jokes about foreign invasive species are not appreciated.

37. Smallaxe

liz g:

Good evening liz,sorry that I did not reply earlier but this fatigue is very difficult to explain to anyone who has not experienced it,no matter how long I sleep/rest it makes little difference.I sometimes have to take off my watch because it feels heavy.

I had a look over at the other thread, ostensibly for Nana’s links as always,I see what you mean about coming over to the sane thread,at least we can have humour,music(some of it making more sense than the “serious” posts)and friendship over here. I noticed someone being accused of paranoia,my take is paranoia creates perfect awareness,I also seen G.B.correcting someones spelling,I’ve mentioned this before now,as long as we know what the person’s meaning,what does it matter,things like that could put people off from posting.Inclusion means everybody.

I did smile though when G.B.ended his post with Peace and some thing,it escapes my memory what the other word was.It worries me when some complain about Peace and Love on the end of a post,would they rather have the opposite?.

I have tasked my good lady with hunting out my Jamaican diaries,I will carry on with the story when I’m more up to the task,if some of you are still interested.As for Fluffy,I wrote
    to him last week,as I am one of his constituents(lucky me!)and reminded him of his position,and asked when he would be starting to do his bit for his country.I await the reply or the handcuffs!I did receive a letter confirming that he had received my communication,but so far nothing else.

I send my love to you,Nana and all who I like to think of as friends in Paula Rose’s exotically perfumed Palace of Peace.I read every post on this side,so please keep the usual sensible nonsense coming.Thank you for thinking of me,it feeds my spirit.

Peace,Love and Harmony to All

PS.I started writing this before 7pm and rested in between,I apologise again for my lateness in replying.

38. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

“foreign invasive species”

I’ve come across (well not literally!) a flower that has spread as far north as Brechin and has been spotted in Glasgow, Aberdeen, Edinburgh and elsewhere. Seems pretty “hermless” though…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pLDXna_mIts

39. Paula Rose

BDTT Honey I love it when you try so hard to get into my good books.

40. Tinto Chiel

See! She still called me Honey!

*swoons*

It’s all I wanted, really…

41. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe: have some fun with these bad boys.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBaWSDhCLPQ

Definitely not hippy, but cleans out the tubes!

I’ve given up on this palm house/greenhouse/conservatory nonsense, btw.

And that’s my last word on the matter…..

And ah had a wee begonia tae.

*Flounces off in direction of nearest hostelry.*

42. Betty Boop

@ yesindyref2, 4.25am, 16/10/16

Jings, you were up late! Anyway, have you got a link to the Russell – Taylor interview?

We tried to attend a Brexit meeting at the conference with Russell, Bardell and McIntyre-Kemp, but, it was over-subscribed and we had to leave because of the intense heat in the room where half the folk had to stand! Heard Mike Russell opening, but, couldn’t do the rest. What we heard was impressive.

@ Auld A

Welcome back! πŸ™‚

@ Smallaxe

Hope you and your wife are bearing up.

@ Nana

Hope you and your other half are keeping well. Nana, I had a tear in my eye at least three times during that conference!

@ A’body else
    Good to have seen some of you at the end of last week and hope to see more of you again soon.

43. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose, 17/10/16, 3:39pm

Yippee modern languages lessons again *gets notepad and pen*

If we’re lucky, we might even get some quantum physics lessons too. Yaaay ! πŸ™‚

44. Tinto Chiel

And since I’ve got your attention, pop-pickers:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gqwuGTOs1jo

45. yesindyref2

@Betty Boop
    Can’t help too much as I don’t have flash on this Windows XP, waiting for a few random photons and event horizons to errr, event, before I get Win 7 to XP mode somehow with the seemingly incompatible AMD processor, but it might be on iplayer afternoon live session on 15th from here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/b0088kbn

It was on BBC2 where they had an interview with Sturgeon, Andrew “botox” Kerr with Curtice (I think Kerr was actually getting fed up with Curtice), Sturgeon’s speech, and after that some stuff then the interview by Taylor with Russell – out in the auditor..thingy.

46. Paula Rose

The only pen that could ever reach me was the pen of a preacher man…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dp4339EbVn8

47. Liz g

Smallaxe Hi hun
    No need to apologise,was just touching base with you.
    I am also replying to you late and I don’t ever have a good reason.
    Also pointing you towards those Twitter exchanges cause they really were very funny,and sometimes laughter can be the best medicine so I didn’t want you to miss them.
    I understand that it could be a bit of an effort to reply to us right now. So don’t worry about it.
    Just a …Hi… form you or even Mrs Smallaxe (give her my best) will be fine just so we don’t worry.
    As always stay well my friend and be good to yourself. X

48. yesindyref2

Don’t know if this band has ever been on off-topic, did go looking before but couldn’t find them. I think they’re the one played at the opening of the new union where I was the bouncer for the day. Just let in the football and the rugby team for free, easiest drinking money I ever earned in my life – and they made sure my glass was never empty. Didn’t cost me a penny. Only trouble I had was when I vaguely remember kicking out this political guy going on about Independence draped in a saltire but I might have just made that up.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Bo-Dr_Qkg4

49. Smallaxe

Hi Liz and all,

I’m fine,more a nuisance,frustrating, but not ill,it’ll pass.

Thanks liz and All πŸ™‚

Peace and Love Always from both of us

50. Paula Rose

Smallaxe and Liz g get yourselves comfy *plumps cushions* help yourselves to tea and cake you lovely people – in awe Darlings of the two of you I really am xx

51. Paula Rose

For all those who cherish everyone…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hXDJneVbEC8

52. Liz g

Paula Rose 2.31
    Thank You X

53. Liz g

Paula Rose @ 2.31
    Thank You X

54. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (9.29) –

‘Oi who’s been leaving their fag-ends in the plant tubs?’

Okay *hands up*, but I was just hoping to grow a tobacco plant.

Anyway, the reason I’m up so early is I want to be sure to catch the Call Kaye show to see if she’ll open today’s show with an apology for yesterday’s.

She did ‘issue’ a a statement on Twitter but it wasn’t so much an apology as a ‘how-very-dare-you’, inviting critics to come ahead and ‘ave-some via her preferred means of contact i.e. her phone-in. We’ll soon see if anyone takes her up on it…and can get through…and can make their point before being cut-off to make space for Ian See-These-People-And See-That-Sturgeon-Lassie.

55. Liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 5.11

well if you or anyone else reading this phones in and manages to get through.
    Please let her know its very simple.

When a woman gets drunk on a night out.
    What does she expect!!!!!
    What she actually is expecting to get.
    Is a fucking Hangover…

Maybe that will get through.
    So bloody angry people are still having this conversation.
    She should be fired.

Sorry Ian rant over.

56. Ian Brotherhood

@Liz g –

Hey, nowt to apologise for.

I didn’t hear her show yesterday (well, not the controversial part) but I did see some of the Tweets and quotes. Did you see her defensive response?

Hard to see how she can avoid commenting on all this later, but knowing her style (and if her Tweet’s anything to go by) there’s a strong possibility that she’ll just make it worse.

57. Liz g

Ian Brotherhood @ 6.49
    Didn’t hear the show either Ian,like you I just saw the response.
    Would be good if she gets put off air for this but I won’t hold my breath.
    Wait till she has to worry when her daughter’s (if she has any )are on a night out,that they will encounter that attitude.
    She won’t be so chipper on morning radio when she has to pick them up from town. Because enough wasn’t done to keep woman safe.
    Arggggg there I go again.
    Just when Paula Rose thought I was nice too!!!

58. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

Beautiful,thank you x

Peace Always

59. Nana

@Betty Boop

Aye the Gregg Brain speech gave me a lump in the throat and then Nicola and the kids set me blubbing.
    From what I saw I would say it was a good conference. You both well I hope?

@cearc
    Did you get my phone number from Ronnie?

60. Tinto Chiel

Morning, Peeps.

Have been clearing out a bedroom and came across an old DVD with this in it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ElhbTsKsros

Kleenex Man Size required for the wee song…..

61. Nana

@Smallaxe

Don’t know what was going on here last evening, trail of compost on the floor. Between you and me I think it was Tinto not brushing up after planting his begonias and flouncing about.

I suppose I’d best get a brush before PR sees it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrIRE8Hzl7c

Hope you are doing ok today Smallaxe

62. Tinto Chiel

It wisnae me, Nana btw.

Must get more Kleenex.

63. Nana

@Tinto Chiel

Aw sorry if I made you cry Tinto, hope this cheers you up

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y6Sxv-sUYtM

Wondering who is the compost culprit Mmm

64. K1

It wis me Nana, I wis diggin’ aboot fur Ian’s fag ends…mananged tae find enough fur a roll up, couldnae find the brush n shovel… πŸ˜‰

65. Tinto Chiel

Problem solved, and just as well before SWMBO gets on the case.

Thanks, Nana: it’s one of my favourites actually and I like his taste in hats.

66. Masslass

There is an article in the Glasgow Herald written by Rosemary Goring regarding Yes/No voters re indy2014.

A great post by Russell Hamilton at 10.15am listing Scotlands resources is a post that should be read by every No voter.

Could some of the savvy computer people cut and paste this post for anyone wishing to share it far and wide. Like me for instance.

Thankyou

67. Ian Brotherhood

Paula Rose is having bother, can’t access any WOS pages.

Anyone been having probs this afternoon?

68. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m a bit better today thanks,got your links X

K1: brush and shovel in cupboard in utility room πŸ™‚

Peace Always

69. Ian Brotherhood

Looks like Miss Rose is indisposed…

While the cat’s away…

πŸ™‚

70. yesindyref2

Nicola Sturgeon has of course I just realised, given us THE big word for Indy Ref 2.

It’s inclusive and it’s a winner!

71. Paula Rose

Yippee I’m back – gosh the place is all sparkly and lovely, so nice to know that you don’t make a mess when I’m away xx

72. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

So, well, er…you still haven’t checked under that inverted plant pot in the corner?

*puts earplugs in*

73. Conan the Librarianβ„’

What’s the plan for Saturday folks?

74. Conan the Librarianβ„’

@ Ian Brotherhood

I am too. My first post in weeks, and apparently: “You are posting too quickly, slow down.”

75. Tinto Chiel

Is that what I think it is? Jeezo…..who did that?

*tries to divert attention quickly*

So next up is the famous French song about a tramp who wanders the countryside, sleeping in the woods with the wee elves until the gendarmes lock him up for vagrancy and he commits suicide. Happy ending: his ghost wanders the countryside and goes back to his old haunts.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oSxLWjrayto

Phew, don’t think anyone else noticed.

76. Paula Rose

Ian Honey are you responsible for this? *smiles sweetly with a faint hint of menace*

77. Tinto Chiel

What, you want the words too? Servez-vous…..

http://www.paroles.net/charles-trenet

78. Paula Rose

Conan Honey not you personally but everyone.

79. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Conan the Librarianβ„’.

I believe we are congregating at the AyeMail/WOS stand on Saturday.

Once the congregation is assembled, we will sing the Wings hymn before a cardboard cut-out of Rev Stu, then afterwards, assimilate as many peeps as we can into the the legion of vile cybernats.

Ronnie will have Scottish passports for those who feel stateless…

80. ronnie anderson

Unchain the Unicorn event Holyrood Sat 22nd Oct.

Lindsay Bruce Wings Stall

Donna Babington Saltire Creations

Ken McDonald iScot magazine

Pete the Camera Badges
    & various nefarious Wingers I hope to see plenty Wingers Auld & New.

81. Michael McCabe

Here is some Bob Dylan Lyrics you have possibly not heard ? Sung by Marcus Mumford Of Mumford & Sons. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BDUDx15KdkI

82. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

You’ve done did it again Michael!

Peace Always

83. Tinto Chiel

Evening, Wingers.

Had a great time at The Cheviot, The Stag and The Black, Black oil at The Citz this afternoon.

Strangely, I saw Arch-Bayoneter of the (Referendum) Wounded, Ian Davidson, there. Can’t imagine what a Slayer of The Nats was doing at such a production. Or has he gone back to being a real socialist?

Anyhow, I enjoyed the Gaelic songs so much I’ll just leave this here for Nana and other sophisticates:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1RPdrkovLo&list=PLAE5qh2oEYnODs4i1cP6uXzEmctkNi9_F&index=4

May The Force be with you.

84. Dave McEwan Hill

Yesterday was a very important day in the history of the world. It was Chick Berry’s 90th birthday. To mark the occasion I have provided a link to what I describe as one of his finest pieces – yet virtually nobody has heard it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jbzTMvwPh1c&list=RDjbzTMvwPh1c

85. Dave McEwan Hill

And just about the most sumptuous base line of any rock’n’roll record which I meant to mention.

86. cearc

Nana,

I’ll phone Ronnie a this evening, sorry I’ve been a bit AWOL this last week but feeling much better now.

Ian, well I hope you’ll treat my new conservatory with a bit more respect when you visit!

Actually, I am renaming it, ‘the orangerie’. A bit pretentious but I do have wee oranges ripening in it and I don’t want to conserve tories, even as exported jam.

87. Smallaxe

Nana:

Good news,thanks xx

Peace Always

88. Nana

@Smallaxe

It sure is Billy, let’s hope there is a good response.

Hope you are doing ok today, the sun is out up here and quite mild. Gings I’ve even got the conservatory doors open. Long may it continue.

Misreporting Scotland website will go live tonight so keep an eye on the facebook page for any updates. xx

89. Nana

The http://informscotland.com/ is up with around 20-30 articles already there, but the remaining 120 odd articles on BBC bias we’re linking to are going to be uploaded over the next day or so, so folk might find a few gaps initially on the site. They will be filled!

https://www.gofundme.com/informscotland

https://www.facebook.com/Inform-Scotland-1969903196569754/?fref=ts

Please donate if you can.

