Two Spaces

Posted on October 10, 2024 by

Everyone even remotely connected to Scottish politics has known for months that the below is the case. It’s an open secret.

But what’s playing out right now is something much bigger than the fate of one or two or three individuals. It’s the entire future of the credibility of Scotland’s justice system.

Like Robin McAlpine (who wrote the piece this week that’s from), Wings is acutely aware of the pitfalls of commenting on a live investigation, so let us be crystal clear from the beginning: nothing in this article makes any assertions or implications as to the possible guilt or innocence of any of the persons named in it.

Peter Murrell has already been charged and awaits his day in court. Nicola Sturgeon and Colin Beattie have been arrested but not charged and remain under investigation. What we’re about to say largely applies to both of the latter two, but Sturgeon is the more pertinent example of what we’re going to say, so we’ll use her as our illustration.

Because one of two things must be the case: either Nicola Sturgeon is guilty of some criminal wrongdoing or she isn’t. And in EITHER case, after so much time has passed, the only place the matter could be properly and finally determined is in a courtroom.

Commentators have noted that if she’s guilty, obviously she must be held accountable, but that if she’s innocent then she also deserves the right to have that fact established beyond reasonable doubt by a judge and jury, and not to be plagued by innuendo and suspicion for the rest of her life.

Police Scotland arrested Sturgeon and questioned her for nine hours. The house she shares/shared with Murrell was cordoned off, surrounded by a blue incident tent and searched for days in front of a media circus. Their personal possessions were taken away in clear plastic boxes as the world watched.

The SNP’s head office was also extensively searched, with large amounts of evidence removed by vanloads of burly officers.

And again, we must emphasise that that proves nothing. But it would seem patently absurd if after all that hoo-ha, after actually arresting someone who’d been the leader of the nation just weeks before, and after years of ongoing investigation and feverish speculation, the Crown Office And Procurator Fiscal Service turned round and went “Y’know, we don’t think this even needs to be resolved in public view. Let’s just forget it all happened and get on with our lives”.

Murrell and Sturgeon were husband and wife, they shared a home, and one of them was leader of the SNP while the other was the party’s CEO. Those facts tell us nothing about the guilt or innocence of either – both could be guilty, neither could be guilty, or either one could be guilty alone – but it has been reasonably posited that the public would be bewildered if one was to be put on trial while the other wasn’t, given that the alleged offence is embezzlement from the party they led and ran together.

The fact that one of them was also the First Minister (coupled with the well-rehearsed arguments about the dual role of Scotland’s chief prosecutor, the Lord Advocate) would be likely, as been noted by those far more learned than this site, to risk an unhealthy degree of public cynicism – whether well-founded or not – about whether the law was being applied equally to the rich and powerful in the same way as the rest of us.

And without public confidence in the judicial system, you don’t have much of a country. So why not just get on with it?

Well, we know that even if we assume its integrity to be above question, competence is another matter altogether. COPFS is a dysfunctional shambles in general, which operates at glacial pace and has been haemorrhaging tens of millions of pounds of public money (over and above the costs of its normal function) for years while bringing the justice system into regular disrepute.

But however long COPFS’s litany of catastrophic failures gets, nothing changes, because – as Wings readers have been long aware – the body is accountable and answerable to no-one, and doubly so in this particular case.

Social media is alive with all manner of conspiracy theories from all sides regarding the inordinate amount of time Branchform is taking and the likelihood of the various parties ever seeing the inside of a courtroom, but if you talk to sober, sensible people in the worlds of politics, law or law enforcement there isn’t actually much difference in what they’re saying on the subject.

And all of them agree with Robin McAlpine’s assessment of events with regard to the numerous strategic leaks of information about the case.

The matter is beyond a joke. Uncertainty and opacity is poisoning Scottish public life, and the people’s confidence in their country. Peter Murrell, Nicola Sturgeon and Colin Beattie must not be condemned to live the remainder of their days as Schrodinger’s Suspects, in a dual limbo where they’re neither convicted nor properly cleared.

It is not enough for justice to be done. It must be SEEN to be done.

Subscribe
Notify of

43 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
desimond

Hang it out for another 2 years and then leave it for Anas and Jacqui to file away under “Let Sleeping dogs lie”

Frank Waring

…..as Peter Cook said about the neighbouring jurisdiction’s ‘Justice’, “…..it must be seen to be believed.”

Dave G

It’s a tad surprising that Robin McAlpine (of all people) seems to think the Crown Prosecution Service has anything to do with Branchform. The jurisdiction of the CPS stops at the English border.

