Winning back hearts and minds

Posted on November 12, 2014 by

Our favourite Scottish Labour activist and media starlet reacts to the news that the promises of a No vote saving the Clyde shipyards have turned out to be lies.

hothersallbae

Let’s just be clear – that’s unequivocal, unambiguous support for condemning the Govan shipyards to certain death, losing thousands of Scottish jobs, going back on promises just months old, so long as it might save the UK Treasury a few quid which the current government would probably spend on more tax cuts for billionaires.

Well, if that doesn’t save a party currently languishing on an average of about 24% in the Scottish opinion polls and help to win back the trust and support of Scottish voters, we simply don’t know what will. Solidarity, brothers and sisters.

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 12 11 14 22:59

Winning back hearts and minds | FreeScotland

2. 12 11 14 23:41

Winning back hearts and minds - Speymouth

152 to “Winning back hearts and minds”

1. Natasha

Obviously his soubriquet should be Hogsitall.

2. Twety14

Who is this Drunken Haversack ?

3. Croompenstein

Is he taking the piss ? Wasn’t he bleating about the Dutch railway deal..

4. Murray McCallum

Solidarity comrades.

I remember Scottish Labservatives orating their commonality with workers in Tyneside, Merseyside, Humberside, etc.

Just so long as they are not deemed expendable and/or unemployed – then they can f&^k right off!

5. Luigi

The Red Tory Apologist strikes again. What a creep.

6. mogabee

If that’s what Labour are saying publically, wonder how “radical” their private thoughts are.

‘Coz you know Mr Hotdogstall has his finger on the pulse…

7. Devorgilla

Well that’s pooling and sharing, I suppose. Fodder for the Treasury, Scotland as a resource for UK.

8. crantara

Sounds as if he’s been out in the sun too long without his pith helmet.Silly self deluded person.

9. AnneDon

Perhaps he’s forgotten the #indyref is over, and he doesn’t have to defend everything the Tories do any more?

Or is this the true face of the modern Labour Party, where placating the beancounters and Middle England matters more than the lives of Scottish workers?

10. Betsy

I don’t know why Labour don’t just re-brand themselves ‘Management’. Trading Standards ought to intervene.

I’ve been in a huff with Labour since witnessing first hand the last governments shameful and inhumane treatment of asylum seekers, in particular the Iraqi interpreters. I keep thinking they can’t get any worse but somehow they manage it.

11. Croompenstein

Listening and learning.. we need a conversation with the people of Scotland.. btw fuck you we bought your vote but we can build stuff cheaper abroad it’s called pooling and sharing you daft jocks get over yourselves and vote labour to stop the tories..

12. No no no...Yes

A right wing comment that you would expect from a Tory.
    Oh wait, he is a Tory, a red one.

Unbelievable, has panto season started already?

13. Geoff Huijer

What is it with all these online newspaper trolls that are now firmly hugged to the breast of the Labour Party, North British Branch.

The guy’s an arse.

14. Kenny

“Vote Labour to stop the Tories!”

Except that we ARE tories!

In fact, on NHS privatisation, benefit cuts, PFI and starting wars, we are actually to the RIGHT of the [blue] tories!

Tally ho!

15. Doug Daniel

He’s got to be trolling, surely? That’s a level of hypocrisy I didn’t think even Hotherlolz was capable of and it doesn’t make sense for such a tribal Labour apparatchik to be defending a Tory government.

Unless Labour fully intend to go along with it, of course, which should pretty much seal their fate in Glasgow. He wouldn’t say anything without knowing the official Labour stance, after all.

Either way, it’s nice of the contrary wee tosser to remind people of the kind of unprincipled arseholes that seem to dominate the Labour party now.

I wonder if any journalists will ask the Labour Scottish branch manager candidates what they think of it…?

16. Calum Craig

Wow, that’s a new low, even for character challenged Dunc…

17. gillie

Who are the guilty party here?

1. BAE

2. MOD

3. Labour

18. Scot Finlayson

What a horrible little man.

19. Nation Libre

But Duncan has more in common with shipyard workers in France than he does with BAE workers on the Clyde. Better Togerher. EU-OK

20. Cadogan Enright

Between the last 2 posts there must be the content for a door-to-door leaflet in affected constituencies, as well as a leaflet for workers going in an out of yards???

21. Democracy Reborn

And I thought Duncan was still arselickin his way to a safe Holyrood Labour seat. ‘Safe’ Labour seat? Oh wait….

22. Kevin Meina

Why doesn’t last one out of slab N Britian branch switch off the lights ,they are beyond reason they don’t even pretend to be a Labour Party anymore ,one would have thought a Tory had written this and not a red one

23. galamcennalath

No gutter deep enough for so called Scottish Labour, eh?

May 2015 RIP

24. kevin murray

I hope the people who voted no are happy with this news!….If they had voted yes then the Scottish government would be placing orders for ships for the Scottish navy which would have ensured the future of the Clyde!
    and one more thing, didn’t the wastemonster government say it did not have complex warships built outside of the UK?

25. Snootie_Paulo

A very short term cost-cutting exercise that will cost much more, not even in the long term, but in the near future.

Potentially thousands of jobs, as many as 11,000 all told, according to the gospel that is The NorthBritsman. What’s that in monetary terms, on the average wage, quarter of a billion a year? With chunks of that going straight back into the Treasury’s hipper and much of the rest being spent locally (and ultimately heading straight back into the Treasury’s hipper).

Naw, let’s save some cash and spend it in France. Or South Korea. Heck, North Korea’s fine, as long as we can save some cash this year and to hell with next year. And the year after. And the year after that.

And those colleges? Aye, the ones supporting the apprentices who are no longer required? Aye, well, because we no longer need the apprentices, we can cut funding for the colleges and even more jobs disappear.

And with the colleges, a route out of minimum wage misery also disappears for many people.

But, hey, the Blue Tories are in power, so it’s their fault right? We’ll be ably abetted by our fiends (ed’s note: did you mean ‘friends’?) at the Record in painting this as another Blue Tory cut.

