Off-topic
Posted on
January 02, 1968 by
Rev. Stuart Campbell
For off-topic chat. Duh.
Just Craig Allan Stewart to sort out.
Where will Craig Allan Stewart be on Friday pm?
Happy to help with the cost of the bus.
Guess what? I get to be a counting agent! Yayyy!
Afraid I’m going to have to drop off the list for CH too.
The Council Tax folks just helped themselves to the last of my cash for the rest of the week, so I now have no way of getting to Glasgow. 🙁
Probably for the best, since my previous antisocial tendencies have only increased since the referendum result! 😉
Also I have a lot of sleep to catch up on…
@ Chipmonkey I sent you a Email re Hotel did you get it.
@ Betty Boop There,s nothing wrang wie ma shed it might leak ah bit,but I wont let the Raindrops fall on oor lovely Paula Rose, I,ll give her a big umbarella.
Oneironaut – I’ve just had a dreadful dream where you didn’t show on May 1st, please come along, many friends have made it possible for me to do so, we’ll do the same for you.
To spend the night in the most famous shed in Scotland alongside the swifts and swallows – I shall spend the night skyclad.
Im still on for £20 to help with bus costs
Too late dolly.
@ Oneironaut I,ll punt up for your fare just get there.
Oneironaut – I’ll buy you a dreamy cocktail xxx
@ronnie anderson
Thanks for the offer, but Glasgow is a bit too far to walk to from the west coast.
@Paula Rose
I don’t drink alcohol, but thanks for the offer.
Also dreams are fascinating things. Especially skyclad dreams! 😉
Some papaya honey?
Hope as many make it as possible on Friday..a meeting of Wingers minds in a collective social, ought to be significant.So on the last Friday of the current regime let’s plot the future and make it happen….Umbrellas and sheds..what is a mind to think x
@oneironaut
TJenny suggested sponsoring bums on seats for the Dundee bus and about £50 was pledged. If the bus isn’t happening and you are needing a help oot from fellow wingers then we are here and 50 quid may get and return you to west coast.
I see my post at 9.45pm has been successfully moderated but has been superseded by subsequent arrangements.
Betty Boop mentioned,
“The bed is in Ronnie’s shed”
Reminds me of an old Dundee phrase, “Behd in the shed”, the meaning of which can be found on this page:-
link to sites.google.com
Just to let yooz ken…
That’s the badge list closed. Last entry was cearc.
We’ll have some blanks with us on Friday for peeps who haven’t asked and turn up on the night.
Night all. Take care out there.
@Bdtt & Paula Rose
LOL and I was already trying to get over Paula R “skyclad”!!! Does that mean she takes the stilettos off or leaves them on?
@ Ronnie
There was no implication that there is anything wrong with your shed – I think it’s braw 🙂 Mind you, Paula R thinks she’ll be spending the night with “the swifts and the swallows” – hae ye telt her aboot the spideys and the speugs?
@Oneironaut
As mentioned above, the more the merrier and we’ll see you okay, but, anybody driving over from the west coast who could offer a lift?
@Jock Scot
50 quid is way too much!
Don’t want to become one of Labour’s “scroungers” do I? 😉
Seriously, don’t worry about it.
@ Natasha
Hope you have a good night at the count. JimT and I were at the Ref count, and JimT is a counting agent for this one too.
I get to sleep this time 🙂
Both doing Postal Vote observing – like watching paint dry at times, but, someone’s got to do it.
I was looking for a nice mellow song to play at this time of the Morning. And I settled for this. link to youtube.com
I don’t do mellow music much these days…
Besides, I’ve had this song stuck in my head for three days straight now, since a webcomic artist from Holland introduced me to these guys via a link two weeks back.
Only right that I inflict it on everyone else too. Sharing is caring! 😉
@ Michael McCabe, 2:55am
Lovely, wee tune Michael and very relaxing until, at advancing age, you listen to the words! “…things I might have missed” and “settled for…” and also noting that you’ve probably forgotten anyway. 🙂
Jings, I’ll get my slippers.
Actually, no I won’t:
@ Oneironaut
No wonder you can’t get that tune out of your head. That was gooooooood!
Still playing with cookies …
comment appeared straight away and page auto-scrolled to it. name & e-mail field still empty
Last comment didn’t appear immediately and no-autoscroll. Fields empty. That was using a full copy of all cookies for Chrome from the laptop which is fine.
And yet, this PC was also fine until I deleted all cookies. Bizarre.
yet another try after fiddling with Chrome settings
Just sent a help query to Google. This might take a while …
@ Oneironaut That was new to me and very very good. Cheers
@ Betty Boop Loved that version of the song. Cheers
@Jim Thomson
When I posted my last message, it appeared immediately. But then when I reloaded the page, it disappeared again and took some time to reappear.
Suggests it could be an issue causing the browser to reload an older cached version of the page rather than the new one with the comment on it.
I’ll try clearing the browser cache after sending this and reloading the page.
See you on the other side… 🙂
Ok, follow up to my last post with the little comment posting experiment in it…
Same thing happened, message appeared instantly, then disappeared when the page was reloaded (by clicking on the thread name “Off-topic” at the top, which is something I do often after posting to clear the ID of my comment from the URL so it doesn’t jump to that every time the page is reloaded).
Clearing the cache and refreshing the page had no effect, and my message still hasn’t appeared.
Hopefully it’ll have appeared by the time this one has posted or this message probably won’t make much sense to anyone!
ALSO, I just noticed that it IS reloading an older version of the page each time, as the two most recent main article links just disappeared off the list when the page was reloaded after posting.
According to the one I’m looking at right now, “Questions for Jim” was the last main article posted.
I’d say this also explains why some people reported being redirected to the previous page of comments after posting whenever we move onto a new page.
Since the browser cache obviously isn’t to blame, I’d say that for some reason it keeps downloading an older version of the page from the server.
No idea why…
I’m guessing Patrician might have figured all or most of this out already, but thought I’d mention it just in case it helps get to the bottom of this issue in some way.
Right, that’s my good deed for the day done. I’m off to scare some Labour activists!
@Paula Rose
Not sure about moving into Ronnies shed, but glad you found a place anyway.
Hope he is giving you the 5* shed with the Fridge and the AC rather than the old manky one covered in Yes paraphernalia?
Here’s the video my mate made, he payed £100/night you know 🙂
@cearc,
just a question on golden wings. How did the collection for Robert Peffers go – did he get his wings or how far to go?
@Oneironaut, The site is getting worse. tonight is the first time I have encountered getting an older page instead of a new one. I have two tabs open, same page on both tabs, it shows 13 comments on one tab and on the other it is over twenty. When I refresh the pages(using all the strange tricks) they both stay at the same number of comments.
I have said this before, this is a server side issue and there isn’t much we can do about it but suck it up.
Oh Oh Labour Pains. link to youtube.com
Gonna leave you with a couple of songs from the band. link to youtube.com
Goodnight Folks. link to youtube.com
I’ve been trying to persuade Irene to get on here and start posting, but I think she thinks she’ll have nothing of importance to say, I pointed her to my posts, (steady there Paula Rose)cumon guys what about private messaging her to get her to break her duck,
When she comments on events happening past my bedtime 🙁 her observations are much more incisive than she thinks and the (second hand) influence of Wings is getting her to take a more critical look at what is being said rather than just assuming anything she’s told on tv must be true,
She is a classic example of a L.I.V (I mean that in a nice way) who has had thier eyes opened and if she is anything to go by we are winning the fight with the uninformed and uninterested, we just have to keep plugging away.
A no voter at work initiated a conversation with me(always a good sign) who said that in spite of voting no he would be an SNP voter since Labour were not representing his views but asked when are we going to get over the whole independence schtick since we’re twtpts to run our own country, I simply responded that if after 300 year s of Westminster rule we are twtpts, who should he blame for that and why should we continue down such a self depreciating path as that,
it looked like a paradigm shift took place right in front of my eyes and he turned quietly away and got back on with his work
ITS WORKING GUYS. 🙂
Croompenstein Croompenstein wherefore art thou Croompenstien?
Are you going to the Counting House and if not why not, we’ve met just about everyone else (collectively) but I have never had the pleasure of meeting your good self, get your arse along there. 🙂
@Irene King
Come on Irene!
I know you can add something worthwhile here and your input will be appreciated. You don’t have to go full frontal on the main thread, you can just dip a toe in here on off topic. It really doesn’t hurt at all.
My only word of caution is that it can become addictive. Look at thon John King, we cannae shut him up sometimes!
Hoss,
I mooted it here on OT but no-one responded at all to the idea so it didn’t take off.
I now feel a bit bad because I think if I had just gone ahead and posted on the threads that I might well have got it even though it was late in the appeal. He surely deserves one.
Irene,
C’mon, Irene, c’mon.
John King,
A friend carried out a ‘Poll’ in her place of work with the following results:
Referendum
12 No
8 Yes
GE 2015
23 SNP
1 Labour
The Labour guy is a party member and is voting Labour out of ‘obligation’.
Ive told my friend im very dissapointed in these figures & she must try harder 🙂
Did a poll of my own here at home…
Referendum
2 Yes
0 No
Then again, the second voter wasn’t eligible to vote in the referendum as he was a woodlouse I found under the garden shed.
Still, shows some promise… 🙂
Ye be right Oneironaut.
I did a poll of my own here at home…
Referendum
2 Yes
0 No
Then again, the second voter wasn’t eligible to vote in the referendum as she was my yes guitar, who sits on her stand.
Sorry to hear you and Alex canny make Glasgow tomorrow.. enjoy the live-streamed version instead! Cheers to yee’s.
C’mon Irene, C’mon Irene – you even have your own song!
Shove John off the keyboard for a while. Your time is now (Nicolas says so!). A wee comment here and there and you never know where it ends up – like Arbroath for instance. Now there’s a town that seems to have had a change of heart since last summer’s festivities ????
@Cactus
“Sorry to hear you and Alex canny make Glasgow tomorrow.. enjoy the live-streamed version instead! Cheers to yee’s.”
Thanks 😀
If I can get on the Livestream, I’ll take a quick peek at you all there.
Hope you’ve invited the Yes Guitar. Does she have a name badge?
Have a great night! 😉
Irene
Noooooo! Don’t do it, no matter how many try and persuade you. It will take over your life.
In saying that, there could be worse things to take over your life. So would like to see you dip a toe in the water, especially if it keeps John off the laptop and we don’t have to hear as much from him 🙂
@Thepnr
Irene sneaked in on the main thread – I wouldn’t have noticed if it hadn’t been for mumsyhugs!
link to wingsoverscotland.com
As you say Alex, a slippery slope…
Raffles will be king.
@X_Sticks
I saw your post today and mumsyhugs and was lost. Hahaha I missed the Eccles reference and was searching for Irene. Good handle choice Irene.
Love and kisses 🙂
@Paula Rose
Or she may prefer to be Queen LOL.
Takes the cake.
Raffles honey – will we have the pleasure of your company at the CH?
What time are we meeting up at the Counting House?
Can’t resist – sniggle
Hello, I just wanted to say how much I’m looking forward to meeting you all tomorrow. I was supposed to attend the last shindig but couldn’t at the last minute, so try and stop me now!
I’m lucky that I’m only 10 minutes away, but I am hoping that distance isn’t going to put people off cos I’m really looking forward to hearing the nationwide campaigning stories. This election is impossible to call, as we know, but the constituency make-ups are all so diverse that it will be fascinating to hear first-hand experiences from far and wide.
For anyone reading this who’s considering coming tomorrow, but is maybe a wee bit shy, well I’m not a prolific poster or the most outgoing of people but I have met individual wingers at rallies and things and they were very nice!!
Also, the opportunity to speak freely amongst like minded thinkers is to good to pass up 😉 So, go on, go on, go on, go on…
Time Natasha? this much
xxx
Gillian_Ruglonian – sweetie I can’t wait to meet you and everyone else, I’m the sassy blond.
Hmm, not getting the Eccles reference… Is that an in-joke or am I just thick? hehe 🙂
@Paula Rose
Yes, very nice darling, but I still don’t know what time to turn up!
My chauffeur assures me that he will deliver me to the door at 7:30 – my wee cherub Natasha – I expect the seats will have been taken by then. I’m going for flatties as I’ll probably be on my feet all night.
Don’t be silly @Paula Rose. When we walk in wearing our sparkly heels as usual,the gentlemen will dash off to buy us drinks and we’ll have our choice of chairs.
@Gillian_Ruglonian
Not sure if I’ve met you yet. Mystery Winger there 🙂
As for campaign stories… I don’t think I really have any. None that are particularly interesting anyway.
Lots of standing around in the freezing cold lately.
Although we have met some rather interesting nutters at street stalls. Everywhere has its fair share of nutters, but me and the team I’m in seem to attract some truly spectacular ones…
Seeing as we are in this world…
My mum’s favourite…
@Oneironaut
Eccles is John King’s avatar.
I’m dreaming of meeting an oneironaut tomorrow, and everyone else.
@Natasha, 10:30pm
I am sure CH is booked from 7.00pm Natasha.
Chippymonkey honey – maybe the boys will be discombobulated as to how they should behave – I suggest we let them buy the drinks and reserve their seats.
Bugger!
