The Saturday cartoon

Posted on January 17, 2015 by

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

1. 17 01 15 13:37

The Saturday cartoon | Politics Scotland | Sco...

2. 17 01 15 13:42

The Saturday cartoon - Speymouth

105 to “The Saturday cartoon”

1. Capella says:

Oh well done! Did you draw that yourself Stu? Very funny.

2. chossy says:

Ha ha lovely stuff.

3. Croompenstein says:

Come back Chris 🙂

4. IcySpark says:

I am very impressed with your use of 3D perspective on the bed.

5. Imp posing.

6. Nana Smith says:

Hoping that nurse is going to administer a large dose of reality to Murphy.

Bend over Jim!

7. MajorBloodnok says:

The likeness is uncanny…

8. TJenny says:

Hello, I’m nurse Kevin Godley and I prescribe 10cc of everything. 😉

Good effort Stu, hope you enjoy the footie.

9. Bugger (the Panda) says:

Hurry back Chris, please.

10. Croompenstein says:

Must admit though you have got Nurse Murphy’s nose spot on Stu 😀

11. mogabee says:

Who needs Chris Cairns?……We do!

Nurses no longer wear hats. Just sayin’..;D

12. MajorBloodnok says:

Hat? I thought it was a lampshade.

13. mogabee says:

I think your patient is dead….sorry!

14. Aidan says:

haha

Nurse Murphy.

(Just as well Derek & Clive are non PC these days)

15. TJenny says:

Lovin’ the bonus version featuring Hamish who looks suspiciously like the little lion you get on eggs – soooo appropriate for eggman Smurphy. 😉

16. Nana Smith says:

Oh dear must get my eyes tested.

When is Chris back from his hols?

17. AuldA says:

Pffff… Frankly, look at all those bullying brats!

Stu’, rest assured this is fine Neandertal art. You’ve just missed the right timeframe by some tens of thousands of years. Nothing much of a stooshie.

Errr… Otherwise you can maybe have a try at abstract art? Look at Yves Klein, for example. He sold solid blue paintings for a heap of dosh. I’m sure you could even do better.

Have a great weekend! 😉

18. cearc says:

Uhhm, best stick to the day job (words)!

PS. When you do this year’s fund raiser, how about adding in a sum to pay Chris?

Although, it might encourage him to have more holidays in the sun which would be a distinct downside.

19. Rev. Stuart Campbell says:

We do (modestly) pay Chris. As you can see, it’s money well spent 🙂

20. Lanarkist says:

Don’t give up the day job, oh…

21. BrianW says:

It’s easy to mock when none of us could do the cartoons that Chris does (everyone’s a critic eh)….BUT

OMDG.. It’s like Father Ted when they let Dougal do a Funeral on his own..

Carnage. lol.

22. Croompenstein says:

Does the patient have 8 Yes badges?

23. The Man in the Jar says:

Have to agree with the Major. The likeness is uncanny. I thought it was a photograph at first. 🙂

24. KennyG says:

It’s hard to find the right words to adequately describe the shitness of this drawing. It’s so shit it’s actually funny.

Now I’m left with an image of Jim Murphy, wearing a dress, doing a little dance whilst rubbing cream over his body. Thanks Rev!

25. Natasha says:

I’d love to say my five year olds could do better than that, but it wouldn’t be true.

26. Valerie says:

It’s clear that is a bedpan on Nurse Ratchets head. I think the deid body is a metaphor for SLab.

Good effort.

27. handclapping says:

Julian Opie will be after you! Copyright infringement, passing off!

And to think I’ve criticised Chris /* slaps forehead */ Dont know where to start so I’ll keep it short – Rubbish!

28. Lanarkist says:

They do say a picture speaks a thousand words only in this case you have come up a little short!