Fire on though Red Tories, we definitely do need to look at the best options for public cash in Scotland and you’re helping us gather support for exactly that.

Come in Westminster, your time is up.

26. CRAIGthePICT

Disgusting.

27. Lesley-Anne

Back in the day I believe they would have called what is now happening to Scotland the Highland Clearances. Well unfortunately there is nothing much left of the Highlands so guess what folks they have started on the Central belt. We are now witnessing the Highland Clearances Mark II commonly called the Central clearances.

Now back in the day we used to have a political party called the Labour party, a party OF the people FOR the people BY the people. However, over time this *ahem* people’s party has become corrupted by the trough of huge expenses sitting in Westminster. This party is now the party OF the rich FOR the rich BY the rich!

Nice to see Mr whatshiteshall spilling the beans that it is only right and proper to look for value for money. Just a pity the Labour party has NEVER done that in its entire existence up till now so why would anyone believe this shite from him now, TWO aircraft carriers anyone?

I have to admit that I am pleased to see that Mr Shite fur brains believes his own shite. I mean before the referendum there he was pushing the idea that a YES vote would CLOSE the Clyde shipyards and here we are now only a few short weeks later the same shitebag promoting the idea of looking elsewhere for shipyards to build the new ships for the navy. Hmm in short he is getting all excited about seeing the Clyde shipyards being closed down NOW! What a two face gormless cowardly shitebag!

28. Ian Brotherhood

Huh? What?

Beyond chutzpah.

29. HandandShrimp

Is this an Andy Burnham style “joke” or is Duncan channeling Mrs Thatcher?

30. Lesley-Anne

gillie says:

Who are the guilty party here?

1. BAE

2. MOD

3. Labour

That’s any easy question to answer there Gillie … ALL THREE.

To be honest though I think you missed out the BLUE and YELLOW Tories as well as including the RED Tories in your question. 😉

31. Matt Seattle

It can easily be understood as a Tory plot to finish off Labour-in-Scotland who were too dim not to see it coming during the campaign – but why is DH joining in now?!?

32. Chiterinlicht

Wow
    You could not really make this stuff up

33. muttley79

@Doug Daniel

I wonder if any journalists will ask the Labour Scottish branch manager candidates what they think of it…?

No chance Doug. The MSM did not scrutinise anything coming out of the No campaign. Remember who covered the Taylor donation story? It was National Collective and Wings. The MSM would not have covered it if it was not for that. Same goes for dear old Kathy Wiley. If they did not bother about the No campaign, then they are hardly going to bother covering something that is harmful to their beloved SLAB. This comment by Hothersall will be swept under the carpet, with BBC Scotland leading the way. Imagine the reaction if somebody with an SNP connection had made the same remark? The MSM would be going hysterical. Remember the coverage Salmond’s quotes about Putin got during the referendum campaign? They were fairly run on the mill stuff.

34. ClanDonald

Duncan’s entire purpose in life is to defend the indefensible. No matter what the Tories/British State throws at Scotland Duncan now has to find a way of justifying it, otherwise he has to admit that we aren’t actually Better Together after all.

I feel sorry for him, it’s really sad that he is now spending his life justifying the anti-Scottish actions of the Tories.

35. pa_broon74

Hothersall is the Mister Fantastic of Scottish politics. He’ll bend and twist logic, reality and morality to meet what ever his agenda du jour happens to be.

He is Scottish Labour distilled in to one man.

36. CRAIGthePICT

On this day, with this news, Scotland 2014 runs with “Scotland is getting too much money”

The old Barnett nonsense yet again, without mentioning yet again that we give more than we get and the fact we subsidise the rest of UK.

Yet again, no mention of the billions skimmed off the top going straight into English infrastructure projects.

At least they had an SNP spokesperson but YET AGAIN this was a BBC news piece designed to put SNP on the defensive, and is also an old argument that’s been over reported and contained not one single piece of new information.

The BBC yet again have proven themselves to be ridiculous.

37. sinky

Mega expenses labour mp on sarah smith show losing hearts and minds on pooling and sharing barnett formula and allowed two bites at the cherry when impartial sarah restricted snp spokesperon to one sound bite

38. Dave Robb

o/t – wondering where Alistair Darling was? A pal spotted him with Alan Cochrane and David Mundell the other night at a Heriot bash. Better together still!

39. sinky

It was Labours ian murray and snp mark macdonald

40. Catherine

Are we joining a union with France? We’ll be even better together, more pooling and sharing and all that. Thanks Bothersall.

41. Training Day

The only people lower than Labour and their amoral, production line apparatchiks are the amoral, production line apparatchiks of the ‘Scottish’ MSM who, as Muttley points out above, will en bloc sweep Labour’s duplicity under the carpet.

42. metooyou

Just hear some wee Labour man on the telly talking to John Smith’s lassie.
    “Scotland does very well out of the Barnett formula as we are such a deprived country”

Because of him and his party and Westminster and all those nasty no-ers.
    Give me strength!!!!

43. H

Until the sky turns green
    And the grass is several shades of blue
    Every member of parliament trips on glue
    The Stone Roses – (Song for My) Sugar Spun Sister

44. Claire McNab

The latest IPSOS/Mori poll is further grim news for ScotLab. It should be viewed with caution because the Scottish sample size is only 97.

You’ll need to view the separate data tables (http://bit.ly/1BaNliG) to see the Scottish figures, but the results confirm other polls in the last few weeks which have shown high SNP support:

SNP – 57%
    Labour – 18%
    Conservative – 10%
    LibDem – 3%

45. Grouse Beater

The only guarantee of voting No was Scotland would be humiliated and then impoverished to keep it docile.

Those who heard the warning and still voted No don’t care. After all, they see the cat-o-nine tails as not for them.

46. Chris

His account must have been hacked, surely?