If the ladies are wearing their sparkly heels I don’t want to clash.
Pit boots it is then.
x_sticks,
Well spotted!
Congratulations Irene!
I had looked at those comments this morning but it may still have been in moderation as a first comment.
Been driving down most of the day.
I see Albamac night be there as well, tomorrow.
@Paula Rose
I’ll be there in spirit 🙂
(Watch out, my spirit has wandering hands! hehe) 😉
Too much, much too much
I must be one of that select group of Wingers, who have met Gillian Ruglonian at least once, if not twice. And both times would have been in George Square.
So there! PARP!
Looking forward to tomorrow evening, 7pm till throwing out (or up) time…
Nevermind the Paula Rose…
See y’all later today 🙂
I’m dreaming…
Pedicure booked
hair sorted
Tottie rock outfit procured
See you all soon xx
Hi again, back from the twits!
Paula – not to put anyone else’s nose out of joint, but you may very well be the main attraction 😉
Oneironaut – mysterious, I like it!
Brian – Ha, I knew I existed
@Paula Rose
All your links are good. However, post too many together then we will miss out. Stick the Ollie and Hardie on again LOL
Oh no, I’ve just noticed that my tablet corrected Twitter to twits! Just as I was getting comfy too (my first wee riddy) 😉
Just done a really funny thing there. I still have hundreds of posts to read on two different articles.
But decided to go to bed instead. Hey for one less grey hair!
@ Will Podmore
Here’s one to get your teeth stuck in to, if you’re lurking out there. Perhaps Heidegger failed to transcend the boundaries of western metaphysics and ended up rejecting humanism because, unlike Zen Buddhism, he was using western metaphysical tools in his attempt. His dialectic couldn’t get around duality. 🙂
link to partiallyexaminedlife.com
Thepnr & Broughtyboy
Sorry for not getting in touch, its nothing personal. I spoke too soon about getting shot of the lurgie. Now my Sciatica has flared up so I’m not going to get to the CH. Bummer. 🙁
Tam Jardine
No pressure, or have I missed the Edinburgh bash? 🙂
Brotyboy
Sorry. 😉
So the democratic will of an increasing proportion of Scots raiders (voters) looks as if it is about to experience a Pearl (accidentally driving the nose of the board underwater, generally ending the ride).
Too early in the day? 🙂
The Surf Raiders – Point Conception
Remember were still in a parallel universe, where everything is reversed and vica versa. 😉
Ronnie Anderson
I am not getting off the oil rig until 4pm today. I will get home too late to go to the Counting House. Really disappointed Ronnie.
Martyn and I will see you sometime very soon. All of you have a great night. If it’s on livestream, i will tune in.
Be good.
All the best,
Caz.
@caz-m, 8:40am
Sorry to hear you won’t be at CH. Next time, eh? Safe journey home.
Cameron Brodie @ 2.37 am
Will just sent me a response to you post Cameron,
He said
“well that was Zen this is Tao” 🙂
Like a bairn going on holiday, counting the minutes.
see you all tonight folks shame you cant make it Alex, Caz-m and Cameron (get well soon,)I hope you can find a way to come Oneironaut 🙂
Last one on a surf theme, but it’s a pity I missed this little known mid-60s Northwest stomp-per from the album “Riot City”, when the LibDumbs plunged Scotland into anarchy. 🙂
Rocky & The Riddlers – Riot City
Just boarding plane ( Corfu ) hope to see you all tonight in the CH
john king
Sharp. 😉
Post-indyref revilation – I hadn’t realised David Carradine had had such a profound effect on me. 🙂
Hi folks, I’m not going to make it tonight sadly, it was lovely to meet some of you last Saturday, hope you have a fabulous night, look forward to hearing about it x
I wonder if this will be the next excuse from the Project Fear team, explaining the First Minister’s popularity. 🙂
Charles Sheffield – Its your voodoo working
Does anyone have details about a get-together at St. Peter’s hall in Hyndland Street, Partick on the 8th? My daughter would like to go but I can’t remember any details, or even where I read about it. Definitely getting doatit!
Well, thanks to a very kind last minute donation of the train fare from a friend here, I’ll be able to make it tonight after all 🙂
(Now I just need to see if I can sneak my cheapo mini Lidl cola bottle in past the doormen…)
See ya all later then! 😀
Hey Oneironaut, aint gonna bring my 6-string to this gig but am looking forward to hearing one of Ian B’s musical guests performing for us 🙂
To confirm, the Counting House has been booked from 1900hrs (till 3am!)
The VIP area has been reserved in the south-west corner of the bar, AKA the library.
For first time navigators, this part of the bar is situated directly across the road from the ‘Subway’ junk food shop on St. Vincent’s Place.
See ye all there Scotland.
Del (10badges) and myself will be seeing some of you folk later at the WoS meetup.
I was thinking if people interested we could do wee livestreams from George Square about election etc.
Am in george sq. Away for a coffee …and a wee bit studying. Catch you all later.
James
Sitting in the CH in “our” corner just now. Quite busy.
Damn phone screen not updating straight away. Apologies if I seem to be ignoring. 🙁
@Jim Thomson
Heading there now. Should be with you in about an hour or so, depending on whether anything slows the train down on the way.
See ya! 😉
And just to add to the joy, the library has signs saying private party from 6:30pm
our wee bit of the CH starting to empty now. Betty is getting fractious – nae pals yet.
Wingers now drifting in …
The A team will be about another 20 mins at most. We are on our way:-)
Hope you all have a great night in Glasgow – sad not to make it through this time..
To all attending the Coontin Hoos – Enjoy yirsells.
CameronB Brodie
Aye – never organised another Edinburgh mate – I could give you all the reasons but it boils down to being busy and lazy. And not really feeling there was anyone else pushing for one. 190,000 Edinburgers voting no is another reason. There are other, better reasons
Salut Cameron. One day when we’re auld tins we will tell young folk about these crazy pre indy days
auld yins…
To Everyone who makes the Counting House Tonight. Have a great time. Wish I was there. link to youtube.com
To all my friends and Wingers in the Counting House tonight, I’m sorry I couldn’t make but here’s the instructions for the dance around George Square.
Have a good one.
@Thepnr
Message from Irene King – Missing you tonight 🙂
@Oneironaut
Glad you got there, tell Irene and John I’m missing them too 🙁
Also to Ian, thanks for the mention on Indy Live.
@Thepnr –
Hope all went okay for you today. When I went into CH I spotted someone at the bar, thought it was you – thankfully, I didn;’t clap him on the shoulder! (He was a fine figure of a man, so, I’m sure you’ll agree, the mistake was understandable.)
@Caz-M –
I’m sorry mister – said hello to you via the Live stream but got your lad’s name wrong. 🙁 Apologies…
Proper bummer youse weren’t there though – a lot of the usual suspects were there, all looking well up for it. And a good few new faces besides.
Big hoots tae ane an’ aw. Ye’s are diamonds.
Had a great night at the CH tonight. A huge pleasure to meet everyone and share a few tales and some laughs.
See you all on threads when I get home Monday.
Rihanna, ‘Diamonds’ –
Here is a link Nana Smith put up on the main thread. Deserves to be on here too. Labour must hate this guy. Enjoy. link to youtube.com
A Wings social.. use your imagination if you didn’t see it on livestream cos We did. Had a word with Kevin about setting up multiple socials on the same night in different areas, more local to many and do livestreams from them all. If each venue manages to produce 5 laptops for example, every venue could interact whilst those elsewhere will be spoilt for choice. Maybe I had a pint of imagination too many. I blame Paula Rose. Wingers can’t help but enthuse others so thanks to the many, merry band who provided the opportunity to be enthused so much.
Wow – this shed has wi-fi as well as a jacuzzi! Heaven.
Oh my – here’s ronnie with the cocoa.
Got back into YES City just after 2pm, after another successful meeting of ‘Cybernatz Central’ in that Glasgow’s Counting House.
It was so successful on the scale that we even had a lurker (Hello Shona!) asking for a badge.
Ian Brotherhood – I’m not sure you actually exist on this astral plane. Umpteen times tonight, I asked various peeps to point you out so I could say hello and the answer, every time was “He was over there. Maybe he’s gone out for a fag.”
Now, I thought Ronnie Anderson HAD to be a figment of our collective imagination but I KNOW he exists!
So, in the race for the next Wings get-together, is it gonna be Dundee (Invergowrie) or Edinburgh in early July?
Stay tuned for the news where you are…
Rockin’ it out in Glasgow wingers.. after the CH, me, Cearc & Gillian were bigging it up inda merchant city. These girls know how to party!
Time to sleep some, kali spera pretty people.
@ cactus, you know x
I’ve just been chucked out of our hotel room by irene for making too much racket and it’s too early for her,
bUt I’m hungry whaaaaaaa ????
Alex Waugh
Shindig in Hyndland hall for GE….
I saw something about that on fb, think it was Yes Partick, I won’t find it trawling back because it was a couple of days back, but try their internet presence, fb or maybe they have a site?
Cactus says ‘kalispera’
Kalimerasas,
Are you in Greece or Cyprus Cactus? I’m in Cyprus
LIVESTREAM video from Counting House here: link to livestream.com
G’morning, party poppers!
xx
Thanks Caroline. I went to the Yes Partick facebook page and sent them a message.
Everyone manage to survive last night then? 🙂
@Thepnr
Sorry I didn’t get your reply. I wasn’t even sure that message made it through.
My mini laptop couldn’t connect to the crappy wi-fi in the CH, so I ended up connecting through Glasgow Council’s wi-fi (which wasn’t much better!)
I tried to send that message at Irene’s request before having to pack up and dash off for my train before the page had fully reloaded.
Last night was fun though 🙂
Happy to meet Paul, A.K.A. the Wee Ginger Dug at last, even if it was just a brief wave since I was jammed in behind at least three other people!
Also, nice to meet JLT, and the mysterious (and very pretty!) Gillian_Ruglonian! 😀
Hope everyone isn’t feeling too rough.
We must do this again soon! 😀
Nice meeting you all again. I should have been more definite about attending and got a wee badge 🙂 However, all in, a very pleasant evening.
@Thepnr, we all missed you, man, hope you are well. We didn’t manage the River Dance but wait for this – Paula Rose might have had one sherbert too many but a Fan Dance was performed. If you were luck enough to have seen it then, like me, that is one memory that will stay with you forever.
Great to meet up again with old friends and a big hello to all the new friends. Roll on the next shindig.
@cearc,
maybe Rec Stu could give Roberts Peffers – “Honorary Gold Wings” for all his efforts?
hint, hint…
QQ,
Ahh, You have recovered your voice after being stunned into silence by the fan dance.
I’m not sure that some of the guys will ever be the same again. It was quite a show!
Hoss,
Well I certainly think he should get one.
Perhaps we (preferably you), could gather names and petition Stu?
I have just surfaced.
I blame Paula Rose’s fan dance and the Tsing Tao.
Now off to meet Ronnie and Paula Rose (I think) at the YES Bus at City Square.
Hey Alex Waugh, I’m in the sunny climbs of Glasgow. Was listening to some Zorba when I got back home.. Yamas!
Have a smashin’ time in Cyprus 🙂
What..
..you mean I missed the fan dance from the delightful Paula Rose.Knew I shouldn’t have left so early and all for the want of not having to wait for a bloody taxi.
Anyway, so good to meet up with old friends and now new ones, Lollysmum, Macart etc
Hope to see you all again soon..
Billy Davis & the Legands – Spunky Onions
Afternoon folks!
Excellent night last night! Far, far too many names to mention, but finally have faces to many names and pseudo names. Without giving too much away, it was an absolute pleasure to meet Paula Rose.
Also great to catch up with John and Irene King, whom I hadn’t seen since before the Referendum, when they disappeared somewhere in West Lothian after the great Livingston convoy slightly came apart at Fauldhouse!
So far, I have done hee-haw studying today (somehow LOL …you have all worn me out from last night, and I only had 3 pints!!!). I really have to motivate myself as I have a final assignment to hand in this week, but I also need to tidy the bathrooms (my orders from Mrs JLT) as well as post final letters around Livi Village …sigh …it never seems to end.
Anyway …catch up with you all soon! Cheers!!
@JLT
Yes, I know what you mean. Paula had exactly the same effect on me when first meeting. Starstruck is all I can say. Shame I couldn’t make it, looked like a great doo!
I saw the fan dance. I may never recover from the experience. 😉
Recover, Natasha? I’m still blushing. So hot I need a fan to cool down. Dammit, there’s that image again.
Hi folks
thank you all for your generosity at CH 🙂
Anyway…
LIVE 7th May: Glasgow Emirates Arena #GE2015 We will be livestreaming through the night so please join us and let us know what you think… (Also for you special wingers we could be doing some Skype livestream chats so if you fancy joining us on that then add me to your Skype: indylive1)
link to tvl.ink
Really enjoyed the get together last night. What a great bunch of people you all are. Always good catching up with faces old and new.
Just a pity Alex and Caz didn’t make it and Alexandra was missed too 🙁 Ah, well, next time guys.
Just got e-mail from Craig Murray – turns out he was going to join us last night in CH, but last-minute family stuff prevented it. Have replied, saying it’s the thought that counts and I’ll certainly let him know as and when another is arranged.