90. Cherry

Hi people
    You may have noticed our wee website. Well we know you did! coz you caught us out and you were putting donations in,before our Website
    http://www.informscotland.com was fully live. So apologises to those who may have been disappointed at not being able to work with it.
    Myself,Cadogan and Simon hope you will all come over and read our articles,join our membership to be able to vote and choose our next campaign. Print off our poster and stick it in your window, every little helps to get the word out, so go have a look, but most of all help us make our goal. Without your support we won’t be able to put as Many BILLBOARDS as we can throughout our wee country. THIS TIME IT’S PERSONAL!! check it out go to
    http://www.gofundme.com/informscotland then go to http://www.informscotland.com
    read articles from Prof.John Robertson, who is our media spokesman, G.A. Ponsonby, Rev Stuart Campbell and many more to come. We are still adding articles daily, we hope to have all the gremlins under control but be kind we are just ordinary folks and we have been trying hard to get this out to the world!!
    Donate Donate Donate Donate thank you!
    Cherry, Cadogan and Simon

91. Paula Rose

Michael McCabe Sweetie – are we going to see you on Saturday and is that four-poster bed still on offer, can’t find your phone number do you have my email.

92. Paula Rose

Now Sweeties – looks like I can make it on Saturday after all but in order to do so I’ll need to stay overnight – who’s going to be the first to offer me a delightful night’s repose?

93. Peter Barjonas

He says that the media are involved in a corrupt campaign. Has anyone noticed that when you watch Trump on HD his hair is always SD. I’m not one for those conspiricy theories but you have to wonder. Other than that, I sense an independent Scotland.
    Just had to get it off my chest (which is invariably hairy on any screen).

94. Paula Rose

Too much information Dear.

95. Peter Barjonas

Can’t supply photographic information, sorry. The ferret has just bolted.

96. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m doing well,managed to get to a meeting tonight,spoke to
    Joan McAlpine,my daughter was nominated for a position,so she
    will now be a delegate at future conferences and suchlike.

Will take a look at inform website tomorrow and donate of course.Tired now,will get your links tomorrow as usual.Billyxx

Peace and Love Always

97. Michael McCabe

A wee song for Paula Rose. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rWz88VY-FkA

98. Stoker

IanB

Did you ever get the answer to your sweets question?

99. Ian Brotherhood

@Stoker –

Not to my satisfaction.

‘Fruit Gums’ appeared to come out tops of the guesses, but I remain unconvinced.

Life is full of mysteries.

πŸ™

100. Stoker

IanB

Just ignore that last question, reading further up stream i can see it’s been answered.

101. Stoker

I was going to suggest Fruit Gums but they’ve been suggested.
    _____

Prank gone wrong πŸ™‚
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYnjcgnB3TM

102. Smallaxe

Nana:

Job done,donation made,got your links.Coffee poured.
    πŸ™‚

Peace,Love and Posters

103. Cadogan Enright

Kevin from IndyLive is looking for somewhere in Glasgow this Sunday to do an interview with Prof John Robertson and our own Simon Malzer, chair of ‘Inform Scotland’

Kevin is checking Brooklyn Cafe to see if it is open

any other ideas out there?

any concrete ideas or off send to Kevin at liveindependence@gmail.com

104. Still Positive.

I hope someone can help me with a wee problem. I told my son about how Ian Lang (when he was SoS) cobbled together the GERS figures to prove Scotland couldn’t afford devolution. My son wants proof.

More than 2 years ago I read a long post about how Scotland got devolution via the Council of Europe who told John Major’s govt that they should implement it. Major refused and Lang came up with the figures to prove it was impossible.

I think I may have read it as a link BTL on a Yes Scotland FB page.

Anyone got any ideas where I can find the info?

105. David

Currently, the Wikipedia page for Tory MP Sam Gyimah says that he “is an arsehole.”
    I concur.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sam_Gyimah

Standing up and waffling in the House of Commons for 25 minutes, deliberately to stop any vote on SNP MP John Nicolson’s bill to pardon men convicted in the past of ‘homosexuality’ offences.

Of course, MP Gyimah did that under orders from higher-up in the Tory party. Disgraceful from them. Instead of continuing to support or at least not oppose this SNP bill, Tories decided to kill it and bring in their own bill.

It seems that Scottish Labour’s ‘Bain Principle’ is alive and well, and living in the Tory party at Westminster.

The sooner we get out of this corrupt union, the better.

106. Brian Doonthetoon

Typing about @r$€hol€$…

Anybody else read this? I got the link from Commonspace today.

http://thetab.com/uk/2016/10/20/spoke-anti-tampon-tax-guy-told-women-just-hold-bladder-23156

I wonder if his mother’s proud of him and the way he was brung up…

107. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry – got it from the Rev’s Twitter line thingy.

108. Paula Rose

Yes Dear we dealt with that little twerp a couple of days ago on twitter – do keep up.

109. yesindyref2

It’s a weird thing music, something you used to like just don’t sound the same. Ah well. Maybe I’ll like it again in a few years.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFgayzZ5KTM

110. Michael McCabe

Tweeter and the Monkey Man. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lEJOekbg2lE

111. Nana

@Smallaxe

Sorry I forgot to answer you yesterday. I had a hospital appointment, was feeling a bit wrecked afterwards.

Lovely surprise last evening, my eldest son came home for the weekend which fair cheered me up. I suppose I’d best get preparing his favourite nosh for later haha

Hope you have a good weekend with your family xx

112. Ian Brotherhood

Question for the O/T film buffs (if there are any?)

An Orson Welles ‘short’ in which he plays a posh English MP who is constantly wound-up in the HoC by a Welsh MP. Pretty sure it was part of a full-length movie but can’t find it…

Help! (Need to find it, part of uni homework.)

113. Conan the Librarianβ„’

@ Ian Brotherhood

Three cases of murder?

114. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Yep pretty sure that Conan is right. Orson Welles played Lord Mountdrago.

http://www.britishhorrorfilms.co.uk/threecasesofmurder.shtml

115. Ian Brotherhood

@Conan & Thepnr –

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Pints all round chaps. Soo-perb.

116. Ian Brotherhood

In the hunt for the elusive Lord Mountdrago, stumbled across this. Filmed just eight days before Welles died.

Lovely to see he was still so razor-sharp, and looking good right up to the end. A proper hero, great artist and ‘a good guy’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JaC3Hp36wXY

117. Thepnr

Aye Ian, we’re all romantics and that’s why we’re here.

I think of my old man and what he would have thought of the current situation being a Britisher Unionist type as he was.

I can’t ask him as he is no longer with us but I can tell you this. He would be appalled, he would be frothing at the mouth at the antics of the Tories robbing the poor to cut taxes for the rich.

I am certain, he would be fighting heart and soul with us for Independence.

118. Paula Rose

Right Grandads out the way us girls is back from the rally in a place next to Red Morningside – come on in girls, in you come – say hello to papas Ian and The.

Kick off your heels and we’ll get the resident DJs to do their stuff Michael McCabe Brian Doonthetoon where are you coo-ee.

119. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

It always seems to boil down to the essential Scottish loathing of Tories. It’s always been there, and always will be.

Mundell is a dangleberry. We can’t shift him next May, but we can certainly make his position even shooglier than it is at present, and Ruth’s doing a grand job for us to that end.

I’m sure your old man would be proud of you, all you’ve put into this effort. Every comment and tweet count. Every pub conversation, every wee sticker, every fresh connection made via here, the WOS socials or whatever else. None of us can really appreciate the breadth and depth of this movement because we’re too close to it, but we can see, even in the reaction of Juncker to May night before last, that the UK is on the verge of collapse.

We’re helping that process – every single one of us – and the world will thank us for it.

120. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s one of Paula Rose’s fave tunes.

Here’s hoping she likes the treament!

(Where, precisely, is she anyway? God ‘elp Edinburgh…)

Samantha Fox, ‘I Only Want To Be With You’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDk-CUsBCSo

121. Paula Rose

Oi move over chuck go get some nibbles.

122. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

An old favourite, and no apologies for posting it again.

One minor change to the lyrics might be nice – ‘Calling’ could easily be ‘Falling’. (Perhaps that’s what Strummer would’ve liked to say?)

The Clash, ‘London Calling’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EfK-WX2pa8c

123. Croompenstein

Loved this

Ruby says European Votes for European Laws

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTo79sPCVXA

124. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood you clever thing you alluding to the fact that I am screening London Calling in Brechin on Tuesday.

125. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

That’s yer ‘synchronicity’ thing happening again, eh?

The ‘best laid plans’ are already there, just waiting to be plucked…

πŸ˜‰

126. Paula Rose

Finger on pulse me – finger on pulse.

127. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I do hope your host made appropriate preparations for your stay.

Is your rider as requested?

128. yesindyref2

So I make a totally reasonable sensible posting, but somehow or other this provocative phrase creeps in “(…end of the Union) and a far better way forward for Scotland”. Very naughty, slap slap, should I edit it? Mmmm, nah.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdOCWUgwiWs

The Union might end on Monday, all bar the shouting. Or the JMC comes out with Vow 2, and drags on for a few days, a few weeks, a few months. A critical point for Indy.

https://www.gov.uk/government/news/prime-minister-to-set-out-her-vision-at-joint-ministerial-committee

129. Smallaxe

Nana says:
    22 October, 2016 at 10:13 am
    @Smallaxe:

No apologies needed Nana,I seen on the main thread that you had an appointment.I hope everything went well for you.Enjoy having your son home.I’ve just been taking things easy this
    weekend.

Peace, and Love Always xx

130. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Still Positive.

Catching up on the past few days…

On 21 October at 5:08pm, you typed,

“I hope someone can help me with a wee problem.
    [snip]
    More than 2 years ago I read a long post about how Scotland got devolution via the Council of Europe…
    [snip]
    Anyone got any ideas where I can find the info?”

Is this what you’re looking for?

http://www.electricscotland.com/independence/scotlandun.htm

More links here:-

http://www.electricscotland.com/independence/index.htm

131. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just posted this on the “Sewer” page…
    ================================================

RE: lack of publicity and dependence on Facebook/Twitter.

A few weeks ago, I saw mention on Twitter about a Fife cavalcade for independence. I’ve seen ONE graphic about it –

http://imgur.com/a/cLV0P

I uploaded that to the WWW as it only appeared to be visible on Twitter and/or Facebook. I’ve seen no more info about it, only that assembly is at Fluthers car park in Cupar at 10am.

What’s the route?
    Is it ending back in Cupar?
    I read that the Yes Bikers had been invited. Do they know?
    What’s the finishing time?
    Are any stops en route planned?

I was pushing this event at the Holyrood rally yesterday but the only info I could offer was the start time and location.

132. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Lazy Sunday,Small Faces?

Peace Always

133. Smallaxe

Mcccat88:

Well done Re.billboards,music to my ears. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

134. davidb

A nasty smell….

http://archive.is/qbcST

135. Flower of Scotland

With reference to Fife cavalcade

Fluthers Car Park 10am 29th Oct:-
    Newburgh
    Falkland
    Kennoway
    Leven
    Elite
    Pittenween
    Anstruther
    Frail
    Kingsbarns
    St.Andrews
    Leuchers
    Tayport
    Finish Luthrie Hall.

Journey is about 80. miles and includes a stop in Anstruther for a fish supper. Journey could take around 4 Hrs taking into account speeds of 25 to 50mph. It is non political, purely a promo for Scotland,s Independence.

That’s all that I’ve heard so far. Hope this helps.

136. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Flower of Scotland.

Thanks for that – allows some planning!

I had a look on the Yesnef Facebook page before I posted the above but there is no info there at all. People can only turn up if they are aware of an event.

137. Still Positive.

Thanks Nana and Briandoonthetoon.

Both links great. Much appreciated.

138. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Yep you are surly right, where is the organisation coming from? There is none, 5/10 Must try harder.

@Flower of Scotland

Well done you for the additional info.

How pathetic is that though that we do not have a central hub to share information? Mental I think, SNP of Yes Scotland if you still exist get your ares in gear.

139. Ian Brotherhood

Beyonce & Kendrick Lamar, ‘Freedom’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bRjEg6YrlSk

140. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Pretty pictures, and they were very pretty. Freedom though? Nah.

141. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

I am assured, by people who know about such things, that Lamar is a genius. Pushing the boundaries an’ aw that.

An acquired taste perhaps, but worth persevering with IMO.

142. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

There IS a web site, rather than Facebook/Twitter but next Saturday’s event isn’t on it. It is showing an event in Edinburgh but nothing about the Fife cavalcade.

I guess if the web site doesn’t get the info it won’t be on there.

This web site has been on the go since indyref1 but doesn’t appear to be well supported ie, most people appear to be ignorant of its existence. Its url needs spread more widely and then used for notification of events.

http://www.indyscot.info/showallevents.php

143. Ian Brotherhood

@Thepnr –

You know I wouldn’t give you a bum steer.

Please have a wee snifter at this…give it a couple of mins, eh?

Kendrick Lamar, ‘Alright’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z-48u_uWMHY

144. Brian Doonthetoon

This is for K1 and Hamish100, who are having an amicable discussion about swearing on the latest page.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2UT02–Ijdc

Seems to be ok for YouTube…

145. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

I’ve been watching that conversation Brian,is Hamish 100 oor Heidmaister? will he be getting the lochgelly oot,ahm feart!
    πŸ˜‰

Peace Always

146. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW Flower of Scotland.

I’ve passed through, or visited, almost all of the locations on your cavalcade route but, I have to admit, I’ve never visited Elite and Frail.

Looking forward to seeing what attractions these Brigadoons of the East Neuk offer!

147. yesindyref2

And Leuchers.

Yes, I ken them all well, many a fond memory from long ago. Wish I could make it.

My answer would be “I fucking can you fucking cunt”.

148. Flower of Scotland

Hi BDTT,

Just keeping you on your toes! Predictive text is a bummer at times.

Hi, Thepnr

Hopefully the Indy app will call these things together.
    This cavalcade has been organised by one guy. He,s sort of been left to get on with it.
    I’ve shared it on facebook. It’s really word of mouth advertising.

149. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve just watched “YesBikers Thunderburgh Arriving at Scottish parliament Oct 22nd 2016” on the ‘YesBikers for Scottish Independence’ Facebook page.

At least two of the bikes were flying WOS flags. Who are you?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEYMdLk4Y8g

The reason that I had a look at that page was to see if there was any mention of the Yesnef cavalcade this Saturday. I scrolled down the page back to 12th October, where I found that ‘Thunderburgh’ on Saturday past is mentioned as “the last YesBikers ride out of 2016”.