47. James Caithness

The woman for Indy spokeswoman and the ex-tory adviser Andy Maciver both spoke well and agreed that what Nicola Sturgeon had said powers to call a referendum should be devolved to the Scottish Gov.

I was impressed with both people but more so with MacIver, a unionist and tory actually talking sense.

48. Charles Edward

“Mayday..Mayday!..Need ..Best ..Value .. For public CASH..”

The abbreviated text speak of his tweet is like the last message sent with trembling fingers as the lone survivor on starship Labour hurtles out of control into the heart of the sun ( or the Record, whatever).

Surely this is a job for Jim Murphy, the 54, 000GBP man..
    Get those crates in the boot of the motor and get yerself down to London and shout at some random people, try and save face a wee bit. They love all that northern soul, chest beating shirt sleeves rolled up stuff.
    Could be a good photo opp with the poppies at the Tower? Dave and Sam looked great on the news. She had a lovely coat on.

I’m quite sure the unionised shipyards in France will build just as good boats there as they do on Clydeside. Workers united, and guaranteed to come in on budget, or there abouts, ahem.

49. Deontas

Duncan is so self indulged he is the only person on the planet that takes him(self) seriously just read some of the online drivel he posts, attention seeking nobody, lets move onto indy in the next few years folks……

50. Clootie

Scottish jobs and Scottish budgets are only protected by political leverage. The threat of a referendum or the delivery of 40 SNP seats in a Westminster, without a clear majority party, will maintain that focus.

Labour (Scottish Branch) is a myth designed to fool voters once again.

Sustained pressure is needed and the May GE is the perfect gift to make Westminster accept that change has taken place forever in Scotland.

Let’s maintain the drive for a fairer nation.

51. Grouse Beater

I had a brief dream last night. Darling was killed in a car crash. Had weirder dreams – always in colour.

(An acquaintance died last week; plus there was a bad accident the other day where three died; the Vote still uppermost, my mind jumbling events to make sense of them.)

I was arguing with a group of No voters outside the Lyceum Theatre, frustrated they refused to accept or understand the repercussions of their act, when one piped up to tell me I should be more respectful of the dead.

“Who?” I asked. Another of the group said, “You should be ashamed of yourself – Darling was a great man.”

I sneered and bit back, “Well, bury him in BBC Pacific Quay – the studio vault, it’s his private mausoleum.”

Then everything altered to night and in the same street I was looking for my own car in the rain …

Premonition or too much chocolate?

52. Ian Brotherhood

Posted this on previous thread, but am doing so again because it deserves watching by way of compare/contrast with the behaviour of what now passes for a ‘Labour’ movement in Scotland.

Duncan Butterball is a fucking shameless disgrace – not fit to tie the shoelaces of any one of the workers who feature in this short STV piece commemorating the 40th anniversary of the UCS ‘work-in’.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDcJ_FJzI7I

53. Carol Douglas

Convinced he’s black op.s ………..

54. Dave McEwan Hill

It is entirely practical for the SNP to go to election in 2016 on the manifesto platform that the Scottish Parliament will assume all the powers of an independent state.
    It is a legitimate, democratically elected, national parliament whose restrictions are essentially voluntary
    Such a course of action is completely democratic and we have no need to ask anybody else’s permission to decide how we govern ourselves.
    The inalienable right of self determination is a central tenet of the United Nations Charter.

To suggest this is not possible is to suggest that a wife cannot sue for divorce without her husband’s permission

55. Doug Daniel

There’s not a chance that the wee prick is veering off a Labour script actually. Apart from being the editor of Labour Hame and being the chair of the Edinburgh South constituency Labour party, I just noticed he’s also on the executive committee of the Scottish Fabians. There’s no way he’d do anything to spoil his attempts to get himself immersed in the Labour party in his quest to become an elected politician.

He’s even got the obligatory union membership (with Community, one of the few unions that has actually backed Jim Murphy and Kezia Dugdale…)

So yeah, don’t expect Labour to be fighting against this.

56. Kenny

Duncan’s twitter feed reads like a seven year old. I cannot believe a grown man would write such rubbish, whittering on about being on a bus.

Once again, Craig Murray shows great astuteness in his latest blog post:

“One thing I do not rule out at all is a unionist Con/Lab coalition in Westminster after the next general election. There are almost no real policy differences between them, and if coalition becomes the swiftest way to satisfy personal ambition for power and money on both sides (the only thing that drives both parties), I so not think it is in the least improbable. We have seen Lab/Con coalitions against the SNP in Dundee and Stirling Councils, and they were extremely happy together during the referendum campaign.”

If they think the whole red/blue facade is no longer fooling the electorate, I am convinced they will evoke the image of “national” governments during the war, calling the surge of anti-establishmentism and anti-corruptionism in Scotland a “worry rise in nationialism, which will end in gas chambers, Dunkirk, Singapore” and we must come together for all hard-working British families……

57. Capella

While we’re on the subject of multinational corporations and NATO destroying the ecomomies of countries with natural resources they want to control and forcing austerity measures to scoop up valuable public assets at knock down prices:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=waEYQ46gH08
    “The Weight of Chains” A documentary on Yugoslavia’s demise courtesy NATO and “the West”. A totally opposite history to one our MSM fed us daily for years. RT featured it in October.

58. Papadox

HMRN can build their ships anywhere they want, Scotland will get our share of the programme.

We will be allowed to store all their dangerous ordinance, alongside all their other nasties. Gee thanks your majesty. We’re honoured.

Who is the proud NO Scot behind Jola and Magrit in the photo on the previous thread. Is he a French shipyard worker, he looks very happy.

59. Kirsty

Seriously?! I can’t even articulate what low-life, self-serving shites these people are. Can we please start keeping a tally of all these stories – we’ve got to be up to at least 50 “We’ll all be doomed if you vote Yes” lies that have been debunked now?

60. muttley79

@Dave McEwan Hill

We will only get another one other chance at winning an independence referendum. It has to be timed so as we can be as sure as possible of a Yes victory. This means polls showing support for independence regularly at 60 per cent or over imo.