Martyn Bennett, ‘Nae Regrets’ –
Just want to say hi to the charming SNP supporting rickshaw driver who conveyed me to Cambridge Street car park last night and who should now be lurking here on off topic. Don’t be shy, say hello – we’re very friendly!
Anybody fancy a visit back to the Ferry in a couple of months time?
A big yellow bus from the central belt would be most welcome.
John Martyn, ‘Don’t Want To Know’ –
To be honest ronnie anderson’s shed is not quite the five star residence that I suggested in the early hours.
The wind did blow, the rain did infiltrate – but a brave spider persisted and eventually succeeded in spinning her web…
Reminded me of something…
Very cross the Murphy – snuggle xx
Very cross the Murphy – SNIGGLE.
@Thepnr
Gee, Alex, what a night! Really sorry you couldn’t be there. Our thoughts were with you and your family.
Also, shame that Caz-m was too late off the rig to attend – next time, eh?
Well, the fan dance was going well until Paula Rose, feathery, pink fans swooshing, became distracted by JLT, who looked as though he was going to join Paula on the table, and that was when Paula’s stiletto stuck in the table top.
Ooh, it was an awkward moment but Paula saved herself with a timely pirouette. She is an absolute class act.
Not long in from my sojour to Breichin @ coffe with the delectble Paula Rose & La Contessa ( linen napkins still not back from the laundry)so paper wans. La Contessa made me ah couple of BLT (without the L ) on Wry for my snack back down the road.I.ll need to get somone else to drive Paula Rose, she keeps finding Parking Tickets on my windscreen, (2 to date from the unfair city of Dundee).Onnyhows I hope everybody got home safely from CH & by reading some of the posts another great night.
@ Thepnr, well missed my friend, by all.
Noo where,s that wee Lurker that highjacked me, Cmon lets hear from you.
Great nite as always Guys N Gals,shall we do it again sometime SOON.
@BDTT – I was so close to saying hello, twice, but you looked very busy, no doubt with badge-related business. And thanks for leaving mine with Handandshrimp, I got it when I came back in. A superb wee souvenir I will always treasure alongside all the other WOS campaign medals.
@Natasha, JLT, X-sticks, Chipmonkey, Ian B aka Cactus, Seona ‘the Lurker'(?), John & Irene, Cearc, Jim T, Gwen and BettyB, as well as all the usual reprobates – a total pleasure, and I’m just so sorry I had to bolt early. Hope the raffle went okay – it was just getting underway as I left. (And, naturally, I missed the ‘fan dance’…)
Hoots tae ye’s aw!!
@ Natasha
Your rickshaw driver didn’t have a megaphone, did he? 🙂
@ A’body else – great meeting up again and good to meet quite a few new faces. Shona, if you are lurking about, pleased you stayed with us – we only do friendly abductions!
@Paula R, dear, I am hoping that you have completed the appropriate customer service form Chez Ronnie. Was breakfast full service? Hopefully, the fans were professionally laundered.
@ Bdtt & Petethecamera
You guys are heroes designing and making our bespoke Wingding badges.
@Thepnr Another meet in a wee while at the Ferry sounds like a good idea as does a bus from several points in the central belt.
@Ronnie
Hero
Betty Boop
Well, the fan dance was going well until Paula Rose, feathery, pink fans swooshing, became distracted by JLT, who looked as though he was going to join Paula on the table
What! My drink must have been spiked! I cant remember dancing gracefully around the Counting House. Certainly blethered a lot about the Reformation and the theme of authority (which will now have Kininvie groaning! LOL) …and I only had 3 pints of Heineken …honest!!!!
Hi Ian.
So you are real!
8=)
Edinburgh was offered its chance for a get-together after the 22nd November get-together in Glasgow, and dropped the baton. Since then, we’ve had Invergowrie 2 in February and Glasgow on Friday evening.
I told her that if Edinburgh doesn’t get its act together, there will be Invergowrie 3 in early July. It’s up to Tam and TJenny to sort out Edinburgh.
Now, the reasons I cite Invergowrie are,
1. The staff are ‘YES friendly’ (remember the number of Wee Blue Books that were asked for / accepted on 13th September) and
2. We can have music videos and Cactus and his guitar, if we want and
3. The CH in the Ferry won’t allow ‘live music’, or videos, and
4. If Thistle wants to Livestream from Invergowrie, there won’t be a problem.
A couple of peeps last night said that Invergowrie was ‘out in the sticks’, mentioning the train times back to wherever.
Invergowrie is nearer to Dundee’s city centre than the Ferry!
If we give Edinburgh until the end of May to organise something, and they don’t, we could have Invergowrie 3 in the first half of July, which gives travellers plenty time to organise their overnight stay in Dundee, to allow leisurely travelling home on the Sunday.
If WE can arrange travel to Glasgow from Dundee and Brechin, surely Glasgow and the west coast can arrange a minibus from their locale for a grand night out?
Tough shit JLT as they say in Dundee.
Also I’m having none of the “only had 3 pints of Heineken” you’ve been found out as a secret admirer of our Paula.
No point denying it now 🙂
Aye, Shona the lurker got a special handwritten badge/souvenir of the night.
I told her that she’d better get her @®$e inti gear and post in ‘off-topic’ as an easy option for dippin’ ‘er toe in the wahttir’ that is Wings Over Scotland…
Whaur ir yi?
I had 4 bottles of Tsing Tao and Pete was able to get me home to Dunkeld ok…
Sorry, not Dunkeld, I live in Dundee.
It was the ospreys that done it.
Sorry to hog the page but…
There’s a march and rally in Dundee next Saturday from noon. A march round the city centre, followed by a rally in City Square (until 5pm) with live bands, including the Graham Brown Band, Sheena Wellington, speakers, etc. Rumour is that Dundee’s newly elected SNP MP’s will be there also.
There will be a Wings stand at this event, under the supervision of Ronnie Anderson. So, if any Wingers are coming to Dundee on the 9th, for the “Dundee Sunshine City Fest”, look out for the Wings banner in the Square.
@JLT, 11:00pm
You see, that’s the thing about a Wings do, so much happens that it is like being in a parallel universe – total recall is not possible 🙂
Okay, this is a wee bit show-offy, but, god almighty, it’s impressive –
John Martyn, ‘Seven Black Roses’ (live) –
Making do with Natasha’s budgie feathers was maybe a mistake – sorry.
Well Ian Brotherhood, that was FUCKIN brilliant.
You sly old fox, you. SSP full of numpties LOL.
@Paula Rose –
I missed your performance, so I’m not too sure what went awry, but please be assured – you’ll always have a big fan right here.
I just hope your table-top mishap didn’t damage either of your lovely Chaz Jankels.
So good I had to watch it twice. Just don’t get it do you Mr McTernan LOL.
@Thepnr –
What’s the betting there’s some simple psychological reason behind McTernan’s behaviour?
Could it be that, once upon a time, someone called him a crater-faced fud?
Just a guess, but these wee things are important when assessing why apparently sociopathic individuals assume the right to tinker with the ‘democratic process’.
If you happen to read this, McT, please do yourself a favour – find another nation to ‘advise’. Wasting your time here – we are not worthy of your exalted, sophisticated input.
It’s official! It’s been announced!
Our Queen, Queen Elizabeth of Scots (Not the 2nd of Englandshire) has announced the name of the new royal baby.
She, with appropriate recognition of the the role of Scotland in the building of the empire, will be named ‘Princess Senga’.
So there…
Hey no-one around?
So, my first wings social was something else! You guys all surpassed my expectations, and I now feel slightly corrupted (but in a good way) 😉
@ Gillian Ruglonian Welcome to off/topic. Glad you had a great night on Friday. You will probably be hooked now and already looking forward to the next Social Gathering. Anyway here is a wee song which I think is appropriate right now. link to youtube.com
Hi Michael, yeah I had a ball at my first ‘do’ and can’t wait for the next one!
Your song is appropriate at any time 🙂
That is the Boxing about to start. So I will leave you with a nice mellow track. link to youtube.com
ThePNR
LOL …I’m not saying another word!
Right …I did absolutely hee-haw studying yesterday. I need to get stuck into it today. Catch you all later!
For the next night oot or the ane eftir that or the ane eftir that, there’s a band called A Right Couple O Charlie’s that would be perfecto for the night.
They do a great Bonnie Dundee, Flower Of Scotland and even do some of their own stuff.
My wife’s auntie had a wee get together in The Neptune Bar in Montrose for her 70th and the Charlie’s were just setting up as we arrived.
Now I’m not a fan of bands (techno for me) but as soon as I saw the Yes stickers on their guitars and their Yes t.shirts I knew we were in for a belter o an afternoon. They were great and a very nice couple o boys too.
So either we could go to them or we could ask if they could come to us?
They’re on Facebook – A Right Couple O Charlie’s.
@Gillian_Ruglonian
“…and I now feel slightly corrupted (but in a good way)”
Yeeeeessssss. Give in to the corruption and come over to the Dark Side… We have cookies! 😉
Glad you enjoyed the night.
Was nice meeting you at last 🙂
Wishing I could have stuck around for this intriguing Paula Rose fan dance everyone is talking about! 😀
Also hope our new lurker speaks up at some point (assuming we didn’t scare her off!)
@ Michael McCabe
Great song, Michael, and it sparks some memories for me.
I left home when I was 15 and traveled down through the borders into Northumberland, then across the north of England and into Wales, working for my keep as I went. I don’t know how I’d have fared without the kindness, hospitality and generosity of the people that I met on the way. I joined the Army at seventeen and the next chapter began in Catterick.
Sorry I couldn’t make it to the CH. The spirit was willing but the flesh was weak. Watched the video and it was great to see everyone having such a good time. Sorry I missed it.
Guys,
you haven’t scared me off.
Thanks all for making me feel so welcome on Friday night, I can recommend abduction by nasty cybernats to anyone as they are lovely folks indeed. Next time I’m nearby I’ll be much less shy about coming over to say hello.
Bdtt,
thanks for the badge, it has pride of place next to my Yes badge.
A wee twist on the surf theme. Awesome video.
Red Hot Chilli Peppers – Torture Me (steady Paula)
@Ian Brotherhood Sorry I didn’t manage to have a chat on Friday. Loved the John Martyn link. Here’s a brilliant guitarist using different tunings (Slack Key). Sort of goes with a day of rain!
Kelpie honey – welcome to cybernat central xx
Just got back a few hours ago folks and have to say thoroughly enjoyed Friday night at the CH. Met so many great people and put faces to names.
Privilege to meet you one and all.
As for the fan dance (blush)…
… Mrs Macart is super jealous of Paula Rose. 🙂
Hi Kelpie (Shona?)
Always good to meet an incomer to the cause! Get posting on the main pages now, yi hear?
HandandShrimp could have had a badge as well. All you had to do was make your name known and you could have had a handwritten one! Like I typed on the 29th,
“We’ll have some blanks with us on Friday for peeps who haven’t asked and turn up on the night.”
Shona fitted that profile perfectly!
Is Edinburgh gonna get their act inti gear?
“Now I’m not a fan of bands (techno for me) but as soon as I saw the Yes stickers on their guitars and their Yes t.shirts I knew we were in for a belter o an afternoon. They were great and a very nice couple o boys too.”
Maybe we could crowdfund having them at the next Invergowrie get-together (Jolly’s wouldn’t allow music).
There’s a march and rally in Dundee next Saturday from noon. A march round the city centre, followed by a rally in City Square (until 5pm) with live bands, including the Graham Brown Band, Sheena Wellington, speakers, etc. Rumour is that Dundee’s newly elected SNP MP’s will be there also.
There will be a Wings stand at this event, under the supervision of Ronnie Anderson. So, if any Wingers are coming to Dundee on the 9th, for the “Dundee Sunshine City Fest”, look out for the Wings banner in the Square.
Had a great night out on Friday! Thanks all you scary people.
Very glad QQ and I came after all.
@Paula Rose Thanks for giving us a big push in the right direction. Good job we are ‘besties’ – others might have been concerned to have their husband turn up quite late for tea with the famous Paula Rose in the back of his car and then mumble all night about the fan dance!
@Oneironaut – @Cactus photobombed our selfie – it’s not a good photo from my phone but I might post it later.
@Briandoonthetoon – I really suit your hat -again I might eventually post proof. @Cactus also thought it was tasty.
@Kelpie – nice to see you online, glad Brian came up with the badge 🙂
@Everybody else – nice to meet you all, again for for the first time.
Here’s the graphic for next Saturday’s shindig in Dundee.
A May Morning – good one. Pete Wishart posted it – enjoyed and indeed seems right for now so sharing.
I want you to hear a song first linked to on here by IB almost a year ago.
True, it’s a wee bit sentimental and won’t be to everyones taste. It is though still relevant now, just put you feet up, close your eyes and enjoy.
By way of contrast here is the first link to a music video ever played in Off Topic.
Well done Jon D 🙂
We certainly have not given up and onward we march and …
@ Kelpie
Welcome to Off Topic and Wings in general. Pleased to meet you on Friday.
We only kidnap nice folks and always send in big Ronnie. He’s our best diplomat, like an ambassador; granted, a unique type of ambassador 🙂
Notice you’ve ditched the lurker moniker. Kelpie is good; is it a clue?