So it looks like either they haven’t been notified of the Fife event, or they’ve declined. I was under the impression that they had said they’d turn up for any event. Maybe somebody from Yesnef should get onto the Bikers Facebook page and message them to clarify?

http://www.facebook.com/YesBikers/?fref=ts

150. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Flower of Scotland.

I’ve just pasted the message below on the following Facebook pages:-

scot2scot
    YES BUS… SCOTLAND’S DRAGON FOR INDY
    The Indy Inn
    Scot2scot North East Scotland Region
    unleash the unicorn to independence
    YES Dundee and Surrounding Areas Events & Information
    YES Dundee Hub
    Yes City Dundee
    and finally…
    YesBikers for Scottish Independence
    ————————————————-

Yes NE Fife cavalcade this Saturday, 29th October.
    Assemble Fluthers Car Park Cupar at 10am.
    Route:
    Cupar
    Newburgh
    Falkland
    Kennoway
    Leven
    Elie
    Pittenween
    Anstruther
    Crail
    Kingsbarns
    St.Andrews
    Leuchars
    Tayport
    Finish Luthrie Hall.

Journey is about 80 miles and includes a stop in Anstruther for a fish supper. Journey could take around 4 Hrs taking into account speeds of 25 to 50mph. It is non political, purely a promo for Scotland’s Independence.

That’s all that I’ve heard so far. Please share this info as widely as possible.
    https://i.imgur.com/JeMentQ.jpg

————————————————-

151. CameronB Brodie

The right thing to do is to respect human rights, right?

Jim Murple Memorial – Why Don’t You Do Right
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQmiurAnaho

152. CameronB Brodie

The main problems an independent Scotland’s economy would face are largely related to our peripheral location in Europe. As someone with at least a partial understanding of the development process, what would be my prognosis for an energy rich independent Scotland, functioning within an EU which seeks to reduce spatial competitive disadvantages across Europe?

Jim Murple memorial – No problemo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6qlM1Z4hz1g

153. CameronB Brodie

The main reason the EU’s spatial strategy has failed to address the structural problems faced by Scotland. HMG and British nationalism. Simples.

154. Brian Doonthetoon

This is a handy wee video to demonstrate to Yoons why there shouldn’t be any blue in the Union Flag, if Scotland removes itself from the union, leaving just the kingdom of England.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oWndL1VBwkw

155. CameronB Brodie

P.S. to my post at 6.31pm. The main reason for the structural problems of poor housing and general low levels of wealth, are primarily the result of Scotland’s ‘union’ with England. The subsequent utilitarian approach to managing two entirely disparate nations as one, has naturally turned out to be a bit of a disaster.

GERS is a snapshot of the pish Scots have been fed for three centuries of internal colonisation. No wonder some of us suffer from an identity crisis and low-self-a steam.

Scotland could be so much more than it is. What about England? That is a matter for England to debate.

156. Brian Doonthetoon

I have “Autumnwatch” on just now.

I never knew that – I’ve just learned that The Trossachs are in south west Scotland! Has there been a tectonic shift that I missed coz I’m on a couple of days holiday?

157. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood says:
    23 October, 2016 at 11:19 pm
    @Thepnr –

You know I wouldn’t give you a bum steer.

I know you wouldn’t and I shouldn’t have doubted you. That second video though done the Biz. You must know how to rock my boat.

Cheers πŸ™‚

158. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

hahaha I’ve just been put right by my son regarding the two singers. I didn’t realise it was two different singers!

I just thought it was a band. LOL beam me up Scotty.

159. Tinto Chiel

BrianDTT: thanks for that. Short but sweet.

Of course, they had to darken our blue and counter-change the Cross of St Patrick, but the Cross of St George carries on sublimely, and over all.

“There’ll always be an rUK” won’t really have the same ring, will it?

You know, after The Change comes…..

160. Tinto Chiel

I think I’m turning into Cactus, and no bad thing.

Every time May opens her cake-hole, I have these songs ringing in my ears:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rGa70tVYVKo

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=X-asd2_–40

J’aime l’Ecosse.

Ich liebe Schottland.

We’re aa ae oo.

161. Tinto Chiel

Oh, my country:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_NNn7u59ETs

Theresa May should be in a padded cell, but I offer her better accommodation:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=pkae0-TgrRU

162. Tinto Chiel

No-one else on here tonight, so I’ll leave this for Smallaxe if he wakes up early.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=iemNcIiduFY

I led one of my daughters down the aisle to this and I love the wee Scotch Snap Horner slipped into the dying fall in the strings.

163. Michael McCabe

First Aid Kit-Red Dirt Girl http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oJy_MQQhnog

164. Michael McCabe

(Early) Bob Dylan-Man of constant Sorrow http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCipKmyngLY

165. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe how you keepin the day?

166. Smallaxe

liz g:

Hi liz,I went to an AGM last Thursday and I think that I was a wee bit ambitious,it’s left me knackered.Hope you are ok.I’ll be back to normal soon.

Peace Always

167. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

The LSO music was beautiful,but please keep T.May out of the White Room,that’s where I go when lights close their tired eyes. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

168. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Musically you can do no wrong.

Peace Always

169. Smallaxe

Nana:

Got your links this morning thank you,I was a wee bit later than usual.

Peace Always xx

170. Liz g

Stat well Smallaxe X

171. Smallaxe

liz g:

Will do liz thanks X

Peace Always

172. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe @10.11: yes…yes, I see what you mean.

Have put some garlic and a cross in there and fitted a “triple lock”.

That should do it.

Code:@666

173. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Well done Tinto,I knew I could depend on you
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

174. Tinto Chiel

Nae probs, Smallaxe.

Have to say, I also left this guy behind:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=en1uwIzI3SE

Rank Badyin, me.

175. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Oh for the good old days,when you could set fire to your head,without being arrested and committed to an asylum.

Freedom indeed,Siiigh πŸ™‚

Peace Always

176. Thepnr

What a country we live in when you just KNOW that every post you make, every tweet and email you send is being read then handed to others who try to use this information to get more out of you.

It’s ridiculous Scotland is supposedly a free country. Well it’s definitely not. I know for a fact that my supposedly private information is being noted and then is to be used as a weapon against me.

I couldn’t care less now, too old and a true believer in Democracy, the power is with the people and all that. I just think they really are scared. Poor them, I have no sorrow for those that are determined to enslave us. Just Fuck Off.

177. Thepnr

“Them belly full (but we are hungry)” Bob Marley

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WR8mhoaC3H8

178. Michael McCabe

Rhiannon Giddens – Lonesome Road/ up above my head. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XrvR9Z0qsYw

179. Michael McCabe

What Thepnr Says But (Live) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KIq7RvStNB0

180. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Cheers buddy, that was better. Brain not working properly, still ragin. Tell you next time I see you.

181. Smallaxe

Thepnr & Michael:

You guys couldn’t have timed BoB better,I’d just popped in for a nosy.

Thepnr,dont worry about your mail,they have more pictures of me,than my mother had.

One Love

182. Paula Rose

There may will be…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjJHnKw7YNA

183. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr Here is Bobs mate Peter with a wee bit of Sun for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bW2yivTVieU Looking Forward to the next Catch Up.

184. Smallaxe

Israel Vibration:*Rude Boy Shufflin*

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

One Love

185. Thepnr

@Paula Rose 12:05

That was brillant, still smiling haven’t got to the others yet.

186. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Really cheered up now. Here comes the Sun always been a favourite of mine no matter who was singing it.

Here’s George Harrison without the Beatles singing it. Does no bad πŸ™‚

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yGKPHFrHVVY

187. Thepnr

I guess that’s enough for one night. Loved the Yew Choob Paula as always and the One Gigolo though that’s just Michael taking the piss πŸ™‚

Smallaxe wishing you the best and that’s heartfelt, believe me xx

188. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey Smallaxe is total legend – I’ll tell you tomorrow xx

189. Michael McCabe

Modern day one man band http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Eci4nqyGUu0

190. Thepnr

OK Ringo was there and Phil Collins and Jeff Lynne and Elton John and Eric Clapton. Guess they must be friends!

191. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Thanks my friend,Goodnight to All you good people.

Paula Rose,behave yourself!

Peace and Love to all of you

192. Michael McCabe

Got My Beer in the Sideboard Here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4FDoQTyYWzM

193. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe Goodnight to you. and I leave this here for your Viewing later on Today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lc6HcA6kEJc

194. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Some problems sleeping Michael,that made it worth it!

Peace Always

195. Liz g

Morning Smallaxe hope you managed to get some sleep!

196. Andrew McLean

This is the most off topic question of all.
    Where is all the vile independence guys?

I have read that this site, well it’s supposed to be a hotbed of vileness and nastiness! Well is there a secret corridor only for the invited? Because you all appear to be genuinely nice people, caring and compassionate, wanting the best for your fellow mad, really what gives?

To be honest the only independence people I have spoken to recently were a very nice lady, a chap from off the telly, and a ex military Freemason? If fact is that why I can’t find the den of vileness? A secret sign only known to the brotherhood?

Where as on the opposite side, well their vileness they wear as a badge of honour!

Keep that small axe sharp, brother.
    http://www.youtube.be/ia6Tvpj6dPwe

197. Andrew McLean

Test

198. Nana

@Smallaxe

Just catching up and saw your comment on the main thread. I’ve been running about like a mad thing the last few days.
    My boy went back to uni this morning, the dog is moping and the house is so quiet.

Let’s you and me rock it up a little xx

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYXY1fius64

199. Liz g

Andrew McLean @ 9.27
    Ok you have busted us…. we’re secretly adorable.
    But shhhh
    If that ever got out,our Street credibility would be ruined!!!!
    We might….Gulp…. even finish up…… Mainstream.

200. Tinto Chiel

I’ve just discovered those doors you buy in Cornes DIY take three coats of vinyl silk. There are eight doors in Tinto Towers.

This song keeps playing in my noddle:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CpZpWNMu_zc

Only two doors to go.

201. Smallaxe

liz g:

Hi liz,sorry about the delay but I was charging this tablet,
    Good afternoon,hope your well.I did get some sleep but it’s rare for me to sleep any more than three hours,thing is I never know when that three hours is going to happen. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

202. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

Welcome to the dark side,you should come over at Halloween when we all dress up as real people.Terrifying!

Peace Always

203. Smallaxe

Hi Nana:

Fill your home with Love and Music,thats how I cheer myself up
    when I’m missing someone.When the dog is finished moping give it some hoovering to do!
    πŸ™‚

Peace,Love and Family xx

204. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

When your finished painting them,listen to them!

The Doors: “Alabama Song”

Peace Always

205. Liz g

Hi Smallaxe glad to hear you got a bit of sleep at least.
    Don’t forget I am usually around at stupid o’clock in the morning,so if you’re fed up and want to put the word to rights just shout out.
    Well not actually shout or you would be in big trouble from Mrs Smallaxe (tell her hi) but you know what I mean.

206. Thepnr

Hey Smallaxe

Met up with Paula Rose today and now know why you are a legend πŸ™‚

I’ve been there. That was 1989 though and you were probably gone by then, had a Sunday Mail tucked under my arm and was totally ignored.

Don’t know if it was me or the Sunday Mail, never hung around to find out LOL.

207. Thepnr

Call me paranoid but has anyone else typed “Wings Over Scotland” into google recently?

Well, for the last week or so to the right of the links you get a very unflattering picture of the Rev in his youth. Then if you click it, the most unflattering links are offered.

Someone must have paid for this or maybe not, governments probably get to advertise for free. Panic though seems to have set in LOL.

Get the Fire Brigade. Now!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b42ck7iaLb4

208. Thepnr

That last song from The Move in 1968 is so bad that it’s GREAT πŸ™‚

209. Andrew McLean

Sorry Smallaxe link was faulty
    I know you have probably heard this a thousand times but you can’t go wrong with a bit of Bob!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ia6Tvpj6dPw

Rastafa Aye Man!

If you are the big, big tree
    We have a small axe
    Ready to cut you down (well sharp)
    Sharpened to cut you down
    If you are the big tree, let me tell you this
    We are the small axe
    Ready to cut you down (well sharp)
    Sharpened to cut you down

If you are the big tree
    We are the small axe

πŸ™‚

210. Liz g

Thepnr @ 4.33
    Didn’t get anything on my straight search but OMFG
    Try googling Wing’s Over Scotland Images.
    That’s quite a collage
    Wonder if the Rev knows about it

Andrew McLean
    You said earlier you thought we were a nasty lot can I ask where were you looking us up?

211. Andrew McLean

The bastions of journalism in Scotland, the BBC the Herald, The Scotsman, et all.
    Turns out that they were lies,! Who knew!
    Wings is read by most journalists in Scotland, it was commonly discussed in the Herald editor’s meetings. Or so one of their editors told me. One of the Newsquest editors actually posts on here. I wonder if I could blackmail him into buying me a pint?
    πŸ™‚

212. Smallaxe

Andrew McLean:

I can never hear that song too often.Smallaxe was the name given to me by the Brethren(Bredren)of the Twelve Tribes of Israel in St.Ann’s parish Jamaica.

Abu Ye! Abu Ye Abu ye! Abu ye

Peace,Love and RASTAFARI

213. Thepnr

@Andrew McLean

Re your post earlier this morning. I suspect this is where you find the vilest of cybernats only to find that there not so vile after all.

You should go back to page 1 of Off Topic for the really vile stuff πŸ™‚

@Liz g

Andrew might have got it from here.

https://archive.is/R1EBL

Probably not though as there are more than enough hits on a google search for vile journalits all too happy to tell you about the vilest cybernat of all.

214. Liz g

Em Andrew that’s no quite how it works
    You need to blackmail him into buying us all a drink.

215. Smallaxe

liz g:

Hi liz,I get great fun watching you and Ruby and the rest of the ladies taking on all comers and beating them,over on the other thread.I wouldn’t dream of depriving myself of that pleasure. πŸ™‚

Peace,Love and Lurker’s

216. Andrew McLean

To be honest as I posted on another link, “looking a the state of politics in Scotland if you haven’t cussed you haven’t being paying enough attention”. Anyway I was talking about wings, the only use of the C word regularly used on here is compassion, There is no I as in egos Just Inclusion. and as for Yoon, most Yoons use it as a badge of honour. Better that than Nazi, which I most definitely hate, unless they are the stupid Right hand waving footy Yoons, and even these are just idiots.