29. Vronsky says:

Tasmina Ahmed-Tory has failed to win the nomination in Falkirk. Seems it wasn’t worth all the PR damage of blocking Craig Murray. Karma.

link to tinyurl.com

30. Art Brute 33!

31. red sunset says:

Nae wonder the patient looks like they’ve given up the ghost when they see that coming

32. Shrigley move over!

33. heedtracker says:

Nurse Murphy sounds terrifying, “you’re far too small, poor, stupid to heal yourself, so wait for Doctor England to save your sorry hide” plus expenses, on the UKOK union, which Nurse Murphy is now against, the maniac.

34. HandandShrimp says:

He appears to be carrying a chanty on his head…multi tasking, is there no end to his talents?

35. Dr Jim says:

Wasn’t there some famous guy who did quite well out of drawing like this, can’t quite remember his name, it’ll come to me…

36. Findlay Farquaharson says:

at last, someone as crap at drawing as me, so pleasing

37. Robert Peffers says:

@Rev Stu.cartoon

Seems you and I share the same artistic talents, (or lack thereof). We each see the hilarious situation as a cartoon in a wee mental picture inside our heads but neither can draw for toffee. Narrative pictures are the way to go and I’m a dab hand at both still and video camera work with the art of editing either a proverbial piece of cake.

Ask me to draw anything other than engineering, “Technical Drawing”, and you might as well ask me to fly by flapping my arms.

38. Macart says:

Lowry eat yer heart oot. 🙂

39. Proud Cybernat says:

Murphy is a 1000cc narissistic bloviator.

40. Clootie says:

It must be Murphy on the bed – look at the neck!

41. wingman 2020 says:

Je suis infirmière Murphy

42. msean says:

Top drawing there. 🙂

43. Marie clark says:

Oh Rev, as rubbish at drawing as I am, how comforting. I was always told that when I drew a figure it” always looks like a spud wi hair oan.” How appropriate in this context.

Well done, at least you’ve given it a go.

44. MoJo says:

More please….this cartoon works at many levels – not least the extended commentary…. still laughing ….

45. Joemcg says:

I see the no voting football team of Scotland re enacted the battle of George square last night. Total scum. Sorry folks but I think this referendum chapter will only end in violence.

46. Robert Peffers says:

Matchstick men and matchstick cats & dogs.

47. Alexandra-M- says:

Chris better get back from his holiday sharpish, before his artistic services are no longer required!

48. manandboy says:

Is this the start of assisted suicide – oops, too late, damn!

49. manandboy says:

While Chris is on hols, Stu, why not give Jack Vettriano a call? He won’t be as good as Chris, but he might be alright.

50. Chic McGregor says:

I did one of Blair after his corrective treatment for a heart issue 10 years ago.

link to dropbox.com

51. west_lothian_questioner says:

Methinks it’s too late for the poor sod on the bed…

52. galamcennalath says:

Well done. A good cartoon delivers a message, and this does just that.

Oh, and that will be a tin foil hat Murphy has on. He’s need it.

53. X_Sticks says:

cynicalHighlander says:

“Imp posing.”

I’d say Imp poster.

Definitely not Chris Cairns.

Could’t you have got Chris to leave something for you Rev? 😀

54. Valerie says:

@ Chic, love that cartoon. That Op needs to be on the NHS, compulsory for politicians

55. caledonia says:

What does a Jim Murphy use for birth control?

His personality

56. Midgehunter says:

I was rather startled at first by the intricate brush strokes and the passion with which the artist approached his subject …

Where does Scotland hide this wealth of talent? 😉

57. Maid_in_Scotland says:

That poor soul’s got a bad dose of Rigor Murphis cos he knows he’s about to get 1000cc of Syrup of Figs.

58. Clarinda says:

It can’t possibly be Nurse Murphy – all Registered Nurses have to successfully complete their university studies?

59. Clootie says:

Clarinda says:
    17 January, 2015 at 4:23 pm

ouch! 😀

60. ronnie anderson says:

Rev, you,ll be sorry you geid that wain felt tip pens they,ll be nae stoping them noo.

61. ronnie anderson says:

1000 matchstick nurses they,ll awe be Swan ing aboot dain nothing.

dey ah hiv tae git ma coat oan, oh yous ur cruel.