Cheers
@ Paula Rose
Notice you pouring oil on troubled waters over on the main thread today. Honestly, sometimes a soothing stroke is all that is required 🙂
@ Chipmonkey, Apologies, didn’t get much of a chat on Friday although QQ and I chewed the fat for a wee while.
@ Thepnr, 11:21pm
That video is properly weird and just a wee bit creepy. I didn’t dare go to the website to find out some weird facts about Michael Rodd!!! Probably the stuff of nightmares O-(
Every time I go to a wings thingie I get this tinglie thingie…
@ Betty Boop
I wish I could be everywhere stroking everyone.
Fun dilly mun dilly…
Fundilymundily, rejection has always been a weak position to sell from. 😉
The Monotones – What would I do?
Second go. 🙂
Here is a wee relaxing song. link to youtube.com
Michael McCabe
Was that a hint Michael? 🙂
Just remembered that (I think it was) Hoss that proposed that Robert Peffers should get any honorary gold Wings badge.
I’d support that, but I also think that Nana Smith, Call me Dave and Lollysmum should also get them for their wonderful contributions to Wings.
Would Stu be up for 4 honourary badges?
Betty Boop
I like swimming.
I think some of the local pensioners might also complain that I threaten to drag innocents to their death in my haste to get a few lengths in before heading off to work!
@Kelpie
Yay! Welcome to the infamous Cybernat Central! 😀
The bar is on your left, the Cybernat Mind Control Lab is on your right, and refreshments are just over there.
Don’t go through the big doors marked “Cybernat High Command”. The Rev gets a bit cranky when someone disturbs him while he’s plotting (also the white cat keeps escaping!) 😉
Love your avatar by the way 🙂
Now these are kittens. 🙂
F1 vs F5 (Savannah cats play fighting)
Savannah cats are a cross between a domestic cat and the Serval, which I understand have been, or are being banned by various nations, due to the threat a feral population of these would pose to indigenous ecosystems. The F1 is the first generation from wild and grow to about the size of small Collies. 🙂
This is perhaps tangential evidence that Laissez-faire socioeconomic practice is not compatible with the holistic balance of all things. Man. Or woman Reg. 😉
And now it’s time for a game of “Spot The Bob Sinclair”!
link to mobile.twitter.com
(Video of Murphillydillydally arriving for ‘fundemallyrally’ this morning.)
Glad you all had a good night on Friday. Sorry I couldn’t make it this time.
Inspiring picture over on the “Waiting for Nicola” article there.
The music player was running this in the background too. Quite a nice effect… 🙂
Making it my music link for the day.
@Quinie
Ye were well missed Quinie 😉
Come on a’body, cheer up. Just a few more days, and we’re looking at a near-enough clean slate.
(If this disny make ye smile, get sumdy tae call the co-op, cause ye’re deid.)
Seasick Steve, ‘Down On The Farm’ –
@ Shona see we telt ye its no say hard to find your voice on WOS,whit we never telt you is Its addictive.
A Big Wingers Welcome SHONA.
@Brian Doonthetoon
Yes, I also spotted Oor Boab on a different video. Well done Bob my friend. One of the Wings heroes.
This is for you buddy 🙂
See that Ronnie Anderson wi’ the ladies!
A big Wingers welcome to the murky world of O/T from me too though to Shona and Kelpie 😀
I feel really privileged.
I checked out my emails when I got home from work tonight. And, guess what?
I have received an email from Jimmilly Fundimurphilly.
And it contained GOOD NEWS!
It would appear that the Labour Party has caved in and now is promising home rule if we vote Labour!
The graphic below (from the email) lays out Labour’s promises and, right at the top left, is HOME RULE!
Ya beauty! “We’re on the way…”
@Ronnie Anderson –
In your avatar I’m sure there’s a set of toes at the end of the shed, peeking out. You sure Paula Rose isn’t still in there? Best knock first, mind…
@Ian
I’ve heard from various sources that Paula is often peeking out 😉
I’m going to come across as a raving loony here but so be it.
NOW IS THE TIME.
The best and only opportunity you have had in my lifetime to really make a difference. If you don’t knock into your your Labour voters heads friend why they should vote SNP this time. Than you are doing not just yourself a disservice but your community and your country.
I truly can’t be arsed with the sectarian shite either, just another divisive to be used against us. I can’t be arsed with any Nationalist shite either, just another way to divide us.
The politics I envisage for Scotland is better than that. A politics of the people. I will not put a name to that, the Scottish people will.
The establishment is screwed now here in Scotland, you know why? In my view we only want the best for all our people. Westminster in the disguise of Tory or Labour will continue to screw our people.
Fuck them, two days to the election. Tell everyone you know. Fuck them that have screwed us for years.
@Thepnr
Nope, you come across just fine Alex. If you’re anything like me, you’re just tired of the politics of self. Sick to death of the adversarial nature of our politics which generates the party before people culture of our parliaments. Weary of a caste and patronage system which sees no problem with corporate and media compromise.
What has it given the electorate? What has it done for the electorate in the past fifty years especially? Corruption, wars, financial crashes, scandals, mis managed deindustrialisation and a system which uses the power we grant it to line the pockets of the few at a terrible cost to the many. Its given successive governments the green light to direct and manipulate the perceptions of their electorate for plain, old fashioned greed, their own agendas.
The arrival on the scene of the SNP, SSP and Greens during the referendum has given people a chance and it gave them a voice with which to speak. During that two year period the voice spoke to the establishment quietly, with this general election we can raise that voice to a shout.
With the right result this week, I think they’ll hear us loud and clear. 🙂
Bloody ear-worms. I have to share to get rid of them …
The late and great Mr Cocker.
Right, that’s it, I’m voting for Dave. The things he has to put up with. Now the Herald is reporting that a man with a Scottish accent heckled Cameron when he was addressing supporters ‘at a garden centre in Twickenham’. The chap had the temerity to shout ‘Come on the SNP’. Disgraceful. Nicola must condemn this behaviour immediately.
Shouting promises in England, I’ll give you shouty promises.
Two more sleeps, and I think I narrowed down just why I find the stramash about the “chaos” in Glasgow so repulsive:
link to wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com
Jim Murphy and Eddie Izzard were “threatened” by four choobs with a megaphone. We had an actual Combat 18 thug protesting, and a wee girl with a saltire wasn’t afraid of him.
It’s the height of insulting for Murphy to dare call what happened yesterday “the ugly face of nationalism” when you had people who represented a group which is considered by many to be an actual terrorist organisation in Greenock.
Taranaich honey – another gem xx
Hello Taranaich, another solid article, well done! As I’ve said before, your style is great – very precise and accessible.
Best of luck for the final stretch 🙂
@Taranaich –
Soo-perb stuff.
Hope you can remember to take a selfie ASAP after your man Ronnie wins – loads of us will be watching carefully, but not much chance we’ll get to pinpoint you – would be priceless to see your expression after all the work you’ve done.
More power to ye mister! You deserve to win, and I’ve no doubt you will.
Hoots!
Sent the following to the rev a wee while ago.
Oil price is recovering, nudging towards $70, but is still at a low level for recent years. So some folk may well be wondering why the British establishment still seem so desperate to hang on to a Scotland in possession of only one oily banana.
In the past I have tried to point out that the UK has many more reasons than oil for holding on to Scotland. I have, for instance, attempted to show the importance of the Food and Drink sector in the equation.
However trying to do so using nominal monetary value which is confused by a plethora of ‘adjustments’ – tax breaks, subsidy levels, tariffs, voucher systems, GVA calculations with confusing, inconsistent and somewhat arbitrary assumptions of when a subsidy is a subsidy or not? has made for a less than satisfactory result.
Whether deliberate or coincidental, the result of all that mind-boggling confusion, obscures the underlying message.
Also, when numbers go above about a billion, folk’s minds, including mine, tend to start wondering where a squirrel is when you need one.
But a few days ago, I hit on the idea of concentrating on raw produce levels instead of nominal monetary value and also, and I think crucially, drastically reducing the number sizes by calculating the amount produced for each and every man woman and child in Scotland per day.
And to do so in terms of measurements which are readily understood in the everyday real world.
In that way, potentially distorting accountancy measures are avoided, and daily volumes are more readily recognisable and familiar.
So in the following you will often see an abbreviation I have coined ‘p4d’ which is shorthand for Production Per Person Per Day.
I have also calculated comparative figures for England or rUK.
I have been data crunching this for about three days and have only got through three sectors, albeit main ones.
It would be better with piccies, a photo of two plates say with the food amounts shown for Scotland and England, rather than verbal examples, but no time for that just now.
Anyway, have a swatch if you can spare the time.
FOOD and DRINK SECTOR
Not exhaustive, just the key staples.
Fish Production
Conventional fishing
Landed at Scottish ports i.e. less than the total actually caught in Scottish waters. Scotland lands about 2/3 of the UK’s fisheries production.
About 190 g production per person per day (p4d). Taking haddock as an illustrative example that would be about two and half of Tesco’s Prime Haddock Fillets (86% fish) p4d in Scotland (of course, in reality, it is a much more diverse catch than just haddock)
England landed fish figure equates to only about 6 or 7 g p4d or less than a quarter of an ounce, not even a proper mouthful .
Salmon
The main product of Scotland’s rapidly expanding aquaculture industry.
Scotland 85 g p4d. According to M&S that is just about two servings of their smoked Lochmuir salmon side.
England, of course, virtually nothing.
It is worth a mention, that although smaller in weight volume, salmon is now worth more in monetary terms than the conventional fisheries catch.
Meat Production
Beef (nearly 30% of UK herd)
Scotland 93 g p4d Enough for a Birdseye original 1/4 pounder burger (77% beef) for every man, woman, child in Scotland every day
England p4d only a quarter of said burger.
Lamb (nearly a quarter of UK herd)
Scotland 28.5 g p4d Just over an ounce. Might not seem a lot but that is several times more than Scots actually consume, we are not big lamb eaters.
England only around 7g p4d Also, the English eat three times more lamb per head than Scots
Pig meat (10% of UK herd)*
Scotland 30 g of pig meat p4d Equivalent to two Tesco streaky bacon rashers.
England a little less. However the UK, including Scotland, remains a big net pig meat importer.
Poultry(just under 8% of UK stock)*
Scotland chicken 61 g p4d About two and a quarter ounces or around 3 Tesco roast chicken slices.
Scotland Eggs, just under half an egg p4d
England a little more
*Pigs and poultry
Pigs and poultry are in a slightly different category from sheep and cattle because the distribution of nominal production is not tied to land use per se, unlike for grazing animals.
Cereals Production
Scottish cereal production is, overall, about 12% of the UK total, therefore, per head, nearly one and a half times the UK average. However, cereal does not generally find its way to the table directly. Therefore we must be careful not to be guilty of double accounting.
Barley
Scotland just over 1Kg p4d. The equivalent of 4 X 250 gm (9 oz.) bags of barley from Tesco.
England 0.2 Kg p4d. A fifth of Scottish p4d levels.
However, 34% of Scottish barley goes to maltings (whisky) and 54% to animal feed. Still, the remaining 12% could form the basis of a pretty big pot of soup.
Wheat
Scotland just over half a Kg p4d
Only around 2/3 of rUK p4d but well more than offset by the barley production.
Oats
Scotland About 80 g p4d Over one and a half servings if all were used for porridge but some, again, is used for animal feed.
RUK around 25 g p4d. About half a porridge serving equivalent.
Oilseed Rape
Not strictly a cereal. It is used increasingly as a vegetable oil, animal feed and biofuel
This crop also increases other grain yields through rotation with them.
Scotland 76.5 g p4d
rUK 85 g p4d. Slightly more.
Potato Production
Potatoes
Scotland 590 g (1.3 pounds) p4d Equivalent of two reasonably large portions of chips.
rUK 240 g, (about 8oz) p4d
Note Scotland produces most of the UK’s seed potatoes.
Milk Production
Scotland 1.214 pints of milk p4d
England 0.79 of a pint p4d.
Milk is obviously used to also produce butter and cheese and other table bound items as well.
Whisky Production
Scotland about 70% of a bottle p4d.
rUK, not a lot.
Because this uses 34% of Scotland’s barley crop and the land used to grow it (around 100,000 hectares) it is effectively, despite its nutritional dubiety, an agricultural product. But, it would be beyond silly not to point out there is a unique value added for this product that sets it apart from other agri-products.
Scotland’s distilling industry also makes significant and increasing volumes of other spirits. I believe even the majority of that quintessentially English product, gin, is now made in Scotland, though I have not seen the detailed figures.
What does the Food and Drink Sector mean in money terms and for independence?
The UK annual food and drink consumption in money terms, the annual grocery bill if you like, comes to a little over 50 billion pounds.
Currently the UK exports about 19 billion pounds worth but imports about 40 billion pounds worth.
A current trade deficit on food and drink of 21 billion pounds.
What does that amount mean (apart from the UK needing to import about 40% of its food and drink)?
Well, to put it in context, it dwarfs oil revenue, even in good oil price years. It is a huge amount.
Looking at it again on a per person basis might be more meaningful. It amounts to nearly 400 quid a year for every person in the UK, or about 1500 pounds per family per year.