61. terry

@ Grouse Beater says:
    12 November, 2014 at 11:09 pm
    The only guarantee of voting No was Scotland would be humiliated and then impoverished to keep it docile.

Those who heard the warning and still voted No don’t care. After all, they see the cat-o-nine tails as not for them.

I totally agree – well said.

62. BrianW

@ Twety14 9:58pm

Drunken Haversack.. hahahahah love it.

First thing that came to my mind when i read his tweet by a twit, started in C and ended in T..

Can’t get the pic of him tweeting himself posting Postal Vote for No out of head now.. ARGH.. I’ll not sleep..

63. Gordon Innes

How long before some one inside Labour figures out that if they sell the rights to use the Labour name in Scotland right now they might still make something before Jim Murphy’s final car crash?

Perhaps the Labour plan is to broaden internal democracy by inadvertently ensuring that all their voters will be members and therfore entitled to vote for their Party Leader/Branch Manager.

64. Aspen

OT. News from the “Centre of the Universe”, the Northern Line extention is to go ahead at a cost of £1bn, and Lumley’s Garden Bridge, backed by Boris is a step nearer getting planning permission at a cost of £159m.

65. Scott Egner

Win-win for Tories. Lose-lose for red Tories.

66. Fat boab

Cadogan Enright says:
    12 November, 2014 at 11:06 pm
    [link to marketing website]

Eh .. . personal opinion but, although I like the idea of a Scottish passport, and even, if push comes to shove, a wee holder for said passport, this to me is maybe just bordering on the ‘naff’ side?

Cadogan, do you know who these folk are? Their website doesn’t tell you anything about them. For example, how much of their profits go to the indy cause? Or, are they just in it for the dosh? Just asking like …

Apologies to the good people at scottishpassports.com if I’ve got them wrong.

67. hetty

Testing

Always knew they would start the destruction of Scotalnd before Xmas, we ain’t seen nothingSw yet though. Sent this to a friend who voted no because she wanted to, “give the UK another chance” I kid you not.

How sad for those who will be left with no job and few prospects and who will have to endure the barbaric treatment at hands of the DWP, no free degrees for them with cosy retirements, unlike my no voting friend.

68. Devorgilla

Grousebeater… I think your dream was symbolic? Darling ‘killed’ in a car crash? That would be Labour’s ‘car crash’ post-indy, their collpase in the polls, and his standing down in 2015. Not literally, but politically he has effectively been killed off in Labour’s car crash.

69. msean

A no vote was meant to secure those contracts,and since everything happens at snails pace in Westminster government,did anyone know this was being considered pre indyref vote?

If the government lets foreign governments pay for,build and operate nuclear power stations in the uk,(even guaranteeing future prices I think)building a warship abroad is nothing. This is what you are getting no voters. They could have been getting ready to build a navy right now.

70. Clootie

What has happened to NewsnetScotland?
    The articles are poor and lack any relation to current political events.

Has someone “neutered” them? I can see their viator numbers plunge if they maintain this level of insipid reporting.

71. hetty

Grouse beater
    be careful…your dream sounds quite night terrorish!

72. Edulis

Ah yes! Duncan Rottenstall. He is the essence of sycophancy. He reminds of that other labour no-mark in Stonehaven that keeps popping up in phone ins to the BBC, Kevin whatisname. What a twosome to have on your side!

73. Grizzle McPuss

And that folks is the voice from beneath the belly of a snake.

Hotharsehole, a legend in his own underpants.

74. Democracy Reborn

What a difference 24 hours makes….

Katy Clark, Scotland Tonight, 11/11/14:-

“it could be Scotland that lets us down”

Katy Clark, Labour Hame, 12/11/14:-

“We need to face up to the reality that it is not the Scottish people who have walked away from Scottish Labour, but Scottish Labour who have walked away from them.” In the same piece, she states that the referendum shows the Scottish people have repudiated New Labour & the neo-liberalism of “successive UK & Scottish governments”. Quite a damning critique of 13 years of Blair/Brown. She suggests a council house building program, changes to employment law to “guarantee” better wages & job security, and investment in “high quality” public services (do we all want low-quality?). Laudable aims, I concede. But still pretty vacuous. Nothing about how this can all be achieved when the major macro-economic levers remain at WM and we remain trapped in an austerity straitjacket whilst receiving our Barnett pocket money.

But for Katy one of the most important things is that Scottish Labour can “demonstrate we can change”. Sounds a bit like Johann Mark 2…

75. hetty

Clootie
    I see your point, I popped over to NNS just now. The article today is very interesting however, the arts in Scotland are a big earner and we need to invest in local talent. I was told by a friend last year, whos partner worked in organising some arts events for the Commonwealth games, that she was away looking for artists in places like NZ, when I enquired why not Scotland he said they thought that Scottish art was “too parochial”. Disgraceful quite frankly.

76. Ken MacColl

Is this clown worth the attention he gets?
    Any astute politico knows that the Unionists habitually lie to achieve their aims and the Labour party are deeply mired into that process.

77. Jenni

I was blissfully unaware of precisely who Duncan Hothersall was, so I googled him and got an interesting result.

“Some results may have been removed under data protection law in Europe.”

So I went onto Bing.com and found lots more search results! Notably this one from Logic’s Rock last year praising our very own Wings for ‘fisking’ Mr Hothersall.

http://logicsrock.blogspot.co.uk/2013/09/wings-waffle-about-lgbt-issues.html

Wonder what else DH was trying to hide when he exercised his ‘right to be forgotten’…?

78. Macart

I don’t recall any caveats to either Labour’s or HMG’s pledge to the shipyard workers and the Scottish electorate.

Still, the whole better together thing should start any day now eh?

79. Devorgilla

OT (or maybe not?) but there’s a new online layout of the Guardian which completely misses out Scotland. It is really appalling. All just home counties news. Very light weight. There is a survey monkey where you can tell them what you think.