I. Despair

I enjoy Robin McAlpine’s blog but my god he needs someone to proofread his stuff before publication. Even people, like journalists, who write for a living had sub-editors to check their copy for facts/accuracy, grammar, style and typos. But that was in the olden days and no-one has money for such luxuries now.

Michael Laing

He could even try proof-reading them himself. I don’t know why any writer who wants to be taken seriously would leave themselves open to ridicule by neglecting to correct glaring spelling and grammatical errors. I too find them irritating and distracting.

Garrion

Praps those (or that) to whom COPFS is accountable are akin to the invisible hand of Adams, the interests are clear, but the accountability isn’t. Worth saying that if this shambles were to have taken place down South, there would have been pelters.

Apologies if it’s a bit tinfoil hatty, but I believe this speaks to your point that no INDEPENDENT country can run without a trustworthy, transparent and credible legal system.

Zander Tait

In my old fashioned way, I believe that the role of the Police and the COPFS is to uphold the law.

It seems clear, in this instance, that the COPFS is not upholding the law. Quite the opposite in fact.

The CEO of the COPFS, appointed in December 2023, is John Logue. He seems an honourable individual.

I wonder why he is suddenly functionally paralysed?

Tommy

What I am interested in – not really in this case, but in general – is the “constitutional” aspect.

What I have never been able to get my head around is this: how can a country (Scotland) have a separate (“national”) legal system… yet not have a *sovereign* (= independent) parliament in tandem with this? The Holyrood parliament is not sovereign, meaning 100% independent of Westminster. It is not the same as the Scottish parliament which existed before 1707.

Can you have a legal system without a parliament?

Andy Anderson

The legal system is separate but the politicians cow tow to the English constitution. I feel our senior judges may do also. And yet it was our laws and Court of Session that stopped Boris perogeing the English parliament.
The law is part of the Crown. This includes all departments of State. The monarch is not the crown in Scotland but is an equal with the people regarding sovereignty. We do not have a monarch in Scotland since 1714 but we have the Scottish Crown. This means the law here is separate as it is within the Crown (the establishment). You do not need a 100% sovereign parliament here to have Scots law but it would be ideal if we did. For over 200 years before the treaty of Union in 1707 the people in what was known as the Convention of the Estates told the parliament its priorities. Laterly this CofS ran Scotland without a parliament from 1678 to 1703.

panda paws

Scots law’s independence was guaranteed in the Treaty of Union and Acts, as indeed was the Church of Scotland. They have broken the Treaty/Acts of Union many times but they have steered clear of messing with the lawyers or the kirk – thus far!

Mia

how can a country (Scotland) have a separate (“national”) legal system… yet not have a *sovereign* (= independent) parliament in tandem with this?”

Excellent question.

The way I see it, Scotland can have a separate legal system but this legal system is condemned to disappear because it cannot grow. Without a parliament that creates Scottish laws, this body of law cannot grow unless it adopts the laws created by the parliament of a different country, under a different crown.

For as long as those sitting in Holyrood insist in swear allegiance to a foreign crown and insist in continue to abide by the Scotland Act, Holyrood is not and will never become Scotland’s parliament. It is just a branch office from Westminster.

Westminster and its mini-me do not create “Scottish” law. What they create is “UK” law, which is other name for English law. Holyrood is therefore another back door through which a foreign crown is infest the body of Scottish law with English law.

The best demonstration we have had so far that Holyrood is not Scotland’s parliament was the way it was undermined by that unelected representative of the foreign crown parachuted into the Scottish “government” cabinet: the lord Advocate.

This unelected figure, by stalling the entry of that bill into Holyrood, effectively stole from the people of Scotland the power to control the legislative body.

Then, instead of bringing the matter to a crown in Scotland that would resource to Scottish constitutional law, she actually send it to a court in England ruled by English law.

So not only this unelected and undemocratic figure temporarily stole from the people of Scotland the control of the legislative body, she actually handed it to a foreign crown within a foreign court.

Why did she do that? That is easy. Because that figure of “Lord Advocate” is a gatekeeper for the foreign crown. When there is a unionist majority in Holyrood, there is no need for this unelected figure to be activated. But in the presence of a pro-independence majority, which could have comfortably passed that law, the only way to stop that bill becoming law without exposing the political bias of the monarch was by preventing its entry to be debated to parliament.

We saw the exact same when the previous Lord Advocate used every tool at his disposal to trash the Keatings case.

I question until what point the Scottish courts can lawfully refer to those “new” laws created by Westminster mini-me in Scotland and the English court called “Supreme Court” when dealing with constitutional matters affecting only Scotland as a nation, as that independence bill was.