It represents an in built deficit which has to be paid before anything else can be paid for.
And of course with ‘pooling and sharing’ Scots also have to share that bill in whatever ways it manifests itself.
But what if Scotland were on its own?
Scotland has a food and drink annual turnover of around 13 billion pounds.
Scotland exports about 5.4 billion pounds of food and drink overseas, almost a third of UK food and drink exports, plus about another 2 billion to the rUK.
Scotland’s consumption of food and drink is something south of 5 billion.
The massive UK food and drink deficit is not of Scotland’s making.
What would independence mean re food and drink for the rUK?
5.4 billion would disappear from the positive side of the UK balance sheet and the 2 billion Scottish exports to rUK would appear on its negative side, Scotland then being outside the UK.
Plus there would be 8.3% less people to share that bigger bill.
A big reason to hang on to Scotland.
ELECTRICITY PRODUCTION SECTOR
You could easily be forgiven, if you only listened to the MSM, that Scotland was in danger of running out of electricity and will be needing to rely on the rUK some time soon.
What is the reality?
In 2013, latest complete DUKEs analysis, Scotland produced 53 TWh (net 49.6 )
A terrawatt hour is the amount of energy you would use if you ran 1000000000000 amps through a 1 ohm resistor for an hour.
Err right.
But fear not, like for food production, I am converting this into a smaller and hopefully, more understandable figure in terms of p4d and expressing it in kWh (the familiar ‘unit’ on your leccy bill).
Scotland 26 kWh (‘units’) p4d
England 13.4 kWh (‘units’) p4d
Scotland consumed 32 TWh which gave it a production/consumption ratio of 1.55
England generated 259 TWh but consumed 295 TWh, production/consumption ratio is 0.88
Unfortunately, because of England’s much larger population, this means that once again the UK as a whole is running with another deficit. Around 15TWh imported from Europe. Assuming 10 p per unit, that amounts to about 1.5 billion pounds per year.
Scotland on the other hand ‘exports’ about 15 TWh to the rUK, nominally 1.5 billion pounds worth per year if 10p per unit is taken. Again, on an annual basis this should represent a gain for the Scottish economy of around 300 pounds per person per year, 1200 pound per family.
Of course, in the event that Scotland became independent this would also nominally double the rUK deficit from 1.5 billion to 3 billion.
Another reason for hanging on to Scotland.
WOOD PRODUCTION SECTOR
In terms of production to consumption ratio, the UK, overall, is in an even bigger trade deficit situation than for food and drink. The UK uses nearly 5 times the wood it produces.
This amounts to a wood trade deficit of over £5 billion annually.
How does that break down when comparing production levels between Scotland and England?
There is a bewildering array of metrics used in the timber production industry.
Greene tonnes, sawn tonnes, overbark cubic metres/tonnes, under bark, cubic metres/tonnes, recovered tonnes/cubic metres.
Unlike other land use crops, it is not a case of an annual harvest where the harvest yield = the annual production.
Trees actually recovered can and do vary as matter of planning considerations.
I therefore took the view that the best guide to true production levels was the estimated standing annual growth figure i.e. irrespective of whether it was actually harvested that year, and that people would be slightly more sure of what a volume meant rather than a weight.
In volumetric terms – millions of cubic metres (overbark, standing)
Annual timber production in Scotland is about 10 million cubic metres per year.
For England, it is about 5 million cubic metres per year.
Since people, I think, would be less familiar with what a fraction of a cubic metre meant.
So to make everyday sense of these figures, I converted into litres of wood production per person per day. Unconventional, I know, but a litre is a volume most folk are pretty familiar with. (and yes it is a fraction of a cubic metre, I know)
For Scotland, that works out at 5.2 litres of wood p4d.
For England it works out to 0.26 litres of wood p4d
A plank v a ruler in pictorial terms.
Consumption of wood in the UK is around 3 litres of wood per person per day perhaps a little more.
The deficit is again entirely down to England, indeed Scotland has a trade surplus on wood.
‘Export’ to rUK from Scotland is reckoned to be nearly 2 billion pounds a year.
Another potential trade deficit increase for the rUK if Scotland became independent.
Another reason to hang on to Scotland.
And we still haven’t got to oil or engineering, electronics, software, quarrying, life sciences, financial services, tourism, woolens and textiles, university technology spin out partnerships, publishing or design.
I want a “selfie” with Taranaich’s mum – that Nicola is hogging the limelight.
Here’s one for Auld Preacher Broon, before he bows-out once and for good –
Bob Dylan, ‘Gotta Serve Somebody’ –
@Taranaich
Lovely article; great pictures too! I’ll be thinking of you on Thursday.
xxx
Just back from Bath – any chance anyone knows what happened to one of the eggs I was using for the Rev’s omelette? Got a bit distracted by one of the rats.
Paula, naughty girl!
Are you insinuating, or denying involvement? 😉
Much as I love little furry things – it was a bit unexpected.
Paula – Ah little furry things! I was expecting to see you on Friday, surrounded by them! Sorry I missed you, but it’s a date for the next meet x
Sorry I missed you, caught the last ten minutes xxx
I went to the CH from work, but next time I’ll glam up and we can paint the town red together!
So, it’s about time to hone your spears, isn’t it?
We are all supporting you!
The English call Nicola a battle-axe? Well… she might use it pretty soon! 🙂
@Gillian
NO! No! Not red dear, yellow and black please.
Red is so last century now 😀
@Taranaich
Good article there 🙂
If we ever get around to getting rid of the biased has-been mainstream media in this country, then I hope it’s people like you who’ll replace them. You got a talent there! 😀
That picture of the two C18 thugs getting shown up by a little girl with a flag is definitely my favourite picture from the whole campaign now, hehe.
If someone in the distant future ever asks what this whole thing was about, I’m gonna show them that picture. Says it all for me.
Everyday, in every way….
?dl=0
Found a great lake in NZ last month. Its only a wee one but its perfectly formed.
?dl=0
@AuldA
“So, it’s about time to hone your spears, isn’t it?
We are all supporting you!”
Funny, I found this earlier. Thought it seemed oddly appropriate 🙂
link to imgs.xkcd.com
@Oneironaut
Totally agree with you about the flags photo. Have you seen the photoshopped version that looks like a banksy? It’s incredible (sorry I don’t have a link).
I love the comic strip!
Disney’s sword in the stone film was one of my favourites when I was wee, I still like the song about karma that Merlin sings, it’s always appropriate 😉
@X_Sticks
someone needs to wrestle the colour red (& anything else left of value) from the labour party’s cold dead hands, I’m up for the job, fancy joining me!!
Sent to me on Facebook.
Anagrams of ‘Conservative manifesto’..
More of Satan’s invective
I often scam naïve voters
No facts, no merit, evasive
Some overactive infants
Plenty more, but you get the point.
You’ve gotta laugh, haven’t you 🙂
Jeez Chic, your head must be birlin’ Thanks for all the hard work. If I may I’ll quote it next time some idiot tells me that Scotland can’t go it alone.
Martyn Day (Linlithgow and Falkirk East) with Fundily Mundily beer
link to facebook.com
Hi Chic McGregor.
Your data crunching is a grand piece of work!
@Alex
Five mates conversation?
Thanks guys, believe it or not, that is a synopsis of the data and calculations or it would have been about 3 times longer.
I’ll post the main links used later but have the last of the election letters to go out just now.
@Brian
Aye, that’s the one!
Over on the ‘proper pages’ I read this comment:
“galamcennalath says:
6 May, 2015 at 11:07 am
Remember the infamous Feeble Fifty of the 80s? Labour’s chocolate fire guard in Scotland against Thatcher?
While not wishing to pre-count chickens etc etc …. I’m wondering what a good nickname for the Fifty (we hope) who will be Scotland’s representatives this time?”
Now there are two aspects to this, our name for the group and the name they’re given (probably by the likes of Boris),
I like “the fierce thirty!” (I’ll happily take a majority number of seats, but the name will work for forty or fifty too).
So folks, any suggestions?
The Fighting Fifty.
Ok Gillian, red it is.
Where do we start?
😉 🙂
@X_Sticks
Let’s see what tomorrow brings, and we can formulate a plan from there – nod nod, wink wink, say no more!
Incidentally, what’s everyone’s plans for after the polling stations close? Any parties?
We will include every colour! Now – where’s the parties?
So long cool dude…
Hot Chocolate, ‘Every 1’s A Winner’ –
We need some new statues…
Hello Ian everybodyhood xxx
@Gillian_Ruglonian
Hmm, what song was that? Haven’t seen that one in years 🙂
Last I heard of Disney, they’d acquired the Star Wars name. Waiting for animated adventures involving characters singing musical numbers during lightsabre duels, and Jedi with amusing animal sidekicks, hehe.
Thinking of printing off that photograph and hanging it on the wall here. If I ever meet that girl, maybe I’ll get her to autograph it for me 🙂
I’ve got ambitions… Sorry, more like “delusions”, of being a photographer myself, but I’ve never gotten anything as good as that. Most of photography is being lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time and being able to realise when you’re in that right place at the right time.
Dunno if I can pull that off, since I’ve always been a bit slow. But hopefully…
I think the SSP are already reclaiming red from Labour.
Yellow and black is nice too, though it makes me think of bees. Probably makes Labour think of bees too, considering how badly they’re getting stung every time they stick their heads out of hiding these days! 😉
Not sure what plans I’ll have after the polling stations close. They will probably involve lots of sleeping! 😉
Anyways, for now I’m off to try and hack the MurphyBot 900 and reprogram it to make it sing “I Know A Song That’ll Get On Your Nerves” over and over again! 😀
@ Paula
“Now – where’s the parties?”
Think I’ll try and get to this for a starter:
link to wingsoverscotland.com
Any other takers?
Hot Chocolate, ‘It Started With A Kiss’ –
@everyone
Just been doing some catch up reading and the smile on my face is something to thank everyone for. From Thepnr’s statement of fact..I’m ready for a better future and re sectarianism..I moved 40 miles to get away from it(became a Partick Thistle fan at about 9 yrs old to make life easier). Paula you are a tease and Gillian, pls do let her lead you astray, just mind and take some photos( maybe a job for you x-sticks)..Paula Rose’s elusiveness is denying the country the ability to eradicate the bitter photo memories of Fran and Anna. Taranaich and Chic..your contributions are wonderful as always and Quinie..see you at future events. One sleep until something wonderful starts to happen, may be tough at first but the rewards for future generations could be awesome. Proud to be a Winger. x. Vote SNP
@Jock Scot
This one for all Wingers, will be played relentlessly from now until Friday 05:00 hrs!
This recipe written especially for Wingers is just the ticket for gathering around the telly tomorrow 🙂 🙂
Dusty Springfield, in shiny high-heeled boots, walking all over a butcher’s apron?
I think I might know someone who’ll quite like this.
Pet Shop Boys & Dusty Springfield, ‘What Have I Done To Deserve This?’ –
@Gillian ~
Howdy yeah, I’m planning on heading into the city tomorrow evening.. gonna head down to Freedom Square and see who else is there for the festivities..
May even go for an impromptu drink at the Counting House.
p.s. Have any of you fellow Glaswegians seen the person camped out in a tent, on the south side of Freedom Square for the past couple of weeks?
Think I’ll bring a radio with me..
Any good radio stations for through-the-night coverage?
@Thepnr
I love that! Nice one! 😀
*settles down with some popcorn to enjoy the show…*
‘I’ve been searching for something taken out of my soul. It’s something I’d never lose – something somebody stole.’
Billy Joel, ‘River Of Dreams’
Right, I’m on a roll. Here’s what Nicola the SNP AND we the Scottish voter have in store for the arsehole establishment after the votes are cast. No wonder they are shitting themselves.
Spitting Image.
As promised earlier, the main links I used to compile the above analysis. Also visited Tesco, Sainsbury and M&S sites for product example amounts.
URls
link to gov.scot
link to fbspartnership.co.uk
link to reidfoundation.org
link to gov.scot
link to whatsonyourplate.co.uk
link to nfus.org.uk
link to fbspartnership.co.uk
link to ukagriculture.com
link to gov.uk
link to ukpower.co.uk
link to gov.uk
link to gov.wales
link to gov.scot
link to gov.uk
link to forestry.gov.uk
Ah, the Swedish Chef – just the sort of skilled professional that we want to attract to Scotland!
@Thepnr –
Cheers for that. First time I’ve seen it.
The list of credits at the end is astonishing – there’s no way anyone in contemporary ‘British’ broadcasting could get together a team like that to produce anything satirical.
Great stuff.
@Ian Brotherhood
Yes Ian, the list of credits with quite a few big names there. 30 year ago you could watch that in the comfort of your living room.
Shows how far we’ve fallen, or should I say the media has fallen.
@Ian Brotherhood
Hey there. Haven’t seen you around since the CH (and even then you kept disappearing).
Hope you’re not getting buried under that mountain of uni work! 😉
Yep, I don’t think anyone in any ‘british’ field of anything could work together at all, since their way of life involves stabbing each other in the back and using the pile of bodies as stepping stones to climb to the top.
The sooner we get rid of that way of thinking, the better for all…
…Not that I work together with people much either, but that’s just me being an antisocial git, which is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT, ok?! 😉
Just spotted another two “names” Grant & Naylor of Red Dwarf fame.
