Off-topic

Posted on January 02, 1968 by

For off-topic chat. Duh.

40330 to “Off-topic”

1. Jim Thomson

At least with a gap until September there’s a chance that the organisers will manage to SINGLE book the participants.

How on earth did they manage to double book some of them? were the participants given a better deal elsewhere? And I’ve seen the Met Office forecast for Saturday … it’s fine 😛

2. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m not suggesting anything; ‘only the facts ma’am, only the facts’.

According to the yesconnect.scot web site, out of a total of 1,496 tickets for the event, 1,297 were still available at teatime today.

I’d heard the weather is to be fine on Saturday also.

3. Ian Brotherhood

This page is about to turn over, so here’s a song to say cheerio to this one…

Mott the Hoople, ‘Roll Away The Stone’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Sih9OVokuQ

4. Jim Thomson

Mott the Hoople – they were all the rage when I was an apprentice – jings – trying to recall the hit they had nearly got bits of the tune in the head but not enough to make any sense of it

5. Jim Thomson

ahhh… all the young dudes -was that it?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mfwVfEXJhQQ

6. Jim Thomson

There was a bloke on Morning Call this morning suggesting that the old Dr Findlay’s Casebook theme should be our new national anthem.

Remember this? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S1UuWiNbtaw

7. Brian Doonthetoon

All the Way to Memphis, Saturday Gigs, The Golden Age of Rock and Roll…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3pMoMQ61Zc

8. Brian Doonthetoon

All the Way FROM Memphis!

9. Alex Clark

All the Young Dudes written by David Bowie. Good song though and of its time.

10. Jim Thomson

Now, for all you people “of a certain age” out there, I stumbled across a pile of YT stuff on a very early (possibly first) series by the Andersons, called Four Feather Falls.

It set me thinking back to around 1960 to 1963-ish when there was a sci-fi series (sure it was set in space, possibly on the moon or another planet) on TV and I have a vague recollection of (mis)calling it something like “Salt and Pepper”.

Can any of you think of such a series (probably BBC) that might have had a name that could be mis-titled by a youngster?

11. Brian Doonthetoon

And Alex, listen to this tune from 1969 (with Greg Lake on vocals), and see if you can hear the similarity re ‘Dudes’.

youtube.com/watch?v=i1bllAOPQck

12. Jim Thomson

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1bllAOPQck

there – fixed it for you 🙂

13. Brian Doonthetoon

OCH! Forgot to copy Wee Willie Winkie again!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i1bllAOPQck

14. Brian Doonthetoon

And, typing about Mr Bowie’s penchant for finding inspiration in previously released records, have a listen to this one by American band “The Shadows Of Knight”, from 1966.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GHjEvIFQ7zk

15. Jim Thomson

Is that Keith Emerson on the Hammond?

Hadn’t heard of Shy Limbs before now – were they the pre-cursor to ELP?

Favourite ELP album is (still, oddly enough) Brain Salad Surgery
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uOVAOsJ0d4s 2min 21sec in- now THAT’s a synth 😉

16. Jim Thomson

BSS was also the first album on which I’d heard drums triggering a synth. Carl Palmer used it to great effect.

17. Alex Clark

@Brian

That Shy Limbs one was similar but not the same. Anyway I though Bowie only wrote the words but am probably wrong.

18. Brian Doonthetoon

Keith Emerson wasn’t in the Shy Limbs as far as I know, Jim.

That single was played every day on ‘Radio 1 Club’, in May/June 1969, for around 6 weeks, but never hit the charts.

The band also performed it live on one of those Grampian TV produced music programmes, along with a band called ‘Cat’s Eyes’, doing ‘Where Is She Now’. I remember the programme, because I still have the recordings of it I did on my first reel-to-reel tape deck.

I had left school a month early to start work in the Clydesdale Bank in Downfield (Dundee) and, because it was only 5 minutes walk from Kirkton High, I went down to the 5th Year common room to have my lunch, until the end of the school year. As I typed, the Shy Limbs single was always on the tranny at lunch time.

What about the Shadows of Knight and a wee touch of plagiarism, Alex?

19. Michael McCabe

Bowie and the Shadows of Knight. the Genie is out the bottle there.

20. Alex Clark

Hey Brian I went to Kirkton High also and I believe that Wee Jonny that posts on Wings did too.

A hotbed of Radicalism and Nationalism LOL

21. Alex Clark

You must remember “Slasher McCloud” the maths teacher?

I liked him 🙂

22. Brian Doonthetoon

I gave up on maths at the end of second year, Alex – or rather, maths gave up on me. Granny Gourlay was the reason.

God only knows why she took it into her head that she could teach maths to kids.

23. Alex Clark

I also had lessons from Granny Gourlay she reminds me of Thatcher LOL,

24. Ian Brotherhood

This is well O/T, even here, but our car was nicked earlier this evening (from Shore Road, Stevenston) between 7.45 and 10.20-ish, and we’d be very grateful if anyone who frequents FB and/or Twitter could help us get word out to maybe track it down.

Grey Nissan Juke, reggie is KS63 YHG.

Police already have all the details, so a quick call to them by anyone spotting it would be hugely appreciated.

25. Alex Clark

Stick this in the main board Ian, Wingers have many eyes. I hope you get your car back.

26. Betty Boop

@Briandoonthetoon, 9:21pm, 14/01/15

I’m not suggesting anything; ‘only the facts ma’am, only the facts’.

According to the yesconnect.scot web site, out of a total of 1,496 tickets for the event, 1,297 were still available at teatime today.

I’d heard the weather is to be fine on Saturday also

I’d thought of keeping the tickets for September, then I thought of the reasons given for postponing and reckoned either they were inept or the intention might always have been to postpone until after the G/election.

Also, I can’t quite figure out who are Alliance for Scotland so I will be asking for a refund rather than leave them with my money – this convention may never go ahead.

Always sceptical with a touch of cynicism, that’s me 🙂

27. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex et al –

False alarm. My fault. Forgot I’d parked the car in an unusual place. Fingers crossed I don’t get done for wasting Police time.

Numpty…

28. Michael McCabe

@ Ian Brotherhood glad it was a false alarm. this ones for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_NeqJlrINc&feature=player_detailpage

29. Alex Clark

@Betty

Call me a cynic too but I reckon the likes of David Torrance, Prof Curtice and David Clegg suddenly discovered other engagements when they found our WE were going.

They are scared. Big Fearties.

30. CameronB Brodie

Here’s my tuppence worth in response to the Adam Curtis blog linked too by manandboy.

Strange Parcels – Disconnection
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v7G50BZsePY

31. Jim Thomson

@Michael McCabe

It makes you wonder what the inside of a drummer’s brain looks like …

Special breed of musician, especially if they can deliver lyrics WHILE playing. Kudos.

32. Betty Boop

@ Ian Brotherhood, 1:52am

False alarm. My fault. Forgot I’d parked the car in an unusual place.

LOL

Dear Ian,

Ah’ve had ma een peeled a’ nicht and ah’m colour blind an’ a’.

Glad you have now located your car, but, methinks you are surely too young to be having such senior moments as moi! 🙂

I’ll bet the polis hadn’t even got around to looking for it by the time your memory got into gear – nae worries.

33. AuldA

@Ian –

Darn it, someone has nicked my today’s crosswords!

Oops, sorry, my bad: it was just on the wrong page…

34. Brian Doonthetoon

If anyone has contact details for Natasha, could you let her know about the convention cancellation, in case she hasn’t seen Betty Boop’s mention on the previous page?

Ta.

35. Jim Thomson

Just had a Scotpulse survey on the subject of how I “use” media.

Suffice to say it gave me an opportunity to lambaste the four major channels (Ch4, Sky, STV & BBC). I also suggested that STV should be more like the Sunday Herald and The National.

Not holding my breath.

36. jimnarlene

@ Jim Thompson

Could it be “All the young dudes”? Written for them by David Bowie.

37. gerry parker

North Lanarkshire Council recently slapped a ban on postingelection material on council owned “street furniture” citing the fact that removal of post referendum material led to considerable expense to council tax payers.
    My FOI was replied to this morning basically saying that NLC did not hold any information on costs, neither did they attempt to invoice offending organisations. full FOI here.

https://www.whatdotheyknow.com/request/council_decision_to_ban_politica#incoming-605776

I smell a rat ( sorry Stu, just an expression) 🙂

I will of course be following it up in a number of ways.

38. Bugger (the Panda)

Which of the three versions of this song, “behind the mask” is the original?

You will be surprised and by a decade or so.

This one by Eric Clapton?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WevfrMU3ab0

or this by Michael Jackson?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFbhJdfhmOY

or this one from the Yellow Magic Orchestra

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXDC6fQIYMs

Anyway I was in London this week-end saw a show by Siro-A

This is stunning. Be careful if you have an epilepsy or petit mal problem. Strobe and flashing lights inside

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ZLSrffJJIA

Have fun whilst I sleep of my cold.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WevfrMU3ab0

39. TJenny

Auld A – that elusive wee 4 letter word you’ve been looking for, could it be ‘dunt’?

It means a blow or thump, but I remember hearing it being used by older members of my family as ‘they’ll dunt that into you at school’. Not so much voluntarily learning by rote, more enforced learning (on pain of the belt, lines, detention or worse – eeek!):

Q. What’s the difference between an idiot and a computer?

A. Nothing. Both need information punched (dunted) into them on a daily basis.’

With apologies to all idiots. 😉

40. AuldA

@BTP –
    Hey! Nice to see you here, it’s a long time no see! Hope you’re doing well!

@TJenny –
    A good guess but unfortunately no, wasn’t that one.
    Thanks for the apologies, though. Sometimes I really think I’m an eejit. How else could I have forgotten such a precious word? Numpty bloke.

41. Alex Clark

@TJenny

I’ve no idea if that is the answer AuldA seeks but it is a bloody good one. Take a pat on the back from me 🙂

42. AuldA

@Alex –
    In fact I chanced upon that word totally randomly. Sometimes, when I await the result of some operation, or a phone call, or whatever, I revel in meandering through the digital edition of the Oxford dictionary bundled with MacOS. I clearly remember typing words in a kind of desultory way, and I made a typing mistake and stumbled upon that particular word, saying to myself ‘Oh! That one is nice, I must remember it!’

And of course, two days later, it was utterly gone from my hippocampus!

43. Bugger (the Panda)

AuldA

Been in London for a few days.

BtP

44. Natasha

Bdtt, 1.28pm
    It’s okay, I got the email announcing the cancellation, but thanks for thinking of me. I was only joking about the t-shirt size, by the way, although I definitely wouldn’t fit into a small; they should do ‘short fat’, ‘medium fat’ and ‘tall fat’ sizes!

45. AuldA

@BtP –

Taken your annual shot of English patter and bustle? 🙂

46. Natasha

AuldA:
    cram, stuff, drill, ram, jam, drive, drum, drub?

47. Paula Rose

No, no – the wee unionists can’t have pulled out of Saturday’s event just because of us can they?

48. Paula Rose

Natasha honey – I’m sure you’re the same size as me…

Perfectly formed.

49. Alex Clark

Hahaha Natasha

Very funny. I was going to say funny as fuck but wasn’t sure if that’s allowed 🙂

I had to find a song for you though, so here it is.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cGXU7268Z50

50. David

@TJenny, @Auld A, regarding ‘enforced learning’ and ‘dunting’, my father was a teacher in the mid/late 60s in Neilston. In those days schoolteachers were still held in high regard, and parents would side with the teacher against their own child if there was any conflict of interest.

He told me that one parent wanted to make sure that their child was paying proper attention in class, getting the benefit of an education. So my dad was given the go-ahead to “just fist it intae him” i.e. dad had carte blanche to use the belt, and to punch the poor lad about the head if he thought it necessary to advance the boy’s education!

I doubt dad ever went that far, he just found the parent’s attitude interesting – education was seen as the best way to rise up out of difficult surroundings, and was to be achieved at any price.

51. Natasha

@Alex Clark 7.23pm
    Thanks for that (I think!)

52. AuldA

@Natasha –
    Well tried, but it was a four-letter verb (can’t guarantee it though, my memory may betray me) and it has only that single meaning of ‘drilling into one’s mind, repeat over and over until it’s learned by rote’.

Besides, small is beautiful.
    Especially small and red-haired and freckled, I might add.
    So much for my fantasies.

53. Bugger (the Panda)

@ AultA

Visiting my grandson, who gave me a cold.

54. Natasha

AuldA
    Sorry, no red hair or freckles.
    I was really hopeful about drub! Never mind, I’ll keep racking my brains.

55. Alex Clark

@Natasha

No need to think hard. The song is titled Respect!. Nuf said.

56. AuldA

@David —
    These were different times.
    Do you suggest that now teachers are deemed squishes?
    In fact, I’m writing a text about fanatism and education. The correlation is evident.

@BtP —
    I’m always uneasy when you disappear, because I clearly remember you saying me that BtP was a mortal beast that would soon slough. Therefore, I always worry for the health of the animal.

57. AuldA

@Natasha —
    For me, ‘to drub’ has always meant ‘to flog’ or ‘to thrash’.
    Was I wrong?

58. Natasha

AuldA
    recite, hone, rehearse, chant, habituate, prep, coach, catechise, instil, inculcate.

I’m getting desperate now.

59. Paula Rose

So – do I put the nurse outfit back in the wardrobe for nine months?

60. Natasha

AuldA
    No, you’re quite right, if you give someone a drubbing you beat them up. But apparently it can also mean to drub something into somebody.

Paula Rose, the thought of you in a nurse’s outfit defies all description. 🙂

61. chipmonkey

AuldA we’ll all have to swot up on our vocabulary until you get the word you want.
    BDTT I bought our tickets for Saturday as soon as you mentioned,but I’ve been quiet because it didn’t look like we were going to be there after all. Oh well – nothing to miss now except all you folks. I must admit I think I was only coming to meet the gang. Next time.