217. Liz g

Thepnr @ 5.15
    Good Grief,never thought to look that stuff up before.
    Knew they didn’t like Wing’s and didn’t expect them to.
    I just thought that it wasn’t everyone’s cup of tea because the debate is quite sharp and you need to be able to defend your point of view.
    That’s why I liked it but many don’t like to be called out on what they say.
    But didn’t really know how negatively this site is portrayed.
    Now I’m feeling all Edgey and Radical.
    Or else I really am in the Twilight Zone.

218. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Ha… our pleasure Sir!

219. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Unfortunately I had left the West country by that time(just)
    but 20yrs earlier, 1969 you would have found me in the Fulham/Earls Court area,two pubs in Old Bromton Rd,”The Bolton’s” and The “Coleherne Hotel”. The newspaper that you would have had to have under your arm,would have been the Gay News,and you may have met Freddy.

Did Paula Rose tell you that!?

Peace,Love and People Puzzles

220. Tinto Chiel

Thanks for the whisky, Smallaxe, most enjoyable

As the Reverend I M Jolly would say, “Lovely water, this…..”

You know how your mind wanders while you’re painting? Well, I suddenly remembered a political term Unionists used to get really exercised about, particularly Dalyell of The Binns.

Remember The West Lothian Question? Whatever happened to it? I laughed so much I got paint on the tiles.

WALOFS!

Oh….I think I’ve just become a vile cybernat.

I was going to link to The End by The Doors but the YouTube clip is so anti-war it’s pretty distressing. You know, a bit like the Highlands in 1746. NOT for the faint of heart, so be warned.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=1ar27ChFKqA

221. Smallaxe

liz g:

The pleasure is all mine dear liz,a few pages back I put one of my rhymes named “Politically correct”.I sent it into a “women only”book of poetry,and they published it!

I truly believe in balance in all things,politics especially,in my opinion women can be better communicators than men in many situations and are essential in public life.

Keep up the good work!

Peace,Love and Political Princesses πŸ™‚

222. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Yes Paula did tell me, and the place I was referring to was The Bolton’s in Old Brompton Road LOL.

Let me say that was an eye opener for me at least and probably the reason I was ignored by the barman. I was getting a bit annoyed as to why I was being ignored, after all being a Sunday morning I just wanted to sit down with a pint and read about Saturdays football in my Sunday Mail!

Then, as I stood at the bar and became aware of my surroundings a light bulb went off in my head. Oops! maybe I should find another bar to sit and read the paper LOL.

It really was funny Smallaxe, or at least I laughed as I left.

223. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Depressing yes but that and more like it should be compulsory
    viewing for some people.I can remember going to the movies and coming back out nearly traumatised,the movie was “Soldier Blue”,it somehow reached a deep place inside me.

Weather by bomb, bullet or bayonet,people are being murdered for no other reason than profit,since the sixties,I have been
    shot,stabbed and have had countless stitches applied to wounds
    in this country,not in some foreign field and I fight and at times write,only for peace.

The only source of evil,on this planet,resides in the minds of evil people.There is no other source.

Sorry to go off on things,my friend,sometimes it’s good to get
    some of it out whilst among friends.

I thank you and all the good people on here for putting up with my inane(insane) ramblings,keep the music coming,soul food for all of us.

Peace love and People

224. Paula Rose

Probably the most harrowing anti-war film is the one described here…

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johnny_Got_His_Gun_(film)

I have never forgotten it.

225. Brian Doonthetoon

It REALLY is “Misreporting Scotland”

On two broadcasts of Misreporting Scotland today – 1.30 and evening – in the story about the Forth Road Bridge repair winning the Saltire prize for civil engineering, the burd referred to the Forth as Scotland’s “longest bridge”.

PURE $H!T€!!!

The Forth Road Bridge is 8,241 feet long.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Forth_Road_Bridge#Statistics

The Tay Rail Bridge is Scotland’s longest, at 10,711 feet.

http://www.networkrail.co.uk/VirtualArchive/tay-bridge/

How do you get a job as a researcher with “so called” BBC Scotland? Eh kid mak stuff up! Did you know that wulks need $h!T€ to survive? That’s why they congregate around sewer pipes – a bit like “so called” BBC Scotland researchers…

End of rant.

226. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

If you had crossed the road over to the Coleherne,you would have been able to enjoy Jamaican day,for some reason,unknown to me Sunday was always that day.Then again if you had went on say a Tuesday,you had a good chance of meeting the “Leather Boys”all dressed in their leather gear,some of them even had motorbikes!they were a great crowd,some of them even became famous. πŸ™‚

Watch what Paula Rose tells you,some of it may be True!

Peace,Love and Leather πŸ™‚

227. Brian Doonthetoon

I saw “Soldier Blue” at the Tivoli (Continental Films) in Dundee. Along with “Easy Rider”, “Wonderwall”, “I Am Curious Yellow” and other fullums regarded as “naughty” in the late 60s and early 70s.

A Tivoli story… It was posted in the original DC Thomson “3Js” forum.
    ———————————————-
    Doon the Toon on 10-Jan-01 23:26:31

I think I may have told this story before.
    One night in The Tivoli, me and my cousin sitting in the balcony, the whole place silent, everybody engrossed in whatever nonsense was on the screen.
    When a clatter was heard from the back stalls, just below and in front of us.

Four young ladies were sitting a couple of rows from the back of the stalls, sharing a box of chocolates. Unfortunately, they had elected to buy the most embarrassing brand of chocolates – embarrassing when you drop them, anyway.

Yup – one of them had failed to keep a tight hold on the box of Maltesers, with the subsequent reaffirmation of Newton’s theories on the effects of gravitational pull.
    The clatter was followed by the collective racket of the contents of an almost full box of Maltesers racing excitedly down the slope to the front of the auditorium.
    Nobody uttered a sound.

Eventually, we were left with the sound of the very last Malteser, struggling to reach the others.
    There was about three seconds silence, then the whole audience burst out laughing.
    I’ll certainly never forget it!

Doon.
    ———————————————-

228. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

“Then again if you had went on say a Tuesday,you had a good chance of meeting the β€œLeather Boys”

The “Leather Boys” were there that Sunday, that’s why I didn’t get served!

@BDTT

Ah the auld Tiv, will never forget watching Confessions of a Window Cleaner there πŸ™‚

229. Paula Rose

I had a lovely day roaming around the estate of Thepnr, right at the end as I was leaving he showed me his lovely tool which I kid you not takes two hands to hold – next time he’s promised to give me a demonstration of his prowess with it.

230. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Mrs Pnr has said your absolutely terrible and she will have you guts for garters next time she sees you.

The tool Paula talks of was an Adze, it was a tool of my trade more or less redundant now in Scotland. Like Noah I was a shipwright and like Noah am now defunct as are all shipwrights.

We have Maggie to thank for that.

231. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Thepnr.

You have just activated my research gland, with your mention of “Confessions Of A Window Cleaner”. So, some factoids for you to regurgitate at those select, intimate supper parties you regularly attend.

In the Confessions series, Robin Askwith played the hero. I believe he went on to be in Corrie a few years ago. Might have been Emmerdale…

Anthony Booth played his elder brother in the series. He was the son-in-law in “Till Death Us Do Part”. His daughter, Cherie, married Tony Blair.

In “Confessions of a Driving Instructor”, Lynda Bellingham, who went on to be the “Bisto Mum” and one of the “Loose Women”, got her breasts out for the boys.

There was another film series came in on the coat-tails of the “Confessions” series. That was “The Adventures of…” series, for example, “Adventures of a Plumber’s Mate”. In this series, Christopher Neil played the Robin Askwith part as hero.

“His film roles included The Sex Thief (1973), Eskimo Nell (1975) and Three for All (1975), and in 1976 he starred in the British TV series Rock Follies.
    In 1977 and 1978 he starred in two of the three ‘Adventures of…’ British sex comedy films: Adventures of a Private Eye and the final film in the trilogy, Adventures of a Plumber’s Mate. In addition to taking the lead role, Neil wrote and sang the theme songs to the two films.”

He went on to be a fairly successful music producer…

“He has produced records for Celine Dion, Jennifer Rush, A-HA, Cher, Rod Stewart, Paul Young, Gerry Rafferty, Mike + the Mechanics, Marillion, The Moody Blues, Shakin’ Stevens, Bonnie Tyler, Paul Carrack, Amazulu, Morten Harket, Leo Sayer, Dollar, Toyah Willcox, Jose Carreras, Edyta Gorniak and Sheena Easton… ”

The quotes above are from:-
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Christopher_Neil

I seem to remember that he produced “Modern Girl” and “Nine To Five” for Sheena Easton.

OH – and Dundee’s favourite MILF (before Lorraine Kelly), Jill Gascoine, was not shy in coming forward in “Confessions of a Pop Performer”.

Enough to be going on with?

232. Paula Rose

BDTT I do the smut archives around here Dear.

233. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Know we know each other pnr,I worked on the steel for the QE2,
    Jack Collatin’s dad helped to build the Queen Mary we are all just old shipmates.

Fck Thatcher and all who sallied with her!

Peace and Love Always to you and Mrs pnr

234. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

I was so pleased when you said all that info came from Wiki,l was beginning to worry about you.

Are you like me? I’ve had to leave places where something funny happens,I can still be burstin’ intake fits of giggling
    in other places, where people huvnae a clue whit ahm giggling aboot.

Or is that just me right enough? πŸ™‚

Peace Always

235. Smallaxe

Paula Rose:

I think I know that movie,would I be right if I said that the nurse and the man have a sort of”relationship”.

If so I remember the tenderness of a lot of scenes and the absolute feeling of helplessness,despair and gratitude of the young man.

Peace,Love and Picture halls

236. Paula Rose

She realises that he is in there and she is the only one who knows – at which point the poignancy is heartbreaking.

237. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Smallaxe.

Most of it was in my memory box but I used Wikipedia and the Internet Movie Database to confirm my memories.

http://www.imdb.com/

BTW: I mentioned “I Am Curious Yellow”, a Swedish film up above. Another Swedish film from the same period was “Sweden: Heaven and Hell”.
    The FAMOUS song which came from that film was this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I48IXSbHsy8

I will now retire and look forward to enjoying my beef bourgonyon (SP?) with tatties and green beans.

238. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

The bloody QE2 was getting built right outside my close in Govan.

Copeland Road Primary school. I remember the “naming competition” for the ship we could see rising above OUR tenements.

No one in the school chose the winning name LOL. Fuck the lot of them.

239. Smallaxe

Yes! it’s the same film,I can remember having to blink a lot during it.A brave movie for its close up of the tragedy of war and the naked humanity of the nurse.

Thanks for reminding me of that film.

Peace Always

240. Thepnr

@BDTT

What! You sat through all them? They weren’t that good πŸ™‚

241. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Have I mentioned to you at any time that I was born in Kintra St?

Peace Always

242. Brian Doonthetoon

One last comment…

I see, from tonight’s footie result, that Dundee FC are obviously not happy with The Arabs being the toon’s diddy team and are doing all they can to take the title from them…

243. Andrew McLean

Just lurking, trying to get my blood pressure down after the comments regarding common space and billboards. I only dropped in after visiting time to change the landscape in my mind.

244. Chic McGregor

Alex
    “No one in the school chose the winning name LOL”

Was one of them ‘Royalty McRoyalface’? πŸ™‚

245. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

Enjoy your dinner,thats one of the few songs to which I know all the words. πŸ™‚

246. Thepnr

Hi Chic

Not that I remember, guess what though I did go to the same school and at exactly the same time in Edinburgh with John McTernan

It’s a long story as to why I went to so many different schools, we moved a lot.

Oxgangs, Edinburgh 1970/71 we were in the same school, if only, if only I had known him then. Maybe i could have saved him from his plight? Who knows, feck him anyway. This is our room.

By the way since this is a place to chill out and play some music, this was number one at the time. I don’t remember seeing it played here before but I’ll bet yeah everybody loves it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeZ008aIlXk

247. Thepnr

That song was Oct 1971 by Nov 1971 I had moved to Dundee. I remember it well me and my brother were in Deanbank Childrens home.

Old man turns up and “right you two we’re going to Dundee.” Best thing that ever happened to me

My poor brother passed away in 2015, this was one of his favourite songs and I miss him.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LPn0KFlbqX8

248. Paula Rose

Thepnr Honey I am so pleased that I saw the true colours of your lovely brother – my dear friend I send you lots of hugs.

No songs – just lots of love my dear friend.

249. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

I am so sorry to learn of the loss of your brother,I have a brother 15yrs younger than myself.I can not imagine how much it must pain you.

Peace and Love to All

my heart is in my words

250. Paula Rose

Well what have I done…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wn9E5i7l-Eg

251. Thepnr

Thanks Paula and Thanks Smallaxe

I do love you lot you know. All of you.

252. Thepnr

This is a wee tune I just know you will love.

Why? because I love it too. LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUinwN2FtTE

This is deliberate mind, read every word, just want to make sure that I brainwash you. Now you know. No point moaning later.

253. Smallaxe

Love is Inclusion.

Peace Always

Goodnight my friends xx

254. Paula Rose

*sighs – pulls out sewing kit (knew it would come in handy)*

255. Smallaxe

Thepnr:

Listened,read and understood my friend

Peace Always

256. Thepnr

If you don’t watch that until the very end then your a tosser.

257. Thepnr

Sorry folks, it’s just you know, feelings and crap. Anyway this is a good un from Ian B back a while. Still like it mesel.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2x8PLjvmiIw

258. Tinto Chiel

I’m going to follow Michael and leave this here. It was chosen by his partner for the funeral of my oldest friend who took his own life over three years ago. He still comes into my mind almost every day.

His dad used to sing this to him when he was wee. Childhood friends are especially sorely missed.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LP6us-ZeiSk

259. Smallaxe

Thepnr:Alex

I phoned my brother and sister this morning,just to tell them that I loved them.I thank you for trusting us with your feelings,I consider it a privilege to call you Friend.