The words of the song, sung by Sting were the point. How come we produced programes like this in the 80’s but now no TV station would touch it with your barge pole?
I really didn’t need to ask that question, did I?
What have we done to deserve this?
We are rewriting the rule book, we are spreading hope, love and a future worth living
Why?
Because we love seeing our bairns happy and full of optimism.
Hi Therpnr.
Perfect! Says it all.
BTW: Remember this Saturday in Dundee:-
link to tinyurl.com
The Wingers will be there, including Ronnie and Jock Scot. See you there!
BTW2: Saturday will see the last outing of the YES Bus as the YES Bus. This is Team Yes Bus’s song…
And to finish off, the band who should be headlining on Saturday, with “I can hear the nation tonight”, recorded at the YES City Gathering, on St Andrew’s Day, 2014.
Walk the road, and hear the battle cry.
Feel the pride, when you hear the distant pipes.
Loud and clear, a thousand voices cry,
I can hear the nation tonight.
I hereby promise not to even attempt to be the first name on the new O/T page and have no intention of even trying.
Post card from the USA…
Chic,
Grand piece of work, do post the whole piece somewhere.
Newsshaft are doing a 9hr. election night special @
link to newsshaft.com
It’s just audio so those that want to watch the faces from Pacific Quay will have something fit to listen to.
@Brian Doonthetoon
That link about Saturday requires a download, not many, including me will do that. Must be a better link.
Cheers anyway, I intend to be there on Saturday.
Democracy and the USA
Bit angry tonight cherubs xxx
@Paula Rose
I don’t think I’ve ever managed to be the first name on a new page yet.
Is there a prize for it? Do I win a T-shirt or something? 😀
Got no idea what number it starts at, so might just post randomly whenever my medication kicks in!
Oneironaut – I love your posts! Star wars musical sidekicks / snp-bee metaphorical jokes / robot mischief, you really set the bar high! (My tablet kept wanting to call you inordinate, but I’ve finally trained it).
Jock – I’m gonnae have to keep an eye on you!
Cactus – I’ve noticed that tent too, can’t tell you anything about it’s occupier though. Do you think we may have a Brian Haw (parliament sq resident) in training?
My diary’s full for the next few evenings, but I’m free on Sunday for post-match analysis (Murphy metaphor #1) if anyone else is up for it!
Oh, liking the YouTube links guys, especially the anticipation of an untitled one, mmm 😉
The election results from Alberta, Canada. Could this annihilation of the Progressive-Conservatives (PC), in favour of the New Democratic Party (NDP), portend what is gonna happen in Scotland and the UK in 24 hours time?
“Alberta is traditionally Canada’s most conservative province, but anger at the long-governing Progressive Conservative Party seems to have spurred an orange wave that has swept over most parts of the province.”
link to cbc.ca
@Paula
I do hope it wasn’t me calling you a silly girl on the twittery thingy that’s upset you.
Hi Thepnr.
It’s only a Jpeg. I Tinyurl’d the original link coz this is how Google provides it…
?attachauth=ANoY7coDOxjtl4HrAMG-oWdEeYRyuH-tPIltw6dGV2bXefnFD0dOoIjsnhCjGxFSu4H_95pTKCgwiLbLFDNMoKjOOmyNV8JtA9rV1d9tnpwn9lzC-E5GJq5aum_SSd9fbDD7Mvh6_e_EZ3kik3jNbLvZA5rEtEepwYP6pbdGWkW_JlL4_6ly0z0rXzyRF2RqkWETNvGEHTbj61vqa3J3vwLC5UR0DDoFxNjrG6GL9vgLGqz0_LzM-CKoNyqsCi3iArU3f9Za0zgF&attredirects=0
I tinyurl’d it because the alternative was highlighting and deleting all the extraneous bumfluff and it was actually quicker to go to Tinyurl. After much highlighting and deleting, here’s the alternative, with all the $h!† taken out.
Cheer up Paula! I hear you have a date tomorrow 🙂
@ oneironaut
My darling dreamboat – every time you comment here
we are refreshed
by your presence dear
Just keep it clean
An oldie for all wingers and everyone voting SNP tomorrow.
X_Sticks honey – you’re on the front page of the Sun!!! Link someone?
Hi Nana.
Your link reminded me of this:-
@Gillian_Ruglonian
Glad you like them 🙂
Had to look up the meaning of “inordinate”, but it sounds an accurate enough description.
I think I have Sunday free as well if there’s something on then, but I’m limited in how far I can travel.
If anyone happens to be in Stevenston or the surrounding area, feel free to suggest a meet up or something 😀
The one and only Thepnr has beaten the rest of you to the prize – weep darlings.
(ronnie anderson is still the best)
@Thepnr, 9:50pm
Re Spitting Image. Thanks for posting that, Alex. That is the clip I remember most from the series. Never forgot it – it made a huge impression on me at the time.
As I recall, it was at a time when we were all concerned over Iran and the ayatollahs. Considering everything since, they were pussycats and we were likely looking in the wrong direction.
@Paula Rose
Awww, stop it, you’re making me blush! 😀
I’ll try and keep it clean, but I can never tell what sort of weird stuff will drift up from the deepest depths of my deranged psyche 😉
Some Music to go with the great choice of Poetry from Paula Rose 11:16pm link to youtube.com
How bad are things for Scottish Labour?
Let’s just say that they’re playing Leonard Cohen songs to cheer them up…
Well, folks, I am about to head off for some sleep. Up longer than intended because I’m on the early shift at the polling station today (!!!).
Hope we all have a really good day.
I’m away up the glens early doors to do some hammering – peace, love and beautiful thoughts be with you all – until 24 hours time xxx
@ Michael McCabe xxx
This is a post I’ve stuck on various Facebook pages tonight.
Why should this be? After all, every constituency in the UK elects an MP to represent them in the UK parliament at Westminster. If enough of those MP’s support the views of one of the larger parties, then a government is put together.
We should remind ourselves here that both Wales and Northern Ireland have their own assemblies and Scotland has the Holyrood Parliament, reconvened in 1999, after a wee break since 1707.
We elect representatives to those assemblies/parliaments – but we also elect MP’s to the UK parliament.
Why should a plethora of SNP MP’s in the UK parliament cause a problem for English voters?
It’s simple. For decades, if not centuries, the British establishment has promoted the idea that the UK parliament at Westminster is actually the ‘English’ parliament. There is no English parliament. England is the only nation in this United Kingdom which doesn’t have its own parliament.
Hence ‘the English’ are led to believe that the parliament of the UK is THEIR parliament, and uppity Celts should be seen, enjoyed, their mountains climbed, their fish caught, their seas and islands explored and so on, but they should not be laying down the laws (in the UK parliament) that tell them, the English, what they can and can’t do.
This is not just me seeing this. The clip below is from ‘Reporting Scotland’, broadcast on 5th May, 2015. There was a feature on how people in Yorkshire viewed the prospect of a substantial number of SNP MP’s heading down to Westminster on Scotland’s Dragon, the YES Bus.
Compare the comments of Yorkshire businessman Adam Sinclair, with the ignorance exhibited in the comments from Philip Metcalf, proving that the problem is not Scottish – the problem is an English perception of the function of the United Kingdom parliament. And that perception of Westminster being the ENGLISH parliament is encouraged by the English based media.
THERE IS NO ENGLISH PARLIAMENT!
Well, time for me to call it a night… Or a morning, since it’s well past midnight now.
Suppose I’ll call it a night anyway, since it looks like one, being all dark and with the moon out and everything!
Gonna leave you with a music link for now.
See ya all tomorrow! 😀
One for today.
Since folk are going to need some cyber bubble wrap to relieve stress until we know the result, I thought I would say more on the analysis I did above.
OK it might not be as good as the real thing but I think a suitable time passing comatose state can be guaranteed.
On Electricity
First I have a slight error to report on one of the calculations, I misread a six for a nine.
“England generated 259 TWh but consumed 295 TWh, production/consumption ratio is 0.88”
should be
“England generated 259 TWh but consumed 265 TWh, production/consumption ratio is 0.97”
Sorry about that, it doesn’t change any of the other numbers or conclusions.
However perhaps I should explain more about the methodology used.
To do that, let’s look at the specific case of England for 2013 and follow it through from generation to consumption.
The Gross generation from all generators in England in 2013 was 271.942 TWh
However, that is not the amount of electricity which is actually made potentially available to others on the grid because the generators use a small but significant amount in the generation process itself. Mainly when using pumped storage.
So it makes little sense to use the gross figure in calculations and rather more sense, IMV, to use the figure which depicts that which is actually made potentially available to users.
England’s generators used 13.343 TWh in the process of generating electricity, resulting in a net generation of 258.599 TWh
Next England got
From Europe 14.476 TWh
From Scotland 13.275 TWh
From Wales 1.696 TWh
A total ‘topping up’ of 29.447 TWh
Making the total now potentially available to users of 288.046 TWh
However, there are unavoidable losses to come before the consumer gets their share. Mainly distribution and transmission losses, but also included in this accounting category, rather contentiously IMV, are losses due to electricity theft.
For England in 2013 they amounted to a total for ‘losses’ of 22.582 TWh
Therefore leaving the final amount actually consumed (perhaps we should add ‘legally’ here) at 265.464 TWh
Now disingenuous unionist politicians (are there any other kind?) by taking the Gross generation figure and the final consumption figure and ignoring everything else in between, can and often do, make the claim that England generates slightly more than it consumes.
More honestly, IMV, I have used the net generation figure for the pro rata per diem and consumption/production calculations.
Arguably, a similar argument could be made for adding the distribution/transmission/theft losses to the consumption figure to get a ‘total consumption’ figure, which I have not done.
An advantage of doing so would be that the true shortfall could be seen by simply taking the difference between net generation and total consumption.
Which in England’s case would be nearly 30 TWh in 2013, plugged by Europe, Scotland and Wales.
I was going to wax on about the Food and Wood sectors as well, but I am not entirely merciless.
@Chic
Your an anorak, I’m a parka! Food and Wood sectors as well please 🙂
OK I can wait until after all the excitement is over.
@Thepnr
Aye nae rush now. The per person per day comparison ploy is probably more of an indyref2 thing anyway.
Are we close enough for a safe prediction yet? I think so.
Mine is 37 SNP 18 SLAB 2 Libdem 2 Green
I predict 54 But this is what I hope for Scotland link to youtube.com
So that’s libdems down 500 quid already
Guaranteed bawbaggery free zone, just for a few minutes –
Ambient Music – Ocean Dolphins:
Here’s one for Kezia –
Mental As Anything, ‘Live It Up’ –
Here is a wee lassie with a message for the labour party. link to youtube.com
Popcorn and sniggles lovelies.
Cathy jamieson gone. 1 up SNP Well done alan Brown. Cheer up Cathy. from the gravy train to the. link to youtube.com
Angus McNeil Number Two SNP Yee ha
Mhairi Black Number 3 Youngest Member of Parliament gone yer self.
So sweet.
Chris law number 4 things are looking up.
8 Declared winners for the SNP so far. link to youtube.com
frank roy gone and not before time, this is amazing!!!!
A wee song for Dim Jim. link to youtube.com
Come on Paula Rose and Thepnr I know you are lurking. Gease a tune ?
Enjoy the night.
Well, the polling companies seem to have overunderestimated the SNP’s share of the vote, iye?
8=)
The Smurph has been fundimundilly…
8=)
Jim Murphy gone Yes Yes Yes Here’s a wee song Jim. link to youtube.com Don’t Worry Jim I hear IRN Bru are looking for Crate Stackers.
???? just ????
That was meant to be great big grins, to ?marks ?
Margaret Curran gone whoo hoo A wee song Margeret. link to youtube.com
Alexander, Murphy, Curran…
I thought we could get two of them but all three?
The Wee Ginger Dug must be ecstatic!
I can hardly believe it so far. What a night. Who needs sleep anyway 🙂
And Davidson bites the dust…
Really, all that’s left to do is bayonet the wounded.
ARF, ARF!!!
Yvette Cooper to be new Labour leader 3/1 with William hills. no bad wee Bet.
Hey guys you can follow The wee ginger dug here on his live blog update. Funny as usual 🙂
link to weegingerdug.wordpress.com
And Willie Bain bites the dust!
I didn’t think 58 was possible but if we can win there…
Well, how good is this?
Murphy, Alexander, Curran, Bain, Davidson ALL GONE!!!
WGD IS ecstatic – he’s blogging right now! Has been dancing around and scaring the dug – lol!
BTW: Congrats to Gillian Ruglonian and the team in the constituency.
Help ma Boab!
Paula Rose will be black affronted!
I got first post on a new page!
8=)
I can remember this getting played during the 1974 election build up looks like our “Morning has finally broken”
Play it LOUD and on repeat let everyone know its a new dawn for Scotland
Rev Stu I hope you are sitting down in Bath Satisfied with all the hard work you have done for us who adore your Website and the people of Scotland. Cheers. link to youtube.com
After Anas Sarwar got booted Paula Rose ran outside and started dancing in the garden to this 🙂
Paula just back in, told her Ian Murray won she wanted to be sick and beat me in the race to the bog.