I have also wondered if the real reason for that embarrassment to her profession Lord Advocate, chose to bring the matter of the referendum bill to an English court with English judges may have been because that would be the only way the foreign crown representatives in the form of judges could apply their favourite English law tool-for-all “parliamentary sovereignty”, which does not apply to Scotland.

Hatey McHateface

For as long as those sitting in Holyrood insist in swear allegiance to a foreign crown and insist in continue to abide by the Scotland Act, Holyrood is not and will never become Scotland’s parliament.

Fair enough I guess, but then the solution is bleedin obvious.

We need a cadre of Scots who don’t intend to swear allegiance blah blah and won’t continue to abide blah blah.

Then they stand for election, telling the voters that’s what they will be doing, and then they get voted into HR to run Scotland’s parliament.

It’s not exactly rocket science.

Of course, a solid majority of Scottish voters need to agree with your interpretation, Mia, so maybe I’ve put my finger on the sand in the rocket propellant right there.

DougMcGregor

Part of what Holyrood was set up to do as Westminster had to legislate Scotland separately and there was never enough time.

Ian McCubbin

Well it’s been a while since Murrells were changed and Lord Advocate saying nothing.
The people of Scotland deserve some clarity either take the pair to court for a trial or decide there is no case to answer.
The latter seems highly unlikely so the only reason for no movement forwards has to be Westminster intervention.
But I might be wrong, ( pensive thought).

Effijy

I think it speaks volumes that those mentioned below are not bellowing out demands for this to go to court and bring the speculation to an end.

I also see that the Police and COPFS are meddling in politics where they have no right to be.

Truth and Justice seem to be of no consequence to these people.

Monica Worley

“she also deserves the right to have that fact established beyond reasonable doubt by a judge and jury, and not to be plagued by innuendo and suspicion for the rest of her life.”

Too bad this wasn’t given to Alex Salmond by Sturgeon, eh?

Anthem

Let’s be honest, her language could be seen as incitement to Salmond supporters. She knew exactly what she was doing.
Another criminal touch to add to her list.

Graham Fordyce

It’s rather embarrassing that we have to embarrass the authorities but hey ho.

Stuart MacKay

I suppose every item taken away by the Police won’t returned until the case is closed, one way or another. Storage for all those pairs of shoes must be costing the country a small fortune.

George Ferguson

A fair amount of FOI activity on Branchform. Costs over 1.3 million. 20 staff assigned to investigation. (15 police officers of varying rank and 5 support staff) . Needs a conclusion for those concerned.

Dan

Aye George,
It’s basically yet another protracted grift the taxpayer pays for.
If it were possible it would save a lot of time and costs if we jist locked them all in a room and got Begbie on the case… “Some monies appear to have gone awol and nae cunt leaves here till we find oot what cunt did it”

Out of interest George, did you see my response to you somewhere on last thread re. Energy and BESS? I have a feeling some posts may be getting missed due to new comment system.

@ Rev Stu I guess you think I’m a right pain in the ass, but can you see posts that get kicked to spam and reinstate them?
I multi-edited a post which initiated it getting classed as spam in Things Happen Slowly comments. The post took a bit of time to compose with technical details and also linked back to another post which questioned the way so much in Scotland seems to be being deliberately compromised, it even mentioned the machinations with the legal side of things and the Rangers prosecution.
If it’s gone then so be it and I’ll find time to put something else together at some point.

George Ferguson

@Dan O/T I did reply to you but… Think of BESS as embedded generation. Similar to pumping Stations with thyristor control and milli seconds grid connection. The technology is been driven by commercial reasons such as Arbitrage. Anyway Stu could be risking his liberty with the above post the way things are in Scotland. Discuss some other time.

Jason Smoothpiece

Amazing indeed how the Pol/COPS teams in the Salmond fit up, sorry prosecution, could get the whole thing done vert efficiently but in this case there are definitely delays.

I have my own thoughts on why there are delays but as far as the accused and the public are concerned this is unfair and possibly unlawful delay .

ross

Why shouldnt a case be dropped if the arrested individual doesn’t have evidence against them? Why would it need to go to court in that case?

You’re much less blemished by the protection not taking you to court than winning in court.

Hatey McHateface

They even contrived to get the wrong man for the Lockerbie bombing.

With hindsight, the rot started there, so nothing since should come as too much of a surprise.

Republicofscotland

The South African’s did it – to kill Brent Carlsson – Carlsson was Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations and UN Commissioner for Namibia from July 1987 until he died on Pan Am Flight 103 which exploded on 21 December 1988 over Lockerbie

Hatey McHateface

No mince for me, thanks. I’ve already had ma tea.