Peace Always

Billy

260. Liz g

Thepnr
    Don’t be sorry for remembering your brother to us,I think it’s an honour that you felt you could.
    Grief is a funny thing it creeps in when you least expect it.

While others have lost as I’m sure you know.
    He was yours and you loved him so.X

261. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Late to the party last night Michael!

The music that you picked,was Ethereal,thank you.

Peace Always

262. Smallaxe

Good morning,liz,Tinto and everyone.

I think most of you will agree that this side of WOS is as important as the political side,opinions are fine,but getting to know people,to laugh with them and also share in their dark
    moments is really what an inclusive caring Scotland is all about.

Peace and Love to All

263. Liz g

Hi Smallaxe
    Could not agree more my friend.
    Take care of you…. love to Mrs Smallaxe X

264. Smallaxe

liz:

Hi liz,I’ve been enjoying your conversations with Mr Peffers.
    Good stuff!I will pass your good wishes on to SWMBO. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

265. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Hi hun
    Em…dare I ask…..SWMBO?????
    Remember I’ve led a sheltered life.( well that’s ma story and am stickin tae it )

266. Smallaxe

liz: πŸ™‚

She Who Must Be Obeyed.A.K.A.my better half, Mrs Smallaxe.

Peace Always

267. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Smallaxe, you got a SWMBO too? Thought it was just me.

I thought I’d put this on here for the sophisticates, intellectuals and chantie-wrastlers on here. As some will know, Martyn Bennett was a brilliantly gifted young man who died tragically young. He took old songs and completely recast them for our time. This is an old travellers’ song given the big treatment. It has some heavenly chords and on cd the base line really shakes the house. The sound on the clip is so compressed you can barely hear it, though, chiz chiz.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=jSRHpA2giUk

268. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I’ve just listened to that track through my own speakers,man,that got my blood moving,it hit me right where I live.Will check out some more of his music tonight. Thanks for that,much appreciated my friend.

Peace Always

269. Tinto Chiel

Nae probs, Smallaxe. I would never have bought this myself but an old pal gave me the cd when I retired. I put it on when wallpaper stripping, kept getting caught up the steps, played it seven times in one day, and became a Bennettite.

Lots to experience there.

Btw, SWMBO has just passed my paintwork on the doors. Phew!

I’m free! Free, I tell ye!

270. Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel This Song is for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yljbcRu3tiU

271. Tinto Chiel

Michael, thanks for that. Those girls sure dance better than me, especially since my loon pants no longer fit.

Update: Mrs TC looking at new kitchen doors in the Homebase catalogue.

The shades of the prison house are closing in again, I think.

272. Thepnr

A wee tune for you this time.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xB0JnLlZom0

273. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Think yourself lucky,we live near the Gretna Gateway outlet centre,my wife swears blind that she’s saving me money every time she goes.She goes often!!!

I’m coming out of retirement to be a busker,buddy can you spare a dime?

Peace,Love and Pennies in my bunnet

274. Thepnr

That last post was for Michael McCabe. Wings greatest ever DJ πŸ™‚

275. Smallaxe

Michael’s been to the same Crossroad as Robert Johnson πŸ™‚

Peace Always

276. Michael McCabe

Cheers Thepnr I JUST BANGED MY HEAD THERE. Trying to get out the front door. For you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=htbkwUHi5L0

277. Tinto Chiel

Right, I need you guys round at Tinto Towers pronto.

Smallaxe, bring yon slide guitar. Thepnr: spirit level and hand plane, please.

I’ll supply rolls and Lorne sausage and Tassimo coffee. Will do general labouring, mixing of mortar, etc.

Fanx, and oblige TC…..

278. Tinto Chiel

Sokay, Thepnr: you’re off the hook. Didn’t realise you were talking to MMcC.

Looks like it’s just you and me, Smallaxe. Do you have a pinch bar?

279. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe you mentioned Crossroads. here you go. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ENYgSn_kLe0

280. Michael McCabe

Sorry there Smallaxe Here is one of my favourites from the Film Crossroads. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=coaw2UQtnpg

281. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

I haven’t forgot you. Michaels video of Rod Stewart reminded me of a Paula Rose tune she put up way back. I thought you might appreciate it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpV-VKu45nM

That was a good party the other night was it no. Shame about the mess πŸ™‚

282. Smallaxe

Tinto:

I don’t have a bar,but I’ll pinch one,or there is always the Twa Corbie’s pub in Cumbernauld.Thats a Crow bar. πŸ™‚

Michael,that was cruel,I’ve been worrying about Glenda for years,she just walked out of that motel and was never seen again.You’ve twisted ma melon!

283. Paula Rose

Not bothered Thepnr Honey have spent the money raised at the Wings stall in Edinburgh last Saturday on a squad of these…

http://bit.ly/2dMIE9E

Footage of wingers in Off-topic dancing…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vA9A5WnT0rM

284. Smallaxe

You lot will have to cut down on the drink, the longer the party went on the more blurred you’s got.

Blues harp Michael,your forgiven.

Peace Always

285. Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: haven’t seen that before. L&H always make me laugh. Simple humour for a simpleton like me, perhaps. The old Stepek shop in Hamilton was originally a small theatre and Stan played there before going to the States, it is said.

And that was a great party, but once again I must outline some problems at PR’s Emporium of Fun: 1) Lock jammed again in bog 2) Bloody palms everywhere 3) fruit salad wrappers in the ash trays.

Could someone have a word with YKW? NMMs! Sheesh!

Smallaxe: your jokes are getting worse! Thing is, I like them…..

286. Smallaxe

Somebody’s got to tell the bad jokes,good one’s are easy!

Peace Always

287. Thepnr

@Tinto Chiel

Talking of locks, this is a true story right. All set for catching the train to Aberdeen to go offshore. Me and the missus in the pub just over the road.

This is the bit you don’t really want to know. Well I had to use the cubicle in the pub for you know what. The lock was a fancy thing not a simple snib or handle.

I turned the lock and then I couldn’t open it again. I was trapped, locked in LOL. So I waited, someone would rescue me, surely my wife knew I wa missing. I waited and waited eventually a guy came to the toilet, I told him my predicament, he would not believe me.

Thought I had been locked in there on purpose. I got out though after about an hour and caught the train.

Moral is if you find yourself locked in a toilet don’t expect any help, not even from your wife πŸ™‚

288. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

That Adams family link was simply superb. Thing changing the record Hahahaha. Will never forget that.

289. Tinto Chiel

Thepnr: that’s a tale of woe not even my Three-In-One could sort. Keeping an eye on Mrs TC while I lay the laminate flooring in the wee room. No locks coming on the scene, I think πŸ˜‰ .

As regards expenditure on male maids by YKW, I feel yon Ian B could exercise some influence. I know he’s been fighting the Good Fight on the billboard front but PR Gaff management is an important issue, IMHO.

Otherwise, we need the soft skills of Alan Partridge to sort it all out.

290. Smallaxe

I fought a monkey at Blair Drummond safari park!

Peace Always

291. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

I near pissed myself at that thought. Fucking brilliant. I better go lie down, still can’t stop laughing. Monkeys are getting it LOL hahahha

292. Smallaxe

I had just came back from occupying Centre point high rise in London,we were trying to get it opened up for the homeless.

It was 1974 and I had came back to Glasgow for a rest,my younger brother wanted a day out at the safari park,so I decided to take him.

Anyway we had been enjoying the animals there,then we came to the monkey enclosure,they were climbing all over the car and my brother was delighted.I decided to roll the window down on my side,just two inches and I was feeding them crisps.Suddenly
    all the small monkeys ran away as this larger,much larger beast appeared,it jumped up on to the window and put it’s hand in for a crisp.

It was a very polite monkey,I held on to the crisp and it didn’t pull it out of my hand,it waited until I let go.
    I rolled the window down a bit further and carried on feeding the big friendly monkey.

Finished up with the window fully down and the monkey sat patiently waiting for me to hand it another crisp.Then my brother said”can I have a crisp””sure says I”and turned to hand him a crisp.Big Mistake!

The fkn monkey went apeshit and screamed and dived in to the car at my brother.It was one of those times when everything seems to go in slow motion.The thing had three inch long teeth
    and I got a good look at them when I grabbed it by the neck and slammed it into the steering wheel,setting off the horn,my brother was screaming,the monkey was screaming so loud that I could hardly hear myself screaming,so I started punching the monkey in the face.

When your holding a monkey by the throat,and punching it the face,you find out very quickly that monkeys have four hands.
    It tore the front of my shirt to ribbons,then had a go at simultaneously disemboweling me and tearing off my nipples.

To cut a long story short,I eventually managed to throw it back out of the window on to the grass,it walked away staggering slightly,my brother started laughing hysterically at me and said”your supposed to beat your chest now and do a Tarzan yell”I nearly punched him for that remark.

I now was covered in deep bleeding scratches and no front on my shirt,I had to put my shirt on backwards to hide the mess that I was in so that we could get out of the park without any of the park wardens asking wtf!

A great day out for all the family. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

293. Thepnr

@Smallaxe

Thank you for that detailed explanation hahahhahahaha. Oh meh sides best story I’ve read on Off Topic ever.

I’ve got your back next time some monkey comes looking for you. Mean that.

294. yesindyref2

WTF. You think you know what’s going on, there’s a journo who’s obviously a unionist and then this: “Since the election, she has also been unafraid to challenge the UK Tory line on controversies such as the treatment of EU migrants and allowing a second independence referendum. ”

What? Whit? Wot? Who? Whither? Now she’s caught in a trap.

Is he an SNP agent?

I’m very confused.

I think this is Ruth’s song as she stares at the award and the citation on it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wb0Jmy-JYbA

295. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

Cheers for that. I’m a right suspicious bugger so a am.

296. Smallaxe

Coming soon,the tale of the tartan gerbils.

Man burst’s into flames at the bus stop.

Tickets only.

Peace Always

Goodnight my friends

297. Thepnr

Finally a new take on an old Paula Rose one.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5qgoWYUS4eM

298. Thepnr

I’ve enjoyed the posts tonight, many made me laugh. Laugh a lot.

Another song I played before but appropriate I think before I hit the sack.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9EbR0ckb40

299. Michael McCabe

Bloomin Heather, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oj642nbvdfk

300. Nana

@Smallaxe

Blimey between Tinto’s paint fumes, Pnr’s toilet woes and your monkey escapade I need to go lie down in Paula’s palm house. Will advise her to throw out the banana plant, we don’t want primates running aboot the hoose.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K2sbo5u0m8Q

Hope you are having good days? xx

301. Smallaxe

Nana:

Sorry for the late reply to your post,yes we had a good session on here last night and early this morning.I’m doing OK Nana,thanks for asking,I have another appointment with my oncologist on Tuesday,I’ll find out then how my blood is.

Considering that they told me in December 2014 that I had less
    than 6 months to live I am doing great,no use sitting moping.

All of the others on O/T are as daft as myself,but they are a great bunch of nutters with good music and stories as you know.Your 8:21? posts on the main thread make some chilling reading,a few jail terms are badly needed,these people are monsters.

I hope that your own hospital visit went well and that you are getting as good treatment as I receive,I was angered yesterday at FMQs by the idiots decrying our SNHS,I’m certain that I could not pay for better.Stay well and keep your links coming they are invaluable.

Peace,Love and Happiness to you,your husband and your wee dog.
    Billy xx

302. Paula Rose

Here’s one for all you pussy and doggie lovers…

twitter.com/MissBabington/status/791971547586129920

303. yesindyref2

Ooh well, stretching it a bit, but this a song for the Unionist agitators as they gaze lovingly at their pictures of Theresa May and Ruth Davidson

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kM-y1a1oeCo

304. Chic McGregor

Smallaxe

That monkey story was one of the funniest things I’ve ever read. Thanks an aw’at.

Hope your having a good day.

305. Michael McCabe

Smallaxe this one is for you and only you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GtRxJDb3vlw

306. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Thanks Chic,even I can laugh at that now.Believe me I wasn’t laughing at the time.Glad you enjoyed reading it.
    πŸ™‚

Peace Always

307. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Michael,I may be repeating myself,but if I had to pick a favourite type of music,it would have to be Blues,from Robert Johnson to Rory Gallagher,Mississippi Delta to Messy Bessy Smith.I love it all.Thank you.

Peace,Love and”Politician”…Jack Bruce&Rory Gallagher?

308. Tinto Chiel

Good evening, aesthetes.

If you haven’t heard of Mae McKenna, listen to her singing on Burns’ “Lord Gregory/ O Mirk…”

A great performance, IMO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwVp6EUdxZY

309. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Good evening Tinto,thats a haunting piece of music,I love the tone from the flute/pipe/whistle?

That’s one for my relaxation playlist. Thanks

Peace Always

310. Quentin Quale

Laughing at the monkey story – brilliant – and at Thepnr’s infectious laugh! So, because there’s a mention of a monkey in the song
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTK57dJc_pU

311. Ian Brotherhood

Long week, have barely had time to scratch me own arse, but have been reading here, keeping-up.

Great variety of music and anecdotes. This place is a proper wee haven, and a tonic.

More power to ye’s aw, and have a braw week-end!

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

312. Smallaxe

Quentin Quale:

Welcome Quentin,please excuse my attire,I don’t normally dress
    as Aladdin but it’s nearly Halloween and I’m trying on some of my outfits.Thanks for the million dollar monkey,unfortunatly the one I got was anybody’s for a crisp.:-)

Stick around,Paula Rose will make sure that you are given canapΓ©s and cocktails.

These curly shoes are killing me!

Peace Always

313. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: yes, it’s a whistle played by Marc Duff. I love Mae’s tone and articulation for the wronged woman.

At the other end of the Burns scale is Rod Paterson singing “Wert Thou in the Cauld Blast”, a capella and fearfully exposed but still triumphant. Can’t find it on YouTube, I’m a’feared. It’s on his “Songs from The Bottom Drawer” cd.

Welcome back, Ian B. I noticed you were quiet but surmised some Uni assignment πŸ˜‰ .

All I can say is “Billboards, Ya Bass…….”

314. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Hi Brother,have you had a busy week,good to know that your here,been wondering where you’ve been,hope your staying with us for a while,I don’t know where Paula Rose is so you will have to help yourself to a drink.See you later,my toe’s have went curly!

