Late delivery

Posted on July 18, 2013 by

We blame the inefficient private-sector monopoly (ie me). But we think we’ve finally ironed out various technical and procedural hitches, and are finally ready to send out the special rewards for the most generous contributors to the excitingly successful fundraiser we ran back in, er, well, let’s call it “Spring”.

If that wasn’t you, don’t click below or you’ll only be sad.

wingslandbigshieldnews2athumb

Above is the special custom design for Hero- and Saviour-level donors. You can have any item you fancy from our shop range with said design on it. If you like you can also have it with an H or S added:

wingslandbigshieldnewh2athumb

For details of how to claim your reward and let us know which item you’d like, drop us a line via our Contact form with the subject line “REWARDS”. Please include the email address you donated with for verification purposes.

Sorry it took so long.

24 to “Late delivery”

1. scaredy cat

Just a quick question. Why isn’t the web address on any of the merchandise? 

2. Rev. Stuart Campbell

Because web addresses on t-shirts and stuff look tacky.

3. Robert Bryce

What was the criteria again? I made 4 separate contributions but not sure if I qualify for anything.

4. David Smith

Don’t you mean independent contributions, Robert? 😉

5. ianbeag

Rev,
    Have you included supporters who contributed by monthly direct debit?

6. Robert Bryce

Ahhh good one David 🙂

Yes these were independent contributions.

7. velofello

To repeat myself, I don’t want anything BUT when will will you and Chris Cairns get your act together over our wee lion and get some merchandise for sale? A picture paints a thousand words and oor wee lion says it for me.
    Keep up the good work Rev.

8. ianbrotherhood

For other non-Twitterers, I copied this from Rev’s feed:

Check out the size of David Cameron’s heid. He’s standing next to Murray, perhaps very slightly closer to the photographer, and his napper must be a good third again as big as Murray’s.

Does Murray have an unusually small head, or is Cameron’s huge? Is it an optical illusion? Has anyone here ever seen Cameron’s heid in real-life?
    twitpic.com/d3bi0b 

9. CameronB

@ ianbrotherhood
    Bigger isn’t always best, or so I have be told. 🙂

10. AlexMcI

@Ian brotherhood, looking at it I think that the technical terms for cranium sizes are Murray=pea heed. Cameron= baw heed. At least that is my west of Scotland understanding of odd shaped nappers. Maybe some better informed heed explorer on here could correct me if I have missed the proper description of heed classification.

11. ianbrotherhood

Perhaps we’ll never have a proper classification of heid sizes, all things being relative etc, but at least we know that Cameron’s is connected to his body by a neck made of solid brass.

Anyone see him on CH4 News tonight, being lightly grilled and tossed by Gary Gibbon? 

http://www.channel4.com/news/lynton-crosby-any-questions

IMO, Gibbon’s a classy interviewer, but his eyebrows and forehead-crumpling are classier still – that’s perhaps why he made sure he had two cameras – his facial responses when Cameron is delivering replies are more eloquent than Cameron’s verbal cartwheeling: ‘You’re a fucking liar, and I know you know I know it.’

12. Robert Bryce

I would class Cameron as a dick heed myself.

13. AlexMcI

Yep mate we Scots are pretty Champions League at reading facial expressions. We have a frightening ability to spot a wanker at 100 yards. This is illustrated beautifully in the chewin the fat sketch. Wank wank good guy wank.

14. Doug Daniel

Oh well, time to pack up our keyboards and just give up, folks. Never mind being ruled by a government we didn’t vote for, having policies imposed on us that were overwhelmingly rejected by Scottish MPs or the years of Scotland’s resources being stolen to pay for shiny things in London and Tory social engineering experiments.

SUBO SUPPORTS THE UNION!!!!

https://twitter.com/UK_Together/status/358016804746039298

How can we compete with that?

15. Stuart Black

<Careers off topic> I have posted this before at the tail end of some thread that was petering out, but I am still intrigued as to what happened to the campaign that rose without trace.

12th May: Gordon Brown will announce the launch of his United with Labour campaign.

13th May: Gordon Brown announces the launch of his United with Labour campaign.

14th May: Gordon Brown yesterday announced the launch of his United with Labour campaign.

Since? Well, not very much at all, or more accurately, nothing.

16. TP

I saw an article today on Sky news saying that the opposition in Russia were stamping banknotes to get their message out. Found it on RT
    http://rt.com/politics/money-make-protest-106

“  Russian blogger-cum-opposition leader Aleksey Navalny has called on his supporters to troll the authorities by stamping slogans on banknotes, suggesting that with due effort the medium could provide contact with each and every Russian citizen.