80. James123

@Clootie

You notice they changed to nns.scot from .com weeks ago but no one has bothered to change the banner, what’s with the big blank space in the middle of the homepage, titles with ‘By’ underneath then no name. It looks like absolute shit nowadays, like they’ve given up.

81. Valerie

O/T but cheering, interview with the outgoing FM, and he mentions Angry Salmond!!!

https://www.holyrood.com/articles/inside-track/salmonds-leap-interview-fm

82. Ian Brotherhood

Here’s Hothersall in action, a couple of days prior to the vote.

Magnificent!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5k9g9Nwvw0

83. Marga

Hetty, it goes deeper – e.g. the National Gallery doesn’t (or didn`t) keep the Scottish Colourists on show, they’re in the basement and only come out on loan or to illustrate thematic exhibitions. In Catalonia where I live, this movement would have a place of pride. But in Scotland it seems big European works are crucial – for gallery prestige?

On another note, wasn’t the SNP criticised by people like Riddoch for not being brave and tackling the Scottish establishment? Is this arts hijack not just another aspect of establishment cringe? Interested to hear feedback.

84. Charles Edward

“Give UK another chance”

This could be a Christmas charity single by beleaguered no people imploring us all to climb on the sinking ship of Better Together and haul up the ripped sails.
    The proceeds are going to soon to be redundant workers. Elvis Costello is desecrated as ‘is it worth it’ gets sampled over looped beats. The immortal Jackie Bird working a Nicki Minaj style rap in the breaks. Some military drums blending into acid jazz pipers overlayed with ladies choir harmonising “Every time you don’t eat up yer cereal a unicorn dies”. And bells and chimes cause we want a hit.

I’m sure I saw the silhouette of Jackie looking out over the water from the BBC in Glasgow on Saturday night. If you squinted things seemed upside down, the water was still, like a millpond. Just the way The BBC wants it.

85. Ian Brotherhood

And here’s another one where you can get new, different, interesting angles of Duncan’s ‘Noel Edmonds’ beard, with the added bonus of being able to get glimpses up Kate Higgins’ nose (where Rev Stu can often be found):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzr4Cbpjp7c

86. Doug Daniel

Wow, those videos are quite something. He’s really not very good on camera, is he? His intro for the BBC video in particular was laughable – just boilerplate UKOK platitudes and slogans, except delivered in a manner less convincing than James Kelly MSP (whereas James Kelly the blogger’s intro was clearly heartfelt, and therefore seemed much more convincing.)

87. thoughtsofascot

According to the Torygraph, the Tories have backtracked for now to stop the SNP using this to point out that they are all a bunch lying thieves.

I’m sure this will crop up again in the near future though, probably the day after the general election.

88. thoughtsofascot

*bunch of

89. Onwards

@James123 says:

You notice they changed to nns.scot from .com weeks ago but no one has bothered to change the banner, what’s with the big blank space in the middle of the homepage, titles with ‘By’ underneath then no name..

Yeah, it could do with a redesign to look a bit more professional. Some of the content is good, but it looks pretty bland in comparison with the new Scottish Statesman site for example.

90. Ken500

Unemployment Portsmouth 3%

Unemployment Govan 15%

The shipyards could be building supply boats frigates, liners. Norway builds 100 ships a year. There could be a Navy based at Faslane, not useless nuclear weapons.

The Price of the Union £10Billion. The rest of the UK raises less in taxes and borrows an
    spends (pro rata) £10Billion more on the Private sector. Scotland has to repay the Defict/debt.

Scottland should be 10% wealthier ends up 20% poorer. The price of the Union £20Billion.
    Illegal wars, Trident/redundant weapons, tax evasion, inequality of wealth, starving people to death at home and abroad causing migration in Europe. The sinking Union. When will some people waken up.

Unionist politician free by 2016
    Vote SNP/Alliance 7/5/15

Indepence by 2020

91. INDEPENDENT

Whoah There!!!!
    I can smell s**te!

Scotland’s New SAVIOUR newly to be Lord Spud, arrives at the last moment to turn the Blue Tory government’s policy round.
    He makes the announcement in the Clyde Shipyard of how the Red Tory’s were the only ones who could have achieved this.
    Finishes with APPEAL that vote Red SLAB, to beat the Blue Tory’s in May 2015.

AARGH!!!

92. Ken500

The cost is spread over a number of years, and is only Scottish taxpayers money back. Scotland contributes £3Billion+ a year to cost of Defence.

93. Mealer

It’s years since the referendum campaign started and almost two months since the vote,yet still we don’t have a decent,comprehensive,Indy leaning daily newspaper online.I really hope Scottish Evening News will run a top notch online news site in conjunction with their broadcast service.Bella,NNS and Scottish Statesman offer a daily article but it is commentary,rather than news.I am well aware of the effort being put into these sites and of the help they have been,but things need to move forward quickly.

94. robertknight

If the orders go elsewhere, it’ll simply be a means of punishing Scotland’s largest city for having voted Yes.

If, however, the orders stay on the Clyde, it’ll act as a reminder to the plebs to keep tugging their forelocks in the direction of the almighty and benevolent Westminster.

95. Bunter

The blustering Burnham has been deployed on all channels this morning to shore up the desperate and failing Odd Miliband.

Apparently its all the fault of the nasty media who have an agenda lol. Who would have thunk it!

Particularly liked him squirming on GMB when ranting about Miliband standing up against vested interests and him being on the side of the poor and disadvantaged. When asked by interviewer what action Miliband took about the 60 Lab MP’s employing folk on zero hours, his answer was, er um well dunno but if Odd said he would take action on this, well er um he must have done. The question was repeated as to specifics and the answer was the same.

A sick and dying lying party.

96. thomas

I am left almost without words.
    ……But not quite.

In normal circumstances , the red tories will be punished severely and apologists like hothersall will be left greeting his crocodile tears.

Cant help feeling that once the brit nat media machine kicks into gear the nation that rejected its own nationhood will once again vote for these utter scumbags.

hope I am totally wrong.