Peace Always

315. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

I thought it was a whistle,it’s got that woody sound,as I said,another one for my relaxation playlist,Beautifully sung as you say.

Peace Always

316. Ian Brotherhood

@TC & Smallaxe –

Cheers compadres, ’tis good to get the proverbials up, neck some shooggery watter and ponder imponderables without a deadline hovering o’er one’s napper.

Smallaxe, man, have you inadvertently absorbed some Dugdale speeches? That would account for the curly digits…

I’m away to find a tune to post. Something funky!

317. Tinto Chiel

Where is everybody?

Tonight I am mixing Tinto Chiel’s Blue Train (gin, Cointreau, crushed ice, lemon, blue colouring).

Orange juice available for the liverish.

Zut alors! That palm’s got spiky leaves! Qu’est-ce qui se passe ici? as we sometimes say in Auld Cadzow.

318. Michael McCabe

I always wondered what Bearsden was like. Now I know. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5oesLHvkgc

319. Smallaxe

Tinto,tonight I’m mixing,cider,whisky and Eldorado.Electric soup!

Seriously though,you should see the state of my feet after wearing they Aladdin shoes.I would be guaranteed a medal in the winter Olympics,at the ski jump in my bare feet!

Peace Always

320. Tinto Chiel

Hey, Ian, where’s your funk?

Try this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FnH_zwVmiuE

321. Tinto Chiel

Smallaxe: that’s some tincture. Might be too electric even for the lovely PR *stares into middle distance, transfixed*

Watch those metatarsals, mon vieux. Once gone, they’re gone for ever!

322. Ian Brotherhood

I ‘won’ Graham Central Station’s ‘The Jam’ album in a duck-shoot at the Kelvin Hall ‘Carnival’, must’ve been early-80’s. The cover art looked dodgy, so when we got back home my cousin used it to show-off his new airgun and blew it to smithereens. We hadn’t even tried playing it.

Must’ve been, ooh, thirty years later, remembered that album, looked it up, then got to enjoy other Larry Graham stuff, all thanks to Youtube.

Graham Central Station, ‘Release Yourself’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqXbIXfmH3g

323. Tinto Chiel

Wow, Ian, those dudes are funky as Freuchie. Amazing lapels too.

I am David Dynamite……

324. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚

Your mention of ‘Electric Soup’ reminded me of this, and managed to find it quite quickly. Haven’t clapped eyes on this for a long long time, and these versions are new to me – ‘The Greens’. Fantastic stuff…hope you can view it okay, mibbe needs a wee bit enlargement.

http://s62.photobucket.com/user/ml_/media/Thegreens.jpg.html?t=1261309839

325. Smallaxe

Ian,it’s difficult to read but I got the gist of it,thats what
    Electric Soup does to you.I’ve been in a couple of Shebeens,in
    the Gallowgate in Glasgow and if anybody ordered it,I made for the door.That stuff turned people into Zombies with a bad temper.

Peace Always

326. Smallaxe

Tried on my Snowman outfit for Halloween,but the scarf is too tight,pity.

Peace Always

327. Smallaxe

Michael:

Yo, Dre was panasonic, what’s up now!

Peace Always

328. yesindyref2

These were just on Jules, don’t know if I’ve just discovered them or rediscovered, mellow but edgy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VQkVfVfSJqM

329. Michael McCabe

Love this track. that’s why I am playing it again. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZcspuktUME

330. Ian Brotherhood

@Michael McC –

πŸ™‚

Soo-perb.

πŸ™‚

331. Smallaxe

You just got to love Cajun:-)

Peace Always

332. yesindyref2

YOu know what it’s like, a guitar chord, a sound, a phrase, a mood even, and you’re going mad, who what, when even, I can’t think, so you roll a fag, go outside and look at the stars, see the trees – the trees, you’ve found the cure

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xik-y0xlpZ0

333. yesindyref2

Jools! Ah well.

334. Smallaxe

Some people call me the space cowboy,

Some call me the gangster of love

Peace Always

335. Smallaxe

I overturned a tractor,while I was lassoing a runaway pig!

Goodnight Good People

Peace and Love to All

336. Michael McCabe

I Will Bide you all a Good Night and leave you with this Classy Tune. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C3LK5ELvZwI

337. CameronB Brodie

Could you’d do the Brexit conga to this? πŸ™‚

Jim Murple Memorial – Qui que l’on soit
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoEGCUyUCfo

338. CameronB Brodie

Still doubt the influence of colonial imperialism? However counter-intuitive is sounds, it has produced the odd gem. Meet Swami Vivekananda.

Mahatma Gandhi said that after reading the works of Vivekananda his love for his nation became a thousand-fold.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Influence_and_legacy_of_Vivekananda

339. CameronB Brodie

Neo-Vedanta is another product of colonial imperialism. Why, as a non-religious person, am I talking about neo-Hinduism on a politics blog? Seen as a societal response to British colonialism and orientalism, it priovided….

… the ‘solution of synthesis’β€”the effort to adapt to the newcomers, in the process of which innovation and assimilation gradually occur, alongside an ongoing agenda to preserve the unique values of the many traditions of Hinduism (and other religious traditions as well). – Percival Spear

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neo-Vedanta

340. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Morning
    Em…A space cowboy with curly toes who speaks Japanese and can handle himself with monkeys
    We are going to need a photo of that,my imagination doesn’t do it justice.
    Why have you never made a movie?

341. Smallaxe

liz g:

A movie liz,I would get the jail if I made a movie of my life.
    I think we will just keep it here,between friends,where I’m safe,I hope!

I’ve lived quite a strange life,for a guy from the “Tenements”of Glasgow.I have met members of the royal family and I have slept rough in some English city’s.

I have stood with “friends”,rock stars some of them,held hands and sung “The Red Flag”with them,only to see some of them in
    later years doing gigs in support of fox hunting!ffs.Thats why as I have already said,I have few close friends by choice.I write here on O/T knowing that people here,for the most part,dont judge me and I rarely post now on the main thread.

My biggest fear on the main thread,is that someone(keyboard warrior) will eventually break my temper and I retaliate and get myself banned from WOS.so I watch,but say little on that side.

Explanation!

Space cowboy: just lyrics from a song.
    Japanese:I am trained in Shukokai karate.(also Krav Maga)
    Curly toes: from my Aladdin shoes.
    Good looks(which you failed to mention) from my dear Mother.

I have been a poacher,deer,deer,deer and thank you,to the Duke of Buccleuch.From our beautiful rivers,I have taken salmon.I can catch a pheasant with a few leaves and pine tree sap.Excepting vermin,I have never purposely killed an animal that I or others have not eaten.

I could go on dear liz,but I won’t as I bet your sorry that you asked by now. πŸ™‚

Most of the above,was before I reached 21yrs old,maybe when I’m gone from this life a movie could be made,by then I may be living another life,ha,haa,

Peace,Love and Living Life

342. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Not sorry at all…fascinated and a wee bit heart sorry at the same time.
    It must be tough to see people you thought had honour turn out to be so shallow.
    Anyhoo speaking of shallow, about this movie can I be in it and will ye make me gorgeous?????

343. Smallaxe

liz g:

What do you mean,can you be in it?you already are in it,just talking to me gets you a part,and of course you’ll be gorgeous,are’nt we all? πŸ™‚

Peace Always

344. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Everyone is in
    Everyone is Gorgeous
    You take a flippant remark an make it profound..
    How do you do that man…
    Respect!!!

345. Macart

@Smallaxe

Sounds like a grand tale right enough and worth a movie script. πŸ™‚

On the posting bit? You and me both.

I tend to read a lot more than comment these days.

346. Smallaxe

liz g:

How do I do that! liz the answer to that is in all of my posts.

Peace,Love and Inclusion

πŸ™‚

347. Smallaxe

Macart:

I’m pleased that you agree with me regarding posting,some I find very interesting,others are just vexatious to the spirit.

I have more tales to tell and tell them I will
    They all come free
    I’ve paid the bill!

Peace Always my friend

348. Liz g

Smallaxe.. now you do sound like Freddie Mercury.
    But can I just say.
    To you and to Macart
    Believe it or not,I like to just read what everyone is saying.

I get very anxious if I am involved in a conversation on the main thread because I know that I am not very well informed,other than the information I found for myself and being willing to speak up.

I don’t like anyone trying to make a fool of Robert Peffers so while he can absolutely hold his ground I think it is important to say he is correct about the things he says.

I think this site is important and when I see it going quiet,or ( no going to argue it ) mostly the men talkin I try to make an effort.

I don’t have much to offer cause I am not very tech savvy,so just a bit of debate or opinion.

I guess what I’m trying to say is…. please don’t inhibit your contribution from the main thread.
    You may have your reasons..but it’s leaving it a bit lesser than it could be.

It’s important and it really matters,so can you not see your way clear to bring whatever you can to the debate?
    Smallaxe I can get what you say about letting rip.
    And you may not need this shit in your life,but if you can will ye no mind….
    …there are some of us (well me really…. who really is a half educated Scot) who could be doing with a bit of a hand.
    Sometimes I get fed up explanin things,as well,and also trying to work out if someone is really just… At It…but whit else can we do??

349. Macart

@Liz G

RE: Well informed

No such qualification required Liz, though it can be of help. πŸ™‚

There are folk who are well versed in particular subjects for sure. Historians, economists, engineers, business folk and such. There’s even the odd maths wiz and a crossword demon.

The best qualification you need to offer opinion or insight is your life experience, your passion, your empathy and your honesty.

A qualification from life’s college or the school of hard knocks is every bit as valuable as a degree from St Andrews any day of the week. πŸ˜‰

350. Liz g

Macart @ 7.30
    Thank you it’s just that I don’t want to give the impression that I know more than I do.
    So when the debate heat’s up… well..as they say every little helps.
    So please don’t stay out of it!
    Even if… especially if I am wrong.

351. CameronB Brodie

I hope folk don’t think I was trying to make a fool of Robert, with the wee “innit” I taged on to Roberts closing statement (regarding the ‘United Kingdom’ and there only being one kingdome in it, if Scotland chose independence). I just thought it was funny. I also thought it highlighted the degree to which contemporary English culture has dominated the British consciousness and hence our perception.

No malice intended Robert.

352. CameronB Brodie

Subsequently, not hence.

353. CameronB Brodie

Film ideas. Re-make of “The Aviator”, with the baaaad Blair McD as Howard Hughes. It works for one of the breakdown scenes anyway. Subsequently, subsequently, subsequently, subsequently …..

354. Liz g

Cameron B Brodie @ 8.14
    I absolutely do not think that you were ridiculing Robert Peffers.
    I hope I can tell the difference between a humerus remark and a disrespectful one.
    As I am sure can Robert.
    Also having met you I do not get the impression that you are anything other than a decent and genuine young man.
    As I have said before I am ok with words but not so much with the punctuation that gives my words tone.
    I tend therefore to give everyone the benift of the doubt and read posts with a smile unless it’s obvious that the intent is not pleasant.
    I mainly don’t like the way Rock speaks to Robert.
    He could say what he has to better,if he wanted to,he clearly has the vocabulary.

355. CameronB Brodie

I don’t actually know if baaaad Blair McD has made reference to “subsequently”, though I thought it would be interesting to hear what his perspective is now. Still Better Together?

356. CameronB Brodie

Liz-g
    Phew. I didn’t think you’d have thunked I was, but you never now. Paranoid, me? πŸ˜‰

357. Liz g

Cameron B Brodie @ 8.43
    Update…..
    Decent genuine young man and a bit of a cheeky bugger.

358. CameronB Brodie

Re. my on-going geek-out. I’m certainly not claiming comprehensive knowledge but I’ve got a degree in this stuff folks. I suppose I’ve been building to this point for most of my adult life. I found myself a bit unprepared for indyref1, as I hadn’t ever thought I’d be doing this. Communicating across new media. The information environment wasn’t right either but I hope some of the ideas I’m putting forwards will encourage folk to think about how they perceive and rationalise the world around them.

That’s the sort of journey ahead of JK’s new poodle object of patronage. Think he’s up to it?

359. CameronB Brodie

Liz-g
    Glad we’re all getting to know one another. πŸ˜‰

360. Tinto Chiel

Nostalgia, anyone?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7XWlvJNLeUY

361. Michael McCabe

@ Tinto Chiel I think this is a good one to follow yours. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rI7PoAIFq-E

362. Tinto Chiel

And almost up to date with a real original:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h2QKLemuiik

Night all. The sun goes down early Where I AM.

363. Daisy Walker

IN A GENTLE WAY

The Poppy Polis are out again. It’s that time of year. I’m 47 and since the age of 4 I’ve bought and worn the red poppy. Latterly with pride, more recent years with growing unease.

Unease at a media determined to glorify and romanticise the pointless slaughter of WW1. Perhaps they think its far enough away in living memory, no one will challenge it. Well my granny remembered losing her cousin, and she told me! I won’t be forgetting.

And for what? So the already rich could get even richer.

A media extensively owned by tax dodging, non dom, billionaires, telling us how and when to be patriotic. Wheeling out the Royal Family with stories of WW2, and neglecting to mention their private habits of Nazi Salutes in the Garden, attending German Nazi run schools and having SS Brother-In-Laws, when even then, the evidence was blatant, Hitler and the Nazis were bad news.

The same sour faced Royals that grudged paying taxes, and now have the accounts made secret, so you’ll never know if they’re dodging them again. Aye, there’s many ways to be patriotic, but contributing to society with your taxes is no for awbidy.

And recent years, illegal wars for oil. Oh they say its for other reasons, humane reasons. Aye right, like non existent WMD, dodgy dossiers, fighting ISIS one day and funding them the next.

Bastards, its all about the oil, and its all about the already rich getting even richer.

And the price paid, paid in the bodies of bairns and poor bloody squaddies yet again.

And the long haired media β€˜history’ man, what he’ll not tell you… The death rates for the Scottish Battalions in WW1 – 26%. 13% for rUK. They keep that little nugget well hidden.

And you’ll not hear about the in-between war, when the survivors of WW1, stood up to Franco. Stood up for the people who voted in majority for democracy in Spain. Got themselves out there, got themselves funded. And the writing on the wall from the Labour Party then, as now. Not an official Labour spine in sight. The people did it. in spite of them, not with their assistance.