Seriously though, have you really been peddling this pish since 1988?

That’s 36 years!

Mia

Is it known which figure within the crown office is stalling this prosecution?

Is it that dodgy figure of “crown agent”, which does not appear to have a like per like counterpart in England, who is sticking its finger in the pie again?

James Jones

England must surely be to blame for this somehow, eh?
None of this would have happened in an independent Scotland.
Etc.

Mia

What are you trying so desperately to deflect attention from?

The fact the figure of “crown agent” is dodgy?

The fact that not such figure exists in England, which points to Scotland being governed as a colony?

The fact that a foreign crown appears to be manipulating the Scotland’s PS?

Or that there might be a possibility that this crown controlling the prosecution service in Scotland might have a vested interest in prosecuting some people but not others?

Robert Hughes

But it didn’t happen in an independent Scotland : it happened in a Scotland subject to continuous * interference * in it’s affairs from our overbearing , self-assumed ” superior ” . You may be indifferent to Scotland becoming an independent nation ( again ) – I reckon the majority of English people are the same .Be assured – the Brit State/Establishment are not similarly indifferent. The task of the lavishly-funded U.K Security Services is ” to protect the integrity of the United Kingdom ” ; ” integrity ” in this instance meaning ” keeping together ” . Where do you think they would draw the line in order to preserve this ” integrity ” , banning Scotland from cricket competitions ?

These legal cases can be considered ” homegrown ” and no-one here is trying to exonerate the actions of those involved in them ; it’s how it’s now being ” processed ” that adds layers of complexity .

Just why is it taking so long ; what conflicting interests could be chafing ?

How can maximum advantage be gained by the Brit State and maximum damage inflicted on the cause of Scottish Independence ?

Republicofscotland

The Sturgeon appointed LA keeping stum – apparently she’s recused herself.

“Scotland’s top law officer has blanked questions on why the investigation into SNP finances has taken so long.
Dorothy Bain, the Lord Advocate, remained tight-lipped when quizzed by reporters in the Scottish Parliament today.”

” Chief Constable Jo Farrell said earlier this month the force hadn’t heard back and “was still awaiting direction from the COPFS.”

Mia

apparently she’s recused herself”

I wonder if she also “recused herself” from her big fat salary, or she only recused herself from doing her job.

I also wonder what conflict of interest she can possibly have in the matter to justify having to recuse herself.

Mark Beggan

This is Grand Corruption. Whatever scraps they throw us now will not be enough and won’t make any difference.

Young Lochinvar

That’s news to me!
So the sleekit Breathy One has recused herself..

Suppose she can now add “coward” to her CV next to “incompetent”..

She needs to go.

Republicofscotland

Dozens of hurricanes around the globe every year – and the UK media is obsessed with reporting on the American one named Milton – if I see another news report on it, I think I’ll switch my telly off – seriously does anyone in Scotland really care about a hurricane in Yankee land.

Number of hurricanes worldwide 1990-2023 | Statista

Callum
  1. You can be subject to false allegations that lead you to being charged and prosecuted
  2. That you are considered to be guilty until proven innocent
  3. When proven innocent you are still guilty
  4. You will always be considered guilty even if you successfully sued for malicious prosecution.

This is the Scotland we are living in.

handclapping

It used to be that the law had a year and a day to bring a case to court. We probably need to go back to that and I think Holyrood has the power to do it

Ian

From what has been seen in public so far since 2014, the level of redactions, refusal to provide documents and lack of consequences for updating statements! (no perjury law acting as a balance), means that any investigation so far has been for show.

They say that it wasn’t what was done at Watergate that brought Nixon down, but the attempted coverup. But that’s only if those in power are forced to face the facts and suffer the consequences.

link to millercenter.org

Martin

It’s will all just fizzle out

Young Lochinvar

This year is the 750th anniversary of the birth of Robert the Bruce, 600th anniversary of the death of Hussite Jan Zizka: both their countries indomitable heroes who stood against all the odds, won and saved their countries liberties.

Next year will be the 720th anniversary of the state sponsored murder of William Wallace; the ultimate patriot.

Oh for the likes of them again, because look at the complete shower of nobodies we have now..

robertkknight

Crime doesn’t pay, except in Scotland, where Crime Obviously Pays For Some.