97. Martin

If it wasn’t condemning our people to poverty and foodbanks this post no meltdown would be really rather funny.

98. Dave Lewis

I can see the next Labour Headlines for the general electon in May vote Scottish Labour to save the Glasgow Shipyards and scottish jobs

99. Bob Sinclair

ANOTHER LETTER TO ONE OF MY EMPLOYEES
    (Let’s just call this a final warning)

A wee communication to my employee Tom Harris MP.

Tom,

You will recall, during the referendum campaign, that it was stated that Ship building jobs were at risk in the event of a YES vote. The justification given was that the UK would not have ships built abroad. This was a position supported by the ‘Scottish’ Labour Party and by extension supported by yourself. After all, when your colleague and esteemed irn bru crate balancer ‘Jim Murphy’ expressed this position at his ‘100 towns 100 lies’ tour of Scotland I don’t recall you stepping in to correct him on this point and you were only about 3 feet away from him at the time.

Imagine my surprise then when hearing the news that the MOD is considering outsourcing the construction of Type 23 frigates abroad, in total contradiction of the stance that the UK would never contract this work outside the UK. ‘But’, I said to my self, ‘this can’t be true, Jim Murphy in all his glory looked down from on high and told us this wouldn’t happen’.

One of the ‘North British Branch Office Labour Party’s most prominent Activists Duncan Hothersall has stated that these contracts should be sent abroad if it saves money.

This leaves me to conclude that either:

1. You and your colleagues were mislead by the UK Government. If this is the case then you and your colleagues are quite clearly unfit for purpose as you would appear to be easily conned.

2. You were actively colluding with the UK Government to lie to the Scottish people. If this is the case (and I strongly suspect that it is) then you and your colleagues are quite clearly unfit for purpose as you have been caught lying to the people of Scotland.

On hearing the above news it has become clear that the Labour Party’s total betrayal of the people of Scotland is complete, I hope you think it was worth it.

I and I’m sure the rest of the population of Scotland would welcome a detailed explanation of your Party’s position on this in order that we can make a reasoned judgement as to whether we can ever believe anything you say again.

The ball is in your court and this time as is my right I expect a civilised non-condescending response from my employee, namely you.

100. Arabs for Independence

Margaret Curran on GMS trying to say that the SNP idea of raising the national minimum wage to the living wage is bad and it will create a ‘race to the bottom’.

However the Labour idea of raising the NMW will free everyone from poverty – clueless, simply clueless.

101. Arabs for Independence

Would Duncan Hothersall be concerned about a race to the bottom?

Just asking.

102. manandboy

ARE SCOTS ROBOTS WHOSE MEMORIES CAN BE DELETED?

It’s almost as if when the Telly is switched on, 2 million Scots have their memories wiped clean.
    Then, no matter the lie that is told by Unionists on the screen, it is believed as if the gospel truth.

How else to explain the UK Gov lying to Scotland for FORTY YEARS ABOUT NORTH SEA OIL & GAS, 40 years of constant lying, but in the Referendum Darling and Brown are believed by 2 MILLION voters – as if their memories had been deleted.

This is the same Darling & Brown who presided over the biggest financial banking robbery in history in 2007/2008 and which is still continuing today.

The self same Darling & Brown who are among the most hard nosed professional liars the world has ever seen.

BUT, let them appear on TV with a new lie and 2 million Scots believe them – and vote NO. The biggest mistake in Scottish history.

103. Another Union Dividend

metooyou says @ 10.56

Yes that was Duncan Hothersall’s Edinburgh South Labour MP Ian Murray who I am sure said that Scotland got a higher Barnett contribution than elsewhere due to Scotland’s “Depravity and Geography” but refused to acknowledge that over the years Scotland has made a net contribution to HM Treasury ion London.

Notice BBC graphics did not show Scotland’s contribution to London.

104. manandboy

Let’s face it, almost the entire political structure is built on the foundations of public gullibility,
    defined as:-

‘Gullibility is a failure of social intelligence
    in which a person is easily tricked or manipulated
    into an ill-advised course of action.’
    (Wiki)

Can anyone, anywhere, say that the above is NOT what happened in IndyRef.

(Gullibility is closely related to credulity,
    which is the tendency to believe unlikely propositions
    that are unsupported by evidence.’)

105. Author_Al

OT…It seems the treasury will be gaining from the latest big bank shenanigans. Can Scotland demand its share is spent in Scotland? http://www.theguardian.com/business/2014/nov/12/treasury-osborne-bank-fines-fca-foreign-currency-markets

106. Fat boab

@Bob Sinclair says:
    13 November, 2014 at 8:17 am
    ANOTHER LETTER TO ONE OF MY EMPLOYEES

Great letter, Bob. Brilliantly put!

107. INDEPENDENT

O/T Pure dead brilliant from Wee Ginger Dug

” Jim Murphy has a vision for Scotland’s future, it’s a picture of him towering about his tiny little minions – the MURPHOIDS.

(Murphoids are small and narrow minded things that cling to Labour like haemorrhoids, only bloodless and drained of anything red.”)

A BELTER!!

I suppose the SLAB meetings in East Renfrew will be held in the room above the pub.

The Bunch “o” Grapes!!!!!!!!!!!!

108. No no no...Yes

Arabs for Independence 8:22am

Margaret Curran GMS interview

I didn’t hear it, but she is a poisonous women who is only interested in the UK and saving her career, and has no interest in what is best for Scotland. I don’t know how many listeners GMS now has post referendum, but if any of them believes what she said about the minimum wage being a race to the bottom, they should be referred to a specialist to get their head examined. If anything, it would be a race to the top, with Holyrood and WM in competition to pay the best wages rate. Win, Win for poor paid employees.
    What does she mean by “the bottom” anyway. The bottom of what??!!!

109. manandboy

GORDON MATHESON ANNOUNCEMENT.