And The King kept shtoom. Nae much fae the Kirk ’n’ Chapel either. But they’ll be wearing the blood red Poppy on Sunday, of that you can be sure. One has to be seen to be respectful, for the β€˜right sort’ of wars.

So the blood red Poppies are out again. I heard it said, or read it somewhere, now its produced by BAE. A Weapons Manufacturer. Dear God. Beyond irony, beyond satire.

So, this year, I’ll be supporting the troops, as I always have, but I’ll be leaving off the Poppies and supporting the Peace.

Trying in a small way, to get some little pieces of information out there. And while I think of the fallen troops and their bravery, equally my thoughts will be for the Conscientious Objectors and the courage they showed.

This year I’ll be wearing a White Feather, and if asked, I’ll be saying,

β€œAt the going down of the Sun, and with our Votes, we remember.”

And in a gentle way, in a democratic way, we can change this world… I anticipate trouble.

364. CameronB Brodie

Tinto Chiel
    I’m not feeling particularly inspire tonight, so I’ll just lurk. I’ll leave you some popcorn though.

Popcorn
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B7UmUX68KtE

Sorry Sweden.

365. Michael McCabe

@ Daisy Walker. Well Said

366. CameronB Brodie

Meaning can be hard to convey. I mentioned my degree so that folk know I’m trying to share ‘specialist’ knowledge, not general knowledge. Absolutely no one should feel they are in any way lacking for not being ‘up-to-speed’. Hope I haven’t put any noses out.

367. Tinto Chiel

Daisy Walker: well said. You should repost it on the main thread. I loathe poppy fascism. Many of those who died in WWI didn’t even have the vote owing to the property qualification, in effect a bar on the working-class.

I now wear an enamel poppy with a saltire with a bit less unease and I buy a poppy cross for the local Garden of Remembrance for those who died for deluded and dysfunctional Royal houses of Europe. WW2 was a different war but if Chamberlain had done the right thing it need never have happened.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cJIrAkJnS1I

368. Smallaxe

liz g:

liz,please do not say or think that you are “a half educated Scot” you are so much more.

“You are a child of the Universe
    No less than the trees
    And the Stars
    You have a right
    To be here”

I am like you liz,I have only a secondary school education.I have since read all the books that I was told,by people far more educated than myself,some I liked,some I loathed and some with so many words that I did not understand.I needed a dictionary by my side so often.I thought that “Ulysses”by James Joyce,was a Greek tragedy,I read about a man turning into an insect,another about an old man trying to bring home a big fish from the sea.Tolstoy,Ghandi,Solshenitsen.On,on,on.

I eventually came to the conclusion,my life was about me and the the more that I read about other people,the less I knew about me.I realised that I learned a lot more about life by living life.I have been dead.Twice.

When I say dead,I mean dead.I had a pulmonary embolism some years ago,it stopped my heart for a long time,I was at home when it happened the first time,my wife panicked,she did not know what to do,so in her panic she phoned her mother,her mother phoned for an ambulance,meanwhile I lay on my living room floor,dead.

My wife sat crying,at my side waiting,just waiting.Then like the Glasgow girl that she is,she got angry,at ME.She grabbed me by the shoulders and shook the life into me,cursing and calling me every name that she knew for leaving her alone with our daughter,she saved my life.My heart stopped again,just as they were wheeling me into G.R.Infirmary,it was 12 minutes until they got a crash cart to me and brought me back again.

I’m telling you this liz,dear friend,and others who may take the time to read it because you have a right to know.I survived twice but I was damaged,I have the memory of a geriatric goldfish,everything before my “death”is perfect but I sometimes don’t know what day it is,names and faces can be lost on me,I can have gaps when I can “lose” weeks of what has been going on.

Please do not respond to this with sympathy,I don’t want or need it.I’m a happy lucky man,I have my family, and my few close friends, and I also have you and all the other good people here on O/T.

You say that you are not very tech savvy,liz,look and see what I did today on the main thread.Thats rhetorical by the way,I know that you already have.I will keep watching the other thread,I will post occasionally,when I’m sure that I’m sure,if you know what I mean.

Meanwhile I will carry on doing what I have always done,donating what I can,to where I think it will do most good and with others like me,doing everything we can to fck up some people’s plans.I said recently to Thepnr not to worry about people reading his mail,THEY have more photos of me than my mother had.THEY have fractured my skull,one of THEM on a horse broke bones in my back,and THEIR little yoons have had a few goes at me.

I’m still here and I will fight on as always.

Now! someone play some music,I was going to write about lassoing a pig tonight.

Peace Always to All

369. Croompenstein

This whole crazy world is just too frustratin….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfZVu0alU0I

370. Tinto Chiel

As a lover of Sicily and its people, I also recommend this, if you have the time. You can get the lyrics in the comments:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-LFCAKGUUo

Hey, Smallaxe, you’re the sharpest blade in town in my book. What are we when we stop feeling?

Tories?

And now, off to bed, really……

371. Croompenstein

I thought this was Jimmy Stewart!..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omjZ73GFPaQ

372. Daisy Walker

Thanks Michael,

I’ve been thinking it and feeling it for a few years now.

Didn’t want to cause offence in 2014. But do you know what, Who are these supposed gatekeepers of good taste and sensibility. More and more I think they’re just bloody tories (in the shit sense of the word tory and not the good one, of which there are some) trying to shut down all and any arguments, or being used for that reason.

Such atrocities and we’ve all to be fucking polite and avert our gaze. When we should be screaming it from the rooftops. Absolutely wailing. In fact that must be why wailing was invented, so that no-one could politely walk on by and pretend nothing was amiss.

Hey ho. We do what we can, when we can, as best we can.

Best wishes and billboards to all:)

373. Daisy Walker

Tinto Chiel,

thanks too for the kind comments and Dick Gaughan, one of the best.

night all.

374. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

Thanks for the brilliant posts mister, ye’re a pure inspiration so ye are.

You seem to have such broad tastes music-wise, I’ve no idea if you’ll play this, but here we go…

Rory Gallagher, ‘Bullfrog Blues’-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33Jaodra7AY

375. Smallaxe

Daisy Walker:

May I have the next dance?,we seem already in step with each other.

Peace,Love and Pissed off Ladies

376. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Thanks Ian,from the “live in Europe” album,Rory is one of my heroes,he never sold out!

Peace Always

377. CameronB Brodie

I know I said I just lurk but find I need help to ease the unease caused by my ignorance of the French language. I never managed to get a hold of it a school so had to rely on gogol translate to make sure the Jim Murple Memorial songs were appropriate.

I was under the impression that the lyrics to the conga tune were those of the no problemo song. I know the conga tune is ok but can someone tell me if there was a problem with no problemo? I can’t find a translation. TA.

378. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I’m genuinely curious, but almost afraid to ask – did you ever encounter this dude?

If you did, and the memories are bad, please don’t tell me! For me he’s a hero and there’s precious few of them left!

πŸ™‚

Gil Scott-Heron, ‘I’m New Here’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eV_astp3BjM

379. CamernoB Brodie

I can’t find the lyrics to translate, duh.

380. Smallaxe

Ian:

Your fine with that guy,he does some great Poetry,and remember
    The Revolution will not be Televised. πŸ™‚

Peace Always Brother

381. Brian Doonthetoon

Had a bra’ day out, travelling round the Kingdom of Fife, ya hoormin!

We kept losing half the convoy but, I must say, the bikers did sterling work trying to keep everyone together.

The fish supper in Anstruther was excellent – the equal of anything I can get from my chippers of choice in Dundee.

Good to see Ronnie A and Mitch Kilbride (and Bob!) eventually meeting up with us in Anstruther.

While polishing off my fish supper, just before we departed for ‘Frail’, a couple wandering down the pavement stopped and enquired through my passenger side window, “What’s it all about then?”, having seen all the vehicles with Yes flags and saltires.

I said that it was just a public display to show that the grassroots Yes campaign hadn’t gone away and that we were preparing for the second independence referendum, probably in the next couple of years.

“I hope it’s a Yes this time.”, she said…

382. Ian Brotherhood

@BDTT –

πŸ™‚

Now THAT’S journalism!

Hoots brother, hope to see you sooner rather than later.

More power to ye, as ever.

383. Brian Doonthetoon

Oh, and to all the Wingers who have been dipping into ‘off-topic’ in the past couple of weeks – Welcome! This is where it is all organamised. When is Bob Peffers going to dip his toe in here?

Onnyhoo, typing about organamised…

Some organamised music for you. Saw this performed live in the Caird Hall in 1968.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tajqtwjeIWs

384. Smallaxe

Brian Doonthetoon:

I envy you Brian,I would love to have been there with you all,
    keep them Saltire’s flying.

Peace Always

385. Liz g

Smallaxe
    We are sort of on the same page I had a Stroke many years ago and it affected my memory too,but more for sequences and for learning new stuff.
    I can sit and learn all the steps to email but 10 min after getting up to do anything else I have to start all over again.
    The information just won’t stay in.
    Believe me in this day and age it makes you feel so stupid.
    Can tell you my mum’s and aunts phone number in a heartbeat cause I knew them before but have more chance of telling you next week’s lottery numbers than my own current number.
    I don’t lose weeks of stuff I am more sort of oblivious to certain things till I am reminded a bit like when you find your lost key’s,you have no idea where they are till you see them then you can remember putting them there.
    Isn’t the mind a funny thing?
    So not a sympathetic response my friend but rather an empathetic one.
    Also a greatful one….so I am taking your advice and will worry less and keep on keeping on.. Thank You X

386. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Liz g…

As lang as yiv hud yir tea? Dinnae expect nae favours.

8=)

387. Ian Brotherhood

This has to be one of the very best-ever ‘live’ concert films. Feels like you’re actually there, all the wee glitches and flashes.

And what a performance…

Otis Redding, ‘I’ve Been Loving You Too Long’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0vUc17A0SNY

388. CameronB Brodie

Smallaxe
    “I have been dead.Twice.”

I’m not far behind you there but were you wearing your blue sued shoes on any of the ocasions? πŸ™‚

389. Smallaxe

Liz g:

I admire you all the more liz,your bravery is humbling, dear friend.We may forget some things,but we will never forget what THEY have done, and still do to our beautiful country and her people.We Shall Overcome.

Peace,love and Understanding

390. Liz g

Briandoonthetoon
    And jist how dae ye expect me tae remember if I have hid ma tea or no?

391. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

I wasn’t wearing them when I went but funnily,I was when I came back!?

Peace Always

392. Liz g

Smallaxe
    Oh that stuff I don’t forget and won’t ever stop fighting it.
    Stat well my friend.X

393. Macart

@Daisy Walker

Well said Daisy.

394. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Otis was great,do we have any Marvin?

Peace Always

395. Smallaxe

liz g:

Any sign of Nana today?

Peace Always x

396. Macart

This week?

A wee bit o’ this-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VV1XWJN3nJo

Aaand a wee bit o’ this-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ4Ib-7fJqY

397. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

I love this Marvin one cause he gets down off the stage…

πŸ™‚

‘Got To Give It Up’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdcLwm-RCv8

398. Thepnr

Just reporting in from the 80 mile ride round Fife. Just wanted all to know me and Paula got back OK…

Oh my darlings Thepnr is grovelling on the floor – so sweet – oh yum that is so nice…

Paula’s lying. Good day Brian, Let’s do it again.

Some smiled, some scowled but the best image of the day was the woman in her car at the mini roundabout in Crail. She literately took both hands off the steering wheel and clasped them to them her face. Mouth open probably screaming “OH NO, NOT AGAIN”.

Guess what though there were MORE smiling, waving and tooting horns as there were greeting faced Unionists.

No sweary words Dear so absolutely lovely to see you all today, let’s come together again as soonest. xxx Paula

get aff ma computer you biff biff

399. Smallaxe

I ask the man,behind the bar,to play the Jukebox.

And he does πŸ™‚

Peace Always

400. Macart

It’s the wee sma’ hours and I’m several tinctures into a bottle of toilet duck.

Ooooohhh yeah.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tB54XUhA9_w

401. Smallaxe

Macart:

Memories,I first heard Barry White in the Escort Club in London many many moons ago,lights low,a fine lady and Barry!

On a winner!

402. Smallaxe

Macart:

Peace Always

Sorry,I was in the moment.

403. Macart

@Smallaxe

*Envious* πŸ™‚

404. Smallaxe

Macart:

Don’t be.Cause I used to love her,but it’s all over now!

πŸ™‚

Peace Always

405. Ian Brotherhood

Does anyone know anyone who doesn’t love this song?

Soo-perb live version…

Stevie Wonder, ‘Superstition’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JnshJDAWLWo

406. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

How could anyone not like Stevie,writes and plays his own stuff,he is his own manager.The man does it all!

Peace Always

407. Michael McCabe

Lost Paraguayos. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZaABINBBOW8

408. Macart

@Ian B

Oh, that’s a good un’. πŸ™‚

409. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Put another chair on the fire,bring that bottle over here!

πŸ™‚

Peace Always

410. Michael McCabe

I have to play this. it just seems So. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yReDTnU8TRs

411. Macart

These two were a bit mahoosive when I lived in the states.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZuXjQDxicTA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QwOU3bnuU0k

412. Michael McCabe

This Song ? Well I try my best. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rbMeNJm_CUs

413. Brian Doonthetoon

Before I turn in for tonight, I’d like to type that if you have been affected by anything you’ve read in ‘off-topic’ over the past 24 hours, there are various help lines available to supply you with comfort, in your time of need.

google.com is a fine source for what you need – that or ‘Quarantine’.

http://wingsoverscotland.com/quarantine/

414. Brian Doonthetoon

And, BTW, this help is not available in any stores – it can only be found be sending me your bank a/c details, including any passwords needed.

Don’t be fooled by lesser claims. Try me now!

415. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Now you’ve got me putting on my velvet bell-bottoms and my
    cheesecloth shirt!

πŸ™‚

Peace Man

416. Michael McCabe

I am proof you don’t need to be Smart to Appreciate Music. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIA2D_gq9aY

417. Smallaxe

If Mr Doonthetoon can Not be available!