62. Ian Brotherhood

Hey…too much stress and tense vibes going around – people pulling their hair out searching for words…others contorting their beautiful minds over whether or not to bring back the death penalty…

Time to kick back.

Yeah. That’s right. Dig it.

Don your favourite big white towelling robe, the slippers you got for Christmas, pour yourself a large glass of White Lightning (other powerful 100% apple-free ciders are available) and perhaps even light a small cigar…then lie on the sofa and enjoy this mellow sound:

Herb Alpert, ‘Margarita’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9gNblhjSi1A

63. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Why nine months?

Do you have something to tell us?

64. Natasha

Alex Clark – you’re a true gentleman. xx

65. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    I remember my parents had an Ackerbilk record when I was little; I used to love it. Along with Simon & Garfunkel, the New Seekers and the Red Army Choir. My oldest brother also had a record of the Archies, singing ‘Sugar’ which I still remember fondly!

66. cearc

Paula Rose,

Put the nurses uniform away!

How cruel can you be when BtP has just announced his grave illness?

67. Paula Rose

You are all so lovely – already we enthuse about our younger Scots and I’m sure they know to comment here.

Btw – we are a very lovely bunch here at wings.

68. Brian Doonthetoon

Earlier today, somebody mentioned a possible get-together in Edinburgh on 13th February. Tam Jardine WAS handed the baton/hairy string in The Counting House in Glasgow on 22nd November.

If nothing’s being arranged for Edinburgh, I have been told by my contact at the Invergowrie Inn that we would be welcome back there.

So, Edinburgh (pop half a million), or Invergowrie (pop <1000)?

69. Paula Rose

Thepnr honey – we could visit the Tartan Tory, I can pedal.

70. Paula Rose

Eek alors my dear Cearc, my dear friend xx -taken me so long to write a message, is it ok if I just caress you my darling?

71. Natasha

13th Feb sounds good to me.

72. cearc

Paula Rose,

Absolutely,best offer I’ve had all year. You brazen hussy, you.

73. Alex Clark

Friday the 13th sounds good to me. Let’s say yeah even if there are only half a dozen committed to turning up at this time.

I’ll publicise it on the main board along with you Brian over the next couple of weeks. Last time was good, this time will be just as good or better.

74. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Alex.

I think we should allow time for Tam to get his thoughts together. If we hear nothing by Sunday night, I’ll check with the Invergowrie Inn re availability for the 13th.

Howzat?

75. Paula Rose

Cearc my dear Devine loveliness, you know full well that you are top of the tree for me honey, let’s have a special assignation – don’t tell the other wingers.

76. Alex Clark

Ok 13th Feb Invergowrie so far we have:

Thepnr
    Briand Donthetoon
    cearc
    Natasha
    Paula Rose

Any more for any more?

77. Alex Clark

Jim & Betty
    Graham & Fiona
    ronnie anderson
    X-sticks
    Cactus
    John & Irene

Come on toss your hats in the ring!

78. X_Sticks

More, more, more, me, more, Yes!

79. Paula Rose

Inverwotsit skinny-dips with cearc?

80. Betty Boop

@ Alex, 11:22pm

Fairly certain the Troon contingent, moi and JimT will be available for a soiree in Invergowrie.

JimT in the land of Nod at present, but, I will inform him tomorrow 🙂

@ Briandoonthetoon

We must have behaved ourselves last time if the Invergowrie Inn is pleased to have us back!! We obviously didn’t try hard enough 🙂

81. Alex Clark

@Betty Boop

This time we are going to fill it and there will be “entertainment” I just need to speak to Brian about that LOL

Looking forward to it 🙂

82. cearc

Alex,

You must be a mind reader!

83. Betty Boop

@ Natasha, 8:39pm

AuldA
    Sorry, no red hair or freckles.

AuldA was probably thinking of Princess Merida! 🙂

@ Paula Rose,10:09pm

Btw – we are a very lovely bunch here at wings.

Of course we are because Wingers are just fabulous, are we not?

See y’all soon xx

84. Alex Clark

Great news.

I’ll beat on the drums and they will come, can you hear me?

85. Betty Boop

@ Alex Clark,

Loud and clear on the west coast!

So, entertainment too – take care with that, I have a sensitive nature (oops, that was my tongue hitting my cheek).

86. cearc

NW gale on the NW coast so no chance of hearing them from your southerly realms tonight.

87. cearc

Oh, the drums, is that the entertainment?

88. Michael McCabe

Here is a song that Describes Big Dim Jim to a tee. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uYST9R9Z58&feature=player_detailpage

89. chipmonkey

Inverwotsit yes from me Alex. Graeme is doing a good impression of having flu,but is managing to sleep so I won’t wake him to confirm just yet:-) I might not be too popular.

90. AuldAA

@Natasha, @Chipmonkey –

AuldA we’ll all have to swot up on our vocabulary until you get the word you want.

Yeah, I’m surprised at how many language-savvy people got involved into this. I’d expect someone to have found the answer right now, so I’m beginning to ask myself if that was not a figment. At the same time, the memory I kept, though blurred, is quite vivid, so I’m pretty sure that word exists. It’s a real riddle. I wish I had written it on a chit.

@Betty Boop –

AuldA was probably thinking of Princess Merida!

Are all the Scottish girls so pert and all the Scottish guys so oafish as depicted in the cartoon? 🙂

91. AuldA

Darn. I typed ‘AuldAA’ in my previous post, I guess it is being hold in moderation.

92. call me dave

Footie link for the none sky subscribers.

Rangers V Hearts 19:45hrs Friday tonight.

http://crichd.tv/index.php or try

http://myp2p.ec/

93. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee tune for Someone who posts on the other threads. It is there birthday today. HAPPY BIRTHDAY LOLLYSMUM. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WAphzIXlhY&feature=player_detailpage

94. Natasha

AuldA, I must confess that I have been wondering for some time if you imagined this word, but I will keep searching! xx

95. john king

I cant find my way home.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3TyynO6O0kc

96. AuldA

@Natasha —

Thanks! that’s a-do-ra-ble!
    (And it’s an understatement)

97. Lollysmum

@ Michael McCabe

Ahhh thank you Michael-what a lovely surprise to see your post & play your choice. Fair cheered me up after those dismal polls on the main threads 🙂

98. Michael McCabe

@ Lollysmum Your welcome.

99. Tam Jardine

Brian Doonthetoon

Now I feel like I’ve let the side down… there is interest in Invergowrie for 13th Feb so just go for it.

Sounds great – I work a Saturday so won’t be able to make it… Re Edinburgh I honestly think we should be looking at taking the first Friday or Saturday of say Feb, March, April and May, picking a boozer (maybe the black bull for starters) and just posting it as a regular thing. Fewer folk but more regular.

But if you’d rather a big extravaganza, pick a suitable date and i’ll find somewhere.

100. Michael McCabe

While Everybody is on the other thread having a laugh at wee willie rennie. Hope you don’t mind if I post some Transatlantic Sessions. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KjTriSJvzFM&feature=player_detailpage

101. Michael McCabe

A Lennon&McCartney Song on Transatlantic Sessions. With Aly Bain & Phill Cunningham Joining in.

102. Michael McCabe

And a wee bit of Cajun Music.

103. Ian Brotherhood

For all those getting down about this or that opinion poll result…

Queen, ‘Keep Yourself Alive’ (Live) –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xkSN4Tx02O8

104. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Spoke to my ex (chef @ Invergowrie Inn) last night.

13th February is available but I’ll have to speak to Jenny the manager tomorrow (Sunday) afternoon to confirm.

105. Ian Brotherhood

Time for some Love-Walrus action.

Barry White, ‘Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love Babe’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NpPQBL7PNhs

106. gerry parker

Here is a dropbox link to a powerpoint presentation of Alex Salmonds final speech as first minister.
    In the Dunoon forward shop they run it on a TV screen successfully and they have other presentation too.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/97731450/FIRST%20MINISTER%20LAST%20SPEECH.pptx

lte me know if you manage to download it and if it is useful

Thanks in advance

107. pete the camera

@gerry parker

Do they feature this speech

“Scotland Will become an Independent nation”
    Alex Salmond gives a fairwell speech to the SNP conference

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZ6mUDQYRmE

108. gerry.parker

I’ll post the link to them Pete.

thanks.

109. AuldA

After Stu’s today’s total disaster at drawing, I thought some legerdemain was necessary.
    Gérard Majax shuffles the cards.
    Gheorghe Zamfir whiffles on his panpipes.
    In one of the most creative opening titles ever.
    “Le grand blond avec une chaussure noire”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cllJzGDWyas

110. Paula Rose

AuldA sweetie – I beg to differ.

111. AuldA

@Paula
    Please, ma puce, be more specific!
    Do you think Stu’s work could enter the Guggenheim in a few years?

112. Natasha

AuldA

Do you think Stu’s work could enter the Guggenheim in a few years?

Only if the emperor is completely naked; oh, wait . . .

113. AuldA

@Natasha —

The emperor has been expecting Stu’! 😉

114. Croompenstein

Some Russian animation for the Rev…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcd5idp8Nfo

115. Ian Brotherhood

@Croompenstein –

That’s a proper ear-worm there. Ridiculously catchy…will now take hours to find something to remove it from the heid. 🙂

116. Paula Rose

Naked emperors? Mes wee thingies, oh never mind me je suis Scottish.

117. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Did you get 8dn?

118. Alex Clark

Ian I’ve sent you an email.

119. Bob Sinclair

Great to see another Jim Murphy Internet initiative – #myfuturescotland blowing up in his face.

120. Paula Rose

Ian honey, so embarrassing misspelt the rhythm thingy and thereby was very embarrassed – so red faced about the origin of pretty patterns, forgive me please.

121. Paula Rose

Ian honey – are you going to join us in
    Inverwotsit for naughtiness?

122. Betty Boop

@ After Stu’s today’s total disaster at drawing, AuldA, 8:20pm

After Stu’s today’s total disaster at drawing…

I didn’t think it was a disaster. It was rather good, I understood it, it made me laugh (or perhaps it was cry) and, if he keeps practising, one day Stu will get around to drawing balloon arms and legs! 🙂

123. Betty Boop

@ Briandoonthetoon

Can Invergowrie make room for Betty’s Boy too? He will probably want to come along. 🙂

124. AuldA

@Betty Boop –

It was rather good, I understood it, it made me laugh (or perhaps it was cry) and, if he keeps practising, one day Stu will get around to drawing balloon arms and legs!

He has bribed you, hasn’t he? 🙂

125. Ian Brotherhood

Just heard this on RS, ‘Travelling Folk’. First time I’ve heard it. Amazing stuff.

Martyn Bennett, ‘Nae Regrets’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uFPp0G8b-fg

126. AuldA

Who knew bagpipes can be restive and aggressive?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VD61UkWrOu8

127. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Sorry – missed your last comment.

Inverwotsit? Not likely for me, but you never do know. (It would help if I knew where it is…must check.)

Sorry to hear about the calamitous episode with 8dn – ‘rhythm’ is a dancer right enough, with no rhyme or reason to it at all at all at all…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMPM1q_Uyxc

128. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

I was late getting back from the Dundee West SNP candidate hustings this afternoon, so didn’t get Jenny at the Invergowrie Inn.

I’ll phone her first thing tomorrow morning and post here to announce confirmation of the 13th February (I hope!) as soon as I can.

Betty’s Boy’s attendance is noted…

129. Ian Brotherhood

Not too sure what he’s doing with the guitar here, but it’s a great song all the same.

Rod Stewart, ‘The First Cut Is The Deepest’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZJZv3_qYltA

130. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

For the past 10 years or so, I’ve been re-exploring the 60s, from a musical perspective. There was so much good stuff produced that, in a lot of cases, never actually got to be “hits”.

Your Rod Stewart cover above is a prime example. I only found out in the early 70s that the song was written by Cat Stevens and originally released by PP Arnold.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1-g5VG2pWg

Never a huge hit…

Sticking with PP Arnold, she also released this one, covered by umpteen singers over the years but her original version tends to be forgotten.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4tXaCq5lXgY

Lastly, and keeping to the female vocalist theme, this song has been covered by almost everyone and their sister, from the Walkers Brothers to Kiki Dee. Once again, it was never the hit that it deserved to be.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6pDBuPK0_DU

131. Brian Doonthetoon

My belief tends to be that the original recorded/produced version of a song is the definitive version.

However…

There have been some examples, over the years, where the cover version has developed a whole new interpretation, to the extent that it, almost, becomes the definitive version.

Rockers/hippies/metalheads would have had no interest in the original version of this song by The Supremes but, once Vanilla Fudge had forced it through their rock mincing machine, it became something else entirely.

I’m old enough to remember around 1967/68, when every local band who possessed an organist, featured this in their repertoire.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LdLRoOYk50o

132. Thepnr

@Brian Doonthetoon

Good research Brian.

I reckon we have experts on here from science, languages, music, media, crosswords and even politics.

But no, the truth is we are nasty cybernats and should be despised hahhahahahha.

133. Betty Boop

@ Briandtt

Betty’s Boy’s attendance is noted…

Thanks Brian.

Hope you enjoyed the hustings – how many nominees do you have? No need to drag folk to stand kicking and screaming for this election, eh?

134. Natasha

Bdtt 12.04am
    I wasn’t even BORN in 1967!!

135. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Betty Boop.

We have 5 – Sheila Hands, Chris Law, Jimmy Black, Mark Flynn and Nadia El-Nakla. You’ll know of Chris Law – he drove his ‘Spirit Of Independence’ fire engine round Scotland for 40 days and nights. You can Google the rest for background.

http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCV4R507DPh65Kp70J44X5Kg

Hi Natasha.
    I wasn’t even BORN in 1967!!