62. heedtracker says:

link to wingsoverscotland.com You forgot Nurse Murphy’s halo Rev. So that’s a formal protest to WoS, teamGB mediaBBC currently force feeding the Scots they think they can con in May with their all new vote St Murphy for independence Scotland and so should you. If its good enough for likes of sneering hypocrites at the progressive liberal Graun etc…

63. Lollysmum says:

Rev
    I know you said in one of your answers on Ask FM that you couldn’t draw but there was me thinking you were being modest & oh so humble. Now I realise that every word was true. Even I can draw better than that & I’m bloody awful at it 🙂

Still I suppose it’s wrong to mock the afflicted so apologies Stu. One request though- please, please, please stick to words I’m begging you 😉

Oh & yes, and the nose is spot on! A nurse’s uniform suits him doesn’t it. SUITS YOU,JIM 🙂

64. caz-m says:

Jackie Burd is not going to be happy Rev when she sees this picture herself lying in a hospital bed being spread all over the internet.

65. scottieDog says:

Rev, you’ll get in trouble for copying labour’s health manifesto

66. john king says:

Get yer mammy to stick on the fridge with a magnet son well done.

67. john king says:

caz-m says
    “Jackie Burd is not going to be happy Rev when she sees this picture herself lying in a hospital bed being spread all over the internet.”

An her wi nae claes oan an aw! 🙁

68. Skip_NC says:

OK, so I had to google Yves Klein and came to this page:link to sfmoma.org. They even have a helpful link where you can view the (ahem) detail of the painting.

69. Dougie Bee says:

Croompenstein says:
    at 12:55 pm
    Must admit though you have got Nurse Murphy’s nose spot on Stu
    …………………
    Naw..Croompenstein…if that was the case it should be in a trough..if they could fin yin big enough…

Stick to the writing job Mr Campbell…xxx

70. ronnie anderson says:

Is that ah Stryker Bed Rev.

71. mumsyhugs says:

TTIP – coming to a hospital near you soon if cross-dressing Nurse Smurphy gets his way! Jeez that looks scary. And when did he qualify as a nurse anyway? He’s never finished anything leading to a qualification in his life! 🙂

72. john king says:

KennyG says
    “Now I’m left with an image of Jim Murphy, wearing a dress, doing a little dance whilst rubbing cream over his body. Thanks Rev!”

YOU CAN TALK,
    I wasn’t thinking that until you said it,
    now its all I can think of,
    An ave still tae get ma tea an aw. 🙁

73. Mealer says:

Stu,
    is their a pseudo eroticism contained within this piece? Or am I just a bit weird?

74. keaton says:

At least the handwriting’s neat and tidy.

75. ronnie anderson says:

Ah wee tune fur You Rev enjoy.

76. Robert Peffers says:

@west_lothian_questioner says:17 January, 2015 at 3:28 pm:

Methinks it’s too late for the poor sod on the bed…”

Mibbies aye; Mibbies naw! Bit div ye no think yon puir patient looks afu lik Wee Willie Rennie in his usual, “live” state?

77. Lollysmum says:

O/T but funny

Burdzeye View on Emperors New Clothes

link to burdzeyeview.wordpress.com

78. AuldA says:

@Stu –
    I suppose you’ve tried to draw using a mouse. Never do that. Get a Wacom tablet or whatever. Or make a hand drawing and scan it…

79. Paula Rose says:

I’m impressed by the composition of the piece, it works very well at that level. Elements of the drawing do indeed suggest a number of interpretations, and the juxtaposition of three and two dimensions within one object reveal a very interesting nuance. I disagree with many of the above comments, I think Chris may well feel that the Rev’s artistry is severe competition, reflecting as it does a post rather than pre-modernist sensibility.

80. K1 says:

Och AuldA…don’t encourage him! (…lovely Stu, jist you keep writing the words…let the nice man Chris do his job…) 🙂

81. john king says:

Mealer says
    “Stu,
    is their a pseudo eroticism contained within this piece? Or am I just a bit weird?”

Naw your just weird.