Navalny wrote in his blog that at first he considered political ads on the money little more than a joke – it seemed funny, but not very effective. However, after studying the statistics of banknote circulation he changed his mind.

With each bill changing hands from one to three times per day and with average lifespan from seven months to two years, a slogan stamped on a banknote will reach from 600 to 700 people on average, Navalny estimated.
    But even with only 200 people reading the slogan, 100stamped bills will have an average audience of 20,000. Thus, if a group of 5,000 people stamped 100 bills each in just a year, the move would create enough stamped money so that each Russian citizen will have got hold of at least one.
    Navalny illustrated his post with a picture of the money from his wallet – several 100-ruble notes with the slogan “United Russia is a party of crooks and thieves” stamped in blue ink on the white section. The slogan is Navalny’s personal creation, coined in early 2011.”

Now I wouldn’t advocate doing anything illegal such as defacing banknotes but perhaps it would be nice if we all had stamps with Aye! In the same font as the Yes logo possibly with 2014 underneath, similar to this.

http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?q=Aye+scotland&safe=active&hl=en&biw=1280&bih=855&tbm=isch&tbnid=bEZQZ2PlMI5uSM:&imgrefurl=http://ayescotland.co.uk/&docid=I1SQqIT7Hvco8M&imgurl=http://ayescotland.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/10/aye-300×148.png&w=300&h=148&ei=SbnoUcmZDrKl4APR9oHABQ&zoom=1&iact=rc&page=1&tbnh=118&tbnw=240&start=0&ndsp=19&ved=1t:429,r:1,s:0&tx=143&ty=44

Then we could all get out our monopoly boards and stamp our pretend money.
    Where does the law stands on defacing banknotes in Scotland? It seems that not even English notes are legal tender north of the border.
    http://www.scotbanks.org.uk/legal_position.php

17. Vronsky

Was out canvassing.  Lots of very firm ‘No’, zero ‘Yes’, about one in three ‘DK’.  Think I got landed with a street of Orangemen.  But DKs interested, intended to vote, and seemed likely to split towards ‘Yes’. 

Some ‘No’ voters clearly not strapped in at launch and likely to put their cross in the wrong place anyway – we should factor this in somehow, the Accidental Separatist Supporters (Asses).

18. scaredy cat.

@Stu
    Maybe so, I can’t see why myself, but it is free advertising for the website. It might send some curious people here. Unless you’re going for the secret society thing, of course.

19. Doug Daniel

Speaking of naff t-shirts with website addresses on them, I wore my band’s t-shirt (with our website address on it) when I went to the televised leaders debate at Aberdeen Uni before the 2007 Scottish Election. Figured I would try and get it on TV for some free advertising.

I failed miserably. Bloody BBC…

20. Bugger (the Panda)

Note for CameronB and Chick McGregor left in Quarantine section

21. Iain

@Doug Daniel
    ‘SUBO SUPPORTS THE UNION!!!!’

F***ing hell, Bettertogether (and Subo’s ‘management team’) really have the scruples of people traffickers and pimps.

‘She was briefly deprived of oxygen during a difficult birth resulting in a learning disability. Boyle says she was bullied as a child, and was nicknamed “Susie Simple” at school.’

‘In August 2010, British tabloid, News of the World, reported that Boyle was experiencing financial woes as she was unable to access her fortune, which was being controlled by her management team – consisting of Andy Stephens, Ossie Killkenny and Boyle’s lawyer and niece, Kirsty Foy. Boyle’s brother Gerry said that his sister was fearful of losing her contract and of returning to her previous financial situation and also that she has been unable to move into her £300,000 five-bedroom house in Blackburn because she does not have the cash to furnish it. He said “[Her] millions are ring-fenced but Susan has no concept of money” and that she was “extremely distressed” at having to live off £300 a week after being banned from withdrawing money from the bank or owning a credit card.’

http://tinyurl.com/djf6ht

22. Mosstrooper

Two things; the Scot’s word for head is heid not heed. As for stamping banknotes some of us were doing this back in the 60’s with the aid of a John Bull printing kit (oh the irony) I believe it is an illegal act to deface currency however it may only be that with Madge’s heid on it. Then again Hey! What ya gonna do eh?
    So, dig out your John Bull printing kit and get to it. (allegedly) 

23. Desimond

In an Independent Scotland, everyones heid will be wee’er.

24. Desimond

Who needs Scottish Oil? We have London Olympics!
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-23370270

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.