I knew that – coz, going by your height, you’re only 12!

8=)

136. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

Great links. Cheers.

137. Brian Doonthetoon

From my link above, this is, kinda, the introductory video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoti4N9lVAk

Chris interviewed some ‘weel kent’ faces on his journey round Scotland. See the videos at the ‘channel’ link above.

138. Betty Boop

@Briandtt

I listened to that link, Fudge “Keep me hangin’ on”. I’d forgotten about that, obviously buried it deep years ago. Now I’ve heard it again and will try to bury it again! Jings, they must have been depressed when they did that.

Here’s one of my favs from the same era. The video is a bit mad; think they were taking their cue from the Beatles:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIWY8UyW9bw

Natasha Your mum might have had this single…

139. AuldA

This time it’s the Chinese government which does not jibe with our freedom of speech (discombobulating, no?). Have a gander at the cover of the new ‘Fluide glacial’ magazine:

http://www.lemonde.fr/actualite-medias/article/2015/01/19/la-une-de-fluide-glacial-irrite-le-global-times_4558670_3236.html

140. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

A wee bit confusion over the get-together at Invergowrie.

I spoke to the manager a wee while ago and she pointed out that the 13th was a Friday, which knocked be back. I had thought it was a Saturday.

So I looked back this page and found that Alex Clark had typed:-

“Friday the 13th sounds good to me.”

And Tam Jardine had typed:-

“there is interest in Invergowrie for 13th Feb so just go for it.
    Sounds great – I work a Saturday so won’t be able to make it…”

Not just me then… Now, I would plump for the Saturday because I work on Fridays and it would make time tight for getting the same old gear out to Invergowrie for a 7pm kick-off.

Jenny the manager is gonna have to check with her boss, in case he’s planning anything special for the evening of the 14th (St Valentine’s Day).

So, do we go for Saturday 14th if it’s available, or postpone to the following Saturday? As I typed, I’d prefer a Saturday but any of you got any thoughts?

141. cearc

a ‘Wings Valentine’s Day Bash’?

Paula Rose will need a trailer to take the cards (or cads)home!

142. chipmonkey

Briandtt I was hoping we were going for our Friday night tea after work 🙂
    (I thought Tam meant he couldn’t come because it was ‘school’ night for him – getting up the next morning.)

143. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi chipmonkey.

For me, it’s too much hassle in a short time between getting home from work and 7pm, to try to get the video projector and sound gear out of my flat, into the two seater and set up in the Inn, on a Friday.

For the last Invergowrie get-together (on a Saturday), I took the stuff to the Inn in the afternoon, then back home to be picked up by Pete to get back there for our steak pie, before the evening commenced.

I just wouldn’t be able to provide the entertainment gear AND have my steak pie on a Friday. Insufficient time…

Onnyhoo, I’ve just been speaking to Pete and he can’t make the 14th due to a previous commitment. He also said it would be better to avoid St Valentine’s Day, because people (couples) usually have something arranged. Now, we need Pete at the get-together, coz he provides the badges!

So, the question to be answered…
    Do we have it on a Friday, the 13th for example, with no music/videos, or have it on Saturday 21st, or 28th, with music/videos?

Answers on the back of a virtual postcard to:-
    off-topic,
    Wings Over Scotland,
    Cyberworld.

144. Paula Rose

Wings Valentine’s Day Bash!!!

Or

Friday the Thirteenth!!!

February the 21st doesn’t have quite the same cachet.

145. Ian Brotherhood

Friday 13th, Night of the Living Deid, and we all dress up as Slabbers. (Bags me Jackie Baillie.)

146. cearc

Och, that’s Ian off on his SLAB-ladies fetish again!

147. Natasha

Brian Dtt 12.27am
    I kind of asked for that one, didn’t I? It did make me laugh out loud, though.

Re Inverwotsit:
    The 14th would be no good for me; I have to keep my husband sweet or he might stop cooking my tea every night. I would be happy with the 21st or the 28th. Don’t want to go for the 13th if it’s going to be a hassle for people.

Betty Boop – Thanks for that link, I really liked that song, but I doubt if my mother had the single, as we were living in deepest Nigeria at the time and she had three children under the age of three and was expecting me (as she once said, “I was pregnant, as usual”). Simon and Garfunkel, the New Seekers and the Archies were the closest we got to pop music (it’s okay, we quite liked them).

(What on earth were you doing still up at 3 o’clock in the morning? Even I’m in bed by then!)

148. Paula Rose

The 21st would be apposite as that seems to be the age of most of the ladies around here xx

149. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    I wish. Youth is wasted on the young.

150. Ian Brotherhood

All I need is a supercilious smile, an untraceable accent, and two big fake tits. (I can practise the smile and accent…hmmm, wonder if Hothersall and Torrance are free that night? No harm asking…)

151. Natasha

Ian
    They’re not fake tits, they’re real.

152. Alex Clark

21st sounds good Brian, it’s up to you buddy.

153. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

!!! 😉

154. Brian Doonthetoon

Can we say Saturday, 21st February then? 7pm onwards?

That’ll give me time to get Ronnie’s Maryhill Foodbank badges completed. Also, it’s the anniversary of the assassination of Kings James 1 of Scotland.

155. Alex Clark

Right I’m claiming it. The title of the first to play a George Michael live performance on Off Topic.

It’s mine all mine 🙂

It’s not what you would think though as the sentiment is right. Originally by Stevie Wonder.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MEhFuWrjpgw

156. Alex Clark

And this is nothing less than brilliant! Says I.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqrKejQTynk

157. Alex Clark

That was for you Betty 🙂

And Jim don’t want to fall out with any more Wingers 🙂

158. Brian Doonthetoon

Is everyone ok with Saturday 21st February, 7pm onwards, for ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 2’?

I’ll have to speak to Jenny the manager tomorrow morning (Wednesday) to finalise details.

159. pete the camera

kick UKIP out of Kent game

games.usvsth3m.com/kick-ukip-out-of-kent/

my best kick so far is 13.93 miles and I have only kicked him twice, could do with a Murphy game like this

160. pete the camera

Think I should have left in the “http://” in this time so you will have to add it yourself

161. pete the camera

try again now on 16.04 miles

http://games.usvsth3m.com/kick-ukip-out-of-kent/

162. Natasha

Saturday 21st is fine for me.

163. chipmonkey

23.18 miles first go! Well not counting first complete miss when I hadn’t worked it out. Grinning thingy.

164. Brian Doonthetoon

Right peeps.

We have Alex Clark, Natasha, Pete the Camera and yours truly all set for Invergowrie on the 21st February.

Who else is coming along for an evening of good food, stimulating chat and referendummy-type videos, along with general music videos?

C’mon peeps… After the last get-together in the Invergowrie Inn, the apres-get-together party (to which I wasn’t party, Cactus having given me a lift home) has gone down in referendum Legend.

We need names of those who are intending to savour the exciting atmosphere so that we that can let the Inn know that they will be stowed out – and to enable us to do the personal badges for ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 2’.

So, who’s coming?

165. Natasha

Come on, Paula Rose – we need to see your high heels in action.

166. chipmonkey

21st should be fine. Count us in.

167. X_Sticks

21 Feb is looking good for me.

Where’s the after party party?

168. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

“Where’s the after party party?”

My house, room for 6. Book quick places are going fast!

169. cearc

Yep, me too.

So we are expected to come up with something even more imaginative for the after party party?

170. cearc

Alex,

It would be greatly preferable to the over-rated hotel if space is available.

171. Brian Doonthetoon

Right peeps, I’m gonna start compiling a list of reprobrates for ‘WOI 2′, which will be regularly updated. (Helps with the badge manufacture.)

Alex Clark (Thepnr)
    Natasha
    Brian Doonthetoon
    Pete The Camera
    Chipmonkey
    Quentin Quyayle
    X_Sticks
    Cearc
    Whahz jynin’ the perty, an’ thah’, iye?

172. X_Sticks

@Alex

“room for six”

I’m not sleeping with Cactus again.

Have you got a pool?

173. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex –

Do you have enough space for two big fake tits?

(If not I could bring my two-tit, sorry, two-man tent…)

174. Cactus

@Y’all –

Hi aye, ahm up furra pleasure drive to beautiful Invergowrie on the 21st of February (II ~ The Return). Btw if you’re coming to this venue for the foist time, it’s the door on the left you go in by.

In less than 4 months, we Scottish voters will once again be determining the long-term future of Scotland in recent times. Maybe we could help promote it by normalising the date of this next General Election in everyday talk etc.

I’ve met some folk still unaware! These are crucial times for our country, we have one opportunity, every passionate Scottish vote counts, what’s the countdown in days to..

0 7 / 0 5 / 2 0 1 5

You could always pop it on your computer screensaver or something like that (with your own wording, or not hehe).

Our next race has already begun.. let’s get international Scotland going to and being in the places it should be 🙂

Vote for candidates representing the presently elected Scottish Government (recommended).

Look forward to seeing you groovy people at the Inn gig, cheers.

175. Paula Rose

Me Me Me

@ The perfect new romantic, can I have the four-poster again?

176. AuldA

@Natasha –
    I’m sure Paula knows how to bring any male to heel. 🙂

177. AuldA

Let’s go back to physics @ Glasgow –

This time, it’s about the speed of light:

Scientists have long known that the speed of light can be slowed slightly as it travels through materials such as water or glass. However, it has generally been thought impossible for particles of light, known as photons, to be slowed as they travel through free space, unimpeded by interactions with any materials.

In a new paper published in Science Express today (Friday 23 January), researchers from the University of Glasgow and Heriot-Watt University describe how they have managed to slow photons in free space for the first time. They have demonstrated that applying a mask to an optical beam to give photons a spatial structure can reduce their speed.

The team compare a beam of light, containing many photons, to a team of cyclists who share the work by taking it in turns to cycle at the front. Although the group travels along the road as a unit, the speed of individual cyclists can vary as they swap position.

The group formation can make it difficult to define a single velocity for all cyclists, and the same applies to light. A single pulse of light contains many photons, and scientists know that light pulses are characterised by a number of different velocities.

The team’s experiment was configured like a time trial race, with two photons released simultaneously across identical distances towards a defined finish line.
    The researchers found that one photon reached the finish line as predicted, but the structured photon which had been reshaped by the mask arrived later, meaning it was travelling more slowly in free space. Over a distance of one metre, the team measured a slowing of up to 20 wavelengths, many times greater than the measurement precision.

The work demonstrates that, after passing the light beam through a mask, photons move more slowly through space. Crucially, this is very different to the slowing effect of passing light through a medium such as glass or water, where the light is only slowed during the time it is passing through the material – it returns to the speed of light after it comes out the other side. The effect of passing the light through the mask is to limit the top speed at which the photons can travel.

The work was carried out by a team from the University of Glasgow’s Optics Group, led by Professor Miles Padgett, working with theoretical physicists led by Stephen Barnett, and in partnership with Daniele Faccio from Heriot-Watt University.

Co-lead author Jacquiline Romero said: “We’ve achieved this slowing effect with some subtle but widely-known optical principles. This finding shows unambiguously that the propagation of light can be slowed below the commonly accepted figure of 299,792,458 metres per second, even when travelling in air or vacuum.

Professor Padgett added: “It might seem surprising that light can be made to travel more slowly like this, but the effect has a solid theoretical foundation and we’re confident that our observations are correct.

“The results give us a new way to think about the properties of light and we’re keen to continue exploring the potential of this discovery in future applications. We expect that the effect will be applicable to any wave theory, so a similar slowing could well be created in sound waves, for example.”

The team’s paper, titled ‘Spatially Structured Photons that Travel in Free Space Slower than the Speed of Light’, is published in Science Express, which provides electronic publication of selected papers in advance of print in the journal Science.

178. Thepnr

@cearc & Paula Rose

You accommodation has been reserved for the 21st :o)

179. Paula Rose

So – if I was the wasp wing and doing a dance and the photons travelling to me were masked, then those viewing the image of me would see me dancing before I did.

180. Paula Rose

@ Thepnr

Thank you honey xxx

181. AuldA

@Paula Rose –

Kudos! A surprisingly poetic but accurate summary!

182. chipmonkey

@Paula Rose
    A most ingenious paradox
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b5VMp2pTVAM

183. Brian Doonthetoon

Here’s the current list of names for WOI 2.

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Remember, if you intend coming along, let us know, because you won’t get a personalised ‘WOI 2″ badge if you don’t tell us!

We don’t make badges on the off chance that someone will turn up…

184. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood said he was coming at 12:43 this morning, with some tits (giggle).

Also – where’s Tartan Tory?

185. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m fearing Tartan Tory is still grieving…

Ian Brotherhood – are you coming, mammaries or no mammaries?

186. Paula Rose

Au contraire mon wee Bdtt

Tartan Tory has been doing a lot of tit watching of his own according to his fb page.

187. cearc

Thanks Thepnr.

188. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose & Brian Doonthetoon –

Fanks for the mammaries…

No, I won’t be there. I would love to be, but, hey, so it goes…something else will come up, so to speak.

I’m sorry if I caused confusion, but ’twas just a cheap (and, yes, nasty) gag which went wildly out of control.

Although I can’t be there? in the spirit of brotherhood and solidarity, I shall don my fake boobs and heave meself around various Ayrshire towns on Feb 21st, making like Jabba.

189. Paula Rose

Aussi ou est les lovely wee Jock Scott and the gorgeous hunky ronnie anderson?

190. Paula Rose

I’M NEVER BUYING THE NATIONAL ON A MONDAY EVER AGAIN!