82. donald anderson says:

When Murphy is not wearing his Napleon bunnet and in Civvie uniforn he wears a lampshade oan his heid and an electric Iron roon his neck. “I’ve always been a Republian Socialist and never a Ubionist, cos I’m a Sellick fan.”

Time for the men in white coats and butterfly nets.

83. manandboy says:

The word ‘ HOSPITAL’ is going downhil – perhaps you have a talent for drawing after all Stu

84. cearc says:

Paula Rose,

The talent of the professional art critic is to take over 70 words to say ‘shite’!

85. Jamie Arriere says:

1000cc of everything? OK nurse I’ll have some medium-dry sherry….

86. cearc says:

Chic McGregor,

Nice one!

87. Paula Rose says:

Cearc darling, I took over 70 words to carefully point out that the Rev’s artistic skills are equal to if not better than the Royal Academy’s professor of drawing.

88. horacesaysyes says:

Nicely done, Rev. 😀

89. Rock says:

Shouldn’t that be 1000 cc MORE of everything?

90. tartanarse says:

Caledonia at 3.58.

Have you not seen his face? Surely no one in their right mind would get to the personality bit.

91. tartanarse says:

Wow, well done Stu. You can’t draw but you can fix puters.

I’ve been a bit frustrated of late waiting for posts to appear and they seem to be turning up pronto now. Cheers.

92. tartanarse says:

I take it back. What is going on with the posts?

93. boris says:

The patient will just need to “stick” around until the doctor is available

94. Ian Brotherhood says:

This Scotland Today extract is almost 20 years old, but a wee reminder of the state of play before Blair/New Labour got in. Worth it for the footage of the press conference where all the big beasts are side-by-side:

95. Tackety Beets says:

Sunday papers headline .

“UKOK , austerity cuts hits WOS ! ”

Rev , better than any of my efforts , and it’s brought a spirit of joy to the thread .

Go nae no dae that , How , just go Nae no !

96. Croompenstein says:

@Ian – Fascinating stuff Ian looking back at that time. But Jeezo doesn’t MacKay look like a wee boy and Shereen well what can you say…

97. BenInsular says:

Needs more daffodil!

98. Betty Boop says:

Stu, I think your cartoon is great. 🙂

The likeness to Skeletor is amazing, stick thin and no substance.

99. Mealer says:

Paula Rose,
    Pish.

100. Cod says:

Wait,should Nurse Murphy not be saying:

“Hello, I’m Nurse Murphy,and I prescribe 1000cc more of everything than any amount any other nurse might prescribe you”

Seems more accurate, no?

101. Steve Bowers says:

ha ha ha ha the pisstaking is brilliant, the cartoon is still making me laugh tho

102. lumilumi says:

A ha ha ha, love the cartoon! 😀

It makes its point and the artwork is… er… touching. 😉

Regular WoS readers have come to expect their Saturday cartoon and Rev Stu obliges, even when Chris is on holiday. That’s what I call dedication and value for money!

103. Paula Rose says:

@ lumilumi honey – touching, so apposite xxx

104. Gary says:

Jim Murphy aka ‘Slenderman’. Some say he’s an urban legend used by mothers to scare the children into behaving themselves but others say the legend is true – he appears at 6pm on televisions and anyone who believes what he says will go insane by the General Election….

105. Stan says:

Maybe it would be a nice touch if the patient had an IV drip of Irn Bru.

Comment - please read this page for comment rules. HTML tags like <i> and <b> are permitted. Use paragraph breaks in long comments. DO NOT SIGN YOUR COMMENTS, either with a name or a slogan. If your comment does not appear immediately, DO NOT REPOST IT. Ignore these rules and I WILL KILL YOU WITH HAMMERS.