Gordon Matheson epitomizes everything that is wrong with Labour in Scotland. Incompetent, lacking sound judgement, staunch unionist, filled with hate for SNP, Independence, and Scot.Gov., consumate liar, utterly corrupt and self-serving. And that’s just for starters.

The details of the announcement of a change in GCC CEO is a gloss on Scotland’s most obstructive Labour controlled Council. And while the new CEO is highly qualified, be in no doubt if she wasn’t already part of the Labour Machine, she wouldn’t have got the job. The saying ‘ Birds of a feather flock together’ was never more true than in the case of the Labour party.

(www.holyrood.com/articles/news/new-chief-executive-glasgow-city-council)

Glasgow City Council has appointed a new chief executive to replace George Black, who retires next month.

Annemarie O’Donnell, who has been the council’s executive director of corporate services since 2011, was chosen for the role last week.

Councillor Gordon Matheson, leader of Glasgow City Council, said: “The quality of candidates was exceptionally high but Annemarie brings a wealth of experience, passion and vision to the role and was the unanimous choice of the interview panel.

I am in no doubt that Annemarie is the best possible choice to lead our dedicated and talented staff through the next chapter in our city’s long and proud history.”

110. BrianW

However this pans out, we have yet again seen that it will always be as Prof Trevor Davies pointed out.

Labour First
    Scotland Second (further down on Duncan’s list I feel)

(I saw the link to it the other day – sure it was on wings twitter, but could be wrong – http://www.labourhame.com/labour-first-scottish-second/ )

I still can’t fathom why it hasn’t sunk in that the determination to save face at every opportunity just makes them all look bigger c**ts at every step..

Just keep on digging is all I can say.. I’ll be there to dance on the grave of the Scottish Branch of UK Labour.

111. Dorothy Devine

I look forward to outrage being expressed and difficult questions being asked by the Scottish media .

Surely it deserves headline rage emblazoned across the entire media?
    Surely the Record will be fulminating at this betrayal?

I expect it to be a top story on both STV and BBBC Scotland , however that would mean displacing a report of some ancient she said , he said murder trial from top spot when we only really need to know the verdict.

I noticed that when they didn’t have a wee trial to bore us with they imported Oscar – seems one can fill news space with any old thing these days as long as you don’t have to report what is actually happening or any good news for the SNP or bad news for the Lib/Lab/Con party.

My contempt for the media of Scotland knows no bounds – it matches my contempt for Westminster troughers and some.

112. Jim Thomson

@Arabs for Indy & @No no no…Yes

I heard that abysmal interview. She gabbled her way through it hoping we wouldn’t be able to extract any intelligence. And, you know what, she was right.

What a waste of skin that woman is. What a total waste of air time (think about the electricity used to broadcast it!)

I’ve tried a couple of times to access the segment on the BBC iPlayer but, it seems, the BBC are having “server problems”. I’l try a few more times and post a link if I succeed in getting there.

113. Jim Thomson

Here’s the link to the GMS interview with Margaret Curran. Her diatribe starts at 2h 9m 35s into the programme.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b04nrnkj

114. manandboy

Margaret Curran started out as a sour puss and now after 40 years of simmering bile she has become an unbearable sour puss.
    I’m sure that description is inadequate, but it’s the best I can do.

115. gillie

Which is quote of the week.

1. Duncan Hothersall’s above (basically “fu#k Govan”), or

2. Margaret Curran’s objection to devolving powers over the minimum wage and putting up in Scotland as “a race to the bottom”.

Both are belters.

116. Balaaargh

RE: This Hothersall bloke

I don’t know why you’re giving this guy any attention. He’s a nothing, a nobody. Without an official public role he is an irrelevance. Any muppet with an internet connection can say anything they like these days (and they usually do) but that doesn’t mean that they have anything of consequence to say.

We all knew the jobs in the shipyards weren’t safe but not enough people listened. This is just another thing we have to remind them of for the next 6 months.

117. Valerie

Smith Commission sub committee televised just now on parliament channel meeting 3rd sector.

118. desimond

Labour, now always looking to tomorrow, as too ashamed to remember who they are today or what they promised yesterday.

Could this be a cute leak to try and derail SNP support once again.

2 scenarios beckon

1: Decision delayed so the Unionist parties can blame Nationalist leanings for job threats and try to play the shame game to win votes. Jobs still lost eventually.Scot Media demand answers from Nicola Sturgeon. Ian Davidson goes to the Lords.

2: Jobs lost. Scots Govt get the blame in Scottish Media with Jim and Kezia recounting those empty promises about “Oh mind how we would have saved those jobs for sure..honest we would have” while Ian Davidson goes to the Lords.

119. fred blogger

tellingly, he tries to provide spin and justification, instead of correction and facts.
    he hovers around the proposition that uk politics is ok, that we should trust uk politics to work in our best interests, and not to do so implies that we have trust issues or have missed the point.
    ie it’s our fault for not trusting them.
    he distracts from the fact that to say what they did say demonstrates their utter incompetence, as @ the time they should have conveyed ALL possibilities.

120. One_Scot

The ironic reality is, Scotland wants and needs Independence more now than it has ever done, and it took having a referendum to make Scotland realise this.

121. Nana Smith

Are we really the ‘adoring masses’?
    I would not class myself as being adoring of the snp however my loathing fro the other parties knows no bounds.

Settle into your chairs for a long read…..

https://www.opendemocracy.net/ourkingdom/gerry-hassan/what-kind-of-scotland-do-nicola-sturgeon-and-snp-want

122. wingman 2020

@Arabs for indy?

Hilarious. Naughty but very very funny.

123. HandandShrimp

I see Hunt (I said Hunt) is saying that the English NHS must make £10b in efficiency savings.

Not that there is a funding crisis in the NHS according Broon from the Lang Toun.

124. think again

“Surely the Record will be fulminating at this betrayal”?

@ Dorothy 9.27

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/record-view-top-brass-still-4619220

Online comment, they play it down but, I like the last sentence – “It doesn’t feel that way, does it”?

Perhaps Murray Foote is feeling the heat.