191. Chic McGregor

Again, very interesting AuldA. Wonder what is going on there?

Sounds like they have managed to invoked some kind of extra (previously unknown) interaction with the modern ether (Higgs field?).

192. cearc

Now,now,Paula Rose.

No need for cross words.

193. AuldA

@Cmg –
    Yep, fairly dazzling. They claim their discovery is backed by a solid theoretical background. Are you aware what they are referring to?

More news, this time on totally different tangent:

Sex differences in academic achievement are not related to political, economic or social equality

New research has revealed that girls lead boys in educational achievement in 70% of countries, regardless of levels of national gender equality.

Even in countries where women’s liberties are severely restricted, girls are shown to be outperforming boys in mathematics, reading and science literacy subjects by age 15.

The research, conducted by psychologists at the universities of Glasgow and Missouri, looked at the educational achievement levels of 1.5 million 15 year olds from around the world using Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) data taken between 2000 and 2010.

The findings, which are published in the journal ‘Intelligence’, show that countries with high levels of social, political and economic equality still experience gender differences in academic achievement. Paradoxically, some of the countries known for relatively low gender equality ratings, such as Qatar, Jordan and the United Arab Emirates are those where the educational achievement gap is relatively large, in favour of girls.

When considering combined achievements in mathematics, reading and science, boys fall behind in 70% of countries, whereas there are only three countries/regions (4% of those included in the survey) where boys outperform girls (namely Colombia, Costa Rica, and the Indian state Himachal Pradesh). The United Kingdom and United States belonged to the countries where no (statistically significant) sex difference in combined achievement was found.

The achievement disparity between boys and girls is most in evidence at the lowest levels of achievement. The gap however closes, and is sometimes reversed, among the very highest achievers in more economically developed countries.

Researchers claim that these findings show that policy makers need to look beyond setting targets for gender equality as a way of reducing gender gaps in school achievement.

Dr Gijsbert Stoet, Reader in Psychology at the University of Glasgow, who led the study, said: “The results of this study show that a commitment towards gender equality on its own is not enough to close the achievement gaps in global education.

“At the moment we see that, with the exception of high-achievers, boys have poorer educational outcomes than girls around the world, independent of social equality indicators. What’s more is that this gap in not reducing. If policy makers are seriously concerned about gender equality in education, this ought to be their top priority. That it is not is probably fuelled by a lack of public understanding of the distribution of skills which we have highlighted in this and previous studies. For example, listening to many news stories in the media, one can easily get the idea that girls around the world are falling behind boys, in particular in countries with known gender inequality. The reality is quite different in the many countries participating in PISA, which many may find surprising.

“Of course we understand that there are many reasons beyond education attainment to strive for gender equality within societies that are not measured in this study. Although it is vital that we promote gender equality in schools we also need to make sure that we’re doing more to understand why these gaps, especially the poor achievement of boys, in educational attainment persist and what other policies we can develop to close them.”

Researchers believe that PISA scores may also help define why fewer girls, despite being educationally stronger than boys at 15 years, go on to study STEM subject at university.

194. Chic McGregor

Sorry, your post was the first I heard of it. Lots of questions myself. How was it done? What happens to the energy/momenta of the photons? (i.e. is a new secondary ‘particle’ created?). Look forward to the official release.

Re gender effects in education. Although the UK is not counted as one with the effect, it still has it and I have seen that acknowledged in PISA reports. I suspect for this study they have banded the data and the UK just creeps in to the neutral band.

In the UK over the past 20-30 years a gender effect where boys lead girls in certain subjects, e.g. physics and maths, has clearly reversed.

The main ‘explanations’ I have seen for this in the past were.

1. Moves to address the original imbalance e.g. making sure girls feature more in teaching material for those subjects, has overdone it.

2. Boys are more likely to be distracted by modern innovations like computer games.

3. American cool has pervaded boy culture making physics and maths a geek no no.

A recent study (couple of years back) suggested that unexpectedly kids who play more computer games actually do better on average academically, This on the face of it, would tend to rule out 2. However, I suspect there may be a counter income-class factor influencing that result.

The above study on the face of it, would seem to rule out 1. However, perhaps there are cultural pressures in those countries with known inequality which paradoxically foster higher attainment e.g. ‘going out’ in the evening being frowned upon.

As for 3. I think there has been some truth in that, although my wife, who is a physics teacher, tells me that recently physics has become ‘cool’ for boys again. Perhaps a Big Bang (TV series) effect.

195. Betty Boop

@Briandoonthetoon
    @Alex Clark

Awwwww… bucket of tears!

I’ve just been doing a wee catch-up and find that WOI is not on Saturday, 21st Feb.

Now, our social diary is deid most of the year, apart from all the political stuff, but, February has filled up this year. Only have the weekend of 14th free. Already having to miss out on an event I was involved in organising and on 21st we shall be sitting listening to the Australian Pink Floyd in the SECC when I would rather be whoopin’ it up in Invergowrie! APF had better be b****y brilliant.

So, apologies Brian et al, the Troon contingent won’t be able to make it to our fav city (Is Invergowrie considered a suburb?!!!)

Any chance Pete can make a couple of WOI 2 “Wish we were there” badges? 🙂

Still greetin’ :-((

196. Betty Boop

@ Paula Rose, 6:25pm, 21/1/15

Paula Rose says:

So – if I was the wasp wing and doing a dance and the photons travelling to me were masked, then those viewing the image of me would see me dancing before I did.

Jings… just, jings!

197. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Apologies re my post on WOI. I meant to say it is “now” on 21st February.

Still greetin’, but, hope ye awe hae a guid nicht. 🙂

198. Brian Doonthetoon

Sorry to read that Betty Boop.

We’ll miss yooz three but, somehow, we’ll muddle through.

199. pete the camera

@Betty Boop

Sorry you will miss the Invergowrie 2 bash, still Aussie Floyd is worth seeing, it would take flying Pigs to get me to miss them, having seen quite a few of the Floyd tributes they were by far the best

200. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Aye, Brian, I know it’ll be hard on y’all, but try your best! 🙂 Paula will provide some comforting strokes 🙂

201. Paula Rose

@ Betty Poop – do you mean that you are being paid so much to see a tribute band that you have chosen to forgo a Wingie Partie?

202. Paula Rose

This might work…

For all Pink Floyd fannies

I know where Syd Barrett lives-Television Personalities – YouTube
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6zf7P8eTRI

203. Betty Boop

@ Pete the camera

Thanks and hope APF is worth it.

@ Paula

I am not a party pooper! Honestly, I am being made to go, forced into the melee that will undoubtedly be peopled by aged rockers, all long hair (grey)and more wrinkles than bloodhounds, trying to re-capture lost yoof! An evening of Invergowrie delight has been hijacked by a prior engagement, a present for my other half from the family.

It just so happens we are missing another bash on the same night. I don’t recall ever having to forego so much on one night!!! :-((

An’ I’m still greetin’ buckets.

204. Thepnr

Ah shame you can’t make it, but never mind Betty there will be other opportunities. You enjoy yourself. let your hair down!

205. Paula Rose

Can’t help it – just get all emotional when I’m not going to see lovely Wingie ones.

206. AuldA

@Paula –

Don’t despair. I may be able to attend sometime in the future…
    What? It wasn’t me you were talking about? 😉

207. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood – I don’t understand 24ac in Monday’s crossword. I’ve seen the answer in Tuesday’s National and I’m still none the wiser. Explanation please!

Thepnr/Alex Clark – is there room for one more at your house? I don’t take up much space.

208. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Need to pick your proverbials…

A while ago you posted a link to a 2-part YT documentary about a Neolithic (?) burial mound, or suchlike, and I’ve forgotten the name of it. I did write it down somewhere, but can’t find it.

It’s on the tip of me tongue, memory-wise – please out me out of the misery.

209. Paula Rose

AuldA honey – let’s swap photons!

210. Thepnr

@Natasha

Yes, the last room now reserved for you. Anyone else you can have the settee!

211. Natasha

@Thepnr
    Thank you! 🙂

212. Paula Rose

I’ll have all my Neolithic data to hand in Inverwotsit Ian darling.

(email me if you need specific stuff can help out at the weekend)

213. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

‘Have another glower around, see portable organ’

Another word for ‘glower’ is ‘glare’.

‘Glare’, around, could be ‘regal’ which is ‘A portable organ equipped only with small reed pipes, popular from the 15th century and recently revived for modern performances.’

Pure tortuous by the way, intit? 🙂

214. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose (9.29) –

E-mail?

Effing blackmail more-like if you ask me!

Just give me a clue at least…please? with a big nob of cream on-top?

215. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian.

Your ‘regal’ answer reinforces my intention to ignore crosswords.

216. Thepnr

I’m trying to stop smoking. IT IS DIFFICULT.

Can’t focus, all I can think of is a fag. I’m getting desperate, don’t think I can read anymore on Wings. My vision is going, so too is my ability to type. I’m losing control of my nervous system.

I’m gasping but there is no respite in sight. Heeeellllp!

217. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood – you have a very devious and twisted mind.

Thepnr – good for you for trying. Can’t offer any useful advice, but will be thinking of you.

218. Paula Rose

No Ian dear – just a bit indulgent, a true compiler such as John Graham wanted his clues to be solvable.

Sometimes I think you are being arcane for no purpose xx

219. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    Did you really mean a ‘nob’ of cream? I’m hoping you just forgot the ‘k’.

220. Paula Rose

My perfectly normal reprobate – just dream of the day not to distant when again you will be unable to free yourself due to some carefully considered restraint. You will find yourself gasping for relief yet yearning for restraint – it is ever so (bet the Rev is reading this tee hee).

221. Brian Doonthetoon

For Thepnr…

http://www.vipelectroniccigarette.co.uk/

222. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

There was a lovely guy from Kirriemuir that used to compose the crosswords for The Times. I met him a few times and he was a cracking guy. A true gent.

Anyway, I believe he at least reached the final of Mastermind if not win it but I can’t remember his name. Last time I met him was in Hawick at a chess tournament about 10 years ago, I don’t know if he’s still around.

223. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

I had to look up ‘arcane’. 🙁

There’s nothing ‘secret’ about it – so long as the answer is somewhere in the clue, it’s legit. I’m not claiming to ‘know’ these words – they’re there to be used. If they’re not used? they die. If they continue to live just as answers in a disposable puzzle? fair play to them.

Where did MacDiarmid get a lot of the vocabulary for his earliest (and best?) poetry? You know that a fair chunk of the vocabulary in his best-known work wasn’t in everyday use – he ploughed through an old dictionary looking for stuff.

Nah, sorry folks – nae apologies. No-one dislikes smartarses more than me, but if a cryptic crossword compiler can’t use old and/or unfashionable language (and, specifically, some of the language of the country being catered for by the publication in question), what’s the point of the fucking thing? The National could just buy-in some syndicated stuff, all answers guaranteed to be in the latest Oxford super-updated online version…whoopee-fucking-doo.

‘Arcane’?

Grrrr tae that, and nae smiley face either!

PS – you’re gonny hate 9ac next Monday (er, that is, if the editor okays it) – so there!

224. Paula Rose

Thepnr doll – you actually know clever people? Honey I never knew.

225. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Ian do you compile the National crossword?

226. Thepnr

@Paula Rose

Good chance Chic might know him too. Well Chic, do you know who I speak of?

227. Ian Brotherhood

Alex, AKA Thepnr, is a brilliant chess player, but he’s too modest to mention it.

Just saying…

228. X_Sticks

Came across this over on the twittersphere and I think it’s worth sharing.

“The Fuse is Blown”. Glaciologist’s Jaw Dropping Account of a Shattering Moment

These videos are truly scary. Have we already pushed the planet over the edge?

http://climatecrocks.com/2015/01/22/the-fuse-is-blown-glaciologists-jaw-dropping-account-of-a-shattering-moment/

229. chipmonkey

Alex. Are you getting help? Going along to a group or for a one to one? It sounds daft,but stopping is more likely if you do. Fighting the way you feel is a bit like having the flu. Nasty,but it does go away and leave you healthier. Why do you want to stop? I know a hundred reasons,but what is yours? E cigs and before them inhalators have their place as you get less tar etc., but they let you keep the habit,which is quite a powerful thing. Would you rather be strong now? NRT of other kinds weans you off the addiction slowly while you crack that habit all by yourself. Get past it. Would you not be really pleased with yourself tomorrow if it’s pat on the back time,not start again time?

230. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Well, Alex knows you, doesn’t he?

Ain’t you ‘clever’?

And Alex, while I’m at it – the National crossword? Nah. Nothing to do with me. I wouldn’t have anything to do with that, seeing as it’s so ‘arcane’.

Know what I mean? 🙂 🙂 :* :%

Ach, fuck this…where’s me Valium…

231. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Hahaha, I was crap. I only got involved because my son was good (you’ve met him). School champion and all that at primary and same in secondary in first year.

I’d taught him but believe me I barely knew more than how the pieces moved. I played in my first tournament in Perth about 1995 and scored 0/5 🙂

It was an embarrassment of course, so I bought loads of books and read them and got a bit better. I managed to reach AVERAGE as far as club playeys go which is pretty good. Even won a Minor tournament and I even have a wee trophy at home from Nice in France for coming third when I took on the Frenchies 🙂

AuldA can translate for us “Echiquier Nicois Touroi Rapide”

So there.

232. Ian Brotherhood

Nah, seriously, I was only joshing like, ken, eh?…

Where’s my fu-cking Valium!!??

233. Ian Brotherhood

@Alex/Thepnr –

Have just sent you an invitation to play…let’s see how bad you are, eh?

And that goes for the rest of ye’s…who’s up for it?

Eh?!

WHO’S UP FOR IT!!??

Raaaaarghhh!