Stats: 6,654 Posts, 1,198,536 Comments

• robertkknight on Two Spaces: “Crime doesn’t pay, except in Scotland, where Crime Obviously Pays For Some.Oct 10, 20:37
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Spaces: “This year is the 750th anniversary of the birth of Robert the Bruce, 600th anniversary of the death of Hussite…Oct 10, 20:33
    • Mia on Two Spaces: ““apparently she’s recused herself” I wonder if she also “recused herself” from her big fat salary, or she only recused…Oct 10, 20:28
    • Martin on Two Spaces: “It’s will all just fizzle outOct 10, 20:26
    • Ian on Two Spaces: “From what has been seen in public so far since 2014, the level of redactions, refusal to provide documents and…Oct 10, 20:25
    • handclapping on Two Spaces: “It used to be that the law had a year and a day to bring a case to court. We…Oct 10, 20:11
    • Callum on Two Spaces: “You can be subject to false allegations that lead you to being charged and prosecutedThat you are considered to be…Oct 10, 20:10
    • Republicofscotland on Two Spaces: “Dozens of hurricanes around the globe every year – and the UK media is obsessed with reporting on the American…Oct 10, 20:08
    • Robert Hughes on Two Spaces: “But it didn’t happen in an independent Scotland : it happened in a Scotland subject to continuous * interference *…Oct 10, 20:08
    • Mia on Two Spaces: “What are you trying so desperately to deflect attention from? The fact the figure of “crown agent” is dodgy? The…Oct 10, 19:55
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Spaces: “For as long as those sitting in Holyrood insist in swear allegiance to a foreign crown and insist in continue…Oct 10, 19:47
    • Ian McCubbin on Two Spaces: “Well it’s been a while since Murrells were changed and Lord Advocate saying nothing. The people of Scotland deserve some…Oct 10, 19:38
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Spaces: “No mince for me, thanks. I’ve already had ma tea. Seriously though, have you really been peddling this pish since…Oct 10, 19:35
    • Young Lochinvar on Two Spaces: “That’s news to me! So the sleekit Breathy One has recused herself.. Suppose she can now add “coward” to her…Oct 10, 19:26
    • Mark Beggan on Two Spaces: “This is Grand Corruption. Whatever scraps they throw us now will not be enough and won’t make any difference.Oct 10, 19:12
    • Michael Laing on Two Spaces: “He could even try proof-reading them himself. I don’t know why any writer who wants to be taken seriously would…Oct 10, 19:12
    • DougMcGregor on Two Spaces: “Part of what Holyrood was set up to do as Westminster had to legislate Scotland separately and there was never…Oct 10, 19:11
    • James Jones on Two Spaces: “England must surely be to blame for this somehow, eh? None of this would have happened in an independent Scotland.…Oct 10, 19:07
    • Mia on Two Spaces: ““how can a country (Scotland) have a separate (“national”) legal system… yet not have a *sovereign* (= independent) parliament in…Oct 10, 18:50
    • Republicofscotland on Two Spaces: “The Sturgeon appointed LA keeping stum – apparently she’s recused herself. “Scotland’s top law officer has blanked questions on why the…Oct 10, 18:46
    • Republicofscotland on Two Spaces: “The South African’s did it – to kill Brent Carlsson – Carlsson was Assistant Secretary-General of the United Nations and UN Commissioner…Oct 10, 18:34
    • George Ferguson on Two Spaces: “@Dan O/T I did reply to you but… Think of BESS as embedded generation. Similar to pumping Stations with thyristor…Oct 10, 18:33
    • Mia on Two Spaces: “Is it known which figure within the crown office is stalling this prosecution? Is it that dodgy figure of “crown…Oct 10, 18:20
    • panda paws on Two Spaces: “Scots law’s independence was guaranteed in the Treaty of Union and Acts, as indeed was the Church of Scotland. They…Oct 10, 18:05
    • Hatey McHateface on Two Spaces: “They even contrived to get the wrong man for the Lockerbie bombing. With hindsight, the rot started there, so nothing…Oct 10, 17:53
    • Dan on Two Spaces: “Aye George, It’s basically yet another protracted grift the taxpayer pays for. If it were possible it would save a…Oct 10, 17:44
    • ross on Two Spaces: “Why shouldnt a case be dropped if the arrested individual doesn’t have evidence against them? Why would it need to…Oct 10, 17:04
    • Anthem on Two Spaces: “Let’s be honest, her language could be seen as incitement to Salmond supporters. She knew exactly what she was doing.…Oct 10, 17:02
    • I. Despair on Two Spaces: “I enjoy Robin McAlpine’s blog but my god he needs someone to proofread his stuff before publication. Even people, like…Oct 10, 17:02
    • Jason Smoothpiece on Two Spaces: “Amazing indeed how the Pol/COPS teams in the Salmond fit up, sorry prosecution, could get the whole thing done vert…Oct 10, 17:00

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()