You win some you lose some, still feels like shite to lose to stickergate Murray!
Seeing Pete’s post above (Morning Has Broken) reminded me that when I first let Bob Costello (Leader of Team YES Bus) hear this track, which I have always found inspiring, he told me to pin it at the top of the Scotland’s Dragon for indy Facebook page, as the theme song for the team.
Och Alex, yir no’ payin’ attention, an’ thah’.
Pete’s already posted that song at 4am.
Wake up man!
8=)
Our Counting Agents came back to the party as the day was dawning and danced around the car, music blaring, shortly followed by our MP, Philippa Whitford.
What a night! We can be proud of our Scottish electorate; they finally grew up! :-))
@ Bdtt
Congratulations. You are definitely first on the new page and no amount of jiggery pokery will convince me otherwise.
Mainly though = Congratulations Dundee, Aberdeen, Glasgow, Dingwall, Falkirk, Inverclyde, Central Ayrshire, North Ayrshire, Gordon, Glenrothes, Edinburgh North (I think = consumed a lot of bubbles tonight), Ayr, Cumnock and Doon Valley, Ross, Skye and Lochaber, etc., etc.,etc.
See, our Wingding last Friday didn’t put a jinx on it. It’s “pass the popcorn” time now. Big announcement – I no longer live in a Tory town, SNP all the way.
Damn, if only I’d waited one more minute before making my last post this morning!
What a night that was. Wish I’d seen Paula dancing round the garden must have been quite a sight.
We now have as many Polar Bears in Scotland as unionist MPs – the frozen few?
Murphy, Alexander, Curran and Davidson. How sweet life can be sometimes. Bloodbath coming to the labour party. Hope Davidson has his bayonet ready.
Scotland is now in a state of polarbearisation.
Anyone seen my false eye-lashes?
Found them! Now where are we? A new page! How refreshing.
See Cameron is keeping good buddy Osborne as Chancellor. Just thinking, do we have figures for the number of SNP MPs who attended Oxford?
Looking forward to our next celebration gig..
Who’s calling it.. is it your turn Edinburgh?
Anyone going along to the Wings stall in Dundee tomorrow?
@X_Sticks
I’ll be going 🙂
Solve this: Conservatives 331 – Labour 232 = ?
Stick with it to the very end, hits the nail on the head.
Just think, guys: Ronnie Cowan commented on Wings a couple of times, and even my blog. Now he’s the SNP elected Member of Parliament for Inverclyde!
Ten stories high, right now. I’m hitting my head on the clouds!
@Taranaich –
🙂 😉
Congrats mister – made up for ye. Did you get a selfie at the moment of victory?!
Kool & The Gang, ‘Celebration’ –
@ Taranaich.
“Ten stories high”
And well deserved too Sir.
Earth, Wind & Fire, ‘September’ –
@Alex
So it’ll be you, Ronnie, Brian and Pete then? More importantly will Paula be going or will she be shopping instead?
Um – anything happen in the last 24 hours?
@Taranaich
Chuffed for you. You did make a difference, well done.
@Ian Brotherhood
Listened to that Radio Scotland clip 🙂 They read Wings.
link to bbc.co.uk 7 mins in.
ex sticky thingie – are you coming via Brechin honey?
Yes Paula will be there 🙂 My wife too, just in case LOL.
Taranaich
Just chuffed for you. 🙂
Stereo MC’s, ‘Connected’ (Live, Jools Holland)
Yup, X_Sticks, Pete and I will be there.
However… I have read on Facebook that the SNP Dundee MP’s will not be there tomorrow, as they’ve become too busy.
I think we may hear some caustic words from the stage tomorrow.
Never mind, we’ve got the Graham Brown Band to look forward to. And Sheena Wellington.
@Paula
Looking for a ride, dear?
So delighted that Beedeeteetee has at last got the wee accolade that he yearned for – so sweet. 11501 is such a memorable number, yawnee thingie.
STV Scotland Tonight.
Jackie Ballie’s puss tripping her, nothing better to say than SNP BAD. The fool.
Anyone picking me up?
Aherm, Paula Rose.
I think that if you peruse the previous pages (I can’t be @®$€d), you will find that I claimed first post on a previous page.
PARP!
8=)
Beedeeteetee – so delighted for you, it’s so nice that silly numbers have silly owners. Some of us were rather busy yesterday xxx
Come in Paula Rose. Picking you up 5 over 5. What’s your 20?
If the day after the referendum was one of my worst ever then today is 9ne of my best.
These seats really belong to the people, the tens of thousands of people who have campaigned tirelessly for the SNP earned these.
Schadenfreude is a bitch.
You lovely boys – I’ve no more tissues.
@Paula
I’ll be aiming to head down sometime before 11 and get some grub down there. Suit you ma’am?
@Paula Rose
I’ll be the white knight, see you 11:30. Get your tartan high heels on, or else!
Brian Doonthetoon to Paula Rose: 10-4 good buddy.
Just for you,s
A lovely man wrote this in my honour xx
Darlings you are so forward – coffee, tea and strokes will be available chez moi from 11:30 for ten minutes.
Hi X_Sticks.
Forgot to type… Jim T and Betty Boop are coming from Troon to Dundee tomorrow.
I heard it somewhere..
ring or buzz – eek choices, choices – both please xx
@Paula Rose (11.34) –
Is that ten minutes each?
For all my fans – will it be Wreckless Eric or Dusty?
My heart rises when I hear this…
link to saturdaychorale.com
My dear little Ian – please try and control your excitement, I can’t always promise to have a tissue available.
We can’t have 3 of us turning up at the same time to “pick up” 😉 Paula Rose.
X_Sticks since your heading here, I think you have the honour 🙂
Whit a time to be alive.Back fae Majorca thurs night straight tae vote, hame,open bottle and watch the wipeoot till 5am,bed wi a smile. Here’s a wee tune for the slabs hehe
link to gsi61.com
@Thepnr –
FFS man, don’t start squabbling over her – you’ll just make her worse!
“X-sticks, sweetest, whatever shall I do with my boa?! Thepnr would’ve had room for it. Why don’t you have room for it?”
lol, so I’m on Paula pickup duty then 😉 Ooo-err.
I’ll give you a ring or a buzz when I leave Aberdeen whichever you prefer.
Yippee – Masseratee instead of hatchbackee?
Erm Paula.i suppse a tandem is out then?
PIL and Muriel Gray when she was still in Bananarama-gear. A curio:
Oh severe goodness, am I really getting a ride in X_Sticks’ Maserati again?
Smithiie sweetie another time dear.
Paula, i have had the pleasure of being in the same space as you thrice now,and i thoght only Walt Disney did enchantment.
Sorry cherubs but there is a new one…
as it happens – just in case, Morag – big hugs and kisses from moi, and Robert Peffers – you are a respected gem.
I know you are a busy man Stu but can you (or anyone really)
explain to me all this ‘Labour are too left wing’, ‘Miliband took Labour too far to the Left’ stuff we are seeing on TV?
I have been, for many years now, of the opinion that Labour were a Right Wing Party & this was confirmed by a wee look at the ‘Political Compass’ website.
link to politicalcompass.org
I saw Ben Bradshaw on TV the other night going on about Labour being too far to the Left & was equally horrified when I realised he was actually a member of the Labour Party.
Is this just a case of it all being driven by the Right Wing media & bought into by the Blairites? Or are Labour really Left Wing and I’m mistaken?
Sorry I can’t be in Dundee today, folks. Have a grand day out. (Catch up with you soon, Thepnr). In the meantime, here’s a wee tune that’s been getting played a lot on my old steam driven hi-fidelity musical apparatus since the early hours of Friday.
Tony Clarke – Landslide.
We won! We won! I was there at the count – we made history!
Won’t be there in Dundee, but thinking of you all. Paula Rose – your false eyelashes are next to your bed with your false teeth, false boobs and glass eye (my husband dared me to post that). I do believe I once had top spot on Off-Topic . . .
xxx
I hope all you Party people are behaving as has been dictated by Party HQ. I expect to see nothing less than military disciple across Scotland, from now on. Don’t become an enemy of the people. 😉
Jimmy “Bo” Horne – Dance Across The Floor
Have yee’s a braw day in Dundee, I can’t make it over but hopefully the people of Dundee and surrounds will show in good numbers.
Thistle be Dundee’s first public celebration following Scotland’s success in the General Election.. have a great day folks!
Sorry that I didn’t make it into Dundee today. I didn’t get out of bed until 2 O’Clock this afternoon, stamina had run out. Let’s just say I was drained.
Hope you had a good one and there’s always a next time.
Lovely day with lovely wingers in Dundee – only regret being the non-appearance of certain well-loved ones.
Natasha honey – aren’t you the wee funny one! It must be difficult having to look up to me all the time, I’ll let you stand on the table next time.
Hey Guys!
Can anyone recommend a Scottish company that makes fully sewn flags?
I’m wanting a saltire for the back garden.
Cheers!!
As Paula Rose has typed, it was a grand day out in Dundee – eminently enjoyable!
It was a warm afternoon, well until around 4.30, when it became a tad chilly. All the bands and singers were excellent, including the 12 year old Dundee lassie who did a wee set including ‘Flower of Scotland’.
We Wingers had a wee discussion about the next get-together. I reminded us (again!) that I had thrown down the gauntlet to Edinburgh when I met TJenny at the Glasgow get-together, and if Edinburgh doesn’t get its act together, we’ll have another ‘Wings Over Invergowrie’ in July.
The Radical Road was suggested as a suitable venue for Edinburgh – but someone from Edinburgh has to organise it.
So Tam Jardine or TJenny, where will July’s get-together be? Edinburgh or Invergowrie?
Thin Lizzy, ‘Don’t Believe A Word’ (Live) –
I Heard Jim Murphy was talking to our First Minister. And this is what he Said. link to youtube.com
Lovely Michael McCabe and I having a wee smooch – anyone else coming in?
Anyone got a theme for tonight’s music? Busy doing my nails.
Easy and relaxed mmm xxx
Paula Rose,
Ah, Nine Inch Nails no doubt?
Cearc sweetness – I’m staying on the mellow side of yellow xxx
Great song Ian.
Haha. Check out this version of Whisky in the Jar, the best on the internet yet few have watched.
Stirred myself to put this on, excuse me Michael dearest…
a wee bit of pipe and drums. link to youtube.com
Bit of fun whilst I paint Michael McCabe’s nails…
@Michael McCabe
That was simply and absolutely brilliant. I loved it and I don’t usually go for the shortbread and kilt shite.
However, wee tunes like that can fire you up, they need to get down there outside the HoC for the Queens Speech on 27th May.
Look out London the Jocks are coming 🙂
Darlings – getting mellow
Good day in Dundee yesterday in spite of some regulars missing in action 🙁
No-one’s mentioned that Stewart Hosie turned up unannounced (I paraphrase):
“I didn’t come to speak today, I was just here to do some shopping but I thought I’d take the opportunity to say thank you to you all for you hard work and support. I Cameron thinks it will be business as usual after the election he better think again.”
He then sent some considerable time shaking hands and getting photos (note to Ronnie not selfies which by definition contain the picture of one person) with ra pepl. How refreshing the SNP policy is it a policy?) of keeping it real. It works. People feel connected and engaged. He finally wandered off to go and do his shopping. Braw.
Can someone confirm things for me? I’ve looked at Wings from December and SLAB’s website, to see if Smurph would have won the branch leadership with no MPs voting for him. He got 32 first prefs from 41, last man standing voted Findlay.
It looks like he would still have won, but I’m not sure how the electoral college works, and there are mistakes in SLAB’s table, eg deputy Dugdale noted as MP. Would have been MUCH closer anyway.
If he would have lost, let’s keep it to ourselves, the infighting might be rather entertaining.
@Paula Rose 7.14pm
Grovelling apologies, oh gorgeous one. 😉
Bizarre stuff, just stumbled-upon, with powerful Tory message – ‘Think Only Of Yourself!’.
If you’re in the mood to listen to Brian Blessed shouting his head off for five minutes solid, this should do the job.
Hawkwind, ‘Sonic Attack’ –
One for oor Jim.
(forgot to remove the http first time!)
@Ian Brotherhood
Hey, that is one weird video. As a Sci-Fi fan I started to get right into it near the end.
Now I know how the Tories got a majority. Do not panic!
@Thepnr –
Aye, it’s an odd one to be sure…
But not any weirder than the announcement, right now, that Cameron has put IDS back in again to oversee the cuts programme. The bastards are rubbing a’body’s faces in it – all over the ‘UK’ – and daring anyone to defy them.
Let’s see how that works out for them.
Blooming eck! Chuck coat on sofa, whoops check Natasha isn’t underneath, kick off shoes..
Silly boys on the main thread eh? Well said Thepnr honey.
Might put something on the Dansette later – need to chill first, now…
What are we discussing?
@ X Sticks It was a professional photographer that took the photo of Stewart Hosie & me ( Karen Brownlee )nae selfies ah dont cairy wan of the sticks lol.
Great day out with the Wingers ,& thanks Jim Thomson & Betty Boob for meal afterwards.
Hi everyone, hi Ronnie – who’s Betty Boob? 😉
Betty Boob? Bonnie And ‘er son’s cussin.