234. Thepnr

Fuck chess and politics I’ve a better idea:

//www.youtube.com/watch?v=PQZhN65vq9E&x-yt-ts=1421914688&x-yt-cl=84503534

235. ronnie anderson

@ Thepnr http://www.jacvapour.com/# good on you give it a go you,ll feel all the better for it, dont touch that VG liquid (chemical) proper leaf extract is PG,as you,ve seen my E gig you dont disappear in a cloud of vapour it can be smoked discreatly.

236. CameronB Brodie

I reckon this is just begging to be ripped off, cough, parodied. 😉

The Shut-Ups – We Will Civilize You
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uht1HJj0hrA

237. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Re: our Wings Over Scotland get-together in Invergowrie – ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 2’.

Seems I’ve been a tad remiss over the past few days with this confirmation.

The Invergowrie Inn is confirmed for the 21st February. Same as last time, if you want to have a meal before the fun kicks off, you MUST book a table, for no later than 6.45pm.

Advice is to book as soon as possible, as the Invergowrie Inn usually becomes fully booked at teatime on Saturdays.

You can book a table by phoning

01382 562686

We will be doing personalised badges for those who tell us that they will be at the event. We’ll also be having videos of a ‘YES” nature, mixed with other videos, eg music.

Obviously, if we don’t know you’re coming, we can’t prepare a badge!

Here is ‘THE LIST’ of those who are coming so far…

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

BTW: if you’re bringing someone with you, let us know.

This link to Google Maps shows you the location of the Inn. You can zoom in on the “A” marker for a better look. It’s around an 8-10 minute taxi ride from Dundee’s city centre, depending on traffic.
    There’s also a large car park at the rear of the building, which will take a minibus.

http://goo.gl/maps/ZpHqR

238. Thepnr

Brian. please add Ian Clark to the list.

239. Brian Doonthetoon

Have done Alex.

240. Paula Rose

@ Ian Brotherhood – my sweet darling, forgive me for my intemperate words, your acrostic conundrums are a highlight of my week. I must look on the bright side, I will only need a small overnight bag for Inverwotsit – as I doubt the otherwingers have your fascination for self-restraint.

241. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

What? You’re not bringing the divers helmet?

242. Thistle

hi all

I wish I could go to Invergowrie but don’t have time. If you get a WoS in Glasgow please let me know!

Sadly need to do another crowdfunder.

Please Share, Join or Support Us

Thankyou for all that you have done. Peace.

tvl.ink/keeplive

243. Thistle

Oh yeah we are doing a livestream on Sunday for fracking demo at INEOS Grangemouth 2PM.

Also, maybe tomorrow a Skype livestream from Greece with Colin Fox and another with Jonathon Shafi – both not the best when it comes to techie stuff so it’s a 50-50, lol.

You should check this video out from a Skype livestream we did yesterday with Robert Black QC on Lockerbie.

http://youtu.be/Gc8ahiED0xM

Kevin

244. Thistle

Oh yeah we are doing a livestream on Sunday for fracking demo at INEOS Grangemouth 2PM.

Also, maybe tomorrow a Skype livestream from Greece with Colin Fox and another with Jonathon Shafi – both not the best when it comes to techie stuff so it’s a 50-50, lol.

You should check this video out from a Skype livestream we did yesterday with Robert Black QC on Lockerbie.

youtu.be/Gc8ahiED0xM
    Kevin

245. Brian Doonthetoon

Re Invergowrie.

I’ve had an indication from Chris Law, operator of “Spirit of Independence’, that he will do his damnedest to be there on the 21st, and will park the Spirit outside.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8C4To2I5C_A

246. David

This one’s for Paul Nuttall, UKIPper and jaw-droppingly insulting ‘star’ of the “Question Time” clip in today’s “Take, take, take, take, take, take, take” article: Mel & Kim singing ‘Respectable’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ykDsmAqExH8

247. Ian Brotherhood

@Thistle –

Not meaning to be cheeky, but your fundraiser will probably do a lot better if the links you provide are live. 🙂

PS Hope all well with you and yours – keep on keepin’ on mister! And BTW, Colin Fox will be doing a night in Glasgow next week, Tuesday I think, about his trip to Greece…must dig out the details, but I’m sure he’ll mention it in the Livestream anyway.

Hope to see you again soon.

248. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ronnie Anderson.

Are you checking your emails?

249. Ian Brotherhood

@Thistle & A’body else who may be interested:

West of Scotland SSP public meeting
    Tuesday 27th January
    7.30pm
    The Trades Hall, Glassford Street, near George Square, GLASGOW

GREECE GOES SOCIALIST!
    As Syriza socialists fight for power, an eye-witness account of Greek elections by SSP national co-spokesperson, Colin Fox.

250. Paula Rose

Hmmm as I won’t have to worry about Ian Brotherhood getting overexcited at the Inverwotsit soirée, I could wear one of my more outré outfits.

251. Bugger (the Panda)

It appears that Big Pharma are handing out Wonga Vouchers to individuals in the SNHS, to the tune of £4 millions per year.

Holyrood has tried to get the various NHS Boards to set up a register of these and the Boards have not complied.

Time to get the gloves off and let this be a template for Lobbying and political donations

It took a USA investigative web blog to highlight this.

http://www.madinamerica.com/2015/01/sunshine-act-scotland-petition-goes-parliament-third-time/

252. Paula Rose

Yippee – got my grown-up computer back, music time!

Ian Brotherhood’s mention of diving reminded me of this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cKjkUPzui7A

253. Paula Rose

And some sadistic hands…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqSnl4NzTdE&amp;

254. Croompenstein

Kezia heard singing a song to Big Dim Jim…….

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NYw83uAQig

255. Chic McGregor

Different century
    Different Continent
    Different people
    But some of the same issues.

I’ve always loved this song from when I first heard it in the cinema.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=97xgT9nH-yw

256. Thepnr

@Chic McGregor

Yes, I loved that song myself even though I was a wee boy and too young to see it in the pictures. We didn’t have cinemas where I lived 🙂

Saturday mornings at the ABC were great though!

257. Chic McGregor

@Alex
    I was still a teenager myself when it came out.

It was a bit of a game changer since I think it was the first of that ilk (Dancing with Wolves, Last Samurai, Avatar etc.). Can’t think of a snappy description for the genre – “OK, we were the bad guys but we had at least one good guy to show them how to try to defend themselves.” – will have to do.

It also was the first with realistically graphic violence in it.

Bizarrely, you got a free yellow plastic wallet with, admittedly useful, AA roadmap cards in it, and a free pair of red/green 3D specs because bits of the film were in 3D.

It was based on a true historical massacre of an Indian village by US Cavalry although the American-turned-native was as usual merely a fictional, conscience-salving thing.

TBF to the US, the colonel who ordered the massacre had his reputation thoroughly trashed at the time. One wonders whether that would still happen today.

258. Paula Rose

Burns night as well!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHImhqEC1fo

259. chipmonkey

@Paula Rose. Mick <3

Lovely to hear that.
    Not singing any Burns myself tonight,drat it all,no voice except a croaky bass myself, dratted lurgae.

260. Paula Rose

Hot toddy with lots of honey, honey!

261. Paula Rose

Time for some rogues…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g04nEQETvSQ

262. Paula Rose

And I expect you all tae ken this ane…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lGgZjyZrdzg

263. Paula Rose

Ooo looked someone called Dick Gaughan…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZ7oYCx6tBw

264. Paula Rose

And another beauty…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXH9DVS76yM

265. Natasha

Hi guys
    Just to let you know I’m still here; am up to my eyes in work preparing for an HMI starting tomorrow. May be comatose by Thursday.
    xxx
    btw I organised a Burns Supper – petite moi! Not bad for an English lassie!

266. cearc

Hey, we’ve got a Burn’s night disco.

Loved the first one, cool.

267. Jock Scot

just back from the Anti-Fracking protest and Derek from Independence live, captures it brilliantly

http://new.livestream.com/IndependenceLive/events/3746273

268. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Jock.

You organising a minibus to come up to Invergowrie?

269. Paula Rose

And one of my favourites (giggle outburst)…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PfUiuCTmBkQ

270. Paula Rose

The cryptic crossword in the National seems to have become mixed up with a quick one – see 26 across.

271. Jock Scot

@Brian
    If enough people from Dunfermline and Edinburgh are up for it and depending on, if life throws a curve-ball, which is happening a lot at the moment..then after that long-winded drivel..mibbee

272. Brian Doonthetoon

Natasha’s coming Jock. She even has her bed booked!

So, what about the Kings, TJenny, Tam Jardine, and the other Fife and Edinburgh Wingers who were at the Newsroom get-together?

I’m sure if people realise you will be doing a live performance of one or three of your hits, there will be an absolute clamour for minibus seats.

Did you know, that if you’re gonna be there, you will be featured entertainment? Well, you do now…

8=)

273. Quinie frae Angus

Hi all

I’ve been heid doon, buried in a job for weeks now…..only able to pop in every now and again to keep my Wings silky and ready….

but I’d like to come to Invergowrie if I can. Will be back “between jobs” by mid-Feb!

Quinie

274. Paula Rose

Brian Dearestofthetoon –

word gets out about this gathering of ‘A’ list cybernats gets out, we may get a wee coterie of lurkers, are you going to do some –

“I’m a shy lurker” badges for them?

275. Thepnr

The fool replied “I don’t know, I only knew you were thirsty”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6s26WxsgyKE

Something different.

276. Michael McCabe

@ Brian Doonthetoon. If there is a Minibus from Edinburgh Heading to Invergowrie I would love to be on it. If its Happening could Someone post Details. Cheers. Yours in hope. Aye till I die.

277. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Good idea re the ‘shy lurker’ badge.

Hi Michael McCabe.

Somebody in the Edinburgh area will have to grab the buhll beh the hoarns, and start a “I want to be on the minibus to Invergowrie’ list, to see if you can fill a minibus (Usually around 16 bums on seats), get the cost per head, then organise it!

Alex Clark could possibly offer advice.

278. Chic McGregor

23 ac got it but didn’t understand all of the clue.

9 Got it by most probable fitting of missing letters in the anagram. Never heard of the word.

279. Paula Rose

Hi Chic – I think our wee compiler was being deliberately obtuse – the word is used by only 42 people in the entire universe – he has either a very forgiving or very erudite editor.

Hi Beedeeteetee – It struck me that if you wanted some more people to turn up for the Inverwotsit soirée it might be worth mentioning it on the opinion pieces that we allow the Rev to post, sometimes several a day, elsewhere on this site.

280. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Paula Rose.

Do you need more ‘stroked’ badges, BTW?

Yeah, I usually leave it till about a fortnight to go before I take ‘off-topic’ topics ‘off topic’, like intimations of get-togethers. But you’ve maybe gotta point.

I will prepare a post to interrupt the flow of whichever thread is current tonight, informing the peeps, sweating over their difference engines, about the Invergowrie bash.

As everyone seems to be ignoring the demise of Demis, I will offer this one, which I still have on a reel-to-reel tape, from the days when I taped ‘off the radio’.

From his earlier incarnation as vocalist with Aphrodite’s Child. A brilliant single that was too good for the UK charts…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBLXi3PjWB8

281. Paula Rose

Bdtt baby – great minds think alike, I was just looking at the Demi monde.

282. Paula Rose

Oooh – that reminds me, here’s a vid from my last sojourn in Greece – goddess, how sweet!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E5Mu6jynJ_g

283. Bugger (the Panda)

Demi monde?

Demi Roussos is deid!

284. Paula Rose

Btp honey – so nice to know that you are abreast of the news xx

285. Brian Doonthetoon

Right.

I’ve done a post re: Invergowrie in the current page – “choosing-a-side”.

I don’t know what else I can do, except for advertising it on Facebook.

286. john king

The Kings are in Brian 🙂
    keep me updated on the bus guys.

287. john king

Paula Rose says
    “word gets out about this gathering of ‘A’ list cybernats gets out, we may get a wee coterie of lurkers, are you going to do some –

“I’m a shy lurker” badges for them?”

Fit aboot us zed listers? 🙁

288. Paula Rose

Shh Beedeeteetee we have to be careful that only strokeable wotsits are there

I would hate to be stroking strangers.

289. Thepnr

@john king

There’s a room for you and Irene at my place if you want it John. Paula Rose, cearc and Natasha will be joining us, if you take me up that will be it. A Full House!

290. Paula Rose

Hi Beedeeteetee – wee john king needs an “I’m a zed” badge.

The incomparable Irene should have a –

‘”I taught Paula Rose” badge.

291. Brian Doonthetoon

I ken, I ken.

That’s why I’m always a tad reticent to advertise on Facebook.

We may get a crowd of “others”. And you know what “others” can be like.

See “Stoneybridge”.

292. Bob Sinclair

I hope Invergowrie is a massive success. A bit annoyed that I can’t make it as ‘family duties’ have intervened on the same day. Definitely up for the next one though, wherever. Might even drag Mrs Bob along as well.

293. AndyC

@ Brian Doonthetoon
    ‘Others’ may have information or views you have never heard before. It all helps, surely?

294. Thepnr

@AndyC

I don’t think the “others” being referred to have any intention of sharing anything other than grief.

That much should be obvious.

295. Chic McGregor

Paula I think he must have a dictionary of old Scots. Which is fair enough in context. Mind you if I haven’t heard of ‘allicomgreenyie’ then maybe its localised?

At least we’ve learned something.

296. cearc

Alex,

Sounds like you’ll be needing a lot of eggs for breakfast.

I’ll bring them.

297. chipmonkey

Alex. Have you got a hut we can stay in? Going home is beginning to sound very dull:-)

298. AndyC

@ Thepnr
    I am not one of THOSE others. I will try to make it to Invergowrie.

299. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AndyC.

The Invergowrie bash is a WOS get-together, ie for Wingers so, as you’re posting here, your a Winger! And welcome to come along! You bringing anyone with you?

I’ll post an updated list (not a Z-list) tonight, of who’s said they’re coming.

BTW: the reference to “others”. The link below is what was on my mind when I did that post. Go to the Stoneybridge section at 3 mins 45 secs and their mention of “others” at 6 mins 45 secs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BjWw5dJNRQY

300. AuldA

Sorry I was a bit overburdened with work lately and lost contact.
    What happened over here lately?
    Does someone feels like filling me in? Thanks!

301. Paula Rose

AuldA honey

We’ve decided to classify cybernats, most are A-listers and John King is a zed.

302. AuldA

@Paula —

Who leads this taxonomic effort?
    I suppose you reserved me the 4N, didn’t you? 😉
    Good night!

303. Thepnr

@chipmonkey

John and Irene would prefer to come on the bus and get home the same way. So you and Graham are welcome to stay 🙂

The only danger is my wee Cairn Terrier called Mac who will lick you close to death if you allow it.

@AndyC

Be great if you can make it, the more the merrier.

304. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

Here’s the up to date list of those who are coming to Invergowrie.

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Ian Clark

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Irene King

John King

AndyC (maybe)

——————————————-

Off topic in off-topic…

Has anyone else noticed? Since the readership of Wings went through the roof, I have been unable to read ALL the comments on ALL the pages. Just not enough hours in the day.

However, maybe 4 or 5 times a week, I do read all the comments on a page where I think the comments will be of interest and what I have seen is that quite a number of commentators repeat each other; in other words, people are reading the initial post from Rev Stu, then going to the comment box without reading the existing comments.

Jiss sayin’ like…

305. john king

PAULA rOSE SAYS
    “We’ve decided to classify cybernats, most are A-listers and John King is a zed.”

Ive made the list!
    Im on the list
    whoohohohohohooo
    running around with shirt over head! 🙂

306. X_Sticks

@John King

Poor Irene!

307. AuldA

@JK –

I didn’t know kings could gambol. I mean caper. No, cavort rather. Oh, whatever…

308. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    The use of ‘blobfish’ as an answer in one of Rabblach’s crosswords leads me to suspect that this may be your other nom de plume. Am I correct?

309. Paula Rose

Natasha honey

As all the crosswords are ridiculously easy, I presumed master Ian was responsible for them all.

310. AuldA

@Natasha —

Don’t confuse nom de plume with nom d’oiseau!

311. Paula Rose

AuldA sweetie – plume – feather – quill – pen-name.

Les francais seem to have a plethora of bird-based insults.

312. Thepnr

john king = Z = Zoro!

313. Paula Rose

Thepnr sweetie –

Do you mean Zorro?

314. Thepnr

The spell checker doesn’t work with Zoro. So john king is promoted to an A.

john king = A = Allo Allo!

Sorted.

315. Natasha

Paula Rose
    So ridiculously easy that you couldn’t get kaleidoscope – oh, wait, I forgot – you spelt the rhythm thingy wrong! Oops.

316. Brian Doonthetoon

I seem to remember that “rhythms” is the longest word in the English language without vowels.

Eh’ll git meh coat…

317. Thepnr

Here’s what you can do in 100 days. If you put your mind to it.

You can change your clothes as much as you like but not so easily your soul.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ycn5VmBUYY

318. Brian Doonthetoon

And BTW, I don’t think ‘johnking’ should be a matter of fun.

Although, personally, I have only johnkinged a couple of times, I can appreciate that there are those who like a lot more johnking, now and again.

So your penchant for johnking should be, temporarily, satisfied, at Invergowrie. No doubt at the apré get-together shindig, if September was anything to go by…

8=)

319. Natasha

Why do I always feel like I’m stuck between a Rock and a hard place?

320. Thepnr

@Natasha

Maybe just because we all are. We intend to change that though.

321. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

Well, it seems that the mighty Blobfish is making his mark in all sorts of ways. Before we know it they’ll be on the menu in chippies and Farmfoods will be selling a Blobfish-Bumper-Bag of six as a BOGOF.

‘Sot ‘n sauce wi’ that?’

322. john king

Xstick says
    “@John King

Poor Irene!”

Whaddaya mean POOR Irene?
    It wasn’t her who ran into a door with her shirt over her head!

Whaurs yer sword?
    do I have to kneel or onyhin?
    when do I get ma 300 smackers?
    Oh an its an honournawthat. 🙂

323. john king

AuldA says
    “I didn’t know kings could gambol. I mean caper. No, cavort rather. Oh, whatever…”

Oh I have my whipping boy do that on his days off,
    Well you have to give them something to look forward to don’t you? 🙂

324. Chic McGregor

Yesterday’s crossword. WTF!

I usually go down through the across clues first and usually get more than half of them, but in yesterday’s crossword, of the 14(13) across clues I got only 3(2)

I did consider word fits in my head for Scotsman – Wagner -Hang,On and Knothole but rejected them since I did not see a good enough fit with the clues.

Looking at today’s answers there is another 4 in which I don’t see the fit to the clues

Leaving only 3 I would probably have got if I’d stuck at it.

However I packed it in when I saw how it was going.

Think that was the first crossword in the National I’ve failed to complete, and spectacularly.

Maybe I just had an off day.

325. AuldA

@Natasha –
    In French, we say “to be caught between hammer and anvil”

@Thepnr –

john king = A = Allo Allo!

Allo! = à l’eau ! (~ Into the water!)
    John King, do you have swimming trunks on?

@John King –

Well you have to give them something to look forward to don’t you?

A lump of sugar? 🙂

326. Natasha

Ian Brotherhood
    I notice you avoided answering my question! Have you turned into a politician?

327. Brian Doonthetoon

For you, AuldA.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NO3_rXCYxLU

328. Paula Rose

AuldA – that is so inappropriate xxx

329. AuldA

@Brian –

Thanks! I didn’t know that particular series. First episode too long to watch tonight, but will surely do it tomorrow.

(If I understand correctly, these are English actors trying to mimic the French accent, eh?)

330. Paula Rose

Natasha darling – I’ll wear my flatties you wear your highest heels and we can meet in the middle xx

331. Natasha

AuldA

By the time you’ve watched one whole episode, you won’t be thanking Brian; and the rest of us will be wanting to shoot him! Just don’t ask about the fallen Madonna with the big boobies. And by the way, the whole series is a p*sstake of a drama called “Secret Army” which was very popular in the late 1970s; I remember it vividly even though I was still a child.

332. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

It was a series that I only caught from episode 2 or 3. It took me a couple of episodes to get the principle that is defined in episode 1, namely, that accent = language.

Thus, when they are speaking with French accents, it’s supposed to be French. German accents are German, BBC ‘received English’ accents are English, and so on.

Hence Michelle Dubois, of the French Resistance, speaks in a French accent to Rene, the cafe owner, and in a very proper English accent to the British airmen.

It gets more interesting in later episodes when another British escapee takes the role of a Gendarme, and speaks very bad French, in a ‘Frenglish’ accent and, also, when the Italian, who has an eye for ‘the beautiful ladies’, joins the cast of very believable characters.

8=)

333. Brian Doonthetoon

Natasha, my dear, you disappoint me!

“Allo Allo” was one of the cleverer BBC sitcoms. You and you Southern Upland culture… Bet you don’t appreciate “Absolutely” either…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MnD7q7EFt0

334. Brian Doonthetoon

“You and you” = You and your.

Arschlöch¡

335. Thepnr

BDTT

I just watched the whole episode, laughed much more than I did when it was first shown. Must be an age thing 🙂

336. Paula Rose

I have a nightmare that you lot may find “Are You Being Served” amusing.

337. Brian Doonthetoon

You and Mrs Slocumb and your pussies – oo-er missus!

8=)

338. Ian Brotherhood

@Chic McGregor –

I haven’t finished ANY. 🙁

Anyway, never mind. Here’s the Average White Band, live in 1977 at the Montreux festival.

Pick Up The Pieces:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GY4cB_sYz4Y

339. Natasha

Bdtt
    Actually I loved Allo Allo, and Absolutely; and less of the Southern Upland stuff, thank you very much.

Didn’t we agree it was Slocombe at some point?

Paula Rose – I’ll bring my stilts.

Btw, I HATE HMI. They should all be forced to work as classroom assistants in the worst schools in Scotland. Then they might appreciate good teaching when they see it.

Not that I’m at all bitter, you understand.

340. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

I believe that blobfish and humans can co-exist peacefully.

341. Ian Brotherhood

How many of youse remember this one?

Basia, ‘Time And Tide’ –

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xN1mfwY7gsQ

342. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Ah! a good Dundee band, far superior to those West coasters 🙂

In case you wondering, yes, I am using Thepnr again for reasons you can guess. Don’t mind being me on Wings but not happy seeing my name in tweets by the editor of the Daily Rancid.

Particularly when it had nothing to do with me.

343. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

You did type,
    “Didn’t we agree it was Slocombe at some point?”

I really don’t mind how slo the combe is. But I’m an old fashioned kind of guy. Get out of that!

8=)

344. Paula Rose

Is that a singularity from which there will be no coming back?

345. Brian Doonthetoon

I would refer you to the pastime of johnking, mentioned further up the page.

346. Thepnr

I am a singularity and there will be no GOING back.

347. Brian Doonthetoon

Onnyhoo, by dipping into the various pages which are/were active today, I discovered that although Mr Anderson hasn’t deigned to post here, he is fully intentional to be at Invergowrie on the 21st.

So the updated list of those who will be presented with personalised souvenir ‘Wings Over Invergowrie 2′ badges on the night, now reads like this…

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Ian Clark

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Irene King

John King

AndyC (maybe)

Ronnie Anderson

So, whah else wahnts a badge, an’ thah’?

348. Brian Doonthetoon

BTW: typing about Dundee bands…

A wee video I captured a year or three ago; their first festival performance.

‘Twas in The Courier today, that they have now changed their name to “Sinderins”.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/news/local/dundee/sinderins-junction-name-marks-a-new-direction-for-amwf-1.814543

And here’s the video…
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DwfXrhpBesc

349. Thepnr

@BDTT

Met wee johnny in the ferry the other day. Spotted him because he was reading The National 🙂 He “hopes” to make it, along with his wife.

I’d put them down as Mibbees.

350. Paula Rose

Oh well I just don’t know what

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUqXM7D2Lsg

351. Paula Rose

Is there a new rose in town?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rTfyUqVqX-0

352. Paula Rose

at the meaningful singularity from which everything is resolved

oh gosh, that is profound

353. Ian Brotherhood

Someone has to stop Paula Rose, goddammittohell!!

Ya hear me?!?!

If not? she’ll destroy herself and us all besides and all others god almighty help us!

Perhaps Chas can do it…

…and this ain’t no ‘singularity’, mind – this is REAL!

IT’S REAL!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lYndJV6iepQ

354. Chic McGregor

Thanks Ian. Good Perth Band.

355. cearc

She’s just getting a bit over-excited as we approach the Inverwotsit event horizon.

356. Patrician

After having a quick read of this section for the first time in a while. Do you think I can persuade Stu to rename this thread to the “Dundee hing-outs”?

357. pete the camera

for your amusement, should this headline writer be back at school

http://www.eveningtelegraph.co.uk/news/local/police-appeal-after-vandals-smash-window-at-abroath-abbey-1.298839

358. Paula Rose

@ Patrician

I’m in Brechin I’ll have you know.

359. john king

Ian Brotherhood says:
    31 January, 2015 at 1:10 am
    Someone has to stop Paula Rose, goddammittohell!!

Ya hear me?!?!

you have to calm down Ian or we’ll take measures. 🙂
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0GW0Vnr9Yc

360. john king

Paula Rose says
    “@ Patrician

I’m in Brechin I’ll have you know.”

Yes we know and we respect you for it. 🙂

361. X_Sticks

@John

“Yes we know and we respect you for it”

Shouldn’t that be “Yes we know and we respect Brechin for it”?

362. Thepnr

@X_Sticks

That’s you on the naughty step 🙂

363. Paula Rose

The type of strokes my pussy enjoys may not be the ones I will be deploying in Inverwotsit X_Sticks.

364. X_Sticks

Oohh! The whip again?

Do they have UFOs in Brechin?

365. Paula Rose

Unexpected furry objects?

366. AuldA

@Bdtt —
    Actually it’s Arschlöcher I think.
    Loch is one of those irregular German names whose plurals take -er, such as Buch, Ei, etc.

367. X_Sticks

Unlimited Fetish Obsessions?

Why don’t you eat carrots?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KwVfXkchDKo

368. AuldA

@X_Sticks –

What do you do when you car rots? 🙂

369. Paula Rose

Unpublished Faust originals? We specialise in them.

370. Paula Rose

Oh and unusual friendly offers (smiley winky thing).

371. cearc

Unrestrained feminine orators.

372. john king

Xsticks says
    “Unlimited Fetish Obsessions?”

Untrammeled Fetish Obsession!
    there,
    fixed that for you. 😉

373. Paula Rose

Undignified farming observations mainly.

374. Paula Rose

And the city of Brechin has the

Utterly Fabulous Oneself!

(giggle)

375. Natasha

john king
    Untrammelled has a double l.:-) (Once a primary school teacher, always a primary school teacher).

376. Natasha

My smily thing didn’t work!

377. AuldA

@Paula Rose –

Faust? You mean Lauren Faust?

378. Ian Brotherhood

Has anyone done ‘You Fuck Off’ yet?

379. Paula Rose

No Ian darlinghood and they won’t.

380. Paula Rose

Natasha dear, I don’t like to embarrass John King more than is necessary.