Telephone Smallaxe @ the PRO-CLAIMERS Arbroath 100

Peace Always

418. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

Smart! Sir you have the intelligence of a Midge

πŸ™‚

Peace Always

419. yesindyref2

The best of the Lords

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lO9O0XDpKv8

Oooh, just noticed it’s 1.00 again! yippeeeeeeeeeee

420. Smallaxe

yesindyref2:

I could nearly sing that song,but I could not have told you that guys name in a month of Sundays.

Peace Always

421. CameronB Brodie

Michael McCabe
    Hope you’ve not got a pretensious-o-meter handy but I think you’ve got a firm grasp on the human condition and can, on occasion, be quite profound, frankly.

422. yesindyref2

@Smallaxe
    Well, I did go for the flares and double-breasted jackets, flowery ties and colourful shirts, but then settled down into Brutus jeans for a while!

423. yesindyref2

Mmm, I remember I had a black hat with a red cravat round it. Used to know I was doing OK if a girl I was dancing with took it off and put it on her own head.

424. Cherry

indyref i just found this …i have no idea what or how have a look.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1xJ17j5Il-ZbG_qKDvqrr1naE7HWRc5ZrPrKOdw_X4_Q/edit#gid=4

425. Cherry

i was in chrome docs program, then i came out then this appeared on my screen?

426. yesindyref2

@Cherry
    Answered on main thread πŸ™‚

427. Thepnr

Greatest western even and one of the greatest scenes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DyvzfyqYm_s

428. Smallaxe

Did everybody’s internet go down or just me?

429. Thepnr

Some one get that clip. Some won’t.

430. Tinto Chiel

Yes, Henry Fonda as a baddie: that was a real shock. And what a western it was.

And of course CC…..

*sighs*

Anyhoo, something to get you all awake. Just don’t stand too close to your speakers, Smallaxe.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CtmtkXV-ig

431. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Thanks for the warning,I now have no speakers,I turned my clocks back last night and I think I overdone it.

I turned them back 310yrs,Freeedom πŸ™‚

Peace Always

432. Chic McGregor

Powerful and controlled performance fae this wee lass.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JpTJs3uqEX4

433. Thepnr

Here’s something for you Chic, it’s 15 minutes long but I believe you will like it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VxmmcwvkZeM

434. Ian Brotherhood

Mid-semester essays bagged and ‘turned-in’.

Talk about a ‘sense of freedom’? Man, ahm pure dancin’ wi’ masel here…

πŸ™‚

McFadden & Whitehead, ‘Aint No Stopping Us Now’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DY0tsKCB4lc

435. Ian Brotherhood

I’m sure my mum had a Sirdar pattern for one of these JB outfits.

Soo-perb…

James Brown, ‘Soul Power’, Zaire 1974.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N-NrucQcB8

436. CameronB Brodie

Ian Brotherhood
    I’m sure our payback is coming soon Ian. All I can say though is tight, polished even. Very reveling. πŸ™‚

437. Ian Brotherhood

Months ago we were supposed to start rehearsals for the premiere of this at the Friends of WOS Independence Day social!

Has anyone been practising?

Obviously, we know who’ll be doing the sexy lady/heels stuff, but what about the rest of it?

I nominate Thepnr to be Bruno. (I’ve already baggsed the dude in the white suit.)

Mark Ronson, ‘Uptown Funk’ featuring Bruno Mars

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OPf0YbXqDm0

438. CameronB Brodie

Revealing not reveling.

That last comment might make some sense now.

439. Ian Brotherhood

Have to give this one a wee run-out from time to time.

The classic, when TOTP got mixed-up between Jackie Wilson and Oor Ain Jocky…

Rowland must’ve gone fucking mental when he saw the playback.

Dexy’s Midnight Runners, ‘Jackie Wilson Said’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tCCB8N2chqM

440. Ian Brotherhood

Jocky Wilson doing his stuff without Dexy’s…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mdhlenefLt0

441. CameronB Brodie

And there was me just about to suggest that difference provides the space for imagination, innovation and progress. Ach well. πŸ™‚

The B-52’s – There’s A Moon In The Sky (Called The Moon)
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTnKOLUGAtc

Thanks for stirring memories of adolescence Rock. πŸ™‚

442. Smallaxe

Ian Brotherhood:

Congratulations Ian,well done getting your essays in.I just popped in with a flagon of “Electric Soup” for you,so that you can celebrate properly.We’re proud of you Professor Brotherhood.

Oh,by the way,just in case you drink it all,Happy New Year!
    πŸ™‚

Peace,Love and Respect

443. Chic McGregor

Thepnr

He was a true enlightenment scientist, ‘dare to think’ unlike the majority these days who prefer deferentiality or lionisation.

Cannot stand those who try to win the argument by quoting some higher authority rather than giving their own reasoning.

Science is not a liberal arts degree.

444. Brian Doonthetoon

I haven’t stuck on any music for a while so here’s one from 1968 to waken you up. It features Adrian Gurvitz, who went on to write a classic – in an attic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BaSxvL5QiVw

The second two are from the early 70s. In the first, substitute the phrase “ESSO understands” in the choruses and think about a Morris Minor wending its way through English country lanes. Fans of Marmalade can check out the producer/arranger named on the label.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nhGHIWuo5g

From the same band is this one, which, when I reheard it a couple of years ago I recognised but I’d never known who did it. It was unlocked from a dusty corner of my musical memorybockers.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BR3xcZ-osqE

445. Ian Brotherhood

@Smallaxe –

πŸ™‚

Cheers aplenty & thanks amuch.

When I get a place in an ivory tower I will have fond memories of y’all, and pen the occasional ditty about the days when I mixed with The Great Unwashed.

It’s the least I can do…

In the meantime, here’s Julie Fowlis doing ‘Touch The Sky’ with her pals –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJFcbHOgXOc

446. Michael McCabe

And now for Something Completely Different. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwOH3YsraNs

447. CameronB Brodie

I forgot to mention you can also be quite brilliant Michael? As I perceive it obvs.

448. CameronB Brodie

That was obs. meant to be a question, as in “did I mention….”.

449. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I particularly liked “I do not think clams stop rusting” for “Didn’t mean to make you cry”. Just stop it, OK! LOL

450. Nana

@Smallaxe

I go away for the weekend and miss all the fun, what with billboards causing mayhem all over the place and Express hacks giving Stu cause to sue.

Looks like the off topic gang are keeping you amused.

Hope you are doing well these days xx

451. Nana

@cearc

Tried calling you several times, no reply. Can you email me.

452. CameronB Brodie

You’ve got to love these guys. What happened to that WOS dating service btw? Scotland needs repopulating! πŸ™‚

The B-52’s – “Song For A Future Generation”
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VvCng7-za1Y

453. Chic McGregor

Crossword in the digital National is the same as Saturday’s.
    Is the dead tree version also thus afflicted.

454. Chic McGregor

Also the number square is the easiest ever, you could just write the numbers straight in by simple inspection.

Oh well, no excuse to delaying work on my windows.

B listed building, 170 years old, sash windows not allowed to alter their appearance.

I have devised a method for double glazing them but it takes a bit of work.

455. CameronB Brodie

To be honest, I would have thought most LGBT identifying Scots should be open to “The Methodology of the Oppressed”. I’m straight though so what would I know?

456. Smallaxe

Nana:

I’m fine Nana,thanks,hope you enjoyed your weekend.

Peace Always

457. Nana

@Smallaxe

Oops just saw your comment on the main thread. I usually post links, take my wee dug out and then I check the thread in case anyone has spotted a broken link or whatever.

Was chatting to the postie and now I’m chilled to the bone Brrr

458. Smallaxe

Nana:

Postman’s knock? πŸ™‚

Peace Always

459. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

You’re right enough, the cryptic in paper is Sat’s, although other puzzles seem new.

Don’t know what that’s all about…

460. Chic McGregor

Ian

Aye, a wee bit annoying because I had two or three questionmarked answers to check.

461. CameronB Brodie

“I’m straight though so what would I know?”

I just realised that’s a bit crass as I’m defining myself as “straight” (i.e. the norm) in comparison to LGBT folk, who must, therefore, be deviant or deficient.

Sorry, I’m not up on the latest labels. Rusty, Edinburgh.

462. Smallaxe

CameronB Brodie:

CameronB,my friend,no need for labels,love is love.

Rusty,Edinburgh.See Tinto Chiel I’m sure he has plenty of WD40
    although he may not have enough to do Edinburgh. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

463. cearc

nana,

Have done. The phone line is down.

Chic,

Unfortunately, I have lost contact with an old friend who had designed double and triple pulley systems that fitted into the same space as the originals. He was doing very nicely supplying them with approval to listed buildings in the Bristol/Bath conservation areas back in the ’80s.

So it can be done and I am sure that you can work it out. I think that the wheels were laid flat to the frame.

464. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic –

I checked with National, seems it was a hitch and all should be back to normal tomorrow.

465. Tinto Chiel

Sorry, guys, it’s click-flooring week at Tinto Towers and I’m all out of lubrication (ooh, matron!), so this may be appropriate:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AKpJThavKpY

I know it’s almost tea time, but enjoy some cheese.

466. Chic McGregor

Thanks Ian, hope they still post the answers to Sat’s.

Thanks for that Nana. The system I came up with works no problem with the original pully weight systems and it is cheap and effective.

I did a trial conversion on a large bathroom with a large window (12 panes of glass). Chose the bathroom since it is about the worst place for potential steam ingress into the sealed units. It has been in for a year, and no intra glass misting issues. Also that room has gone from being the coldest one we had to the warmest now with no change in the heating system.

467. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

That’s Fricke n’ Rich coming from you!

πŸ™‚

Peace Always

468. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:

Chick!

I think that it was cearc,not Nana,that gave advice on windows

#Specsavers πŸ™‚

Peace Always

469. Tinto Chiel

Heeheeheeheehee!

It’s the way ye tell ’em, Smallaxe.

At my age, I can’t get no genuflection.

470. Smallaxe

Tinto Chiel:

Five deep knee bends….and relax πŸ™‚

Peace Always

471. Chic McGregor

Smallaxe

Your right, sorry cearc, Nana.

BTW Chick is short for Cearc, Chic is short for Tearlach. πŸ˜‰

472. Thepnr

@yesindyref2

See you were busy putting some right over at the Daily Express tonight πŸ™‚

https://archive.is/vzR50

473. Smallaxe

Chic McGregor:-)

You win Chic,I’m off to Specsavers. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

474. Brian Doonthetoon

A seaman meets a pirate in a bar.
    They talk about their adventures on the sea.

The seaman notes that the pirate has a peg-leg, a hook, and an eye patch.
    The seaman asks, β€œSo, how did you end up with the peg-leg?”
    The pirate replies, β€œWe were in a storm at sea, and I was swept overboard into a school of sharks.
    Just as my men were pulling me out, a shark bit my leg off.”

β€œWow!” said the seaman. β€œWhat about your hook”?
    β€œWell”, replied the pirate, β€œWe were boarding an enemy ship and were battling the other sailors with swords.
    One of the enemy cut my hand off.”

β€œIncredible!” remarked the seaman. β€œHow did you get the eye patch”?
    β€œA seagull dropping fell into my eye,” replied the pirate.
    β€œYou lost your eye to a seagull dropping?” the sailor asked incredulously.

β€œWell,” said the pirate, β€œit was my first day with the hook.”

475. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

It’s good to have a wee laugh now and agin πŸ™‚

476. Michael McCabe

Once upon a time in the West. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SqqFeewq_8

477. Thepnr

@Michael

Muppets funny as feck πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Na Na Na Na

In Scotland though some prefer Aye Aye Aye Aye Aye Ayeeeee.

478. Michael McCabe

I like this wee song. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4FIw7ERlVxU

479. Smallaxe

Michael McCabe:

I liked it also and I like the colours on his guitar

Peace Always

480. yesindyref2

@Thepnr
    Thanks, I think I’m starting to get the style now. Correct wrong info, highlight the bigotted comments, and welcome all to visit our beautiful country and check it out for themselves. We’ll always keep a welcome here.

Doddle!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y6TXz_shw_M

Ooops.

481. Nana

@Smallaxe

Good morning, hope you had a restful night.

Get the coffee on, links on main thread and here’s a few more you and some folks may find interesting.

http://irishpost.co.uk/never-before-seen-archive-footage-released-in-colour-for-the-first-time-shows-de-valera-michael-collins-and-irelands-struggle-for-indepedence/

http://noglory.org/index.php/articles/579-regimenting-the-public-mind-how-the-american-people-were-duped-into-supporting-ww1?

1972 Bank of England director “We control all press & politicians”. Justin Walker, Harry Pilkington
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsQ-dVN5-mE

482. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thanks for the extra links,you have fed me well this morning.
    Hope you are well,give your little dog a biscuit and a clap from me. πŸ™‚

Peace Always

483. Nana

@Smallaxe

Beautiful crisp morning here spent lifting the last of the apples crop. Looks like it will be apple pie, crumble or similar for some time. Neighbours happy to get their share and my wee dug had a chew as well.

My thoughts are with you and your family today, hoping the results are good xx

484. Smallaxe

Nana:

Thank you for your kind thoughts,the support that I have received from your good self and many others has gone a long in lifting my spirits and confirming my belief that there are more good people than bad living in our beautiful country and planet.

Peace,Love and Gratitude

Billy

485. Smallaxe

long way: up above πŸ™‚

486. Cactus

@Rogue Coder ~

Cheers for me 10,000 flags delivery πŸ™‚

They all fly/stick from now until we’re independent and beuyond.

From the 1st of November 2016 until Thursday the xx/xx/20xx

‘Sherk-a-leg’ do not let Scotland down by AC/DC
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbxOsMj_DoI

487. Chic McGregor

Crossword back to normal today with Saturday’s answers.

488. Cactus

Just a thought..

As there’s been many a talk of a new small book..

Consider.. ‘The Wee Black n Blue Book.’

Combine both into the one for the new update..

Begin on the negative and end on the positive..

I can see the cover already.. cheers.

489. Tinto Chiel

Evening, groovers.

Haven’t had folk for a while. If you watched the PBS American Civil War series you might remember it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2kZASM8OX7s

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.