I thought I’d share the details of my groups next meet, just in case anyone’s in the area!
twitter.com/YesRutherglen/status/597345356477833217/photo/1
Open to all, and you’ll be guaranteed a warm welcome 🙂
Oh, that link didn’t work properly, second attempt then 😉
link to twitter.com
Gillian_Ruglonian, 11:57pm
I’m sure it’s not a typo when Ronnie does that!
Betty are you saying it’s Freudian (giggling like a schoolgirl)!
Girls come on now, way past your bedtime. I’ll leave you with a wee tune. I think you’ll like it, if not well nothing lost.
@Gllian_Ruglonian, 1:06am
Nope, it’s Andersonian – whole new dialect, known only to Ronnie. A universal translator is often required to decipher some of Ronnie’s nuggets and I mean that “in the best possible taste”! 😉
It’s Amazing what you here in the pub nowadays link to youtube.com
Betty – excellent!
(I hope you crossed your legs like Cupid Stunt when you said that ;))
Two thumbs up for the Hawkwind track from DJ Brotherhood!
45 years of performing, and still going strong.
@Gillian_Ruglonian
Very tempted, but that’s a bit out of my travel range right now.
Hoarding up the cash in an attempt to survive five more years of greedy *@!#ing Tories! 🙁
Have to admit to making the occasional Freudian nip…ERRR, SLIP! myself… 😀
Anyways, need to bring a bit of comedy into the day.
Anyone ever wondered how Google Street View got started?
Probably something like this:
Wishing you all Peace, Love and Oreos! 😀
Saw a great picture over on Munguins yesterday. Sorry if its already been posted.
link to 1.bp.blogspot.com
How’s about a bit of popcorn R&B to celebrate the news from Lord Forsooth. 🙂
Barbara Dane – I’m on my way.
Apparently bbc one are showing a program about the 56 at half seven – unscheduled – they must not want us to watch it 😉
Murphy’s apparent thinking he has the inalienable right to Klingon to the job is reminiscent of a song re-penning I did at the time Blair was holding on by his fingernails.
Blair’s interjection this weekend reminded me of it.
Tony (To the Tune of “Ruby” of Kenny Roger’s fame)
You’ve painted up your lips
And combed and waved your tinted hair
Tony are you contemplating
Going out somewhere
The writing on the wall tells me
That you are going down
Oh To-Oh-nee
Don’t give the job to Brown.
It wasn’t you that started
That old crazy Iraq war
But you were proud to go and be
A Yankee luvin whore
It may be true that you were once
the man that most believed
But To-Oh-nee
Too many folk have grieved
Its hard to love a man
Whose cred is spent and paralysed
And the wants and the needs of a nutter like Bush
Tony I realize,
But it won’t be long I’ve heard them say
until you’re not around
Oh To-Oh-nee
Don’t give the job to Brown
Your leaving now cause
I just heard nails scraping on the floor
Thatcher had more dignity
But you screwed Labour more
If you could choose, you’d let Brown lose
And Cameron you’d crown.
So To-Oh-nee
Don’t give the job to Brown.
And To-Oh-nee
Please DON’T turn around
@boris.
I was interested in your comment on “whirlie”, being a close-to-the-surface coal seam. I can’t find it in Scottish National Dictionary or other Scots dictionaries but it’s probably the best suggestion for The Whirlies in EK. Do you have any insider knowledge (eg mining background)?
The unscheduled programme, “The Rise Of The SNP”, is repeated on the BBC News channel at 20.30 – that’s in about 8 minutes.
You’re not putting it on in here Beedeeteetee, anyways discussion on Scots words going on in the corner.
The ‘unscheduled’ programme, “The Rise Of The SNP”, is repeated on the BBC News channel at 20.30 – that’s in about 8 minutes.
It’s also on the BBC Parliament channel at 23.00 tonight.
Evening, Paula Rose.
Thanks for your comment on Scots words.
Is this you, by any chance, commenting on Scottish Labour?
link to m.youtube.com
This is more me honey – have a nice time, I’m still clearing up after the weekend excesses…
Must say, I enjoyed that.
To’al respek.
May The Force be with you.
xx honey – can you do some drying up?
My Marigolds are to hand.
But it’s a long way from Hamilton to Brechin, I fear.
Those Regina Blitz kitchen towels are most effective, PR.
@boris: please pick up.
Do you not understand the Off-topic portal? Correct dress code instant access.
Tee hee.
Fairy Nuff.
Sponging my brown Fedora.
Please, call me Tints.
boris: are you out there?
I’ll leave you to your mining –
You know what they say – “when in a hole…”
Ken whuh’?
Did Gorgeous George no’ favour the fedora?
Didnae dae a mickle or a muckle for his political career…
Thanks for the style tips, BDT.
May switch to Trilby. Offsets my cheekbones beautifully.
boris: come on!
I’m keeping the noise down to allow serious discourse – anyway back to the kitchen
One day soon…
link to facebook.com
Is that me on the naughty step again, slap me oan the face wie ah wet haddy Betty Boop,ma Ps goat mixed up wie ma Bs & no fur the 1st time,but you,s know that by now.
Between you and me…
ronnie anderson – is that you in the door hon? Give us a hug xxx darling lovely to have your company (special man) make yourself at home.
wrong link – hang on…
Time for bed – leave you with this…
Ronnie, your little titillation was the cherry on the top of an incredibly enjoyable few days 😉
Some of the conversations I’ve had today (at work and in shops) about the election result have been fascinating in their tone. ‘Normal’ folk (rather than activists or political geeks) are now openly comfortable to discuss their affinity with the snp as they know they are in the majority. This is different from post-referendum feelings, as people like being on a winning team and are taking pride in the reflective glory!
It now appears to be recognised as common sense that if this result doesn’t prove to be an effective way for Scotland’s voice to be heard, then it’ll be the system to blame not the snp!
I think that this attitude change is extremely important for the future – I’m proud of my fellow Scots right now 🙂
Please turn the lights out when you leave dolls –
got a planet to save as well xx
It looks like a fitting end to my bombastic “Heroes” series:
The Nationalist Hordes of the Northern Isles, Dumfriesshire and Morningside may have lost the battle, but the Bear of Shetland, David the Flocculent and the Knave of Hearts cannot last for long. Three lonely castles, surrounded on nearly all sides by the golden horde…
@Taranaich
Loved that, SO MUCH! 😀
You ever thought of taking up novel writing?
That would make some good satire 😉
Why we love the people who welcome us…
Hi honeys – everything tidy?
Enjoy
Love Scotland? I do…
Ronnie, just tae say thank you for gettin’ me a badge made from BDTT and Pete TC…made me smile 🙂 (that paranoia paid off…winkysmileything)
@AuldA
Don’t know if you still drop in here but if you do, what do you make of the recent science community activity regarding ’em drives’? Fuelled by alleged thrust detection by NASA and the Chinese.
@Tarranaich
Loved that.
Yes – come in AuldA time we had some rocket science etc personally I’d like some Quantum.
Ha! James Kelly (msp rutherglen) was on the bbcs wee politics show!
He’s apparently in charge of the Holyrood campaign, so round 2 is well and truly on!
This man is a master of disguise – there’s actually a wiley strategist behind the image he portrays…no sorry, I can’t keep it up any more – if you’re unaware of this guy’s competence check him out on YouTube – you’re in for a treat!
I wonder if the bookies are taking bets on Holyrood yet – people in this area have more issues with this ‘representative’ than they did with Greatrex. Bodes well for a wee flutter 😉
@ Taranaich
– lovin’ your work, also many congrats on your campaign 🙂
Gillian – fundilymundily betterlyeverly xx
That’s not the point minister! – Just one of Kellys ‘greatest hits’
m.youtube.com/watch?v=HMeyLKitmyk
Oh no, my link didn’t work. I’m not attempting it again – I’m feart of getting hammered 🙂
An in-depth profile of James Kelly…
link to bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk
And then there was the backlash…
link to bbc.scotlandshire.co.uk
Do you want a coffee huns?
Ah I’d forgot about that one Brian 🙂
Thanks for your kind words at the top of the page btw, I went to a wee do on Friday night with the team and everyone was on great form, though understandably knackered!
We now all have a role supporting our new MPs in their endeavour to truly represent us!
@Gillian_Ruglonian
You mean this one?
Someone call the Fire Brigade, ‘cos Mr Kelly just got BURNED! 😀
Ignore – still playing with cookies …
bugrit … still not working
Hi Tints.
Re your post of early yesterday morning.
This may help you with your choice of headgear – but don’t let Paula Rose anywhere near your choice with her heels on!
8=)
Thanks, Brian. He wrote some really funny stuff, didn’t he?
I’d forgotten this song. Loved the “bust’em” bit: you are a bad man.
Wearing the homburg tonight with my Willie Pettigrew Special Edition MFC lounging pyjamas but will keep clear of PR. I fear the Cuban heel treatment.
All the best.
Evening all. Here’s a brilliant bit of ragtime guitar, played by the wonderful John James
BDTT, great link re les chapeaux, tears of laughter, thank you for that. A few links which I have really enjoyed tonight – even the Back Church choir …well maybe not so much..I am enjoying my forays into OT, its quite an education, lol
Hi fionan.
Were you able to watch (live) the unfolding story of the early hours of Friday morning?
I’ve done a wee bit of number-crunching on the 56, mostly to see how well my own MP did, and thrown it in with a few random thoughts about a pal of mine becoming an MP:
Well, I am still working on my comic, plus I’ve dabbled a bit in fiction. Still not published prose yet, though.
@ Quentin Quale Cheers for the link to Ragtime Guitar. That’s new to me But very good.
Hmmm, well I was writing a wee post agreeing with Stu’s, reminding folk that he’s the boss and can write what he wants, and basically praising any opportunity for analysis of differing views.
I couldn’t submit it, and when I had a look at the thread, Stu has suspended comments! Has this happened before, cos I can’t recall?
I don’t know what some folk are up to anyway with the tone of their posts recently, I keep stopping myself from saying ‘play nice’!
If this action sorts it out then good, if not I fear the hammers may have to be deployed 😉
Sorry, I should have said that this was on the ‘auntie’ thread and folk were jumping on the football theme 🙁
I noticed the same thing before when a bunch of people just started bashing the Green party out of nowhere for no obvious reason I could see.
And after the referendum, the SSP was getting the same treatment.
Either the trolls are getting better at their psychological “divide and conquer” job, or some people just develop a strange urge to act like morons occasionally. Hard to tell.
Also, is it just me or does the page layout of the comments look a bit different now? Checking that my browser hasn’t gotten messed up again…
@Oneironaut
I suspect we have a few false flags aboard who are out to cause division. They are probably ‘professional’ trolls by that I mean they are most likely affiliated to particular political parties. I wouldn’t mind betting that the likes of McTernan or McDougall have accounts on Wings. Troublemakers.
And yes, looks like WordPress may have had an update.
@X_Sticks
Ahh ok, that would explain it.
And my comment did appear slightly faster than usual, so maybe it’s a good thing 🙂
Hmm, I wonder what names they’re using?
I bet one of them is Yoda… Which of them looks like an ancient withered green midget with big ears? (Probably not McDougall…)
Trolls are not those with a different point of view, but those who de-rail threads by introducing divisive subjects. Some regular commenters seem to need regularly reminding that we have a large readership who will not be impressed by petty squabbles or party politicking and triumphalism.
Petty squabbles, party politicking, and especially triumphalism – the only reasons I’m on Wings 😛
and the update hasn’t made any difference to posting times or retention of posting header data 🙁
OKee dokee – I’ll go and use my big wooden spoon!
Ode an de freude
Jim.
Yeah, right.
We know you only come here to flirt with Paula Rose.
Cup of tea and some corn dear?
Have we ever had any Rory Gallagher?
Cradle Rock (1974) –
I’ve in my life before heard the word Scotland mentioned so many times on programmes aimed at an English audience.
Already making a difference before getting into first gear!
shite, meant I’ve never 🙂
@ Ian Brotherhood Rory Gallagher Shadow Play Off/Topic 21feb 10:55pm Played it for Nana Smith. Nana Smith played some great Guitarists that Night. Great Choice Ian. Enjoyed it.
Ronnie, thanks for the wee visit tonight, hope to see you soon 🙂
@Michael McCabe –
Aha! Maybe I saw that and tucked it into me subconscious, but I honestly don’t recall seeing it at the time. Gallagher popped into my head today, but I don’t know why – I’ve never owned any of his stuff and had no more than a vague idea of who he was. I honestly thought he was a Scot!
Mind you, have caught-up this evening, watching loads of great stuff via YT.
Find all the Gallaghers you like as long as they are nothing to do with a certain boy band.
Or there will be trouble ahead.
‘ Ian Brotherhood Here is Someone I think we both Enjoy Showing his Romantic Side. link to youtube.com
Here is some Swingers for the Wingers. link to youtube.com
@ Thepnr, 14/5/15, 11:19pm
Take it you have been wasting your time watching QT? Typical chattering. Yep, lots of mentions of Scotland and not one Scot on the programme the week after the tsunami from the north.
Jings, all of a sudden there is a scramble for PR cos it’s no’ fair oan thae kippers.
We won’t get that hour back, Alex 🙁