381. SqueuedPerspextive

It’s a bit slow to start with as it introduces a lot of terminology (to the thickos like me), but stick with it – the last few minutes are worth it.

It’s the economy http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/how-economic-machine-works/

382. SqueuedPerspextive

I am pretty sure that Mr Brown removed the wall between the retail and investment banks that was erected after the Great Depression. So all this stuff about Labour not being responsible for the financial crisis is less than true.

When do the banks pay us tax payers back ?

383. Ian Brotherhood

You find offensive?

🙁

384. Paula Rose

Ian wotsithood – it’s u not y, you doesn’t count.

385. SqueuedPerspextive

and then we have to consider this…
    http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/taxing-question-land/

But I think that is only part of the picture.
    I think in the modern age we have to consider the eQuivilent on the net. But its interesting angle.

It’s time to think about new ideas -sure we need to slide from one system to another.

Change needs to happen – the question is no longer about if but how…

386. Ian Brotherhood

Joyful funky stuff – proper close-up footage of Prince ‘surprising’ Larry Graham on his birthday, a very few years ago:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NY8IGFyiDVU

387. Paula Rose

You funny oik xx

388. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

Fair enough.

‘Too wise you are
    Too wise I see
    I see you are
    Too wise for me.’

389. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherwotsit so many yous for you

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFsH72WdwMo

390. SqueuedPerspextive

Scottish Govt should not get to control taxes cos that would give them a hand at the table http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/buy-buy-europe/

It’s time for a new game … fk WM vote for Scotland (SNP)

391. Paula Rose

Ska night mes enfants

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BFsH72WdwM

392. SqueuedPerspextive

@paula Rose
    🙁
    No vid

393. Paula Rose

More for you sweet Ian Brotherhood

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvGoGx_jPz4

394. Paula Rose

How are you feeling now mes enfants?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTm_rpZy-XY

395. Paula Rose

There’s something so right about this…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7WCnVw7_jr4

396. Paula Rose

Well boys, you are…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLN8Kso7AT0

397. Paula Rose

And after all that damned stuff last night…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OpCblmQgIOk

398. Grouse Beater

Go Murray! 🙂

399. Paula Rose

Damned ball boys.

400. Paula Rose

If you really want…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1VGkmPF1CNo

401. SqueuedPerspextive

Yo Rev

Any chance of new OT fer actual Fatual ? eg http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/taxing-question-land/

402. Paula Rose

Stampie foot time –

If I bring my etch-a-sketch to Inverwotsit can some of you proper cybernats help me to sort out my replying and commenting thingies?

Not on wings obviously – but ones like WGD, DB, BC et al xx

403. Lanarkist

Just found out about the Invergowrie meet on the 21st Feb, hope to make it along if I can collect a couple of beer tokens together.

404. Paula Rose

Lanarkist sweetie! You’ve only just found out? Are you still reliant on snail mail? I’m sure we can slip a few beer tokens in your pocket if need be.

405. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s James Brown doing ‘Living In America’, live, and by the looks of it he was well-on at the time.

Far as I remember, this song was meant to be an anthem for the 200th anniversary of the Declaration of Independence. Right? (Maybe not, but I’m half-canned and can’t be bothered checking)

But we all know that Brown was a bit of a radical, and might not be 100% behind such ‘celebration’, and that’s why this song is worth looking at again.

He doesn’t sing ‘I love America!’. He doesn’t subscribe to any of the clichés about ‘freedom’. He states – albeit very dramatically, and in an entertaining style – that he lives in the place. There’s nothing substantially ‘patriotic’ about it – if anything, it’s an observational sketch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6_o03YOm18

406. Thepnr

@TJenny

I know your keeking, do you fancy coming to Invergowrie, I’m sure plenty would like to see you there.

407. AuldA

What happened to Paula?
    Never saw so many shoes in a single day! 🙂

408. Natasha

AuldA
    You obviously don’t have a large enough shoe collection. Have you not realised that there is no such thing as having too many shoes?

409. Paula Rose

Ian Brotherhood –

What was that quickie all about this morning?

410. Natasha

@Paula Rose
    WTF?

411. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi peeps.

For my sins, I am also on Facebook. Here’s a wee interchange I had last night.

————————————————

Brian DoontheToon .
    For at least the past month (if not longer), all the opinion polls have been showing the SNP on +40%. As long as we can keep that momentum going, against the deluge of lies and spin that Scots will be subjected to by the triumvirate of Labour, the Daily Record and BBC Scotland, we should be home and dry.
    It’s up to each of us to spread the truth..
    Yesterday at 18:36

Brian Reid Beware the beast lol
    Yesterday at 18:37

Brian DoontheToon .
    Hi another Brian.
    Your wee comment inspired me to go and grab some images via Google’s image search, to play with.
    I played. It’s not brilliant but here’s what I came up with.
    (Looks better when you click on it.)

————————————————

Here’s the result of my playing with stolen images…

https://sites.google.com/site/webgaffer/home/uploaded-pics-page-7/Wings-Cerberus-A3.jpg

412. cearc

Paula Rose,

Sssh! His wife might hear.

413. Ian Brotherhood

@Paula Rose –

One man’s quickie is another’s stinker…or something like that.

414. X_Sticks

@BDTT

That’s not a cybergnat – it’s a cybermosquito 😀

415. AuldA

@Natasha –

I can’t believe your so spot on. Matter of fact, lately I’ve been running on one single shoe pair. Believe it or not (Adidas’ Stan Smith). Hopefully, I’ve a pair of slippers at work.

I should really buy at least another one, but I find myself too lazy. 🙁

416. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt, 2/2/15, 9:22pm

I like your 3 headed beast – spot on!

@ Natasha, 31/1/15, 8:54pm

john king
    Untrammelled has a double l.:-) (Once a primary school teacher, always a primary school teacher).

Please don’t take it out on the excellent John K. A missing l isn’t that bad and it’s probably okay in the US :-). I know several teachers who can’t spell for toffee and several who are fairly clueless about grammar. Chill… 🙂

417. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt

Brian, great to see that Chris Law was successful in his candidate nomination.

Sorry to be missing his big bus if he manages along to Invergowrie!

418. AuldA

@Betty Boop –

Speaking of grammar, do you use ‘like’ or ‘as’ in phrases such as: “This coffee tastes like/as in the good old time” or “This guy is clothed in green like/as most other guys do.”

419. Natasha

Betty Boop, I was joking! Sorry john king, didn’t mean to offend!

AuldA 7.17pm
    You could use either like or as, but the real problem is actually in the rest of the sentence structure.
    You wrote, “This coffee tastes like/as in the good old time.”
    Firstly, we wouldn’t say ‘good old time’, but ‘good old days”. Secondly you would say ‘like it did’ or ‘as it did’. So it could be:
    “This coffee tastes like it did in the good old days.”
    or
    “This coffee tastes as it did in the good old days.”
    Most people would probably say “like”; only pedants such as I would use “as”.

For the other sentence, you wrote, “This guy is clothed in green as/like most other guys do.”

Firstly, “clothed in”, while perfectly valid, is rather archaic; most people would say “wearing”.

Secondly, the verb after ‘guys’ needs to agree with your use of either ‘ is clothed in’ or ‘is wearing’. So:

“This guy is clothed in green as most other guys are.”
    or
    “This guy is wearing green like most other guys do.”

Again, the use of as or like is a matter of taste; ‘like’ is now much more commonly used. I chose to use ‘as’ in the first example and ‘like’ in the second because it sounded better to me, but it is a matter of nuance.

I hope this helps! Btw, did you mean that you were running around in just one shoe, or in just one pair of shoes? (Not that you could wear two pairs of shoes at once anyway, but you know what I mean).

420. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Natasha.

Eh couldnae huv pit it be”er mehsel’ an’ thah.
    (In Dundee and worldwide, some of us use ” to denote the substitution of “tt” by a glottal stop – or glo”al stop.)

Hi Betty Boop.

I think Chris will be an asset and was probably the first equal choice for candidate, from my own point of view.
    However, there’s a wee bit of ‘sour grapery’ raising its head among supporters of another candidate, because of his ‘showmanship’.
    I’m not gonna get involved in that particular discussion.

AuldA says:

What happened to Paula?
    Never saw so many shoes in a single day!

Strange thing was, as I get email notifications of posts on off-topic, I was having my morning tea-break at work and catching up on emails. I read the one above, then Paula Rose’s reply, then AuldA’s,

Matter of fact, lately I’ve been running on one single shoe pair.

AuldA – it would be more ‘natural’ to have typed,
    Matter of fact, lately I’ve been running on just the one pair of shoes.

Onnyhoo, after i had read those emails, I went on to the next one, which was my “eBay Daily Deals”. And, guess what?
    This was one of the four.

http://tinyurl.com/ojd7uh8

Spooky, or what?

Onnyhoo, another updated list for the Invergowrie get-together on the 21st.

Alex Clark (Thepnr)

Ian Clark

Natasha

Brian Doonthetoon

Hanii Puppy (my son)

Pete The Camera

Chipmonkey

Quentin Quayle

X_Sticks

Cearc

Cactus

Paula Rose

Irene King

John King

AndyC (maybe)

Ronnie Anderson

Wee Johnny (maybe)

Mrs Wee Johnny (maybe)

BTW: we’ll only be doing personalised badges for those of you who have actually confirmed. No badges for “maybes”.

Once again, if you intend having a meal before the shenanigans, you MUST book a table for no later than 18.45, ASAP, via this number:-

01382 562686

(Mention Wings Over Scotland.)

421. AndyC

Hi Brian.
    Just lettin’ ye ken I WILL be at Invergowrie for the bash.
    Lookin forward to it….havenae had a wee swallie for a while. (can’t stand bein’ in the company of Unionists….they make me feel sick!)
    See you all on the night!

422. Paula Rose

How does that work Beedeeteetee? Do we all get a separate table? And can we do it by emails thingy?

423. Betty Boop

@ Bdtt, 9:05pm

LOL Brian. Those heels on ebay are way too low for Paula 🙂

Your mention of glottal stops reminded me of my eldest son, pre-school when he was about 3yrs old, taking our GP to task over her pronunciation. I can’t recall now the word which she used, but, she missed sounding the ‘t’. He immediately piped up “not a glottal stop!” Her face was a picture considering this rebuke (which was correct) from the toddler before her. She had a similar expression when his younger brother, around the same age, told her his philtrum was sore.

Kids, eh… Once they start talking they are forever telling you what’s what!

@ Natasha

No worries. I am just aware that some people actually don’t know when they make spelling errors. One of my sons has a visual perception problem with associated dyslexia, but, has excellent grammar, extensive vocabulary and has found his way of dealing with it. Teachers didn’t notice and he suffered low self esteem because of it until I diagnosed the problem. He is not alone in such a situation. On the other hand, some of us might simply make typos or be rotten at spelling 🙂

424. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AndyC.

Coming sans seatcover or will you have a drinking buddy with you?

Hi Paula Rose.

You phone the number and tell ‘the management’ that you want to have a meal at whatever time. They will ask you how many seats you need and, in your case, you will say how many seats your derrier requires.

You may end up sharing a table with “others”…

425. Thepnr

@BDTT

I’m pretty sure I read that Quinie frae Angus will make it along to the bash also.

Just checked and she gave a big maybe, a MAYBE+ even 🙂

426. Brian Doonthetoon

I will add ‘Quinie frae Angus’ (MAYBE) to my on-Mac list…

8=)

427. AndyC

Hi Brian,
    I’ll be on me tod. Should get there by 6 but have to leave again by 9:30 for last train. Next time will be able to stay in Dundee overnight. Not having a meal….tends to interfere with beer intake!

428. Paula Rose

Oh good I can manage that. Not pleased at your impudent remark re my perfectly formed derriere.

429. Michael McCabe

Here is a good wee band I started tuning into. After the Delectable Paula Rose Posted one of there songs a while Back. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=E60bzFb3CKI Cheers Paula Rose.

430. liz g

Robert peffers
    Would you by any chance be able to translate this please?
    Its from the Wallace Memorial/Plaque in London, some of my lot are going down there at the weekend.
    Thank you in advance. X

Dico Tibi Verum Libertas Optima Rerun
    Numquam servli sub nexu vivtto fili

Bas Agus Buaidh.

I am not being lazy by not looking my self part of my disability limits my Internet abilities, and can’t think who else to ask but its ok if you can’t. XXX

431. Michael McCabe

@ liz g I looked it up and it says. My Son, Freedom is best, I tell thee true, Of all things to be won. Then never live within the bond of Slavery. The Bottom three words are an old Scottish Battle Cry in Gaelic meaning Death and Victory.

432. Thepnr

@liz g & Michael McCabe

Fantastic words, cheers and goodnight!

433. Thepnr

Given the results due to published later today of Ashcroft’s poll. I thought I would leave you with this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZHtGVyeMX0

434. Michael McCabe

@ Thepnr I Noticed you lost ten years on the other thread. So this ones for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7bvhno8-YjQ&feature=player_detailpage

435. Thepnr

Cheers MM

Definitely head down now. Catch you later though.

436. David

For the Labour Party in Scotland, soon to be renamed the Willie Bain Party of One. 🙂

“So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye” from The Sound of Music:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qy9_lfjQopU

437. john king

‘I tell you the truth, the best of all things is freedom, never son, live under the bonds of slavery’
    is what I get. 🙂

438. j

Naha says
    “Betty Boop, I was joking! Sorry john king, didn’t mean to offend!”

How could I be offended by you Natasha?
    none taken I assure you. 🙂

439. Jim Thomson

Ok, my neutrality is no more … I’ve joined the SNP

Bugger.

:-p

440. Thepnr

@Jim Thomson

Well done you! Trying to persuade the wife to do so as well, she won’t join the SSP 🙁

441. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andy C.