Stats: 6,729 Posts, 1,215,381 Comments

• Confused on The more you change nothing: “brian wilson says the migrants will save us https://archive.ph/QL0DP I say they will collapse the welfare state and the NHS…Apr 12, 12:06
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “You do know that the universals studio theme park isn’t being built by the tories? Grangemouth is closing partly due…Apr 12, 11:44
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “It’s not the SNP who have lost the plot It’s the idiots who think to question the SNP is to…Apr 12, 11:34
    • The Flying Iron of Doom on The more you change nothing: “Hatey McHateface says: 12 April, 2025 at 10:57 am You must save a fortune on heating ? Not to mention…Apr 12, 11:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “Thanks for posting that. An interesting, if depressing, read. Good news about Luna though.Apr 12, 11:16
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “You must save a fortune on heating 🙂 Incidentally, every time I wonder why the Scottish Government doesn’t purchase Grangemouth…Apr 12, 10:57
    • Effijy on The more you change nothing: “SNP Government Civil Service Jobs has increased by 71% in 8 years. That’s 5,385 jobs growing to 9,222. This is…Apr 12, 10:44
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “Hey TH, what happened tae yir fuckwit pal (checks capitalisation) Ros? He always used tae write England with an ‘E’…Apr 12, 10:41
    • McDuff on The more you change nothing: “Yeah it makes me white hot with rage. Scotland should be as rich as Norway but it’s not and we…Apr 12, 10:19
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “if you think oil means the population is rich and well cared for means you REALLY haven’t been in west…Apr 12, 10:12
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Free public transport for under 22’s has created a culture of news terrorising the paying public so I’d class that…Apr 12, 10:10
    • Marie on The more you change nothing: “Information like that really sickens me Scott. Scots really have been scammed – for decades.Apr 12, 09:57
    • Dan on The more you change nothing: “Well done and thank you Julia of the ISP for continuing to collate these weekly information bulletins that show there…Apr 12, 09:44
    • Dan on The more you change nothing: “Cough. Energy is a reserved matter and to get back to current times; Is the renewables industry being “handled correctly”…Apr 12, 09:41
    • robertkknight on The more you change nothing: “I just keep coming back to the Monty Python skit “What have the Romans ever done for us?”, but replacing…Apr 12, 09:16
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Yes Norway handled the North Sea wealth correctly HOWEVER The north sea oil started 50 years ago and is coming…Apr 12, 09:09
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “As we know the UN any day now is going to unchain us from those filthy English bastards NOW Who…Apr 12, 09:06
    • Anthem on The more you change nothing: “Yawn…..Apr 12, 09:02
    • Anthem on The more you change nothing: “I do disagree, along with approx 50% of this nation.Apr 12, 08:51
    • Scot Finlayson on The more you change nothing: “Norway`s oil pension fund, $1,738,000,000,000, Scotland`s oil pension fund, a tattered banner with `Better Together` written on it.Apr 12, 08:43
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “I find it deeply amusing that the Scots wikipedia was mostly written by an American teenager https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scots_Wikipedia#Controversy Another of my…Apr 12, 07:16
    • Aidan on The more you change nothing: “That hasn’t happened to me or to anyone I know, but the nature of the content you post on here…Apr 12, 07:10
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Lets start with the most important thing Summer houses Be aware that those that are the log cabin type where…Apr 12, 06:17
    • Yoon Scum on The more you change nothing: “Scotland the brave? You lot get triggered if I write scotland PatheticApr 12, 05:16
    • twathater on The more you change nothing: “Hey MOANY how come yir fuckwit pal YS gets a free pass when he mentions Scotland all in lower case…Apr 12, 02:43
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “Weirdo “..”Apr 12, 00:46
    • Geri on The more you change nothing: “Charles & Michael Thanks for the reply. I haven’t used Facebook since indyref really. Only a few times as my…Apr 11, 21:53
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “It’s “its” foreign dominions, YLS. If you can’t handle written English, maybe post in Scots. I guarantee 99% of the…Apr 11, 21:30
    • Hatey McHateface on The more you change nothing: “So good you posted it twice, eh TH? Or maybe the DTs were kicking in. Hopefully you will have necked…Apr 11, 21:21
    • Young Lochinvar on The more you change nothing: “You mean like Engerlund treated those “uppity” ones in “it’s” foreign dominions? I reckon a psychiatrist would have a field…Apr 11, 20:54