125. liz

Just seen this on twitter, Steve bell of the guardian is a racist arse.

BTW people archive!!

https://archive.today/10gmZ

126. Chic McGregor

In the perpetual SLAB parlour game of ‘pass the neuron’, Mr Hothersall has either spoken whilst the music is still playing or failed to check whether he was in possession of it first.

127. think again

O/T It seems the Crown Prosecution Service has said no criminal offence occurred as a result of an effigy of Alex Salmond being blown up

BBC Scotland Live, sorry can`t post link.

128. gerry parker

@ think again.
    Dammit, I clicked before looking and ended up on the Daily Record site.

Wish I knew how to use Archive to avoid giving them site traffic.

129. chalks

Gerry Hassan can fk off

130. Oneironaut

@Kirsty
    “we’ve got to be up to at least 50 “We’ll all be doomed if you vote Yes” lies that have been debunked now?”

Have you got a list of them?
    Think I might start keeping track of them myself, just so I can rub them in the face of the next No voter who tells me they’re still proud of what they did.
    (That way I might be able to hold myself back from repeatedly punching the lowlife!)

131. Jack Murphy

Jim Thomson @9:39 am—why,oh why did you inflict that Margaret Curran GMS interview on me?
    I was quietly getting on with my studies and Margaret C [Labour MP Glasgow East constituency] has unsettled me for the rest of the day—-twittering on about minimum wage etc IN A RICH COUNTRY!
    Hot air,from an MP in denial of the great possibilities for her constituents and the rest of Scotland as an independent country—with FULL CONTROL.
    GMS should have switched off,and saved a few tons of Greenhouse Gases during the Curran piece.

132. Blind Squirrel

Who is to blame and what is the significance of this? The ‘No’ brigade “writing cheques their bodies can’t cash” maybe? But for me Westminster is 100% to blame as their inept business sense strikes again. It is clear they have talked about a ‘done deal’ prior to signing it off and their contractor now is squeezing more money out of them. Surely they should have closed this deal prior to the referendum promises with a Yes get out clause if that’s what they wanted. This inability to think things through is not new. Remember the Grocer’s daughter who sold everything without restocking the shop. Yet they still bleat about the great rebate she got for the fishing rights which would have generated more income than the rebate had she kept them. When will ‘city’ business gurus attack them for this ineptitude? Never. Because they are creaming it in and the poor and powerless are left to worry about their jobs and pick up the tab.

133. think again

“Wish I knew how to use Archive to avoid giving them site traffic”.

@Gerry Parker

Can someone please explain this to me as I felt guilty posting a link to the paper whose name must not be said, damn, I`ve just given a plug to JKR now. Don`t buy it and don`t want to give them the traffic, but feel the need to know what they are saying.

134. Stoker

gerry parker says:
    13 November, 2014 at 11:28 am
    @ think again.
    Dammit, I clicked before looking and ended up on the Daily Record site.
    Wish I knew how to use Archive to avoid giving them site traffic.

(1)-Copy the URL of the article you want to show/archive.

(2)-Then transfer it onto the red section in this link.
    http://archive.today/

(3)-Then click on the “submit url” part.

(4)-Now wait till it loads…..and BINGO…..there you have it.

(5)-Now copy the URL of the archived page and transfer it to
    the post you are compiling.

Simples, job done.

It might be a good idea to bookmark and save the archive link for any future use.

135. Bill McLean

Just left a comment on that Gerry Hassan article. Don’t know where he is these days! Get over there and get tore in!

136. liz

Easy to use archive, click on the link you want to post, copy the url at the top, open archive

http://archive.today/

paste link, then wait till copied, copy archive at the top and post as normal.

Sometimes newspapers can block but most seem OK.

137. liz

@Stoker, ditto!!

138. Jim Thomson

@Jack Murphy 11:48am

Grovelling apologies for not prefacing the entry with a health warning.

Lesson Learned. Our NHS in Scotland can’t afford for me to increase their mental health patient numbers inadvertently (avoided spilt-infinitive to keep @Natasha happy 😛 )

139. gerry parker

@ Stoker and Liz.

Many thanks for that.

140. think again

Stoker and Liz

Thanks, you can teach an old dog new tricks.

141. Stoker

think again says:
    13 November, 2014 at 11:28 am
    O/T It seems the Crown Prosecution Service has said no criminal offence occurred as a result of an effigy of Alex Salmond being blown up
    BBC Scotland Live, sorry can`t post link.

(a)-Did you REALLY expect anything else?

(b)-In this filthy stinking rich country we call Scotland
    there are children going hungry, Unionists are destroying
    the very future prosperity of our country right before our
    very eyes and London’s weapons of mass destruction are being
    stored on our soil against the wishes of the majority.
    Yet you seemed to be concerned about a load of inbreds burning
    some balsa wood models?

C’mon my friend, i know there are issues such as symbolism,
    antagonism and anything else we might want to throw in there,
    but in the grander scheme of things i think your valuable time
    and efforts would be better focused on some of the real issues.

Don’t give these inbreds the publicity they crave.

Your time on this earth is far too short and valuable to be
    wasted on such trivial matters.

btw, i’ve posted some “archive” help for you. Hope it helps.

142. crazycat

Last time I tried to archive something from the DR, it didn’t work because there is a wee quiz that comes up before you can get into the article.

The same is true of a number of local papers.

Is there a way round this? I tried answering the quiz and then archiving, but the quiz was reinstated when I tested it.

143. TYRAN

Look at his happy grinning face in the photo whilst you read the words!

144. r baxter

Race to the bottom. scweekie erse to scweekie leather

145. liz

@crazycat – yeah sometimes the DR works and other times it doesn’t.

https://archive.today/NIQ8F

146. Davy

Does anyone expect anything else fa Dunny hotherstall, a red tory to the core and total backstabber regarding Scotland.

He will be reading this saying to himself no publicity is bad publicity.

147. Paul McCabe

Said like a true Red Tory.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.