Where are you travelling from? You may find this of interest.
    It’s a post I did, detailing the info I got in advance of the last Invergowrie bash, re buses and trains. It starts “Hi kininvie” but read on for the nitty gritty.

Best to check with the traveline web site though.

442. Brian Doonthetoon

Last night, I watched the BBC national news at 6pm.

Around 6.15, they did a story about Scotland’s A&E departments, featuring Ninewells Hospital in Dundee.
    You can see it here:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PsQntYdzYJA

Now, watch that relatively neutral and fair report then watch the next clip below.

It was taken from BBC’s “Reporting Scotland”, around half an hour later. If this doesn’t illustrate the institutional bias within BBC Scotland, against the SNP, I don’t know what does.
    BTW: Eleanor(sp?) Bradford is the “reporter” who came up with the lie, around the time of the referendum vote, that there was a £400 million hole in the NHS Scotland budget.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YOgIPBaXq1Q

BTW: I’ve got a couple of clips about the handling of the Ashcroft poll findings tonight, one from STV North (Grampian) and one from Reporting Scotland. Still editing… stay tuned for ‘film at 11…’

443. Wee Jonny

Brian Doonthe Toon – can you mak me up a wee badge please? (There’s no H in Jonny).
    I met Thepnr the other day in the Ferry. I noticed him coz he was trein to stale a wee look at mi National.
    See yiz in Invergowrie;).

444. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Andy C.

Forgot to paste the link for you!

http://wingsoverscotland.com/off-topic/comment-page-11/#comment-1874756

445. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wee Jonny.

I will delete the “maybe” after your name.

What about your better half? Will “Mrs Wee Jonny” be acceptable, or will she stick the pin in your @®se?

8=)

446. Wee Jonny

Thanks B Dt T. No badge for Wee Jody. She diznay like politics. Loves her hubby though????.

447. Thepnr

@BDTT

Looks like all the mibbees are gone, good. Maybe time for a post soon over on the main thread Brian to see if we can entice any others.

@Wee Jonny

I’m sure it was you that nicked my copy of the National LOL.

448. Paula Rose

So many new wingers to stroke!!!

449. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Wee Jonny.

Noted…

Onnyhoo, further to my post of 8.45 tonight, below is what I’ve just posted on a couple of Facebook pages.
    =====================================================

I, like many others on the YES side of the independence debate, became aware, during the referendum campaign, that the BBC’s presence in Scotland wasn’t the impartial news gatherer that we had trusted for decades.
    They had an agenda – and that agenda was not in tune with the aspirations of the people of Scotland. Their agenda was unionist-driven.
    Even although their side won the referendum vote, they are still subverting the news that they feed to gullible Scots.
    The two videos I posted last night were only one example.
    The same ‘spinning’ has gone on again tonight.
    You’ll have seen the results of the Ashcroft Scottish constituencies polling today.
    What hasn’t been reported is that it is fairly obvious that those who voted YES on 18th September, whether previously SNP, Labour, Lib-Dem or ‘other’, have decided to vote SNP on 7th May, in the interests of Scotland.
    The percentages for each constituency in the Ashcroft poll would seem to confirm this.
    Unfortunately, BBC Scotland is still reading from its “kill the SNP” hymn book. As I alluded to the other day, BBC Scotland, the Daily Record and the Labour Party (Scotlandshire Branch) are all working together.
    I can imagine that, tonight, when whoever was tasked with putting the ‘Reporting Scotland’ clip together looked up at their office wall, and saw the SNP BAD mantra in a frame, then they had to work out how to turn an Ashcroft positive story in favour of the SNP into an SNP BAD story.
    And so it became.
    The problem that BBC Scotland has is that most of us now see where they’re at.
    Onnyhoo, the first video here is the report on the Ashcroft polling from STV News At Six. The second (in the first comment below) is how BBC Scotlandshire reported it.
    It was the lead story in both programmes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uo-zUkEyHQY

And the ‘first comment below’ is this:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5hbhAKz9xI

450. Taranaich

Hello all, sorry I haven’t been by to talk to you, I’ve been busy.

Well, Inverclyde has our man: Ronnie Cowan, the campaign co-ordinator for Yes Inverclyde, has been selected by the Inverclyde SNP branch. We had four candidates with enthusiastic backers, and I’m thrilled we had a civil and good-natured contest. But now the battle for Inverclyde begins.

https://wildernessofpeace.wordpress.com/2015/02/04/an-open-letter-to-inverclyde/

I’ve written a letter to the people of Inverclyde. The referendum has changed me, and this extends to my view of politics. So not only am I writing, but I’m putting my bearded face on camera too. And so I have to overcome my reluctance to self-promote and ask for everyone in Inverclyde to share this post.

I’ll be knocking doors, leafleting, canvassing, doing everything I can that could help turn Inverclyde yellow. I’ve seen Inverclyde recover in the past ten years, coming back from ennui and malaise. With an SNP representative, we shouldn’t be preoccupied with regaining past glories – not when we could be so much more.

451. Natasha

Good for you, Taranaich; good luck. I’m delighted to report that Calum Kerr has been selected for Berwickshire, Roxburgh & Selkirk; he was chair of Yes Borders and is an outstanding candidate. Things will really start moving now.

452. Paula Rose

Taranaich – you lovely sweet man, already shared your latest writing with the great unwashed xx.

453. Quinie frae Angus

Yes I’m a “Maybe Plus” for the Gowrie Bash. Stuck in London at the moment but hoping to be freed before the do. 🙂

454. Ian Brotherhood

@Taranaich –

The man emerges, blinking, into the floodlight of exposure!!!

Great to see and hear you at last – you are, I think it’s fair to say, personable, persuasive, and eloquent. Good luck to Ronnie Cowan and all else involved in his campaign – I hope they realise they’re lucky to have ye!

Cheers aplenty mister.

(P.S. If they ever hack ye off, come join the SSP, eh?)

455. Paula Rose

QfA – not in the tower again are you love?

456. Quinie frae Angus

Paula Rose

It feels like it, to be honest!

Maybe we can both “let down our hair” soon, eh?

457. X_Sticks

I think they’re starting to get the message.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GT5yfQUtEFc

They can run, but they can’t hide.

Lots of very concerned faces in the unionist camp. Karma’s a besom, eh?

458. Thepnr

@Ian Brotherhood

Persuasive? I tried when I met him in the Yes bar and he still didn’t buy me a pint 🙁

@Taranaich

Here’s a wee song to pass on to yer mum. 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J09IeN-ONbk

459. Thepnr

I’ve just realised that I made a mistake with my choice of song 🙁 Nowadays this would be ridiculed and especially today.

Funny how it all seemed so normal 40 odd years ago when I first heard it. How depressing.

460. Paula Rose

QfA Honey, we are so lucky to have hair to let down xx.

461. Michael McCabe

Here is a wee song. I love the lyrics. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NZwGk5xmlq0&feature=player_detailpage

462. Thepnr

@Michael McCabe

Never heard it before, great stuff. Ta.

463. AuldA

@Natasha –

Thanks for your answers. Sorry I gave very bad grammar examples, I was so focused on the issue at hand (like/as) that I just forgot to check if the rest of the sentences did indeed make sense (besides, I was influenced by French ‘au bon vieux temps’ = ‘good old days’; sometimes I can’t keep one language to leak on the other one).

I agree ‘clothed in’ is archaic, but somehow it was the first verb that sprung to mind. What about ‘swaddled in’? 🙂

W/r to shoes, I own two pairs: one pair of leftfooted shoes, and one pair of rightfooted shoes. The problem is that they don’t have the same colour…

By the way, another grammar question. Do you say: ‘Is it you that have (done that)’ or ‘Is it you that has (done that)’?

Thanks so much for your patience and forbearance!

464. AuldA

@BtP (if he reads this) –

Did you make a snowman in your garden?

465. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi AuldA.

You typed,
    “Do you say: ‘Is it you that have (done that)’ or ‘Is it you that has (done that)’?”

I think most people would say, “Did you do that?” (mother to child for example) but an alternative, more along the lines of your original phrase would be, “Was it you who did that?”.
    Note repeating past tense, rather than a mix of tenses.

466. Brian Doonthetoon

Also, “that” is not used when speaking of people (Is it you that has (done that)’). “Who” or “whom” would be used for people; “that” would be used for objects, deeds, actions and so on.

467. Paula Rose

Can we get back to quantum physics – much more interesting.

468. Paula Rose

Or shoes.

469. Natasha

AuldA
    Bdtt is right, you should use ‘who’ rather than ‘that’, although colloquially people do use ‘that’ more often, eg, “Was it you that did that?”.

I would avoid the sentence structure you used altogether; I’m fairly sure it should be ‘have’ rather than ‘has’, but much easier just to find another way of saying it, a bit like looking for another parking space rather than having to reverse parallel park! Some people might call that cowardly; I prefer to think of it as discretion being the better part of valour. 🙂
    So I would simply say, “Did you do that?”

Paula Rose, is your middle name Imelda by any chance?

470. Paula Rose

Natasha sweetie, be very careful xx

471. Brian Doonthetoon

I’ve heard rumours that in Brechin, a certain Paula Rose is known, to those who frequent the “Sweaty Baits Saloon”, as “Jeanie Choo”…

472. Ian Brotherhood

According to the laws of Glaswegian grammar, ‘Did you do that?’ is rendered thus:

‘Whit’s your fucking game pal?’

473. Paula Rose

Words will be said at Inverwotsit.

474. Ian Brotherhood

@Natasha –

Nice one I like to use in workshops etc, especially for younger guys – few years ago, during an Old Firm match, there was a bit of a stramash before half-time, and some reporters said there had then been a punch-up in the tunnel. However, no-one had any footage of it, so the commentators and pundits (one of whom happened to be Murdo MacLeod) had to tread carefully.

The teams came back on the pitch, amidst strengthening rumours that there had indeed been some kind of fracas involving certain players, and that the referee had had to speak to both teams, thus explaining their slightly late emergence for the second half.

The presenter of the programme (this was on radio) said to Murdo MacLeod, (something like) ‘Well, Murdo, what do you make of this all this supposed shenanigans in the tunnel?’ and Murdo replied…

‘Well, put it this way Rob.I don’t think nothing’s not went on.’

That’s the type of thing which would present a nightmare for a non-Scot, but, strangely enough, it makes sense, doesn’t it?

Curious to hear what AuldA makes of that one!

475. Brian Doonthetoon

Hi Ian B.

‘Well, put it this way Rob.I don’t think nothing’s not went on.’

Your mention of the ‘stramash’ reminded me of the #1 classic phrase from Dundee’s ‘Evening Telegraph’.

Some sort of anti-social behaviour would be reported upon, usually resulting in an arrest or two, and, in the Tully, we would see,

“Blah, blah, rhubarb, rhubarb, and then A MELEE ENSUED.”

476. Brian Doonthetoon

Message for Ronnie Anderson – check your emails…

477. Ian Brotherhood

@Brian Doonthetoon –

Perhaps, one day, an honest, cringe-free Scottish journalist will be able to report…’and then there was a proper rammy’.

But, regarding the style you allude to, a wee ‘whereupon’ would slot in there nicely too…

‘…whereupon a melee ensued, much to the alarm of innocent bystanders. Several ladies had to be treated with vapours. Officers were rushed from the local Police station to take down everyone’s particulars, and did so in an orderly fashion. A report has been sent to the King of Scotland, Alistair Carmichael, who is expected to ignore it in due course.’

478. Natasha

Honestly. Next you’ll be shouting ‘Yer tea’s oot’ or ‘Pick a winder – ye’re leaving’. At least I know AuldA will appreciate my efforts.

479. Natasha

Sorry, that should have been ‘Pick a windae’.

480. Natasha

On a not unrelated matter, I seriously annoyed my husband last night. We happened to be driving through Kelvinside (don’t ask) and he said, “Now these are the really posh houses.” I replied, “Only for Glasgow, darling,” in my best received pronunciation and he nearly hit me. After a bit, to get his own back, he kept winding down the window and shouting “Help!” to passing motorists. We all got a fit of the giggles and I nearly crashed the car.

481. Ian Brotherhood

Hey all youse, yeah…get down…

…aye, okay, get back up again, stop acting it…

Nearing the midnight hour youse all – ow! – and a dozen or so more comments before we open a new page on this here mother – ooyabassye!!

Hing aboot wi us right here on WOSSUP-ALL-NIGHT, and eeeeease your sorry arse intae the new zone with the man. Here he is. Give it up…naw, seriously, gonny just give that right up, eh?

Carl Carlton, ‘She’s A Bad Mama Jama’

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6QIw1BQIvT4

482. Brian Doonthetoon

I’m guessing that hubby was your seatcover?

Otherwise, the sight of a driver shouting “HELP!” out of a car window, would (to quote another Tully staple line) ‘alarm the lieges’.

Oh, I see. It would be hard to crash the car if YOU were the seatcover, unless you were performing naughties on the driver.

I think it’s time for me to retire, and snuff out the blue touch paper.

Nighty night.

483. Natasha

Bdtt
    You, my friend, have a very dirty mind. I’ll have you know that I led a very sheltered childhood and was extremely well brought up. Not to mention that my sixteen year old daughter was also in the car at the time.

484. Thepnr

This a great look back at Glasgow in the past, 1963 to be exact. The video is great and the song perfect. The quality of the video though is poor but well worth watching.

Well, being of a certain age it is for me, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it too.

485. Ian Brotherhood

I’m sure I will, (seeing as it’s the year I was delivered into this living hell) whenever you get around to posting the link to it…

486. David

Looks like Thepnr has been censored by the army’s new 77th Brigade cybersoldiers!

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.